Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S, please register your license plate inside. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Specials
Monday - Industry Night 25% off
Tuesday - Sip & Savour - 25% off bubbles & $1 Oysters
Wednesdays - $30 Chef's Choice Menu
Thursdays - $6 Signature Cocktails & $2 Pierogi
Fridays - $5 Bourbon & $8 Roulette Boilermakers
Saturdays - 15% off Taste of Posto Menus
Sundays - Half-Priced Pizza & $5 20oz Pints

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Casual (16)
See All
Fun (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great Beer (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Business Meals (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tapas (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 3 hours ago

Great food and wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Always enjoy Posto - it's the right ambience with the right food in the right place. Often crave dinner at Posto and when I get there, am always glad I went!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great Pizza. And Very good staff. Always love the atmosphere, the smell he staff and the good beer on Tap. We enjoyed Posto for a dinner and special menu for NYE.

Great as always.

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Food was good but the experience was disappointing. They didn’t have coke, then we ordered mussels, they were out and it was 6 30... after dinner we ordered. sambuca, again they were out. We didn’t dine late, but their selection was limited. The food was good but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Amazing! I'll definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

The pizza here is so unique and delicious. I really love the food here, so great. Staff is typically great as well. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone that loves pizza or some good appies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

We had to wait a long time, like 20 mins or longer for a table after making a reservation on opentable. We also found a 1 inch piece of plastic in our pizza's crust. Luckily no one choked. Despite these events, the server was great and kept checking in on us, gave us updates on the wait and gave us bubbles. And immediately replaced the pizza with a new one. He also offered small sweets at the end of the meal as an apology for the plastic. We understand things happen, those things were not personally his fault, but it was his attitude, prompt attention and service recovery that will bring us back . thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 19, 2017

Had a fantastic birthday dinner with two of my best girlfriends. One of whom is Celiac and paleo. We all enjoyed our meal! Even though, alas, she could not have any of the exquisite pizza. The tiramisu was also very good. Not overwhelmingly sweet. Always a pleasure to dine here. Can't wait till next time!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

I absolutely love Posto! It’s the best authentic Italian pizza I have had in North America!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 18, 2017

We had a great dinner on Sunday! Awesome service and good pizza!

Tags: Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Pleasant dining. Became noisy after 7 pm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great experience at Posto, a girlfriend and I decided to go in for a bite and a bottle of wine after work one day. Amazing happy hour specials, and the food was divine! Fantastic service, attentive waitress who was able to anticipate our needs without bearing overbearing. I give Posto 10/10 - they never disappoint.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Best pizza in Calgary. Hands down. I say this as a former resident of both San Francisco and Italy. I've long been in search of the best pizza in Calgary, and Posto has become the only place I'll go. Delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

One of the best pizza places in yyc! I had the sausage apple, so delicious!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

An Intimate little pizzeria, great atmosphere and lovely food. Very little to complain about without nitpicking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on November 28, 2017

Excellent food and appropriately attentive wait staff. Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

We have dined at Posto many, many times and have never been disappointed. The service, atmosphere and food are always consistent and a delight!

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Food was excellent. Pizza crust was especially tasty an had right amount of char. Service was fantastic, friendly and attentive without being aggressive. Smoking hot server in a short sweater dress also helped with the people watching.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Posto was always one of our favourite places. We were raving about it to friends who hadn't been, so the four of us went. Strange night - tables were on top of each other, noise level over the top and our server would interrupt us every single time she came over.

We'd be mid-story and she'd talk over us: "WE HAVE HERE the kale salad with..." Just wait a beat, put the dish down and we'll all shut up! It was odd. I really love the bearded, smiley, happy guy who also came by a couple times, I forget his name but he is absolutely great with timing and he's fun.

Also... Posto, it's time to get Q Water. No one wants to pay $22 for water. One bottle of water is only a few bucks less than a glass of wine. Seriously. MARKET on 17th gives the stuff away for free, sparkling and still. It's the little things like that, that will end up making people not want to come back.

We went for the Saturday $39 pp offering. It's all very tasty, but I do suggest instead of '8 courses', go less dishes, but way more on the plate. Sometimes it was one bite each for the four of us. All the food is good, and you do leave full, but we all decided it would be almost better to just do two FAMILY SIZED bigger salads, one pizza (8 slices) instead of 2 pizzas (no one wanted four slices with all the rest of the food). Don't bother with the mouse serving of brie cheese, the girls split the smaller of the two chunks and it was literally the size of my thumb nail. We all were laughing! The dessert was great. Go see what Model Milk or Ox Tapas are doing with their set menus. Also the pumpkin perogies are to die for, so please don't ever get rid of those.

I'll go back, order off the menu (kale, brussels sprouts, perogies, cauliflower, meatballs - perfect for two people) and ask to sit in bearded, smiley, happy guy's section. I will drink wine only and not hydrate because if I order sparkling water (which we drink copious amounts of) I will leave all mad again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Amazing service, food and such a great date night will be returning

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Superb wait staff/service; great beer (craft brews) & wine selection; cozy environment. The pizzas were "decent" but the three of us were challenged by a menu that lacked choice, even in the selection of pizzas (the 3 of which we tried lacked flavour).

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 7, 2017

This was my first time at Posto, and overall, it was a pleasant experience! The service was generally pretty good, as we felt well cared for. The mussels, brussel sprouts, and ribs were tasty (but not the best I've had), but the portions were very small (tapas-style). The ribs were probably the best of the three, where the meat literally "fell" off the bone. The pizzas were awesome! I liked the salmon and lemon one the best, and my friends enjoyed the pineapple one. The pizzas taste that much more flavourful with their rosemary and chili oils and chili flakes. The had a chance to sample their desserts - great selection, but average quality and taste. It seems like they have a decent wine selection (we tried three different bottles). Overall, it was a positive experience, and I would definitely go back for the PIZZA!

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Yet another AMAZING experience at Posto! Food is incredible, best service in the city. So so good!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Was awesome. Will be back for sure . Hummus, olives, salads and perogies all were delish ! Great wine selection

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Really enjoyed the whole meal. We ordered 6 or 7 different dishes and were happy with all of them. Lots of staff on shift and a cute cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

I had been planning for some time to try Posto as I walk by it frequently and the reviews here were positive. I was disappointed by a few things and very pleased by others. First, the room is cozy and comfortable enough to share a conversation in. I found the service attentive and friendly without being intrusive or inauthentic. The menu is very appropriate for the approach of the restaurant featuring many creative options.

However, and I will preface this by suggesting that possibly it was my choice, but the pizza (#8) was lacklustre in flavour with only the dimension of the cheese coming through. I was looking forward to the wood oven pizza crust but that too seemed to be a real source of disappointment. It failed to have much flavour even when it was nicely burned in spots. I found that under the toppings the dough was exceedingly thin which as it cool became very tough to bite off and chew.

I’m chalking this experience up to my fault for maybe not choosing well from their selection and maybe on a future visit I will have better luck as so many here have had.

Price wise - 1 drink and the pizza came to the mid forties with tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Posto is always amazing — it’s our go-to pizza joint in Calgary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Went on a Sunday during half off pizzas! We ordered 3 pizzas, a cocktail and 2 desserts and our bill was around $70! Pizzas were thin crust and some parts were almost soggy but were not bad overall. Our least favourite was the salmon one and the pizza with figs and potatoes. Service was great and our waiter was very nice and friendly!
We will definitely be returning to try out the rest of the menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Been to Posto many times. It remains my go to place, and I highly recommend it to friends local and visiting. Wine, food, cocktails, appetizers, all fantastic! Best pizza in town hands down. Servers are knowledgable and take great care of you, always two thumbs up to Posto.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

By far my fave place in the whole city. The service the staff the food is always spot on. I just cannot stop recommending it to people! It's amazing! If I could marry a restaraunt I'd marry this one. 😂😍

Tags: Tapas, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Sunday nights is an awesome night to go to Posto as it is half price pizzas. Their pizza is one of the best in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

As usual, Posto remains one of the best places to get pizza in Calgary. Their ingredients are so fresh, well-delivered, and just fit perfectly!
The service is always great, casual, and friendly.
This place is a true gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Overall amazing food and wonderful service! Honestly, probably one of the best pizzas I have ever had. I took my friend here for her birthday and we had such a good time! It was our first time and definitely won't be our last. They went above and beyond for us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I went with my wife to have an anniversary dinner and my daughter came along. We had a tasters menu experience and it was a fantastic array of food with wonderful service from Mike. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great service and awesome food. Pizza is incredible and just love the potato pizza. Great place to share food and drink in an intimate space. I recommend reserving a table as it is always full.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had a great time and everything on the chefs tasting menu was fantastic. We will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The pizzas are great! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Had a pizza at Posto,the crust was fantastic. All fresh ingredients, very tasty.
Great atmosphere, one of my favorit lunch spots.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing restaurant, ambiance, service and food! My gosh, the food was absolutely incredible! My server was Sam and he was there for everything we needed, always prompt, very knowledgeable, and overall an amazing server who goes above and beyond. Posto is a go to for anyone looking for an understated and quiet AMAZING restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food was wonderful, however the service was average at best.
After our first drink order our waiter never asked again if we wanted a drink.
There were four of us we were celebrating a Birthday and we had a present on the table and he never asked what's the occasion .
We ordered s couple of appetizers they came out and were wonderful would recommend the perogies, good portions snd delicious . Meatballs albeit tasty were very small and overpriced. We each ordered a pizza as they are prettty much individual size as they thin fire baked pizzas. Two came out, were told the other was forgotten would be out in a minute & the other was just coming. The one that was forgotten was about five minutes , the one that was to be right out was about twelve minutes.
The waiter only came by once to say it is coming, never apologized. By the time the fourth pizza came out the other people had finished 1/2 their meal.
Waiter was more concerned about other tables that food was coming out on time for & not ours.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.