About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday: 11:30am - 12:00pm; Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00pm; Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in University City ›

good for groups (106)
fit for foodies (103)
special occasion (85)
See All
hot spot (71)
vibrant bar scene (48)
neighborhood gem (42)
great for lunch (37)
romantic (34)
late-night find (23)
kid-friendly (10)
notable wine list (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2036 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very Fun, Supper yummy, I am ready to go ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very Fun, Supper yummy, I am ready to go back. The specialty drinks alcoholic and non-alcoholic were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best sushi I've ever had! The fish was S ...

Dined 6 days ago

Best sushi I've ever had! The fish was SO fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. Full menu for the non-sushi eaters. Very modern decor, which doesn't fit with sushi but it was unique! Highly recommend this restaurant if you're on U Penn or Drexel campuses.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

POD 2

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

See previous review, as I left one the other day********

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

George Jetson's home

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been going here for years & love it's 60's jet age decor complete w/ Japanese super hero & Manga movies on the TV screen. Asian w/ a twist like their Kobe wasabi beef burger or fried chicken sandwich for lunch. Have been for lunch & dinner w/ business clients & everyone hands down wants to go to POD. Excellent, attentive & knowledgeable service. They also cater to special food needs for people w/ certain food allergies. Not to be issed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Have been to Pod many times and we are N ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Have been to Pod many times and we are NEVER disappointed. Funky, cool and the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Service was what you'd expect from disin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was what you'd expect from disinterested college students. I had really high expectations about going to this place based on the pictures. Had been trying to get there for about a year. Will probably never go back. Let me list the reasons why. Couldn't hear the waitress and she always picked the worst moment to ask if we needed anything. Felt like our conversation was being interrupted. Could hardly understand her. Forgot condiments for the table. Order two espressos for dessert and the came out two different colors and with different amounts in each cup. When I told the person that delivered our dessert he seem ed REALLY disinterested. I really doubt I'll go out of my way for this place and I love Sushi. Studied for years at Drexel and really want ed to like this place. Hire professionals for such a place. Not just anyone wanting a job.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is all right. The sushi dishe ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

This place is all right. The sushi dishes are actually quite good though quite expensive, but the dishes from the grill side are a hit or miss. The #1 tea duck is quite good, although for $27 sadly you don't get more than just 8 slices of duck. The mushroom ramen is not that good, so I would steer away from that. Overall, the food is fine but not worth the expense.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service2

Enjoyable spot for a group dinner.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyable spot for a group dinner.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Love this place

Dined on May 13, 2016

My only knock is that the tables are a bit small and make for a tight squeeze when multiple plates are on the table at once. Other than that, this place is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Pod visit

Dined on May 9, 2016

My family took me to dinner at Pod on Mothers Day. We were fortunate enough to score one of the round and colorful dining pods. My son enjoyed changing the colors of our Pod throughout the meal. The sushi was very fresh and the dim sum selections are creative and tasty. We partook of the extensive sake list and were disappointed. A very unexpected and enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding, service equally go ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was outstanding, service equally good. The only issue is that the place was so loud (we were seated in the back room) that we couldn't even hear ourselves talk.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had been here in a few years food and ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

we had been here in a few years food and was happy to find that the food was still delicious and the service was superb

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Solid food and outdated decor

Dined on May 6, 2016

The dim sum menu was the highlight. Pork buns, ribs, crunchy rice with tuna, Kobe beef were on point. Ramen was just okay. Cocktail was just okay. Stick with wine and beer. Decor is outdated but was probably once pretty cool. Good location before a show at world cafe.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Restaurant is worn and torn!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff was great and the menu is fun and interesting, but the restaurant interior has seen better days. It is past looking well loved and now is dingy. The ambiance was always part of the fun dining experience there, but it is hard to look past the worn out look to it. Hope Starr makes the investment and rehabs it!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good sushi and sake

Dined on April 26, 2016

Love the sushi conveyor belt! Our server was out of this world,was super knowledgeable and on the ball

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hello....

Dined on April 23, 2016

I absolutely love POD, it was my date's first time. He was so impressed by the attentive staff, the ambiance, and the food he had little to say to me!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

We got free sushi whooop

Dined on April 22, 2016

We got free sushi whooop

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

good Asian dishes especially spicy tuna ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

good Asian dishes especially spicy tuna roll, but far too expensive

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding!

Dined on April 20, 2016

Our waiter was excellent. The manager even came over to see if we were ok. Very nice food was great. Crab fried rice was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

This was our 3rd time here and it's alwa ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

This was our 3rd time here and it's always a good ambiance and the drinks are good, but the food was supra ingot filling. The pork potstickers dim sum was a little bland and the chicken wonton ramen was good, but the kale and seaweed (nori) added didn't seem to fit the dish as I had thought. I would stick to the sushi.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Nothing special

Dined on April 10, 2016

I went here for my birthday dinner and was expecting it to be similar to Buddakan. Well it was nothing like it the food was average and nothing special. It was also way overpriced. Drinks were okay. I wouldn't go back or recommend this place to anyone. Our server was good but besides that it was not impressive for a STARR restaurant.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Unique atmosphere and great service

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The experience in the "POD" is fun, although if you want to really appreciate the food, a seat at the sushi bar might be the best bet.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Pod remains a singular and fulfilling di ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Pod remains a singular and fulfilling dining experience. From the futuristic decor to the absolutely perfect service and of course the amazing and interesting food, I would highly recommend the experience. Expensive and worth it.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food but dated decor

Dined on April 9, 2016

The overall décor of Pod is creative but it doesn't look as if much has been put into keeping up the appearance lately. We went with a group of 5 and ordered tapas style, which I would highly recommend. The dumplings and sushi were great but I would definitely go back for the Korean rice (I can't recall the name but it's the only one with kimchee in it). I had the best Blood Orange Side Car (actually, I had 3!) ever there. For the prices they charge I would have expected more investment in the ambience and décor.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great special occasion lunch spot!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Pod always delivers when it comes to presentation and quality. I am a repeat customer and always look forward to my next meal at Pod.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Love Pod. Space the food out.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We love Pod. The food is great, innovative, good tastes. What we don't like is that is all comes out at once. We get a dish and are enjoying it and three more come. We stop eating, juggle plates and space. And our waiter said he would space it out for us. We wanted the soup special first and it came next to last. THere were plenty of tables....we all felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

One of my favorites!

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Pod is one of my absolute favorite restaurants in the city. We have been going for over a decade, and the food is always consistent and delicious. Whether you crave sushi or asian fusion which includes japanese, thai, and chinese inspired dishes, you will find something for everyone. I most recommend this with a group (4+ people) because it is a bit on the pricey side if you order for two, but dishes are large enough to share and with a group you get to taste a variety of flavors for a reasonable price! My favorites include the asian ceasar salad, chicken lettuce wraps, spicy tuna crispy rice, and all of the fried rices. The sea bass and macadamia chicken stir fry are also delicious. Fluffer nutter springs rolls are insane - melted marshmallow and peanut butter in a fried spring roll wrapper. Specialty cocktails are also delicious. My only complaint would be the ambiance, the futuristic vibe is a bit strange and not particularly welcoming, but the food more than makes up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pod

Dined on March 13, 2016

The atmosphere was nice and modern. Very open. Which when it filled up made it a bit loud. But the tables were nicely spaces so you did not feel on top of your neighbor and they were prompt but didn't rush you at all. The food was excellent and a lot. Certainly not precious. We ordered one entree a piece and had half of it left over. Wide variety of noodles,beef, fish and chicken sushi. If you like asian food there is a good range. Very nice. Would really recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Our server Zac ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Everything was excellent. Our server Zack was great and very knowledgeable. My wife and I both had the wassibi crusted filet mignon and the temperature was perfect on both. I would highly recommend the Pod.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

POD never disappoints

Dined on March 11, 2016

Still the same excellent sushi and sides, consistently excellent, even if very salty, but that's sushi, etc...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun night ---food was very good---servic ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Fun night ---food was very good---service was great---but was a pit pricey for small plates---would definitely go back or recommend to a friend---the place was alive!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Pod is one of my all-time favorite place ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Pod is one of my all-time favorite places. Always a wonderful dining experience.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pod Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 5, 2016

Staff did a good job seating us where our kids would not be in the way of other patrons, gave us some relief from worrying about them (even though they behaved great). Also added a sparkler to the birthday girl's dessert, nice touch. Enjoyed the atmosphere and the entrees and appetizers, would recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ashley was exceptional

Dined on March 5, 2016

On Friday, March 4, 2016, I dined with Ashley as my server. The manage zoned in her section was very helpful in accommodating my party to a more preferred table. Although we were moved, we were lucky enough to still experience Ashley as our server. She was very knowledgeable of the menu and helpful in making decisions on what to enjoy. Ashley was very attentive during our time with her. We never had to ask for a refile; our cups were always full. Her timing was very synchronized with the flow of our dinning style. For example, during each course our pates never sat for a long time after we were done enjoying what was plated on them. Despite the fact it was a typical busy Friday night, we felt as if we were her only table. Quality customer service such as this is hard to find at restaurants! My next visit to Pod, I'll be sure to ask for Ashley! I suggest you do the same. She will be sure to make sure you are well taken care of, which in my book is always a great way to capitalizes a great dinning experience!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Pan-Asian Restaurant in Univ. City

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

I am always amazed, as a foodie, New Yorker, how good and diverse the restaurants are in Philadelphia and Pod is no exception. We were in town, visiting U. Penn with my son and Pod was recommended to us by a friend. We had no idea the restaurant was literally right next door to our hotel at the Inn at Penn which made it that much more convenient. The food was excellent, our server (a Penn student) was helpful with the varied choice menu, all of our selections were delicious and the ambiance was upbeat and energetic without being too loud. I hope my son goes to Penn just so I can go back to Pod!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Still a Philly fav after all of these years.

Dined on February 27, 2016

10 years ago it was impossible for me to find Japanese food and ambience this inventive in Philadelphia. Now I can find menus like this (kind of) in burbs but not the total package that Pod offers in terms of food, drink, service and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yeah Baby...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Transport yourself back into the totally "Mod" 70's and then treat yourself to delicious and innovative sushi and Asian inspired specials. The cocktails are innovative and delicious, the service is excellent and the food is fresh and inspired. Try the chef's mochi tasting for dessert. We were totally in love with the place by the time we left!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Haven't missed a dinner at Pod for a Pen ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Haven't missed a dinner at Pod for a Penn visit. It's great.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great place overall and fantastic food! ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great place overall and fantastic food! Service could have been a bit more attentive... Food came out to each of us (six in total) at different times with one particularly late. (They delivered late the wrong order and then had to wait more for the correct order. I have made the manager aware, politely, and while did not ask manager did not offer to remedy in some for for the inconvenience. But we did like it and realized it was very, very busy we are definitely giving it another chance. Ambience and food are just great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved it!

Dined on February 27, 2016

I loved the feel of it and the staff was very friendly. It was perfect- exactly what I was looking for. So glad we went!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.