About PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley

1920 Squaw Valley Road
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley offers a menu based on regional influences, indigenous flavors and locally-farmed ingredients. PlumpJack Squaw Valley's menu changes seasonally and features amazing wine pairings hand selected in concert between the chef and sommelier. PlumpJack Cafe, located at PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn, is widely regarded as Lake Tahoe's premier dining destination.

"3 stars - PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley" – Michael Bauer, San Francisco Chronicle

"Best of Award of Excellence" - Wine Spectator 2006 through 2015

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily - 7:30am -10:30am

Lunch & Bar Menu: Daily - 11:30am -10:00pm

Monday- Sunday 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
off of Hwy. 89 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-1578

Website:
http://www.plumpjackcafe.com/

Entertainment:
Join us at PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley on select Thursdays this season to mingle with Winemakers in the bar or dining room. Enjoy sips by the glass, flight or paired with cuisine. Check our website for more details.

Parking Details:
Attentive service, extensive wine selections, and high standards of excellence combine to create a world-class dining experience and impressive on-site catering services for your special event. We look forward to making all of your dreams for your event a reality. For private parties between 10 and 200 people please contact the Sales and Events Office.

Executive Chef:
Jack Connell

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate with style at the PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! Whether you are planning an anniversary, birthday party, shower or family reunion, PlumpJack offers attentive service and personalized planning to create memories that will last a lifetime!

Private Party Contact:
Rob McCormick : 5305831576x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Attentive service, extensive wine selections, and high standards of excellence combine to create a world-class dining experience and impressive on-site catering services for your special event. We look forward to making all of your dreams for your event a

Restaurant Photos

  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley
PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley

PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
North Lake Tahoe
Best Food
North Lake Tahoe
3 More
Best Service
North Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
North Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
North Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in Olympic Valley / Squaw Valley ›

fit for foodies (12)
special occasion (11)
notable wine list (11)
See All
good for groups (6)
romantic (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (1)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've been wanting to eat here for years ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been wanting to eat here for years and finally did on Thursday evening. The food was good and the ambience nice, but to be honest, the food lacked "umph" and at end, it wasn't worth the cost and I would rate it 3.5 stars of possible. I'm glad I went, but yet I don't feel compelled to return any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was very disappointing. Flavor was ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Flavor was just so/so. Wouldn't have minded paying $300 for six of us if the food had been better. The service was great. Menu was small in the restaurant and then we saw other people ordering off of the cafe menu (which was much larger and looked better). Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

They went over and above expectations fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

They went over and above expectations for my group. The service was perfect as was all the food served.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had in Tahoe area

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Plump Jack. Our server was very attentive and helpful. The cocktail menu was very unusual and the selections we had were great. There were just a few other tables occupied the night we went in, at the end of the season, but one group was quit boisterous with offensive language. Not much the restaurant can do about that. We would definitely go back to Plump Jack again and will recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was great except our waiter seemed a bit stiff and pretentious but not unfriendly. I felt a little awkward though for some reason. Every time I said thank you he said "certainly". The food is incredible. the restaurant called the day before to make sure we were coming and when we arrived we were asked again if we had a reservation. The restaurant was fairly empty although the bar/cafe area was packed. Not sure why they were so concerned about us having and keeping a reservation. This was off season (end if April) just a bit strange and sort of pretentious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

You won't be disappointed

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We definitely enjoyed our evening at Plumpjack. Awesome service, wonderful food, and elegant atmosphere. A definite must for our family each time we visit Squaw Valley. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful cuisine, great wine recommendation

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Plumpjack Cafe at Squaw Valley. The food was terrific and the sommelier was most helpful, and recommended a Brunello that was memorable. They have a very notable and diverse wine list. Our waiter was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining at Squaw Valley

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and really enjoyed it. This past weekend, it was filled with some very loud guests and the management did not even attempt to quiet them causing many guests to suffer

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Mountainside Gem

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Plumpjack is always a phenomenal dinning experience and this was no exception. We enjoyed a delicious meal and friendly, attentive, quality service.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good option in Olympic Valley

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Dinner here twice in a week during a business meeting, and fit the bill. Relaxed but high end dining

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Attention

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here immensely. The chef even made a special meal for our daughter who is vegan. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A+

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Our dining experience was perfect beginning to end. We started with the very unique and delicious cocktail menu. All of the food that we ordered quality and well executed. Our server, Joe was very knowledgable about the food and wine list and had great recommendations. The service was also very well timed giving us plenty of time to enjoy ourselves but never left waiting. The restaurant and bar were buzzing but not too noisy and we had such a nice time that we came back unplanned the next night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Epic meal (as always)

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Epic meal (as always)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing compilation of menu item ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

What an amazing compilation of menu items. A great variety of options to choose from. I wasn't feeling particularly hungry, but wanted to try a little bit of everything so had the following appetizers: Seafood Cones, the Grilled Octopus, and then the Stuffed Quail. Cones were to die for, perfect jalapeño meets fish combo, the Octopus was tender and grilled just right, and the quail was amazing!! Quail skin was nice and crisp, and whatever they stuffed it with gave the dish a nice warm, comforting taste.

Because I apparently I could still manage a dessert, I tried the S'more Cheesecake... Browned Marshmallow on top of a cheesecake tart- so rich and so good.

Had a great dinner and can't wait to be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Squaw Valley

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Always delicious though pricey. Great wine list. Excellent service. Calm pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loud and only moderately tasty

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was slow, the food was mediocre, and the restaurant itself was incredibly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sad to report way overpriced/poor value now.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Have been going here for years and some of the best quality food in Squaw-since otherwise, sports bars Irish Pub etc But it is way overpriced/poor value now. $42 for a flank steak? that was chewy as expected. Should be a filet or tenderloin for that price. I had scallops for about $38 and got 3 scallops-large and delicious but should be 5+. Octopus apptzr-unusual/nice offering but wimpy portion for $16.Enough for 1 to 1.5 people not 2.

Entree items/choices were limited about 6 including a vegie entree. Wine list nice but most very pricey. Ambiance is/was weak-cafe style. Not fine dining as per the prices/cost. Server was nice but spread thin as she acknowledged-for a $200 + dinner-why not add some staff/give proper service? We will not waste the money ever again. Disappointing to write.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

For the reputation this place has, none ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

For the reputation this place has, none of us were blown away with the food. Just okay, but did not deliver value based on the price. My vegetables were over cooked as was my friend's t-bone. Loud and tough to get a waiter, I would choose other restaurants to spend my money in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Delicious Dinners and Great Bar

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Whenever we are at Squaw Valley Ski Resort, we dine at PlumpJack Cafe, or at least visit the bar. Both the bar and cafe are charming and comfortable, and both have great service. The bar is usually busy and a bit noisier than the restaurant, and while the bar menu differs from the restaurant menu, the quality of the food is excellent.

This recent visit was mid-week and we found the restaurant to be uncrowded and quiet. Service was excellent, and our waiter spent time helping me pick just the right wine for my dinner selection. The food was delicious, as always. I had two first courses, the ahi poke cones and the stuffed quail, and both were perfection. The poke had a kick of jalapeno, which I loved, and the quail was perfectly roasted and delicious. My husband's sturgeon was moist and delicious, and it was a rare treat to find sturgeon on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PlumpJack - a respite for the hungry skier/boarder

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

PlumpJack is the best restaurant in Squaw Valley. Food is fantastic, fresh and inventive. Easy to get in the bar except on busy nights. Reservations in restaurant area are a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Squaw Valley

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our second visit--both times the food and service were outstanding. Though the menu seems somewhat limited, the choices are all interesting. This time, my husband and I both had the sweet potato soup with blood orange and bacon and sunflower sprouts. It was absolutely delectable. My husband had the Pan seared diver scallops and loved them--served with roasted brussels sprouts and pistachio pest. Delicious! I had the roasted chicken breast with sun chokes, chestnuts, rainbow chard, and pomegranate jus. The whole dish was rich with flavor. Nicely done! The finishing touch was a chocolate creme brûlée which we shared. It had a deep, dark, wonderful chocolate. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very average. Not what it has been for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Very average. Not what it has been for the past 15 years. We'll still come back, but we'll understand that it's not the class it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

In spite of an early dinner reservation, we were never hurried to leave and make space for others (on a VERY crowded evening). Service was great and all staff freely engaged with us. Great menu variety and quality of food. Will eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and outstanding service !

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and outstanding service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food at Squaw

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

It was nice to find this kind of quality in the mountains. The sommelier was very knowledgable, and his description of the many Pinot Noirs was entertaining. The one he recommended was delicious, and not outrageously priced. My wife and I split the spinach salad, and the vinaigrette was really good. She had the roasted cauliflower Lasagnette, and I had the Sturgeon, and both were perfectly prepared and delicious. Plenty of food - we had no room for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Annual Anniversary Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

This was our second time celebrating our anniversary here in January. We always bring in a bottle of wine, corkage fee of $20, which is worth it. Food is always phenomenal and tasty. Perfect portions, and worth every penny. Looking forward to our next anniversary dinner here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food and atmosphere

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

We came here with a group of 4 guys. The food was great. I had the fish tacos and the beef. The tacos were very tasty with a hint of spice and the beef was to die for. The service was great from the moment we walked in with the maître seating us to the well versed wait staff who knew the menu and made some great recommendations.

I would make the time to go back here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We will never go back!!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I know Plump Jacks is closed for remodel but the last three times have been horrible. No one in our party will go back. We will only go back after seeing reviews when and IF they ever reopen. We would not of returned but thought it was an off night. Waste of money and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Bad scallops made for an "off" meal.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

My companion's scallops had a horrid fishy smell so we sent them back. The waitress was great about it. She apologized and took them off the bill. My pork chop was good. The soup was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

Not bad, but not exceptional either.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I had heard great things about Plumpjack, and had a decent meal, but it was nothing exceptional. In their defense, we ate there on Sunday night of the MLK weekend, and the inn (not to mention the entire town) was quite full. The bar scene, somewhat inseparable from the restaurant itself by virtue of their architectural limitations, was overflowing with running about children of families staying in the inn. The hostess was delayed in recognizing our arrival, although we were seated promptly (and as far away from the bar as possible) once noticed. We each had cocktails, very well made. The wine list was very well thought out and expansive, and reasonably priced. I had the grilled octopus appetizer, which was a bit over-charred for my liking, masking the meaty texture of the dish. She had the salmon poke cones, which were delicate and texturally well balanced, but the flavors had not quite melded well. I had a pork chop which was very nicely prepared and cooked to my liking. She had the ribeye steak special for the evening, appropriately done to her liking (rare), and well seasoned. Service was attentive and always polite, but at times pressing. Total bill, for two cocktails, a bottle of wine, two courses each and a split dessert, came to $500 after tip. Overall, a nice meal in a nice restaurant on a busy night. I wasn't disappointed, but I really wasn't impressed to the degree their prices or reputation would have led me to expect.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Very expensive and not so good

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Better hamburgers at McDonald's! They did let us order from the bar menu in the dinning area which was nice, since the bar was jammed packed. The noise level was so loud one couldn't hear the person next them even that person was screaming in your ear. So disappointed in the food all in all, the hamburgers were like rubber and the fries were dry and unsalted. The service was mediocre at best. My advice is don't waste your money the fare is definitely not worth it.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

When in Tahoe, love to dine here

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Always a busy place, especially when there is snow. The daily specials are always a good value and very tasty. I love going to a restaurant and they serve items I would not normally serve at home and are not too far out there. Their sweet potato soup was great, not too sweet and not too creamy. Great texture and flavors. The flatiron steak was recommended med. rare and that was what I received. Glad I did not change the order. It was perfect. Their creme brulee is sooo delicious. Probably one of the best I've ever had.

There was a football game on that night and the bar was a lively scene. A great way to watch the game on a cold, cold night. Hanging out with old friends or new football fan friends. All in all, a great place to be after a great day skiing at Squaw Valley or even in summer when we are in the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose the chef's tasting menu. Everyt ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We chose the chef's tasting menu. Everything was delicious and the right amount of food. The service was slow all night however. 15 to see a waiter to order. No food until 45 min after we sat down. The food was what saved the evening

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Dinner restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We have been to this restaurant a few times and have never been disappointed. The food is always good, the service impeccable and the ambiance perfect. We highly recommend this place a Squaw.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Happy

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

4 adults and two older teens not wanting to wait an hour for a table anywhere in Squaw over the holidays. Were seated promptly (5pm), staff very helpful for the plate splitting that went on. Everyone enjoyed the meal. Note for those (i.e. Me) that prefer a large helping of the vegetables and a small piece of meat, this is not that place. Shame because the small helping of sun chokes with pomegranate sauce were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was off the charts. Thank you f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

The food was off the charts. Thank you for making our Christmas dinner so very special. Two BIG thumbs up! The Kolenda's 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous food, service, and drinks!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

great restaurant! Went on busy eve before holidays and they are accommodating and gracious as always. got a good table and had excellent service. food is delicious (we had diver scallops and pork chop for entrees, quail and octopus to start, i did wish the portion size for the octopus was larger- it's yum!) We always look forward to going there, big thanks to the Plumpjack crew!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Happy Bday Boy

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 19, 2015

Had birthday dinner here. Have been to before and knew it was appropriate for special occasion (enough to drive 20 minutes each way for). Was fortunate to be there on a quiet weekday night so plenty of privacy. Food fantastic. Service was great. Would definitely dine there again. Thanks for making it a great evening.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was outstanding, especially loved t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was outstanding, especially loved the pork saltimbocca

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was very limited and the food w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

The menu was very limited and the food was ok. There were only two dishes I would eat, one chicken dish and one steak dish. I expected more of a selection. I also expected that they would offer at least one of their wines by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.