Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

EVOOEVOO
(49)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Joso'sJoso's
(123)
Seafood | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
MisturaMistura
(427)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
L'Unità EnotecaL'Unità Enoteca
(468)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Flor de SalFlor de Sal
(100)
Contemporary European | Casa Loma, Toronto
Reserve Now
Aviv RestaurantAviv Restaurant
(26)
Mediterranean | The Annex, Toronto
Reserve Now
NAONAO
(71)
Steakhouse | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Scaramouche RestaurantScaramouche Restaurant
(1003)
French | Midtown / Uptown, Toronto
Reserve Now
ChabrolChabrol
(96)
French | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Scaramouche Pasta BarScaramouche Pasta Bar
(52)
Contemporary Italian | Midtown / Uptown, Toronto
Reserve Now
Sopra LoungeSopra Lounge
Reviews Coming Soon
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Bar ReynaBar Reyna
(30)
Mediterranean | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
ONE RestaurantONE Restaurant
(708)
French / Canadian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Carens RosedaleCarens Rosedale
(46)
French | Rosedale / Summerhill, Toronto
Reserve Now
UtsavUtsav
(28)
Indian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now

About Playa Cabana

111 Dupont St
Toronto, ON M5R 1V4
View Larger Map

The Mexican inspired dishes at Playa Cabana are prepared using the freshest local ingredients. The restaurant serves up authentic food, cooked and prepared from the heart. The menu draws on the ingredients and culinary traditions from many different regions of Mexico.

Playa Cabana offers a wide range of bocaditos, tacos served in threes, hefty mouthwatering burritos, and classic house specials. The flavors and preparation of the classic huevos rancheros, tostadas, enchiladas and carne asada will transport you straight to Mexico. Playa Cabana also has a full drink menu with fun and creative Mexican cocktails as well as coffee, wine, beer, and non-alcoholic beverages. Take the whole family or stop in with friends and try the delicious, authentic cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 12:00pm - late

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 929-3911

Website:
http://www.playacabana.ca/

Restaurant Photos

Quesadillas Fritas
Ensenada Fish Taco
Ancho Braised Shortrib-Brisket Crispy Tacos
Taco De Barbacoa De Pulpo
Salsas
Hidalgo Lamb Barbacoa
Tacos de Pescado
Tacos De Pollo Al Carbon
Flautas
Crispy Chicken Tinga Tacos
Village Ensenada Margarita
Cubeta De Camaron
Homemade Chorizo Burrito
Sort By:
Newest
159 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, so-so service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

Very busy on weekday dinner. Small place - gets really noisy. Hard to have a conversation. Would not recommend for romantic dinner. Service lower than average with prices higher than average. Food is amassing thought. One of the best Mexican I've ever tried.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Playa Cabana Dissapointing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

I was disappointment with the restaurant and the food. The service was so fast that our main meal came before we were half way through our appetizers. It was a clear attempt to get us out of the restaurant. I found the food very mediocre.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Fun feast

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 22, 2015

Even though it was a "Tight squeeze"we had a wonderful meal

Full of colour and flavour we couldn't stop eating. Along with great service I would recommend Plya Cabanna to all

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

I took my partner to Playa Cabana for valentine's day because he loves mexican food and he hasn't stopped talking about it since. We had the homemade chips, guacamole, flauvas, and both the short rib and lobster tacos. It was incredible and there is no question that we will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Authentic, Filling & Declicious

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The food served at this place is well portioned, if not on the generous side (check out any one of their burritos and you'll see what I mean). Most importantly though, the food is also flavorful, fresh and exactly what Mexican food should taste like!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Best Mexican!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

Wonderful neighbourhood place in The Annex. Very crowded, reservation essential although there be a place at the bar. Margarettas are fabulous. The service was prompt and everyone is pleasant. A bit too quick to take dishes away so watch out for that if you intend to finish your food but are just taking a break. The food is delicious. Those churros! Yum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Stumbled on this restaurant by accident ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

Stumbled on this restaurant by accident and must say one accident I enjoyed. The food was great, my guest was impressed with my find... will definitely come back with the family next.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Playa Cabana (on Dupont but not the same ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

Playa Cabana (on Dupont but not the same as the newer and larger Hacienda down the road) is an intimate (read tiny), vibrant, friendly gem. Superbly authentic Mexican fare, friendly and attentive service and a fabulous ambiance. The bar guys are a riot! Note that it is impossible to drop in without reservations. Interestingly, most of the menu is gluten-free because of corn-based tortillas and tacos. An unexpected surprise for this girl!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Fabulous as Always

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 29, 2014

Original, elegant and very flavourful food. Despite its popularity and trendy reputation, service remains courteous and helpful. I love the small intimate space and absence of deliberate decor. Come for the food and the ambience, and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth a visit

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 28, 2014

Fantastic margaritas in authentic Mexican style. The chorizo tacos are particularly outstanding, although everything we had was also very good. Only critique would be that it's very small and very cramped, so not suitable for large groups.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Trying to fit too many people in a very short time

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 24, 2014

There must be some flexibility of receiving a table between 5.00 pm to 9.00 pm as I have tried number of time, even three weeks earlier, but reservations are always either 5.00 or 9.00 pm? Plus, must add some more servers as it take 30 mins to next Margarita

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Overall fun

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 18, 2014

Warm, professional greeting. Perfect service; not too much, never waited. Apps came out quick - salsa, guacamole and ceviche. Chips right on. Fish tacos and poblano peppers for mains - yum. Didn't try dessert, too full.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

What did you say?

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 17, 2014

My friends and I had an enjoyable evening. The food was very good and the service was too.

Great margaritas, yummy appetizers and the tacos were tasty - more napkins were required.

But the music was very loud and with the buzz at all the tables, it was hard to have a conversation.

So if an important part of evening dining with friends is conversing with them, be warned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

great food

 
·Dined on December 13, 2014

other than the wait (we had a 9pm reservation and were seated af 9) loved tbe experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Playa has alwayd been a favorite, I have ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

Playa has alwayd been a favorite, I have been there about 12 times and every time surpasses the last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and service but wobbly chairs

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

The food and ambience was very good, we ordered the 3 chicken tacos and the playa burrito, presented very well and tasted good. The service staff was very friendly and professional. Noise is a big issue , if you have one loud group in the restaurant , its almost impossible to have a conversation anywhere in the restaurant. Also the chair and table we sat on were very wobbly. I understand giving the place a rustic feel but rustic doesn't have to mean old and rotting

I would recommend the place to friends and go back even with these issues because the food and service was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Reservation issue

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 5, 2014

Lunch was great. However, when we made our reservation through Open Table we were told that we had to come at noon as it was the only time available (we wanted to come at 1:00). The restaurant was empty when we arrived and stayed that way until well after 1:00. Even then there were a only a few tables taken. This makes me leery of using Open Table as a reliable source for reservations. I'd call the restaurant first before trusting Open a table again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Noisy night

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 19, 2014

There are some pluses here - very well-prepared food, good variety on menu, authentic, tasty Mexican food and drinks and we had a friendly server. But, this resto had NO working washrooms on site. Patrons were expected to go next door, in the cold, and then upstairs to a so- called staff washroom. Staff did not advise or explain when we were seated. Unacceptable. But the real negative experience was the noise level. It felt abusive. The place is set up with seating so close, it is impossible to communicate without shouting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing food

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

First time going to Playa Cabana. At first I was skeptical when I saw the place because it's not a typical restaurant with big signs or updated furniture. Came here after being recommended by my chiropractor. Loved it and would definitely go back. Portions are decent and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great first date spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Just awesome. But make reservations past 7 pm. Great place for a first date. Food was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Well this isn't my first time and each time I go there I come out satisfied. Happy to see they are consistent with their services and food quality. Al always, outstanding!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but super noisey

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

My hubby and I went to Playa Cabana for his birthday Saturday night. The food was great but the noise level was unbearable. We could not hear each other across the table. Mixed feelings as to whether we would go back. It is not the most relaxing place to dine. Too bad because I loved the lobster taco's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great Mexican Food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 25, 2014

Loved it.. Good service.. Great food.. Small place that was a bit tight.. But definitely worth the squeeze.. Will be going back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Tacos

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on October 20, 2014

Another great night at Playa Cabana! The margaritas are excellent, just the right amount of tart to offset the lime. The chips and guac are always so fresh and tasty. Once again I had the shredded beef tacos. I know I should try something different, but they are so tasty! I love that the beef has been marinated and the slightly crispy tortillas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Small place with good food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

The restaurant turned out to be a small place but was packed the whole evening. Great atmosphere with good food. The staff was very good. Nice casual dining place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great, as usual

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

I always have the chicken burrito and it never disappoints when it comes to amazing flavour and quality. I will just say that since they originally opened, the portion size has definitely decreased. The fish tacos are also always a hit, and especially great for sharing. On this visit, I decided to try something new - the braised shortrib crispy beef tacos. They were absolutely delicious! The crispy shell was freshly fried and the beef was extremely tender and tasty. My one disappointment was surprisingly the chips. Even after we sent back our first set of tortilla chips for being stale and chewy, the second was not much better! Hopefully next time, they're a little more careful about the length of time they keep each batch of chips for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A lovely restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 14, 2014

Playa Cabana is an excellent Mexican restaurant. Delicious food and buzzing atmosphere made for an enjoyable meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food disappointing

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 13, 2014

Had the crab cakes which lacked crab and were tasteless. The burritos were barely ok. Stodgy and overcooked. Way better burritos to be had at lots of other places that don't purport to be authentic . Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Playa Cabana did not disappoint

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

No wonder my friends have been telling me to go to Playa Cabana. This spot has amazing food, service, ambiance, and the vibe is pretty relaxed too. I loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun, energetic atmosphere with delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

Fun, energetic atmosphere with delicious food and friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cramped and loud

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 6, 2014

Service was great, food was good but restaurant was super cramped and loud. Would be great for a rambunctious boys night out but not for a date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Great Vibe

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

This was our first time at Playa Cabana. The food was really fresh, not over salted and delicious. Great energy in a tiny space with a relatively young crowd (20-30's). Staff were very personable and made every effort to make our experience a very good one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

good food, terrible service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 1, 2014

booked a table thru opentable 2 days before, was seated at the bar for some reason -- and continually bumped into and told to move by wait staff that were in a rush to serve OTHER people. ordered an app that NEVER came (guacamole - so intensive. asked about it twice), drinks were slow - wouldve ordered more but nobody came. mains took over an hour. they were good, but we were extremely ready to leave by that point.

so basically, if you've got nothing to do all night, ENJOY but otherwise, good luck. this was also a wed night, and yes, was busy, but book more staff if you need it. fri/sat must be nightmarish

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Come with patience for a great meal

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

We were disappointed by the slow service and late seating after making a reservation 3 weeks prior. The food was delicious when it arrived, one of the items was cold.

Wine was excellent but expensive and waited a long time after ordering.

Overall good experience, but should seat less people or hire more staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

table and chairs

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 19, 2014

Please cover tables with white tissue or paper. Please fix chairs

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fantastic

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 17, 2014

We had the best family dinner, celebrating a special birthday and a reunion of our family being together. My son has been away for over a year and when we sat down to dinner - the four of us did not stop. It was the perfect place to get together. The people around us celebrated with us instead of being angry at us for being a bit loud! We have never been there before but certainly plan to go back soon!! Thank you for allowing us a great night we won't foget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, inconsistent service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

Food and drinks were great. I'm still thinking about the crispy braised short rib tacos. Place was packed on a Saturday at 5pm. Service was good in the beginning but I noticed plate clearing throughout and post-dinner service was very slow (after we declined dessert, we waited at least half an hour to get our bill) towards the end for us and the table next to us. But I would go back for the food...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Playa Cabana Mucho Buena!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

We have finally found a Great Mexican Food place in Toronto. We love the atmosphere of the place, the aromas coming from the kitchen, it felt like you were walking into someones home (which in this case it was someone's home...once). We started with the Guaca Fresca. You have not had Guac until you have this. Avocado, Lime, and everything else they put into it, is just pure Guac perfection. Along with those homemade corn tortillas chips, We could not stop munching on these until they where gone. Tacos were next Short Rib-Brisket tacos and Lobster tacos. Both absolutely delicious. Tacos were very filling and you get three of them. Our waiter, sorry I forgot your name was awesome. We will be back to try more and we will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

We had a great dinner, food was amazing, the corn was the best corn we have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Horrible service, average food

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

We decided to go to this restaurant as we wanted to eat traditional Mexican with an modern flair.

We reached the place at about 8:45 pm as we have made a reservation in advance we had no worries on waiting for free table. It took them 30 min. to get us a table.

The place has bright colours minimal design and it looks clean and tidy. I wouldn't say it is kid-friendly. The first thing that you will notice, which made us disappointed, was the very loud music, so loud we couldn't intimate conversation. The place is hyped!!

The food is below average except the freshly made chips and salsa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.