About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Good for a Date (19)
Wood Oven (16)
Casual (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and a great menu. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and a great menu. The happy ending (one of my favs) was not up to the usual standard this time. Everything else was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It's my favourite restaurant in this cit ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It's my favourite restaurant in this city. Great for date nights and pizza lovers.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were very accommodating to our eve ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Staff were very accommodating to our ever changing numbers. The restaurant was an easy walk from our hotel and easy for those driving to locate. Pizzas were all delicious. Would definitely stop by again when in the city.

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience with the C ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience with the Chef's "Eat the Sheet" tasting menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well done pizzas; big enough lunch meal ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Well done pizzas; big enough lunch meal to take some home. My glass of pop was a little flat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

been many times and always pleased with ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

been many times and always pleased with food and service. the Chef is truly a leader in his field and takes the care needed to prepare his dishes and pizzas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A really great surprise. Had heard the c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A really great surprise. Had heard the chef did amazing food and was not disappointed. Great friendly fun lay back service and not a bad seat in the place.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic atmosphere! Their Pizzas are A ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere! Their Pizzas are AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the space, staff are awesome and t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loved the space, staff are awesome and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! We went for a fr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and service! We went for a friends' get-together and it was the perfect setting, not too loud, and the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super food, service was a little slow bu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Super food, service was a little slow but more power to the restaurant for sponsoring our Brown Bags for Kids program!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The prix fix menu is fantastic. A great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The prix fix menu is fantastic. A great selection of dishes, perfect for sharing, family style. Excellent food, and really good value.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Being a regular at Posto, the pizzas are ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Being a regular at Posto, the pizzas are consistently excellent and perhaps best in town for the thinner but gluteny chewy lovely authentic handmade crusts in the wood oven. Service consistently excellent recently and in particular with Greg M-W for lunch. Casual atmosphere in a rustic setting. Comfort food in comfortable setting.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place. Would definitely go back. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Lovely place. Would definitely go back. Chef Calvin is a gentleman and a scholar... the blood sausage za was outta site!! ;)

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Was outstanding as usual....great food g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Was outstanding as usual....great food great service

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were fantastic and the fig and g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Servers were fantastic and the fig and gorgonzola pizza was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute favourite Calgary Pizzeria, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My absolute favourite Calgary Pizzeria, number 8 is worth a try (every time I go I can't bring myself to try another flavour). Great for friends get together or date night, I prefer a slightly later crowd as I prefer not to dine with kids... Easy location to find with lots of public parking nearby and quick access to downtown night scene.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place more and more every ti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I love this place more and more every time I go. Food is consistently great and I am always excited to try new items each time. The last time I went, our server was not as attentive as past times, possibly because he was a younger and less experienced but all in all, this place is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic dough! Best pizza in North Ame ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic dough! Best pizza in North America!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! Great food, great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic experience! Great food, great service- we felt like we were part of the family

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service overall, but the s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and service overall, but the size of the appetizers was as embarrassing to me and my clients as it must have been to the staff. The cheddar cheese assortment may have totalled a tablespoon, while the sliced meat might have been close to a quarter of a slice of bacon (and that is being kind).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Came here for lunch with my mom. Servic ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Came here for lunch with my mom. Service was amazing, unfortunately I didn't get our servers name. He was fantastic though!

Food was great, it was my mom's first visit and she enjoyed it. We took the leftover pizza home and shared with others and they also really enjoyed it.

I'm sure we'll be back, thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have enjoyed this restaurant previousl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have enjoyed this restaurant previously but this time, the seating was so crowded, you couldn't move without touching the person at the table next to you. It was difficult to carry on a conversation at lunc h without others hearing you. The service was slow and the pizza came out burned. Not the best experience for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The pizza is inventive, and the executio ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The pizza is inventive, and the execution spectacular.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was very rude. He practically ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The waiter was very rude. He practically threw the receipt at us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Regulars and always love the food at Pos ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Regulars and always love the food at Posto however this time found pizza crust not the usual. Serving of Romaine Salad sparse!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent, we had two very ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was excellent, we had two very tasty and very creative salads. Afterwards, we shared a pizza. Definitely one of the best pizzas in Calgary. We found service to be too casual for such a wonderful food. We were served pizza while we were still eating our salad. Server seemed distracted, chatting and not paying attention.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Love this place! It's a nice place to go ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this place! It's a nice place to go without breaking the bank. The staff are always friendly and smiling, food is amazing. Everyone one of their pizzas is delicious. Only feedback is their meal portions are small. The pizzas are a great size but the some of the dishes are small. If you eat a lot of food then it will end up costing you a bit. The ravelloi is amazing but again, for $20 it's not much food. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone though, great place.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We always pick this restaurant as our af ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We always pick this restaurant as our after work meal, and we are done work by 9:30/10 pm.

It works out perfect cause there is only a hand full of tables left, and it's mainly like a private restaurant. We always get the anti pesto platter ranging from 1/2 or full, or if we are really hungry 1.5 portion!. We always experiment with their pizzas selections, watching them form it in front of their oven is quite intriguing and seeing how it's later in the evening you are guaranteed a spot there. Beverages are always cold and refreshing, and the service friendly and inviting. We have not found any complainants or negative feedback with this restaurant, it never disappoints. We always end up leaving room for desserts or get them to go cause their tiramisu and cannoli's are HIGHLY addictive. My date and I will never get one tiramisu to share because it will turn to a negative drive home because we are both greedy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Its always an adventure when we go. The ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Its always an adventure when we go. The entire staff made our night. Food was amazing, service over the top, and i can thank you enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and services was great and it w ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and services was great and it was such a nice night to sit outside but the patio lacks ambiance. I'll definitely be back for the pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service. Unfortunately, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 18, 2016

great food and service. Unfortunately, like most downtown spots, not busy at all. Hope it survives!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and location. Awes ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, service and location. Awesome Sangrias! Cheers :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent. Love the Humbolt squid appi, ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent. Love the Humbolt squid appi, too good to share it though. Pizza's and pasta's are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza is deliiiiiiiiiiicioussssssss and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pizza is deliiiiiiiiiiicioussssssss and that's all it needs to be!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food!! Our server was incredib ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food!! Our server was incredibly friendly, gave us a lot of recommendations from the menu. We ordered the antipasto plate on his recommendation and we loved it! The pizza was awesome too! We got to sit out on the patio, and the only slight downside was the passing trains which created some noise but it only lasted a couple minutes. It was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate a birthday with som ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday with some friends. Only 5 of us. Waited for about 20 minutes past our reservation before we were seated. This was the only unpleasant experience of our meal. Food was great. Waiter was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was so so delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation at the last minute to ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Made a reservation at the last minute to have lunch with my son & his girlfriend. None of us had been there before and we were all pleasantly surprised by the quality & taste of the food served. Love that they have an Italian wine, Al Passo by Tolaini (one of my favorites) on their wine list.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was amazing...every time I ha ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was amazing...every time I have dined at Posto! A very long-term server with humor, knowledge and wonderful recommendations. Quality 'not' quantity menu. In my mind, I can still taste the wild mushroom flatbread and the warm tomato salad with parmesan rounds. Outstanding! A nice birthday finish...tiramasu, best in town with minimal coffee influence...thank you Posto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.