Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Plumeria Beach House

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$38.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (64)
Great for Outdoor Dining (48)
Waterfront (48)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Casual (35)
Great for Lunch (30)
Great for Brunch (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
People Watching (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vegan (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The view at Plumeria Beach House is beautiful. The ocean, beach, and sand are right there in front of you. The breakfast buffet is nothing extraordinary, but it is good. You can eat leisurely and the staff will never rush you. However, I feel like the hotel has lost some of its hospitality. It used to feel very luxurious and very classy here. I feel the staff is not as friendly, warm, or inviting anymore. You can see that the hotel is aging and that it has some natural wear and tear. Overall, a pleasant experience, but expected a little more.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Fun, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food selection was pretty good but the price was kind of steep. The service and environment however was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The buffet was very good and the setting was terrific. Large selection of seafood plus excellent prime rib and lamb chops.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Gorgeous view, wonderful food. A little spendy but worth it. We always receive amazing service at the Plumeria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

毎回お世話になるお店です。家族で子供5歳と2歳の4人で行きました。
何もかも好きなお店です。
唯一何かあるとすれば 外の席で全員席を離れると 鳥に料理を食べられてしまいます。
朝一がおすすめです。
夏場は 昼近くになると風で強く吹くことがあります。
アクセスは少し悪いですが、是非行ってみて下さい。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Stayed at The Kahala hotel, the Plumeria has great breakfast buffet and wonderful ocean views. The staff is outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent service, delicious cuisine, and friendly & courteous staff!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Beautiful setting when the sun goes down. Excellent seafood buffet with lots of choices. A must for local and tourist to stop by and try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

今回初めて利用させていただきました!
今年は、いつもお世話になってる親友のパパママと3人だけのHawaii旅行やったので、
何かちょっと日頃のお礼をしたいな〜と思って予約させていただきました♡

何も言うことはありません!笑
大大大大満足です♡
ロケーションもお料理も、そして接客も!!
パパママにも予想以上に喜んでもらえて、
言うことなしです☆☆☆☆☆

また利用させていただきます♡

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our birthday brunch was delicious and refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on September 8, 2017

最高の朝食。ビュッフェにある筒状のパンケーキがとくに美味しい。なによりもテラスのオーシャンビューは雰囲気が、ワイキキビーチ近辺のホテルと全く違う穏やかさと豊かさがありこの旅行一番の思い出になりました。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

A wonderful lunch that impressed our guests & with spectacular views!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 5, 2017

When we visit O'ahu, we always visit The Plumeria Beach House even if we are not guests at the hotel. The breakfast buffet and staff are wonderful and it always leaves me wanting to visit again.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always nice there! Service is great, food is excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I went for breakfast. Corinne and Victoria served me. Excellent service. Spoke Cantonese with Victoria.

Excellent food. I loved the Rainbow Pancakes. I am now addicted to coconut syrup (and I bought some and am using it in my coffee here in SF).

The view. The food. The service. A completely amazing experience. A must do if you want to pamper yourself or make an impression on someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This restaurant has a great view! Great atmosphere! Great service! Great food! Great everything!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2017

As usual, this place never disappoints. Setting? Perfect! Service? Perfect! Ambience? Friendly, casual elegance, clean and comfy! No hassle parking, beach front elegance, not overpriced like beach front Waikiki.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 1, 2017

sooo.good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 31, 2017

朝から予定があり予約した時間も遅かったのですが、10:30に席について朝食の利用と伝え、コーヒーはいるか?と尋ねられたのでイエスと答えて、サラダとハムやベーコンなどをチョイスして食べ始めました。
その後、コーヒーをサーブされて景色を眺めながらいただき、暖かいオムレツとフルーツを食べようと思いカウンターに行くと、片付け始めていて食べれませんでした。11:00までだったようですが、テーブルに案内された時もオーダーした時もそのアナウンスは無く、途中で部屋番号を聞かれた時に泊まって無いと伝えると、11:00までと言われたので慌てたのですが、11:00少し前からもう片付けられていて、クレームを言うみたいになるのは嫌で渋々帰りました。外部からの利用は気をつけて行かれた方がいいと思います。以前は宿泊しての利用しかなかったので、今回始めて外部からの利用をしました。良い勉強になりました。

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

There should be more a lot of kinds of menus.
Sobasoup was not very good😫

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Best seafood chowder ever. ( lunch menu$12.) deliciius fish tacos, veggie burger, so, so! Kids fries were yummy( kids burger) didn't have cocktail. Plantation ice tea was deliciously refreshing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I took my special guests there. However, my table fork was missing. It was very embarrassing that I had to ask the server to bring my fork in front of my guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2017

This was my first time eating dinner at Plumeria Cafe. I thought the appetizers were phenomenal. The eggplant with miso, kabayaki and truffle battle had great flavor! The spicy ahi roll w/ ocean salad and tomatillo salsa was just as amazing. For entree's, my wife had the clam linguini, which was a huge portion, she was unable to finish it. I opted for the Fried chicken w/ pineapple cole slaw and sirracha cornbread. The half portioned chicken and cole slaw hit the mark. It was very juicy. I wish we had room for dessert but we were stuffed. The service was great! We did not wait between courses. Staff was very pleasant and the atmosphere was very relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2017

An affordable and pleasant beachside dining experience. Bring visitors for a taste and view of the islands. Kids friendly menu so being the family.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Hostess who seated us was very pleasant and welcoming. Did it have to wait long for our table to be ready. Very attentive waiter. The seafood buffet was great. There was a variety of seafood besides crab legs. Would recommend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (東京)·Dined on August 26, 2017

ホノルル1日目の夕食。冷えた白ワインで前菜の生牡蠣とスタフドマッシュルーム、メインに選んだカフクエビのガーリックバターソース、デザートのフォンダンショコラ的なチョコレートケーキどれもとても素晴らしかった。オープンテーブルで海側の席を予約したので、金曜日のヒルトンの花火もバッチリ見えました。ヨットハーバー越しの夕陽も。スタッフも皆さん真面目な感じで好印象( ◠‿◠ )

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome food, ambiance & service! The view was spectacular!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

大好きなお店です。ロケーションもお食事もサービスも、さすがカハラです。今回は子供2人も一緒に伺いましたがケイキミールの選択肢も多く、お食事後少し子供が飽きてしまってもすぐビーチなので気楽に過ごせます。オアフへ来た際は必ずお邪魔してしまう場所です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

テラス席を希望したら、ちゃんと希望通りにして頂けました。ロケーションは素晴らしかったのですが、自分で予約した時間がサンセット後だった為、景色を堪能出来なかったのは少し残念でした。でも料理は、大変美味しかったです。今度は、日中海を見ながら食事したいと思います。

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Anniversary trip

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I went the restaurant for my mother's birthday. The staff were really friendly and view was gorgeous! Especially my baby daughter liked there so much.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent ambience and decent service. However, menu was extremely limited, especially for vegetarians! Had to go for vegetable saimin soup which was $18 and subpar in quality. Tasted like an $4 instant soup cup from the supermarket. Watermelon salad portion was tiny--what a rip-off for $15! My wife's mushroom appetizer consisted of 3 slices (!) of one mushroom and it was very bland. In the future, we'll simply get drinks upstairs to enjoy the beauty of the ocean and stay away from dining. If you have to eat, choose Hoku Restaurant (upstairs) but stay away from Plumeria Beach House!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was very tasty. Service was very pleasant. View was beautiful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Took friends to seafood dinner buffet last weekend. Hospitality was good; we chose a different table that was not on the kitchen by ways ... a table inside, not so humid, and with the buffet close by. We should have gotten there earlier for guests to see the surrounding lagoon and garden ponds and waterfall before sitting down to dine. Outstanding Dungeness crab legs mixed with snow crab legs, fresh oysters on half shell and miso butterfish and prime rib roast were the standouts. I ddnt try the pork belly udon in broth, but it looked tempting. Chilled shrimp, a lovely array of sashimi and sushi awaited also, but had no room for it. Lots of cold salad with potato salad and a broccoli with shrimp cream chilled salad were generously offered.
All wait help was quite busy, and the only minus was I didn't get my coffee for several minutes after dinner although Travis a new hire was doing a great job of being courteous and helpful.
For ambience the Kahala is hard to beat, and there is a pianist in the upstairs lobby with dancing. Fifty years ago we spent our honeymoon here, when it was the Kahala Hilton, the top hotel for dinner, dancing and ocean view rooms!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food is okay, we can eat elsewhere for better prices. The valet guys deserve five stars.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Service was great. Our Bartender, Gene, made a delicious White Russian drink. Our server, Jarrett, was very attentive. The scalloped potatoes were very popular and delicious. There was a lot of verify to choose from. Starting with salads and sushi, soups and prime rib, pastas and crab legs. It was a pricey $60 per person buffet but the complementary 4 hour validated parking really sealed our decision to go here.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The Thursday night Kamanania special is one of our favorites. Nice magical dinner in an absolutely breathtaking setting. Salad bar and dessert bars round out a pretty broad choice of entrees for a more than reasonable price considering the ambiance and superb and very friendly service. Has become one of our special treat destinations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I didn't care for the new menu. I thought the choices were fairly limited and not interested. Ramen noodles is not my idea of a good pasta entrée.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Scenic View, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Walked the beautiful grounds before dinner. Had a beautiful view of the water and sunset during the delicious dinner. Enjoyed the lovely live Hawaiian music too. Our server Jarrett was attentive, knowledgeable, friendly and went out of his way for the seven of us. We all had a great time Sunday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 13, 2017

スタッフの方の対応が何をするにも遅かったです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.