About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

As the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (26)
Quiet Conversation (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fireplace (7)
Historic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Private Room (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1011 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

Love the place. Deserves their Michelin star which I can't say for a lot of other places. Their little nooks are nice, makes for a she,I private dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The dessert was excellent as was the service ( a bit slow) but the rest of the food was OK- not great. You feel like you are sitting in a converted lobby not a warm cosy restaurant. The people were very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Both our server fakhre - freedi and wine director fabulous. And the Jefferson birthday dinner sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ear in the best restaurants around the world. Sadly this was not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Pricey but definitely worth the cost. And quiet as promised. Excellent service and lots of additions to the prix fixe menu such as amuse bouche. Go!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We enjoyed our especially the presentation of the different culinary courses

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was incredibly good and so was the presentation. The staff and the atmosphere are comforting and pleasant. You will make an awesome impression on anyone that you take here.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful birthday dinner. Sophisticated setting and precise service by a very professional (and friendly) staff. Our food was visually exciting and well prepared with an interesting variety of ingredients used in unusual and delicious ways. Tasty amuse bouche and inter-course treats, plus a chocolate good-bye gift and complimentary valet parking. Altogether a memorable experience of the nicest kind. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Washington is getting some very good restaurants and there are a few I consider top tier. So far, this is my favorite. The atmosphere is elegant. The service was what fine dining should be. And of course the food, it was excellent: creative and flavorful. I can only do three courses every so often and will likely spend most of my time at places where the amount I have to eat is more modest. But the portions were not overwhelming and each was superb. If you love fine dining in an elegant atmosphere, the Plume is a must.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful special dining experience! The staff was excellent and very gracious.

Tags: Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Unbelievable experience! Everything was on point and the food was so beautiful and really delicious! Definitely one of my new favorites!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was an experience. It's in a hotel we almost drove past. The place would have been easy to overlook from the outside, but the ambiance and décor of the restaurant was unforgettable. It felt like something out of a fantasy book. I half expected nature fairies to show. The service was amazing. Every few steps it felt like there was someone waiting on us to open a door or take care of one of our needs. We had the tasting menu. While I enjoyed the food, I found the wine pairing the best part. I particularly enjoyed the dessert. Possibly the best tasting Panna Cotta I've had. A word of warning is that this is an expensive spot, and while I think it was worth it, it's not something I would think I can frequent. The only downside, I think, is that most of the dishes we had was geared more towards presentation art. If it wasn't so beautifully presented, I'm not sure I'd enjoy it as much. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. Wonderful little escape from dullness for a few hours. But I think I should have saved it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I am definitely not a wine drinker, so this was something that I was a bit nervous about. My wife is a wine drinker and it was her birthday and a tasting menu with wine pairing has been something we've discussed doing. I am extremely glad we did.

The food was tremendous, the wine was even better, the service was impeccable, the atmosphere was beautiful and enjoyable. We are not houghty toughty type of people and we did not feel out of place.

We enjoyed our experience immensely and will be talking about it for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I visited Plume on a quest to dine at all of DC's new Michelin-starred restaurants this year. Plume certainly deserves this recognition and ought to be on anyone's best restaurants in DC list. In fact, it is a "bargain" among the pre fixe group. The service was attentive but not intrusive. My waiter had to consult a cheat sheet from his pocket to describe some of the dishes, otherwise service was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Every so often, an old college buddy comes into town, and we enjoy going out for a splurge at a fine-dining restaurant. La Plume was our choice for the evening. In all we had a good experience. The restaurant is full of old world elegance--silver and white decor with crystal chandeliers and sconces. There is a sense of intimacy with many quiet nooks and crannies. We were seated at a spacious table with a fireplace nearby. The service was attentive and friendly. We had the chef's tasting menu with premium wine pairings. The food was adequate. The plates were attractively presented with many interesting ingredients. However, I felt the dishes were underseasoned and uninspiring. The Dover sole was luke-warm at best. Nothing was terrible, nor were there any real "winners." What saved the evening for me were the wine-pairings. The selections were diverse and interesting. The sommelier was very knowledgeable, and we enjoyed discussing the wines with him. So, all in all, it was a good experience; but not a great one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

A must for special occasions! Everything was superb! This is my new favorite restaurant in DC!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

First up - service is excellent. Non-intrusive, quick, and we even got a little box of chocolates to go at the door. Some of the dishes were pretty inventive such as the blue crab tea (fascinating). Otherwise, you will a typical take of the duck, and lobster, both of which were tasty, but similar to other restaurants of its calibre. The dessert was very rich and delicious. All in all a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food in an intimate atmosphere that's elegant yet comfortable. Service is absolutely top-notch. Portions can be on the large side, especially appetizers and desserts on the prix-fixe menu. The "beet puzzle" is very pretty but really just a whole lot of beets without much else going on. The poached pear dessert was just massive and had too many different things going on. But it was still a very enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding service and fabulous cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 15, 2017

One of my top 10 Fine Dining Restaurants in the world

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The Plume Restaurant at the Jefferson Hotel was a remarkable experience for me and my wife, as we celebrated our 11th anniversary. I wanted an exceptional dining experience to mark the occasion and the Plume provided it and more from entry to exit.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wonderful place to gather with friends. Great ambiance. Great food. Love there is a special place to put my purse :-) (you get a stool just for your purse). Madeira Wine flights are over the top and AMAZING!!!!!!! Bucket List for sure!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. I had the foie gras and venison - two items you don't find at most restaurants so it was a lovely treat. There were several complimentary items between our courses and we were sent home with a box of chocolates. I appreciated the little stool for our purses - nice touch.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Plume is an overall fantastic exeperience--great food, ambiance and service! Every food item tasted like love and happiness and the "bomb" dessert was The Bomb! My next dinner is already planned.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Really good meal, crab tea was unique, beeswax salmon more interesting in preparation than taste. Bison strip was amazing. Very attentive staff, beautiful space. Kinda quiet for a Saturday night--but fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dining at Plume is a wonderful experience, the service and food are exceptional from the moment of arrival until you are sent home with chocolates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It's not cheap, but the dining experience is fantastic and worth every penny!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Ordered the fixed price menu. Extremely strong dessert - was the favorite part for everyone in our party who ordered different dishes. Service was attentive but didn't seem enthusiastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 17, 2017

the service and the restaurant were very good, about the food the appetizers were good and well done specially the risotto , main plates were not that good we had the lobster dish and the lobster was not fresh it had been frozen so that killed the plate flavor, the bison was ok not very flavorful. Again the service and the locale were very nice so it made up for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Plume is receiving one star merely because TripAdvisor requires that you give at least that in order to leave a review. I have never been so utterly disappointed with a meal in my entire life.

We made a reservation with Plume for Valentine's day despite reading some spotty reviews because it received a Michelin star. This was my first dining experience with a Michelin-awarded restaurant, and as a result I have lost all faith in the Michelin guide as a trustworthy source of fine dining recommendations.
The meal started with 3 courses of seafood: oysters, lobster, and trout. The oysters and lobster both tasted as though they had been marinated in Potomac river water - mostly flavorless, except for a hint of dirty salt water. The Trout was admittedly cooked well, but was terribly bland save for a coating of salt that was overpowering and ruined one of the few things the chef almost prepared well.
The main course of the meal was a choice of Lamb or Veal. My date and I each ordered one, wanting to try all the restaurant had to offer. Once again, we were served two bland, flavorless pieces of meat that did not seem to align with the garnishes around them. It is completely lost on me what the chef was going for with this meal.

The desserts were completely forgettable and the epitome of mediocrity, with no more creativity or ingenuity than that of a 7-11 parfait.
As I left the restaurant, I felt mostly embarrassed that I had taken my date there and nothing short of robbed after signing the check. Had the menu not been prix-fixe, we would have left after the second course, having only made it that far on the faith that there is no way the rest of the meal could have possibly been as bad as the first.

I'm not exaggerating when I say that you could have a more legitimate "fine-dining" experience at an Outback Steakhouse, and I have had better tasting food in the buffet line of a Carnival Cruiseship (which was before this meal what I considered the lowest of the low).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Plume. I was hesitant to splurge on their premium wine pairing but was very pleased that I did. The wine was a standout of this experience. The food was all prepared perfectly and the creativity was present but mild. The portions were perfect leaving us satisfied but not over-filled. The service was top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great experience. Excellent food&Service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

A truly memorable dining establishment inside an impressive hotel. The ambiance is absolutely perfect, the menu well-crafted, the service impeccable and friendly. Not to mention an exhaustive wine list reflective of Thomas Jefferson's passion for fine wine. This is an ideal place for special occasions and particularly for those who like a classy atmosphere with low noise level where everyone can hear one another easily and feel totally private.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fabulous meal, a great, traditional American fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were looking forward to eating at Plume again as our past experiences were great.
This time was mediocre. We had the tasting menu with wine. The service was pretty good and the wine was too. The food just wasn't very interesting or special this time. We were both very disappointed and won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a great experience here in every aspect, however I got a stomach illness once we got home and was up all night next to the bathroom. It was disappointing that this ruined a great dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went for our anniversary and had a wonderful experience. The staff was phenomenal! They have a pre fixe menu that we chose off of and all the food was so elegant. We even got more then expected between the pre appetizer, pre and post desserts! It was a special night for us and the restaurant made our experience a night to remember.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Wait staff and sommelier were outstanding! For a michelin star restaurant, food left much to be desired.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Surprisingly underwhelming. Wait staff was friendly, but sometimes slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Disappointed. Dined at this restaurant a few years ago and loved it. This time, it did not measure up. We had to take an early reservation at 6:30 but the restaurant was virtually empty until 8. We were not sat in the main dining room, but what felt like a foyer. When a nearby wedding let out, it was noisy. I chose a prix fix menu with beef dish. The initial appetizer was fantastic. The risotto was bland. The beef dish was a bit odd texture-wise and served with a side of tongue, which I did not expect or enjoy. My husband said his halibut had good flavor but was dry. I was offered a choice of Cabernet from Italy or Washington (odd) - chose Washington and not impressed. The hotel is beautiful. The service was great. But the food simply did not measure up to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.