About Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville

Porter's features hand cut steaks and chops, and fresh seafood flown in daily. Our award winning wine list features over 200 bottles from every corner of the wine growing world. Jeff, our wine steward, would be happy to help you make a selection that will pair perfectly with your meal.

Located in the newly-renovated Collinsville Doubletree Hotel, Porter's features Private Dining Rooms to accommodate parties from 3 to 300. A full suite of A/V equipment is available, as well as guest rooms for your overnight travelers. Please email John McGuire at jmcguire@doubletreecollinsville.com to reserve a Private Dining Room.

1000 Eastport plaza
Collinsville, IL 62234
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
I-55

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 345-2400

Website:
http://www.porterscollinsville.com/

Entertainment:
Porter's is excited to add a new dimension to the metro east entertainment scene. Visit us at http://porterscollinsville.com/news-and-events.htm to see our upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Outdoor Parking located in the hotel parking lot.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is nearby. Please ask for details.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Baltes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether its a birthday party, business meeting, or anything in between the staff at Porter's will take care of every detail. Groups of 6 to 60 can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms.

Private Dining

With three different private and semi-private dining areas, Porter's Steakhouse offers great flexibility for parties of all sizes. Whether entertaining clients or celebrating with friends, our intimate and comfortable dining rooms make the perfect setting.

Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fireplace (10)
Private Room (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The lounge had a great atmosphere to start our evening. Our waiter at the restaurant was excellent. He was attentive without being overbearing. Nice relaxing evening, we didn't feel we had to rush out. The only negative was the time between the salad and main entree, there wasn't enough time between them. The food was delicious. Overall, excellent evening! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall another great meal, however the kitchen did not have any potatos prepared other than fries for the lunch menu. They did "microwave" our potatos (3) all came out under cooked and hard. Still some of the best Pepperloin you can eat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous food, excellent waitress, highly recommend anytime!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great experience. We had the private room for seven and had a great time. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I love this restaurant. My husband and I attend for birthdays and anniversaries. I recommend to friends all the time. Love the carrot cake. Love the cheese cake. Love the food altogether.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My dinner was luke warm, my son's dinner was luke warm to cold. My wifes dinner was hot, but was not what she ordered. I felt for what the dinner cost it would have been way better. I would tell people who want a great steak should go to The Chop House in Edwardsville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a great experience starting with great cocktails followed by super salads and topped off by a superior dinner. My wife had the Trout special and I had the Rib Eye 14 oz. what really made the experience was Chris our server, he was extremely professional and personable. He also wrote us out of town folks an agenda for our next day that was fabulous. A restaurant worth your patronage but ask for Chris for the full experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Porter's never disappoints!!! The food is amazing; steaks and seafood are incredible!!!! I HIGHLY recommend the pepper loin! Also the carrot cake is to die for!!!! Not the cheapest place in town but if your looking for an incredible dinner, great service, top notch wine selection and a wonderful overall experience, then Porter's is your place. ENJOY!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Porter's is a great fancy place to go for a quiet romantic dinner for two or for a party of 2-6 perhaps celebrating a special occasion. Their pepperloin steaks are phenomenal. Dinner for two typically costs $80-150, depending on drinks, appetizers, desserts, etc...we've been there twice, both times celebrating a promotion at work, and we were very pleased with the personalized service, candlelit room and quiet ambience, and incredible food. Porter's takes classy and elegant dining to a new level.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Disappointed with the restaurant! To start off the evening our waiter seemed to be a little arrogant and seemed to be in a hurry. He wasn't as attentive as I would expect from this type of restaurant. When the food arrived my filet was lukewarm at best otherwise it was a good cut of meat and had good flavor . They offered to reheat and it was some better. I dealt with it . They paid for our dessert and apologized . I think if the waiter had been more concerned with correcting the issue things would have turned out better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We sat at our table for an hour and twenty minutes after placing our order on Valentine's day and were never served. Our drinks sat empty for 45 minutes before we finally left with zero service. We were the 5th table to leave in a 20 minute time span. By the time we left all other restaurants were closed leaving us with no other options and a busyed Valentine's day date. The worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was superb, but the waiter was non attentive.v

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My spouse and I enjoy going out to eat somewhat regularly. We heard the resteraunt was supposed to be pretty good so we visited on Valentines Day. We were seated fairly on time for our reservation, but that is pretty much where anything positive ended! The service was mediocre; the bread they brought to the table was thick, soft, and under done. (Pulled too quickly); the lobster bisque was thin, tasteless and with some sad little piece of lobster; THEN we waited, and waited, (finished our bottle of wine) and waited and then finally received our entrees ... Cold and undercooked baked potato, raw undercooked 'roasted' brussel sprouts, over cooked steaks (we asked for medium) ... IT WAS PATHETIC! I am amazed the Hilton corporation would allow their association with such a place. I spoke with the manager who said that they were having 'technical difficulty' in the kitchen ... That is quite the difficulty. We would have been better served (and have been) by going to a chain steak resteraunt, and for the price we paid at Porters, we could have went to that chain three times! Maybe they were just really off their game (I mean really really), but our experience was so poor we will not be giving them a second chance. I say, SAVE YOUR MONEY OR SPEND IT ELSEWHERE!!! There are a number of good resteraunts in the area and several in St Louis, and for the money, this place is just not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My experience at Porter's was horrible. After being seated, we were given water to drink. 20 minutes later we were given bread and butter. 15 minutes later we placed our orders. The wait time for our food was suppose to be 30 minutes. It ended up being an hour before we received our food. When the steaks arrived at the table, they were burnt. So we waited another 30 for our food to be cooked again. The silver lining is we didn't have to pay for our food. A horrible experience. I'll never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Porters Steakhouse; however, on this occasion the food was sub par. We ordered Calamari as an appetizer, which was cold when served. We ordered the 22ounce ribeye steak, the steak was excellent and cooked to perfection. However, the baked potatoes were not fresh.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Horrible waitress, horrible wait time for food, had to send my wifes meal back as well as mine for cold items and overcook Pepperloin steak. Reheated our items under a lamp... very poor food and service. ALL FOR ABOUT $200

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Took a hour to get main entree ,vegetables were cold,never again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We have dined at Porters many times and have never been disappointed. Their holiday menus has always been so nice. And our server Kristi is a big reason why we keep coming back. She will make any meal at Porters special.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere the food is outstanding. Large wine selection overall great dining experience. AAA+

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Place is the best for steaks and pork lion. You won't find a better steak. And the carrot cake is to die for ! Very very good!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Well, wait staff is excelent. Bread is good. Steaks are sub par, over priced, and surely not worth it. Wife and I bought identical meals. Rib eyes medium well and split a trio of scallops. Needless to say, both steaks came out cooked castle different. Mine was medium, hers well with char. To be honest, I'm not even sure it was a rib eye. Wouldn't rec to anyone looking for a nice night out. Extensive wine list, but I assume that they must get you drunk to actually think their food is worth anything. Save your money and go to outback. Yes, it's that bad!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Consistently nice dinner... Service attentive without being intrusive or overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We so love coming to Porters. Great food best wine selection, server was superb . Always a great dining experience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It's easy to take Porter's for granted or even forget about it because it's been a steakhouse staple for so long. Excellent food. Great atmosphere. Not nearly as cramped and noisy as someplace like Fleming's. My ribeye was melt in your mouth and my wife's pepperloin was awesome. Pricing is also very good for a top flight steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was fantastic along with our server, Chris. I had the Pepperloin and my wife had the Ribeye. Both cooked to perfection. You can't go wrong with the jumbo lump crab cakes as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Porterloin steak was fatty and not a flavorful as advertised. Brocolli too large, two small carrots not enough. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My wife & I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and the entire dining experience was excellent from the time we were greeted by the hostess to having an outstanding waiter to the time we left the premise. Definitely high on our list of restaurants.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went for a birthday meal. Waiter said there were no specials yet another waiter gave a list of two or three specials to another couple. Had to ask for bread and butter. The other waiter also asked if it was a special occasion, it was their anniversary , he then offered them a free desert. Our waiter did not(I had to ask). Service was slow yet the place was almost empty.
My wife and I ordered the filet. My steak was cold and cooked rare (I ordered medium rare) my wife's twice baked potato was room temperature. On the positive side, the brussel sprouts were excellent as was the shrimp cocktail. Our waiter then brought dessert which was good but we had to ask for coffee.
Porters used to be one of our favorites but we won't be back. In our opinion, when you're paying those prices, you expects a certain level of food quality and service. In this instance we didn't get either.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our server (Christi) was amazing and provided us with outstanding service and did a great job catering to our group's individual taste in wine. The entire staff made us feel welcome and we enjoyed the restaurants ambiance. Porter's is a great place for special occasion dining and the steaks and seafood are wonderfully prepared. I highly recommend Porter's Steakhouse.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Amazing! We just can't go anywhere else! Our waitress, Chrissy, was awesome and very sweet!

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The atmosphere and wine were above average and the food was excellent. However, we were celebrating several special occasions and these were not acknowledged in any way by the restaurant. We was disappointed by the restaurants lack of acknowledgement of our special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food was outstanding and the service was excellent !!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This restaurant is awesome. The service was so great. My husband and I will be dining here more often.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Christian was our server, he was great! Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had not been for several years and but had a phenomenal dinner! The food was excellent and our server Chris was truly wonderful!! Definitely will go back more often.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fun, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited Porter's for a meal with friends on New Year's Eve. It was my first time there and I was looking forward to having a great meal based on recommendations. The kitchen seemed to be having a rough night and only 1 of the 4 dishes came out satisfactory. My steak had to be prepared twice and I actually didn't get to eat my meal till the next day. The manager did comp a portion of the meal. However, we traveled over 50 miles each way to get there and I wouldn't visit again based on my first experience and the distance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Have been to Porters frequently for Christmas eve. Lovely place to dine especially for a special night. Our waiter, I believe his name was Matt, was absolutely the best. Made the dining experience that much better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fabulous food and atmosphere. The best place in the Metro East for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic wine selection combined with good service and excellent steak - ambiance is good

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.