About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

As the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
New England Clam Chowder - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Hamachi Tartar - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Moulard Duck Breast And Foie Gras, Toasted Grits With Brown Sugar And Butter, Wilted Escarole, Raspberry- Peach Gastrique - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Trilogy Of Lemon Profiteroles - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Mimosa - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Lobster Thermidor - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Raw and Cooked Vegetable Salad - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Grilled Colorado Lamb - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC
Herb Crusted Halibut - Plume at the Jefferson Hotel, Washington, DC

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

A holiday celebration not to be missed! Please join us on Saturday, December 24th from 5:00 p.m. – 8:30 p.m. for a three-course Christmas Eve feast!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Executive Chef Ralf Schlegel has prepared a Christmas Day meal full of delights! Christmas Day seatings will be on Sunday, December 25th from 11:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. and will be $108 per adult and $55 per child, 12 and under. Beverages, tax, gratuity and valet parking are not included.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate the New Year at the Michelin starred Plume! First seating: 5:00 p.m. – 6:45 p.m. $185 per person, $295 per person with wine pairing. Children 12 and under are $65.
Second seating: 7:00 p.m. – 9:45 p.m. Cost is $225 per person $430 with wine. Children 12 and under are $85. Champagne toast!

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Washington, D.C. Area
Best Ambiance
Washington, D.C. Area
American
Washington, D.C. Area
6 More
Best Overall
District of Columbia
Best Service
District of Columbia
Best Ambiance
District of Columbia
Romantic
District of Columbia
Special Occasion
District of Columbia
American
District of Columbia
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Tasting Menu (20)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Historic (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The staff was welcoming and attentive. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The staff was welcoming and attentive. The meal was delicious and well-presented. Our little private alcove was perfect for celebrating my husband's birthday. All in all, a fabulous evening! We look forward to our next experience at Plume!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing it was my 21rs Wedding a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

It was amazing it was my 21rs Wedding anniversary

My table was waiting with a dream romantic scenery.

God bless all the staff and merry x mas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was impeccable to say the least. Unp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was impeccable to say the least.

Unparallel and incomparable to anything we saw in the US and Europe. This place is magic in terms of service, food and attitude to patrons.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was underwhelming. Felt like I w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was underwhelming. Felt like I was interrupting the waiters rather than being served as a guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We were married at the Hotel Jefferson i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were married at the Hotel Jefferson in 1996. We went back last night for our 20th anniversary and it was spectacular. The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. Plating was beautiful. They gave us a lovely curtained booth for the occasion, which is a wonderful setting for an anniversary, proposal or other romantic occasion. Everything was perfect. We opted for the prix fixe rather than the tasting menu because I wanted to have duck, and it was superb. If you go soon, have the Amish Fairytale for an appetizer. It's a pumpkin shaving dish with foie gras. My husband had bison, which was great and even I liked it, and I don't usually care for bison. The wine list is extensive and there is something for everyone. The setting is hushed and romantic. This was our first time at Plume and I can see why it earned a Michelin star.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is superb and fantastic food. B ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service is superb and fantastic food. Beautifully decorated restaurant and very romantic place to have dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Plume was elegant and quiet, two at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Plume was elegant and quiet, two attributes not easily found in restaurants lately. The food and service were superb. Many dishes were a surprise in their lovely presentation. My favorite was the Everything Chocolate for dessert and the spectacular Diver Scallops.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very salty and we were told men ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was very salty and we were told men needed to wear jackets yet the table near us, none of the men were wearing jackets. They had on sweats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Awesome wines, great food, great sommeli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Awesome wines, great food, great sommelier, great service, great courses...We loved the atmosphere, the wonderful wine pairing with each course, and beautiful room...Thank you for an elegant meal. We loved it. We hope to see you again, soon.

Regards,

Bruce

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Plume for our 5th wedding ann ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We went to Plume for our 5th wedding anniversary. We chose the three prefix course. The portion of food is quite much so we got so full. Food was great but i guess i had a higher expectation.. service is excellent they even gave us a dessert with a chocolate saying happy anniversary. I dont think i will come back again but still great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We hadn't been to Plume in awhile, but b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We hadn't been to Plume in awhile, but brought my elderly mother here for her birthday dinner. Good choice! -- the ambiance is warm and elegant, not too noisy but not tomblike either. Service is very attentive. We chose the prix fixe menu (my mom doesn't like tasting menus) which was accompanied by wonderful cheese goucheres, delightfully crafted amuse bouche, wonderful artisenal bread and a intercourse sorbet in addition to the three courses. Plus some sweets with coffee! Extremely knowledgeable sommeliere, outstanding wine selection. My mother declared it "the best meal I ever had". We will probably be bringing her here again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. I had the blue c ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the blue crab tea which was really interesting. The desserts were absolutely divine. I think it was busier than I anticipated and there were quite a few loud conversations which detracted from our visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

pretty good

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

pretty good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely room, accommodating staff but foo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Lovely room, accommodating staff but food was old fashioned and overly rich. Could not even identify a type of cuisine.

I would not recommend Plume and would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Truly a romantic gem. This is the place ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Truly a romantic gem. This is the place for proposals and anniversaries. Lovely small space with lots of tables for two. Food is amazing and sommelier very knowledgeable. Add a recently received Michelin star and this is the place to be for DC fine dining.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plume is a spectacular looking restauran ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Plume is a spectacular looking restaurant and the service was also superb. However, the food was not great, certainly not for the price. One had veal tartare and escargot which was not really tartare and pretty tasteless. Another had the foie gras mousse that was too cold and needed some salt to make it tasty. The entrée veal was OK but a little tough. The halibut was delicious and perfectly cooked.

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Amazing food preparation and large servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Amazing food preparation and large servings. Great value for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plume has always been one of the best re ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Plume has always been one of the best restaurants in Washington. Now, however, it has been recognized with a Michelin Star. This is certainly due this outstanding location and you will be thrilled with the food from the beginning to the end. Beware, however, that, at least for now, the demand to dine here has increased substantially and new dining room staff has been added that are not completely up to the previous standards. We are sure they will be guided to a level of perfection that has always been at Plume but give it some time but definitely go the food is the real star.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was good. The service was poor ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was good. The service was poor. After bringing us three kinds of butter, we sat for 15 minutes waiting for bread. Eventually, the waiter told us that the chef was baking the bread. Would have been nice if he'd told us right away. Even nicer if the chef had done his job earlier. There were similar waits between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Clearly, the best restaurant in the Unit ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Clearly, the best restaurant in the United States. Everything is perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My review of Plume is in context of what ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My review of Plume is in context of what it is, a special but expensive dining experience. Doing a five course tasting menu paired with wine is fun and not something most people do on a regular basis. So my expectations were high going in and Plume met most of them.

We were given a quiet corner table, most of the servers were appropriately attentive and knowledgeable, the food was good to great, and the wine was amazing. If this was a normal dining experience I would have easily given it five stars, but I do not believe Plume would want people to think of it as a normal dining experience, so I am being a bit more critical. There were two small areas I felt could have been improved.

First the sommelier did a great job of explaining what we were drinking and eating, but lacked much warmth. I was definitely not looking for someone to sit down with us to share a glass of wine, but the way she attended us felt mechanical, almost as if she was on the clock and could only spend so many seconds with each table. The second and more concerning issue was tied to the bill. Going in I knew I was going to spend well more than what I would normally pay for a meal for two, but as we were looking at it as an experience, I was fully prepared. When the bill came it was about $200 more than expected. When I questioned the amount (have to admit it was a bit embarrassing to have to ask) they immediately checked and corrected, giving a polite apology. No damage done, but adding around $200 to a bill that was just over $500, with tax and tip, is a pretty big mistake. It left me wondering how often it happens.

Overall, a good experience and would recommend you give Plume a try if you are looking for a special night out and can afford it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was flavorful and plated in a w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was flavorful and plated in a whimsical yet sophisticated way. The “Crab Tea”, was one of the most memorable dishes I have ever had. It was set table side in a percolating tea pot and brewed while you enjoy your cold first courses. It is served with a perfectly executed crab terrine and accompanied by citrus and chili “caviar”. The Service was outstanding and the Sommelier, Jen, was absolutely amazing. Well deserving of the recent Michelin star. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Private Room, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite and varied menu -- both tastin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Exquisite and varied menu -- both tasting and fixed price. Lobster gratin was exceptional as was the scallops appetizer. Service was impeccable. Fully justified their Michelin star.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we are in D.C. we make a poin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Every time we are in D.C. we make a point of going to Plume and we are never disappointed.

From the veal tartare with escargots to the halibut to the wonderful dessert everything was perfect and presented with great elegance. Service impeccable, ambiance cozy and romantic even on a busy Friday night. The best.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

too pricey for the food. Priced like Mic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

too pricey for the food. Priced like Michelin 1 star restaurant (and it is 1 star restaurant) but food and service were like 0 star restaurant. Ambiance was very much like 2 star restaurants we have been to. We've been to many Michelin 1 star restaurants with better food and service than Plume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Intimate, great service and terrific foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Intimate, great service and terrific food. Appreciated valet parking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing foie gras ever! The ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The most amazing foie gras ever! The service is quite impressive.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food to expensive for the quality

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food to expensive for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Birthday night dinner done up in a wonde ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Birthday night dinner done up in a wonderful way. I felt special from the moment we walked in. The dinner/wine pairing experience made the evening. We had wonderful food, great wine, and learned a great deal at the same time. The special menu made just for me is now prominently displayed on my memory shelf.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No pude haber escogido un mejor sitio pa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

No pude haber escogido un mejor sitio para celebrar el cumpleaños mi novio.

Todo fue simplemente espectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for our wedding anniv ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I went for our wedding anniversary based on the high OpenTable rankings. The presentation of the food, ambience of the restaurant and SERVICE were sublime. The food, while beautifully presented was missing flavor that was in keeping with the expectations and could be described as "just ok" - visually stunning, taste, not so much.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The 3 course prix fixe for $98.00 was ou ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The 3 course prix fixe for $98.00 was outstanding. We both had the haddock which was picture perfect in presentation and taste. The deserts were excellent especially the raspberry/lemon pavlova. The chef treats were also a touch of class which was only topped off by the gift chocolates presented to my wife just as we were leaving the Jefferson Hotel. The experience reminded us of Bouley's in NYC. It is good to know there are still real high class places at which to dine when in DC. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

There is simply no place in the District ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 18, 2016

There is simply no place in the District like Plume for special occasions. We didn't think we were big fans of molecular gastronomy but the presentations were so much fun and the dishes so extraordinary. Examples: Beet puzzle with nicoise olive gelee, crab tea made in a sort of medieval-alchemy looking coffee brewer, salmon cooked by having hot beeswax poured over it. More conventional but equally scrumptious, lobster gratin. The tasting menu was unusual in that we could have chosen it even though we don't eat meat. The service is as impeccable as you would hope, and the tables are well-spaced, so that as the evening progressed, the volume level went from moderate to quiet. A special shout-out to wine director Jennifer Noble for her thoughtfully curated, wide-ranging selections.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was best we've had in Washington ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Service was best we've had in Washington. Food was excellent. It was a great choice for anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We felt we were transported to a Micheli ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We felt we were transported to a Michelin 3 star restaurant in France - the ambience, the pacing, the inventive creations of the chef, the service, the setting - all extraordinary to find in Washington DC. Simply superlative is an understatement.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a special occasion spot! If ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Definitely a special occasion spot! If you like gourmet experiences with impeccable service, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was certainly the finest meal, with ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was certainly the finest meal, with the finest wine and finest service, we have had in the DC area in the past two years. Warm thanks and congratulations to the Plume.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dinner, we picked the tastin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding dinner, we picked the tasting menu and every dish was excellent. Worth mentioning the butter soft "saltimbocca". The sommelier is extremely knowledgeable, fun and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Plume to celebrate yet another ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

I went to Plume to celebrate yet another birthday.... It was amazing, the staff was friendly, the service was impeccable, pure perfection. If you are looking for opulence, elegance and the most luxurious food that you can ever put in your mouth..... I suggest you make a reservation right away. I have grown accustom to spending my birthdays alone in some B rated restaurant.... but never again... Plume far exceeding my exceptions & I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were told by friends ab ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 27, 2016

My husband and I were told by friends about Plumes. We loved it .. the food was divine and the service excellent ... But unobtrusive. Perfect for a special occasion. We were visiting from Australia and we will definitely return when we next visit Washington. It was pricey but worth the money spent. Book it u won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.