Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Cozy (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tapas (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First visit. Enjoyed the pizza, discovered a new wine. Will definitely be going back with friends.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I'm not usually the type to complain, but the service we received last night was some of the worst in a long while. Our server informed us that 4 wines on the menu were replaced with alternate selections, but couldn't tell us the price. During our entire meal he didn't clear our empty glasses or refill our water. I've had great experiences at this restaurant in the past, but this was definitely a stain on their reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Fun, creative, warm and with excellent service. Some of the best pizza anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Found out the hard way the antipesto platter has changed, and not a fan of it at all.
Looks like only coming here for the pizza and the cannoli's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wouldn't recommend this restaurant. The food was mediocre and the service was even worse. Pizza mostly dough and the squid wasn't fresh. Staff unfriendly and our waiter hit my chair every time he walked by and didn't apologize. Won't be going here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were greeted by a friendly waiter. We found the ambience to be cozy with wood planks on the wall. We ate pizza and were really amazed by the crust. The spicy meat topping added a lot of flavour. Would recommend Posto for a casual meal out.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was delicious and the place is modern and upbeat. Beer prices though are high for my taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Having been to Bonterra, I knew what to expect so no surprises here. Really good food with quality ingredients. I wasn't a fan of their Big Taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Money venue for a first date. Authentic feel and good vibes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had lunch on the Big Taste menu.
Great value. Super good pizza.
Lovely wait staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and had our Valentine's Day dinner at Posto the weekend following the 14th. We tried the lamb meatballs, rabbit ravioli, 2 different t pizzas - one had potatoes and leeks and the other had chicken and almond pesto - as well as the tiramisu for dessert. Everything was delish! I would love to have had a gluten free option for my pizza crust but the regular crust was very good. My only disappointment was that their debit terminal did not accept our Visa gift card which we had planned to use for our meal. Other than that our service and table was great!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Second time coming to this restaurant, and found once again, the service lacking. I had to keep asking the server for water, and even had to cancel a glass of wine that I requested ( I think he must have forgotten that I ordered it). The food is great and definitely the best pizza in town. Just, good luck with the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very attentive and efficient service with a terrific pizza..

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Really enjoyed the atmosphere here. I've been waiting to try this place for a while and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic pizza perfect texture and flavour is incredible! Highly recemmmend !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and experience. Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Posto: always a great idea

Dined at Posto with a guest on Wednesday Night and enjoyed their Dinner Date menu which features multiple courses for $35 pp as well as a $30 featured bottle of wine. Every course was fantastic, particularly the tartare and the meatballs, as well as the Hawaiian pizza which we garnished with chili oil and chili flakes. We sat comfortably at the bar and enjoyed great conversation in a fun and casual environment. The staff here are always professional and conscientious. Will definitely go back again.
-GD

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Authentic, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are frequent diners at Posto, which indicates that we enjoy the ambience, food and drinks.
The food is well thought out, contemporary, but not precious. Being attached to the kitchen and wine cellar of Bonterra next door is an advantage.
One of our favourite pizzas is the smoked salmon, and with salad and wine we leave happy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pizza is really really good, ambiance really nice. Recommended 100%

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best pizza in town! Love the crust!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Huge fan of this place - the staff are amazing, food is always on point and you can go wrong with 1/2 price bottles of wine (4-6pm).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and is good for dates or dinner with friends. All the pizza is absolutely amazing! The ravioli and Hawaiian pizza are my favourite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love love the pizza at Posto. It is unrivalled. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It's our 'go to' restaurant. Why?
Consistent, excellent food, especially the pizza!
We are remembered and accommodated.
The service is excellent.
Intimate atmosphere feels good whether busy or not.
Reasonable price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Pizza was soggy and tasteless. First time attendee and heard it was comparable to Una's. It has a long was to go!

Tags: Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food and wine selection was amazing! The place is small but it was warmth and cozy feeling. The services can definitely be better, it was slow during the night I was there.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I took 3 new staff members for an introduction lunch and it was easy to chat and share in the atmosphere. Reasonably priced, great pizza !

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent service and a great menu. The happy ending (one of my favs) was not up to the usual standard this time. Everything else was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We've been here a few times. The food is generally tasty but one of our $21 small pizzas was burnt on the top??? One big plus: They have Tool Shed on tap and $5 pints before 6.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It's my favourite restaurant in this city. Great for date nights and pizza lovers.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Staff were very accommodating to our ever changing numbers. The restaurant was an easy walk from our hotel and easy for those driving to locate. Pizzas were all delicious. Would definitely stop by again when in the city.

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience with the Chef's "Eat the Sheet" tasting menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Well done pizzas; big enough lunch meal to take some home. My glass of pop was a little flat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

been many times and always pleased with food and service. the Chef is truly a leader in his field and takes the care needed to prepare his dishes and pizzas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A really great surprise. Had heard the chef did amazing food and was not disappointed. Great friendly fun lay back service and not a bad seat in the place.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere! Their Pizzas are AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loved the space, staff are awesome and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and service! We went for a friends' get-together and it was the perfect setting, not too loud, and the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Super food, service was a little slow but more power to the restaurant for sponsoring our Brown Bags for Kids program!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The prix fix menu is fantastic. A great selection of dishes, perfect for sharing, family style. Excellent food, and really good value.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.