About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

As the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Tasting Menu (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fireplace (7)
Private Room (6)
Historic (6)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

First up - service is excellent. Non-intrusive, quick, and we even got a little box of chocolates to go at the door. Some of the dishes were pretty inventive such as the blue crab tea (fascinating). Otherwise, you will a typical take of the duck, and lobster, both of which were tasty, but similar to other restaurants of its calibre. The dessert was very rich and delicious. All in all a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food in an intimate atmosphere that's elegant yet comfortable. Service is absolutely top-notch. Portions can be on the large side, especially appetizers and desserts on the prix-fixe menu. The "beet puzzle" is very pretty but really just a whole lot of beets without much else going on. The poached pear dessert was just massive and had too many different things going on. But it was still a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding service and fabulous cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

One of my top 10 Fine Dining Restaurants in the world

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Plume Restaurant at the Jefferson Hotel was a remarkable experience for me and my wife, as we celebrated our 11th anniversary. I wanted an exceptional dining experience to mark the occasion and the Plume provided it and more from entry to exit.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful place to gather with friends. Great ambiance. Great food. Love there is a special place to put my purse :-) (you get a stool just for your purse). Madeira Wine flights are over the top and AMAZING!!!!!!! Bucket List for sure!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. I had the foie gras and venison - two items you don't find at most restaurants so it was a lovely treat. There were several complimentary items between our courses and we were sent home with a box of chocolates. I appreciated the little stool for our purses - nice touch.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Plume is an overall fantastic exeperience--great food, ambiance and service! Every food item tasted like love and happiness and the "bomb" dessert was The Bomb! My next dinner is already planned.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good meal, crab tea was unique, beeswax salmon more interesting in preparation than taste. Bison strip was amazing. Very attentive staff, beautiful space. Kinda quiet for a Saturday night--but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dining at Plume is a wonderful experience, the service and food are exceptional from the moment of arrival until you are sent home with chocolates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It's not cheap, but the dining experience is fantastic and worth every penny!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Ordered the fixed price menu. Extremely strong dessert - was the favorite part for everyone in our party who ordered different dishes. Service was attentive but didn't seem enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 17, 2017

the service and the restaurant were very good, about the food the appetizers were good and well done specially the risotto , main plates were not that good we had the lobster dish and the lobster was not fresh it had been frozen so that killed the plate flavor, the bison was ok not very flavorful. Again the service and the locale were very nice so it made up for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Plume is receiving one star merely because TripAdvisor requires that you give at least that in order to leave a review. I have never been so utterly disappointed with a meal in my entire life.

We made a reservation with Plume for Valentine's day despite reading some spotty reviews because it received a Michelin star. This was my first dining experience with a Michelin-awarded restaurant, and as a result I have lost all faith in the Michelin guide as a trustworthy source of fine dining recommendations.
The meal started with 3 courses of seafood: oysters, lobster, and trout. The oysters and lobster both tasted as though they had been marinated in Potomac river water - mostly flavorless, except for a hint of dirty salt water. The Trout was admittedly cooked well, but was terribly bland save for a coating of salt that was overpowering and ruined one of the few things the chef almost prepared well.
The main course of the meal was a choice of Lamb or Veal. My date and I each ordered one, wanting to try all the restaurant had to offer. Once again, we were served two bland, flavorless pieces of meat that did not seem to align with the garnishes around them. It is completely lost on me what the chef was going for with this meal.

The desserts were completely forgettable and the epitome of mediocrity, with no more creativity or ingenuity than that of a 7-11 parfait.
As I left the restaurant, I felt mostly embarrassed that I had taken my date there and nothing short of robbed after signing the check. Had the menu not been prix-fixe, we would have left after the second course, having only made it that far on the faith that there is no way the rest of the meal could have possibly been as bad as the first.

I'm not exaggerating when I say that you could have a more legitimate "fine-dining" experience at an Outback Steakhouse, and I have had better tasting food in the buffet line of a Carnival Cruiseship (which was before this meal what I considered the lowest of the low).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Plume. I was hesitant to splurge on their premium wine pairing but was very pleased that I did. The wine was a standout of this experience. The food was all prepared perfectly and the creativity was present but mild. The portions were perfect leaving us satisfied but not over-filled. The service was top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience. Excellent food&Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A truly memorable dining establishment inside an impressive hotel. The ambiance is absolutely perfect, the menu well-crafted, the service impeccable and friendly. Not to mention an exhaustive wine list reflective of Thomas Jefferson's passion for fine wine. This is an ideal place for special occasions and particularly for those who like a classy atmosphere with low noise level where everyone can hear one another easily and feel totally private.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous meal, a great, traditional American fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were looking forward to eating at Plume again as our past experiences were great.
This time was mediocre. We had the tasting menu with wine. The service was pretty good and the wine was too. The food just wasn't very interesting or special this time. We were both very disappointed and won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great experience here in every aspect, however I got a stomach illness once we got home and was up all night next to the bathroom. It was disappointing that this ruined a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. The staff was phenomenal! They have a pre fixe menu that we chose off of and all the food was so elegant. We even got more then expected between the pre appetizer, pre and post desserts! It was a special night for us and the restaurant made our experience a night to remember.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wait staff and sommelier were outstanding! For a michelin star restaurant, food left much to be desired.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Surprisingly underwhelming. Wait staff was friendly, but sometimes slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Disappointed. Dined at this restaurant a few years ago and loved it. This time, it did not measure up. We had to take an early reservation at 6:30 but the restaurant was virtually empty until 8. We were not sat in the main dining room, but what felt like a foyer. When a nearby wedding let out, it was noisy. I chose a prix fix menu with beef dish. The initial appetizer was fantastic. The risotto was bland. The beef dish was a bit odd texture-wise and served with a side of tongue, which I did not expect or enjoy. My husband said his halibut had good flavor but was dry. I was offered a choice of Cabernet from Italy or Washington (odd) - chose Washington and not impressed. The hotel is beautiful. The service was great. But the food simply did not measure up to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Oustanding food, worthy of its Michelin star. Professional service that other restaurants in DC would do well to emulate, especially the newer hipster restaurants. The only downsides were that for some reason we had to ask for the wine steward several times before her came - we were well into our meal before we got wine as a result. They also seated us nearly 1/2 hour after our reservation. If they could fix those flaws, this restaurant would be worth five of my stars and at least 2 Michelin stars.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Not ready for Michelin Time! A nice DC restaurant, but not close to deserving a worldwide Michelin star. Not up to the previous top restaurants in DC -- Citronelle, Lion d'Or, Jean Pierre. Today's Marcel's is superior. Decor is fine, but tables are not well spaced; our table adjoined a waiter stand. The dress code has a low bar -- sneakers and shirt sleeves for a weekend dinner. Service is rushes and disjointed -- "too many cooks spoil the broth." Food is fine, but not what we expect at a Michelin star restaurant. If you lower your expectations, you may be pleased. If you expect a Michelin experience go elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was a lovely setting for a birthday celebration that felt very special. Atmosphere, service and food were all exceptional.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner in a quiet elegant setting. Once again, we had a wonderful meal. The outstanding moment was when David, the new sommelier, responded to our reaction to the wine in a fashion we did not expect. The wine was not "off", just not as good as it should have been, given the age and price of the wine. It was ok but David said we should not settle for ok. He swiftly brought up from the cellar a wine that had been tucked away. This was a fabulous burgundy and far superior to the original one. This is elegant and thoughtful service- another reason that Plume remains one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. Thank you for making the evening reflect the spirit of giving.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We picked an elegant location for our Christmas dinner. The staff was very nice and the food excellent. But, be prepared to pay for the privileges. We don't do this much, but it was worth it for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I'll I can recommend is Beg forgiveness from the culinary gods and return your Michelin Star. I have ruined meals better than this experience. We have eaten several times at Plume before their Star and were suitably impressed but not a Star resturant. We when went this year for a special Christmas dinner, but to our dismay, they must have hired staff off the street to operate both front and back of house. First, we were not seated but pointed at a table. ( not Michelin star) Their signature stool for the ladies purse arrived 5 min after we were pointed to our table. (not a Star). We were presented fresh bread which was under cooked, doughy, and uneatable. Christmas dinner was a prixe fixe menue which was not described to us by the wait staff. Sans intro, my wife started with an endive, trout salad that had smoked salmon not trout. I had the crab bisque. First, it was not poured at the table and the soup was sloshed around the rim of the bowl and had dried their before service. Second, it had broke into a brown oily mess. Third the soup was luke warm and the lump crab was ice cold. (not at Star). My wife ordered the steak, mid rare, which came well beyond medium and was very gristly. Her words " I have had better stakes at Golden Corel". (not a Star) I had the rock fish. This was a new cooking technique. They managed to dry out the fish and yet leave the skin rubbery and limp. It had a large blood line down the filet. Not appealing (not at Star)

The dessert on a plus note was exceptional and very worthy of this establishment's legacy and reputation. (yes, a Star).

Still, we will likely not come back. With the choices of actual Michelin quality restaurant in DC way risk spending $400 for $30 experience

A Chefs perspective

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Plume is a beautiful restaurant and has a very nice atmosphere. I was, however, disappointed with the food and the service. Since it was a holiday, I am sure that the kitchen was staffed with its second tier workers and I did expect that the food would reflex the restaurant at its best.
My son's duck was good but was cold in the middle, which is really inexplicable since it was obviously roasted ahead of time. We also had to ask that our wine be poured when our main course was served--totally unacceptable in a Michelin one star restaurant. I must say that the other courses, especially the foie gras was wonderfully prepared and delicious.
You may ask why the low rating when everything else was good , but one expects excellence from a very high priced restaurant and on Christmas day, Plume was not at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A most wonderful Christmas meal; what a very special occasion. It will be a meal an dan experience we remember for years to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve dinner. It is a beautiful place and I knew we would be choosing from a Pre-selected menu. Service was very slow although all staff were extremely curteous. The food was ok, and my fish entree was not good at all. My daughter ordered from the vegetarian menue, but for the first course they delivered sweetbreads in cream -- it was a while before anyone came back, so we just asked that they bring the following two courses as ordered -- we did not want to hold things up any further by waiting for the correct first course.
The desserts were delicious. We may try Plume again, it is an elegant restaurant. The problem may have been that it was Christmas Eve, however we go out every Christmas Eve and have never had such a disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've dined all over the world. The service and food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A memorable evening. The food was excellent and fun.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have been at Plume several times, and i consider it one of my favorite restaurants in Dc. This was the first time in which we encountered a dish that was simply...not good. The pumpkin and fois gras creme was overly sweet and disjoint. It is also a cold dish, which i did not expect in December. I know "cremes" usually are, but room temperature or lukewarm would have been better. All other dishes (risotto, bison, lobster and chocolate desserts) were excellent. The service, as usual, is outstanding, the wine list rich and with (relatively speaking) good prices, and the advice of the somm always passionate and to the point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing dinner for our special occasion. Plume was just excellent, well deserving of its Michelin star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The service was outstanding, the food was very creative and amazing. The restaurant was small but the tables were not too close to each other. Our party of four was able to talk easily. Many wonderful choices to choose from on the menu. Excellent wine list. I would highly recommend - looking forward to going back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Incredibly noisy -- ruined the whole evening. First waiter - Paul- disappeared for a kong time. Second waiter - Christian - was excellent - the best. So we give 3 stars for service. Food was "OK". Tasting menu has really only one option - meat / fish or vegetarian. Good but too pricey. We had to wait for our table 15 min. They 'comped' us for our displeasure, but still, not up to a Michelin star or a Forbes 5-star. Better fix the acoustics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.