About Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort

3600 Suncadia Trail
Cle Elum, WA 98922
View Larger Map

At The Lodge at Suncadia, Portals offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and features an ever changing menu of sophisticated, home style cuisine with fresh, local, and organically grown ingredients, made even more enjoyable by the incredible, panoramic views of the Cle Elum River and Cascade Mountains.

Fifty-6 Degrees Lounge at The Lodge is your friendly connection spot, serving tasting plates and a diverse selection of local, handcrafted wines and microbrews. Mingle, unwind, and share the best of Northwest inspired pleasures for the palate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 6:30am - 11:00am Daily
Lunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm Daily
Dinner: 5:00pm - 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Bullfrog Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(509) 649-6473

Website:
http://www.suncadiaresort.com/roslyn-restaurants.php

Catering:
Please call for details.

Parking Details:
Both self and valet parking are offered.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Rick Shell

Private Party Facilities:
We have banquet/private party facilities to accommodate anywhere from 6 to 500 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Debbie Losse: 5096496432x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Portals Restaurant at Suncadia Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

52% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
East of Seattle
Best Restaurants in Cle Elum ›

scenic view (17)
special occasion (9)
good for groups (5)
See All
romantic (4)
kid-friendly (4)
fit for foodies (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely date night with a view. Delicious ...

Dined 7 days ago

Lovely date night with a view. Delicious drinks, perfectly cooked steak. A loud party of women seated next to us could have been annoying - they didn't really bother us, but the house comped our wine to apologize. Only added to our high opinion of the service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly staff...prompt service. ..excel ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Friendly staff...prompt service. ..excellentfood..and thankyou for mailing my visa card to me..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Sadie

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was sub-par and not inexpensive. The bruschetta wasn't toasted and was just plain bland - same with the French Dip

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic view, pretty good, but limited

Dined on May 30, 2016

We went for an intimate dinner, just the two of us. The room is pleasant, with a beautiful gas fire. Large windows on two sides open to an endless vista of mountains and sky. Service was very pleasant. The menu was somewhat limited, with not a lot of selection. I started with a truffled mushroom dish that was excellent. We shared a steak/crab leg surf and turf. the steak was very good, crab legs generous size. the wine list was quite abbreviated, with very few bottles less than $100. There was exactly one zinfandel. Markup on that bottle was roughly 3x. My wife wanted an espresso and the server volunteered to run to the coffee shop, open it up, since it had closed by that point, and prepare her an espresso, which was well above and beyond the call of duty. Overall a very pleasant dining experience, but not outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Portals

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have eaten at Portals many times for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the past. This weekend, we had breakfast and dinner. Neither meal was as good as past experiences. The service was good. One person in our group is suffering from food allergies and our waitress worked with the kitchen to accommodate as much as possible. We ordered steaks and one of the sides was the truffle fries. When the fries were brought out, she noticed the portion was unusually small and without being asked, she brought another order. The steaks, New Yorks and a Filet, were good but not great. They were around $50 each, so pricing comparable to a good steakhouse, but not close to the quality you would expect for the price. The setting is nice and the view is beautiful. Staying at the resort, there are limited options, and the pricing (high) and quality (fair) are consistent with the fact that you are a captive audience. In the past breakfast was a good experience - still expensive, but friendly service and good food. This trip breakfast was a disappointment. We ordered omelets, but they were overcooked. I would say that either the kitchen or the waitress, or both, should have recognized how overcooked they were and not served them. To be fair, we did not send them back, so maybe they would have taken care of it, but the waitress also never came back and asked how they were. In the past, we had ordered the buffet which had been really good. This time, we walked through it before ordering and were disappointed to see limited choices and food that had been sitting for some time. When picking up the lids off the food containers, a large amount of water ran off the lid and into the food so most of it looked soggy and unappetizing. Dinner was expensive, but the food was good. Unfortunately, breakfast was expensive and the food was not good. Hopefully, they will find there way back to the selection and quality they've offered in the past.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Disappointing

Dined on May 29, 2016

First off, the Suncadia resort was great, we really enjoyed it. We'd read that the Portals restaurant had a new chef, and was receiving favorable reviews. But we tried it 3 times during our 4 day stay, twice for dinner and once for breakfast, and it was really pretty bad. For breakfast I'd ordered the eggs benedict, and it came out with the eggs completely hard boiled. Never had that happen anywhere before. I sent it back, and the next version had eggs that were barely cooked. Hardly even warm. They still didn't take it off the bill though. First night for dinner, the brussels sprouts as an appetizer were good, but everything else was just horrible. The Halibut ($37) plate was the worst cooked, most flavorless fish dish I think I've ever had. Just no flavor to anything on the plate. My wife's chicken was similarly flavorless. The chocolate cake dessert was bad as well, with a really strange flavor. We were going to try somewhere in the nearby town for our last night's dinner, but it was memorial day weekend and everything was booked. So we thought maybe we'd be safe with burgers at Portals. But the server told us that they had been out of the elk/wagyu meat for the burgers for days (did they not prep for a holiday weekend when the resort was packed??), and all they had was bison burgers. We ordered these, and once again, they were completely flavorless. Avoid Portals until they get their act together.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Family Dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was pleasant. I had duck that was overcooked. Childrens food looked good and they enjoyed it. My wife had a beef dish that was over cooked. Wine list if expensive for what it is. For the price it did nt meet the mark. The views are stunning and the room is relatively quiet for a family restaurant.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view and very romantic set up, ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Fantastic view and very romantic set up, it was a surprise 4th anniversary.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was delicious, as it usually is ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious, as it usually is at Portals. The service was super slow, but okay it's Mother's Day. We could be leisurely about our meal.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Very expensive. Not a good meals.

Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited more then one and a half hour after we ordered the meals.The tenderloin steak was burned on top and cover with sauce and cold and uncooked on the center. The creme brûlée was warm and very soft. We had a very bad experience!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very delicious and service was ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was very delicious and service was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beyond our Expectations

Dined on April 22, 2016

We spent a few days up at Suncadia and ate most of our meals at PORTALS restaurant. The food was exceptional and beyond our expectations. Staff was prompt, courteous and extremely knowledgeable about the menu, wine and drink list. Can't wait to plan a future trip to Suncadia and Portals again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

So sad it isnt like it use to be.

Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I have gone in the past several times to portal restaurant. I remember the food and service was great. Sadly this time I wasnt too happy with food or service. The quality has gone down. Meat was over cooked, the mushroom soup was too salty. The server forgot to place my husbands entree order. mean while I had to share my meal with him until his order came in. The only good thing there is the ambience and their fresh doughnuts.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Portals for my friends birth ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We dined at Portals for my friends birthday lunch before our Glade Springs spa appointments. Our server, Amy, was delightful. We enjoyed the fish tacos and the chopped salad with grilled prawns, and of course a couple Mimosas! The view is spectacular, the restaurant is quiet, we had the perfect meal! Thank you Portals for helping us celebrate Cathy's birthday!

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Not impressed.

Dined on March 20, 2016

When I ordered food from our room, it wasn't specified that it will not be delivered. We were asked to wait for 30 minutes to get it ready, we waited for an hour so I decided to call them and ask. The food was prepared for almost an hour already and cold. They even charged us for food we didn't order (ordered a kid meal and gave us a full 30 dollar plus entree instead). Overall it was a horrible experience, not to mention the overpriced meals. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant at all.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Warm Food

Dined on March 12, 2016

Visited on a busy night with my wife and two small kids. Nice setting and friendly staff. Paid $160 for food that arrived warm after an hour twenty minute wait. The meals probably would have been much better hot and then the price reasonable for a destination dining option. As it was, disappointing on both fronts.

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Don't be dissappointed, go elsewhere

Dined on March 6, 2016

We arrived at our appointed time, with our wives who were both Birthdays. Told the restaurant in advance. Wine was fantastic, service was OK, but no acknowledgement of the birthday girls! The words were "you have two free desserts coming". We could have gotten those at Dairy Queen. The food was less then worth the 1.5 hours to get there. Bread was brittle and broken on the sandwiches, lettuce was wilted. Closest we get next time is Swiftwater Winery.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Unsatisfied.

Dined on March 6, 2016

We decided to get away for a date night and thought it would be great to eat with in Suncadia Resort as that is where we were staying. The server was wonderful and super sweet. The Manager on the other hand was very hovering in a very awkward way. He made me feel I couldn't be honest with how the food was. It was weird the pressure he gave off.. We ordered our food (which was very expensive) And that is fine if what is delivered was fabulous but they just hit the mark. My ravioli was very chewy and my husbands steak really just lacked flavor.. I f we decide to go back we would just order from the lounge and not go for the 120 bill for food we didn't enjoy.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portals made our special occaision extra special!!

Dined on February 28, 2016

My two friends & I have shared our birthdays in February for many years with an annual breakfast. This year we decided on Portals. When I made the reservation, I requested a view table, which we got...beautiful! Our two servers were very attentive & friendly. The food & coffee were excellent. When they found out it was our birthdays, they surprised us with a banana split on the house...very sweet! We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service4

A conference, high volume location.

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

A conference, high volume location.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Lunch, Yes! Dinner, Okay.

Dined on February 17, 2016

Dinner at Portals on a weeknight was a bit disappointing for the price -- especially when compared with Hoist @ Swiftwater. The salads and entrees were fine but dessert was mediocre and service was just "okay." It was not a bad experience by any means, but not the remarkable. That said, we had lunch earlier on the same day and it was pleasant enough. I might try dinner at Portals again but would recommend Hoist first.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Meh.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was mediocre at best, had mushroom soup that came out just above Luke warm, appetizer Brussels sprouts were great but Gorgonzola ravioli wasn't good at all, super dry and raviolis were so al dente they were practically crunchy. Husband got steak and that was ok, but the cowboy steak was the best (another person in our group had that). Service was good and drinks were good, food just didn't live up to the expectation. Bill was $260 out the door...so much money for meh food.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Slow

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated at 5 pm to an empty restaurant, didn't dawdle on ordering but still had to wait over an hour after appetizer for our meal. Great food but the delay was unreasonable.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was delicious and plentiful.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I had the Cedar plank salmon with the huckleberry sauce...it was phenomenal!! My husband had the Saturday night special 12 ounce sirloin, that he cut with a butter knife... it melted in his mouth! I ended with a salted caramel martini...need I say more! We will be returning!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Steak "Miss"

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Family has been coming to Portals for several years (34x +) and generally have a great experience. Last evening, did not live up to Suncadia expectations. I ordered the Filet Mignon and after some time it arrived overcooked (past well)....after cutting into it they agreed to re-make. While my family essentially finished their dinners, my replacement steak arrived...however it was an awful cut of meat with large ribbons of fat in 3+ places...again, not eatable. So...I had only my soup for dinner! The manager made his way over to our table and I was expecting him to apologize and remove this entree from our bill....NOPE..."we will get better" was the response and offered to pay for children small donuts for dessert. Not sure what the manager was thinking but not a great way to ensure a good outcome for repeat customer. Will have to reserve steak dinners for Hoist House (which is excellent by the way). Too bad....

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Solid food, nothing outstanding

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was our second time here, and both times we left feeling satisfied, but underwhelmed in the price vs food quality comparison

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

OK place to eat in a pretty, convenient spot.

Dined on January 10, 2016

Classic resort restaurant. The ambience was lovely, the staff accommodated our kid, and the food was expensive but simply OK. The one exception was the homemade donuts, which were amazing. Next time I'll probably drive to Roslyn for dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Not good.

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was horrible. We sent my husbands back it was unbeatable. My chicken was like rubber. Didn't eat it. Service was ok. Hostess needed help.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Terrible, expected much more

Dined on December 30, 2015

3 of 4 meals wrong and everything was very slow. Waiter and server did all they could to cover the cooking mistakes. Manager was indecisive and clueless. For an expensive r restaurant of this quality I expected much more.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Very disappointed

Dined on December 28, 2015

Portals can't seem to get it right.,, which is sad for such a great resort.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Go during daylight!

Dined on December 27, 2015

There are not a lot of dine out choices at Suncadia so you will likely end up here at some point if you stay for any length of time. Try to go during the day so you can take in the great view and it will help make up for the above average prices.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Date Night

Dined on November 10, 2015

I planned a date night with my wife with no kids to be by ourselves. We had a great table next to the fire place that had breathtaking views of the mountains. The beverage list had a nice selection of regional wines and beers. We started off the night with foraged mushroom cobbler and cider steamed clams and mussels, what a great start. For our entrees we had the duck breast and scallop dishes. The duck was tender and cooked perfectly. The scallops were sweet and succulent. We ended our meals with warm cinnamon donuts and crème brulee. The service staff was attentive and very nice. We will be back again in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2

I really wanted to love this place

Dined on November 8, 2015

I want to say up front that I consider the failings of the staff to be those of the management. The young people who work there were doing their best , without being adequately trained. Hence my review as fair service. The food- Mushroom soup that was mostly cream and balsamic vinegar. Had a slightly sour taste. Not very enjoyable. My entree was scallops, and for $35 I received four 1x1 inch scallops on top of a bed of greens and apple, drizzled with a very small amount of some kind of reduction. Warm quinoa salad? Cider cream? None of that was on my plate. Just bitter greens. I suggest they update the menu to be more accurate, not to mention adjust their pricing. I asked for my scallops medium well . They sliced them to do so. I cook fish all the time, and you really never have to do that if you allow it to cook for the proper amount of time. I could have prepared this for about $7. Vegetables or a starch, it would have been $10-15 more. That is obscene. My companion ordered the sirloin steak well done and it was delivered as so. Potatoes were on the plate, and the steak was plopped right on top of them, so those of you who like stew would be pleased. Meager, overpriced serving. A few zucchini on the side. On the plus side, the wine list was good, and reasonably priced. An odd strategy for a restaurant- overpriced food, reasonable wine. Service, well it was adequate. SLOW. The staff is mostly very young and not well trained. The nice young man who was doing the best he could without any direction, was too fast with the food, didn't understand we wanted a bottle of wine and not a glass, and brought us mineral water to drink straight out of the bottle. I believe he could be a good waiter with the proper training, so I do not fault him at all. He clearly did not know and was open to redirection. So, this mess, with a $45 bottle of wine, ended up costing well over $200. There would have to be a major shakeup to make me go again.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience

Dined on November 1, 2015

Wonderful ambiance, terrific wait staff, excellent food and breathtaking view. Couldn't ask for more. My guests had never been there and were very impressed, we all will be back. My gluten-free sandwich bread request was granted. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible Food, View and Ambiance

Dined on October 24, 2015

Dinner here is an incredible experience. Food is fresh, innovative and satisfying. The only drawback is that service can be a hit or miss. Our last time, service was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

anniversary Stay at the Lodge

Dined on October 15, 2015

The only thing I can say was the menu was limited. I was looking for local lamb and they did not have it available. We were there a little off season but there was still enough people staying at the facility that a short menu was not needed. Thanks to the whole staff at the restaurant for a nice meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3

The place had issues

vip
Dined on October 4, 2015

Very slow service, Unable to give us the dessert we wanted instead gave us options of what we could have if we didn't want to wait due to they were serving a party larger than they were accustomed to in the other room. Short ribs were overcooked and smothered with Kale over the grits that accompanied the short ribs. Even ordering an appetizer of just fries the next day took us going to ask where they were. Eat somewhere else, anywhere else even if you have to go to Cle Elum or Roslyn to do it.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2

Well Worth the Commute from Seattle for Lunch

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

I made a reservation for lunch with my former boss... an hour commute from our homes in Issaquah. I requested a table in a QUIET area, next to the window if possible. We arrived on time and were seated next to the back wall in a noisy area right next to a table of 8 very loud women. Next, it seemed to take more time than usual for them to decide who would be our servers... after one took our orders another arrived to take our orders...this continued several times including when we requested coffee at the end of the meal and it did not arrive for fifteen minutes or more. I have no idea what was going on that day (Friday 2 September). Portals was nowhere near capacity. Perhaps it was just an "off" day... certainly the only one I have experienced in the dozen plus times I have dined there. They just did not seem to have it all together from the hostess to the servers. The food was delicious, however. I will return...

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service1

Food and Service

Dined on September 20, 2015

We ordered our appetizer and it took a long time (only a couple of tables used). We were not even finished and our main meal arrived (very poor). My veal was tough and tasted lousy; the mashed potatoes were runny. A very poor meal! It was my partner's birthday and her food was very marginal. We weren't finished and a guy (not the waitress) started picking up dishes off our table without asking. We told him to put the dishes down and leave. The waitress came by and we told her what had happened. Then two minutes later, another waitress came by and started asking us how our meal was (not good, since we had never met her); another minute came by and a manager came by and asked us a bunch of questions; we couldn't even understand what he was saying (heavy asian accent). All we wanted was some private time, but the staff was poorly trained. We were done eating for a long time and the waitress never came back. She finally came and we ordered desert. I went to the back and told her it was her birthday. It took over 30 minutes to come out. It took another 30 minutes (after eating desert) and she never returned with the check. All in all, I wouldn't eat here at Portals again. I've eaten much better food in Army Mess Halls. It's definitely not worth the money! It was the worst meal we have ever eaten and my partner is a chef, so I know from where I speak. Did I mention the service? I still tipped 20 bucks, but it was unearned. The meal was $100.00 for two people. Beautiful place, but a better meal could have been had anywhere else. We live on Whidbey Island. Gordon's is 1,000% better and only a short drive away in Freeland. Frazier's is another great restaurant on Whidbey (Oak Harbor); both are top-notch places, that cost way less for example.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service3

Great variety and quality of food

Dined on September 14, 2015

Selection on menu was great! Wide variety and seasonal options as well as local food and wine selection. Service a little clunky but very polite.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.