About Prairie Star Restaurant

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion with three separate dining rooms, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full viga and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: 5058673327x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Scenic View (30)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Cozy (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fireplace (9)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (5)
Historic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful as always. One of the really e ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful as always. One of the really elegant places in ABQ area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Server. Very knowledgeable, honest ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great Server. Very knowledgeable, honest and attentive. A real asset to the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The New year's Eve pre-fixe and pairing ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New year's Eve pre-fixe and pairing dinner was excellently prepared. The service is attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful spot to take someone fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Just a wonderful spot to take someone for you and them time. Staff are attentive but not bothersome. Chef is creative and there Wednesday Night tasting menus are often worth catching (includes a bottle of wine). The dining room is not overly formal but offers a nice settling. The food is classier than the dining room, but you don't feel out of place if dressed up, sports coat, or only in jeans. It is place to just enjoy good food and your table companion.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

NYE a perfect evening. The course meal ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE a perfect evening. The course meal with pairings made it a wonderful dining experience. Every course came with wine and served in a perfectly timed manner.

I would have liked a NYE 2017 something, but it was a lovely meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for New Years Eve. Food and service ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve. Food and service were excellent. The meal was a pre fixe for the holiday and the choices were all excellent. Prairie Star is never a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to our favorite restaurant, The ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to our favorite restaurant, The Prairie Star, for dinner to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday. As usual, the dinner was wonderful. The Prairie Star is a great place to have a wonderful meal in a very quiet environment, with a very professional staff, who mange your dinner experience exceptionally well. The Prairie Star met all our expectations, which are very high from previous visits, and did it extremely well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there for New Year Eve dinner. Gre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Year Eve dinner. Great menu with outstanding wine pairings. Superb wait staff. Very reasonable price for a three course dinner and desert.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again an outstanding meal and servi ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Once again an outstanding meal and service. I need to return more often.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a very good restaurant. Very cre ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is a very good restaurant. Very creative menu, the food is excellent. Well worth a 25 minute drive. The service was very good, friendly and competent. We will go there again. We also want to go back in the summer to have drinks on the patio that has a great view of the Sandias.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We got married here so are biased but we ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We got married here so are biased but went for my daughter's birthday and were not disappointed. Creative, excellent food from local sources. Wonderful wine list and always a personable, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent Christmas Eve dinner at Prairie St ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Spent Christmas Eve dinner at Prairie Star, it has long been a special occasion restaurant for us and they didn't disappoint! The Osso Bucco was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This charming old adobe with an incompar ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This charming old adobe with an incomparable view of the mountain is our favorite spot in the city, the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and responsive, the food is fine, and the wine selection a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prairie Star is one of our favorite plac ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Prairie Star is one of our favorite places to go out for a nice meal. We normally go during special occasions, but have visited on regular dinner nights too. Food is always prepared and plated so well and there are good selections. They have a great wine selection and dessert is a lovely end to a superb meal. Service has always been good for us during our visits. We highly recommend this restaurant if anyone is looking for a nice place to eat out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the quality of the food served ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I thought the quality of the food served was, on-the-whole, average to OK. The roasted Romaine lettuce salad we both had was almost completely tasteless; there wasn't enough dressing/marinade on it and it mostly tasted like warm lettuce. We also both had the grilled scallops. The texture and cooking was good, but both our servings had a distinct "fishy" smell that detracted for the culinary experience. Finally, I thought the pairing of what was essentially a sweet ice wine with the chocolate dessert, was not the best choice that could have been made. A bold, late harvest red would have paired much better with the dark chocolate, in my opinion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a smart choice for dinner. Consis ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a smart choice for dinner. Consistently good food, service, and ambiance throughout our many visits here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wine options were abundant. If there ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The wine options were abundant. If there was one thing that could be improved on was the Brussels Sprouts in the scallops. They were tough and under cooked but the stars of the entree were cooked perfectly, the scallops were a perfect texture.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have tried Prairie Star every year ho ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have tried Prairie Star every year hoping it will improve, but it has not. The food is mediocre and the prices are outrageous. The salmon I had last year was much better than what I had this week, which was a smaller portion and fishy. It could be a neighborhood gem, but they just can't get it together.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

I think Prairie Star is the best restaur ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I think Prairie Star is the best restaurant in the Albuquerque area, hands down. It's a wonderful place, with an attentive staff and world-class food. I'd recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food overall was imaginative but ave ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food overall was imaginative but average in quality, and certainly not worth the

cost. Atmosphere was good, and service was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Still one of the best places in central ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Still one of the best places in central New Mexico to enjoy Great Food, Wonderful Wine, and service that cannot be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Thanksgiving brunch. Enjoyed i ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent Thanksgiving brunch. Enjoyed it very much. Service was excellent, attentive, and unobtrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had numerous family occasions at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have had numerous family occasions at the Prairie Star and they never disappoint!

The food was outstanding, the wine was superb and Lance's service was superior-- we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service, nice musi ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious food, great service, nice music, always nice to have linen tablecloths and napkins.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our local, fine dining favorites. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of our local, fine dining favorites. Inventive menu and great wine choices. The waitstaff is a bit "uneven," ranging from seasoned veterans to awkward novices. (e.g. wine glasses filled to the brim). Still, the quality of our meals made up for the less than perfect table service. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We've eaten here before and have always ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We've eaten here before and have always had great food and service. The view is spectacular! It was a very slow night--not so good for them, but great for us!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chili relleno and the accompanying s ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The chili relleno and the accompanying salad was truly incredible. The sea bass was fried and was great, and was the reason we were going there to dine. But the tuna that was served with the sea bass outshined the bass and was perfectly done. It was an amazing dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server was friendly, but needs training. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Server was friendly, but needs training. Did not know how to serve wine. Poured wine into glasses over the table and then placed them, making for an awkward presentation. Dinner was very slow and server did not keep us informed as to when ours would arrive. Noticed that tables that arrived after us received their food before ours.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fireplace, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This was my second time visiting this l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was my second time visiting this location food was very good and service was perfect, seem to have lost some of the ambiance that I had remembered from last visit, felt like date & I were somewhat distanced by table size & lighting was not as omantic

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our 20th anniversary dinner was wonderfu ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our 20th anniversary dinner was wonderful. The bison tenderloin was scrumptious! It was a great night and a special treat. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect ! Staff was so friendly and stea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Perfect ! Staff was so friendly and steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem always delivers great f ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Neighborhood gem always delivers great food, wine, and ambiance. Sitting by the fireplace watching the sunset reflect off the Sandia Mountains is a wonderful experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fabulous. Service went from ove ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was fabulous. Service went from overly-doting to under-attentive, but was always courteous and professional. Love the rustic feel. Catch the view of the Sandias at sunset!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our third time here, the first ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our third time here, the first two times were really quite disappointing but we were very happy with our dinner this time. Evidently they have new management & that has made a world of difference! Everything was really great other than a noisy group seated near us but even that didn't ruin our good time. And you sure can't beat the view! We will definitely dine here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we visit prairie star for a special trea ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

we visit prairie star for a special treat for ourselves about every month. The Wed. wine/dine is an extremely good value for a complete gourmet meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't blame it on the restaurant, but ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I can't blame it on the restaurant, but the view of the Sandia Mountains is OUTSTANDING! Excellent service with a smile, outstanding bar keep -- provided an outstanding Margarita. Menu presented quaint selection with nice presentation. The dry-rubbed pork loin and bison steak were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was somewhat disappointed with the ser ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed with the service on this night. the restaurant was not at all busy that's why the service surprised me. it took a while for the waiter to bring us bread and get our drinks ! felt the service was not up to par on this night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Upon recommendation from friends, we wen ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Upon recommendation from friends, we went there for our 26th anniversary. Service was exceptional, food very good, however, we felt it was a little pricey except for a very special occasion. We would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Second visit to Prairie Star, and it was ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Second visit to Prairie Star, and it was great! Good food, great service, Tara was our server, very friendly, personable and did a very good job serving.

The steaks are perfect, and the Wagyu beef burger will spoil you, burger elsewhere will never come close, the truffle fries were so tasty. I enjoyed this dinner ans previously, savored a delicious steak with savory bread pudding, a delightful taste treat instead of potatoes.There is an extensive wine list and oh, the desserts! excellent!!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there many times, this one was the ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Been there many times, this one was the best! Food was fantastic- especially the blue crab stuffed calamari appetizer. My steak was cooked perfectly. Our server was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.