About Port Land Grille

1908 Eastwood Road
Suite 111
Wilmington, NC 28403
View Larger Map

Port Land Grille has progressive American regional cuisine masterfully executed by chef owner Shawn Wellersdick in a casually elegant coastal setting since November 2000.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm (or until)

Cross Street:
Military Cutoff Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 256-6056

Website:
http://www.portlandgrille.com/

Executive Chef:
Shawn Wellersdick

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms perfect for your next business dinner meeting, rehearsal dinner or private party from 15 - 65 guests. Private dining (including total buyouts) available 7 days with certain food and beverage minimums applicable. Visit our website for menu ideas, pricing and other private dining information.

Private Party Contact:
Anne Steketee: 9102566056

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Port Land Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
6 More
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

special occasion (56)
romantic (43)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
notable wine list (34)
neighborhood gem (23)
good for groups (18)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love with The Port Land Grille!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This is our umpteenth visit to the Port Land Grille. For our special occasions, it is our special location. Since our first visit over ten years ago, we have always felt welcomed and have always been treated to the very best food in Wilmington. The staff is wonderful and the variety of foods on the menu should please almost anyone. We will continue our dinners there and may add even more as the children age into adolescence.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal in every regard. Really ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding meal in every regard. Really enjoyed the experience

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Horrible waiting times

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reserved a table for 8pm, arrived at 7:55pm and was seated 35 minutes later. 10 more minutes and we finally got a waiter to take our drink orders. Another 20 minutes and we finally got some bread after asking. Meal arrived almost 1.5 hrs after the start of our reservation. The wait was simply too much for us to ever go back. Food was good but not worth the waiting times. The sweet tea is not sweetened like a proper southern tea and should have been told it comes unsweetened. I push the tea to the edge of the table for the waiter to take away. The waiter never asked about the tea until I finally told him the tea was horrible and to take it away about 30 minutes later. My recommendation to my friends and family will be to stay clear of this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a delightful dining experience. ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a delightful dining experience. Delicious and Creative menu from Chef Shawn, made from fresh and local ingredients, wonderful service from Anne, Robert and the rest of the team. Great wine list and calm atmosphere. Our friends enjoyed the evening as much ad we did and always do.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fine Dining Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

As usual, we were pleased with our dining experience at the Port Land Grille. The taste and overall quality of the food dishes served was outstanding. Graham provided stellar service as well. A few, small "tweeks". I order a beef filet and it was supposed to be served with "fingerling" potatoes. Instead I got a huge pile of what appeared to be home-fries. In general the portions served were over-sized. Enough to serve two. Perhaps smaller servings at a lower price would be appropriate. Also, we asked the waiter a question about one of the ingredients in our salad. He went to find out; then did not come back. On the positive side, the restaurant offered the option of sharing the salads. We did that and ordered the mixed greens with fried oysters and it was top-notch; could have made a meal out of the salad!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Good, but...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Nice restaurant but have a couple concerns. Expect a restaurant of this level to be more accommodating to those with Celiac Disease. It was a struggle and there wasn't a lot of flexibility. In addition, I expect more of the waiter. He seemed distracted, forgot a couple of items and actually brought us the wrong wine.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A little disappointed

Dined on May 6, 2016

Brought my husband here for his bday dinner and he ended up sending his Lamb Tenderloin back. It was extremely salty. The appetizers were good but not worth the money.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience3
service2

Don't bother if you would like wine with ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Don't bother if you would like wine with your dinner. Not only was the list less than desirable, they were literally out of most white wines. Service was mediocre at best and food was just ok but expensive.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Special night

Dined on April 23, 2016

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews on Open Table and other sites. We had the coffee-rubbed rib-eye and black sea bass. Both were cooked on a wood-fired and the result was excellent for both. I suggest you choose your sides carefully as ours were good, but they took away from the food receiving an outstanding rating. Our wait person was excellent, attentive and helpful with our several special requests. We would definitely return when we come back to Wilmington.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous find!

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Great find in Wrightsville Beach/Wilmington area. Made reservation on Open Table. Seated early, prior to reservation. Unique preparations of more traditional offerings. Tenderloin was one of the most delicious I've ever had. Selected the preparation with the balsamic reduction, twice baked potato and haricot verts; highly recommend this selection. My husband had the fresh swordfish. A memorable dining experience. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never been disappointed at PortLan ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We've never been disappointed at PortLand Grille. It's our favorite in Wilmingtion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on April 2, 2016

You always get a good meal here. Service is great, drinks are great. Noisier than I like and as with all the nice restaurants in our city it allows kids. I think they should be left home with babysitter!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A STEP ABOVE BUT

Dined on April 1, 2016

DEFINITELY A STEP ABOVE THE REST. EXCELLENT PREPARATION AND CREATIVE CHOICES. HOWEVER THE PRICES ARE HIGH TO MATCH. WE WERE VERY HAPPY WITH MOST OF OUR MEAL. FRIED OYSTER SALAD AND PATE' WERE INCREDIBLE. THE EXCEPTION WAS THE CRAB CAKE WHICH WAS VERY SALTY. OUR SERVER WAS VERY GRACIOUS AND OFFERED A SUBSTITUTE OR DEDUCTION FROM THE BILL. WOULD LOVE TO GO BACK SOON.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Always a great experience and soooo very delish!! I had the chicken and my husband had the scallops . . great pairings! The redneck egg rolls are a must as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Surliest Waiter Ever

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food was good, but the waiter was obnoxious. If you spend in the $500 range for 6 people, you expect a little better service. Disappointed. Don't plan on returning.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine dining at it's best!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Outstanding wine list, food,ambiance, and service. I do miss the fact that some people used to dress for dinner. Now, it seems any "slob" feels that it is ok to just show up at a restaurant of this quality dressed however they choose.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Stellar food. No complaints about anythi ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Stellar food. No complaints about anything.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What makes Port Land Grille so special i ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

What makes Port Land Grille so special is the service and attention to details. The food is outstanding, but the service is more than just excellent. A very special restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilmington's Best Restaurant!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Port Land has been our favorite since it opened 15 years ago. The service, food, attention to detail and ambiance are all first class. The constantly changing menu is always excellent and varied, but keeps their specialities year after year. The wait staff are all very well versed in the menu's features and go the extra mile to make the guest's dinner truly a special occasion. Most amazing is the consistency of the service and food, always the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Service & atmosphere, Food overcooked 3/5/16

Dined on March 5, 2016

Been there several times and it always been fabulous - atmosphere and service. This time I had a special request and they were very accommodating. The food is usually amazing. But not this time however, I had pork and my date had chicken. Both were overcooked and some of the chicken was so overdone it really couldn't be eaten. Disappointing, but I guess every place has an off-night. It's just too bad the prices there are so steep making the disappointment even greater. I'm sure I'll go back, but was just a little disappointed this time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was terrific! Had Grouper which ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

The food was terrific! Had Grouper which was done to perfection. Entire staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Jodi our server was warm, friendly. Went out of her way to find a wine that matched our taste. She was attentive but not overbearing. She had a great sense of humor. Loved the whole experience and will be back on our return to Wilmington.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We enjoyed the food and had a fabulous w ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We enjoyed the food and had a fabulous waiter. Unfortunately even with a reservation we waited over 35 minutes to be seated. For someone driving an hour, paying a babysitter, and 6 months pregnant(hangry for food), it was disappointing. Not only did we have to wait but the hostess wouldn't get off her cell phone to even take our name for the first 5 minutes. If I could have had a drink at the bar, maybe it would not have been so bad, but that wasn't an option for this prego girl. Food was fabulous, so if you don't have kids at home or mind terrible initial customer service, then this is the place for you!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

Nice location with white table cloths, dimly lit for nice mood. The menu has a good variety to choose from we started with oysters on the half shell and the pimento cheese. the oyster were fresh and very good but the pimento cheese was the winner by far. It was not like what you see in a grocery store but a nice thick cheese dip. The antelope special was excellent with puree sweet potatoes, Brussels sprouts and cauliflower. My wife had very nice 8 oz fillet and they have a variety of selections to prepare your steak. Meal was excellent and the service by Graham was very good. Desserts are very large so suggest one for two people.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic - best steak in Wilmington han ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Fantastic - best steak in Wilmington hands down.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Port Land Grille Never Disappoints

Dined on February 15, 2016

Valentine's Day and yet the same gracious greeting, the same great service, the same great wine list and the same exceptional menu. Thank you Anne, Chef Shawn and Robert.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We went for valentine's day and overall ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for valentine's day and overall it was good but not our best experience. The food did not come out at the same time which was extremely disappointing. I had to eat my meal or wait and let it get cold, I and almost finished my meal before my wife's meal showed up. The food was very good but that pretty much ruined the whole experience. We will most likely go back but it will take a while to get over this trip.

food3
ambience5
service2

Delayed by 2 hours

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Delayed by 2 hours

food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Great place to eat, just don't go on a busy night

Dined on February 14, 2016

I've been here before and both times the food was excellent. Going to dinner on Valentine's Day eve proved to be a long night. Arrived at 7:05 and was seated promptly at 7:15. Did not finish the final course until almost 11:00pm. The kitchen appeared to be backed up and each course took far too long to be served. The food was fantastic, just go at a less busy time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem, food sensitivity friendly!

Dined on February 13, 2016

We are new to the area and looked to Open Table for a good restaurant for V-day. It was a very long dinner due to the small kitchen and high demand, but overall we had a fantastic meal. Being use to NYC dining the food did not disappoint. A steak was overdone and the waitstaff was very thoughtful and apologetic and fixed it within 5 minutes. We hate to (and never) send food back but this was overdone for even my taste (which says a lot). Drinks, apps, dinner and desert were all amazing, will certainly go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Many delicious shareables and appetizers!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Party of 7 celebrating. Extensive selection of appetizers - something for everyone! We ordered 5 starters and shared. Salads are fresh and superbly creative. Steaks and fish were outstanding and cooked to order the first time. Lovely ambiance. Lovely dining experience for our extended family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Terrible service trumped a pretty good meal

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our second visit and a disappointment. I wonder if both the kitchen and the waiter were overwhelmed by a large party in the back room because both were lackluster. The waiter was haughty, surly and acted like anyplace but where he was would have been preferable. The menu is great and all of the food was at minimum good with some of it outstanding. But the boring, freezing cold room were were in and the awful service ruined the place for us. There are so many fantastic restaurants in Wilmington, we won't bother Port Land Grille with the clearly distasteful task of cooking for us and serving us food again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on February 11, 2016

Loved everything about Port Land Grille! I had the antelope. Amazing meal all round with great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Port Land Grille is a great place for fine dining.

Dined on February 10, 2016

Been to Port Land Grille many times and it never disappoints. Food is excellent. Service as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Special occasion not so special

Dined on February 6, 2016

Table location was unsatisfactory. Table for 2 was against an inside wall between two doorways, 1 to Kitchen, other to Bar. Lots of traffic passing too close to table. Sirloin steak-tough. Scallops were good. Disappointed, overall experience did not meet expectations. Unfortunate, as we are locals from the neighborhood.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff and good food.

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a wonderful time at Portland Grill. The staff was excellent. My steak was perfect (although my wife's ribeye went beyond marbled to "fatty). The only real downside was the French fries. They were soggy and I prefer them crisp. If this was by design, then it's a matter of taste. If not, it's easily fixed. Overall a solid "A". We'll be back. Thanks.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in NC

Dined on January 29, 2016

I am not a cook but I love food, good food and I tolerate nothing less than the best service. Port Land Grille is exceptional in every way!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, friendly and attentive staff.

Dined on January 27, 2016

Waitress, Jodi, was very friendly and accommodating to relay our preferences and changes to the chef. Jodi suggested some wine based on our tastes, and they were "correct." Consistently excellent food prep and presentation. Ambiance raised by having tablecloths.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always excellent

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

Each time we visit the Port Land Grille, we are pleased. While we have not tried all the menu variants, we always get exactly what we asked for, cooked the way we like it. The owners are very friendly and the waitstaff is superb. We'll return for each special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Birthday Venue

Dined on January 3, 2016

Port Land Grille is a lovely, hidden spot for a romantic dinner in Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach Area. The food was very good, I had the Grouper and my husband had the Coffee-rubbed Ribeye, both were wonderful. The service was superb as would be expected in a restaurant of this caliber! I would recommend this restaurant for adults and special occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Day

Dined on January 2, 2016

We were pleased to find the resturant open on new years day. They were able to accommodate our party of nine. The bar was great, we had an excellent server, everyone raved about their food selection. Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.