About Posh at The Scranton Club

404 N Washington Ave.
Scranton, PA 18510
View Larger Map

POSH At The Scranton Club is a full service restaurant and Event facility located in beautiful downtown Scranton in what was formerly a private club. Open to the public for the first time in the building's history, POSH offers classic American bistro cuisine in a refined yet casual setting, as well as the latest cocktails in the Fashion Lounge, and Oak Bar. Enjoy classic and affordable American cuisine in an elegant and historical setting. The City Hall Bar overlooks the impressive municipal building of the city of Scranton. Daily specials and farm to table offerings from our Chef de Cuisine Jourdan Azevedo and Sous Chef Damien Miseo and Banquet Chef Ken Heater are available. The elegant second floor event space can accommodate up to 300 guests for a sit down event. Menus are customized to the needs of the client by our on-site event planner.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;

Monday and Tuesday - Private Events of 20 or more

Wednesday - Saturday - 11:30an - 2:00pm
Serving salads and sandwichs between 2:00 pm and 5:00 pm

Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mulberry Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(570) 955-5890

Website:
http://poshatsc.com/

Entertainment:
Oak Bar and Fashion Lounge offer various entertainment Thursday, Friday and Saturday

Parking Details:
Parking lot behind POSH, Adams Parking Garage, or on street parking.

Executive Chef:
Chef De Cuisine Jourdan Azevedo and Sous Chef Damien Miseo

Private Party Facilities:
Our second Floor Event Space can accomodate up to 300 for a sit down function. Small Private events can also be booked in the Fashion Lounge.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
POSH Specializes in events like weddings, rehearsal dinners, showers or any type of business dinner or presentation. We are happy to customize a menu to meet the needs of our client.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 9:00PM

Thu - Fri 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Posh at The Scranton Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Scranton / Poconos
Best Food
Scranton / Poconos
Best Service
Scranton / Poconos
15 More
Best Ambiance
Scranton / Poconos
Best Value
Scranton / Poconos
Fit for Foodies
Scranton / Poconos
Romantic
Scranton / Poconos
Special Occasion
Scranton / Poconos
Most Booked
Scranton / Poconos
Best Overall
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Food
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Service
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Ambiance
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Value
Poconos Mountain Region
Fit for Foodies
Poconos Mountain Region
Romantic
Poconos Mountain Region
Special Occasion
Poconos Mountain Region
Most Booked
Poconos Mountain Region
Best Restaurants in Scranton ›

special occasion (70)
fit for foodies (38)
romantic (38)
See All
good for groups (33)
great for brunch (32)
great for lunch (27)
neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (17)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The table for nine was long making it hard to talk

Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was accommodating with nine people. The food was good but it was very noisy and we couldn't talk unless we got up and walked over to the person. This was a family reunion so it wasn't idea for us catching up.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Attention to Detail

Dined 7 days ago

Your establishment would be described as "attention to detail." Almost everything was in place which created a great experience. Two areas to work on: As a new customer, when I walked in the door it was confusing on where to report to be seated. I stood holding my ladies' jacket and was never asked if it could be hung up for me. So I just hung it on the back of my chair. The food was very good but I was surprised by the salad. I ordered the "classic" mainly because I love dried cranberries. To my surprise, there weren't any in my salad?

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service personnel was just terrific. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The service personnel was just terrific. I think the name of the woman we had was Ashley. She was terrific, friendly, not pushy, and we all had an excellent meal and will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Selected from trip advisor reviews to ce ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Selected from trip advisor reviews to celebrate granddaughters confirmation. Service and food exceeded expectations.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to Posh! We especially lik ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We love going to Posh! We especially like the waiter named Eric. He is funny and is present when you need him but he doesn't hover.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had drinks and dinner with a friend last ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Had drinks and dinner with a friend last week. Appetizers were delicious. We had the Charcuderie Platter and Shrimp. I had the Pork Loin with Mustard Sauce and Bacon Potatoes. My friend had the Penne with Beef Tenderloin Bolognese. We had a lovely bottle of Chardonnay and all wine is half price every Wednesday. Great meal as always. I also highly recommend the Lobster Mac & Cheese. It is one of the best I've had.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Party of 3 for Mother's Day brunch, dis ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Party of 3 for Mother's Day brunch, disappointing, no personal service except when the waiter came around for ipad payment. Tip percentages suggested, for what? I prefer individual table service with select menu choices compared with buffet. Buffet was okay but at $49 per person clearly not what I had in mind. I love POSH for it's menu and wonderful service so the buffet brunch was not a great experience. The buffet was in the upstairs dining room which was nicely decorated and had a great keyboard player.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply Awesome

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff is spectacular, friendly, and spot on with every aspect of making the focus all about the customer. The food speaks for itself and you will certainly look forward to coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First experience was not the best. This made it up

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our first time dining here was not the best first experience. Hostess needs customer service training. This time hostess was the same. But our waitress was much better, very personable, told us the specials, kept us informed of meal timing. Asked several times if we needed anything. How was our meal. One of the owners asked us how everything was. Over all this was a better experience. We would go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining room was lovely and elegant. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The dining room was lovely and elegant. We were there for lunch and our food was delicious. The burgers are perfect. The staff was extremely attentive. Definitely will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

pre-theatre dinning

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

This is our go-to place for a nice dinner before shows at the Scranton Cultural Center. Good service, good value and consistent food quality. Menu is static, with few changes from visit to visit.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Dining at Posh was fabulous. Never disappointed. Quality of food was outstanding and the service wonderful. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Love Posh!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Posh is my favorite place to eat in this area. the food, service and atmosphere is always perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice for a special occasion

Dined on April 22, 2016

Had dinner on a Friday evening. The dining room has an elegant vibe but casual dress, including jeans, are acceptable attire. Service was good . Hubby and I each had steaks but preferred the fillets over the porterhouse. Vegetable of the day seemed to be fresh local veggies. Entrees came with a mound of creamy mashed potatoes. The room was noisier than I would have liked for a special dinner. Overall a good meal and a nice evening out.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service5

I like the mix use of the facility. Val ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I like the mix use of the facility. Valet parking would be a great add considering the double intersection location, although there is a parking facility nearby but for a first time visitor not too helpful. The decor of the building is nicely decorated and pleasant to walk into. The food menu pricing I though is fair considering the atmosphere and the overall ambiance. The food itself however leads a lot to be desired. Sloppy presentation and subpar ingredients and quality. I'm certain you can raise the bar to match the ambiance, location and great service we received. I'll definitely try them again as better dining options are limited in the area in hopes the chef has changed the menu and overall quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale vibe, reasonable prices

Dined on April 16, 2016

Nice atmosphere, 3 bars, varied menu, reasonably priced. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service. The staff went above ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Wonderful service. The staff went above and beyond.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal! Great time!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Dinner at Posh for a friends birthday. The lobster special was great! The chicken saltimbocca terrific! While the food was great and the service excellent (Casey), the best part was the fabulous desserts. Had a chocolate chip cookie dough molten lava cake-who knew you could bake choc chip cookie dough and end up with fudgie gooey molten chocolate inside? Great meal, great time. Cant wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch! Food was delicious! I ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent brunch! Food was delicious! I would definitely recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for our special occasion

Dined on April 2, 2016

First time for all 5 of us to this restaurant, and we had a good experience. It was my husband's birthday and they had written Happy Birthday on the plate on which his dessert was served--nice touch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on March 30, 2016

Excellent food and service as always! Would highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food, hard to get beverages

Dined on March 27, 2016

I could not get a server on Easter at the brunch for drinks. There seemed to be no assigned tables. While the food was great, the beverage service needs restructuring.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 23, 2016

Food is out of this world ...server was outstanding...if you havent tried this restaurant you are missing out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food was god awful. Salmon was bad. Ri ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Food was god awful. Salmon was bad. Risotto was tasteless. One person out of the four in our party thought his scallops were ok. 2 people had salmon It was really bad. Pretzel bread was best Bart of meal. Jennifer our waitress was the only reason I might go back. She was mazingky friendly , attentive and has a very nice way about herself. DONT LOSE HER! Get a new cook. The building is amazing! Just get the food back on track.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Choice for Business Lunch

Dined on March 17, 2016

I had requested a quiet but attractive location with a table large enough to review files. This may have been difficult, however, staff listened to my needs and provided a perfect setting for this lunch. Fortunately, our work was completed prior to lunch so we were able to simply relax and enjoy the outstanding menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were very pleased with the service an ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We were very pleased with the service and my food was delicious. There was a problem with my wife's Ahi tuna, it was not to her liking. The waiter (Jeffery) immediately offered to replace it with something else. Which was done very quickly and my wife was very satisfied with the substitution.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining in downtown Scranton

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Gorgeous venue for dining. Perfect for dining before of after Cultural Center events. Lunch service is excellent as well.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fav spot in Scranton

Dined on February 27, 2016

Posh is definitely my favorite restaurant in Scranton. The food, the service, the cocktails, and the atmosphere are top notch. Try the Poshtini...trust me!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place to spend our anniversary.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Quiet spot to spend a romantic night together. Good food, great service and everything we were looking for.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Worst valentines day dinner

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We were skiing in the area and booked Posh for a valentine's day dinner. Due to the reviews I read online. I had a party of 12 and felt horrible when we got there they had ran out of about 40% of their menu. I've never been more embarrassed in my life, we were all looking forward to a nice romantic dinner and everything we ordered was no longer available. The service was great and the waitresses were very apologetic, but there was nothing they could do, how does a restaurant run out of food, when they have reservation way ahead of time and they know it's one of the busiest days for them. To top it all off, they didn't even comp us a drink or coffee or dessert. I was very disappointed and would never go back. I don't usually write bad reviews, but this was just such terrible planning on their part.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's day spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

This has been a valentine's day spot for 2 years in a row. I was in town on a long ski weekend, and went with my wife and two daughters. My daughters behave very well, but this ain't no Applebee's so I can't recommend for kids even though it was perfect for us, the restaurant is quiet and there were no noisy kids throwing fries on the floor. With that said, the menu accommodated the kids perfectly as they have items such as burgers and sandwiches. The wine and drink menu was great, portions were generous. The only issue was that the food came out too close to the appetizers which always irks me, and the wine came out too late relative to the main dish, so their timing was a bit off, but we made the best of it and considering we weren't in a rush, we spaced it out ourselves to make it work.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly Recommended Scranton Restaurant

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I took our three kids ( 17,15,10) to Posh on Valentine's Day! We were staying in Scranton while on a weekend ski trip. We had a marvelous evening at Posh! The service was excellent - very accommodating but not intrusive. Everything we ordered was delicious -- from the appetizers to the desserts. We had a fabulous flatbread with fig and prosciutto, excellent pan seared scallops over a butternut squash risotto, and a delicious been salad. The kids enjoyed the burger, the French dip sandwich and the apple & butternut nut squash soup. We finished with a delicious bread pudding and cannoli and creme brûlée. We highly recommend this restaurant and we will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome Brunch at Posh for Valentine's Day. Fine dining at it's best, even before noon. Food was wonderful and the crab cake benedict alone is worth the visit ! The service was outstanding from the monent we arrived and were greeted by coat check. Our server Ashley was very sweet and certainly allowed us the time and space to enjoy the day and our meals. She was kind and welcoming in recommending we return for Wine Wedneday for 1/2 price bottles. We have made note of that and will return for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Eh...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I ordered the bananas foster French toast- there were no bananas on it and the bread was very thin. My husband ordered steak and eggs and the steak was very fatty. Had our order not been $18 each, we may have felt better about our order. I think Posh can do better. Our server was great and the ambiance was beautiful. Brunch needs some work.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Posh at Scranton Club

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place for date night. The food was excellent, the ambiance was chill and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Consistency counts...

Dined on February 13, 2016

I have frequented Posh on a few occasions and usually find the experience to be one of the best in the area and indeed comparable to many celebrated locations I have dined at in the States and abroad. Service, ambiance, and menu/wine selection is always appreciated. I would hazard on one area of increased focus, to be considered best in class, and that is in consistency of food preparation. I have had your 5 Napkin burger a few times and have found it to be succulent and worthy of its sobriquet. On my last visit however the burger was dry as well as the bun. Possibly it sat too long before service. My wife’s short rib ragu was also dry and not as succulent as we had predicted it would be from past experiences. Dining with you in the past has proved to be a gastronomes delight, so I understand it could have been a one off, but knowing your commitment to excellence you would invite the feedback for improvement. I certainly will continue to recommend you to friends and peers alike as you have many favorable attributes and a fabulous staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The sesame encrusted Ahi Ahi was excelle ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The sesame encrusted Ahi Ahi was excellent and the beef medallions were in a savory sauce. The Margharita was the best I've ever tasted. Wow! Very smooth. Service was excellent and not intrusive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Posh is posh

Dined on February 12, 2016

Wonderful food with full range of items. Service was outstanding. Desserts are amazing, unfortunately. The only problem is the noise level with hig ceilings and close tables.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

As usual, there were no complaints. Food was outstanding; service superb; could not have had a better dining experience.!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delightfully Dependable

Dined on January 22, 2016

POSH is a favorite and the food is always right on. Friends took me for a Birthday dinner and were not disappointed (they had never been there before). We shared three wonderful appetizer, the Lobster sliders, breaded eggplant sticks and a flat bread with fig jam, rocket and proscuitto. All were so delicious and the eggplant especially out of this world ! I had the scallops ( I do think they could add another 2 scallops to the dish) and as I didn't like the accompaniment they substituted other veggies for me. My friend had the Tuna and enjoyed the spice of it, the other friend enjoyed the always delicious braised short ribs . For dessert we had the chocolate chip molten cake, tasty but the cake was a bit on the dry side. They have a variety of seasonal cocktails for the adventurous, and a good selection of wine an beer. The service is usually excellent though this time it was good there was that genuine interest touch youch you normally see missing. Perhaps an off night for our waiter. POSH is always an enjoyable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.