About Polo Steakhouse

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Ari Nieminen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Restaurant Photos

  • Polo Steakhouse, Garden City, NY
Polo Steakhouse, Garden City, NY

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (11)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always enjoy eating here where the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Always enjoy eating here where the service is so attentive, and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Every minute of our dining experience wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Every minute of our dining experience was outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect venue for a romantic 51 Annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Perfect venue for a romantic 51 Anniversary Dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waiter came to our table, no joke over 2 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Waiter came to our table, no joke over 25 times. It was too much. After every sip of water he would refill our glass. He was very nice, but interrupted us so many times to see if we were ok, that we couldn't hold a conversation. It became stressful

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My brother-in-law is 85. He's surprising ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My brother-in-law is 85. He's surprisingly spry but uses a walker and needs oxygen and a catheter. The wait staff couldn't possibly have been better or more accommodating. From what I could see, they seemed equally accommodating to everyone, at all the tables in the dining room. Granted, they weren't overwhelmed for an early lunch on Friday, but still ... "attentive" and "pleasant" are not strong enough words to describe the level of service everyone seemed to be getting. The food was pretty good too, but the service was beyond outstanding!

Tags: Family Style, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The porterhouse steak for two was extrem ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The porterhouse steak for two was extremely over seasoned and salty.

The appetizer was good. I felt for a steakhouse the steak was not good. Would have sent it back but we were very hungry.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed. My husband and I ordered ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Disappointed. My husband and I ordered chicken which, although tasty, was overdone. Our friend ordered salmon and had the same feeling that although tasty it was a little overdone. Service was friendly and attentive. However, it took awhile for our food to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

it was just OK. nothing special. Crab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

it was just OK. nothing special. Crab cake for $20, should have been 2 or large. Cake was terrible

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Service was excellent. Staff did everyth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was excellent. Staff did everything to accommodate us. Appetizers with very good , and my wife's entre, A pork special, was excellent. Sides were good, but nothing special.

As to the steak,I sent one back, too much gristle. The waiter and the house manager were both very apologetic and suggested I replace it with a different cut. Unfortunately , the replacement, while free of gristle, was tough. Very disappointing considering this is a steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

My wife and I came here for our Annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My wife and I came here for our Anniversary dinner this year. Outstanding service, with excellent food in an elegant setting. We had a great time, and are already planning when we can return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the servers were friendly , informative ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2016

the servers were friendly , informative and excellent.

the food was mediocre. For the price, it should have been exceptional.

the restaurant is lovely.

We were 9 people celebrating a wedding. Except for the food, it was perfect.

We still had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

The meal was well prepared but the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The meal was well prepared but the service was even better. Thank you for such a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos, our waiter was fantastic and so ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Carlos, our waiter was fantastic and so was the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak and a very high standard ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Excellent steak and a very high standard of service.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Polo for brunch with another cou ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Went to Polo for brunch with another couple. Celebrating our birthdays. Food was excellent, with many choices. Would recommend this place. Lovely atmosphere and decor. Staff was quite attentive. Although , our waiter dissappeared for a time which made it necessary to ask another waiter to help us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We went to the Sunday Brunch; while the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to the Sunday Brunch; while the food was good (not great), we found that there really wasn't anything for kids, the service was not very good (although I think it was our waiter specifically) and the value of the food for the price paid was horrible. This brunch was way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

As always, excellent food, great atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always, excellent food, great atmosphere and excellent service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience. I went for my ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great overall experience. I went for my 10 year anniversary and they really took care of us. Service was phenomenal, ambiance was great. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our waiter, Michael, was terrific. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waiter, Michael, was terrific. The food was terrific overall. I do have to say that the serving size of the salmon was pathetic. That said - It was a really nice experience and the staff made the difference. Highly recommended but Stay away from ordering salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating my daughter-in-laws promotio ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Celebrating my daughter-in-laws promotion, this was the perfect spot to enjoy a fabulous meal. Besides excellent food, the service is unparalleled. We were not rushed at all, but be sure to save some room for the desserts. Definitely intend on going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Polo many times. This Satur ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've been to Polo many times. This Saturday night service was certainly off from start to finish.

Considering the dining room was almost empty for a Saturday night the service should have certainly been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had dinner on a Tuesday night - prix ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had dinner on a Tuesday night - prix fixe menu. Choices were excellent, food presentation superb, and tasted delicious. Attentive service, but not hovering. Overall - excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very happy to have celebrate my bi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

I was very happy to have celebrate my birthday at Polo steakhouse. the food was delicious, even though it took about 45 minutes to get my food. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was very polite and attentive. Am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Server was very polite and attentive. Ambience is very high class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and quite attentive. Made us feel that he was happy to see us there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance was excellent, staff friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ambiance was excellent, staff friendly and attentive quality of steaks was exceptional. well worth a visit this area has many fine steakhouses and Polo can compete with the best of them

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience very ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience very very much. Food and service were great as was everything else

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable service. Food was very nicely presented and tasted delicious. Perfectly cooked filet. Our server, Raul was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful anniversary steak dinner. Su ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful anniversary steak dinner. Super attentive service by Carlos, outstanding gazpacho. Dry aged rib eyes perfectly perfectly cooked. Champagne. Cocktails and superb deserts. Truly a night to remember...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were amazing! We r ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service and food were amazing! We really enjoyed our 2nd anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. We both ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We both had filet speat & it was perfect, side diskes were plentiful and cooked just right. We go to Polo Steakhouse for special ocasions and it never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 45 weddi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary at the restaurant and had a very delicious and special dinner. The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. It was a perfect place to share a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, the waiters are friendl

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2016

The entrees could have been better. I had the soft shell crab, it was good but not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant and beautiful ambiance f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2016

Nice restaurant and beautiful ambiance for the special nights

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shellfish tower tasted like it was froze ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Shellfish tower tasted like it was frozen or made well in advance - took our server 20 minutes to open a hundred dollar bottle of wine. Steak was just ok- the check for five people was hundreds of dollars but the food and service was what you would expect in a fast food restaurant. Go elsewhere for fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Food was ok but the place as a whole Doe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was ok but the place as a whole Doesn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Restaurant Week Experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant week promotion offered by Polo at the Garden City Hotel was overall very good. The menu choices were OK, but it is beyond my understanding why a substitution is not allowed (mashed potato instead of risotto) - this can and should be easily be accommodated by an establishment like the Garden City Hotel. We do not hold this against the waiter (who we have had before, and who is excellent). Clearly this restriction comes from the manager of the restaurant (or, perhaps more likely, the accountant).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food selection should have had more ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food selection should have had more options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Celebration Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

My daughter and I went here to celebrate her birthday during Long Island Restaurant Week. We enjoyed the biscuits, which came with the meal. We also enjoyed the lobster bisque, salmon with diced tomatoes and red lentils, and a big portion of vanilla creme brulee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Choices and portions seem to have shrunk during restaurant week .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.