About Portofino

249 East Main Street
Lexington, KY 40507
View Larger Map

Portofino features an inventive menu of Italian and American cuisine. Located in a beautifully renovated building on Main Street in downtown Lexington, KY, Portofino has an elegant interior design, a menu with the highest quality ingredients, and an extensive wine list. The menu offers fresh food from local producers as well as the best ingredients from around the world. Portofino has earned the Wine Spectator Award seven years in row, from 2003 through 2009 and is proud to offer such a rich and varied selection. The staff at Portofino is committed to providing their guests with the finest dining experience possible.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Quality

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(859) 253-9300

Website:
http://portofinolexington.com/

Entertainment:
Check web site.

Executive Chef:
Nat Tate, Rob Nathanson & Jordan Noel

Private Party Facilities:
Thank you for considering Portofino for your function. Business luncheons and dinners, rehearsal dinners, special events or celebrations, weddings, receptions, corporate outings, lectures, demonstrations, cocktail parties and holiday parties can all be accommodated.

Private Party Contact:
Private Event Coordinator: 8553995327

Additional:
Bar Dining, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino, Lexington, KY
Portofino, Lexington, KY
Portofino, Lexington, KY
Portofino, Lexington, KY
Portofino, Lexington, KY
Veal Marsala Meatballs  - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Ravioli di Casa - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Tuscan Bean Soup - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Flower Bomb Martini - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Bread & Butter - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Rowan Creek Small Batch Bourbon  - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Caesar Salad - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Chicken Portabella Lasagna - Portofino, Lexington, KY
pizza with goat cheese and sun dried tomatoes - Portofino, Lexington, KY
Veal Meatballs - Portofino, Lexington, KY

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Italian
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Lexington
4 More
Best Food
Lexington
Best Service
Lexington
Best Ambiance
Lexington
Best Value
Lexington
Best Restaurants in Lexington ›

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Business Meals (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Romantic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
580 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful as always, one of our favorite ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful as always, one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely ambiance, delicious food, varied ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Lovely ambiance, delicious food, varied menu, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First timers... we will be back! Great f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First timers... we will be back! Great first impression, wonderful service, and amazing food and beverage! Looking forward to enjoying ourselves again there soon!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone ordered different entrees and w ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Everyone ordered different entrees and we were all very happy with our meals. The Bruschetta is a must-do appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Portof ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first time dining at Portofino and we will definitely be back! Tonya did a great job educating us on the menu! The food, service and atmosphere were excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Our server was a dis ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server was a disappointment. We had to ask the maitre d to locate her so we could order. It wasn't busy, it was unclear where she was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything was great!co! Food was absolu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Everything was great!co! Food was absolutely delicious!!! This is a must try restaurant....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall was very pleased. My only compla ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overall was very pleased. My only complaint would be the hostess was rude and gave us the worst table. Now if there are no other tables available I understand, that wasn't the case. When I asked if we could sit somewhere else her attitude was as if I had inconvenienced her which is why I say she was rude.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was tasty. The ambiance is nice ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was tasty. The ambiance is nice ( an Italian white table cloth kind of place) but the service was incredibly slow. The server was very nice and we enjoyed her but it took forever to get our food. There were only 3 of us and we were almost the only ones in there and we only ordered pasta, mussels and a salad with salmon. It took 2 hours. Overall, I like portofino - I would certainly go back. But, I was irritated with the speed given the circumstances.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Had an Awesome dinner! Food was spectacu ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Had an Awesome dinner! Food was spectacular as was the service- Tom was great and saw that we had a great experience. Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow !! That's all I can say. Loved thi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wow !! That's all I can say. Loved this place. First time visitor from Cincinnati and loved it. Will be back any time I'm in the area. The menu was awesome and creative. The food excellent. The portions generous. I highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was a bit lacking. Food was OK b ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Service was a bit lacking. Food was OK but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Service and food was excellent.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always outstanding and the o ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food is always outstanding and the owner is often there and visits tables when time permits. He is so friendly and cordial and always interested in your dining experience and how they can make it better. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a great meal, cocktails that are great, the entire dining experience is one of the best in Lexington. First class all the way.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

There were six of us from out of town va ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

There were six of us from out of town vacationing in Lexington. So we had no information on Portofino's, but it was very, very good. Lots of great choices on the menu!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Nice place ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food and service! Nice place to converse with friends. Enjoyed the evening very much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, service and ambience

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food, service and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

ALWAYS a wonderful experience! We visit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

ALWAYS a wonderful experience! We visit Portofino's every time we are in Lexington area, several times a year. The owner is very personable, personally attentive to your needs. It's a MUST if you are dining in the Lexington area! We have dined in most every A list restaurant in Lexington, and have felt that Portofino's has to be at the top of the list!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at this L ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our first time dining at this Lexington restaurant and we were so pleased with the food and ambiance. As described from other reviews we read, it is not much to look at from the street but once you get inside, it is a darling Italian style restaurant with excellent food and a nice upscale atmosphere. Every entree our party ordered was excellent and we really enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Portofino has a wonderfully diverse menu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Portofino has a wonderfully diverse menu that offers seasonal specials as well as tried and true favorites. We have been going there for more than eight years and have never been disappointed in the amazing food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

In a word Fantastic!

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 6, 2016

In a word Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visit Lexington every year and I would ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I visit Lexington every year and I would not miss Portafino' Great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The veal meatballs were outstanding

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The veal meatballs were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very quiet and not ma ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet and not many people were there at the time we were dining.

The service was great and she explained everything and was very friendly.

We received a dessert for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Haven't visited this restaurant in quite ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Haven't visited this restaurant in quite a while and was so pleased that it is still wonderful!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good lasagna!

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good lasagna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a good experience. Portofino had a ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Not a good experience. Portofino had a 2:30 PM reservation listed, which I accepted. However, the restaurant stops serving at 2:30 PM. I arrived within the 15 minute grace period, but the Manager would not serve me and my guest. Said they had a hard close at 2:30 PM. My question...then why have a 2:30 PM reservation time?!?!?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The veal meatballs were not great and we ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The veal meatballs were not great and were initially served lukewarm. The tomatoes in the tomato-mozzarella salad were not good. Overall I was disappointed in my meal. The place itself is very nice and the service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

The food is always fresh and delicious! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food is always fresh and delicious! Wait staff are efficient and friendly. I love this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a friend's birthday at Portof ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Celebrated a friend's birthday at Portofino's. Sat outside on the beautifully decorated patio with flowers in abundance. Service was outstanding. When I made the reservation, I mentioned it was for a birthday. At the end of the lunch, our server came out with a tiramisu dessert with a birthday candle! Pleasant surprise! Food was delicious ...we had the chicken Caesar salad on flatbread. Our favorite!!!

This is my go to restaurant for any special occasion. Highly recommend to everyone seeking an elegant but friendly dining experience .

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 6 people, but a ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our reservation was for 6 people, but a 7th arrived and the owner and a server re-arranged seats, menus and place setting before I could even ask to add another person.

Food and atmosphere were great!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite Lexington KY restaurant. The ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My favorite Lexington KY restaurant. The food is always perfectly prepared and the service is exemplary. It is a bit pricey by Lexington standards, but Portofino provides a good value for the money.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the first time in several years ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was the first time in several years we have eaten at Portofinos. It's a Lexington landmark, it didn't fail to impress. Atmosphere was lovely and we walked right over to the movies! Awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately the patio was closed becau ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Unfortunately the patio was closed because it had rained earlier in the evening. Typically one of the best outdoor dining experiences in Lexington. As usual the food was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We visited during Restaurant Week. The ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We visited during Restaurant Week. The offerings for the price was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love going to Portofino's for calamari ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I love going to Portofino's for calamari and bruchetta. Went there during restaurant week. I ordered the calamari and a Caesar salad. My date ordered the restaurant week special. Our food was delicious. But, the bruchetta was not as good as it usually is. I think perhaps because it was one of the special choices and had perhaps been made ahead to get a jump on the crowd. The house wines white and red were more than adequate and the atmosphere and noise level allowed us to have a conversation - thank you.

I felt the service was sub par. Our waitress did not offer bread until we asked for it though it was being served immediately to other tables in our vicinity by other wait staff.

I will continue to go to Portofino's, but won't be in a hurry to get back there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Love the food and the atmosphere, good w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love the food and the atmosphere, good wine list and good cocktails!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, a little overpriced f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good, a little overpriced for the quality in my opinion. Would choose other restaurants in Lexington for a special night out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

So many specials! Everything well prepar ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 26, 2016

So many specials! Everything well prepared. Exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We always enjoy dining at Portofino's. T ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Portofino's. The food is always great, although a little expensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.