About Posana

1 Biltmore Avenue
Asheville, NC 28801
View Larger Map

Posana is a contemporary American restaurant in the heart of downtown Asheville on Historic Pack Square. With a focus on serving local, seasonal, and sustainable cuisine, Posana sources unprocessed, premium ingredients from nearly 65 different local purveyors and farmers each week and regularly changes the menu. The restaurant’s warm welcoming main dining room is ideal for a weeknight dinner, weekend brunch, or a special occasion celebration. We can’t wait to serve you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Sunday, Tuesday – Thursday 5pm-9pm

Friday & Saturday 5pm-10pm

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
Patton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 505-3969

Website:
http://www.posanarestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Meter Parking is available on Broadway/Biltmore Avenue and Around the Vance Monument. Meters run from 8am-6pm Mon-Sat and accept nickles, dimes and quarters.

Lot Parking is available on Biltmore at Eagle Street and Patton at Lexington Ave.

Executive Chef:
Peter Pollay

Private Party Facilities:
Posana's banquet & event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance, fine cuisine and sophisticated technology. The newly-remodeled space will comfortably accommodate 60 diners for a sit-down dinner, and can accommodate a larger group for a hors d'oeuvres and cocktail event.
If your party is larger, reserving the entire restaurant will accommodate 115 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Crystal Edwards: 8285053969x101

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Posana's private banquet and special event room is a unique downtown venue offering contemporary elegance. Accommodating 60 for a seated meal and 65-75 for a presentation or cocktail event. Complete with Hi-Def Video & a retractable 119” screen.

Restaurant Photos

Eggs Benedict
Donuts
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Fall Spice Latte
Scallops
Capitoso Rioja
Grits
Maple Cheeseca
Spanish Inquisition
Prosecco
Vegan Noodle Bowl
French Fries
Blueberry & Brie Salad
Seared Scallop Fettuccini
Grilled Chicken Breast Sandwich
Breakfast Tacos
Homemade Chai
Crabcake Benedict
Bourbon & Ginger Ale
Cucumber Caipirinha
Short Rib
Kale Salad And Gin Sazerac
Lamb Shoulder Wiith Celeriac Puree
Chef's Breakfast Bowl
Ceasar Salad
Brown Sugar Italian Cream Cake
Carmalized Banana S'more With Maple Bacon Ice Cream
Lemon Lorainne Cocktail
Iced tea
Champagne Sunday Brunch
Lasagne With Seared Scallops

Posana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Contemporary American
Asheville
Most Booked
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Fit for Foodies (149)
Special Occasion (110)
Great for Outdoor Dining (83)
See All
Great for Brunch (73)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Romantic (65)
Notable Wine List (51)
Great for Lunch (44)
Hot Spot (40)
Good for Groups (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Scenic View (17)
Kid-friendly (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1275 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food and nice atmosphere. We were ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and nice atmosphere. We were there with relatives for our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We purchased the happy hour burger which ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We purchased the happy hour burger which was very inexpensive for grass-fed beef, even compared to other restaurants in Asheville. The kale salad I chose instead of fries was delicious, however my husband's fries appeared to be previously frozen fries. The burger was compromised of two very small patties that were cooked much like a fast food restaurant would have cooked them. I would have preferred one single patty with a choice of how it was cooked. The bun, although made in the restaurant, was lacking in flavor and was very large compared to the burger patty, so much so that you couldn't really taste the burger meat much at all. The sauce on the burger added a touch of flavor, but not much. Overall, it wasn't worth the $8. I would have paid more to have a better quality meal. I haven't eaten anything there that is more expensive, however if this is any representation of the way they cook the rest of the menu, I'm not really interested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was great. Upscale atmosphere ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great. Upscale atmosphere. Great service. The food was locally sourced, and of exceptional quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My 8 year old daughter and I had a great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My 8 year old daughter and I had a great meal here. She didn't want to order from the kids menu and the waiter was great in terms of not making her feel like a "kid" on a special night out. Delicious as always!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent and tried to ac ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our waiter was excellent and tried to accommodate us. I have Celiac Disease and have always loved to eat at this Gluten Free restaurant. The dish I wanted to order was a pasta dish which I found out after ordering was sold out. Then the table of 4 next to us were very loud and it turned out to be a nerve-wracking experience. We left terribly disappointed with the lack of ambience in what used to be an intimate restaurant. The waiter did comp my entree in an effort to make up for he horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

It was a great experience. I didn't orde ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a great experience. I didn't order much, but what I received was good. Service could have benn a bit more attentive, but not bad.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful service and amazing gluten fre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful service and amazing gluten free options. My new favorite in Asheville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-run, attractive restaurant, althoug ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Well-run, attractive restaurant, although you can tell the wait-staff are overtaxed. Great menu gave my group many options, including creating a satisfying dinner with 2 'small' plates. Presentation and taste first rate. Also one of the more tempting dessert menus in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I went to Posana twice in one week. The ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I went to Posana twice in one week. The first time, the food was excellent, the service cheerful and great, our table pleasant. The second time, we were shown to a noise table in back near the bar. I asked to be changed to the table we had the first time, but was told it was reserved by the couple standing with us in the entrance area. They never occuped that table. In fact, it stayed empty for the entire time we were there, while we "enjoyed" the overwhelming noise from the bar and a dark, somewhat gloomy table. Our server and indeed most of the staff were competent, but not very pleasant. There seemed to be something going on with team morale. The second time, the food was just ok, not as good as the first time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was marginal and over cooked. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was marginal and over cooked. The portions were small and the drinks were weak. I was very disappointed in the meal and it was not worth the high price. I old not recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. The food is so good and the ambiance is perfect. My husband has many food allergies but has no problem finding an assortment of wonderful menu items from which to choose. I like Posana for its flavor and the quality of foods. It's definitely 5 star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the hostesses ,wait staff,bartender ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

From the hostesses ,wait staff,bartender,manager all were professional, smiled, friendly, answered our questions quickly and proficiently . One of the most rewarding dining experiences we have had. The food was temperature correct, well presented, tastes were excellent combinations with each flavor distinct and complementing . This was fine dining at a reasonable price. To the chef , I applaud you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been visiting Asheville each sum ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been visiting Asheville each summer since 2012, and we always go to Posana at least once during each visit. It is a wonderful restaurant, and I love knowing that every delicious thing on the menu is gluten-free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Posana was a delight! It was our favorit ...

vip
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Posana was a delight! It was our favorite restaurant in Asheville on our recent trip there. There were 4 of us for dinner. We all enjoyed our food thoroughly and the service was excellent. The decor is eclectic and we all look forward to dining at Posana again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

3rd time back. in pack sq. & food & ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

3rd time back. in pack sq. & food & service are great. Will always come here once or twice while in asheville.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For a gluten free eater, Posana was wort ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

For a gluten free eater, Posana was worth every penny! The menu was creative and delish. Prep and presentation were above board. So nice to go into a restaurant and not have to inquire about special food prep or look for a special menu! The restaurant is a titch loud so made it difficult for conversing with old friends, but the food made up for it in spades!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Beautiful food and presentation!!!! Fun ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Beautiful food and presentation!!!! Fun atmosphere! Food was delicious!!!! Thank You!!!!😍😍😍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love the fact your entire menu is glu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love the fact your entire menu is gluten free. Outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Posana is a great choice for anyone to f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Posana is a great choice for anyone to find something new and enjoyable. Great for visitors in the area. We had a special baby shower brunch and was enjoyable. Waitress was mostly friendly, sometimes seemed a little stuffy and some staff seemed annoyed by a toddler there (though she wasn't loud or disruptive). They do have a kid's menu, which I didn't expect. Our meal was very good and enjoyable experience overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We chose Posana because the setting - ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We chose Posana because the setting - outdoor seating with street performers just outside the seating area - was lovely and lively. But oh my gosh, the food actually surpassed the setting! The scallops were amazing. The cornbread pudding was phenomenal. Wish we could get to Asheville more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have Celiac's disease and must be glut ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I have Celiac's disease and must be gluten free. I read that this restaurant is totally gluten free and the wait staff always confirms that. The food is delicious and no one would know it was gluten free unless it was announced. My husband and our friends (another couple) loved the food and they don't have a gluten problem. The food is always fresh, innovative and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The overall experience was very good aft ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The overall experience was very good after . . . we questioned why our order was taking so long and management told us the waiter forgot to put the dinner order. They compensated with free entrees.

We do recommend Posano to all diners.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food was fantastic and just a little dif ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was fantastic and just a little different from the normal. Of our 4 restaurant choices in Ashville this was by far our favourite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal with great flavours. Woul ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Excellent meal with great flavours. Would definitely go again if in Asheville.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Group Bookings
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit. We invited fr ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was our first visit. We invited friends to join us who had visited before with fair experience but willing to try again. We had the duck - it was too rare, small tenderloin medallions , almost no taste, and little sauce to help flavor it. Quinoa was unremarkable and a carrot for vegetable. Our friends had the trout and were unimpressed. Said the vegetable mixture was very vinegary. All in all, we won't be back. Our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

There were pros and cons. We had two ch ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

There were pros and cons. We had two children in our group, and the hostess was very good to place children's menus and coloring pages at the table without us even requesting. Overall, the service was very slow, and the restaurant was not full to capacity. Also, it got really hot in there...not sure if there air conditioner wasn't working, but it was pretty uncomfortable by the end of our meal. The food was good, not outstanding, but nothing was bad. In general, our overall experience was good, but not great!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Amazing gluten-free restaurant in the he ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing gluten-free restaurant in the heart of Asheville. The entire menu and kitchen is gluten free, so if you are celiac, intolerant, or doing it for other reasons, this is a great restaurant to visit. The scone and french toast are fantastic. Even if you are not gluten-free, you won't be able to tell the difference because the food is that good. Must visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere was very laid-back for a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The atmosphere was very laid-back for a very nice restaurant. Had their duck dish, and it was amazing. Also indulged in dessert, which was also surprisingly good. Very good place and on our list of "go back" restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went because the food was recommended ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We went because the food was recommended and the menu was gluten free. All three of us enjoyed our meal immensely. The heirloom tomato salad was extraordinary and my husband and our friend agreed the chicken was about the "best ever." Our friend and I shared a delicious fettuccini appetizer. The gluten free breadsticks were free of the tell-tale tang of gluten-free foods. In fact, unless you asked about the menu you would only perceive the food as great farm-fresh fare. We were seated promptly and the service continued to be attentive but not intrusive. AND we were able to carry on a conversation without shouting at one another for the entire dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is gluten free and absolutely ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything is gluten free and absolutely delicious! No one would ever know that the breads, waffles, etc were gluten free. We were there for Sunday brunch and all six of us were very pleased with the food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far one of the best dining experience ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

By far one of the best dining experiences I've had. Staff was courteous and informative, chef chatted with us for a few minutes and the food was outstanding. I had the duck and it was cooked and seasoned perfectly and my boyfriend had the pork chop and it was also cooked perfectly. The cornbread pudding for dessert was best I've had. We look forward to coming back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were so please to finally be able to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were so please to finally be able to go out to a nice meal with our dear friend who is celiac. She becomes very ill and eating out is a huge stress for her. The food was well prepared and the presentation was everything we expected. She was so excited when we ordered the bread sticks because that is the one thing she misses when we go out to eat. No one person at the table could believe they were GF. How do they do it? I will definitely be back and not because of the GF but just because it is so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Posana several times over ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've been to Posana several times over the last couple years and always had a great meal. This visit was an obvious exception.

An early seating on a Saturday evening...the place was not at all busy with several open tables.

Still, we waited far to long for greeting and drink service. The drink order was delivered incorrectly, but swiftly rectified. Then we waited far too long again to place our order. And again for the food to show up.

The menu was very limited compared to other visits. My ribeye was good, but nothing more than I could have had at the Outback. The "pommes frites" could not have been less inspired. Just some chewy bits of potato. Nowhere close to the $30 price tag.

The wife's duck was good but not remarkable.

The fried green tomato appetizer was VERY good.

Deserts (peaches/cream and blueberry cornbread pudding) were good to very good.

All in all, not a value for the $150 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

One word fabulous! This restaurant never ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One word fabulous! This restaurant never disappoints!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure if it was an off night but the ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Not sure if it was an off night but the service was alright and the food was ok at best. Everything we had tasted very salty which was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Fantastic food and location. Clever mixe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic food and location. Clever mixed drink menu. Fried Green tomatoes were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food in this place was truly outstan ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food in this place was truly outstanding, as good as advertised. The servers are very millennial. Not that I'm too old but I'm surely not a millennial and that smiley but disinterested attitude can be very disconcerting to me, especially in a place as nice as this. I don't mind it in a coffee shop but servers in a nice restaurant should be more engaged. Smiling all the time does not equal great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great downtown restaurant that offers de ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great downtown restaurant that offers delicious food in a lovely setting.

Staff made every effort to accommodate any request; service was efficient and non-intrusive.

Our server was Natalie and she was great.

We always know we can choose Posana to bring guests to and be assured it will be enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Posana. My husband has food all ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We love Posana. My husband has food allergies and this is a place he can eat without worry. We've never been disappointed with our food or wine. The staff is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a disappointment. After reading ot ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

What a disappointment. After reading other reviews, we were very excited to try Posanos during our visit to Asheville. Our reservation was 7:30 and the restaurant was not crowded. My husband had the bone in pork chop which was completely overdone and super dry. My pasta was almost crunchy. Not sure if this was an off night, but service was unattentive at best. Wine service and bar service were slow. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.