About Porto Terra

Hilton Portland
830 SW 6th Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Come visit us for an inviting experience featuring regional Italian cuisine with a Northwest flair. You will enjoy a vast wine selection from the Northwest and Italy. Our entire staff looks forward to making your meal a memorable one.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 12pm, Lunch: All Days: 11:00am - 5pm Dinner: All Days: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Taylor St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 944-1090

Website:
http://www.portoterra.com/

Parking Details:
On SW Taylor Street, between 5th & 6th Avenues, inside the Hilton Executive.

Public Transit:
Located a half block from Pioneer Square and the MAX.

Executive Chef:
Marissa Burback

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

We have a semi-private area that can be reserved. Table for 6 in our private back room or seat up to 20 guests if you have a larger party. Great private space for cocktail parties with standing room for up to 30 people, rehearsal dinners or simply celebrating special occasions - or buy out for 100.

Porto Terra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (11)
great for lunch (10)
special occasion (10)
See All
good for groups (8)
romantic (6)
great for brunch (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the Lasagna my wife the chicken ma ...

Dined 5 days ago

I had the Lasagna my wife the chicken marsala. Both dishes were delicious!!! Service was excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Hidden gem

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Usually hotel food is terrible but Porto Terra the exception. We live in Portland and eat there on a regular basis...their pasta dishes can compete with any stand alone Italian restaurant!

food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Overall very good

Dined on May 9, 2016

Just need to little more improve staffs manner to customers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service3

Feels like you're eating in a hotel lobb ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Feels like you're eating in a hotel lobby. Breakfast buffet was pretty good though.

food4
ambience3
service4

Good food. Kids under 5 free in buffet.

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Good food. Kids under 5 free in buffet.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice meal

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had the crab tots to start - those were tasty. We also had drinks, but to be honest they seemed a little watered down. The entrees were pretty good, but a little on the spendy side.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

NOT SO HAPPY

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to this restaurant before a concert at the Schnitzer. There was one wait person for a restaurant 90% full. Very busy. She was very curt when we mentioned we wanted to pace ourselves as we allowed plenty of time to enjoy a nice leisurely dinner. Then, of course, I main entrée was very late and we had to rush to make the concert. Upon giving us the check, she said, next time we'll do it my way! Service terrible and very unfriendly. Will never go back. Friends has warned us and they were right.

food5
ambience4
service4

Never knew this spot was in a big hotel. ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Never knew this spot was in a big hotel. Served the greatest pasta I can recall having, cooked perfect. Portioned just enough. Depth of flavor subtle to enjoy the nuttiness of the pasta and the dice and cheese stood on their own. Add a touch of cracked black pepper and a few shaves of parmigiana. Finite. Delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great. Food service was a littl ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Food was great. Food service was a little slow however we were with friends so it wasn't a big deal that our meal lasted longer. Staff was super friendly and attentive!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Pasta bolognese particularly good

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Pasta bolognese particularly good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

March $29 dining

Dined on March 14, 2016

Tiramisu was wonderful Great service Nice atmosphere in Hotel.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

I love this restaurant. The staff is AMAZING. The food is superb and menu frequently changes. I've never been disappointed in what I ordered. It is a relaxing restaurant that always makes me feel pampered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. The food was delicious. Had a great Valentine's dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A very pleasant surprise

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had tickets for a show at the Schnitz Saturday night so I looked for a restaurant close by. We had not eaten at Porto Terra before and were very pleasantly surprised with both the service and our meals. The wait staff was friendly and eager to answer our questions. Our appetizer, bruschetta, dinner salad and our entrees, Pollo Marsala and Pasta Bolognese were well prepared and absolutely delicious. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first time at Porto Terra, and we'll certainly go again. The service was attentive but not pushy, and the food was excellent! We had a wonderful time!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful meal!

Dined on February 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Terrfic experience! Staff was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Pasta Bolognese was outstanding. Wine flight went very well with the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Porto Terra - Basic Menu

Dined on January 30, 2016

We choose the Porto Terra because of the extensive online menu. We were really looking forward to the meal. We arrive and the restaurant was very empty. Only one traveler and a couple. They hand us a very basic menu that is approximately 1/8 the size of the online menu. The waitress said the online menu is very old. Totally disappointed with the miss-representation, we decided to leave.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Waste of money

Dined on January 23, 2016

Cool looking place inside. Menu, not so great. Small dinner menu with hotel prices but not so special food. Noodles in my food were very undercooked and ended up getting a different kind of food. $19 for a tiny piece of lasagna was ridiculous. And it wasn't even that great. It somehow had less flavor than stouffers. But the best part? $3 gelato. Won't be going back.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A Hotel Restaurant

Dined on January 17, 2016

Decent food. Generous portions. Big markup on wines. Service acceptable. Don't know if it was standard, but the host seemed to be completely over his head... as a result, the restaurant reported to OpenTable that we were no shows. Fortunately, OpenTable was able to set the record straight.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great value

Dined on January 17, 2016

We selected the restaurant for its proximity to the Schnitz and because it was a 1,000 point table. I'd been there for lunch a few times and know the food and service to be very good. The symphony special was a good combination, and the salmon topped with crab meat and shrimp over risotto was wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memorable Evening

Dined on January 8, 2016

Porto Terra is one of those places you will want to return to time and time again. Their bar area is open, but also intimate and warm, the service excellent and the drinks and snacks delicious. My mother wanted a champagne cocktail, and the server suggested something called April in Paris, which was the best champagne cocktail she had ever tasted, and I agree! My dad had a martini that he said was smooth and delicious. Then we were moved to the dining area for dinner and had the best waitress taking care of us, who became almost a family member by the time we left! We are Italian, and rather discerning about restaurant Italian food, but what we had here revealed that the chef knows what he is doing. My mother, especially critical, said that both the lasagna and the Tiramasu for dessert were as good as anything she had in Italy. My dish made with butternut squash was yummy, and my sister oohed and ahhed over her pasta dish (sorry I can't remember the name of it!). My husband enjoyed his chicken dish, but my father did say his steak was not as tender as he likes, so that was the only negative. The wine list was great and what we ordered was wonderful (a little expensive by the glass, however). Best of all was our server, who was engaging, attentive, and a joy to talk and laugh with. If you want a casual yet also higher end and fun place to spend an evening, this is an excellent choice!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Lunch at Porta Terra

Dined on January 6, 2016

I've always had a good experience at Porta Terra, until this last time. Service was slow even though the restaurant was empty. We didn't get water, even though diners at other tables did. The pizza was out standing, but the chocolate cake was dry. The server had recommended it as being incredibly moist. Disappointing.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service, very small portions.

Dined on January 1, 2016

The hostess was nice & we were seated promptly. Our server was wonderful & very friendly. The food all came out in a very prompt & exactly how we ordered it. We were seated in the north end of the restaurant, where no one else was. It was quite cold, as there was an exit door about 20 feet from our table. And it was used often by employees for smoke breaks. When the food arrived we were rather stunned at how small the portions were, considering the cost of the meal. The same was to be said about the other two courses. I want to make it clear, the service was GREAT! But the value for the portion size was disappointing.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Festive atmosphere but mediocre quality & service

Dined on December 26, 2015

Came here for Christmas dinner with my daughter. They had a lovely jazz trio playing, and the place looked really lovely and lit up for Christmas. However, overall this was very disappointing, One of the appetizers (coconut shrimp) and one of the desserts (bread pudding) were tasty. But everything else was pretty poor. The salad was basically undressed. The prime rib was cool and fatty. Mashed potatoes were hard. The cheesecake tasted as if it has been lifted straight from a freezer box. And the service was extremely slow. It took us two hours to get through our dinner - people seated at the same time as us finished at least 30 minutes sooner. I was never offered a refresh of my drink and did not get the glass of champagne that was promised with the meal. Overall a huge disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While at the Hilton Executive Tower

Dined on December 23, 2015

This was our third time to have lunch at Porto Terra and we look forward to the next time.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service5

Thanksgiving dinner was not good at all.

Dined on November 27, 2015

They have 3 options for Thanksgiving dinner but one was sold out. Gravy was too salty. My friend's pumpkin dish was awful. Pumpkin was too hard and was not eatable. We should have gone to the other place.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal.

Dined on October 31, 2015

We had a wonderful meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and conversation

Dined on October 15, 2015

Great food, attentive servers, nice and quiet to allow for good conversation with your guests - overall the perfect place to meet and eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dinner

vip
Dined on September 28, 2015

We had a great dinner here. Gustavo was knowledgeable and fun. I will certainly go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
Dined on September 21, 2015

Excellent service. Our server was there when needed but not hovering. Just right.

food2
ambience1
service3

Just a little nicer than conventional hall buffett

vip
Dined on September 9, 2015

There are better options for food in Portland. This was easy so we thought it would be worth eating there, but for the cost, it is not worth the money.

food5
ambience4
service4

Nice after work option

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

Great Service by all-- bartender was friendly and helpful, our server and her assistance were super fun and entertaining. It was not busy, so it was very quiet and relaxing.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service!

Dined on July 5, 2015

Our waiters were fantastic. Serenaded my grandmother for her 96th birthday and sweetly chatted with her all evening. She had a GREAT time. I haven't been here in several years. Food used to be marginal and unremarkable. Dinner tonight was great! Presentation was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5

Location, location

Dined on June 26, 2015

Convenient location to the MAX and Pioneer Square. Welcoming staff. Food well prepared and presented.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good location

Dined on June 25, 2015

Easy access. Warm greeting. Attentive service. Modest, but interesting menu. Reasonable serving size. entree well presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A pleasure to return again and again

vip
Dined on June 15, 2015

What's not to like? The food is great, the service attentive and the staff truly kind and likable! It's quiet, comfortable and beautiful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a pleasure 2 enjoy this great eatery again

vip
Dined on June 14, 2015

Whenever in Portland I will make sure 2 enjoy and treasure not only the well prepared and beautifully plated meals. The service elevates each meal coming away satisfied and delighted!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5

Went For The Balls

vip
Dined on June 9, 2015

Been craving Risooto Balls but so hard to find!!! Chef did a fabulous job on these...didnt see any other Italian in downtown PDX that made them. They were scrumptous! The Pasta is scratch and they had some nice dishes - service was good and they were not expensive (which was great!)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Splended birthday

Dined on June 1, 2015

Had a lovely time celebrating my birthday at Porto Terra. The service and food were excellent. Everyone was very welcoming, which made my day that more special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

Enjoyed the dinner and excellent service.

Dined on May 20, 2015

We went prior to a symphony event. It's an easy walk to the Arlene Schnitzer Theater. It wasn't crowded at all. The service was friendly and efficient.. The food was enjoyed by all of us...we all ordered something different. It did take a long time to get our meals , so leave plenty of time.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.