About Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria

8977 N Scottsdale Rd
Ste 504
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana is the First and Only Pizzeria in Arizona awarded the prestigious certifications of true authentic Neapolitan pizza from the highly regarded APN and VPN. Pizza associations both based in Napoli, Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Doubletree

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 998-1366

Website:
http://www.pomopizzeria.com/

Executive Chef:
Matteo Schiavone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria, Scottsdale, AZ

Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Open Kitchen (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always have great service and food at ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We always have great service and food at Pomo! Lively but not too loud and great for the whole family. If you're looking for a classic Italian pizzeria, this is the place. Simple ingredients and always yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fun, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among the worst service I've ever had -- ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Among the worst service I've ever had -- waiter was not attentive, could never find him even though it wasn't busy, never checked back to see how the meal was not even refilled a single glass of water ---screwed up even the payment of the bill. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Porcini mushrooms in Pizza were tasteles ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Porcini mushrooms in Pizza were tasteless. Otherwise it was good. Service was good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good, certified Neapolitan Pizza. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very good, certified Neapolitan Pizza. One of many great pies in the PHX area. I prefer a slightly more crisp crust but all flavors are terrific. Lazagne some of the best. Top service and a very pleasant place. Will return again and again. Only negative- avoid the olives on happy hour menu. Server was top notch.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great pasta and pizza very athletic ser ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great pasta and pizza very athletic service good but can be a little tough when very busy. We like midweek and sundays best a little less hectic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Restaurant we have eaten here many ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Restaurant we have eaten here many time. However they took a long time to bring our soup that we ordered and brought our main dish while we were eating the soup. It was not our servers fault.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, environment - pizza was amaz ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food, environment - pizza was amazing. Server made the dinner feel rushed, but that would not deter us from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We heard the pizza was great. We are glu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We heard the pizza was great. We are gluten free and the menu did offer that option, however, our pizza was subpar topping wise compared to all the others we saw come out of the kitchen! It was skimpy (very!) on red sauce, fresh basil and cheese. Paid $18+ for a 16" and it was mediocre at best.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Came for Happy hour with friends. Good m ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came for Happy hour with friends. Good menu, good value. Service was a bit slow, hard to get her attention and it was not too busy. Over all it was very nice. Would go back and send friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Decent woodfired pizza, decadent lasagna ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Decent woodfired pizza, decadent lasagna with beschamel, ambiance is lovely, rather crowded , wait service is suspect and overextended, management is not observant of wait staff/training issues need to be rectified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I a town full of great pizza my family l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I a town full of great pizza my family loves POMO-- really a nice spot

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time trying this plac ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time trying this place and it was outstanding. We went for lunch and sat on the patio, which is great. We both had the Pizza and felt it was the best. We definitely recommend this restaurant. We're planning on going back for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to sit outside - even without a vie ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Nice to sit outside - even without a view. Pizza and salad were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night dinner while in Scottsdale ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Friday night dinner while in Scottsdale picked Pomo as close by our hotel, love Italian food and great reviews. Called ahead to see if we could bring a bottle of our wine wine and not an option, somehow though ended up with 2 reservations and arrived early and pleasant hostess sorted things out and got us a nice table. Nice ambiance if a bit loud, service quite good and appetizers and salad great but pizza was very soggy in middle (menu does say this was possible), table next us pizza was very burnt. But tasted OK, not great. So came back for takeout next night and same great apps and salads but had pasta instead and that wasn't great either. Definitely room to improve but would probably give it another try.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Incredible restaurant. We always stop b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Incredible restaurant. We always stop by when we're in Scottsdale. Great food and amazing service every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads ordered to share were not divided ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Salads ordered to share were not divided in the kitchen nor did we get serving spoons without additional request. The same with lasagna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our favorite restaurants! Always ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants! Always a great meal and terrific service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times. Handy lo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We have eaten here many times. Handy location and good pizzas. The last two times the food has not been stellar. This time sealed the deal for not returning. Our mushroom pizza had very soft mushrooms in a gravy on the crust, almost like canned. We wanted to improve the pizza by shaking Parmesan cheese on it and discovered a live fly doing the backstroke in the jar!!! The manager was very accommodating and pleasant, but at this point food was not in our minds. So sad because we had our daughter as a guest from Florida.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Pomo has been one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Pomo has been one of our favorite restaurants since it opened at the original location at the Borgata! The pizza seriously can't be beat! I had quite a few friends in town that were visiting, so I booked a table for 18, which for some restaurants could be a bit daunting. Pomo handled it seamlessly. Our server, DJ , did an outstanding job for that number of people. He was attentive and we never felt we needed something.

All in all, still one of my fav's, I think it always will be!

Tags: Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food. Good drinks, but not cheap. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Tasty food. Good drinks, but not cheap. Good service. Tables are too close to each other, not for private discussions. Nice overall modern ambience with large patio space.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pasta and pizza will go back for s ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great pasta and pizza will go back for sure🐾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good...freshly made pasta and sauce ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very good...freshly made pasta and sauces. Great wine selection. Nice choice of appetizers-the arianci (sp) meatballs were excellent. Pasta carbonara done right!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've eaten there a number of times. Alw ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

We've eaten there a number of times. Always good, but service this time less attentive and pizza crust too limp.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great restaurant great food ambience and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great restaurant great food ambience and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular food, knowledgeable staff an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Spectacular food, knowledgeable staff and nice bar while you wait for your table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The carpachio is excellent as well as th ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The carpachio is excellent as well as the pizza!...a great thin crust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I've been here many times and generally ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I've been here many times and generally enjoy. Tonight not so much! Service was terrible; food was barely warm; salad for three was served withou serving utinsels. When we asked for same we were told they didn't have any. We used two forks. At one point I tried unsuccessfully to get the attention of our waiter who was obviously having a personal conversation with another employee. Although I'll probably be back I think I'll take some time off and patronize Grimalds!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Bad news first. The restaurant reeked of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Bad news first. The restaurant reeked of backed-up sewage (probably due to an unwise choice of cleaning product). The waitress was pushy and supercilious; the lady who appeared to be a manager-type was only slightly less so. My soup and pizza were blah: the soup had little flavor and the pizza was too salty. On the good side, the hostess was friendly and accommodating, the seating was comfortable, and my date's soup and panino were outstanding. Overall, however, I think we'll give it a miss from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Great appetizers and pizza. The staff is ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great appetizers and pizza. The staff is excellent. We had a great meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pomo is a unique eatery, with outstandin ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Pomo is a unique eatery, with outstanding pizza and a wonderful menu with enough diverse entrees to please any palate. The service is attentive, the atmosphere is light and comfortable, open concept but not overly noisy. Weather permitting, the outdoor spaces are lovely.

The staff clearly cares about the quality and presentation of the food and wine.

We love Pomo!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, too noisy and crowded for us.

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Good food, too noisy and crowded for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Authentic Italian food, great service, g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Authentic Italian food, great service, great atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

30 minute wait after showing up on time ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

30 minute wait after showing up on time with an Opentable reservation. Initially not very considerate or accommodating, but a competent manager stepped in (unprompted) to remedy. Nice bar atmosphere but a tables are a bit too tight for my liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Wonderful experience. Great food and our ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Great food and our waiter was great. Enjoyed the summer cocktails as well. The Lipari was very refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you crave pizza but are looking for s ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 18, 2016

If you crave pizza but are looking for something lighter, this is the place!

Also, their Mango salad is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could have done without the waiters b ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 12, 2016

We could have done without the waiters behind us in the corner talking loudly as they waited to help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time here but will go back for sur ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time here but will go back for sure. Pasta was outstanding. Service good but rushed the waiter very nice but he had so many tables to serve he seemed in a hurry all the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Hands down some of the best pizza anywhe ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Hands down some of the best pizza anywhere, period. We dined at Pomo twice in one week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For some reason, the pizza took a very l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 7, 2016

For some reason, the pizza took a very long time to come out.. The waiter was very apologetic and the manager gave our table (6 of us) complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I have been to Pomo on two previous occa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have been to Pomo on two previous occasions. Both the food and service were excellent (otherwise I would not have gone back). This time, however, was lacking. I found myself apologizing to the friends we brought there for the inattentive service (it took several minutes of waving an empty glass to get anyone's attention for a water refill). The food was less than I expected. The pizza crust was soggy and the soup tasted like dishwater. No one came to ask us how our meal was.

Dessert was good (flourless chocolate cake), but again, it took some time for the coffees to come out and needed to remind the server before they came to the table.

I always enjoyed Pomo in the past. I will try them again in the hopes of it was just a bad night in the kitchen (the holiday didn't help - July 4th), but this visit was extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.