About Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville

1000 Eastport plaza
Collinsville, IL 62234
View Larger Map

Porter's features hand cut steaks and chops, and fresh seafood flown in daily. Our award winning wine list features over 200 bottles from every corner of the wine growing world. Jeff, our wine steward, would be happy to help you make a selection that will pair perfectly with your meal.

Located in the newly-renovated Collinsville Doubletree Hotel, Porter's features Private Dining Rooms to accommodate parties from 3 to 300. A full suite of A/V equipment is available, as well as guest rooms for your overnight travelers. Please email John McGuire at jmcguire@doubletreecollinsville.com to reserve a Private Dining Room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
I-55

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 345-2400

Website:
http://www.porterscollinsville.com/

Entertainment:
Porter's is excited to add a new dimension to the metro east entertainment scene. Visit us at http://porterscollinsville.com/news-and-events.htm to see our upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Outdoor Parking located in the hotel parking lot.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is nearby. Please ask for details.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Baltes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether its a birthday party, business meeting, or anything in between the staff at Porter's will take care of every detail. Groups of 6 to 60 can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
  • Braised Pork Belly & Day Boat Scallop!
  • Breakfast
  • Filet Mignon
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville
Braised Pork Belly & Day Boat Scallop!
Breakfast
Filet Mignon

Private Dining

With three different private and semi-private dining areas, Porter's Steakhouse offers great flexibility for parties of all sizes. Whether entertaining clients or celebrating with friends, our intimate and comfortable dining rooms make the perfect setting.

Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
4 More
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Romantic
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Collinsville ›

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (10)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and we thoroughly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. It would not be a good place to go to if you were on a tight schedule.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tenderloin cut into medallions was t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The tenderloin cut into medallions was the best steak we ever had. You truly could cut it with a fork.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Awesome server.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and service. Awesome server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Porter's remains one of our favorite pla ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Porter's remains one of our favorite places to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Excellent wine, steaks and romantic atmosphere!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at the hotel, but made i ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were staying at the hotel, but made it a point to dine at Porter's. Their signature pepperloin was flavorful and tender. Service was friendly with a touch of upscale attentiveness. A nice place for a nice dinner whether you are hotel patrons or not.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Compliments to the chef. Love the escar ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Compliments to the chef. Love the escargot and the asparagus salad. Great service, a fun place to eat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Porters based on other reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I chose Porters based on other reviews and I was not disappointed. It was a perfect setting for my wife's birthday. The wine list is outstanding. The appetisers are delicious and the portions substantial . Our next visit will be more casual; with friends sharing appetisers and some fantastic wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

On a business trip to Collinsville, this ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

On a business trip to Collinsville, this restaurant is a gem. Great food and service, I look forward to a return visit one of these days.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak tasted like steak. Nothing spe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The steak tasted like steak. Nothing special. A little under cooked, when ordered medium well it had a little blood on the plate. Service was excellent and was sat right away. I'll go to another place if I just have a craving for steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The signature dish along with the house ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The signature dish along with the house salad - a winning combination!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet and staff was extremely profe ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very quiet and staff was extremely professional. The food was fantastic! Would highly recommend for an evening out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice time and wonderful fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a very nice time and wonderful food and the service was very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant! We visit whenever w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome restaurant! We visit whenever we are near Collinsville. As good as it was 16 years ago when we first discovered it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Porter's for an anniversary dinn ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went to Porter's for an anniversary dinner. Ambiance was wonderful. The wine was delicious. The meal was perfect. We ordered the signature pepperloin and the special (sea scallops). They were both devine! We will be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you've never been to Porter's, you're ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

If you've never been to Porter's, you're missing one of the best places in the St. Louis area to eat a great steak. The service is always impeccable, a wait staff that is attentive, but not bothersome, and exceptional food. I would highly recommend Porter's for special occasions or when you're in the mood for just great food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was very attentive. We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday, and it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer was way over priced and steak ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Appetizer was way over priced and steaks were nothing special

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Everthing was so good but the Fried gree ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everthing was so good but the Fried green tomatoes were on another level...superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best appetizer is The Wed ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Hands down the best appetizer is The Wedge. Lots of flavor yet still light. I had the NY strip; ordered it rare. It was cooked perfectly and was delicious! Once again , Porter's showed up in a big way. Everything about Porter's is top notch. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service. The reservation room was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service. The reservation room was waiting for us when we arrived. We were a little late, but they attended to us immediately. Server was prompt and efficient. Food was good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As far as an "upscale" steak restaurant, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As far as an "upscale" steak restaurant, the food here is very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our steaks were cooked exquisitely and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our steaks were cooked exquisitely and the service was impeccable. I've have never had a negative experience at Porters. I just wish I lived closer so that I could go there more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great, steak is great, ho ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter was great, steak is great, however, the rule about not getting seafood at a steak restaurant holds true. The lobster tale was flavorless and rubbery. Overall, a nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was excellent! Our server Ke ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Our server Kelley did an awesome job; She was kind, suggestive, and efficient! Our food was excellent, our sevice was excellent, and the whole experience was an A+. Thanks Kelley and thanks Porter's!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Friendly staff. Food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great. Friendly staff. Food was very good for the prices. I would recommend for a group or couple. Nice varying menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience @ Porters Steakhouse was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The experience @ Porters Steakhouse was SOOOOO one for books. NOOOOO complaints what- so -ever !!!! A MUST to dine at!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Porter's Steakhouse

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Porter's is a great restaurant for a quiet, romantic dinner. The steaks are amazing. A wine butler is on staff to recommend a wine to compliment the meal. The service is fantastic, the atmosphere is mature and understated. This is probably not a place to take a bachelor party but more of a place to celebrate the anniversary.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bland Food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was good and the Ambiance was nice but the food was very bland. I ordered the green beans and carrots and they were horrible. No seasoning on them what so ever. Tasted like they boiled it in water with no seasonings. The Lobster tail was a bit tough and the steak was great . I ordered the surf and turf. The mashed potatoes were bland as well. Very expensive for what we received. Not worth the price for bland tough food. Broken glass under our table, and told them it was our 25th anniversary and they did nothing for either. We will not be back. Do not waste your money here.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I split the Lobster Bisque, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My wife and I split the Lobster Bisque, which was good but I've had better. I had the pepperloin and my wife had the filet mignon. We both agreed that despite both being good, the pepperloin was phenomenal. We also couldn't pass up sharing a side of the lobster mac and cheese. It was excellent as well, the best I have had outside of Bar Harbor, Maine. Neither of us are wine drinkers, so I can't comment much on the list. Overall we had a great meal and will be going back in the future. Bill with tip ended up around $125.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my 3rd or 4th time dining at Po ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This was my 3rd or 4th time dining at Porter's. I was very impressed the last 2 times I dined there. I don't know if they changed management or what. But, the lobster bisque was bland and the filet tasted like marinating sauce. You couldn't even taste the actual meat flavor. I was very disappointed. Last time I was there, they brought wine bottles and told us what wines would go with our meal and were alot more attentive. I am not a complainer and easily impressed. I was there with my husband for our 33rd anniversary, spent $150.00, which I don't mind paying if the food is worth it. The food was absolutely NOT work the money. I hope that they will go back to what they have done in the past and not just try to make more of a profit. Very, very unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding service and the food was inc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service and the food was incredible! We had an excellent dinner, and truly enjoyed the discussion of dinner options with our very attentive server (Kelly). Chefs did magic with their dishes, and the portions are BIG (we split a wedge salad and a main course and still took food home!). Great wine list, too. We had the house special pepper loin - wow, this is good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks! Wonderful Brussels sprouts ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Great steaks! Wonderful Brussels sprouts. Lobster bisque- well below the bar they set with other dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Welshgirl

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was easy to get a reservation for Mother's Day. Service was prompt. Menu was limited. Fruit starter was uninspiring. Main course the American breakfast was passable bacon being the tastiest item. Strawberry shortcake was good. I feel the whole meal was overpriced could have got the same thing at Cracker Barrel for half the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Special Evening

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Went to Porter's with another couple for my wife's birthday. What a pleasant evening. Our server was Christian who was attentive but not hovering. Our food selections were incredible, and dessert topped it off. We were allowed to sit and visit and never felt rushed. It was a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Traveled 2 hours and stayed the night to eat at Porter's and we were not disappointed. Our server was great and he made the meal that much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating a birthday

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We love to go to Porter's for special occasions. We are never disappointed as the service and food are always great. It is a little pricey, so that's why we go for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrate 2 birthdays

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We had excellent service, very good food, and a nice evening. They gave our 2 birthday people a choice of any dessert on the menu.. Wish Jeff, the wine steward, was there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lindsay

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent brunch on Easter. Service was fantastic. Wonderful place in general.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a superb wedge salad. Great steaks. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Had a superb wedge salad. Great steaks. Great wine list. Pre dinner bread leaves something to be desired. Not everyone likes onion bread and alternates should be offered at this price point. Recommended. Hidden gem for the Illinois side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Service and Food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server, Elizabeth, was gracious and very helpful, explaining all the dishes. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. The food was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.