About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

As the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
American
Washington, D.C. Area
7 More
Best Overall
District of Columbia
Best Service
District of Columbia
Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
Notable Wine List
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
Special Occasion
District of Columbia
American
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (64)
romantic (56)
fit for foodies (52)
See All
notable wine list (37)
neighborhood gem (4)
good for groups (3)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

The setting is gorgeous, but that's abou ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The setting is gorgeous, but that's about it. The food is mediocre at best, and the service is beyond incompetent. Our server could not remember the dishes and would simply describe them as "The rabbit, haha" or "The risotto, enjoy". Nor did he know how to place the forks and knives on the table; he threw them in front of us, letting us arrange them on our own. We would be fine with this service in a casual restaurant but one expects much more in terms of professionalism and attention to detail in a fine dining establishment. Overall, it was not a pleasant experience, and I strongly encourage you to go elsewhere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If there was a level beyond Outstanding ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

If there was a level beyond Outstanding I think I would have selected it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Missed the mark

Dined on May 20, 2016

I chose this restaurant to celebrate graduation, and for the price, I was expecting a lot more. The ambiance is excellent with seating in a bright garden style room that gives the illusion of being in a sunroom. The waitstaff is very attentive and very respectful (a problem I face constantly with high-end restaurants considering my age). With that said, the main point of a restaurant is to produce high quality food, which I did not feel like I got especially considering the price we paid for the meal. My prix fix meal consisted of foie gras terraine, seared rabbit loin, and the exotic bomb. I'm always a huge fan of foie gras and I knew exactly what I was getting into. However, the rabbit completely ruined the meal for me. When they said seared rabbit loin, I thought it would be a typical rabbit loin cooked to perfection with their specialty sauce. What I got was two little pieces of meat that had the consistency of canned tuna and tasted like sawdust and another round of gelatin mixed with ham. The beauty of the dessert was the only redeeming quality of the meal. The exotic bomb was great with the shell filled with passion fruit and vanilla ice cream seated on caramelized pineapple. It was a memorable experience in that the dishes had extreme highs and lows. Sadly, I would not recommend this place despite how pretty their decor and plating are.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Food and service were good. I bit price ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food and service were good. I bit pricey for what you got.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Horrible food, boring atmosphere...nice ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Horrible food, boring atmosphere...nice service though

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Beautiful dinner

Dined on May 12, 2016

I would say this is one of my top meals ever eaten, it is a pretty penny but it's not the kind of caliber meal you eat every day (or even every year!)- this is definitely something to spring for on a special occasion and one you will enjoy if you like food and art combined!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our evening at Plume's was absolutely am ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Our evening at Plume's was absolutely amazing. We chose the chef's special with premium wine pairing. The staff, Freddie, Shaun, Jennifer, and Hector, were so attentive all evening. Thank you for making the evening so special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Second visit to Plume

Dined on May 8, 2016

Three years ago we had an amazing dining experience at the Plume and look forward for an excuse to return. So I surprised my wife Mother's Day weekend to return. I must say the dessert presentations and taste was amazing. In addition very large portions. The appetizer's were also good. I like how they have a fix price menu with two options. HOWEVER: the entrees were underwhelming. Certainly good, but very small portions and taste not outstanding. The service was outstanding, as we expected as well as the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I had this restaurant on ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I had this restaurant on our 'must try' list for a while. When the opportunity arose to take advantage of a weekend in DC, we jumped at the chance to make a reservation. The food and drink were excellent. We tried the Chef's menu with wine pairings. Jennifer Knowles served fabulously paired wines to compliment the exquisite food. However the evening started out questionably. When we arrived, we asked where the restaurant was located and were promptly sent down to the recreation area in the basement. We couldn't tell if this was someone's idea of a very poor joke or terrible communication. Having eventually found the restaurant, we were seated in an area with a high domed roof which made hearing a bit difficult especially when the waiters (english wasn't their first language which additionally complicated matters) were attempting to describe the dishes. Overall we were pleased; but the experience could have been better. For the price, I did expect a bit more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Different from what i was excpecting

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

As true Italian , i was expecting a different experience food wise. The ambience is really nice , wine list over priced for sure. This place wants to be sophisticated not for everyone ....and you feel it. All around you is classy a long with the people attending. For sure one of a kind restaurant. Let's get down to what is most important food!! The appetizer was scaring...they brought a small tray with 3 little drops on it: a cracker as big as a coin with salmon, a jelly as big as a quarter and a 1cup size with a soup.....OMG i said...OOPSSS i screwed up big time....i thought i ended up in a nouvelle cousine restaurant where they bring giant plates with nothin in it. So i start looking at the server asking for a ton of bread (LOL!!!) which is really good (they have 4 different kind). log story short ...you have to choose an appetizer a main course and a dessert .....The appetizer was bad! The main course (lobster) was really good....king of watery but good. Dessert really good no doubt. Overall i say ...go there if you wanna impress someone since the ambience i kind of classy but the bill is not worth it for sure...to much for what you get...but in my opinion you don't go there for the food experience. If you went to Obelix (for instance)and you liked it then you can come over here....

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our reservation was made weeks in advance for my wife's 65th birthday. Upon receiving a confirmation phone call, a nice table was requested. Was told that all the tables are nice. We were seated at a table for two with one of the seats facing the kitchen door. The other facing very little view of the ambiance of the restaurant. This was disappointing. Initially, we asked for assistance with the wine list. We sat for at least 15 minutes with nothing but water waiting for someone to assist. The waiter took our dinner order before we ever had more than a glass of water on the table. After the wait and finally receiving some wine, the evening's service was very good and our meals were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

perfect setting for memorable evening

Dined on May 7, 2016

Awesome in every way conceivable! Great food great service, great ambiance. Knowledgable and intelligent staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous, darlink, simply fabulous

Dined on April 29, 2016

Have eaten in a lot of great restaurants around the world so it was nice to find a truly memorable eating experience close to home. I haven't had a meal of this quality in the US since I ate at San Francisco's Fleur de Lys more than ten years ago. Probably I should get out more :) Subtle and inventive food, innovative and delicate preparations, attentive but not intrusive service, great attention to detail. Expensive, but worth it. We had the three course prix fixe with a glass of wine each and a liqueur as digestif. Total including tip - $300. Worth every penny for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very elegant restaurant. Great food and ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very elegant restaurant. Great food and wine selection. Had lobster and wife had buffalo strip. Great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary dinner. Highly recomme ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great Anniversary dinner. Highly recommend Plume for special occasions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Dining experience for four at Plume

Dined on April 23, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday and had a WONDERFUL meal with excellent service. We chose the $98 three course option. One person ordered an a la carte dish from the seven course tasting menu (which costs $115). When I received the bill I saw I was charged $56 for a plate with a small piece of short rib of beef served on top of (I believe ) spaetzle with some garnishes. It was delicious but certainly not worth $56. I complained to the waiter and he said he would speak to the manager. He did and the charge was reduced to $44, which in my opinion is still outrageous. The lobster dish in the three course menu was SPECTACULAR, although all the food was exceptional. All in all it was a favorable dining experience (although very expensive - the total bill with drinks and wine was over $600) but I would never again order anything a la carte without first asking the price.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did not disappoint!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was terrific on all fronts -- delicious, imaginative dishes; fun, special cocktails and a very lovely wine; beautifully attentive but not intrusive service; comfortable yet elegant surroundings. Highly recommend and will happily return!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

ONe of DC's Best

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Our second time here, this time celebrating parents' Anniversary. Service was very attentive, explained dishes when asked. The salmon cooked in beeswax is a novelty and excellent! All the dishes were prepared perfectly. Can be loud, depending on what other guests are nearby. A memorable evening, excellent food. Would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience, food, and service were sup ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The ambience, food, and service were superb!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fancy but not snooty. Food is top notch ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Fancy but not snooty. Food is top notch (get the lobster!), service is warm and hospitable, dining room is gorgeous and wine selection offers some interesting surprises. A perfect place for a celebration.

food3
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent. Food was OK but n ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was OK but not the best tasting food we ever had. Others at nearby tables were extremely loud and ruined the experience for us.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Deservedly rated one of DC's best

Dined on April 10, 2016

With Plume, you get a stunning setting, first-class service, consistently excellent food and a world-class wine list. The price you pay for all of that is, well, the price you pay. Plume is not an every-night dining experience, but it is consistently excellent every time I've been there. The other standout at Plume is the lack of pretense or attitude that you find in some other top-rated DC restos. Everyone is warm and welcoming while crisp and professional at the same time. One diner tip: I like the cozy, darker back dining area better for dinner, and the more area atrium-like spaces in the front of the restaurant for lunch and brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Beautiful but Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

The restaurant is elegant and the service was great. The food was beautifully presented. The ingredients were very fresh but the taste was disappointing. The scallops were rubbery and the exotic bomb dessert was too sweet. The crème brulee did not appeal to my friends who typically love crème brulee. The lobster was very moist but bland. The $98 prix fixe price tag was not a good value for enjoying one out of three courses. Too many other great restaurant options in the city to return to Plume.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not to be missed

Dined on April 9, 2016

The Tuffle Arborio Risotto appetizer (without the supplemental perigord truffle) was an outstanding dish. Followed by Lobster Gratin, it was a perfect pairing. The room was lovely and should be a go to spot for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fantastic experience. We were ...

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Absolutely fantastic experience. We were seated in a little semi circle nook that created a wonderful ambiance for our meal. Service is outstanding, food is great! We did the prix fixe menu, which comes with small amuse bouches in addition to whatever plates you order. As we left, my mother and I received small packages of chocolates to take home. The food has well balanced flavors, some more unusual than others, but work very well together. Nothing overpowers anything, it only compliments and melts in your mouth. I did enjoy my appetizer more than my entree, though. It was truly a wonderful meal and worth every penny!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Everything!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We went to the Plume for a "fancy dinner" while we were in DC on vacation. My husband and I, along with another couple we were with, were seated in a separate little room next to windows that overlooked outside and the main dining area, which was nice because it was more intimate. The food was exceptional and although for some it might be too expensive to spend $100 per person, you don't get just the appetizer, entree and dessert. There are several other small courses including an amuse bouche, bread with amazing cheese spreads, and a pre and post dessert. And they send you home with chocolates, all of which is included in the price. The food was cooked and presented perfectly. Three of us got the beef fillet and one of us ordered the lobster. The service was outstanding and the sommelier had excellent knowledge of their extensive wine list and was very patient with us novice wine drinkers. Overall the experience was excellent and we will definitely be returning when we are in DC again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnificent restaurant with delicious se ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Magnificent restaurant with delicious seasonal dishes and complementary wine list make for a glorious dinner occasion. Attentive staff make travelers feel welcome.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Pricey but Delicious

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Hostess was stellar, Quill was a nice aside as we waited and the food was everything people said it was. Service seemed a bit overwhelmed at times, but were exceedingly pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Luke Warm Food

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The sommelier was excellent, as was the ambiance. But we were disappointed in the food temperature. I had the vegetarian tasting and my fiancee had the meat options. Most of our dishes were lukewarm - at first I thought it was a fluke so didn't say anything. I finally asked for my last course - the cannelloni - to be warmer. It came out with a dome topper and was warm and delicious. For the price, expected caliber of the restaurant, and the special occasion we were celebrating, we were disappointed that food temperature was such an issue. And I just wonder if the food would have been more than ok if it were actually hot.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegant Setting and Food to Match

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Without a doubt, this was the BEST meal I have ever had in DC. The restaurant is expensive, but for those "special" occasions it can't be beat. Service is seamless, without being obtrusive. I read the reviews before dining here, and I must say (although delicious) that I didn't think the crab tea lived up to its hype. Admittedly the presentation was awe inspiring (as was the salmon coated in honey), but I think I might have been just as happy with one of the other starters. My lamb entree left me speechless and save room for dessert. The Bomb will knock you over! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We frequent Plume regularly and are neve ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

We frequent Plume regularly and are never disappointed. The 7-course Premium paring is amazing as the Sommelier is fantastic! If you have any room left, the cheese course and paring are fantastic complements, pre-dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner for our 10th Wedding Anniv ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We had dinner for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and it was amazing!! They customized our menus and gave us a private booth! It was the best meal I've ever had! Service and food were exceptional!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

A fine experience indeed!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

A fine experience indeed!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal and service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious meal with wonderful and attentive service. The sommelier was able to help me choose a glass of wine that was perfect with my salmon. The restaurant is beautiful and romantic. However, I would suggest requesting a quiet table away from service areas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As pleasing a restaurant as one could hope for.

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Aside from a beautiful room, excellent food, vast wine list, and so quiet one can have a conversation without shouting across the table, the sommelier is staggeringly knowledgeable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an amazing!

Dined on February 26, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants that my wife and I have had dinner at ever. The food was amazing - be sure to save room for dessert. The service was great and very helpful. Can't wait to go again and again and again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on February 20, 2016

Gorgeous ambiance and fantastic service; we did the wine pairing and found a new wine we will look for to enjoy at home. Food presentation was inviting and delicious Would recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my top 5 dining experiences ever. ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

One of my top 5 dining experiences ever. The prix fixe menu is perfect and each serving seems to get bigger as dinner progresses. Desert might have been the best part. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant, delicious

Dined on February 19, 2016

My husband and I have dined at the Plume twice and greatly enjoyed both experiences. My favorite is the blue crab tea. The service is always impeccable, especially from Paul and the Sommelier. On our first visit, we indulged in the wine pairing. Our last visit was alcohol free but I greatly enjoyed my mocktail. We will definitely return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good to Great!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Food was good and had imagination but Wine selection was very close to Great! Pricing was on the edge of being a bit pricy in the value equation. My only suggestion is more focus on the food value process and stay focused on great Wines and keep them in stock! Good to Great

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.