About Portofino

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town, The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors and bright, energetic artwork. The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers and entrees. The menu and award winning wine list are constantly changing, the atmosphere is charged, and good times prevail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: 4042311136x

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Seafood Stew
Lamb Bolognese Rigatoni
Hanger Steak
Fried Clams
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake
Veal Scallopini
Duck Fat Seared Scallops, Blood Orange Rissotto
Pork Shoulder
Fried Squash Blossoms
Roasted Red Pepper Radiatore
Black Spaghetti Vongole
Basil Bellini
Veal Scaloppini
Beef Tenderloin With Italian Fries
Tuna Conserva
Seafood Squid Ink Spaghetti
Mussels

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

great for outdoor dining (70)
neighborhood gem (67)
fit for foodies (58)
See All
special occasion (47)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (29)
good for groups (20)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (5)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing evening. Absolutely delicious !

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing evening. Absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My date's lamb bolognese was delicious a ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My date's lamb bolognese was delicious and my short rib sugo was perfection! Even almost as good the next day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I came here with my fiancé and this was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I came here with my fiancé and this was our first visit. The waiter wasn't friendly and told us he couldn't serve us bread until we had ordered, which made our dinner seem rushed. We ordered several pasta appetizers which were good, but our entrees were only ok. My fiancé thought his dish (braised pork) smelled like dog food. Overall, the place just wasn't friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We've been regulars since the day they o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been regulars since the day they opened, and have never missed dining there with friends on New Year's Eve. We have yet to be disappointed in the food, wine or service. This is one of those places that consistently does everything right.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael the owner greeted us, our table ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Michael the owner greeted us, our table was in this amazing historical looking room next to a very old large antique glass window. It was easy to have conversation, not loud. There was a large party nearby, not a disturbance at all and it was obvious they were enjoying themselves. We were a party of 3 friends from out of state and a frequent patron took out pictures outside and said they loved it there and went frequently. That's a wonderful recommendation from a local ! The waiter was so, so, so helpful and interesting. The food was truly excellent, varied and interesting. I had the specialties from Sicily and the paired wine. My friends loved their food. It was a wonderful experience and highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and fabulous service! We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious food and fabulous service! We really enjoyed the heirloom tomato and grilled peach salad as,qell as the hanger steak and trout. A great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mother, sisters and niece were joinin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My mother, sisters and niece were joining me before a trip to the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. We were early so that we could do both. Our server was nice enough, but not really friendly. The food was average. It sounded better than it tasted and the portions were very small. I have been to Portofino over 20 times and this visit was disappointing.

I will still go back as I love the atmosphere and wine list. I do wish they would have less dishes with Goat Cheese :)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Portofino is a never-fail for me. Food, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Portofino is a never-fail for me. Food, service, atmosphere... it's a perfect package wrapped up in a sweet neighborhood house. The patio is also one of my favorites in Buckhead since it isn't overlooking busy Peachtree Street.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner on the patio with frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic dinner on the patio with friends. Food and Service were both outstanding. I would recommend to anyone !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service seems to have been upgraded ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service seems to have been upgraded since our visit one year ago. Very attentive and knowledgeable. The outdoor space is very pleasant and there were no mosquitoes this time around. The food was good but not great. My salad with goat cheese was so heavy with vinegar that I found it hard to eat. The buccatini pasta was cooked nicely but the sauce had cooked way too long and had condensed into a mouth-puckering intensity. Desserts were delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought this place would be a more-ups ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought this place would be a more-upscale great place for a date, but it was very casual (many people wearing shorts) with a mostly-older clientele. Some food was really good, and some was just "ok". Probably not a bad place if you're in the neighborhood, but it wasn't worth the special drive to go there, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was marvelous. Service excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was marvelous. Service excellent even to the valets parking. I look forwrd to my next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent . ambiance also. dr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent . ambiance also. drinks awesome. waitress just ok. she seemed annoyed that we wanted to split the appetizer salad and entrée and maybe we asked too many questions? we don't like to over eat so like to share.......big deal. and then they charged us $8.00 to split ......we did not ask for separate plates....that's just snooty......... still a good restaurant...... but there are many more........so will try something else next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding wait staff. Outstanding food ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Outstanding wait staff.

Outstanding food.

Outstanding patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic... I was a weekly diner here f ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic... I was a weekly diner here for the first 11 years of their existence ... I moved from Atlanta to Hilton Head Island 5 years ago and was just back in Atlanta for a long weekend... Walking in 5 years later was just picking up where I left off ... Michael, the owner greater me as if I was only gone a week... I had three guests (2 local) who had never dined there ... Our table was excellent, off in a corner so we could talk...Our server Shanna was terrific... Attentive without being obtrusive... Our 4 appetizers, 4 dinners and 2 shared deserts were perfection... The special Italian wine from an 850 year old vineyard was a perfect pairing with steak-salmon-pork shank-pasta mains...The magic of the evening was that it had actually improved in my absence and it was a perfect "5" for the 11 years I lived there... Talking with Michael afterwards he just praised "The Team"... In my view it is Michael and his wife Dina that make Portofino the best restaurant in Atlanta... I will be back more often just to come here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a total neighborhood gem! Make res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It's a total neighborhood gem! Make reservations to sit inside, or get there early to sit on their patio, which is very nice. What I particularly like about the restaurant is that they change up the menu with specials from particular areas of Italy every month. This month is a pork shank which is delicious and should be high on your list.

Valet parking is convenient and free. The restaurant is quaint inside, but much bigger than it looks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service here was SUPERB! Kelly was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The service here was SUPERB! Kelly was our server and we couldn't have asked for anyone better. She was AWESOME! The food was delicious. The host was super accommodating. They served our large party perfectly. I highly recommend this restaurant and will DEFINITELY be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, but the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the service was awful. It took 15 minutes for our wine to come out and when it did the glasses were soaking wet. The server kept rushing us and taking food before we were done. The food is the only saving grace. I'm nervous to recommend after such poor service.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Quality dining!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Several unique and flavorful entrees, a great staff, and a cool atmosphere tucked into a neighborhood in Buckhead. Recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome tasty food. Our first time, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Awesome tasty food. Our first time, but not last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and highly educated servers

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Have eaten at Portofino with my wife and with the whole family. It never disappoints. Daniel is our favorite server. He has a deep knowledge of the food and provides the perfect amount of attentiveness. In general, they make you feel like family. The mussels are to die for! In addition, they always have new dishes based on what's fresh. Based on my experience, the food is either local or from a boutique farm with an interesting story. Also, everything is done in-house. Portofino is a great neighborhood place. It's always great to step away from the restaurant group scene and enjoy an independent. They're located in a very quaint area and have a nice patio that is perfect on a nice Atlanta evening. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice to return after several years -

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

if you do not like dining in an old house this is not for you - some of us are not keen on eating in Buff's old bedroom, but they have made the most the sold house and hopefuully it will not be torn down like the rest of B'head

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love this restaurant. I've been there ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. I've been there 3 times in the past month or two. Everything I've had has been delicious. The wait staff is always attentive and the ambiance is nice. I especially like sitting outside and dining al fresco. It's on a pretty back street without much traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A delicious and quaint neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

A delicious and quaint neighborhood gem. The food is outstanding and they have a wonderful wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kelly was awesome, the food and atmosphe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Kelly was awesome, the food and atmosphere were outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Excellent

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

My second visit to Portofino in as many weeks, selected due to the convergence of good food, fine wine and amazing atmosphere. If the weather is good, don't miss the outdoor seating, located on a low-traffic road just minutes from the bustle of Buckhead.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too much pasta

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This cute small restaurant looks exciting when you arrive as it sits up high on a small hill. However, the food is ok, but not great. Most dishes are heavy on the pasta but light on the main ingredient s. I had a pasta with short rib meat. I do not think there was 2 ounces of shredded meat. They serve two types of bread which were very hard and not tasty. For dessert we ordered two types of gelato which had melted and was too runny when they brought it. I would not return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding food and the service is what ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Outstanding food and the service is what setsw this restaurant apart. Thank you for a very nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with a group for Buckhead restauran ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Went with a group for Buckhead restaurant week. From the valet parking (very friendly & fast) to the bartender (arrived a bit early and had a pre dinner cocktail) to wait staff and meal. Just outstanding! The street is a quiet off the main drag street, patio was lovely (partial covered) and the inside tables looked quiet and romantic. Great wine menu. Was surprised to see so many young children for dinner. They were well behaved so it didn't ruin our evening. Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed Buckhead restaurant week at this ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Enjoyed Buckhead restaurant week at this gem, tucked away on a quiet street. Great bar and indoor setting and excellent outdoor patios. Service was great and food was all amazing. Free parking too! Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner during Buckhead Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great dinner during Buckhead Restaurant week. Dined on outdoor patio - beautiful night, wonderful service. The heirloom tomato salad was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Went for Buckhead Restaurant Week .. will definitely be back! Food was delicious, service very pleasant and the atmosphere was lovely

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is consistently excellent. Service ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food is consistently excellent. Service always outstanding. Wine list extensive, varied and reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was delish!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Everything was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our favorite spot!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Portofino is our go-to restaurant. You can count on great food and drink and friendly service. It's the best.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent food, right portion for Brunch. Will come back

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This place is a jewel! We have enjoyed ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

This place is a jewel! We have enjoyed dining here ( especially on the lovely patio) for many years. The food and service are always top notch, and you can't find more enchanting, unpretentious ambiance in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding restaurant overall

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

All I can say is, the complimentary parking was evidently convienent. We were seated right away, and I was so surprised our food came out in literally less than 10 minutes. Our waitress was very professional and respectful, she was actually awesome!! The food was outstanding, although the portion size could've been bigger for the amount that I paid. But other than that, I was extremely pleased. I will be returning for sure.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughters and I had a wonderful eveni ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

My daughters and I had a wonderful evening dining outside. The food was spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.