About Portobello's Grill - Bocage Village

7622 Old Hammond Highway
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
View Larger Map

We are a classic Grill with Italian influence placing emphasis on high quality food, exceptional service, and great value. We are positioned between the heavily populated casual concepts and the fine dining white tablecloth concepts. Our "polished casual" concept provides our guest with great value for the high quality food and exceptional service they receive.

Our menu features a diverse selection of outstanding in-house prepared products. We are well known for our fire-grilled steaks, chops, chicken, and a selection of fresh grilled fish. Entree salads, made from scratch soups, burgers, sandwiches, and pasta round out our selection. We also have a wide selection of wine, cocktails, and beer. Don't forget about the happy hour! It's always a good time at Portobello's.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Lunch: Daily: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm; Friday - Saturday: 4:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Cross Street:
Jefferson Hwy.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(225) 923-3222

Website:
http://www.portobellos.net/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Portobello's Grill - Bocage Village Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
See All
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Romantic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Private Room (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The dish I ordered was the shrimp and crab alfredo. The crab patty was undercooked and still doughy in the middle. I ate a few bites before it became obvious that this dish was not well prepared. I requested for a manager to come to the table only to make this visit more regrettable. She proceeded to say "well next time you come it will be better" I did stop her and ask her how important are "first impressions" she never answered. I also told her I'm visiting this city and there is not a chance that I would return to a business serving me half cooked food. If I had ordered sushi that would have been just fine, however, this was not the case. I also made a comment to the waitress about why were we never offered any type of bread. She said oh it's .99cent as if that was too much and said sorry they walked away. My problem with this place that wants to be in the category with "Italian Cuisine" you should model your business like the category you want to be a part of. I have never in my life ate at an Italian restaurant and was not offered bread, in fact, I've never had to ask. This was an all around terrible place to eat. I guess this town should just stick to cajun cuisine because Italian style was crushed by Portobello's Grill. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great meal. Food was excellent as usual. Comfortable gathering with friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

great food great menu.. one of my favorite places to eat!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The evening was very pleasant. Good vibe and excellent service. Food was tasty. A nice evening dinner for my out of town guest .

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always, great food & service for a fair price. I had the crawfish eggplant stack I've had it before this time was no different Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Good dining experience but I think the website should mention online reservations are not applicable for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Server was AWFUL! Worst experience here ever! I won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Quality food that is consistent.

There was also some flexibility for our vegetarian friend. Sides were prepared at her request.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great Red Fish dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2016

About as average as average gets. Nothing was exceptional and the service was amateurish. Nothing to make me want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Good food, service was a bit slow and they were not quick to respond to multiple service and food items forgotten. It was not a busy night. Expected more, but was not bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Had not been to Portobello's in well over a year because of a steady decline in the quality of the food. Went back a month ago for dinner with a friend who wanted to go there, and was quite surprised at how much the food had improved. My husband and I decided to try it again on our Thursday "date night". We both were impressed with the noticeable change in the quality and quantity of the food. The potatoes au gratin were real potatoes and done au gratin, and not the mush (obviously from a box and watery) with cheese on top that had become the potatoes au gratin. My husband's fish was done without being dry. My chicken breasts were tender and juicy. Also noted a manager walking around checking on things and he did stop by and ask us if everything was okay. Would recommend that anyone who had basically given up on Portobello's, as we had, give them another try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my husband here for Valentine day.

The food atmosphere and service was exceptional.

We will Defintely go back soon. 👏🏽👏🏽👍🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 7, 2016

I've ate here before the food is amazing. This time when I booked the reservations I got the normal confirmation but when I got there they where closed early. This was super bowl Sunday at 3:00. I'm not sure if this was a Resturant mess up or the sites.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Although we had an Open Table reservation, we arrived on prom night and the place was packed with all reserve table guests. The staff made immediate arrangements to seat us with no delay though we would have expected to wait a little while due to the dinning room being at full capacity. Very well trained staff despite all being pretty young. Meal was out in expected time, all correct and good. I was impressed with the service under the circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 24, 2016

We found out about Potobello's by looking at various menus for Restaurant Week. We had never heard of it or noticed it, since we don't frequent Bocage.

We both enjoyed all but two items, those being the soup and the first green beans, which were the vegetable of the day that came with one of the entrees. The green beans were not well-seasoned and not cooked long enough to our liking. The soup, although it had good flavor, was very watered down, rather than being hearty and thick.

However, everything else was mouth-watering! We ordered the cedar roasted salmon which came with the green beans and sweet potato fries, and the twin filets merlot served with au gratin potatoes and creamed spinach. The spinach is the best I've ever had! Our first course was the gumbo soup and sensation salad. Desserts were the tiramisu and carrot cake. Since it was Restaurant Week, the price of $25 each was a bargain in our opinion.

I would return and order everything but the green beans, although there are lots of other dishes on their regular menu that looked like food we would enjoy, so the decision is difficult!

Our waitress, Brogan, was nice and we were seated in a booth immediately upon our arrival. Thanks for a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food was outstanding and of course w/it being restaurant week, it was a great deal. However, we do not like booths and unfortunately this restaurant was mostly booth tables so we were told the only way we could get a table was to eat in the bar. We had one girl take our drink order then a guy come bring us menus and after a while, we had to go ask someone to take our order so the service was a little off - not sure we ever knew who our actual waiter or waitress was but overall with the food and the deal we got for Restaurant week, we still enjoyed it immensely and will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 9, 2016

I have brunch here often because it's convenient. However, this time my server and his trainee were a little forgetful. They made no major blunders, but I would prefer that servers write orders down if they cannot remember everything.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 19, 2015

Really enjoyed the food. Excellent Attentive Service from multiple staff members.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 29, 2015

Reservations on a night LSU football in town. Food excellent. Service excellent. Delightful evening for four.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2015

Great food great service and a quiet corner to conduct our business.

We had a business luncheon with 5 participants. Everyone loved the venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2015

Food is always good. Service was a bit slow for the number of folks in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2015

We enjoyed the food. The waiter was very pleasent. We really liked the food. My friend's birthday dinner for two made his night grand.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2015

I don't know her name but our server gets the top award possible from me. She was professional, friendly and she made us smile. Food was really good as well

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 18, 2015

I called to let the hostess know that we would be arriving about 5 minutes past reservation time. They were very accomadating and polite. The server was very attentive as well. The food was outstanding. Our party of 6 had an excellent Brunch experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2015

I had an incredible time. The waitress was sweet and we had no problem with the food. The dish was yummy, I fell in love with their fries! They will be seeing me again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 18, 2015

Food was very good however the service was somewhat slow. Atmosphere was very nice. Not enough waiters to accomodate the people in the restaurant!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2015

Arranged a dinner for eight to celebrate my Sons birthday. This was his choice. Six PM reservation on a Sunday night. Arrived on time and was promptly seated. Waitress was quick to bring water, order drinks and get our appetizer order. Ordered drinks and two bottles of wine. All delivered in a timely manner. Immediately ordered entrees and salads. Just the right amount of time between appetizers and salads.

The time between salads and entrees was way too long. They did finally arrive. All eight arrived together and were hot. Problem was all the sides did not arrive until we were almost finished. In fact one order arrived after the check.

I am not sure what happened between salads and entrees but something changed in the service.

Now let me add, all the food that was served was great. And I left the young lady over a 20 percent tip. I could only believe that at some point she became overloaded.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2015

I mostly go here for lunch & enjoy it, but when out of town friends wanted someplace close to their hotel that wasn't too expensive, we chose Portobello's for dinner. We started with ciabatta & seasoned olive oil- not too heavy, then the wife had jag salad and crab cakes, I had the eggplant stack with crawfish. Our frinds both went with pasta dishes, too and everyone was happy & full when we left!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 27, 2015

Made a reservation for birthday brunch and the had the table labeled so my guest could find it since I was running late.

Called a week before to add an additional person and they were very accommodating to make sure it all would work out.

The service was great!! we sat in the bar area and the bartender was able to be attentive to us and the other patrons.

Had a lunch "Mexican" salad which was great and just the right portion. Everyone enjoyed the food and the popular chicken n waffuls looked scrumptious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 21, 2015

my husband and family love this place! Before we had our son we had date nights here. now we bring our son our do take out. The staff and food really make this place. they go above and beyond to make you happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 8, 2015

The restaurant wasn't close to crowded or full. My part of two were walked across an open room and seated by the windows. Rather, seated by the window washers. It was disconcerting for longer than half the time we were there and distracted from an otherwise satisfactory experience. My companion's pork chop was grilled to perfection. She couldn't stop talking about how great it was. I had a salad, which is pretty much all I eat at Portobello's and it was fine. Our appetizer of toasted ravioli tasted almost fluffy, rather than crunchy. It was texturally strange, but they tasted okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 15, 2015

They accomodated my reservation for my party of 16 with ease. They even allowed me to make changes to the tables as I saw fit. The party of 16 included 2 picky children and some picky adults and by the end of the dinner, all plates were empty. Very good food and overall good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 24, 2015

I have always loved this Portobellos & now I have more friends who came with me for their first time & I'm sure they will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2015

Last two or three times , the restaurant was way too warm, Need reliable A/C , will not return in Summer unless changes are made.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 13, 2015

I had seen this restaurant many times as i traveled up and down these streets for years but, i never thought to stop. Finally this year My husband and I ended up here to celebrate Valentines Day the night before because we could not find another restaurant we had planned to visit. I'm so glad we couldn't find the first place because my first visit here was truly memorable. I love the whole setup and especially the artwork, not to mention the wait staff. They are extremely professional and that is very rare in some places. The food should not be called food, it should be called Heaven on a plate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2015

The staff and service were great however it was not what I expected. I selected this restaurant based upon the menu and internet photography. When we arrived the bar was smaller than I envisioned with a much older crowd. The people were very nice but for the romantic feel I thought we would get it didn't fit. Once we were seated it became even more unexpected. We were seated in a black faux leather booth next to an incredibly loud group. It was really nice that the staff knew it was our anniversary, placed candles on the table, and even served us a special dessert at the end. But overall my expectation of a classy romantic dinner was not met. The food was ok but overpriced and the noise level was so distracting we could only hold a conversation about how loud it was. I again want to stress that the service and staff were very nice this restaurant just was not what I was. But I may give it another shot perhaps for bunch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2015

The food was great, but they ran out of potatoes and the pork osso bucco. Service was a little slow. Overall, it was a good experience. Great food, but bring your patience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2015

The food presentation was off key. The chef(s) should have presented all of our food in a clean and visual to the eye way. It was too messy. They were rushed or they need to revamp their way of food preventions.

The wine service was excellent. Very professional and on point. Our server did an excellent job with refilling our wines. It was always full and no one with the party of 6 had to ask for more.

It was a bit of a shocker that they were out of potatoes. I have heard so much of them and they were out. It was early at night and they were out.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We got a last minute reservation online on valentines day. When we got there we were seated instantly. It was very nice with dim set lighting. The food came out and everything was delish

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2015

The food could not have been better and was excellent in a very nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We had an early Dinner reservation for Valentine's Day this year. When we arrived at Portobello's Grill we were greeted by smiling faces and lead immediately to our table. Within moments, the wait staff was busily getting our beverage choices and appetizer order. Everything arrived, it seemed, at exactly the right moment; empty plates were removed quickly and quietly. Never did we feel rushed to complete our meal. Everyone who served us did so with enthusiasm and a smile. I would most certainly recommend Portobello's Grill in the Bocage area near Towne Center for a wonderful evening out!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Waiter was awesome and friendly and food was amazing! My husband's lasagne was my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2015

The food is always great. From the Fromaggi Fritte, to the Pork Chops, to the Osso Bucco, to any of the pasta.. All amazing. Also has a great brunch on weekends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2015

Over the last year the portions, even the size of the bread has decreased and the prices went up. We had not been in a while so decided to give them another try. This last visit I ordered a salad and there was a woody stem in it. The server tried to tell me it was mixed greens and just a tough piece of lettuce! I understand that sometimes this happens but that coupled with the attitude of the staff was enough to have this be our last visit. The kitchen manager came to the table and actually told me I should be glad it was not something worse! They eventually took it off the bill but only as I persisted that it was not something that should be in a salad. There are many other excellent choices in Baton Rouge. Sorry, we gave you several chances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2014

Our food was very good and the service was outstanding. We have been to restaurant before and had very good food, but their service has really kicked it up a notch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 4, 2014

Our waiter took a long time getting to us. He kept forgetting things we asked for. When our food finally arrived, it was not as much as it use to be. They did not put much sauce on my boyfriend's plate. We always eat there; And we get the same thing every time. So we know how much sauce they normally have on the plate. It took a while for our waiter to come back, so we could tell him about the sauce. The problem was corrected, but, it took the fun out of dining, having to deal with that. Our waiter never came back to check on us to see if we needed more refills. The place was not that busy. 😞. The food was still good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2014

I took my two children here for special big kids dinner on a Tuesday which is the restaurant's kids night. We were greeted by two young guys who immediately said hi to my kids and made them feel really special. I couldn't get over how much attention my kids received. Our waitress helped with two suggestions and both were great. The entire evening was lovely with great food and exceptional service from everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.