Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.76mi
  3. Distance: 1.30mi
  4. Distance: 1.93mi

About Prairie Star Restaurant

The Prairie Star Restaurant at Santa Ana Golf Club offers an unforgettable dining experience. Housed in an old adobe mansion, the warmth and intimacy of Prairie Star is intoxicating. You may absorb the atmosphere of handmade adobe walls, kiva fireplaces and full vigas and latilla ceilings while enjoying awe-inspiring and sweeping views of the golf course and the Sandia Mountains.

Chef Chris Olsen masterfully creates stunning Contemporary New American cuisine with global influences and changes our menu seasonally to reflect the time and freshest ingredients at hand. Each dish is carefully crafted from the finest ingredients and constructed for unique flavor combinations and flair of presentation.

288 Prairie Star Rd
Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Global, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Wine Bar Opens at 5:00, Closed Monday & Tuesday

Cross Street:
Highway 550 & 528

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 867-3327

Website:
http://prairiestarrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Mid-April through mid-October, Prairie Star hosts Live Music on the Patio each Friday evening from 5:30 to 8:30. Enjoy the best of local bands and artists. Moved indoors to the Wine Bar when dictated by weather. No cover and no reservations needed.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Olsen

Private Party Facilities:
We delight in crafting just the perfect menu, assisting in the selection of the right wines and creating the magical ambiance for each occasion. We look forward to working with you in creating the magic that is the Prairie Star experience.

Private Party Contact:
Rebecca Chaney: (505) 867-3327

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Prairie Star's most popular promotion, ongoing since 2009, is "Wednesday Wine & Dine". It is a unique 3 course dinner for two, served with a bottle of wine, for only $60. Each week a different menu is emailed to our PStar eClub database. Sign up at: http://mynewmexicogolf.com/prairiestar_email/

Also, Prairie Star hosts wine dinners and tastings.

Prairie Star Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Worth the Drive (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Authentic (9)
Fireplace (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

The steak was so fatty and full of gristle I didn't even take it home to the dog. We had to ask for a bread basket twice. Not a good experience

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This was our 5th visit and as always, the service was good and the food delicious. We especially appreciate they are celiac friendly so I an always find something safe to eat that is also tempting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything, as far as the service, was wonderful- from the first greeting through the final course! Ambiance and view are majestic, and the staff is beyond par! The seating was a little tight, but not uncomfortable. The restaurant was very quiet until about 7ish, when every table in the dining room was sat; but even then, it wasn't ever loud.

I was unhappy with the steak, but the staff made sure that the alternate plate I ordered (scallops) was perfect! The food was beautifully presented, but lacked anything original as far as herbs are concerned- we tend to like a bit more flavor and spice. Or even just some salt and pepper shakers at the table. The coffee was horribly bitter- just stick with the wine.

I would recommend Prairie Star to any "baby boomers" looking for a romantic dinner. A familiar palate, comfortable dining experience with very attentive wait staff. A gorgeous wine and spirits list, with tasting and pairings available. A lot of options to spend a long evening!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 2, 2017

As always, lovely dining experience. Always enjoy the Wednesday special!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wait staff was especially outstanding -- Valarie was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and oversaw the makings of an excellent martini! Everyone was 'on game' that particular evening. We all were very appreciative of the entire staff going above and beyond.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere were great. I would not recommend the Prarie Star for a happy hour. The clientele and staff made my party feel like we were in church. We were shushed and asked to lower our laughter and voices.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very nice experience overall. Were seated at a table tucked around a corner out of view of the fireplace was the only thing less than optimal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was Awesome! Dessert was not as great.
Got Chocolate Molten and it was very hard as if left in oven too long.
Complained to waiter and said he would talk to cook.
Still had to pay for dessert even though we couldn't eat it.
Been to prairie star a few times and has always been outstanding.
Won't let this one time keep us away.

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great food and great service and the view is truly outstanding. We love the quiet laidback ambiance. You can't find a nicer place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Have not been there for quite awhile as the last two visits the food was very disappointing. Thought we'd give it another shot for our anniversary and this time the food was terrific. A little disappointed that we requested a window table two wks in advance and ended up in a 'back room'. Altho it was quiet and we had a window table, we were expecting to be in the main room where there is a lot more ambiance. But we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our experience was very good. Our server was delightful. Each course of the meal was prepare with remarkable balance. Will return again soon.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines prix fixe dinner. The view from the restaurant is exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was our 10th anniversary on Valentines Day. We had the Valentines Day special with the wine pairing. The waiter was very knowledgeable regarding the wine pairing with the food. The food and wine were wonderful. It was pricy, but worth it for our anniversary. We had a wonderful view.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Small mistakes detracted from a good dining experience. With a waiter that seemed unengaged, it detracted from a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Enjoyable evening - excellent food - beautiful presentations - the service was a little slow - but then it was a busy evening - even though we arrived early - that surprised me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This restaurant always serves an excellent meal in a great atmosphere. But this time was exceptional. The pear salad was wonderful, but the opah fish was incredible cooked to perfection. Our waiter was friendly and very attentive. It was a lovely evening.
,

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A very pleasant experience. We return often. Food and service are great.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I have never been disappointed with any of the meals I have had at Prairie Star. I had the steak and it was cooked just the way I like it. My husband had the trout and it was absolutely delicious. The wines are always good and they have a good selection. Service was great - our server was very amiable. I like the way the courses are timed - not rushed, (in that the next course is not delivered before you have time to place down your knife and fork), and we didn't have to wait long between courses. The fantastic view of the Sandias is always a great thrill especially if you can time your meal as the sun is setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was very good would have been excellent had they just cooked my salmon a little less as requested.
Service was top notch. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and provided just the right amount of attention.
Wine selection was excellent. We found two bottles of a French Red at a discount. They are gone now sorry!
Would recommend this place for a meal or just some tapas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion. The waiter was very professional and knowledgeable about wines . It's seldom we find someone who knows much about wines in this area. He answered all of our questions. The service was great as was the food. Kudos to the chef as well. The Wed. price for 2 dinner that included wine was an unexpected plus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful as always. One of the really elegant places in ABQ area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great Server. Very knowledgeable, honest and attentive. A real asset to the restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New year's Eve pre-fixe and pairing dinner was excellently prepared. The service is attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Reservation did not indicate fixed menu. My wife is allergic to sea food. First course was lobster bisque. Second was salmon & caviar. Entre was steak. Took 3 attempts to provide a "medium" prepared steak. By then I was long done with my meal.
A party of twelve was next to us. Could barley hear each other.
For all of this, no manager appeared & desert was comped by the server for obvious reasons.
After having similar experiences over many years, this is our last. This has happened in one form or another too many times.
By the way, there were many empty tables- not surprised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Just a wonderful spot to take someone for you and them time. Staff are attentive but not bothersome. Chef is creative and there Wednesday Night tasting menus are often worth catching (includes a bottle of wine). The dining room is not overly formal but offers a nice settling. The food is classier than the dining room, but you don't feel out of place if dressed up, sports coat, or only in jeans. It is place to just enjoy good food and your table companion.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE a perfect evening. The course meal with pairings made it a wonderful dining experience. Every course came with wine and served in a perfectly timed manner.
I would have liked a NYE 2017 something, but it was a lovely meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for New Years Eve. Food and service were excellent. The meal was a pre fixe for the holiday and the choices were all excellent. Prairie Star is never a disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to our favorite restaurant, The Prairie Star, for dinner to celebrate my wife's 70th birthday. As usual, the dinner was wonderful. The Prairie Star is a great place to have a wonderful meal in a very quiet environment, with a very professional staff, who mange your dinner experience exceptionally well. The Prairie Star met all our expectations, which are very high from previous visits, and did it extremely well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Year Eve dinner. Great menu with outstanding wine pairings. Superb wait staff. Very reasonable price for a three course dinner and desert.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Once again an outstanding meal and service. I need to return more often.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is a very good restaurant. Very creative menu, the food is excellent. Well worth a 25 minute drive. The service was very good, friendly and competent. We will go there again. We also want to go back in the summer to have drinks on the patio that has a great view of the Sandias.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We got married here so are biased but went for my daughter's birthday and were not disappointed. Creative, excellent food from local sources. Wonderful wine list and always a personable, knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This charming old adobe with an incomparable view of the mountain is our favorite spot in the city, the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and responsive, the food is fine, and the wine selection a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Spent Christmas Eve dinner at Prairie Star, it has long been a special occasion restaurant for us and they didn't disappoint! The Osso Bucco was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Prairie Star is one of our favorite places to go out for a nice meal. We normally go during special occasions, but have visited on regular dinner nights too. Food is always prepared and plated so well and there are good selections. They have a great wine selection and dessert is a lovely end to a superb meal. Service has always been good for us during our visits. We highly recommend this restaurant if anyone is looking for a nice place to eat out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I thought the quality of the food served was, on-the-whole, average to OK. The roasted Romaine lettuce salad we both had was almost completely tasteless; there wasn't enough dressing/marinade on it and it mostly tasted like warm lettuce. We also both had the grilled scallops. The texture and cooking was good, but both our servings had a distinct "fishy" smell that detracted for the culinary experience. Finally, I thought the pairing of what was essentially a sweet ice wine with the chocolate dessert, was not the best choice that could have been made. A bold, late harvest red would have paired much better with the dark chocolate, in my opinion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Always a smart choice for dinner. Consistently good food, service, and ambiance throughout our many visits here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The wine options were abundant. If there was one thing that could be improved on was the Brussels Sprouts in the scallops. They were tough and under cooked but the stars of the entree were cooked perfectly, the scallops were a perfect texture.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We have tried Prairie Star every year hoping it will improve, but it has not. The food is mediocre and the prices are outrageous. The salmon I had last year was much better than what I had this week, which was a smaller portion and fishy. It could be a neighborhood gem, but they just can't get it together.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I think Prairie Star is the best restaurant in the Albuquerque area, hands down. It's a wonderful place, with an attentive staff and world-class food. I'd recommend it to anyone!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.