Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Portofino

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (855) 399-5327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good restaurant
Excellent service
Great appetizers
Actually everything is very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Waiter was fantastic ... food was "Off the Hook" . Atmosphere made us feel like we had left the country. The appetizers were especially good and the wine list was vast.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere was amazing. We had two $100 certificates and they wouldn't give us the balance for a later use which did not sit well with us. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Portifinos is a favorite with our family, Wayne and his staff do a great job with the service and food! A great choice anytime!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our dinner at Portofino was delicious as usual! Lovely atmosphere as well. We HIGHLY recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our server Jay was great, very chill ,nice guy! The cheese ravioli is amazing ! Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The Italian hit broen was delicious! A must for hot brown lovers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Outstanding food, creative menu, one of the top patios in Lexington, great service, always a good choice!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our waiter, David, ruined our birthday celebration. He inserted himself into our conversations; he kept trying to get us to order more food or more expensive drinks; he overcharged us and we didn't realize it until we left.

For a group of 5 special friends, he ruined our luncheon.

If you are ever seated at his table, ask to be moved

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Everything was awesome. The experience was definitely a 10. Will be dining here again very soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Awesome as always. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Very pleasant experience & value for Restaurant Week. Desserts were over-the top sweet, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Always enjoy this spot....good chef....ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Lovely meal at Portofino with old friends. The evening special fish, walu (sp?) was truly wonderful-cooked just right with subtle sauce and vegetables. Excellent brushetta for appetizer. Dessert flan had thin crispy top and creamy custard. Looking forward to coming back. Also, great location in downtown Lexington with parking.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great location, food, drinks, and service. The cocktails we ordered were so summery and delicious. We had a cheese board to start, which was great. The food was delicious, as well. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. It's a small space and the seating is closer than I like but overall, great atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Excellent food; excellent service. Owner was attentive to all guests. Great experience.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The restaurant was very nicely situated. You wouldn't notice it from the outside but it is fairly big. The maître d' was very attentive. Jesus was the waiter and was knowledgeable about the menu and the speed of service he provided was perfect. The food was delicious. Caprese with the fried green tomatoes and sweet corn relish was a nice touch. The pan chicken with the reduction sauce was on point and fried just right. The chef really knew what he was doing back there. The temperature of the food was perfect. The Moscow Mule could've been a little stronger. Had we not had things to do after dinner I would've complained about only having two bottles of Moscato on hand but i can't. If you have a large group they can definitely handle it. All in all it was a great experience with a big "personalitied" staff; very impressed and will return when I get back into the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Of the three entrees at the table, all were marginally edible. The red snapper and the salmon were overcooked, much like the texture of corrugated cardboard. Another had the Italian Hot Brown and ate only a third of it. It was mostly bread and had little flavor. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent meal! Wife and I went there for our anniversary. Started off with a drink at the bar and the bartender was very friendly- gave us some ideas about cocktails. Excellent caprese salad for a start, followed by two excellent main courses and crem brule for dessert. Server was wonderful and the meal was a great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Portofino is a long-time, tried- and-true venue. It's perfect for the romantic night out, business dinner or fun night with friends. The restaurant has a cozy patio and seating to accommodate anything from romance to business discussions. The food is always delectable, and the wait staff is experienced and very professional. We have been going to Portofino for years, and it just gets better and better. An extra plus: the restaurant's location is very easy to access, and the parking is convenient. For newcomers or visitors, this makes the experience very relaxed from the very start!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

What a surprise! Not your everyday Italian,which is so nice. Not over the top,but amazing service and food. From winter bruschetta to salad to pasta to dessert coffee and everything in between,I cannot say enough. Just go...you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was wonderful rosoitto & salad! Disappointed in our service- slow to get our drinks & order - then we were served both salad and entree at the same time. I would definitely go back, hoping it was just Nord night.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was warm and friendly and the food was delicious. We took my mother there for Mother's Day and she loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The dish I had was fabulous. The other members of the party were slightly less satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time visiting resturant. Everyone in the party of 5 was disappointed with their entrée. We spoke with our service about the food. Very nice ambience and decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Waitresses could have been more attentive/ no water refills had to ask for bread basket/given the wrong check

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

we were entertaining important clients. It was so enjoyable we went back 2 nights in a row with different clients.
Service was GREAT and so was the food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Lunch on a Friday while visiting Lexington - my aunt and I enjoyed a fabulous lunch after enjoying a day in Lexington. The reviews sounded too good to be true but we were pleastly surprised. Our waiter, Tommy G was awesome and had great recommendations for us. I had the Marsala Meatballs which were "melt in your mouth" incredible. My aunt had the Marsala Chicken which was also tasty. With our cappachino we shared a caramel salt cheesecake, another recommendation from Tommy, that was wonderful. The atmosphere was great and the service eaten better! I can't say enough good things about our experience here.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wait staff was mediocre but I think she got a patio table when she was doing all other inside. But food was great. Highly recommend cheese ravioli wth the butter sauce. Best I've ever had!! Cannoli was great too! Ambiance on patio fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Took a chance on this place and it did not disappoint! The atmosphere was festive, fun cool vibe. Patrons of all ages were there so that made it a great people watching night too! Food was lovely!!! Friendly staff. We'll be back before we leave the area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Celebrated my birthday at Portofino's. Wonderful as always! Outstanding server, delicious food. Sat on patio. Beautiful!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

From the bruschetta, to the short ribs, thru the salted caramel cheesecake, Portofinos did not disappoint! Jesus was very attentative and our anniversary meal was certainly a very special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Server was excellent. The food was fine but not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

David our waiter was outstanding! My parents were in from out of town, he made them feel so welcome and had us laughing from the start. They know good food and wine and we're impressed with his knowledge. He helped pick the perfect dishes! Best meal my parents had in years they said! Thanks David and Wayne!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food with superb service! Enjoyed the ambiance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were a bit earlier, but our table was ready. Our waiter was great, food tasted wonderful, perfect dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

First time visiting and was for my birthday. Great selection of bourbons and wines. Food was spectacular and portions were enough for two. Only issue, for the style and price, the service was ok, but small things, like asking for bread 3 times, slow service and not asking everyone else about wanting parmesan cheese after one of us got it. Also, added expensive wine to tab that we never got as they were out. Should have double checked the bill.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always good food and a nice ambiance with great service. We caught a beautiful night on their very pleasant patio, which was a bonus. Always consistently great food and service in a lovely setting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was spectacular, we went on a nice evening where we could sit on the back patio (I would highly recommend this if the weather allows). Server was very friendly and hospitable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I recently dined here to give Portofino's a second go of it to see if the food would be any better. The first time that I dined with Portofino's was in September with some friends that treated me to a birthday dinner here. I was served rotting pork from the special of the day; that made me very sick. The manager then guaranteed us all that since the birthday dinner did not go as well as expected that we could return, the 4 of us to dine again, all I needed to do is call in and let her know ahead of time. I called three times with no call back from anyone to confirm a table. I had to resort to OpenTable to get a reservation and then when my party arrived at the restaurant the current management informed me that the previous manager was no longer employed and at first the lady I spoke to was not going to do any sort of accommodation for the situation. She then ask another person at the restaurant and they then said of course the would oblige my request and sat us. After dining again the food was not that good and another one of the people I was with ended up getting sick after the service. They also did not take care of the service for the 4 of us as they agreed in September. Each of my friends paid for their meal again and was disappointed. Needless to say I would not recommend this restaurant, nor would I return to such rude management of a restaurant. They also have bullet holes in the windows taped over with tape. Too say that I am not impressed with this so called 5 star restaurant or their management would not begin to be the phrase that I want to use. Please save yourself the troubles and don't spend the money on a bad experience. However the server that we had was the same lady that helped us last time we visited this decaying restaurant, she was the silver lining in this visit, as she was very professional and remembered us from last time. I thank her for her dedicated resolve to quality unlike her management and the head chef of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.