About Prairie Star Restaurant

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion with three separate dining rooms, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full viga and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: 5058673327x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Romantic
New Mexico
8 More
Scenic View
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Santa Ana Pueblo ›

Scenic View (48)
Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The beef tenderloin my husband ordered w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

The beef tenderloin my husband ordered was great. However, the vegetable lasagna was not what I would call lasagna: no cheese, no pasta (more like a crepe) and very unusual sauce. I was misled by the lasagna label. Also, while I like Brussel sprouts, that was mostly the only vegetable in the lasagna and the sprouts were under cooked. I would have like more variety. We did enjoy the music in the bar following our dinner.

Tags: Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing! We had not been to Prair ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Disappointing! We had not been to Prairie Star in probably 15 years. When we saw a coupon for it, we decided to give it a new try. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday, using their Birthday promotion coupon, which was mentioned as one of 2 possibilities in the coupon. You get it online after signing up for their emails. It is only good on Sundays during the month of your birthday. My husband got the pork chop; I got the special lamb chops. Both were ordered medium rare, both were over-cooked. The pork chop was so over-cooked it was a dry brick. The lamb chops were over-cooked, but at least still moist. Since my husband was sending his pork chop back, I went ahead and sent my lamb chops back, too. The second pork chop was still over-cooked, not as badly, but still not moist. My old lamb chops came back - not new ones! - either that or the chef had made the exact same cuts that I had and cooked it exactly the same. So, still over-cooked, but fortunately still very moist. They gave us free desserts and dessert wine to make up for it, which was nice, but we still left feeling disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was amazing. I had salmon, my dad h ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was amazing. I had salmon, my dad had beef tenderloin, and my mom had the sea bass. Everything was delicious. Dessert menu was not very extensive though. Our server was friendly, but not very experienced or was nervous. Would like to come back and sit on the patio. Nice views of the golf course!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Nice experience. The food was good. The ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Nice experience. The food was good. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

While the view, ambiance, service were g ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

While the view, ambiance, service were great - the food left much to be desired. The vegetable lasagna was EXTREMELY salty and the vegetables were almost raw. I love crispy veggies, but these were more appropriate for a salad and the sauce tasted like someone had dropped the salt accidentally into it.

I didn't complain because we had taken friends there for a birthday gift so I didn't want to spoil

their time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Three of our group rated their main entr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Three of our group rated their main entree (i.e. meat dish) excellent. None of us liked any of the vegetables. Carrots hard as a rock. None of us ate the veggies. I ordered the butternut squash pasta lasagne; ate half of it to be polite. The sauce was spicy; the veggies undercooked; and the entree did not resemble lasagne nor was it to my liking.

**** Our server was Dennis. He was excellent.

The tiramisu was not, as portrayed, "classic." It was a creamy delight; quite small for the price, but in no way resembled tiramisu. I've made it a point to find the best tiramisu, including hiring two private chefs, one French and one Italian, to make it from scratch, so I know tiramisu. I think you should change the name to something else so expectations are not disappointing.

We like Prairie Star overall. I will just stick with tried and true from now on. It would be nice to have more choice for vegetarians.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We requested patio seating which was per ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We requested patio seating which was perfect to watch the sunset on the Sandia mountains. The cheese plate was delicious. The salmon, seafood relleno, and vegetable lasagne were terrific. Our server was attentive without being intrusive. A great place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Prairie Star dining room is lovely with ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Prairie Star dining room is lovely with a wonderful view of the Sandia Mountains. We often go there for their Wednesday dining special ~ 2 appies, 2 entrees and a shared desert plus a bottle of wine for $60 ~ excellent value. The food is usually very good, however on several occasions they ran out of the fish entree advertised for the evening. The last time it was halibut, however they did substitute sea bass, and I was satisfied with the bass - it was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lovely dinner and service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Lovely dinner and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The duck breast was done to perfection a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The duck breast was done to perfection and was beautifully presented.

The Neiman sirloin had a bit too much sauce and it overwhelmed the taste of a good steak.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall a great re-visit (last time was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overall a great re-visit (last time was many years ago). This was a birthday surprise for my wife who enjoyed it thoroughly along with our 11 other guests. We had the middle, semi-private room which was perfect. Our waiter, Dennis, was helpful and his suggestions were appreciated. Ambience was extra nice with a partial view outside yet we didn't have to worry about disturbing other guests when we got noisy. My wife and several friends had the salmon which they all loved and I had the duck (a little tough but flavorful with an amazing sauce). I had requested a special desert for the occasion - a pound cake with berries which was absolutely wonderful (but pricey). We'll be back again for another occasion !

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We dined with friends mid week. The scal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We dined with friends mid week. The scallop ceviche was very tasty, a perfect summer appetizer. My husband, however, loved the French onion soup. The four of us ordered the roast pheasant whick was exceptional - crusty outside, tender and moist inside. The chocolate dessert was heavenly. This is our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dennis as a waiter is our all time favor ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Dennis as a waiter is our all time favorite anywhere. Knows us as a family and always takes care of us. This last visit there seemed to be less coverage of waiters to visitors so the wait to order was longer than usual. I always get Salmon, but prefer other presentations of past more than this visit. I personally miss previous managers Zane and Pricilla greatly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Our food was great, but the special ran ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our food was great, but the special ran out. Drinks and wine were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server Brooke was as usual superb. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server Brooke was as usual superb. Prairie Star is my favorite dining restaurant..

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

arugula salad had no arugula in it--was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

arugula salad had no arugula in it--was all spinach, but no adjustment was made to the bill when this was pointed out. T-bone pork chop was cooked well-done vs. medium, leaving it totally white, dry and devoid of flavor. Friend's filet mignon was undercooked--rare and barely warm in the center, though he ordered it medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent and attentive service by knowl ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent and attentive service by knowledgeable wait staff. Beautiful view of mountains and good food.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dinner in a long time.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best dinner in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of five had a very nice birthd ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our party of five had a very nice birthday dinner. It was quiet and lights were

pleasantly dim. It was very relaxing. Wait staff were respectful and took good

care of us. Everyone enjoyed the food and ambience. At one point a staff member

took me on a short tour of the premises when I asked if the restaurant had once

been a home. He shared historical information about the home. I have been

to Prairie Star twice and have enjoyed it both times and will definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have eaten at Prairie Star several tim ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have eaten at Prairie Star several times and have always been pleased. I have two recommendations: 1. The ambiance is always a little too quiet and bland. It feels like I can hear every conversation at every table and everyone is whispering for their privacy. Perhaps nice music (soft) to create more atmosphere. 2. The wine list is great. But they need true wine refrigeration for the red varietals. Their wines are just too nice to be stored and served at room temp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

In the past this restaurant has been sup ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

In the past this restaurant has been superior. My recent experience was disappointing.

The food was fair, the ambience wonderful, the service worse than bad.

My husband complained to the bartender.

The woman who waited on us was new. It appeared she had had no training.

And only after we complained did she get the support she needed to serve us properly.

Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a nice evening but the food wasn' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a nice evening but the food wasn't quite as good as the last time we visited. Our waiter was very chatty and my steak was not seasoned at all. I asked about it and was brought salt and pepper. The seasonings otherwise were good. The truffle fries weren't very crisp and the bruschetta was on giant slabs of bread and one of them was not delicious. The grilled Romaine salad was okay but not exceptional. We'll go again but hope the food is back to its usual standard.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service-excellent: Sean - one of the bes ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service-excellent: Sean - one of the best we've ever enjoyed! (Ethan also very good.) Entertaining! Attentive! Highly amicable! Sean "saved" the day -- see comments about the fish.

We had bragged to some friends about PS, especially about the Wednesday Wine&Dine. We forwarded the menu to them sent out by PS on Tuesday, and were all looking forward to the advertised Red Snapper. Unfortunately the substituted fish was a Mexican Flounder which may have been tasty except for the uneven cooking, leaving the edges with a slight to heavy "Burn". One person left most of the edges of her fish untouched. I gave my wife a large slice from the middle of my flounder in exchange for her "burnt" edges. Bottom line: all four of us were rather disappointed. This was definitely not up to the fine standards we have enjoyed so many times over the last few years.

(I gave the food a "Fair" above since I did not wish to rate it as "Poor", but that rating was close. Had the four of us been honest during dinner, and discovered that the disappointment was mutual, we would have been inclined to send the plates back, but we did not discuss this until we were out in the parking lot. Having first time guests, everyone was wanting to act like everything was okay.)

Nonetheless, we'll be back! (We'll also ask for Sean!)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Your staff was very friendly and accommo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Your staff was very friendly and accommodating. The appetizers were wonderful. The entrees were perfect. The wine, the view, the whole experience was awesome.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service with an awesome v ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and service with an awesome view of the Sandia Mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. I try to eat he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I love this restaurant. I try to eat here every time I go to Albuquerque. It is so memorable and the food, ambiance, and service are superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, as always. Innovative me ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food, as always. Innovative menu items, notable presentation. And the view is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Out of 5 dishes, mine was the only one t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Out of 5 dishes, mine was the only one that was not acceptable. My meat was not cooked to order so it was taken back. The meat I got back was the same they had taken away, but now super dry because they tried to cook it to how I had ordered rather than starting over with a new piece of meat. The fries that came with it were cold because they did not change them after taking my plate. At this level of restaurant I expect perfection and super attention to detail on the food. I am willing to give them a second chance because the other dishes were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive service, great view, good ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very attentive service, great view, good music, excellent food. A favorite place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dining experience in a be ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience in a beautiful setting, but a little pricey for frequent visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a nice dining experience. The st ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a nice dining experience. The staff is always friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service at Prairie Star are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and service at Prairie Star are always consistent. Great place to dine for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's wine and Salmon Dish were g ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband's wine and Salmon Dish were great. I had the Sirloin. the beef was great, but the asparagus was barely warmed up and the bread thingy was not good at all. We shared a "tiramisu" which was like over whipped, whipped cream...not pleasant. Coffee was OK. View was terrific, lovely. We even watched as a wedding party took photos, which was fun to see since it was our 2nd anniverasary.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The price/quality ratio was just not the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The price/quality ratio was just not there. The food was good but worth 70% more than other local establishments. While the service was excellent it still didn't make up for the overall lack of quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Service a bit indifferen ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was great. Service a bit indifferent for this caliber of restaurant and price range. Portions are not huge, which I liked. Delicious desserts. On a cooler night the patio looks like a great option. Beautiful mountain views.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Prairie Star was by far the most fancy r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Prairie Star was by far the most fancy restaurant I have ever been to. The quality of food and service definitely showed! It is a bit outside our price range for frequent restaurant visits, but with a $50 gift card, we were able to enjoy an amazing first wedding anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with my family for my mother's 80 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I went with my family for my mother's 80th birthday. Beginning with the reservation process, our greeting, the setting of our table, our waiter, the food .... all of it was amazing! Our waiter even went out of his way to suggest a better setting for a group picture! I would definitely recommend Prairie Star for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Prairie Star before, bu ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We have eaten at Prairie Star before, but not for a few years when we had a less-than-stellar meal. It is back to its previous excellence, with a new menu that's mostly continental with occasional NM touches (e.g., lobster stuffed chile rellenos). The waiter was attentive without being over-bearing, the food was delicious, and the setting is beautiful with large windows looking to the Sandias.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner, with very att ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner, with very attentive, but not too attentive, service. Food was wonderful! Highly recommend the smoked tenderloin and the ice cream dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday night 3 course dinner for two with wine

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have dined at Prairie Star on several occasions, this was an off night for the restaurant. Certainly willing to give them another chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.