About Port Land Grille

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms perfect for your next business dinner meeting, rehearsal dinner or private party from 15 - 65 guests. Private dining (including total buyouts) available 7 days with certain food and beverage minimums applicable. Visit our website for menu ideas, pricing and other private dining information.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Steketee: 9102566056

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cesar Salad
Grouper Cheeks With Risotto And Asparagus
Apple Tarte Fine With Rum And Raisin Ice Cream
Blue Crab Meat Dip
Ahi tuna
Cheesecake Topped With Chocolate & Strawberry Syrup
Veal Chops & Morels
Beet Salad
Lump Crab Cake
Fried flounder
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Kansas City Strip Steak
Braised Grouper Fillet
Crab Cake With Butterbeans & Bacon Vinaigrette
Littleneck Clams "Portuguese"
Queen Anne's Lace
Foie Gras & Arnagnac Terrine
Watermelon Salad

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (47)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Notable Wine List (29)
See All
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous , service was wonderful and di ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous , service was wonderful and dinner was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had was amazing!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything we had was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were delicious, but you MUST s ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our meals were delicious, but you MUST save room for the coconut cake. It is unbelievable even if you normally aren't a big fan of coconut cake!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for a special occasion, 5t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went there for a special occasion, 5th Wedding Anniversary. They made everyone happy. The food was fresh, delicious and plentiful. We were a group of six that ranged from 30-70 with a

19 month old toddler. We enjoyed it immensely.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food had excellent potential. The a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The food had excellent potential. The appetizers were great but our main course of Lamb tenderloin as ordered rare-medium rare and it was medium to medium-well, sauce was excellent, overall the main somewhat disappointing. The dessert was to die for. Portions were very generous. Wine pour was just right.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived early for drinks at the bar. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We arrived early for drinks at the bar. The Martinis were horrible...very watered down. The bartender was distracted and did not listen at all to our order....we sent drinks back twice.

I had the scallops. They were almost RAW and I could not eat them. My husband said his meal of fish was "tasteless." For dessert I got the crème brulee and it was burned and not edible. We sent that back.

It was an extremely disappointing experience from start to finish. Port Land Grille HAD been our favorite restaurant. Very sadly, we will not be going back any time soon.

Additionally, our waiter was the worst ever we have had there.

Just did not seem to care at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Enjoyed our meal, as always. Great serv ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Enjoyed our meal, as always. Great service and attention to detail. Had a miss with the little neck clam appetizer (tomato sauce overpowered clams), but everything else was perfect. Wonderful wine list to compliment any entree.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After 14 months in the area I can't beli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

After 14 months in the area I can't believe we're just now finding this great restaurant. Although this was our first dinner here it won't be our last. We shared the excellent pate as an appetizer. Both of us had the yellowfin tuna for our main. It was cooked to a suculant medium rare and the portions were great value for money. Given the delicious sounding other choices on the menu, we're anxious to return and sample their other offerings. Finally, they get highest marks for their selection of softly playing, appropriate jazz during dinner. Loud enough to set a mood, but not so loud as to intrude on the evenings enjoyment. Well done, Port Land Grille!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service and Food was outstanding! The lo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service and Food was outstanding! The lower lighting sets the mood and creates a great atmosphere for special celebrations and business meals

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of four was disappointed with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Our party of four was disappointed with our experience. The menu was tedious to read and ridiculously confusing. The server was confused by our ordering different salad dressings and all of our salads were dry or had the wrong dressing. The steak was almost raw, not medium. The scallops were served on a bed of quinoa that could serve 6. We failed to stop the onslaught of multiple bottles of water. The scallops were tough. The panna cotta was over cooked. We were visiting but chose this restaurant based on recommendations by family members who live nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Service was very rushed. Hardly seated a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was very rushed. Hardly seated asking about drinks, came back twice, still looking at wine list. Why have a nice wine list if don't allow time to review?

Same with food order. Barely had wine delivered and asking every minute if ready to order. Servers were friendly, but over eager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was excellent! The steak tender ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was excellent! The steak tender and full of flavor. The free range chicken was succulent and most flavorful.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Port Land Grille never disappoints. Inn ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Port Land Grille never disappoints. Innovative menu highlighing local food- Absolutely delicious. Our server on this occasion was lacking in terms of attention to detail, but friendly and seemed to be learning. Will absolutely be back. A favorite.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

There was four of us and we sat in a sma ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

There was four of us and we sat in a small room with only one other table of two when we arrived so it was nice and quiet. As tables filled up In the room it got louder but was still pleasant bathe other dining area appeared to be louder. The food was very good and good size portions. It is a bit pricey. They charge $25 corkage fee if you bring your own wine and they only let you bring one bottle per table--regardless of how many people are at that table. This was pretty much the only negative of the night, but we knew that going in.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This restaurant choice was selected pure ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This restaurant choice was selected purely on reviews. As this dinner was for a special occasion, 49th anniversary, we were really hopeful. What a selection ! Seamless reservation; outstanding meal (all facets); excellent wine list; attentive, knowledgeable, service; reasonable prices. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Wilmington, hands dow ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Best restaurant in Wilmington, hands down. Food is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were very disappointed that the resta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We were very disappointed that the restaurant did not have their twice baked potatoes available to go with the coffee rubbed rib-eyes. In addition, shrimp cocktail appetizers were also unavailable at a 8pm seating. Service was excellent but I felt embarrassed for our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food! Enjoyed it.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great food! Enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service. Waitress wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good food and service. Waitress was good, but had a hard time describing the cheeses that were available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very unimpressed based on their reputati ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very unimpressed based on their reputation. Wine was warm, food was below average and portions were too big.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Service at what used to be one of our fa ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service at what used to be one of our favorites has definitely fallen off the edge. Our waitress took one person's order then walked away. We had to get the hostess to bring her back so the rest of us could order. We ordered 1/2 a dozen of two different types of oysters. She brought us 6 total, tried to tell us it was 3 of each kind. We had to remind her 1/2 a dozen is 6. She then came back and advised she had just been informed they were out of one type. They were smaller than a teaspoon each, definitely not worth the cost. She was confused about how to bring our food when we ordered multiple appetizers to share. We did take a few things home, including a slider. She only put the bottom half of the slider in, kept the top bun for herself I guess. Waited over 15 minutes to get a check, then another 10 to have it picked up. Loud, overcrowded. Will not be back until significant changes are made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

PortLand is Always outstanding ! Great f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

PortLand is Always outstanding ! Great food professional service a cool bar area and an Awesome wine list! My fave place in town!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Port Land Grille is a pretty restaurant ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Port Land Grille is a pretty restaurant with outdoor seating. It has a very intricate menu in that there are several preparations you pick from once you choose your entree. I love crab cakes so I ordered that as an appetizer; it was only ok and I would not recommend it. The coffee rubbed steak was much better and more than I could eat. My husband had a fish dish and really did not want any of the busy preparations, but was afraid he would offend the chef if he ordered it the way he wanted it. I have no interest in returning as the food is very busy and expensive. Our server was very good, but there were long periods between courses, a long wait for the check, and then again to have it processed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the best meals we've ever had. Tr ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever had. Truely memorable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

All the elements of a great dining exper ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

All the elements of a great dining experience came together perfectly here, even on a Saturday night in a beach city, during the height of summer vacation!

Between us we had both steak (fillet), and seafood (monkfish), and both were exquisite... the choices of preparations, including sides and seasonings, was a great menu enhancement, and our server was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time is super and well worth the c ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Every time is super and well worth the cost. Split a salad and it was the usual size salad for 1 at most restaurants - could have been an entree if not split. Both had swordfish, different ways, and both were delicious and excellently cooked. Coconut cake superb and glad we took the uneaten half home for the next day. Though informal, table linens add a welcome ambiance. Staff are attentive and certainly didn't rush us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions of fresh fish. Delicious ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Large portions of fresh fish. Delicious cocktails. Affordable wine menu. Good service although casual service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Crab cake was not good and we did not ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Crab cake was not good and we did not care for the liquid smoke applied to the salads.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Consistently the best dinner in Wilmingt ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Consistently the best dinner in Wilmington! Food & service is perfectly executed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service! We will r ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding food and service! We will return and will always recommend Port Land Grille to others!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is truly a great restaurant. The f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is truly a great restaurant. The food, atmosphere, and service is outstanding. Our server, Bob, was one of the best I've ever seen. There are many regular customers who know each other and are greeted by the staff. This was our second visit in the past two years and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great find. We will return i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was a great find. We will return in the future

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was wonderful and knowledgeab ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wait staff was wonderful and knowledgeable. Food was very good - had beef tenderloin and antelope. Would go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice meal with my son- good food, n ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very nice meal with my son- good food, nice service and delightful atmosphere. We didn't need to order the appetizer because we had a lot of food for the main course, including my salad with fried oysters and arugula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

FIrst bad meal in about 10 visits. Serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

FIrst bad meal in about 10 visits. Service was poor, and food was not at the usual standard. Will give one more try before deciding to continue to frequent or not.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Food was fabulous Service was erratic . ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was fabulous

Service was erratic . Server seemed to forget we were there for long periods of time

Very strange!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Love this restaurant. This visit was a b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love this restaurant. This visit was a bit different. We had a large family next to us and I believe our server was new. But I would still go back and recommend to others

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite restaurants anywhere ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants anywhere in the country. My wife & I schedule a date night here every time we vacation in WB. Outstanding food and a wine list that branches outside the standard names. Also a good spot to enjoy a cocktail without the large crowds.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife's favorite restaurant in the Wil ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My wife's favorite restaurant in the Wilmington area. Our waitress was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable--except for the chardonnay wine.

Three of the women in our party were displeased with recommended choices. They are experienced wine drinkers.

They finally switched to mixed drinks which were excellent.

My choice of scallops with pilaf and spinach was disappointing. Scallops were good but few; pilaf was good also, but on a bed of fresh greens it seemed more like a salad--sautéed spinach would have been good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had not been to Portland Grille in a goo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had not been to Portland Grille in a good while. Enjoyed returning last weekend. Salads are big enough to split. Entrees too for that matter. Food was excellent. Ambience is good. Service great. So give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.