Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour at Posto!

Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour at Posto!

Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Details

Join us from 4 - 6 on weekdays for the best happy hour in yyc! Enjoy half-price wine bottles, $5 Pints of craft beer and $9 Chef's Choice antipasti boards!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 11, 2017 - Sep 11, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM.

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (8)
See All
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tapas (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our evening at Posto, food was great, décor was eclectic, and staff were very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

It was very good, first time. So t

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Was windy on the patio but we were moved inside without any hassle.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fun, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Very good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I ended up at Posto on a recommendation as I was visiting from out of town. Went on a Saturday night, had a beautiful meal on the patio. Thoroughly enjoyed everything we ate (kale salad, squid, and pizzas). Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was amazing but the service was terrible. It was just very slow. We ordered all food to share and half of our food came out about half an hour later than anything else. We love going to posto but this experience was definitely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As usual, mediocre service. For some reason the three times I've been to this restaurant we've been served by Sam. This gentleman should not be working in what seems to be an upscale pizza restaurant.
When we are paying $200 In pizza and a bottle of wine in a restaurant, I expect flawless service. Sam can't deliver that. He is very cold and impersonal, walks away from the table when you are not finished saying something, does not refill wine or water, when bringing the tiramisu that we ordered, he basically threw it on the table, said "tiramisu" and walked away .. ugh. My husband was just not pleased . Needless to say, we won't be back.
I find service at gas stations more pleasant than the attitude this waiter gives you ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 11, 2017

It felt as though there were not any staff available and maybe the bartender fell into the job the day before and was serving because no one showed up for their shift. The diners were alone in the room most of the time.
The kale salad is laughable. I know food costs are high but seriously - put some food on the plate to at least look like it is worth the price you are charging and don't just load it with bread.
The pizza flavours were pretty good and enjoyable but the dough is just okay. I would not recommend Bonterra Group to anyone as this is the 3rd negative experience I have had at a third location. I think the sun is setting on the Bonterra restaurants which is disappointing because they used to be a go to spot.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Wow the pizza was really great with wine. Never had something that complemented each other really well. Definitely will come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food and quiet private patio. Really good for sharing plates.
Try the mussels

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Still my favorite pizza place in the entire city. Enjoyable experience, evrrything is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Celebrating Father's Day. Kid friendly. Good services. Good value for pizza night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food and service. Music was a little loud, but nice ambiance

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Excellent humbolt squid salad! We had a great lunch - just one big problem. The patio is terrible and needs a serious upgrade. In the back parking lot, the ambience is non-existent. They need to put up a different patio wall to block the busy parking lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We have been here many times and the quality of food is always excellent!! Pizza is great, especially the crust!! Good happy hour & friendly service. Always busy so makes for a good ambiance!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, fantastic wine. You could not ask for more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience on Friday night. Started with the pierogies which are my favourite menu item. Also had meatballs and the antipasti plate which contained various cheeses, crackers, olives, caper berries, apricot purée and humus. So wonderful. Next ordered #10 pizza with prosciutto, fior do latte, arugula and grana padano. The pizza crust was delicious and the toppings were amazing. I had a wonderful dining experience and cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Get the wild mushroom pizza! So, so, good!
Great ambiance, service, and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good and I thought the drinks were excellent. I did not like the service that we received from the server. He was too forceful about ordering drinks and overall I did not care for his demeanour. It wasn't as good as the first time we went and I doubt we will be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Too expensive for pizza. Need more options on menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Posto is always a great location. Good food and lovey personable service. Really enjoy this restaurant and keep coming back! They are also fantastic with food restrictions (ie a garlic allergy)

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always amazing food. Best pizzas. We have been here a few times and have always had stellar service (and it's always been the same guy) however this time we had a different server not that that matters however the service was very very slow. We were not in a hurry so it wasn't a huge deal and we will of course be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 13, 2017

First visit. Enjoyed the pizza, discovered a new wine. Will definitely be going back with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I'm not usually the type to complain, but the service we received last night was some of the worst in a long while. Our server informed us that 4 wines on the menu were replaced with alternate selections, but couldn't tell us the price. During our entire meal he didn't clear our empty glasses or refill our water. I've had great experiences at this restaurant in the past, but this was definitely a stain on their reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Fun, creative, warm and with excellent service. Some of the best pizza anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Found out the hard way the antipesto platter has changed, and not a fan of it at all.
Looks like only coming here for the pizza and the cannoli's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dubai)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wouldn't recommend this restaurant. The food was mediocre and the service was even worse. Pizza mostly dough and the squid wasn't fresh. Staff unfriendly and our waiter hit my chair every time he walked by and didn't apologize. Won't be going here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were greeted by a friendly waiter. We found the ambience to be cozy with wood planks on the wall. We ate pizza and were really amazed by the crust. The spicy meat topping added a lot of flavour. Would recommend Posto for a casual meal out.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was delicious and the place is modern and upbeat. Beer prices though are high for my taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Having been to Bonterra, I knew what to expect so no surprises here. Really good food with quality ingredients. I wasn't a fan of their Big Taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Money venue for a first date. Authentic feel and good vibes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had lunch on the Big Taste menu.
Great value. Super good pizza.
Lovely wait staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and had our Valentine's Day dinner at Posto the weekend following the 14th. We tried the lamb meatballs, rabbit ravioli, 2 different t pizzas - one had potatoes and leeks and the other had chicken and almond pesto - as well as the tiramisu for dessert. Everything was delish! I would love to have had a gluten free option for my pizza crust but the regular crust was very good. My only disappointment was that their debit terminal did not accept our Visa gift card which we had planned to use for our meal. Other than that our service and table was great!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Second time coming to this restaurant, and found once again, the service lacking. I had to keep asking the server for water, and even had to cancel a glass of wine that I requested ( I think he must have forgotten that I ordered it). The food is great and definitely the best pizza in town. Just, good luck with the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very attentive and efficient service with a terrific pizza..

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Really enjoyed the atmosphere here. I've been waiting to try this place for a while and it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Fantastic pizza perfect texture and flavour is incredible! Highly recemmmend !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and experience. Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Posto: always a great idea

Dined at Posto with a guest on Wednesday Night and enjoyed their Dinner Date menu which features multiple courses for $35 pp as well as a $30 featured bottle of wine. Every course was fantastic, particularly the tartare and the meatballs, as well as the Hawaiian pizza which we garnished with chili oil and chili flakes. We sat comfortably at the bar and enjoyed great conversation in a fun and casual environment. The staff here are always professional and conscientious. Will definitely go back again.
-GD

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We are frequent diners at Posto, which indicates that we enjoy the ambience, food and drinks.
The food is well thought out, contemporary, but not precious. Being attached to the kitchen and wine cellar of Bonterra next door is an advantage.
One of our favourite pizzas is the smoked salmon, and with salad and wine we leave happy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.