About Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville

1000 Eastport plaza
Collinsville, IL 62234
View Larger Map

Porter's features hand cut steaks and chops, and fresh seafood flown in daily. Our award winning wine list features over 200 bottles from every corner of the wine growing world. Jeff, our wine steward, would be happy to help you make a selection that will pair perfectly with your meal.

Located in the newly-renovated Collinsville Doubletree Hotel, Porter's features Private Dining Rooms to accommodate parties from 3 to 300. A full suite of A/V equipment is available, as well as guest rooms for your overnight travelers. Please email John McGuire at jmcguire@doubletreecollinsville.com to reserve a Private Dining Room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
I-55

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 345-2400

Website:
http://www.porterscollinsville.com/

Entertainment:
Porter's is excited to add a new dimension to the metro east entertainment scene. Visit us at http://porterscollinsville.com/news-and-events.htm to see our upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Outdoor Parking located in the hotel parking lot.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is nearby. Please ask for details.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Baltes

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether its a birthday party, business meeting, or anything in between the staff at Porter's will take care of every detail. Groups of 6 to 60 can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Braised Pork Belly & Day Boat Scallop!
  • Breakfast
  • Filet Mignon
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Braised Pork Belly & Day Boat Scallop!
Breakfast
Filet Mignon

Private Dining

With three different private and semi-private dining areas, Porter's Steakhouse offers great flexibility for parties of all sizes. Whether entertaining clients or celebrating with friends, our intimate and comfortable dining rooms make the perfect setting.

Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
2 More
Romantic
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Collinsville ›

special occasion (35)
romantic (30)
notable wine list (22)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
good for groups (10)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everthing was so good but the Fried gree ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Everthing was so good but the Fried green tomatoes were on another level...superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best appetizer is The Wed ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Hands down the best appetizer is The Wedge. Lots of flavor yet still light. I had the NY strip; ordered it rare. It was cooked perfectly and was delicious! Once again , Porter's showed up in a big way. Everything about Porter's is top notch. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service. The reservation room was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service. The reservation room was waiting for us when we arrived. We were a little late, but they attended to us immediately. Server was prompt and efficient. Food was good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our steaks were cooked exquisitely and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our steaks were cooked exquisitely and the service was impeccable. I've have never had a negative experience at Porters. I just wish I lived closer so that I could go there more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great, steak is great, ho ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter was great, steak is great, however, the rule about not getting seafood at a steak restaurant holds true. The lobster tale was flavorless and rubbery. Overall, a nice evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was excellent! Our server Ke ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Our server Kelley did an awesome job; She was kind, suggestive, and efficient! Our food was excellent, our sevice was excellent, and the whole experience was an A+. Thanks Kelley and thanks Porter's!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Friendly staff. Food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great. Friendly staff. Food was very good for the prices. I would recommend for a group or couple. Nice varying menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience @ Porters Steakhouse was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The experience @ Porters Steakhouse was SOOOOO one for books. NOOOOO complaints what- so -ever !!!! A MUST to dine at!!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Porter's Steakhouse

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Porter's is a great restaurant for a quiet, romantic dinner. The steaks are amazing. A wine butler is on staff to recommend a wine to compliment the meal. The service is fantastic, the atmosphere is mature and understated. This is probably not a place to take a bachelor party but more of a place to celebrate the anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland Food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was good and the Ambiance was nice but the food was very bland. I ordered the green beans and carrots and they were horrible. No seasoning on them what so ever. Tasted like they boiled it in water with no seasonings. The Lobster tail was a bit tough and the steak was great . I ordered the surf and turf. The mashed potatoes were bland as well. Very expensive for what we received. Not worth the price for bland tough food. Broken glass under our table, and told them it was our 25th anniversary and they did nothing for either. We will not be back. Do not waste your money here.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I split the Lobster Bisque, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I split the Lobster Bisque, which was good but I've had better. I had the pepperloin and my wife had the filet mignon. We both agreed that despite both being good, the pepperloin was phenomenal. We also couldn't pass up sharing a side of the lobster mac and cheese. It was excellent as well, the best I have had outside of Bar Harbor, Maine. Neither of us are wine drinkers, so I can't comment much on the list. Overall we had a great meal and will be going back in the future. Bill with tip ended up around $125.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my 3rd or 4th time dining at Po ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was my 3rd or 4th time dining at Porter's. I was very impressed the last 2 times I dined there. I don't know if they changed management or what. But, the lobster bisque was bland and the filet tasted like marinating sauce. You couldn't even taste the actual meat flavor. I was very disappointed. Last time I was there, they brought wine bottles and told us what wines would go with our meal and were alot more attentive. I am not a complainer and easily impressed. I was there with my husband for our 33rd anniversary, spent $150.00, which I don't mind paying if the food is worth it. The food was absolutely NOT work the money. I hope that they will go back to what they have done in the past and not just try to make more of a profit. Very, very unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding service and the food was inc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service and the food was incredible! We had an excellent dinner, and truly enjoyed the discussion of dinner options with our very attentive server (Kelly). Chefs did magic with their dishes, and the portions are BIG (we split a wedge salad and a main course and still took food home!). Great wine list, too. We had the house special pepper loin - wow, this is good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks! Wonderful Brussels sprouts ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great steaks! Wonderful Brussels sprouts. Lobster bisque- well below the bar they set with other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Welshgirl

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was easy to get a reservation for Mother's Day. Service was prompt. Menu was limited. Fruit starter was uninspiring. Main course the American breakfast was passable bacon being the tastiest item. Strawberry shortcake was good. I feel the whole meal was overpriced could have got the same thing at Cracker Barrel for half the price.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Special Evening

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Went to Porter's with another couple for my wife's birthday. What a pleasant evening. Our server was Christian who was attentive but not hovering. Our food selections were incredible, and dessert topped it off. We were allowed to sit and visit and never felt rushed. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Traveled 2 hours and stayed the night to eat at Porter's and we were not disappointed. Our server was great and he made the meal that much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating a birthday

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We love to go to Porter's for special occasions. We are never disappointed as the service and food are always great. It is a little pricey, so that's why we go for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrate 2 birthdays

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We had excellent service, very good food, and a nice evening. They gave our 2 birthday people a choice of any dessert on the menu.. Wish Jeff, the wine steward, was there.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lindsay

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent brunch on Easter. Service was fantastic. Wonderful place in general.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a superb wedge salad. Great steaks. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Had a superb wedge salad. Great steaks. Great wine list. Pre dinner bread leaves something to be desired. Not everyone likes onion bread and alternates should be offered at this price point. Recommended. Hidden gem for the Illinois side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service and Food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server, Elizabeth, was gracious and very helpful, explaining all the dishes. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. The food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but only average service.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We went for Sunday lunch. Food was very tasty, if a bit overpriced ($20 burger). Glad we had a gift certificate. Service was okay, but at these prices I was hoping for a bit more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Yum

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great service! Great wine! Great Food! Pricey but nice for a special occasion.

Only down side, very loud. Acoustics must be bad, no music or other cause.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

You missed on of my keys clients dinnner.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

You need a better cook --- and how do miss a dinner with 8 people. Sorry you failed ---

I love steak houses and eaten over 100 in my travels. Yours ranks the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

All was first rate except for the expens ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

All was first rate except for the expensive steak I ordered which was not even close to done the way I requested. When I told the waiter he agreed and then did nothing about it. I did not want to make a fuss but for the price I can do better at other restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The overall experience was fine however ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

The overall experience was fine however our waitress was MIA quite a few times and I had to leave the room to find someone to get us drinks. She said she was busy helping with the food but out of 15 people only tree ordered off the menu the rest ate the buffet, so I still don't know where she was when we needed her for drinks and things. The hostess deserved the tip because she was the one who set up the extra table for us and made sure we had everything we needed. There were only a few people there besides our group and they still ran out of things at the buffet and since it was breakfast you should make sure you have eggs right?

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

recommend reservations for sunday evenings...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Great ambience, dark and quiet...food was excellent, recommend the calamari appetizer and Dr Loosen Riesling wine ($72)...also the bacon wrapped pepperloin and lobster tail is excellent...very good homemade bread and 3 kinds of butter...if you're full after dinner, try splitting a creme brulee...just the right amount of dessert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The overall experience was great! The food was delicious, and we had a nice time, but that was in spite of the service. The server seemed to have no personality or interest in us. More than once I was wondering how bad it would look to get up and refill my own water from the pitcher that was sitting nearby. Again, it didn't ruin the evening, but in such a nice place you'd think the service could be a little better.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The service was impeccable! !! Sherry was awesome

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Sherry, our waitress and Connie the supervisor made us feel welcome. My surf and turf was amazing, and the pork chop was tender.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was served perfectly. Love the atmosphere at porters in Collinsville great wine list a very pleasant dining experience. Servers are very friendly

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steaks in the Area

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Porter's Steakhouse combines quiet and elegant ambiance, perfectly flavored and prepared steaks, and a pleasant staff. My wife and I have eaten here on numerous occasions, but usually come on special days including Valentine's Day weekend recently, Mother's Day, anniversary, and birthdays. In every visit we enjoyed the cozy bar and calmness of the restaurant. It's just a bit pricey so those on a limited budget may need to enjoy Porter's on a special occasion. Otherwise, it's a great place for lunch and dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Suprised by quality decline

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I have dined at Porter's many times over the last several years. I bring business associates here and I bring my wife on many special occasions and through it all I have never been disappointed; until this time.

I ordered the peppercorn strip and it came out luke warm and so coated with peppercorns that I had to scrape it down. My baked potato was not cooked thoroughly. I would have alerted the waiter, but he was no where to be found for much of our dinner. We sat several times with empty drinks. This not what I have come to expect from Porter's and was very surprised.

I was very disappointed and suspicious of the situation as they were not what I would consider busy for an early Friday evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Porter's is the place for Steak

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

Have been going to Porter's for a long time and they never cease to deliver outstanding food and service. Their pepper loin is to die for for... Would highly recommend Porter's, you can't go wrong.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Our waitress was Krissy and she was amazing! Can't wait to go back! And will definitely be requesting her again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gratuity

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

It wasn't until we left that we realized Gratuity was already added to our bill and my husband didn't realize it. Our waiter received a very large tip. I think he should have mentioned that is was already added and not ran our debit card for the whole amount. Not pleased with Porter's.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Phyllis Jackson

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent experience Great food great service I couldn't ask for better service and the food was very tasty

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New year's eve

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

everything was excellent as usual - my steak was good , but not as good as 4303's a few days before at half the price. My favorites from the past are gone from the menu - spinach salad and french onion soup

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

We celebrated our granddaughter's birthday here. The staff was great, food was great, drinks were great!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, atmosphere, and service! A ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Great food, atmosphere, and service! A wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.