Portobello's Grill - Bocage Village

4.4
110 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
  • Authentic
We are a classic Grill with Italian influence placing emphasis on high quality food, exceptional service, and great value. We are positioned between the heavily populated casual concepts and the fine dining white tablecloth concepts. Our "polished casual" concept provides our guest with great value for the high quality food and exceptional service they receive.

Our menu features a diverse selection of outstanding in-house prepared products. We are well known for our fire-grilled steaks, chops, chicken, and a selection of fresh grilled fish. Entree salads, made from scratch soups, burgers, sandwiches, and pasta round out our selection. We also have a wide selection of wine, cocktails, and beer. Don't forget about the happy hour! It's always a good time at Portobello's.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(225) 923-3222
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Jefferson Hwy.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 110 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We always enjoy our meal when we dine here. We average once a week when we are in town. They are very accommodating to us since my husband is vegan. They created a special pasta dish just for him. The manager Gabby always stops by our table when she is there. The staff has always been nice and professional. I do not have anything bad to say about this restaurant. Their carrot cake is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Bleu Cheese Chips were outstanding! Fabulous and friendly service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Service was pretty slow. Took a long time for drinks to come.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Date night with my wife. Excellence service. I had the white pizza (excellent lighter choice!) My wife had the Chicken Marsala. Portion size was generous. Wine and mushroom sauce on the chicken was very tasty, as was the spinach side dish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Awesome food great service. The Steak house salad rocks. I’ve never had a bad meal here. Best French fries in BR.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Service was poor. Not enough servers for the number of tables.

Food served inconsistently. Some salads, then others. Sides before entrees. Some entrees missing and came after others had finished eating.
No way to run a restaurant.
I still like it, though, and would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Excellent meal as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Food was delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Always consistent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

We had a small family meal and the staff was very friendly. The food was all great and the service was fast

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 10, 2017

Pork chops were delicious. Bread pudding was yummy. Our server Kara did a great job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

First time dining , excellent dining . Great tasting food and awesome drinks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

We wanted a quiet dinner with good food and good service and we got everything we asked for.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 13, 2017

Crab cakes and pizza and steak were all good as was the desert. Portions were all big enough to split and perfectly seasoned. Service was perfection! Bring a jacket because they keep it cool in there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2017

Awesome service! Love sitting in bar area. Nick the bartender was very nice and helpful with making a vegetarian dish for my husband and I. Gabby the manager was nice and made sure our vegetarian pasta dish was done just right. We eat here at least once a week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Austin was very nice and accommodating. We had a wonderful meal all around. Looks like they cleaned well and painted recently . Nice place for good consistent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

We enjoyed our food. The steak was cooked to perfection and the service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

Great food and service. Always very accommodating. A nice bar area where local sports events are featured on the numerous tvs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2017

Our waitress was awesome and the stuffed mushrooms were mouth watering!!!! 😍😍😍😍

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2017

My go-to place for a business lunch. Usually not too loud during the week so we can hear ourselves talk. Food very good -- crawfish bread was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome time. The corkage fee was only $10 which made the night even better. The chicken was grilled to perfection. The only thing I didn't care for was that bread cost 4 dollars as an appetizer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

First time here and loved it. Variety of menu to select from and everything we ordered was delicious. Will definitely be a repeat customer.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 11, 2017

The dish I ordered was the shrimp and crab alfredo. The crab patty was undercooked and still doughy in the middle. I ate a few bites before it became obvious that this dish was not well prepared. I requested for a manager to come to the table only to make this visit more regrettable. She proceeded to say "well next time you come it will be better" I did stop her and ask her how important are "first impressions" she never answered. I also told her I'm visiting this city and there is not a chance that I would return to a business serving me half cooked food. If I had ordered sushi that would have been just fine, however, this was not the case. I also made a comment to the waitress about why were we never offered any type of bread. She said oh it's .99cent as if that was too much and said sorry they walked away. My problem with this place that wants to be in the category with "Italian Cuisine" you should model your business like the category you want to be a part of. I have never in my life ate at an Italian restaurant and was not offered bread, in fact, I've never had to ask. This was an all around terrible place to eat. I guess this town should just stick to cajun cuisine because Italian style was crushed by Portobello's Grill. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2017

Great service. Loved the food. We sat by the window and the outdoor lighting was very cool. Great ambiance, great date night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Great meal. Food was excellent as usual. Comfortable gathering with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 2, 2016

great food great menu.. one of my favorite places to eat!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2016

The evening was very pleasant. Good vibe and excellent service. Food was tasty. A nice evening dinner for my out of town guest .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2016

As always, great food & service for a fair price. I had the crawfish eggplant stack I've had it before this time was no different Great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 3, 2016

Good dining experience but I think the website should mention online reservations are not applicable for Sunday brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 16, 2016

Good value

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 23, 2016

Server was AWFUL! Worst experience here ever! I won't be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 24, 2016

Quality food that is consistent.
There was also some flexibility for our vegetarian friend. Sides were prepared at her request.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2016

Great Red Fish dishes

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2016

About as average as average gets. Nothing was exceptional and the service was amateurish. Nothing to make me want to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 20, 2016

Good food, service was a bit slow and they were not quick to respond to multiple service and food items forgotten. It was not a busy night. Expected more, but was not bad

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2016

Had not been to Portobello's in well over a year because of a steady decline in the quality of the food. Went back a month ago for dinner with a friend who wanted to go there, and was quite surprised at how much the food had improved. My husband and I decided to try it again on our Thursday "date night". We both were impressed with the noticeable change in the quality and quantity of the food. The potatoes au gratin were real potatoes and done au gratin, and not the mush (obviously from a box and watery) with cheese on top that had become the potatoes au gratin. My husband's fish was done without being dry. My chicken breasts were tender and juicy. Also noted a manager walking around checking on things and he did stop by and ask us if everything was okay. Would recommend that anyone who had basically given up on Portobello's, as we had, give them another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my husband here for Valentine day.
The food atmosphere and service was exceptional.
We will Defintely go back soon. 👏🏽👏🏽👍🏽

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 7, 2016

I've ate here before the food is amazing. This time when I booked the reservations I got the normal confirmation but when I got there they where closed early. This was super bowl Sunday at 3:00. I'm not sure if this was a Resturant mess up or the sites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Although we had an Open Table reservation, we arrived on prom night and the place was packed with all reserve table guests. The staff made immediate arrangements to seat us with no delay though we would have expected to wait a little while due to the dinning room being at full capacity. Very well trained staff despite all being pretty young. Meal was out in expected time, all correct and good. I was impressed with the service under the circumstances.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3