About Portofino

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town. The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors, and bright, energetic artwork.

The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers, and entrees. The menu and award-winning wine list are constantly changing and good times prevail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: 4042311136x

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Seafood Stew - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Lamb Bolognese Rigatoni - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Hanger Steak - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Fried Clams - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Veal Scallopini - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Duck Fat Seared Scallops, Blood Orange Rissotto - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Pork Shoulder - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Fried Squash Blossoms - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Roasted Red Pepper Radiatore - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Basil Bellini - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Black Spaghetti Vongole - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Veal Scaloppini - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Beef Tenderloin With Italian Fries - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Tuna Conserva - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Seafood Squid Ink Spaghetti - Portofino, Atlanta, GA
Mussels - Portofino, Atlanta, GA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My niece and I came to Atlanta for the S ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

My niece and I came to Atlanta for the SEC Championship game and had dinner following the awesome win for BAMA!!! Scott was our server and an outstanding one. Great help with recommendations. Our wine was a featured selection and beyond awesome...Nicolas, Amorone, '08 The roasted cauliflower starter was my favorite although everything was delicious. LOVED the atmosphere. Will certainly stop again when bak in Atlanta.

Tags: Spicy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food quality and preparation. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good food quality and preparation. We especially enjoyed the appetizers which were unique but "worked."

The service was excellent and the entrees very generously sized--more than I expected.

Only downer was a very "exuberant" crowd--quite noisy large parties throughout the place and the noise detracted from an otherwise excellent experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Having resided in Atlanta previously, I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Having resided in Atlanta previously, I have eaten at Portofino numerous times and have always loved it. Was our go to place for a great meal and solid wine list at a reasonable price. Service always exceeded expectations. However, in the last month on trips to Atlanta, I have eaten there twice and both times the service was mediocre- the wait staff not able to explain the menu. More importantly the food was sub par. I will not return. Very disappointing, considering this was my overall favorite place for a nice, solid meal and comfort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The overall experience was good but the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The overall experience was good but the pasta we ordered the one with broth was way too salty.

Service was excellent. Too bad on the pasta. Meatball app was excellent as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Went to Portofino for date night after I ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Went to Portofino for date night after I found out another restaurant wasn't open on Sundays. In short, I loved the experience. Very warm and friendly staff, and I look forward to dining outside during the evening when the weather warms up. While the wine and drink menu was extensive, it didn't seem like there was a wide food selection. Doesn't matter, the food was delicious! From the appetizers to the entrees. If you do seafood, try the seared scallops and enjoy everything that comes on the plate. Can't wait for my next trip to Portofino!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great meal at Portofino! Loved the wine ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great meal at Portofino! Loved the wine list and unique blends of flavors in the food. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always dependable service and dining exp ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always dependable service and dining experience. Food specials are always interesting and delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service Cute place

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food and service

Cute place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portofino is always an incredible experi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Portofino is always an incredible experience from the ambiance to the food, it is a restaurant that sticks out among Atlanta's increasingly vibrant dining scene. On a recent dinner, my family and I were lucky enough to grab a table on the patio and as usual, it did not disappoint. Our server Kelly was attentive and knowledgable. Overall, an excellent experience that I would recommend to anyone looking for delicious food and a can't-be-beat atmosphere!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fun, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arguably one of the best Italian restaur ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Arguably one of the best Italian restaurants in Atlanta! Amazing service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 31st anniversary. and All ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our 31st anniversary. and All there wish us a happy anniversary. The food is good. However from the plates my wife and I ordered you will experience a different set of taste due to the combination of foods on your plate. I ordered the seared scallops, this was served over a bed of purple cabbage and a cucumber root that almost like a cream. The combination of all this was very different taste but very good. My wife had the Bucatini this was a pasta and when it was brought out you can smell the obvious smoked seasoning. It to was very good. Again, good food but prepare your senses for different tastes.

Being our anniversary we search for fine dining on that weekend and we dress accordingly, we were over dressed for this place. We felt it would be more inline attire wise of a 4 to 5 star establishment, which it is not. I personally would rate this a Very High 3 to a low 4. Our waiter Anthony was excellent

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

The Monk fish special was awesome. The ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The Monk fish special was awesome. The overall meal was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always consistent in its qua ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The food is always consistent in its quality, and the special regional menu every month is always creative. Service always excellent and fast. The epitome of a Buckhead local.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and relaxing and quiet, very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and relaxing and quiet, very friendly staff

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely late fall evening on the balcony ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Lovely late fall evening on the balcony outside. Really attentive service from waitress. Food tasty, with particular raves for the pasta special, angel hair done in pepper that was simply divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was a beautiful evening and the patio ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 30, 2016

It was a beautiful evening and the patio dining at Portofino was perfect! Service was prompt, reliable and helpful. All in all, a relaxing evening with nice wine and entree.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Seth, our waiter, was awesome! He is so ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Seth, our waiter, was awesome! He is so nice and enthusiastic! I love the food and ambiance here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually good. Had a bad experience with ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Usually good. Had a bad experience with the food during my business meeting. The short rib Sugo was not good. Usually pretty good but the meat was not good. Didn't taste like short rib. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice patio, unique food combos, extensiv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Nice patio, unique food combos, extensive menu options, good service and tasty food!

Tags: Amusant, Cuisine créative, Décontracté, De bonnes options pour les végétariens, La perle du quartier, Mets pour diète Paleo, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Il en vaut le détour, Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Parfait pour les groupes, Santé, Options sans gluten, ldéal pour manger en plein air, Romantique, Saisonnier, Authentique, Ingrédients locaux
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dinner at Portofino. The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at Portofino. The service is always great, service is terrific and the outside seating is very pleasant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, setting and service are excellent. ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food, setting and service are excellent. Portofino is always one of our must visit when we are in Atlanta. It has never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The halibut was wonderful! I loved it

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The halibut was wonderful! I loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Portofino's for our Girls Nig ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went to Portofino's for our Girls Night Out. I loved the chance to order an appetizer portion of the entree for a discounted price. Warm goat cheese and mushroom appetizer was fantastic. Wish I had ordered the Lamb. It was the best of the three entrees we tried. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Portofino is always great. The food was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Portofino is always great. The food was terrific, and the patio is a beautiful place to sit. Inside is nice too! We love it.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great service! Will absolute ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food! Great service! Will absolutely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a really nice evening on the pati ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a really nice evening on the patio at Portofino. The octopus appetizer was delicious, very tender and great flavor. My husband and I both order specials, a lamb shank and lobster fra diavolo. Both were tasty and enjoyable. If you're in the neighborhood, it's worth a visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. Only complains is the w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Love this place. Only complains is the waiter emptied the whole bottle of wine at once in our 4 glasses. White gets hot and less work for him.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent and the courses were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was excellent and the courses were very well spaced. Only problem was that we saw cockroaches near our table...quite unsettling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. U ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Unusual to find all 3 at one restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a quite evening ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a quite evening with delicious entrees. He had the trout and I had the shrimp and sausage pasta. Both were divine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu selections were intriguing. The ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The menu selections were intriguing. The actual food was even better. Very creative blends of flavor with superb presentation and service. Looking to impress your date or have a unique dining experience with friends, this should top your options list in Buckhead.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not bad but certainly nothing e ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was not bad but certainly nothing extraordinary. Based on open table reviews I expected more ambiance and higher quality. A nice neighborhood restaurant to take family or friends for a casual dinner but not a place to entertain or expect exceptional food. Nice people and adequate service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Simple but delightful assortment of entr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Simple but delightful assortment of entrees all served well and tasted as expected. Antipasti assortment fine the calamari was outstanding while the meatballs were good the cheese had a nice presentation thought it was underwhelming. Service friendly and competent, as was the atmosphere of the restaurant very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Michael and his crew ALWAYS do a great j ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael and his crew ALWAYS do a great job! One of my Atlanta dining favorites!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was OK. Not spectacular but OK. Som ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was OK. Not spectacular but OK. Some things way too salty -- liberal use of ham and sausage in other dishes, such as seafood. The Italians don't do this. Pasta was well cooked and served. Had pieces of shell in both clam and lobster dishes. Use caution.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always enjoy eating at Portofino's! Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Portofino's! Food offerings are delicious; wine list is great. Charming interior. Outside seating also available. On lovely quiet street in Buckhead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful food, fantastic waiter, and gr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful food, fantastic waiter, and great service! A nice place to meet, eat, talk to catch up! Food has a way of doing all that and the atmosphere definitely set the scene for us! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food is always great at Portof ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 12, 2016

While the food is always great at Portofino, our server made the experience that much better. She was such a good resource on our selections and made sure we were happy with all our choices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at Portofino's. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time at Portofino's. We had an 8:00 pm reservation, but arrived a little early. We were seated outside (recommended) promptly. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. My wife's appetizer, the lasagna, was especially good. We will be back and this time, bring some friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone at the restaurant was wonderful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everyone at the restaurant was wonderful as we celebrated our golden anniversary. The food was superb, the service perfect and the reception at the restaurant perfect. We want to thank everyone at the restaurant for being so great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.