About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Happy Hour at Posto!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour at Posto!

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details
Join us from 4 - 6 on weekdays for the best happy hour in yyc! Enjoy half-price wine bottles, $5 Pints of craft beer and $9 Chef's Choice antipasti boards!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 2, 2016 - Jun 2, 2016 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays and Mondays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

fit for foodies (53)
great for lunch (33)
neighborhood gem (32)
See All
special occasion (21)
romantic (19)
hot spot (17)
good for groups (17)
late-night find (14)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
267 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience2
service1

Pizzas were burnt, the waiter said thank ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Pizzas were burnt, the waiter said thank you sir even though I am not a guy and I paid, food took a while to arrive.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place and super great pizza. Pos ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place and super great pizza. Posto has one of the best pizza's in calgary and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food and great ambiance

Dined on May 15, 2016

Worth every penny and your evening. Loved the pizzas and the desert besides the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just OK

Dined on May 14, 2016

I was hoping for a better experience. Had to wait for 15 minutes even though we had a reservation. Then we watched as they gave our table by the window to two other people who were already seated nearby and they gave us their "much less desirable table".. .. The service was good but we were left without wine and water on a few occasions. The olives and cheese we ordered to start were good. I was really looking forward to the pizza but when it arrived it was pretty wet and soggy. Perhaps that is how it is served and others may like it but it wasn't for me. Given the multitude of options in Calgary I don't think I would return but maybe this was just a one-off.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and super yummy food! ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and super yummy food! Chicken, spinach and beet salad with mint was divine! And my brother loved the ceasar salad. The pizzas were delicious - fun, healthy and good quality toppings with excellent crusts! My mom loved her spinach salad. We were there mid-week for lunch and loved it!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dreams about their pizza. Amazing ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dreams about their pizza. Amazing service, even better food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Posto so huge bias in favour of ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Posto so huge bias in favour of this contemporary pizza spot. It hits the mark for an uptown vibe, but a relaxed and informal tone. Sad to note it was very quiet on our last visit, first time we have seen so few diners. Salmon pizza was delicious, as was the featured salad, a beet and smoked feta combo. Wine line is good, and there is access to the Bonterra cellarif something different is requested.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday pizza call

Dined on May 8, 2016

Salad, meatballs and pizza. All very good. Staff were friendly, helpful and talkative at the kitchen bar. It is great to watch talented people work. We will be back to try some of the other dishes and dessert in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good wine, good conversation

Dined on April 29, 2016

We went on a date with a friend as the third wheel. We had a great time. The food was delicious and the server was fun, informed, and let us enjoy our meal. Definitely recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and great wine

Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed a busy Saturday night at Posto. Reservations are recommended. Busy place but well staffed and fast and efficient services. Great cocktails, pizza to die for and great other treats.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great pizza

Dined on April 14, 2016

Love the pizza, especially #4. Friendly wait staff, and relaxed environment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food and service . Love thi ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Always great food and service . Love this place. Best pizza in town. We shared some of the specials tonight. So good. Never disappointment with anything on the menu.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is always delicious at Posto! Their charcuterie board has a variety of different meats and cheeses. We also ordered a pizza which is consistently amazing. The service was slow, however our server did acknowledge this and let us know the kitchen got slammed. Despite this, I would recommend this restaurant and will continue to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on April 4, 2016

Went on a Monday so it was very quiet and the server was very attentive. The pizza is excellent. The tables are quite close together so the noise level would be louder had it been busy. Keep in mind the tables are small if you need any writing space for a business meeting. Great place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Attentive service

Dined on April 1, 2016

service was good, although the kitchen was a little slow for a lunch time rush. One of the pizzas came out very dark, but it was taken off the bill. Overall, a good experience, though it wouldn't be my choice again if I only had 1hr for lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 1, 2016

The appetizers and pizza's were delicious. The atmosphere was great, not to loud. The service was wonderful and our server was very friendly and accommodating. Had a wonderful time, and will definitely recommend Posto's to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Eat here all the time and they treat me ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Eat here all the time and they treat me like family. Tapas are great, pizza is great and the wine/beer selection is outstanding. Try the perogies, meatballs and Gorgonzola, ham and pineapple pizza. OUTSTANDING!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Ravioli

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great pizza, perogies, and the ravioli special was outstanding...cooked to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, but service was very slow

Dined on March 23, 2016

I went for lunch on a weekday with a friend the the service was so slow. I thought that restaurants would assume you are on a lunch break and try to get you in and out within an hour, but we were there for over an hour and a half due to slow service. This was disappointing, because the food was really good. Sadly, I'm not sure I can go here on my lunch hour anymore.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Would recommend

Dined on March 20, 2016

We would definitely recommend Posto. The service and atmosphere were great. It also had an excellent wine list. The main drawback was that all three pizzas came out burnt. For the price of the meal, it was a bit surprising that even one pizza was allowed to leave the kitchen like that, let alone three. Nonetheless, we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Amazing service! Been be ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing service! Been before, and can't wait to come back again!!!

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great Lunch Spot

Dined on March 15, 2016

Wonderful food. Server appearance (e.g. Clothing, Make-up, Piercing) is not professional for a business type lunch crowd; appearance & dress-code is probably better suited to very casual evening spot. Overall, I'd go back for the food.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious pizza, great space, drinks a l ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Delicious pizza, great space, drinks a little pricy.

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Horrible service

Dined on March 12, 2016

Although they make an amazing pizza the staff were extremely rude. They needed our table for another reservation and instead of just letting us know the server stood in front of us with the credit card machine and then tossed our chits on the table once we paid.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

small restaurant, excellent food

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had the "Big Taste Calgary" three course menu, and two starters to share (as recommended by our server which we appreciated). The food was excellent! The place is not very big and quite busy, so important to make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always delivers

Dined on March 6, 2016

Posto has become my "go to" pizza place in town. I would rate it as the best pizza in Calgary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Wow! Such a great treat this was. The pizza was fantastic. There is a great array of food to choose from, and the service was out of this world great! Keep it up! I will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Friday lunch!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Our server Chris was exceptional. He asked our names and addressed us by name the entire time. Vino was always pouring and he made a great recommendation for wine selection. Wonderful kale salad and fabulous pizza choices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Sorry, Posto

Dined on February 28, 2016

My friend and I had dinner at Posto last weekend, which may have been the problem. Calgary in February, 2016 is just a different city than Calgary in the heady days of 2015, or 2014, or 2013, or... you get the idea. I travel to the city regularly, I eat out often, and this trip the topic being discussed over lunch, dinner and drinks is who's getting laid off, or who's already been laid off. Everyone is nervous. Now look at Posto's menu: fancy squid, kale salads with mounds of funky ingredients, pricey hand tossed pizzas, and wines at $12-17/glass. It's not that the food is not good - it is good. It's well made, the ingredients are inventive, and the entire experience is a positive one. It's just that there are other great handmade pizza places in town, and I'm not sure Posto is good value in a town where uncertainty reigns. Sorry, Posto.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Pizza that leaves you wanting more

Dined on February 28, 2016

I've been to Posto a few times over the last year, and each time I'm back because of this nagging craving for their incredibly delicious forno cooked pizza. The first time I went to Posto I ate the best food I've had in Calgary, bar none. The menu has changed ever so slightly since then, with a few cheeses and wines being replaced (to my disappointment). However, the overall experience is still great, and I know I'll be back soon. If I could change one little thing, it would be to make the service a bit faster. I do find I notice a lag between courses that leaves me hungry, or anxious to be on my way. However, it's not enough to sully my opinion of this great restaurant. I hope it's becomes a permanent fixture in Calgary's dining community.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Can't wait to go again!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great service! Our server was extremely helpful and was very knowledgeable about the menu. Food was probably some of the best pizza in the city. *Very hipster*

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great awesome food and great serv ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

It was great awesome food and great service. One of the best pizzas in town

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

good but over priced

Dined on February 7, 2016

I thought the food was good, wine was nice (not a large selection). Overall everything tasted great, but it was very over-priced. We ordered the charcutterie board for 4 for $44.00, and then if we wanted read we would have to pay extra. FOR BREAD! at the least expensive bottle of wine was about $45. Too overpriced. I wouldn't return. SERVICE WAS GREAT.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best pizza place in town. Pi ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

This is the best pizza place in town. Pizza is probably the last item on the menu that I'd ever order at other restaurants. But after trying the pizza here, it definitely becomes the first item I will order. Thin fresh crust topped with truffle oil, great flavours and toppings. Will def go bk!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Posto Love

Dined on January 15, 2016

Pasta is perfect! They truly understand al dente--closed my eyes and I was in Italy. Pizza is the best in Calgary (I've tried them all): best crust, most creative combinations, and layered flavours that surprise the palate from start to finish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

always good food here

Dined on January 11, 2016

Had a quick business lunch at Posto. As in past visits the pizza is excellent and the variety of pizza is decent. I think the size of the pizzas has gone up slightly relative to my last visit. In the past 3 pizzas fed three males. This time we had leftovers!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Expensive meal

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food was overall very tasty. But the meal was way over priced. The sparkling water was $7.50 for a bottle. My cocktail was $12, and it was nothing too special. Our meal for 3 people was $107. That is too expensive for a pizza dinner. There are other great pizza restaurants, cheaper, around the area.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Communications Manager

Dined on January 5, 2016

As always, the food and service at Post were impeccable. It's a lovely little retreat from my business day with welcome ambience, and elegant atmosphere for a reasonable cost.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great night and great adventure of food

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Thank you to the team for making this an amazing night of food and fun. We were surprised by some of the best meals every. Love the surprises, the taste was out of this world

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Go for the pizza!

Dined on January 5, 2016

Posto serves some of the best pizza in the city. The crust is thin and delicious and the toppings are inventive and delicious. We started with a kale salad which was also excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.