About Portofino

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town, The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors and bright, energetic artwork. The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers and entrees. The menu and award winning wine list are constantly changing, the atmosphere is charged, and good times prevail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: 4042311136x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

neighborhood gem (82)
great for outdoor dining (71)
fit for foodies (68)
See All
romantic (67)
special occasion (66)
notable wine list (42)
good for groups (28)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (9)
scenic view (9)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1168 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

The food was fantastic, but the service ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic, but the service was awful. It took 15 minutes for our wine to come out and when it did the glasses were soaking wet. The server kept rushing us and taking food before we were done. The food is the only saving grace. I'm nervous to recommend after such poor service.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality dining!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Several unique and flavorful entrees, a great staff, and a cool atmosphere tucked into a neighborhood in Buckhead. Recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome tasty food. Our first time, but ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Awesome tasty food. Our first time, but not last.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and highly educated servers

Dined on May 7, 2016

Have eaten at Portofino with my wife and with the whole family. It never disappoints. Daniel is our favorite server. He has a deep knowledge of the food and provides the perfect amount of attentiveness. In general, they make you feel like family. The mussels are to die for! In addition, they always have new dishes based on what's fresh. Based on my experience, the food is either local or from a boutique farm with an interesting story. Also, everything is done in-house. Portofino is a great neighborhood place. It's always great to step away from the restaurant group scene and enjoy an independent. They're located in a very quaint area and have a nice patio that is perfect on a nice Atlanta evening. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

very nice to return after several years -

Dined on May 4, 2016

if you do not like dining in an old house this is not for you - some of us are not keen on eating in Buff's old bedroom, but they have made the most the sold house and hopefuully it will not be torn down like the rest of B'head

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. I've been there ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. I've been there 3 times in the past month or two. Everything I've had has been delicious. The wait staff is always attentive and the ambiance is nice. I especially like sitting outside and dining al fresco. It's on a pretty back street without much traffic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delicious and quaint neighborhood gem. ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

A delicious and quaint neighborhood gem. The food is outstanding and they have a wonderful wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Kelly was awesome, the food and atmosphe ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Kelly was awesome, the food and atmosphere were outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellent

Dined on April 28, 2016

My second visit to Portofino in as many weeks, selected due to the convergence of good food, fine wine and amazing atmosphere. If the weather is good, don't miss the outdoor seating, located on a low-traffic road just minutes from the bustle of Buckhead.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Too much pasta

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

This cute small restaurant looks exciting when you arrive as it sits up high on a small hill. However, the food is ok, but not great. Most dishes are heavy on the pasta but light on the main ingredient s. I had a pasta with short rib meat. I do not think there was 2 ounces of shredded meat. They serve two types of bread which were very hard and not tasty. For dessert we ordered two types of gelato which had melted and was too runny when they brought it. I would not return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and the service is what ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Outstanding food and the service is what setsw this restaurant apart. Thank you for a very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Went with a group for Buckhead restauran ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went with a group for Buckhead restaurant week. From the valet parking (very friendly & fast) to the bartender (arrived a bit early and had a pre dinner cocktail) to wait staff and meal. Just outstanding! The street is a quiet off the main drag street, patio was lovely (partial covered) and the inside tables looked quiet and romantic. Great wine menu. Was surprised to see so many young children for dinner. They were well behaved so it didn't ruin our evening. Will be back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Buckhead restaurant week at this ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Enjoyed Buckhead restaurant week at this gem, tucked away on a quiet street. Great bar and indoor setting and excellent outdoor patios. Service was great and food was all amazing. Free parking too! Will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner during Buckhead Restaurant ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great dinner during Buckhead Restaurant week. Dined on outdoor patio - beautiful night, wonderful service. The heirloom tomato salad was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Went for Buckhead Restaurant Week .. will definitely be back! Food was delicious, service very pleasant and the atmosphere was lovely

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is consistently excellent. Service ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Food is consistently excellent. Service always outstanding. Wine list extensive, varied and reasonably priced.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always good

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Always good

food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was delish!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Everything was delish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite spot!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Portofino is our go-to restaurant. You can count on great food and drink and friendly service. It's the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great brunch

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food, right portion for Brunch. Will come back

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a jewel! We have enjoyed ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

This place is a jewel! We have enjoyed dining here ( especially on the lovely patio) for many years. The food and service are always top notch, and you can't find more enchanting, unpretentious ambiance in the city!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant overall

Dined on March 19, 2016

All I can say is, the complimentary parking was evidently convienent. We were seated right away, and I was so surprised our food came out in literally less than 10 minutes. Our waitress was very professional and respectful, she was actually awesome!! The food was outstanding, although the portion size could've been bigger for the amount that I paid. But other than that, I was extremely pleased. I will be returning for sure.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughters and I had a wonderful eveni ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

My daughters and I had a wonderful evening dining outside. The food was spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful alfresco dining. Beet salad & ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Wonderful alfresco dining. Beet salad & octopus appetizers fabulous! Pastas excellent, even bread & olive oil excellent! Presentation beautiful & waiter very attentive.

food2
ambience5
service5

We go for the ambiance more than for the ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We go for the ambiance more than for the food. My boyfriend and I have been twice and sat outside both times. We love the ambiance out on the porch. We were hoping to like the food better the second time around, however that was not the case. The second time we went we were with my boyfriend's parents and no one was able to say they loved their dish. We got the lamb meatballs and fresh mozzarella for appetizers. I can't comment on the meatballs because I did not try them. The mozzarella was fresh but was served with 2 sliced cherry tomatoes. Was not impressed with the portion. I ordered the brodetto which was ok. The sauce or pasta was not very flavorful. The service is excellent and is in an easy location to get to. They offer complimentary valet or you have the option to park on the street.

food4
ambience4
service5

The meal was excellent. Service outstand ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The meal was excellent. Service outstanding. Fellow patrons were far too loud.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

There were so many interesting items on the menu from which to choose. We didn't know where to start. We both had the braised short rib entree and it was fabulous. I tried a couple of different glasses of wine from their collections. Both were delicious. Be adventurous at this restaurant with your menu choices! They offer items not normally found at your 'typical' Italian restaurants. Check out the menu and enjoy the courteous staff. We will certainly be back to try other items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food , great atmosphere, had a ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Loved the food , great atmosphere, had a large wine list! If you love wine then this would be a great choice!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

consistently good

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Portofino is one of my favorite "go to" spots. The food and service are consistently good. I love sitting on the patio when the weather is nice. I ordered the scallops over a celery root puree and braised red cabbage. I have been searching online how to make the cabbage. It was deliciously sweet. The scallops were cooked perfectly, although a little too salty. Portofino will remain as one of my top recommendations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a joy to dine here

Dined on February 28, 2016

Portofino is on our list of pleasurable dining that we enjoy every few weeks. It is an excellent restaurant with professional servers, outstanding chefs and a very personal host. We enjoy bringing friends, family and business associates here, particularly when it gets a bit warmer to enjoy the porch. Not your typical Italian restorante, but a level up in great expressions of continental cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Very black squash soup that I sent back ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Very black squash soup that I sent back in place of the roasted beets. Meatballs were somewhat dry but good flavour. Grilled octopus did not taste fresh. I would not return.

food4
ambience4
service4

One of our favorite places ! Food is co ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

One of our favorite places ! Food is consistently good . Outside seating is the best in Buckhead.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner with a friend!

Dined on February 18, 2016

I had been to Portofino a couple weeks back and the warm goat cheese appetizer was calling my name again:-) If you like goat cheese, you will LOVE this appetizer. The Black Manhattan isn't too bad either:-) My friend and I also shared the beet salad which was fantastic and then we each ordered a pasta dish for dinner. Everything was excellent including the service so I'll definitely go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Portofinos 1st time

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was AWESOME for both of us we had wine, bread, pasta, salad, seafood, dessert, and everything was amazing. We enjoyed the music. The entire restaurant was clean we were seated promptly. We would go back again! Wonderful Valentine's Day dinner

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

I have had several enjoyable meals here ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I have had several enjoyable meals here throughout the fall; however, I was very disappointed in the quality of our recent dinner. The butternut squash soup was not only tasteless; it was also unseasoned and bland. The radiatore pasta with shrimp and sausage was very mediocre. The special from Lombardy, saffron risotto with beef cheeks, was poorly plated and under whelming. The pasta with lamb ragu was not a ragu but just lamb shank tossed w/ pasta - another tasteless dish. Stay away from the barbera d' Asti. We did enjoy a bottle of brunello de montapulciano and also enjoyed the Rosemary focaccia. It is an elongated ginger jar shape and is 25 inches tall

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Atmosphere

Dined on February 15, 2016

Portofino's was this year's V-Day trip. Food was great as well as the atmosphere. The restaurant was small so I would recommend reservations. Our server was from New York and had a great sense of humor. We will be back in the future. The wine selection is also on point!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

It was a last minute Valentine's Day dat ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

It was a last minute Valentine's Day date. We went on OpenTable and found this restaurant, made the reservation and walked right in. Everyone from the valets to our server Kelly were extremely caring and nice. We will definitely be back!!

food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and ambiance - appetizers w ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome food and ambiance - appetizers were amazing. Portions are small for entre so order a side too

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every last bite.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Chef Matt's meal was a super hit. Four diners, four different meals and not a speck of food left on the plates, despite bountiful portions. The beet salad, lamb bolognese, rhubarb crisp were among our favorites. Delightful and knowledgeable server who didn't miss a beat. Can't wait for next time!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic dinner

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was better than I expected. Service was great

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.