Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Pod

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Fit for Foodies (42)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Groups (34)
Fun (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Casual (23)
Modern Decor (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Bar Seating (17)
People Watching (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Quick Bite (13)
Business Meals (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Spicy (8)
Family Style (8)
Cozy (8)
Vegan (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
2484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

This place was amazing. We got the signature dish - Spicy tuna crispy rice - the best sushi
Dish we have ever had. Also the wages beef on hot rock is always a favorite. The atmosphere was cool.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and great food as always. Our waiter Jeff was friendly and kind. Probably one of the best waiters we've had in a long time. Thanks Jeff !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Had multiple apps, entree, dessert QED each was better than the last. Everything was flavorful and portions were perfect. Excellent service and nice atmosphere. Best restaurant experience I have had in years!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and service was very good. The experience was worthwhile. I would definitely come back and recommend this resturant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was excellent. However, we order from the menu just to find out (after the first dish arrived) that the dishes we ordered are only served at dinner time and we came for lunch. The waiter was less than friendly.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

First time at POD-- food was very good-- Wagyu especially good. Sashimi very good. Was very very cold but they tried to adjust a little warmer. Chairs are plastic and not comfortable-- bring a small pillow to sit on or for your lower back. Service was excellent.
Overall we were pleasantly surprised and will go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We enjoyed our Dining Days dinner at Pod. Most of the food was very good, starting with a couple of excellent maki rolls, followed by lettuce leaves with chicken filling and broiled eggplant kebobs, both very good. The macadamia chicken dish was huge -- all chicken breast pieces in a good sauce and with plentiful nuts. When our pad thai came we were unable to eat it and took it home. We chose two desserts -- delicious brownies and a peculiar purple bread pudding. That was not so good. We had to wait a long time for the dessert, which is why I downgraded the service. But we enjoyed the meal, and we enjoyed the pad thai when we had it the next day for lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We love pod and choose it for many of our special occasion dinners. Great for those who eat fish/meat and vegetarians alike. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

While some of the food was spectacular ( namely, the penn roll, the jumbo California roll, pork steam buns and the chicken lettuce wraps) my main dish Macadamia Chicken was a little too basic for the price. Portion was reasonable but for the price, it tasted too much like my neighborhood takeout.

If you aren't sitting at the sushi bar or one of pod booths, the seating is horrible! I'm young and in shape, but my back is killing me from leaning over in those white chairs. Bit of a mood killer.

It was our anniversary, and very sweetly our sever out a sparkler in our desert. However, a different server delivered it and wished us a happy birthday.... The table next to us also celebrated an anniversary and their server (different than ours) gave them a free appetizer.

Overall, a pleasant experience and delicious food. Some hiccups in our overall service and experience that make this a tentative recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Pod's menu is incredible. I already want to go back to try all of the things I didn't get to order this time! The ambiance is really cool too. If you have a large group, you'll be able to sit in one of the "Pod" rooms. One note, and this could be a good or bad thing depending on who you are, the food comes out SO FAST. We couldn't believe how fast the food arrived. Within 5 minutes of ordering, our table was full of food (we ordered soup, a couple appetizers, and meals). So, we would have preferred to have our appetizers spaced out from our meals, but maybe some people would prefer to get it all at once.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great experience. Waiter was friendly and knowledgeable about menu and drinks. Food was delicious . Went there during University City Dining days so got a 4 course meal for $35 which was a fantastic deal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was amazing! Wait staff was impecible. Would love to go with a group and eat in the private pods!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Trendy atmosphere, excellent service and great food! Reserve a pod booth for a more private dining experience. Try the lychee martini, pork dumplings, macadamia chicken stir fry and the fluffernutter spring rolls!! 😋

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I visited twice on my trip to Pennsylvania. Once was a nice quiet lunch where we received incredible service and delicious food. The second time was a busy dinner trip and the atmosphere was very different. It was really loud and not quite as good service but still worth the trip. I'm always impressed when a restaurant that has an entire gluten-free menu. The atmosphere is funky and fun but that doesn't make for the best seating if you have a bad back. Other than the seating comfort I'd have no complaints. Every single thing we ordered was perfection.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Pod with our friends as a double date! The atmosphere is so cool and futuristic with everything being white and sleek. Ive been before but my boyfriend hasn't and he loved it! Every was absolutely delicious! We got 4 sushi rolls, a few small plates, and a bowl of the truffle fried rice. Now we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This is a restaurant that must be visited many times because there are too many delicious choices! We especially loved the crab fried rice, the eggplant with walnuts, and the tempura zucchini special. The cocktails are delicious! And it's a great room. Will return!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Dinner with the family at Pod was a just a delight. Very attentive service and advice improved our selections and made for a delicious meal. It's been too long, I'd forgotten how good the food was

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Fun spot on campus. Edamame portion was enormous! Leftovers for our party of 3. Chicken Lettuce wraps delicious as was the signature crunchy tuna roll. Shrimp Kung Pao, Waygu beef seared on rocks tableside and chicken lo mein...all winners. FUN atmosphere and knowledgable staff. Make a reservation and ask for one of the private dining pods!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We had a great time--quick, friendly service and delicious food!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Business Meals, Spicy, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was great. We shared the small plates amongst four of us and there were plenty of delicious options. I felt full just from the appetizers. Felt like I was able to sample the best of everything there. The bar drinks were great and we arrived just in time to catch the half priced specialty drinks at happy hour. I would love to come back and sit in one of the two large pods that have customizable light colors.

Tags: Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

An absolutely enjoyable experience in all respects!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great sushi. Great apps. Great drinks. Great desserts. Great atmosphere. Ordered 3 mains and they were horrible. Skip entrees

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food and service are always 1st class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Me and my husband love it at pod. We've been to pod several times best California roll and shrimp tempura roll I've ever eaten. Everyone is so polite and professional. It's our favorite spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Pod has some of the best sushi in Philadelphia. The rolls are creative and are also made with super fresh fish. I have been here twice and loved it both times. However Pod is very expensive. It is tucked away by a hotel so maybe they get a lot of tourist guests, but it is in the area by Penn's campus with a bunch of college kids, so the prices for the area are high in my opinion. I got a glass of champagne and two sushi rolls on the lesser expensive side of the menu and it was 50$ including the tip. For this reason, save Pod for a night you want to splurge. The atmosphere is one of the best things about Pod, it is really futuristic with multi colored lights and all white furniture, floors and walls. I like to come here late at night and dressed up, it feels like a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Exceeded our expectations
Felt like VIPs, our son was celebrating his 5th grade graduation and he was made to feel like a King! Not everyday a child with a Peanut and Gluten allergy can dine and feel confident !

Tags: Vegan, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Our server Peter was wonderful!!! The atmosphere was nice for celebrating my son's graduation. After lunch Peter brought out a surprise dessert to make my son feel extremely special. Greatly appreciated! The food was great and everyone enjoyed their selections. The only dish I would recommend adjusting a bit is the rock shrimp. I always order the rock shrimp at Pod and normally receive a very nice portion. This time I was disappointed with how small the portion was. Again, I have dined at Pod many times and have a certain expectation when ordering this dish. I hope next time it will be up to the normal standard. Overall the experience was very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Had a great meal. Decor is hip but disappointed we didn't get a pod even though requested one by phone me when we made the reservation. Were told at the restaurant that you have to go through catering director to arrange in advance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great find! We were visiting Philly and googling places to eat. Cool atmosphere, low light, creative decor, felt like we were in the future ha! Food was amazing and our server was helpful with reccomendatuons. Would definitely go back at a future visit to Philly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food and service is very high quality!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great experience at Pod! We ordered the spicy tuna crispy rice, calamari salad, pork dumplings, rock shrimp... all were amazing! Our server was very personable as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went to Pod as a last minute decision (left an event in S Philly early) - and we couldn't have been happier with our choice! We had the Calamari Salad (our favorite thing), Lobster & Pekin Duck Fried Rice, the Pod Lobster roll and 1 specialty roll - which was created just for us - which we thought was great on a busy Saturday night. With the exception of dessert which was super bad (blueberry bread pudding) - everything was outstanding - including the service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The sushi rolls are fantastic. I made the mistake of assuming that my first roll needed wasabi and soya sauce. But after I tasted one without, I never went back. A great meal.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

See previous reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Usually, the food is great. The noise us always a negative factor. The close proximity of tables comes at the expense of privacy. The service was good but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food in a modern, fun setting. Greatly appreciated the fact that the wait staff did not rush us to leave the table. The crab fried rice was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Over all excellence of the place and food was almost ruined by the choice and level of the music. WAY too loud and too hip for the Sunday dinner crowd. OK at Martini or other more "hip" Starr places, not here. I was with only two other people and could barely hear them, even with great effort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food and service were great. Thien was our server and really appreciate his commitment to making sure we were taken care of. My big issue is the atmosphere. I felt like I was eating Mother's Day meal with my family at Disneyworld. Over the top loud and modern

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing food, and FUNKY decor. If you are not in an actual POD, then it's a little loud (the place is all marble and stone, so sound echoes. Cool sushi bar with a conveyor belt- that's where I will be the next time!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My favorite sushi place....in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.