About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Modern Decor (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Fun (24)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Casual (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Business Meals (11)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (7)
Healthy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Vegan (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Spicy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Tapas (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
2354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The one Pod you have is really very cozy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The one Pod you have is really very cozy for a get-together of friend for lunch

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great and delicious experience. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a great and delicious experience. The servers and bartenders are great and very knowledgeable of the menu

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Pod Last year a few times ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had been to Pod Last year a few times and it was excellent. This time, the food lacked effort and taste, the waitress was sweet, but needs to look for a different job, and our experience was overall disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Me and boyfriend had a great time here! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Me and boyfriend had a great time here! The interior design was very mod and the servers were so much fun. Next date night we will definitely be going to Pod!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter did not crack a smile once - did ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waiter did not crack a smile once - did not want to be working

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

excellent sushi....great drinks....enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

excellent sushi....great drinks....enjoy................................................................................

thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had great service from beginning to e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had great service from beginning to end! There were 5 of us, and were able to be seated in the pod up front. Awesome! The food was great, as usual! The only complaint, which has nothing to do with the service or food; is that the whole place needs to be scrubbed or honestly be given a face lift. This is one of the oldest Starr venues in the city. And still going strong! Please think about putting some money back into the place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The ramen we ordered used more like a ud ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The ramen we ordered used more like a udon type noodle instead of actual ramen. Not sure if it's a fusion thing, but that wasn't exactly what we were looking for. The grilled chicken was decent, but it was in essence teriyaki chicken made to look fancy. Good modern ambience with Godzilla from a few decades ago playing on the muted screens, and great service. Wouldn't say the taste of food matched the price though, would give the restaurant higher stars if the pricing was down a notch.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

It was okay. I took my husband for his b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 23, 2016

It was okay. I took my husband for his birthday and it was so over priced for the little bit of food you get.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Service is always impeccable at Stephen ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service is always impeccable at Stephen Starr restaurants! Our waiter was attentive and super personable! Food was good, though my burger was not medium rare (or close) but still juicy. Nix the "Swiss" cheese, calories you can't even taste. Hubby's salmon sushi was terrific. Bring back the Panko crusted pork and beef tenderloin with wasabi mash!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent, quality food and service. Con ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent, quality food and service. Consistently delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grand daughter danced at church on corne ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Grand daughter danced at church on corner 37th/Chestnut - great spot for family to gather post performance - good pricing for occasion - great fun

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Family Style, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is mediocre at best. There are many ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food is mediocre at best. There are many sushi places in the city that are significantly cheaper and tastier. Pod still operates on the idea that it is 1998 and they are the only sushi restaurant in town. The decor simply doesn't have the appeal that it once did, yet they still are charging the same prices.

Go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Overpriced Over rated Small portions fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Overpriced

Over rated

Small portions for large price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Much needed makeover is needed! Food be ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Much needed makeover is needed! Food below standard. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food is always excellent. The servic ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food is always excellent. The service was behind and a little off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Pod has a cool futuristic vibe, with foo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Pod has a cool futuristic vibe, with food and service that makes it more than just a visual trip. Despite all the visual flash of the restaurant, and a menu that seems slightly complicated (it is pan-Asian after all), all of the cocktails and dishes we tried were deliciously on-point and well balanced and our experience was one of absolute comfort.

The service was fantastic from start to finish, with one caveat: like many Starr restaurants on a busy weekend night, they repeatedly nudge you toward the door the second you let on that you are not ordering any more food or drinks. I expect that if I'm lingering on for 10+ minutes after settling the bill, but not 60 seconds after I set it down on the table, two sips into my dessert cocktail. And the restaurant was half empty at the time. Oh well, it didn't ruin the night.

I also need to mention that Pod handled our food accommodations extremely well. My wife has Celiac disease, which limits our dining options since a gluten free experience is not just a preference but a medical necessity. I usually put a note requesting a gluten free menu in with my Open Table reservation, but we often get a "deer in the headlights" look when we arrive and ask about the GF menu. Our dinner at Pod marks the first time when a restaurant was actually proactive and the maitre'd had the menu in hand when he greeted us.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and accommodating, confirming all the GF choices as they were ordered. The food servers also announced her plates as GF as they arrived. This may sound trivial to some, but it is very comforting when you don't have to interrogate your servers to make sure you aren't going to get ill from a simple mix-up.

Couple the handling of the food allergy and the overall great service and outstanding food, and I can't wait to return, even if they do try to push me out the door at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food, very accommodating service. L ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food, very accommodating service. Look forward to another lunch in future.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Celebrated my son's 17th birthday. He l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Celebrated my son's 17th birthday. He loved the modern look.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was very good - food was very goo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dinner was very good - food was very good, and we were seated right away, which I appreciate when I've made a reservation. There was a large (unchaperoned) sweet sixteen party in the room in which we were seated - which was a big distraction (well, honestly - mostly to the couple seated directly next to them). The service was very friendly and accommodating, if not slightly amatuerish. She couldn't have been nicer - but her "learning curve" was evident.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Best place to dine in university city.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Best place to dine in university city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sushi, their main focus, is simply sub p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Sushi, their main focus, is simply sub par. Fish is not fresh. Dishes didn't come at same time. Desserts came after main course. Value is low. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Haven't been here in years – glad we mad ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Haven't been here in years – glad we made the trip! The service was absolutely excellent and the food delicious. Thanks Pod!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very fresh sushi. A pleasure.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very fresh sushi. A pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I selected and visited the Pod twice, b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I selected and visited the Pod twice, both were birthday occasions. I experienced the Pod table and the open table; both were very nice and the abeyance was relaxing. I prefer the pods more due to more privacy as well as the light settings.

Tags: Casual, , Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Old Starr Veteran server and loyalist. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Old Starr Veteran server and loyalist.

4 years at pod.

I miss the old direction of the menu when Schulson and Zama were in control. Shocked you removed the Wasabi Crusted Filet..I believe that was a staple and consistent. Same as Buddakan, why have the ponzu chicken and AC but not in Philly?

Regardless, food was outstanding still and our service from Davonte was outstanding as well. We will be asking for him again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When your server states that that food c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

When your server states that that food comes out as it's ready, be sure to request that some attention to timing be paid, before delivering it to your table. There is no reason one guest should receive all of what they ordered in a span of 4 minutes, before the rest receive even an appetizer. For those prices and for that brand, the server should not take for granted that that approach always works.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Always perfect and very accommodating fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always perfect and very accommodating for vegan diet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The spicy tuna crispy rice was definitel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The spicy tuna crispy rice was definitely the best thing we had. Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Thoughtful menu, good variety, easy park ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Thoughtful menu, good variety, easy parking at adjacent hotel, service a little rushed, great ambiance. I hadn't been there for years and the concept, food quality, and vibe were still great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for a celebration dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for a celebration dinner. Food was very good and presented well. Our server was attentive but not overbearing. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great with a fairly large m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was great with a fairly large menu and because the food comes out family style, you can try a lot of different dishes. I suggest you order in stages in stead of all at once.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

young hip pan-Asian place that appeals t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

young hip pan-Asian place that appeals to the Penn student crowd. servers are a little overtaxed so service can suffer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our server was excellent. She was attent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was excellent. She was attentive without being overbearing. She knew the components of the menu. The food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go before a show at Annen ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great place to go before a show at Annenberg. Easy access! Good food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love the ambiance, food was good!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love the ambiance, food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My 1st time at Pod, and I was impressed! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My 1st time at Pod, and I was impressed! Cool atmosphere, very good service (attentive but not hovering), interesting but not too weird menu, yummy drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner as usual at Pod this pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful dinner as usual at Pod this past weekend. Hostess was very accommodating, bar service was excellent, and food was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent selection, outstanding quality ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent selection, outstanding quality ingredients, preparation and service. Always an enjoyable dining event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant to visit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant to visit in Philadelphia. Great selection of Asian Fusion food, along with fun drinks. The atmosphere in the room is a lot of fun as well. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.