About Polo Grill

2038 Utica Square
Tulsa, OK 74114
View Larger Map

Located in Utica Square, Tulsa"s premiere shopping district, Polo Grill is tucked in a cozy corner waiting to exceed your expectations. For 3 decades Proprietor Chef Robert Merrifield has lead the Oklahoma fine dining scene with his innovative menus and top notch customer oriented service. The award winning wine list is a wine lovers dream, offering more than 1,200 selections for you to explore and enhance the dining experience. Seasonal Seafood and USDA Prime Steaks, are some of Proprietor Chef Robert Merrifield most sought after dishes.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steakhouse, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am- 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 10:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
21st and Yorktown

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(918) 744-4280

Website:
http://www.pologrill.com/

Entertainment:
We have live music on Sunday's for Brunch with Mark Bruner from 11:30-1:30.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Utica Square parking lot in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Omar Galban

Private Party Facilities:
Our 5 Private Dining rooms are perfect for any type of special occasion, whether you are looking for a romantic private dinner for 2 or to host the annual shareholders meeting for 60 people, we have rooms of all sizes that can help you make your event special.

Private Party Contact:
Morgan Dye: 9187444280x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Polo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Tulsa
Best Service
Tulsa
Best Ambiance
Tulsa
9 More
Romantic
Tulsa
Special Occasion
Tulsa
Most Booked
Tulsa
Best Food
Tulsa
Best Service
Tulsa
Best Ambiance
Tulsa
Romantic
Tulsa
Special Occasion
Tulsa
Most Booked
Tulsa
Best Restaurants in Tulsa ›

special occasion (64)
romantic (61)
notable wine list (55)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
neighborhood gem (23)
great for lunch (22)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience2
service2

I had eaten there years ago, however it ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I had eaten there years ago, however it is not even a ghost of what it used to be. The appetizer and meals were not even eaten by our party. However the $150.00 bill was paid. I will never return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Beautiful pr ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Excellent food and service! Beautiful presentation and delicious! Loved the desserts as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my mom here for Mother's Day and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom here for Mother's Day and I was so happy I did. Delicious food, outstanding service. Definitely try the garlic bread, it is out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Although the printed menu for today, as ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Although the printed menu for today, as it is Mother's Day, was limited, the staff accommodated us and guests around is with regular menu items. The food is always spectacular, the service is Tulsa's best and a family can enjoy a nice quiet dinner. However, it is a great establishment for date night as well.

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Overrated

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went to the Polo Grill on Mother's Day. The venue is awesome and special but the food wasn't exceptional. The service was poor, as I think they were recovering from the Mother's Day rush. We had made reservations but still had to wait about 10 min. All in all it was fine but nothing about the food or service was anything note worthy and I would rate it fair.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the best time. Excellent food and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had the best time. Excellent food and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere; wonderful food; great ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great atmosphere; wonderful food; great service

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tulsa tradition

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food, fantastic service. Polo grill is a Tulsa tradition, hidden away in Utica Square, you can't go. Wrong. Never disappoints

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect

Dined on May 1, 2016

Polo Grill has become a tradition for my wife's and my anniversary. They work with me to make sure we have the table we want and that everything is perfect and special. The service is impeccable and the food is to die for. Thank you, Polo Grill!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good local restaurant with an excellent bar

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I went to Polo Grill for her birthday on a Friday night. We requested a booth and arrived ~30 minutes early to have a drink and wait at the bar for our tables. The bartenders were fantastic, Jerry and the other girl were both very attentive and made great cocktails. We ended up waiting for our table a bit longer than expected, but we assured them it was alright and we knew we may have to wait for a booth to open up. The bartender's provided my wife with a glass of champagne to make up for the long wait which was greatly appreciated. We were seated at our booth and our waiter Jared was exceptional. Superior service and excellent recommendations. Allowed us to slowly enjoy our meal and not feel rushed at all. The kitchen ended up overcooking my wife's filet the first time and I ended up with the wrong steak preparations and sides, although Jared fixed it, and the wrong preparation actually ended up tasting better. All in all it was a very pleasant night. My ribeye steak was excellent, the cocktails were great, and it is a nice place to spend a quiet night out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great service, excellent wines.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Arrived a bit early, they were ready for us. Excellent service from everyone. Excellent wine list--one of the best around. Had no problems picking out 2 wines, everything in stock. Shrimp starter was excellent. Small filet was perfect, fish was perfect, now wish I had ordered the lobster tail, too, because it looked fabulous at another table. Dessert was excellent and everything was very high quality. I always expect a lot of The Polo and they always deliver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the finest restaurants in Tulsa

Dined on April 10, 2016

The Polo Grill remains a top-notched Tulsa jewel with a relaxing atmosphere. The service could not have been better the night we visited.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A local's point of view: Great food. Gr ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

A local's point of view: Great food. Great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on April 3, 2016

This restaurant is hard to find at night. But once found what a delight. Fantastic staff. Food was excellent. The wine list could compete with a nyc restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Their attention to detail is always noticed! Our steaks were perfect! We are never disappointed when choose Polo Grill!!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still has the charm and ambiance it is famous for

Dined on March 27, 2016

Hadn't been to Polo Grill in a few years and went for Easter Brunch. We were seated immediately in a good location, the waitstaff was very attentive, and food did not disappoint. Will certainly plan another meal there soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Polo always reliable - and excellent - f ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Polo always reliable - and excellent - for food and service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant Find

Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent service and a stunning wine list. Slightly more formal of an environment, but without being too portentous. An excellent find.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Real Gem

Dined on March 17, 2016

The Polo Grill is an excellent place to go with a great atmosphere. The food is great p, really love their meatloaf. We especially like to go in for a late lunch on Saturdays and sit at the bar chatting with other patrons.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as Always!

Dined on March 13, 2016

This is our go to fine dining restaurant in Tulsa if you want a delicious steak and salad or just their steak/frites in the bar. But everything on the menu is good! Food and service are always exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience...AGAIN!

Dined on February 23, 2016

The Polo Grill is an exceptional place to dine! The food is outstanding, the service impeccable, and the ambiance unmatchable! I took a doctor friend and his wife out for dinner to Polo. He is a vegetarian and they accommodated his needs with no problem. Every visit has been exceptional in every way. It's a MUST visit on my list of restaurants next time I am in Tulsa. It's a place to see and be seen!! Thank you!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Polo Grill Review...stop at the salad.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Server was inattentive and brought us the wrong bottle of wine ($100 mistake). We drank it so it wouldn't go to waste.... We ordered our $100 meal for two medium rare. The steak came out medium to medium well. Pretty much ruined. However.....the salad was very good. I will not be going back here, ever. If you have $250 or more to blow on dinner, walk over to Flemings. Or if in south Tulsa hit Mahogany. I've never been disappointed in those two. Polo Grill must be relying on people with more money than taste to stay afloat....very disappointed.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Second time isn't always lovelier

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

My first experience with this restaurant was flawless. This time, the service was still impeccable, but the food was slightly off. FAR too much cheese on top of the Caesar salad and the dressing was only so-so. Filet of sole was lovely, but too many mushrooms on top killed the presentation. Even the jalapeno corn bread muffin was cool, instead of warm enough to melt butter (which is the only way to serve corn bread). It is still one of Tulsa's best, but just not up to par with itself on this particular night.

food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Valentines wallet lifter

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was bringing my girlfriend to Polo Grill for two reasons, Valentines and Lobster Bisque. She doesn't eat much, but we were forced to pay $95 a head just to eat. I had to beg for the Lobster Bisque, because it was not on the SET MENU. The filet was only 7 oz. The lobster tail was over cooked. I did not want to complain in front of my girlfriend, but felt that a $250 bill for TWO people was extremely HIGH.. I will never go back for lunch. If I am craving Lobster Bisque, I will go there then hop over to Flemmings whose filet is far more superior.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Astounding, as always

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our Valentine's Day dinner at the Polo was even better than expected. The special menu was amazing, and unlike special-occasion menus at many restaurants, was just as good or better than the regular menu. It started with their signature roasted tomato bisque, continued with a lovely salad, then the surf and turf, perfectly prepared. The dessert of baked fudge and vanilla bean ice cream, normally one of my favorites, suffered a bit from being prepared too much in advance, but it was still good. Along with s gorgeous bottle of 10-year old Cabernet Franc, it was one of our most memorable meals. Well done, Mr. Merrifield.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The food and service were terrific. Howe ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service were terrific. However, I was not aware of the special menu they had for Valentine's, so it just wasn't as enjoyable for me because I didn't have control over what food and how much food we got. I'm also not the biggest fan of the super dark atmosphere, this the 3-star rating. Overall, a good experience, but I would probably choose Fleming's or Mahogany's next time, instead

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Valentine Day Dine at Polo Grill

Dined on February 14, 2016

We got there before the set menu kicked in at 4 pm and ordered off the menu. My wife had the salmon and she thought it was really good, especially with the grits. I had the ribeye. I ordered it medium and it came out very rare. I didn't take the time to send it back for more cooking. It was very tender and flavorful but too fatty for my liking(even for a ribeye). I had the grits with mine and they were really good. The best was the lobster bisque. It was unreal. Service was good except they were really slow getting my wife coffee and I had to remind them to get it after 5 to 7 minutes.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The perfect Valentine treat!

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband surprised me with dinner at The Polo Grill for Valentines Day. Two of my children surprised my by being there when we arrived. This was the first time we had been to Polo Grill. The food, dinner and atmosphere was excellent! The perfect Valentine treat! We will certainly be back as well as tell our friends about Polo Grill! Thank You!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

If you love Bloody Marys, this is a great place to get this classic drink. There's nothing "weird" about the drink. It's just really good! We had the Grand Marnier French Toast and the Steak Benedict. My husband enjoyed his french toast dish. My steak dish was a little cool and there was a lot of sauce. I think it would have been nice to have a small bowl for the side of fruit because mine had Benedict sauce on the grapes, etc. The coffee was delicious. I ate half of mine and was truly full. We looked at the dessert menu but there wasn't the variety on it that I expected. Overall, we enjoyed our meal and sure wish we had such a place in our town.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Needs a Reset

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We lived in Tulsa for 15 years and always felt special at the Polo Grill. While back visiting friends and on Valentine's Day, we thought it would be a great place to eat. As a point to mention, they were only serving a prix fixe menu --- which is fine and is not the root of our complaint (in fact, this should have made things easier for them). We were going to the bar before to have a drink and the seemingly over-stressed host treated us like we were criminals and should not be there. Once we got past this hurdle and sat at our two bar stools, as we always remembered, the bar staff and the ambiance in the bar was amazing ... good drinks, good service. Our table service, however left much to be desired and I fear the Polo Grill should be embarrassed by what occurred. The wine came with a 7 minute story about the waiter (who, while telling the tale, did not fill up one of the wine glasses on the table and also left my "tasting glass" unfilled). Water glasses were left empty until requested -- twice. One drink order that was put in (coca-cola) had to be requested twice. A second drink order that was put in (a glass of white wine) was never filled. A third drink order (coffee afterwards, which we were asked if we wanted) was ordered and never came. The courses overlapped with plates not being cleared before new plates arrived. The food was fine and acceptable, but not great. In general, it felt like training day at a new restaurant. In retrospect, perhaps it is an old and established restaurant that needs to remember why they became old and established in the first place.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Missed it this time

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We have patronized the Polo Grill several times and it was always a great experience. This was Valentine's Day and it was not what was expected. We booked via Open Table, and nothing was mentioned regarding a pre-set menu. In fact, we booked the Polo Grill specifically because we didn't want to be forced into a pre-set menu. Upon being seated we learned they had a pre-set menu, and it was $95/each. The cost was not the issue. Being given the choice of that menu for $95/each, or leaving the restaurant was not acceptable, and not the experience we expected when making the reservation. It's a real shame because the food is/was prepared well, and the service was good, considering the circumstances. We will most likely give them another chance at some point in the future, but this experience is not one I will repeat next Valentine's Day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Town

Dined on February 13, 2016

Always a wonderful service, food, atmosphere , we like romantic dining.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5

Absolutely NOT gluten free. Great food, ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Absolutely NOT gluten free. Great food, but got glutened!

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Expensive Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went on Valentines Day for a Romantic Dinner. Made reservations a week in advance and had no idea that the Menu would be set for all guests. They had a specific Valentines Day Menu and it was 94.00 per person. This was not mentioned when the reservations were made. If we had know, we would have found other options. We felt stuck because we did not have time to make other arrangements. A little notice about the set Menu would have made all the difference. My wife does not like Lobster Tail, so we paid a lot for a meal that was not as enjoyable as it should have been. The staff was excellent and we enjoyed them and the setting, just wish we had know the price before arrival.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Double standard

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a young couple for the restaurant and we were treated differently from the other dinners. Our serve was more favorable to the older couples then to my date and I. I was embarrassed by the lack of service we received as I know the level of service I should have received. You definitely have declined in service and paying $300+ for dinner I expected to be taken care of.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Is it worth it?

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was very good. Tenderloins and New York was cook perfect. With appetizer, entré, and desert plus tip came to $205!! Although very tasty, it will remain a once a year treat due to cost.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were amazing.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Can't wait to go back, the steak was amazing, great bread, wine, and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding, as always.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Our waiter, Russ, was excellent. The entire staff was professional and friendly, but Russ was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food could not be better!

Dined on February 6, 2016

A wonderful classy -yet-comfortable Tulsa restaurant. Superb menu and excellent service. We always enjoy Polo Grill for brunch, lunch or a lovely special evening dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food selection was limited and way overpriced.

Dined on February 4, 2016

Excellent service. Food was OK but too expensive. Menu was limited and everything suggested was outrageously high. I'm not a cheap person by any means but there are too many other places in Tulsa that have better food at a better value.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.