HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Playa Cabana

4.1
160 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (279)
  • Fit for Foodies (253)
  • Hot Spot (181)

Similar Restaurants

About

The Mexican inspired dishes at Playa Cabana are prepared using the freshest local ingredients. The restaurant serves up authentic food, cooked and prepared from the heart. The menu draws on the ingredients and culinary traditions from many different regions of Mexico.

Playa Cabana offers a wide range of bocaditos, tacos served in threes, hefty mouthwatering burritos, and classic house specials. The flavors and preparation of the classic huevos rancheros, tostadas, enchiladas and carne asada will transport you straight to Mexico. Playa Cabana also has a full drink menu with fun and creative Mexican cocktails as well as coffee, wine, beer, and non-alcoholic beverages. Take the whole family or stop in with friends and try the delicious, authentic cuisine.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 12:00pm - late
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 929-3911
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 160 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.1  based on all time ratings
4.3
food
3.9
service
3.8
ambience
3.0
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Natalie (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on March 26, 2015

Very busy on weekday dinner. Small place - gets really noisy. Hard to have a conversation. Would not recommend for romantic dinner. Service lower than average with prices higher than average. Food is amassing thought. One of the best Mexican I've ever tried.

Report
Helpful
Neighbour (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on February 27, 2015

I was disappointment with the restaurant and the food. The service was so fast that our main meal came before we were half way through our appetizers. It was a clear attempt to get us out of the restaurant. I found the food very mediocre.

Report
Helpful
Morob (Las Vegas)
4.0  Dined on February 21, 2015

Even though it was a "Tight squeeze"we had a wonderful meal
Full of colour and flavour we couldn't stop eating. Along with great service I would recommend Plya Cabanna to all

Report
Helpful
thecomfortfoodie (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

I took my partner to Playa Cabana for valentine's day because he loves mexican food and he hasn't stopped talking about it since. We had the homemade chips, guacamole, flauvas, and both the short rib and lobster tacos. It was incredible and there is no question that we will be going back.

Report
Helpful
foodie25252 (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

The food served at this place is well portioned, if not on the generous side (check out any one of their burritos and you'll see what I mean). Most importantly though, the food is also flavorful, fresh and exactly what Mexican food should taste like!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on January 29, 2015

Wonderful neighbourhood place in The Annex. Very crowded, reservation essential although there be a place at the bar. Margarettas are fabulous. The service was prompt and everyone is pleasant. A bit too quick to take dishes away so watch out for that if you intend to finish your food but are just taking a break. The food is delicious. Those churros! Yum.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on January 15, 2015

Stumbled on this restaurant by accident and must say one accident I enjoyed. The food was great, my guest was impressed with my find... will definitely come back with the family next.

Report
Helpful
vipTaxLaw101Girl (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on January 10, 2015

Playa Cabana (on Dupont but not the same as the newer and larger Hacienda down the road) is an intimate (read tiny), vibrant, friendly gem. Superbly authentic Mexican fare, friendly and attentive service and a fabulous ambiance. The bar guys are a riot! Note that it is impossible to drop in without reservations. Interestingly, most of the menu is gluten-free because of corn-based tortillas and tacos. An unexpected surprise for this girl!

Report
Helpful
Melimelo (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on December 28, 2014

Original, elegant and very flavourful food. Despite its popularity and trendy reputation, service remains courteous and helpful. I love the small intimate space and absence of deliberate decor. Come for the food and the ambience, and you won't be disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on December 27, 2014

Fantastic margaritas in authentic Mexican style. The chorizo tacos are particularly outstanding, although everything we had was also very good. Only critique would be that it's very small and very cramped, so not suitable for large groups.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on December 23, 2014

There must be some flexibility of receiving a table between 5.00 pm to 9.00 pm as I have tried number of time, even three weeks earlier, but reservations are always either 5.00 or 9.00 pm? Plus, must add some more servers as it take 30 mins to next Margarita

Report
Helpful
Sangriasally (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on December 18, 2014

Warm, professional greeting. Perfect service; not too much, never waited. Apps came out quick - salsa, guacamole and ceviche. Chips right on. Fish tacos and poblano peppers for mains - yum. Didn't try dessert, too full.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on December 16, 2014

My friends and I had an enjoyable evening. The food was very good and the service was too.
Great margaritas, yummy appetizers and the tacos were tasty - more napkins were required.
But the music was very loud and with the buzz at all the tables, it was hard to have a conversation.
So if an important part of evening dining with friends is conversing with them, be warned.

Report
Helpful
sakina 
4.0  Dined on December 12, 2014

other than the wait (we had a 9pm reservation and were seated af 9) loved tbe experience

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 6, 2014

Playa has alwayd been a favorite, I have been there about 12 times and every time surpasses the last.

Report
Helpful
arpi (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on December 5, 2014

The food and ambience was very good, we ordered the 3 chicken tacos and the playa burrito, presented very well and tasted good. The service staff was very friendly and professional. Noise is a big issue , if you have one loud group in the restaurant , its almost impossible to have a conversation anywhere in the restaurant. Also the chair and table we sat on were very wobbly. I understand giving the place a rustic feel but rustic doesn't have to mean old and rotting
I would recommend the place to friends and go back even with these issues because the food and service was great

Report
Helpful
disappointed1 (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on December 5, 2014

Lunch was great. However, when we made our reservation through Open Table we were told that we had to come at noon as it was the only time available (we wanted to come at 1:00). The restaurant was empty when we arrived and stayed that way until well after 1:00. Even then there were a only a few tables taken. This makes me leery of using Open Table as a reliable source for reservations. I'd call the restaurant first before trusting Open a table again.

Report
Helpful
Quietseeker (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on November 18, 2014

There are some pluses here - very well-prepared food, good variety on menu, authentic, tasty Mexican food and drinks and we had a friendly server. But, this resto had NO working washrooms on site. Patrons were expected to go next door, in the cold, and then upstairs to a so- called staff washroom. Staff did not advise or explain when we were seated. Unacceptable. But the real negative experience was the noise level. It felt abusive. The place is set up with seating so close, it is impossible to communicate without shouting.

Report
Helpful
vipNicky (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on November 1, 2014

First time going to Playa Cabana. At first I was skeptical when I saw the place because it's not a typical restaurant with big signs or updated furniture. Came here after being recommended by my chiropractor. Loved it and would definitely go back. Portions are decent and prices are reasonable.

Report
Helpful
cfeather (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on October 26, 2014

Just awesome. But make reservations past 7 pm. Great place for a first date. Food was excellent and so was the service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8