About Plumeria Beach House

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$35.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Sunday, Monday and Thursday (Closed Tuesday & Wednesday evenings)
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/honolulu_restaurants/plumeria_beach_house/

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Restaurant Photos

Plumeria Beach House
Hawaiian Bloody Mary
Made To Order Omelette
Breakfast Buffet
Cold Cuts And Cheese
Breakfast Meats
Mai Tai
Mimosa
Crepes
roasted red potatoes
Bacon!!!!!!
Roast Duck
Iced tea
Steamed Rice
Black Coffee
bar snacks
Green Thai Curry with Seafood
Plumeria Sparkling Sangria
Flirtatious
Cucumber Ginger Smash
Spicy Ahi Poke
The View
Vodka/Water With Lime
Shrimp Cocktail
Sashimi
Breakfast

Promotions

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet

Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

The Best of Kahala Seafood Buffet

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Promotions

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet

Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Details
Try a variety of delicious curries from around the world served with all the condiments every Wednesday at lunchtime at the ocean front Plumeria Beach House. Enjoy salads and dessert selections, too—it’s all you can eat. $35 per person ++. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 30, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
The Best of Kahala Seafood Buffet

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Seafood lovers will rejoice at the fresh, quality offerings at Plumeria Beach House every Friday and Saturday. The Plumeria Beach House’s The Best of Kahala Seafood Buffet has no rivals. An all-you-can-eat affair with all your favorites $60pp++. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 30, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Fridays and Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Hawaii
Great for Lunch
Hawaii
Kid Friendly
Hawaii
7 More
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii
Scenic View
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Great for Lunch
Oahu
Outdoor Dining
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

scenic view (92)
great for outdoor dining (80)
special occasion (71)
See All
great for brunch (59)
great for lunch (57)
good for groups (54)
kid-friendly (47)
romantic (37)
fit for foodies (28)
neighborhood gem (22)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
587 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Such a great place to have a nice dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Such a great place to have a nice dinner. Buffet is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FOOD WAS OK, SERVER WASN'T ATTENTIVE, GR ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

FOOD WAS OK, SERVER WASN'T ATTENTIVE, GREETED US HAPPY ANNIVERSARRY WHEN IT'S MY HUBBY'S BIRTHDAY. WHEN TIME TO ORDER, SHE DIDN'T PUT IN MY ORDER, WASN'T PAYING ATTENTION OR LISTENING I GUESS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

It's a nice place to eat breakfast with ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

It's a nice place to eat breakfast with your family. We brought our 2 year old and she enjoyed eating while looking out towards the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The "wine-down Thursday" was unfortunate ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The "wine-down Thursday" was unfortunately disappointing. Warm hospitality and lush surroundings, but very average wine pairings and "meh" main courses (we had the butterfish and the pork chop) made this a meal we won't care to remember. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Too expensive for quality of portions of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Too expensive for quality of portions of meal. Kids meals came out 15-20 mins before adult portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

It was the perfect place for lunch with ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was the perfect place for lunch with my Daughter-in-law and young grand-daughter. The scenery was beautiful and the food delicious. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Delicious sashimi and shr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service. Delicious sashimi and shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The seafood buffet did not have a good s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The seafood buffet did not have a good selection, and 7 hours after the meal, experienced food poisoning. I was up all night. Called Kahala the next day, and left a message with them, for the Food & Beverage Manager or someone to call to address my concern, and never received a call. It is now two days since we made the call. We will not go back to this restaurant. The restaurant was not even a quarter full for a Saturday evening. Dessert was probably the best part of the meal.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

One of the best sea food buffet I have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the best sea food buffet I have experienced. The sashimi was fresh and high quality. The king crab legs were plump and juicy. Will defiantly be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service. Family enjoyed t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food and service. Family enjoyed the seafood buffet. Epitome discount taken off of my tab without asking for my card number. Wonderful!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at the Plumeria on Friday and Sa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were at the Plumeria on Friday and Saturday nite 7-15,16-16 for the Seafood Buffet. The sashimi, oysters on the half shell were great (10). Very fresh. The creamed fish was ok(6), great sauce, not so great fish. On Friday, they served NY steak which was ok(6). They served some prime rib (8) on Saturday , which was better than the NY steak. The Ah Jue was not good (4). The shrimp with head that was cooked by the chef was good (8) but need more garlic. The chioppino was good (8). Did not try the snow crab legs so I could not rate it. The tossed mix salad contained some old leafs that should have been sorted out, otherwise it was ok. On Saturday nite around 8pm, a fish dish was brought out that was very good. Tasted like Chilean Sea Bass! (9).

The poki was very good(9). The pineapple and watermelon was good(8). The desserts were just ok (4-5), you can do better, good variety, but poor taste and quality. The bread pudding was the best desert. The tapioca was too watered down.

The service was good(8).

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a beautiful spot in a beautiful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a beautiful spot in a beautiful older hotel overlooking the ocean. The food and service are not on par with the pricing, but the location makes one overlook some of the misgivings of the food and service. We tried two of the soups, a chowder and a cold soup. Neither was good. The club sandwich came with potato chips and was nothing special. The seafood curry was on par with an average Thai restaurant. The bread pudding was good. I would return for the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed. By 11am, there wasn't muc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Disappointed. By 11am, there wasn't much of a selection left at the buffet. We could see the crumbs of what used to be there. We waited forever to get seated and our elderly parents were standing a long time. There's no place to sit and wait while the cashier busily added up the bills instead of greeting and seating waiting customers. Nothing special on the brunch buffet, just the usual omelet bar and that was also a long wait. I've had the same at the Embassy suites for free! We got a piece of cake with candle for a birthday, but there were no deserts elections on the buffet for anyone else. Best thing about it was our waitress, Barbara, and the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food and service here were both adeq ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service here were both adequate. There was quite a lag of time between our ordering and receiving our dishes. This was our first trip here and perhaps this place suffered from the comparison to Hoku's upstairs which we enjoy much more.

I would have preferred that the music was softer to permit easier conversation for these old ears of ours.

The location is beautiful and it was a pleasure walking around the grounds. The valet service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We celebrate all of our major happenings ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We celebrate all of our major happenings at this restaurant - birthdays, anniversaries, graduation, special honors, etc. It is always wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I was very disappointed as it was for a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was very disappointed as it was for a baby shower. We waited to be seated and then had to ask for menus after sitting for 15 minutes. Our food then arrived over 30 minutes later and water was only refilled after being asked. Other drinks were never refilled. After eating we waiting another 20 minutes for a waiter, when none stopped by, I went to the waithelp stand to hand them my credit card and asked for the bill. Other 15 minutes went by so I flagged another waiter down and reminded them to bring our bill and my card. Lastly my mother had food poisoning from the meal and she will never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The Plumeria Beach House has friendly wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Plumeria Beach House has friendly waiters and waitresses, great service, a variety of delicious foods and a beautiful view.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View is absolutely gorgeous for sunset p ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

View is absolutely gorgeous for sunset pictures. We come here every time we return home. Usually we just enjoy a cocktail and pupus and take a few pictures. This time we brought our children and had dinner. My suggestions is go to Hoku's for the food, come to the Plumeria Beach House for cocktails, pupus and the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The buffet was excellent, with a wide v ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The buffet was excellent, with a wide variety of fish, salads and signature deserts. Combined with a magical setting and friendly service this is the place we choose for our special nights out with Ohana.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time here in Plumeria an ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was my first time here in Plumeria and I'm planning to go back with different group of people. I like the ambiance, the food was fresh, I like the oysters and the mango drink although I didn't get a birthday cake with candle😂, it was my birthday otherwise I'll be back soon

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Server and nice atmosphere . E ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent Server and nice atmosphere . Excellent buffet

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Fantastic view!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I'm sorry to report the food was very di ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I'm sorry to report the food was very disappointing, as I have been a customer of the Kahala when it was a hilton for the last 42 years. . . this food was barely acceptable, no inspiration, nothing unique, or even worth eating. . .sorry, it was very sad for this kind of a hotel. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The view was amazing! It was practically ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The view was amazing! It was practically right on the beach; we even got to witness a wedding! The food was great... I especially loved the carving station. The only thing I didn't like was that it was sooooooo hot. I know, my fault for booking an open air restaurant but I just wished it was a little cooler.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable, good breakfast food choice ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Comfortable, good breakfast food choices, excellent ambiance for get togetherness, talking, enjoying each other's company and the dolphins after brunch, made it a well spent delightful time!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated BF to Father's Day Brunch - was ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated BF to Father's Day Brunch - was a big hit with entire family. Food's good. Ambiance is gorgeous. Restaurant could do a better job keeping food items full - seemed a little understaffed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server, although very cordial, was l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, although very cordial, was less than stellar in regards to attentiveness to the customer. When initially seated we were asked for our drinks. We asked if we could have a couple minutes to decide...the server never returned until we were 3/4 through our meal, and we were only asked , "How is your food?" The food was pretty good(considering it was a buffet $60/adult and $30/child 12 & under). But so much for our bottle of wine we wanted to have with dinner, or coffee that we could have enjoyed with dessert. C'est la vie.

Quite disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Delicious variety of food and customer s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious variety of food and customer service is always excellent! A great way to relax, enjoy the ocean views and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Friday night buffet - terrifi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had the Friday night buffet - terrific seafood, salads, prime rib, and yummy desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very poor service. We watied for server ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very poor service. We watied for server for a LONG time (at least 15 minutes) . It was so terrible. I have been to this restaurants for many times. This time was the worse experience ever. No matter the food or the service, I don't think it was worth the price they charged me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Plumeria Beach House has an outstanding ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Plumeria Beach House has an outstanding setting, as well as food and service. My only complaint is that the wines are waaaaaaaay over priced--marked up about 4x-5x retail as compared to 2x or 3x for other fine restaurants in Honolulu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's a mediocre buffet. Not worth the mo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It's a mediocre buffet. Not worth the money or time. Service was lacking...I ordered a water as my only drink and never even got it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Best brunch buffet with aloha service an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Best brunch buffet with aloha service and delicious choices for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience. We have bee ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent dining experience. We have been here over a dozen times. Always wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible night!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Exceptional atmosphere, outstanding service and awesome food!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacationing with elderly parents, we cho ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Vacationing with elderly parents, we chose this restaurant for its reputation, menu, and location. Our reservation was for lunch. We arrived to this beautiful property that everyone in our party had visited years ago. Although it had many physical changes after many years, the service and atmosphere remained top notch.

Our table was inside but, of course, all the doors were open to the fabulous Hawaiian weather. Our server was wonderful as was our lunch.

Although it's a little bit outside of Honolulu and Waikiki madness, it's worth the drive to find some "room" and quiet to truly enjoy the reason why we flew so many hours to get there from the east coast!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The seafood can be more multi selection. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The seafood can be more multi selection. By the way, when I were eating a watermelon, I found a piece of glass shards in the watermelon. The foods and fruits should be more safety.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The service is always friendly and there ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The service is always friendly and there's a great selection of food from the brunch buffet line. This time I ordered the lobster eggs benedict. It was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrific buffet. Delicious seafood.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Terrific buffet. Delicious seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were given roomy table and the food w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We were given roomy table and the food was good. Kitchen was extraordinarily slow for a restaurant that had about 70% capacity. Staff let us talk, which is nice, without pressuring us to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.