About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Restaurant Photos

Yellowtail
Ice Sculpture Sorbet
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Uni
Seafood Fried Rice With Shrimp, Bay Scallops, Lobster And Egg
Tempura Rock Shrimp with Grilled Pineapple and Candied Walnuts
Sushi Roll
Green Tea
Salmon Avocado Roll
Sashimi
Rockin Spicy Tuna
Kobe Beef on Hot Rock
Kobe Beef
Pork Dumplings
Fluffernutter Spring Rolls
lobster roll
Avocado Roll
Lobster Tempura
Sake Mojito
Frosty Kobe Fried Rice
pomegranate margarita
Chicken Yakitori
Sushi
Hot Chocolate
Salmon and avocado roll
Shrimp Tempura Rolls
Tempura Softshell With Thai Peanut Sauce
Kalbi Beef Tacos With Kimchee And Wasabi Guacamole
Lobster Tempura With Chili Crab Sauce
Sushi Platter
Crispy Rice (Creamy Spicy Tuna On Crispy Sushi Rice)
Soft Shell Crab Sushi
Lobster Tsukemen
Pod Lobster Roll
Pork Belly Steamed Bun
Duck Two Ways
Chicken Pad Thai
edamame
Crab Salad
Mango and Ginger Soda
Fried Calamari Salad
Calamari Salad With Lemongrass Dressing
Caterpiller Roll
Steamed Pork Belly Buns With Hoisin And Pickled Vegetables
Lobster Rolls
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Kobe Beef On Hot Rocks And Crab Dumplings
Lamb Lo Mein
Chilean Sea Bass
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
Tempura Softshell Crab/Shallot-Yuzu Vinaigrette
Rainbow Roll
Butterscotch Crumb Cake
Bbq Short Ribs Robata
Spring Rolls
Pot Stickers
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Rio Grande Roll
Bbq Pork Tenderloin
Fatty Tuna Sushi
Pink Martini
Vanilla Bean Mouse
Pad Thai
Fried Rice
Blood Orange Pomegranate
Mocha Brownie W/Cappuccino Ice Cream
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
California Roll
Crab Fried Rice
crab spring roll

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in University City ›

good for groups (87)
fit for foodies (84)
special occasion (64)
See All
hot spot (48)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for lunch (34)
vibrant bar scene (27)
late-night find (19)
romantic (11)
notable wine list (4)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2069 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a great time it was delicious and we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great time it was delicious and we enjoyed our time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. Expensive but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was really good. Expensive but good. The restaurant was very loud and we were seated at a weird end of a long table.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my first lunch at Pod (I had di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my first lunch at Pod (I had dinner there a few times before). The lunch is an excellent deal. We ordered a salad, garlic mushrooms and two sushi rolls, a perfect amount of food for 2, and all delicious! The service was fantastic. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff were friendly and provided excelle ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Staff were friendly and provided excellent service. Food is outstanding. My favorite had been the Pod Lobster rolls but now I have to add the Spice Crispy Tuna Rice to it my list - it is wonderful with the crunch of the fried (literally) rice and the creaminess of the tuna and then the kick of the small Serrano chili - it is a mouth full of fun! I also highly recommend the Blood Orange Sidecar (hennessy cognac, stirrings ginger liqueur, blood orange puree) if you like ginger and cognac. Also definitely worth trying is the Macadamia Chicken Stir-fry. Note the chicken is breaded which make it crispy and delicious but not weight conscious friendly. The Shrimp Pad Thai was also good - not too spicy which was good for my husband, it just had a nice bite to it. It is not inexpensive but it is worth the price. Order a couple of plates each and plan to share and you will probably have enough left over for lunch the next day which makes it more reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service at the bar and table. Both ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service at the bar and table. Both bartender and waiter were knowledgeable and friendly. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My sister and I took our mother who love ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My sister and I took our mother who loves dim sum....fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They have a gluten free menu, which is h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

They have a gluten free menu, which is hard to find in a Asian rest. Another starr gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ambience was modern and enjoyable. T ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The ambience was modern and enjoyable. The pods are not easy to reserve and seemed only available for large groups. The sushi and the dinner was good but the restaurant as a whole for me was a one time experience. Felt like a tourist trap. A good hot spot for cocktails to try especially while vacationing.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great experience and they don't ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a great experience and they don't wimp out on their restaurant week menu! Well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time at Pod and it did ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is my third time at Pod and it did not disappoint. The Pod lobster roll is one of my favorite dishes and it was as good as I remembered. Definitely (for me at least) worth the price. Pod is on the expensive side but the food is excellent and the service was extremely good. I would recommend trying a couple of dishes each and sharing and then taking home leftovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was awesome!! She was on poi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was awesome!!

She was on point and uber professional.

An ex pastry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed this evening very much. We h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed this evening very much. We had a gift certificate to a Steven Starr restaurant and decided to use it at Pod. Service was excellent, food also, nice table, good martinis!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were not impressed by a recent mid-we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were not impressed by a recent mid-week dinner here. We were seated in the near-empty restaurant for our 6 p.m. reservation, and minutes later a couple was seated immediately next to us -- when the whole restaurant was open. When we objected (POD's seating is very close), the manager initially resisted, but then moved our table. Service was very rushed -- wanting to clear plates too soon (again, the restaurant was empty; it's not as if they needed the table), hovering rather than letting us simply dine and talk. All in all, not a terribly pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I thought the service was ok... didn't r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I thought the service was ok... didn't really make me feel special when it came to my birthday... felt rushed to order and couldn't understand the menu that well depended on friends for food choices and would've thought the waitress would've been more helpful... also couldn't understand why they were charging me for cupcakes that I wanted to disperse among my friends cup cakes that I brought that were already prepared cup cakes that didn't require any cutting or prep work from the chef or the restaurant but yet they were charging my $3 dollars per person for each cupcake they had to simply hand out thought it was really inconsiderate and greedy! Was not pleased with the service especially since it was my birthday would go on for a regular dinner but not for a special occasion. .. the prices for the food however was good.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Pod is a great spot located near the Uni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Pod is a great spot located near the University area of Philadelphia. The food is consistent. The service is always very good. It's slightly on the pricey size, but worth it because of knowing what you're going to get.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yellowtail served with blood lines still ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Yellowtail served with blood lines still on the fish. Prices of sake on the wine list did not include bottle prices--we ordered a $38.00 sake, got charged $70.00, waitress never told us the $38 price was for a carafe. (Restaurant did adjust our bill.) Sushi tasted like it came from a supermarket in a plastic tray. Miso was good and the oh toro was terrific, even if way overpriced. Hostess tried hard to make it good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We love coming here . Your California ro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love coming here . Your California roll and shrimp tempura roll are the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful food and service, and specialt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful food and service, and specialty cocktails are outstanding. Although a little pricey, it is good value

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have enjoyed Pod since it opened and wou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Have enjoyed Pod since it opened and would like to see a few of the old time favorites back on the menu.

Still find it to be a terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good luncheon restaurant, good se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A very good luncheon restaurant, good service and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible service -- untrained waiter, wr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Horrible service -- untrained waiter, wrong dish and then correct one brought in last moment -- too late. I bring in my students groups, always ask for pod almost never obliged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

One of the best places to find Sushi in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best places to find Sushi in the city. Can not wait to return as the staff was very attentive throughout the entire night,

Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for making my 30th birthday sp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Thank you for making my 30th birthday special. Tyler was great!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Todd is passionate about the food t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Chef Todd is passionate about the food that comes out of his kitchen. It is always cooked perfectly and beautifully presented. Service is attentive without being obtrusive. We celebrated our anniversary and were given a quiet table as requested. Thanks for always going the extra mile to make sure my food allergies are remembered and substitutions are made to allow me to have a variety of choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Lunch!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I have never been disappointed at Pod.. Every meal there is wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect!! Pod rocks

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Perfect!! Pod rocks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never Disappoints

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Alway enjoy my time at Pod. Great to get together with friends. Really appreciate that the menu is vegan friendly and even can work with someone who is gluten free. My daughter is vegan and loves it. I even went with a friend who is very particular and definitely not a "foodie" and Pod was able to come up with something for her. On the most recent visit, stayed talking with friends way beyond dinner was over and no rush for us to leave. Service is always friendly and never rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pod has been in business for over 20 yea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Pod has been in business for over 20 years. Not once has their food slacked off. Me and my boyfriend went for our anniversary and ordered the chicken potstickers, spicy tuna roll and wasabi crusted filet mignon. All were incredible. Will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow, don't miss out on this experience! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Wow, don't miss out on this experience! The food is spectacular, and if you don't like sushi, don't worry, there are plenty of other mouthwatering items on the menu, like the ribs that fall off the bone, yum!! If dinner wasn't good enough, the fluffernutter and peanut butter spring rolls with dipping chocolate for dessert certainly topped the night off!! The restaurant itself is also very cool, with a very unique layout. You definitely feel like you had an "experience", not just a regular dinner by the time you leave. Service was also excellent, would highly recommend!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again, we had an excellent dinner a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Once again, we had an excellent dinner at pod. Chef Todd was at the top of his game, as usual. We had two dinner specials that were delicious and beautifully prepared. The soft shell crabs were crispy and meaty! The new sushi chef is serving imaginative and exquisite new rolls. All of my food allergies were handled by altering ingredients slightly without compromising taste. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very Fun, Supper yummy, I am ready to go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very Fun, Supper yummy, I am ready to go back.

The specialty drinks alcoholic and non-alcoholic were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best sushi I've ever had! The fish was S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best sushi I've ever had! The fish was SO fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. Full menu for the non-sushi eaters. Very modern decor, which doesn't fit with sushi but it was unique! Highly recommend this restaurant if you're on U Penn or Drexel campuses.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

POD 2

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

See previous review, as I left one the other day********

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

George Jetson's home

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Have been going here for years & love it's 60's jet age decor complete w/ Japanese super hero & Manga movies on the TV screen. Asian w/ a twist like their Kobe wasabi beef burger or fried chicken sandwich for lunch.

Have been for lunch & dinner w/ business clients & everyone hands down wants to go to POD. Excellent, attentive & knowledgeable service. They also cater to special food needs for people w/ certain food allergies.

Not to be issed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been to Pod many times and we are N ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Have been to Pod many times and we are NEVER disappointed. Funky, cool and the food is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was what you'd expect from disin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was what you'd expect from disinterested college students. I had really high expectations about going to this place based on the pictures. Had been trying to get there for about a year. Will probably never go back. Let me list the reasons why. Couldn't hear the waitress and she always picked the worst moment to ask if we needed anything. Felt like our conversation was being interrupted. Could hardly understand her. Forgot condiments for the table. Order two espressos for dessert and the came out two different colors and with different amounts in each cup. When I told the person that delivered our dessert he seem ed REALLY disinterested. I really doubt I'll go out of my way for this place and I love Sushi. Studied for years at Drexel and really want ed to like this place. Hire professionals for such a place. Not just anyone wanting a job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

This place is all right. The sushi dishe ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

This place is all right. The sushi dishes are actually quite good though quite expensive, but the dishes from the grill side are a hit or miss. The #1 tea duck is quite good, although for $27 sadly you don't get more than just 8 slices of duck. The mushroom ramen is not that good, so I would steer away from that. Overall, the food is fine but not worth the expense.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable spot for a group dinner.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Enjoyable spot for a group dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Love this place

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

My only knock is that the tables are a bit small and make for a tight squeeze when multiple plates are on the table at once. Other than that, this place is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Mother's Day Pod visit

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

My family took me to dinner at Pod on Mothers Day. We were fortunate enough to score one of the round and colorful dining pods. My son enjoyed changing the colors of our Pod throughout the meal. The sushi was very fresh and the dim sum selections are creative and tasty. We partook of the extensive sake list and were disappointed. A very unexpected and enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.