About Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville

1000 Eastport plaza
Collinsville, IL 62234
View Larger Map

Porter's features hand cut steaks and chops, and fresh seafood flown in daily. Our award winning wine list features over 200 bottles from every corner of the wine growing world. Jeff, our wine steward, would be happy to help you make a selection that will pair perfectly with your meal.

Located in the newly-renovated Collinsville Doubletree Hotel, Porter's features Private Dining Rooms to accommodate parties from 3 to 300. A full suite of A/V equipment is available, as well as guest rooms for your overnight travelers. Please email John McGuire at jmcguire@doubletreecollinsville.com to reserve a Private Dining Room.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 10:00am

Cross Street:
I-55

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 345-2400

Website:
http://www.porterscollinsville.com/

Entertainment:
Porter's is excited to add a new dimension to the metro east entertainment scene. Visit us at http://porterscollinsville.com/news-and-events.htm to see our upcoming events.

Parking Details:
Outdoor Parking located in the hotel parking lot.

Public Transit:
Public transportation is nearby. Please ask for details.

Executive Chef:
Patrick Baltes

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Whether its a birthday party, business meeting, or anything in between the staff at Porter's will take care of every detail. Groups of 6 to 60 can be accommodated in one of our 3 private dining rooms.

Restaurant Photos

  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Braised Pork Belly & Day Boat Scallop! - Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Breakfast - Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
  • Filet Mignon - Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Braised Pork Belly & Day Boat Scallop! - Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Breakfast - Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL
Filet Mignon - Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville, Collinsville, IL

Private Dining

With three different private and semi-private dining areas, Porter's Steakhouse offers great flexibility for parties of all sizes. Whether entertaining clients or celebrating with friends, our intimate and comfortable dining rooms make the perfect setting.

Porter's Steakhouse - Collinsville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
6 More
Steakhouse
St. Louis
Best Overall
Midtown
Best Food
Midtown
Best Service
Midtown
Best Ambiance
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Collinsville ›

Special Occasion (26)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (6)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was overpriced. It was extremel ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food was overpriced. It was extremely noisy due to a party in the next room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great or special occasions. Great steak ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great or special occasions. Great steaks, especially the pepper loin. Their desserts are great as well. Pricey, but nice atmosphere. Good wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very poor, inattentive service. Food is ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very poor, inattentive service. Food is adequate but very overpriced. Decor and ambience are nice but we could see dust-covered cobwebs that had obviously been ignored for some time. The manager on duty was disinterested at best and we were told to call back the next day and speak with the daytime manager. Porter's may consider themselves to be a high end establishment. But to us, it is quite the opposite. We will not return and will not recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food as expected. Outstanding ser ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food as expected. Outstanding service from not just our server, but from everyone on the floor at the time. Since it was our anniversary, we enjoyed a complimentary serving of their most delicious Carrot Cake. We've ordered and enjoyed it many times before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chris is one of the best waiters I have ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Chris is one of the best waiters I have ever had.

The food was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my night out for my bir ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I really enjoyed my night out for my birthday at Porters. I will do it again next year. It was truly delightful!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loaf of bread was dry and stale. Wife's ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loaf of bread was dry and stale. Wife's twice bake potato was cold and undercooked. Steaks were good. Service was excellent .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Porter's is one of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Porter's is one of our favorite restaurants. I made reservations for our anniversary (even though it was a few days past the actual date). Everyone that we interacted with wished us "Happy Anniversary". The food was amazing as always, I've never had anything but excellent food and service anytime we've dined here. At the end of our meal, our server brought us the dessert menu and told us "Happy Anniversary, dessert is on us". Since we were so full from our delicious meal, our server boxed our dessert to go and we enjoyed it at home a couple of hours later with a cup of coffee & Bailey's. I always recommend Porter's when asked for my opinion on a good restaurant. Many thanks to everyone for a wonderful evening! We are already looking forward to our next dining experience with you!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Porter's for special occasions ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We visit Porter's for special occasions and when just want to treat ourselves to a fine meal. As always service was excellent and the steaks were superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prices were high but the food and se ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The prices were high but the food and service was very good. It's not someplace I would go on a regular basis, but a nice place for a special occasion. Didn't like the fact that with 6 people, it automatically added a 20% gratuity. I can see adding gratuity, but felt it should have been 15% and allow customers to add more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful, modern, and classy restaurant ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Beautiful, modern, and classy restaurant with cozy areas for large private groups. This is a pricier restaurant, nice for special occasions but too expensive for everyday.

Although our waiter was very pleasant, he was not attentive and we waited long amounts of time for simple things (getting our salad and bill).

There are many other better choices of the same quality/price range in the St. Louis area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Waiters were great and so was he house s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Waiters were great and so was he house special tenderloin.i am taking stars off because the meal comes with only one side. For 50 bucks a plate,I would expect a salad and also a veggie to go with he meat and potatoes .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere of this restaurant is ama ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The atmosphere of this restaurant is amazing, and the food is even better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always excellent and cooked to p ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Food is always excellent and cooked to perfection! Service was excellent, very accommodating and attentive without being intrusive. We frequently have business dinners at Porters and it's always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this Restaurant. Never can go wron ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Love this Restaurant. Never can go wrong with anything ordered. Service is top notch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent and we thoroughly ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. It would not be a good place to go to if you were on a tight schedule.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tenderloin cut into medallions was t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The tenderloin cut into medallions was the best steak we ever had. You truly could cut it with a fork.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Awesome server.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and service. Awesome server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Porter's remains one of our favorite pla ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Porter's remains one of our favorite places to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Excellent wine, steaks and romantic atmosphere!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were staying at the hotel, but made i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We were staying at the hotel, but made it a point to dine at Porter's. Their signature pepperloin was flavorful and tender. Service was friendly with a touch of upscale attentiveness. A nice place for a nice dinner whether you are hotel patrons or not.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Compliments to the chef. Love the escar ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Compliments to the chef. Love the escargot and the asparagus salad. Great service, a fun place to eat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Porters based on other reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I chose Porters based on other reviews and I was not disappointed. It was a perfect setting for my wife's birthday. The wine list is outstanding. The appetisers are delicious and the portions substantial . Our next visit will be more casual; with friends sharing appetisers and some fantastic wines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

On a business trip to Collinsville, this ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 13, 2016

On a business trip to Collinsville, this restaurant is a gem. Great food and service, I look forward to a return visit one of these days.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak tasted like steak. Nothing spe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The steak tasted like steak. Nothing special. A little under cooked, when ordered medium well it had a little blood on the plate. Service was excellent and was sat right away. I'll go to another place if I just have a craving for steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The signature dish along with the house ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The signature dish along with the house salad - a winning combination!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet and staff was extremely profe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very quiet and staff was extremely professional. The food was fantastic! Would highly recommend for an evening out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice time and wonderful fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a very nice time and wonderful food and the service was very good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome restaurant! We visit whenever w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome restaurant! We visit whenever we are near Collinsville. As good as it was 16 years ago when we first discovered it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Porter's for an anniversary dinn ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went to Porter's for an anniversary dinner. Ambiance was wonderful. The wine was delicious. The meal was perfect. We ordered the signature pepperloin and the special (sea scallops). They were both devine! We will be back soon!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you've never been to Porter's, you're ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

If you've never been to Porter's, you're missing one of the best places in the St. Louis area to eat a great steak. The service is always impeccable, a wait staff that is attentive, but not bothersome, and exceptional food. I would highly recommend Porter's for special occasions or when you're in the mood for just great food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious and our waiter wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was delicious and our waiter was very attentive. We were celebrating my boyfriends birthday, and it was definitely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer was way over priced and steak ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Appetizer was way over priced and steaks were nothing special

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Everthing was so good but the Fried gree ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Everthing was so good but the Fried green tomatoes were on another level...superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hands down the best appetizer is The Wed ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Hands down the best appetizer is The Wedge. Lots of flavor yet still light. I had the NY strip; ordered it rare. It was cooked perfectly and was delicious! Once again , Porter's showed up in a big way. Everything about Porter's is top notch. We're already looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service. The reservation room was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service. The reservation room was waiting for us when we arrived. We were a little late, but they attended to us immediately. Server was prompt and efficient. Food was good. I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As far as an "upscale" steak restaurant, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2016

As far as an "upscale" steak restaurant, the food here is very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our steaks were cooked exquisitely and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our steaks were cooked exquisitely and the service was impeccable. I've have never had a negative experience at Porters. I just wish I lived closer so that I could go there more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great, steak is great, ho ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our waiter was great, steak is great, however, the rule about not getting seafood at a steak restaurant holds true. The lobster tale was flavorless and rubbery. Overall, a nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Everything was excellent! Our server Ke ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was excellent!

Our server Kelley did an awesome job; She was kind, suggestive, and efficient! Our food was excellent, our sevice was excellent, and the whole experience was an A+. Thanks Kelley and thanks Porter's!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Friendly staff. Food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was great. Friendly staff. Food was very good for the prices. I would recommend for a group or couple. Nice varying menu.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.