Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Pod

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Jason Simkins (GM), Todd Lean (Executive Chef)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for a Date (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Fun (35)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Special Occasion (27)
Bar Seating (20)
Casual (20)
People Watching (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Spicy (6)
Tapas (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vegan (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

A little on the pricey side, but their vegan options are innovative. The tomato roll from the Vegan Steven set is amazing and the Japanese eggplant is a solid pick as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great and service was great. Has a gift card so it was a great chance to splurge on some delicious sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the sushi conveyor belt! Usual spot for me and my fiancé for dinner, and we're always impressed :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Pod is always good. Just disappointed, I asked for Pod when I made the reservations for a 21st birthday. When I got there they seated us at a table. Said available Pod was rented out. This was a Sunday night at 5:00, was there for 2 hours and the Pod was never occupied. Not the first time I requested and didn't get a Pod.

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always, Pod does not disappoint. The food is so creative and delicious. The service is excellent and watching my 80 year old mom change the colors in the Pod with gusto, is priceless

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Trendy spot great for a meal before the theater !!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Interesting space with an industrial feel! The service was terrific. The food was very good. I like the moving sushi bar -- I have a feeling that would be a lot busier on the weekend. I ate here on a Tuesday evening and that part of the restaurant was not busy at all. I ordered sashimi. It was beautiful and delicious, but very sparse portion-size wise. The asparagus was very very good.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

POD is one on my favorites. I work on Penn's campus and I always take my new team members to lunch at POD. I take my family for special occasions. Great food, excellent service and lots of fun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was delicious and the service quite good as expected at a Starr restaurant. My only complaint was that we came to the restaurant to celebrate our daughter's birthday and she was given a bouquet of flowers as gift outside the restaurant. We asked for a vase to put them in, and neither the hostess or waiter were willing to help us out. I ended up having to walk out to my car in the light rain to put them in the trunk. I have never encountered this situation before. It was really quite an unpleasant way to start the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We went to celebrate our sons 7th bday. They wouldn't give us a POD. There was a sticker on my food when I went to eat my salad. I had to ask for a dessert menu 3 times.
Server never brought me a plate after my salad plate was taken. Dessert wasn't very good for kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Between 12 and 1pm it can be very noisy, especially if one can't get a window seat. But I often have lunch there. It's my club.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food! Our waiter was very helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful time with great friends and excellent food and drinks!!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very cool restaurant, especially the 2 eating pods bathed in colored light. Fun, energetic and young. Great bar. Excellent food - papaya salad, fantastic miso soup, shrimp, wasabi fried rice, sushi. Only thing not excellent was sashimi - good, but could be higher quality. Excellent service. Fun!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner with cool ambiance and great aervixe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Very attentive and knowledgeable staff. Fantastic food!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great seating and decor. Waiting staff was great. Food very good

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I LOVE THE PLACE!! Very modern and the food was grate!!! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Wonderful dinner at Pod in Philadelphia. The futuristic atmosphere is fun and interesting.
We ordered sushi and several dim sum dishes including Tempura Shrimp, Pork Dumplings, and Grilled Yellowtail. Everything was delicious and the servings were quite large. We just added some white rice and had a complete meal. I will definitely go back the next time I'm in Philly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We visited Pod to celebrate a family birthday. We were lucky enough to sit in a "pod" which added to the fun.
The food was amazing. Each dish was unique and bursting with flavor. The service was attentive and friendly. And oh, the fluffernutter! We will be back! Thank you Pod for a memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The service was excellent but the menu has become less interesting over the past year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Food was good. Our server was a little over enthusiastic (intrusive). She meant well but kept asking us if we wanted to order, are we ready yet, etc. until we finally capitulated. It was not busy, and we just wanted to chill and take our time. Food was very good but my entree (scallops) was a bit skimpy. I would have been grateful for a complimentary dinner roll or lettuce leaf!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food and service was excellent and my nieces enjoyed our special outing!👏👍

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was amazing! Such a unique take on sushi. Our waitress was a little pushy, but nonetheless it was a wonderful meal with an interesting atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always a great meal at Pod! Excellent sushi, delicious tempura rock shrimp, tasty ramen (especially the chicken dumpling ramen and char siu ramen). Crab fried rice is also very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is my third time coming to Pod and I don't think I'll get the ramen anymore. I've had the spicy beef ramen before, but this past experience was horrible. The noodles weren't cooked properly and the broth was so salty that it was almost unbearable. The beef was also very gritty this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We always love Pod and we were able to get a Pod this time which was fun for the kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Upscale and interesting decor. Unattentive service, high quality sushi served in low quantity portions ; for the price a terrible value. Much ado about nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Date night for us, a young married couple went great at Pod! Only recommendation : some of the chairs (all white) were dirty st the base of them, and it really detracts from the otherwise pristine restaurant. Also, the water in both bathrooms that my wife and I used didn't work - which we didn't find out until we had soap in our hands. Those are my only two complaints.

The food is great (the peanut butter and fluff rolls were out of this world!), and I always love coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

It was my boyfriends bday. The food was awesome, but just be aware that the portions are small, apart from that the experience is awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 1, 2017

This was the worst service by far we've ever experienced. The restaurant was almost empty, still the service was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful, from preparation to presentation, very pleasing. We especially enjoyed the crab fried rice. The food was fresh, properly prepared and a great value for the price. We highly recommend it. Be sure to save room for desert!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great spot... great late night food cause the food is fresh, has a ton of taste, and digests easy.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Enjoyed POD as a place that we never would have found without googling for something different. The sushi we had (Shrimp Tempura) had a mustard aioli sauce that the kids didn't like, they wanted the usual sauce you'd get with tempura at the local restaurants. same with the crab spring roll, it was all real lump crab, no filler. I LOVED, kids, wanted some fillers, ha ha!! Loved the specialty drinks. Vanilla Ginger (forget exact name) Mocktail for them, one with rum for me, was delicious. Next time, I want to sit in a pod :).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Late-night Find, Casual, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Everything was great, with the exception of our drink server. We had drinks while waiting for our table. When he came to our table with the check, he made it a point to tell us to add the gratuity. Tacky!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We loved the food and eventually the ambiance. Regrettably we were seated near the kitchen and had to ask for a new table as this was a special occasion with a client.
When ample tables are open, no guest should be placed in the back of a restaurant. It was a careless and thoughtless misstep. However, our luncheon meals were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always solid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 26, 2017

POD was a great experience! The food was delicious and healthy. The seats were a bit uncomfortable (hard molded plastic), but the service and quality of the food made up for it! I will definitely dine there again!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This place was amazing. We got the signature dish - Spicy tuna crispy rice - the best sushi
Dish we have ever had. Also the wages beef on hot rock is always a favorite. The atmosphere was cool.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.