About Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville

Porter's features hand cut steaks and chops, and fresh seafood flown in daily. Our award winning wine list features over 200 bottles from every corner of the wine growing world. Jeff, our wine steward, would be happy to help you make a selection that will pair perfectly with your meal.

Located in the newly-renovated Collinsville Doubletree Hotel, Porter's features Private Dining Rooms to accommodate parties from 3 to 300. A full suite of A/V equipment is available, as well as guest rooms for your overnight travelers. Please email John McGuire at jmcguire@doubletreecollinsville.com to reserve a Private Dining Room.

1000 Eastport plaza
Collinsville, IL 62234
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
I-55

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 345-2400

Website:
http://www.porterscollinsville.com/

Entertainment:
Porter's is excited to add a new dimension to the metro east entertainment scene. Visit us at http://porterscollinsville.com/news-and-events.htm to see our upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Outdoor Parking located in the hotel parking lot.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is nearby. Please ask for details.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Baltes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether its a birthday party, business meeting, or anything in between the staff at Porter's will take care of every detail. Groups of 6 to 60 can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms.

Private Dining

With three different private and semi-private dining areas, Porter's Steakhouse offers great flexibility for parties of all sizes. Whether entertaining clients or celebrating with friends, our intimate and comfortable dining rooms make the perfect setting.

Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Romantic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Husband loved to tenderloin. My strip steak with very very very dry, to the point I couldn't eat it. First time and last time, for $200 and still had to go home and make food.
Server was amazing best server I have had in this area in years. Staff was very polite, smiled and made small talk. Wonderful staff!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Classic steak house with excellent food, drinks, and service. Much more than I expected, and really outstanding compared to all the fast food, generic chains, etc. that surround it. Eating alone as a woman can be a mixed bag, but my waitress was great -- friendly but professional. Ambience is nice too, quiet, masculine, tasteful. A gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Potatoes were like warm..when you pay that much, food shouldn't be cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The drinks were not out of line. The salads should have been included with the meal. The steaks were about double market value rates. In short, this restaurant has become expensive to the point of being not worth it. This has also been reported as such to Corporate to prevent other employees from making this expense. The food is not that bad, other than the sautéed mushrooms, which were like the B&B rubber mushrooms out of a can. Steak was good, Salads OK, just priced out of line with other private, upscale steak eateries.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was our second time to dine at Porters. The food, the atmosphere and the service are all exceptional but what makes it unique - and has brought us back - is the Sommelier Jeff Callahan and his table-side wine tasting presentation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Everything was excellent. Great steak, great service, great wine, great atmosphere. No complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We ordered the reputable pepperloin steak, which was the best steak we've ever eaten. The service was good but not notable stellar, and the prices were on par with the market. However, a fountain drink was 3.50, which was ridiculous. The restaurant even gave us a birthday dessert, which was the reason we went there.

The only negative aspect of the experience was the cobwebs around our booth on the back wall (even directly behind my head). We notified the manager, and he said that the cleaning company had just come the day before, so he was surprised. When I'm paying for a $100 meal, I expect every aspect of the experience to be without flaws.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Love the escargot and short rib tacos we always know Porter's has fresh food will go back every time we are in the area. Very nice wine list too! Fun bar area!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My wife and I had the special menu on Mother's Day. We enjoyed it so much we returned on Father's Day. We had gone to have one of their delicious steaks but decided to have the brunch. It was equally delicious! We will be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very disappointed in our meals.. I ordered pepperlion well it was medium and they slice it in medallion s. The wine guy is why I go there. He never even came by.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and great service. Will definitely go back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 15, 2017

we came for a quiet evening, the hostess later set 4 college girls next to us and they were terribly loud, i told the hostess why did you sit these girls next to us , she said she would tell them to be quiet, I said no please don't . i said it is not there fault there young people having fun , being young girls, I explained she made the mistake in placing them next to us .when there were other places available, no response, I walked away. later a waiter asked the girls to be quiet, embarrassing us . the food was good , waitress was good, hostess ruined our evening. that sucks because this is our go to place for special occasions .

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really great food & service I will definitely visit again & recommend to others. ☺

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Steak and accompanying sides were superb and the service was top--shelf!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The service was outstanding by Terry. The food excellent as always (Ribeye). Nice elegant setting. Always look forward to going back

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Porter's is more of a high end restaurant with high end prices. With that in mind the food is great and so are the selections of drinks. The wait staff is very kind and professional. They also have a nice lounge area if you just want to go somewhere for a classy drink with your partners.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A visit to Porter's almost always ensures an excellent meal and excellent service. It is pricier than some places, but it's a great place to go to celebrate an event. The sommelier is knowledgeable and friendly. The wine list has offerings for the more budget conscious as well as for a celebratory splurge. It's a place that makes you feel special without being pretentious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The ambiance and assistance we received was wonderful. My father, who is unsteady on his feet, was waited for patiently and with friendliness. My granddaughter, who has a severe anxiety disorder and tends to react when put in a strange situation, was tolerated and we were all well-treated. Our waiter was excellent with recommendations and helpfulness. Thank you for a wonderful Easter meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

One of our favorite places for over 20 years. John the manager is excellent and always goes out of his way to suggest wines for every occasion.

Chris waited on us and the meal was excellent. The overall experience was a pleasure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very nice environment celebrated our 17th Anniversary great food and staff will return soon🙂

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very poor steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent. There with friends to celebrate my bride's birthday. Another very enjoyable experience. Chris, our server, was attentive without being bothersome. Don't think I ever got to see the color of the bottom of my coffee cup. ;-) The decaf coffee, BTW, was excellent also, not "washed out" as one finds in many places. We hope to go back, and we heartily recommend Porter's to others.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The lounge had a great atmosphere to start our evening. Our waiter at the restaurant was excellent. He was attentive without being overbearing. Nice relaxing evening, we didn't feel we had to rush out. The only negative was the time between the salad and main entree, there wasn't enough time between them. The food was delicious. Overall, excellent evening! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall another great meal, however the kitchen did not have any potatos prepared other than fries for the lunch menu. They did "microwave" our potatos (3) all came out under cooked and hard. Still some of the best Pepperloin you can eat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous food, excellent waitress, highly recommend anytime!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great experience. We had the private room for seven and had a great time. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I love this restaurant. My husband and I attend for birthdays and anniversaries. I recommend to friends all the time. Love the carrot cake. Love the cheese cake. Love the food altogether.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My dinner was luke warm, my son's dinner was luke warm to cold. My wifes dinner was hot, but was not what she ordered. I felt for what the dinner cost it would have been way better. I would tell people who want a great steak should go to The Chop House in Edwardsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We had a great experience starting with great cocktails followed by super salads and topped off by a superior dinner. My wife had the Trout special and I had the Rib Eye 14 oz. what really made the experience was Chris our server, he was extremely professional and personable. He also wrote us out of town folks an agenda for our next day that was fabulous. A restaurant worth your patronage but ask for Chris for the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Porter's never disappoints!!! The food is amazing; steaks and seafood are incredible!!!! I HIGHLY recommend the pepper loin! Also the carrot cake is to die for!!!! Not the cheapest place in town but if your looking for an incredible dinner, great service, top notch wine selection and a wonderful overall experience, then Porter's is your place. ENJOY!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Porter's is a great fancy place to go for a quiet romantic dinner for two or for a party of 2-6 perhaps celebrating a special occasion. Their pepperloin steaks are phenomenal. Dinner for two typically costs $80-150, depending on drinks, appetizers, desserts, etc...we've been there twice, both times celebrating a promotion at work, and we were very pleased with the personalized service, candlelit room and quiet ambience, and incredible food. Porter's takes classy and elegant dining to a new level.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Disappointed with the restaurant! To start off the evening our waiter seemed to be a little arrogant and seemed to be in a hurry. He wasn't as attentive as I would expect from this type of restaurant. When the food arrived my filet was lukewarm at best otherwise it was a good cut of meat and had good flavor . They offered to reheat and it was some better. I dealt with it . They paid for our dessert and apologized . I think if the waiter had been more concerned with correcting the issue things would have turned out better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We sat at our table for an hour and twenty minutes after placing our order on Valentine's day and were never served. Our drinks sat empty for 45 minutes before we finally left with zero service. We were the 5th table to leave in a 20 minute time span. By the time we left all other restaurants were closed leaving us with no other options and a busyed Valentine's day date. The worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was superb, but the waiter was non attentive.v

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My spouse and I enjoy going out to eat somewhat regularly. We heard the resteraunt was supposed to be pretty good so we visited on Valentines Day. We were seated fairly on time for our reservation, but that is pretty much where anything positive ended! The service was mediocre; the bread they brought to the table was thick, soft, and under done. (Pulled too quickly); the lobster bisque was thin, tasteless and with some sad little piece of lobster; THEN we waited, and waited, (finished our bottle of wine) and waited and then finally received our entrees ... Cold and undercooked baked potato, raw undercooked 'roasted' brussel sprouts, over cooked steaks (we asked for medium) ... IT WAS PATHETIC! I am amazed the Hilton corporation would allow their association with such a place. I spoke with the manager who said that they were having 'technical difficulty' in the kitchen ... That is quite the difficulty. We would have been better served (and have been) by going to a chain steak resteraunt, and for the price we paid at Porters, we could have went to that chain three times! Maybe they were just really off their game (I mean really really), but our experience was so poor we will not be giving them a second chance. I say, SAVE YOUR MONEY OR SPEND IT ELSEWHERE!!! There are a number of good resteraunts in the area and several in St Louis, and for the money, this place is just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My experience at Porter's was horrible. After being seated, we were given water to drink. 20 minutes later we were given bread and butter. 15 minutes later we placed our orders. The wait time for our food was suppose to be 30 minutes. It ended up being an hour before we received our food. When the steaks arrived at the table, they were burnt. So we waited another 30 for our food to be cooked again. The silver lining is we didn't have to pay for our food. A horrible experience. I'll never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We love Porters Steakhouse; however, on this occasion the food was sub par. We ordered Calamari as an appetizer, which was cold when served. We ordered the 22ounce ribeye steak, the steak was excellent and cooked to perfection. However, the baked potatoes were not fresh.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Horrible waitress, horrible wait time for food, had to send my wifes meal back as well as mine for cold items and overcook Pepperloin steak. Reheated our items under a lamp... very poor food and service. ALL FOR ABOUT $200

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took a hour to get main entree ,vegetables were cold,never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.