About Prairie Star Restaurant

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion with three separate dining rooms, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full viga and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: 5058673327x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
9 More
Scenic View
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Santa Ana Pueblo ›

scenic view (53)
special occasion (48)
romantic (36)
See All
fit for foodies (32)
notable wine list (27)
great for outdoor dining (26)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (11)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
991 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service with an awesome v ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service with an awesome view of the Sandia Mountains.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. I try to eat he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I love this restaurant. I try to eat here every time I go to Albuquerque. It is so memorable and the food, ambiance, and service are superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, as always. Innovative me ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food, as always. Innovative menu items, notable presentation. And the view is spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Out of 5 dishes, mine was the only one t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Out of 5 dishes, mine was the only one that was not acceptable. My meat was not cooked to order so it was taken back. The meat I got back was the same they had taken away, but now super dry because they tried to cook it to how I had ordered rather than starting over with a new piece of meat. The fries that came with it were cold because they did not change them after taking my plate. At this level of restaurant I expect perfection and super attention to detail on the food. I am willing to give them a second chance because the other dishes were very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive service, great view, good ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very attentive service, great view, good music, excellent food. A favorite place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dining experience in a be ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience in a beautiful setting, but a little pricey for frequent visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a nice dining experience. The st ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a nice dining experience. The staff is always friendly and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service at Prairie Star are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and service at Prairie Star are always consistent. Great place to dine for any occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's wine and Salmon Dish were g ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband's wine and Salmon Dish were great. I had the Sirloin. the beef was great, but the asparagus was barely warmed up and the bread thingy was not good at all. We shared a "tiramisu" which was like over whipped, whipped cream...not pleasant. Coffee was OK. View was terrific, lovely. We even watched as a wedding party took photos, which was fun to see since it was our 2nd anniverasary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The price/quality ratio was just not the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The price/quality ratio was just not there. The food was good but worth 70% more than other local establishments. While the service was excellent it still didn't make up for the overall lack of quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Service a bit indifferen ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was great. Service a bit indifferent for this caliber of restaurant and price range. Portions are not huge, which I liked. Delicious desserts. On a cooler night the patio looks like a great option. Beautiful mountain views.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Prairie Star was by far the most fancy r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Prairie Star was by far the most fancy restaurant I have ever been to. The quality of food and service definitely showed! It is a bit outside our price range for frequent restaurant visits, but with a $50 gift card, we were able to enjoy an amazing first wedding anniversary!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with my family for my mother's 80 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I went with my family for my mother's 80th birthday. Beginning with the reservation process, our greeting, the setting of our table, our waiter, the food .... all of it was amazing! Our waiter even went out of his way to suggest a better setting for a group picture! I would definitely recommend Prairie Star for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Prairie Star before, bu ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We have eaten at Prairie Star before, but not for a few years when we had a less-than-stellar meal. It is back to its previous excellence, with a new menu that's mostly continental with occasional NM touches (e.g., lobster stuffed chile rellenos). The waiter was attentive without being over-bearing, the food was delicious, and the setting is beautiful with large windows looking to the Sandias.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner, with very att ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner, with very attentive, but not too attentive, service. Food was wonderful! Highly recommend the smoked tenderloin and the ice cream dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday night 3 course dinner for two with wine

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have dined at Prairie Star on several occasions, this was an off night for the restaurant. Certainly willing to give them another chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful setting, excellent food. Perfe ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Beautiful setting, excellent food. Perfect for a special occasion. The service was outstanding. Thanks!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food, spendy

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was very good, although it seemed like the portions were smaller than average. We were a group of 3 couples with separate checks, so all recieved a mandatory 25% tip. Seemed high.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We have returned several times as this i ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We have returned several times as this is one of our favorite restaurants. Only on one visit were we disappointed when the server was less that pleasant. At this most recent visit the staff at all levels was impressive....from the person who poured the water to those who served the food. Very professional and welcoming. The food was excellent as well. We requested a seat by the windows facing the Sandias and it was beautiful

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife ordered the vegetable lasagna. I ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife ordered the vegetable lasagna. It was extremely salty, doused with Worcestershire Sauce, and hardly any cheese. Did not resemble lasagna at all. I had the filet, was quite tasteless. Very disappointing. We had eaten here before and it was quite good. Not this time however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Service and Delicious Food - W ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent Service and Delicious Food - We decided last minute to go to Prairie Star to try it out for date night. We were not disappointed. The view was beautiful. Our server was the best at being relational but not nosey (in our opinion the PERFECT combination). She was funny and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list.

We ordered the burger (delicious) and sea bas and polenta cake (AMAZING!!! it was so delicious, I would go back just for this). Wine list was great as well.

The atmosphere was also very quiet for being a golf clubhouse. Our table had a beautiful view of the Sandia Mountains.

Overall it was a great find and we are happy we live close by. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole evening was great, it was are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The whole evening was great, it was are 10th anniversary. My only complaint was my steak was over cook . Everything tasted great and was enjoyable. Service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for the secon ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for the second anniversary of our time together!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner and the service, food, and wine were exceptional. This our all time favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation for our anniversary a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Made a reservation for our anniversary and requested a window table as my wife had never been to the restaurant and I wanted her to experience the beautiful views of the golf course, bosque, and mountains. When we arrived we were not only not seated by the windows but in the back of the restaurant. I told our server I was very disappointed that that only did not reserve us a window table but seated us far away from the window. He was apologetic and tried to assure me that probably many others also requested window tables and they couldn't accommodate my request. He did suggest we might want to try the outside patio for a cocktail and suggested we could even order dinner there, if we desired. We did go to the patio and enjoyed the scenery, wildlife and our cocktails. We decided to have dinner outside even the wind was starting to pick up. As soon as our menus arrived, our server informed us an inside window table had opened and offered us a choice of remaining outside or relocating to the inside table. We moved inside and had a wonderful meal with impeccable service. Prairie Star certainly redeemed themselves in my view. I've since strongly recommended the restaurant to two other couples and we will be returning soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was a fixed menu for Mother's Day ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a fixed menu for Mother's Day and it took much longer than it should for the entrees. The manager should have apologized and perhaps given a free desert or drink. The tuna wasn't great. The waiter did admit there was an issue, but for the price it should have been handled much better. The bloody Mary was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A perfect setting for a Mother's Day brunch with

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Having dined at Prarie Star for Mother's Day in the past a return visit was in order. The restaurant lived up to expectations. The setting, a table next to a window with a fantastic view of the Sandia's, the service, teriffic and the food was superb. The Mother being honored loved the entire experience. We will be back next year.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Never had steaks here before as other choices have always been more appealing. But it was one of those "red wine, red meat" nights so we ordered the sirloins. What a treat! So thick and juicy with wonderful flavor and tender as well. Very impressed with the new chef. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday, everyone ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday, everyone made us feel special. Our server, Travis, was very attentive, yet not hovering. We ordered the Wednesday Wine and Dine special, the wine selection was superb, and the fish dish was outstanding. It all made for a very great, enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The Prairie Star has the best ambiance in town, the best servers, wine and food!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same Wonderful Place Year After Year

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Had not been back to Prairie Star for a year--bad me! Food, wine, service, ambiance, all were impeccable. And, really easy to get to from Albuquerque, the drive is rewarded not only by the food and wine but the view is worth a million bucks. Went with friends who had not been back to Albuquerque for several years after moving to the Midwest, they want to move back here now!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Entrée & the side dishes served with the entrée way to small. We both had the duck.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Off the beat and path, good for a special occasion

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

We hadn't been to this restaurant for over 20 years until this April when we went for our Anniversary dinner. There was a fantastic view of the mountains and the restaurant was quiet. The food was pricey and a little above average for a fancy meal. For example, the bread at the beginning was dried out. The main course was average size. The vegetables were prepared very nicely. I had the duck breast which was overly tough but seasoned well. My husband had the pork porterhouse and it was okay but not spectacular. The wait staff was attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

No Way No How

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Bread was stale, the Italian wine was poor, no better than $3 Buck Chuck, the food was mediocre: the grilled Romaine salad was questionable re freshness and did not taste good. The sage fries were way too strong with sage. The Wagyu burger was cooked medium but dry. The Niman Ranch steak was good itself but the sauce was horrid. The savory bread pudding was a dry hockey puck. Only the asparagus was cooked perfectly. The vanilla bean tart was dry and stale. At $150 including tip, we'll never go back. We've eaten at the Prairie Star many times over the years and had wonderful meals but this is the last time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Wonderful meal and company

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Wonderful meal and company

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

The food, the wine and service were all excellent and the view is to die for! For many years we have enjoyed dining at the Prairie Star. There is not a more beautiful setting in New Mexico. If you time it just right, you can enjoy coffee and desert on the patio and watch the sunset reflected on the Sandia mountains.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ANNIVERSARY DINNER

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Since it was early and the first Sunday after winter that they were open we were the only customers in the place. A great experience and even though we were the only ones there the staff did not become overly attentive. I would have to say it was just about perfect and the knowledge of menu and recommendations were right on.

Brook our server was delightful and very helpful. Mark from the bar was great also as we enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner in the bar. As always we enjoyed the view and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Live in Albuquerque, and was staying at Tamaya Resort for a conference. Went to dinner on 2/28/16 at Prairie Star. Was disappointed with the preparation and the quality of food , starting with the calamari and continuing to the Sea Bass and Bison main courses. Our drinks were the only positive, and the view of the mountain.

I hadn't been here in a long while, and won't go back anytime soon. For the money and prices of entrees, it was really hard to believe this place had fallen so much..

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Rview of Prairie Star late Feb 2016

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The menu is not very extensive. The food quality was good but not great. Presentation was good. The wine list is acceptable. Service was acceptable. They were out of the appetizer I had specifically gone there for (Calamari). It is a nice setting and with some minimal effort, could be improved dramatically. Add a couple of steak selections (beef ribeye, etc), maybe lamb chops. It did not live up to its good reputation, but it has the potential to do so.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food preparation mixed

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Most items except for one entree were excellent in preparation, display and taste. However, a "special" porterhouse pork dish was terrible. It had little flavor, was dry and was inordinately tough. Not only was the pork tough, the roasted vegetables were inexplicably tough. How one oven roasts carrots and potatoes to a consistency of shoe leather is hard to comprehend.

Generally the meals are excellent but this time it was 50/50.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.