About Plumeria Beach House

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$35.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Sunday, Monday and Thursday (Closed Tuesday & Wednesday evenings)
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Restaurant Photos

Plumeria Beach House
Hawaiian Bloody Mary
Made To Order Omelette
Breakfast Buffet
Cold Cuts And Cheese
Breakfast Meats
Mai Tai
Mimosa
roasted red potatoes
Crepes
Bacon!!!!!!
Roast Duck
Iced tea
Black Coffee
Steamed Rice
bar snacks
Green Thai Curry with Seafood
Plumeria Sparkling Sangria
Flirtatious
Spicy Ahi Poke
Cucumber Ginger Smash
The View
Vodka/Water With Lime
Sashimi
Shrimp Cocktail
Breakfast

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Oahu
Outdoor Dining
Oahu
Scenic View
Oahu
1 More
Contemporary American
Oahu
Best Restaurants in Honolulu ›

Scenic View (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Great for Brunch (53)
Good for Groups (44)
Kid-friendly (41)
Great for Lunch (40)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a disappointment! We have visit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

What a disappointment! We have visited the Plumeria Beach House for the past 20 years on each of our annual trips to Honolulu. While the beautiful view remains a constant, the food was mediocre, the server uninspired and the prices astronomical. $18 for a glass of Rose, $50 for a steak that we ordered as "medium rare" and arrived well done. As Donald Trump might say, "sad" or as they say in the islands, "auwe!"

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Great setting, good service. Only downs ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great setting, good service. Only downside was that the bread on my portabello panini was soaked with oil. I ended up eating only the filling. Fries were delicious and made a filling meal without the bread.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The view is beautiful! Nothing beats eat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The view is beautiful! Nothing beats eating outdoors by the ocean. Unfortunately, the food was rather mediocre. Bouillabaisse was overlooked, butterfish nothing special (like, I could make this...) pork chops were pretty good. Go for the ambiance, not the food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Buffet dining at a good standard

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Buffet dining at a good standard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We always seem to be rushed by the wait ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always seem to be rushed by the wait staff from the time we are seated until we leave. I have never spent more than 1 hour and feeling the whole time there like we need to leave. We were not offered anything to drink other than coffee. Not overtly unfriendly but more underwhelming. It's like eating at an overpriced cafeteria with a great view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

We are huge fans of Plumeria. We typical ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We are huge fans of Plumeria. We typically go once a month - but this visit the foods were not up to their reputation. We were sadly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Very lovely dinner. My family and I LOVE ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very lovely dinner. My family and I LOVED every second!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was once again horrible-- took 3 ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Service was once again horrible-- took 30 minutes to get our check.. waiting and waiting.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Such a great place to have a nice dinner ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Such a great place to have a nice dinner. Buffet is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FOOD WAS OK, SERVER WASN'T ATTENTIVE, GR ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

FOOD WAS OK, SERVER WASN'T ATTENTIVE, GREETED US HAPPY ANNIVERSARRY WHEN IT'S MY HUBBY'S BIRTHDAY. WHEN TIME TO ORDER, SHE DIDN'T PUT IN MY ORDER, WASN'T PAYING ATTENTION OR LISTENING I GUESS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

It's a nice place to eat breakfast with ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's a nice place to eat breakfast with your family. We brought our 2 year old and she enjoyed eating while looking out towards the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The "wine-down Thursday" was unfortunate ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The "wine-down Thursday" was unfortunately disappointing. Warm hospitality and lush surroundings, but very average wine pairings and "meh" main courses (we had the butterfish and the pork chop) made this a meal we won't care to remember. Sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Too expensive for quality of portions of ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Too expensive for quality of portions of meal. Kids meals came out 15-20 mins before adult portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

It was the perfect place for lunch with ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was the perfect place for lunch with my Daughter-in-law and young grand-daughter. The scenery was beautiful and the food delicious. I would definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Delicious sashimi and shr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service. Delicious sashimi and shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The seafood buffet did not have a good s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The seafood buffet did not have a good selection, and 7 hours after the meal, experienced food poisoning. I was up all night. Called Kahala the next day, and left a message with them, for the Food & Beverage Manager or someone to call to address my concern, and never received a call. It is now two days since we made the call. We will not go back to this restaurant. The restaurant was not even a quarter full for a Saturday evening. Dessert was probably the best part of the meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

One of the best sea food buffet I have ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the best sea food buffet I have experienced. The sashimi was fresh and high quality. The king crab legs were plump and juicy. Will defiantly be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and service. Family enjoyed t ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food and service. Family enjoyed the seafood buffet. Epitome discount taken off of my tab without asking for my card number. Wonderful!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at the Plumeria on Friday and Sa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were at the Plumeria on Friday and Saturday nite 7-15,16-16 for the Seafood Buffet. The sashimi, oysters on the half shell were great (10). Very fresh. The creamed fish was ok(6), great sauce, not so great fish. On Friday, they served NY steak which was ok(6). They served some prime rib (8) on Saturday , which was better than the NY steak. The Ah Jue was not good (4). The shrimp with head that was cooked by the chef was good (8) but need more garlic. The chioppino was good (8). Did not try the snow crab legs so I could not rate it. The tossed mix salad contained some old leafs that should have been sorted out, otherwise it was ok. On Saturday nite around 8pm, a fish dish was brought out that was very good. Tasted like Chilean Sea Bass! (9).

The poki was very good(9). The pineapple and watermelon was good(8). The desserts were just ok (4-5), you can do better, good variety, but poor taste and quality. The bread pudding was the best desert. The tapioca was too watered down.

The service was good(8).

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a beautiful spot in a beautiful ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a beautiful spot in a beautiful older hotel overlooking the ocean. The food and service are not on par with the pricing, but the location makes one overlook some of the misgivings of the food and service. We tried two of the soups, a chowder and a cold soup. Neither was good. The club sandwich came with potato chips and was nothing special. The seafood curry was on par with an average Thai restaurant. The bread pudding was good. I would return for the view.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointed. By 11am, there wasn't muc ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Disappointed. By 11am, there wasn't much of a selection left at the buffet. We could see the crumbs of what used to be there. We waited forever to get seated and our elderly parents were standing a long time. There's no place to sit and wait while the cashier busily added up the bills instead of greeting and seating waiting customers. Nothing special on the brunch buffet, just the usual omelet bar and that was also a long wait. I've had the same at the Embassy suites for free! We got a piece of cake with candle for a birthday, but there were no deserts elections on the buffet for anyone else. Best thing about it was our waitress, Barbara, and the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

The food and service here were both adeq ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food and service here were both adequate. There was quite a lag of time between our ordering and receiving our dishes. This was our first trip here and perhaps this place suffered from the comparison to Hoku's upstairs which we enjoy much more.

I would have preferred that the music was softer to permit easier conversation for these old ears of ours.

The location is beautiful and it was a pleasure walking around the grounds. The valet service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We celebrate all of our major happenings ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We celebrate all of our major happenings at this restaurant - birthdays, anniversaries, graduation, special honors, etc. It is always wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I was very disappointed as it was for a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was very disappointed as it was for a baby shower. We waited to be seated and then had to ask for menus after sitting for 15 minutes. Our food then arrived over 30 minutes later and water was only refilled after being asked. Other drinks were never refilled. After eating we waiting another 20 minutes for a waiter, when none stopped by, I went to the waithelp stand to hand them my credit card and asked for the bill. Other 15 minutes went by so I flagged another waiter down and reminded them to bring our bill and my card. Lastly my mother had food poisoning from the meal and she will never return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The Plumeria Beach House has friendly wa ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Plumeria Beach House has friendly waiters and waitresses, great service, a variety of delicious foods and a beautiful view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

View is absolutely gorgeous for sunset p ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

View is absolutely gorgeous for sunset pictures. We come here every time we return home. Usually we just enjoy a cocktail and pupus and take a few pictures. This time we brought our children and had dinner. My suggestions is go to Hoku's for the food, come to the Plumeria Beach House for cocktails, pupus and the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The buffet was excellent, with a wide v ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The buffet was excellent, with a wide variety of fish, salads and signature deserts. Combined with a magical setting and friendly service this is the place we choose for our special nights out with Ohana.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my first time here in Plumeria an ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was my first time here in Plumeria and I'm planning to go back with different group of people. I like the ambiance, the food was fresh, I like the oysters and the mango drink although I didn't get a birthday cake with candle😂, it was my birthday otherwise I'll be back soon

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Server and nice atmosphere . E ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent Server and nice atmosphere . Excellent buffet

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Fantastic view!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I'm sorry to report the food was very di ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I'm sorry to report the food was very disappointing, as I have been a customer of the Kahala when it was a hilton for the last 42 years. . . this food was barely acceptable, no inspiration, nothing unique, or even worth eating. . .sorry, it was very sad for this kind of a hotel. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

The view was amazing! It was practically ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The view was amazing! It was practically right on the beach; we even got to witness a wedding! The food was great... I especially loved the carving station. The only thing I didn't like was that it was sooooooo hot. I know, my fault for booking an open air restaurant but I just wished it was a little cooler.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfortable, good breakfast food choice ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Comfortable, good breakfast food choices, excellent ambiance for get togetherness, talking, enjoying each other's company and the dolphins after brunch, made it a well spent delightful time!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Treated BF to Father's Day Brunch - was ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Treated BF to Father's Day Brunch - was a big hit with entire family. Food's good. Ambiance is gorgeous. Restaurant could do a better job keeping food items full - seemed a little understaffed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server, although very cordial, was l ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our server, although very cordial, was less than stellar in regards to attentiveness to the customer. When initially seated we were asked for our drinks. We asked if we could have a couple minutes to decide...the server never returned until we were 3/4 through our meal, and we were only asked , "How is your food?" The food was pretty good(considering it was a buffet $60/adult and $30/child 12 & under). But so much for our bottle of wine we wanted to have with dinner, or coffee that we could have enjoyed with dessert. C'est la vie.

Quite disappointing...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Delicious variety of food and customer s ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Delicious variety of food and customer service is always excellent! A great way to relax, enjoy the ocean views and great food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Friday night buffet - terrifi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had the Friday night buffet - terrific seafood, salads, prime rib, and yummy desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Very poor service. We watied for server ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very poor service. We watied for server for a LONG time (at least 15 minutes) . It was so terrible. I have been to this restaurants for many times. This time was the worse experience ever. No matter the food or the service, I don't think it was worth the price they charged me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Plumeria Beach House has an outstanding ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Plumeria Beach House has an outstanding setting, as well as food and service. My only complaint is that the wines are waaaaaaaay over priced--marked up about 4x-5x retail as compared to 2x or 3x for other fine restaurants in Honolulu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It's a mediocre buffet. Not worth the mo ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It's a mediocre buffet. Not worth the money or time. Service was lacking...I ordered a water as my only drink and never even got it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.