Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Portofino

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (855) 399-5327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (27)
GoodForDates (24)
Romance (22)
See All
Anniversaries (21)
Foodies (17)
OutdoorDining (15)
NotableWineList (15)
CreativeCuisine (15)
BusinessMeals (13)
QuietConversation (12)
Birthdays (12)
PrePostTheatre (9)
LocalIngredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (9)
WorthTheDrive (7)
Groups (6)
Casual (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
NeighborhoodGem (5)
Fun (4)
PrivateRoom (4)
Lunch (4)
BarSeating (4)
DisabledAccess (3)
Healthy (3)
ScenicView (2)
ModernDecor (2)
Fireplace (2)
HappyHour (2)
LateNightFind (2)
SundayLunch (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
ComfortFood (1)
Historic (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
AfternoonTea (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
HotSpot (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
Sort By:
S
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Of the three entrees at the table, all were marginally edible. The red snapper and the salmon were overcooked, much like the texture of corrugated cardboard. Another had the Italian Hot Brown and ate only a third of it. It was mostly bread and had little flavor. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent meal! Wife and I went there for our anniversary. Started off with a drink at the bar and the bartender was very friendly- gave us some ideas about cocktails. Excellent caprese salad for a start, followed by two excellent main courses and crem brule for dessert. Server was wonderful and the meal was a great experience!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Portofino is a long-time, tried- and-true venue. It's perfect for the romantic night out, business dinner or fun night with friends. The restaurant has a cozy patio and seating to accommodate anything from romance to business discussions. The food is always delectable, and the wait staff is experienced and very professional. We have been going to Portofino for years, and it just gets better and better. An extra plus: the restaurant's location is very easy to access, and the parking is convenient. For newcomers or visitors, this makes the experience very relaxed from the very start!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What a surprise! Not your everyday Italian,which is so nice. Not over the top,but amazing service and food. From winter bruschetta to salad to pasta to dessert coffee and everything in between,I cannot say enough. Just go...you will not be disappointed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was wonderful rosoitto & salad! Disappointed in our service- slow to get our drinks & order - then we were served both salad and entree at the same time. I would definitely go back, hoping it was just Nord night.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was warm and friendly and the food was delicious. We took my mother there for Mother's Day and she loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The dish I had was fabulous. The other members of the party were slightly less satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time visiting resturant. Everyone in the party of 5 was disappointed with their entrée. We spoke with our service about the food. Very nice ambience and decor.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Waitresses could have been more attentive/ no water refills had to ask for bread basket/given the wrong check

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

we were entertaining important clients. It was so enjoyable we went back 2 nights in a row with different clients.
Service was GREAT and so was the food.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lunch on a Friday while visiting Lexington - my aunt and I enjoyed a fabulous lunch after enjoying a day in Lexington. The reviews sounded too good to be true but we were pleastly surprised. Our waiter, Tommy G was awesome and had great recommendations for us. I had the Marsala Meatballs which were "melt in your mouth" incredible. My aunt had the Marsala Chicken which was also tasty. With our cappachino we shared a caramel salt cheesecake, another recommendation from Tommy, that was wonderful. The atmosphere was great and the service eaten better! I can't say enough good things about our experience here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wait staff was mediocre but I think she got a patio table when she was doing all other inside. But food was great. Highly recommend cheese ravioli wth the butter sauce. Best I've ever had!! Cannoli was great too! Ambiance on patio fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Took a chance on this place and it did not disappoint! The atmosphere was festive, fun cool vibe. Patrons of all ages were there so that made it a great people watching night too! Food was lovely!!! Friendly staff. We'll be back before we leave the area!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Celebrated my birthday at Portofino's. Wonderful as always! Outstanding server, delicious food. Sat on patio. Beautiful!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

From the bruschetta, to the short ribs, thru the salted caramel cheesecake, Portofinos did not disappoint! Jesus was very attentative and our anniversary meal was certainly a very special occasion!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Server was excellent. The food was fine but not special.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

David our waiter was outstanding! My parents were in from out of town, he made them feel so welcome and had us laughing from the start. They know good food and wine and we're impressed with his knowledge. He helped pick the perfect dishes! Best meal my parents had in years they said! Thanks David and Wayne!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food with superb service! Enjoyed the ambiance

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a bit earlier, but our table was ready. Our waiter was great, food tasted wonderful, perfect dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

First time visiting and was for my birthday. Great selection of bourbons and wines. Food was spectacular and portions were enough for two. Only issue, for the style and price, the service was ok, but small things, like asking for bread 3 times, slow service and not asking everyone else about wanting parmesan cheese after one of us got it. Also, added expensive wine to tab that we never got as they were out. Should have double checked the bill.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always good food and a nice ambiance with great service. We caught a beautiful night on their very pleasant patio, which was a bonus. Always consistently great food and service in a lovely setting!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was spectacular, we went on a nice evening where we could sit on the back patio (I would highly recommend this if the weather allows). Server was very friendly and hospitable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I recently dined here to give Portofino's a second go of it to see if the food would be any better. The first time that I dined with Portofino's was in September with some friends that treated me to a birthday dinner here. I was served rotting pork from the special of the day; that made me very sick. The manager then guaranteed us all that since the birthday dinner did not go as well as expected that we could return, the 4 of us to dine again, all I needed to do is call in and let her know ahead of time. I called three times with no call back from anyone to confirm a table. I had to resort to OpenTable to get a reservation and then when my party arrived at the restaurant the current management informed me that the previous manager was no longer employed and at first the lady I spoke to was not going to do any sort of accommodation for the situation. She then ask another person at the restaurant and they then said of course the would oblige my request and sat us. After dining again the food was not that good and another one of the people I was with ended up getting sick after the service. They also did not take care of the service for the 4 of us as they agreed in September. Each of my friends paid for their meal again and was disappointed. Needless to say I would not recommend this restaurant, nor would I return to such rude management of a restaurant. They also have bullet holes in the windows taped over with tape. Too say that I am not impressed with this so called 5 star restaurant or their management would not begin to be the phrase that I want to use. Please save yourself the troubles and don't spend the money on a bad experience. However the server that we had was the same lady that helped us last time we visited this decaying restaurant, she was the silver lining in this visit, as she was very professional and remembered us from last time. I thank her for her dedicated resolve to quality unlike her management and the head chef of this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful experience, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Was very delicious and relaxing after a full day at Keeneland. Had the entire patio to ourselves, a great glass of wine and delicious pasta. Had forgotten about this place for a couple of years and what a warm welcome it was to revisit! Will be back again soon!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice old building with original wood floors and exposed brick. Unfortunately we were in the secondary dining room and it was rather quiet, only two other tables. I think would have been more enjoyable in main room. That said, nice waiter, very good food, reasonable wine list. Could see going for appetizers and drinks or go hungry for a full Italian meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

You can always count on Portofino's for amazing dishes, outstanding service and a great atmosphere. The wine list is second to none in this area and the charm of the industrial vintage motif creates a relaxing and enjoyable setting. From appetizer to desert, you will not find a more enjoyable restaurant in the Lexington area.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good Italian food and a great wine list with reasonable prices

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always good, one of our favorite restaurants in Lexington, always specials based on available ingredients, good seafood, steaks and pasta dishes.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always delicious and intimate!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had a friend mention this place to me last year but didn't make it to Lexington as planned originally. Because of Open Table we found this place during this getaway and recognized the name. So glad to have made our reservation there, it was amazing! I have been enjoying tasty eats across the country for the last 6 years and this is one to remember. They offered a great dish that included local meats and hand made pastas. The entire meal was to die for and I am still dreaming about how great the overall experience was. The food was delicious, the service was very polite, genuine, and attentive, and the atmosphere was calming. Families and couples were able to enjoy a meal in the same area without annoying one another. Have already recommended this place to others since returning home. Will visit again when I get the chance!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Family Style, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good food and good wine but if you are looking for a craft cocktail I don't recommend this place

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We're regulars at Portofino's, and we're never disappointed. We brought a friend from out of town who's a wine buff, and he was really impressed with the food and wine list. Everyone is pleasant and efficient, the food is wonderful, and they know how to make a really great martini.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The risotto du jour never disappoints. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu items and ingredients for those with food allergies. I love the atmosphere and the drink menu!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Excellent service. Great wine selection.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We can always depend on a great meal, great service and a good time at Portifinos. It is a favorite for us and we are never dissapointed.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Every time I have been to Portofino's, the food has been wonderful, and this time the service was the best.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We are so thankful to the chef and our service staff showing us a wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great restaurant! At first it seems it's split up a little weird, but with the ambiance, it works very well. Also cuts down on noise which is nice. Fantastic food! Everyone in my party got a true Italian dish and it was delicious. Our waiter was great, very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. He is very nice and polite. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a nice restaurant to eat!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waiter, Rob V, was excellent!! There were 5 of us, one elderly, and he was patient, fast and helpful. It made our luncheon/birthday celebration special.

We each had something different and all the food was very good- especially the desserts!

One of our favorite places to eat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.