About Portofino

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town, The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors and bright, energetic artwork. The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers and entrees. The menu and award winning wine list are constantly changing, the atmosphere is charged, and good times prevail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Matt Marcus

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: 4042311136x

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Seafood Stew
Lamb Bolognese Rigatoni
Hanger Steak
Fried Clams
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake
Veal Scallopini
Duck Fat Seared Scallops, Blood Orange Rissotto
Pork Shoulder
Fried Squash Blossoms
Roasted Red Pepper Radiatore
Basil Bellini
Black Spaghetti Vongole
Veal Scaloppini
Beef Tenderloin With Italian Fries
Tuna Conserva
Seafood Squid Ink Spaghetti
Mussels

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Fit for Foodies (51)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (35)
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Brunch (12)
Scenic View (8)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent and the courses were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined a day ago

Food was excellent and the courses were very well spaced. Only problem was that we saw cockroaches near our table...quite unsettling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Simple but delightful assortment of entr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Simple but delightful assortment of entrees all served well and tasted as expected. Antipasti assortment fine the calamari was outstanding while the meatballs were good the cheese had a nice presentation thought it was underwhelming. Service friendly and competent, as was the atmosphere of the restaurant very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Michael and his crew ALWAYS do a great j ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael and his crew ALWAYS do a great job! One of my Atlanta dining favorites!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was OK. Not spectacular but OK. Som ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was OK. Not spectacular but OK. Some things way too salty -- liberal use of ham and sausage in other dishes, such as seafood. The Italians don't do this. Pasta was well cooked and served. Had pieces of shell in both clam and lobster dishes. Use caution.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always enjoy eating at Portofino's! Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Portofino's! Food offerings are delicious; wine list is great. Charming interior. Outside seating also available. On lovely quiet street in Buckhead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful food, fantastic waiter, and gr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful food, fantastic waiter, and great service! A nice place to meet, eat, talk to catch up! Food has a way of doing all that and the atmosphere definitely set the scene for us! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food is always great at Portof ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

While the food is always great at Portofino, our server made the experience that much better. She was such a good resource on our selections and made sure we were happy with all our choices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at Portofino's. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time at Portofino's. We had an 8:00 pm reservation, but arrived a little early. We were seated outside (recommended) promptly. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. My wife's appetizer, the lasagna, was especially good. We will be back and this time, bring some friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone at the restaurant was wonderful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everyone at the restaurant was wonderful as we celebrated our golden anniversary. The food was superb, the service perfect and the reception at the restaurant perfect. We want to thank everyone at the restaurant for being so great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The black pasta was incr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent food. The black pasta was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place was amazing! Met up with a gi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place was amazing! Met up with a girlfriend this past Friday night. I had a wonderful glass of the Sancerre to start, the peach soup, and the chicken. I loved how my chicken was juicy but crisp at the same time. My friend had the spinach salad and lobster pasta with HUGE pieces of lobster. She also had a glass of their only Malbec which was good too. She said her salad pretty much made her full because it was so big. The scenery outside on the patio is beautiful and romantic. I feel like I should have been on a real date. Our waitress Kelly (I believe that was her name) was so sweet and funny. They ended up bringing us two complimentary glasses of prosecco to enjoy after our meal. I will be back hopefully on a romantic date!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The grilled oc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The grilled octopus appetizer was amazing and I don't usually like octopus! My entree was lobster spaghetti and it was delicious as well. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance is amazing. Anthony was fantast ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ambiance is amazing. Anthony was fantastic in providing menu/wine pairings. The octupus appetizer is delicious. Love the red pepper pasta entree and the scallops. Portofino holds very special memories for me and my man!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was simply prepared with exceptiona ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was simply prepared with exceptionally fresh ingredients. Being a foodie and eating out a lot, the experience here was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place never disappoints! Kelly, our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This place never disappoints! Kelly, our waitress the past two visits, is amazing! She's super sweet and super fun, makes the whole experience even better. The food is great! One of our long time favorites! A must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing evening. Absolutely delicious !

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing evening. Absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional and service was exe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was exceptional and service was exemplary. Waiter, I believe was Eric. Friendly, attentive, conversational. Felt welcomed and appreciated not to mention quaint, charming ambiance and fabulous everything. Quite a treat and well worth the cab ride. Thank you Portofino.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date's lamb bolognese was delicious a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My date's lamb bolognese was delicious and my short rib sugo was perfection! Even almost as good the next day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I came here with my fiancé and this was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I came here with my fiancé and this was our first visit. The waiter wasn't friendly and told us he couldn't serve us bread until we had ordered, which made our dinner seem rushed. We ordered several pasta appetizers which were good, but our entrees were only ok. My fiancé thought his dish (braised pork) smelled like dog food. Overall, the place just wasn't friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We've been regulars since the day they o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been regulars since the day they opened, and have never missed dining there with friends on New Year's Eve. We have yet to be disappointed in the food, wine or service. This is one of those places that consistently does everything right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael the owner greeted us, our table ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Michael the owner greeted us, our table was in this amazing historical looking room next to a very old large antique glass window. It was easy to have conversation, not loud. There was a large party nearby, not a disturbance at all and it was obvious they were enjoying themselves. We were a party of 3 friends from out of state and a frequent patron took out pictures outside and said they loved it there and went frequently. That's a wonderful recommendation from a local ! The waiter was so, so, so helpful and interesting. The food was truly excellent, varied and interesting. I had the specialties from Sicily and the paired wine. My friends loved their food. It was a wonderful experience and highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and fabulous service! We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious food and fabulous service! We really enjoyed the heirloom tomato and grilled peach salad as,qell as the hanger steak and trout. A great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mother, sisters and niece were joinin ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My mother, sisters and niece were joining me before a trip to the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. We were early so that we could do both. Our server was nice enough, but not really friendly. The food was average. It sounded better than it tasted and the portions were very small. I have been to Portofino over 20 times and this visit was disappointing.

I will still go back as I love the atmosphere and wine list. I do wish they would have less dishes with Goat Cheese :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Portofino is a never-fail for me. Food, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Portofino is a never-fail for me. Food, service, atmosphere... it's a perfect package wrapped up in a sweet neighborhood house. The patio is also one of my favorites in Buckhead since it isn't overlooking busy Peachtree Street.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner on the patio with frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic dinner on the patio with friends. Food and Service were both outstanding. I would recommend to anyone !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service seems to have been upgraded ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The service seems to have been upgraded since our visit one year ago. Very attentive and knowledgeable. The outdoor space is very pleasant and there were no mosquitoes this time around. The food was good but not great. My salad with goat cheese was so heavy with vinegar that I found it hard to eat. The buccatini pasta was cooked nicely but the sauce had cooked way too long and had condensed into a mouth-puckering intensity. Desserts were delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought this place would be a more-ups ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought this place would be a more-upscale great place for a date, but it was very casual (many people wearing shorts) with a mostly-older clientele. Some food was really good, and some was just "ok". Probably not a bad place if you're in the neighborhood, but it wasn't worth the special drive to go there, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was marvelous. Service excellen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was marvelous. Service excellent even to the valets parking. I look forwrd to my next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent . ambiance also. dr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Food was excellent . ambiance also. drinks awesome. waitress just ok. she seemed annoyed that we wanted to split the appetizer salad and entrée and maybe we asked too many questions? we don't like to over eat so like to share.......big deal. and then they charged us $8.00 to split ......we did not ask for separate plates....that's just snooty......... still a good restaurant...... but there are many more........so will try something else next time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding wait staff. Outstanding food ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Outstanding wait staff.

Outstanding food.

Outstanding patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic... I was a weekly diner here f ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic... I was a weekly diner here for the first 11 years of their existence ... I moved from Atlanta to Hilton Head Island 5 years ago and was just back in Atlanta for a long weekend... Walking in 5 years later was just picking up where I left off ... Michael, the owner greater me as if I was only gone a week... I had three guests (2 local) who had never dined there ... Our table was excellent, off in a corner so we could talk...Our server Shanna was terrific... Attentive without being obtrusive... Our 4 appetizers, 4 dinners and 2 shared deserts were perfection... The special Italian wine from an 850 year old vineyard was a perfect pairing with steak-salmon-pork shank-pasta mains...The magic of the evening was that it had actually improved in my absence and it was a perfect "5" for the 11 years I lived there... Talking with Michael afterwards he just praised "The Team"... In my view it is Michael and his wife Dina that make Portofino the best restaurant in Atlanta... I will be back more often just to come here...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a total neighborhood gem! Make res ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It's a total neighborhood gem! Make reservations to sit inside, or get there early to sit on their patio, which is very nice. What I particularly like about the restaurant is that they change up the menu with specials from particular areas of Italy every month. This month is a pork shank which is delicious and should be high on your list.

Valet parking is convenient and free. The restaurant is quaint inside, but much bigger than it looks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service here was SUPERB! Kelly was o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The service here was SUPERB! Kelly was our server and we couldn't have asked for anyone better. She was AWESOME! The food was delicious. The host was super accommodating. They served our large party perfectly. I highly recommend this restaurant and will DEFINITELY be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic, but the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was fantastic, but the service was awful. It took 15 minutes for our wine to come out and when it did the glasses were soaking wet. The server kept rushing us and taking food before we were done. The food is the only saving grace. I'm nervous to recommend after such poor service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Quality dining!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Several unique and flavorful entrees, a great staff, and a cool atmosphere tucked into a neighborhood in Buckhead. Recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome tasty food. Our first time, but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Awesome tasty food. Our first time, but not last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and highly educated servers

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Have eaten at Portofino with my wife and with the whole family. It never disappoints. Daniel is our favorite server. He has a deep knowledge of the food and provides the perfect amount of attentiveness. In general, they make you feel like family. The mussels are to die for! In addition, they always have new dishes based on what's fresh. Based on my experience, the food is either local or from a boutique farm with an interesting story. Also, everything is done in-house. Portofino is a great neighborhood place. It's always great to step away from the restaurant group scene and enjoy an independent. They're located in a very quaint area and have a nice patio that is perfect on a nice Atlanta evening. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice to return after several years -

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

if you do not like dining in an old house this is not for you - some of us are not keen on eating in Buff's old bedroom, but they have made the most the sold house and hopefuully it will not be torn down like the rest of B'head

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I love this restaurant. I've been there ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. I've been there 3 times in the past month or two. Everything I've had has been delicious. The wait staff is always attentive and the ambiance is nice. I especially like sitting outside and dining al fresco. It's on a pretty back street without much traffic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A delicious and quaint neighborhood gem. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

A delicious and quaint neighborhood gem. The food is outstanding and they have a wonderful wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.