About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: (843) 577-2337

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Biscuits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Shrimp and Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Shrimp & Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimento Cheese Fritters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Biscuits and Gravy - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
fried chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Mimosa - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimento And Cheese Fritters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pork Rinds, Buffalo Style - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimiento Cheese Fritters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crispy Skin Snapper - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crispy Grouper - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Oyster With Transparent Gazpacho Consome, Oysters In Ponzusauce - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Macaroni and Cheese - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
BLT - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Cast Iron Pork Chop - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pan Fried Pork Chop - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Apple Bourbon Crush - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Watermelon Salad - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fish And Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
She-Crab Soup - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Low Country Pasta - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Aligator - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Duck Confit Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwivh - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Cinnamon French Toast - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pan Seared Jumbo Scallops over Apple-wood Smoked Bacon Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Warm Biscuit With Honey Butter - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Green Chilli Chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Bourbon Braised Beef Brisket  - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crab Cake Appetizer - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Double Cut Pork Chop - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Chicken and Waffles - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Steak & Eggs - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
pan seared duck breast - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Wedge Salad With Pickled Egg - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Charlestowne Fry - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pork Two Ways - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Carolina Crab Cakes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
crab cake - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Sauteed Scallops - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Plantation Fried Chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Chicken & Waffles - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomato BLT - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
John Daly - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Alligator - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Red Snapper And Fried Grit Cake - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Fried Chicken Plate - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Blackened Catfish - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Callabash Shrimp & Oysters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Flounder Filet - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken And Mashed Potatoes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Wreckfish - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomato BLT with Orange Blossom Mayo - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Salad With Jalapeno Honey Dressing  - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Biscuits And Honey Butter - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
John Daily With Lemonade And Sweet Tea Vodka - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Banana Pudding - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Arugula Salad, Basil Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese Crostini - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes And A Goat Cheese Croquette - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Chocolate Pecan Pie With Bacon Ice Cream - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Salad - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk-Marinated Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes, Collards, & Gravy - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Calabash Style Seafood Platter - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crab Cake Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimento Cheese Slaw - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
She Crab Soup  - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Scallops And Pork Belly - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Ike's Down Home Breakfast - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
buttermilk biscuit - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly Risotto Cake - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pulled Pork Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Flounder Special - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Cucumber Martini - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Spicy Bloody Mary - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Steak and Eggs - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
BBQ Eggs Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Banana Pancakes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pork 3 Ways - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Stuffed w/ Gouda - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Local Seafood Pasta - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (136)
Comfort Food (116)
Good for a Date (109)
See All
Special Occasion (107)
Neighborhood Gem (104)
Local Ingredients (94)
Good for Anniversaries (92)
Fit for Foodies (92)
Authentic (91)
Cozy (85)
Romantic (80)
Creative Cuisine (69)
Great for Brunch (64)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Great for Lunch (63)
Casual (59)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Fireplace (47)
Worth the Drive (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Fun (29)
Hot Spot (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Business Meals (21)
Seasonal (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Bar Seating (17)
People Watching (14)
Family Style (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Scenic View (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Private Room (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Spicy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
4869 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Poogans Porche was a delight. Waitress ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Poogans Porche was a delight. Waitress (Sara) was attentive, responsive and the food was delicious. Loved the ambience and dining there with special friends. It was a cozy respite (fire burning in the fireplace) from the rainy day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in after Church and had a wonder ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Stopped in after Church and had a wonderful brunch. Wonderful biscuits and we had the special, Crab Eggs Benedict. Delicious!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got the chicken and waffles they were ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

We got the chicken and waffles they were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate off the restaurant week menu. Food w ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Ate off the restaurant week menu. Food was very good and service was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been to Poogan's Porch last year an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been to Poogan's Porch last year and sat outside on the upstairs porch. My lunch was excellent and the weather helped too. This time we sat inside, which was fine. The food was fabulous but the pimento cheese fritters were awesome!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY LOVE POOGAN'S PORCH! It truly ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

ABSOLUTELY LOVE POOGAN'S PORCH! It truly is one of my favorite dining establishments in Charleston! Every single time I go, I have OUTSTANDING service and the quality of the food never disappoints! Thank you again for creating a memorable dining experience for my girlfriend and I! It was THE perfect spot for a few gal pals to get together over a GREAT meal!

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was very helpful and refilled ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

The waiter was very helpful and refilled drinks without being asked. The food was EXCELLENT. I had the chicken and waffles that were perfect in every aspect. The homefries were exquisite. We arrived early in the morning which I recommend or make a reservation because I can see how the place could fill up in the tourist season.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been visiting this restaurant sinc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We've been visiting this restaurant since 1983, as residents of the Low Country, after moving away for 20 years and then coming back to reside permanently again. Our visits have always been enjoyable, food terrific and the staff always accommodating. Shrimp and grits are still the best in Charleston! You can't remain a great restaurant in Charleston for very long if you don't pay attention to the food, the guests and the comfortable hospitality. Poogan's Porch continues to do it all.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were two tables of women in our di ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

There were two tables of women in our dining room that were very loud which made it hard to carry on a conversation. Perhaps have separate dining area for large groups.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere and food were great. Luck ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere and food were great. Luckily a table for 12 came in as we were finishing. They were very loud and I think I would have left if they had been there when we arrived.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love to eat at Poogan's. Look forward ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Love to eat at Poogan's. Look forward to those wonderful biscuits. The cheeseburger I had was the best ever. Love the fireplace.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff, attentive to your needs. Fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great staff, attentive to your needs. Food was good but not outstanding. Fine Charleston experience!

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Went for restaurant week and it was amaz ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for restaurant week and it was amazing. Lots of food for the price in my opinion and it was all very tasty

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place a great atmosphere and t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Love this place a great atmosphere and the bar was tempting but we were there for brunch! next time for sure!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch. The food was good a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We went for brunch. The food was good and reasonably priced but it sat a little heavy on the tummy.

Service was very attentive and the venue is lovely--very quaint in an old historic home.

The proximity of the restaurant to the Charleston Market and King Street shopping is very nice, and there is a flat rate parking lot right next door to the restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance great and nice menu full of cho ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Ambiance great and nice menu full of choices. The food overall just fell short. Pork and fish both overcooked and a little under seasoned. Waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. We would definitely go back on our next visit to Charleston.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely day in Charleston to have brunc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A lovely day in Charleston to have brunch on the porch! Food was good, not great. The ambience made up for the slow service. I would visit again....do not have something else scheduled immediately following as service is at a leisurely pace.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I had short ribs and sweet potato dumpli ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I had short ribs and sweet potato dumplings. My friends had the scallops. All of it was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great!! Lived up to our expectati ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great!! Lived up to our expectations. We would eat here again!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My food wasn't even lukewarm and the 4 s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My food wasn't even lukewarm and the 4 small scallops were undercooked, but still rubbery and GRITTY. Biscuits were cold. Waitress was great. I had tried Poogan's Porch 10 years ago and had a very mediocre meal, but decided to give it a second chance and it was equally disappointing. VERY overrated.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of my favorite Charleston r ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This was one of my favorite Charleston restaurant along side it's neighbor restaurants called "Husk" and "82 Queen". I just think the quality of the food has dropped off. The Crab Bisque and Shrimp & Grits aren't as flavorful as they use to be. Thick and not as tasty.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The food was delicious. The servers were ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was delicious. The servers were both friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was very nice with lots of friendly s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was very nice with lots of friendly service, delicious food and rich history. We enjoyed our time there from start to finish.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Poogan's Porch has good southern comfort ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Poogan's Porch has good southern comfort cuisine. The biscuits were the best we have ever had, thank you!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress service was awful with what ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The waitress service was awful with what I heard about the restaurant I thought the food would have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Another amazing dinner here at Poogan's ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Another amazing dinner here at Poogan's Porch, our must stop restaurant when we come to Charleston. The Shrimp and Grits were so flavorful and delicious. Hubby had the Duck which he enjoyed immensely he found the combination of the fried leg and seared breast to be delicious and the wild rice with mushrooms and andouille sausage was the perfect side to go with it. He was very happy that our server Portia recommended it. I have to give a big shoutout to Portia for being such a great server, she is friendly and very helpful and always made sure we had everything we needed. If you go in, and you should be sure to ask for her.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Poogan's Porch is always a must when in ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Poogan's Porch is always a must when in Charleston. The food, service and ambiance are all over the top fantastic.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super delicious! Definitely a must!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Super delicious! Definitely a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience at Poogan' ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Poogan's Porch. The ambiance of eating in an old home set the scene and then the food and service were outstanding. Our server helped us select excellent pre-dinner drinks, they were all delicious. Our friends were new to Shrimp and Grits and they loved them. My wife had the grilled scallops and I had the fried chicken. Both were delicious! We will return to Poogan's Porch when we are in Charleston again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant had been recommended by ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant had been recommended by a friend as an authentic Charleston staple and they were spot on. Loved everything about it... The food was amazing - biscuits were some of the best we've ever had, as were the shrimp and grits and the fried chicken. Service was warm, inviting, and friendly. The place is an old home so it's not for black-tie dining, BUT great old world charm... would HIGHLY Recommend it!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious southern fare! Chowder, fried ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Delicious southern fare! Chowder, fried green tomatoes, fried chicken, house made biscuits and sweet tea! Located in a historic house, great atmosphere! Great service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited during restaurant week and the c ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Visited during restaurant week and the chef selections for the price dice were great especially the Brussels sprout salad.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was very friendly and infor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The waitress was very friendly and informative about the place and it's history.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Historic, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week menu really unique and d ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Restaurant week menu really unique and drew us back to our favorite Charleston restaurant

Great service

Great food

Great ambience

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and engaging servers and a grea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Friendly and engaging servers and a great selection of well prepared local cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This is my second time to Poogans. We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is my second time to Poogans. We had such a great time the first time, we had to make sure we reserved and came to eat again. Upon arrival, the hostess was not friendly and cold. She did not bother to look at us once. We had reservations at 8pm on a Saturday but in the off season, I was shocked at this behavior. It did get better once we were seated upstairs and our waiter was great, was friendly and welcoming. Food was also very good and we left on a more positive note. Yes, we will be returning I just hope it starts off more positive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our third time eating at Poogan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our third time eating at Poogan's. It was ok but with all the choices in Charleston, I don't think we'll be going back. The food is a little fussy for us. I got the fried shrimp and oysters which were listed as lightly dusted and fried. They were heavily breaded. He cut away as much if the breeding as possible. We were there during a rare cold spell. They seated us next to an unused outside door with the cold air blowing in. I finally put on my jacket. Another diner further away from the door had on his jacket too and asked how we could stand it by the door.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was delicious. Staff was knowledge ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was delicious. Staff was knowledgeable and very professional.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely cold and drafty inside. Seared ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Extremely cold and drafty inside. Seared scallops consisted of only four ... poor quantity for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.