About Prairie Star Restaurant

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion with three separate dining rooms, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full viga and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: 5058673327x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
3 More
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Santa Ana Pueblo ›

Scenic View (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (29)
See All
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fireplace (10)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (4)
Live Music (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I think Prairie Star is the best restaur ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

I think Prairie Star is the best restaurant in the Albuquerque area, hands down. It's a wonderful place, with an attentive staff and world-class food. I'd recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food overall was imaginative but ave ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food overall was imaginative but average in quality, and certainly not worth the

cost. Atmosphere was good, and service was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Still one of the best places in central ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Still one of the best places in central New Mexico to enjoy Great Food, Wonderful Wine, and service that cannot be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Thanksgiving brunch. Enjoyed i ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving brunch. Enjoyed it very much. Service was excellent, attentive, and unobtrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had numerous family occasions at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have had numerous family occasions at the Prairie Star and they never disappoint!

The food was outstanding, the wine was superb and Lance's service was superior-- we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service, nice musi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious food, great service, nice music, always nice to have linen tablecloths and napkins.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our local, fine dining favorites. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of our local, fine dining favorites. Inventive menu and great wine choices. The waitstaff is a bit "uneven," ranging from seasoned veterans to awkward novices. (e.g. wine glasses filled to the brim). Still, the quality of our meals made up for the less than perfect table service. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've eaten here before and have always ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We've eaten here before and have always had great food and service. The view is spectacular! It was a very slow night--not so good for them, but great for us!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chili relleno and the accompanying s ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The chili relleno and the accompanying salad was truly incredible. The sea bass was fried and was great, and was the reason we were going there to dine. But the tuna that was served with the sea bass outshined the bass and was perfectly done. It was an amazing dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was friendly, but needs training. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Server was friendly, but needs training. Did not know how to serve wine. Poured wine into glasses over the table and then placed them, making for an awkward presentation. Dinner was very slow and server did not keep us informed as to when ours would arrive. Noticed that tables that arrived after us received their food before ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This was my second time visiting this l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was my second time visiting this location food was very good and service was perfect, seem to have lost some of the ambiance that I had remembered from last visit, felt like date & I were somewhat distanced by table size & lighting was not as omantic

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our 20th anniversary dinner was wonderfu ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our 20th anniversary dinner was wonderful. The bison tenderloin was scrumptious! It was a great night and a special treat. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect ! Staff was so friendly and stea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Perfect ! Staff was so friendly and steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem always delivers great f ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Neighborhood gem always delivers great food, wine, and ambiance. Sitting by the fireplace watching the sunset reflect off the Sandia Mountains is a wonderful experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous. Service went from ove ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was fabulous. Service went from overly-doting to under-attentive, but was always courteous and professional. Love the rustic feel. Catch the view of the Sandias at sunset!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our third time here, the first ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our third time here, the first two times were really quite disappointing but we were very happy with our dinner this time. Evidently they have new management & that has made a world of difference! Everything was really great other than a noisy group seated near us but even that didn't ruin our good time. And you sure can't beat the view! We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we visit prairie star for a special trea ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

we visit prairie star for a special treat for ourselves about every month. The Wed. wine/dine is an extremely good value for a complete gourmet meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't blame it on the restaurant, but ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I can't blame it on the restaurant, but the view of the Sandia Mountains is OUTSTANDING! Excellent service with a smile, outstanding bar keep -- provided an outstanding Margarita. Menu presented quaint selection with nice presentation. The dry-rubbed pork loin and bison steak were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was somewhat disappointed with the ser ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the service on this night. the restaurant was not at all busy that's why the service surprised me. it took a while for the waiter to bring us bread and get our drinks ! felt the service was not up to par on this night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Upon recommendation from friends, we wen ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Upon recommendation from friends, we went there for our 26th anniversary. Service was exceptional, food very good, however, we felt it was a little pricey except for a very special occasion. We would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Second visit to Prairie Star, and it was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Second visit to Prairie Star, and it was great! Good food, great service, Tara was our server, very friendly, personable and did a very good job serving.

The steaks are perfect, and the Wagyu beef burger will spoil you, burger elsewhere will never come close, the truffle fries were so tasty. I enjoyed this dinner ans previously, savored a delicious steak with savory bread pudding, a delightful taste treat instead of potatoes.There is an extensive wine list and oh, the desserts! excellent!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there many times, this one was the ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Been there many times, this one was the best! Food was fantastic- especially the blue crab stuffed calamari appetizer. My steak was cooked perfectly. Our server was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have recently ventured into a whole fo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have recently ventured into a whole foods plant based lifestyle and chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner purely on the description of their rustic vegetable lasagna. It was delicious. It was a flat sheet of house made butternut squash pasta folded over sautéed whole baby carrots, broccolini, mushrooms, and other delightful veggies, seasoned with balsamic vinegar. There was a sprinkling of feta over the top, which I chose to enjoy, but it could've easily been made purely vegan. For appetizer, we shared a tuna nicoise salad, which they split for us in the kitchen; it was fresh and delightful. We also shared the bruschetta trio, which included two vegan offerings. The ambiance was lovely; request a table by the window for the best view of the Sandias. Bon appetit!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The quality of the meat (my wife and I b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The quality of the meat (my wife and I both had Prime Rib) was not good. My portion was excessively fatty and my wife's was dry and somewhat tough (end cut). Our water glasses were crusty to the touch - we pointed this out to the server and they were replaced.

Overall a good experience but NOT a memorable one!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The host was very gracious and allowed a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The host was very gracious and allowed a change in the Wine & Dine menu for our out of town friend! It added even more pleasure to our already happy experience! This, among many others, is why we keep coming back and bringing new friends so they, too, can experience the fine food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Combined with a great view, the food cho ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Combined with a great view, the food choices and great service make this a restaurant we always look forward to visiting. This is one of the best values in the area, and the comfortable environment accentuate the ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 of us who partook of the 3 ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 29, 2016

There were 4 of us who partook of the 3 course meal plus wine for $60 per couple. It was a great opportunity to try new things on the menu that were part of the deal. I did not care for the pork dinner I chose but the shrimp over pasta was very good. Wine was OK but wished we had paid a little more for a different bottle that wasn't part of the deal. I've had better meals at Prairie Star but would return again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Every Weds is Wine & Dine, a three cours ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Every Weds is Wine & Dine, a three course meal with a bottle of for two for $60. It was what drew us there, and we will definitely be back. The whole experience was lovely, the quiet, comfortable, subtly elegant, but not stuffy or pretentious dining room, the view of the Sandias and of course the FOOD. Started with bread (the only weak point of the meal - as it was very reminiscent of Wonder Bread - no fiber, did not taste local or particularly healthy. . . ), blue cheese frisee salad, penne pasta with Tiger Shrimp in a cream sauce, finished with dessert - Chocolate Decadence - to die for! We shared a bottle of the Sauvignon Blanc which paired excellently with the meal. The service was friendly but not overly familiar - very professional. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This place was recommended to us by a lo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This place was recommended to us by a local. We should have passed! I had the sirloin steak and it was to be medium but came well done, dry and tasteless. My husband had the chicken - way too busy with so many ingredients you couldn't taste the chicken. Our server was very friendly though and we enjoyed our wines. Dessert of chocolate decadent cake was delicious. But the entrees were pretty bad and expensive. Wouldn't recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Great wine list. Buffalo steak was treme ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great wine list. Buffalo steak was tremendous. Service was indifferent. Go for the food and ambience. Don't be surprised by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The beef tenderloin my husband ordered w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The beef tenderloin my husband ordered was great. However, the vegetable lasagna was not what I would call lasagna: no cheese, no pasta (more like a crepe) and very unusual sauce. I was misled by the lasagna label. Also, while I like Brussel sprouts, that was mostly the only vegetable in the lasagna and the sprouts were under cooked. I would have like more variety. We did enjoy the music in the bar following our dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They've overdone "gourmet". Need to get ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2016

They've overdone "gourmet". Need to get back to basics, like a decent filet mignon. Service was so-so. Noisy.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing! We had not been to Prair ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Disappointing! We had not been to Prairie Star in probably 15 years. When we saw a coupon for it, we decided to give it a new try. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday, using their Birthday promotion coupon, which was mentioned as one of 2 possibilities in the coupon. You get it online after signing up for their emails. It is only good on Sundays during the month of your birthday. My husband got the pork chop; I got the special lamb chops. Both were ordered medium rare, both were over-cooked. The pork chop was so over-cooked it was a dry brick. The lamb chops were over-cooked, but at least still moist. Since my husband was sending his pork chop back, I went ahead and sent my lamb chops back, too. The second pork chop was still over-cooked, not as badly, but still not moist. My old lamb chops came back - not new ones! - either that or the chef had made the exact same cuts that I had and cooked it exactly the same. So, still over-cooked, but fortunately still very moist. They gave us free desserts and dessert wine to make up for it, which was nice, but we still left feeling disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was amazing. I had salmon, my dad h ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was amazing. I had salmon, my dad had beef tenderloin, and my mom had the sea bass. Everything was delicious. Dessert menu was not very extensive though. Our server was friendly, but not very experienced or was nervous. Would like to come back and sit on the patio. Nice views of the golf course!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Nice experience. The food was good. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Nice experience. The food was good. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

While the view, ambiance, service were g ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

While the view, ambiance, service were great - the food left much to be desired. The vegetable lasagna was EXTREMELY salty and the vegetables were almost raw. I love crispy veggies, but these were more appropriate for a salad and the sauce tasted like someone had dropped the salt accidentally into it.

I didn't complain because we had taken friends there for a birthday gift so I didn't want to spoil

their time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Three of our group rated their main entr ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Three of our group rated their main entree (i.e. meat dish) excellent. None of us liked any of the vegetables. Carrots hard as a rock. None of us ate the veggies. I ordered the butternut squash pasta lasagne; ate half of it to be polite. The sauce was spicy; the veggies undercooked; and the entree did not resemble lasagne nor was it to my liking.

** Our server was Dennis. He was excellent.

The tiramisu was not, as portrayed, "classic." It was a creamy delight; quite small for the price, but in no way resembled tiramisu. I've made it a point to find the best tiramisu, including hiring two private chefs, one French and one Italian, to make it from scratch, so I know tiramisu. I think you should change the name to something else so expectations are not disappointing.

We like Prairie Star overall. I will just stick with tried and true from now on. It would be nice to have more choice for vegetarians.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We requested patio seating which was per ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We requested patio seating which was perfect to watch the sunset on the Sandia mountains. The cheese plate was delicious. The salmon, seafood relleno, and vegetable lasagne were terrific. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. A great place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prairie Star dining room is lovely with ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Prairie Star dining room is lovely with a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountains. We often go there for their Wednesday dining special ~ 2 appies, 2 entrees and a shared desert plus a bottle of wine for $60 ~ excellent value. The food is usually very good, however on several occasions they ran out of the fish entree advertised for the evening. The last time it was halibut, however they did substitute sea bass, and I was satisfied with the bass - it was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lovely dinner and service

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Lovely dinner and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.