About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: 8435772337x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Biscuits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Shrimp and Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Shrimp & Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimento Cheese Fritters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimiento Cheese Fritters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Biscuits and Gravy - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
fried chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Mimosa - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimento And Cheese Fritters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pork Rinds, Buffalo Style - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crispy Skin Snapper - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crispy Grouper - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Oyster With Transparent Gazpacho Consome, Oysters In Ponzusauce - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Macaroni and Cheese - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
BLT - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Cast Iron Pork Chop - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pan Fried Pork Chop - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Apple Bourbon Crush - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Watermelon Salad - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fish And Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
She-Crab Soup - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Low Country Pasta - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Aligator - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Duck Confit Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwivh - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Cinnamon French Toast - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pan Seared Jumbo Scallops over Apple-wood Smoked Bacon Grits - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Warm Biscuit With Honey Butter - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Green Chilli Chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Bourbon Braised Beef Brisket  - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crab Cake Appetizer - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Double Cut Pork Chop - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Chicken and Waffles - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Steak & Eggs - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
pan seared duck breast - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Wedge Salad With Pickled Egg - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Charlestowne Fry - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pork Two Ways - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Carolina Crab Cakes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
crab cake - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Sauteed Scallops - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Plantation Fried Chicken - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Chicken & Waffles - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomato BLT - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
John Daly - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Alligator - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Red Snapper And Fried Grit Cake - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk Fried Chicken Plate - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Blackened Catfish - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Callabash Shrimp & Oysters - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Flounder Filet - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken And Mashed Potatoes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Wreckfish - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomato BLT with Orange Blossom Mayo - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Salad With Jalapeno Honey Dressing  - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Biscuits And Honey Butter - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
John Daily With Lemonade And Sweet Tea Vodka - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Banana Pudding - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Arugula Salad, Basil Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese Crostini - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Green Tomatoes And A Goat Cheese Croquette - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Chocolate Pecan Pie With Bacon Ice Cream - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Salad - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Buttermilk-Marinated Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes, Collards, & Gravy - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Calabash Style Seafood Platter - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Crab Cake Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pimento Cheese Slaw - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
She Crab Soup  - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Scallops And Pork Belly - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Ike's Down Home Breakfast - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
buttermilk biscuit - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly Risotto Cake - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pulled Pork Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Flounder Special - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Cucumber Martini - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Spicy Bloody Mary - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Steak and Eggs - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
BBQ Eggs Benedict - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Banana Pancakes - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Pork 3 Ways - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Fried Chicken Stuffed w/ Gouda - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC
Local Seafood Pasta - Poogan's Porch Restaurant, Charleston, SC

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Historic (128)
Neighborhood Gem (125)
Special Occasion (116)
See All
Comfort Food (115)
Good for a Date (112)
Fit for Foodies (109)
Local Ingredients (96)
Good for Anniversaries (89)
Romantic (83)
Cozy (74)
Great for Lunch (72)
Creative Cuisine (72)
Authentic (71)
Good for Birthdays (58)
Casual (58)
Great for Brunch (55)
Sunday Lunch (48)
Quiet Conversation (47)
Worth the Drive (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Fun (31)
Fireplace (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (19)
Seasonal (18)
People Watching (16)
Family Style (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Private Room (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Scenic View (11)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Healthy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
4581 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely fantastic! The service was gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined a day ago

Absolutely fantastic! The service was great, the food was amazing, hands down one of the best meals I've had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best shrimp and grits!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

Best shrimp and grits!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

For nice and less crowded restaurant, th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

For nice and less crowded restaurant, this place is very good. Staff was not over friendly but certainly acceptable. Parking garage is directly across street so it's convenient.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Scallops and shr ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Scallops and shrimp and grits were world class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Food was way above avera ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. Food was way above average. Wife had scollops and they were very good. My shrimp and grits were good but not the best I had ever had. It was not very busy and they did not seat people right next to another occupied table. I would go there again. There is a very reasonable parking garage right across the street.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was really nice and attentive. Gen ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Staff was really nice and attentive. Genuinely seemed glad that we were there.

Food was not very flavorful and luke warm when delivered. Presentation was uninspired.

No holiday type decorations. No background music.

Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great spot for brunch! We can't wait to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great spot for brunch! We can't wait to go back for supper sometime.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb fare. Consummate Charlestonian at ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb fare. Consummate Charlestonian atmosphere. Dining in this historic home really gave you the quaint, southern feel of Charleston history while paring perfectly with a 5 Star menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat in downtown Charlesto ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to eat in downtown Charleston! We had Sunday Brunch and it was wonderful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch trying to sample some ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for brunch trying to sample some local southern cuisine, and Poogan's Porch did not disappoint! The grits were heavenly, the pulled pork eggs benedict sublime, and the french toast was delicious. What more could one want?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

just okay, we were there for brunch, but ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

just okay, we were there for brunch, but except for biscuit and coffee, food was unremarkable. did let our server Sara know we were in a time crunch, and she was great about expediting that for us, but otherwise disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Never disappointed Poogan's comes though ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Never disappointed Poogan's comes though again and again. We come to Charleston once/twice a year and this is the only restaurant we positively have to go to. Food, service, and atmosphere can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing drinks, food and service. This w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Amazing drinks, food and service. This was my husband's first time and he says it is a requirement to eat here every time we come to Charleston from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We found the food to all be mediocre for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We found the food to all be mediocre for the high price. You're no Cru's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Neat place. Service was great and food w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Neat place. Service was great and food was yummy. Grits and pimento cheese was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful brunch to start our ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We had a delightful brunch to start our Saturday anniversary celebration. Our server Greg went above and beyond to make our experience delightful. We enjoyed every bite of food and loved the complimentary champagne. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a brunch date for my husband and me ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Just a brunch date for my husband and me. Great location (right next door to the popular Husk). Offering delicious low country fare. Bryce was our server and took great care of us! The biscuits, Bloody Mary, shrimp and grits and just the side of grits - all were very tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Awful. Just awful. The tradition of fi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awful. Just awful. The tradition of fine dining in Charleston meaning having to deal with absolutely atrocious service continues. My wife and I were so irritated by the time the food got there that it didn't matter what they brought us. I am beginning to think a good policy is just to avoid all Queen Street addresses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Worth the. Isot. The she crab soup was a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Worth the. Isot. The she crab soup was amazing and the scallop entre was award winning worthy. Our service was impevccable. Cozy fireplace created a romantic ambiance.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

She crab soup was delicious as well as t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

She crab soup was delicious as well as the standard Southern staple shrimp and grits.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a delicious meal , a very sweet w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had a delicious meal , a very sweet waitress and the advice of a very knowledgeable sommelier. I would recommend this unpretentious -low key and charming place to anyone who loves good quality locally grown food .

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were expecting great things since we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We were expecting great things since we have read about this restaurant for years. It was OK but not spectacular as I expected and it was a bit pricey.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Poogans is always a great eating experie ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Poogans is always a great eating experience and low country gem -never had a bad meal-catfish was excellent

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was by far the best meal we had ove ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was by far the best meal we had over a long weekend visit to Charleston. Simply amazing food, including best mac n cheese we've ever had. We loved everything about it and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, food was delicious ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful experience, food was delicious, service was great, worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My filet was excellent and my husband re ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My filet was excellent and my husband really enjoyed his scallops. Our service was fast and efficient and friendly. Loved the quietness of the room where you could talk and hear what each other had to say rather than shout over a lot of noise. Would eat here again when in charleston.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites in Charleson, SC. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 26, 2016

One of our favorites in Charleson, SC. Went here for Saturday Brunch and was greeted quickly as we had reservations. Our waiter was absolutely perfect and took care of us quickly and friendly, and talked with us about our trip. I like that added personal touch when dining. We both had Ike's down home breakfast and it was very very good. We go here for ambiance and good food, and will continue to do so, as we had a great time this visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch was outstanding as always! The se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Brunch was outstanding as always! The service and waitstaff were great and the food was amazing! French toast with marscapone whipped cream was the best!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service with regional menu. We wen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service with regional menu. We went for brunch and were very pleased with everything, including the biscuits. Great Bloody Mary as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible food and atmosphere. Perfect ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Incredible food and atmosphere. Perfect spot for a date, but I would recommend getting a reservation in advance as it is a very popular place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic as always, although w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was fantastic as always, although we missed the collard greens stuffed fired chicken, it made us expand to something new. Delicious. And the service was attentive without being pushy. Still our favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Poogan's Porch has been a go-to restaura ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Poogan's Porch has been a go-to restaurant for us for years when visiting the Charleston area. However, our latest visit - the day after Thanksgiving - was extremely disappointing. Took well over 1 hour to get our food after ordering. The waitress - Alison - told us our ticket was misplaced. When the food finally arrived, a portion of our order was incorrect. They did comp our appetizer ($24), but that is all. Alison was nice, and apologized, but the entire experience was far below any reasonable expectation. I believe we will avoid Poogan's for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Poogan's Porch was awesome. Our waitress ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Poogan's Porch was awesome. Our waitress Rosa was outstanding. Great fun filled atmosphere and the food was delicious!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to sit on the balcony over ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were able to sit on the balcony over looking the street. There were only three tables on the balconey with plenty of space between. Our waiter was very helpful and I took him up on the pork chop special. Perfect. He also helped us understand the food scene in Charleston, and was also great at just leaving us alone. We had booked a ghost tour after dinner and he made sure our timing was honored. Great place with orginal wood work and ghostly lore!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband I ate there for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 25, 2016

My husband I ate there for Thanksgiving dinner. We did not eat traditional Thanksgiving food that night but the food we ordered was amazing. I had the best fried chicken I have ever eaten and I love fried chicken. The appetizers, drinks and entrees were all amazing.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional and our waiter ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was exceptional and our waiter Don was very attentive and we had great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a very nice Thanksgiving Dinner. Fi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a very nice Thanksgiving Dinner. First time to Charleston, South Carolina, great pick for our holiday dinner.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My family and I greatly enjoyed our Than ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I greatly enjoyed our Thanksgiving dinner at Poogan's - the house-setting made for a homey atmosphere and the food was delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Husband and I have been having Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Husband and I have been having Thanksgiving Dinner at Poogan's Porch for several years. The Thanksgiving menu us traditional and one can order from the main menu as well. The extra crispy red snapper had an unusual partner on the dish, a pulled pork over a crispy cheesy grit cake. I was pleasantly surprised by the combination and the grit cake was deeelishhhous!!

I searched the menu for the chicken liver mouse with peach relish that I ordered during Restaurant Week, hope it comes back, I think about that appetizer often. Great value, great location, easy parking across the street, nice décor, wonderful service, and yummy food!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. In a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was excellent. In addition to the traditional meal, there was a good selection of entrees to choose from (no one in our party ate turkey). The appetizers and desserts also provided a nice selection opportunity.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.