About Portofino

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8553995327

Additional:
Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Veal Marsala Meatballs
Ravioli di Casa
Tuscan Bean Soup
Flower Bomb Martini
Bread & Butter
Rowan Creek Small Batch Bourbon
Caesar Salad
Chicken Portabella Lasagna
pizza with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes
Veal Meatballs

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
2 More
Best Value
Lexington
Most Booked
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Groups (21)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (5)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the first time in several years ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was the first time in several years we have eaten at Portofinos. It's a Lexington landmark, it didn't fail to impress. Atmosphere was lovely and we walked right over to the movies! Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately the patio was closed becau ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately the patio was closed because it had rained earlier in the evening. Typically one of the best outdoor dining experiences in Lexington. As usual the food was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We visited during Restaurant Week. The ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We visited during Restaurant Week. The offerings for the price was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love going to Portofino's for calamari ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I love going to Portofino's for calamari and bruchetta. Went there during restaurant week. I ordered the calamari and a Caesar salad. My date ordered the restaurant week special. Our food was delicious. But, the bruchetta was not as good as it usually is. I think perhaps because it was one of the special choices and had perhaps been made ahead to get a jump on the crowd. The house wines white and red were more than adequate and the atmosphere and noise level allowed us to have a conversation - thank you.

I felt the service was sub par. Our waitress did not offer bread until we asked for it though it was being served immediately to other tables in our vicinity by other wait staff.

I will continue to go to Portofino's, but won't be in a hurry to get back there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Love the food and the atmosphere, good w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love the food and the atmosphere, good wine list and good cocktails!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, a little overpriced f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good, a little overpriced for the quality in my opinion. Would choose other restaurants in Lexington for a special night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

So many specials! Everything well prepar ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

So many specials! Everything well prepared. Exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy dining at Portofino's. T ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Portofino's. The food is always great, although a little expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Wonderful ! Been one of my favori ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always Wonderful ! Been one of my favorites for many years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and had requested a table in a quiet, secluded spot, which we obtained. The staff was efficient, but not over-bearing once we indicated we were not in a hurry. Our entrees were excellent (both specials of the evening), and the complimentary tiramisu was delicious. We've never been disappointed when we've dined at Portofino in the past, and this evening was no exception. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal with excellent servi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had a great meal with excellent service. Our server was attentive and everything went well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner experience was mixed. One of ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our dinner experience was mixed. One of us had the bruschetta, which was creative in its presentation and delicious. The other had the goat cheese salad: a few bits of cheese, a few nuts, a lot of bagged greens. For entrees, one had the pork chop--delicious sauce, baked just right to a bit of pink. The other had the wild ramp pasta: an overly large serving, with a bland sauce tasting primarily of garlic. The menu lacked the most interesting features of the one on the OpenTable site--needs to be updated. Lexington offers other, better restaurants. for the price we paid, we probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Portofino does it every time. Outstandi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Portofino does it every time. Outstanding northern Italian cuisine, superb ambiance. Quiet. In good weather, the outdoor dining area is quiet and well-decorated with flowering and other greenery. Wine list is extensive and the bartender knows how to make great drinks. Always a winner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great. Just a perfect night.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

It was great. Just a perfect night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall my husband was very pleased with ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Overall my husband was very pleased with the bourbon selection, and our dinner was fine however the service was very slow. We waited almost 40 minutes between our soup/salad course and our entrees. It seemed as though the outdoor patio was understaffed because our waiter was clearly busy but unable to service everyone in his area. We might consider returning for a drink but will likely not return for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Beautiful flowers & art. The food was fa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Beautiful flowers & art. The food was fantastic! Only wish the staff would've had smiles half as big as ours after tasting the food. Are

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Wow oh, WOW!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The next time we are in Lexington, Portofino will be on our must list. The food was fabulous and beautifully plated. The service was first class. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and happy to make recommendations. Everything was fabulous from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food here is always exceptional! Our ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food here is always exceptional! Our waiter was kind, courteous, and knowledgeable. The menu is a little pricey but well worth it. I had the Ravioli Di Casa and my friend ordered the risotto of the day. Both dishes were cooked and flavored to perfection. The portion sizes here are large but they are perfect to be shared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

They bourbon list is impressive and they actually had my favorite brand. The bruschetta was an excellent appetizer. Best we have eaten and the bacon wrapped fillet melts in your mouth. Highly recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entree were well presented and prepa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The entree were well presented and prepared. Great food. Our server was very attentive, professional, and respected our privacy all at the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy eating at Portofinos. The p ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Portofinos. The proprietor, Wayne Masterman, is a congenial host and runs his restaurant in a relaxed, inviting manner. The food is amazingly delicious. Try the ravioli with sage butter! To die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent!! The outdoor s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Everything was excellent!! The outdoor seating was very nice. The food was perfect, wine was fabulous, and our server couldn't have been better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service and ambiance were excellen ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food, service and ambiance were excellent. One of the very best places to eat and carry on a dinner conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect meal and setting. Some of the b ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Perfect meal and setting. Some of the best soft shell crab I have ever eaten. I was in Lexington on business and wish we had this restaurant back home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Portofinos many many time ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been to Portofinos many many times and have

never had a bad experience there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a very nice place. I ordered the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

It is a very nice place. I ordered the scallops and they were $39 for 4 large scallops, not sure if that is a good deal or not but other than a small amount of garnishment that was my full meal. My date had a pasta dish which looked more filling. Otherwise the place is great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful menu; our entries were perfect ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Wonderful menu; our entries were perfectly prepared and presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Excellent!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Portofino's is a great dining experience. We love the ambiance of the old building and the downtown scene. The service is truly special and the food is always amazing. Connoisseurs will love the wine list and the creative upscale menu that has been created by a very talented staff. This restaurant is a sure bet!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my wife and kids there for Mothers Day.

The atmosphere and waitress was nice. Only complaint was w1.5 hours e arrived at 5:30 and did not get food until 6:45. The positive was we had a lot to talk about.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Still the best restaurant in Lexington. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Still the best restaurant in Lexington. Superb food and presentation. Servers are senior, experience people like one would have at the best restaurants in New York City, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were on vacation, so we don't know al ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We were on vacation, so we don't know all the ins and outs of this restaurant's best features. We went there on the recommendation of The Wine Spectator Magazine, and had an enjoyable conversation with the owner. We observed business dinners, groups celebrating, couples at a romantic dinner. The food was outstanding with appropriate sized portions - not huge and wasteful. There were specials in many categories: pasta, seafood, risotto of the day. Too bad we do not live there so that we could return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

nice atmosphere

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

It was my first time to have lunch at Portfino. My friend will leave Lexington soon in this May. Before she leaves, we could have a good time at the chic restaurant Portfino in downtown. She was satisfied with the food, elegant service, and nice atmosphere. I was, too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value4

Travelers enjoyed Portofinos

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We were traveling for pleasure and stayed in Lexington. Selected Portofino's based on location and TripAdvisor ratings. It was a perfect evening to enjoy dining on the patio which is private and separated from the street. In addition to a good wine and cocktail list they have an extensive selection of bourbon which I was excited to explore. My first choice was unavailable so the waitress recommended the Old Medley 12 yr which she said was local and not well known but a good value. I ordered it with the ice ball and it was smooth and a great choice as I like to sample new labels. For dinner I had a simple soup, Tuscan Bean, and salad, Goat Cheese and Walnut, both of which were quite good. My wife had the cheese ravioli and the taste she shared was excellent. For desert we shared a bourbon-maple cream filled Cannoli. And I tried their Bourbon Coffee liquor with the Cannoli. You may notice the Bourbon theme here which was my choice but certainly not the only reason to try Portofino's. The service was a bit slow because they got an unexpectedly large crowd at the dinner hour. Our waitress apologized repeatedly which was completely unnecessary in our case. We had plenty of time and enjoyed the beautiful evening on the patio and took advantage of the slower pace to savor the rich and varied flavors of our meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pretty good for a date

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a nice time there. Food was good though it didn't stand out compared to similar restaurants. Atmosphere was really nice. My wife and I were celebrating an anniversary and it was a nice venue for that. Waiter was very attentive. A nice walk to other areas downtown.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and ambiance but service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food and ambiance but service was slow, especially getting started, even though it was not completely full.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Beautiful night for dining on the patio. ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Beautiful night for dining on the patio. Our food was all great (seafood of the day and ravioli) and our server was delightful. She was knowledgeable, personable and attentive without hovering too much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Traveling, in Lexington for one night.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Restaurant was lovely, service excellent. It was a nice night and the outdoor seating was great. Food was... OK. I little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Service, Wonderful food.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a party of 8 and at a few hours before we could not get but 2 tables of four. When we arrived we asked if possible to be seated close to each other and they put us at two tables next to each other which worked. Our waitress was very nice and knowledgeable of the menu. The food was really good. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We never visit Lexington without visiting Portofino's for dinner during our stay. Been dining here for the past 5 or 6 years, and the quality of food and service never disappoint. Always a wonderful experience and our evening wouldn't be complete without a visit from Wayne, the owner of Portofino's, who is always attentive to our needs and a pleasure to talk to. Will be returning again in May with friends on Derby evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Kearn was an excellent waiter and excellent suggestions regarding the menu. Portofino is a quiet, very clean, enjoyable dining experience. The overall vibe was finer dining with a laid back/non arrogant atmosphere. This is the best Italian dining I have found in Lexington and I will be returning. This is our new "place" to go when visitors want Italian dining and/or an excellent wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.