About Posana

1 Biltmore Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Posana is a contemporary American restaurant in the heart of downtown Asheville on Historic Pack Square. With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant’s warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can’t wait to serve you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday, Tuesday – Thursday 5pm-9pm

Friday & Saturday 5pm-10pm

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Patton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 505-3969

Website:
http://www.posanarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking is available on Broadway/Biltmore Avenue and Around the Vance Monument. Meters run from 8am-6pm Mon-Sat and accept nickles, dimes and quarters.

Lot Parking is available on Biltmore at Eagle Street and Patton at Lexington Ave.

Executive Chef:
Peter Pollay

Private Party Facilities:
Posana's banquet & event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance, fine cuisine and sophisticated technology. The newly-remodeled space will comfortably accommodate 60 diners for a sit-down dinner, and can accommodate a larger group for a hors d'oeuvres and cocktail event.
If your party is larger, reserving the entire restaurant will accommodate 115 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Crystal Edwards: 8285053969x101

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Posana's private banquet and special event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance. Accommodating 60 for a seated meal and 65-75 for a presentation or cocktail event. Complete with Hi-Def Video & a retractable 119” screen.

Restaurant Photos

Donuts
Eggs Benedict
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Fall Spice Latte
Scallops
Capitoso Rioja
Grits
Maple Cheeseca
Spanish Inquisition
Prosecco
Short Rib
Vegan Noodle Bowl
French Fries
Blueberry & Brie Salad
Seared Scallop Fettuccini
Grilled Chicken Breast Sandwich
Breakfast Tacos
Homemade Chai
Crabcake Benedict
Cucumber Caipirinha
Bourbon & Ginger Ale
Kale Salad And Gin Sazerac
Lamb Shoulder Wiith Celeriac Puree
Chef's Breakfast Bowl
Ceasar Salad
Brown Sugar Italian Cream Cake
Carmalized Banana S'more With Maple Bacon Ice Cream
Lemon Lorainne Cocktail
Iced tea
Champagne Sunday Brunch
Lasagne With Seared Scallops

Posana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

fit for foodies (144)
special occasion (111)
great for outdoor dining (76)
See All
great for brunch (72)
neighborhood gem (72)
romantic (67)
great for lunch (50)
notable wine list (48)
hot spot (38)
good for groups (30)
vibrant bar scene (21)
kid-friendly (14)
late-night find (14)
scenic view (14)
Sort By:
Newest
1245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything is gluten free and absolutely ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything is gluten free and absolutely delicious! No one would ever know that the breads, waffles, etc were gluten free. We were there for Sunday brunch and all six of us were very pleased with the food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the best dining experience ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

By far one of the best dining experiences I've had. Staff was courteous and informative, chef chatted with us for a few minutes and the food was outstanding. I had the duck and it was cooked and seasoned perfectly and my boyfriend had the pork chop and it was also cooked perfectly. The cornbread pudding for dessert was best I've had. We look forward to coming back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so please to finally be able to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were so please to finally be able to go out to a nice meal with our dear friend who is celiac. She becomes very ill and eating out is a huge stress for her. The food was well prepared and the presentation was everything we expected. She was so excited when we ordered the bread sticks because that is the one thing she misses when we go out to eat. No one person at the table could believe they were GF. How do they do it? I will definitely be back and not because of the GF but just because it is so good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Posana several times over ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've been to Posana several times over the last couple years and always had a great meal. This visit was an obvious exception.

An early seating on a Saturday evening...the place was not at all busy with several open tables.

Still, we waited far to long for greeting and drink service. The drink order was delivered incorrectly, but swiftly rectified. Then we waited far too long again to place our order. And again for the food to show up.

The menu was very limited compared to other visits. My ribeye was good, but nothing more than I could have had at the Outback. The "pommes frites" could not have been less inspired. Just some chewy bits of potato. Nowhere close to the $30 price tag.

The wife's duck was good but not remarkable.

The fried green tomato appetizer was VERY good.

Deserts (peaches/cream and blueberry cornbread pudding) were good to very good.

All in all, not a value for the $150 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

One word fabulous! This restaurant never ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One word fabulous! This restaurant never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure if it was an off night but the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Not sure if it was an off night but the service was alright and the food was ok at best. Everything we had tasted very salty which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Fantastic food and location. Clever mixe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic food and location. Clever mixed drink menu. Fried Green tomatoes were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food in this place was truly outstan ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food in this place was truly outstanding, as good as advertised. The servers are very millennial. Not that I'm too old but I'm surely not a millennial and that smiley but disinterested attitude can be very disconcerting to me, especially in a place as nice as this. I don't mind it in a coffee shop but servers in a nice restaurant should be more engaged. Smiling all the time does not equal great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great downtown restaurant that offers de ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great downtown restaurant that offers delicious food in a lovely setting.

Staff made every effort to accommodate any request; service was efficient and non-intrusive.

Our server was Natalie and she was great.

We always know we can choose Posana to bring guests to and be assured it will be enjoyable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Posana. My husband has food all ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We love Posana. My husband has food allergies and this is a place he can eat without worry. We've never been disappointed with our food or wine. The staff is great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a disappointment. After reading ot ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

What a disappointment. After reading other reviews, we were very excited to try Posanos during our visit to Asheville. Our reservation was 7:30 and the restaurant was not crowded. My husband had the bone in pork chop which was completely overdone and super dry. My pasta was almost crunchy. Not sure if this was an off night, but service was unattentive at best. Wine service and bar service were slow. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Amazing kale salad! Great biscuits.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing kale salad! Great biscuits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great brunch!! We had dinner - five entr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great brunch!! We had dinner - five entrees- and all were mediocre. Brunch, however, was fantastic. Eggs Benedict, avocado toast, pancakes, great biscuits- and all gluten free!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always wonderful! We dine at Posana oft ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always wonderful! We dine at Posana often, whether it be brunch or dinner. The food is always wonderful and the service always fantastic. Posana is one of downtown Asheville's jewels.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing. And everything is gluten ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always amazing. And everything is gluten free!!! I book in advance for a monthly treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had reservations to opera at 8. Gave the ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Had reservations to opera at 8. Gave them plenty of notice and we were still late. Food was average not amazing. Had tile fish which was slightly over cooked. Glad I tried it but won't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Indifferent and inattentive waiter; Entr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Indifferent and inattentive waiter; Entrees -- trout very good, but rib eye steak was thinnest piece of meat we ever saw -- misplaced in Posana's otherwise impressive inventory -- and overcooked (after stressing medium rare to waiter). Inexcusable in a restaurant that pride's itself on quality and attention to culinary preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

As always, Posana never ceases to satisf ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As always, Posana never ceases to satisfy this foodie's palate. The high quality of the food and service is exceptionally consistent. My wife and I dined on two separate appetizers: pasta with lamb and a small plate of Alaskan white salmon, which was complemented by an entree of trout. The chocolate ganache cake we had for dessert was like food from paradise. Everything was prepared to flavorful perfection, plated with artistic distinction, and served promptly. Posana remains one of my favorite Asheville restaurants, if not my # 1 choice!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Posana has very good food and it is all ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Posana has very good food and it is all Gluten Free! I am so happy to be able to order anything on the menu. The desserts are especially good!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu was exciting; however, the impl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The menu was exciting; however, the implementation was lacking. We had had brunch there previously and had had an excellent experience-dinner was not. The service was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The brioche french toast and the waffles ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The brioche french toast and the waffles were outstanding. Very friendly service, got us out in time for show.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Some of the best good in Asheville. I br ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Some of the best good in Asheville. I bring all my friends and family here when they come in from out of town. It's one of my favorite brunch spots! You wouldn't even guess the food is gluten free.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We had a wonderful dinner experience at ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner experience at Posana's. Our table was ready when we arrived, the service was excellent, and the food delicious. We could not have asked for a nicer evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With so many great restaurants in Ashevi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

With so many great restaurants in Asheville, Posana is an easy choice. The location, food and service were great. We will return

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Posana used to be my favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Posana used to be my favorite restaurant! I drive over 60 miles to dine there. This restaurant is no longer truly gluten free. I have Celiac Disease. I always tell the wait staff. I have been sick within 30 minutes of leaving the restaurant, the last 3 of 6 times that I have dined there. I love their food. Unfortunately, I can never eat there again. It is not truly gluten free! Also, their menu has changed. Their gluten free fried chicken used to be incredible. Their super flat chicken sandwich is awful. Their quiche was dark and tasted leftover. I miss the old menu that was truly gluten free. I am so surprised and sad that things have changed. I can not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

It was a great meal at a very happening ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

It was a great meal at a very happening location. The owner and executive chef was classically trained, visited with us & was very engaging. Would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With all the wonderful reviews, I was ex ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

With all the wonderful reviews, I was expecting to be wowed. It was good but not great. My husband had the Joyce Farms Chicken and I had the Charred Vegetable Curry. Both were tasty but not amazing, and for farm-to-table and the price point, we were looking to be knocked off our feet. The atmosphere was upscale and fun and right in the middle of things in downtown Asheville, so we still enjoyed our night and the staff was top notch!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous! Food was wonderful. Great for ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fabulous! Food was wonderful. Great for gluten free dining needs. Delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We loved the ambiance, food, and service ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved the ambiance, food, and service. This was our first time at Posana. We liked the variety the menu offered. The only caveat is my biscuit was a little dry (southern Benedict).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable meal beautifully presented. M ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Impeccable meal beautifully presented. My guest has celiac disease so gluten free is her only option. Not a problem here!

Will be back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic that everything at Posana is g ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Fantastic that everything at Posana is gluten free without trying. You can tell their ingredient quality is top notch and flavor profiles are fantastic. We explored different restaurants but said after a few meals at different places that we would have enjoyed eating at Posana again more. We would highly recommend it to anyone and can't wait to come again. Excellent, friendly staff as well.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could have been 5 star rating ExCEPT, ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Could have been 5 star rating ExCEPT, our waitress was practically non-existent so that kept us waiting for drinks, certain silverware... A huge blip in what could have been a great evening. Also the evening started with a stuffy temperature at the table & proceeded to get hotter and worse over the course of our meal. I don't know if the AC was breaking down. We didn't have the chance to discuss, cause or waitress would dash over & leave so quickly when she did show up. Food & interior of room great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always love eating at Posana. It's conc ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always love eating at Posana. It's concept of Gluten free makes the experience awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We didn't know until ordering that this ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We didn't know until ordering that this restaurant is gluten-free, which is great for folks who need that dietary accommodation, but for the rest of us who don't, it means that anything on the menu that uses flour (bread, pasta, all desserts) doesn't taste as expected. The food was only average and the choices feel stale. On the upside, sitting outside and watching the crowds at Pack Square is entertaining!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything is gluten free and DELICIOUS. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Everything is gluten free and DELICIOUS. We are never disappointed when we eat at Posano. It is on our go-to list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine at Posana at least twice a year ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We dine at Posana at least twice a year when we are traveling from Kentucky to Durham. It is our Asheville favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, great food, great cocktails, ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Once again, great food, great cocktails, a good wine and good service. Thanks for your consistency.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just passing through Ashville on way hom ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Just passing through Ashville on way home to DC. This restaurant compares very favorably to restaurants in DC. Local fish was out of this world. My brisket portion was gigantic. Great service too. Bravo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Vegan meal. Everyone was happy wit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great Vegan meal. Everyone was happy with their meals and drinks. Great location!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat by the window and watched Ashevil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We sat by the window and watched Asheville walk by. It was entertaining to spot the tourist and locals - it was easy to spot them. The food was amazing to see and amazing to eat. We were not disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.