Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Pod

Philadelphia restaurant impresario Stephen Starr's retro-modern offering, located in the town's "University City" neighborhood, lets its guests sip sake, beer, and colored cocktails while munching on fresh sushi, dim sum, and Pan-Asian entrees. The hip, contemporary, "starship-like" space was conceptualized by famed Manhattan designer David Rockwell and influenced by the films "Sleeper" and "2001: A Space Odyssey."

3636 Sansom Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Asian, Japanese, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 36th & 37th Streets on Sansom

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 387-1803

Website:
http://www.podrestaurant.com/

Catering:
With delectable cuisine and stellar service, Stephen STARR Events brings the experiences of the wildly successful STARR Restaurants to the world of catering. “Re-inventing” the traditional event, Stephen STARR Events prepares unique chef-driven creations as well as signature selections from the restaurants with menus tailored to each client. For more information on full-service catering for small and large private, social and corporate functions, as well as, quick-service options, please contact Stephen STARR Events at (215) 923-2675.

Parking Details:
Pod offers valet parking seven days a week for $20 per vehicle. There are private, non-affiliated lots in the area and limited street parking available to our guests as well.

Public Transit:
Market-Frankford El, 34th Street Stop.

Executive Chef:
Hugh Moran, Brian Baglin (GM)

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
All of our PODs may be guaranteed through our special event coordinator, Diane Farina. She can be reached at 267.238.3650.
For PODs 1 and 2 (seating for between 6 and 9 guests) there is a $420 food and beverage minimum.
For POD 3 (seating for between 8 and 13 guests) there is a $625 food and beverage mimimum.

Private Dining

Immerse yourself in a fun and futuristic dining experience at Pod on Penn’s Campus. Whether you want to throw a graduation bash or host a special birthday party, Pod offers several options for groups of varying sizes. Rent the whole restaurant, gather in the private room or settle into a cozy pod.

Pod Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (48)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Special Occasion (37)
Fun (36)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Casual (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
People Watching (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Family Style (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Business Meals (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Private Room (12)
Healthy (12)
Romantic (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Spicy (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Vegan (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tapas (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and service is very high quality!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Went to Pod as a last minute decision (left an event in S Philly early) - and we couldn't have been happier with our choice! We had the Calamari Salad (our favorite thing), Lobster & Pekin Duck Fried Rice, the Pod Lobster roll and 1 specialty roll - which was created just for us - which we thought was great on a busy Saturday night. With the exception of dessert which was super bad (blueberry bread pudding) - everything was outstanding - including the service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great experience at Pod! We ordered the spicy tuna crispy rice, calamari salad, pork dumplings, rock shrimp... all were amazing! Our server was very personable as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The sushi rolls are fantastic. I made the mistake of assuming that my first roll needed wasabi and soya sauce. But after I tasted one without, I never went back. A great meal.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

See previous reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Usually, the food is great. The noise us always a negative factor. The close proximity of tables comes at the expense of privacy. The service was good but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food in a modern, fun setting. Greatly appreciated the fact that the wait staff did not rush us to leave the table. The crab fried rice was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Over all excellence of the place and food was almost ruined by the choice and level of the music. WAY too loud and too hip for the Sunday dinner crowd. OK at Martini or other more "hip" Starr places, not here. I was with only two other people and could barely hear them, even with great effort.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My favorite sushi place....in Philly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter Stephon was great! Loved the sushi! Have to get a pod next time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

food always delicious and comes out when it's ready

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Lunch is always great at Pod. There are lots of vegetarian options, and the kitchen is very flexible with specific requests (like "nothing spicy" when dining with a 3 year old!). Food comes quickly and overall it's a fun -albeit somewhat pricey-' meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was excellent I really loved the atmosphere!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food great, water (if not bottled) tastes like water from a gym pool - disgusting. Kind of set the tone for the rest of the night because you wouldn't want to take a drink when you needed it. Bathrooms gross. And the tables on the floor are way too close together.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A fun place to dine. Food was terrific and there was something for everyone including the vegan in our group of five. Service was superb -- friendly and attentive without being intrusive and cloying. Definitely on the noisy side; next time we'll try to get a table in a "pod."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Been there four times over the years. Good service but did not record my open table attendance. Diverse and appealing menu. Had pad Thai and good number of shrimp . Noodles a bit dry. Also enjoyed the TNT roll -?excellent. Nice selection of drinks too.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Service was excellent very accommodating. Great and convenient to get to from 30th St. Train station and airport. Parking was made very easy with convenient and safe valet parking.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A unique atmosphere--with an extraordinary pan asian menu--a wonderful place for thoughtful and an engaging conversation. Feels like the future.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our server was excellent and special dietary requests were taken into consideration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food but changes to the drink menu are not acceptable. Bring back the "yellow" or the "sunrise". It is like removing the best wine from your menu Why. Not ok mr. Starr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

While I love the atmosphere, drinks & food it can be a bit pricy. We ordered several items to share one of them being the Wagyu Beef. It was literally 3 bite-sized pieces for $18. That's a bit much. Drinks are delicious & it's a great atmosphere so I can overlook the pricing in favor of these things. The Robata items are delicious but again, two pieces of shrimp for $14. There are several other items on the menu that are teasonably priced and the food really is delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent. I recommend the rock shrimp and the bread pudding dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Staff was great and accommodating from the hostess, bartender, to the waitress. We were running late, I called in, and the hostess was very kind to keep our reservation. I was worried because I had not been there in so many years, but it was still delicious with a fun trendy environment. Worth it for the special occasion. Thank you POD!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food has changed. Chic wraps consistent. Very good. Drinks very good , dessert poor. The egg roll peanut choc is not half as good as the previous. Taste like cheaper ingredients added instead of fine dark choc and filling needs to be better.
Very nice dinner enjoyed by my daughter and me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It was great as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The food was as good as always, but I find the service frustrating. I have been going to Pod for years and know that you cannot reserve the pods, the are first come first serve. I did put a note in the reservation that it would be great if we could have one if possible because we had special guest. I was quite excited when I arrived to see 2 of the pods were empty! Since we had a special guest visiting this makes the meal much nicer and it is a lot quieter and easier for everyone to be part of the conversation. However, when I asked about the pod, the hostess said they were reserved!! Again, for YEARS the restaurant has said they are not able to reserve the Pods. I have also been there at odd times (e.g., a late lunch at 2pm) when the restaurant is empty and not been allowed to sit in the pod "because we didn't have the minimum number of people." So it is very frustrating that the "reserved pods" had only 3-4 guests in them (below the required number) during the whole time we were dining there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Delicious food! Especially the sushi! The service is great as well as the modern decor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Awesome service and food. Server was attentive and beautiful. Food was outstanding but ordered so much, couldn't finish so boxed it to go :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

awesome place! great food! best place ever! atmosphere is amazing too

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I love Pod! It's my restaurant of choice for special occasions - Valentine's day, birthdays, you name it. The food's great, the drinks are great, and it's overall a wonderful place to eat!

Tags: Vegan, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Fun place to celebrate a birthday with our college-aged daughter and her friends. Request a pod!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good food and interesting menus. Service very good.
Good sake list

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I was less than impressed with the food. It's pretty basic but comes at a high price tag. The dishes are plated on high plates and brought out all at once which meant we couldn't fit the 2 sides and 2 main dishes we got on our table. That made it uncomfortable to eat.
Philly's food scene includes some excellent places with a lower price tag.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Not the best place in Philly and very over priced for the food served. Should have gone to Morimoto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Have not been here for a great while. We were going to a 7pm jazz show at Annenberg and Pod was convenient. Perhaps we should have had sushi! Instead, we ate Aisian dishes. Everything besides the endomomme had too much salt and grease. Not the quality we'd expect from a Starr restaurant. More like food from a Chinese truck. The cocktails were great but pricey, and the service was fine. We won't be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was outstanding, we sat in a pod, my 4 yr old grandson loved it! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

They have a great menu. Service outstanding. We LOVE it there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Pod never disappoints. The menu is really interesting and the tastes are fantastic. The receptionists and wait staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Top tier among Philadelphia restaurants in our opinion -- and we dine out often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Lovely selection and quality ingredients always make for a wonderful dinner. We love the option of having excellent sushi any time of evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.