About Pod

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Restaurant Photos

Yellowtail
Ice Sculpture Sorbet
Rock Shrimp Tempura
Uni
Seafood Fried Rice With Shrimp, Bay Scallops, Lobster And Egg
Tempura Rock Shrimp with Grilled Pineapple and Candied Walnuts
Sushi Roll
Green Tea
Salmon Avocado Roll
Sashimi
Rockin Spicy Tuna
Kobe Beef on Hot Rock
Kobe Beef
Pork Dumplings
Fluffernutter Spring Rolls
Avocado Roll
lobster roll
Lobster Tempura
Frosty Kobe Fried Rice
pomegranate margarita
Sake Mojito
Chicken Yakitori
Sushi
Hot Chocolate
Salmon and avocado roll
Shrimp Tempura Rolls
Lobster Tempura With Chili Crab Sauce
Kalbi Beef Tacos With Kimchee And Wasabi Guacamole
Tempura Softshell With Thai Peanut Sauce
Sushi Platter
Crispy Rice (Creamy Spicy Tuna On Crispy Sushi Rice)
Soft Shell Crab Sushi
Lobster Tsukemen
Pod Lobster Roll
Pork Belly Steamed Bun
Duck Two Ways
Chicken Pad Thai
edamame
Crab Salad
Mango and Ginger Soda
Fried Calamari Salad
Calamari Salad With Lemongrass Dressing
Steamed Pork Belly Buns With Hoisin And Pickled Vegetables
Lobster Rolls
Caterpiller Roll
Chocolate Bread Pudding
Kobe Beef On Hot Rocks And Crab Dumplings
Lamb Lo Mein
Wasabi Crusted Filet Mignon
Tempura Softshell Crab/Shallot-Yuzu Vinaigrette
Chilean Sea Bass
Rainbow Roll
Spicy Tuna Rolls
Rio Grande Roll
Pot Stickers
Fried Rice
Fatty Tuna Sushi
Spring Rolls
Bbq Pork Tenderloin
Bbq Short Ribs Robata
Pad Thai
Vanilla Bean Mouse
Blood Orange Pomegranate
Butterscotch Crumb Cake
Pink Martini
Mocha Brownie W/Cappuccino Ice Cream
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
California Roll
Crab Fried Rice
crab spring roll

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Asian
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in University City ›

Good for Groups (77)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Special Occasion (61)
See All
Hot Spot (48)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Late-night Find (20)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent atmosphere and the food is gre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent atmosphere and the food is great!

I will come again.

Keith B😎

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great dinner at Pod! The atmosp ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great dinner at Pod! The atmosphere is very new age- it is almost all white with colored lights that chance periodically. Very cool looking. We ordered several dishes to share. We had the chicken potstickers, Penn sushi roll, Caesar kale salad, beef skewers and macadamia chicken. It was all delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pod is always reliably good, with respec ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pod is always reliably good, with respect to food, service and ambiance. Only issue is it gets a little loud so go early if you want to hear every last word your dining partner(s) utter. Highly recommend their cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was the second time there and it wa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was the second time there and it was 9pm. The first time we were there we were 2h earlier. What a difference!

This time on the conveyor belt 2 or 3 lonely plates were cruising around. When we dared to take one we had a hard time to get the rolls off the plate. They must have been on there for quite some time.

There were quite a few waiters and not that many guests. And usually I don't complain about the service in the US, when it is not fast enough. But this time our waiter didn't show up for a long time after we came in.

So for the conveyor belt come early and make sure enough guests sitting on it.

The plates we ordered were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

We love Pod. Great food. Very fun place, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We love Pod. Great food. Very fun place, especially with a group. Can't wait to return

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant, first rate service, pea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good restaurant, first rate service, peasant atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

this was probably my 5th or 6th time at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

this was probably my 5th or 6th time at pod + it never disappoints! service was ok, we didn't see him much, but when he was around he was good. the menu is pretty reasonably priced but the portions are relatively small, we all finished our meals and definitely could've eaten more. atmosphere is so fun and the food is always yummy! other than portion size, no complaints here!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Chef Todd keeps a watchful eye on his ki ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Chef Todd keeps a watchful eye on his kitchen staff making sure that everything brought to the table is perfectly prepared. The servers and chefs make sure that all foods served to my table are suitable for my many food allergies, making pod one of the only restaurants in the city that I can dine in safely. The new sushi chefs turn out the best and most beautiful sushi in philly. Food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here. I lovedit.n ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was my first time here. I lovedit.nnnmmmmm?mmmmmmmmm

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. we ordered six ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The food was outstanding. we ordered six rolls between six of us and then appetizers which came out first. the service was sub par - I expect the server was not attentive because we weren't drinking alcohol and therefore he wasn't expecting a large tip. At one point a different server came over and started his spiel as if we had just sat down! However the ambiance was great and the food exceptional

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was oustanding

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was oustanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had clearly requested a table for two ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I had clearly requested a table for two by the window, which was completely ignored. When I pointed out that I do not like to sit in the midst of the restaurant as the noise level is very high, the hostess was not even apologetic. It used to be that Pod would always honor the request. Is there new management? I had to make a suggestion that there are still tables by window. The attitude irked me. I also have "gluten free" in my record, yet had to ask for a gluten free menu and received the dinner one. Please improve service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

The food is enticing and mouth-watering. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food is enticing and mouth-watering. Definitely try the Rock Shrimp Tempura, Wagyu Spare Ribs, or the Crib Fried Rice. The service was great as well as the Drinks. My overall experience was good and I plan to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for lunch. I could tell it would ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Went for lunch. I could tell it would have been infinity more cool at night. Expected more "pods."

Food was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Was disappointed. Appetizers were good b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Was disappointed. Appetizers were good but entrees were mediocre. Atmosphere is cold and does not look like it has been updated since it was built. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service and the food was outstandi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service and the food was outstanding. The menu options were great and the portion sizes were perfect. I would recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Flames🔥. My server Patrick was amazing. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Flames🔥. My server Patrick was amazing. Had to wear sunglasses the entire meal because it was fire. Sports.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and fun ambiance. There real ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food and fun ambiance. There really isn't more that needs to be said.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time it was delicious and we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Had a great time it was delicious and we enjoyed our time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good. Expensive but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was really good. Expensive but good. The restaurant was very loud and we were seated at a weird end of a long table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This was my first lunch at Pod (I had di ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my first lunch at Pod (I had dinner there a few times before). The lunch is an excellent deal. We ordered a salad, garlic mushrooms and two sushi rolls, a perfect amount of food for 2, and all delicious! The service was fantastic. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff were friendly and provided excelle ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Staff were friendly and provided excellent service. Food is outstanding. My favorite had been the Pod Lobster rolls but now I have to add the Spice Crispy Tuna Rice to it my list - it is wonderful with the crunch of the fried (literally) rice and the creaminess of the tuna and then the kick of the small Serrano chili - it is a mouth full of fun! I also highly recommend the Blood Orange Sidecar (hennessy cognac, stirrings ginger liqueur, blood orange puree) if you like ginger and cognac. Also definitely worth trying is the Macadamia Chicken Stir-fry. Note the chicken is breaded which make it crispy and delicious but not weight conscious friendly. The Shrimp Pad Thai was also good - not too spicy which was good for my husband, it just had a nice bite to it. It is not inexpensive but it is worth the price. Order a couple of plates each and plan to share and you will probably have enough left over for lunch the next day which makes it more reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service at the bar and table. Both ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great service at the bar and table. Both bartender and waiter were knowledgeable and friendly. Food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My sister and I took our mother who love ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My sister and I took our mother who loves dim sum....fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They have a gluten free menu, which is h ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

They have a gluten free menu, which is hard to find in a Asian rest. Another starr gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The ambience was modern and enjoyable. T ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The ambience was modern and enjoyable. The pods are not easy to reserve and seemed only available for large groups. The sushi and the dinner was good but the restaurant as a whole for me was a one time experience. Felt like a tourist trap. A good hot spot for cocktails to try especially while vacationing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a great experience and they don't ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always a great experience and they don't wimp out on their restaurant week menu! Well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my third time at Pod and it did ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

This is my third time at Pod and it did not disappoint. The Pod lobster roll is one of my favorite dishes and it was as good as I remembered. Definitely (for me at least) worth the price. Pod is on the expensive side but the food is excellent and the service was extremely good. I would recommend trying a couple of dishes each and sharing and then taking home leftovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was awesome!! She was on poi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was awesome!!

She was on point and uber professional.

An ex pastry chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed this evening very much. We h ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed this evening very much. We had a gift certificate to a Steven Starr restaurant and decided to use it at Pod. Service was excellent, food also, nice table, good martinis!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were not impressed by a recent mid-we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We were not impressed by a recent mid-week dinner here. We were seated in the near-empty restaurant for our 6 p.m. reservation, and minutes later a couple was seated immediately next to us -- when the whole restaurant was open. When we objected (POD's seating is very close), the manager initially resisted, but then moved our table. Service was very rushed -- wanting to clear plates too soon (again, the restaurant was empty; it's not as if they needed the table), hovering rather than letting us simply dine and talk. All in all, not a terribly pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I thought the service was ok... didn't r ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I thought the service was ok... didn't really make me feel special when it came to my birthday... felt rushed to order and couldn't understand the menu that well depended on friends for food choices and would've thought the waitress would've been more helpful... also couldn't understand why they were charging me for cupcakes that I wanted to disperse among my friends cup cakes that I brought that were already prepared cup cakes that didn't require any cutting or prep work from the chef or the restaurant but yet they were charging my $3 dollars per person for each cupcake they had to simply hand out thought it was really inconsiderate and greedy! Was not pleased with the service especially since it was my birthday would go on for a regular dinner but not for a special occasion. .. the prices for the food however was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Pod is a great spot located near the Uni ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Pod is a great spot located near the University area of Philadelphia. The food is consistent. The service is always very good. It's slightly on the pricey size, but worth it because of knowing what you're going to get.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yellowtail served with blood lines still ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Yellowtail served with blood lines still on the fish. Prices of sake on the wine list did not include bottle prices--we ordered a $38.00 sake, got charged $70.00, waitress never told us the $38 price was for a carafe. (Restaurant did adjust our bill.) Sushi tasted like it came from a supermarket in a plastic tray. Miso was good and the oh toro was terrific, even if way overpriced. Hostess tried hard to make it good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We love coming here . Your California ro ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love coming here . Your California roll and shrimp tempura roll are the best I ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful food and service, and specialt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Wonderful food and service, and specialty cocktails are outstanding. Although a little pricey, it is good value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have enjoyed Pod since it opened and wou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Have enjoyed Pod since it opened and would like to see a few of the old time favorites back on the menu.

Still find it to be a terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very good luncheon restaurant, good se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

A very good luncheon restaurant, good service and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible service -- untrained waiter, wr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Horrible service -- untrained waiter, wrong dish and then correct one brought in last moment -- too late. I bring in my students groups, always ask for pod almost never obliged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

One of the best places to find Sushi in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

One of the best places to find Sushi in the city. Can not wait to return as the staff was very attentive throughout the entire night,

Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.