About Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria

Pomo Pizzeria Napoletana is the First and Only Pizzeria in Arizona awarded the prestigious certifications of true authentic Neapolitan pizza from the highly regarded APN and VPN. Pizza associations both based in Napoli, Italy.

8977 N Scottsdale Rd
Ste 504
Scottsdale, AZ 85253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Scottsdale & Doubletree

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 998-1366

Website:
http://www.pomopizzeria.com/

Executive Chef:
Matteo Schiavone

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pomo Cucina & Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (27)
Casual (22)
Great for Lunch (17)
See All
Open Kitchen (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Authentic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Family Style (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is fabulous. Been many, many times and every time the food and service is excellent!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

i have two words to offer those reading this review...Never Again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Pizza was bland. No flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent! Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was impressive. The waitress was knowledgeable about the menu and food preparation. Able to guide new comers in choosing the very best options. The atmosphere was conducive to a business meeting. Attentive but not intrusive. The food was outstanding. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Vegan, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great waiter and delicious food. Energetic and upbeat atmosphere. Nice outdoor patio. Fun place to meet friends.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Saturday nite restaurant was very busy. Our service was slower then normal and our pizza was cold when served. Very sisappointed

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good value

Great food

Great service

The seating was a bit tight

But ok

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Busy and fun, mixed crowd, informal so good for grazing or serious eating ! Just a great place to enjoy friends and share food .

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife and I ate at Pomo on Saturday night. we had an amazing experience. The pizza was fantastic, the wine list was solid and the service was spot on! Our server, I do not recall her name, had a perfectly relaxed vibe, coupled with detailed knowledge of all food and drink items. We sat outside, which I suppose could be a drawback for some, however, there were ample heaters which made it quite comfortable. All in all, we had a great experience and will be returning soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food and always consistent. Great service and very attentive. Love this place for date night or family outing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very nce menu. The mushroom soup was very good. Both my husband and I had pasta, of which both were very good. Have the tiramasu.

Atmosphere is just OK. Bar is connected and a loud if you stayed in the bar for dinner. The other room is attached, and doesn't give a quiet atmosphere. I would recommend the restaurant to friends.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We are big fans of pizza and this is one of my favorite places for my comfort food-pizza & wine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food is great - But, excepting the pizza, food is never served hot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I have been going to Pomo for years. I took my family to Italy last year and I compared every pizza I ate, which was probably twice a day, to Pomo. There was one in Pompeii that was almost as good as Pomo. The others were great, but not as amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Excellent! Out of town friends really thought it was special.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food is great! As usual!! I'm not sure why, but the servers are always harried and behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a great meal with delicious food and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We enjoyed our appetizers very much. My husband had the carpaccio which he loved. The pizza had fresh ingredients with a lot of flavor. The disappointment is the crust. It had no flavor and was very limp and soggy.

We would go back but not for pizza!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were greeted and seated promptly and our server EJ was really exceptional-attentive without being too close. The food was amazing! We enjoyed the cheese dish sample and a couple of the soups to start. The pasta y fagolia soup was so flavorful...and then quattra formaggi pizza was fresh and hot! Food and service get a 5/5. Ambiance was good, just a little noisey at times, but not uncomfortable.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We were seated in the outdoor area with overhead heaters which were nice on a cool night. Very comfortable and great food.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Really Good Pizza, Pasta and Drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

A bit disappointed this time. Only 2 small pieces of basil on my margarita pizza and my husband ordered anchovies on his and only found 2 on the entire pizza. A little skimpy on the ingredients. Enjoyed the ambience and our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Fresh, tasty - something for everyone. Great pizza...with great chili pepper drizzling oil. Kids pasta was a thumbtack and delicious with a great Bolognese sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always great food! Pizza as good as can be!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Overall for a Sunday evening it was great!

Wish our server had "more personality!" That is important to us........ it can make or break an evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the Margarita pizza and penne ALL’ARRABBIATA which were both amazing! For dessert we ordered the tiramisu which was disappointing. It did not taste like a authentic tiramisu. It was mostly whipped cream with no other flavor. It should not be called a tiramisu. Enjoyed the restaurant set up and being able to watch them make the pizza. Service was ok.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent dinner. Pizza is fabulous. We especially recommend the Pomo pizza. Our 10 year old loved it and she is incredibly picky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed the food and the company I was with, but our server was nothing to write home about! I waited to write the review as I was so upset with our servers curtness and just plain rudeness the entire evening. Basically we felt like he wished we weren't there...being in the business I should have said something but my guest and I decided not to as we didn't want to ruin the evening more than it already had been. We don't get out very often so we made the best of it and we said "you never know what he is going through" and we even tipped 20%, against our better judgement....regardless if he was having a bad day or not, you can't portray that to the guests. We all have so much going on in our life's and when I go out I want to forget about everything and enjoy my night to the fullest as my time is limited. The hostess and food were perfect so it made up for the service (some what)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Whenever my wife and I take a trip to Scottsdale we make sure we get a dinner at Pomo. Love the pizza's and anything on the menu. Sit at bar inside and watch them make the pizza's. My fav is the Principe (tomato sauce, mozzarella, prosciutto crudo parma, arugula, shaved parmigiano, basil, evoo). Delicious! The service at the Gainey Ranch location is excellent. Very knowledgeable Italian waiter. Love the accent in a place that makes authentic Neopoletana pizza and food. My wife had the eggplant parm which was excellent. Make sure to get the BRUSCHETTA TRIO. It won't disappoint.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had our company holiday party at Pomo this week. We had amazing food, great service and just the right fun, casual atmosphere I had hoped for my team and staff. Great job to the Pomo

Team, magnifico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It is not for nothing that this restaurant is ranked in the top 100 in USA by a popular food magazine. Everything they serve is top-of-the line. We shared a Pollo (Chicken) salad and a vegetarian pizza, Neapolitan style. Best pizza in AZ! Cheese is not overwhelming and the dough is perfect. Service is attentive, friendly and brisk.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Pomo has been on my list and so sad I let it go without a visit for so long... but we found it, made a reservation and had a wonderful salad and Napoli wood-fired pizza, some great wine and met some new friends too!

The space has a wonderful vibe and feel. Very warm, inviting and full of energy. We will be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pomo was able to accommodate our large party, they actually changed our seating so we had some privacy. Our waiter Thomas did a great job and handled all 15 of us easily. Management checked on us numerous times. Terrific experience.

Thank you

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food. Pizza is outstanding.

Consistent excellence.

Friendly staff.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We always have great service and food at Pomo! Lively but not too loud and great for the whole family. If you're looking for a classic Italian pizzeria, this is the place. Simple ingredients and always yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fun, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Among the worst service I've ever had -- waiter was not attentive, could never find him even though it wasn't busy, never checked back to see how the meal was not even refilled a single glass of water ---screwed up even the payment of the bill. Awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Porcini mushrooms in Pizza were tasteless. Otherwise it was good. Service was good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Very good, certified Neapolitan Pizza. One of many great pies in the PHX area. I prefer a slightly more crisp crust but all flavors are terrific. Lazagne some of the best. Top service and a very pleasant place. Will return again and again. Only negative- avoid the olives on happy hour menu. Server was top notch.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Great pasta and pizza very athletic service good but can be a little tough when very busy. We like midweek and sundays best a little less hectic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great Restaurant we have eaten here many time. However they took a long time to bring our soup that we ordered and brought our main dish while we were eating the soup. It was not our servers fault.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food, environment - pizza was amazing. Server made the dinner feel rushed, but that would not deter us from returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We heard the pizza was great. We are gluten free and the menu did offer that option, however, our pizza was subpar topping wise compared to all the others we saw come out of the kitchen! It was skimpy (very!) on red sauce, fresh basil and cheese. Paid $18+ for a 16" and it was mediocre at best.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Came for Happy hour with friends. Good menu, good value. Service was a bit slow, hard to get her attention and it was not too busy. Over all it was very nice. Would go back and send friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Family Style, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Decent woodfired pizza, decadent lasagna with beschamel, ambiance is lovely, rather crowded , wait service is suspect and overextended, management is not observant of wait staff/training issues need to be rectified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I a town full of great pizza my family loves POMO-- really a nice spot

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great pizza. Definitely top 2-3 in Valley. The patio is nice but would be even better if it was more enclosed with plants or other covers (i.e. Don't stare into a parking lot).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time trying this place and it was outstanding. We went for lunch and sat on the patio, which is great. We both had the Pizza and felt it was the best. We definitely recommend this restaurant. We're planning on going back for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.