About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

As the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel
Plume at the Jefferson Hotel
New England Clam Chowder
Hamachi Tartar
Moulard Duck Breast And Foie Gras, Toasted Grits With Brown Sugar And Butter, Wilted Escarole, Raspberry- Peach Gastrique
Trilogy Of Lemon Profiteroles
Mimosa
Lobster Thermidor
Raw and Cooked Vegetable Salad
Grilled Colorado Lamb
Herb Crusted Halibut

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Washington, D.C. Area
Special Occasion
Washington, D.C. Area
Notable Wine List
District of Columbia
2 More
Romantic
District of Columbia
Special Occasion
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Historic (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I went for our wedding anniv ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I went for our wedding anniversary based on the high OpenTable rankings. The presentation of the food, ambience of the restaurant and SERVICE were sublime. The food, while beautifully presented was missing flavor that was in keeping with the expectations and could be described as "just ok" - visually stunning, taste, not so much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The 3 course prix fixe for $98.00 was ou ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

The 3 course prix fixe for $98.00 was outstanding. We both had the haddock which was picture perfect in presentation and taste. The deserts were excellent especially the raspberry/lemon pavlova. The chef treats were also a touch of class which was only topped off by the gift chocolates presented to my wife just as we were leaving the Jefferson Hotel. The experience reminded us of Bouley's in NYC. It is good to know there are still real high class places at which to dine when in DC. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

There is simply no place in the District ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

There is simply no place in the District like Plume for special occasions. We didn't think we were big fans of molecular gastronomy but the presentations were so much fun and the dishes so extraordinary. Examples: Beet puzzle with nicoise olive gelee, crab tea made in a sort of medieval-alchemy looking coffee brewer, salmon cooked by having hot beeswax poured over it. More conventional but equally scrumptious, lobster gratin. The tasting menu was unusual in that we could have chosen it even though we don't eat meat. The service is as impeccable as you would hope, and the tables are well-spaced, so that as the evening progressed, the volume level went from moderate to quiet. A special shout-out to wine director Jennifer Noble for her thoughtfully curated, wide-ranging selections.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was best we've had in Washington ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was best we've had in Washington. Food was excellent. It was a great choice for anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt we were transported to a Micheli ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We felt we were transported to a Michelin 3 star restaurant in France - the ambience, the pacing, the inventive creations of the chef, the service, the setting - all extraordinary to find in Washington DC. Simply superlative is an understatement.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a special occasion spot! If ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Definitely a special occasion spot! If you like gourmet experiences with impeccable service, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was certainly the finest meal, with ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was certainly the finest meal, with the finest wine and finest service, we have had in the DC area in the past two years. Warm thanks and congratulations to the Plume.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dinner, we picked the tastin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding dinner, we picked the tasting menu and every dish was excellent. Worth mentioning the butter soft "saltimbocca". The sommelier is extremely knowledgeable, fun and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Plume to celebrate yet another ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I went to Plume to celebrate yet another birthday.... It was amazing, the staff was friendly, the service was impeccable, pure perfection. If you are looking for opulence, elegance and the most luxurious food that you can ever put in your mouth..... I suggest you make a reservation right away. I have grown accustom to spending my birthdays alone in some B rated restaurant.... but never again... Plume far exceeding my exceptions & I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were told by friends ab ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My husband and I were told by friends about Plumes. We loved it .. the food was divine and the service excellent ... But unobtrusive. Perfect for a special occasion. We were visiting from Australia and we will definitely return when we next visit Washington. It was pricey but worth the money spent. Book it u won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my husband for his birthday dinner. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Took my husband for his birthday dinner. The balance executed on so many aspects of the food and dining experience was so impressive - classic french and modern techniques, incredibly beautiful presentation and still delivering clear and sophisticated flavors, American and French fusion, fresh American ingredients perfectly cooked, elegant and relaxed environment, formal but friendly waitstaff... waitstaff in upscale restaurants like this can act like a hawk which is very unpleasant, but Plume staff knew when to intervene and when to give us privacy. Upscale restaurants also tend to push you to order expensive bottled water which upsets me because of their lack of thought for the environment and only think about their profits, but I was pleasantly impressed with Plume providing complimentary still and sparkling water in recycled bottles for all guests. This was so refreshing and I hope many other restaurants follow their lead. The wine list was very unique and we tasted one of the best champagnes, reds, and sweet reds of our lives - all from USA. The high quality beautiful tasting complimentary dishes they bring you as soon as you sit down, before the 1st course, before and after the main dessert, and as a little gift as you leave all added exciting and fun touches to the special and memorable dining experience. Would love to come back. Not cheap but for what you get and for DC it was overall very good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful, five-star experience across ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A beautiful, five-star experience across the board. So nice to have a place of elegance in a world of dwindling refinement. Dining was a feast for all the senses, very elevated technique and unique flavor profiles beautifully presented. Excellent, helpful and knowledgeable sommelier. Most memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue. Fabulous service. Foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Beautiful venue. Fabulous service. Food was disappointing in some ways. A potato dish was like glue with no flavour. The risotto was delicious. The desserts read better than they tasted. The tasting menu had too large portions, not a quibble in most cases. I think the chef can do better. At least that is my gut feeling.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Très Elegante! We celebrated our weddin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Très Elegante!

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Plume, the highly rated restaurant in the historic Jefferson Hotel. It is decorated in a lovely, elegant style - hints of French influence in decor and menu items. Small details impressed: A little blue velvet stool was brought for my purse.

They knew it was our anniversary - and made a point of wishing us a happy one from the moment we checked in until we left. They even provided us a menu that said 'Happy Anniversary' - and 'the lady's' menu did not list prices (a fine dining tradition). We were offered a glass of champagne as soon as we were seated.

The menu states the food served is inspired by what Thomas Jefferson grew in his gardens at Monticello. Plume offers a Chef's tasting menu, which did sound delectable, but we opted for a little lighter fare from the Prix Fix choices.

We started with the white asparagus and Spanish ham, and the foie gras terrine - both excellent. Entrees of duck and rabbit with interesting accompaniments. My spouse enjoyed browsing the extensive wine list, and chose a Châteauneuf-du-Pape that was perfection.

Dessert was as delicious as the rest: a cherry crème brûlée, and a pear pavlova.

Probably our best fine dining experience in D.C.

And then our waiter suggested an after dinner drink in the hotel bar. What a nice surprise to find a highly entertaining pianist who knew hundreds of classic songs, show tunes, etc. And it was his birthday - so his wife and friends were there celebrating with him. He was quite engaging, drawing us and other guests into conversation and music choices. Really a fun spot.

The Jefferson and Plume are on our 'favorites' list now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I both ordered the tasting ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My friend and I both ordered the tasting menu, and it was absolutely delicious. The fact that it was possible to order an entirely vegetarian meal was also wonderful as it's often difficult to be a vegetarian in DC restaurants.

There was one very minor food issue. The guests at the next table were very loud, too, which is why this isn't five star across the board.

Lastly, I would like to thank the restaurant for being so attentive regarding my strawberry allergy. I hope to dine at Plume again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Impeccable service. Tasting menu was di ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Impeccable service. Tasting menu was disappointing as several of the dishes, although attractively presented were rather bland. Nonetheless, the lamb was exquisite. The Sommelier was exceptional and remembered our preferences from several previous visits. The valet service was a plus. There was nothing about this experience that would preclude us from returning or recommending it to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was absolutely spec ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The service and food was absolutely spectacular. It was the best full course meal my wife and I have ever had. Everything from the oysters, scallops, entrees, and incredible desert. I would recommend this extremely fine dining to anyone who can afford it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about the evening at 'Plume' ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything about the evening at 'Plume'

was 5 stars. The service, food, atmosphere and table set to perfection.

Pleasant evening attentive staff without being intrusive or overbearing .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Plume is an outstanding restaurant. All ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Plume is an outstanding restaurant. All restaurant personnel are professional, well-trained and focused on making each guest's visit to Plume special. Of particular note is Plume's sommelier, Jennifer Knowles, who has an intimate knowledge of the restaurant's wine list and makes can't miss recommendations. All entrees are excellent and, in particular, the salmon cooked in beeswax is simply terrific. The dining room is quiet and has a touch of elegance. Each and every of my several visits to Plume have been completely satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were incredible and the ambian ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The staff were incredible and the ambiance is very romantic so it was a perfect place for our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by going to Plume. They had a beautiful intimate table in an alcove and a very quiet setting. The wait staff was attentive and the Sommelier provided a wonderful wine pairing for our entree. This is our favorite place in DC for a quiet intimate romantic celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing. Given that this restauran ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Disappointing. Given that this restaurant was rated No. 1 in DC, my expectations might have been too high. The fact that the waiter came to our table with a note pad to take our orders was off putting, something I expect from a "Diner". The food was not bad, but not memorable. We had to ask for a replenishment of the bread. The room had the feeling of a venue past its prime. There are many restaurants in DC that I would rate higher than Plume.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Everything was great. I would recommend ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything was great. I would recommend it for special occasions. It would have been perfect except for some confusion over the wine which ended up doubling the price of the wine over what I expected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sheer Delight

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

There is a reason Plume ranks as one of the best restaurants in DC-- from check, to staff, to food it is the best. Can hardly wait to see it identified as one of the best in Michelin guide.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting is gorgeous, but that's abou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The setting is gorgeous, but that's about it. The food is mediocre at best, and the service is beyond incompetent. Our server could not remember the dishes and would simply describe them as "The rabbit, haha" or "The risotto, enjoy". Nor did he know how to place the forks and knives on the table; he threw them in front of us, letting us arrange them on our own. We would be fine with this service in a casual restaurant but one expects much more in terms of professionalism and attention to detail in a fine dining establishment. Overall, it was not a pleasant experience, and I strongly encourage you to go elsewhere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

If there was a level beyond Outstanding ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

If there was a level beyond Outstanding I think I would have selected it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Missed the mark

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I chose this restaurant to celebrate graduation, and for the price, I was expecting a lot more.

The ambiance is excellent with seating in a bright garden style room that gives the illusion of being in a sunroom. The waitstaff is very attentive and very respectful (a problem I face constantly with high-end restaurants considering my age). With that said, the main point of a restaurant is to produce high quality food, which I did not feel like I got especially considering the price we paid for the meal.

My prix fix meal consisted of foie gras terraine, seared rabbit loin, and the exotic bomb. I'm always a huge fan of foie gras and I knew exactly what I was getting into. However, the rabbit completely ruined the meal for me. When they said seared rabbit loin, I thought it would be a typical rabbit loin cooked to perfection with their specialty sauce. What I got was two little pieces of meat that had the consistency of canned tuna and tasted like sawdust and another round of gelatin mixed with ham. The beauty of the dessert was the only redeeming quality of the meal. The exotic bomb was great with the shell filled with passion fruit and vanilla ice cream seated on caramelized pineapple. It was a memorable experience in that the dishes had extreme highs and lows. Sadly, I would not recommend this place despite how pretty their decor and plating are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Food and service were good. I bit price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food and service were good. I bit pricey for what you got.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Horrible food, boring atmosphere...nice ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Horrible food, boring atmosphere...nice service though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Beautiful dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I would say this is one of my top meals ever eaten, it is a pretty penny but it's not the kind of caliber meal you eat every day (or even every year!)- this is definitely something to spring for on a special occasion and one you will enjoy if you like food and art combined!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Our evening at Plume's was absolutely am ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Our evening at Plume's was absolutely amazing. We chose the chef's special with premium wine pairing.

The staff, Freddie, Shaun, Jennifer, and Hector, were so attentive all evening. Thank you for making the evening so special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit to Plume

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Three years ago we had an amazing dining experience at the Plume and look forward for an excuse to return. So I surprised my wife Mother's Day weekend to return. I must say the dessert presentations and taste was amazing. In addition very large portions. The appetizer's were also good. I like how they have a fix price menu with two options. HOWEVER: the entrees were underwhelming. Certainly good, but very small portions and taste not outstanding.

The service was outstanding, as we expected as well as the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I had this restaurant on ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband and I had this restaurant on our 'must try' list for a while. When the opportunity arose to take advantage of a weekend in DC, we jumped at the chance to make a reservation. The food and drink were excellent. We tried the Chef's menu with wine pairings. Jennifer Knowles served fabulously paired wines to compliment the exquisite food. However the evening started out questionably. When we arrived, we asked where the restaurant was located and were promptly sent down to the recreation area in the basement. We couldn't tell if this was someone's idea of a very poor joke or terrible communication. Having eventually found the restaurant, we were seated in an area with a high domed roof which made hearing a bit difficult especially when the waiters (english wasn't their first language which additionally complicated matters) were attempting to describe the dishes. Overall we were pleased; but the experience could have been better. For the price, I did expect a bit more.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Different from what i was excpecting

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

As true Italian , i was expecting a different experience food wise. The ambience is really nice , wine list over priced for sure.

This place wants to be sophisticated not for everyone ....and you feel it. All around you is classy a long with the people attending. For sure one of a kind restaurant. Let's get down to what is most important food!! The appetizer was scaring...they brought a small tray with 3 little drops on it: a cracker as big as a coin with salmon, a jelly as big as a quarter and a 1cup size with a soup.....OMG i said...OOPSSS i screwed up big time....i thought i ended up in a nouvelle cousine restaurant where they bring giant plates with nothin in it. So i start looking at the server asking for a ton of bread (LOL!!!) which is really good (they have 4 different kind). log story short ...you have to choose an appetizer a main course and a dessert .....The appetizer was bad! The main course (lobster) was really good....king of watery but good. Dessert really good no doubt. Overall i say ...go there if you wanna impress someone since the ambience i kind of classy but the bill is not worth it for sure...to much for what you get...but in my opinion you don't go there for the food experience. If you went to Obelix (for instance)and you liked it then you can come over here....

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Elegant Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our reservation was made weeks in advance for my wife's 65th birthday. Upon receiving a confirmation phone call, a nice table was requested. Was told that all the tables are nice. We were seated at a table for two with one of the seats facing the kitchen door. The other facing very little view of the ambiance of the restaurant. This was disappointing. Initially, we asked for assistance with the wine list. We sat for at least 15 minutes with nothing but water waiting for someone to assist. The waiter took our dinner order before we ever had more than a glass of water on the table. After the wait and finally receiving some wine, the evening's service was very good and our meals were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

perfect setting for memorable evening

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Awesome in every way conceivable! Great food great service, great ambiance. Knowledgable and intelligent staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous, darlink, simply fabulous

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Have eaten in a lot of great restaurants around the world so it was nice to find a truly memorable eating experience close to home. I haven't had a meal of this quality in the US since I ate at San Francisco's Fleur de Lys more than ten years ago. Probably I should get out more :)

Subtle and inventive food, innovative and delicate preparations, attentive but not intrusive service, great attention to detail.

Expensive, but worth it. We had the three course prix fixe with a glass of wine each and a liqueur as digestif. Total including tip - $300. Worth every penny for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very elegant restaurant. Great food and ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Very elegant restaurant. Great food and wine selection. Had lobster and wife had buffalo strip. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary dinner. Highly recomme ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great Anniversary dinner. Highly recommend

Plume for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining experience for four at Plume

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's birthday and had a WONDERFUL meal with excellent service. We chose the $98 three course option. One person ordered an a la carte dish from the seven course tasting menu (which costs $115). When I received the bill I saw I was charged $56 for a plate with a small piece of short rib of beef served on top of (I believe ) spaetzle with some garnishes. It was delicious but certainly not worth $56. I complained to the waiter and he said he would speak to the manager. He did and the charge was reduced to $44, which in my opinion is still outrageous. The lobster dish in the three course menu was SPECTACULAR, although all the food was exceptional. All in all it was a favorable dining experience (although very expensive - the total bill with drinks and wine was over $600) but I would never again order anything a la carte without first asking the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.