About PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley

1920 Squaw Valley Road
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

PlumpJack Cafe is widely regarded as Lake Tahoe's premier dining destination. Fine dining and exceptional wines are in our heritage, and we'd love to share our passion with you on your next visit. For those seeking a refined experience dine with us in the elegant PlumpJack Cafe. Offering dinner Thursday-Sunday from 6-9 PM. The menu features distinctive seasonal entrees along with PlumpJack Signature dishes. Looking for a relaxed dining experience? Join us at PlumpJack Bar, open daily for lunch & dinner from 11:30-10:00 PM. We offer a complete and unique menu that is sure to satisfy you after a long day in the mountains. PlumpJack Bar is first come first serve and during peak busy times or holidays we experience a wait for bar tables.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:30am -10:30am

PlumpJack Bar Serving Lunch & Dinner Daily: 11:30am -10:00pm

PlumpJack Cafe Dining Room Is Closed For The Season. We Will Reopen December 8, 2016 For Dinner.

Cross Street:
off of Hwy. 89 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-1578

Website:
http://www.plumpjackcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available in Squaw Valley Resort parking lot adjacent to PlumpJack Cafe & Bar.

Public Transit:
TART (Tahoe Area Rapid Transit)

Executive Chef:
Jack Connell

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate with style at the PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! Whether you are planning an anniversary, birthday party, shower or family reunion, PlumpJack offers attentive service and personalized planning to create memories that will last a lifetime!

Private Party Contact:
Rob McCormick : (530) 583-1576 ext. 401

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Attentive service, extensive wine selections, and high standards of excellence combine to create a world-class dining experience and impressive on-site catering services for your special event. We look forward to making all of your dreams for your event a success.

PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fireplace (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
434 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 19 hours ago

Food was great and we love the restaurant environment -- we've been a number of times. But unfortunately the poor service left a very bad impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We really enjoyed our meals. Pork belly and filet were very good as was the burger that my son ordered. The service was good but it took awhile for us to get our food. We were there during Winter break so this may explain the delay. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter with the stache was attentive but not obtrusive- as we all prefer. Starter of pork belly savory- quite delectable. The lamb shank w/ risotto Milanese excellent but risotto a bit dry but the wine reduction sauce made up for it. A South African Stellenbosch Syrah was suggested- and at $40 was a superb value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good, pork chops, scallops pork belly & chicken. Generous main course portions. Service could be more efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines, tough night. Back table w/ extreme kitchen noise. Sucks but worst part was leaving with all the 4 tops empty same as we walked In. Food was good, my pork was overcooked but still tasty. we are in town 20 times a year. Not making an effort any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Dining food was good but, bar food menu was more diverse

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Classy and warm dining room on a cold and snowy night. Great and attentive service. No way were the two veggie enchiladas worth $35 but they were delicious. Check it out if you're looking to splurge at Squaw Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Even tho we got seated between the male and female members of a wedding shower we had a good meal and were well taken care of

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We ate here with friends whom recommended this restaurant and said they sat deep inside the restaurant. Unfortunately, we sat at the first table, inches from the boisterous bar, and couldn't hear each other across the table. We couldn't wait to leave due to the noise. A bummer, since the food and service were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food great as usual service was unusually disappointing

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service! I can highly recommend this place in the heart of Olympic Valley!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was amazing. I had the stuffed chicken breast and it was delicious, best food I had in a long time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was great but we had to ask for drinks twice for every round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Impressive food

Impressively slow service

Server lacked all basic details. He either had zero training or didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food, beautiful decor. Food was a bit slow coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Menu is small but everything sounded wonderful. Creative combinations. Apres ski atmosphere is great. A bit noisy because of the type of crowd, but a nice place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and ambiance were quite nice for Tahoe. Wine list was great, but it took too long (after we had already finished our appetizer and salad) for the sommelier to bring the wine to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The ambience is quite nice, about what you'd expect for a mountain lodge. The service was attentive but not too much so. (the water had a voice that carried, otherwise it would be a quiet place). The food was very good. My wife and I both had the Pork Belly appetizer and it was sublime...our entrees were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went there with my wife on a very busy Saturday night during a long weekend. Further there was a big football game on in the bar which drove up the noise level. The staff was very flexible with regard to our seating time, we had a 8:15 reservation but wanted to spend some more time in the bar to watch the end of the game and they graciously accommodated the delay despite having a full house and a wait list. That's frankly very impressive. The wait staff were very attentive but unfortunately the kitchen staff was overwhelmed with the crowd and it took forever to get our entrées (both of which were very good). I realize that this is seldom the fault of the waiter but mentioned, I believe politely, that the wait was on the long side. He said he'd make it up to us. I said that it wasn't necessary, as he wasn't causing the delay, also the compensation for this is generally something modest like a dessert which we didn't want or removing a round of drinks. So I was astonished when the bill came back with the cost of the most expensive entrée removed. Lots of restaurants have bad night, few apologize with such a sincere gesture. I would go back in a minute for the food and the service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service on a sold-out weekend. They accommodated us graciously by putting our reservation together with friends' dining an hour later and splitting the difference on timing. Tasty food well prepared but some dishes could have been served hotter.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pork belly appetizer is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We spent an entire week in Napa, Sonoma and in Lake Tahoe from Chicago during the Holidays, and PLUMPJACK was our last night in California. TRULY, it was by far the best meal we had not only on this trip but over the past year. And we ate at Bouchon in Napa 3 days earlier. OMG, everything was incredible from the Tuna Cones thru the amazing Salads, Pork Chops and of course CADE and Plumpjack Wines. We also found the service from Jason, our wine Som and Joe, our Server to be so personable and just feeling very special. We received this recommendation from Julie at Mountain Hardware, the most amazing decor and furniture store in Truckee...and we just love all these guys! Please make PlumpJack a stop over while in North Tahoe...and you will not be disappointed. LOVED IT!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was sensational and that was about it. Our server was mostly non existent and we mistook the busgirl for our server since she was the one asking us how we were doing, if we wanted a wine list. The wine list was extensive (>750 different bottles) so I was surprised there was only a wine director and not a sommelier. This was not a negative, just a bit of a surprise. The lighting is horrendous in our area since there were two small spot lights shining directly down on each of us. We asked to have them dimmed though were told they were as low as possible. Having a light shine down in your eyes the entree meal was annoying. we noticed another couple complained and were moved to a better table, our server never even offered that choice. Lastly, the noise level was horrendous for an upscale place to eat. There is absolutely nothing to absorb the volume, not even fabric on the walls or ceiling or acoustic tiles...I would not go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food! Attentive staff, charming and lively crowd! Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been dining here and the (now closed) city restaurant since 2001. What used to be a unique experience with a wine list that was promoted by ownership as having a modest mark-up is now just another over-priced night out. $70 beef Wellington and a 3x mark-up on Peter Michael. Chose Dec 30 to avoid hoi polloi and hoopla of the 31st to find five of us cramped into a table for four, having booked months ago. Hostess wouldn't move us since "the kitchen couldn't possibly get you out in 2 hours when the next table arrives." We were gone in 90 minutes. Sadly, Squaw has no real options, so PJ's monopoly continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

PlumpJack remains the best restaurant is Squaw Valley. The menu offers fresh seafood alongside more hearty mountain-ish items. Not to mention the fantastic wine list. Prices are high, but the service is impeccable. You pay to play :-)

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Sadly, the food here has taken a dramatic turn for the worse compared to our dinner two years ago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Fantastic food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of the few upscale restaurants in the Truckee/Squaw Valley area that has thoughtful vegetarian options beyond salad or a mushroom. Everything we had was great, the service was great. Recommend making reservations, as it's a cozy place. We will be back and we will recommend you to others!!! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have dined at PJ before and have always had a great dining experience. This was no different. My duck dinner was great and my wife's Kale enchilada (who thinks of these things?) was also very good. We had a later engagement that they got us served and out of there on time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

A wonderful occasion with fabulous service and creative, delicious, food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

As always the staff at Squaw Plumpjack was amazing from the service to their knowledge and friendliness! The whole experience was fantastic and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2016

this was our second visit and we enjoyed it very much. The restaurant is small and intimate. the food very good and service very attentive. My only hesitation is that the prices are a bit high. But I guess that comes with the location and quality of the place. Overall it was an excellent time and I am sure I will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was way overpriced for the quality of food. Our waiter was very snooted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were among the first to dine in the dining room at 6pm. Best time to be there with our two young children. Food was great. Menu selections changed from last visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food & service were excellent however management has no respect for its diners. A rowdy table that was loud & out of control ruined the milieu and atmosphere. Management did nothing to control that one table of 10. We had multiple friends at other tables through that evening in the small venue and we all suffered. (We were in the area for the weekend with a group staying at the local hotel - dining in pairs like ourselves or up to 8 people) We ate at 6 pm when they opened and had other friends who arrived to dine as late as 9 pm who also complained for not about same noisy group. The noise level was intolerable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Although the food was well prepared and tasted very good, the octopus appetizer was paltry. I did not know that octopus could be cut to the thickness of carpaccio! All the other first course dishes were actually large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

pricey but worth it - limited food selection but quality items and very attentive service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've been wanting to eat here for years and finally did on Thursday evening. The food was good and the ambience nice, but to be honest, the food lacked "umph" and at end, it wasn't worth the cost and I would rate it 3.5 stars of possible. I'm glad I went, but yet I don't feel compelled to return any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was very disappointing. Flavor was just so/so. Wouldn't have minded paying $300 for six of us if the food had been better. The service was great. Menu was small in the restaurant and then we saw other people ordering off of the cafe menu (which was much larger and looked better). Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

They went over and above expectations for my group. The service was perfect as was all the food served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a terrific dinner at Plump Jack. Our server was very attentive and helpful. The cocktail menu was very unusual and the selections we had were great. There were just a few other tables occupied the night we went in, at the end of the season, but one group was quit boisterous with offensive language. Not much the restaurant can do about that. We would definitely go back to Plump Jack again and will recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Everything was great except our waiter seemed a bit stiff and pretentious but not unfriendly. I felt a little awkward though for some reason. Every time I said thank you he said "certainly". The food is incredible. the restaurant called the day before to make sure we were coming and when we arrived we were asked again if we had a reservation. The restaurant was fairly empty although the bar/cafe area was packed. Not sure why they were so concerned about us having and keeping a reservation. This was off season (end if April) just a bit strange and sort of pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We definitely enjoyed our evening at Plumpjack. Awesome service, wonderful food, and elegant atmosphere. A definite must for our family each time we visit Squaw Valley. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 3, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at Plumpjack Cafe at Squaw Valley. The food was terrific and the sommelier was most helpful, and recommended a Brunello that was memorable. They have a very notable and diverse wine list. Our waiter was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and really enjoyed it. This past weekend, it was filled with some very loud guests and the management did not even attempt to quiet them causing many guests to suffer

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Plumpjack is always a phenomenal dinning experience and this was no exception. We enjoyed a delicious meal and friendly, attentive, quality service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Dinner here twice in a week during a business meeting, and fit the bill. Relaxed but high end dining

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner here immensely. The chef even made a special meal for our daughter who is vegan. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.