Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About Prairie Star Restaurant

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00 | Tuesday-Sunday
Dinner:
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday | 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday, Saturday | 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday | 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Mid-April through mid-October, Prairie Star hosts Live Music on the Patio each Friday evening from 5:30 to 8:30. Enjoy the best of local bands and artists. Moved indoors to the Wine Bar when dictated by weather. No cover and no reservations needed.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: (505) 867-3327

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Prairie Star's most popular promotion, ongoing since 2009, is "Wednesday Wine & Dine". It is a unique 3 course dinner for two, served with a bottle of wine, for only $60. Each week a different menu is emailed to our PStar eClub database. Sign up at: http://mynewmexicogolf.com/prairiestar_email/

Also, Prairie Star hosts wine dinners and tastings.

Specials

Prime Rib Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Half-Price Bottles of Wine Tuesday & Thursday

Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Prime Rib Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a 10 oz. Chef's Cut of Prime Rib with the accompaniments and a glass of our house red for $30. Wine upgrades are available and encouraged!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations are recommended. Special valid May 25, 2017 - Sep 21, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM.

Half-Price Bottles of Wine Tuesday & Thursday

Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Great selection of half-priced bottles to enjoy with your dinner. Sommelier Lance Calabaza has a large menu from our regular and our reserve wine lists. It's a great opportunity to discover a special wine you might not try at full-price!. Excludes Tax and Tip. List will change as quantities may be limited. Special valid May 25, 2017 - Sep 21, 2017 on Thursdays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fireplace (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Authentic (5)
Historic (5)
Casual (5)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

We keep returning for special occasions and were not disappointed this last visit. The service was excellent. Lovely atmosphere and view
The food was quite good and we will be going back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a wonderful restaurant with unbelievable views that is not that easy to find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good food. Excellent quail and sirloin entrees. Good wine selection. We love going here when we visit Hyatt Tamaya

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We usually love this place, but had a terrible experience last Friday. We had a reservation for 7 pm. Our dinners came out after more than an hour of waiting and then the bun that a burger was served on was completely burned and the fiddle head fern ravioli had no fiddleheads! After another 1/2 hour wait the fiddleheads came out and a new bun for the burger. The snippy manager came out to offer us free drinks to calm us down. When she discovered we were not satisfied she offered to comp our meals, but had a horrible attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Kudos to Tara, wonderful service.
My other ordered pheasant; said it was fantastic.
I'm a vegetarian, and as much as I enjoy dining here, I find the menu quite limited.
I do eat fish but get tired of salmon. How about some halibut, walleye, or trout?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was good, service was good but what happened after we walked out ruined the the evening. As we were driving out of the parking lot, the waiter came running up to the car to say that we didn't leave the a signed ticket. We did sign it and leave it in the ticket jacket along with a very nice tip. We signed our copy and gave it to the waiter. I assume he must have dropped it or something, but we felt like he thought we were leaving without paying. Don't know if we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Prairie Star was a good restaurant with good food and service. It is in the middle of nowhere so you can't be too picky. Food was good, but not great and the service was fine. This is a good place to eat if you are staying at the nearby resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Wonderful service. Waiter was fabulous. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We went for our 21st wedding anniversary. The staff was professional but not standoff-ish nor pushy. We stuck to primarily small plates instead of main entrees, which provided a great variety of unique flavors. We now want to go back for a wine flight dinner. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Deft and attentive but unobtrusive service accented an imaginative menu backed by a superb wine list. The ultra-tender steak was prepared precisely as ordered, and was accompanied by a bread pudding and grilled asparagus, an unusual but very successful pairing. The cheese assortment appetizer was good but unexceptional. The evening had but one drawback: the adobe brick dessert was sold out. The waiter apologized and said only 16 servings were prepared nightly. The number should be doubled. Prairie Star remains one of the very best choices in or near Albuquerque for a romantic evening, or for a celebratory occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice environment. Very good for special occasions. Food was very good and well made! Definitely going back soon!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Marty & I haven't been out to see you lately. I got a new hip in November which certainly curtailed our visits to our favorite restaurants.
You have changed quite a bit of your personnel however Rebecca is still there which is a good thing.
We enjoyed our Saturday evening. We had a great table overlooking the golf course & the majestic Sandia mountains. Tara was our wait person & was terrrific while answering our questions. Food was terrific including my husband giving the 'Rabbit Stew' a try. The salmon entires were excellent as was the appetizer 'Cheese platter'.
The wine choices also were a hit.
Thanks.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 21, 2017

After a rough patch with many staff changes the Prairie Star is back on track with very good food , excellent wine selection and knowledgable and attentive staff in a great setting.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I had Easter brunch. Val the waitress was great. Excellent food great views. Made for a special time.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Celebrated a birthday. Food was terrific as was the special lava cake with a candle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Good - not great. Prairie Star has so much going for them that they do not take advantage of - spruce up the entrance, take advantage of the vistas, replace the windows in the dining room that have broken seals (moisture between the panes), revamp the menu (same menu for years), slap a coat of paint on the dining rooms, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The steak was so fatty and full of gristle I didn't even take it home to the dog. We had to ask for a bread basket twice. Not a good experience

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our 5th visit and as always, the service was good and the food delicious. We especially appreciate they are celiac friendly so I an always find something safe to eat that is also tempting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything, as far as the service, was wonderful- from the first greeting through the final course! Ambiance and view are majestic, and the staff is beyond par! The seating was a little tight, but not uncomfortable. The restaurant was very quiet until about 7ish, when every table in the dining room was sat; but even then, it wasn't ever loud.

I was unhappy with the steak, but the staff made sure that the alternate plate I ordered (scallops) was perfect! The food was beautifully presented, but lacked anything original as far as herbs are concerned- we tend to like a bit more flavor and spice. Or even just some salt and pepper shakers at the table. The coffee was horribly bitter- just stick with the wine.

I would recommend Prairie Star to any "baby boomers" looking for a romantic dinner. A familiar palate, comfortable dining experience with very attentive wait staff. A gorgeous wine and spirits list, with tasting and pairings available. A lot of options to spend a long evening!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As always, lovely dining experience. Always enjoy the Wednesday special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wait staff was especially outstanding -- Valarie was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and oversaw the makings of an excellent martini! Everyone was 'on game' that particular evening. We all were very appreciative of the entire staff going above and beyond.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere were great. I would not recommend the Prarie Star for a happy hour. The clientele and staff made my party feel like we were in church. We were shushed and asked to lower our laughter and voices.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very nice experience overall. Were seated at a table tucked around a corner out of view of the fireplace was the only thing less than optimal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was Awesome! Dessert was not as great.
Got Chocolate Molten and it was very hard as if left in oven too long.
Complained to waiter and said he would talk to cook.
Still had to pay for dessert even though we couldn't eat it.
Been to prairie star a few times and has always been outstanding.
Won't let this one time keep us away.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and great service and the view is truly outstanding. We love the quiet laidback ambiance. You can't find a nicer place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Have not been there for quite awhile as the last two visits the food was very disappointing. Thought we'd give it another shot for our anniversary and this time the food was terrific. A little disappointed that we requested a window table two wks in advance and ended up in a 'back room'. Altho it was quiet and we had a window table, we were expecting to be in the main room where there is a lot more ambiance. But we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our experience was very good. Our server was delightful. Each course of the meal was prepare with remarkable balance. Will return again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines prix fixe dinner. The view from the restaurant is exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our 10th anniversary on Valentines Day. We had the Valentines Day special with the wine pairing. The waiter was very knowledgeable regarding the wine pairing with the food. The food and wine were wonderful. It was pricy, but worth it for our anniversary. We had a wonderful view.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Small mistakes detracted from a good dining experience. With a waiter that seemed unengaged, it detracted from a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyable evening - excellent food - beautiful presentations - the service was a little slow - but then it was a busy evening - even though we arrived early - that surprised me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This restaurant always serves an excellent meal in a great atmosphere. But this time was exceptional. The pear salad was wonderful, but the opah fish was incredible cooked to perfection. Our waiter was friendly and very attentive. It was a lovely evening.
,

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A very pleasant experience. We return often. Food and service are great.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have never been disappointed with any of the meals I have had at Prairie Star. I had the steak and it was cooked just the way I like it. My husband had the trout and it was absolutely delicious. The wines are always good and they have a good selection. Service was great - our server was very amiable. I like the way the courses are timed - not rushed, (in that the next course is not delivered before you have time to place down your knife and fork), and we didn't have to wait long between courses. The fantastic view of the Sandias is always a great thrill especially if you can time your meal as the sun is setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was very good would have been excellent had they just cooked my salmon a little less as requested.
Service was top notch. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and provided just the right amount of attention.
Wine selection was excellent. We found two bottles of a French Red at a discount. They are gone now sorry!
Would recommend this place for a meal or just some tapas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion. The waiter was very professional and knowledgeable about wines . It's seldom we find someone who knows much about wines in this area. He answered all of our questions. The service was great as was the food. Kudos to the chef as well. The Wed. price for 2 dinner that included wine was an unexpected plus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful as always. One of the really elegant places in ABQ area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great Server. Very knowledgeable, honest and attentive. A real asset to the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New year's Eve pre-fixe and pairing dinner was excellently prepared. The service is attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservation did not indicate fixed menu. My wife is allergic to sea food. First course was lobster bisque. Second was salmon & caviar. Entre was steak. Took 3 attempts to provide a "medium" prepared steak. By then I was long done with my meal.
A party of twelve was next to us. Could barley hear each other.
For all of this, no manager appeared & desert was comped by the server for obvious reasons.
After having similar experiences over many years, this is our last. This has happened in one form or another too many times.
By the way, there were many empty tables- not surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.