Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.72mi

About Portofino

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (855) 399-5327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Historic (7)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Private Room (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fireplace (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

We were a bit earlier, but our table was ready. Our waiter was great, food tasted wonderful, perfect dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

First time visiting and was for my birthday. Great selection of bourbons and wines. Food was spectacular and portions were enough for two. Only issue, for the style and price, the service was ok, but small things, like asking for bread 3 times, slow service and not asking everyone else about wanting parmesan cheese after one of us got it. Also, added expensive wine to tab that we never got as they were out. Should have double checked the bill.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Always good food and a nice ambiance with great service. We caught a beautiful night on their very pleasant patio, which was a bonus. Always consistently great food and service in a lovely setting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was spectacular, we went on a nice evening where we could sit on the back patio (I would highly recommend this if the weather allows). Server was very friendly and hospitable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I recently dined here to give Portofino's a second go of it to see if the food would be any better. The first time that I dined with Portofino's was in September with some friends that treated me to a birthday dinner here. I was served rotting pork from the special of the day; that made me very sick. The manager then guaranteed us all that since the birthday dinner did not go as well as expected that we could return, the 4 of us to dine again, all I needed to do is call in and let her know ahead of time. I called three times with no call back from anyone to confirm a table. I had to resort to OpenTable to get a reservation and then when my party arrived at the restaurant the current management informed me that the previous manager was no longer employed and at first the lady I spoke to was not going to do any sort of accommodation for the situation. She then ask another person at the restaurant and they then said of course the would oblige my request and sat us. After dining again the food was not that good and another one of the people I was with ended up getting sick after the service. They also did not take care of the service for the 4 of us as they agreed in September. Each of my friends paid for their meal again and was disappointed. Needless to say I would not recommend this restaurant, nor would I return to such rude management of a restaurant. They also have bullet holes in the windows taped over with tape. Too say that I am not impressed with this so called 5 star restaurant or their management would not begin to be the phrase that I want to use. Please save yourself the troubles and don't spend the money on a bad experience. However the server that we had was the same lady that helped us last time we visited this decaying restaurant, she was the silver lining in this visit, as she was very professional and remembered us from last time. I thank her for her dedicated resolve to quality unlike her management and the head chef of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful experience, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice old building with original wood floors and exposed brick. Unfortunately we were in the secondary dining room and it was rather quiet, only two other tables. I think would have been more enjoyable in main room. That said, nice waiter, very good food, reasonable wine list. Could see going for appetizers and drinks or go hungry for a full Italian meal.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

You can always count on Portofino's for amazing dishes, outstanding service and a great atmosphere. The wine list is second to none in this area and the charm of the industrial vintage motif creates a relaxing and enjoyable setting. From appetizer to desert, you will not find a more enjoyable restaurant in the Lexington area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Good Italian food and a great wine list with reasonable prices

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always good, one of our favorite restaurants in Lexington, always specials based on available ingredients, good seafood, steaks and pasta dishes.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always delicious and intimate!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had a friend mention this place to me last year but didn't make it to Lexington as planned originally. Because of Open Table we found this place during this getaway and recognized the name. So glad to have made our reservation there, it was amazing! I have been enjoying tasty eats across the country for the last 6 years and this is one to remember. They offered a great dish that included local meats and hand made pastas. The entire meal was to die for and I am still dreaming about how great the overall experience was. The food was delicious, the service was very polite, genuine, and attentive, and the atmosphere was calming. Families and couples were able to enjoy a meal in the same area without annoying one another. Have already recommended this place to others since returning home. Will visit again when I get the chance!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Family Style, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Good food and good wine but if you are looking for a craft cocktail I don't recommend this place

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We're regulars at Portofino's, and we're never disappointed. We brought a friend from out of town who's a wine buff, and he was really impressed with the food and wine list. Everyone is pleasant and efficient, the food is wonderful, and they know how to make a really great martini.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The risotto du jour never disappoints. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu items and ingredients for those with food allergies. I love the atmosphere and the drink menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Excellent service. Great wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We can always depend on a great meal, great service and a good time at Portifinos. It is a favorite for us and we are never dissapointed.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Every time I have been to Portofino's, the food has been wonderful, and this time the service was the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We are so thankful to the chef and our service staff showing us a wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great restaurant! At first it seems it's split up a little weird, but with the ambiance, it works very well. Also cuts down on noise which is nice. Fantastic food! Everyone in my party got a true Italian dish and it was delicious. Our waiter was great, very knowledgeable about the menu and drinks. He is very nice and polite. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a nice restaurant to eat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our waiter, Rob V, was excellent!! There were 5 of us, one elderly, and he was patient, fast and helpful. It made our luncheon/birthday celebration special.

We each had something different and all the food was very good- especially the desserts!

One of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great anniversary dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We're expecting a spectacular evening but was greatly disappointed. My mussels and shrimp risotto were very good but my husband sent his entre back and settled for appetizer and salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was a great find! You had a great manager, and the food was fantastic. My only note is if y'all are going to be an upscale restaurant you should curtail the young children. Having a screaming child one table away was not my idea of a good time.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Portofino has the best wine list in town. We always enjoy eating there. Although the food is not very adventurous, it is well prepared and delicious, and the atmosphere is great for a date night. They have excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Tables were much too close together. One of the people in our party was continually hit in the back by the waiter trying to get through even though I pulled the table to the side (and was crowded myself). Food was very good but for a $300 bill for 4 people I would have expected to be comfortable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I have eaten here for years, had rehearsal dinners, small parties, romantic dinners. I have always recommended it to friends and out of towners. I recently took a group of women friends there and it took over an hour to get our food, the food, except for one meal was substandard. My second drink came and was not what I had ordered. We wanted to send dinners back, but they had already made us in danger of missing our theatre time by their slow service. I will not come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Classy, quiet ambiance, perfect for Valentine's dinner with my best friend. Our server, Rob, was knowledgeable, courteous, and attentive throughout the meal,and graciously accommodated a slight vegetarian menu change as well as a couple tastings before choosing a wine. Top notch, would gladly recommend and will certainly return again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I have dined at Portofino several times and have always enjoyed until this past valentines day. Not wanting to get caught out I made a reservation 3 weeks in advance and they put us in a hallway right next to the servers station. I was very disappointed because the restaurant had several empty tables in all of their dinning rooms. Not worth an expensive dinner if you can't enjoy the experience. Why bother planning a romantic night out if they stick you in the kitchen. Very disappointed and not what I have come to expect of them.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day. Host and concierge seemed very welcoming but server seemed either inattentive, distracted, or homophobic. Received water 1/2 hour after requested. Unable to answer wine questions without consulting others. No description of valentines menu options. Take home leftovers weren't bagged as we'd noticed other guests received. Otherwise delicious and lovely evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great atmosphere. Perfect for anniversary/date night!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Reservations at 5:45 for our valentine dinner. Server did a good job. Our appetizer same out really quick however it took almost and hour to receive our entrees. Kitchen was definitely slow or backed up guess that was because of the holiday. Over all we had a nice dinner, good service and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food took a while to come out. Server was great but took 2 and half hours for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was the best fine dinning experience I have had this far and will be difficult to top. My girl friend and I dined in Sunday night and it was elegant and very romantic. Thank you for such an amazing experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

In from out of town and went for an early Valentines Day dinner and had a great experience. The staff from bartending to serving treated as great.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love this restaurant. We've been going there for many years. It's cozy with the fireplace yet open with the outdoor seating. The menu has an extensive selection to choose from. You just can't go wrong.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Portofinos tuna is always a favorite...
Very consistent ... wine list pretty good.
Made a reservation for 6:45.. seating was not choice.
We were seated half in the bar... very noisy.
Food was great... hostess needs to be a bit more friendly.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very good service. Bruschetta was incredible. Our therapy puppy in training was welcomed and treated like a special guest. All the food was very good. We'all be back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Well balanced entrees with attentive service. Very nice atmosphere. Wide and varied menu. Great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I were in Lexington for UK basketball game and wanted to top the evening off with a nice restaurant with good food/service. Portofino's did not disappoint. Warm and casual atmosphere. Started off with very tasty calamari. My salmon was excellent and my wife's pasta dish was really good - both were large portions. Attentive service and a genuine effort to please from the host, manager and server. Not a late night place, we had a late reservation at 9:30 and ended up being one of the last two tables there; this was a Saturday night. We wanted a nightcap, but the bartender was politely closing down at 10:45p.m.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.