About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

As the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

A night of romance awaits at Plume! Indulge in our Valentine’s Day menu prepared by our Executive Chef Ralf Schlegel.

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (8)
Private Room (8)
Historic (6)
Cozy (6)
Fireplace (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous meal, a great, traditional Amer ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Fabulous meal, a great, traditional American fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking forward to eating at Plu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We were looking forward to eating at Plume again as our past experiences were great.

This time was mediocre. We had the tasting menu with wine. The service was pretty good and the wine was too. The food just wasn't very interesting or special this time. We were both very disappointed and won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

We had a great experience here in every ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great experience here in every aspect, however I got a stomach illness once we got home and was up all night next to the bathroom. It was disappointing that this ruined a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary and had a wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. The staff was phenomenal! They have a pre fixe menu that we chose off of and all the food was so elegant. We even got more then expected between the pre appetizer, pre and post desserts! It was a special night for us and the restaurant made our experience a night to remember.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff and sommelier were outstandin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wait staff and sommelier were outstanding! For a michelin star restaurant, food left much to be desired.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Surprisingly underwhelming. Wait staff w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Surprisingly underwhelming. Wait staff was friendly, but sometimes slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed. Dined at this restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Disappointed. Dined at this restaurant a few years ago and loved it. This time, it did not measure up. We had to take an early reservation at 6:30 but the restaurant was virtually empty until 8. We were not sat in the main dining room, but what felt like a foyer. When a nearby wedding let out, it was noisy. I chose a prix fix menu with beef dish. The initial appetizer was fantastic. The risotto was bland. The beef dish was a bit odd texture-wise and served with a side of tongue, which I did not expect or enjoy. My husband said his halibut had good flavor but was dry. I was offered a choice of Cabernet from Italy or Washington (odd) - chose Washington and not impressed. The hotel is beautiful. The service was great. But the food simply did not measure up to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Oustanding food, worthy of its Michelin ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Oustanding food, worthy of its Michelin star. Professional service that other restaurants in DC would do well to emulate, especially the newer hipster restaurants. The only downsides were that for some reason we had to ask for the wine steward several times before her came - we were well into our meal before we got wine as a result. They also seated us nearly 1/2 hour after our reservation. If they could fix those flaws, this restaurant would be worth five of my stars and at least 2 Michelin stars.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Not ready for Michelin Time! A nice DC r ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Not ready for Michelin Time! A nice DC restaurant, but not close to deserving a worldwide Michelin star. Not up to the previous top restaurants in DC -- Citronelle, Lion d'Or, Jean Pierre. Today's Marcel's is superior. Decor is fine, but tables are not well spaced; our table adjoined a waiter stand. The dress code has a low bar -- sneakers and shirt sleeves for a weekend dinner. Service is rushes and disjointed -- "too many cooks spoil the broth." Food is fine, but not what we expect at a Michelin star restaurant. If you lower your expectations, you may be pleased. If you expect a Michelin experience go elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome. Great experience!

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Awesome. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a lovely setting for a birthday c ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was a lovely setting for a birthday celebration that felt very special. Atmosphere, service and food were all exceptional.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas dinner in a quiet elegant sett ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner in a quiet elegant setting. Once again, we had a wonderful meal. The outstanding moment was when David, the new sommelier, responded to our reaction to the wine in a fashion we did not expect. The wine was not "off", just not as good as it should have been, given the age and price of the wine. It was ok but David said we should not settle for ok. He swiftly brought up from the cellar a wine that had been tucked away. This was a fabulous burgundy and far superior to the original one. This is elegant and thoughtful service- another reason that Plume remains one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. Thank you for making the evening reflect the spirit of giving.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We picked an elegant location for our Ch ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We picked an elegant location for our Christmas dinner. The staff was very nice and the food excellent. But, be prepared to pay for the privileges. We don't do this much, but it was worth it for the occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I'll I can recommend is Beg forgiveness ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I'll I can recommend is Beg forgiveness from the culinary gods and return your Michelin Star. I have ruined meals better than this experience. We have eaten several times at Plume before their Star and were suitably impressed but not a Star resturant. We when went this year for a special Christmas dinner, but to our dismay, they must have hired staff off the street to operate both front and back of house. First, we were not seated but pointed at a table. ( not Michelin star) Their signature stool for the ladies purse arrived 5 min after we were pointed to our table. (not a Star). We were presented fresh bread which was under cooked, doughy, and uneatable. Christmas dinner was a prixe fixe menue which was not described to us by the wait staff. Sans intro, my wife started with an endive, trout salad that had smoked salmon not trout. I had the crab bisque. First, it was not poured at the table and the soup was sloshed around the rim of the bowl and had dried their before service. Second, it had broke into a brown oily mess. Third the soup was luke warm and the lump crab was ice cold. (not at Star). My wife ordered the steak, mid rare, which came well beyond medium and was very gristly. Her words " I have had better stakes at Golden Corel". (not a Star) I had the rock fish. This was a new cooking technique. They managed to dry out the fish and yet leave the skin rubbery and limp. It had a large blood line down the filet. Not appealing (not at Star)

The dessert on a plus note was exceptional and very worthy of this establishment's legacy and reputation. (yes, a Star).

Still, we will likely not come back. With the choices of actual Michelin quality restaurant in DC way risk spending $400 for $30 experience

A Chefs perspective

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Plume is a beautiful restaurant and has ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Plume is a beautiful restaurant and has a very nice atmosphere. I was, however, disappointed with the food and the service. Since it was a holiday, I am sure that the kitchen was staffed with its second tier workers and I did expect that the food would reflex the restaurant at its best.

My son's duck was good but was cold in the middle, which is really inexplicable since it was obviously roasted ahead of time. We also had to ask that our wine be poured when our main course was served--totally unacceptable in a Michelin one star restaurant. I must say that the other courses, especially the foie gras was wonderfully prepared and delicious.

You may ask why the low rating when everything else was good , but one expects excellence from a very high priced restaurant and on Christmas day, Plume was not at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A most wonderful Christmas meal; what a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

A most wonderful Christmas meal; what a very special occasion. It will be a meal an dan experience we remember for years to come.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Christmas Eve dinner. It is ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve dinner. It is a beautiful place and I knew we would be choosing from a Pre-selected menu. Service was very slow although all staff were extremely curteous. The food was ok, and my fish entree was not good at all. My daughter ordered from the vegetarian menue, but for the first course they delivered sweetbreads in cream -- it was a while before anyone came back, so we just asked that they bring the following two courses as ordered -- we did not want to hold things up any further by waiting for the correct first course.

The desserts were delicious. We may try Plume again, it is an elegant restaurant. The problem may have been that it was Christmas Eve, however we go out every Christmas Eve and have never had such a disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

We've dined all over the world. The ser ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We've dined all over the world. The service and food was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A memorable evening. The food was excell ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A memorable evening. The food was excellent and fun.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been at Plume several times, and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have been at Plume several times, and i consider it one of my favorite restaurants in Dc. This was the first time in which we encountered a dish that was simply...not good. The pumpkin and fois gras creme was overly sweet and disjoint. It is also a cold dish, which i did not expect in December. I know "cremes" usually are, but room temperature or lukewarm would have been better. All other dishes (risotto, bison, lobster and chocolate desserts) were excellent. The service, as usual, is outstanding, the wine list rich and with (relatively speaking) good prices, and the advice of the somm always passionate and to the point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner for our special occasion. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Amazing dinner for our special occasion. Plume was just excellent, well deserving of its Michelin star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding, the food wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The service was outstanding, the food was very creative and amazing. The restaurant was small but the tables were not too close to each other. Our party of four was able to talk easily. Many wonderful choices to choose from on the menu. Excellent wine list. I would highly recommend - looking forward to going back again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly noisy -- ruined the whole eve ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Incredibly noisy -- ruined the whole evening. First waiter - Paul- disappeared for a kong time. Second waiter - Christian - was excellent - the best. So we give 3 stars for service. Food was "OK". Tasting menu has really only one option - meat / fish or vegetarian. Good but too pricey. We had to wait for our table 15 min. They 'comped' us for our displeasure, but still, not up to a Michelin star or a Forbes 5-star. Better fix the acoustics.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

We were looking forward to our dinner bu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We were looking forward to our dinner but it was unfortunately one of the most disappointing meals we have had in a long time. The restaurant is very loud. All the courses were either bland with little to no taste or simply not enjoyable at all bordering on barely edible - some of the plates we simply could not finish. Service was mediocre at best. We done at nice places around the world and will certainly never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Very disappointing evening. We have eat ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Very disappointing evening. We have eaten at Plume before and enjoyed it. Having just received a Michelin star, we were really looking forward to our returning to this elegant restaurant. We had the tasting menu that was, with almost every course, surprisingly tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was excellent. Plated gorgeously, t ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Plated gorgeously, tasted great. Loved the creativity. Meal was spaced out perfectly, wine paired well with food. Chef was super nice and waiter extremely knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A three course meal that's actually six. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

A three course meal that's actually six. Be adventurous go and take the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Inconsistent food. Duck was tough and un ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Inconsistent food. Duck was tough and undercooked. Slow service. Served wine in wrong glass. We left before finishing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

The service was spotty. The mousse paté ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The service was spotty. The mousse paté was strewn with bits of decoration like a raw mushroom slice, shreds of "spiced " bread that did nothing to enhance the taste, but cluttered the plate. The main course was served barely warm. As for the dessert, just one thing piled atop the other. All this for an exorbitant price. I don't know what Michelin was thinking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

A fantastic dining experience. Superb fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

A fantastic dining experience. Superb food and my waiter Christian was the most professional waiter I have had in years. Put this on your list before everyone else finds out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was welcoming and attentive. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The staff was welcoming and attentive. The meal was delicious and well-presented. Our little private alcove was perfect for celebrating my husband's birthday. All in all, a fabulous evening! We look forward to our next experience at Plume!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing it was my 21rs Wedding a ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It was amazing it was my 21rs Wedding anniversary

My table was waiting with a dream romantic scenery.

God bless all the staff and merry x mas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was impeccable to say the least. Unp ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It was impeccable to say the least.

Unparallel and incomparable to anything we saw in the US and Europe. This place is magic in terms of service, food and attitude to patrons.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, , Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was underwhelming. Felt like I w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was underwhelming. Felt like I was interrupting the waiters rather than being served as a guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We selected Plume to celebrate Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We selected Plume to celebrate Thanksgiving for our small family group of four. The setting is so elegant, and the service most attentive. We were pleased with the food and felt that it was a special place to share the holiday for our small group. The waiter was a bit stressed by the demands of the day but other details delighted: a locally sourced ribeye steak, tender turkey that I would guess was prepared sous vide. The vegetarian artichoke option was a bit unfocused but the desserts were spectacular and wrapped up our meal with a flurry of sharing and enjoyment.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We were married at the Hotel Jefferson i ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were married at the Hotel Jefferson in 1996. We went back last night for our 20th anniversary and it was spectacular. The service was impeccable and the food was perfect. Plating was beautiful. They gave us a lovely curtained booth for the occasion, which is a wonderful setting for an anniversary, proposal or other romantic occasion. Everything was perfect. We opted for the prix fixe rather than the tasting menu because I wanted to have duck, and it was superb. If you go soon, have the Amish Fairytale for an appetizer. It's a pumpkin shaving dish with foie gras. My husband had bison, which was great and even I liked it, and I don't usually care for bison. The wine list is extensive and there is something for everyone. The setting is hushed and romantic. This was our first time at Plume and I can see why it earned a Michelin star.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is superb and fantastic food. B ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Service is superb and fantastic food. Beautifully decorated restaurant and very romantic place to have dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Plume was elegant and quiet, two at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Plume was elegant and quiet, two attributes not easily found in restaurants lately. The food and service were superb. Many dishes were a surprise in their lovely presentation. My favorite was the Everything Chocolate for dessert and the spectacular Diver Scallops.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very salty and we were told men ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Food was very salty and we were told men needed to wear jackets yet the table near us, none of the men were wearing jackets. They had on sweats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Awesome wines, great food, great sommeli ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Awesome wines, great food, great sommelier, great service, great courses...We loved the atmosphere, the wonderful wine pairing with each course, and beautiful room...Thank you for an elegant meal. We loved it. We hope to see you again, soon.

Regards,

Bruce

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.