Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Polo Steakhouse

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Ari Nieminen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (9)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, and wonderful staff! Little pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice looking restaurant; first time there, and we expected good service, which we got, but the food was very disappointing. Two of us ordered the rib eye steak, and they were grissly, hard to slice and very fatty. Our daughter had the lamb ribs, and she enjoyed them. The service was fine, except the waiter forgot our order of baked clams; he did bring them at the end of the meal once we told him about it. We have our favorite restaurants, but since it was my husband's 87th birthday we decided to go to some place special. Unfortunately, all in all we were quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good steakhouse with exceptionally well trained staff. We certainly didn't test the kitchen but our bisque, clams casino, and two orders of surf and turf were properly cooked. The filet was 9oz, quite satisfactory and the lobster was 1 1/4 lb on the menu but appeared a bit smaller, who knows? There was no melted butter offered but it wasn't needed. I'm sure they would have brought it if requested. Mac n cheese side was excellent. All in all a very good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolute perfection from start to finish! Went to Saturday afternoon tea to celebrate the birthday of very special lady and the manner in which they made her feel celebrated was what you will ONLY find with the highest level of service- It was truly memorable and I highly suggest it!!!! Tea sandwiches are delectable and the sweets--woah!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was one of the best nights and a very beautiful experience. My wife loves me even more now. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

excellent food.....steaks very good.....nice selection....staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive to my elderly aunt's needs...........................great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The staff doesn't know how to manage the people who stand in the door in groups and yell and scream and bother the ones who are trying to have lunch. We suffered for the entire time we had lunch there and asked numerous times (different servers) to ask those people who didn't even dine there, to either step out of the restaurant or to keep their voices down.No one did anything and it was most unpleasant.
We don't recommend that you go there for lunch on a Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Amazing treatment for anniversary. Champagne, gift card, chef's taste. Amazing!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This restaurant was so amazing and thoughtful to us! They really made our anniversary special from the complimentary champagne to the amazing staff that was meticulous about every aspect of dinner! Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

it was great as always. Unbeatable porterhouse for 2 is our favorite thing. We love the truffle fries, vegetable choices, appetizers and desserts. The cocktails are unique and the wine selection is very good. It is a beautiful, usually quiet room that feels comfortable and the service is always great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This great spot is tops on my list for premiere steak houses outside of Manhattan. It can compete with the best of them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service really treated us special and my steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Thank you Gary for making my Mom's birthday luncheon so special. Everything was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Loved the place . Biggest issue was the wait . Had an 8pm reservation and was told we would have to wait . We weren't offered a free drink while we waited which was surprising since it's an upscale place it would've been nice . We waited over 40 mins . We had to go and ask how much longer o let to find out a miracle three tables of four opened up . I feel we were forgotten about . The communication was lost . They ended up giving us free dessert which was amazing . I would go again but hopefully they do a better job with the hostess staff .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I have visited your restaurant three times and all three times I've walked away happy. The service was outstanding and the meals were delicious. I do plan on going back real soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very poor service. Did not refill wine glasses. Salad out with oysters. Lamb undercooked. Filet over cooked. Slow to clear table and off dessert. Didn't offer coffee. Won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We went there for the first time to celebrate our wedding anniversary . Staff were amazing . My husband had filet mignon and I ordered a steak . It was the best steak I ever had . Top notch service , without mentioning the complementary two glasses of champagne .

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My wife and I have always enjoyed dining at the Polo Steakhouse. Set within the exquisite surroundings of the Garden City Hotel, the experience is nothing short of satisfying and enjoyable. The food is delectable and the service makes you feel like royalty, yet the atmosphere never comes across as being up-tight or snooty. Priced appropriately for the desired affect, while the Polo Steakhouse may not be an every other night dining excursion, it most certainly provides the fine dining experience one might want for a special occasion, romantic date, family get-together, or otherwise above average dining experience. We highly recommend that you try this restaurant out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My son and I were in Hempstead visiting colleges and we heard from a mutual friend about Polo steakhouse. We arrived at the hotel and the place was warm and welcoming. We go to the Polo steakhouse and we are seated immidieatly (there were only 3 tables seated), the server comes over and takes our drinks, this is where the disasters start. For starters, he brings me a glass of Santa Margherita white wine instead of a Sunset margherita (the cocktail of the house), I tell him my actual order yet he comes back with a plain margherita on the rocks. My son and I both got the lobster bisque, which was more cream than lobster. Then he brings us the porterhouse for 2 (recommended by our server) and it was the worst peace of beef we've ever had. We ordered medium rare and the filet side came well done. The maîtres came over and didn't say anything but we'll see what we can do and she was going to offer us another dinner (instead of paying for this one). Finally, my cocktail arrived when everything was done. At the end, our meal came to 70$ with only the bisque and our cocktails. I don't see how the service was so bad minus the fact that there were only 3 tables seated.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is a great steakhouse and lounge. Free, friendly valet parking. Terrific atmosphere and decor. Excellent service. And the food is terrific. Has the dry-aged rib eye which might have been one of the best steaks I've ever had rivaling Del Frisco's and other great steakhouses in Manhattan. And the sunset margarita packs a strong lunch. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Dane provided us outstanding service. The ambiance was wonderful, noise level minimal,food outstanding . Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was a lovely celebration of Afternoon Tea for my friend's birthday. Was very surprised when they brought her a piece of cake and sang happy birthday!! Will definitely come again for tea, as I have been there several times in the past. Thank you! Anna I.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had dinner here on a Friday night. The service is great, very attentive. My husband had the filet mignon which he loved. I had the swordfish, it was ok but I wouldn't order it again. Be aware that it is al a carte and you literally only get a steak on a plate. You have to order sides. That being said, it was a lovely restaurant and I highly recommend going to lounge next to it for after dinner drink and live piano music

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Had an excellent birthday dinner for my wife at the GCH. Food was beautifully prepared with some very nice extras like mini "biscuit" to start. Service was friendly and attentive, not hovering, and helpful with recommendations. Very comfortable atmosphere (helped by the fact we were there on a slow Monday)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Unfortunately I was rather disappointed in the Sunday brunch. Hubby and I went for our wedding anniversary and neither of us was very impressed. For brunch to cost $190 for 2 people, I expect better. There was a nice selection of fresh seafood, but no crab claws as advertised, the cold lobster was overcooked and chewy. The rest of the items were pretty much the same as you would get at any brunch, with the exception of the sushi platters. The sushi was excellent, considering it was a buffet I was a bit hesitant but the spicy crab did not disappoint. The staff was friendly and attentive and the décor was nice, but in my opinion there are other places that are just as good. I expected more from the Garden city hotel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great cozy and quiet. First rate service and a beautiful room. Steak was great .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

POLO WAS THE USUAL STEAKHOUSE. THE SERVICE WAS FIRST CLASS. THE STEAKES WERE GREAT. THE SDES WERE NOT GINORMOUS.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had a great anniversary dinner with my wife. Staff treated us amazing and provided complimentary champagne congratulating us. Food was phenomenal and we had a wonderful romantic dining experience. We highly recommend the Polo.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and service. Always a pleasure and the steak is top quality and perfectly cooked to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I would not recommend this place to anyone. The food was very low quality, more like what you would get at Applebee's or Outback and maybe double or more the price. The wait staff, while friendly were extremely slow and the place was not that busy. While more than 50% empty, we were seated by the front entrance. the doors to the restaurant are always wide open and are close to the hotel entrance, so anytime someone brings luggage into the hotel we were hit with very cold air. Too cold to be comfortable and our food turned cold too fast. Stay away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had not been to the brunch in many years. It was even better than we remembered it to be. From the lobster to the omelets, carving station, crepes, salads, hot dishes to the desserts. Amazing treat! The service was impeccably attentive, as well.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Bone-in Ribeye and Mac n Cheese was delicious and there was a good drink selection as well. We were seated near a party room which got a little loud but the waiters responded well to our request to keep the party room door closed. Overall, the service was excellent. They also gave us an extra special dessert since we were celebrating our anniversary. Nice bonus that it is in the Garden City Hotel which also provides great valet service and treated us as if we were hotel guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

No complaints at all. Good food, good service and the price was fair. Went to celebrate a birthday. Just 2 people. Appetizer salads were delicious. Dessert was fantastic. Very happy we made this choice. One small thing, at some point, they started pumping in loud dance club music, which was odd considering the age of the crowd. While annoying, it wasn't a big deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was excellent mike took very good care of us, the place is beautiful and tastefull.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, really good service.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A wonderful atmosphere complementing inquisitive palate, great service, rich ambience, and a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I went here during restaurant week and everything tasted great! I would recommend this place to friends and family. Dress code is smart casual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Went with 2 friends for restaurant week. The menu could have had more choices. The presentation was very good as well as taste. Our martinis (French) were terrible....so important to have a seasoned bartender. Comfortable table & chair however, the restaurant was very cold. We asked them to turn down the air but don't think it ever was.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent service and food - we got the entree for restaurant week

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ambiance wonderful, service impeccable, food unimpressive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.