Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About Prairie Star Restaurant

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00 | Tuesday-Sunday
Dinner:
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday | 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday, Saturday | 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday | 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Mid-April through mid-October, Prairie Star hosts Live Music on the Patio each Friday evening from 5:30 to 8:30. Enjoy the best of local bands and artists. Moved indoors to the Wine Bar when dictated by weather. No cover and no reservations needed.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: (505) 867-3327

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Prairie Star's most popular promotion, ongoing since 2009, is "Wednesday Wine & Dine". It is a unique 3 course dinner for two, served with a bottle of wine, for only $60. Each week a different menu is emailed to our PStar eClub database. Sign up at: http://mynewmexicogolf.com/prairiestar_email/

Also, Prairie Star hosts wine dinners and tastings.

Specials

Prime Rib Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Half-Price Bottles of Wine Tuesday & Sunday

Sundays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Specials

Prime Rib Thursdays

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a 10 oz. Chef's Cut of Prime Rib with the accompaniments and a glass of our house red for $30. Wine upgrades are available and encouraged!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations are recommended. Special valid May 25, 2017 - Sep 21, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM.

Half-Price Bottles of Wine Tuesday & Sunday

Sundays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

Great selection of half-priced bottles to enjoy with your dinner. Sommelier Lance Calabaza has a large menu from our regular and our reserve wine lists. It's a great opportunity to discover a special wine you might not try at full-price!. Excludes Tax and Tip. List will change as quantities may be limited. Special valid May 25, 2017 - Sep 21, 2017 on Sundays and Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM.

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Live Music (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated our 51st wedding anniversary at Prairie Star. It was a truly memorable evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Based on other Open Table reviews that were mostly good, we tried Prairie Star while staying down the road at the Hyatt Resort Tamaya. We were seated immediately with a nice view of the Sandia Mtns out the window. It took a few minutes before we met our waiter to take our drink order. He seemed very nervous while reading from his notes to tell us about the specials. The restaurant was never completely full but our waiter had to handle several tables inside as well as outside and therefore our service suffered tremendously. In fact, after we got our drinks and ordered, we never saw our waiter again, and others had to step in to help out. That's not a big deal but at some point, our waiter should have acknowledged that someone else would now be servicing our table. And then to have the waiter deliver our bill at the end just didn't leave a real good taste in our mouth, literally! The food is just average, nothing special imo.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Prairie Star is our go-to restaurant for special occasions. The staff is always efficient and friendly, the atmosphere is great, and the food is excellent. We love to sit along the windows and look out at the golf course and the mountains.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

xcellent adjacent to golf course. spectacular mountain views. food creative and great tast

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Live music on the patio was good. Beautiful view of the Sandia Mountains.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service was slow (for meal to get served from kitchen). Steak was tough. Waiter was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I have eaten here many times and always had excellent food and service, but last night my husband ordered the ahi tuna and it tasted spoiled. The cook gave my husband another order and same thing. Finally, my husband ordered what I had (pheasant) and was very pleased. The cook comped both of our dinners, which was incredibly nice. We left a very large tip for our server who was back and forth many times and remained as pleasant as can be. The view from the outdoor patio is incredible-- the Sandia Mountains, the golf course, hummingbirds... The interior of the restaurant is very charming and cozy--very southwest (kiva fireplaces, etc.). There is music on the patio in the summers on Friday nights. We got there for the last song (about 8:15pm) and were glad that we hadn't gotten there earlier because they were just too loud and the wrong genre for the ambiance of the patio. This is the kind of place that calls for quieter bands, with more soothing music--maybe a classical guitar or jazz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Atmosphere nice, food mediocre. Dining experience average. Good service.
Would try again

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We have been to PS several times before, each time everything was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great good and service! Had a very very small issue and they fixed it immediately. They went way above and beyond. We look forward to returning and experiencing their high standards again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Steak was tough. Desert ice cream adobe brick was full of ice crystals instead of creamy. Disappointing. Was much better a few years ago.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was superb. We have always thought Prairie Star was good, but our dinner there Saturday was one of the best meals I have ever eaten anywhere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Had not bee to the restaurant in many years. Some business friends leaving town who never had been there. Was a huge dissapointment. Food lacked flavor mostly, over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were looking forward to dining at the restaurant and it started out well. Mark was a wonderful host and chose the perfect wine. The service was really good but the food was a disappointment. The salmon my husband ordered was overcooked, the lamb chops were rare if not under. The crab stuffed calamari had a lovely combination of flavors, but the crab tasted too fishy. The was amazing and the outside patio was delightful, but we will not return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

While staying at the Hyatt Tamaya nearby, this appears to be the best restaurant in the area. I wasn't disappointed. The wine and spirits guy, Lance, has done a great job putting together a unique list of wines and custom-made specialty drinks. Everything I tasted was surprisingly good even though the wines were mostly one's I hadn't heard of.

The food was very good as well. Add the wonderful scenic view of the mountains and we had an excellent time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday and the food was great as usual. Service was good, waiters very attentive. My son and I had the bison, very good. My wife ordered the pheasant but they were out so they subbed a guiinnea hen which was ok, so she was a little disappointed. My daughter in law had the sirloin which was also good. Overall we were very pleased..

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Guests feel welcome and special. Wait staff (Tara and Sarah) were very attentive without being pushy, allowing us to enjoy our evening at our pace.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 31, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants...food delicious but service was nil. Once we saw our waiter to take our order, we did not see him again until he brought the check. We were not asked if we wanted a second glass of wine. We were not asked if we wanted dessert. And we did not get the usual complementary treats at the end. Disappointing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food and wine. The wait staff were very helpful with explaning food selections, and wine choices. They were very welcoming, and thoughtful. Great place for our anniversary and time with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything that we ordered was fantastic, the appetizers, the entrees, and the deserts. The wine list was extensive and very good, the band on the patio was a bit distracting not a bad band but not what we were looking for. Our service was moderate our server was pulling double duty on the patio and dinning room. His coworkers helped out I feel that the number of patrons overwhelmed the staff and they all tried very hard to keep up with everyone. All of the staff members were very polite, and they apologized for any delays. For the price I would expect better service, not to fault the staff I feel there were just not enough staff for the number of patrons. Again the staff was fantastic, just overwhelmed and doing their best which was pretty good.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We keep returning for special occasions and were not disappointed this last visit. The service was excellent. Lovely atmosphere and view
The food was quite good and we will be going back

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 23, 2017

It was good. Everyone was friendly and efficient We had not been there in a long time. But we will go back soon

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with unbelievable views that is not that easy to find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We were celebrating the third anniversary of our first date at Prairie Star. I noted this in my reservation and it was clear that everyone there knew it was a special occasion for us. In fact, the waitress mentioned it and at the end of dinner told us that any dessert was on them! This was an unexpected surprise. As they say in the customer service survey industry, delight your customer. We were clearly delighted!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very good food. Excellent quail and sirloin entrees. Good wine selection. We love going here when we visit Hyatt Tamaya

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We usually love this place, but had a terrible experience last Friday. We had a reservation for 7 pm. Our dinners came out after more than an hour of waiting and then the bun that a burger was served on was completely burned and the fiddle head fern ravioli had no fiddleheads! After another 1/2 hour wait the fiddleheads came out and a new bun for the burger. The snippy manager came out to offer us free drinks to calm us down. When she discovered we were not satisfied she offered to comp our meals, but had a horrible attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Kudos to Tara, wonderful service.
My other ordered pheasant; said it was fantastic.
I'm a vegetarian, and as much as I enjoy dining here, I find the menu quite limited.
I do eat fish but get tired of salmon. How about some halibut, walleye, or trout?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good, service was good but what happened after we walked out ruined the the evening. As we were driving out of the parking lot, the waiter came running up to the car to say that we didn't leave the a signed ticket. We did sign it and leave it in the ticket jacket along with a very nice tip. We signed our copy and gave it to the waiter. I assume he must have dropped it or something, but we felt like he thought we were leaving without paying. Don't know if we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The Prairie Star was a good restaurant with good food and service. It is in the middle of nowhere so you can't be too picky. Food was good, but not great and the service was fine. This is a good place to eat if you are staying at the nearby resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Wonderful service. Waiter was fabulous. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We went for our 21st wedding anniversary. The staff was professional but not standoff-ish nor pushy. We stuck to primarily small plates instead of main entrees, which provided a great variety of unique flavors. We now want to go back for a wine flight dinner. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Deft and attentive but unobtrusive service accented an imaginative menu backed by a superb wine list. The ultra-tender steak was prepared precisely as ordered, and was accompanied by a bread pudding and grilled asparagus, an unusual but very successful pairing. The cheese assortment appetizer was good but unexceptional. The evening had but one drawback: the adobe brick dessert was sold out. The waiter apologized and said only 16 servings were prepared nightly. The number should be doubled. Prairie Star remains one of the very best choices in or near Albuquerque for a romantic evening, or for a celebratory occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Nice environment. Very good for special occasions. Food was very good and well made! Definitely going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Marty & I haven't been out to see you lately. I got a new hip in November which certainly curtailed our visits to our favorite restaurants.
You have changed quite a bit of your personnel however Rebecca is still there which is a good thing.
We enjoyed our Saturday evening. We had a great table overlooking the golf course & the majestic Sandia mountains. Tara was our wait person & was terrrific while answering our questions. Food was terrific including my husband giving the 'Rabbit Stew' a try. The salmon entires were excellent as was the appetizer 'Cheese platter'.
The wine choices also were a hit.
Thanks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

After a rough patch with many staff changes the Prairie Star is back on track with very good food , excellent wine selection and knowledgable and attentive staff in a great setting.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My husband and I had Easter brunch. Val the waitress was great. Excellent food great views. Made for a special time.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Celebrated a birthday. Food was terrific as was the special lava cake with a candle.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Good - not great. Prairie Star has so much going for them that they do not take advantage of - spruce up the entrance, take advantage of the vistas, replace the windows in the dining room that have broken seals (moisture between the panes), revamp the menu (same menu for years), slap a coat of paint on the dining rooms, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The steak was so fatty and full of gristle I didn't even take it home to the dog. We had to ask for a bread basket twice. Not a good experience

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was our 5th visit and as always, the service was good and the food delicious. We especially appreciate they are celiac friendly so I an always find something safe to eat that is also tempting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.