Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

BrineBrine
(429)
$$$$
Seafood | Newburyport, Boston Suburbs
Booked 15 times today
Seaglass Restaurant and LoungeSeaglass Restaurant and Lounge
(1488)
$$$$
American | Salisbury, Boston Suburbs
Booked 20 times today
Black Cow Tap and GrillBlack Cow Tap and Grill
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
American | Newburyport, Boston Suburbs
Ceia Kitchen and BarCeia Kitchen and Bar
(673)
$$$$
European | Newburyport, Boston Suburbs
Booked 19 times today
Capri Seaside Italian GrilleCapri Seaside Italian Grille
(299)
$$$$
Italian | Salisbury, Boston Suburbs
Booked 7 times today
Ithaki Modern MediterraneanIthaki Modern Mediterranean
(623)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Ipswich, Boston Suburbs
Booked 8 times today
CR's The RestaurantCR's The Restaurant
(285)
$$$$
American | Hampton, New Hampshire
Booked 16 times today
Hagan's GrillHagan's Grill
(83)
$$$$
American | Hampton, New Hampshire
Booked 2 times today
CK PearlCK Pearl
(141)
$$$$
American | Cape Ann, Boston Suburbs
Booked 14 times today
Breakers at Ashworth by the SeaBreakers at Ashworth by the Sea
(47)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Hampton, New Hampshire
Booked 1 time today
Savory Square BistroSavory Square Bistro
(270)
$$$$
Contemporary French | Hampton, New Hampshire
Booked 3 times today
Blue Moon EvolutionBlue Moon Evolution
(88)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Exeter, New Hampshire
Booked 12 times today
TonnoTonno
(186)
$$$$
Italian | Cape Ann, Boston Suburbs
Booked 10 times today
Otis RestaurantOtis Restaurant
(13)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Exeter, New Hampshire
Booked 4 times today
Azorean Restaurant and BarAzorean Restaurant and Bar
(60)
$$$$
Portuguese | Cape Ann, Boston Suburbs
Booked 7 times today

About Plum Island Grille

2 Plum Island Blvd
Newburyport, MA 01951
View Larger Map

2014 WINNER of Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence.
Featured in the -Boston Globe, WCVB TV’s Chronicle, Billy Costa’s TV Diner, North Shore, Portsmouth & Accent Magazines - and awarded YANKEE Magazine's prestigious Editors’ Choice honor, the Plum Island Grille’s eclectic bistro style menu exemplifies New American Cuisine at its finest. And reflects co-owner Chef Francis’ passion for uncomplicated, fresh, local ingredients.

Minutes from downtown Newburyport and overlooking a two mile vista of salt marshlands, the Sunset Bar offers sensational sunset views and-while there are plenty of meat dishes on the menu

Housed in what was originally a beach cottage at the gateway to Plum Island-a tiny barrier island off the northern coast of MA-the restaurant is charmingly rustic and has a laid-back island feel where guests can enjoy year-round fine bistro dining and service, only 35 minutes north of Boston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Fusion / Eclectic, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Saturday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 12:00pm - 4:00pm; Dinner: Wednesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunset blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(978) 463-2290

Website:
http://www.plumislandgrille.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Every Thursday from November to February; Sunday Jazz Brunch every Sunday 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Catering:
Offering our passion for excellence for
your private event needs. Plum Island Grille proudly offer full service"s catering through our catering division, Plum Island Catering. We can host your special occasion in our restaurant, on our spectacular Sunset Deck on Plum Island, in your home, or at a venue of your choice. We cater for all special occasions: weddings, private dinner parties, bridal showers, business meetings, rehearsal dinners, client appreciation dinners, anniversary and birthday dinners and company holiday parties.

Parking Details:
On site parking and street parking

Executive Chef:
Francis Broadbery

Private Party Facilities:
Offering our passion for excellence for
your private event needs. Plum Island Grille proudly offer full service catering through our catering division, Plum Island Catering Catering. We can host your special occasion in our restaurant, on our spectacular Sunset Deck on Plum Island, in your home, or at a venue of your choice.

Private Party Contact:
Francis Broadbery: 9784632290x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointing

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I've eaten here several times. The last few times it's been getting worse and worse. I think they have staffing issues. The food and service have both been getting progressively worse. Such a pity. Used to be great, lovely location. Won't go back again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fill up before you go!

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Drink selection was lacking and martinis terrible. Appetizer (crab cakes) were TINY, was splitting with spouse. Main entree was decent, but also on the small side (Scallops). Dessert was OK, not great. Table was TINY, my plate hung over when my spouse's entree arrived. Felt like I was on top of the large group behind us. Wait staff was very attentive, but left feeling hungry and that we paid quite a bit for a subpar meal. Would not return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

portions were small, service was below a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2016

portions were small, service was below average, interior is dated and the seafood chowder tasted like water.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a wonderful meal at the Plum Isla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the Plum Island Grill. Excellent food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, great service. always a go ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2016

great food, great service. always a good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Just a really nice casual dining experie ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Just a really nice casual dining experience. It's on my list of places to go back to.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat at Plum Island Grill. W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Always a treat at Plum Island Grill.

We were lucky to have hit it on a quiet night.

It can get busy and hectic.

Best mussles anywhere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, service, and setting

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here in the evening of Mothers Day. It was a perfect mix of a high-quality meal for my wife and me, and a casual enough setting for the kids. We had eaten in the main dining area once before. This time we were in the bar area which was much more lively (playing Jackson Five and other classic R&B music most of the night) with a nice view of the marsh. The food was as good as anything I have had in Newburyport. I had ginger-lime ribs and my wife had swordfish, both great. Dessert was also excellent - we rarely order it but it looked too good to pass up.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Used to really like this place, but this ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Used to really like this place, but this recent visit the food was mediocre at best and service was exceptionally slow. Never had crab cakes with one cold and one warm or seafood chowder without any seafood and lukewarm temps. Disappointing meal and won't rush back like in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great fun! Big energy. The sunset is fa ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great fun! Big energy. The sunset is fantastic from the bar

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great sea food. Reasonable prices. Great service.

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great sea food. Reasonable prices. Great service. Draft beer and wine selection nice. Good apps as well. On Plum Island so an after dinner walk is fun.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I asked for window for my birthday. You ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2016

I asked for window for my birthday. You only turn 65 once. They stuck us in the back. Missed sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

over-rated

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very expensive for the quality and aesthetics of the meal presentation, ambiance and taste. The Scallop and Crab Stuffed Haddock for $29 had almost no fish - just flakes.... 3 scallops .... poorly presented. The oysters were small, no-name and ordinary for $3/piece. The ambiance is a beach shack converted into a small beach restaurant, with a vibrant outdoor bar scene. Great hangout outside enjoying the views and marsh.... disappointing experience culinary wise.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

P.I.G Disappointment!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Ate in the main dining room near the bar. the room was very loud. not because of the bar, but the acoustics in the room. I had the stuffed haddock that was supposed to have scallops in it. It was so dark neither my son or I could see what was in it. We ended up with lots of mashed potatoes underneath it. My wife's swordfish was dry. Quite disappointing service also. We got a basket of bread that had 1 1/2 rolls in it!! it was clearly someone else's already used basket of bread! Many other choices in Newburport will be chosen first next time!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Attention in service to the customer was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Attention in service to the customer was exceptional. Food was very good and the ambiance is always pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very mediocre for the price

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Food was ok, definitely a beach 'scene' and great local for an outdoor drink with a sunset.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Not impressed

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Appears to be local watering hole more than a restaurant. No handicap parking. Waitress very cold

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

I had made a reservation two days before ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2016

I had made a reservation two days before the meal, and the reservation was confirmed. Upon arrival at PI Grill, we were told that they had been overly generous with their walk-ins, and we could not have our table. We were told it would be a 45 minute wait. We agreed to sit at the bar.

The sun was in my eyes, but I just decided to grow up and make do. We ordered salad. Two of our entree choices (and it is a limited menu) were not in stock (it was only 6:30.........).

Have always loved PI Grill, and I will return, but it was just a disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food, too expensive

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2016

I got the risotto which was pretty delicious but it was pretty pricy for such a small portion. Good ambiance though and fun spot.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Out of the Way Spot

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Good food and great Vibe. A little noisey at brunch, but I've been there on weekend evening's and it's not bad. Parking is a little tough. Definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to PI Grill many times, but never for brunch. It was really a mixed bag. My omelette was a smoked salmon omelette and there was some salmon in in- but not traditional smoked salmon. The eggs were thick and rubbery and arrived cold. They took the dish and reheated it, and did not charge for it. My daughters waffles were also barely warm- but that was fine with her. My son's burger was great and my husband enjoyed his mussels. Drinks were great, and the service was excellent. I think maybe sticking to lunch / dinner dishes is the way to go!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Magical place

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 24, 2016

The PIG is a magical place, the North of Boston Cheers-like bar, where nearly everyone knows your name--or soon will. In season arrive early to get a bar seat, have sunglasses handy and stay to see a fabulous sunset. Off season go for the half price appetizers. The James Bond martinis are not to be missed. Follow up with the Plum Island clams, or one of the fish specials.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spring Arrives on Plum Island

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Our second visit, very pleasant. Beautiful view of the marsh, service and food were both excellent. Tempura shrimp and lemon martini fit the bill! Relaxing atmosphere,--perfect day to herald the 'almost' arrival of spring....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was pretty good, service was terrib ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was pretty good, service was terrible. Jazz brunch it was not as it seemed the musician(s) did not show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great atmosphere - expensive menu

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2016

Food was good and atmosphere was great. VERY expensive. More than I would normally spend on chicken and haddock. Certainly not a 5-star meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

It was a little chilly! But it was the c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was a little chilly! But it was the coldest day of the year so I understand. The food was great! Service was really nice-- seating was definitely tight but it was cozy and a great experience for Valentine's Day.

We loved our first time there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Plum Island Grill

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was excellent as always. From the owner greeting us, our favorite waitress and great food and drinks. You can't ask for more. We love it there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good choice for a special evening.

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service and very good (though not as hot hot as it should be) food, The Grille always delivers a delightful and memorable dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Vday

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was awesome. They were have trouble with the heat. It was below zero, and the heating system was not working, and we were freezing throughout the meal. I would not go back in the Winter, but look forward to going back in the Summer and maybe dining outside, and enjoy the view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Chilly

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was excellent, but it was too cold in there. We had to wear our coats while eating

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointed

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Thai seafood stew had undesirable shimp and too many carrots. The seafood chowder was tastey but there was no seafood in it. Very disappointed. We got there early on Valentines day so there was no rush in the kitchen. Previous dinners were good.The apple crisp ended the night with" never again"

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Great "In Season" - Not Ready for Year Round

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Tale of Two Cities - the best of time and the worst of times. Cold weather carried over into restaurant with temps inside a cool 60 degrees! Food seemed to follow as menu items ordered were also cold and not the same recipe as advertised. Service was the only saving grace. Without it, we would have walked. With this said, during the Summer this restaurant has an awesome sunset and we have had great meals. May be that the off season is difficult to overcome.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Outstanding service and food. Can't wait ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Outstanding service and food. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining room is lively and crowded. T ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2016

The dining room is lively and crowded. The menu is interesting and varied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great seafood

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2016

The Plum Island Grill is known for its seafood, and with good reason. It is always super fresh and prepared deliciously and imaginatively. The Thai curry mussels are superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great little hidden gem

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2016

I've been going to the Plum Island Grill for many years. Consistently good food, great view and attentive service! Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very crowded for New Year's Eve, high, h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Very crowded for New Year's Eve, high, high noise level...good food, great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not that great

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2015

In a cool location out of downtown near the ocean. The vibe is pretty low key and generally welcoming. Good was just ok and very overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great location, excellent food

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Really nice meal. Tempura oysters and seafood chowder for appetizers and lobster ravioli and crab-stuffed haddock for entrees. Beautifully prepared. Not a leftover in sight. A little loud but a memorable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Just okay....

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2015

Disappointed in Plum Island Grille as thought the food was very bland. I had a lemon chicken that was very watery with absolutely no flavor whatsoever. My Husband had the Shrimp and Scallop Carbonara dish and thought it lacked flavor. The only good part of the meal was a fall sangria I had and their mixed green salad with the rosemary balsamic dressing is very tasty. Overall nice drive and area but the kitchen needs to add some spice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.