Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley

PlumpJack Cafe is widely regarded as Lake Tahoe's premier dining destination. Fine dining and exceptional wines are in our heritage, and we'd love to share our passion with you on your next visit. For those seeking a refined experience dine with us in the elegant PlumpJack Cafe. Offering dinner everyday from 6:00-9:30 PM. The menu features distinctive seasonal entrees along with PlumpJack Signature dishes. Looking for a relaxed dining experience? Join us at PlumpJack Bar, open daily for lunch & dinner from 11:30-10:00 PM. We offer a complete and unique menu that is sure to satisfy you after a long day in the mountains. PlumpJack Bar is first come first serve and during peak busy times or holidays we experience a wait for bar tables.

1920 Squaw Valley Road
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:30am -10:30am

PlumpJack Bar Serving Lunch & Dinner Daily: 11:30am -10:00pm

PlumpJack Cafe : Dining Room : Dinner Only 6:00-9:30 Thursday-Sunday


Cross Street:
off of Hwy. 89 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-1578

Website:
http://www.plumpjackcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available in Squaw Valley Resort parking lot adjacent to PlumpJack Cafe & Bar.

Public Transit:
TART (Tahoe Area Rapid Transit)

Executive Chef:
Jack Connell

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate with style at the PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! Whether you are planning an anniversary, birthday party, shower or family reunion, PlumpJack offers attentive service and personalized planning to create memories that will last a lifetime!

Private Party Contact:
Rob McCormick : (530) 583-1576 ext. 401

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Attentive service, extensive wine selections, and high standards of excellence combine to create a world-class dining experience and impressive on-site catering services for your special event. We look forward to making all of your dreams for your event a success.

PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We arrived for our dinner to find a table of 9 already seated and could tell it was going to get loud. Since the dining area is small there was no escaping this group. The noise level continued to escalate as us other patrons had to raise our voices to be heard. So bad that I asked to speak to manager on our exit to complain that this restaurant is not designed for groups that size.

Service was great and spot on.

On the food - my dining partner got the lamb shank which I thought was weirdly sweet and my halibut special was topped with hot peppers that overtook the plate. Not my favorite visit but may try again after confirming no large groups to be seated. Hopefully management will reconsider allowing groups this large - I would say 6 people is reasonable or sit them outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Could not eat the simple chicken dish. It had such a bad taste. The rest of our order was bland. Very noisy restaurant. Long wait for courses.
Definently would not go back .

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We were excited about revisiting Plumpjack's as it had been almost 10 years since our last visit. Unfortunately, it was beyond disappointing. We arrived at 6:40 for a 7:00 reservation. The hostess informed us that the tables would not be ready before 7, so she steered us to the bar. We waiting 15 minutes for our drink orders to arrive; "only one bartender mixing tonight" we were informed. The waitress was going to transfer our bar bill to our dinner bill. When we checked back the the hostess, she told me no, I had to settle the bar bill first. But the waitress walked up right at that time and informed her absolutely we could move the bill to the dining room. She then steered us to a table that was open when we first showed up.
The cold carrot soup appetizer arrived and the waitress couldn't get it out of the pitcher and into the bowl. She spanked the bottom of the container like getting ketchup out of a bottle. when it sprayed around the bowl and on the table and my cutlery, she seemed ok with that and started to leave. I lifted up the bowl and handed it to her, suggesting the kitchen start over. After the appetizers, the entry didn't arrive for 45 minutes. The hostess even brought us the dessert menu before the entree arrived! My wife's pasta was cold and rigid pre-al dente, so it went back with a cancellation order. To his credit the manage recognized how bad it all was without our complaining to him. He deducted $106 from the bill for the five of us. We then went to Dairy Queen to salvage our night out with a vanilla cone dipped in chocolate, served on time and appropriately cold.
We were stunned by how poorly executed the how experience was, falling short on so many levels, by so many (or likely few) people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Very noisy due to hard surfaces, interfering with conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Good food, good service but long wait. Food was good but took a while to get to our table; many diners but not many servers.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went Saturday night for a date after an afternoon event in Tahoe. The food here was simply outstanding. Every item we ordered was fantastic. The only niggle was that it took about 25 minutes to get a round of drinks, which would have come from the bar. We waited to continue our appetizer for the drinks, and food was cold by they time they came. Portions are quite large. Surprisingly no view from the restaurant being at the base of Squaw Valley ski area. Would recommend and will certainly go back for the food. No higher end cut of meet for the steak option (flat iron, no filet or NY steak). No chocolate for dessert. Overall great experience, and really some of the best food we have had in recent memory. We dine out quite a bit all over, including Napa and San Francisco, so this is really a high compliment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always a great meal. Food here is very good and consistent and the service is great. Portions on this trip were larger than what I remembered from recent trips. Very nice meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Sommelier Jason ?? Was amazing. Really made the night. Hamburger was really fabulous -- felt odd ordering it in a white tablecloth setting but so very glad I did!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Another great meal at PJ. I was sorry the Duck was not on the menu but it gives me an excuse to return in the Fall when it generally reappears. We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and it was very fitting for that special occasion

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Superb and delicious!! I can't wait to dine there again. By far the best restaurant in the area!!

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We absolutely love Plumpjack! After all these years, we still miss the San Francisco location. It was another option to dine with this exceptional restaurant. The food and beverages are delicious and so creatively prepared. The staff is lovely and couldn't be more attentive. The ambiance and decor is wonderful to be immersed in. The seating is anywhere in the Dinning Room is perfect from any view point.
Always a superb evening! Thank you for offering your guests such a memorable experience!

Michael and Stephanie

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Plump Jack Café has been a standard in Squaw Valley for decades. With an exceptional wine list, superb cuisine and consistently outstanding service, Plum Jack Café remains the "go-to" destination for great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's our favorite place for a very nice dinner! We live locally and love this the best. During the summer it's not crowded.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Heather, our server, was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderfully creative gourmet cuisine with interesting, savory flavors that paired very well with the Chardonnay selected by the knowledgeable waiter. The wine list is extensive and the wines mostly expensive, but ours was fairly priced relative to retail.

This is sophisticated dining at its best!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food! Had the Poke Cones and Scallops which were both tasty and well prepared. Would eat again there in a heartbeat!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We had a great night - the ambiance, food and staff were all wonderful. I only wish we lived closer so we could go more often. Thank you PlumpJack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful setting and accommodative service, but the food was overcooked and while they tried to make amends, it just didn't quite cut it given the high pricing.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a great experience at Plumpjack. Great location, great food, great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

A favorite wine list with lots of gems to discover and reasonable pricing - a great place to try something new. Favorites from prior visits include Radio Coteau Terra Neuma Pinot Noir and Kongsgaard Syrah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Good restaurant. Excellent service. Great wine list. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Best wine list , few places can compare to this local and world wine selection . Food is fabulous, too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Scallops were overcooked and too salty , but salad was even worse, it was bitter salty, like they put a teaspoon of salt on it... It's not because my taste of low sodium, no! My mother in law was exactly the same opinion. My hasband had a stake, he also wasn't satisfied, too much fat. Only the hamburger was just ok.
So we were very disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

This is likely the best dinning at Squaw. The menu is good, though limited, the environment is very nice, and the service was very good. The major knock on such a fine dinning establishment is that the wine list is big and unwieldy, like opening a big California Cab too early, it could use some trimming and the addition of some glaring omissions, like Australian reds. Expect to pay at least $100 per person for food and wine, pre dinner drinks would add another $25 per person.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at PlumpJack Café. It was a very busy night and the noise level was high, but we were still able to converse. We had our five year old granddaughter with us and we were pleased to see that they had a child's menu with reasonable food and prices. The best dinner was the rib eye steak, well-cooked and tasty. The lamb shank with risotto was fine, but nothing special. The grilled fish was also well planned and executed. I guess the main problem with PlumbJack Café is that with the extremely high prices, you expect a higher standard of food than just "good'. The dessert, recommended, by the server, was a chocolate cake, that tasted like cardboard, unfortunately. Nice wine list. All in all, a nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Another outstanding evening at PJ. We were seated a little late after our rez time. However, the hostess kept us continually alerted to what was going on and made sure we were accommodated. It carried over to our server who seemed to give us a bit of extra attention. PJ is in our opinion the finest overall dining spot in North Shore. It does not have a view of the Lake but the food and service are outstanding. Thank you for another great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 9, 2017

A bit too cozy and noisy given the high prices, but a good time was had by all.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good. Fish was a little over cooked but the scallops were perfect. We were comped the shared Caesar salad as entrees took a long time. Waiter took too long getting our wine chilled and the recommended wine was not as crisp as we had hope-- this after the waiter checked with the sommelier !! A little too unprofessional for the prices charged. But it's convenient so we keep going back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Food was great and we love the restaurant environment -- we've been a number of times. But unfortunately the poor service left a very bad impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We really enjoyed our meals. Pork belly and filet were very good as was the burger that my son ordered. The service was good but it took awhile for us to get our food. We were there during Winter break so this may explain the delay. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our waiter with the stache was attentive but not obtrusive- as we all prefer. Starter of pork belly savory- quite delectable. The lamb shank w/ risotto Milanese excellent but risotto a bit dry but the wine reduction sauce made up for it. A South African Stellenbosch Syrah was suggested- and at $40 was a superb value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was very good, pork chops, scallops pork belly & chicken. Generous main course portions. Service could be more efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Deeply disappointed because of past great service.

This was a special occasion dinner for a group of eight on Valentines Day. The reservation was made through OpenTable. We were made to wait about an hour and one-half for our table primarily because of one dining couple that was seated against the wall in the eight seat table that we were to be seated. Six seats were vacant for about two hours. The restaurant manager could not figure out how to politely move the dining couple, whom had stayed way beyond an acceptable time after dinner and desert. When we pressed the issue the manager gave us some complimentary wine, pellegrino and some soft drinks. We pressed the issue twice.

The food was excellent and above par.

The service during the dinner was good, except for one dinner coming too late to be acceptable.

The after dinner wait time for the bill was unacceptable. It took about a forty-five minutes before our bill was tabulated and presented. We were the last ones to leave the restaurant just before midnight for an 8:15pm dinner reservation.

This restaurant needs to review its protocol for special occasion dining and not hold up a table of eight in order to seat two people ahead of time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines, tough night. Back table w/ extreme kitchen noise. Sucks but worst part was leaving with all the 4 tops empty same as we walked In. Food was good, my pork was overcooked but still tasty. we are in town 20 times a year. Not making an effort any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dining food was good but, bar food menu was more diverse

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Classy and warm dining room on a cold and snowy night. Great and attentive service. No way were the two veggie enchiladas worth $35 but they were delicious. Check it out if you're looking to splurge at Squaw Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Even tho we got seated between the male and female members of a wedding shower we had a good meal and were well taken care of

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ate here with friends whom recommended this restaurant and said they sat deep inside the restaurant. Unfortunately, we sat at the first table, inches from the boisterous bar, and couldn't hear each other across the table. We couldn't wait to leave due to the noise. A bummer, since the food and service were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food great as usual service was unusually disappointing

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great experience great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.