About Pool Bar & Grill at Rosewood Hotel

2825 Sand Hill Road
Menlo Park, CA 94085
View Larger Map

For seasonal al fresco dining or refreshing cocktails, The Pool Bar & Grill offers a delicious selection of light meals and healthy snacks, under the pool trellis.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Close for the Fall/Winter Season!

Cross Street:
Sand Hill Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 561-1584

Website:
http://www.rosewoodhotels.com/en/sand-hill-menlo-park/dining/the-pool-bar-and-grill

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Peter Rudlolph

Additional:
Beer, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining

Pool Bar & Grill at Rosewood Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

2.6

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (2)
Good for a Date (1)
People Watching (1)
See All
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
S
12 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed our lunch immensley, but wish th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Enjoyed our lunch immensley, but wish that the gardners did not have to mow and trim during lunch. It was rather annoying.

Tags: Organic, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were constantly swarmed by Yellowjack ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were constantly swarmed by Yellowjackets. This is normal according to our waitstaff. We moved three times. They brought a dish of balsamic vinegar t the table which supposedly repels bees; it didn't seem to make a difference. I couldn't finish my lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Food was sub-par. Service was very slow. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was sub-par. Service was very slow. Restaurant location was way too far from parking

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Food was good. Service was spotty. Lots ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was good. Service was spotty. Lots of servers but not much attention. Had to wait a while then finished plates sat in front of us for 30 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Dining by the pool was a great atmospher ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2016

Dining by the pool was a great atmosphere for lunch. It was quiet and we could talk and hear each other w/o raising our voices. Simple menu and the homemade ice cream was the ultimate treat for a hot day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Average food at very expensive prices

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2016

The atmosphere is very serene and the service was very very good, however the salad I ordered (both times when I dined at this venue) was SO average and at $20 for a half a head of bib lettuce and four small prawns it was a total rip off.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Lovely getaway spot

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2015

If you are looking for a nice place to eat outdoors away from street noise and traffic, the Pool Bar & Grill at the Rosewood Hotel is great. As expected, it is pricey, so as long as you know that going in, the bill won't shock you. $100 for 2 sangrias and 2 burgers and some guac is over the top, but again, it's about sitting under the pool trellis in a country club environment. Weekends are reserved for members and hotel guests, so plan a mid week special getaway and maybe head to the spa after!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Overpriced with poor service

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2014

I was so looking forward to a Friday evening sitting around the pool with a casual dinner with friends...initially we had fabulous service but soon we had no service at all...I got up and filled our water glasses myself (thank goodness for the pitcher of water for the pool guests? because nobody was around, we had to request to order and we eventually had to walk up and get our bill...the drinks were overpriced for a pool menu ($21.00 for a glass of wine) and the food was mediocre...who serves potato chips with a $19.00 sandwich????? Although I loved the atmosphere, I will be hard pressed to go back to spend $200.00 for four for overpriced drinks, a sandwich and chips! So disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Don't go for the food which is $$$

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2014

You'd think, because this is THE Rosewood Hotel, that the food would be great. And the drinks would be stellar. Not so. Three of us had three drinks and three appetizers. Are you sitting down? $130.00. Yes, the ambiance was nice but not OMG nice. The Mojitos were good but not WOW. The guacamole (yes just like at your local dive) was okay but very spicy. I guess when you are on someone else's dime, who cares. But it was my dime and I do. Next time it will be on your dime. But you better take out a second mortgage first. Come on Rosewood, at least improve the food!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Ideal setting for graduation lunch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2014

Setting and ambiance were fantastic for our group of 8. Food was great. Service way below the standard for a hotel with a 5 star reputation. Our table was not set even though we had a reservation. Service was very weak. Food took forever even though only two other tables were occupied.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Friday Night Oasis

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2014

Perfect and creative coctails and delectable Appetizers in a gorgeous and and relaxed atmosphere replete with bright French blue pots, sparkling water, and beautiful landscaping. The Rosewood Pool Bar and Grill is pure heaven.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Lunch Spot

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2014

The Poolside Grill at the Rosewood has just opened. Seating is outside under a shade trellis. The menu is simple but interesting. I had baby lettuce with bay shrimp, cubed avocado and fresh mango. Good for a warm day. My friends were very happy with nori-wraped tempura shrimp, rice and fresh vegetables (a version of hand-held sushi), served with an asian salad and fresh potato chips. Service was attentive. The waitstaff even remembered that my friend was celebrating her birthday and brought cupcakes to us and joined in singing "Happy Birthday." We had a lovely lunch at this new little cafe which is designed to service the guests who are using the pool. You can park at the rear of the property, near highway 280, for close access.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.