About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

fit for foodies (50)
neighborhood gem (38)
great for lunch (34)
See All
special occasion (24)
good for groups (21)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (16)
hot spot (16)
late-night find (13)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Its always an adventure when we go. The ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Its always an adventure when we go. The entire staff made our night. Food was amazing, service over the top, and i can thank you enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and services was great and it w ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and services was great and it was such a nice night to sit outside but the patio lacks ambiance. I'll definitely be back for the pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service. Unfortunately, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great food and service. Unfortunately, like most downtown spots, not busy at all. Hope it survives!!

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and location. Awes ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, service and location. Awesome Sangrias! Cheers :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent. Love the Humbolt squid appi, ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent. Love the Humbolt squid appi, too good to share it though. Pizza's and pasta's are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza is deliiiiiiiiiiicioussssssss and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pizza is deliiiiiiiiiiicioussssssss and that's all it needs to be!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food!! Our server was incredib ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food!! Our server was incredibly friendly, gave us a lot of recommendations from the menu. We ordered the antipasto plate on his recommendation and we loved it! The pizza was awesome too! We got to sit out on the patio, and the only slight downside was the passing trains which created some noise but it only lasted a couple minutes. It was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate a birthday with som ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday with some friends. Only 5 of us. Waited for about 20 minutes past our reservation before we were seated. This was the only unpleasant experience of our meal. Food was great. Waiter was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was so so delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation at the last minute to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Made a reservation at the last minute to have lunch with my son & his girlfriend. None of us had been there before and we were all pleasantly surprised by the quality & taste of the food served. Love that they have an Italian wine, Al Passo by Tolaini (one of my favorites) on their wine list.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was amazing...every time I ha ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was amazing...every time I have dined at Posto! A very long-term server with humor, knowledge and wonderful recommendations. Quality 'not' quantity menu. In my mind, I can still taste the wild mushroom flatbread and the warm tomato salad with parmesan rounds. Outstanding! A nice birthday finish...tiramasu, best in town with minimal coffee influence...thank you Posto!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special place in the city

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I are crazy about this place. Service is professinal and friendly, ambient cosy and vibrant, music trendy and there is always a random vintage movie playing on TV. You simply cannot miss with food; you will fall in love with anything that you order. I highly reccommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We've been a couple times now and always have pizza because it is so great. We've tried the 1) meat pizza (salami, sausage, pancetta and calabrese), 2) chicken with sun dried tomato and goat cheese and the 3) spinach, garlic, mushroom and grana padano with prosciutto added. There's a bunch of other pizza flavours I want to try as well and also venture to the other non-pizza items on the menu which sound tasty. The crust is sourdough with a hint of salt and is to die for. You can see the chef busy at work and watch everything coming out of the pizza oven...love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I've been here a few times now and it never fails to impress. The food is always outstanding and the head chef is personable and very educated on his ingredients and approach (young guy...can't remember his name now).

The service is always great as well...even when it can't be. What I mean by that is the kitchen was backed up the last time we were there for lunch. Instead of just apologizing like what most places would do, they brought us out an order bruschetta to tie us over while we waited, which would have been enough, but also took one glass of wine of the bill each for the three of us that were there. Stuff like that will keep me coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Pizza in Calgary

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

There is no better pizza then at Posto! The cocktails are also amazing, as is everything else on the menu. Great wine and beer options. Casual and upbeat ambiance. Family friendly earlier in the evening and great for a date a bit later.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The arancini were excellent: a wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The arancini were excellent: a wonderful blend of flavours. The pizza was disappointing. The crust was too thick, there was too much tomato (and too many large chunks of tomato), and there were too many big hunks of partly-melted cheese. The cannoli were superb, probably the best I've ever had, with a bit of citrus, a bit of chocolate, and a bit of nut, everything in perfect harmony with no flavour predominating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great gluten free food, service, ambience

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first visit to Posto, and I was so impressed. The ambience is great - rustic wood paneling and candlelit dining. Surprisingly quiet despite being so full. I called ahead to ask about gluten free accommodations and received some of the best service anywhere. When we arrived they knew I was the one with the gluten allergy so I didn't have to explain it again, and they let me order from both their own menu and that of their sister restaurant next door, which had gluten free pasta. I ordered a starter from one and a main from the other. I was so impressed with the level of eager accommodation I received as someone with an allergy. I would definitely recommend Posto to anyone who is gluten free or otherwise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizzas were burnt, the waiter said thank ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Pizzas were burnt, the waiter said thank you sir even though I am not a guy and I paid, food took a while to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great place and super great pizza. Pos ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place and super great pizza. Posto has one of the best pizza's in calgary and great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and great ambiance

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Worth every penny and your evening. Loved the pizzas and the desert besides the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just OK

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was hoping for a better experience. Had to wait for 15 minutes even though we had a reservation. Then we watched as they gave our table by the window to two other people who were already seated nearby and they gave us their "much less desirable table".. ..

The service was good but we were left without wine and water on a few occasions. The olives and cheese we ordered to start were good. I was really looking forward to the pizza but when it arrived it was pretty wet and soggy. Perhaps that is how it is served and others may like it but it wasn't for me. Given the multitude of options in Calgary I don't think I would return but maybe this was just a one-off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great atmosphere and super yummy food! ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and super yummy food! Chicken, spinach and beet salad with mint was divine! And my brother loved the ceasar salad. The pizzas were delicious - fun, healthy and good quality toppings with excellent crusts! My mom loved her spinach salad. We were there mid-week for lunch and loved it!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have dreams about their pizza. Amazing ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dreams about their pizza. Amazing service, even better food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Posto so huge bias in favour of ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Posto so huge bias in favour of this contemporary pizza spot. It hits the mark for an uptown vibe, but a relaxed and informal tone. Sad to note it was very quiet on our last visit, first time we have seen so few diners.

Salmon pizza was delicious, as was the featured salad, a beet and smoked feta combo. Wine line is good, and there is access to the Bonterra cellarif something different is requested.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday pizza call

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Salad, meatballs and pizza. All very good. Staff were friendly, helpful and talkative at the kitchen bar. It is great to watch talented people work. We will be back to try some of the other dishes and dessert in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, good wine, good conversation

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We went on a date with a friend as the third wheel. We had a great time. The food was delicious and the server was fun, informed, and let us enjoy our meal. Definitely recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food and great wine

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed a busy Saturday night at Posto. Reservations are recommended. Busy place but well staffed and fast and efficient services. Great cocktails, pizza to die for and great other treats.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great pizza

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Love the pizza, especially #4. Friendly wait staff, and relaxed environment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Always great food and service . Love thi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Always great food and service . Love this place. Best pizza in town. We shared some of the specials tonight. So good.

Never disappointment with anything on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food is always delicious at Posto! Their charcuterie board has a variety of different meats and cheeses. We also ordered a pizza which is consistently amazing. The service was slow, however our server did acknowledge this and let us know the kitchen got slammed.

Despite this, I would recommend this restaurant and will continue to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and atmosphere

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Went on a Monday so it was very quiet and the server was very attentive. The pizza is excellent. The tables are quite close together so the noise level would be louder had it been busy. Keep in mind the tables are small if you need any writing space for a business meeting. Great place for a romantic dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

service was good, although the kitchen was a little slow for a lunch time rush. One of the pizzas came out very dark, but it was taken off the bill. Overall, a good experience, though it wouldn't be my choice again if I only had 1hr for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

The appetizers and pizza's were delicious. The atmosphere was great, not to loud. The service was wonderful and our server was very friendly and accommodating. Had a wonderful time, and will definitely recommend Posto's to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eat here all the time and they treat me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Eat here all the time and they treat me like family. Tapas are

great, pizza is great and the wine/beer selection is outstanding. Try the perogies, meatballs and Gorgonzola, ham and pineapple pizza. OUTSTANDING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Ravioli

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great pizza, perogies, and the ravioli special was outstanding...cooked to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but service was very slow

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

I went for lunch on a weekday with a friend the the service was so slow. I thought that restaurants would assume you are on a lunch break and try to get you in and out within an hour, but we were there for over an hour and a half due to slow service. This was disappointing, because the food was really good. Sadly, I'm not sure I can go here on my lunch hour anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Would recommend

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We would definitely recommend Posto. The service and atmosphere were great. It also had an excellent wine list. The main drawback was that all three pizzas came out burnt. For the price of the meal, it was a bit surprising that even one pizza was allowed to leave the kitchen like that, let alone three. Nonetheless, we would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food! Amazing service! Been be ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Amazing food! Amazing service! Been before, and can't wait to come back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best pizza in Calgary

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The crust is like no other you will get in this city. They use a 20 year old starter for their dough, then it goes into a wood fired pizza oven. The toppings are unique but will suit anyone's taste. Make a reservation as it gets crazy busy. If you go during a peak hour like 12:30-1, they can tend to get backed up as the oven can't do a lot of pizzas at once- maybe 2.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Lunch Spot

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Wonderful food. Server appearance (e.g. Clothing, Make-up, Piercing) is not professional for a business type lunch crowd; appearance & dress-code is probably better suited to very casual evening spot. Overall, I'd go back for the food.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.