About Prairie Star Restaurant

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion with three separate dining rooms, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full viga and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: 5058673327x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
New Mexico
Best Value
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
11 More
Romantic
New Mexico
Scenic View
New Mexico
Special Occasion
New Mexico
Best Overall
Albuquerque
Best Service
Albuquerque
Best Ambiance
Albuquerque
Best Value
Albuquerque
Fit for Foodies
Albuquerque
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Romantic
Albuquerque
Special Occasion
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Santa Ana Pueblo ›

Scenic View (54)
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined with friends mid week. The scal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

We dined with friends mid week. The scallop ceviche was very tasty, a perfect summer appetizer. My husband, however, loved the French onion soup. The four of us ordered the roast pheasant whick was exceptional - crusty outside, tender and moist inside. The chocolate dessert was heavenly. This is our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dennis as a waiter is our all time favor ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

Dennis as a waiter is our all time favorite anywhere. Knows us as a family and always takes care of us. This last visit there seemed to be less coverage of waiters to visitors so the wait to order was longer than usual. I always get Salmon, but prefer other presentations of past more than this visit. I personally miss previous managers Zane and Pricilla greatly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

Our food was great, but the special ran ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our food was great, but the special ran out. Drinks and wine were excellent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our server Brooke was as usual superb. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server Brooke was as usual superb. Prairie Star is my favorite dining restaurant..

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

arugula salad had no arugula in it--was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

arugula salad had no arugula in it--was all spinach, but no adjustment was made to the bill when this was pointed out. T-bone pork chop was cooked well-done vs. medium, leaving it totally white, dry and devoid of flavor. Friend's filet mignon was undercooked--rare and barely warm in the center, though he ordered it medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent and attentive service by knowl ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent and attentive service by knowledgeable wait staff. Beautiful view of mountains and good food.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best dinner in a long time.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Best dinner in a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of five had a very nice birthd ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our party of five had a very nice birthday dinner. It was quiet and lights were

pleasantly dim. It was very relaxing. Wait staff were respectful and took good

care of us. Everyone enjoyed the food and ambience. At one point a staff member

took me on a short tour of the premises when I asked if the restaurant had once

been a home. He shared historical information about the home. I have been

to Prairie Star twice and have enjoyed it both times and will definitely return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I have eaten at Prairie Star several tim ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have eaten at Prairie Star several times and have always been pleased. I have two recommendations: 1. The ambiance is always a little too quiet and bland. It feels like I can hear every conversation at every table and everyone is whispering for their privacy. Perhaps nice music (soft) to create more atmosphere. 2. The wine list is great. But they need true wine refrigeration for the red varietals. Their wines are just too nice to be stored and served at room temp.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

In the past this restaurant has been sup ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

In the past this restaurant has been superior. My recent experience was disappointing.

The food was fair, the ambience wonderful, the service worse than bad.

My husband complained to the bartender.

The woman who waited on us was new. It appeared she had had no training.

And only after we complained did she get the support she needed to serve us properly.

Not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a nice evening but the food wasn' ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a nice evening but the food wasn't quite as good as the last time we visited. Our waiter was very chatty and my steak was not seasoned at all. I asked about it and was brought salt and pepper. The seasonings otherwise were good. The truffle fries weren't very crisp and the bruschetta was on giant slabs of bread and one of them was not delicious. The grilled Romaine salad was okay but not exceptional. We'll go again but hope the food is back to its usual standard.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service-excellent: Sean - one of the bes ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service-excellent: Sean - one of the best we've ever enjoyed! (Ethan also very good.) Entertaining! Attentive! Highly amicable! Sean "saved" the day -- see comments about the fish.

We had bragged to some friends about PS, especially about the Wednesday Wine&Dine. We forwarded the menu to them sent out by PS on Tuesday, and were all looking forward to the advertised Red Snapper. Unfortunately the substituted fish was a Mexican Flounder which may have been tasty except for the uneven cooking, leaving the edges with a slight to heavy "Burn". One person left most of the edges of her fish untouched. I gave my wife a large slice from the middle of my flounder in exchange for her "burnt" edges. Bottom line: all four of us were rather disappointed. This was definitely not up to the fine standards we have enjoyed so many times over the last few years.

(I gave the food a "Fair" above since I did not wish to rate it as "Poor", but that rating was close. Had the four of us been honest during dinner, and discovered that the disappointment was mutual, we would have been inclined to send the plates back, but we did not discuss this until we were out in the parking lot. Having first time guests, everyone was wanting to act like everything was okay.)

Nonetheless, we'll be back! (We'll also ask for Sean!)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Your staff was very friendly and accommo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Your staff was very friendly and accommodating. The appetizers were wonderful. The entrees were perfect. The wine, the view, the whole experience was awesome.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service with an awesome v ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and service with an awesome view of the Sandia Mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. I try to eat he ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I love this restaurant. I try to eat here every time I go to Albuquerque. It is so memorable and the food, ambiance, and service are superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, as always. Innovative me ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food, as always. Innovative menu items, notable presentation. And the view is spectacular.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Out of 5 dishes, mine was the only one t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Out of 5 dishes, mine was the only one that was not acceptable. My meat was not cooked to order so it was taken back. The meat I got back was the same they had taken away, but now super dry because they tried to cook it to how I had ordered rather than starting over with a new piece of meat. The fries that came with it were cold because they did not change them after taking my plate. At this level of restaurant I expect perfection and super attention to detail on the food. I am willing to give them a second chance because the other dishes were very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very attentive service, great view, good ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very attentive service, great view, good music, excellent food. A favorite place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very enjoyable dining experience in a be ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very enjoyable dining experience in a beautiful setting, but a little pricey for frequent visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a nice dining experience. The st ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a nice dining experience. The staff is always friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service at Prairie Star are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food and service at Prairie Star are always consistent. Great place to dine for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband's wine and Salmon Dish were g ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My husband's wine and Salmon Dish were great. I had the Sirloin. the beef was great, but the asparagus was barely warmed up and the bread thingy was not good at all. We shared a "tiramisu" which was like over whipped, whipped cream...not pleasant. Coffee was OK. View was terrific, lovely. We even watched as a wedding party took photos, which was fun to see since it was our 2nd anniverasary.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The price/quality ratio was just not the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The price/quality ratio was just not there. The food was good but worth 70% more than other local establishments. While the service was excellent it still didn't make up for the overall lack of quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food was great. Service a bit indifferen ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was great. Service a bit indifferent for this caliber of restaurant and price range. Portions are not huge, which I liked. Delicious desserts. On a cooler night the patio looks like a great option. Beautiful mountain views.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Prairie Star was by far the most fancy r ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Prairie Star was by far the most fancy restaurant I have ever been to. The quality of food and service definitely showed! It is a bit outside our price range for frequent restaurant visits, but with a $50 gift card, we were able to enjoy an amazing first wedding anniversary!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with my family for my mother's 80 ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I went with my family for my mother's 80th birthday. Beginning with the reservation process, our greeting, the setting of our table, our waiter, the food .... all of it was amazing! Our waiter even went out of his way to suggest a better setting for a group picture! I would definitely recommend Prairie Star for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at Prairie Star before, bu ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We have eaten at Prairie Star before, but not for a few years when we had a less-than-stellar meal. It is back to its previous excellence, with a new menu that's mostly continental with occasional NM touches (e.g., lobster stuffed chile rellenos). The waiter was attentive without being over-bearing, the food was delicious, and the setting is beautiful with large windows looking to the Sandias.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner, with very att ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner, with very attentive, but not too attentive, service. Food was wonderful! Highly recommend the smoked tenderloin and the ice cream dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wednesday night 3 course dinner for two with wine

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I have dined at Prairie Star on several occasions, this was an off night for the restaurant. Certainly willing to give them another chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful setting, excellent food. Perfe ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Beautiful setting, excellent food. Perfect for a special occasion. The service was outstanding. Thanks!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food, spendy

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything was very good, although it seemed like the portions were smaller than average. We were a group of 3 couples with separate checks, so all recieved a mandatory 25% tip. Seemed high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We have returned several times as this i ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We have returned several times as this is one of our favorite restaurants. Only on one visit were we disappointed when the server was less that pleasant. At this most recent visit the staff at all levels was impressive....from the person who poured the water to those who served the food. Very professional and welcoming. The food was excellent as well. We requested a seat by the windows facing the Sandias and it was beautiful

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife ordered the vegetable lasagna. I ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My wife ordered the vegetable lasagna. It was extremely salty, doused with Worcestershire Sauce, and hardly any cheese. Did not resemble lasagna at all. I had the filet, was quite tasteless. Very disappointing. We had eaten here before and it was quite good. Not this time however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Service and Delicious Food - W ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent Service and Delicious Food - We decided last minute to go to Prairie Star to try it out for date night. We were not disappointed. The view was beautiful. Our server was the best at being relational but not nosey (in our opinion the PERFECT combination). She was funny and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list.

We ordered the burger (delicious) and sea bas and polenta cake (AMAZING!!! it was so delicious, I would go back just for this). Wine list was great as well.

The atmosphere was also very quiet for being a golf clubhouse. Our table had a beautiful view of the Sandia Mountains.

Overall it was a great find and we are happy we live close by. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole evening was great, it was are ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The whole evening was great, it was are 10th anniversary. My only complaint was my steak was over cook . Everything tasted great and was enjoyable. Service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for the secon ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for the second anniversary of our time together!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Went for a birthday dinner and the service, food, and wine were exceptional. This our all time favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation for our anniversary a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Made a reservation for our anniversary and requested a window table as my wife had never been to the restaurant and I wanted her to experience the beautiful views of the golf course, bosque, and mountains. When we arrived we were not only not seated by the windows but in the back of the restaurant. I told our server I was very disappointed that that only did not reserve us a window table but seated us far away from the window. He was apologetic and tried to assure me that probably many others also requested window tables and they couldn't accommodate my request. He did suggest we might want to try the outside patio for a cocktail and suggested we could even order dinner there, if we desired. We did go to the patio and enjoyed the scenery, wildlife and our cocktails. We decided to have dinner outside even the wind was starting to pick up. As soon as our menus arrived, our server informed us an inside window table had opened and offered us a choice of remaining outside or relocating to the inside table. We moved inside and had a wonderful meal with impeccable service. Prairie Star certainly redeemed themselves in my view. I've since strongly recommended the restaurant to two other couples and we will be returning soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was a fixed menu for Mother's Day ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There was a fixed menu for Mother's Day and it took much longer than it should for the entrees. The manager should have apologized and perhaps given a free desert or drink. The tuna wasn't great. The waiter did admit there was an issue, but for the price it should have been handled much better. The bloody Mary was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

A perfect setting for a Mother's Day brunch with

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Having dined at Prarie Star for Mother's Day in the past a return visit was in order. The restaurant lived up to expectations. The setting, a table next to a window with a fantastic view of the Sandia's, the service, teriffic and the food was superb. The Mother being honored loved the entire experience. We will be back next year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.