Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Plumeria Beach House

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$38.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Waterfront (38)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Casual (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Romantic (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
People Watching (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fun (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Family Style (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Cozy (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

シーフードのビュッフェスタイルなので食べたいものが食べられる。
子供向けの品物は少ないようだが、お肉もありなんとかなる。
ただし、いいお値段である。

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Tough to beat the location: you can almost dip your toes in the water while dining, but it's not just about the view (and we were not staying at the resort). We ended up doing a main course (Patagonian white fish) and several sides/salads, including their take on Brussels sprouts (yum), wild rice, asparagus, and grilled local veggies): all very good, accompanied by a cocktail and glass of wine. Jonna and the rest of the staff provided great service. Very pleasant evening.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, service and venue. Current renovations are so far not an issue. Always an enjoyable spot for a delicious lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nice but noisy. Food - in my case the sushi - was super fresh and tasty; portions were generous. Service was prompt and courteous. Seating on the lanai is much preferable to seating inside as the noise level aside does get high. And why would you go to the Plumeria Beach House if not to enjoy the outdoor ambience of overlooking the Pacific Ocean?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Although the food was good, our service was TERRIBLE!!! I've never had a server/waitress who gave every impression that she did not want to be there. Her name is Jonna. She did not address us for almost 15 minutes after we were seated and because we were seated right next to their station, we could hear what all the servers were saying and they could also hear what we were saying. My husband and I openly asked where our server was and although she was standing directly in back of us, she ignored us and did not come to greet us until 15 minutes had passed. She was not friendly, and forgot everything we requested. we asked for lemons the 2x times that she came by but she never brought it. the bus boy was her only saving grace. he did his best to clear our table but even then, we were still stuck with moving plates to the side so we could eat. she was only friendly when she brought the bill....then she charged me 3 times the amount. I asked her to void it and after another 15 minutes went by she came back with the same charge draft with her handwritten "void" on it and said it was taken care of. I went to speak to the person in charge that evening and she was not helpful either explaining they couldn't do anything about having the item voided from my account now. For a restaurant in a "high end" hotel, their service and friendliness are serious lacking! I had a reservation for Saturday as well and canceled it...I could not subject myself to another evening of bad service. If i were in my right mind, i would not even have tipped her but I felt sorry for the bus boy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was fine except I wish the waiter came around to bus the plates away and give me more water. I don't like to complain but have found that is the only way for them to get better. That is how I have become who I am by learning from my mistakes.
I was a waiter for 20 years and even worked at the Plumeria café 50 years ago and loved it.
I will always bring my clients back because I love the food. I did not realize you had butterfish on the buffet! Wow that is special and an item I will come back for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, great food. Looking onto the ocean was amazing. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner date with the Mrs. visiting from San Francisco. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First class through and through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food, ambiance & service are consistently good! Nice selection of entres for the Kamaina Thursday dinner. The guitar-vocalist was excellent but the sound level was too high. It was hard to hear dinner conversation at our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of the iconic spots on Oahu, famous for its beach front location in the tony garden suburb Kahala, and for hosting 5 lively adult dolphins ! The cuisine is excellent, offering fresh seafood , high quality fruit and veggies, but beyond the satisfying food and pleasant ambiance it also gives diners a chance to view the sea critters and the resort beach.

The restaurant has one entire wall open and facing the Pacific. The bar, buffet set up, and about half the tables are inside, the rest are set up on the patio beyond the open wall, so indoor and outdoor tables are available. We had lunch on a Wednesday, the day of the week the Plumeria offers a buffet of several seafood curries with salad and desert bars, besides their usual a la carte menu. The buffet looked great, but we stuck to the menu .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Spicy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This is always one of our favorite dining venues when we come to Honolulu. Great hotel with 3 outstanding restaurants. Plumeria is beautifully set on the beach with excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The location of this restaurant is just wonderful. It has a clear view of the ocean from almost any table. I have dined there several times. It used to be much better and more traditional, but they have let it slide a bit lately. It is still wonderful to sit there on a nice sunny and breezy day in Hawaii. Foodies will not be happy with the quality of the food, but for most of us it is ok. Prices are a bit high, but the scenery makes it worthwhile and servers are fairly accommodating.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 6, 2017

テラス席で海の眺めが素晴らしい。朝早くダイヤモンドヘッドの帰り朝食で利用したが最高の雰囲気であった。さすがカハラホテルといった感じ。さらに前日ディナーで利用したハレクラニオーキッドの親切なウェイターが、なんとここで朝はウェイターをやっていて声をかけてくれ感動の再会みたいに、びっくりでした。

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lovely restaurant and we enjoyed the food and ambiance. However one person in our party is disabled and the elevator closest from lobby to downstairs was not working. This meant a long and slow walk to another (farther away) elevator with a (wheelchair) to our table.
When we finally arrived at our table the chilled Bloody Mary drinks were a welcome sight and much enjoyed. The food was delicious and creative.
Coming to this hotel is always a treat and I hope the elevator is restored for use soon.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food was excellent! Everything was fresh and delicious. I especially enjoyed the crab legs, of course, but the pasta was SO tasty. I was a little disappointed that we were ushered out to turn the table for an incoming reservation (we were there for 2 hours), but I understand.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great hotel dining at the beach

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

食事はどれも美味しかったです!
フルーツがフレッシュで甘く、ロールされたクレープ?パンケーキ?は甘さも控えめでサラッと食べられました(^_^)
予約していくのが絶対お勧めです!
駐車券も、受付で渡せば精算して無料にしてくれます。

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Amazing spot right on the ocean. Fresh food, amazing views and smart staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our party just luck-of-the-draw got an inattentive and forgetful waiter. Otherwise everything was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Seafood dinner buffet was not that good for the amount they charge you. However, it is a beautiful view to enjoy with your significant other. The servers were attentive and was nice enough to take our picture which came out awesome!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I love going to the omelette station, eating the miso soup, fruits, breakfast meats, rice, juice station. My aunty , mom and go there to celebrate our birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had breakfasts, Kamaaina buffet, and Seafood Buffet - enjoyed the service and food during our stay. Seafood Buffet was a hit with local relatives!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

日差し避けにパラソルが用意されているが、時間が経過するたびに日差しが入って、暑くてたまらなくなった。
 席を選ぶときには、常に影になる所を選んだ方が良いと思います。

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Salad and dessert bar were good. Entrees, there were no surprises.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was a bit slow. We had to wave down the staff several times for help. Maybe next time I'll notate in the reservation that it is a business lunch to let the staff know.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A very expensive Valentine Dinner and wine wasn't included.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful site right on the ocean. Great service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an 11 am reservations. The reception desk was swamped... by the time we were seated it was almost 11:25. Our waitress was very polite but encouraged us to get our food soon as we because the staff was going to start clearing the food by 12 pm. The crepes and waffles were cold and hard. Perhaps the staff could have encouraged us to order from the menu instead of having the brunch because the food would be hotter, fresher and we wouldn't have felt rushed.
Birds kept trying to eat our food from the table... it wasn't pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

ブッフェの夕食で利用。料理の種類は豊富で太巻や蕎麦もあったが、味は普通、フルーツがパイナップル以外美味しくなかった。

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

BRIAN OUR WAITER WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND EFFICIENT. THE MEALS WERE VERY WELL PROPORTIONED AND TASTY, AND THE VIEW IS LOVELY THERE. MOTHER'S 90TH BIRTHDAY WAS GREAT!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice, food was yummy and great Hawaii feel being beach front. It's a little on the loud side as it's really busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took my husband here for his birthday. We had a 0900 reservation and was seated by 0901. Valet is free (with validation) for 4 hours. We toured the facility, saw the dolphins, and walked the beach. We had a great experience. Brunch is highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great selection for n the buffet and service was extraordinary!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a nice place to eat... next to the beach and ocean.
Food is 'okay'... Simple and basic. Great to bring out of town guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Nice place for business lunch but the wait staff were not as attentive and efficient. At times we did not see our waitress for 20 minutes and wanted the bill to get back to work. The other staff were talking and hanging out together in the middle of the dining room so we had to have someone go up to them to ask for the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated a birthday & had the pleasure of enjoying the Buffett & menu which were both sensational! Not to mention the overall service which was outstanding. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

ブッフェでしたが、お料理は種類も充分にありどれもとても美味しく、満足いくものでした。
残念ながら担当のウエイターが洗練されておらず、お皿を下げるタイミングが悪かったです。席に着いてまもなく 前菜を食べているタイミングでチェックを持ってくる/程なく支払いを急かすのには辟易しました。バレーもウエイターも バスも、いい人を確保しきれていない印象でした(惜しいです!)。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

美味しく楽しいひと時過ごせて良かったです。
ただ、事前リクエストで、
席のことでお願いしていたことが、きちんと伝わっていなく、
急遽対応はしてもらえましたが、
不快な思いもしてしまいました。
リクエストがきちんと伝わると
良いなと思いました。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

More than what we expected. Great for families of all sizes and ages. They were very accommodating for our handicapped family members. The food was well worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.