About Porticello Restaurant

454 Turnpike Street
South Easton, MA 02375
View Larger Map

At Porticello Restaurant located in South Easton, MA, the quality of our service is only surpassed by the excellence of our food. We have been serving the most exquisite Italian cuisine and we think it's time that you experience it for yourself. As you enter Porticello Restaurant let yourself be whisked away by sights, sounds, and aromas… but that is just the beginning. Specializing in all the finest Italian entrees from savory pasta to fresh salads we guarantee one visit will keep you coming again and again. Stop by and see for yourself what makes us unique!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 230-0220

Website:
http://www.porticellorestaurant.com/ma/southeaston/

Porticello Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Romantic (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Their was insufficient wait staff. That said those present worked very hard.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a 7:45 reservation and didn't get seated till close to 9pm the food came out around 10 and it wasn't at all good. The portions were skimpy. I think they want people to stay at the bar than rather to seat them to eat? I wouldn't go back horrible experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Had a 7:30 reservation. From the point we walked in you could tell the Host Staff being lead by a manager was overwhelmed. At check in we were told that there were two tables ahead of us. At 7:35 I asked how long they thought it would be so my wife and I could decide if we were going to try and deal with the busy bar. I was first met with "it's only been 5 minutes." By the manager. I told him I was not upset just trying to understand. He informed me that he had many tables about to leave and it would only be about five minutes. 20 minutes later 5 tables had been sat and the foyer had not emptied out at all. We finally left with no end of our wait in sight more than 30 minutes after our reservation. Mind you 30 minutes is not long. It is the fact that we felt they were hiding the length of time. Do not tell someone 5 minutes and only 2 tables are ahead of you when clearly it was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had reservations for 7:15 and we arrived at 7 and were told they were running late. We were not seated until approximately 7:50. We were given an inattentive waitress. She made us wait for drinks and appetizers. I pointedly asked about the bolognese whether it was too creamy. The waitress said it wasn't. And I asked no cheese on top. I was given a plate of very creamy bolognese with a mound of added cheese in top. She proceeded to try to scrape off the cheese at my table. I looked at her and handed her the plate and told her I would take the veal. It came to the table pretty quickly. When she asked about dessert I said I did want it but she never brought the menu nor did she ask if we wanted coffee. She presented us with the bill and walked away. I was very dissatisfied with the service and doubt I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Held my husband's surprise birthday dinner for 22 guests at Porticello's and it went off without a hitch! Mario made sure all my plans went smoothly. Pollyanna & Meghan were AMAZING servers. They were so helpful setting up the room, making sure all our friends were taken care of and service went at a perfect pace. They couldn't have been sweeter.

Food was delicious, everyone complimented how great their dinner was.

Mike & Fred were awesome bartenders as usual. Fred makes my favorite Kettle One Pomegranate Cosmo! Everyone had an excellent time & literally every detail went exactly as I planned it. Couldn't be happier.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Live Sports, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Portions have gotten smaller since I was last there. Good place but service has also changed for the less. It's a ok place but definitely lost its premier nice restaurant to an average place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was great but took a long time to get seated and served because of Valentine's Day crowd. Would definitely come back on a non-holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner so it was a very crowded pla

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was a bit slow. However, it was Valentine's Day evening in the place was jammin. Great food as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food here is absolutely fantastic! No need to go to the North End of Boston; it's just as good here. There's a $49.95 dinner for 2 special (M-Th w/ bottle of wine) that doesn't appear on their website; the server told us about it. We went on Valentine's Day; made reservations and were seated immediately.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent service, quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

horrible Valentine's date night. Checked in at 7:30 was told 10 minutes, 30 min later I had to ask and was told 10 more? Our waitress was an airhead and extremely slow. My husband ordered the BEST PRIME RIB AROUND???? Omg all fat and severely over cooked. I ordered the surf and turf. My filet was to be medium it was served to me RARE. took back and again RARE, then idiot waitress offered to bring it back to be recooked for the 3rd time?? Who recooks a filet 3 times, wtf??? Common sense u don't offer that. Kicker I did not get my filet only a very small seafood portion so the plate was $36 they credited me for the filet only stating I did try the GROSS COLD SEAFOOD WHATEVER YOU CALL IT. Disgusting. You put a value on 1/2 assed dinner and this was done by the useless owner who was more obsessed with snoozing his friends yet letting his staff go south providing horrible service and horrible food. The owner needs to help his staff while they are sinking yet like the titanic the boat went down with WHO??? This night and $120 was a BUST AND RUINED MY VALENTINES DINNER. For what a lazy owner and overwhelmed staff. And trust me we were not the only party with concerns and disappointments A couple also booked a 7:30 table for 2 through this site, not a positive word?????? Sad it had potential just get the owner to realize just bc u own a place doesn't mean u just sit there???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I made a last minute reservation here because it was available on Open Table last minute on a Friday. But I've always heard good things and was glad it was available. Upon arrival we waited a few minutes which was understandable for a busy Friday night. Overall, the service left me feeling slightly dismissed and ignored. Once sat, we waited 10+ minutes for someone to come by, but we had not been given any wine/drink menus. We asked for them, and the waitress got the drink menu only. We really wanted wine, so the we asked for the wine menu. Then we got it with a reply "is anyone doing their job around here?". Ten minutes later, "so did you make any decisions?" We ordered a bottle of wine, which took her by surprise, I think. Then, we ordered our meals. The wait for food was reasonable, and everything was delicious, but I noticed from then on, compared to the people around us, we were ignored. No one offered pepper or cheese or anything else, and no one checked in until the bill came. I only noticed this because each table around us was getting checked in with fairly often. It was more odd than anything else, and I figured a nice restaurant like this would take pride in their service. As you can tell, what stuck with me was the service, not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have always loved Porticello's. It is a step above the pubby atmosphere of many other restaurants in the area. We had shied away from going there many times because of the lack of and tightness of their parking, but now that we could park next door we will frequent this eating establishment more!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Busy Saturday night. Food was delicious but warm. Our waitress was too busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Made reservations, made to wait while 2 other tables were seated ahead of us (arrived after us). Manager/Owner was rude. He stopped by most other tables to check on things and never came by. Food was very good, although service quite slow. Offered more bread that never came. Will not return, plenty of other good places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Very good service. Food was good and what was expected. Fish a bit overdone, but ok. Let us hang for a long time with our friends. Good local place

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I chose to take my friends out to celebrate my husband's birthday. Having to get a babysitter I chose wisely to stay closer to home and make a reservation. Unfortunately, it was approximately an hour after our reservation that we were sat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Porticello's was phenomenal. From the hostess stand, the bar, the dining area, the service and food was wonderful. Would recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great restaurant. Have gone back and will continue to do so.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was very good, but wait was horrendous despite having made a reservation using OpenTable. - We arrived 15 minutes early for a 7:15 reservation and were finally seated around 8:00. - Hostess staff seemed very stressed. It was obvious the restaurant was over-booked. Staff indicated it was due to a snafu with OpenTable that was allowing unlimited reservations. I (partially) confirmed this by checking OpenTable while we were waiting and found that it was continuing to accept reservations for every 15 minute interval through closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

6:45 reservation on a Saturday evening. Upon checking in we were told that we would be seated shortly, and after 50 minutes standing against the wall, we were finally seated. The food was scrumptious, but given that there are numerous restaurants that provide scrumptious food that would seat you within 15 minutes of arrival, I would not recommend nor visit this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food for our first time there! Very good and different cuisine

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Private Room, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Decent appetizers. Had a delicious chilean sea bass on special. Yummy dessert. Great service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Decor was stale and dated. Floor appears to be poorly supported, normal footsteps sounded like stomping as waitstaff walked back and forth. Food and service were decent, but nowhere near worth what you pay. You can get better ambiance and better food at a substantially lower price 1/4 mile up the street at Leandro's. Mia Regazza in Abington and La Familia in Taunton also provide substantially better food at significantly lower prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Excellent service, staff, and food. Frequent often and will visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Four of us were there to celebrate a birthday, the food was great, the wait staff were very good.

We couldn't ask for anything better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been dining at Porticello's on Date Night. A selection of Entrees and bottle of wine for 49.99. It was great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Just a few days before New Years our group of friends decided to go to Porticello's. A few days later I got a call that Open Table had a snafu and it would be best if we came for 6 rather than 6:30 to allow 2 hours for our meal. No worries and great that the restaurant worked with us rather than having a problem day of. We then had a friend who could unexpectedly make the outing and the restaurant staff was wonderful about accepting this last minute change on a very busy night. All 9 of us were members of the "clean plate club" upon completion of our meal. The food was wonderful - better than times I'd been to Porticello's in the past. We had veal saltimbocca, osso bucco, scallops, chicken, etc. There were also desserts, i.e. the chocolate cake. Our server was great and timing was perfect. More than anything, if a restaurant has good food, there are many places to go. What set Porticello's apart for me was their attention to detail in calling to ensure our dinner would go well and kindness when we asked if just one more person could be added. In a time when service can often be lacking, Porticello's stands out for service, atmosphere and fabulous food! Thank you so much.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding service. Delicious food. We look look forward to booking our next reservation at Porticello!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We live in Atlanta but my partner's mother is nearing 100 years old (she just celebrated her 100th Christmas!) and so we fly up to Bridgewater frequently (about every six weeks) to visit. Each time, when it comes time to select a restaurant, I always insist on Porticello's - there just isn't anything comparable for 20 miles in any direction! We'll be back in February for our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Celebrating a preChristmas dinner with family from out of state. We were seated in the private room in back. Our waitress was Megan and she was absolutely fantastic. Thank you for a wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We enjoy going to Porticello's several times a year. The food is authentic Italian, the best this side of Boston, our waitress Meghan is always polite and friendly, the prices are reasonable, and the drinks outstanding. We highly recommend Porticello's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Second time I have eaten here and been very pleased each time. This time just had the spaghetti and meatballs and loved it. Reminded me of my Grandmothers! Excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised about the food ambience and service.. great restaurant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I think we picked a bad night. There must have been a prebooked holiday party. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservations & was told that there wouldn't be a table ready for quire a while. However, we could sit at a high top which was fine. The bar was also very busy & noisy, but that's part of being on the bar side. It all kind of went downhill from there. Drinks took quite a while to come. The apps were ok, however they were cool not hot. The chicken parm tasted like it was frozen chicken and sauce from a jar. The best part of the meal was dessert, pistachio gelato & peach sorbet. No doubt both were store bought, but they were pretty good. The waitress seemed overwhelmed by the crowd. She did her best, but clearly could not handle the tables given.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 6, 2016

My friends and myself commented on the food--- from the warm bread, salads and wonderful entries. The Christmas decorations were a nice compliment. Our waitress was great. Two thumbs up.!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Food was very good. However, service was lacking. We were seated and finally after 20 minutes went to the hostess to ask where and who our waitress was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food is really good if u ask me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience. We were seated as soon as we arrived, unlike past visits where we have waited over an hour after our reservation time. We had not been here in a year because of that. Decided to give it another try & we were very pleased! The pan seared scallops & pumpkin risotto was wonderful! We will definitely be back often this winter!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was absolutely worth the wait. Very nice and polite people.

I would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Modern Decor, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Restaurant was very busy the night we went . It was a Saturday night and my husband and I went with our 2 teenagers (16&17). We were sat at a nice corner table as requested on our reservation. However, the table was set for 2 and we were not given menus or water glasses because according to the hostess "we have 2 big parties going on and have no more menus or water glasses, I'll bring them over as soon as I have some. Finally, we got menus, water and the 2 additional place settings. Our waitress was very pleasant and nice. While she was taking our order, the host(?) a gentleman at the front desk came over to her and interrupted our order taking to tell our waitress to go over to another table because they've been waiting! He brought her over to the other table and said this is your waitress, she'll be right with you. Then she came back over to our table to finish taking our order!

Food took a while to come because " the 2 big parties have the kitchen backed up". When our meals did finally come, they were hot and delicious. Not sure I'd run right back to that place- can't seem to handle their crowds/customers...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was very good. The specials were appetizing. The staff worked together to take of us it was overall great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The waitress ignored us to wait on her regulars. The food was very salty and the dessert came out burnt. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Meal was hot and delicious. A choice of over a dozen entrees for their $50 dinner for two with a bottle of wine special. Service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food and good service. We were there on a stormy night and I thought the place seemed rather cold. They could have turned the heat up a little.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I made a reservation through Open Table, but the restaurant had no record of our reservation. The manager found us a table. The waitress was really good. The food was also really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Seafood risotto was covered in red sauce, couldn't taste the rice. Some seafood was undercooked and the shrimp was tough and overcooked. My husband's stuffed shrimp was only okay. The vegetables were skimpy. We will not make a second visit or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.