About Posto Pizzeria and Bar

1014 8th St. SW
Calgary, AB T2R 1K2
View Larger Map

We are adults here. We like to drink wine, sometimes lots of it. We also enjoy delicious food. Most importantly, we like to share these passions with our friends.

Our menu is small, but stacked with delicious food. Try a few of our smaller items or feast on a selection of pizzas and larger plates. It’s up to you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Canadian, Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
10 Ave S

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-4876

Website:
http://www.posto.ca/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is on the East side of the restaurant and is accessible from 10th Ave S. There are also plenty of parking meters along 10th and 11th Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Ben Mills

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
  • Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar
Posto Pizzeria and Bar

Posto Pizzeria and Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Canadian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Canadian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Great for Lunch (18)
Romantic (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Authentic (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Casual (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
301 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was outstanding as usual....great food g ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

Was outstanding as usual....great food great service

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers were fantastic and the fig and g ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Servers were fantastic and the fig and gorgonzola pizza was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My absolute favourite Calgary Pizzeria, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My absolute favourite Calgary Pizzeria, number 8 is worth a try (every time I go I can't bring myself to try another flavour). Great for friends get together or date night, I prefer a slightly later crowd as I prefer not to dine with kids... Easy location to find with lots of public parking nearby and quick access to downtown night scene.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place more and more every ti ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I love this place more and more every time I go. Food is consistently great and I am always excited to try new items each time. The last time I went, our server was not as attentive as past times, possibly because he was a younger and less experienced but all in all, this place is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Fantastic dough! Best pizza in North Ame ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fantastic dough! Best pizza in North America!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! Great food, great ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic experience! Great food, great service- we felt like we were part of the family

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service overall, but the s ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and service overall, but the size of the appetizers was as embarrassing to me and my clients as it must have been to the staff. The cheddar cheese assortment may have totalled a tablespoon, while the sliced meat might have been close to a quarter of a slice of bacon (and that is being kind).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Came here for lunch with my mom. Servic ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Came here for lunch with my mom. Service was amazing, unfortunately I didn't get our servers name. He was fantastic though!

Food was great, it was my mom's first visit and she enjoyed it. We took the leftover pizza home and shared with others and they also really enjoyed it.

I'm sure we'll be back, thanks!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have enjoyed this restaurant previousl ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have enjoyed this restaurant previously but this time, the seating was so crowded, you couldn't move without touching the person at the table next to you. It was difficult to carry on a conversation at lunc h without others hearing you. The service was slow and the pizza came out burned. Not the best experience for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The pizza is inventive, and the executio ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The pizza is inventive, and the execution spectacular.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was very rude. He practically ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The waiter was very rude. He practically threw the receipt at us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Regulars and always love the food at Pos ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Regulars and always love the food at Posto however this time found pizza crust not the usual. Serving of Romaine Salad sparse!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was excellent, we had two very ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was excellent, we had two very tasty and very creative salads. Afterwards, we shared a pizza. Definitely one of the best pizzas in Calgary. We found service to be too casual for such a wonderful food. We were served pizza while we were still eating our salad. Server seemed distracted, chatting and not paying attention.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Love this place! It's a nice place to go ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Love this place! It's a nice place to go without breaking the bank. The staff are always friendly and smiling, food is amazing. Everyone one of their pizzas is delicious. Only feedback is their meal portions are small. The pizzas are a great size but the some of the dishes are small. If you eat a lot of food then it will end up costing you a bit. The ravelloi is amazing but again, for $20 it's not much food. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone though, great place.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We always pick this restaurant as our af ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We always pick this restaurant as our after work meal, and we are done work by 9:30/10 pm.

It works out perfect cause there is only a hand full of tables left, and it's mainly like a private restaurant. We always get the anti pesto platter ranging from 1/2 or full, or if we are really hungry 1.5 portion!. We always experiment with their pizzas selections, watching them form it in front of their oven is quite intriguing and seeing how it's later in the evening you are guaranteed a spot there. Beverages are always cold and refreshing, and the service friendly and inviting. We have not found any complainants or negative feedback with this restaurant, it never disappoints. We always end up leaving room for desserts or get them to go cause their tiramisu and cannoli's are HIGHLY addictive. My date and I will never get one tiramisu to share because it will turn to a negative drive home because we are both greedy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Its always an adventure when we go. The ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Its always an adventure when we go. The entire staff made our night. Food was amazing, service over the top, and i can thank you enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and services was great and it w ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food and services was great and it was such a nice night to sit outside but the patio lacks ambiance. I'll definitely be back for the pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service. Unfortunately, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

great food and service. Unfortunately, like most downtown spots, not busy at all. Hope it survives!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and location. Awes ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food, service and location. Awesome Sangrias! Cheers :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent. Love the Humbolt squid appi, ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent. Love the Humbolt squid appi, too good to share it though. Pizza's and pasta's are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza is deliiiiiiiiiiicioussssssss and ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pizza is deliiiiiiiiiiicioussssssss and that's all it needs to be!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food!! Our server was incredib ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food!! Our server was incredibly friendly, gave us a lot of recommendations from the menu. We ordered the antipasto plate on his recommendation and we loved it! The pizza was awesome too! We got to sit out on the patio, and the only slight downside was the passing trains which created some noise but it only lasted a couple minutes. It was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate a birthday with som ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went to celebrate a birthday with some friends. Only 5 of us. Waited for about 20 minutes past our reservation before we were seated. This was the only unpleasant experience of our meal. Food was great. Waiter was friendly and attentive. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing and the food was ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The service was amazing and the food was so so delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation at the last minute to ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Made a reservation at the last minute to have lunch with my son & his girlfriend. None of us had been there before and we were all pleasantly surprised by the quality & taste of the food served. Love that they have an Italian wine, Al Passo by Tolaini (one of my favorites) on their wine list.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was amazing...every time I ha ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything was amazing...every time I have dined at Posto! A very long-term server with humor, knowledge and wonderful recommendations. Quality 'not' quantity menu. In my mind, I can still taste the wild mushroom flatbread and the warm tomato salad with parmesan rounds. Outstanding! A nice birthday finish...tiramasu, best in town with minimal coffee influence...thank you Posto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special place in the city

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My wife and I are crazy about this place. Service is professinal and friendly, ambient cosy and vibrant, music trendy and there is always a random vintage movie playing on TV. You simply cannot miss with food; you will fall in love with anything that you order. I highly reccommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We've been a couple times now and always have pizza because it is so great. We've tried the 1) meat pizza (salami, sausage, pancetta and calabrese), 2) chicken with sun dried tomato and goat cheese and the 3) spinach, garlic, mushroom and grana padano with prosciutto added. There's a bunch of other pizza flavours I want to try as well and also venture to the other non-pizza items on the menu which sound tasty. The crust is sourdough with a hint of salt and is to die for. You can see the chef busy at work and watch everything coming out of the pizza oven...love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food and service

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I've been here a few times now and it never fails to impress. The food is always outstanding and the head chef is personable and very educated on his ingredients and approach (young guy...can't remember his name now).

The service is always great as well...even when it can't be. What I mean by that is the kitchen was backed up the last time we were there for lunch. Instead of just apologizing like what most places would do, they brought us out an order bruschetta to tie us over while we waited, which would have been enough, but also took one glass of wine of the bill each for the three of us that were there. Stuff like that will keep me coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Pizza in Calgary

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

There is no better pizza then at Posto! The cocktails are also amazing, as is everything else on the menu. Great wine and beer options. Casual and upbeat ambiance. Family friendly earlier in the evening and great for a date a bit later.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The arancini were excellent: a wonderful ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The arancini were excellent: a wonderful blend of flavours. The pizza was disappointing. The crust was too thick, there was too much tomato (and too many large chunks of tomato), and there were too many big hunks of partly-melted cheese. The cannoli were superb, probably the best I've ever had, with a bit of citrus, a bit of chocolate, and a bit of nut, everything in perfect harmony with no flavour predominating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great gluten free food, service, ambience

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first visit to Posto, and I was so impressed. The ambience is great - rustic wood paneling and candlelit dining. Surprisingly quiet despite being so full. I called ahead to ask about gluten free accommodations and received some of the best service anywhere. When we arrived they knew I was the one with the gluten allergy so I didn't have to explain it again, and they let me order from both their own menu and that of their sister restaurant next door, which had gluten free pasta. I ordered a starter from one and a main from the other. I was so impressed with the level of eager accommodation I received as someone with an allergy. I would definitely recommend Posto to anyone who is gluten free or otherwise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizzas were burnt, the waiter said thank ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Pizzas were burnt, the waiter said thank you sir even though I am not a guy and I paid, food took a while to arrive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Great place and super great pizza. Pos ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great place and super great pizza. Posto has one of the best pizza's in calgary and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food and great ambiance

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Worth every penny and your evening. Loved the pizzas and the desert besides the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just OK

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was hoping for a better experience. Had to wait for 15 minutes even though we had a reservation. Then we watched as they gave our table by the window to two other people who were already seated nearby and they gave us their "much less desirable table".. ..

The service was good but we were left without wine and water on a few occasions. The olives and cheese we ordered to start were good. I was really looking forward to the pizza but when it arrived it was pretty wet and soggy. Perhaps that is how it is served and others may like it but it wasn't for me. Given the multitude of options in Calgary I don't think I would return but maybe this was just a one-off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great atmosphere and super yummy food! ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and super yummy food! Chicken, spinach and beet salad with mint was divine! And my brother loved the ceasar salad. The pizzas were delicious - fun, healthy and good quality toppings with excellent crusts! My mom loved her spinach salad. We were there mid-week for lunch and loved it!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have dreams about their pizza. Amazing ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dreams about their pizza. Amazing service, even better food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Posto so huge bias in favour of ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We love Posto so huge bias in favour of this contemporary pizza spot. It hits the mark for an uptown vibe, but a relaxed and informal tone. Sad to note it was very quiet on our last visit, first time we have seen so few diners.

Salmon pizza was delicious, as was the featured salad, a beet and smoked feta combo. Wine line is good, and there is access to the Bonterra cellarif something different is requested.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday pizza call

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Salad, meatballs and pizza. All very good. Staff were friendly, helpful and talkative at the kitchen bar. It is great to watch talented people work. We will be back to try some of the other dishes and dessert in the near future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.