About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: 8435772337x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp & Grits
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Pimiento Cheese Fritters
fried chicken
Pork Rinds, Buffalo Style
Biscuits and Gravy
Crispy Skin Snapper
Crispy Grouper
Oyster With Transparent Gazpacho Consome, Oysters In Ponzusauce
Macaroni and Cheese
BLT
Fried Aligator
Buttermilk Fried Chicken Plate
Steak & Eggs
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Chicken & Waffles
John Daly
Fried Alligator
Blackened Catfish
Cast Iron Pork Chop
Pan Fried Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Apple Bourbon Crush
Watermelon Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes
Biscuits
Fish And Grits
She-Crab Soup
Low Country Pasta
Duck Confit Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwivh
Cinnamon French Toast
Pan Seared Jumbo Scallops over Apple-wood Smoked Bacon Grits
Warm Biscuit With Honey Butter
Green Chilli Chicken
Bourbon Braised Beef Brisket
Crab Cake Appetizer
Double Cut Pork Chop
Chicken and Waffles
pan seared duck breast
Buttermilk Chicken
Wedge Salad With Pickled Egg
Charlestowne Fry
Pork Two Ways
Carolina Crab Cakes
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
crab cake
Sauteed Scallops
Plantation Fried Chicken
Red Snapper And Fried Grit Cake
Callabash Shrimp & Oysters
Flounder Filet
Fried Chicken And Mashed Potatoes
Wreckfish
Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli
Fried Chicken Salad With Jalapeno Honey Dressing
Fried Green Tomato BLT with Orange Blossom Mayo
Banana Pudding
Biscuits And Honey Butter
Fried Green Tomatoes And A Goat Cheese Croquette
Chocolate Pecan Pie With Bacon Ice Cream
John Daily With Lemonade And Sweet Tea Vodka
Arugula Salad, Basil Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese Crostini
Fried Chicken Salad
Buttermilk-Marinated Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes, Collards, & Gravy
Pimento Cheese Slaw
Crab Cake Benedict
Calabash Style Seafood Platter
She Crab Soup
Scallops And Pork Belly
Ike's Down Home Breakfast
buttermilk biscuit
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly Risotto Cake
Pulled Pork Benedict
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Flounder Special
Cucumber Martini
BBQ Eggs Benedict
Steak and Eggs
Spicy Bloody Mary
Banana Pancakes
Pork 3 Ways
Local Seafood Pasta
Fried Chicken Stuffed w/ Gouda

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (364)
neighborhood gem (360)
special occasion (337)
See All
romantic (223)
great for lunch (200)
great for brunch (186)
great for outdoor dining (168)
good for groups (136)
hot spot (116)
notable wine list (72)
kid-friendly (65)
scenic view (38)
late-night find (24)
vibrant bar scene (10)
outstanding value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was delicious. Our server, Ma ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was delicious. Our server, Matthew, was so pleasant and knowledgeable. A truly memorable dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After attending Mass at the beautiful Ca ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 3 days ago

After attending Mass at the beautiful Cathedral of Charleston, we hit up Poogan's Porch for a great brunch. Service was spot-on. The biscuits were heavenly. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience was not very good. Over p ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our experience was not very good. Over priced, over cooked food. We both ordered the specials. Server "lost/misplaced" our credit card. We didn't receive our soup prior to meal. Server did comp it. We will not be back nor recommend to our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful food. Bar area smelled like so ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food. Bar area smelled like someone died. Kept diners waiting until reservation time and when we walked into the dining area, a number of tables were empty. What's with that, Charleston?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

We've vacationed in Charleston for years ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

We've vacationed in Charleston for years but this was our first time to eat at Poogan's Porch. We stayed at Mills House just next door so it was very convenient for us. The food was delicious and the service was very good but the condition of the restaurant...not so much. As soon as we walked in, the smell was horrible. It literally smelled like wet dog. Were it not for the fact that the smell was almost sickening, we'd have laughed it off and that it might be little Poogan's ghost after a run in the rain. We almost cancelled our reservation and left but thankfully, we were seated in the rear dining area and the smell was still noticeable but not as overwhelming. We did enjoy the meal very much once we "adjusted" to the odor. The restaurant is in an old Charleston home that has likely survived hurricanes and floods. There is a carpet runner as you enter the front door and just off the hallway is the bar area which is also carpeted so our guess was that the odors were from the carpeting, which is notorious for trapping odors. I would suggest removing those and just having hardwood throughout and hopefully that would take care of a lot of the smells.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent food and amazing wait staff. C ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and amazing wait staff. Comfortable setting and beautiful building. Also an easy walk from the bustling downtown section of Market street. Make sure to reserve a table a few days beforehand because this place fills up fast. Best food in Chuck Town!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was second time we visited Poogans ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was second time we visited Poogans while in Charelston. First time was two years ago and it was for brunch which was good. Was disappointed this time-maybe because we came at the the end of the lunch hour-but service was ok not great. Menu needs updating and more variety. Food seemed tired and touristy Will not be going back. Too many other great places to eat in charleston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Awesome pork chop !!!!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome pork chop !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing. I had been to Poogan ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointing. I had been to Poogan's Porch a number of years back and it was outstanding. Unfortunately, that wasn't the case this time. We were seated in the back room on the second floor which resembled a cafeteria in a gymnasium. No ambiance whatsoever. Salads was dry and lacking adequate dressing. Fried green tomatoes were fairly tasteless, as was the fried catfish entrée. Not a memorable dining experience...well, it was, but for the wrong reason!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Best fried chicken I've ever had! Amazin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best fried chicken I've ever had! Amazing appetizers and our server was great. My one and only complaint was that the drinks were not very good. Otherwise, one of the best meals Charleston I've had.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals my wife and I enjo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best meals my wife and I enjoyed in Charleston! Definitely get the pimento cheese fritters, they were amazing! I ordered the skillet fried pork chop which was prepared perfectly. The greet staff and the wait staff did their jobs excellently, our waiter was super nice and very knowledgeable of the menu. We will definitely eat there again on our next trip to Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this restaurant! Will definitely v ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 6 days ago

Loved this restaurant! Will definitely visit again the next time we are in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a good experience while "doing" Charlest ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

a good experience while "doing" Charleston with 2 daughters and 2 teenage granddaughters.

Very good service and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was in Charleston on vacation and had ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

I was in Charleston on vacation and had 4 days of fabulous meals that I thought could not be topped. But we stopped in Poogan's for an early lunch before our flight, and from the biscuits to the indescribable fried chicken sandwich (salty, sweet, spicy, all at once--pure magic!), everything was exceptional. Our server was so sweet and her recommendations were spot on.

Thank you for an amazing meal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very surprised by the worn out and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I was very surprised by the worn out and unclean condition of the restaurant. Dirty worn carpet in common areas and dank surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

My sister and I ate here after several f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My sister and I ate here after several friends had raved about it, and it lived up to every expectation! Easily the best and most fresh biscuits I've ever eaten! Matt was our server and he was so energetic and attentive. He was very helpful with the menu and gave us recommendations that turned out delicious. The timing of our plates was nearly perfect, and the food was worth every penny! We will definitely be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent service, great food and a love ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

excellent service, great food and a lovely meal. Thanks for making my date amazing. <3

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal & evening! The f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal & evening! The food was delicious, and the staff was extremely friendly! We will definitely go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely breakfast in a lovely setting wit ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lovely breakfast in a lovely setting with excellent service, high quality food although a bit pricey - still would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The fried chicken and scallop entrees we ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The fried chicken and scallop entrees were to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Poogan's many times and hav ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I've been to Poogan's many times and have had a good experience, but my dinner with my family on Saturday was terrible. The food and service were way below par. Took 20 minutes just to get the server to take our drink order and the food specials were barely edible. Becoming more of a tourist restaurant. Will not be coming back to Poogan's any time soon as Charleston has much better restaurants than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Awesome food and quaint southern charm! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Awesome food and quaint southern charm! It was a perfect dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughters and I ate dinner here while ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My daughters and I ate dinner here while on a girls' weekend in Charleston. We loved it! The food, service and atmosphere were absolutely wonderful! We will make this restaurant a "must-do" on every trip we make to Charleston from now on!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of our favorites ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is one of our favorites when we come to Charleston. It is best if you make a reservation before coming as the wait is usually long.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the regular breakfast of eggs ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We ordered the regular breakfast of eggs, bacon and grits. Filled us up! Good coffee.

Excellent biscuits. Server was excellent. Not rushed. A great start to Saturday

shopping with my friend. We'll be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old charming Charleston home turned into ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Old charming Charleston home turned into a restaurant in a unique and creative way. Atmosphere was cozy and our dinner was delicious ( we had scallops and rib ragu). Portions are not enormous but definitely filing especially with an appetizer and the complimentary biscuits served. Definitely a great tasty experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Poogan's Porch was one of the best resta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Poogan's Porch was one of the best restaurants that we ate at while in Charleston! The wait staff was almost as great as the pimento cheese corn fritters and fried chicken!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pimento cheese fritter are, in the w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The pimento cheese fritter are, in the words of our wonderful waiter, "quite possibly life changing". An amazing meal for my girls birthday trip to Charleston. Can't say enough good things.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While traveling to our vacation destinat ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

While traveling to our vacation destination in the south, we have a tradition of stopping at Poogan's Porch. Our family loves everything about it. It's like coming home in a way.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter and service was wonderful alo ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The waiter and service was wonderful along with the ghost stories he shared with us, and all our dishes were amazing. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I absolutely agree with the 2015 People' ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I absolutely agree with the 2015 People's Choice Award for the Best Shrimp and Grits. The meal was delicious as were the rest of the diners at my table. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just okay. This is usually one of my go ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Just okay. This is usually one of my go to restaurants. But it was disappointing this last visit. Shrimp and grits watery and lacking in flavor. Will probably try a new place next time in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Other diners had children running all ar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Other diners had children running all around screaming, coming over running around our table etc. families with children should be maybe should dine in a seperate area. Or at least have the wait staff try and intervene so your other diners can enjoy their dinner at your establishment.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

The fried chicken and grilled pork chop ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The fried chicken and grilled pork chop were very good and would recommend. The green beans were tough, surprised the chef would have left them out of the kitchen and the colored greens were salty (as others have mentioned). Finally the mixed drinks are very, very weak, go with the wine or a beer. Service was excellent. Downside was the group with crying children and loud laughter/conversation. This is an adult restaurant...

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our meal at Poogan's Porch was fabulous! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Our meal at Poogan's Porch was fabulous! From the moment we arrived, the wait staff was very friendly and helpful. My husband had the generous serving of fried catfish with a light crispy crust over a bed of farro and beans...which he said was wonderful. I had a nightly special of pan seared tuna with truffle butter over a bed of summer vegetable ratatouille...Perfectly prepared rare tuna and the ratatouille was very tasty. I don't think you'll be disappointed with a dinner at Poogan's Porch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Southern grits were so salty as to be in ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Southern grits were so salty as to be inedible. Fried chicken was mousy though average. She crab soup was ordinary but crab toast was good. Short rib sandwich would benefit from more carmalized onion, not worth the expense

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My husband and I were on a "Work-cation" ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

My husband and I were on a "Work-cation" in Charleston and had the opportunity to steal away for a nice dinner. This was the perfect little spot providing a classic Charleston ambiance and delicious lowcountry food. The perfect evening out after a long, hot day at work.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten at Poogan's several times b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have eaten at Poogan's several times before, yet this time, I found it oddly underwhelming. The southern charm was still there, but I could tell that it was under new management. The wait staff was totally new and very nice and engaging, but everyone seemed to lack experience needed to wait tables and clear away food. Our waitress hardly knew how to open a bottle of wine and the table next to us was not cleaned until 30 minutes after we arrived. The food was also a bit underwhelming. The farm raised fried chicken is always a family favorite when we go to Poogan's, but this time it tasted totally different, almost like fast food chicken instead of being fresh. Also, their prize worthy biscuits tasted stale, like they had been baked days ago. There was nothing fresh or hot about them. The selection of wine which we were served also seemed rather lackluster. The cork had almost crumbled inside the bottle, a true sign of wine not being stored properly. Any good connoisseur would know that to store wine it must be laid on its side.

Long story short, I don't think Poogan's is going to be at the top of my bucket list when I visit Charleston in the near future.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

It is a cute place, but the food was not ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It is a cute place, but the food was not exceptional...except for the shrimp and grits (which I did not order - darn) was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I have wanted to eat at Poogans Porch fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I have wanted to eat at Poogans Porch for years, ever since I watched Giada De Laurentiis on Food Network visit there. Needless to say, it exceeded all of my expectations. Our waitress was incredible, I asked about the history and she even told us a couple ghost stories! My mother and I went there for Sunday Brunch and the food was delicious. We got the french toast with raspberries and mascarpone, and the best shrimp and grits we have ever had. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Charleston. It was such a great experience and I will definitely go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.