About Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria

8977 N Scottsdale Rd
Ste 504
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana is the First and Only Pizzeria in Arizona awarded the prestigious certifications of true authentic Neapolitan pizza from the highly regarded APN and VPN. Pizza associations both based in Napoli, Italy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Doubletree

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 998-1366

Website:
http://www.pomopizzeria.com/

Executive Chef:
Matteo Schiavone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria
Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria

Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (51)
neighborhood gem (43)
fit for foodies (35)
See All
good for groups (34)
great for lunch (32)
hot spot (17)
special occasion (15)
kid-friendly (15)
notable wine list (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
romantic (9)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Authentic Italian food, great service, g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Authentic Italian food, great service, great atmosphere!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience. Great food and our ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Wonderful experience. Great food and our waiter was great. Enjoyed the summer cocktails as well. The Lipari was very refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you crave pizza but are looking for s ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

If you crave pizza but are looking for something lighter, this is the place!

Also, their Mango salad is delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We could have done without the waiters b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We could have done without the waiters behind us in the corner talking loudly as they waited to help

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

First time here but will go back for sur ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

First time here but will go back for sure. Pasta was outstanding. Service good but rushed the waiter very nice but he had so many tables to serve he seemed in a hurry all the time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Hands down some of the best pizza anywhe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Hands down some of the best pizza anywhere, period. We dined at Pomo twice in one week.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For some reason, the pizza took a very l ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

For some reason, the pizza took a very long time to come out.. The waiter was very apologetic and the manager gave our table (6 of us) complimentary dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I have been to Pomo on two previous occa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I have been to Pomo on two previous occasions. Both the food and service were excellent (otherwise I would not have gone back). This time, however, was lacking. I found myself apologizing to the friends we brought there for the inattentive service (it took several minutes of waving an empty glass to get anyone's attention for a water refill). The food was less than I expected. The pizza crust was soggy and the soup tasted like dishwater. No one came to ask us how our meal was.

Dessert was good (flourless chocolate cake), but again, it took some time for the coffees to come out and needed to remind the server before they came to the table.

I always enjoyed Pomo in the past. I will try them again in the hopes of it was just a bad night in the kitchen (the holiday didn't help - July 4th), but this visit was extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We came to celebrate my son's Birthday a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We came to celebrate my son's Birthday as he wanted pizza so we picked the place based upon the reviews of the pizza. We ordered the meatballs for an appetizer which was one of the best I have ever eaten. My husband had the fried calzone. It was the biggest thing I have ever seen and my husband said it was delicious. The pizza was worthy of New York. Lastly the waitstaff was incredible. Constantly checking if we needed anything and refilling our water glasses and soft drinks. Also when i booked on open table i noted the birthday celebration and they brought us a delicious panna cotta to celebrate. I would highly this place for dressy or casual dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food ... Excellent pizza. Appe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very good food ... Excellent pizza. Appetizers are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Pomo is definitely the best pizza in the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Pomo is definitely the best pizza in the Valley. When you can smell the crust and taste every flavor of the pie that is a good pizza. The eggplant parm is something you would find in your grandmother/mother's kitchen. If you have not tried Pomo I suggest you do soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pomo is never a disappointment. The piz ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Pomo is never a disappointment. The pizza is the best in the valley, the wine is good and the staff is friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday for Dinner

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The pizza was excellent. The waiter very attentive. However my salad was awful I requested the Fritto Misto with Romaine. The salad had no taste and very little dressing. It tasted old. I was disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food has always been consistently go ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food has always been consistently good at Pomo. It still was the night we dying today or for this review. Unfortunately, there were four children who were running around the establishment. I don't mean walking, I mean running rampant. Their mother attempted to calm them down a couple of times to no avail. The staff seemed hesitant to even say anything to the parent or children. As we were leaving we found out it was the owner's children who were running around inside and making all the noise. No one in our party could believe that the owner or his wife (assumed) who was there allowed their children to run around in such a manner to disrupt the dining experience of his patrons. Will this keep me from going back? No. However, should this occur again, especially with the owner's children, I will have no problem in telling the parents and the children of their rude behavior. And if you wish to take off on me regarding what it is like to have children, hold your comments. I've had plenty to deal with.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Great Restaurant

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service and great food. We eat here frequently.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Great service !! We had a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great food!!

Great service !!

We had a great time celebrating my wife's birthday!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Underwhelmed

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Was looking forward to this due to all the hype but was pretty disappointed. The ambiance was nice enough. Trendy Scottsdale crowd for sure, but a nice modern vibe. Despite the crowd, I was happy that it wasn't super loud like most restaurants these days. You can actually carry on a conversation with the person across from you. I was also happy to be seated in a corner booth away from the main traffic. The patio seating looks great, but we were inside.

My first complaint was that the service was awful. Our waiter took at least 10 minutes to show up and when he did just said he be back with waters. After another 10 minutes he came back with waters and took our drink order but not food. It took a good 15 minutes to get my glass of wine. When he came back he told us the special, but of course we had already long decided what we wanted. We ordered an appetizer and 4 pizzas. After another long wait he brought the pizzas. He asked if we had ordered calamari. Uh...yeah. It came after about 2 slices of pizza. He did say he would buy it for us.

Calamari was very good. Very lightly battered and tender. The pizza....eh. The crust was very one-dimensional. More crunchy than chewy and no real flavor of yeast and fermentation. The pizza itself is very floppy, which the menu does warn. The olives, pancetta, and mushroom toppings were very good, but again, the sauce and cheese were very flat tasting. I didn't get any tangy bite from the tomato sauce and the mozzarella was flavorless.

I probably wouldn't go again unless invited. For the price, better pizza can be found. Go to Bianco if you really want something that lives up to the hype.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Date Night at Pomo

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We really enjoyed eating at Pomo! The pizza was authentic and the perfect size for sharing. We started with the fried calamari which was perfectly light and fluffy. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the wine list and the menu. Our favorite restaurant from our visit to Scottsdale!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed Pomo a few days earlier at lun ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I enjoyed Pomo a few days earlier at lunch and returned with friends for dinner a few days later. Unfortunately that experience was less than the good experience I had there at lunch. The service at night was poor and very slow and the food was not the same as before.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and staff were amazing. Very ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The service and staff were amazing. Very kind, thoughtful, and conscientious. Food was very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, a great evening....food always ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

As usual, a great evening....food always great! One of our favorite

destinations for casual but delightful dining,.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Time

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Love the food and staff at Pomo. Always a consistently good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible Food

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Pomo is one of those restaurants that is consistently incredible. Always enjoy the amazing pizza along with their other menu items. Great service too!

Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant! Neighborhood Gem!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We have dined at Pomo several times. The food is excellent, the service is wonderful, and everyone is friendly. Your neighborhood hot spot that never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was great, food was really good. The outdoor area was very pleasant and we had a nice night here. Definitely worth the try.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh food, great staff.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Really enjoyed this restaurant. Pasta was cooked just right, mozzarella was fresh, as were the salads, and the staff was super friendly, professional, and prompt. Wish we could have tried more on the menu! Will definitely be back to try some of the apps, as they looked delicious! Very decent wine list, as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the energy and food is always great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Love the energy and food is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Could've eaten here every night!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

My husband and I were on vacation staying at the Hyatt Regency hotel and walked to Pomo two times and both experiences! In fact, we could have dined there every night and probably will the next time we visit. Both times we sat in the outside area and absolutely loved being out in the open air! What a happening, fun restaurant! The food and wine were first class!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was good, however, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food and service was good, however, I had a party of 11 we sat on the patio and it was very warm. The awnings and tables throw off a lot of heat. Also, our food didn't come out at the same time. Wasn't too big of an issue, but it was a little awkward for those waiting for the food. But I eat there often and Love the food and the service. It was just a big group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Service was exceptional, the pizza was s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Service was exceptional, the pizza was some of I've ever had, and coming from the NY area I think that says a lot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Disappointing

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It is always a bad sign when you cannot be seated at the appointed time of your reservation. It took us 15 minutes to be seated for our 7 PM reservation. The noise level in the restaurant was too loud. We started with a shared salad which was OK. The problem was the pizza. We shared a veggie pizza. The crust was a soggy, thin, white bread. The sauce was thin and not very tasty. The cheese was sparse and not very tasty. The veggies were minimal and sliced way too thin. This place is right in our neighborhood and would be a great go-to spot but they will never see us again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Excellent

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

The pizza and pasta are delicious. This is a true authentic Italian restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great food great service. We go to this restaurant and always have a great meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice, little loud, excellent ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent choice, little loud, excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love the pizza

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Pizza was great as usual. Mango salad was a little disappointing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

A fun, casual restaurant

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Pomo's is a fun pizza and pasta restaurant - - the food is good and the atmosphere is friendly - the service is good and relaxed -

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Another Great Meal at Pomo

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

As usual the food and service are great. Love sitting on the outside patio and relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

another fabulous luncheon

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Had the calamari/shrimp combo and misto salad and eggplant and a sandwich with veggies that was big enough to share with three other people! Too full to have dessert! so sorry...

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time for us at Pomo. We shared the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

First time for us at Pomo. We shared the bruschetta which was very good. Second course was the mango salad was tasty but probably could have used less dressing. The margarita was one of the best one I have had since Italy. Overall a great place and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun Family Dining

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We met our daughter and her husband and their 3 year old twin girls at Pomo for an early dinner. We had a great time. The service was prompt and friendly and helpful with getting the kids meals out quickly. We ordered wine for the adults. The wine selection is fabulous and we were able to find a selection that we all loved. The food was delicious and we will definitely plan another dinner here in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.