Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About Prairie Star Restaurant

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00 | Tuesday-Sunday
Dinner:
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday | 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday, Saturday | 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday | 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Mid-April through mid-October, Prairie Star hosts Live Music on the Patio each Friday evening from 5:30 to 8:30. Enjoy the best of local bands and artists. Moved indoors to the Wine Bar when dictated by weather. No cover and no reservations needed.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Prairie Star's most popular promotion, ongoing since 2009, is "Wednesday Wine & Dine". It is a unique 3 course dinner for two, served with a bottle of wine, for only $60. Each week a different menu is emailed to our PStar eClub database. Sign up at: http://mynewmexicogolf.com/prairiestar_email/

Also, Prairie Star hosts wine dinners and tastings.

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (28)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (7)
Live Music (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Authentic (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Prairie Star Restaurant was chosen for a family members birthday - 88th! The patio offers a great view. The food was OK. Our server was OK. The wine was GREAT! For the price and the occasion, I would have liked to have been Wowed.
We were a party of five - three had the Nimon steak, one had salmon and one had chicken.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our Prime Rib and Salmon entrees were delicious with creative sides and sauces. Our very informed waitress, Tara, helped us in making menu decisions. Our cocktails were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service and the food were outstanding . The hostess set us on the bench next to the fireplace (table 4 ?). It has no back on it and the seat is hard and slopes forward . Most uncomfortable seat in the restaurant and there were plenty of empty tables with real chairs . They used to have a porter beer on tap which was outstanding . For some reason they got rid of that so I reason for picking that restaurant is no longer valid . I do not have any plans to go back even though the food and the service were so good . We booked this reservation a month in advance in hopes of getting a window seat but that did not work out either .

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

featured item was 'prime rib' which was a packaged rib steak improperly cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent food and service! Great view of the golf course and mountain! Portions were more than adequate. No room for dessert. Thank you all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Disappointing. Wine glasses and windows were filmy, food fair, service could have been better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were there for "Wednesday Wine & Dine". The meal was magnificent!!! Highly recommend Prairie Star for fine dining!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Incredible in every way. That's why be are a regular

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great food, amazing view and friendly staff!! Loved the bison, wine list is excellent!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Went on a date with my wife, there is a "wine and dine" dinner for two on Wednesday nights. 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 1 dessert, 1 bottle of wine, 60 bucks. Worth every penny. Great service from Zachary, good was also very good. We will go back again and soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Amazing food and service is top shelf!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 27, 2017

great food as always and an attentive manager will always return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Beautiful view of the Sandias. Food was outstanding but the ambience of the restaurant itself was just okay. The Veal T-bone was perfectly cooked to order and the black garlic salmon entree was a generous portion and the best my friend had in ages. Give it a try if you are in the ABQ area. You will enjoy it

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were there on Saturday July 22, for our anniversary. The service was excellent. My wife had the bison tenderloin, it was prepared perfectly. I had the ono, it could have been seasoned a little more, but it was cooked well. The appetizers, salads, and desert were wonderful. And the wine selection is exceptional. Add to that a view of the Sandias that is stunning, and the whole experience was very satisfying. We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary at Prairie Star. It was a truly memorable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Based on other Open Table reviews that were mostly good, we tried Prairie Star while staying down the road at the Hyatt Resort Tamaya. We were seated immediately with a nice view of the Sandia Mtns out the window. It took a few minutes before we met our waiter to take our drink order. He seemed very nervous while reading from his notes to tell us about the specials. The restaurant was never completely full but our waiter had to handle several tables inside as well as outside and therefore our service suffered tremendously. In fact, after we got our drinks and ordered, we never saw our waiter again, and others had to step in to help out. That's not a big deal but at some point, our waiter should have acknowledged that someone else would now be servicing our table. And then to have the waiter deliver our bill at the end just didn't leave a real good taste in our mouth, literally! The food is just average, nothing special imo.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Prairie Star is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The staff is always efficient and friendly, the atmosphere is great, and the food is excellent. We love to sit along the windows and look out at the golf course and the mountains.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

xcellent adjacent to golf course. spectacular mountain views. food creative and great tast

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Live music on the patio was good. Beautiful view of the Sandia Mountains.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service was slow (for meal to get served from kitchen). Steak was tough. Waiter was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I have eaten here many times and always had excellent food and service, but last night my husband ordered the ahi tuna and it tasted spoiled. The cook gave my husband another order and same thing. Finally, my husband ordered what I had (pheasant) and was very pleased. The cook comped both of our dinners, which was incredibly nice. We left a very large tip for our server who was back and forth many times and remained as pleasant as can be. The view from the outdoor patio is incredible-- the Sandia Mountains, the golf course, hummingbirds... The interior of the restaurant is very charming and cozy--very southwest (kiva fireplaces, etc.). There is music on the patio in the summers on Friday nights. We got there for the last song (about 8:15pm) and were glad that we hadn't gotten there earlier because they were just too loud and the wrong genre for the ambiance of the patio. This is the kind of place that calls for quieter bands, with more soothing music--maybe a classical guitar or jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Atmosphere nice, food mediocre. Dining experience average. Good service.
Would try again

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We have been to PS several times before, each time everything was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great good and service! Had a very very small issue and they fixed it immediately. They went way above and beyond. We look forward to returning and experiencing their high standards again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Steak was tough. Desert ice cream adobe brick was full of ice crystals instead of creamy. Disappointing. Was much better a few years ago.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was superb. We have always thought Prairie Star was good, but our dinner there Saturday was one of the best meals I have ever eaten anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Had not bee to the restaurant in many years. Some business friends leaving town who never had been there. Was a huge dissapointment. Food lacked flavor mostly, over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were looking forward to dining at the restaurant and it started out well. Mark was a wonderful host and chose the perfect wine. The service was really good but the food was a disappointment. The salmon my husband ordered was overcooked, the lamb chops were rare if not under. The crab stuffed calamari had a lovely combination of flavors, but the crab tasted too fishy. The was amazing and the outside patio was delightful, but we will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

While staying at the Hyatt Tamaya nearby, this appears to be the best restaurant in the area. I wasn't disappointed. The wine and spirits guy, Lance, has done a great job putting together a unique list of wines and custom-made specialty drinks. Everything I tasted was surprisingly good even though the wines were mostly one's I hadn't heard of.

The food was very good as well. Add the wonderful scenic view of the mountains and we had an excellent time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the food was great as usual. Service was good, waiters very attentive. My son and I had the bison, very good. My wife ordered the pheasant but they were out so they subbed a guiinnea hen which was ok, so she was a little disappointed. My daughter in law had the sirloin which was also good. Overall we were very pleased..

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Guests feel welcome and special. Wait staff (Tara and Sarah) were very attentive without being pushy, allowing us to enjoy our evening at our pace.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 31, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants...food delicious but service was nil. Once we saw our waiter to take our order, we did not see him again until he brought the check. We were not asked if we wanted a second glass of wine. We were not asked if we wanted dessert. And we did not get the usual complementary treats at the end. Disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food and wine. The wait staff were very helpful with explaning food selections, and wine choices. They were very welcoming, and thoughtful. Great place for our anniversary and time with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything that we ordered was fantastic, the appetizers, the entrees, and the deserts. The wine list was extensive and very good, the band on the patio was a bit distracting not a bad band but not what we were looking for. Our service was moderate our server was pulling double duty on the patio and dinning room. His coworkers helped out I feel that the number of patrons overwhelmed the staff and they all tried very hard to keep up with everyone. All of the staff members were very polite, and they apologized for any delays. For the price I would expect better service, not to fault the staff I feel there were just not enough staff for the number of patrons. Again the staff was fantastic, just overwhelmed and doing their best which was pretty good.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We keep returning for special occasions and were not disappointed this last visit. The service was excellent. Lovely atmosphere and view
The food was quite good and we will be going back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It was good. Everyone was friendly and efficient We had not been there in a long time. But we will go back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with unbelievable views that is not that easy to find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were celebrating the third anniversary of our first date at Prairie Star. I noted this in my reservation and it was clear that everyone there knew it was a special occasion for us. In fact, the waitress mentioned it and at the end of dinner told us that any dessert was on them! This was an unexpected surprise. As they say in the customer service survey industry, delight your customer. We were clearly delighted!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very good food. Excellent quail and sirloin entrees. Good wine selection. We love going here when we visit Hyatt Tamaya

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We usually love this place, but had a terrible experience last Friday. We had a reservation for 7 pm. Our dinners came out after more than an hour of waiting and then the bun that a burger was served on was completely burned and the fiddle head fern ravioli had no fiddleheads! After another 1/2 hour wait the fiddleheads came out and a new bun for the burger. The snippy manager came out to offer us free drinks to calm us down. When she discovered we were not satisfied she offered to comp our meals, but had a horrible attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.