About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar, Calgary, AB

Report a photo problem

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Wood Oven (24)
Casual (19)
See All
Cozy (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tapas (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic pizza perfect texture and flav ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic pizza perfect texture and flavour is incredible! Highly recemmmend !

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the food and experienc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoyed the food and experience. Will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Posto: always a great idea Dined at Pos ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Posto: always a great idea

Dined at Posto with a guest on Wednesday Night and enjoyed their Dinner Date menu which features multiple courses for $35 pp as well as a $30 featured bottle of wine. Every course was fantastic, particularly the tartare and the meatballs, as well as the Hawaiian pizza which we garnished with chili oil and chili flakes. We sat comfortably at the bar and enjoyed great conversation in a fun and casual environment. The staff here are always professional and conscientious. Will definitely go back again.

-GD

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Authentic, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are frequent diners at Posto, which i ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We are frequent diners at Posto, which indicates that we enjoy the ambience, food and drinks.

The food is well thought out, contemporary, but not precious. Being attached to the kitchen and wine cellar of Bonterra next door is an advantage.

One of our favourite pizzas is the smoked salmon, and with salad and wine we leave happy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza is really really good, ambiance re ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pizza is really really good, ambiance really nice. Recommended 100%

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best pizza in town! Love the crust!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best pizza in town! Love the crust!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Huge fan of this place - the staff are a ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Huge fan of this place - the staff are amazing, food is always on point and you can go wrong with 1/2 price bottles of wine (4-6pm).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and is good for dates or dinner with friends. All the pizza is absolutely amazing! The ravioli and Hawaiian pizza are my favourite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love love the pizza at Posto. It is u ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We love love the pizza at Posto. It is unrivalled. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It's our 'go to' restaurant. Why? Consi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It's our 'go to' restaurant. Why?

Consistent, excellent food, especially the pizza!

We are remembered and accommodated.

The service is excellent.

Intimate atmosphere feels good whether busy or not.

Reasonable price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza was soggy and tasteless. First tim ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Pizza was soggy and tasteless. First time attendee and heard it was comparable to Una's. It has a long was to go!

Tags: Wood Oven, Happy Hour, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food and wine selection was amazing! ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food and wine selection was amazing! The place is small but it was warmth and cozy feeling. The services can definitely be better, it was slow during the night I was there.

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I took 3 new staff members for an introd ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I took 3 new staff members for an introduction lunch and it was easy to chat and share in the atmosphere. Reasonably priced, great pizza !

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and a great menu. The ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Excellent service and a great menu. The happy ending (one of my favs) was not up to the usual standard this time. Everything else was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been here a few times. The food i ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We've been here a few times. The food is generally tasty but one of our $21 small pizzas was burnt on the top??? One big plus: They have Tool Shed on tap and $5 pints before 6.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

It's my favourite restaurant in this cit ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 21, 2016

It's my favourite restaurant in this city. Great for date nights and pizza lovers.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were very accommodating to our eve ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Staff were very accommodating to our ever changing numbers. The restaurant was an easy walk from our hotel and easy for those driving to locate. Pizzas were all delicious. Would definitely stop by again when in the city.

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience with the C ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful experience with the Chef's "Eat the Sheet" tasting menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Well done pizzas; big enough lunch meal ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Well done pizzas; big enough lunch meal to take some home. My glass of pop was a little flat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

been many times and always pleased with ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

been many times and always pleased with food and service. the Chef is truly a leader in his field and takes the care needed to prepare his dishes and pizzas.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A really great surprise. Had heard the c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 30, 2016

A really great surprise. Had heard the chef did amazing food and was not disappointed. Great friendly fun lay back service and not a bad seat in the place.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic atmosphere! Their Pizzas are A ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic atmosphere! Their Pizzas are AMAZING

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the space, staff are awesome and t ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Loved the space, staff are awesome and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service! We went for a fr ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and service! We went for a friends' get-together and it was the perfect setting, not too loud, and the atmosphere was nice.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super food, service was a little slow bu ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Super food, service was a little slow but more power to the restaurant for sponsoring our Brown Bags for Kids program!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The prix fix menu is fantastic. A great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The prix fix menu is fantastic. A great selection of dishes, perfect for sharing, family style. Excellent food, and really good value.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Being a regular at Posto, the pizzas are ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Being a regular at Posto, the pizzas are consistently excellent and perhaps best in town for the thinner but gluteny chewy lovely authentic handmade crusts in the wood oven. Service consistently excellent recently and in particular with Greg M-W for lunch. Casual atmosphere in a rustic setting. Comfort food in comfortable setting.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place. Would definitely go back. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Lovely place. Would definitely go back. Chef Calvin is a gentleman and a scholar... the blood sausage za was outta site!! ;)

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Was outstanding as usual....great food g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Was outstanding as usual....great food great service

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, , Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were fantastic and the fig and g ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Servers were fantastic and the fig and gorgonzola pizza was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute favourite Calgary Pizzeria, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My absolute favourite Calgary Pizzeria, number 8 is worth a try (every time I go I can't bring myself to try another flavour). Great for friends get together or date night, I prefer a slightly later crowd as I prefer not to dine with kids... Easy location to find with lots of public parking nearby and quick access to downtown night scene.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place more and more every ti ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I love this place more and more every time I go. Food is consistently great and I am always excited to try new items each time. The last time I went, our server was not as attentive as past times, possibly because he was a younger and less experienced but all in all, this place is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic dough! Best pizza in North Ame ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic dough! Best pizza in North America!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! Great food, great ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic experience! Great food, great service- we felt like we were part of the family

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service overall, but the s ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and service overall, but the size of the appetizers was as embarrassing to me and my clients as it must have been to the staff. The cheddar cheese assortment may have totalled a tablespoon, while the sliced meat might have been close to a quarter of a slice of bacon (and that is being kind).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Came here for lunch with my mom. Servic ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Came here for lunch with my mom. Service was amazing, unfortunately I didn't get our servers name. He was fantastic though!

Food was great, it was my mom's first visit and she enjoyed it. We took the leftover pizza home and shared with others and they also really enjoyed it.

I'm sure we'll be back, thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have enjoyed this restaurant previousl ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have enjoyed this restaurant previously but this time, the seating was so crowded, you couldn't move without touching the person at the table next to you. It was difficult to carry on a conversation at lunc h without others hearing you. The service was slow and the pizza came out burned. Not the best experience for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The pizza is inventive, and the executio ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The pizza is inventive, and the execution spectacular.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was very rude. He practically ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The waiter was very rude. He practically threw the receipt at us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Regulars and always love the food at Pos ...

vip
 (Ireland)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Regulars and always love the food at Posto however this time found pizza crust not the usual. Serving of Romaine Salad sparse!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.