Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.45mi
  4. Distance: 0.85mi

About Polo Steakhouse

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Ari Nieminen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Private Room (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Authentic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (0)
Sort By:
S
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Always a pleasure and the steak is top quality and perfectly cooked to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I would not recommend this place to anyone. The food was very low quality, more like what you would get at Applebee's or Outback and maybe double or more the price. The wait staff, while friendly were extremely slow and the place was not that busy. While more than 50% empty, we were seated by the front entrance. the doors to the restaurant are always wide open and are close to the hotel entrance, so anytime someone brings luggage into the hotel we were hit with very cold air. Too cold to be comfortable and our food turned cold too fast. Stay away!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had not been to the brunch in many years. It was even better than we remembered it to be. From the lobster to the omelets, carving station, crepes, salads, hot dishes to the desserts. Amazing treat! The service was impeccably attentive, as well.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Bone-in Ribeye and Mac n Cheese was delicious and there was a good drink selection as well. We were seated near a party room which got a little loud but the waiters responded well to our request to keep the party room door closed. Overall, the service was excellent. They also gave us an extra special dessert since we were celebrating our anniversary. Nice bonus that it is in the Garden City Hotel which also provides great valet service and treated us as if we were hotel guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

No complaints at all. Good food, good service and the price was fair. Went to celebrate a birthday. Just 2 people. Appetizer salads were delicious. Dessert was fantastic. Very happy we made this choice. One small thing, at some point, they started pumping in loud dance club music, which was odd considering the age of the crowd. While annoying, it wasn't a big deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was excellent mike took very good care of us, the place is beautiful and tastefull.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, really good service.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A wonderful atmosphere complementing inquisitive palate, great service, rich ambience, and a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I went here during restaurant week and everything tasted great! I would recommend this place to friends and family. Dress code is smart casual.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Went with 2 friends for restaurant week. The menu could have had more choices. The presentation was very good as well as taste. Our martinis (French) were terrible....so important to have a seasoned bartender. Comfortable table & chair however, the restaurant was very cold. We asked them to turn down the air but don't think it ever was.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent service and food - we got the entree for restaurant week

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ambiance wonderful, service impeccable, food unimpressive.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great steak! Service was impeccable! Mashed potatoes good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Took my wife there for birthday, our first time. Very impressed, waite staff was awesome, food was excellent. Would definitely return for celebrate a special occasion. Waiter recommended steak special, it was great, wife had lamb chops super tasty and tender, lemon meringue was super! Enjoy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The servers were extremely attentive and the atmosphere was very nice. Comfortable seating and well designed for good conversation. The drinks were a few dollars overpriced but well presented. The food was creative, and also well presented.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was very good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everything was great! Great food and service. Wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The restaurant was very noisy. Several large parties were being held in the dining area. I was told this is a common now. Management was very unapologetic. The manager told me, "At the end of the day, we just need to fill the tables." I was told we couldn't have high tea because they had a limited number of teacups. So although tables were available in the tea room, we had to eat in the steakhouse. The overall quality has declined. This used to be a great place for dining with an excellent ambience and good service. This is no longer the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great place, great food, great service, not noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Phenomenal Food and excellent Service! Come here with an appetite, you won't regret it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The RIB EYE was great. The service was excellent. The place is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

always amazing but a little noisy this visit. Their steak is perfection; so tender and perfectly cooked and seasoned. My husband decided to try the truffle fries instead of mashed potatoes this visit and declared them the best he has ever tasted. Kale lollipops were great too. We enjoyed spinach and asparagus on past vists; also delicious. They always have wonderful wine selections and make good recommendations for pairings. The white we tried with our tasty lobster bisque went so well. The cabernet with the porterhouse for 2 was just what we like. It is always a treat to eat here. Service is as terrific as the food. $$$ but worth it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Incredible! The food is by far the best! Best Brunch on Long Island! My favorite date night spot.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The best place, by far, for Sunday brunch! I have yet to visit a Restaurant that has a better Sunday brunch, than here. Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Private Room, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing experience every time I go to polo steakhouse , the ambience is great our waiter was great . Would recommend to everyone .

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food and service was very good. Nice atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was great...service was on point...overall good time...We would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Everything fabulous as always great service and food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always a wonderful experience when dining at Polo Steakhouse. The wait staff is attentive, extremely helpful and really adds to the overall dining experience. The menu offers lots of great choices and the Prix Fixe is a fantastic deal. Love going here with my husband, friends...just a nice night out!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful birthday lunch for my daughter

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very quaint. Nice place to have a quiet dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Waited at least 15 minutes before anyone came with menus. After ordering apps, it took over 45 minutes for them to arrive. The quarter inch hunks of bacon on my salad were only barely cooked resulting in quarter inch hunks of fat. Three out of six steaks were not cooked as ordered. One over cooked and two under cooked. The waiter talked me in the dry aged bone in strip. It was honestly the worst piece of meat I ever had. I had to send it back. There was so much fat and gristle. We had enough so we passed on dessert. Terrible experience. Would not recommend and will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was disappointed to find out that not all steaks on the menu are aged, despite a printed statement on the menu. Ordered bone-in strip steak, which was one of the offerings that are aged, but it was not cooked as ordered, wasn't very tender and had gristle. The baked clams appetizer were poorly prepared and not fully freed from the shell. In general, overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is top notch. Food, service, ambiance. Saturday night reservations - greeted and seated promptly. Waiter helpful with choices. All three courses on the Restaurant Week prix fixe menu were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

OMG it was Superb!!!! Definitely will come back!!! My new favorite place !!!! Best steak i ever had!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Steak was delicious. Would like a veg or potato included

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had an enjoyable dinner with fine food in a lovely setting. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly. Our side dishes were plentiful. We celebrated a birthday and a dessert was on the house! Wait staff was also very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

we love to dine here as the room is lovely, food is great and the service is outstanding. There was a lobster special which we had in addition to the prix fixe. First time we tried something different from porterhouse for 2; fabulous. The wine and drinks are wonderful and we like the guidance of the staff in choosing pairings for appetizers and entrees. We had a wonderful chenin blanc with our lobster and a terrific zinfandel with our beef entrée. The waiter, not our server who was great too, stopped by to assist in these choices was right on target and we appreciated the input. Every time we eat here we experience perfection.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We ate in the polo lounge because the polo steakhouse was not open. Food was good,there was a good variety of food choices and the service was fine. My steak salad was perfect. My husband's hamburger was grilled perfectly. We would definitely revisit!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Lunch in the lounge with family. Perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.