About Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria

8977 N Scottsdale Rd
Ste 504
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana is the First and Only Pizzeria in Arizona awarded the prestigious certifications of true authentic Neapolitan pizza from the highly regarded APN and VPN. Pizza associations both based in Napoli, Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Doubletree

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 998-1366

Website:
http://www.pomopizzeria.com/

Executive Chef:
Matteo Schiavone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Bring your special someone to Pomo for a True Authentic Italian experience!

Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (16)
Authentic (15)
Casual (14)
See All
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Healthy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Romantic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is great! As usual!! I'm not sure w ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Food is great! As usual!! I'm not sure why, but the servers are always harried and behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We enjoyed our appetizers very much. My ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our appetizers very much. My husband had the carpaccio which he loved. The pizza had fresh ingredients with a lot of flavor. The disappointment is the crust. It had no flavor and was very limp and soggy.

We would go back but not for pizza!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted and seated promptly and ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were greeted and seated promptly and our server EJ was really exceptional-attentive without being too close. The food was amazing! We enjoyed the cheese dish sample and a couple of the soups to start. The pasta y fagolia soup was so flavorful...and then quattra formaggi pizza was fresh and hot! Food and service get a 5/5. Ambiance was good, just a little noisey at times, but not uncomfortable.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were seated in the outdoor area with ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were seated in the outdoor area with overhead heaters which were nice on a cool night. Very comfortable and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really Good Pizza, Pasta and Drinks

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Really Good Pizza, Pasta and Drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A bit disappointed this time. Only 2 sma ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

A bit disappointed this time. Only 2 small pieces of basil on my margarita pizza and my husband ordered anchovies on his and only found 2 on the entire pizza. A little skimpy on the ingredients. Enjoyed the ambience and our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh, tasty - something for everyone. G ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fresh, tasty - something for everyone. Great pizza...with great chili pepper drizzling oil. Kids pasta was a thumbtack and delicious with a great Bolognese sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always great food! Pizza as good as can ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always great food! Pizza as good as can be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall for a Sunday evening it was grea ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

Overall for a Sunday evening it was great!

Wish our server had "more personality!" That is important to us........ it can make or break an evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had the Margarita pizza and penne ALL ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the Margarita pizza and penne ALL’ARRABBIATA which were both amazing! For dessert we ordered the tiramisu which was disappointing. It did not taste like a authentic tiramisu. It was mostly whipped cream with no other flavor. It should not be called a tiramisu. Enjoyed the restaurant set up and being able to watch them make the pizza. Service was ok.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent dinner. Pizza is fabulous. W ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent dinner. Pizza is fabulous. We especially recommend the Pomo pizza. Our 10 year old loved it and she is incredibly picky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed the food and the company I was w ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed the food and the company I was with, but our server was nothing to write home about! I waited to write the review as I was so upset with our servers curtness and just plain rudeness the entire evening. Basically we felt like he wished we weren't there...being in the business I should have said something but my guest and I decided not to as we didn't want to ruin the evening more than it already had been. We don't get out very often so we made the best of it and we said "you never know what he is going through" and we even tipped 20%, against our better judgement....regardless if he was having a bad day or not, you can't portray that to the guests. We all have so much going on in our life's and when I go out I want to forget about everything and enjoy my night to the fullest as my time is limited. The hostess and food were perfect so it made up for the service (some what)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Whenever my wife and I take a trip to Sc ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Whenever my wife and I take a trip to Scottsdale we make sure we get a dinner at Pomo. Love the pizza's and anything on the menu. Sit at bar inside and watch them make the pizza's. My fav is the Principe (tomato sauce, mozzarella, prosciutto crudo parma, arugula, shaved parmigiano, basil, evoo). Delicious! The service at the Gainey Ranch location is excellent. Very knowledgeable Italian waiter. Love the accent in a place that makes authentic Neopoletana pizza and food. My wife had the eggplant parm which was excellent. Make sure to get the BRUSCHETTA TRIO. It won't disappoint.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our company holiday party at Pomo ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had our company holiday party at Pomo this week. We had amazing food, great service and just the right fun, casual atmosphere I had hoped for my team and staff. Great job to the Pomo

Team, magnifico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is not for nothing that this restaura ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

It is not for nothing that this restaurant is ranked in the top 100 in USA by a popular food magazine. Everything they serve is top-of-the line. We shared a Pollo (Chicken) salad and a vegetarian pizza, Neapolitan style. Best pizza in AZ! Cheese is not overwhelming and the dough is perfect. Service is attentive, friendly and brisk.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pomo has been on my list and so sad I le ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Pomo has been on my list and so sad I let it go without a visit for so long... but we found it, made a reservation and had a wonderful salad and Napoli wood-fired pizza, some great wine and met some new friends too!

The space has a wonderful vibe and feel. Very warm, inviting and full of energy. We will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pomo was able to accommodate our large p ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pomo was able to accommodate our large party, they actually changed our seating so we had some privacy. Our waiter Thomas did a great job and handled all 15 of us easily. Management checked on us numerous times. Terrific experience.

Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Pizza is outstanding. Consis ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food. Pizza is outstanding.

Consistent excellence.

Friendly staff.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have great service and food at ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We always have great service and food at Pomo! Lively but not too loud and great for the whole family. If you're looking for a classic Italian pizzeria, this is the place. Simple ingredients and always yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fun, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Among the worst service I've ever had -- ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Among the worst service I've ever had -- waiter was not attentive, could never find him even though it wasn't busy, never checked back to see how the meal was not even refilled a single glass of water ---screwed up even the payment of the bill. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Porcini mushrooms in Pizza were tasteles ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Porcini mushrooms in Pizza were tasteless. Otherwise it was good. Service was good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good, certified Neapolitan Pizza. ...

 
·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very good, certified Neapolitan Pizza. One of many great pies in the PHX area. I prefer a slightly more crisp crust but all flavors are terrific. Lazagne some of the best. Top service and a very pleasant place. Will return again and again. Only negative- avoid the olives on happy hour menu. Server was top notch.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great pasta and pizza very athletic ser ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great pasta and pizza very athletic service good but can be a little tough when very busy. We like midweek and sundays best a little less hectic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Restaurant we have eaten here many ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Restaurant we have eaten here many time. However they took a long time to bring our soup that we ordered and brought our main dish while we were eating the soup. It was not our servers fault.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, environment - pizza was amaz ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food, environment - pizza was amazing. Server made the dinner feel rushed, but that would not deter us from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We heard the pizza was great. We are glu ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

We heard the pizza was great. We are gluten free and the menu did offer that option, however, our pizza was subpar topping wise compared to all the others we saw come out of the kitchen! It was skimpy (very!) on red sauce, fresh basil and cheese. Paid $18+ for a 16" and it was mediocre at best.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Came for Happy hour with friends. Good m ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came for Happy hour with friends. Good menu, good value. Service was a bit slow, hard to get her attention and it was not too busy. Over all it was very nice. Would go back and send friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Decent woodfired pizza, decadent lasagna ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Decent woodfired pizza, decadent lasagna with beschamel, ambiance is lovely, rather crowded , wait service is suspect and overextended, management is not observant of wait staff/training issues need to be rectified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

I a town full of great pizza my family l ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

I a town full of great pizza my family loves POMO-- really a nice spot

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pizza. Definitely top 2-3 in Valle ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great pizza. Definitely top 2-3 in Valley. The patio is nice but would be even better if it was more enclosed with plants or other covers (i.e. Don't stare into a parking lot).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our first time trying this plac ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time trying this place and it was outstanding. We went for lunch and sat on the patio, which is great. We both had the Pizza and felt it was the best. We definitely recommend this restaurant. We're planning on going back for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice to sit outside - even without a vie ...

 
·Dined on October 31, 2016

Nice to sit outside - even without a view. Pizza and salad were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night dinner while in Scottsdale ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Friday night dinner while in Scottsdale picked Pomo as close by our hotel, love Italian food and great reviews. Called ahead to see if we could bring a bottle of our wine wine and not an option, somehow though ended up with 2 reservations and arrived early and pleasant hostess sorted things out and got us a nice table. Nice ambiance if a bit loud, service quite good and appetizers and salad great but pizza was very soggy in middle (menu does say this was possible), table next us pizza was very burnt. But tasted OK, not great. So came back for takeout next night and same great apps and salads but had pasta instead and that wasn't great either. Definitely room to improve but would probably give it another try.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Incredible restaurant. We always stop b ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

Incredible restaurant. We always stop by when we're in Scottsdale. Great food and amazing service every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads ordered to share were not divided ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

Salads ordered to share were not divided in the kitchen nor did we get serving spoons without additional request. The same with lasagna.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our favorite restaurants! Always ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants! Always a great meal and terrific service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times. Handy lo ...

 
·Dined on October 18, 2016

We have eaten here many times. Handy location and good pizzas. The last two times the food has not been stellar. This time sealed the deal for not returning. Our mushroom pizza had very soft mushrooms in a gravy on the crust, almost like canned. We wanted to improve the pizza by shaking Parmesan cheese on it and discovered a live fly doing the backstroke in the jar!!! The manager was very accommodating and pleasant, but at this point food was not in our minds. So sad because we had our daughter as a guest from Florida.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Pomo has been one of our favorite restau ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Pomo has been one of our favorite restaurants since it opened at the original location at the Borgata! The pizza seriously can't be beat! I had quite a few friends in town that were visiting, so I booked a table for 18, which for some restaurants could be a bit daunting. Pomo handled it seamlessly. Our server, DJ , did an outstanding job for that number of people. He was attentive and we never felt we needed something.

All in all, still one of my fav's, I think it always will be!

Tags: Live Sports, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Wood Oven, Healthy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food. Good drinks, but not cheap. ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Tasty food. Good drinks, but not cheap. Good service. Tables are too close to each other, not for private discussions. Nice overall modern ambience with large patio space.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.