About Posana

1 Biltmore Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Posana is a contemporary American restaurant in the heart of downtown Asheville on Historic Pack Square. With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant’s warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can’t wait to serve you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday, Tuesday – Thursday 5pm-9pm

Friday & Saturday 5pm-10pm

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Patton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 505-3969

Website:
http://www.posanarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking is available on Broadway/Biltmore Avenue and Around the Vance Monument. Meters run from 8am-6pm Mon-Sat and accept nickles, dimes and quarters.

Lot Parking is available on Biltmore at Eagle Street and Patton at Lexington Ave.

Executive Chef:
Peter Pollay

Private Party Facilities:
Posana's banquet & event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance, fine cuisine and sophisticated technology. The newly-remodeled space will comfortably accommodate 60 diners for a sit-down dinner, and can accommodate a larger group for a hors d'oeuvres and cocktail event.
If your party is larger, reserving the entire restaurant will accommodate 115 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Crystal Edwards: 8285053969x101

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Posana's private banquet and special event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance. Accommodating 60 for a seated meal and 65-75 for a presentation or cocktail event. Complete with Hi-Def Video & a retractable 119” screen.

Restaurant Photos

Eggs Benedict - Posana, Asheville, NC
Donuts - Posana, Asheville, NC
Lobster Mac And Cheese - Posana, Asheville, NC
Fall Spice Latte - Posana, Asheville, NC
Scallops - Posana, Asheville, NC
Capitoso Rioja - Posana, Asheville, NC
Grits - Posana, Asheville, NC
Vegan Noodle Bowl - Posana, Asheville, NC
French Fries - Posana, Asheville, NC
Blueberry & Brie Salad - Posana, Asheville, NC
Seared Scallop Fettuccini - Posana, Asheville, NC
Grilled Chicken Breast Sandwich - Posana, Asheville, NC
Breakfast Tacos - Posana, Asheville, NC
Homemade Chai - Posana, Asheville, NC
Crabcake Benedict  - Posana, Asheville, NC
Bourbon & Ginger Ale - Posana, Asheville, NC
Cucumber Caipirinha - Posana, Asheville, NC
Short Rib - Posana, Asheville, NC
Kale Salad And Gin Sazerac - Posana, Asheville, NC
Lamb Shoulder Wiith Celeriac Puree - Posana, Asheville, NC
Chef's Breakfast Bowl - Posana, Asheville, NC
Ceasar Salad - Posana, Asheville, NC
Brown Sugar Italian Cream Cake - Posana, Asheville, NC
Carmalized Banana S'more With Maple Bacon Ice Cream - Posana, Asheville, NC
Lemon Lorainne Cocktail - Posana, Asheville, NC
Spanish Inquisition - Posana, Asheville, NC
Prosecco - Posana, Asheville, NC
Maple Cheeseca - Posana, Asheville, NC
Iced tea - Posana, Asheville, NC
Champagne Sunday Brunch - Posana, Asheville, NC
Lasagne With Seared Scallops - Posana, Asheville, NC

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

On New Year's Eve, Posana invites you to join us a four-course Prix Fixe menu. Pricing is $75 per person, with additional wine pairings available. Tax and gratuity are not included.

Posana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Most Booked
Asheville / Western North Carolina
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Asheville
Contemporary American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (115)
Special Occasion (82)
Local Ingredients (81)
See All
Creative Cuisine (77)
Gluten Free Options (68)
Good for a Date (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Healthy (57)
Romantic (55)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Great for Brunch (48)
Modern Decor (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
People Watching (36)
Notable Wine List (35)
Worth the Drive (34)
Bar Seating (32)
Organic (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Casual (26)
Authentic (26)
Seasonal (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fun (24)
Cozy (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Paleo Friendly (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Vegan (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Private Room (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Historic (6)
Great Beer (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tapas (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
1430 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and services

 
 (Western NC)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food and services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to eat at Posana. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Always a pleasure to eat at Posana. The star of the evening was a chicken liver pate. Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy our Sunday brunch at Posana ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Always enjoy our Sunday brunch at Posana. This week the service was prompt and the food was quickly delivered to our table. Very tasty and the server was spot on with refilling our coffee cups! Highly recommend enjoying your own brunch there!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Crown Jewels of the increasin ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of the Crown Jewels of the increasingly competitive food scene in Asheville, Posana is reliably consistent. I have noticed however that there are no "outs" on the wine list, something that was always there before. This is a shame as the lack of a good, moderately priced bottle of wine can dampen the enthusiasm of a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service is always supherb! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food and service is always supherb! I am never disappointed with this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE Posana!! Definitely worth the d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We LOVE Posana!! Definitely worth the drive from Black Mountain or from anywhere you are. The food is always fresh and delicious. The service is great and the staff are very knowledgeable. The only problem I ever have is deciding what to order because everything is so delicious!! Thank you Posana for being one of Asheville's TOP restaurants!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Late-night Find, People Watching, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch. Next time we will try it f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great Brunch. Next time we will try it for Dinner and I am almost 100% sure we won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good and bad! I ordered a brie salad wh ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Good and bad! I ordered a brie salad which, very unusually, had greens that were too salty to eat. The woman at the table next to us asked me if my salad was as salty as hers. My husband had a squash soup that was excellent. I had the ahi tuna appetizer as my entrée, it was done in a chopped format with pomegranate and was exceptional. My husband had the steak which was very good. My husband ordered the crisp for desert, it was literally un-edible. I had the cherry bombe which was pretty but tasteless. Our server was delightful and efficient and the manager did stop by to ask how our dinner was; we let him know about the salty salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous staff and food. One of our favo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous staff and food. One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very disappointing. Cold coffee, egg she ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very disappointing. Cold coffee, egg shells in food, bad drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very good food. Good service prior to re ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very good food. Good service prior to receiving meal. After receiving meal service decreased a little bit had to wait 35 minutes for check. This was after we made it known that we did not desire desert nor any more drinks. A little to noisy to carry a normal conversation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

The staff was very accommodating, moving ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The staff was very accommodating, moving us to a larger table when we asked. The food was nicely prepared and presented. The duck confit with sweet potato biscuit was exceptional as an appetizer. Good selection of wines, including some organic. Gluten free cooking. Overall, a nice place to go for a pleasant meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious dishes and excellent service

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Delicious dishes and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, courses were leisurel ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Excellent service, courses were leisurely spaced for an enjoyable evening. Redfish entree was excellent, one of the best prepared fishes we have had and we used to live in FL.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You've gotta try Posana. We can't resist ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

You've gotta try Posana. We can't resist when we visit Asheville. We are always intrigued by the menu and it's always fantastic. We had the lamb and the trout - both were amazing (and we rarely eat lamb). The squash appetizer was unusual but worth a try - seasoned perfectly and great for sharing - served with grainy and mouth watering sliced bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the recipes were overworked. The ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Some of the recipes were overworked. The tuna tartare was not good. It did not taste fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything wevtried was excellent from c ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything wevtried was excellent from cocktails to entrées...the scallops were my favorite though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Before we even had anything to eat or dr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Before we even had anything to eat or drink, we were taken by all of the aesthetic details of the restaurant that provided a wonderful ambiance. The specialty crafted drinks were perfection from the very first sip. Being gluten-free, I was elated to not only have breadsticks, but for them to be so good you wonder if you ordered more if they would travel well. We could not deliver enough head thrown back moans over the kale salad with Three Graces Dairy manchego cheese. Our remaining dishes were such elevated dining. Posana is a truly elevated culinary experience that I know we will be reminiscent on for a lifetime. We can only hope we have the opportunity to dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING duck confit & gin/lavender/rosem ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

AMAZING duck confit & gin/lavender/rosemary cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location in downtown Asheville, di ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great location in downtown Asheville, directly across from parking garage. Great ambience w/warm romantic lighting + bar seating. Window seating if you enjoy people watching. Fresh local trout and seasonal offerings~all delicious!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table by the front window which ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a table by the front window which provided great people watching on a Friday night. Our dinners, wine and cocktails were all outstanding. Our waiter was personable, knowledgeable and very attentive. The exceptional food and service made for a very pleasant evening out in Asheville.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything about this place but ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I loved everything about this place but was disappointed by the vegan options. The tofu dish was literally a piece of tofu (pan seared) with no flavoring what so ever. Everyone else enjoyed their dishes which were not vegan. The wait staff/employees were exceptional. The restaurant is beautiful and welcoming.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food! Friendly service. Creati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Very good food! Friendly service. Creative, local cuisine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Posana does a fantastic job of making al ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Posana does a fantastic job of making all their dishes/desserts gluten free. It is not advertise as a gluten free restaurant, but when you taste their dishes, they taste like regular non-gluten free dishes (full of flavors and delicious). Their handcraft cocktails are refreshing. The fingerling potato truffle fries are very good. I opted for something light for dinner that night and had the tofu. My husband had the burger special. We had a carrot cake that was gluten free. Again, it did not taste like it was gluten free. It was delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and knowledgeable, frien ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food and knowledgeable, friendly service, we will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sublime in every way, food, service and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Sublime in every way, food, service and ambiance. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had no idea the menu was gluten free. It ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had no idea the menu was gluten free. It was delicious! Service was very good, as was atmosphere. We would return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoyed a birthday dinner here Saturda ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I enjoyed a birthday dinner here Saturday night. We each enjoyed a cocktail at the bar first, which were creative and delicious. I requested a window table and for the menu to read "Happy Birthday." Everything was executed perfectly. We got the Ahi Tuna to start. The lamb and short ribs were amazing as well as the fries with truffle oil . Loved it all from A to Z.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always. Our waiter Sue was ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful as always. Our waiter Sue was awesome and the martinis were delicious. Every item that came out was beautifully plated and artfully mouthwatering. The gluten free bread is a shock - because it's so yummy.

We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good. As a vegan , I ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was very good. As a vegan , I had limited choices and would have appreciated an entre without meat though. Not a deal-breaker. The pear brie salad was very nice. The pumpkin thing with the bread could have been more flavorful though the bread was good. Please put more vegetable entrees into your menu so those of us who choose not to eat any meat can have more choices. Just one great one!

Our server, a tall blonde with short hair, had to be the best one I've ever had. She was smart, knowledgeable about the offerings, funny, quick, and very attentive without being solicitous. They should clone her!

Great evening on all accounts - we'll be back!

Tags: Organic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place when we come in from Atl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love this place when we come in from Atlanta it is our go-to brunch spot on Saturday amazing bloody marys and mimosas $5.5 can't beat it. Service is always top notch.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Posana! Food was excellent, service was as well. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food was excellent. The co ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I thought the food was excellent. The combination of various ingredients highlighted the flavor- I will never think of kale salad the same!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very nice dinner with close friends. We ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very nice dinner with close friends. Were able to accommodate our larger party on a busy Friday night with ease. Probably some of the best scallops I have had in a long time. My husband had the beet salad which he enjoyed very much.

Tags: Hot Spot, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have never been disappointed at Posan ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We have never been disappointed at Posana. Everything was excellent, especially the roasted mushroom appetizer. Our server, Sue, was so attentive and made certain that we were able to finish in time for the theatre. Impressive because even though it was chilly, both inside and outside seating was full. My noise level rating was based on an outside seating.

Tags: Organic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place with eclectic menu. Very w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing place with eclectic menu. Very willing to change the menu to meet individual tastes. Great service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice outdoor seating, very relaxing. Ama ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nice outdoor seating, very relaxing. Amazing Brussels sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

warm welcome upon our arrival. great se ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 30, 2016

warm welcome upon our arrival. great service at bar and invited us to dine earlier than original reservation, which was nice. great attention to detail from waitress, Emily. she explained choices with ease and made recommendations. checked on us often enough, but not too much. great romantic corner table.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an absolutely wonderful time! It ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful time! It was our one year anniversary and it was amazing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The choice of meal is a bit narrow (our ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The choice of meal is a bit narrow (our first choice of starter : the mushrooms was not available). But all we got was tasty and the size reasonable.

Good choice of wine however a bit pricy.

Our waiter Jeff was very friendly, professional and helpful.

Overall a good first experience we will renew in the future.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.