About Port Land Grille

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms perfect for your next business dinner meeting, rehearsal dinner or private party from 15 - 65 guests. Private dining (including total buyouts) available 7 days with certain food and beverage minimums applicable. Visit our website for menu ideas, pricing and other private dining information.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Steketee: 9102566056

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cesar Salad
Grouper Cheeks With Risotto And Asparagus
Apple Tarte Fine With Rum And Raisin Ice Cream
Ahi tuna
Blue Crab Meat Dip
Veal Chops & Morels
Cheesecake Topped With Chocolate & Strawberry Syrup
Beet Salad
Lump Crab Cake
Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
Kansas City Strip Steak
Fried flounder
Braised Grouper Fillet
Watermelon Salad
Queen Anne's Lace
Crab Cake With Butterbeans & Bacon Vinaigrette
Foie Gras & Arnagnac Terrine
Littleneck Clams "Portuguese"

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
5 More
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (42)
fit for foodies (35)
notable wine list (26)
See All
romantic (26)
neighborhood gem (21)
good for groups (14)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (7)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

A friend an I ate here while visiting Wi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A friend an I ate here while visiting Wilmington for the weekend. The raving reviews pulled us in and we made a reservation. When we arrived, there were no others waiting, and it appeared that other tables were open, yet we waited for at least 30 minutes before being seated for our already late evening reservation. After being seated, everything was wonderful. The food was delicious, the prices were decent, and the setting was wonderful (although a bit cold). Regardless of the wait, we will definitely be going back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best in Wilmington. Food "10 ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the best in Wilmington. Food "10" Be sure to make a rsv. We had 8:15 rsv. And finally sat @ 9:00 so be prepared to wait but well worth the wait.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything was prepared perfe ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

As always, everything was prepared perfectly and the staff was gracious, even when the youngest of our group (2.5) got a little antsy. Prices are fair for excellent quality. Love it!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional and the wait sta ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is exceptional and the wait staff is great and friendly. The Portland Grille is great for any type of occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very pleasant evening and very attentive ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very pleasant evening and very attentive waiter. Very good dining experience, but a bit on the pricey side.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was great as usual. We sat in the ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was great as usual. We sat in the bar area and the service was poor.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of the best

Dined on June 4, 2016

No matter how many times I go, I am still a happy camper. Crab cake over bed of Lima beans remains all-time fav. My husband had the scallops which were also quite delectable!! Along with salads and champagne, we brought home enough to enjoy for lunch the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Restaurant Redeemed!

Dined on May 29, 2016

My husband & I had my family in town for Memorial Day weekend 2016. We were a bit nervous about making reservations with PLG since during our last reservation there, they had us wait for an obscene amount of time even though we had reservations. They totally redeemed themselves in our opinion. We were seated very quickly during this visit. The food & service were outstanding! We will definitely go back & also recommend PLG to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Gone downhill since our last visit

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I have had great experiences here in the past but were underwhelmed on our latest visit. Both the food and service were mediocre - possibly because it was a busy Saturday night on Memorial Day weekend. However, there is no excuse at such a high price point. We will definitely return and give it another (perhaps last) chance. Disappointing that such a local and inventive menu was poorly executed.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

High-end establishment. Dress according ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

High-end establishment. Dress accordingly!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love with The Port Land Grille!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our umpteenth visit to the Port Land Grille. For our special occasions, it is our special location. Since our first visit over ten years ago, we have always felt welcomed and have always been treated to the very best food in Wilmington. The staff is wonderful and the variety of foods on the menu should please almost anyone. We will continue our dinners there and may add even more as the children age into adolescence.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal in every regard. Really ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding meal in every regard. Really enjoyed the experience

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Horrible waiting times

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reserved a table for 8pm, arrived at 7:55pm and was seated 35 minutes later. 10 more minutes and we finally got a waiter to take our drink orders. Another 20 minutes and we finally got some bread after asking. Meal arrived almost 1.5 hrs after the start of our reservation. The wait was simply too much for us to ever go back. Food was good but not worth the waiting times. The sweet tea is not sweetened like a proper southern tea and should have been told it comes unsweetened. I push the tea to the edge of the table for the waiter to take away. The waiter never asked about the tea until I finally told him the tea was horrible and to take it away about 30 minutes later. My recommendation to my friends and family will be to stay clear of this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delightful dining experience. ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Delicious and Creative menu from Chef Shawn, made from fresh and local ingredients, wonderful service from Anne, Robert and the rest of the team. Great wine list and calm atmosphere. Our friends enjoyed the evening as much ad we did and always do.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fine Dining Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

As usual, we were pleased with our dining experience at the Port Land Grille. The taste and overall quality of the food dishes served was outstanding. Graham provided stellar service as well. A few, small "tweeks". I order a beef filet and it was supposed to be served with "fingerling" potatoes. Instead I got a huge pile of what appeared to be home-fries. In general the portions served were over-sized. Enough to serve two. Perhaps smaller servings at a lower price would be appropriate. Also, we asked the waiter a question about one of the ingredients in our salad. He went to find out; then did not come back. On the positive side, the restaurant offered the option of sharing the salads. We did that and ordered the mixed greens with fried oysters and it was top-notch; could have made a meal out of the salad!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Good, but...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice restaurant but have a couple concerns. Expect a restaurant of this level to be more accommodating to those with Celiac Disease. It was a struggle and there wasn't a lot of flexibility. In addition, I expect more of the waiter. He seemed distracted, forgot a couple of items and actually brought us the wrong wine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on May 6, 2016

Brought my husband here for his bday dinner and he ended up sending his Lamb Tenderloin back. It was extremely salty. The appetizers were good but not worth the money.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

Don't bother if you would like wine with ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Don't bother if you would like wine with your dinner. Not only was the list less than desirable, they were literally out of most white wines. Service was mediocre at best and food was just ok but expensive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special night

Dined on April 23, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews on Open Table and other sites. We had the coffee-rubbed rib-eye and black sea bass. Both were cooked on a wood-fired and the result was excellent for both. I suggest you choose your sides carefully as ours were good, but they took away from the food receiving an outstanding rating. Our wait person was excellent, attentive and helpful with our several special requests. We would definitely return when we come back to Wilmington.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous find!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great find in Wrightsville Beach/Wilmington area. Made reservation on Open Table. Seated early, prior to reservation. Unique preparations of more traditional offerings. Tenderloin was one of the most delicious I've ever had. Selected the preparation with the balsamic reduction, twice baked potato and haricot verts; highly recommend this selection. My husband had the fresh swordfish. A memorable dining experience. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never been disappointed at PortLan ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We've never been disappointed at PortLand Grille. It's our favorite in Wilmingtion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on April 2, 2016

You always get a good meal here. Service is great, drinks are great. Noisier than I like and as with all the nice restaurants in our city it allows kids. I think they should be left home with babysitter!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A STEP ABOVE BUT

Dined on April 1, 2016

DEFINITELY A STEP ABOVE THE REST. EXCELLENT PREPARATION AND CREATIVE CHOICES. HOWEVER THE PRICES ARE HIGH TO MATCH. WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH MOST OF OUR MEAL. FRIED OYSTER SALAD AND PATE' WERE INCREDIBLE. THE EXCEPTION WAS THE CRAB CAKE WHICH WAS VERY SALTY. OUR SERVER WAS VERY GRACIOUS AND OFFERED A SUBSTITUTE OR DEDUCTION FROM THE BILL. WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK SOON.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Always a great experience and soooo very delish!! I had the chicken and my husband had the scallops . . great pairings! The redneck egg rolls are a must as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Surliest Waiter Ever

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was good, but the waiter was obnoxious. If you spend in the $500 range for 6 people, you expect a little better service. Disappointed. Don't plan on returning.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at it's best!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Outstanding wine list, food,ambiance, and service. I do miss the fact that some people used to dress for dinner. Now, it seems any "slob" feels that it is ok to just show up at a restaurant of this quality dressed however they choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Stellar food. No complaints about anythi ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Stellar food. No complaints about anything.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What makes Port Land Grille so special i ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

What makes Port Land Grille so special is the service and attention to details. The food is outstanding, but the service is more than just excellent. A very special restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilmington's Best Restaurant!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Port Land has been our favorite since it opened 15 years ago. The service, food, attention to detail and ambiance are all first class. The constantly changing menu is always excellent and varied, but keeps their specialities year after year. The wait staff are all very well versed in the menu's features and go the extra mile to make the guest's dinner truly a special occasion. Most amazing is the consistency of the service and food, always the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Service & atmosphere, Food overcooked 3/5/16

Dined on March 5, 2016

Been there several times and it always been fabulous - atmosphere and service. This time I had a special request and they were very accommodating. The food is usually amazing. But not this time however, I had pork and my date had chicken. Both were overcooked and some of the chicken was so overdone it really couldn't be eaten. Disappointing, but I guess every place has an off-night. It's just too bad the prices there are so steep making the disappointment even greater. I'm sure I'll go back, but was just a little disappointed this time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was terrific! Had Grouper which ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was terrific! Had Grouper which was done to perfection. Entire staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Jodi our server was warm, friendly. Went out of her way to find a wine that matched our taste. She was attentive but not overbearing. She had a great sense of humor. Loved the whole experience and will be back on our return to Wilmington.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We enjoyed the food and had a fabulous w ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We enjoyed the food and had a fabulous waiter. Unfortunately even with a reservation we waited over 35 minutes to be seated. For someone driving an hour, paying a babysitter, and 6 months pregnant(hangry for food), it was disappointing. Not only did we have to wait but the hostess wouldn't get off her cell phone to even take our name for the first 5 minutes. If I could have had a drink at the bar, maybe it would not have been so bad, but that wasn't an option for this prego girl. Food was fabulous, so if you don't have kids at home or mind terrible initial customer service, then this is the place for you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

Nice location with white table cloths, dimly lit for nice mood. The menu has a good variety to choose from we started with oysters on the half shell and the pimento cheese. the oyster were fresh and very good but the pimento cheese was the winner by far. It was not like what you see in a grocery store but a nice thick cheese dip. The antelope special was excellent with puree sweet potatoes, Brussels sprouts and cauliflower. My wife had very nice 8 oz fillet and they have a variety of selections to prepare your steak. Meal was excellent and the service by Graham was very good. Desserts are very large so suggest one for two people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic - best steak in Wilmington han ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fantastic - best steak in Wilmington hands down.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Port Land Grille Never Disappoints

Dined on February 15, 2016

Valentine's Day and yet the same gracious greeting, the same great service, the same great wine list and the same exceptional menu. Thank you Anne, Chef Shawn and Robert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We went for valentine's day and overall ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for valentine's day and overall it was good but not our best experience. The food did not come out at the same time which was extremely disappointing. I had to eat my meal or wait and let it get cold, I and almost finished my meal before my wife's meal showed up. The food was very good but that pretty much ruined the whole experience. We will most likely go back but it will take a while to get over this trip.

food3
ambience5
service2

Delayed by 2 hours

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Delayed by 2 hours

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great place to eat, just don't go on a busy night

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've been here before and both times the food was excellent. Going to dinner on Valentine's Day eve proved to be a long night. Arrived at 7:05 and was seated promptly at 7:15. Did not finish the final course until almost 11:00pm. The kitchen appeared to be backed up and each course took far too long to be served. The food was fantastic, just go at a less busy time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem, food sensitivity friendly!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We are new to the area and looked to Open Table for a good restaurant for V-day. It was a very long dinner due to the small kitchen and high demand, but overall we had a fantastic meal. Being use to NYC dining the food did not disappoint. A steak was overdone and the waitstaff was very thoughtful and apologetic and fixed it within 5 minutes. We hate to (and never) send food back but this was overdone for even my taste (which says a lot). Drinks, apps, dinner and desert were all amazing, will certainly go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Many delicious shareables and appetizers!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Party of 7 celebrating. Extensive selection of appetizers - something for everyone! We ordered 5 starters and shared. Salads are fresh and superbly creative. Steaks and fish were outstanding and cooked to order the first time. Lovely ambiance. Lovely dining experience for our extended family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.