Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 3.61mi
  3. Distance: 3.65mi
  4. Distance: 4.18mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 3.61mi
  3. Distance: 3.65mi
  4. Distance: 4.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 3.61mi
  3. Distance: 3.65mi
  4. Distance: 4.18mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 3.61mi
  3. Distance: 3.65mi
  4. Distance: 4.18mi

About Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort

At The Lodge at Suncadia, Portals offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and features an ever changing menu of sophisticated, home style cuisine with fresh, local, and organically grown ingredients, made even more enjoyable by the incredible, panoramic views of the Cle Elum River and Cascade Mountains.

Fifty-6 Degrees Lounge at The Lodge is your friendly connection spot, serving tasting plates and a diverse selection of local, handcrafted wines and microbrews. Mingle, unwind, and share the best of Northwest inspired pleasures for the palate.

3600 Suncadia Trail
Cle Elum, WA 98922
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily
Lunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm Daily
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Bullfrog Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 649-6473

Website:
http://www.suncadiaresort.com/roslyn-restaurants.php

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Both self and valet parking are offered.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Rick Shell

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet/private party facilities to accommodate anywhere from 6 to 500 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Debbie Losse: (509) 649-6432

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.6

ambience

4.2

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

45% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (5)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Groups (3)
See All
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Romantic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I was a little disappointed this time. The selection that I had was dry. My selection did not have flavor that I would expect with the prices of the dinners. Just edible food, not wow, this is good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I asked the waiter if the salmon was farm raised and he said yes, but another waiter overheard him and said it was wild. Anyhow, I ordered the salmon (not fully convinced it was wild) and my sister ordered the Northern Exposure (basically crab mac and cheese). The waiter brought us somebody else's dinners first, then the wrong salads, and then finally our correct salads. I had the Wind Farm Ridge salad which was the best part of my meal, although it was very small. When our dinners were presented to us, my sister and I both looked at each other like, really? The chef could certainly benefit from some lessons on plating - our dinners were not very aesthetically pleasing to say the least. The salmon tasted OK but nothing special - no sauce on it, and nothing underneath it - just laying there all by itself next to a blob of root vegetables (or whatever that purple pile was) which was, well, so gross looking that I didn't eat it (and I eat everything). My sisters crab mac and cheese was short on the crab but it was OK if you're into corkscrew noodles and a bland sauce. Between the inexperienced waiter, the mediocre food and having to sit next to a table with a whiny kid, with parents that clearly don't know when bedtime is, it was a disappointing experience. My advice is either lower your prices or step up your game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Our dinner was absolutely delicious. Fresh king salmon and perfectly cooked lamb rack. The chef came out to check on us too and he was lovely and discussed the preparation if the food with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It's an ok casual dining experience at not so casual prices. We celebrated my husbands birthday there during our stay at Suncadia. The food was decent, but expect diner style service with all your meal coming out at once. Didn't feel like a nice restaurant, we will be having all of our meals at the Winery next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was great! I have been a couple times and am always pleased. Our waitress was really attentive and checked on us often. Food was delicious too!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As Tumble Creek members, we've been here many times but our last dining experience was less than expected. First, since they removed the carpet from the dining room the noise level is much louder ... feels much more like Swiftwater. It was always nice to have Portals as a quieter alternative. Second, our waitress seemed overworked and not very interested in having us there. Our food obviously came a long time after tables that were seated later than we were. No apologies for the lengthy wait. Third, the menu is an odd assortment of foods and price levels. We much prefer the old Portals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I'm not sure what happened to the food but the days of the best lunch around are gone. Sandwich bread burned for two of us, Truffle Fries mushy and not fully cooked, Trout was dry and seemed old with wilted veggies. Menu options are at a minimal and all of our favorite items are gone. Service was great and the view you can not beat. I will say on a positive they finally have kiddo options and made sure the Kiddo was taken care of big thumbs up on that. I would suggest a new chef and or really look at whats happening in the kitchen with quality of food coming out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Just wasn't good. I was expecting better. The food was slightly better than Denny's, but with slower service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I want to like this place, I really do, but due to their horribly overpriced and mediocre food, I can't. I live in the area and have eaten here several times because clients and out-of-town friends and family always want to try it. Last night was the worst so far. Two people at the table had the crab mac and cheese and it looked more like soup. Two people had the salmon and said it was just ok. I had the pork chop which was also just ok. Why did the server bother asking me how I wanted it cooked if they were just going to cook it well-done? I didn't send it back because we'd already been there for an hour and who knows how much longer that would've been?? We paid $250 for 5 entrees (no apps, no sides) and 2 beers a piece which I wouldn't have minded if the food was good.

This place has been sub-par since the day it opened. The only thing it has going for it is location, it is the only restaurant in the lodge. It's so unfortunate because the restaurant is beautiful and the setting is gorgeous. Save your money and drive into Roslyn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

According to the hostess the online menu was really really out of date. The menu was ok, but not great. Don't say dungeness with shells and cheese, it sounds you like added crab to the kids menu. And for the record it wasn't shells, it was cavatappi and it wasn't cheesy. It was actually pretty flavorless. I got the steak and truffle fries. Steak over cooked, burnt on the edges, and all of about 3 oz of steak. Of course you wouldn't know that immediately with the large piles of slimy looking onions dropped on top of it. The fries were not truffle, but under cooked and cold. Truly a terrible (overpriced) meal. It didn't even look appetizing. The ramekin of ketchup was dirty and sloppy looking too. The iced tea was terrible. I would not spend the money to eat here again.

The one good thing, the wait staff was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great experience with our waitress Emma. Food was good :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner at Portals was a delight! The chefs provided a tasty buffet with prime rib, salmon and pork. The talented Dickens Caroler's created the perfect holiday ambiance. A memorable evening!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

While we loved the view Ann's quiet atmosphere our server could have been a bit more friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been coming to Suncadia for several years and due to the lack of options, eat at Portals at least twice a trip. Service is terrible. It has always been terrible. They always take too long. It's tough to get a water, iced tea or soda refill. They are slow to bus your plates. And for a resort that caters to kids, the restraurant does nothing to cater to kids. They don't bring out any type of food for the kids early. The staff doesn't ask to bring out kids orders first. There are no kid desserts. And the long wait wreaks havoc on your sanity. You have few options but if you have kids and are going to Portals, bring a snack for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Either adjust or remove your on line menu if you don't serve what is listed. We were hoping for the chocolate cheesecake but were told by the server it was not available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Birthday dinner was wonderful! We decided to go with a few appetizers instead of an entree because the appetizers are amazing! Tomato soup is the best I've had. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We spent the weekend at Suncadia and celebrated a friends' birthday at Portals. The service excelled at the restaurant and throughout the resort. We felt very well taken care of. The food was good but not exceptional. One friend had the short ribs which she said were disappointingly not tender and lacked depth of flavor. Several of us at the New York steaks......they were good and the side dishes delicious. The steaks were a very generous portion and while the sides were on the small side; it worked well because of the size of the steaks. We had an assortment of desserts and they were all good. Our server was friendly, attentive and paid attention to the details.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Just had a great dinner at Portals. The services was excellent. Especially enjoyed the clams and the shared brussel sprout plate for starters. Everyone was happy with their choice of meal. Make a reservation, as the dinner hour books up.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Waiter was great. Food was ok.seafood did not sit well. Would go back but with lower expectations.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I ordered the pork chop. No mention was made on the menu that there would be ANY jalapeno My wife and I had dinner at Portals SAT night, October 1. I ordered the pork chop. NOWHERE written on the menu was I told it would come with a quantity of jalapenos that would stop an army. In fact, no mention of jalapenos! Additionally, the pork chop had a consistency of shoe leather. Fool that I am, I suffered through it and chose not to complain. I won't be making that mistake again. By all accounts, a horrible dining experience. Greatly disappointed. Mixed emotions about wanting to dine again at Portals. (We have previously dined at Portals and very much enjoyed the experience!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Thought it was over priced for the food we received.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very disappointed with the food considering the price you pay. We ordered 6 different plates of food including dessert and I can not say that any of them were enjoyable. In fact, all were either lacking flavor or dried out. Overall the resort is beautiful but the food is less than to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Ashley was a great server! We loved the donuts for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The waitress left us completely unattended for nearly an hour. Our food took an hour to arrive and was a tiny portion. Not worth the money. We have enjoyed the breakfast and dinner in the past. Definitely NOT our best experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The menu is limited and unexciting. The restaurant was out of two of the entrees that evening leavingeven fewer uninspiring and overpriced options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Took a while to have the waiter take our order, and then another long wait until our food arrived. But the food was good, and the view extremely nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Your food was over priced for the portions and quality.
Our waitress was very uninterested in us and had no energy.
Very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Too many small kids running around screaming and too many babies crying. If you want quiet or romance or undisturbed dining pleasure, may as well go to McDonald's.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 5, 2016

My medium rare filet was still cold in the middle. Not acceptable. Our server offered to throw it back on but that simple does not work when you're paying $50 for a steak it needs to be done right the first time. I was not about to wait another 20+ minutes for another steak. No manager came by to apologize or offer any kind of reimbursement. The rest of the meal was lacking any real flavor that I'd want to try again. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary and dressed for the occasion. They sat us netween a party of 16 people and another table with two yelling kids. We asked to move and just never felt pampered as you should at a place like this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Extremely loud, took over an hour to get out food, took over 20 minutes just to get a cocktail. Food quality was okay, but for the cost (which is high) the ambiance, service, and quality was significantly lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We waited over 45 minutes for our main course before leaving after trays of other orders kept going by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 18, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. The food was wonderful and the service friendly and timely. Can hardly wait to return with our adult children for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Restaurant was good, but, the staff was a bit green. Checked in with hostess while seated in bar, and she forgot about us. Had to come to host stand 5 minutes after reservation. Service staff also new and not too knowledgeable about menu and wine selections. Did not affect experience, but, some more training would help.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely date night with a view. Delicious drinks, perfectly cooked steak. A loud party of women seated next to us could have been annoying - they didn't really bother us, but the house comped our wine to apologize. Only added to our high opinion of the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Friendly staff...prompt service. ..excellentfood..and thankyou for mailing my visa card to me..

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was sub-par and not inexpensive. The bruschetta wasn't toasted and was just plain bland - same with the French Dip

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went for an intimate dinner, just the two of us. The room is pleasant, with a beautiful gas fire. Large windows on two sides open to an endless vista of mountains and sky. Service was very pleasant. The menu was somewhat limited, with not a lot of selection. I started with a truffled mushroom dish that was excellent. We shared a steak/crab leg surf and turf. the steak was very good, crab legs generous size. the wine list was quite abbreviated, with very few bottles less than $100. There was exactly one zinfandel. Markup on that bottle was roughly 3x. My wife wanted an espresso and the server volunteered to run to the coffee shop, open it up, since it had closed by that point, and prepare her an espresso, which was well above and beyond the call of duty. Overall a very pleasant dining experience, but not outstanding.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have eaten at Portals many times for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the past. This weekend, we had breakfast and dinner. Neither meal was as good as past experiences.

The service was good. One person in our group is suffering from food allergies and our waitress worked with the kitchen to accommodate as much as possible. We ordered steaks and one of the sides was the truffle fries. When the fries were brought out, she noticed the portion was unusually small and without being asked, she brought another order. The steaks, New Yorks and a Filet, were good but not great. They were around $50 each, so pricing comparable to a good steakhouse, but not close to the quality you would expect for the price. The setting is nice and the view is beautiful. Staying at the resort, there are limited options, and the pricing (high) and quality (fair) are consistent with the fact that you are a captive audience.

In the past breakfast was a good experience - still expensive, but friendly service and good food. This trip breakfast was a disappointment. We ordered omelets, but they were overcooked. I would say that either the kitchen or the waitress, or both, should have recognized how overcooked they were and not served them. To be fair, we did not send them back, so maybe they would have taken care of it, but the waitress also never came back and asked how they were. In the past, we had ordered the buffet which had been really good. This time, we walked through it before ordering and were disappointed to see limited choices and food that had been sitting for some time. When picking up the lids off the food containers, a large amount of water ran off the lid and into the food so most of it looked soggy and unappetizing.

Dinner was expensive, but the food was good. Unfortunately, breakfast was expensive and the food was not good. Hopefully, they will find there way back to the selection and quality they've offered in the past.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 29, 2016

First off, the Suncadia resort was great, we really enjoyed it. We'd read that the Portals restaurant had a new chef, and was receiving favorable reviews. But we tried it 3 times during our 4 day stay, twice for dinner and once for breakfast, and it was really pretty bad. For breakfast I'd ordered the eggs benedict, and it came out with the eggs completely hard boiled. Never had that happen anywhere before. I sent it back, and the next version had eggs that were barely cooked. Hardly even warm. They still didn't take it off the bill though.

First night for dinner, the brussels sprouts as an appetizer were good, but everything else was just horrible. The Halibut ($37) plate was the worst cooked, most flavorless fish dish I think I've ever had. Just no flavor to anything on the plate. My wife's chicken was similarly flavorless. The chocolate cake dessert was bad as well, with a really strange flavor.

We were going to try somewhere in the nearby town for our last night's dinner, but it was memorial day weekend and everything was booked. So we thought maybe we'd be safe with burgers at Portals. But the server told us that they had been out of the elk/wagyu meat for the burgers for days (did they not prep for a holiday weekend when the resort was packed??), and all they had was bison burgers. We ordered these, and once again, they were completely flavorless.

Avoid Portals until they get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.