About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (30)
Fun (27)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Groups (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Casual (14)
Romantic (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Authentic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Healthy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Private Room (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Spicy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vegan (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was outstanding ! Food,atmosphere, Service etc

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The duck was outstanding. As always Pod never disaapoints.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing service and amazing food! I would recommend POD to others who are looking for great food, atmosphere and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food definitely will revisit. Service was excellent waiting staff great not a long wait for food every bite was incredibly delicious will definitely bring family again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I went to Pod many years ago and decided to try again because they had a late night reservation available. We sat by the sushi bar and had a couple sushi dishes off the belt which was mediocre at best, the octopus which was decent, chicken ramen which was bland but edible and a caterpillar roll. With all the dining options in Philly, i would never go back because i usually have better ramen/sushi/etc for half the price at Yakitori Boy. I would only go back here for drinks at the bar because the atmosphere is cool. Cannot recommend the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

So many great options. We tried a rainbow sushi roll, the pork belly steam buns, and the chicken lettuce wraps. Definitely a place for tapas style meal and decently priced. I hope to someday try the sushi bar with the conveyer belt of moving sushi to taste! The atmosphere was so unique, almost futuristic. Great place for a business meal as the decor and food options made for easy conversation.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Gave us worst table in the restaurant but asked for a different table since it was a birthday dinner. We got a nice table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Very thoughtful takes Asian cuisine. Sashimi was top quality. Fun desserts. Recommend the sake tasting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wanted to treat my college junior to a special dinner during my visit and Pod was a great choice! We shared a variety of dishes, received wonderful service, got to chat and catch up all in a very trendy and fun atmosphere. We particularly loved our sushi roll, the crab spring rolls, and the special tuna on rice cakes! Our dumplings, however, were a bit too heavy for our liking. Completely enjoyed our dinner at Pod and we will be going back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a weird hankering for sushi so decided to go to Pod and for a friend's pre-birthday celebrations. Our server was Peter. HE WAS AWESOME! Very energetic, kind, and approachable. He checked on our table multiple times even when dinner was completely done and we were just hanging around. He even brought out ice-cream with a candle to celebrate our friends birthday. Food was great but the service provided by Peter definitely put our experience over the top. We ordered three rolls: Chirashi, Pod Lobster, and White Tiger...GREAT! The Mushroom & Sweet Pea Dumplings and Frosty Wagyu Fried Rice were excellent! The dumplings broke up a lot in the soy sauce so don't over dunk! It has more than enough flavor on its own and doesn't require any additive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was outstanding. The food was incredibly fresh and delicious. Wide range of items on the gluten free menu. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. The food is plentiful and tastes delicious. There is a wide variety of things to order depending on your likes. There is much vivid flavor and everything is cooked to perfection! The drinks were also amazing as I chose the green bubble tea which had tapioca pudding balls at the bottom. Not what I was expecting, but in a good way. As for the scenery, all of the lights and white interior gave it a modern and lively feel! I also love the idea of seating in pods which provides privacy but also allows you to experience the vibes of open dining. Overall though I would definitely give this restaurant 5 Stars!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

That was my first time there. I loved it. Nice atmosphere. Staff has the best customer service.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I ordered the special lamb ribs at the suggestion of my server. They were very tough but had a good flavor. I requested a sharper knife which they did not have. I left half of the ribs since they were too tough to cut. Not impressed by this Starr restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They waitress did am amazing job waiting on us, food was great and tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food lots of variety. Some dishes may be spicy even if they do not say so.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Pod has some staying power, as it's been around in Philadelphia for a few decades. They have a terrific seafood purveyor, so their sushi is notably outstanding. The menu is creative and it's set up so that sharing is encouraged and made easy. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved the spicy tuna with crispy shrimp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful earlier dinner at 5.15, waitress' suggestions were helpful, water glass filled often and food was delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loud table next to us. Everything else was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best friends birthday

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The food was very average- not as good as I remembered- not worth the cost.

Our drinks were very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The one Pod you have is really very cozy for a get-together of friend for lunch

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was lit

Tags: Fun, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a great and delicious experience. The servers and bartenders are great and very knowledgeable of the menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We got to sit in the POD which was so much fun....quiet and interesting. The food was excellent. It looks a bit "tired" but was fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had been to Pod Last year a few times and it was excellent. This time, the food lacked effort and taste, the waitress was sweet, but needs to look for a different job, and our experience was overall disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Me and boyfriend had a great time here! The interior design was very mod and the servers were so much fun. Next date night we will definitely be going to Pod!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was GREAT!!!! Atmosphere was relaxing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waiter did not crack a smile once - did not want to be working

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

excellent sushi....great drinks....enjoy................................................................................

thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had great service from beginning to end! There were 5 of us, and were able to be seated in the pod up front. Awesome! The food was great, as usual! The only complaint, which has nothing to do with the service or food; is that the whole place needs to be scrubbed or honestly be given a face lift. This is one of the oldest Starr venues in the city. And still going strong! Please think about putting some money back into the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The ramen we ordered used more like a udon type noodle instead of actual ramen. Not sure if it's a fusion thing, but that wasn't exactly what we were looking for. The grilled chicken was decent, but it was in essence teriyaki chicken made to look fancy. Good modern ambience with Godzilla from a few decades ago playing on the muted screens, and great service. Wouldn't say the taste of food matched the price though, would give the restaurant higher stars if the pricing was down a notch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was okay. I took my husband for his birthday and it was so over priced for the little bit of food you get.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service is always impeccable at Stephen Starr restaurants! Our waiter was attentive and super personable! Food was good, though my burger was not medium rare (or close) but still juicy. Nix the "Swiss" cheese, calories you can't even taste. Hubby's salmon sushi was terrific. Bring back the Panko crusted pork and beef tenderloin with wasabi mash!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent, quality food and service. Consistently delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Grand daughter danced at church on corner 37th/Chestnut - great spot for family to gather post performance - good pricing for occasion - great fun

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Family Style, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food is mediocre at best. There are many sushi places in the city that are significantly cheaper and tastier. Pod still operates on the idea that it is 1998 and they are the only sushi restaurant in town. The decor simply doesn't have the appeal that it once did, yet they still are charging the same prices.

Go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Overpriced

Over rated

Small portions for large price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Much needed makeover is needed! Food below standard. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is always excellent. The service was behind and a little off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pod has a cool futuristic vibe, with food and service that makes it more than just a visual trip. Despite all the visual flash of the restaurant, and a menu that seems slightly complicated (it is pan-Asian after all), all of the cocktails and dishes we tried were deliciously on-point and well balanced and our experience was one of absolute comfort.

The service was fantastic from start to finish, with one caveat: like many Starr restaurants on a busy weekend night, they repeatedly nudge you toward the door the second you let on that you are not ordering any more food or drinks. I expect that if I'm lingering on for 10+ minutes after settling the bill, but not 60 seconds after I set it down on the table, two sips into my dessert cocktail. And the restaurant was half empty at the time. Oh well, it didn't ruin the night.

I also need to mention that Pod handled our food accommodations extremely well. My wife has Celiac disease, which limits our dining options since a gluten free experience is not just a preference but a medical necessity. I usually put a note requesting a gluten free menu in with my Open Table reservation, but we often get a "deer in the headlights" look when we arrive and ask about the GF menu. Our dinner at Pod marks the first time when a restaurant was actually proactive and the maitre'd had the menu in hand when he greeted us.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and accommodating, confirming all the GF choices as they were ordered. The food servers also announced her plates as GF as they arrived. This may sound trivial to some, but it is very comforting when you don't have to interrogate your servers to make sure you aren't going to get ill from a simple mix-up.

Couple the handling of the food allergy and the overall great service and outstanding food, and I can't wait to return, even if they do try to push me out the door at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food, very accommodating service. Look forward to another lunch in future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Celebrated my son's 17th birthday. He loved the modern look.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner was very good - food was very good, and we were seated right away, which I appreciate when I've made a reservation. There was a large (unchaperoned) sweet sixteen party in the room in which we were seated - which was a big distraction (well, honestly - mostly to the couple seated directly next to them). The service was very friendly and accommodating, if not slightly amatuerish. She couldn't have been nicer - but her "learning curve" was evident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Best place to dine in university city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Sushi, their main focus, is simply sub par. Fish is not fresh. Dishes didn't come at same time. Desserts came after main course. Value is low. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Haven't been here in years – glad we made the trip! The service was absolutely excellent and the food delicious. Thanks Pod!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very fresh sushi. A pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I selected and visited the Pod twice, both were birthday occasions. I experienced the Pod table and the open table; both were very nice and the abeyance was relaxing. I prefer the pods more due to more privacy as well as the light settings.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.