About Poogan's Porch Restaurant

72 Queen St
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Tucked away on a charming downtown street, Poogan's Porch is one of Charleston’s oldest & most reputable culinary establishments, serving upscale Lowcountry cuisine daily. Since opening in 1976, Poogan’s has been a favorite of well-known celebrities, politicians, tourists & locals alike who rave about this Southern institution. Recognized by Martha Stewart Living, Wine Spectator & the Travel Channel, this beautifully restored Victorian house is the perfect southern locale for lunch, dinner or weekend brunch. Whether it’s a warm homemade buttermilk biscuit & sausage gravy for brunch, a bowl of she-crab soup for lunch, or our signature buttermilk fried chicken for dinner, your meal at Poogan’s will be unforgettable. Open year-round, Poogan’s Porch serves dinner seven days a week, & brunch on Saturday and Sunday. Both indoor & outdoor seating is offered, & a variety of rooms are available for special events throughout the year. Reservations are recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Brunch:Saturday & Sunday: 9:00am - 2:30pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30-2:30 Dinner: Monday-Sunday 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Meeting & King

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-2337

Website:
http://www.poogansporch.com/

Catering:
Please call or email with any questions. Poogan's would be honored to cater your next special event. Call 843-577-2337 or email events@pooganswporch.com

Executive Chef:
Daniel Doyle

Private Party Facilities:
Poogan's Porch offers several private dining rooms newly renovated to suit your distinct style. From wedding rehearsal dinners to farewell brunches, to holiday parties and business meetings, we are able to accommodate groups of 10-110. Personal time with our party planner and you will be set for your next event in no time. We would be honored to host you next special event. Hope to hear from you soon with any of your questions or concerns.

Private Party Contact:
Beth Walton: 8435772337x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pimiento Cheese Fritters
Shrimp & Grits
Pimento Cheese Fritters
fried chicken
Pork Rinds, Buffalo Style
Biscuits and Gravy
Crispy Skin Snapper
Crispy Grouper
Oyster With Transparent Gazpacho Consome, Oysters In Ponzusauce
Macaroni and Cheese
BLT
Fried Aligator
Fried Green Tomatoes
Buttermilk Fried Chicken Plate
Steak & Eggs
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Chicken & Waffles
John Daly
Fried Alligator
Pan Fried Pork Chop
Shrimp and Grits
Charlestowne Fry
Blackened Catfish
Apple Bourbon Crush
Watermelon Salad
Cast Iron Pork Chop
Biscuits
Fish And Grits
She-Crab Soup
Low Country Pasta
Duck Confit Grilled Pimento Cheese Sandwivh
Cinnamon French Toast
Pan Seared Jumbo Scallops over Apple-wood Smoked Bacon Grits
Warm Biscuit With Honey Butter
Green Chilli Chicken
Bourbon Braised Beef Brisket
Crab Cake Appetizer
Double Cut Pork Chop
Chicken and Waffles
pan seared duck breast
Buttermilk Chicken
Wedge Salad With Pickled Egg
Pork Two Ways
Carolina Crab Cakes
Sweet Tea Glazed Salmon
crab cake
Sauteed Scallops
Plantation Fried Chicken
Red Snapper And Fried Grit Cake
Callabash Shrimp & Oysters
Flounder Filet
Fried Chicken And Mashed Potatoes
Wreckfish
Pulled Pork Eggs Benedict
Fried Green Tomatoes w/ Sweet Pepper Aioli
Fried Chicken Salad With Jalapeno Honey Dressing
Fried Green Tomato BLT with Orange Blossom Mayo
Banana Pudding
Biscuits And Honey Butter
Fried Green Tomatoes And A Goat Cheese Croquette
Chocolate Pecan Pie With Bacon Ice Cream
John Daily With Lemonade And Sweet Tea Vodka
Arugula Salad, Basil Vinaigrette, Goat Cheese Crostini
Fried Chicken Salad
Buttermilk-Marinated Fried Chicken With Mashed Potatoes, Collards, & Gravy
Pimento Cheese Slaw
Crab Cake Benedict
Calabash Style Seafood Platter
She Crab Soup
Scallops And Pork Belly
Ike's Down Home Breakfast
buttermilk biscuit
Seared Scallops With Pork Belly Risotto Cake
Pulled Pork Benedict
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Flounder Special
Cucumber Martini
BBQ Eggs Benedict
Steak and Eggs
Spicy Bloody Mary
Banana Pancakes
Pork 3 Ways
Local Seafood Pasta
Fried Chicken Stuffed w/ Gouda

Poogan's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Southern
South Carolina
Most Booked
South Carolina
Southern
Charleston
1 More
Most Booked
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

fit for foodies (384)
neighborhood gem (375)
special occasion (349)
See All
romantic (243)
great for lunch (211)
great for brunch (193)
great for outdoor dining (188)
good for groups (134)
hot spot (115)
notable wine list (82)
kid-friendly (67)
scenic view (45)
late-night find (23)
vibrant bar scene (10)
outstanding value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
4071 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great menu with lots of interesting choi ...

Dined a day ago

Great menu with lots of interesting choices. Our table had the fried chicken, as good as advertised, catfish, and an ahi tuna special. Everything very good. Our server Sara was friendly, knowledgeable, and experienced. Service was excellent - relaxed and easy going yet right on point.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious shrimp and grits! Excellent se ...

Dined 3 days ago

Delicious shrimp and grits! Excellent service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Clint was our waiter, he was outstanding ...

Dined 3 days ago

Clint was our waiter, he was outstanding. Very informative about the menu, his recommendations were spot on, and provided us with information about the area. We were from Chicago on vacation in Charleston. Would absolutely dine there again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

We were a few minutes early for our rese ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were a few minutes early for our reservation and they were accommodating in seating us right away. The food was spectacular as I remember from my visits several years ago. The shrimp and grits were good, but the scallops over pimento cheese ravioli over creamed corn made for among the best scallops ever.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We fell in love with the place. Its loca ...

Dined 5 days ago

We fell in love with the place. Its location, food, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing! Scallops were delicio ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing! Scallops were delicious. So many good things to choose from we need to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Used open table for reservations and wer ...

Dined 6 days ago

Used open table for reservations and were seated within couple of minutes on arrival. Service was very attentive and helpful in menu choices. We had the shrimp and grits, along with the fried boneless chicken breast dinner. Perfectly prepared and seasoned. They excel at elevating simple dishes into a memorable meal.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Overall, nice spot - lovely porches, goo ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overall, nice spot - lovely porches, good food, overall relaxing ambiance. Our waiter was quite unprofessional though - accommodating to us personally, but rude to another table and was yelling at another server. It was very uncomfortable and we left in a hurry.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent brunch- although I screwed up ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent brunch- although I screwed up our reservations by clicking pm instead of am , they graciously fit us in (without pointing out my error-- I figured it out after the fact). Shrimp & grits and biscuits stood out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was exceptional and well Vers ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our waiter was exceptional and well Versed I gluten free food and recipes. The wine he helped me choose was very very good (a Washington red). I might recommend a gluten free dessert i.e. Ice cream or cream brûlée

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Had a wonderful brunch. Sat near front ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch. Sat near front door so had nice breeze on us and I had perfect view of interesting mural on next building. My guest had pulled pork Benedict. Perfectly poached eggs on pulled pork on a southern biscuit with BBQ hollandaise sauce. I had the excellent shrimp and grits. Friendly attentive server.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

very nice old house, food was good, terr ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

very nice old house, food was good, terrace at back of house ok,

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had the lobster & shrimp pasta and th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had the lobster & shrimp pasta and the scallops. Both were delicious. We also enjoyed the special appetizer and the Key Lime pie that the waiter recommended. We will go back again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First time eating at Poogan's Porch and ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

First time eating at Poogan's Porch and I was not disappointed. The fried chicken was the best I have ever eaten, and the service was excellent. My wife had the shrimp and grits which she said were very good as well. I think some people see Poogan's Porch as a tourist restaurant, but I can tell you that the food speaks for itself. I'm a SC local and will definitely be returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Poogan's Porch was recommended by a frei ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Poogan's Porch was recommended by a freind, and now I know that friend has excellent tastes. Every was amazing!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend recommended that we try this re ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

A friend recommended that we try this restaurant when in Charleston. We were very pleased with the overall experience. Excellent food and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A good place to sample a variety of sout ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

A good place to sample a variety of southern food classics. Fried green tomatoes with fried chees was excellent. Ask for the Tasso ham gravy on the side with shrimp and grits, as it can overpower the dish.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a sisters/daughters 4 day weeke ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

This was a sisters/daughters 4 day weekend and we met here for lunch on our arrival day. Poogan's was only 1 block form our rental which was not available until 3PM. Perfect meeting spot. Great food and wonderful staff. As a travel agent I will suggest this restaurant as a "must"!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Had not had alligator salad before. Unin ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Had not had alligator salad before. Uninteresting. My wife had another appetiser and it was good. We each had the salmon and the risotto was boiled to mush. Like glue. Salmon itself was good. Chef needs to learn to cook it better. Service so-so. Chilean chardonnay pretty ordinary. A mediocre meal which we would rate a C. We are from out of town (Canada) and were recommended the restaurant by our host. Ate the previous night at Studio 8 and the food was excellent, and much better value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent appetizers and food. This is ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Excellent appetizers and food. This is our second visit and it was just as good as the first. A must go to dining experience while in Charleston.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The history, the look and the food were ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The history, the look and the food were all great about the restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5

Pan seared scallops were excellent. Frie ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Pan seared scallops were excellent. Fried chicken was also. The environment is welcoming and comfortable. We had a terrific experience!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

I went to Poogans Porch for dinner with ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I went to Poogans Porch for dinner with my family of four on a Tuesday. The staff was very nice and the food was good but the service was very slow and the prices were high. This place definitely has charm but it seems a bit overrated.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great treat - food was tasty and ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

What a great treat - food was tasty and well presented and the service was excellent - we enjoyed ourselves very much

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was a great find on our ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This restaurant was a great find on our vacation. It's in a beautiful old house in the historic district. The food was delicious and included a great vegetarian option for my wife. The wine recommendation was excellent with our meals. We enjoyed eating on the porch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the recommendation of a colleague's s ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

On the recommendation of a colleague's sister from Mt. Pleasant, we made dinner reservations for a Monday evening following a full day's walking tour of historic lower Charleston. We were very satisfied with every aspect of our experience at Poogan's: beautiful old house, attentive wait staff, and well-presented food that had this foodie in heaven. The pimento cheese fritters w/green tomato jam were crunchy on the outside, and warm, gooey comfort on the inside. The fried green tomatoes with pecan-encrusted goat cheese were served with a blueberry fruit chutney, and were equally pleasing. The pan-seared sea scallops over pimento cheese ravioli were seared to perfection, the ravioli a delightful southern spin, both served atop the sweetest creamed corn I've ever tasted, all surrounded with a generous swirl of roasted red pepper vinaigrette. Dessert was pecan pie, served as a small individual round pie complete with a drizzle of caramel, and chocolate foam. Highly recommend Poogan's Porch, and plan to return on our next visit to Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back! This place was great!

Dined on June 13, 2016

Will go back! This place was great!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I had a very memoriable e ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My husband and I had a very memoriable evening and would recommend this fine restaurant to anyone who would like a nice intimate evening out

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good Food, But Disappointing

Dined on June 12, 2016

Charleston, SC is my favorite city to visit (18 times in 16 years) and the cuisine is definitely part of the experience! I have been coming to Poogan's at least once a visit for 14 of those visits. They menu definitely reflects the low country cuisine. Prices are moderate and portions are good. The food has always been well-prepared. Their biscuits are out of this world. We ordered their fried green tomatoes as an appetizer. They were good. Not the best in the City, but good. I enjoyed their roasted chicken dish. My fellow diner had their fried catfish, which was a little on the dry side. The biggest disappointment was the service. We had reservations and were seated timely. Once we were seated, we did not see the server for over 10 minutes. We simply ordered iced tea to drink -- we did not receive it for nearly 25 minutes from the time we were seated. We actually had to ask for the biscuits -- and that was well over 10 minutes until we received them. The iced tea glasses went empty and did not get refilled until we got our server's attention. It was nearly an hour from when we were seated that we received our meals. Thankfully, the meals were hot when they were brought to the table, so I know that they did not sit in the kitchen for a while. I hope that this was a "blip" but the service was definitely poor. I will most likely give them one more chance when I am in town again.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Limited Menu Choices

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Poogans has always been one of our local favorites. Last night, however, I realized that we are done with Poogans for a while. We've tried most of their menu items over the last few years - and are down to 3 must-haves. They are the cast iron chop, shrimp n grits, and the sweet tea glazed salmon. We've tried other things - and they are OK - but not write-home-about-special. Sadly, I think we'll have to take Poogans off our must-do-list for a while.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm in love with this place now! Our fir ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I'm in love with this place now! Our first time here was last Sunday for brunch, I took my husband here for an early father's day brunch and we both REALLY enjoyed it. The biscuits were amazing, fried green tomatoes were fantastic, chicken n waffles and shrimp n grits were great as well!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

Very disappointing. We were placed in a ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Very disappointing. We were placed in a room with 2 LOUD bachelorette parties. Making it hard for our party of 6 to converse. The food was hit or miss.....outstanding shrimp and grits, tasteless fish special and mediocre fried green tomatoes. I would not recommend a return visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was amazing and did not ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This restaurant was amazing and did not disappoint. The pimento cheese fritters were delicious. I went with two friends and we ordered a few dishes to split. The fried pork chop and fried chicken were the absolute best.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The menu had something for everyone at o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The menu had something for everyone at our our table, including me, a strict Vegan. Great service. Very nice overall.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic Food as Always

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I had lunch here for our anniversary when we were in town. The (brunch menu) Chicken and Waffles was wonderful and my wife enjoyed the Pimento and Cheese BLT. We highly recommend going if you have never been. Be sure to make reservations. The wait time was over an hour and twenty minutes when we walked in and were seated with our Open Table reservations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing! Favorite place in Charleston.

Dined on June 11, 2016

You could never be disappointed at this wonderful establishment! I had my rehearsal dinner here a year ago and celebrated my anniversary here this year as well and it was wonderful...NO COMPLAINTS!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful food!

food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Food and waitress were excellent. Howeve ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and waitress were excellent. However I made reservations, and was not seated promptly (we had to wait 20 minutes) even though the restaurant was half empty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Almost

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food but inadequate wait staff. Found ourselves looking around for waiter to place orders. May have spent more if I had a chance. Food delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Not Impressed

Dined on June 10, 2016

The building is undoubtedly very charming. However the service and food were lack luster. My son's chair was so old(vintage) it was unstable and we switched it out. Our waiter never brought our appetizer and we finally cancelled the order. I asked for crayons to go with the coloring sheet they gave our kids but they never brought any. I got the fried chicken, but unfortunately it was very heavily breaded and wasn't juicy or flavorful. My husband got the seafood linguine and his exact words were :"the sauce tastes just like ketchup". Our meal was disappointing. For the price point I think I expected higher quality food, and a bit more attentiveness by the staff. They were all very friendly.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.