About Plumeria Beach House

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$38.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Made To Order Omelette - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Breakfast Buffet - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Cold Cuts And Cheese - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Breakfast Meats - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Mai Tai - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Mimosa - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
roasted red potatoes - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Crepes - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Bacon!!!!!! - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Roast Duck - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Iced tea - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Black Coffee - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Steamed Rice - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
bar snacks - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Green Thai Curry with Seafood - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Plumeria Sparkling Sangria - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Flirtatious - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Spicy Ahi Poke - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Cucumber Ginger Smash  - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
The View - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Vodka/Water With Lime - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Hawaiian Bloody Mary - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Sashimi - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Shrimp Cocktail - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI
Breakfast - Plumeria Beach House, Honolulu, HI

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (43)
Waterfront (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Casual (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Family Style (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went on sat night. Did not know it was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Went on sat night. Did not know it was a seafood buffet which I do not really eat. Not worth $60. Pizza in resort looked much better and more reasonably priced. Skip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I love the beautiful setting of them res ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the beautiful setting of them restaurant. The services were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, perfect location

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great food, perfect location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and awesome live slack key ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and awesome live slack key hawaiian music guitar♡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have enjoyed dining there in the past. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Have enjoyed dining there in the past. Was disappointed with the food and service this time around.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

great view, nice curry buffet and other ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

great view, nice curry buffet and other choices. not to pricey for lunch

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The open table app shows a nice dinner m ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The open table app shows a nice dinner menu for this restaurant, but when we got there, only a buffet was on offer. Loud children everywhere, buffet was a mess (food falling off platters, everything picked over, food on floor), then surprised with $85 per person charge. Totally not worth it. It's in a beautiful hotel with great spaces, this restaurant is totally out of place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Good selection of entrees. Disappointed ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good selection of entrees. Disappointed because buffet was messy, shrimp cocktail wasn't firm, had to ask to order cocktails and coffee, floor was slippery and almost fell. Male attendant was in woman's restroom and yelled to me to wait while he stocked up on toilet paper in stalls. Workers were friendly and pleasant, but overall not worth $85 per person.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Plumeria is a great place for dinner. I' ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Plumeria is a great place for dinner. I've been here several times usually for the buffets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food presentation and selection. It ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food presentation and selection. It was New Years Day, so very busy, but service was okay. Kind of pricy, but worth the occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

2017年元日早朝に予約入店し、初日の出をテラス席で拝みました。波の音が心地良く ...

 
 (東京)·Dined on January 1, 2017

2017年元日早朝に予約入店し、初日の出をテラス席で拝みました。波の音が心地良く、ワイキキとは別世界の静かで天国のような素敵なレストランでした。あまりにも初日の出に感動し過ぎてビュッフェ自体をよく覚えていません…。またいつか行きたいです。

Tags: グルメ・美食家, 記念日のお祝いにピッタリ, 車で行く価値あり, ウォーターフロントにある, 特別なお食事に向いている, デート, 特別なお食事, テラス席, リラックスできる雰囲気, 景色・眺めが良い
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Despite being a busy ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service. Despite being a busy evening, the staff was outstanding and was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent but service was horri ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was excellent but service was horrible. Waitress did not refill beverages and dropped a dirty butter knife on one of my guest and did not say anything.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

We made a Christmas dinner reservation, ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made a Christmas dinner reservation, 8:45 being the earliest we could get.

The buffet was well picked over by the time we got there. Food wasn't being replenished dry old food - entirely disgusting and disappointing experience.

Reservations were being taken till 10pm, who knows what those people would have gotten.

We were also told at 9:15 that the buffet was shutting down at 9:30.

Less than 30 mins to eat Christmas dinner, then they decided to extend it a little longer, but by 10 it was done.

Will never return, $200+ dollars down the drain for pathetic tiny buffet - Christmas ruined.

NEVER AGAIN. We normally spend all our holiday events at the Moana Surfrider Beachhouse where the spread is lush and bountiful all the way up to the last seating for the same price, I guess we've been spoiled & I know where we will celebrate our next holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Went to Plumeria Beach House for lunch w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went to Plumeria Beach House for lunch with my office staff. Everyone enjoyed their food and fancy cocktails. It is a beautiful restaurant and we all had a really nice time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. Beautiful view. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great food and service. Beautiful view. Nice spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was not good. Waitress impatient ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service was not good. Waitress impatient and rushed yet the food took over an hour to come out. Will not go back again at least for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

カハラのマカダミアチョコを予約していて、受取り時間が9時だったので、少し早めに行 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 22, 2016

カハラのマカダミアチョコを予約していて、受取り時間が9時だったので、少し早めに行き朝食を済ませようとopentableで予約しました。

到着してまだ予約時間前だったのでイルカやホヌを見て癒されました。受け付けに行くとすぐ入れました。食事はアラカルトにして、フレンチトーストとオムレツとカハラサダとコーヒーにしました。コーヒーは追加用のポットを置いてくれてました。フレンチトーストにはメイプルシロップが掛けられていましたが、追加で付いていましたが、使いませんでした。

お店の方は皆さん笑顔でよく動かれてました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were seated 25 minutes past our reser ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were seated 25 minutes past our reservation. Service was relatively slow with a few reminders provided to servers when items did not come out. Food was also rather pricey considering portion size and overall quality, but it also varied on the entree. Our party was also seated outside, which was cold and windy. Would have preferred indoor or more protective seating arrangement.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I met two lady friends for lunch. Patri ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I met two lady friends for lunch. Patricia's chicken papaya salad with fruit had three strawberries that had mold on them. The server was notified and her meal was taken off the check. I had the fish taco's and the fish was VERY dry and over cooked. Fish should be moist and flake apart when pried with a fork. The spices used was over powering. There was nothing ourstanding about the dish. I ate only one of the taco's and did not mention it to the waitress. Afterward I was sorry that I didn't. I would have liked to talk with the cook. Not the server.

I will be back because of the ambiance and next time I will choose more wisely ask the server more questions when I order.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Our pre-Christmas reservation was for 11 ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our pre-Christmas reservation was for 11 people, one hour before buffet closed. We were there on time but the restaurant staff apologized that there would be about 10 minute wait because previous diners had not left on time as expected. We actually had to wait 20 minutes for the table, but the staff was very apologetic for the delay, the manager asked if we wanted water, and let us check out the buffet line while waiting. Once seated, and although we only had about 40 minutes left for the buffet, the wait staff was very friendly and welcoming , did not rush us one bit, and even provided the regular breakfast menu in case someone didn't want the buffet (which one person took advantage of.) Everyone in our party enjoyed themselves, had plenty to eat, and we never felt rushed. The manager even offered and did take pictures of our party on the lawn outside. Overall a wonderful dining experience, and kudos to the staff. (P.S. the only negative remark is about one of the males clearing the buffet items. He looked very grouchy and by his actions, seemed to be working as quickly as he could to clear off all items before anyone could get anything more!)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal and great staff. Would re ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Delicious meal and great staff. Would return on a Friday or Saturday for their Seafood Buffets.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AWESOME! Quality is excellent despite li ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 16, 2016

AWESOME! Quality is excellent despite limited options. They have japanese style breakfast too. We sat outside and when the sun came out it was a bit too hot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

今回は、我が家4人と他に母、妹家族の4人を含む8名の食事でしたが、大きなテーブル ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 16, 2016

今回は、我が家4人と他に母、妹家族の4人を含む8名の食事でしたが、大きなテーブルに一堂に座われ、またカラカウワ通り沿いの席を希望通りに手配いただきました。

食事は、熟成肉の美味しさは勿論のこと、シーフード料理もとても美味しかったです。

オススメはマッシュドポテトで、牛肉に添えて是非味わって頂きたい一品です。

次回も訪れたいお店の一つになりました。

Tags: 注目のお店, 特別なお食事
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, nice open air restaur ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great atmosphere, nice open air restaurant. well.... of course. its a resort and luxury hotel. Food isn't bad neither, but for the price and luxury hotel, should be better service....

I bring guests from different countries and everybody love the atmosphere and view, but never had a great experience with server or even reception desk at the front of restaurant. I never met the server who loves her/his job....kinda look. No smiles... One time I got "do you want coffee or not!?" we just got our table and menu..... So unfortunate.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

The ocean view is always beautifully com ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The ocean view is always beautifully compelling. The food is good. The waitstaff and energetic service is over the top. This is our favorite restaurant location. Keep up the great work. Mahalo nui.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not enough choices on the menu for lunch ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Not enough choices on the menu for lunch. The person serving us was good. It was a rainy day and an older Asian man was lifting up the awning to let the water out while we were dining, too close to us.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Saturday seafood buffet was great, e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The Saturday seafood buffet was great, especially the sashimi !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Plumeria Beach House is hands down the B ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Plumeria Beach House is hands down the BEST seafood buffet on Oahu! Everything is incredibly fresh and beautifully prepared. The price is unbeatable for the impeccable service and quality of food you receive. Not to mention the gorgeous view of the ocean and sunset you have as you dine. They have something for everyone here! From a variety of salads and appetizer types to start off with, or you can dive right in with succulent snow crab legs, sushi, sashimi, meats, cheeses, soups, etc. Then if you manage to save room for dessert, because let's face it, even if you didn't, you'll find a way when you see the assortment of bite size treats calling your name! Absolutely divine! This is our second visit within less than a month as we were completely blown away by this restaurant on our first visit. Needless to say we will be back each and every chance we get to indulge in this glorious gem. Thank you Plumeria for such an incredible night our for my family both times!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kahala is known for its $$$ which is ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The Kahala is known for its $$$ which is worth its ambience. The Plumeria Café has shortened its menu and though its a limited lunch menu its still good. It was once known for its grand buffets where we would bring clients to lunch all the time. The limited menu is still good though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Living in Hawaii it's easy to forget jus ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Living in Hawaii it's easy to forget just how beautiful it is, so dining at Plumeria Beach House allows you to feel as though you're on vacation, even when you're just on your lunch break.

Homemade Beef & Vegetable Pot Pie.... absolutely delicious! Better than what Grandma made (Sorry grandma) It's served with a tasty sauce as well as the freshest salad (definitely appears to be locally grown) The homemade butter with rolls became our dessert.

The service was prompt & friendly, the view.... Gorgeous! Valet parking quick & convenient (validation at restaurant)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go with friends for refre ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great place to go with friends for refreshing.

Beautiful beach view and was able to access to the beach after breakfast so that me and my friends had really good time.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The reservation was for 11:30 am and was ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The reservation was for 11:30 am and was seated at 11:40 am and told that the buffet is closing at 12 noon. This should have been told to the customer at the time of reservation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

A wonderful time as always at the Plumer ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A wonderful time as always at the Plumeria Beach House. This time we went for dinner and they came through as always. Didn't realize the hotel was also having their annual Christmas tree lighting, the property was very busy with well wishers and children. Not their usual clientele. So after it was done the restaurant got busy and kinda loud. Oh well, still enjoyed myself and the reason for the season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is great. Menu is excellent. Se ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Ambiance is great. Menu is excellent. Service is slow. They need to work on speeding up the waiters and waitresses!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

We went for Restaurant Week and had the ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week and had the fish entrée. It was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I needed a change of scen ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I needed a change of scenery. We live on the west side. Great place, great food, superb service. Nothing more to say.

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu felt a little limited. Wished ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The menu felt a little limited. Wished the selection of entries had a little more variety.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is always excellent and staff very ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food is always excellent and staff very attentive. Ocean view is amazing.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

an amazing view, top notch service. Just ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 9, 2016

an amazing view, top notch service. Just wish the breakfast menu had more variety and there are not too many options for a vegan customer

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.