Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley

PlumpJack Cafe is widely regarded as Lake Tahoe's premier dining destination. Fine dining and exceptional wines are in our heritage, and we'd love to share our passion with you on your next visit. For those seeking a refined experience dine with us in the elegant PlumpJack Cafe. Offering dinner everyday from 5:30-9:30 PM. The menu features distinctive seasonal entrees along with PlumpJack Signature dishes. Looking for a relaxed dining experience? Join us at PlumpJack Bar, open daily for lunch & dinner from 11:30-10:00 PM. We offer a complete and unique menu that is sure to satisfy you after a long day in the mountains. PlumpJack Bar is first come first serve and during peak busy times or holidays we experience a wait for bar tables.

1920 Squaw Valley Road
Olympic Valley, CA 96146
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:30am -10:30am

PlumpJack Bar Serving Lunch & Dinner Daily: 11:30am -10:00pm

PlumpJack Cafe : Dining Room : Dinner Only 5:30-9:30


Cross Street:
off of Hwy. 89 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 583-1578

Website:
http://www.plumpjackcafe.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available in Squaw Valley Resort parking lot adjacent to PlumpJack Cafe & Bar.

Public Transit:
TART (Tahoe Area Rapid Transit)

Executive Chef:
Jack Connell

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate with style at the PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn! Whether you are planning an anniversary, birthday party, shower or family reunion, PlumpJack offers attentive service and personalized planning to create memories that will last a lifetime!

Private Party Contact:
Rob McCormick : (530) 583-1576 ext. 401

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Attentive service, extensive wine selections, and high standards of excellence combine to create a world-class dining experience and impressive on-site catering services for your special event. We look forward to making all of your dreams for your event a success.

PlumpJack Cafe Squaw Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fireplace (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food! Had the Poke Cones and Scallops which were both tasty and well prepared. Would eat again there in a heartbeat!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a great night - the ambiance, food and staff were all wonderful. I only wish we lived closer so we could go more often. Thank you PlumpJack!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Beautiful setting and accommodative service, but the food was overcooked and while they tried to make amends, it just didn't quite cut it given the high pricing.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Always a great experience at Plumpjack. Great location, great food, great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

A favorite wine list with lots of gems to discover and reasonable pricing - a great place to try something new. Favorites from prior visits include Radio Coteau Terra Neuma Pinot Noir and Kongsgaard Syrah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good restaurant. Excellent service. Great wine list. Overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Best wine list , few places can compare to this local and world wine selection . Food is fabulous, too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Scallops were overcooked and too salty , but salad was even worse, it was bitter salty, like they put a teaspoon of salt on it... It's not because my taste of low sodium, no! My mother in law was exactly the same opinion. My hasband had a stake, he also wasn't satisfied, too much fat. Only the hamburger was just ok.
So we were very disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is likely the best dinning at Squaw. The menu is good, though limited, the environment is very nice, and the service was very good. The major knock on such a fine dinning establishment is that the wine list is big and unwieldy, like opening a big California Cab too early, it could use some trimming and the addition of some glaring omissions, like Australian reds. Expect to pay at least $100 per person for food and wine, pre dinner drinks would add another $25 per person.

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a very nice dinner at PlumpJack Café. It was a very busy night and the noise level was high, but we were still able to converse. We had our five year old granddaughter with us and we were pleased to see that they had a child's menu with reasonable food and prices. The best dinner was the rib eye steak, well-cooked and tasty. The lamb shank with risotto was fine, but nothing special. The grilled fish was also well planned and executed. I guess the main problem with PlumbJack Café is that with the extremely high prices, you expect a higher standard of food than just "good'. The dessert, recommended, by the server, was a chocolate cake, that tasted like cardboard, unfortunately. Nice wine list. All in all, a nice evening.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Another outstanding evening at PJ. We were seated a little late after our rez time. However, the hostess kept us continually alerted to what was going on and made sure we were accommodated. It carried over to our server who seemed to give us a bit of extra attention. PJ is in our opinion the finest overall dining spot in North Shore. It does not have a view of the Lake but the food and service are outstanding. Thank you for another great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A bit too cozy and noisy given the high prices, but a good time was had by all.

Tags: Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Food was good. Fish was a little over cooked but the scallops were perfect. We were comped the shared Caesar salad as entrees took a long time. Waiter took too long getting our wine chilled and the recommended wine was not as crisp as we had hope-- this after the waiter checked with the sommelier !! A little too unprofessional for the prices charged. But it's convenient so we keep going back

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was great and we love the restaurant environment -- we've been a number of times. But unfortunately the poor service left a very bad impression.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We really enjoyed our meals. Pork belly and filet were very good as was the burger that my son ordered. The service was good but it took awhile for us to get our food. We were there during Winter break so this may explain the delay. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Our waiter with the stache was attentive but not obtrusive- as we all prefer. Starter of pork belly savory- quite delectable. The lamb shank w/ risotto Milanese excellent but risotto a bit dry but the wine reduction sauce made up for it. A South African Stellenbosch Syrah was suggested- and at $40 was a superb value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was very good, pork chops, scallops pork belly & chicken. Generous main course portions. Service could be more efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Deeply disappointed because of past great service.

This was a special occasion dinner for a group of eight on Valentines Day. The reservation was made through OpenTable. We were made to wait about an hour and one-half for our table primarily because of one dining couple that was seated against the wall in the eight seat table that we were to be seated. Six seats were vacant for about two hours. The restaurant manager could not figure out how to politely move the dining couple, whom had stayed way beyond an acceptable time after dinner and desert. When we pressed the issue the manager gave us some complimentary wine, pellegrino and some soft drinks. We pressed the issue twice.

The food was excellent and above par.

The service during the dinner was good, except for one dinner coming too late to be acceptable.

The after dinner wait time for the bill was unacceptable. It took about a forty-five minutes before our bill was tabulated and presented. We were the last ones to leave the restaurant just before midnight for an 8:15pm dinner reservation.

This restaurant needs to review its protocol for special occasion dining and not hold up a table of eight in order to seat two people ahead of time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines, tough night. Back table w/ extreme kitchen noise. Sucks but worst part was leaving with all the 4 tops empty same as we walked In. Food was good, my pork was overcooked but still tasty. we are in town 20 times a year. Not making an effort any longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Dining food was good but, bar food menu was more diverse

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Classy and warm dining room on a cold and snowy night. Great and attentive service. No way were the two veggie enchiladas worth $35 but they were delicious. Check it out if you're looking to splurge at Squaw Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Even tho we got seated between the male and female members of a wedding shower we had a good meal and were well taken care of

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We ate here with friends whom recommended this restaurant and said they sat deep inside the restaurant. Unfortunately, we sat at the first table, inches from the boisterous bar, and couldn't hear each other across the table. We couldn't wait to leave due to the noise. A bummer, since the food and service were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food great as usual service was unusually disappointing

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience great food

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service! I can highly recommend this place in the heart of Olympic Valley!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food was amazing. I had the stuffed chicken breast and it was delicious, best food I had in a long time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was great but we had to ask for drinks twice for every round.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Impressive food
Impressively slow service
Server lacked all basic details. He either had zero training or didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great food, beautiful decor. Food was a bit slow coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Menu is small but everything sounded wonderful. Creative combinations. Apres ski atmosphere is great. A bit noisy because of the type of crowd, but a nice place to enjoy dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and ambiance were quite nice for Tahoe. Wine list was great, but it took too long (after we had already finished our appetizer and salad) for the sommelier to bring the wine to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The ambience is quite nice, about what you'd expect for a mountain lodge. The service was attentive but not too much so. (the water had a voice that carried, otherwise it would be a quiet place). The food was very good. My wife and I both had the Pork Belly appetizer and it was sublime...our entrees were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went there with my wife on a very busy Saturday night during a long weekend. Further there was a big football game on in the bar which drove up the noise level. The staff was very flexible with regard to our seating time, we had a 8:15 reservation but wanted to spend some more time in the bar to watch the end of the game and they graciously accommodated the delay despite having a full house and a wait list. That's frankly very impressive. The wait staff were very attentive but unfortunately the kitchen staff was overwhelmed with the crowd and it took forever to get our entrées (both of which were very good). I realize that this is seldom the fault of the waiter but mentioned, I believe politely, that the wait was on the long side. He said he'd make it up to us. I said that it wasn't necessary, as he wasn't causing the delay, also the compensation for this is generally something modest like a dessert which we didn't want or removing a round of drinks. So I was astonished when the bill came back with the cost of the most expensive entrée removed. Lots of restaurants have bad night, few apologize with such a sincere gesture. I would go back in a minute for the food and the service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service on a sold-out weekend. They accommodated us graciously by putting our reservation together with friends' dining an hour later and splitting the difference on timing. Tasty food well prepared but some dishes could have been served hotter.

Tags: Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pork belly appetizer is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We spent an entire week in Napa, Sonoma and in Lake Tahoe from Chicago during the Holidays, and PLUMPJACK was our last night in California. TRULY, it was by far the best meal we had not only on this trip but over the past year. And we ate at Bouchon in Napa 3 days earlier. OMG, everything was incredible from the Tuna Cones thru the amazing Salads, Pork Chops and of course CADE and Plumpjack Wines. We also found the service from Jason, our wine Som and Joe, our Server to be so personable and just feeling very special. We received this recommendation from Julie at Mountain Hardware, the most amazing decor and furniture store in Truckee...and we just love all these guys! Please make PlumpJack a stop over while in North Tahoe...and you will not be disappointed. LOVED IT!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was sensational and that was about it. Our server was mostly non existent and we mistook the busgirl for our server since she was the one asking us how we were doing, if we wanted a wine list. The wine list was extensive (>750 different bottles) so I was surprised there was only a wine director and not a sommelier. This was not a negative, just a bit of a surprise. The lighting is horrendous in our area since there were two small spot lights shining directly down on each of us. We asked to have them dimmed though were told they were as low as possible. Having a light shine down in your eyes the entree meal was annoying. we noticed another couple complained and were moved to a better table, our server never even offered that choice. Lastly, the noise level was horrendous for an upscale place to eat. There is absolutely nothing to absorb the volume, not even fabric on the walls or ceiling or acoustic tiles...I would not go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food! Attentive staff, charming and lively crowd! Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Been dining here and the (now closed) city restaurant since 2001. What used to be a unique experience with a wine list that was promoted by ownership as having a modest mark-up is now just another over-priced night out. $70 beef Wellington and a 3x mark-up on Peter Michael. Chose Dec 30 to avoid hoi polloi and hoopla of the 31st to find five of us cramped into a table for four, having booked months ago. Hostess wouldn't move us since "the kitchen couldn't possibly get you out in 2 hours when the next table arrives." We were gone in 90 minutes. Sadly, Squaw has no real options, so PJ's monopoly continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.