About Polo Steakhouse

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Guillermo Valencia

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Restaurant Photos

  • Polo Steakhouse
Polo Steakhouse

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (22)
romantic (15)
great for brunch (11)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (4)
notable wine list (4)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable service. Food was very nicely presented and tasted delicious. Perfectly cooked filet. Our server, Raul was AMAZING!!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful anniversary steak dinner. Su ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A wonderful anniversary steak dinner. Super attentive service by Carlos, outstanding gazpacho. Dry aged rib eyes perfectly perfectly cooked. Champagne. Cocktails and superb deserts. Truly a night to remember...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were amazing! We r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The service and food were amazing! We really enjoyed our 2nd anniversary dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent. We both ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and service was excellent. We both had filet speat & it was perfect, side diskes were plentiful and cooked just right. We go to Polo Steakhouse for special ocasions and it never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I celebrated our 45 weddi ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 45 wedding anniversary at the restaurant and had a very delicious and special dinner. The food was wonderful and the service was impeccable. It was a perfect place to share a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, the waiters are friendl

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The entrees could have been better. I had the soft shell crab, it was good but not great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant and beautiful ambiance f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Nice restaurant and beautiful ambiance for the special nights

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shellfish tower tasted like it was froze ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Shellfish tower tasted like it was frozen or made well in advance - took our server 20 minutes to open a hundred dollar bottle of wine. Steak was just ok- the check for five people was hundreds of dollars but the food and service was what you would expect in a fast food restaurant. Go elsewhere for fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Food was ok but the place as a whole Doe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was ok but the place as a whole Doesn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Restaurant Week Experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant week promotion offered by Polo at the Garden City Hotel was overall very good. The menu choices were OK, but it is beyond my understanding why a substitution is not allowed (mashed potato instead of risotto) - this can and should be easily be accommodated by an establishment like the Garden City Hotel. We do not hold this against the waiter (who we have had before, and who is excellent). Clearly this restriction comes from the manager of the restaurant (or, perhaps more likely, the accountant).

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food selection should have had more ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The food selection should have had more options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great Celebration Restaurant

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

My daughter and I went here to celebrate her birthday during Long Island Restaurant Week. We enjoyed the biscuits, which came with the meal. We also enjoyed the lobster bisque, salmon with diced tomatoes and red lentils, and a big portion of vanilla creme brulee.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Choices and portions seem to have shrunk during restaurant week .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent dining

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

My wife and I had the most incredible dining experience. The restaurant was quiet, it was a Monday night. We started with clams casino and iceberg lettuce which were so very good. Then had the tuna steak which was ok but the aged ribeye was amazing. You could cut it with your fork and it literally melted in your mouth! We had sides of asparagus, roasted Brussels sprouts and truffle oil steak fries which were delicious. Finished with chocolate cake and vanilla ice cream. Would recommend the Polo steak house to anyone. Also the wait staff was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a very nice dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was very delicious and the service was perfect. The only complaint I had was that the starters we ordered were not hot. Other then that it was great and I am looking forward to going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was delicious, presented beau ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Everything was delicious, presented beautifully in a warm setting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was lovely but the service was a bit slow

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Will definitely be eating here again. Quality of food was great but the service needs some work.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Overall great meal while celebrating my ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Overall great meal while celebrating my birthday. Best swordfish I ever had. Wine was great as well and at Tuesday 1/2 price.

Only negative were the clams casino. They didnt taste right.

However, this is one of my favorite spots for fine dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely spot, everything was exceptional

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Lovely spot, everything was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First Rate and Never Disappoints

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

It was a weekday evening, and my two guests and I were seated immediately and in a quieter section, as requested. I am a repeat patron. Throughout our meal, our server was attentive and respectful and at no time pushy, interruptive or intrusive. After being seated, we were permitted to enjoy a leisurely chat, while sipping our cocktails, before being told about the specials for the evening and then with placing our orders. We all opted to order entrée variations from the steak menu. My order choices consisted of the 22 oz. bone in rib-eye, cooked medium well, along with table fries and a seafood appetizer. My one guest ordered the aged porterhouse steak and the other ordered a filet mignon plate. Our meal lasted for a bit over two hours. For me, the dining experience was a "5-star" affair. The total tab, which included the drinks and gratuity, was $260.00. Not unreasonable, from our perspective.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Polo is a hidden gem on Long Island. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Polo is a hidden gem on Long Island. The service is amazing and the steaks beat out any other steakhouse around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant and tasty

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Definitely worth spending an evening at the Polo Steakhouse.

The menu is extensive, both with steaks, fish and sea food.

The salads and the other appetizers are very tasty as well.

Well managed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant surprise

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Went for a Saturday night dinner. Very busy, mostly with middle aged groups of people. Nice decor. Food was quite delicious and not the run of mill steakhouse fare- good salads and some seafood options in addition to (perfectly done) steaks. Would recommend if you are looking for a nice place In the area.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Brunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

All the personnel was warm and friendly. Food was delicious and a very nice variety.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Sunday brunch

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We booked a table for 8 for a birthday celebration. Everything was perfection from the service to the food to the ambience. I'll come back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined here to celebrate a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

My wife and I dined here to celebrate a late Valentine's Day. We kept it simple with the apps with a Caesar salad and clams casino. Took our servers advice and ordered the Kansas City strip for two special with a side of brussels sprouts. Food was amazing, service was outstanding, although a touch slow. But overall dining here will not be a bad decision. Ask for Carlos to be your server, top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great for Steak

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Polo is a great place for steak. The ambiance is very "steak house" and the menu is broader than many steak restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall a Good Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Brunch overall was good but the only thing I would say that was not as good as in the past is that the lobster and shrimp were a little under cooked (poached?). I prefer it just a little more cooked than it was; but all together, the food was tasty and the selection varied. Could have had more dessert selections though. I still would come back as I have been to the brunch on other Sundays that were not special days!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

On Valentine's day I thought the selection and the experience was going to be disappointing as many of my dining experiences have been on that day. Happy to say I was wrong, everything was special, the Food was amazing, ambiance was wonderful and the service was fantastic all at a great value. You need to do this brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall fantastic experience. The scallo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Overall fantastic experience. The scallops and cheesecake were both TO DIE FOR!!! Our waiter Raul was friendly and knowledgeable and the ambiance was exactly what we were looking for... Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Over Priced - Over Rated

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

It must have been an off night as there wasn't adequate wait staff. While pouring a $100 bottle of champagne, our waiter stopped in the middle to great a guest. The food could have been better but it arrived over cooked for two of the entrees. For such a renowned (and over priced) restaurant you would think that they would have some place to hang your coat rather than the back of the chair. I thought the chairs were too low for the tables and made dining uncomfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Great neighborhood staple close to home ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Great neighborhood staple close to home . Always great food! Many lunch selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

An Expensive Fridays at best

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

The place looked really nice upon arrival..Waiter Michael was very friendly. Dinner felt rushed and I had to send the steak back twice for it not being cooked properly. The sides were delicious. Overall I will not return to the Polo Steakhouse..I have never had to send a steak back at Lugers or Majors even or Ruth's Chris or Tellers. I would say it felt like I ate an expensive Fridays at best...I spent 160 plus bucks on a Friday's dinner is what I felt like. Thanks but no thanks..would have expected more from Garden City Hotel..You guys need to step up your game. I was disappointed overall and so was my date. Thumbs Down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

We had a large group and it was honestly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We had a large group and it was honestly a great place the service was amazing and the food was great. We had such a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

TERRIBLE! TERRIBLE!!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Servers, Service and food below satisfactory for any restaurant but especially for world famous Garden City Hotel. 4 out of 4 in our party were unhappy with our meals. The food was at best "Catering Hall Quality" and the service was poor to non existent---You should be ashamed ESPECIALLY when charging upscale NYC prices & serving "all you can eat buffet" grade meals-TERRIBLE!!

It started with the little rolls that were placed on our table still in the pan they were baked in, the problem was that they were not fully baked---raw soggy bottoms.

When I asked our server to see the vegetarian menu that is indicted on the regular menu, I was rudely told that there was no separate menu. The server told me that the vegetarian meal was Risotto Primavera (my fav) so I ordered that. It actually was under cooked dry WHITE RICE with a few veggies sprinkled in. Terrible! 2 orders of lamb chops, both ordered "medium", arrived with 1 being over cooked, the other under cooked---Terrible. The salmon was dry & over cooked. Terrible. Trying to get any servers or bus boys attention required my husband to wave his arms in the air because 1 of us needed a fork. I will say the cheesecake was very good but every part of our experience was TERRIBLE! I hope that this review is carefully considered because The Garden City Hotel is the place where we like to take our out of town guests for a special meal---Not ANY MORE!! We've had the same experience in the last 2 visits within the last 6 months. Everyone I talked to about this agrees that the Hotel dining is Terrible. I would love to be able to be proud to go there & know that my guests & I are enjoying a wonderful meal with excellent service in such an elegant dining room but until changes are made for the better, I'll go to my local pizza place restaurant for outstanding food & excellent service its only missing the atmosphere but its so worth it, wherein The Polo Steak House is not worth my time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Orion saved the day!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 13, 2016

After a rocky introduction to the Polo Steakhouse about a month ago, in the famed Garden City Hotel, my new husband and I were left with feelings of frustration and supreme dissatisfaction. While the decor, food, and waitstaff are all outstanding, this is not the place for large groups early in the evening (think romantic date or double dating with friends). After our first interaction with a manager at the restaurant, I decided to call to make my displeasure known (long story short - we had a fairly large group (7) for a dinner party at their first dinner reservation - 5:30pm, and were scolded for being loud, taking the attention off of the celebration and instead worrying about the noise level of our conversations. Enter Orion (sorry if I'm spelling your name wrong!), the head of dining. After apologizing for the behavior of one staff member, he asked that we give the restaurant another try. After some debate, we agreed and my husband and I dined there again last night for his birthday. Again, the food and waitstaff were beyond reproach. JC, our main waiter, was attentive, entertaining, and a pleasure to have met - he added that extra little something to our evening. O'Ryan personally stopped by our table to introduce himself in person, confirming everything was going well this time around and that everything was being made to our liking. He appeared to genuinely care that this experience replaced the bad memories of the former. At the end of our meal, JC brought out a decadent piece of 7 layer chocolate cake with a Happy Birthday message and candle for my husband, which was a perfect finishing touch to a great evening, that is, until we were informed that no bill would be coming, as our whole meal was compliments of Mr. Orion. After our experience last night, we will definitely be back and will be sure to recommend it to everyone. While the Garden City Hotel and this restaurant may be considered a "gem on Long Island", the real gem is Orion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

We hosted a business dinner recently and had lovely service and delicious food. Very enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful variety and great bunch menu. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Wonderful variety and great bunch menu. All the food was hot and refreshed so that everything was fresh. And we had some special diet needs that the menu was also able to accommodate easily. Good drinks and coffee too throughout the meal.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very Disappointing

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

The only thing the Polo Steakhouse has going for it is the atmosphere and location. Food was not good. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Always Delicious

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The Polo Lounge never disappoints for brunch. It doesn't matter what you eat, it's always fantastic!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.