About Port Land Grille

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms perfect for your next business dinner meeting, rehearsal dinner or private party from 15 - 65 guests. Private dining (including total buyouts) available 7 days with certain food and beverage minimums applicable. Visit our website for menu ideas, pricing and other private dining information.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Steketee: 9102566056

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cesar Salad
Grouper Cheeks With Risotto And Asparagus
Apple Tarte Fine With Rum And Raisin Ice Cream
Ahi tuna
Blue Crab Meat Dip
Veal Chops & Morels
Cheesecake Topped With Chocolate & Strawberry Syrup
Beet Salad
Lump Crab Cake
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Kansas City Strip Steak
Fried flounder
Braised Grouper Fillet
Watermelon Salad
Queen Anne's Lace
Crab Cake With Butterbeans & Bacon Vinaigrette
Foie Gras & Arnagnac Terrine
Littleneck Clams "Portuguese"

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
4 More
Best Food
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (47)
fit for foodies (38)
notable wine list (33)
See All
neighborhood gem (28)
romantic (27)
good for groups (18)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

All the elements of a great dining exper ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

All the elements of a great dining experience came together perfectly here, even on a Saturday night in a beach city, during the height of summer vacation!

Between us we had both steak (fillet), and seafood (monkfish), and both were exquisite... the choices of preparations, including sides and seasonings, was a great menu enhancement, and our server was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time is super and well worth the c ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Every time is super and well worth the cost. Split a salad and it was the usual size salad for 1 at most restaurants - could have been an entree if not split. Both had swordfish, different ways, and both were delicious and excellently cooked. Coconut cake superb and glad we took the uneaten half home for the next day. Though informal, table linens add a welcome ambiance. Staff are attentive and certainly didn't rush us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions of fresh fish. Delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Large portions of fresh fish. Delicious cocktails. Affordable wine menu. Good service although casual service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Crab cake was not good and we did not ca ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Crab cake was not good and we did not care for the liquid smoke applied to the salads.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Consistently the best dinner in Wilmingt ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Consistently the best dinner in Wilmington! Food & service is perfectly executed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service! We will r ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding food and service! We will return and will always recommend Port Land Grille to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is truly a great restaurant. The f ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This is truly a great restaurant. The food, atmosphere, and service is outstanding. Our server, Bob, was one of the best I've ever seen. There are many regular customers who know each other and are greeted by the staff. This was our second visit in the past two years and we will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great find. We will return i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was a great find. We will return in the future

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was wonderful and knowledgeab ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wait staff was wonderful and knowledgeable. Food was very good - had beef tenderloin and antelope. Would go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice meal with my son- good food, n ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very nice meal with my son- good food, nice service and delightful atmosphere. We didn't need to order the appetizer because we had a lot of food for the main course, including my salad with fried oysters and arugula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

FIrst bad meal in about 10 visits. Serv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

FIrst bad meal in about 10 visits. Service was poor, and food was not at the usual standard. Will give one more try before deciding to continue to frequent or not.

Tags: neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Food was fabulous Service was erratic . ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was fabulous

Service was erratic . Server seemed to forget we were there for long periods of time

Very strange!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Love this restaurant. This visit was a b ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Love this restaurant. This visit was a bit different. We had a large family next to us and I believe our server was new. But I would still go back and recommend to others

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of our favorite restaurants anywhere ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants anywhere in the country. My wife & I schedule a date night here every time we vacation in WB. Outstanding food and a wine list that branches outside the standard names. Also a good spot to enjoy a cocktail without the large crowds.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife's favorite restaurant in the Wil ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

My wife's favorite restaurant in the Wilmington area. Our waitress was pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable--except for the chardonnay wine.

Three of the women in our party were displeased with recommended choices. They are experienced wine drinkers.

They finally switched to mixed drinks which were excellent.

My choice of scallops with pilaf and spinach was disappointing. Scallops were good but few; pilaf was good also, but on a bed of fresh greens it seemed more like a salad--sautéed spinach would have been good.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had not been to Portland Grille in a goo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had not been to Portland Grille in a good while. Enjoyed returning last weekend. Salads are big enough to split. Entrees too for that matter. Food was excellent. Ambience is good. Service great. So give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend an I ate here while visiting Wi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

A friend an I ate here while visiting Wilmington for the weekend. The raving reviews pulled us in and we made a reservation. When we arrived, there were no others waiting, and it appeared that other tables were open, yet we waited for at least 30 minutes before being seated for our already late evening reservation. After being seated, everything was wonderful. The food was delicious, the prices were decent, and the setting was wonderful (although a bit cold). Regardless of the wait, we will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

One of the best in Wilmington. Food "10 ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the best in Wilmington. Food "10" Be sure to make a rsv. We had 8:15 rsv. And finally sat @ 9:00 so be prepared to wait but well worth the wait.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, everything was prepared perfe ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, everything was prepared perfectly and the staff was gracious, even when the youngest of our group (2.5) got a little antsy. Prices are fair for excellent quality. Love it!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional and the wait sta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is exceptional and the wait staff is great and friendly. The Portland Grille is great for any type of occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleasant evening and very attentive ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very pleasant evening and very attentive waiter. Very good dining experience, but a bit on the pricey side.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Has heard good reviews of this place whi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Has heard good reviews of this place while on vacation, so we decided to go. Jody was our waitress and I asked her advice on which steak I would like. She told me in detail about the steak she always has here and I got it. To my surprise it was Not the most expensive steak on the list but it was absolutely the best steak (the coffee rubbed steak) that I have EVER HAD AND EVER EXPECT TO HAVE. Thanks you Jody and Port Land for the best meal I have had in an extremely long time. Just sorry that I live in NJ and can't go there at least once a week.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great as usual. We sat in the ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was great as usual. We sat in the bar area and the service was poor.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Still one of the best

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

No matter how many times I go, I am still a happy camper. Crab cake over bed of Lima beans remains all-time fav. My husband had the scallops which were also quite delectable!! Along with salads and champagne, we brought home enough to enjoy for lunch the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Redeemed!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband & I had my family in town for Memorial Day weekend 2016. We were a bit nervous about making reservations with PLG since during our last reservation there, they had us wait for an obscene amount of time even though we had reservations. They totally redeemed themselves in our opinion. We were seated very quickly during this visit. The food & service were outstanding! We will definitely go back & also recommend PLG to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gone downhill since our last visit

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I have had great experiences here in the past but were underwhelmed on our latest visit. Both the food and service were mediocre - possibly because it was a busy Saturday night on Memorial Day weekend. However, there is no excuse at such a high price point. We will definitely return and give it another (perhaps last) chance. Disappointing that such a local and inventive menu was poorly executed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

High-end establishment. Dress according ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

High-end establishment. Dress accordingly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We always love with The Port Land Grille!

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our umpteenth visit to the Port Land Grille. For our special occasions, it is our special location. Since our first visit over ten years ago, we have always felt welcomed and have always been treated to the very best food in Wilmington. The staff is wonderful and the variety of foods on the menu should please almost anyone. We will continue our dinners there and may add even more as the children age into adolescence.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal in every regard. Really ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding meal in every regard. Really enjoyed the experience

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible waiting times

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Reserved a table for 8pm, arrived at 7:55pm and was seated 35 minutes later. 10 more minutes and we finally got a waiter to take our drink orders. Another 20 minutes and we finally got some bread after asking. Meal arrived almost 1.5 hrs after the start of our reservation. The wait was simply too much for us to ever go back. Food was good but not worth the waiting times. The sweet tea is not sweetened like a proper southern tea and should have been told it comes unsweetened. I push the tea to the edge of the table for the waiter to take away. The waiter never asked about the tea until I finally told him the tea was horrible and to take it away about 30 minutes later. My recommendation to my friends and family will be to stay clear of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Always a delightful dining experience. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience.

Delicious and Creative menu from Chef Shawn, made from fresh and local ingredients, wonderful service from Anne, Robert and the rest of the team. Great wine list and calm atmosphere. Our friends enjoyed the evening as much ad we did and always do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine Dining Experience

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

As usual, we were pleased with our dining experience at the Port Land Grille. The taste and overall quality of the food dishes served was outstanding. Graham provided stellar service as well. A few, small "tweeks". I order a beef filet and it was supposed to be served with "fingerling" potatoes. Instead I got a huge pile of what appeared to be home-fries. In general the portions served were over-sized. Enough to serve two. Perhaps smaller servings at a lower price would be appropriate. Also, we asked the waiter a question about one of the ingredients in our salad. He went to find out; then did not come back. On the positive side, the restaurant offered the option of sharing the salads. We did that and ordered the mixed greens with fried oysters and it was top-notch; could have made a meal out of the salad!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good, but...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice restaurant but have a couple concerns. Expect a restaurant of this level to be more accommodating to those with Celiac Disease. It was a struggle and there wasn't a lot of flexibility. In addition, I expect more of the waiter. He seemed distracted, forgot a couple of items and actually brought us the wrong wine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

A little disappointed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Brought my husband here for his bday dinner and he ended up sending his Lamb Tenderloin back. It was extremely salty. The appetizers were good but not worth the money.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Don't bother if you would like wine with ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Don't bother if you would like wine with your dinner. Not only was the list less than desirable, they were literally out of most white wines. Service was mediocre at best and food was just ok but expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Special night

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews on Open Table and other sites. We had the coffee-rubbed rib-eye and black sea bass. Both were cooked on a wood-fired and the result was excellent for both. I suggest you choose your sides carefully as ours were good, but they took away from the food receiving an outstanding rating. Our wait person was excellent, attentive and helpful with our several special requests. We would definitely return when we come back to Wilmington.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous find!

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great find in Wrightsville Beach/Wilmington area. Made reservation on Open Table. Seated early, prior to reservation. Unique preparations of more traditional offerings. Tenderloin was one of the most delicious I've ever had. Selected the preparation with the balsamic reduction, twice baked potato and haricot verts; highly recommend this selection. My husband had the fresh swordfish. A memorable dining experience. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We've never been disappointed at PortLan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We've never been disappointed at PortLand Grille. It's our favorite in Wilmingtion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

You always get a good meal here. Service is great, drinks are great. Noisier than I like and as with all the nice restaurants in our city it allows kids. I think they should be left home with babysitter!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A STEP ABOVE BUT

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

DEFINITELY A STEP ABOVE THE REST. EXCELLENT PREPARATION AND CREATIVE CHOICES. HOWEVER THE PRICES ARE HIGH TO MATCH. WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH MOST OF OUR MEAL. FRIED OYSTER SALAD AND PATE' WERE INCREDIBLE. THE EXCEPTION WAS THE CRAB CAKE WHICH WAS VERY SALTY. OUR SERVER WAS VERY GRACIOUS AND OFFERED A SUBSTITUTE OR DEDUCTION FROM THE BILL.

WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK SOON.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.