Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.63mi
  3. Distance: 0.65mi
  4. Distance: 0.96mi

About Plumeria Beach House

On the edge of the white sands of Kahala, the oceanside Plumeria Beach House is our open-air, all day dining restaurant.
Guests will enjoy Hawaii's beautiful sunshine and stunning coastal view at the Plumeria Beach House. The restaurant is bathed in warm, natural earth tones reminiscent of a comfortable island home, with indoor and outdoor terraces taking full advantage of breezy trade winds. In keeping with the restaurant's promise of keeping things fresh, the dishes are updated seasonally.

5000 Kahala Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96816
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Breakfast Continental or a la carte menu
6:30 am - 11 am, daily

Full Breakfast Buffet
6:30 am - 11 am, weekdays
$38.00 per person

6:30 am - 12 pm, weekends
$38.00 per person

Lunch
Lunch A la carte menu
11 am - 2 pm, Daily

Wednesday Curry Lunch Buffet
11:45 am - 2 pm, Wednesday only

Dinner
Dinner A la carte menu
5:30 pm - 10 pm
Friday & Saturday limited a la carte menu during The Best of Kahala Buffet

The Best of Kahala Buffet
5:30 pm - 10 pm, Friday & Saturday

Cross Street:
Kahala Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 739-8760

Website:
http://www.kahalaresort.com/Dining/Plumeria-Beach-House

Parking Details:
Valet service is available as well as the hotel parking structure.

Executive Chef:
Wayne Hirabayashi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please note that due to limited seating availability we require a minimum 48 hours cancellation notice for holiday and special event reservations. We may require a valid credit card number in order to confirm your holiday or special event reservation with us.

Plumeria Beach House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (51)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Waterfront (39)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Casual (21)
Great for Lunch (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fun (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Family Style (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Music (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

後輩のbirthdayをHawaiiでお祝いしました。
3回目の来店でしたが期待を裏切らない完璧なお店です。
11月の利用時にウェディングのお祝いで伺った時も喜んでくれたので、今回も利用させていただきました。
ロケーションもお食事も最高です。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We dined at the restaurant for brunch. The staff was very friendly and attentive, but the buffet selection wasn't as good as in previous years. There were the usual options such as fruit, pastries and hot foods (bacon, eggs, starch) but nothing extra special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Waitress was not great. Low caliber for that level of price & food offering. She made us wait for 10 minutes before she welcome us & offered beverages. Her table service manners were below the restaurant's usually service standards. We fine there at least 4 time per year. Food was great but what made it less than enjoyable was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, wonderful food and a lovely atmosphere made it a memorable date night for my husband and I.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

We were greeted in the lobby by the bell team, and they were courteous and helpful. Our experience was very warm and inviting up until the point when we were finally served our food. We ordered starters and entrees, but our waiter was confused and brought out one starter and one entree then disappeared. I shared my entree with my friend, but a half an hour later the waiter delivers another starter, and we're confused because after waiting so long and not seeing our server around we just shared what we had. This was supposed to be a very special day because my friend, who is dying of cancer, I wanted this day for him. For his sake I did not say anything or make a fuss, and was very gracious to the waiter. Despite this experience I still tipped the waiter well and only because I know that most service industry workers depend on it, especially here in Hawaii, but I am not certain that I would go to this particular restaurant ever again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Rita provided cheerful, attentive, yet unobtrusive service throughout our leisurely lunch. Our orders were beautifully plated, contained fresh ingredients, and reflected nuanced seasoning. The ocean view provided a welcome backdrop to the meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Fantastic ambience, foods and service! Beautiful environment! The kahalasadas were delicious. Made to order eggs dishes were exquisite! Brian, our service associate was professional, friendly and anticipated needs! An enjoyable dining experience! ThankU!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful, as usual! Really appreciate that we never feel pressured to "clear out." The staff is always friendly and welcoming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

次も是非使いたいです!
ロケーションはもちろん
格式ほか全て申し分なし!
雑踏から解放されリラックスできること
間違いなし

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We've always came here for special occasions for their Kahala Best of Buffet and food was great as usual! Would've definitely given this place a 4 star however service was not on par this time. I felt like the server wasn't there often enough to clear our plates or refilled our drinks. Also, we had arrived early to give the host our credit card to ensure we would pay the bill and had asked the server 3 times to make sure she got our card from the hostess so that our guests didn't would not pay, but in the end, she bought our check to the table and our guest ended paying and at that time, I still had to remind her that I need my card back. That was very disappointing considering it was a special occasion for our guest and they ended up paying.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We got together for a late birthday celebration. We've always eaten at The Veranda but decided to dine at The Plumeria Beach House for a change. The restaurant is located at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, an ocean front property. First off, the view from any table in this restaurant is amazing! We watched the day colors in the sky turn into evening. We watched the water from our table, a really great view! The menu was local themed, the Kama'aina Special menu was offered that evening. We ordered the Pulehu Chicken, Miso Butterfish, Prawns with Ginger rice, (the prawns were huge!) and the Lamb dish. There is a buffet line for your salads and desserts to choose from or you could order ala carte. Our son added the salad and dessert with his entree. Two of us ordered the Onion Soup, which was very delicious and not salty. Jonna, our wait help, was wonderful! She made a few suggestions and even talked me into ordering the Lamb. My fear was that the Lamb dish would be too gamey, (it wasn't)! We really enjoyed our meal. Another incredible revelation...the price! What we paid for that night would be the same amount or more for just the two of us had we gone to other Honolulu restaurants that have a similar menu. We had a great time dining at The Plumeria Beach House and we will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

さすがカハラホテルにあるレストラン。
ブュッフェでもクオリティが高いです!!
日本食も多方美味しいです!納豆もありました。
グルテンフリーのチョコマフィンも美味しかったです。
料理も景色もスタッフも最高です!
テラス席がオススメです。

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2017

海側の見晴らしのよい席が用意されていました。
雰囲気もゆったりしていていい感じなので
また行きたいです。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I went to the Plumeria after the Dolphin Quest, with my family. We enjoyed the drinks and our meal very much. Also enjoyed the scenic view at the beachside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We ordered the house special at $65. When the meals arrived the disappointment began. The lobster was over cooked, the king crab was old and stale, and the steak ordered as medium/rare was well done.
Overall, extremely disappointing and dissatisfying.
The Red Lobster leaves it in its wake.
I really feel like a refund.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The beachside view is drop dead gorgeous. Everything else was disappointing - extremely so. The food was not very good - the fish dishes were dry and overcooked. The service was indifferent and inattentive, which was surprising given how empty the restaurant was. I understand with construction going on in the restaurant that perhaps management thought they were providing an accommodation to guests just by being open . . . but they charged the same prices and gladly took our money. The return for that is an appropriate level of execution and performance. Hopefully things will be better once construction is completed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

素晴らしい景色とサービス。
食事だけではなく、雰囲気も含めて楽しめました。

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our first experience here. This buffet is offered great selections without being overwhelming as other buffets have become. The buffet line was kept well stocked ensuring fresh offerings throughout the evening. The cocktails were a bit pricey but well made and delicious. A limited but decent wine list. Great seating on the lanai overlooking the beach.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Hostess were rude and not welcoming. Under construction and quality of food was poor. Very disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was a great time we could share with my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Despite not expecting a buffet style meal the range of seafood dishes was quite delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As usual, everything was perfect. The view was fantastic. as was the food and service. The fish tacos were particularly tasty and nicely presented. Thank you.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 9, 2017

They didn't do anything special for my birthday but it was a wonderful dinner and experience. We are definitely going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We dined at Plumeria Beach House our last night in Oahu. The view was gorgeous. Our server was extremely attentive. The food was delicious. The chef made a special vegan meal for me, and the kids had great choices from the kids menu. The fish also looked very fresh. Overall a very enjoyable experience, and the perfect ending to an amazing vacation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent chef for seafood buffet and pastry. Real french pastries like in paris. The view is superbe as well as the service. Highly recommanded as honolulu number one seafood buffet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great time on a Friday night after work 8pm for a business meeting. Four of us enjoyed the food very much at the buffet. There was nothing we tried that we didn't like. The wait staff and support staff were great! Will definitely be back more often.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

シーフードのビュッフェスタイルなので食べたいものが食べられる。
子供向けの品物は少ないようだが、お肉もありなんとかなる。
ただし、いいお値段である。

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Tough to beat the location: you can almost dip your toes in the water while dining, but it's not just about the view (and we were not staying at the resort). We ended up doing a main course (Patagonian white fish) and several sides/salads, including their take on Brussels sprouts (yum), wild rice, asparagus, and grilled local veggies): all very good, accompanied by a cocktail and glass of wine. Jonna and the rest of the staff provided great service. Very pleasant evening.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food, service and venue. Current renovations are so far not an issue. Always an enjoyable spot for a delicious lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Been here a few time and it never disappoint. Loved the food, ambience and really good service good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Nice but noisy. Food - in my case the sushi - was super fresh and tasty; portions were generous. Service was prompt and courteous. Seating on the lanai is much preferable to seating inside as the noise level aside does get high. And why would you go to the Plumeria Beach House if not to enjoy the outdoor ambience of overlooking the Pacific Ocean?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Although the food was good, our service was TERRIBLE!!! I've never had a server/waitress who gave every impression that she did not want to be there. Her name is Jonna. She did not address us for almost 15 minutes after we were seated and because we were seated right next to their station, we could hear what all the servers were saying and they could also hear what we were saying. My husband and I openly asked where our server was and although she was standing directly in back of us, she ignored us and did not come to greet us until 15 minutes had passed. She was not friendly, and forgot everything we requested. we asked for lemons the 2x times that she came by but she never brought it. the bus boy was her only saving grace. he did his best to clear our table but even then, we were still stuck with moving plates to the side so we could eat. she was only friendly when she brought the bill....then she charged me 3 times the amount. I asked her to void it and after another 15 minutes went by she came back with the same charge draft with her handwritten "void" on it and said it was taken care of. I went to speak to the person in charge that evening and she was not helpful either explaining they couldn't do anything about having the item voided from my account now. For a restaurant in a "high end" hotel, their service and friendliness are serious lacking! I had a reservation for Saturday as well and canceled it...I could not subject myself to another evening of bad service. If i were in my right mind, i would not even have tipped her but I felt sorry for the bus boy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Everything was fine except I wish the waiter came around to bus the plates away and give me more water. I don't like to complain but have found that is the only way for them to get better. That is how I have become who I am by learning from my mistakes.
I was a waiter for 20 years and even worked at the Plumeria café 50 years ago and loved it.
I will always bring my clients back because I love the food. I did not realize you had butterfish on the buffet! Wow that is special and an item I will come back for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, great food. Looking onto the ocean was amazing. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Dinner date with the Mrs. visiting from San Francisco. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 11, 2017

First class through and through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food, ambiance & service are consistently good! Nice selection of entres for the Kamaina Thursday dinner. The guitar-vocalist was excellent but the sound level was too high. It was hard to hear dinner conversation at our table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 8, 2017

One of the iconic spots on Oahu, famous for its beach front location in the tony garden suburb Kahala, and for hosting 5 lively adult dolphins ! The cuisine is excellent, offering fresh seafood , high quality fruit and veggies, but beyond the satisfying food and pleasant ambiance it also gives diners a chance to view the sea critters and the resort beach.

The restaurant has one entire wall open and facing the Pacific. The bar, buffet set up, and about half the tables are inside, the rest are set up on the patio beyond the open wall, so indoor and outdoor tables are available. We had lunch on a Wednesday, the day of the week the Plumeria offers a buffet of several seafood curries with salad and desert bars, besides their usual a la carte menu. The buffet looked great, but we stuck to the menu .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Spicy, Authentic, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This is always one of our favorite dining venues when we come to Honolulu. Great hotel with 3 outstanding restaurants. Plumeria is beautifully set on the beach with excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The location of this restaurant is just wonderful. It has a clear view of the ocean from almost any table. I have dined there several times. It used to be much better and more traditional, but they have let it slide a bit lately. It is still wonderful to sit there on a nice sunny and breezy day in Hawaii. Foodies will not be happy with the quality of the food, but for most of us it is ok. Prices are a bit high, but the scenery makes it worthwhile and servers are fairly accommodating.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.