About Plume at the Jefferson Hotel

Michelin starred & the only Forbes five star rated restaurant in Washington, DC, Plume at The Jefferson hotel serves as a discreet and elegant backdrop to the artistry of our award-winning culinary team. Plume's wine list consists of over 1,300 labels, including the country's largest Madeira collection dating back to 1850.

Choose a cozy nook or a table by our inviting fireplace as you savor classic dishes crafted using traditional techniques and seasonal fine dining restaurant menus that are inspired by the harvest from Thomas Jefferson's kitchen gardens at Monticello.


1200 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
M Street NW

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 448-2300

Website:
http://www.plumedc.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet for all Plume guests

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

From an intimate gathering in the Private Cellar to a small gala in the Gallatin Room, The Jefferson, Washington, DC is home to some of the most unique private dining spaces in the city. The talents of our Forbes Five Star culinary team are complimented by a service culture unlike any in the city.

Plume at the Jefferson Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Quiet Conversation (17)
Tasting Menu (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Historic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Organic (0)
Sort By:
S
1043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

AMAZING. Attention to detail is impeccable. One of a kind experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

The experience was wonderful. The staff went out of their way to make the night special. Salmon lamb and dessert were standouts. Couldn't have asked for better service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Comical service for restaurant charging this much

On the food - bread was microwaved, gougeres served were cold, all the dishes were bland and tasteless except the beef and the dessert

Wine list is massively marked up and wine staff do not really know the list - Avoid, especially given the cost

Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Very amazing location with fine food and fine service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at Plume and they made it such a memorable night. From the personalized menu and desserts and the great service by Christian.y husband is allergic to mushrooms and seafood, two very hard allergies to accommodate but they made it worked and everything tasted delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

My husband and I both thought we were on one of those TV shows were people get pranked. The food and service did not match a typical Michelin star restaurant. Service took two and a half hours and the bread and dessert were the only highlights. I chose an oxtail soup as my appetizer which cooked at the table. However, the flame kept going out and the server couldn't tell when it was finished. He just asked if I thought it was done. It was gross. When were initially greeted the different tasting menus were not explained to us. The somm did not come by to help with our wine selection. My husband is a vegetarian and wasn't able to find many options on the menu. My salmon was cooked in beeswax. It was underwhelming at best. No sides came with it. This was definitely the worst Michelin star restaurant we have been to and we regret not reading the other reviews that mimic our experience before going. Go to the Dabney or Roses Luxury. Both are cheaper, better food, and service. We ended the night at the Quill which lovely and has a great pianist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Our first visit there. We met a British friend who said it was the best meal he had ever had!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tulsa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We went to Plume to celebrate a special event together as a family. It was one of the most exceptional meals that I have ever experienced. The service was wonderful and the fresh flower arrangements were stunning. The cuisine itself was creative, exquisitely presented and perfectly portioned. For anyone who'd like to eat an excellent meal that transcends the traditional, Plume is for you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food and the service were excellent; the menu wording more than a little strange.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service is amazing, food is interesting, but not exceptional. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We went to plume for a special occasion. Our expectations were high as the restaurant was Michellin rated. The service and the ambiance was excellent. We did an 8 course tasting menu for dinner. Only two courses were sensational everything else was just ok. The presentation for the food was better than the actual taste. We did order oysters as well, which were suboptimal. The oysters looked like they were open way ahead of time and we're really dry. Would expect better oysters for a place of that caliber.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food, wonderful service, and a great environment. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Delicious, interesting food; Great service; Nice room in an interesting historic building. Skilled bartender and thoughtful wine list..... all ingredients for a special evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is still one of the most stellar restaurants in Washington DC; maybe even the East Cost of the U.S ! An incredible atmosphere, server staff and food prepared to delight the pallet. A must for those looking for the ultimate romantic dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is a fine-dining experience at it's best. We were welcomed, taken care of, and spoiled by the staff. The food was incredible, a wonder of creativity to put together so many different ingredients that work so well together!! We loved it!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A wonderful place to celebrate major life events. The food was great; the service flawless; and the ambiance is great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Thoroughly pampered from the warm and gracious greeting of the exterior doorman to the smiling welcome from the interior doorman to the hospitable greeting of the host (Edgar) to the patient and informative descriptions of the menu items from the table captain (Paul) to the waiter who was always meeting our needs to the excellent foods that ranged from vegetarian to seafood to hearty meat dishes and the most excellent everything chocolate dessert. Go. Be pampered and have the meal of a lifetime.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Very good service and food!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This meal was exquisite, the service impeccable and the atmosphere lovely. Will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Just awesome, they spoil you to death from the moment you enter to the very moment you walk out the door!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Tasting menu was an absolute gastronomic experience, compliments to the chef! The staff were attentive to our needs, and well versed with the menu options. Good ambiance for an intimate dining experience or special occasions. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We did the premium wine pairings menu. Everything was amazing, except we felt that the food and wines came out too quickly to be thoroughly enjoyed. But overall it is highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous foood and very attentive staff. Only a small crib. Since I am diabetic they offered me a choice of cheese or fruit for dessert on the tasting menu. When the bill came I saw they had charged me $15 extra for the cheese. Of course no one had mentioned it would be extra. For a restaurant of this quality it was unexpected. I didn't make a scene as we were celebrating someone's special birthday. But, I am writing this review so that people know what to expect.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

It was my wife's birthday. Food (we took tasting menu) was outstanding. We were afraid of overeating, but the portions were just right. The wine selection was great, but, because of different dishes we tried, several types of wine were served, so in the end we could not appreciate the wine taste. Next time I will take a single wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I celebrated a very special occasion at Plume on a Saturday night. Even though the place was busy, the attention was excellent. They accommodated a few special requests that I had and went above and beyond expectations. The food was unique and delicious, and the wine recommendation from the sommelier was superb. All those stars mean something at Plume.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant is very small so seating choices are limited. The layout is strange so tables for 2 are in strange areas in cramped corners or by the kitchen and bathroom entrances. Not a comfortable room particularly with the 2 large columns dominating the room. Food is very good but lacked flavor and was barely warm. Not good value for the price. Many better places to go like Marcel's, Mirabelle, Fiola Mare, etc. Front of house staff at check in is very snooty. we arrived 6 minutes early and were told that we needed to wait to be closer to our reservation time then we were seated at a table outside the main dining room which was ready when we arrived, but we refused for a better table. Ultimately we were given a table in a cramped corner of the main dining room. I was better than the first but still not great and felt like we were in a closet. In addition the couch seating by the table was too low. Our Reservation was made months in advance for 30th anniversary which we alerted them about, so you think they could have reserved the 1 decent located tabled for 2 but no. I'm an open table VIP and we were dressed better than anyone in the restaurant but not treated properly. Our waiter was very good but the rest of the issues (seating, value, etc.) will have us not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Beautiful quiet room. Attentive service. Great sommelier explained all the wine pairings. Food was wonderful. Wait staff had odd habit of bringing next course's wine glasses while we were still enjoying the previous course, a little distracting...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Really? A Michelin Star? No way this restaurant deserves that. It was wonderful that they honored our reservation even though we were 30 minutes late (it took 50 minutes to get one mile in traffic) and the little box of chocolates on the way out was lovely, but everything in between was mediocre. The waiter though pleasant was extremely difficult to understand - he chose not to enunciate and slurred over much of what he said, as if we should already know what he meant to say. The service overall was slow. Half the time, the plate arrived and no one reviewed what was on it. The sommelier sold us a bottle of wine, poured it and then never showed up again, we had to flag him down to get a second glass of white wine for one of our diners. The food was decent, but nothing to excite the palate. I had the lobster gratin which consisted of a lobster split in two, the meat in the shell, and properly prepared. The gratin was a watery tasteless afterthought. The vegetables were show only. Since none of us will be returning, I won't go into detail on all the dishes as that is too time consuming, but every dish had faults that were not in keeping with a 1-star Michelin restaurant. My husband felt his lamb was very good; that's the best I can say. We split the bill, and the other guests were appalled that we still left a 20% tip. Habit I guess. Not going back and not recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Elegant Dining

From start to finish a memorable experience. The service was excellent, the menu interesting, the food exceptional tasty and the ambiance relaxing.

Especially recommended for the happy special occasions of life.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a pleasant surprise. Great value and amazing food. Well done Chef and Staff
Great Service

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

An exceptional dining experience for special occasions. The menu offered so many delightful choices, the presentation of the food was like an art show. The service was perfect. Especially delicious was the cheese plate, available on request.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love the place. Deserves their Michelin star which I can't say for a lot of other places. Their little nooks are nice, makes for a she,I private dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

The dessert was excellent as was the service ( a bit slow) but the rest of the food was OK- not great. You feel like you are sitting in a converted lobby not a warm cosy restaurant. The people were very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Both our server fakhre - freedi and wine director fabulous. And the Jefferson birthday dinner sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We ear in the best restaurants around the world. Sadly this was not one of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Pricey but definitely worth the cost. And quiet as promised. Excellent service and lots of additions to the prix fixe menu such as amuse bouche. Go!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We enjoyed our especially the presentation of the different culinary courses

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was incredibly good and so was the presentation. The staff and the atmosphere are comforting and pleasant. You will make an awesome impression on anyone that you take here.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful birthday dinner. Sophisticated setting and precise service by a very professional (and friendly) staff. Our food was visually exciting and well prepared with an interesting variety of ingredients used in unusual and delicious ways. Tasty amuse bouche and inter-course treats, plus a chocolate good-bye gift and complimentary valet parking. Altogether a memorable experience of the nicest kind. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.