About PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley

PlumpJack Cafe is widely regarded as Lake Tahoe's premier dining destination. Fine dining and exceptional wines are in our heritage, and we'd love to share our passion with you on your next visit. For those seeking a refined experience dine with us in the elegant PlumpJack Cafe. Offering dinner Thursday-Sunday from 6-9 PM. The menu features distinctive seasonal entrees along with PlumpJack Signature dishes. Looking for a relaxed dining experience? Join us at PlumpJack Bar, open daily for lunch & dinner from 11:30-10:00 PM. We offer a complete and unique menu that is sure to satisfy you after a long day in the mountains. PlumpJack Bar is first come first serve and during peak busy times or holidays we experience a wait for bar tables.

1920 Squaw Valley Road
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:30am -10:30am

PlumpJack Bar Serving Lunch & Dinner Daily: 11:30am -10:00pm

PlumpJack Cafe Dining Room Is Closed For The Season. We Will Reopen December 8, 2016 For Dinner.

Cross Street:
off of Hwy. 89 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-1578

Website:
http://www.plumpjackcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available in Squaw Valley Resort parking lot adjacent to PlumpJack Cafe & Bar.

Public Transit:
TART (Tahoe Area Rapid Transit)

Executive Chef:
Jack Connell

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate with style at the PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! Whether you are planning an anniversary, birthday party, shower or family reunion, PlumpJack offers attentive service and personalized planning to create memories that will last a lifetime!

Private Party Contact:
Rob McCormick : (530) 583-1576 ext. 401

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Attentive service, extensive wine selections, and high standards of excellence combine to create a world-class dining experience and impressive on-site catering services for your special event. We look forward to making all of your dreams for your event a success.

Restaurant Photos

  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley, Olympic Valley, CA
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley, Olympic Valley, CA
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley, Olympic Valley, CA
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley, Olympic Valley, CA
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley, Olympic Valley, CA
  • PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley, Olympic Valley, CA

Report a photo problem

PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
See All
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there with my wife on a very busy S ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there with my wife on a very busy Saturday night during a long weekend. Further there was a big football game on in the bar which drove up the noise level. The staff was very flexible with regard to our seating time, we had a 8:15 reservation but wanted to spend some more time in the bar to watch the end of the game and they graciously accommodated the delay despite having a full house and a wait list. That's frankly very impressive. The wait staff were very attentive but unfortunately the kitchen staff was overwhelmed with the crowd and it took forever to get our entrées (both of which were very good). I realize that this is seldom the fault of the waiter but mentioned, I believe politely, that the wait was on the long side. He said he'd make it up to us. I said that it wasn't necessary, as he wasn't causing the delay, also the compensation for this is generally something modest like a dessert which we didn't want or removing a round of drinks. So I was astonished when the bill came back with the cost of the most expensive entrée removed. Lots of restaurants have bad night, few apologize with such a sincere gesture. I would go back in a minute for the food and the service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service on a sold-out weekend. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service on a sold-out weekend. They accommodated us graciously by putting our reservation together with friends' dining an hour later and splitting the difference on timing. Tasty food well prepared but some dishes could have been served hotter.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Pork belly appetizer is amazing

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pork belly appetizer is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We spent an entire week in Napa, Sonoma ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We spent an entire week in Napa, Sonoma and in Lake Tahoe from Chicago during the Holidays, and PLUMPJACK was our last night in California. TRULY, it was by far the best meal we had not only on this trip but over the past year. And we ate at Bouchon in Napa 3 days earlier. OMG, everything was incredible from the Tuna Cones thru the amazing Salads, Pork Chops and of course CADE and Plumpjack Wines. We also found the service from Jason, our wine Som and Joe, our Server to be so personable and just feeling very special. We received this recommendation from Julie at Mountain Hardware, the most amazing decor and furniture store in Truckee...and we just love all these guys! Please make PlumpJack a stop over while in North Tahoe...and you will not be disappointed. LOVED IT!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was sensational and that was ab ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was sensational and that was about it. Our server was mostly non existent and we mistook the busgirl for our server since she was the one asking us how we were doing, if we wanted a wine list. The wine list was extensive (>750 different bottles) so I was surprised there was only a wine director and not a sommelier. This was not a negative, just a bit of a surprise. The lighting is horrendous in our area since there were two small spot lights shining directly down on each of us. We asked to have them dimmed though were told they were as low as possible. Having a light shine down in your eyes the entree meal was annoying. we noticed another couple complained and were moved to a better table, our server never even offered that choice. Lastly, the noise level was horrendous for an upscale place to eat. There is absolutely nothing to absorb the volume, not even fabric on the walls or ceiling or acoustic tiles...I would not go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food! Attentive staff, charming an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food! Attentive staff, charming and lively crowd! Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been dining here and the (now closed) ci ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been dining here and the (now closed) city restaurant since 2001. What used to be a unique experience with a wine list that was promoted by ownership as having a modest mark-up is now just another over-priced night out. $70 beef Wellington and a 3x mark-up on Peter Michael. Chose Dec 30 to avoid hoi polloi and hoopla of the 31st to find five of us cramped into a table for four, having booked months ago. Hostess wouldn't move us since "the kitchen couldn't possibly get you out in 2 hours when the next table arrives." We were gone in 90 minutes. Sadly, Squaw has no real options, so PJ's monopoly continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

PlumpJack remains the best restaurant is ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

PlumpJack remains the best restaurant is Squaw Valley. The menu offers fresh seafood alongside more hearty mountain-ish items. Not to mention the fantastic wine list. Prices are high, but the service is impeccable. You pay to play :-)

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Sadly, the food here has taken a dramati ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Sadly, the food here has taken a dramatic turn for the worse compared to our dinner two years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Fantastic food and excellent service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fantastic food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the few upscale restaurants in th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of the few upscale restaurants in the Truckee/Squaw Valley area that has thoughtful vegetarian options beyond salad or a mushroom. Everything we had was great, the service was great. Recommend making reservations, as it's a cozy place. We will be back and we will recommend you to others!!! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at PJ before and have alwa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have dined at PJ before and have always had a great dining experience. This was no different. My duck dinner was great and my wife's Kale enchilada (who thinks of these things?) was also very good. We had a later engagement that they got us served and out of there on time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful occasion with fabulous servi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

A wonderful occasion with fabulous service and creative, delicious, food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the staff at Squaw Plumpjack w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always the staff at Squaw Plumpjack was amazing from the service to their knowledge and friendliness! The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our second visit and we enjoyed ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2016

this was our second visit and we enjoyed it very much. The restaurant is small and intimate. the food very good and service very attentive. My only hesitation is that the prices are a bit high. But I guess that comes with the location and quality of the place. Overall it was an excellent time and I am sure I will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was way overpriced for the quality of ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was way overpriced for the quality of food. Our waiter was very snooted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were among the first to dine in the d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were among the first to dine in the dining room at 6pm. Best time to be there with our two young children. Food was great. Menu selections changed from last visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food & service were excellent however ma ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food & service were excellent however management has no respect for its diners. A rowdy table that was loud & out of control ruined the milieu and atmosphere. Management did nothing to control that one table of 10. We had multiple friends at other tables through that evening in the small venue and we all suffered. (We were in the area for the weekend with a group staying at the local hotel - dining in pairs like ourselves or up to 8 people) We ate at 6 pm when they opened and had other friends who arrived to dine as late as 9 pm who also complained for not about same noisy group. The noise level was intolerable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Although the food was well prepared and ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Although the food was well prepared and tasted very good, the octopus appetizer was paltry. I did not know that octopus could be cut to the thickness of carpaccio! All the other first course dishes were actually large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

pricey but worth it - limited food selec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

pricey but worth it - limited food selection but quality items and very attentive service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I've been wanting to eat here for years ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been wanting to eat here for years and finally did on Thursday evening. The food was good and the ambience nice, but to be honest, the food lacked "umph" and at end, it wasn't worth the cost and I would rate it 3.5 stars of possible. I'm glad I went, but yet I don't feel compelled to return any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was very disappointing. Flavor was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Flavor was just so/so. Wouldn't have minded paying $300 for six of us if the food had been better. The service was great. Menu was small in the restaurant and then we saw other people ordering off of the cafe menu (which was much larger and looked better). Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

They went over and above expectations fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

They went over and above expectations for my group. The service was perfect as was all the food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we've had in Tahoe area

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Plump Jack. Our server was very attentive and helpful. The cocktail menu was very unusual and the selections we had were great. There were just a few other tables occupied the night we went in, at the end of the season, but one group was quit boisterous with offensive language. Not much the restaurant can do about that. We would definitely go back to Plump Jack again and will recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious food

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was great except our waiter seemed a bit stiff and pretentious but not unfriendly. I felt a little awkward though for some reason. Every time I said thank you he said "certainly". The food is incredible. the restaurant called the day before to make sure we were coming and when we arrived we were asked again if we had a reservation. The restaurant was fairly empty although the bar/cafe area was packed. Not sure why they were so concerned about us having and keeping a reservation. This was off season (end if April) just a bit strange and sort of pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

You won't be disappointed

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We definitely enjoyed our evening at Plumpjack. Awesome service, wonderful food, and elegant atmosphere. A definite must for our family each time we visit Squaw Valley. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful cuisine, great wine recommendation

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Plumpjack Cafe at Squaw Valley. The food was terrific and the sommelier was most helpful, and recommended a Brunello that was memorable. They have a very notable and diverse wine list. Our waiter was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining at Squaw Valley

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and really enjoyed it. This past weekend, it was filled with some very loud guests and the management did not even attempt to quiet them causing many guests to suffer

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Mountainside Gem

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Plumpjack is always a phenomenal dinning experience and this was no exception. We enjoyed a delicious meal and friendly, attentive, quality service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good option in Olympic Valley

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Dinner here twice in a week during a business meeting, and fit the bill. Relaxed but high end dining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special Attention

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here immensely. The chef even made a special meal for our daughter who is vegan. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A+

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2016

Our dining experience was perfect beginning to end. We started with the very unique and delicious cocktail menu. All of the food that we ordered quality and well executed. Our server, Joe was very knowledgable about the food and wine list and had great recommendations. The service was also very well timed giving us plenty of time to enjoy ourselves but never left waiting. The restaurant and bar were buzzing but not too noisy and we had such a nice time that we came back unplanned the next night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Epic meal (as always)

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2016

Epic meal (as always)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an amazing compilation of menu item ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2016

What an amazing compilation of menu items. A great variety of options to choose from. I wasn't feeling particularly hungry, but wanted to try a little bit of everything so had the following appetizers: Seafood Cones, the Grilled Octopus, and then the Stuffed Quail. Cones were to die for, perfect jalapeño meets fish combo, the Octopus was tender and grilled just right, and the quail was amazing!! Quail skin was nice and crisp, and whatever they stuffed it with gave the dish a nice warm, comforting taste.

Because I apparently I could still manage a dessert, I tried the S'more Cheesecake... Browned Marshmallow on top of a cheesecake tart- so rich and so good.

Had a great dinner and can't wait to be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Squaw Valley

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Always delicious though pricey. Great wine list. Excellent service. Calm pleasant atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loud and only moderately tasty

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was slow, the food was mediocre, and the restaurant itself was incredibly loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sad to report way overpriced/poor value now.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Have been going here for years and some of the best quality food in Squaw-since otherwise, sports bars Irish Pub etc But it is way overpriced/poor value now. $42 for a flank steak? that was chewy as expected. Should be a filet or tenderloin for that price. I had scallops for about $38 and got 3 scallops-large and delicious but should be 5+. Octopus apptzr-unusual/nice offering but wimpy portion for $16.Enough for 1 to 1.5 people not 2.

Entree items/choices were limited about 6 including a vegie entree. Wine list nice but most very pricey. Ambiance is/was weak-cafe style. Not fine dining as per the prices/cost. Server was nice but spread thin as she acknowledged-for a $200 + dinner-why not add some staff/give proper service? We will not waste the money ever again. Disappointing to write.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

For the reputation this place has, none ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 27, 2016

For the reputation this place has, none of us were blown away with the food. Just okay, but did not deliver value based on the price. My vegetables were over cooked as was my friend's t-bone. Loud and tough to get a waiter, I would choose other restaurants to spend my money in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Delicious Dinners and Great Bar

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Whenever we are at Squaw Valley Ski Resort, we dine at PlumpJack Cafe, or at least visit the bar. Both the bar and cafe are charming and comfortable, and both have great service. The bar is usually busy and a bit noisier than the restaurant, and while the bar menu differs from the restaurant menu, the quality of the food is excellent.

This recent visit was mid-week and we found the restaurant to be uncrowded and quiet. Service was excellent, and our waiter spent time helping me pick just the right wine for my dinner selection. The food was delicious, as always. I had two first courses, the ahi poke cones and the stuffed quail, and both were perfection. The poke had a kick of jalapeno, which I loved, and the quail was perfectly roasted and delicious. My husband's sturgeon was moist and delicious, and it was a rare treat to find sturgeon on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PlumpJack - a respite for the hungry skier/boarder

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2016

PlumpJack is the best restaurant in Squaw Valley. Food is fantastic, fresh and inventive. Easy to get in the bar except on busy nights. Reservations in restaurant area are a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.