About Plumeria Beach House

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$38.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (45)
Waterfront (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Casual (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Local Ingredients (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Family Style (12)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Healthy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Business Meals (8)
People Watching (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Cozy (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing spot right on the ocean. Fresh food, amazing views and smart staff

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Our party just luck-of-the-draw got an inattentive and forgetful waiter. Otherwise everything was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Seafood dinner buffet was not that good for the amount they charge you. However, it is a beautiful view to enjoy with your significant other. The servers were attentive and was nice enough to take our picture which came out awesome!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I love going to the omelette station, eating the miso soup, fruits, breakfast meats, rice, juice station. My aunty , mom and go there to celebrate our birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had breakfasts, Kamaaina buffet, and Seafood Buffet - enjoyed the service and food during our stay. Seafood Buffet was a hit with local relatives!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

日差し避けにパラソルが用意されているが、時間が経過するたびに日差しが入って、暑くてたまらなくなった。

 席を選ぶときには、常に影になる所を選んだ方が良いと思います。

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Salad and dessert bar were good. Entrees, there were no surprises.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Service was a bit slow. We had to wave down the staff several times for help. Maybe next time I'll notate in the reservation that it is a business lunch to let the staff know.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A very expensive Valentine Dinner and wine wasn't included.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful site right on the ocean. Great service and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had an 11 am reservations. The reception desk was swamped... by the time we were seated it was almost 11:25. Our waitress was very polite but encouraged us to get our food soon as we because the staff was going to start clearing the food by 12 pm. The crepes and waffles were cold and hard. Perhaps the staff could have encouraged us to order from the menu instead of having the brunch because the food would be hotter, fresher and we wouldn't have felt rushed.

Birds kept trying to eat our food from the table... it wasn't pleasant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

ブッフェの夕食で利用。料理の種類は豊富で太巻や蕎麦もあったが、味は普通、フルーツがパイナップル以外美味しくなかった。

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

BRIAN OUR WAITER WAS VERY ATTENTIVE AND EFFICIENT. THE MEALS WERE VERY WELL PROPORTIONED AND TASTY, AND THE VIEW IS LOVELY THERE. MOTHER'S 90TH BIRTHDAY WAS GREAT!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very nice, food was yummy and great Hawaii feel being beach front. It's a little on the loud side as it's really busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Took my husband here for his birthday. We had a 0900 reservation and was seated by 0901. Valet is free (with validation) for 4 hours. We toured the facility, saw the dolphins, and walked the beach. We had a great experience. Brunch is highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great selection for n the buffet and service was extraordinary!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a nice place to eat... next to the beach and ocean.

Food is 'okay'... Simple and basic. Great to bring out of town guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Nice place for business lunch but the wait staff were not as attentive and efficient. At times we did not see our waitress for 20 minutes and wanted the bill to get back to work. The other staff were talking and hanging out together in the middle of the dining room so we had to have someone go up to them to ask for the check.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Celebrated a birthday & had the pleasure of enjoying the Buffett & menu which were both sensational! Not to mention the overall service which was outstanding. We will be back again soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

ブッフェでしたが、お料理は種類も充分にありどれもとても美味しく、満足いくものでした。

残念ながら担当のウエイターが洗練されておらず、お皿を下げるタイミングが悪かったです。席に着いてまもなく 前菜を食べているタイミングでチェックを持ってくる/程なく支払いを急かすのには辟易しました。バレーもウエイターも バスも、いい人を確保しきれていない印象でした(惜しいです!)。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

美味しく楽しいひと時過ごせて良かったです。

ただ、事前リクエストで、

席のことでお願いしていたことが、きちんと伝わっていなく、

急遽対応はしてもらえましたが、

不快な思いもしてしまいました。

リクエストがきちんと伝わると

良いなと思いました。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

More than what we expected. Great for families of all sizes and ages. They were very accommodating for our handicapped family members. The food was well worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Nothing is "reasonably priced" in Hawaii, but the Thursday Kama'aina Dinner here provides good value. A well stocked salad bar and a dessert bar full of tropical flavors are included with an entree selected from a generous list of choices. Service is superb. You can sit at your table inside or under a broad umbrella, watching the sunset or the starry sky as the gentle waves roll in nearby. There's even a low-keyed live entetainer singing Hawaiian melodies accompanied on his guitar. Paradise!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Was disappointed not being able to have the breakfast buffet . It was about 10:50 by the time we got seated and was told we had 10 minutes before the buffet closes. They should inform the customer or indicate on the restaurant info that patron should be there at least 30 minutes before closing. Not thrilled with the lobster benedict....hardly any lobster. Not worth the price.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The restaurant was very crowded at 9:00am. Staff was rushed trying to keep up. Not the most attentive service-had to ask twice for coffee. I wouldn't make a special trip again for breakfast. Always for lunch, though. The view is one of the must see's on Oahu. I live here and there are better values for the entree's we ordered: eggs Bennie and a cheese omelette. Nothing special about either. Although I don't eat there, you can probably get same entrees with more choices at a Denny's.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The appetizers must have been pre-cooked and just re-heated (and not very well at that) as our server said the kitchen was "backed upped". However, the appetizers were served within a few minutes of ordering. The problem was that they were barely warm (ravioli and lobster cakes). The bread was much warmer than the appetizers. The wine by the glass is over priced ($18) for what was received. I had the Cab and it was highly tannic with just an average size pour. The entrees were very good. I would not get the cheesecake dessert (where was the cheese?). If you want to spend in excess of $100/pp with a view of the ocean go to Orchids at the Halekulani instead.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was not around at all & omelets were poorly cooked. Raw eggs twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 25, 2017

always a good time here. this place never fails me. a good place to judge the wind for my windsurfing after my meal. turns out no wind so ate more.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We enjoyed the mushroom panini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Sunday buffet service was very good. We enjoyed breakfast meats and omelette bar, fruits & pastries. Server Justin was courteous, thoughtful & cheerful. Also enjoyed eggs Benedict instead of buffet. It was good to have a choice as some people aren't hungry enough for a buffet.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Loved the seafood buffet! Excellent service too. Most of the dishes were excellent but a few were just ok. All in all, it's an excellent value for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been dining at this restaurant for over ten years and the service and food are declining. At brunch yesterday, the services was very slow, food was mediocre. They only had one person at the omelet bar, and I had to go up 6 times to try to get her to cut me some ham. She was so busy making omelettes she did not pay attention to me trying to get some ham cut. My 90 yr old mother's food took so long to come that I had to give her some food I had from the buffet. Also, the bird problem is terrible in the restaurant, with birds flying and walking all over the floor. The buffet array is getting to be very stale and hum drum for $40 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very nice lunch with family in a beautiful setting. Bring back the infamous house Gazpacho Soup please!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Took my daughters and mom for a girls day out brunch. Pleasantly surprised at the prices. Being it's located at the Kahala, I was ready to pay for the ambiance/setting. My oldest daughter opted for the buffet which had a decent spread. The rest of us ordered off the regular menu. The eggs benedict was cooked to perfection, smothered with yummy hollandaise sauce. I ordered the corned beef hash brown with poached eggs. The hash was crunchy on the outside, soft and tasty on the inside. My mom ordered the pancakes and a side order of bacon, both were delicious. The view of course was breathtaking, the food scrumptious, and the company perfect. We strolled around the hotel grounds after, watching the dolphins and taking in the peaceful surroundings. You get 4-hours free parking with validation. A wonderful afternoon with my three favorite girls.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went on sat night. Did not know it was a seafood buffet which I do not really eat. Not worth $60. Pizza in resort looked much better and more reasonably priced. Skip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I love the beautiful setting of them restaurant. The services were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance! Best view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food, perfect location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and awesome live slack key hawaiian music guitar♡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Have enjoyed dining there in the past. Was disappointed with the food and service this time around.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

great view, nice curry buffet and other choices. not to pricey for lunch

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The open table app shows a nice dinner menu for this restaurant, but when we got there, only a buffet was on offer. Loud children everywhere, buffet was a mess (food falling off platters, everything picked over, food on floor), then surprised with $85 per person charge. Totally not worth it. It's in a beautiful hotel with great spaces, this restaurant is totally out of place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good selection of entrees. Disappointed because buffet was messy, shrimp cocktail wasn't firm, had to ask to order cocktails and coffee, floor was slippery and almost fell. Male attendant was in woman's restroom and yelled to me to wait while he stocked up on toilet paper in stalls. Workers were friendly and pleasant, but overall not worth $85 per person.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Plumeria is a great place for dinner. I've been here several times usually for the buffets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food presentation and selection. It was New Years Day, so very busy, but service was okay. Kind of pricy, but worth the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (東京)·Dined on January 1, 2017

2017年元日早朝に予約入店し、初日の出をテラス席で拝みました。波の音が心地良く、ワイキキとは別世界の静かで天国のような素敵なレストランでした。あまりにも初日の出に感動し過ぎてビュッフェ自体をよく覚えていません…。またいつか行きたいです。

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service. Despite being a busy evening, the staff was outstanding and was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was excellent but service was horrible. Waitress did not refill beverages and dropped a dirty butter knife on one of my guest and did not say anything.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made a Christmas dinner reservation, 8:45 being the earliest we could get.

The buffet was well picked over by the time we got there. Food wasn't being replenished dry old food - entirely disgusting and disappointing experience.

Reservations were being taken till 10pm, who knows what those people would have gotten.

We were also told at 9:15 that the buffet was shutting down at 9:30.

Less than 30 mins to eat Christmas dinner, then they decided to extend it a little longer, but by 10 it was done.

Will never return, $200+ dollars down the drain for pathetic tiny buffet - Christmas ruined.

NEVER AGAIN. We normally spend all our holiday events at the Moana Surfrider Beachhouse where the spread is lush and bountiful all the way up to the last seating for the same price, I guess we've been spoiled & I know where we will celebrate our next holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went to Plumeria Beach House for lunch with my office staff. Everyone enjoyed their food and fancy cocktails. It is a beautiful restaurant and we all had a really nice time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.