About Portofino

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (855) 399-5327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (18)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Authentic (9)
Historic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Tables were much too close together. One of the people in our party was continually hit in the back by the waiter trying to get through even though I pulled the table to the side (and was crowded myself). Food was very good but for a $300 bill for 4 people I would have expected to be comfortable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I have eaten here for years, had rehearsal dinners, small parties, romantic dinners. I have always recommended it to friends and out of towners. I recently took a group of women friends there and it took over an hour to get our food, the food, except for one meal was substandard. My second drink came and was not what I had ordered. We wanted to send dinners back, but they had already made us in danger of missing our theatre time by their slow service. I will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Classy, quiet ambiance, perfect for Valentine's dinner with my best friend. Our server, Rob, was knowledgeable, courteous, and attentive throughout the meal,and graciously accommodated a slight vegetarian menu change as well as a couple tastings before choosing a wine. Top notch, would gladly recommend and will certainly return again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Portofino several times and have always enjoyed until this past valentines day. Not wanting to get caught out I made a reservation 3 weeks in advance and they put us in a hallway right next to the servers station. I was very disappointed because the restaurant had several empty tables in all of their dinning rooms. Not worth an expensive dinner if you can't enjoy the experience. Why bother planning a romantic night out if they stick you in the kitchen. Very disappointed and not what I have come to expect of them.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day. Host and concierge seemed very welcoming but server seemed either inattentive, distracted, or homophobic. Received water 1/2 hour after requested. Unable to answer wine questions without consulting others. No description of valentines menu options. Take home leftovers weren't bagged as we'd noticed other guests received. Otherwise delicious and lovely evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere. Perfect for anniversary/date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Reservations at 5:45 for our valentine dinner. Server did a good job. Our appetizer same out really quick however it took almost and hour to receive our entrees. Kitchen was definitely slow or backed up guess that was because of the holiday. Over all we had a nice dinner, good service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food took a while to come out. Server was great but took 2 and half hours for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was the best fine dinning experience I have had this far and will be difficult to top. My girl friend and I dined in Sunday night and it was elegant and very romantic. Thank you for such an amazing experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

In from out of town and went for an early Valentines Day dinner and had a great experience. The staff from bartending to serving treated as great.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love this restaurant. We've been going there for many years. It's cozy with the fireplace yet open with the outdoor seating. The menu has an extensive selection to choose from. You just can't go wrong.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Portofinos tuna is always a favorite...

Very consistent ... wine list pretty good.

Made a reservation for 6:45.. seating was not choice.

We were seated half in the bar... very noisy.

Food was great... hostess needs to be a bit more friendly.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good service. Bruschetta was incredible. Our therapy puppy in training was welcomed and treated like a special guest. All the food was very good. We'all be back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Well balanced entrees with attentive service. Very nice atmosphere. Wide and varied menu. Great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I were in Lexington for UK basketball game and wanted to top the evening off with a nice restaurant with good food/service. Portofino's did not disappoint. Warm and casual atmosphere. Started off with very tasty calamari. My salmon was excellent and my wife's pasta dish was really good - both were large portions. Attentive service and a genuine effort to please from the host, manager and server. Not a late night place, we had a late reservation at 9:30 and ended up being one of the last two tables there; this was a Saturday night. We wanted a nightcap, but the bartender was politely closing down at 10:45p.m.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food and service were excellent. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The menu was varied and creative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

had a marvelous relaxing dinner! Rusty provided outstanding service even in light of a post UK basketball win.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Nice setting and wonderful service. Wine list is amazing. Food did not disappoint - desert was tremendous as well..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

After visiting Transylvania U. my son and I took my wife out for her birthday dinner. Service was excellent. I wish I could remember our waiter name to give him his due props! The foo was very good! I would definitely go back the next time we visit Lexington and want a fine dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoy Portofino's every time I go. The bruschetta is absolutely delicious - could eat several servings of it! My main course though, the past few times I've been, is just ok. This time, I ordered their Apple & Goat Cheese salad with grilled chicken. The chicken was tough and I didn't eat much of it. The salad itself was a bit bland. Definitely not a salad I would order again. The dining atmosphere is always enjoyable, and our waiter was attentive and thoughtful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Our first time in Lexington, casual dinner out. Service was prompt & friendly. Scallops were quite good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had outstanding food at Portofino. The flavors were interesting, somewhat unexpected, and very pleasant. I had the swordfish, and it was the best I've ever had. Cooked to perfection. The waiter was attentive, vibrant, courteous. Staff was on the ball. The ambiance is elegant but lively and fun. This is a special place to dine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They were very busy so our dinners arrived late. The manager was very gracious and discounted meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Lexington. Always go when I'm in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here for the first time on New Years Eve. The hostess couldn't find our reservation, but luckily I had a screenshot and was able to give it to her. Our waiter was great. Very charismatic. The food was really a disappointment. The calamari was undercooked and the breading was falling off. They ran out of the menu special risotto so I chose the tuna. It was extremely overlooked to the point of being extra dry. Two of the four people that went with us were served cold food. $12 for a martini is a little much, and it didn't taste as though they used a high quality or even middle shelf vodka. The ambiance is very romantic, however for the price I was very disappointed with the quality.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server Rusty was such a friendly person. All of the waiters there went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The owner was walking around talking to people and handing out NYE hats! The food was AMAZING and a good value for this high class experience. Definitely worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tom was our server and was very attentive with a sense of humor. The wine selection is outstanding; one of the best we have seen. Tom obviously loves his work and the restaurant. The owner came by and thanked us for visiting. The décor is interesting and they obviously put a lot of effort and money into it. Highly recommend Portofino when visiting Lexington, Kentucky!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Can always count on Count on them for great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The seared tuna over Brussels sprouts is amazing. Great wine selection. Perfect atmosphere for a cozy winter meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Ok lunch experience, food was not memorable but not bad either. Lots of items were not available (Ravioli/Quiche/Salmon croquettes) even though we arrived around noon time. Nice ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not a weak note - service wonderful, food fabulous, extensive wine list. The best bruschetta we've had, a must every time we go. Last visit, great filet and tuna entrees but we are seldom disappointed. For a special night out, this is one of our go-to places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I'd been before with my wife on Valentines day last year and it was great. We went for her Birthday last week and made reservations for 12 people about a month in advance for 7:30. We didn't get to sit down until 8:30 because there was another group ahead of us and apparently they only have one table for larger groups. The bartender was rude, I ordered sesame tuna (sashimi style) and it was really dry. I'll admit everyone else's food looked awesome, they all ordered different types of pasta. It's a decent spot for a date night if you order pasta. Not recommended for a group. Our server was really good by the way, she wasn't the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very comfortable atmosphere, great for conversation while having a great meal. Service was attentive, food was just right, and the dessert was killer. When we were finished we asked if someone could call a cab for us, a gentleman at the front asked where we were headed and proceeded to insist on driving us to our hotel himself! It turns out it was the owner! No wonder everyone was so nice, it starts at the top! For being 2400 miles from home, we felt like we were home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

overpriced,

bread was very plain and tasteless

shortribs were good but vegetables were overdone and over-salted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful as always, one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lovely ambiance, delicious food, varied menu, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First timers... we will be back! Great first impression, wonderful service, and amazing food and beverage! Looking forward to enjoying ourselves again there soon!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everyone ordered different entrees and we were all very happy with our meals. The Bruschetta is a must-do appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first time dining at Portofino and we will definitely be back! Tonya did a great job educating us on the menu! The food, service and atmosphere were excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server was a disappointment. We had to ask the maitre d to locate her so we could order. It wasn't busy, it was unclear where she was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Everything was great!co! Food was absolutely delicious!!! This is a must try restaurant....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall was very pleased. My only complaint would be the hostess was rude and gave us the worst table. Now if there are no other tables available I understand, that wasn't the case. When I asked if we could sit somewhere else her attitude was as if I had inconvenienced her which is why I say she was rude.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was tasty. The ambiance is nice ( an Italian white table cloth kind of place) but the service was incredibly slow. The server was very nice and we enjoyed her but it took forever to get our food. There were only 3 of us and we were almost the only ones in there and we only ordered pasta, mussels and a salad with salmon. It took 2 hours. Overall, I like portofino - I would certainly go back. But, I was irritated with the speed given the circumstances.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had an Awesome dinner! Food was spectacular as was the service- Tom was great and saw that we had a great experience. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wow !! That's all I can say. Loved this place. First time visitor from Cincinnati and loved it. Will be back any time I'm in the area. The menu was awesome and creative. The food excellent. The portions generous. I highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service was a bit lacking. Food was OK but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.