About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Restaurant Photos

Yellowtail - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Rock Shrimp Tempura - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Uni - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Seafood Fried Rice With Shrimp, Bay Scallops, Lobster And Egg - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Tempura Rock Shrimp with Grilled Pineapple and Candied Walnuts - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Sushi Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Green Tea - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Salmon Avocado Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Sashimi - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Rockin Spicy Tuna - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Beef on Hot Rock - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Beef - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Pork Dumplings - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Fluffernutter Spring Rolls - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Avocado Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
lobster roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Ice Sculpture Sorbet - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Tempura - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Frosty Kobe Fried Rice - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
pomegranate margarita - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Sake Mojito - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Yakitori - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Sushi - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Hot Chocolate - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Salmon and avocado roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Shrimp Tempura Rolls - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Tempura With Chili Crab Sauce - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Kalbi Beef Tacos With Kimchee And Wasabi Guacamole - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Tempura Softshell With Thai Peanut Sauce - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Sushi Platter - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Crispy Rice (Creamy Spicy Tuna On Crispy Sushi Rice) - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Soft Shell Crab Sushi - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Tsukemen - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Pod Lobster Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Pork Belly Steamed Bun - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Duck Two Ways  - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Pad Thai - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
edamame - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Crab Salad - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Mango and Ginger Soda - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Fried Calamari Salad - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Calamari Salad With Lemongrass Dressing - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Steamed Pork Belly Buns With Hoisin And Pickled Vegetables - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Lobster Rolls - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Caterpiller Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Chocolate Bread Pudding - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Kobe Beef On Hot Rocks And Crab Dumplings - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Lamb Lo Mein - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Tempura Softshell Crab/Shallot-Yuzu Vinaigrette - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Chilean Sea Bass - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Rainbow Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Spicy Tuna Rolls - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Rio Grande Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Pot Stickers - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Fried Rice - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Fatty Tuna Sushi - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Spring Rolls - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Bbq Pork Tenderloin - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Bbq Short Ribs Robata - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Pad Thai - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Vanilla Bean Mouse - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Blood Orange Pomegranate - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Butterscotch Crumb Cake - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Pink Martini - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Mocha Brownie W/Cappuccino Ice Cream - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Chicken Lettuce Wraps - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
California Roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
Crab Fried Rice - Pod, Philadelphia, PA
crab spring roll - Pod, Philadelphia, PA

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (36)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Modern Decor (23)
Fun (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Family Style (8)
Private Room (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Romantic (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Tapas (5)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Spicy (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
2154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Haven't been here in years – glad we mad ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Haven't been here in years – glad we made the trip! The service was absolutely excellent and the food delicious. Thanks Pod!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very fresh sushi. A pleasure.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Very fresh sushi. A pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I selected and visited the Pod twice, b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

I selected and visited the Pod twice, both were birthday occasions. I experienced the Pod table and the open table; both were very nice and the abeyance was relaxing. I prefer the pods more due to more privacy as well as the light settings.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Old Starr Veteran server and loyalist. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Old Starr Veteran server and loyalist.

4 years at pod.

I miss the old direction of the menu when Schulson and Zama were in control. Shocked you removed the Wasabi Crusted Filet..I believe that was a staple and consistent. Same as Buddakan, why have the ponzu chicken and AC but not in Philly?

Regardless, food was outstanding still and our service from Davonte was outstanding as well. We will be asking for him again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When your server states that that food c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

When your server states that that food comes out as it's ready, be sure to request that some attention to timing be paid, before delivering it to your table. There is no reason one guest should receive all of what they ordered in a span of 4 minutes, before the rest receive even an appetizer. For those prices and for that brand, the server should not take for granted that that approach always works.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The spicy tuna crispy rice was definitel ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The spicy tuna crispy rice was definitely the best thing we had. Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Thoughtful menu, good variety, easy park ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Thoughtful menu, good variety, easy parking at adjacent hotel, service a little rushed, great ambiance. I hadn't been there for years and the concept, food quality, and vibe were still great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Went for a celebration dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for a celebration dinner. Food was very good and presented well. Our server was attentive but not overbearing. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great with a fairly large m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was great with a fairly large menu and because the food comes out family style, you can try a lot of different dishes. I suggest you order in stages in stead of all at once.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

young hip pan-Asian place that appeals t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

young hip pan-Asian place that appeals to the Penn student crowd. servers are a little overtaxed so service can suffer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Our server was excellent. She was attent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was excellent. She was attentive without being overbearing. She knew the components of the menu. The food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go before a show at Annen ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great place to go before a show at Annenberg. Easy access! Good food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Love the ambiance, food was good!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love the ambiance, food was good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My 1st time at Pod, and I was impressed! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

My 1st time at Pod, and I was impressed! Cool atmosphere, very good service (attentive but not hovering), interesting but not too weird menu, yummy drinks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner as usual at Pod this pa ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful dinner as usual at Pod this past weekend. Hostess was very accommodating, bar service was excellent, and food was outstanding as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent selection, outstanding quality ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent selection, outstanding quality ingredients, preparation and service. Always an enjoyable dining event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Spicy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite restaurant to visit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant to visit in Philadelphia. Great selection of Asian Fusion food, along with fun drinks. The atmosphere in the room is a lot of fun as well. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat customers and never disappointed! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Repeat customers and never disappointed! Whenever we visit our son, we make sure to have one evening with him and a friend at POD. This last evening, the food was outstanding!!! Compliments to the Chef.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got one of the color-coded booths. N ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We got one of the color-coded booths. Nice. Food|service very good!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

POD is my go-to place for a nice sushi l ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 28, 2016

POD is my go-to place for a nice sushi lunch. It can be a bit loud, but I'm OK with the noise level as the sushi is so good.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pod was great.... miss the salmon . But ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Pod was great.... miss the salmon . But all are courteous and I always enjoy my meal...

Linda

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious! Small portions for the price ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Delicious! Small portions for the price but it's perfect if you don't want to get too filled up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The flavors ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was excellent. The flavors distinctive and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our third visit to Pod. This t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was our third visit to Pod. This time was much less noisy. The food was equally good as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We've dined at Pod on several occasions ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We've dined at Pod on several occasions especially for celebrations and anniversaries. On this visit the food was good as usual, especially the robata grill. The only issue we had was that the New York strip steak did not come with the potatoes as promised on the menu. Instead it came with rice which was disappointing. Also the steak was not seasoned well. Still love Pod but was a bit taken aback by the rice with the steak which we felt was an odd combination and we left leaving like we were grossly overcharged for the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Always great food and wonderful service- ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always great food and wonderful service- LOVE the chocolate sorbet!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome from the food to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Everything was awesome from the food to the atmosphere!

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always attractive and always delicious! ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always attractive and always delicious! Our family always goes to Pod when in the area. Many great dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We went for the Taest of Asia the Waite ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We went for the Taest of Asia the Waite staff Sean to be knowledgeable about the cuisine and there service was on point overall it was an excellent time

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu already looked great online, an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The menu already looked great online, and the taste of the food itself exceeded even our high expectations. Our group ordered a lot of different dishes to share for the table, including desserts, and we were not disappointed in a single one, from rice dishes to salads to dumplings. The drinks and desserts were delicious too, and all very creative. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. The decor was great too, with the space age-y pod theme, although the bathrooms were a little too weird for my taste (but that's a very minor point that did not detract from the overall experience). I didn't mark "outstanding" for value because it's not that kind of restaurant and it wasn't cheap, but it was really a pleasure to dine there and I hope I will get the chance to do so again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My family and I loved Pod! Wonderful, in ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My family and I loved Pod! Wonderful, inventive menu with something for everyone. Plus the cocktails are to die for!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waiter Tyler was like a sharpened pen ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My waiter Tyler was like a sharpened pencil. Straight and on point! Rightrightrightright. 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a family dinner and lived all of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We had a family dinner and lived all of our dishes!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent experience. The at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was an excellent experience. The atmosphere was outstanding and our waiter was very conscientious of everything and anything. I surprisingly enjoyed the quirky Godzilla movies and the futuristic vibes made it fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Delicious! Had dinner last week-e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always Delicious! Had dinner last week-end while visiting our son for Parents Week-end. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu. Each dish was delicious. The menu is varied so it suits our dietary needs...vegetarian and carnivore. Highly recommend eating at Pod.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an awesome time at Pod. Great ambian ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had an awesome time at Pod. Great ambiance, and the food was splendid...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, got the lettuce wraps sp ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent food, got the lettuce wraps spicy beef ramen edamame pork dumplings and crab fried rice

All were amazing but the pork dumplings and fried rice were nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Interesting dishes, perfectly prepared, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Interesting dishes, perfectly prepared, wide variety. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. It's a bit more ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The food was very good. It's a bit more expensive but worth it. The music was too loud but I'm sensitive to that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.