Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Posana

4.5
1510 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Great for Outdoor Dining

Similar Restaurants

About

Posana is a contemporary American restaurant in the heart of downtown Asheville on Historic Pack Square. With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant’s warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can’t wait to serve you.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Sunday, Tuesday – Thursday 5pm-9pm

Friday & Saturday 5pm-10pm

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 505-3969
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Pollay
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Patton
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Meter Parking is available on Broadway/Biltmore Avenue and Around the Vance Monument. Meters run from 8am-6pm Mon-Sat and accept nickles, dimes and quarters.

Lot Parking is available on Biltmore at Eagle Street and Patton at Lexington Ave.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Posana's private banquet and special event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance. Accommodating 60 for a seated meal and 65-75 for a presentation or cocktail event. Complete with Hi-Def Video & a retractable 119” screen.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Posana's banquet & event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance, fine cuisine and sophisticated technology. The newly-remodeled space will comfortably accommodate 60 diners for a sit-down dinner, and can accommodate a larger group for a hors d'oeuvres and cocktail event.<br />If your party is larger, reserving the entire restaurant will accommodate 115 guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 1510 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on December 31, 2016

I was very disappointed. Our fish was so overdone, and our second course was inedible. The appetizer was delicious and the dessert was ok. The service was excellent, but we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent, excellent, excellent. I cannot say enough about Posana. My first visit was a couple of years ago and each time I visit Asheville, Posana continues to blow me away. The New Years menu was out of this world, and the wine pairings they had with each dish was seamless. They truly outdid themselves. From the ambiance, to the presentation of the food, and our waiter (Patrick)...Posana made our New Years Eve perfect. A MUST visit while in Asheville! You will not be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

We here for New Year's Eve dinner celebrating our anniversary the service was excellent. The menu selections were so tasty. The kale cease are salad was best I've had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Posana never disappoints! The food, service and atmosphere are always OUTSTANDING! I love being able to order anything off the menu, since it is all gluten free!! Keep it up Posana!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

Went for first time for my partner's birthday. They gave us menu's with "Happy Birthday" printed at the top which was nice touch. We didn't like the table for two they tried to give us because it was right between two other tables. They first said they didn't have another available but soon came back and moved us to a wonderful private, corner table. The hostess and our server couldn't have been nicer. Restaurant beautifully decorated.
The food was delicious. We started with the fried brussel sprouts which were amazing...and I don't even eat them normally. For entrees my partner had the porkchop which she enjoyed and I had the ribeye which was excellent! The food is farm to table so apparently varies according to what is in season. Will definitely go again but I have to say it is pricey so likely will not frequent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

I have celiac. It's the best food even if I did not. I have real dessert options. Food is delicious and creative. Menu always changes. This is all GF restaurant and you would not know it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic service, delicious food, and creative cocktails. What more could you want in a restaurant. The pork meatballs currently on the menu are to die for!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved the service. Our server, Shea, was excellent. He knew the dishes very well (and drinks and past drinks) and helped us make excellent, delicious choices. We also liked that we were not sitting on top of other people eating there. There were tables around us, but either it was the way they were arranged or the acoustics that you could here the sound of others talking but not hear their conversations. Really one of the best eating experiences I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Wonderful find - delicious farm to table with varied menu. Great service and good value for money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Posana was absolute heaven! The wine list alone is worth it. We had a Pyramid Cellars Cab Franc *bonus it was 1/2 off wine night*, and then a delicious meal of Roasted Beet salad w pistachio dressing, grapefruit, shaved beets, Three Graces Feta cheese (my personal fave, so good I came back the next night for another one), Brasstown Ribeye w roasted garlic cream, salsify, rosemary bacon jus steak medium rare, Fried Brussels w sorghum glaze, whipped ricotta, toasted hazelnuts, Grilled Nebrodini mushrooms w tallow aioli, lemon, rosemary
Roasted Fingerling Potatoes w truffle oil, parmesan, tallow aioli, smoked tomato jam, EVERYTHING was so good, the service was impeccable, and I wish there was one in my city!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Good food. The one thing that needs improvement is parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Enjoyed this very much! Interesting menu , nice atmosphere sphere, great service. Does not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Everyone's meal was excellent and the service was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2016

Had friends from Turkey visit us (a food nation if ever there was one). We wanted to take them to a great local farm-to-table imaginative cuisine place and we all loved our time together at Posana's. It was an utterly magical evening in every way you hope for: fresh, friendly, fine dining that is quintessentially Asheville. Raising a glass to you all ... we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Awesome as always! All items are delicious and gluten free. However, rest assured that Posana's menu appeals to all, not just gluten-free diners.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Consistently very good to outstanding. In my opinion, among top 3 best restaurants in Asheville (I'm local). Comfortably chic interior. Well-prepared standard martinis. Particularly excellent service this night (quietly attentive, non-intrusive). Outstanding: duck meatballs appetizer. Very good: ahi tuna entree, pork chop entree, brussels sprouts side, kale salad. Passed on dessert. Adequate wine list. Been many times, never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

This place has a changing menu to accommodate whatever is local and fresh. Even items that sound odd turn out delicious. This place has gotten me to eat things I have never eaten. But they also have good ol favorites too.
The staff is super welcoming and even remembered us after only 1 visit. Now every time we come they say hi by name and seat is in our favorite spot. Even the managers swing by and say hello.
Great place for any occasion or just dinner. But especially good if you feel the need to impress anyone without being snooty. This is the place. I can't think of anyone that wouldn't enjoy the food. And yes it happen to all be gluten free butnyou would never know!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Posana deserves more reviews - good ones at that! We went Christmas Eve for breakfast/brunch, and we were all so happy. There were plenty of options for all appetites (we had a vegetarian, a no red meat person, and some who were only craving pork!). Service was incredible. Our server was so sweet, she even gave us ideas for what to do around the city following our meal.

The food was delicious, and there was plenty of it. Prices were incredibly reasonable. I'm surprised they don't charge more. And everything was so fresh. I will be coming back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

We live in Asheville and Posana is one of our favorite places for dinner. We love the decor. The food is fresh and well presented. The service is excellent. All 4 of us enjoyed our meals . Highly recommend that you enjoy dinner here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2016

Another wonderful dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great food and superb service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2016

Wonderful dinner!! Wonderful service. Thank you Emily.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2016

Food and service were good - two grouper entrees, a pork chop and a lamb entree. The pork and the lamb were the best entrees - meat perfectly cooked and flavorful. The grouper was a bit dry - great taste, though! The kale salad was superb and I had enough left for lunch the next day! Wine list did not offer many options under 50.00. Seems most other restaurants have more options in the 3o - 45.00 range. We will continue to visit this restaurant, as it is one we enjoy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 18, 2016

Disappointed. One of our favorite local spots, but this time the fryer was broken so no french fries; they ran out of all tap beer and in bottles had only gluten free beer; and the bread in the shaved rib sandwich fell apart.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

We had such a delicious brunch here! Posana is cozy and has great options for brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

We love Posana. Wish there could be more restaurants like Posana. I always order a latte at brunch and it was wonderful, as usual. The scones are unique and delicious. My daughter loves the lunch chicken sandwich almost as much as the dinner chicken entree. She prefers the breaded offering over the broiled, but still enjoy brunch very much.
Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2016

Good meal well prepared (as usual) very nice presentation, service . Special dinner for two worked out but I had to press for a table large enough-- the small ones are too small & much less comfortable. But it worked out..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2016

This was one of our many visits to Posana, we like it there for their gluten free options. The quality of food and waitstaff has not wavered over the time we have visited there. We had the chicken and beef (2) options on the menu, everyone enjoyed their meal .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Dinner was perfect. Our server was great! He paid attention to the little details. We will definitely go back the next time we visit Asheville.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2016

Posana is a truly elegant gem among Asheville restaurants. The ambiance was warm and inviting, the bar selections are outstanding, and the food choices were well-varied. The meal was delicious (I had the scallops) and the service impeccable. I will return often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2016

Wife and I really love this restaurant. Brasstown Ribeye is excellent. Ask for Patrick, terrific waiter. Everything is completely Gluten-Free!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2016

AMAZING meal. Especially the Brussels sprouts!! Our waiter was so accommodating and made our visit very worth while!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 11, 2016

It was disappointing for an Asheville restaurant. The vegetables and mashed potatoes were good, though the veggies were barely warm. The chicken was dry and plain, while the steak was not very tender--hard to do for medium rare. There were few in the restaurant, yet the server was not attentive or well informed as to the dishes. The bar looked inviting but it did not seem to be a trending bar for the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Was wow! Was so good came back next day for Sunday brunch. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was fantastic as always. Having a gluten allergy, it is wonderful to go to a restaurant and be able to safely eat anything on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

All around wonderful experience. I had not been there since renovation and really like the ambiance. Very classy. The mushroom appetizer was extraordinary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Gluten Free done right. No noticeable difference, even the fried chicken was out of this world.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

I've had brunch here two weekends in a row. Their poached eggs with pork belly was so delicious I had to come back again. Also, enjoyed our special cocktails. The restaurant is really beautiful and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Fabulous food and ambiance!!!
Super friendly staff from the door to the table. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Posana is one our FAVORITE restaurants in Asheville. The food is always delicious, service is excellent and we keep coming back for more. Thank you Posana for being such an awesome restaurant with a wonderful menu!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38