About Portofino

3199 Paces Ferry Place
Atlanta, GA 30305
View Larger Map

Portofino is an unassuming neighborhood bistro located on a quiet side street in Buckhead. From the street, you can see the beautiful stone and brick patio that offers the most enjoyable outdoor seating in town, The patio spills into a delightful dining room with vaulted ceilings, hardwood floors and bright, energetic artwork. The cuisine at Portofino is American-Italian offering a selection of simple pastas, innovative bistro-style appetizers and entrees. The menu and award winning wine list are constantly changing, the atmosphere is charged, and good times prevail.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
West Paces Ferry

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 231-1136

Website:
http://www.portofinoatl.com/index

Executive Chef:
Paul Sidener

Private Party Facilities:
Available Sun-Thur For parties up to 30.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Anderson: 4042311136x

Additional:
Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Portofino
Seafood Stew - Portofino
Lamb Bolognese Rigatoni - Portofino
Hanger Steak - Portofino
Fried Clams - Portofino
Hazelnut Chocolate Cake - Portofino
Veal Scallopini - Portofino
Duck Fat Seared Scallops, Blood Orange Rissotto - Portofino
Pork Shoulder - Portofino
Fried Squash Blossoms - Portofino
Roasted Red Pepper Radiatore - Portofino
Basil Bellini - Portofino
Black Spaghetti Vongole - Portofino
Veal Scaloppini - Portofino
Beef Tenderloin With Italian Fries - Portofino
Tuna Conserva - Portofino
Seafood Squid Ink Spaghetti - Portofino
Mussels - Portofino

Portofino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Atlanta / Georgia
Outdoor Dining
Atlanta
Italian
Atlanta
Best Restaurants in Buckhead ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Scenic View (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seth, our waiter, was awesome! He is so ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Seth, our waiter, was awesome! He is so nice and enthusiastic! I love the food and ambiance here!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually good. Had a bad experience with ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Usually good. Had a bad experience with the food during my business meeting. The short rib Sugo was not good. Usually pretty good but the meat was not good. Didn't taste like short rib. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We always enjoy dinner at Portofino. The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always enjoy dinner at Portofino. The service is always great, service is terrific and the outside seating is very pleasant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, setting and service are excellent. ...

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food, setting and service are excellent. Portofino is always one of our must visit when we are in Atlanta. It has never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The halibut was wonderful! I loved it

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The halibut was wonderful! I loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Portofino's for our Girls Nig ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We went to Portofino's for our Girls Night Out. I loved the chance to order an appetizer portion of the entree for a discounted price. Warm goat cheese and mushroom appetizer was fantastic. Wish I had ordered the Lamb. It was the best of the three entrees we tried. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Portofino is always great. The food was ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Portofino is always great. The food was terrific, and the patio is a beautiful place to sit. Inside is nice too! We love it.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food! Great service! Will absolute ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food! Great service! Will absolutely be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a really nice evening on the pati ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a really nice evening on the patio at Portofino. The octopus appetizer was delicious, very tender and great flavor. My husband and I both order specials, a lamb shank and lobster fra diavolo. Both were tasty and enjoyable. If you're in the neighborhood, it's worth a visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. Only complains is the w ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Love this place. Only complains is the waiter emptied the whole bottle of wine at once in our 4 glasses. White gets hot and less work for him.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was excellent and the courses were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was excellent and the courses were very well spaced. Only problem was that we saw cockroaches near our table...quite unsettling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. U ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Unusual to find all 3 at one restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a quite evening ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a quite evening with delicious entrees. He had the trout and I had the shrimp and sausage pasta. Both were divine!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu selections were intriguing. The ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The menu selections were intriguing. The actual food was even better. Very creative blends of flavor with superb presentation and service. Looking to impress your date or have a unique dining experience with friends, this should top your options list in Buckhead.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not bad but certainly nothing e ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was not bad but certainly nothing extraordinary. Based on open table reviews I expected more ambiance and higher quality. A nice neighborhood restaurant to take family or friends for a casual dinner but not a place to entertain or expect exceptional food. Nice people and adequate service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Simple but delightful assortment of entr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Simple but delightful assortment of entrees all served well and tasted as expected. Antipasti assortment fine the calamari was outstanding while the meatballs were good the cheese had a nice presentation thought it was underwhelming. Service friendly and competent, as was the atmosphere of the restaurant very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Michael and his crew ALWAYS do a great j ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Michael and his crew ALWAYS do a great job! One of my Atlanta dining favorites!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was OK. Not spectacular but OK. Som ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was OK. Not spectacular but OK. Some things way too salty -- liberal use of ham and sausage in other dishes, such as seafood. The Italians don't do this. Pasta was well cooked and served. Had pieces of shell in both clam and lobster dishes. Use caution.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always enjoy eating at Portofino's! Foo ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always enjoy eating at Portofino's! Food offerings are delicious; wine list is great. Charming interior. Outside seating also available. On lovely quiet street in Buckhead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful food, fantastic waiter, and gr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful food, fantastic waiter, and great service! A nice place to meet, eat, talk to catch up! Food has a way of doing all that and the atmosphere definitely set the scene for us! Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food is always great at Portof ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

While the food is always great at Portofino, our server made the experience that much better. She was such a good resource on our selections and made sure we were happy with all our choices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at Portofino's. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time at Portofino's. We had an 8:00 pm reservation, but arrived a little early. We were seated outside (recommended) promptly. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable. My wife's appetizer, the lasagna, was especially good. We will be back and this time, bring some friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone at the restaurant was wonderful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everyone at the restaurant was wonderful as we celebrated our golden anniversary. The food was superb, the service perfect and the reception at the restaurant perfect. We want to thank everyone at the restaurant for being so great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The black pasta was incr ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent food. The black pasta was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place was amazing! Met up with a gi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place was amazing! Met up with a girlfriend this past Friday night. I had a wonderful glass of the Sancerre to start, the peach soup, and the chicken. I loved how my chicken was juicy but crisp at the same time. My friend had the spinach salad and lobster pasta with HUGE pieces of lobster. She also had a glass of their only Malbec which was good too. She said her salad pretty much made her full because it was so big. The scenery outside on the patio is beautiful and romantic. I feel like I should have been on a real date. Our waitress Kelly (I believe that was her name) was so sweet and funny. They ended up bringing us two complimentary glasses of prosecco to enjoy after our meal. I will be back hopefully on a romantic date!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The grilled oc ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The grilled octopus appetizer was amazing and I don't usually like octopus! My entree was lobster spaghetti and it was delicious as well. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambiance is amazing. Anthony was fantast ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ambiance is amazing. Anthony was fantastic in providing menu/wine pairings. The octupus appetizer is delicious. Love the red pepper pasta entree and the scallops. Portofino holds very special memories for me and my man!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was simply prepared with exceptiona ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was simply prepared with exceptionally fresh ingredients. Being a foodie and eating out a lot, the experience here was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This place never disappoints! Kelly, our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This place never disappoints! Kelly, our waitress the past two visits, is amazing! She's super sweet and super fun, makes the whole experience even better. The food is great! One of our long time favorites! A must try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing evening. Absolutely delicious !

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Amazing evening. Absolutely delicious !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exceptional and service was exe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was exceptional and service was exemplary. Waiter, I believe was Eric. Friendly, attentive, conversational. Felt welcomed and appreciated not to mention quaint, charming ambiance and fabulous everything. Quite a treat and well worth the cab ride. Thank you Portofino.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date's lamb bolognese was delicious a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My date's lamb bolognese was delicious and my short rib sugo was perfection! Even almost as good the next day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I came here with my fiancé and this was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I came here with my fiancé and this was our first visit. The waiter wasn't friendly and told us he couldn't serve us bread until we had ordered, which made our dinner seem rushed. We ordered several pasta appetizers which were good, but our entrees were only ok. My fiancé thought his dish (braised pork) smelled like dog food. Overall, the place just wasn't friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We've been regulars since the day they o ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been regulars since the day they opened, and have never missed dining there with friends on New Year's Eve. We have yet to be disappointed in the food, wine or service. This is one of those places that consistently does everything right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael the owner greeted us, our table ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Michael the owner greeted us, our table was in this amazing historical looking room next to a very old large antique glass window. It was easy to have conversation, not loud. There was a large party nearby, not a disturbance at all and it was obvious they were enjoying themselves. We were a party of 3 friends from out of state and a frequent patron took out pictures outside and said they loved it there and went frequently. That's a wonderful recommendation from a local ! The waiter was so, so, so helpful and interesting. The food was truly excellent, varied and interesting. I had the specialties from Sicily and the paired wine. My friends loved their food. It was a wonderful experience and highly recommend it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and fabulous service! We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Delicious food and fabulous service! We really enjoyed the heirloom tomato and grilled peach salad as,qell as the hanger steak and trout. A great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mother, sisters and niece were joinin ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

My mother, sisters and niece were joining me before a trip to the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. We were early so that we could do both. Our server was nice enough, but not really friendly. The food was average. It sounded better than it tasted and the portions were very small. I have been to Portofino over 20 times and this visit was disappointing.

I will still go back as I love the atmosphere and wine list. I do wish they would have less dishes with Goat Cheese :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Portofino is a never-fail for me. Food, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Portofino is a never-fail for me. Food, service, atmosphere... it's a perfect package wrapped up in a sweet neighborhood house. The patio is also one of my favorites in Buckhead since it isn't overlooking busy Peachtree Street.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner on the patio with frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fantastic dinner on the patio with friends. Food and Service were both outstanding. I would recommend to anyone !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On my favorite list - is neighborhood tr ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

On my favorite list - is neighborhood treasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.