About Polo Steakhouse

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Ari Nieminen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The best place, by far, for Sunday brunch! I have yet to visit a Restaurant that has a better Sunday brunch, than here. Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing experience every time I go to polo steakhouse , the ambience is great our waiter was great . Would recommend to everyone .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was very good. Nice atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great...service was on point...overall good time...We would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything fabulous as always great service and food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always a wonderful experience when dining at Polo Steakhouse. The wait staff is attentive, extremely helpful and really adds to the overall dining experience. The menu offers lots of great choices and the Prix Fixe is a fantastic deal. Love going here with my husband, friends...just a nice night out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful birthday lunch for my daughter

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very quaint. Nice place to have a quiet dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waited at least 15 minutes before anyone came with menus. After ordering apps, it took over 45 minutes for them to arrive. The quarter inch hunks of bacon on my salad were only barely cooked resulting in quarter inch hunks of fat. Three out of six steaks were not cooked as ordered. One over cooked and two under cooked. The waiter talked me in the dry aged bone in strip. It was honestly the worst piece of meat I ever had. I had to send it back. There was so much fat and gristle. We had enough so we passed on dessert. Terrible experience. Would not recommend and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was disappointed to find out that not all steaks on the menu are aged, despite a printed statement on the menu. Ordered bone-in strip steak, which was one of the offerings that are aged, but it was not cooked as ordered, wasn't very tender and had gristle. The baked clams appetizer were poorly prepared and not fully freed from the shell. In general, overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is top notch. Food, service, ambiance. Saturday night reservations - greeted and seated promptly. Waiter helpful with choices. All three courses on the Restaurant Week prix fixe menu were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

OMG it was Superb!!!! Definitely will come back!!! My new favorite place !!!! Best steak i ever had!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Steak was delicious. Would like a veg or potato included

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner with fine food in a lovely setting. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly. Our side dishes were plentiful. We celebrated a birthday and a dessert was on the house! Wait staff was also very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

we love to dine here as the room is lovely, food is great and the service is outstanding. There was a lobster special which we had in addition to the prix fixe. First time we tried something different from porterhouse for 2; fabulous. The wine and drinks are wonderful and we like the guidance of the staff in choosing pairings for appetizers and entrees. We had a wonderful chenin blanc with our lobster and a terrific zinfandel with our beef entrée. The waiter, not our server who was great too, stopped by to assist in these choices was right on target and we appreciated the input. Every time we eat here we experience perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate in the polo lounge because the polo steakhouse was not open. Food was good,there was a good variety of food choices and the service was fine. My steak salad was perfect. My husband's hamburger was grilled perfectly. We would definitely revisit!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lunch in the lounge with family. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very disappointed!We went for an anniversary dinner.Although the service was excellent, there are serious issues with the kitchen.I ordered the Friday surf and turf w steak medium.It came out in about 30 min.COLD and cooked RARE.The "lobster" tail was the smallest I have ever seen, more like a prawn cut in half.Also luke warm at best and flavorless.Caesar salad was good tho.They serve some kind of mealy biscuit before dinner, no bread.Horribly amateurish.Creme brulee was way over carmelized.This is an overpriced and underperforming rip off.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My daughter and I had lunch following facials at The Red Door.

A perfect way to spend an afternoon together!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went for our anniversary dinner. Place was decorated nicely for holidays. Very quiet as it was night after Christmas and a Monday. Fire alarm went off, we were told it was a false alarm, even though there was a burning smell and lights still flashing for most of dinner. Manager came over to apologize, however didn't offer even a complimentary cocktail on a $200 bill? Porterhouse for two ordered medium was basically well done. Sides and appetizers were better, but not reflective of price. Nice setting and friendly staff however. Didn't voice complaints that night. Wanted to escape the smell and haze of the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall wonderful dinner in every respect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

went with my elderly aunt for a pre-christmas dinner......food was great ....nice ambiance.....very friendly waiter who helped my aunt throughout the meal......nice menu....really ewnjoyed the swordfish.....was a bit crowded with large holiday parties but was a very good dining experience........reservations recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Delicious food and excellent service, that's all you need.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

ordered porterhouse for two. It was so fatty! Worst steakhouse ever! So disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always enjoy eating here where the service is so attentive, and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Every minute of our dining experience was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Perfect venue for a romantic 51 Anniversary Dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Waiter came to our table, no joke over 25 times. It was too much. After every sip of water he would refill our glass. He was very nice, but interrupted us so many times to see if we were ok, that we couldn't hold a conversation. It became stressful

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My brother-in-law is 85. He's surprisingly spry but uses a walker and needs oxygen and a catheter. The wait staff couldn't possibly have been better or more accommodating. From what I could see, they seemed equally accommodating to everyone, at all the tables in the dining room. Granted, they weren't overwhelmed for an early lunch on Friday, but still ... "attentive" and "pleasant" are not strong enough words to describe the level of service everyone seemed to be getting. The food was pretty good too, but the service was beyond outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The porterhouse steak for two was extremely over seasoned and salty.

The appetizer was good. I felt for a steakhouse the steak was not good. Would have sent it back but we were very hungry.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Disappointed. My husband and I ordered chicken which, although tasty, was overdone. Our friend ordered salmon and had the same feeling that although tasty it was a little overdone. Service was friendly and attentive. However, it took awhile for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

it was just OK. nothing special. Crab cake for $20, should have been 2 or large. Cake was terrible

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was excellent. Staff did everything to accommodate us. Appetizers with very good , and my wife's entre, A pork special, was excellent. Sides were good, but nothing special.

As to the steak,I sent one back, too much gristle. The waiter and the house manager were both very apologetic and suggested I replace it with a different cut. Unfortunately , the replacement, while free of gristle, was tough. Very disappointing considering this is a steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My wife and I came here for our Anniversary dinner this year. Outstanding service, with excellent food in an elegant setting. We had a great time, and are already planning when we can return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

the servers were friendly , informative and excellent.

the food was mediocre. For the price, it should have been exceptional.

the restaurant is lovely.

We were 9 people celebrating a wedding. Except for the food, it was perfect.

We still had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The meal was well prepared but the service was even better. Thank you for such a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Carlos, our waiter was fantastic and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent steak and a very high standard of service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went to Polo for brunch with another couple. Celebrating our birthdays. Food was excellent, with many choices. Would recommend this place. Lovely atmosphere and decor. Staff was quite attentive. Although , our waiter dissappeared for a time which made it necessary to ask another waiter to help us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to the Sunday Brunch; while the food was good (not great), we found that there really wasn't anything for kids, the service was not very good (although I think it was our waiter specifically) and the value of the food for the price paid was horrible. This brunch was way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always, excellent food, great atmosphere and excellent service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great overall experience. I went for my 10 year anniversary and they really took care of us. Service was phenomenal, ambiance was great. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waiter, Michael, was terrific. The food was terrific overall. I do have to say that the serving size of the salmon was pathetic. That said - It was a really nice experience and the staff made the difference. Highly recommended but Stay away from ordering salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Celebrating my daughter-in-laws promotion, this was the perfect spot to enjoy a fabulous meal. Besides excellent food, the service is unparalleled. We were not rushed at all, but be sure to save some room for the desserts. Definitely intend on going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've been to Polo many times. This Saturday night service was certainly off from start to finish.

Considering the dining room was almost empty for a Saturday night the service should have certainly been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had dinner on a Tuesday night - prix fixe menu. Choices were excellent, food presentation superb, and tasted delicious. Attentive service, but not hovering. Overall - excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I was very happy to have celebrate my birthday at Polo steakhouse. the food was delicious, even though it took about 45 minutes to get my food. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Server was very polite and attentive. Ambience is very high class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and quite attentive. Made us feel that he was happy to see us there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ambiance was excellent, staff friendly and attentive quality of steaks was exceptional. well worth a visit this area has many fine steakhouses and Polo can compete with the best of them

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.