About Prairie Star Restaurant

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion with three separate dining rooms, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full viga and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: 5058673327x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
5 More
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Santa Ana Pueblo ›

scenic view (60)
special occasion (55)
romantic (48)
See All
notable wine list (33)
fit for foodies (32)
great for outdoor dining (18)
neighborhood gem (16)
good for groups (8)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
970 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole evening was great, it was are ...

Dined 5 days ago

The whole evening was great, it was are 10th anniversary. My only complaint was my steak was over cook . Everything tasted great and was enjoyable. Service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for the secon ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for the second anniversary of our time together!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as usual

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner and the service, food, and wine were exceptional. This our all time favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation for our anniversary a ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Made a reservation for our anniversary and requested a window table as my wife had never been to the restaurant and I wanted her to experience the beautiful views of the golf course, bosque, and mountains. When we arrived we were not only not seated by the windows but in the back of the restaurant. I told our server I was very disappointed that that only did not reserve us a window table but seated us far away from the window. He was apologetic and tried to assure me that probably many others also requested window tables and they couldn't accommodate my request. He did suggest we might want to try the outside patio for a cocktail and suggested we could even order dinner there, if we desired. We did go to the patio and enjoyed the scenery, wildlife and our cocktails. We decided to have dinner outside even the wind was starting to pick up. As soon as our menus arrived, our server informed us an inside window table had opened and offered us a choice of remaining outside or relocating to the inside table. We moved inside and had a wonderful meal with impeccable service. Prairie Star certainly redeemed themselves in my view. I've since strongly recommended the restaurant to two other couples and we will be returning soon.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

There was a fixed menu for Mother's Day ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a fixed menu for Mother's Day and it took much longer than it should for the entrees. The manager should have apologized and perhaps given a free desert or drink. The tuna wasn't great. The waiter did admit there was an issue, but for the price it should have been handled much better. The bloody Mary was excellent

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect setting for a Mother's Day brunch with

Dined on May 8, 2016

Having dined at Prarie Star for Mother's Day in the past a return visit was in order. The restaurant lived up to expectations. The setting, a table next to a window with a fantastic view of the Sandia's, the service, teriffic and the food was superb. The Mother being honored loved the entire experience. We will be back next year.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Never had steaks here before as other choices have always been more appealing. But it was one of those "red wine, red meat" nights so we ordered the sirloins. What a treat! So thick and juicy with wonderful flavor and tender as well. Very impressed with the new chef. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday, everyone ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday, everyone made us feel special. Our server, Travis, was very attentive, yet not hovering. We ordered the Wednesday Wine and Dine special, the wine selection was superb, and the fish dish was outstanding. It all made for a very great, enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Prairie Star has the best ambiance in town, the best servers, wine and food!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Same Wonderful Place Year After Year

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had not been back to Prairie Star for a year--bad me! Food, wine, service, ambiance, all were impeccable. And, really easy to get to from Albuquerque, the drive is rewarded not only by the food and wine but the view is worth a million bucks. Went with friends who had not been back to Albuquerque for several years after moving to the Midwest, they want to move back here now!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Portions

Dined on April 20, 2016

Entrée & the side dishes served with the entrée way to small. We both had the duck.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Off the beat and path, good for a special occasion

Dined on April 20, 2016

We hadn't been to this restaurant for over 20 years until this April when we went for our Anniversary dinner. There was a fantastic view of the mountains and the restaurant was quiet. The food was pricey and a little above average for a fancy meal. For example, the bread at the beginning was dried out. The main course was average size. The vegetables were prepared very nicely. I had the duck breast which was overly tough but seasoned well. My husband had the pork porterhouse and it was okay but not spectacular. The wait staff was attentive.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

No Way No How

Dined on March 27, 2016

Bread was stale, the Italian wine was poor, no better than $3 Buck Chuck, the food was mediocre: the grilled Romaine salad was questionable re freshness and did not taste good. The sage fries were way too strong with sage. The Wagyu burger was cooked medium but dry. The Niman Ranch steak was good itself but the sauce was horrid. The savory bread pudding was a dry hockey puck. Only the asparagus was cooked perfectly. The vanilla bean tart was dry and stale. At $150 including tip, we'll never go back. We've eaten at the Prairie Star many times over the years and had wonderful meals but this is the last time.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and company

Dined on March 25, 2016

Wonderful meal and company

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on March 23, 2016

The food, the wine and service were all excellent and the view is to die for! For many years we have enjoyed dining at the Prairie Star. There is not a more beautiful setting in New Mexico. If you time it just right, you can enjoy coffee and desert on the patio and watch the sunset reflected on the Sandia mountains.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ANNIVERSARY DINNER

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Since it was early and the first Sunday after winter that they were open we were the only customers in the place. A great experience and even though we were the only ones there the staff did not become overly attentive. I would have to say it was just about perfect and the knowledge of menu and recommendations were right on. Brook our server was delightful and very helpful. Mark from the bar was great also as we enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner in the bar. As always we enjoyed the view and ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on February 28, 2016

Live in Albuquerque, and was staying at Tamaya Resort for a conference. Went to dinner on 2/28/16 at Prairie Star. Was disappointed with the preparation and the quality of food , starting with the calamari and continuing to the Sea Bass and Bison main courses. Our drinks were the only positive, and the view of the mountain. I hadn't been here in a long while, and won't go back anytime soon. For the money and prices of entrees, it was really hard to believe this place had fallen so much..

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Rview of Prairie Star late Feb 2016

Dined on February 28, 2016

The menu is not very extensive. The food quality was good but not great. Presentation was good. The wine list is acceptable. Service was acceptable. They were out of the appetizer I had specifically gone there for (Calamari). It is a nice setting and with some minimal effort, could be improved dramatically. Add a couple of steak selections (beef ribeye, etc), maybe lamb chops. It did not live up to its good reputation, but it has the potential to do so.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Food preparation mixed

Dined on February 28, 2016

Most items except for one entree were excellent in preparation, display and taste. However, a "special" porterhouse pork dish was terrible. It had little flavor, was dry and was inordinately tough. Not only was the pork tough, the roasted vegetables were inexplicably tough. How one oven roasts carrots and potatoes to a consistency of shoe leather is hard to comprehend. Generally the meals are excellent but this time it was 50/50.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

They changed the menu & the only thing I ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

They changed the menu & the only thing I could find to eat was a steak that was grissly & undercooked from what I ordered. They need to bring back the former chicken dish or figure out a better way to cook the sea bass. Then maybe We can find something to eat there.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Prairie Star, cozy, great food, and great service.

Dined on February 25, 2016

This is a cozy out of the way place off the beaten path. Great place for a quiet dinner. Also great for lunch or early evening where you can enjoy spectacular views overlooking the Santa Ana Golf course and Sandia Mountains. Ask for a window seat (or patio if it is not cold outside). Menu changes weekly, but always great food and great service. Can get busy in the summer, but never seems too crowded.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a beautiful spot to dine

Dined on February 18, 2016

I love Prairie Star, and the Wednesday Wine and Dine is usually a treat. This past week kind of missed the boat--but for the first time ever. The very hot pepper sauce on the grilled scallops overwhelmed the dish, and the bed of couscous it was served on was bland. It was most unusual for me to be disappointed dining there. It would NOT put me off going again, as it truly was an aberration. As usual, though, the service was stellar, and the view cannot be beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on February 18, 2016

The Wednesday specials are unique and a great deal. The food and the services always great, romantic setting, and a great wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Never for a holiday again

Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived and were promptly seated even though we were a half hour early. When we booked we had no idea that there was a limited menu. As soon as we were seated champagne was delivered with chocolate covered strawberries. Then we felt the race was on for us to eat and get out. The starter and 1st course came within 5 minutes of each other. The food was excellent. We were never offered any additional drinks. The staff hovered for my wife to finish her entree, so they could give our dessert. The check was delivered with dessert and quickly processed. The drive from Los Lunas took 45 minutes and the meal was 40. Not the experience you are looking for on Valentines Day.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience

Dined on February 15, 2016

We enjoyed the Valentines Day special dinner, that was a semi-fixed menu with choice from three entrees. Everything was well prepared and presented, and the service was superb. There is no salt or pepper on the table, leaving the seasoning totally in the hands of the chef. However, the duck appetizer and scallops were too salty, to my taste. Still, an excellent evening that I will recommend to all for a special evening out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Valentine Event on February 13

Dined on February 14, 2016

Lovely holiday evening, with delightful menu, delicious, well-prepared food and attentive service for the most part.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall great place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

website showed Lemon Meringue Pie as a dessert option but that was not an option that day and of course I had told my wife about it and that is her favorite pie. Other than that everything else was great!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always one of the best for a special occasion

Dined on February 14, 2016

From the phone call arranging a time for the request for a window seat to the conversations with the manager and the waitstaff, everything was great. This has been one of the two or three places we always look to for a special occasion. Go at sunset and watch the fading sun hit the Sandias...it is always breathtaking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always go here on special occasions.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Diverse menu. Great wine list. Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing find in small town

Dined on February 11, 2016

This is an amazing place for any night or a special evening. The two for one dinner had great choices and adequate amount of food. The lemon martini was awesome

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Wine & Dine -- disappointing

Dined on February 11, 2016

Previous Wine and Dines Very Good, but this time a bit disappointing. Prime Rib very gristly. Dessert "for two" was barely "For One". Although this latter issue may have been less a factor of restaurant responsibility, and more that of a very disappointing server, "D". (Young lady assisting w bread service very nice and attentive! Ditto for manager(?) who began helping near end of our meal.)

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden away, but outstanding!

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

It had been a while since last visiting Prairie Star Restaurant, but we won't let that happen again! The evening was flawless, from the reservations to the final sip of wine. Our server was very attentive, but not overbearing. The menu selections provided something for all palates. I enjoyed the sea bass, and my colleague enjoyed the beef tenderloin, both were perfectly prepared and very enjoyable. If you are looking for a restaurant for a business dinner, or a special occasion, put Prairie Star on the top of your list!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Hideaway gem not to be missed.

Dined on February 10, 2016

We had a very pleasurable evening at this hideaway gem. The atmosphere is classic southwest with the feel of a cozy home. The menu is interesting and varied and portions are just right. Service was attentive and smooth. We will go back again when in the area.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was overly priced for what we got.

Dined on January 29, 2016

The waitress did not seem to know much about the food on the menu. The bus person was more knowledgeable than her.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Re-discover this restaurant

Dined on January 21, 2016

It had been 2 or 3 years since our last visit to Prairie Star. Now I'm wondering why we waited so long. Our anniversary dinner there was just perfect. The food was delicious, great service and a nice comfy dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Belated birthday date

Dined on January 21, 2016

I was on Jury Duty the entire month of December, so we decided to go to the Prairie Star Restaurant for my wife's special occasion!! As always, we had a superb dinner!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a very pleasant experience

Dined on January 7, 2016

Never have a complain at Prairie Starr. Wednesday night is a real treat! They don't skimp on anything just because it is a deal. Any other night the menu selections always put me in a bind on which to select. My husband, being French, finds their wine list every good. Service, professional, food is delicious and looks almost too delicious to eat. The atmosphere is warm and rosy in the winter, and the patio in the spring and summer offers up a spectacular view. Just love it! It's a "regular" for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Grilled Romaine salad was cold. Seems t ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Grilled Romaine salad was cold. Seems that should have been hot/warm since it was grilled. Not so good. Special for the night included roasted brussell sprouts. 4 leaves on a plate isn't even one whole brussell sprout. Not so happy. What was on the plate tasted fine that is the only reason the food was rated good.

food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was very good, but very expensive.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went there on New Years's Eve so there was a prix fixe menu. Gourmet, elegant food. Overpriced for what we got. Service was good, expected the restaurant to be busier. Nice ambiance, we sat near the fireplace.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our visit to Prairie Star was fabulous and we will visit again. While the food should be -- and was -- the star, the service was exemplary and made for an even more special event.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.