About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: 8435772337x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp & Grits
Pimento Cheese Fritters
Pimiento Cheese Fritters
fried chicken
Pork Rinds, Buffalo Style
Biscuits and Gravy
Crispy Skin Snapper
Crispy Grouper
Oyster With Transparent Gazpacho Consome, Oysters In Ponzusauce
Macaroni and Cheese
BLT
Cast Iron Pork Chop
Pan Fried Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Apple Bourbon Crush
Watermelon Salad
Fried Green Tomatoes
Biscuits
Fish And Grits
She-Crab Soup
Low Country Pasta
Fried Aligator
Duck Confit Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwivh
Cinnamon French Toast
Pan Seared Jumbo Scallops over Apple-wood Smoked Bacon Grits
Warm Biscuit With Honey Butter
Green Chilli Chicken
Bourbon Braised Beef Brisket
Crab Cake Appetizer
Double Cut Pork Chop
Chicken and Waffles
Steak & Eggs
pan seared duck breast
Buttermilk Chicken
Wedge Salad With Pickled Egg
Charlestowne Fry
Pork Two Ways
Carolina Crab Cakes
crab cake
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
Sauteed Scallops
Plantation Fried Chicken
Chicken & Waffles
Fried Green Tomato BLT
John Daly
Fried Alligator
Red Snapper And Fried Grit Cake
Buttermilk Fried Chicken Plate
Blackened Catfish
Callabash Shrimp & Oysters
Flounder Filet
Fried Chicken And Mashed Potatoes
Wreckfish
Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli
Fried Green Tomato BLT with Orange Blossom Mayo
Fried Chicken Salad With Jalapeno Honey Dressing
Biscuits And Honey Butter
John Daily With Lemonade And Sweet Tea Vodka
Banana Pudding
Arugula Salad, Basil Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese Crostini
Fried Green Tomatoes And A Goat Cheese Croquette
Chocolate Pecan Pie With Bacon Ice Cream
Fried Chicken Salad
Buttermilk-Marinated Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes, Collards, & Gravy
Calabash Style Seafood Platter
Crab Cake Benedict
Pimento Cheese Slaw
She Crab Soup
Scallops And Pork Belly
Ike's Down Home Breakfast
buttermilk biscuit
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly Risotto Cake
Pulled Pork Benedict
Flounder Special
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Cucumber Martini
Spicy Bloody Mary
Steak and Eggs
BBQ Eggs Benedict
Banana Pancakes
Pork 3 Ways
Fried Chicken Stuffed w/ Gouda
Local Seafood Pasta

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Neighborhood Gem (252)
Special Occasion (237)
Fit for Foodies (233)
See All
Romantic (163)
Great for Lunch (150)
Great for Brunch (126)
Good for Groups (102)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Hot Spot (70)
Kid-friendly (56)
Historic (52)
Good for a Date (48)
Notable Wine List (41)
Comfort Food (40)
Local Ingredients (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Authentic (23)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Casual (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Scenic View (19)
Late-night Find (17)
Fun (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Business Meals (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fireplace (5)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I came in for dinner on a business trip. ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 2 days ago

I came in for dinner on a business trip. The wait staff was friendly yet not responding to empty water glasses, bread was delivered after my meal. It took almost 34 min to get my dinner. Durning that time the wait staff never checked on me. They checked on me while my dinner came out. The food was tasty was disappointed that the staff didn't know much about paleo/gluten allergies. I had the veg choice of the night- which I had to pick through because they wouldn't make it paleo. They said they had to use farro, they couldn't make a paleo dish. This is a high dollar restaurant. I would think the staff would know food allergies and choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Pork Chop came out rare. I cut into it ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Pork Chop came out rare. I cut into it to my surprise it was purple inside It was barely cooked. I sent it back to try and get it medium as ordered. The chop was cut twice and all they did was take that sliced up rare chop and cook It to well done. They did take it off the bill but it was not edible. Server was nice. Never saw the manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Our group of 4 adults had coffee, appeti ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our group of 4 adults had coffee, appetizers, & entrees. This took almost 90 minutes. We wanted to order dessert, but we knew it would take too long, so we just paid exact cash & left. It looked like the entire back dining room & patio had only 2 servers, with one other person who assisted only by pouring water. Our server was excellent when he was present, but he had been assigned so many tables that it was physically impossible to provide timely service. It was discouraging to arrive on time for a reservation & then wait after every course while our server continued to take orders from newly arriving patrons. It was not busy when we arrived, so we don't understand why our table got so delayed as the restaurant filled up. While we waited, two other tables arrived, received their food, & left. We had to give up on conversation because the noise level was so high that we couldn't hear each other - this made the waiting even worse. The food, however, was absolutely wonderful - we are sorry we had to miss dessert. Our visit to this place several years ago was a great experience in every way, & we all had been eager to return - this recent visit will discourage us from going back, & we can't recommend it to friends as we used to do.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Very good but "heavy" southern fare and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very good but "heavy" southern fare and quite salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Brunch was wonderful! Our server was so ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Brunch was wonderful! Our server was so sweet and took great care of us!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Family Style, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed breakfast at Poogans. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We really enjoyed breakfast at Poogans. Great service and foods. Fresh juices would have made it perfect, but overall a great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious!!! Service was a litt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious!!! Service was a little slow, though, and the waiters and waitresses act like they don't want to be bothered!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I was looking forward to Poogans the ent ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was looking forward to Poogans the entire trip. We went for our anniversary and got lucky to get a seat at the window. The service was fantastic. The fried green tomatoes was a treat. We enjoyed the scallops and the fried chicken entrees. Both were winners in their own element. The she crab soup was tasty but not as rich as I remember it being. Not a disappointment, just less creamy than expected. We skipped dessert because we couldn't eat another bite! Husband enjoyed a couple beers, commenting it's probably the coldest beer he's ever had! Loved it. Will make sure we come back someday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Poogan's Porch! We had one oppo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We loved Poogan's Porch! We had one opportunity to have brunch while on our honeymoon in Charleston and both of us were very pleased with our choice of Poogan's Porch. My husband got shrimp and grits and he said it was fantastic. I got the chicken and waffles and mine was delicious as well. The biscuits and sweet butter before the meal were great as well. No complaints! Wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was overloaded and he caught our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Server was overloaded and he caught our and other tables on the fly. Had to flag him down for refills and the check. The shrimp and grits was bland and served barely warm. Seems it sat for a time befor serving.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Delicious fried green tomatoes! Great s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious fried green tomatoes! Great service! Great ambiance!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i am glad we came here . i heard alot ab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

i am glad we came here . i heard alot about this .it wes very good

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to PP upon recommendation of a frie ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went to PP upon recommendation of a friend since we would be in Charleston for a wedding. The service is outstanding. The food, however, was just okay, definitely not great. My husband had the shrimp and grits but it was rather soupy and the shrimp tasted like it had been frozen, severely lacking in flavor, color and texture. We are from Annapolis, so we know good seafood and this was not. Have had FAR better shrimp and grits in our area. I had the much-raved-about fried chicken, which came with a side of mashed potatoes, a TINY cup of ham gravy, and steamed green beans. My meal was just average at best. Not sure why people rave about it. The biscuits and the fried green tomatoes were the saving elements of this not-so-cheap dinner out. We would recommend PP with some serious reservations. The quality of the food makes PP overpriced and over hyped.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fab-U-lous!!!!! The biscuits are divine ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fab-U-lous!!!!! The biscuits are divine. The cheese pimento fritters are beyond words! We are still talking about them. The filet was cooked to perfection and the catfish was great. We loved the atmosphere and we paid our respects to 'Poogan' the dog. Don't miss this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, all around!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great experience, all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great restaurant; amazing food ...the fr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

great restaurant; amazing food ...the fried green tomatoes were amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent. Ros ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Rosa our server made our dinner extra special. She was very efficient and had a wonderful personality!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was great but the service is what s ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was great but the service is what set it apart

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to Poogan's Porch in celebrat ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

First time to Poogan's Porch in celebration of mother and daughter birthdays. We couldn't have wished for more. Excellent food and service! Loved it and can't wait to return. Our new favorite Charleston restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and outstanding service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Exceptional food and outstanding service. Brian our waiter, was such a gracious host.

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, very good meal. Definitely get ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overall, very good meal. Definitely get the fried chicken if you're between dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Poogan's is always excellent ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food at Poogan's is always excellent, it does not matter if I have breakfast , lunch , dinner or brunch. Never a bad meal. The chicken and waffles are excellent. Great southern cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the crab soup and the fried gre ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We loved the crab soup and the fried green tomatoes for appetizers. For dinner, we loved the snapper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We are very familiar with the Charleston ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We are very familiar with the Charleston dining scene but had never been able to get a reservation. We came to Charleston for our 35th wedding anniversary and finally were able to secure one, 2 weeks in advance. Our daughters had called ahead and arranged several surprises for us that evening. Our server Sarah and the entire staff made us feel very special, right down to the champagne toast and personalized menu. The food and drink were impeccable, and the atmosphere was perfect for the occasion.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps I am jaded, but my grandmothers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Perhaps I am jaded, but my grandmothers fried chicken and fried oysters were better than here. If you did not grow up on southern cuisine it will be a nice treat. Collard greens and green beans outstanding. Service not what I would have expected based on reviews and recommendations. After the fact, we also learned folklore surrounding PP..would have been fun to know that going in..

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Was on our bucket list of places to try. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Was on our bucket list of places to try. Duck was excellent as was the fried chicken. However, that said the scallops although great presentation had little taste and you only got 5 small ones. Rather skimpish for a meal at that price and no salad to start.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

On the Saturday that we visited for brun ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

On the Saturday that we visited for brunch, service was exceptionally slow. The food was good, but we had better food in Charleston without the indifferent service. If you are looking for a great breakfast/brunch, I would encourage you to try Hominy Grill. Great food, efficient service.

Tags: Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I had dined at Poogan's Porch 26 years a ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I had dined at Poogan's Porch 26 years ago while in Charleston on business and, if anything, the restaurant is better today than before. Our waiter was great and very knowledgeable. And, the shrimp and grits is the best in the Low Country!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Excellent service!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food! Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our hotel was right next door so the loc ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our hotel was right next door so the location was great. We were sat beside the fireplace in a very cute dining room; however it smelled very bad. The service was horrendous and very judgmental. There was no personality and he was obviously upset that I was eating some of my husbands meal although I had ordered items for myself as well. I also ordered grapefruit juice which came from a can (I saw them pour it). It tasted like it came from a can. The food though was very good but nothing creative or surprising. I cannot find out why this place came so recommended. Will not come back and will recommend that others avoid it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Wonderful experience overall. The piment ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful experience overall. The pimento fritters and fried circle were amazing. However, the fish special billed as Snapper was very "fishy"- more like blue fish. On the other hand the accompanying side of pulled pork and grit cake was fabulous.

On a side note, I had left my cigarettes at home (I know, shame on me) and when I asked our waiter if anyone in the kitchen could spare one, the manager came back and presented one to me on a plate covered with a napkin!!! How nice was that!?!?

We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed our lunch at Poogan's Porch. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch at Poogan's Porch. The food was great and our waiter was

the best. It was the perfect place for my out of town guests, they loved it!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had agreattime in alovely setting. Good ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had agreattime in alovely setting. Good food, experienced waitress.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good, particularly the Shr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was very good, particularly the Shrimp and Grits. However, it took a long time to get service and our food. Ten minutes before the waitress came to our table after being seated, about 25 minutes to get an appetizer (from time ordered) and 55 minutes to get the entree (from time ordered).

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server was incredibly slow, and seem ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our server was incredibly slow, and seemed in fact to have forgotten to place our orders at all. Drinks took forever, and we saw them sitting up on the bar as we walked in that direction. We had to ask for bread and then appetizer was another LONG wait We had been sitting for over one hour when we asked why it was taking so long for our food when another couple who came after we arrived had in fact been served promptly and were finishing thier meals as ours finally arrived. And we had not one visit from our server during the long waits to refill water glasses or check in with us at all. I like the food at Poogan's but the service this time was abysmal.

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Was in Charleston for 36 hours during a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was in Charleston for 36 hours during a vacation to the lowcountry. By far the best meal of the entire vacation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter was wonderfull. Best fried ch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our waiter was wonderfull. Best fried chicken we had lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for the lunch during restaurant ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We went for the lunch during restaurant week. The selections were so limited and we were explicitly informed that no substitutions could be made, even leaving blue cheese off the salad was not possible.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was OK. Disappointed with the serv ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was OK. Disappointed with the service. We were told we couldn't have an item on the menu because they had a large group coming later, and didn't want to run out. Had there been another option nearby, we probably would have left without dining. The only disappointment for a full week of dining in Charleston.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We had Sunday brunch and were not disapp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had Sunday brunch and were not disappointed!This is in the top 3 of all the places we ate in Charleston.The grits were fabulous,chicken and waffles were to die for and the eggs Benedict was yummy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.