About Porto Terra

Hilton Portland
830 SW 6th Avenue
Portland, OR 97204
View Larger Map

Come visit us for an inviting experience featuring regional Italian cuisine with a Northwest flair. You will enjoy a vast wine selection from the Northwest and Italy. Our entire staff looks forward to making your meal a memorable one.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am, Saturday - Sunday: 6:30am - 12pm, Lunch: All Days: 11:00am - 5pm Dinner: All Days: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Taylor St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 944-1090

Website:
http://www.portoterra.com/

Parking Details:
On SW Taylor Street, between 5th & 6th Avenues, inside the Hilton Executive.

Public Transit:
Located a half block from Pioneer Square and the MAX.

Executive Chef:
Marissa Burback

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Private Dining

We have a semi-private area that can be reserved. Table for 6 in our private back room or seat up to 20 guests if you have a larger party. Great private space for cocktail parties with standing room for up to 30 people, rehearsal dinners or simply celebrating special occasions - or buy out for 100.

Porto Terra Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The appetizer calamari was late. Came af ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The appetizer calamari was late. Came after the main meal. Then when we got it, it was soggy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Very accommodating to my food allergy, w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very accommodating to my food allergy, which I always appreciate. My friend and I both thought our food was delicious and found the server to be helpful and friendly.

It was mid-summer and very cold in the restaurant. If you're sensitive to cold, definitely bring a sweater.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was reasonably good, I have very high expectations when I visit a restaurant like Porto Terra. I would most likely not return to this restaurant in the future even though it has been a favorite over the years. The hostess sat a young woman next to my guest and I with a newborn and a toddler. The children were noisy an ill behaved and the woman spent all her time on her cell phone and at one point had it on speaker. Totally inappropriate and the restaurant staff failed to do anything about it.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The kitchen and wait staff exceptionally ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The kitchen and wait staff exceptionally accommodating. They prepared dish for us that no longer on menu and modified dish accommodate preferences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff went over and above to make ou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The staff went over and above to make our anniversary very special for us. The food was fabulous. Each dish was better than the previous one. We split a capresse appetizer which included roasted veggies. Next we had the best pasta bolognese. It was better than the bolognese we ate in Italy. We didn't think we could stop eating the bolognese when the chicken entree arrived. I finally tried the chicken. The chicken was even better. Then came the desserts. Everything was made from scratch, so fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good pasta and sauces. First time ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good pasta and sauces. First time I ever had gnocchi and liked it - very light and went well with the chicken.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We arrived on time at the restaurant and ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We arrived on time at the restaurant and - together with another couple - were left waiting some minutes. Finally, we were shown to a good table and were looking forward to a nice evening (despite having mentioned the open table reservation and repeated my name twice, the next day open table contacted us requiring a reason for not honoring the reservation; so I had to spend time writing an answer and providing supporting information to vouch our attendance - very awkward!).

Service continued to be literally invisible, several time I needed the help of the barman to get a refill.

Food was not Italian at all! A bruschetta never has cheese on it and a ragu bolognese (properly served with tagliatelle and not spaghetti) never has an far east taste. Nobody has a problem when a chef wants to impose his personal style, but then please make a note of this, e.g. "my bolognese/house style/façon du Chef etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was unremarkable to bad. Service w ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was unremarkable to bad. Service was good with an attentive server. But the place only had three tables seated at dinner. Not a place we will go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

I had the Lasagna my wife the chicken ma ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had the Lasagna my wife the chicken marsala. Both dishes were delicious!!! Service was excellent!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Hidden gem

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Usually hotel food is terrible but Porto Terra the exception. We live in Portland and eat there on a regular basis...their pasta dishes can compete with any stand alone Italian restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Overall very good

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Just need to little more improve staffs manner to customers.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Feels like you're eating in a hotel lobb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Feels like you're eating in a hotel lobby. Breakfast buffet was pretty good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Good food. Kids under 5 free in buffet.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Good food. Kids under 5 free in buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Nice meal

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had the crab tots to start - those were tasty. We also had drinks, but to be honest they seemed a little watered down. The entrees were pretty good, but a little on the spendy side.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

NOT SO HAPPY

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Went to this restaurant before a concert at the Schnitzer. There was one wait person for a restaurant 90% full. Very busy. She was very curt when we mentioned we wanted to pace ourselves as we allowed plenty of time to enjoy a nice leisurely dinner. Then, of course, I main entrée was very late and we had to rush to make the concert. Upon giving us the check, she said, next time we'll do it my way! Service terrible and very unfriendly. Will never go back. Friends has warned us and they were right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Never knew this spot was in a big hotel. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Never knew this spot was in a big hotel. Served the greatest pasta I can recall having, cooked perfect. Portioned just enough. Depth of flavor subtle to enjoy the nuttiness of the pasta and the dice and cheese stood on their own. Add a touch of cracked black pepper and a few shaves of parmigiana. Finite. Delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was great. Food service was a littl ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Food was great. Food service was a little slow however we were with friends so it wasn't a big deal that our meal lasted longer. Staff was super friendly and attentive!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pasta bolognese particularly good

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Pasta bolognese particularly good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

March $29 dining

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Tiramisu was wonderful

Great service

Nice atmosphere in Hotel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

I love this restaurant. The staff is AMAZING. The food is superb and menu frequently changes. I've never been disappointed in what I ordered. It is a relaxing restaurant that always makes me feel pampered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Our waiter was amazing. The food was delicious. Had a great Valentine's dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant surprise

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had tickets for a show at the Schnitz Saturday night so I looked for a restaurant close by. We had not eaten at Porto Terra before and were very pleasantly surprised with both the service and our meals. The wait staff was friendly and eager to answer our questions. Our appetizer, bruschetta, dinner salad and our entrees, Pollo Marsala and Pasta Bolognese were well prepared and absolutely delicious. We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent Food

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our first time at Porto Terra, and we'll certainly go again. The service was attentive but not pushy, and the food was excellent! We had a wonderful time!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Excellent food and service. Terrfic experience! Staff was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Pasta Bolognese was outstanding. Wine flight went very well with the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Porto Terra - Basic Menu

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

We choose the Porto Terra because of the extensive online menu. We were really looking forward to the meal. We arrive and the restaurant was very empty. Only one traveler and a couple. They hand us a very basic menu that is approximately 1/8 the size of the online menu. The waitress said the online menu is very old. Totally disappointed with the miss-representation, we decided to leave.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Waste of money

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Cool looking place inside. Menu, not so great. Small dinner menu with hotel prices but not so special food. Noodles in my food were very undercooked and ended up getting a different kind of food. $19 for a tiny piece of lasagna was ridiculous. And it wasn't even that great. It somehow had less flavor than stouffers. But the best part? $3 gelato. Won't be going back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

A Hotel Restaurant

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Decent food. Generous portions. Big markup on wines. Service acceptable. Don't know if it was standard, but the host seemed to be completely over his head... as a result, the restaurant reported to OpenTable that we were no shows. Fortunately, OpenTable was able to set the record straight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great value

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We selected the restaurant for its proximity to the Schnitz and because it was a 1,000 point table. I'd been there for lunch a few times and know the food and service to be very good. The symphony special was a good combination, and the salmon topped with crab meat and shrimp over risotto was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Memorable Evening

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Porto Terra is one of those places you will want to return to time and time again. Their bar area is open, but also intimate and warm, the service excellent and the drinks and snacks delicious. My mother wanted a champagne cocktail, and the server suggested something called April in Paris, which was the best champagne cocktail she had ever tasted, and I agree! My dad had a martini that he said was smooth and delicious. Then we were moved to the dining area for dinner and had the best waitress taking care of us, who became almost a family member by the time we left! We are Italian, and rather discerning about restaurant Italian food, but what we had here revealed that the chef knows what he is doing. My mother, especially critical, said that both the lasagna and the Tiramasu for dessert were as good as anything she had in Italy. My dish made with butternut squash was yummy, and my sister oohed and ahhed over her pasta dish (sorry I can't remember the name of it!). My husband enjoyed his chicken dish, but my father did say his steak was not as tender as he likes, so that was the only negative. The wine list was great and what we ordered was wonderful (a little expensive by the glass, however). Best of all was our server, who was engaging, attentive, and a joy to talk and laugh with. If you want a casual yet also higher end and fun place to spend an evening, this is an excellent choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Porta Terra

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

I've always had a good experience at Porta Terra, until this last time. Service was slow even though the restaurant was empty. We didn't get water, even though diners at other tables did. The pizza was out standing, but the chocolate cake was dry. The server had recommended it as being incredibly moist. Disappointing.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Great service, very small portions.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The hostess was nice & we were seated promptly. Our server was wonderful & very friendly. The food all came out in a very prompt & exactly how we ordered it.

We were seated in the north end of the restaurant, where no one else was. It was quite cold, as there was an exit door about 20 feet from our table. And it was used often by employees for smoke breaks. When the food arrived we were rather stunned at how small the portions were, considering the cost of the meal. The same was to be said about the other two courses.

I want to make it clear, the service was GREAT! But the value for the portion size was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Festive atmosphere but mediocre quality & service

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Came here for Christmas dinner with my daughter. They had a lovely jazz trio playing, and the place looked really lovely and lit up for Christmas. However, overall this was very disappointing, One of the appetizers (coconut shrimp) and one of the desserts (bread pudding) were tasty. But everything else was pretty poor. The salad was basically undressed. The prime rib was cool and fatty. Mashed potatoes were hard. The cheesecake tasted as if it has been lifted straight from a freezer box. And the service was extremely slow. It took us two hours to get through our dinner - people seated at the same time as us finished at least 30 minutes sooner. I was never offered a refresh of my drink and did not get the glass of champagne that was promised with the meal. Overall a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

While at the Hilton Executive Tower

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

This was our third time to have lunch at Porto Terra and we look forward to the next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was not good at all.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

They have 3 options for Thanksgiving dinner but one was sold out. Gravy was too salty. My friend's pumpkin dish was awful. Pumpkin was too hard and was not eatable.

We should have gone to the other place.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful meal.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We had a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and conversation

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

Great food, attentive servers, nice and quiet to allow for good conversation with your guests - overall the perfect place to meet and eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 28, 2015

We had a great dinner here. Gustavo was knowledgeable and fun. I will certainly go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 21, 2015

Excellent service. Our server was there when needed but not hovering. Just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a little nicer than conventional hall buffett

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2015

There are better options for food in Portland.

This was easy so we thought it would be worth eating there, but for the cost, it is not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Nice after work option

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

Great Service by all-- bartender was friendly and helpful, our server and her assistance were super fun and entertaining. It was not busy, so it was very quiet and relaxing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.