About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: 8435772337x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (392)
neighborhood gem (372)
special occasion (363)
See All
romantic (261)
great for lunch (208)
great for brunch (192)
great for outdoor dining (166)
good for groups (134)
hot spot (105)
notable wine list (87)
kid-friendly (55)
scenic view (38)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (8)
Sort By:
Newest
3956 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the ambiance. Service was very att ...

Dined 3 days ago

Loved the ambiance. Service was very attentive. The food was authentic Low Country with all the favorites nicely prepared and presented.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

25 years running

Dined 3 days ago

We have been coming here since our honeymoon 25 years ago. Still always enjoy the food.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location and service were great! My ...

Dined 4 days ago

The location and service were great! My blackened catfish was cooked well and I loved the she-crab soup.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing. We would highly r ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing. We would highly recommend Poogan's Porch

food4
ambience4
service5

This is southern cuisine with an upscale ...

Dined 6 days ago

This is southern cuisine with an upscale flare. Very charming as it is in an old Victorian style house. There is outdoor seating available as well as dining in the second level. Our server was incredibly knowledgeable. My husband had the steak with gnocchi and broccolini which he enjoyed but I thought was too salty. I had the scallops over crdamed corn which I thought was excellent. I would recommend going there for lunch as many of the dinner options are available but for a lot less.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food . Friendly service. Great s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food . Friendly service. Great southern cooking with a bar service to match.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!

Dined 6 days ago

We are consistently impressed with Poogans. The food, drinks and service are always amazing! We had our wedding rehearsal dinner here two years ago and just celebrated it there again. We will continue to celebrate there for years to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Four of us had dinner on 5/18/16 and we ...

Dined 6 days ago

Four of us had dinner on 5/18/16 and we had a wonderful time. Great food and exceptional service. I enjoyed a very good German white wine. Portia was our server and she was terrific!! She made great recommendations, was very knowledgeable and very accommodating! We will definitely dine here again and will most certainly request Portia to be our server.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I was really disappointed. We had heard ...

Dined 6 days ago

I was really disappointed. We had heard great things, but the food and service were just sub-par. The house is very cool. We had read it was kid friendly, however, this is not the case. We had our one and three year old and they were not welcome by staff nor guests (at least that was certainly the feeling we were given). On a good note, the biscuits and butter were phenomenal. I may give them another go for brunch...when we have a babysitter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

We stopped for lunch while on vacation. ...

Dined 6 days ago

We stopped for lunch while on vacation. Very nice staff who offered great service. Must try the gator tale!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Picked based off of other open table rev ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Picked based off of other open table reviews. We wanted cuisine reflecting the area and this fit the bill. She crab soup not too thick and overwhelmed w butter and cream. The Mac and cheese is gut and taste bud satisfying. Combo of ham w bright spring onion flavor really made it memorable. Since it's so filling, I think it can be an entree even though it's listed as an appetizer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have visited Poogan's Porch every vis ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We have visited Poogan's Porch every visit we make to Charleston. Pimento fritters are amazing!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2

We made a reservation on OpenTable for S ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We made a reservation on OpenTable for Sunday Brunch which was honored and we were seated exactly at the time reserved. Without one, we could have waited up to 1.5 hours. We sat outside since we brought our dog, as we requested. We were promptly brought water for ourselves and our dog Keegan. It was another 15-20 before we were asked for a drink order. We had already decided on food so ordered that also. We order a Mimosa and Bloody Mary. It took over another twenty minutes to get the drinks. They were very good and fairly priced. Others seated around us got drinks right away, but I didn't notice if they were bar drinks. The bar inside was practically empty when I walked in, so not sure why the long wait. We finally received biscuits with butter, which I assume should have arrived much sooner as a small appetizer. The biscuits were warm and some of the best I've had, and the butter was very good as well. The food finally arrived after almost 45 minutes. We had the Pimento BLT with homemade chips and an extra side of home fries. The sandwich was enormous and we could have easily split it. It was excellent and proportioned well. The chips were crispy but I only had a few. The home fries were amazing. Cooked with peppers and onions in duck fat. The star of the meal. The food and drinks were excellent so I would definitely recommended eating here. The service was a bit lacking, but they were busy. Overall a good experience.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

DIsappointed in our room and server. Oth ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

DIsappointed in our room and server. Other areas had much more atmosphere. Good food though our server couldn't answer any questions we had about specifics he had to go find out. The food was very good. We all ordered She Crab Soup…I've had better…but it was served at the same time as a couple of other starters we ordered. We had to slow down the process and send back the other starters to be re-heated. I finished with the French Toast and it was great. We had a really nice time but came with much higher expectations. I'd recommend it but I'd be specific about where we were seated.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

The food was mediocre at best & our serv ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was mediocre at best & our server was dismissive. When asked about the pickled okra for the Bloody Mary, she simply came back from the bar & said they were out. Then a friend ordered tea, was given no choice as the server disappeared before any choices were asked about or offered & when a mint tea was presented with tepid water, she again just walked away without asking if that tea was an OK choice. I'm glad Barbra Streisand enjoyed the place.

food4
ambience5
service5

Get the Mac and cheese.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Get the Mac and cheese.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had Sunday brunch and the food was very ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had Sunday brunch and the food was very good. Service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Really cute place named after owner's do ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Really cute place named after owner's doggie Poogan who passed in 1979. We sat at a sunny garden table and the food was decadent and "southern" to a T! Yum. The chicken and waffles were divine. Don't forget to request friend eggs if you want them on top or with the pimento cheese BLT, I forgot and was bummed. Coffee served close to cold which they blamed on the breeze but was definitely not hot when served. Overall very charming place with great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating 18 years of marriage and we ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Celebrating 18 years of marriage and we got engaged at poogan's porch, what a great way to celebrate. Brunch was delicious and the staff was as awesome as it was 18 years ago.. Daughter wanted to see where we got engaged. She was impressed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was amazing! The food was awesome and ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was amazing! The food was awesome and not too heavy. The service was supreme and the atmosphere was outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I ate at Poogan's on our first night in Charleston for a long weekend. We wanted to eat some real southern cuisine so we had the fried green tomatoes for an appetizer and the shrimp and grits for our entree. The food was amazing and our waitress was awesome. I would definitely recommend anyone to go there that is visiting Charleston. There is also a neat story behind the restaurant's name which also adds to the experience there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was superb as was the service!!! I ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was superb as was the service!!! I highly recommend the chicken!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

This was a special family dinner while v ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was a special family dinner while visiting Charleston. Out the of six dishes ordered, there were hits and misses, The fried Green tomatoes and scallops were very good. The she Crab soup was very thick and lacked flavor, and the appetizers were just ok. The biggest disappointment was the service. Our waitress was not friendly and curtly answered our questions about the menu. The great flaw of the night was the risotto. After enjoying several delicious bites my sister pulled wire out of the risotto. Thankfully, she wasn't hurt and didn't swallow it. This place has a great reputation, but we won't dine here again.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While taking a girlfriend road trip to C ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

While taking a girlfriend road trip to Charlestown we had dinner here to celebrate birthdays. They put us in a private area, the staff was execellent, pleasant and attentive. Poogan's Porch stated that is was nation buttermilk biscuit day and brought out a basket of hot biscuits with a honey butter! Delish. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I was disappointed in my meal, shrimp & grits which is their speciality. It wasn't bad, just underwhelmed. All in all, great place would recommend

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The ambiance was great- and definitely f ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The ambiance was great- and definitely fit the southern charm flavor we were looking for in Charleston; however, for the price, the food was not outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

I would not go here again. They can't ev ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I would not go here again. They can't even make a good sweet tea and the shrimp and grits? I kept reading it was their signature dish, but not something to write home about. The grits were grainy and doesn't blend well at all with the shrimp. I'd recommend Magnolia's much more.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Salmon was excellent as was wait staff. ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Salmon was excellent as was wait staff. Crab cakes had too little crab meat. The yellow room was bright and happy. Overall, a very pleasant meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bisquits are delish, just the perfect te ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Bisquits are delish, just the perfect texture and sweetness

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rose is a great waitress. 27 years therr.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great fried chicken and the biscuits are the best I've ever had! Just really great for any occasion! Rose is the waitress to ask for.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It had been 5 years since I had eaten he ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

It had been 5 years since I had eaten here and I was pleasantly surprised at how much better the food was than my previous visit. Well worth the price! I will return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on May 11, 2016

Really enjoyed the pimento cheese fritters and fried green tomatoes. All of our meals were great. The service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 7 pm reservations, and were seate ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had 7 pm reservations, and were seated promptly. The menu had a great selection (my wife chose the salmon) and I had one of the specials - wreckfish. Both were delicious. We enjoyed a nice bottle of chardonnay with dinner. Our waitress was attentive, but let us enjoy our dinner. We will definitely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our service and food was amazing! Always have a wonderful time here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Poogan's Porch was recommended to me as a "must go to" restaurant when visiting Charleston. I can see why. It was a fun, lively, wonderfully staffed restaurant. We sat out on the second level porch and had a delightful time. The food was good, not extraordinary, but everything else was wonderful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I ate here for our second trip through Charleston. We had a wonderful dinner and a very pleasant experience. Our waitress Rosa was knowledgeable, friendly and a joy. She obviously enjoys her job! We will definitely eat here again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

My husband and I went to Poogan's Porch ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I went to Poogan's Porch to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The food and abiance were fantastic! I got the shrimp n grit, my husband ordered the fried chicken, and we shared the pimento cheese fritters (amazing). The service, however, was awful. The servers assistance were great but our actual server was not. He barely spoke with us when he came by and then seemed to disappear after our entrees were delivered by the server assistant. We had to ask the assistant if he could find him (after sitting there for about 20 minutes after finishing dinner) so we could get the check. We may go back in the future because of the food but definitely will hope for better service.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a Gem

Dined on May 9, 2016

While eating breakfast on Mother's Day at another establishment in Mt. Pleasant, we started chatting with some folks at a community table. They live in Charleston & recommended this gem of a place & we loved it! Matt was our waiter & he was very delightful & recommended the perfect wine with our delicious meal. It was the highlight of our trip.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Food was d ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day brunch. Food was delish! I have the French toast and white cheddar grits, both were amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Girls weekend was amazing and Poogans porch brunch was impeccable! Highly recommend the BLT!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Perfect s ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food and great service. Perfect spot for my son's graduation dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.