About Portofino

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: (855) 399-5327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Veal Marsala Meatballs  - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Ravioli di Casa - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Tuscan Bean Soup - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Flower Bomb Martini - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Bread & Butter - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Rowan Creek Small Batch Bourbon  - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Caesar Salad - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Chicken Portabella Lasagna - Portofino, Lexington, KY
pizza with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Veal Meatballs - Portofino, Lexington, KY

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (6)
Casual (5)
Historic (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

had a marvelous relaxing dinner! Rusty p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

had a marvelous relaxing dinner! Rusty provided outstanding service even in light of a post UK basketball win.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice setting and wonderful service. Win ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice setting and wonderful service. Wine list is amazing. Food did not disappoint - desert was tremendous as well..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After visiting Transylvania U. my son an ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

After visiting Transylvania U. my son and I took my wife out for her birthday dinner. Service was excellent. I wish I could remember our waiter name to give him his due props! The foo was very good! I would definitely go back the next time we visit Lexington and want a fine dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I thoroughly enjoy Portofino's every tim ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I thoroughly enjoy Portofino's every time I go. The bruschetta is absolutely delicious - could eat several servings of it! My main course though, the past few times I've been, is just ok. This time, I ordered their Apple & Goat Cheese salad with grilled chicken. The chicken was tough and I didn't eat much of it. The salad itself was a bit bland. Definitely not a salad I would order again. The dining atmosphere is always enjoyable, and our waiter was attentive and thoughtful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our first time in Lexington, casual dinn ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Our first time in Lexington, casual dinner out. Service was prompt & friendly. Scallops were quite good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had outstanding food at Portofino. Th ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had outstanding food at Portofino. The flavors were interesting, somewhat unexpected, and very pleasant. I had the swordfish, and it was the best I've ever had. Cooked to perfection. The waiter was attentive, vibrant, courteous. Staff was on the ball. The ambiance is elegant but lively and fun. This is a special place to dine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

They were very busy so our dinners arriv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

They were very busy so our dinners arrived late. The manager was very gracious and discounted meals.

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My favorite restaurant in Lexington. Alw ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Lexington. Always go when I'm in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Rusty was such a friendly per ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server Rusty was such a friendly person. All of the waiters there went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The owner was walking around talking to people and handing out NYE hats! The food was AMAZING and a good value for this high class experience. Definitely worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for the first time on New Year ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here for the first time on New Years Eve. The hostess couldn't find our reservation, but luckily I had a screenshot and was able to give it to her. Our waiter was great. Very charismatic. The food was really a disappointment. The calamari was undercooked and the breading was falling off. They ran out of the menu special risotto so I chose the tuna. It was extremely overlooked to the point of being extra dry. Two of the four people that went with us were served cold food. $12 for a martini is a little much, and it didn't taste as though they used a high quality or even middle shelf vodka. The ambiance is very romantic, however for the price I was very disappointed with the quality.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Tom was our server and was very attentiv ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tom was our server and was very attentive with a sense of humor. The wine selection is outstanding; one of the best we have seen. Tom obviously loves his work and the restaurant. The owner came by and thanked us for visiting. The décor is interesting and they obviously put a lot of effort and money into it. Highly recommend Portofino when visiting Lexington, Kentucky!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Can always count on Count on them for gr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Can always count on Count on them for great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The seared tuna over Brussels sprouts is ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The seared tuna over Brussels sprouts is amazing. Great wine selection. Perfect atmosphere for a cozy winter meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, great service, great ambienc ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Ok lunch experience, food was not memora ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Ok lunch experience, food was not memorable but not bad either. Lots of items were not available (Ravioli/Quiche/Salmon croquettes) even though we arrived around noon time. Nice ambiance and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We had a wonderful time. Service was gre ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a weak note - service wonderful, foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Not a weak note - service wonderful, food fabulous, extensive wine list. The best bruschetta we've had, a must every time we go. Last visit, great filet and tuna entrees but we are seldom disappointed. For a special night out, this is one of our go-to places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I'd been before with my wife on Valentin ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I'd been before with my wife on Valentines day last year and it was great. We went for her Birthday last week and made reservations for 12 people about a month in advance for 7:30. We didn't get to sit down until 8:30 because there was another group ahead of us and apparently they only have one table for larger groups. The bartender was rude, I ordered sesame tuna (sashimi style) and it was really dry. I'll admit everyone else's food looked awesome, they all ordered different types of pasta. It's a decent spot for a date night if you order pasta. Not recommended for a group. Our server was really good by the way, she wasn't the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very comfortable atmosphere, great for c ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very comfortable atmosphere, great for conversation while having a great meal. Service was attentive, food was just right, and the dessert was killer. When we were finished we asked if someone could call a cab for us, a gentleman at the front asked where we were headed and proceeded to insist on driving us to our hotel himself! It turns out it was the owner! No wonder everyone was so nice, it starts at the top! For being 2400 miles from home, we felt like we were home!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

overpriced, bread was very plain and tas ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

overpriced,

bread was very plain and tasteless

shortribs were good but vegetables were overdone and over-salted

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful as always, one of our favorite ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful as always, one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance, delicious food, varied ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lovely ambiance, delicious food, varied menu, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First timers... we will be back! Great f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First timers... we will be back! Great first impression, wonderful service, and amazing food and beverage! Looking forward to enjoying ourselves again there soon!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone ordered different entrees and w ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everyone ordered different entrees and we were all very happy with our meals. The Bruschetta is a must-do appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Portof ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first time dining at Portofino and we will definitely be back! Tonya did a great job educating us on the menu! The food, service and atmosphere were excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Our server was a dis ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server was a disappointment. We had to ask the maitre d to locate her so we could order. It wasn't busy, it was unclear where she was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was great!co! Food was absolu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Everything was great!co! Food was absolutely delicious!!! This is a must try restaurant....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall was very pleased. My only compla ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall was very pleased. My only complaint would be the hostess was rude and gave us the worst table. Now if there are no other tables available I understand, that wasn't the case. When I asked if we could sit somewhere else her attitude was as if I had inconvenienced her which is why I say she was rude.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was tasty. The ambiance is nice ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was tasty. The ambiance is nice ( an Italian white table cloth kind of place) but the service was incredibly slow. The server was very nice and we enjoyed her but it took forever to get our food. There were only 3 of us and we were almost the only ones in there and we only ordered pasta, mussels and a salad with salmon. It took 2 hours. Overall, I like portofino - I would certainly go back. But, I was irritated with the speed given the circumstances.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Had an Awesome dinner! Food was spectacu ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had an Awesome dinner! Food was spectacular as was the service- Tom was great and saw that we had a great experience. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow !! That's all I can say. Loved thi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wow !! That's all I can say. Loved this place. First time visitor from Cincinnati and loved it. Will be back any time I'm in the area. The menu was awesome and creative. The food excellent. The portions generous. I highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was a bit lacking. Food was OK b ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service was a bit lacking. Food was OK but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Service and food was excellent.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding and the o ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the owner is often there and visits tables when time permits. He is so friendly and cordial and always interested in your dining experience and how they can make it better. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a great meal, cocktails that are great, the entire dining experience is one of the best in Lexington. First class all the way.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not impressed at all.

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

There were six of us from out of town va ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

There were six of us from out of town vacationing in Lexington. So we had no information on Portofino's, but it was very, very good. Lots of great choices on the menu!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Nice place ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food and service! Nice place to converse with friends. Enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambience

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food, service and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS a wonderful experience! We visit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

ALWAYS a wonderful experience! We visit Portofino's every time we are in Lexington area, several times a year. The owner is very personable, personally attentive to your needs. It's a MUST if you are dining in the Lexington area! We have dined in most every A list restaurant in Lexington, and have felt that Portofino's has to be at the top of the list!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.