About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: 8435772337x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp & Grits
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Pimiento Cheese Fritters
fried chicken
Pork Rinds, Buffalo Style
Biscuits and Gravy
Crispy Skin Snapper
Crispy Grouper
Oyster With Transparent Gazpacho Consome, Oysters In Ponzusauce
Macaroni and Cheese
BLT
Fried Aligator
Buttermilk Fried Chicken Plate
Steak & Eggs
Chicken & Waffles
Fried Green Tomato BLT
John Daly
Fried Alligator
Cast Iron Pork Chop
Pan Fried Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Apple Bourbon Crush
Watermelon Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes
Biscuits
Fish And Grits
She-Crab Soup
Low Country Pasta
Duck Confit Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwivh
Cinnamon French Toast
Pan Seared Jumbo Scallops over Apple-wood Smoked Bacon Grits
Warm Biscuit With Honey Butter
Green Chilli Chicken
Bourbon Braised Beef Brisket
Crab Cake Appetizer
Double Cut Pork Chop
Chicken and Waffles
pan seared duck breast
Buttermilk Chicken
Wedge Salad With Pickled Egg
Charlestowne Fry
Pork Two Ways
Carolina Crab Cakes
crab cake
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Sauteed Scallops
Plantation Fried Chicken
Red Snapper And Fried Grit Cake
Blackened Catfish
Callabash Shrimp & Oysters
Flounder Filet
Fried Chicken And Mashed Potatoes
Wreckfish
Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli
Fried Green Tomato BLT with Orange Blossom Mayo
Fried Chicken Salad With Jalapeno Honey Dressing
Biscuits And Honey Butter
John Daily With Lemonade And Sweet Tea Vodka
Banana Pudding
Arugula Salad, Basil Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese Crostini
Fried Green Tomatoes And A Goat Cheese Croquette
Chocolate Pecan Pie With Bacon Ice Cream
Fried Chicken Salad
Buttermilk-Marinated Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes, Collards, & Gravy
Calabash Style Seafood Platter
Crab Cake Benedict
Pimento Cheese Slaw
She Crab Soup
Scallops And Pork Belly
Ike's Down Home Breakfast
buttermilk biscuit
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly Risotto Cake
Pulled Pork Benedict
Flounder Special
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Cucumber Martini
Spicy Bloody Mary
Steak and Eggs
BBQ Eggs Benedict
Banana Pancakes
Pork 3 Ways
Fried Chicken Stuffed w/ Gouda
Local Seafood Pasta

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Neighborhood Gem (328)
Special Occasion (311)
Fit for Foodies (311)
See All
Romantic (204)
Great for Lunch (180)
Great for Brunch (167)
Great for Outdoor Dining (131)
Good for Groups (128)
Hot Spot (104)
Kid-friendly (68)
Notable Wine List (67)
Scenic View (34)
Late-night Find (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing brunch, fantastic service and at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 14 hours ago

Amazing brunch, fantastic service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at Poogans Porch for brunch ! It ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 14 hours ago

We ate at Poogans Porch for brunch ! It was wonderful love those biscuits and the chicken and waffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken and waffles were amazing!!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 2 days ago

The chicken and waffles were amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have dined here before and the place is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Have dined here before and the place is a classic Charleston gem not to be missed. We just recently had to start looking for gluten-free options, and they did make an effort to accommodate the request - it would be great if there were more gf options available on the regular menu and that they were more clearly presented (menu only listed one, but our server got creative - kudos to her).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always make a point to visit Poogan's ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We always make a point to visit Poogan's Porch when we are in Charleston. It never disappoints!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had Sarah as a waitress and she was t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had Sarah as a waitress and she was the BEST. She was super helpful and made wonderful suggestions for our meal. She was attentive and made great conversation. We will be returning. Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, and great food. Acous ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent service, and great food. Acoustics in the place are a little loud but that was to be expected. It didn't help that there was a table full of sorority girls talking and laughing loudly about their night. Oh to be young again...good nonetheless. Make a reservation! Wait seems like it gets long. The place is hoppin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops were delish. My husband could n ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Scallops were delish. My husband could not stop raving about the duck with sausage and rice. Big portions! Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is always amazing but the dinin ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food is always amazing but the dining rooms are loud. It could use some sprucing up. More shaded outdoor dining would be nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Poogan's Porch came highly recommended. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Poogan's Porch came highly recommended...and I understand why. The atmosphere was charming and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place was highly recommended but we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place was highly recommended but we did not have such a great experience! As we sat down, water brought to our table, server spilled water all over my husband, table and floor and never cleaned it up we had to ask for extra napkins at a later time to clean up the mess! We ordered scallops, presentation was beautiful but half way through my meal I found a black hair cooked into one of my scallops! That sure ruins the dinner! After showing the server, she immediately took it away and apologized, it was taken off our bill but I only got a chance to eat half of my meal, portions are not big either...that was very disappointing! I was never offered a new meal...left hungry and frustrated...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was splendid. The brunch fare was first-rate. The service was excellent. The ambiance was charming. Our first time and we will most definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived for our 9AM reservation aroun ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We arrived for our 9AM reservation around 8:50. The line wrapped around the building. No one went inside until well after nine. I'm not sure why. The host/hostess areas smells

Like an old house that someone kept cats In and smoked. Terrible. Breakfast platter my girlfriend ordered had a short curly hair in the eggs. We sent that back. When we got the replacement I wasn't much on eating. The Bloody Mary was great and the server (think Ben) was great. Some random guy in the parking lot said we owed him $6. I was so frustrated T that point he got the money so I could get back to Mt Pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

We have been to Poogans Porch several ti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have been to Poogans Porch several times and have never been disappointed. Food is always great and the old house it is in is beautiful.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were excellent. Perfect ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service and food were excellent. Perfect night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and service! We eat here ever ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and service! We eat here every time we are in Charleston!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and good atmosphere.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food and good atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is cozy and comfortable. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The restaurant is cozy and comfortable. Salad and appetizers were delicious. Shrimp and grits and fried chicken exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Wow, some great advice we received from ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wow, some great advice we received from friends because they were so right! The food, service and ambiance was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Poogan"s Porch a few time ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have been to Poogan"s Porch a few times. The food is good, and on my most recent visit my filet was delicious. The server was overall very attentive. The location is great, it's near both the residential area and shopping. I noticed something that is a bit of a pet peeve of mine though the past TWO times I went there the server removed my cocktail before I was finished with it. This is in her haste to turn the table I suppose, but I find it kind of embarrassing to have to say "I'm not done with that". When you pay $12 for a cocktail you want to drink the entire thing. Also, I really wanted a salad but I wanted a piece of chicken, steak or fish added to it. When I asked If I could add some protein to my salad my server looked at me like I was crazy. Well, she said she would have to go talk to the chef. Note to Poogan's, nearly every restaurant offers this option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We went to Poogans Porch to celebrate ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We went to Poogans Porch to celebrate our 36th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. Our server was outstanding. He went above and beyond to make our dining an experience. He brought us complementary champange before the meal and a complementary desert. I am a people watcher and I enjoyed watching his interactions with other diners. The food was delicious and affordably priced. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Noisy, overpriced, waiter spoke so fast ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Noisy, overpriced, waiter spoke so fast when talking about specials that with the noise level we just nodded and ignored him. Couldn't understand a thing he said. She crab soup was way too thick, but not with crab as it was heavy base and too many vegetables. Child crying across the room. No noise abatement used anywhere. Not an enjoyable experience. We live locally and Poogan's Porch has been added to our list of restaurants reserved for tourists and probably single visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Portia went out of her way to make our d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Portia went out of her way to make our dining experience wonderful. She fixed olives stuffed with blue cheese for the martini. Thanks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Very Southern restaurant. Home converted ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very Southern restaurant. Home converted. Waiter, Chris, was outstanding. Food was unique and delicious. Chris helped with wine selection and was right on! Would go back next time we are in Charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our second visit. Food was good. Noise l ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our second visit. Food was good. Noise level was disturbing. Three tables of a wedding party. Please make arrangements for groups such as this to have their own room. You are going to "mess up" a good place if you continue to allow this to occur.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

So yummy! We had the Chicken and Waffels ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

So yummy! We had the Chicken and Waffels and Fried Chicken sandwich for brunch! The biscuits served before our meal were also amazing, they even gave us the recipe!! Thank you Poogan's Porch for a great first meal experience in Charleston!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!! The biscuits are what I look f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing!! The biscuits are what I look forward to every visit ! The atmosphere is relaxing and inviting . The wait staff friendly, engaging yet not overbearing. If course the food is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy dining at Poogan's Porch ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We always enjoy dining at Poogan's Porch! The food is delicious and the service is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful setting in historic Charlest ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

A beautiful setting in historic Charleston. A small menu, but one they have definitely perfected. Set in a beautiful home, it offers a unique setting for a special evening out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great meal and service as always. My son ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great meal and service as always. My son and I are celiacs and our waiter went to great lengths to have a great gluten friendly meal prepared for us. Thanks for always providing a nice evening for us!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting surroundings, very hist ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very interesting surroundings, very historical. Food was excellent. Porch door near our table stayed open a lot and weather was very warm. Service was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best fried chicken and potatoes, YU ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The best fried chicken and potatoes, YUM! Wish we could go back a second time during our stay but ran out of time. Fluffy biscuits with butter were a nice treat. Nice ending of key lime pie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 4th time I have been to Poog ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is the 4th time I have been to Poogans Porch. I make it a note to go everytime I visit Charleston. You cannot beat the food! My only complaint was the noise level. They put a party of 17 in a room with 3 parties of 4. We went early, and the restaurant was not full, so this was very frustrating. This is the only time this has ever happened so I don't think this will stop me from going back, but it was frustrating. It ruined an otherwise amazing experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Great, nicest servers, phenomenal food i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great, nicest servers, phenomenal food in a great old setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding meal during our stay in C ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

An outstanding meal during our stay in Charleston, SC. I ordered the duck entree and it was superb! The duck breast was exceptional, wonderful texture, taste and cooked to perfection. Absolutely the BEST DUCK I've had, in the world!!! Service was super from the minute we came through the door, with prompt courteous and friendly servers, nice suggestions, and good pace on delivering the orders. We sat in one of the interior rooms, a nice intimate ambiance. Plenty of food, nice wine selections and a truly great meal. Highly recommend Poogan's Porch when you are in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was ok, but not as good a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The experience was ok, but not as good as all the hype. Very casual setting, one large and open dining area. Food was ok, but nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Atmosphere could have been quite nice an ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Atmosphere could have been quite nice and charming. However, there was a nasty, funky smell in the bar area. Smelled kind of like spilled booze and sweet drinks after a big party that was never properly cleaned up. Dining area was fine - no nasty smell. BUT, there was a four top with a small child and baby/maybe two year who SCREAMED throughout their entire meal. Food was flying, kid was out of control, and parents just sat there leisurely eating and drinking wine. Our waitress was very apologetic, but the manager should have stepped in. I'm not opposed to children dining in fine dining restaurants (that's how they learn to appreciate eating out, IMHO), provided parents remove said children when they are disruptive. Poogans handled this situation very poorly. Full disclosure - they did reduce our bill after I complained to the manager, but the damage was already done. As for the food, it was OK. Overall, very heavy, with minimal flavor. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

My husband and I love Poogan's Porch. It ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My husband and I love Poogan's Porch. It is our date night favorite every time we visit Charleston

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, beautiful setting and great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great staff, beautiful setting and great food and cocktails. I got the mystic cocktail that was very refreshing but also packed a punch, and the vegetarian dish which was seasoned perfectly. Our waitress was very sweet and got all our requests perfectly the first time around. Would definitely return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've ever had. Great service! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best meal I've ever had. Great service! Amazing experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.