Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Pod

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (40)
Good for a Date (38)
Fun (29)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Casual (19)
Hot Spot (15)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Private Room (9)
Family Style (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
People Watching (6)
Authentic (6)
Spicy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vegan (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Tapas (4)
Cozy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Lovely selection and quality ingredients always make for a wonderful dinner. We love the option of having excellent sushi any time of evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service was excellent. The bathrooms were pretty dirty and needed badly to be cleaned.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place! Food is awesome, decor is futuristic. Happening spot and great for all ages

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Server was fantasti

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Another amazing dining experience at Pod. We try to go there every time we're in the city and have never been disappointed. Highly recommend Pod for any and every occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

over priced fishy sushi - seems like a trendy place but the food was average and overpriced - try morimotos instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It would've been a much nicer experience if it was cleaner here. Our reservation was at 5:00 so we got there right when Pod opened, but the restroom looked as dirty as if it was 2:00 a.m.! At night everything looks pretty, but unfortunately it's not a very pretty sight when you can actually see how dirty the floors, chairs, and curtains are 😖

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

WAY too expensive for the quality and quantity of food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Pod was a fun experience. The food spanned many Asian varieties, so there are quite a few options.

The most fun for us was choosing sushi off of the conveyor belt!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a delicious lunch here after visiting Penn. Everything we tried was yummy! Very funky atmosphere and the service was friendly and great! Would definitely come here again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Ever since we tried Pod, we don't want to go anywhere else. Can't say enough good things about the super cool decor and food here. We love that the menu has a variety of sushi, specialty rolls, dim sum, and other entrees for any mood. The Pod Lobster roll is out of this world. Servers are always professional, friendly, and willing to give good recommendations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food, drinks, and service were all great!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent service and food. Would recommend this restaurant to my friends. Great place for a celebration.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The premiere sushi restaurant in University City. Very interesting decor and excellent quality, friendly staff and prompt service, this is THE restaurant to go to if you want sushi or Asian cuisine. Just beware though, be prepared to have your check easily reach $100 for two people with drinks and a sushi platter.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good and interesting food. Very good service. I have known about Pod for a long time and I am glad to have finally gone.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The menu was interesting but actual food was not really that tasty. Our faves were the crab roll and the shrimp tempura with pineapple . Mushroom ramen was bland. Salted caramel cake was very good. The atmosphere is fun and thumping music makes it feel hip. Definitely needs a decor refresh asap though. Bathrooms were really yucky and not maintained. Wouldn't return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised at the ambiance when I walked through the door it reminded me of a futuristic movie I saw once,the service was excellent everyone was so very nice our food came out quickly,it was very clean in the bathroom (very important)I will be coming back to this restaurant very soon I'm thinking of having an after-work party within the next few weeks.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything was outstanding ! Food,atmosphere, Service etc

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The duck was outstanding. As always Pod never disaapoints.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing service and amazing food! I would recommend POD to others who are looking for great food, atmosphere and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food definitely will revisit. Service was excellent waiting staff great not a long wait for food every bite was incredibly delicious will definitely bring family again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had another excellent dinner at POD as usual! Had a party of 4, 2 of whom had never been to POD before and they were very impressed. Friendly servers and decently affordable menu, especially if you skip the cocktails. Everyone at the table loved the tempura rock shrimp. As a regular, I would love to see the wasabi filet mignon back on the menu though!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I went to Pod many years ago and decided to try again because they had a late night reservation available. We sat by the sushi bar and had a couple sushi dishes off the belt which was mediocre at best, the octopus which was decent, chicken ramen which was bland but edible and a caterpillar roll. With all the dining options in Philly, i would never go back because i usually have better ramen/sushi/etc for half the price at Yakitori Boy. I would only go back here for drinks at the bar because the atmosphere is cool. Cannot recommend the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

So many great options. We tried a rainbow sushi roll, the pork belly steam buns, and the chicken lettuce wraps. Definitely a place for tapas style meal and decently priced. I hope to someday try the sushi bar with the conveyer belt of moving sushi to taste! The atmosphere was so unique, almost futuristic. Great place for a business meal as the decor and food options made for easy conversation.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Gave us worst table in the restaurant but asked for a different table since it was a birthday dinner. We got a nice table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Very thoughtful takes Asian cuisine. Sashimi was top quality. Fun desserts. Recommend the sake tasting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wanted to treat my college junior to a special dinner during my visit and Pod was a great choice! We shared a variety of dishes, received wonderful service, got to chat and catch up all in a very trendy and fun atmosphere. We particularly loved our sushi roll, the crab spring rolls, and the special tuna on rice cakes! Our dumplings, however, were a bit too heavy for our liking. Completely enjoyed our dinner at Pod and we will be going back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a weird hankering for sushi so decided to go to Pod and for a friend's pre-birthday celebrations. Our server was Peter. HE WAS AWESOME! Very energetic, kind, and approachable. He checked on our table multiple times even when dinner was completely done and we were just hanging around. He even brought out ice-cream with a candle to celebrate our friends birthday. Food was great but the service provided by Peter definitely put our experience over the top. We ordered three rolls: Chirashi, Pod Lobster, and White Tiger...GREAT! The Mushroom & Sweet Pea Dumplings and Frosty Wagyu Fried Rice were excellent! The dumplings broke up a lot in the soy sauce so don't over dunk! It has more than enough flavor on its own and doesn't require any additive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was outstanding. The food was incredibly fresh and delicious. Wide range of items on the gluten free menu. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. The food is plentiful and tastes delicious. There is a wide variety of things to order depending on your likes. There is much vivid flavor and everything is cooked to perfection! The drinks were also amazing as I chose the green bubble tea which had tapioca pudding balls at the bottom. Not what I was expecting, but in a good way. As for the scenery, all of the lights and white interior gave it a modern and lively feel! I also love the idea of seating in pods which provides privacy but also allows you to experience the vibes of open dining. Overall though I would definitely give this restaurant 5 Stars!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

That was my first time there. I loved it. Nice atmosphere. Staff has the best customer service.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I ordered the special lamb ribs at the suggestion of my server. They were very tough but had a good flavor. I requested a sharper knife which they did not have. I left half of the ribs since they were too tough to cut. Not impressed by this Starr restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They waitress did am amazing job waiting on us, food was great and tasteful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food lots of variety. Some dishes may be spicy even if they do not say so.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Pod has some staying power, as it's been around in Philadelphia for a few decades. They have a terrific seafood purveyor, so their sushi is notably outstanding. The menu is creative and it's set up so that sharing is encouraged and made easy. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved the spicy tuna with crispy shrimp!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful earlier dinner at 5.15, waitress' suggestions were helpful, water glass filled often and food was delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loud table next to us. Everything else was really great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best friends birthday

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really like this place, the look, energy, food. Everything tastes fresh , the meats taste unreal. Service is excellent too, would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.