About Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort

3600 Suncadia Trail
Cle Elum, WA 98922
View Larger Map

At The Lodge at Suncadia, Portals offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and features an ever changing menu of sophisticated, home style cuisine with fresh, local, and organically grown ingredients, made even more enjoyable by the incredible, panoramic views of the Cle Elum River and Cascade Mountains.

Fifty-6 Degrees Lounge at The Lodge is your friendly connection spot, serving tasting plates and a diverse selection of local, handcrafted wines and microbrews. Mingle, unwind, and share the best of Northwest inspired pleasures for the palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily
Lunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm Daily
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Bullfrog Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 649-6473

Website:
http://www.suncadiaresort.com/roslyn-restaurants.php

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Both self and valet parking are offered.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Rick Shell

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet/private party facilities to accommodate anywhere from 6 to 500 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Debbie Losse: 5096496432x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

2.8

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Cle Elum ›

Scenic View (19)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (7)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitress left us completely unattend ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

The waitress left us completely unattended for nearly an hour. Our food took an hour to arrive and was a tiny portion. Not worth the money. We have enjoyed the breakfast and dinner in the past. Definitely NOT our best experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

The menu is limited and unexciting. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

The menu is limited and unexciting. The restaurant was out of two of the entrees that evening leavingeven fewer uninspiring and overpriced options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Took a while to have the waiter take our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took a while to have the waiter take our order, and then another long wait until our food arrived. But the food was good, and the view extremely nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Your food was over priced for the portio ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Your food was over priced for the portions and quality.

Our waitress was very uninterested in us and had no energy.

Very disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Too many small kids running around screa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Too many small kids running around screaming and too many babies crying. If you want quiet or romance or undisturbed dining pleasure, may as well go to McDonald's.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

My medium rare filet was still cold in t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My medium rare filet was still cold in the middle. Not acceptable. Our server offered to throw it back on but that simple does not work when you're paying $50 for a steak it needs to be done right the first time. I was not about to wait another 20+ minutes for another steak. No manager came by to apologize or offer any kind of reimbursement. The rest of the meal was lacking any real flavor that I'd want to try again. We celebrated our 10 year anniversary and dressed for the occasion. They sat us netween a party of 16 people and another table with two yelling kids. We asked to move and just never felt pampered as you should at a place like this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Extremely loud, took over an hour to get ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Extremely loud, took over an hour to get out food, took over 20 minutes just to get a cocktail. Food quality was okay, but for the cost (which is high) the ambiance, service, and quality was significantly lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

We waited over 45 minutes for our main c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We waited over 45 minutes for our main course before leaving after trays of other orders kept going by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. The food was wonderful and the service friendly and timely. Can hardly wait to return with our adult children for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was good, but, the staff was ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Restaurant was good, but, the staff was a bit green. Checked in with hostess while seated in bar, and she forgot about us. Had to come to host stand 5 minutes after reservation. Service staff also new and not too knowledgeable about menu and wine selections. Did not affect experience, but, some more training would help.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely date night with a view. Delicious ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely date night with a view. Delicious drinks, perfectly cooked steak. A loud party of women seated next to us could have been annoying - they didn't really bother us, but the house comped our wine to apologize. Only added to our high opinion of the service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Friendly staff...prompt service. ..excel ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Friendly staff...prompt service. ..excellentfood..and thankyou for mailing my visa card to me..

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sadie

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was sub-par and not inexpensive. The bruschetta wasn't toasted and was just plain bland - same with the French Dip

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Fantastic view, pretty good, but limited

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We went for an intimate dinner, just the two of us. The room is pleasant, with a beautiful gas fire. Large windows on two sides open to an endless vista of mountains and sky. Service was very pleasant. The menu was somewhat limited, with not a lot of selection. I started with a truffled mushroom dish that was excellent. We shared a steak/crab leg surf and turf. the steak was very good, crab legs generous size. the wine list was quite abbreviated, with very few bottles less than $100. There was exactly one zinfandel. Markup on that bottle was roughly 3x. My wife wanted an espresso and the server volunteered to run to the coffee shop, open it up, since it had closed by that point, and prepare her an espresso, which was well above and beyond the call of duty. Overall a very pleasant dining experience, but not outstanding.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Portals

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have eaten at Portals many times for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the past. This weekend, we had breakfast and dinner. Neither meal was as good as past experiences.

The service was good. One person in our group is suffering from food allergies and our waitress worked with the kitchen to accommodate as much as possible. We ordered steaks and one of the sides was the truffle fries. When the fries were brought out, she noticed the portion was unusually small and without being asked, she brought another order. The steaks, New Yorks and a Filet, were good but not great. They were around $50 each, so pricing comparable to a good steakhouse, but not close to the quality you would expect for the price. The setting is nice and the view is beautiful. Staying at the resort, there are limited options, and the pricing (high) and quality (fair) are consistent with the fact that you are a captive audience.

In the past breakfast was a good experience - still expensive, but friendly service and good food. This trip breakfast was a disappointment. We ordered omelets, but they were overcooked. I would say that either the kitchen or the waitress, or both, should have recognized how overcooked they were and not served them. To be fair, we did not send them back, so maybe they would have taken care of it, but the waitress also never came back and asked how they were. In the past, we had ordered the buffet which had been really good. This time, we walked through it before ordering and were disappointed to see limited choices and food that had been sitting for some time. When picking up the lids off the food containers, a large amount of water ran off the lid and into the food so most of it looked soggy and unappetizing.

Dinner was expensive, but the food was good. Unfortunately, breakfast was expensive and the food was not good. Hopefully, they will find there way back to the selection and quality they've offered in the past.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

First off, the Suncadia resort was great, we really enjoyed it. We'd read that the Portals restaurant had a new chef, and was receiving favorable reviews. But we tried it 3 times during our 4 day stay, twice for dinner and once for breakfast, and it was really pretty bad. For breakfast I'd ordered the eggs benedict, and it came out with the eggs completely hard boiled. Never had that happen anywhere before. I sent it back, and the next version had eggs that were barely cooked. Hardly even warm. They still didn't take it off the bill though.

First night for dinner, the brussels sprouts as an appetizer were good, but everything else was just horrible. The Halibut ($37) plate was the worst cooked, most flavorless fish dish I think I've ever had. Just no flavor to anything on the plate. My wife's chicken was similarly flavorless. The chocolate cake dessert was bad as well, with a really strange flavor.

We were going to try somewhere in the nearby town for our last night's dinner, but it was memorial day weekend and everything was booked. So we thought maybe we'd be safe with burgers at Portals. But the server told us that they had been out of the elk/wagyu meat for the burgers for days (did they not prep for a holiday weekend when the resort was packed??), and all they had was bison burgers. We ordered these, and once again, they were completely flavorless.

Avoid Portals until they get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Family Dinner

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was pleasant. I had duck that was overcooked. Childrens food looked good and they enjoyed it. My wife had a beef dish that was over cooked. Wine list if expensive for what it is. For the price it did nt meet the mark. The views are stunning and the room is relatively quiet for a family restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic view and very romantic set up, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Fantastic view and very romantic set up, it was a surprise 4th anniversary.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, as it usually is ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious, as it usually is at Portals. The service was super slow, but okay it's Mother's Day. We could be leisurely about our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Very expensive. Not a good meals.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited more then one and a half hour after we ordered the meals.The tenderloin steak was burned on top and cover with sauce and cold and uncooked on the center. The creme brûlée was warm and very soft. We had a very bad experience!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was very delicious and service was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was very delicious and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beyond our Expectations

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We spent a few days up at Suncadia and ate most of our meals at PORTALS restaurant.

The food was exceptional and beyond our expectations. Staff was prompt, courteous and extremely knowledgeable about the menu, wine and drink list. Can't wait to plan a future trip to Suncadia and Portals again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sad it isnt like it use to be.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I have gone in the past several times to portal restaurant. I remember the food and service was great. Sadly this time I wasnt too happy with food or service. The quality has gone down. Meat was over cooked, the mushroom soup was too salty. The server forgot to place my husbands entree order. mean while I had to share my meal with him until his order came in. The only good thing there is the ambience and their fresh doughnuts.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We dined at Portals for my friends birth ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We dined at Portals for my friends birthday lunch before our Glade Springs spa appointments. Our server, Amy, was delightful. We enjoyed the fish tacos and the chopped salad with grilled prawns, and of course a couple Mimosas! The view is spectacular, the restaurant is quiet, we had the perfect meal! Thank you Portals for helping us celebrate Cathy's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not impressed.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

When I ordered food from our room, it wasn't specified that it will not be delivered. We were asked to wait for 30 minutes to get it ready, we waited for an hour so I decided to call them and ask. The food was prepared for almost an hour already and cold. They even charged us for food we didn't order (ordered a kid meal and gave us a full 30 dollar plus entree instead). Overall it was a horrible experience, not to mention the overpriced meals. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Warm Food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Visited on a busy night with my wife and two small kids. Nice setting and friendly staff. Paid $160 for food that arrived warm after an hour twenty minute wait. The meals probably would have been much better hot and then the price reasonable for a destination dining option. As it was, disappointing on both fronts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Don't be dissappointed, go elsewhere

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We arrived at our appointed time, with our wives who were both Birthdays. Told the restaurant in advance. Wine was fantastic, service was OK, but no acknowledgement of the birthday girls! The words were "you have two free desserts coming". We could have gotten those at Dairy Queen. The food was less then worth the 1.5 hours to get there. Bread was brittle and broken on the sandwiches, lettuce was wilted. Closest we get next time is Swiftwater Winery.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Unsatisfied.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We decided to get away for a date night and thought it would be great to eat with in Suncadia Resort as that is where we were staying. The server was wonderful and super sweet. The Manager on the other hand was very hovering in a very awkward way. He made me feel I couldn't be honest with how the food was. It was weird the pressure he gave off.. We ordered our food (which was very expensive) And that is fine if what is delivered was fabulous but they just hit the mark. My ravioli was very chewy and my husbands steak really just lacked flavor.. I f we decide to go back we would just order from the lounge and not go for the 120 bill for food we didn't enjoy.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Portals made our special occaision extra special!!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My two friends & I have shared our birthdays in February for many years with an annual breakfast. This year we decided on Portals. When I made the reservation, I requested a view table, which we got...beautiful! Our two servers were very attentive & friendly. The food & coffee were excellent. When they found out it was our birthdays, they surprised us with a banana split on the house...very sweet! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A conference, high volume location.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

A conference, high volume location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Lunch, Yes! Dinner, Okay.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Dinner at Portals on a weeknight was a bit disappointing for the price -- especially when compared with Hoist @ Swiftwater. The salads and entrees were fine but dessert was mediocre and service was just "okay." It was not a bad experience by any means, but not the remarkable. That said, we had lunch earlier on the same day and it was pleasant enough. I might try dinner at Portals again but would recommend Hoist first.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Meh.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was mediocre at best, had mushroom soup that came out just above Luke warm, appetizer Brussels sprouts were great but Gorgonzola ravioli wasn't good at all, super dry and raviolis were so al dente they were practically crunchy. Husband got steak and that was ok, but the cowboy steak was the best (another person in our group had that). Service was good and drinks were good, food just didn't live up to the expectation. Bill was $260 out the door...so much money for meh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Slow

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated at 5 pm to an empty restaurant, didn't dawdle on ordering but still had to wait over an hour after appetizer for our meal. Great food but the delay was unreasonable.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Everything we ordered was delicious and plentiful.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had the Cedar plank salmon with the huckleberry sauce...it was phenomenal!! My husband had the Saturday night special 12 ounce sirloin, that he cut with a butter knife... it melted in his mouth! I ended with a salted caramel martini...need I say more! We will be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak "Miss"

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Family has been coming to Portals for several years (34x +) and generally have a great experience. Last evening, did not live up to Suncadia expectations. I ordered the Filet Mignon and after some time it arrived overcooked (past well)....after cutting into it they agreed to re-make. While my family essentially finished their dinners, my replacement steak arrived...however it was an awful cut of meat with large ribbons of fat in 3+ places...again, not eatable. So...I had only my soup for dinner! The manager made his way over to our table and I was expecting him to apologize and remove this entree from our bill....NOPE..."we will get better" was the response and offered to pay for children small donuts for dessert. Not sure what the manager was thinking but not a great way to ensure a good outcome for repeat customer. Will have to reserve steak dinners for Hoist House (which is excellent by the way). Too bad....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Solid food, nothing outstanding

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our second time here, and both times we left feeling satisfied, but underwhelmed in the price vs food quality comparison

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

OK place to eat in a pretty, convenient spot.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Classic resort restaurant. The ambience was lovely, the staff accommodated our kid, and the food was expensive but simply OK. The one exception was the homemade donuts, which were amazing. Next time I'll probably drive to Roslyn for dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not good.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was horrible. We sent my husbands back it was unbeatable. My chicken was like rubber. Didn't eat it. Service was ok. Hostess needed help.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Terrible, expected much more

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

3 of 4 meals wrong and everything was very slow. Waiter and server did all they could to cover the cooking mistakes. Manager was indecisive and clueless. For an expensive r restaurant of this quality I expected much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very disappointed

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Portals can't seem to get it right.,, which is sad for such a great resort.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.