Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Portofino

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (855) 399-5327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

We traveled in from Chattanooga TN to watch the horse races at Keeneland and this was the perfect meal to end a great day. The egg rolls were phenomenal and I highly recommend the Chicken Marsala. Food was superb and ambiance was great. We sat on the patio under the bistro lights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a lovely lunch with co-workers the other day. Seafood Chowder was to die for and the rest of our food was very good as well. Great service and it was easy to converse since it wasn't crazy-loud like some places are. Surprisingly reasonable prices at lunch time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

outdoor dining is great. Food was very unremarkable and left a lot on the plate. Calamari was lukewarm and rubbery flatbread was burned and dry. Wine list is good tho

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food. Great wine list; better bourbon list. Sat outside, very comfortab le and well setup space. Solid service. Overall excellent experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely fantastic!! Portofino never lets us down. You can count on a delicious meal and great service every time!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had several people from out of town and a few from in town with us. Everyone said they had great meals. The service was and is always GREAT. Thank you for a great night with friends and family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

8:45 PM reservation on Friday evening.

Service: This was the big disappointment. Apps took 15 minutes and then dinner took another 1 hour and 45 minutes. While we waited for dinner, the waiter was more or less MIA. Seemed they were lightly staffed but when you charge these prices, that's the restaurant's problem, not ours. Our waiter was nice when he was there, but he never really came back to check on us or offer more drinks (they missed a sales opportunity there!). To his credit, he did give us an extra calamari and rock shrimp appetizer for waiting but became MIA after that and for the better part of the 1 hour and 45 minutes we waited for dinner. We had other plans that night after dinner that weren't to be because of the excessive wait. We were given a decent discount on our bill and were offered free dessert so, kudos to management there. But service was so bad, we will not likely be back.

Food: Rock shrimp and calamari app was good. Muscle app, not so good; muscles were very dry and in need of being coated in the sauce. What little sauce was there was forgettable as it was watered down without much flavor; no bread dipping there. Entrees were good on average. Marinara and cream sauce on the seafood was excellent. Short ribs were forgettable and not very good. Prepared more like a stew with the gravy on it. Better with a wine reduction sauce around the edge allowing one to apply the sauce themselves. Brazed kale did not seem to be cooked to order. No dessert even though it was offered free of charge due to the excessive wait for dinner; we just didn't want to wait any longer for anything.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was excellent! Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 3, 2017

My wife and I dine at Portofino every time we visit Lexington. The menu is diverse and the food is always reliably good. We sat outside in the back courtyard on a beautiful evening and enjoyed the quiet very much. Service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Outstanding food. Courteous and attentive service. Owner stopped by to chat. Things are well-run and it shows. Parking easy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent meal!!! Great setting/ patio, attentive service.. the specials were all so enticing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 28, 2017

A family favorite and was a great birthday dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 27, 2017

the service was perfect my dinner did not disappoint and I was able to have a conversation with out hearing my neighbors.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Is there anything better in Lexington than Veal Marsala Meatballs? By far, the best tiramisu I have ever had! LOVE this place!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The menu had several excellent options to choose from, and we liked everything we ate. The pastas were especially good. Prices were very reasonable, with small and large salad offerings. Extensive wine list and we were able to enjoy a very nice bottle of Chardonnay for $50. One of the best dining experiences we have, and we eat out and travel frequently.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was not good, had no taste. The atmosphere and ambience was nice. The restaurant had a great feel to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The service before and during the entire meal was extremely slow. The bread finally arrived only to have a long blond hair the entire length of it. It was eventually replaced. My short ribs were mediocre but the mashed potatoes were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great business meeting location with very good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent, Wayne has great restsurants.

Service and food were great.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was wonderful as always. Waiter forgot our salads & got the wrong entree on 1 order.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Beautiful evening on the gorgeous patio! The huge caprese salad we shared was one of the best I've ever tasted!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Such a great restaurant and there is no one better that Wayne Masterman.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Always consistently well prepared meals. Service nice, weather permitting, the patio is great!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Wayne is one of the finest restaurateurs we've had the pleasure of dining with. The meal was outstanding. Try the Veal Marsala meatballs. Wonderful. We were in Lexington for the Yearling Sale and we hope to make Portofino's an annual stop.
Bruce & Kim Canetti
Las Vegas, NV

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The owner chatted with us and added to the experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

One of our favorite places in Lexington for great food and elegant, friendly service in a quite atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great atmosphere for dinner with family on wifes birthday. Service, food, wine and ambience was fantadtic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a little gem. Food was amazing and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Dining here is always an outstanding experience. In late August, the restaurant was not crowded in the evening, and fortunately the weather was pleasant and the sky blue and bright. We were able to dine on the patio, which is as intimate an experience as dining indoors at Portofino. The wine selection is extensive, the bartender's superb, the menu extensive and the prices reasonable for this level of cuisine. I have dined at Portofino many times, all of them extremely enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Server and bar tender were very helpful. Server was attentive. Never felt rushed. Risotto special was wonderful as was apple and goat cheese salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Very good restaurant
Excellent service
Great appetizers
Actually everything is very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Waiter was fantastic ... food was "Off the Hook" . Atmosphere made us feel like we had left the country. The appetizers were especially good and the wine list was vast.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere was amazing. We had two $100 certificates and they wouldn't give us the balance for a later use which did not sit well with us. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Portifinos is a favorite with our family, Wayne and his staff do a great job with the service and food! A great choice anytime!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our dinner at Portofino was delicious as usual! Lovely atmosphere as well. We HIGHLY recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our server Jay was great, very chill ,nice guy! The cheese ravioli is amazing ! Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Italian hit broen was delicious! A must for hot brown lovers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Outstanding food, creative menu, one of the top patios in Lexington, great service, always a good choice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our waiter, David, ruined our birthday celebration. He inserted himself into our conversations; he kept trying to get us to order more food or more expensive drinks; he overcharged us and we didn't realize it until we left.

For a group of 5 special friends, he ruined our luncheon.

If you are ever seated at his table, ask to be moved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was awesome. The experience was definitely a 10. Will be dining here again very soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.