About Polo Steakhouse

Polo Steakhouse the hidden gem located inside the legendary Garden City Hotel features, a classic American Steakhouse menu. Our menu features 28-day dry aged USDA prime grade steaks, fresh seafood, signature entrees an award winning artisanal desserts created by our in house pastry team.
Polo Steakhouse incorporates hand-laid mahogany herringbone floors with deep cabernet textiles and custom made Italian furniture. The Polo Lounge boasts a 24' granite bar and cozy fireplace and features live music on Friday and Saturday night.

45 Seventh Street
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am -2pm
Saturday (Polo Lounge):Lunch 11:30am - 5:30
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Dinner: Sunday 6pm-10PM
Afternoon Tea: Saturday 2PM-5PM
Brunch: Sunday: Seatings begin at 11:00am

Cross Street:
Stewart Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 877-9385

Website:
http://www.polosteakhouseny.com/

Entertainment:
The adjacent Polo Lounge offers on Friday night pianist Ray Cohen and a jazz band every Saturday night.

Catering:
The Garden City Hotel offers special event, celebration and meeting catering throughout the 25,000 sq. ft of event space in the hotel, from the Grand Ballroom to the English Garden. Speak to our Catering Director at 516.663.7010

Parking Details:
Weeknights, self parking is available.

Public Transit:
The Polo Steakhouse is located across the street from the Garden City stop of the Long Island Railroad.

Executive Chef:
Ari Nieminen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
See our holiday calendar for an array of seasonal events!
Thanksgiving Harvest Buffet
Latke Flight at the Polo Lounge
Christmas Eve and Christmas Dinner
Breakfast with Santa
and More!
http://www.gardencityhotel.com/holiday-events.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Host your next celebration, meeting or private event in style at The Garden City Hotel. Gianna Costa, our Private Dining Specialist, will assist in executing every detail to perfection.

Polo Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

High end ambiance with superior food and service great selection of food specials and wine selection

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff ensured that my guest and I had an enjoyable experience. It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Great food, great service and great ambiance. The perfect meal for my wife and I on her Birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2017

Superb! The food was outstanding. Service was great. An enjoyable meal all around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Went for wife's birthday. Huge letdown. Needed to ask for menus after several minutes, lobster salad appetizer was mediocre. Extremely overpriced bar drinks...$24.00 Mojito
Better value at other nearby steakhouses...tried it but will move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Special Occasion with friends. One needed Vegan options and 100% not even accommodate I hate that word but more customized. Waitstaff great knowledgeable, the wine list superb though good value wines have gone by 6 p.m. but will let pass as ribeye meatball appetizer awesome. Ribeyes are frozen for less marbling. Good thing. Filet and dipping sauces phenom and bacon in wedge delish.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2017

I order The Tomato soup. Which was like tomato paste. very weak. I also order the $58 Ribeye which was very thin for a Ribeye and very fatty. I have eaten at the Best Steakhouse in the US. This was at best a 5 out of 10. I will go back again and try the Filet. Overall it is a great scene.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Fabulous meal, service and ambiance....incredible value during LI Restaurant week! Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. Delightful experience!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

My wife and I went for our anniversary and were treated very well. Our waiter Lamar was great and the overall service and food quality was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Exquisite décor, attentive service, delicious and creative food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 1, 2017

The experience had it's high points and it's low points. We (myself and 2 friends) went during Restaurant Week. I had been during Restaurant Week a few years ago and was thoroughly disgusted by the food and the service but my friend convinced me to give them another try. We were graciously greeted and seated. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. They had asked me when I confirmed the reservation if I had any food allergies or preferences and I told them I didn't eat red meat. The amuse-bouche was a meatball with a sauce on it. But since I don't eat meat , I gave the meatball to my friends to split. They said it was divine. My friends has a Kabocha Squash Soup with pepitas, popcorn shoots and pumpkin seed oil, about which they were very impressed. I had an Apple Arugula Salad Manchego (I didn't see or taste any apples), with dried cranberries with a sherry vinaigrette . It was good. For our entree, one friend had a Braised Short Rib of Beef with sweet potatoes, turnips and radishes. She fawned over it and just kept saying how excellent the sweet potatoes were. She didn't even need a knife until the end for the short rib. I and my other friend had grilled rainbow trout with lemon and thyme potato gnocchi, champignons and spinach. It was absolutely delicious. For dessert, they had the Chocolate Orange Mousse with Candied Orange, and I had the Cherry Clafoutis with Honey Custard Sauce. None of us found the dessert very good. The two of us that had the trout could only eat half of it and asked to have it wrapped to go. When I got home. I looked at the bag the food was in. It was a Garden City Hotel laundry bag. How gauche! And when I looked into the container i noticed that all of my accoutrements were missing - the gnocchi, spinach, and champignons. I used to be a regular at the Sunday brunch many years ago but the food quality slowly deteriorated. Now it's the elegance of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

WENT FOR RESTAURANT WEEK. TOTALLY CHINTZY MENU. EXPENSIVE REGULAR MENU. THREE CHEAP ENTREES THAT ARE NORMALLY SERVED ON THEIR PRIX-FIXED MENU. COULDN'T SUBSTITUTE THE VEGETABLES FROM THOSE SPECIFIED ON THE MENU, WHICH I DID NOT LIKE AND WOULDN'T EAT, EVEN THOUGH THEY CAME WITH ONE OF THE OTHER ENTREES OFFERED. FOOD WAS BANAL AND SERVICE WAS FAIR, AT BEST, EVEN WITH THE RESTAURANT PRACTICALLY EMPTY. OFF MY LIST.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Portions small.. even chintzy. Needs an update and more inventive plating. Very plain it would not have killed them to add a extra side on plate. It was not an interesting meal for the good reputation of hotel.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We went for our Anniversary, pricey but food and service was excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Amazing anniversary dinner at Polo. When they called to confirm the reservation they asked if we were celebrating anything special. Waiting for us at our table was a lovely anniversary card signed by the staff and a gift card for future use. They also brought us each a complimentary glass of champagne. Those special gestures coupled with fantastic salad appetizers and delicious steak dinners made for a wonderful meal for us. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Consistently excellent. Makes any dinner date a special occasion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2017

A gem in the heart of GC. Great atmo. Service and food outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Great place, great food! Sophisticated vibe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2017

This was our first time here and food was awesome ! The dessert was really good also ( bread Pudding) !!! ..... and the staff was polite and professional.... Our waiter Lamar was awesome !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Excellent location, atmosphere, service and cuisine. A gem in the heart of Garden City.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Awesome steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Polo Steakhouse is quite and intimate, not like the typical noisy steakhouse

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Staff and food was out of this world!!! I love coming here as it feels so much more personalized and intimate compared to the other steakhouses on the island. They made us feel so special and as if we were the only ones there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Wonderful, great food, quiet conversation, no rush. Could not be better. Loved it!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Excellent service from start to finish. Steven and the rest of the staff are fabulous. Food was superb. Drinks were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

absolutely amazing food and service. would highly recommend and would definitely come back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was magnificent and the service was superb! I WOULD DEFINITELY go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Seasonal, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great food, and wonderful staff! Little pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice looking restaurant; first time there, and we expected good service, which we got, but the food was very disappointing. Two of us ordered the rib eye steak, and they were grissly, hard to slice and very fatty. Our daughter had the lamb ribs, and she enjoyed them. The service was fine, except the waiter forgot our order of baked clams; he did bring them at the end of the meal once we told him about it. We have our favorite restaurants, but since it was my husband's 87th birthday we decided to go to some place special. Unfortunately, all in all we were quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very good steakhouse with exceptionally well trained staff. We certainly didn't test the kitchen but our bisque, clams casino, and two orders of surf and turf were properly cooked. The filet was 9oz, quite satisfactory and the lobster was 1 1/4 lb on the menu but appeared a bit smaller, who knows? There was no melted butter offered but it wasn't needed. I'm sure they would have brought it if requested. Mac n cheese side was excellent. All in all a very good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolute perfection from start to finish! Went to Saturday afternoon tea to celebrate the birthday of very special lady and the manner in which they made her feel celebrated was what you will ONLY find with the highest level of service- It was truly memorable and I highly suggest it!!!! Tea sandwiches are delectable and the sweets--woah!

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

It was one of the best nights and a very beautiful experience. My wife loves me even more now. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

excellent food.....steaks very good.....nice selection....staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive to my elderly aunt's needs...........................great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The staff doesn't know how to manage the people who stand in the door in groups and yell and scream and bother the ones who are trying to have lunch. We suffered for the entire time we had lunch there and asked numerous times (different servers) to ask those people who didn't even dine there, to either step out of the restaurant or to keep their voices down.No one did anything and it was most unpleasant.
We don't recommend that you go there for lunch on a Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Amazing treatment for anniversary. Champagne, gift card, chef's taste. Amazing!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This restaurant was so amazing and thoughtful to us! They really made our anniversary special from the complimentary champagne to the amazing staff that was meticulous about every aspect of dinner! Thank you so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

it was great as always. Unbeatable porterhouse for 2 is our favorite thing. We love the truffle fries, vegetable choices, appetizers and desserts. The cocktails are unique and the wine selection is very good. It is a beautiful, usually quiet room that feels comfortable and the service is always great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This great spot is tops on my list for premiere steak houses outside of Manhattan. It can compete with the best of them!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great service really treated us special and my steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Thank you Gary for making my Mom's birthday luncheon so special. Everything was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.