About Polo Steakhouse

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Guillermo Valencia

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Restaurant Photos

  • Polo Steakhouse
Polo Steakhouse

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Long Island / Hamptons
Steakhouse
Long Island / Hamptons
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Long Island / Hamptons
Best Restaurants in Garden City ›

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (21)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went to the Sunday Brunch; while the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to the Sunday Brunch; while the food was good (not great), we found that there really wasn't anything for kids, the service was not very good (although I think it was our waiter specifically) and the value of the food for the price paid was horrible. This brunch was way overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

As always, excellent food, great atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

As always, excellent food, great atmosphere and excellent service

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience. I went for my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great overall experience. I went for my 10 year anniversary and they really took care of us. Service was phenomenal, ambiance was great. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our waiter, Michael, was terrific. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our waiter, Michael, was terrific. The food was terrific overall. I do have to say that the serving size of the salmon was pathetic. That said - It was a really nice experience and the staff made the difference. Highly recommended but Stay away from ordering salmon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating my daughter-in-laws promotio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Celebrating my daughter-in-laws promotion, this was the perfect spot to enjoy a fabulous meal. Besides excellent food, the service is unparalleled. We were not rushed at all, but be sure to save some room for the desserts. Definitely intend on going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been to Polo many times. This Satur ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I've been to Polo many times. This Saturday night service was certainly off from start to finish.

Considering the dining room was almost empty for a Saturday night the service should have certainly been much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We had dinner on a Tuesday night - prix ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We had dinner on a Tuesday night - prix fixe menu. Choices were excellent, food presentation superb, and tasted delicious. Attentive service, but not hovering. Overall - excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very happy to have celebrate my bi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I was very happy to have celebrate my birthday at Polo steakhouse. the food was delicious, even though it took about 45 minutes to get my food. Great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was very polite and attentive. Am ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Server was very polite and attentive. Ambience is very high class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and quite attentive. Made us feel that he was happy to see us there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambiance was excellent, staff friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ambiance was excellent, staff friendly and attentive quality of steaks was exceptional. well worth a visit this area has many fine steakhouses and Polo can compete with the best of them

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience very ve ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience very very much. Food and service were great as was everything else

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable service. Food was very nicely presented and tasted delicious. Perfectly cooked filet. Our server, Raul was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful anniversary steak dinner. Su ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful anniversary steak dinner. Super attentive service by Carlos, outstanding gazpacho. Dry aged rib eyes perfectly perfectly cooked. Champagne. Cocktails and superb deserts. Truly a night to remember...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were amazing! We r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service and food were amazing! We really enjoyed our 2nd anniversary dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. We both ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We both had filet speat & it was perfect, side diskes were plentiful and cooked just right. We go to Polo Steakhouse for special ocasions and it never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 45 weddi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary at the restaurant and had a very delicious and special dinner. The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. It was a perfect place to share a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, the waiters are friendl

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The entrees could have been better. I had the soft shell crab, it was good but not great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant and beautiful ambiance f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Nice restaurant and beautiful ambiance for the special nights

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shellfish tower tasted like it was froze ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Shellfish tower tasted like it was frozen or made well in advance - took our server 20 minutes to open a hundred dollar bottle of wine. Steak was just ok- the check for five people was hundreds of dollars but the food and service was what you would expect in a fast food restaurant. Go elsewhere for fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Food was ok but the place as a whole Doe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was ok but the place as a whole Doesn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Restaurant Week Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant week promotion offered by Polo at the Garden City Hotel was overall very good. The menu choices were OK, but it is beyond my understanding why a substitution is not allowed (mashed potato instead of risotto) - this can and should be easily be accommodated by an establishment like the Garden City Hotel. We do not hold this against the waiter (who we have had before, and who is excellent). Clearly this restriction comes from the manager of the restaurant (or, perhaps more likely, the accountant).

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food selection should have had more ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food selection should have had more options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Celebration Restaurant

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My daughter and I went here to celebrate her birthday during Long Island Restaurant Week. We enjoyed the biscuits, which came with the meal. We also enjoyed the lobster bisque, salmon with diced tomatoes and red lentils, and a big portion of vanilla creme brulee.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Choices and portions seem to have shrunk during restaurant week .

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

My wife and I had the most incredible dining experience. The restaurant was quiet, it was a Monday night. We started with clams casino and iceberg lettuce which were so very good. Then had the tuna steak which was ok but the aged ribeye was amazing. You could cut it with your fork and it literally melted in your mouth! We had sides of asparagus, roasted Brussels sprouts and truffle oil steak fries which were delicious. Finished with chocolate cake and vanilla ice cream. Would recommend the Polo steak house to anyone. Also the wait staff was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very nice dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was very delicious and the service was perfect. The only complaint I had was that the starters we ordered were not hot. Other then that it was great and I am looking forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was delicious, presented beau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything was delicious, presented beautifully in a warm setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was lovely but the service was a bit slow

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Will definitely be eating here again. Quality of food was great but the service needs some work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall great meal while celebrating my ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Overall great meal while celebrating my birthday. Best swordfish I ever had. Wine was great as well and at Tuesday 1/2 price.

Only negative were the clams casino. They didnt taste right.

However, this is one of my favorite spots for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely spot, everything was exceptional

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Lovely spot, everything was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Rate and Never Disappoints

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

It was a weekday evening, and my two guests and I were seated immediately and in a quieter section, as requested. I am a repeat patron. Throughout our meal, our server was attentive and respectful and at no time pushy, interruptive or intrusive. After being seated, we were permitted to enjoy a leisurely chat, while sipping our cocktails, before being told about the specials for the evening and then with placing our orders. We all opted to order entrée variations from the steak menu. My order choices consisted of the 22 oz. bone in rib-eye, cooked medium well, along with table fries and a seafood appetizer. My one guest ordered the aged porterhouse steak and the other ordered a filet mignon plate. Our meal lasted for a bit over two hours. For me, the dining experience was a "5-star" affair. The total tab, which included the drinks and gratuity, was $260.00. Not unreasonable, from our perspective.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Polo is a hidden gem on Long Island. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Polo is a hidden gem on Long Island. The service is amazing and the steaks beat out any other steakhouse around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant and tasty

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Definitely worth spending an evening at the Polo Steakhouse.

The menu is extensive, both with steaks, fish and sea food.

The salads and the other appetizers are very tasty as well.

Well managed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Went for a Saturday night dinner. Very busy, mostly with middle aged groups of people. Nice decor. Food was quite delicious and not the run of mill steakhouse fare- good salads and some seafood options in addition to (perfectly done) steaks. Would recommend if you are looking for a nice place In the area.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

All the personnel was warm and friendly. Food was delicious and a very nice variety.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Sunday brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We booked a table for 8 for a birthday celebration. Everything was perfection from the service to the food to the ambience. I'll come back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here to celebrate a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I dined here to celebrate a late Valentine's Day. We kept it simple with the apps with a Caesar salad and clams casino. Took our servers advice and ordered the Kansas City strip for two special with a side of brussels sprouts. Food was amazing, service was outstanding, although a touch slow. But overall dining here will not be a bad decision. Ask for Carlos to be your server, top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great for Steak

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Polo is a great place for steak. The ambiance is very "steak house" and the menu is broader than many steak restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall a Good Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch overall was good but the only thing I would say that was not as good as in the past is that the lobster and shrimp were a little under cooked (poached?). I prefer it just a little more cooked than it was; but all together, the food was tasty and the selection varied. Could have had more dessert selections though. I still would come back as I have been to the brunch on other Sundays that were not special days!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.