About Plumeria Beach House

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$35.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Sunday, Monday and Thursday (Closed Tuesday & Wednesday evenings)
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/honolulu_restaurants/plumeria_beach_house/

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Restaurant Photos

Plumeria Beach House
Hawaiian Bloody Mary
Made To Order Omelette
Breakfast Buffet
Cold Cuts And Cheese
Breakfast Meats
Mai Tai
Mimosa
Crepes
roasted red potatoes
Bacon!!!!!!
Roast Duck
Iced tea
Steamed Rice
Black Coffee
bar snacks
Green Thai Curry with Seafood
Plumeria Sparkling Sangria
Flirtatious
Cucumber Ginger Smash
Spicy Ahi Poke
The View
Vodka/Water With Lime
Shrimp Cocktail
Sashimi
Breakfast

Promotions

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet

Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

The Best of Kahala Seafood Buffet

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Promotions

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet

Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Details
Try a variety of delicious curries from around the world served with all the condiments every Wednesday at lunchtime at the ocean front Plumeria Beach House. Enjoy salads and dessert selections, too—it’s all you can eat. $35 per person ++. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 30, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Wednesdays from 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM.
The Best of Kahala Seafood Buffet

Fridays and Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
Seafood lovers will rejoice at the fresh, quality offerings at Plumeria Beach House every Friday and Saturday. The Plumeria Beach House’s The Best of Kahala Seafood Buffet has no rivals. An all-you-can-eat affair with all your favorites $60pp++. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 30, 2016 - Jul 30, 2016 on Fridays and Saturdays from 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Hawaii
Great for Brunch
Hawaii
Great for Lunch
Hawaii
10 More
Kid Friendly
Hawaii
Outdoor Dining
Hawaii
Scenic View
Hawaii
Contemporary American
Hawaii
Best Overall
Oahu
Best Ambiance
Oahu
Great for Lunch
Oahu
Outdoor Dining
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

scenic view (96)
great for outdoor dining (90)
special occasion (74)
See All
great for brunch (68)
great for lunch (60)
good for groups (57)
kid-friendly (49)
romantic (45)
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (21)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

I'm sorry to report the food was very di ...

Dined 5 days ago

I'm sorry to report the food was very disappointing, as I have been a customer of the Kahala when it was a hilton for the last 42 years. . . this food was barely acceptable, no inspiration, nothing unique, or even worth eating. . .sorry, it was very sad for this kind of a hotel. I won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was amazing! It was practically ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The view was amazing! It was practically right on the beach; we even got to witness a wedding! The food was great... I especially loved the carving station. The only thing I didn't like was that it was sooooooo hot. I know, my fault for booking an open air restaurant but I just wished it was a little cooler.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable, good breakfast food choice ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Comfortable, good breakfast food choices, excellent ambiance for get togetherness, talking, enjoying each other's company and the dolphins after brunch, made it a well spent delightful time!

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Treated BF to Father's Day Brunch - was ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated BF to Father's Day Brunch - was a big hit with entire family. Food's good. Ambiance is gorgeous. Restaurant could do a better job keeping food items full - seemed a little understaffed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service1

Our server, although very cordial, was l ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, although very cordial, was less than stellar in regards to attentiveness to the customer. When initially seated we were asked for our drinks. We asked if we could have a couple minutes to decide...the server never returned until we were 3/4 through our meal, and we were only asked , "How is your food?" The food was pretty good(considering it was a buffet $60/adult and $30/child 12 & under). But so much for our bottle of wine we wanted to have with dinner, or coffee that we could have enjoyed with dessert. C'est la vie. Quite disappointing...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious variety of food and customer s ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious variety of food and customer service is always excellent! A great way to relax, enjoy the ocean views and great food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We had the Friday night buffet - terrifi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had the Friday night buffet - terrific seafood, salads, prime rib, and yummy desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very poor service. We watied for server ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very poor service. We watied for server for a LONG time (at least 15 minutes) . It was so terrible. I have been to this restaurants for many times. This time was the worse experience ever. No matter the food or the service, I don't think it was worth the price they charged me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Plumeria Beach House has an outstanding ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Plumeria Beach House has an outstanding setting, as well as food and service. My only complaint is that the wines are waaaaaaaay over priced--marked up about 4x-5x retail as compared to 2x or 3x for other fine restaurants in Honolulu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

It's a mediocre buffet. Not worth the mo ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

It's a mediocre buffet. Not worth the money or time. Service was lacking...I ordered a water as my only drink and never even got it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch buffet with aloha service an ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Best brunch buffet with aloha service and delicious choices for food.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent dining experience. We have bee ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent dining experience. We have been here over a dozen times. Always wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible night!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Exceptional atmosphere, outstanding service and awesome food!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The seafood can be more multi selection. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The seafood can be more multi selection. By the way, when I were eating a watermelon, I found a piece of glass shards in the watermelon. The foods and fruits should be more safety.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service is always friendly and there ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The service is always friendly and there's a great selection of food from the brunch buffet line. This time I ordered the lobster eggs benedict. It was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific buffet. Delicious seafood.

Dined on May 15, 2016

Terrific buffet. Delicious seafood.

food4
ambience4
service2

We were given roomy table and the food w ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We were given roomy table and the food was good. Kitchen was extraordinarily slow for a restaurant that had about 70% capacity. Staff let us talk, which is nice, without pressuring us to leave.

food5
ambience5
service2

The miso butterfish was delicious.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The miso butterfish was delicious.

food5
ambience3
service3

Had the Wednesday curry buffet. The food ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Had the Wednesday curry buffet. The food was delicious from the 3 different curries and rices, variety of salads and desserts. All were ono! Service was a little slow and with kids crying to noisy silverware replenishing sounds, the atmosphere was more coffee shop than relaxing resort. But other than that it was a pretty nice lunch.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice relux time

Dined on May 2, 2016

Little bit away from waikiki, have a relux time seeing dolphins & colorfull seafishes under natural sound

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Down a notch?

Dined on May 2, 2016

I always book The Plumeria at least once for every visit. This was Lei Day, booked early. No need to. The restaurant had 3 tables of diners at a prime time. Seemed odd. Had to send one dish back as it did not taste the same as another of the same dish we had at the table. It was handled very very well but still sorry about the entire evening. Empty room, so so food for all...... not sure what is happening. I still recommend for brunch. I'd try again before suggesting others go for dinner. The resort is tops - maybe an off night? sorry

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

nice and relaxing space

Dined on April 27, 2016

We used the restaurant during the travel for celebrating our 10th anniversary. Why we booked breakfast was that your breakfast is listed in Hawaiian guide of mine. And this is our first time in Hawaii. So we didn't know so much about your restaurant nor your hotel and we didn't expected so much. But now, I know your restaurant and your hotel as one of the nicest and the most relaxing place ever. The ocean, the pools, the garden, and so on. Everything fits to us. We felt like staying in Isle of Pines where we stayed for Honeymoon. We stayed Hilton this time, but if possible, we wanna stay and enjoy your hotel someday and eat breakfast in your restaurant every morning. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

improvement on buffet

Dined on April 24, 2016

For the price of buffet, saimin station should be changed. Maybe ok for lunch time. But it wasn't the greatest. Prime rib was excellent but aujus better than demiglaze. The cold selections and fish were wonderful. Clam Chowder was awesome Main entrees was mostly seafood but could be more tasty. Desserts were great especially bread pudding.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Catch the sunrise

Dined on April 23, 2016

I planned breakfast, they serve as early as 6:30am and just to be sure I made the simple and easy reservation for two on opentable for Plumeria Beach House. Breakfast variety is amazing and tasty. Then a walk on the beach and hammocks available on the property.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The resutarant was perfect for us.

Dined on April 22, 2016

We cerabrated birthday for one of our friend. Everybody really enjoyed the lunch. I will recommend to other people and I will bring my family, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We were 10'minutes late but called ahea ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We were 10'minutes late but called ahead to let them know ... When we arrived we were seated right away at a great table facing the water...lovely! We were offered water and drinks right away..Lori our server was fantastic as always and the bus-man was also attentive to bring water and clear plates. The food was excellent, fresh and well presented. Chef Mario kindly explained to my guest what the food labels meant ..EF,GF... so glad to see this! Lori went on a break but she let us know that we would be taken care of... when she came back, she brought a birthday cake for our birthday girl Vicki...so thoughtful! We always enjoy the beautiful atmosphere, great service and great food... that's why we come back time and time again! Mahalo!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

good restaurant

Dined on April 16, 2016

The correspondence of the Japanese staff was disappointing. I was able to spend so wonderful time other than it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Fabulous staff and terrific vi ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Loved it. Fabulous staff and terrific view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was outstanding, but very pricey. O ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food was outstanding, but very pricey. Our bill was about $50 a person, and 3 of the guests were children. There was no alcohol purchased...just non alcoholic beverages and the dinner buffet. It is definitely a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxed Elegance

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Bring it down a notch - your stress level, that is! Just sitting in this venue is relaxing. Add to that a superlative waitstaff, a lovely view and foodie- worth menu - what's not to love?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A GREAT GETAWAY FROM THE MADDENING PACE

Dined on April 11, 2016

FANTASTIC REUNION SITE FOR FOUR VINTAGE LADIES AND WONDERFUL MENU SELECTION. BUT COULD HAVE USED A REFILL ON THE ICE TEA!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Buffet on Island

Dined on April 10, 2016

Menu was on point- there is enough selection to have each item packed with flavor yet not too many to be over whelmed. The Friday/Saturday buffet is perfect for a special occasion or a night with the family. It may be seem pricey but you get what you pay for. We are looking forward to going again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, the staff is extremely accommodating!

Dined on April 4, 2016

What I love about this establishment is that "anything's possible" attitude and graciousness. The food quality is always par excellence and delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easter at Plumeria

Dined on March 28, 2016

Outstanding service - perfect view - abundance of tasty food on the buffet. We had a wonderful evening with family.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service by our waitstaff Barbara was just perfect

Dined on March 26, 2016

Really enjoyed our visit. Everything was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch , lovely setting

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have been enjoying brunch at The Plumeria Beach Cafe for more than 20 years and it has never disappointed. The beachside setting is glorious, the food delicious with ample choice, the service attentive without being intrusive. Our daughter chose to have her wedding there with brunch to follow which I think is a resounding endorsement

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Crab Legs

Dined on March 25, 2016

Good value for the price, just a little disappointed with crab legs on bottom of pan sits in water. Maybe a "strainer like" on bottom so if you're the unlucky one to get those, the pieces would not have water in them. When cracking these, the water drips down your hand.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful Lunch

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Lovely spot for lunch. Eat outside for ambience and view. Good food, good drinks. Don't miss the cheesecake!! Delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service!! As always I apprecia ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent service!! As always I appreciate the great service and the chef's willingness to cater to my dietary restrictions. Mahalo!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have been to the Breakfast buffet here several times and we had a big birthday celebration here once. I have always been wowed by the scenery and the food has always be good. The best part of the experience has always been the service. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.