Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Plumeria Beach House

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$38.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (45)
Waterfront (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
See All
Special Occasion (30)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Casual (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Fun (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Healthy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
813 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

We love this breakfast/brunch!! We came 6 years ago and I've been dreaming of this ever since- we came back and it was everything I remembered and more!! Love it!!

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything about the Plumeria Cafe is great ... the service, the food and the view. Staff are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went here for our 38th wedding anniversary. Excellent food and fabulous service from our waiter, Eric. Every time we go there we say "we should do this more often." Great cheeseburger and really tasty fries.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 15, 2017

Employees in this restaurant is excellent and their hospitalities were fine. Foods were fresh and were nicely cooked. We accompanied a small child and he also enjoyed this eivironment and tastes of foods. We greatly appreciate cooking and atmosphere in this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Outdoor seating was wonderful. Very few people were seated at the 7:00 pm time. Live music (one musician) added to the ambiance, loved it. Food - Brussel sprouts were very good, lettuce /citrus salad was mostly citrus (I wouldnʻt order it again), braised beef was salty but tender. Overall, a nice evening with a close-up view and feel of the ocean.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It was a very nice evening and in such a beautiful setting.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Through the years I have never been disappointed by my meals at Plumeria Beach House. The service is absolutely impeccable, and the food and setting are unparalleled! You can sit inside, outside, or right on the cusp, as I prefer: the feeling of the outdoors with a hint of air conditioning... You'll love it! Worth every penny.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I feel silly that I was disappointed that the food got better at this restaurant. Plumeria Beach House is the casual dining choice for the Kahala Hotel and Resort. The excellent Hoku's restaurant upstairs is a dependably good, but pricier option for a special occasion. So I was surprised when I hoped to get a burger or something inexpensive and light to find that Friday and Saturday nights have a buffet for $60 instead. You can order from an ala carte menu, however, that menu is very limited. Good news for kamaaina (locals) is that there is a 10% discount off the $60. The buffet is excellent, but you need to know that this is not the low cost option (at least on Fridays and Saturdays) that this beautiful beach-side location used to be.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Dinner: We had a 6:30 reservation. We were seated outside at a very nice table. The menu is very limited. This is the second time we have eaten at Plumaria this week. We are staying in the hotel. We had fresh fish the first time. Only one choice of fresh fish. Hawaii???? It was not fresh. Obviously, frozen, and was raw in the center. Second visit. Onion soup - very good. Tacos. Not tacos but a salad with something on top that was like a cracker. Very odd. Both times, the service was awful. Took forever to get the food and beyond forever to get a check. Appears to be enough wait help but very disorganized. Very large family groups eating with lots of children running around. We are a couple. On the other side, the breakfast is very good. We did not do the $38.00 buffet simply because we do not like buffets. The service was good at breakfast and a good menu choice. My suggestion, stay away from dinner but try the breakfast. Expect to eat with a lot of little children running around the tables.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Peaceful 4th of July lunch with my wife, great weather, and view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Love this place. Had a great lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on July 1, 2017

The seafood buffet is the absolute best that they have to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 30, 2017

my wife and i planned to spend several nights at the kahala resort to celebrate a birthday and our anniversary. our first night at the kahala resort was a thursday evening. i wanted to sample the kama'aina thursday dinner at plumeria beach house. no regrets. thanks to server todd and and assistant dan, my wife enjoyed a special evening at the plumeria beach house. todd insured that we had everything needed for the evening including a glass of sauvignon blanc, the kama'aina thursday at the kahala featured entrees of baked main lobster and my hoisin black bean marinated lamb chop. my wife's selection of the lobster tail was baked. it was dry and rather small. my lamb loin chop turned out to be a roasted rack of lamb. it was medium, which i prefer, tender and delicious. this was a good choice. the salad selection buffet style was OK. there were three styles of greens with choice of dressings. the dessert selection was poor. it was an array of pre-sliced cakes, mousse, and brownies. nothing special or impressive. however, it was nice to sample the advertised kama'aina thursdays at the kahala at $45.00 plus taxa and gratuity per person. wine is additional. the chef at the plumeria beach house needs to revamp his kama'aina thursday dinner at the kahala to include a hawaiian plate with kalua pig, poi, lomi salmon and haupia as a featured "local" entree to this kama'aina thursday at the kahala dinner selection. also, do increase the size of the baked lobster tail. this seemed like a 3 ounce tail before baking. it was small. safeway sells frozen lobster tails at retail $5.99 each with a 6 ounce weight. overall, we enjoyed our evening at the plumeria beach house thanks to todd and dan. they made up for the entree offerings, or, lack of it, at the kama'aina thursdays at the kahala. mahalo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My daughter who lives on the East coast came in that afternoon for a visit. She stayed at The Kahala. We decided to have dinner at The Plumeria Beach House. The food was amazing! We ordered the Prawns Tempura and the Miso Butterfish. The prawns were huge and the fish was made well, very tasty. We had the Onion Soup which was delicious and not salty. My daughter had the Salad Bar, she is the vegetarian in the Family! We were in The Veranda a few months ago when they featured wines from Portugal. Any restaurant we dine at, I always ask the Staff if they have any wines from Portugal. That evening they did. They brought a bottle down from Hoku's. We enjoyed it with our meal. The manager, Won, Todd, our waiter, and the others, Jesse and Daniel, were very nice and accommodating. We love coming here! And we will continue to tell people about The Plumeria Beach House!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A wonderful evening with friends. Sunset was perfect. Good unpretentious menu, fun craft cocktails, nice wine list...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Live Music, Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I visit the restaurants at The Kahala Resort frequently and have been to the Plumeria Beach House for their seafood buffet many times and I'm an Epitome member. My experiences in the past have been wonderful. This time I was disappointed. The food didn't seem to be maintained and refreshed as often as it should have been, the prime rib was not seasoned well and was tough and the service at the bar was plain unfriendly and unattentive. I live close by and probably visit here a couple times a week. The Veranda is always very friendly and on point. I would probably not go to the bar in Plumeria Beach House again but would eat in the dining room and Hoku. It wasn't bad enough to make me not go back...just not up to the past experiences.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We always love the Plumeria cafe, the food is excellent, the staff are Amazing and the scenic view is unbeatable!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ono food! Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food was very good. Outdoor seating gives you a front row view of the Pacific. It rained a little during dinner and the wind will knock water that's collected off of the umbrella. Our server was awful this specific night, but that has been the exception to our multiple meals at this restaurant. Like the rest of the Kahala, the service is typically first class.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Location is great, away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki Beach hotels. Beautiful hotel and beautiful views from the beach house; however, feels dated in the restaurant area. Staff could use a refresher course in what is necessary for great customer service. Great service with a smile can make an ordinary place feel outstanding. The food was good, but not great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We went there for birthday and they gave us a birthday cake
It made very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Brunch and Mimosa right on the beach before leaving Oahu. Awesome!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very good Sat dinner buffet. Will definotely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Awesome for a lunch and an excuse to use their beachfront property. Hand crafted guava lemonade was amazing. Husband ordered the catch of the day and was one of the best fish dishes he has had in Hawaii.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Does not disappoint. Food good as always, staff friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Such a beautiful setting. Waitstaff was attentive and effecent. Food was wonderful. Enjoyed the fish tacos. Great place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Buffet was ok. Definitely will only come back during the morning for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 27, 2017

great selection of food, things never ran out, always brought out new platters, service was excellent which I consider to be very important, friendly and professional server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Very good seafood selection. Location is very good with beach view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Been there 3 times in 2 weeks for business and social. Service and food is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Beautiful location but the food and service was marginal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

後輩のbirthdayをHawaiiでお祝いしました。
3回目の来店でしたが期待を裏切らない完璧なお店です。
11月の利用時にウェディングのお祝いで伺った時も喜んでくれたので、今回も利用させていただきました。
ロケーションもお食事も最高です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We dined at the restaurant for brunch. The staff was very friendly and attentive, but the buffet selection wasn't as good as in previous years. There were the usual options such as fruit, pastries and hot foods (bacon, eggs, starch) but nothing extra special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Waitress was not great. Low caliber for that level of price & food offering. She made us wait for 10 minutes before she welcome us & offered beverages. Her table service manners were below the restaurant's usually service standards. We fine there at least 4 time per year. Food was great but what made it less than enjoyable was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic dining experience! Extremely high quality weekend buffet. Fresh, small serving dishes that are constantly replenished. Food was always fresh!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Healthy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great service, wonderful food and a lovely atmosphere made it a memorable date night for my husband and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were greeted in the lobby by the bell team, and they were courteous and helpful. Our experience was very warm and inviting up until the point when we were finally served our food. We ordered starters and entrees, but our waiter was confused and brought out one starter and one entree then disappeared. I shared my entree with my friend, but a half an hour later the waiter delivers another starter, and we're confused because after waiting so long and not seeing our server around we just shared what we had. This was supposed to be a very special day because my friend, who is dying of cancer, I wanted this day for him. For his sake I did not say anything or make a fuss, and was very gracious to the waiter. Despite this experience I still tipped the waiter well and only because I know that most service industry workers depend on it, especially here in Hawaii, but I am not certain that I would go to this particular restaurant ever again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Rita provided cheerful, attentive, yet unobtrusive service throughout our leisurely lunch. Our orders were beautifully plated, contained fresh ingredients, and reflected nuanced seasoning. The ocean view provided a welcome backdrop to the meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fantastic ambience, foods and service! Beautiful environment! The kahalasadas were delicious. Made to order eggs dishes were exquisite! Brian, our service associate was professional, friendly and anticipated needs! An enjoyable dining experience! ThankU!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful, as usual! Really appreciate that we never feel pressured to "clear out." The staff is always friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.