About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Restaurant Photos

Yellowtail
Ice Sculpture Sorbet
Crispy Rice (Creamy Spicy Tuna On Crispy Sushi Rice)
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Uni
Seafood Fried Rice With Shrimp, Bay Scallops, Lobster And Egg
Tempura Rock Shrimp with Grilled Pineapple and Candied Walnuts
Sushi Roll
Green Tea
Salmon Avocado Roll
Sashimi
Rockin Spicy Tuna
Kobe Beef on Hot Rock
Kobe Beef
Pork Dumplings
Fluffernutter Spring Rolls
lobster roll
Avocado Roll
Lobster Tempura
Sake Mojito
Frosty Kobe Fried Rice
pomegranate margarita
Chicken Yakitori
Sushi
Hot Chocolate
Salmon and avocado roll
Shrimp Tempura Rolls
Tempura Softshell With Thai Peanut Sauce
Kalbi Beef Tacos With Kimchee And Wasabi Guacamole
Lobster Tempura With Chili Crab Sauce
Sushi Platter
Soft Shell Crab Sushi
Lobster Tsukemen
Pod Lobster Roll
Pork Belly Steamed Bun
Duck Two Ways
Chicken Pad Thai
edamame
Crab Salad
Mango and Ginger Soda
Fried Calamari Salad
Calamari Salad With Lemongrass Dressing
Caterpiller Roll
Steamed Pork Belly Buns With Hoisin And Pickled Vegetables
Lobster Rolls
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Kobe Beef On Hot Rocks And Crab Dumplings
Lamb Lo Mein
Chilean Sea Bass
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
Tempura Softshell Crab/Shallot-Yuzu Vinaigrette
Rainbow Roll
Butterscotch Crumb Cake
Bbq Short Ribs Robata
Spring Rolls
Pot Stickers
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Rio Grande Roll
Bbq Pork Tenderloin
Fatty Tuna Sushi
Pink Martini
Vanilla Bean Mouse
Pad Thai
Fried Rice
Blood Orange Pomegranate
Mocha Brownie W/Cappuccino Ice Cream
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
California Roll
Crab Fried Rice
crab spring roll

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in University City ›

good for groups (91)
fit for foodies (87)
special occasion (66)
See All
hot spot (54)
neighborhood gem (39)
great for lunch (34)
vibrant bar scene (32)
late-night find (19)
romantic (17)
kid-friendly (9)
great for brunch (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3

We love coming here . Your California ro ...

Dined a day ago

We love coming here . Your California roll and shrimp tempura roll are the best I ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service, and specialt ...

Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful food and service, and specialty cocktails are outstanding. Although a little pricey, it is good value

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Have enjoyed Pod since it opened and wou ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Have enjoyed Pod since it opened and would like to see a few of the old time favorites back on the menu. Still find it to be a terrific experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A very good luncheon restaurant, good se ...

Dined 5 days ago

A very good luncheon restaurant, good service and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Horrible service -- untrained waiter, wr ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Horrible service -- untrained waiter, wrong dish and then correct one brought in last moment -- too late. I bring in my students groups, always ask for pod almost never obliged.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best places to find Sushi in ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best places to find Sushi in the city. Can not wait to return as the staff was very attentive throughout the entire night, Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making my 30th birthday sp ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Thank you for making my 30th birthday special. Tyler was great!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chef Todd is passionate about the food t ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Chef Todd is passionate about the food that comes out of his kitchen. It is always cooked perfectly and beautifully presented. Service is attentive without being obtrusive. We celebrated our anniversary and were given a quiet table as requested. Thanks for always going the extra mile to make sure my food allergies are remembered and substitutions are made to allow me to have a variety of choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Lunch!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I have never been disappointed at Pod.. Every meal there is wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect!! Pod rocks

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Perfect!! Pod rocks

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Never Disappoints

Dined on June 5, 2016

Alway enjoy my time at Pod. Great to get together with friends. Really appreciate that the menu is vegan friendly and even can work with someone who is gluten free. My daughter is vegan and loves it. I even went with a friend who is very particular and definitely not a "foodie" and Pod was able to come up with something for her. On the most recent visit, stayed talking with friends way beyond dinner was over and no rush for us to leave. Service is always friendly and never rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Pod has been in business for over 20 yea ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Pod has been in business for over 20 years. Not once has their food slacked off. Me and my boyfriend went for our anniversary and ordered the chicken potstickers, spicy tuna roll and wasabi crusted filet mignon. All were incredible. Will definitely come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, don't miss out on this experience! ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Wow, don't miss out on this experience! The food is spectacular, and if you don't like sushi, don't worry, there are plenty of other mouthwatering items on the menu, like the ribs that fall off the bone, yum!! If dinner wasn't good enough, the fluffernutter and peanut butter spring rolls with dipping chocolate for dessert certainly topped the night off!! The restaurant itself is also very cool, with a very unique layout. You definitely feel like you had an "experience", not just a regular dinner by the time you leave. Service was also excellent, would highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Once again, we had an excellent dinner a ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Once again, we had an excellent dinner at pod. Chef Todd was at the top of his game, as usual. We had two dinner specials that were delicious and beautifully prepared. The soft shell crabs were crispy and meaty! The new sushi chef is serving imaginative and exquisite new rolls. All of my food allergies were handled by altering ingredients slightly without compromising taste. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Fun, Supper yummy, I am ready to go ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Very Fun, Supper yummy, I am ready to go back. The specialty drinks alcoholic and non-alcoholic were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best sushi I've ever had! The fish was S ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best sushi I've ever had! The fish was SO fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. Full menu for the non-sushi eaters. Very modern decor, which doesn't fit with sushi but it was unique! Highly recommend this restaurant if you're on U Penn or Drexel campuses.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

POD 2

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

See previous review, as I left one the other day********

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

George Jetson's home

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been going here for years & love it's 60's jet age decor complete w/ Japanese super hero & Manga movies on the TV screen. Asian w/ a twist like their Kobe wasabi beef burger or fried chicken sandwich for lunch. Have been for lunch & dinner w/ business clients & everyone hands down wants to go to POD. Excellent, attentive & knowledgeable service. They also cater to special food needs for people w/ certain food allergies. Not to be issed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Have been to Pod many times and we are N ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have been to Pod many times and we are NEVER disappointed. Funky, cool and the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was what you'd expect from disin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was what you'd expect from disinterested college students. I had really high expectations about going to this place based on the pictures. Had been trying to get there for about a year. Will probably never go back. Let me list the reasons why. Couldn't hear the waitress and she always picked the worst moment to ask if we needed anything. Felt like our conversation was being interrupted. Could hardly understand her. Forgot condiments for the table. Order two espressos for dessert and the came out two different colors and with different amounts in each cup. When I told the person that delivered our dessert he seem ed REALLY disinterested. I really doubt I'll go out of my way for this place and I love Sushi. Studied for years at Drexel and really want ed to like this place. Hire professionals for such a place. Not just anyone wanting a job.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is all right. The sushi dishe ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This place is all right. The sushi dishes are actually quite good though quite expensive, but the dishes from the grill side are a hit or miss. The #1 tea duck is quite good, although for $27 sadly you don't get more than just 8 slices of duck. The mushroom ramen is not that good, so I would steer away from that. Overall, the food is fine but not worth the expense.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2

Enjoyable spot for a group dinner.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyable spot for a group dinner.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Love this place

Dined on May 13, 2016

My only knock is that the tables are a bit small and make for a tight squeeze when multiple plates are on the table at once. Other than that, this place is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Pod visit

Dined on May 9, 2016

My family took me to dinner at Pod on Mothers Day. We were fortunate enough to score one of the round and colorful dining pods. My son enjoyed changing the colors of our Pod throughout the meal. The sushi was very fresh and the dim sum selections are creative and tasty. We partook of the extensive sake list and were disappointed. A very unexpected and enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding, service equally go ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was outstanding, service equally good. The only issue is that the place was so loud (we were seated in the back room) that we couldn't even hear ourselves talk.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had been here in a few years food and ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

we had been here in a few years food and was happy to find that the food was still delicious and the service was superb

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Solid food and outdated decor

Dined on May 6, 2016

The dim sum menu was the highlight. Pork buns, ribs, crunchy rice with tuna, Kobe beef were on point. Ramen was just okay. Cocktail was just okay. Stick with wine and beer. Decor is outdated but was probably once pretty cool. Good location before a show at world cafe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Restaurant is worn and torn!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff was great and the menu is fun and interesting, but the restaurant interior has seen better days. It is past looking well loved and now is dingy. The ambiance was always part of the fun dining experience there, but it is hard to look past the worn out look to it. Hope Starr makes the investment and rehabs it!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good sushi and sake

Dined on April 26, 2016

Love the sushi conveyor belt! Our server was out of this world,was super knowledgeable and on the ball

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hello....

Dined on April 23, 2016

I absolutely love POD, it was my date's first time. He was so impressed by the attentive staff, the ambiance, and the food he had little to say to me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

We got free sushi whooop

Dined on April 22, 2016

We got free sushi whooop

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

good Asian dishes especially spicy tuna ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

good Asian dishes especially spicy tuna roll, but far too expensive

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. The manager even came over to see if we were ok. Very nice food was great. Crab fried rice was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

This was our 3rd time here and it's alwa ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our 3rd time here and it's always a good ambiance and the drinks are good, but the food was supra ingot filling. The pork potstickers dim sum was a little bland and the chicken wonton ramen was good, but the kale and seaweed (nori) added didn't seem to fit the dish as I had thought. I would stick to the sushi.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Nothing special

Dined on April 10, 2016

I went here for my birthday dinner and was expecting it to be similar to Buddakan. Well it was nothing like it the food was average and nothing special. It was also way overpriced. Drinks were okay. I wouldn't go back or recommend this place to anyone. Our server was good but besides that it was not impressive for a STARR restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Unique atmosphere and great service

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The experience in the "POD" is fun, although if you want to really appreciate the food, a seat at the sushi bar might be the best bet.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Pod remains a singular and fulfilling di ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Pod remains a singular and fulfilling dining experience. From the futuristic decor to the absolutely perfect service and of course the amazing and interesting food, I would highly recommend the experience. Expensive and worth it.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food but dated decor

Dined on April 9, 2016

The overall décor of Pod is creative but it doesn't look as if much has been put into keeping up the appearance lately. We went with a group of 5 and ordered tapas style, which I would highly recommend. The dumplings and sushi were great but I would definitely go back for the Korean rice (I can't recall the name but it's the only one with kimchee in it). I had the best Blood Orange Side Car (actually, I had 3!) ever there. For the prices they charge I would have expected more investment in the ambience and décor.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special occasion lunch spot!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Pod always delivers when it comes to presentation and quality. I am a repeat customer and always look forward to my next meal at Pod.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love Pod. Space the food out.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We love Pod. The food is great, innovative, good tastes. What we don't like is that is all comes out at once. We get a dish and are enjoying it and three more come. We stop eating, juggle plates and space. And our waiter said he would space it out for us. We wanted the soup special first and it came next to last. THere were plenty of tables....we all felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.