Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

EVOOEVOO
(53)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
L'Unità EnotecaL'Unità Enoteca
(474)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
MisturaMistura
(430)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Joso'sJoso's
(132)
Seafood | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Scaramouche RestaurantScaramouche Restaurant
(1016)
French | Midtown / Uptown, Toronto
Reserve Now
Scaramouche Pasta BarScaramouche Pasta Bar
(63)
Contemporary Italian | Midtown / Uptown, Toronto
Reserve Now
Sorrel RosedaleSorrel Rosedale
(174)
Contemporary European | Rosedale / Summerhill, Toronto
Reserve Now
NAONAO
(76)
Steakhouse | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Terroni  YONGE (at Price St.)Terroni YONGE (at Price St.)
(920)
Italian | Rosedale / Summerhill, Toronto
Reserve Now
Carens RosedaleCarens Rosedale
(46)
French | Rosedale / Summerhill, Toronto
Reserve Now
Bar CentraleBar Centrale
(3)
Italian | Rosedale / Summerhill, Toronto
Reserve Now
ChabrolChabrol
(107)
French | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
ONE RestaurantONE Restaurant
(720)
French / Canadian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Flor de SalFlor de Sal
(105)
Contemporary European | Casa Loma, Toronto
Reserve Now
Buca YorkvilleBuca Yorkville
(352)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now

About Playa Cabana Hacienda

14 Dupont St
Toronto, ON M5R 1V2
View Larger Map

Savor the taste of authentic Mexican cuisine at Playa Cabana Hacienda. Its list of platters is inspired by styles of cooking from different regions of Mexico. This gives guests the opportunity to experience a wide array of Mexican flavors. Playa Cabana Hacienda's menu features dishes such as beef in red chili and marinated raw shrimp and scallops. Some of Playa Cabana Hacienda's main entrées include braised beef shoulder in tomatillos as well as oven-roasted chicken leg in arbol-guajillo salsa, made with a combination of earthy, nutty and spicy chiles.

Playa Cabana Hacienda prides itself in its tequila selection. Guests can also enjoy an extensive international selection of other drinks.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:

Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 2:00am

Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(647) 352-6030

Website:
http://www.playacabana.ca/

Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was very crowded and cold. Service wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 25, 2015

It was very crowded and cold. Service was sporadic and very rushed. The food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Stay Away until summer

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

I really enjoy this restaurant. The food is great (even if the pulpo in the pulpo taco was far too chewy). I love the elotes (corn), the LA Truck taco, the drinks, and a bunch of other items on the menu.

But this place must be avoided in cold months. Aside from having no place to put coats, so one is expected to sit on their coats in an already fairly tight, cramped seating environment, their triple door entranceis a 5 star FAIL. The doors are so close that for more than one person to enter the restaurant all three doors are invariably open at the same time letting in large wafts of freezing cold air. The restaurant is so small that it is enough to send a chill through the entire main floor. (Yes, there is a darker, less hip dining upstairs option). Furthermore, the doors often get stuck ajar causing the a door or two to remain open - often ignored or not noticed - by the very busy and otherwise competent staff. Twice my winter dining experience was ultimately an uncomfortable experience for my dining companion and me. Looking around at others keeping their coats on - we were far from alone.

I will return for the fun, delicious, and slightly overpriced dinner - but in a few months when a properly winterized restaurant is not necessary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Menu.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Everything was amazing except for the short menu, I think there are multiple ways to add more food on it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was slow and food was cold

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Service was slow

Food was cold

Food was expensive

Food taste wasn't good for tacos

Cold inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Weak Margarita

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 9, 2015

Everything was great, however, the margarita was suprisingly weak in flavour for a good Mexican Restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our waitress was very accomodating despi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 31, 2014

Our waitress was very accomodating despite the busy holiday crowds. Braised short rib tacos were delicious along with amazing churros for dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

excellent

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 26, 2014

Very good food not standard Mexican more interesting. Wine is pricey

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Casual, fun

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

Small neighbourhood eatery with a small but excellent menu of tacos, burritos & enchiladas. We enjoyed the casual atmosphere & great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun and tasty

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 6, 2014

The short rib tacos were absolutely delicious. Our server was very helpful and knowledgeable in explaining the menu. The only downside is that it's a little bit cramped

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible Food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 1, 2014

So pleased with the shredded lamb and the lobster tacos. Their cocktails are also fantastic. Great, unique spot to dine! Awesome atmosphere, and wonderful service. Definetly coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great spot

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 19, 2014

The food here is just spectacular. I always find myself eating far more than i should, just because I want more of it.

Service was okay, not great. I love the ambiance and would come back anytime

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Fun spot!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 9, 2014

A very good experience. The food was fresh and very delicious. The service was friendly, and when I asked for recommendations, the server was helpful. I was hosting out-of-town guests and they were raving about the restaurant for the rest of the weekend!

The only issue was the speed of service. Our appetizers and mains arrived at the same time, before we even received our drinks! Given I was firmly reminded that the table had a two-hour time limit when I received a reminder call, I felt a bit rushed. If you want a more leisurely experience, I would clarify that you want your apps and main separately. (You'll still have lots of time, we were done in an hour.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

awesome vibe!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

fantastic atmosphere and awesome vibe... not your traditional mexi resto!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great, but busy!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

I've been several times-you definitely need to make a reservation (unless you are planning to go at 5 or 10)

It's dark and noisy, which some friends have said they couldn't see their menus or hear conversation. Great for dates, family gatherings, etc... When it's really busy, you better only have 1 or 2 q's...the waiters are usually too busy to want to help. Having food allergies, I found this frustrating my first couple of visits. The food is SOO good though!

Great if you have gluten and dairy allergies, there is lots of choice...almost the entire menu! If you are in a group, be warned that food comes out as it's ready, so one person may be finished before the other has began. Awkward if you are on a date and it's just 2 of you, haha!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Viva Mexicana on the of Yorkville

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 5, 2014

A terrific find! Tacos tried were delicious. Mexican Corn on the cob was excellent and good Drinks. Portion sizes were excellent and prices good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good experience but not great

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

We went to Playa Cabana for a birthday dinner (group of 9). Service was good, atmosphere was pretty cool too. Food was just OK though, nothing spectacular though. I thought it was overpriced for what we got, especially since I've been to Rancho Relaxo and Margerita's here in Toronto and got much better food for a lot less. We didn't like the fact we weren't told ahead of time there was an automatic gratuity added to each bill for groups of people over 8, that would've been good to know for our guests.

Playa Cabana's in a great spot, has a great patio and tons of potential but the food really needs to be done better. That being said, I'm willing to try it again when the nice weather rolls around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Delicious

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 29, 2014

We loved the cedar smell of the warm enclosed balcony. The service was equally warm and inviting.

The cocktail pitchers all looked delicious but we drove and couldn't try them… but we'll know better next time.

The shortrib tacos were incredible.

We paid using the Tab app! Too fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 21, 2014

Every dish was delicious. Service was great. Can't wait to come back to sample more items on the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Part of the Playa chain

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 14, 2014

I am a HUGE fan of all of the rest of the Playa chain but didn't think this lived up to any of the other ones. I wouldn't go again unless I couldn't get a reservation at one of the others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Mexican That Rocks

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 13, 2014

We had made it in this weekend for a nice dinner with some friends. This place is tight, but very cool. The decor and atmosphere are amazing.

The drinks are great. They make amazing drinks, producing their own syrups makes the difference. Everything is made fresh and quick. The hot sauces on the table are a key in having a good time. We had the short rib, grilled fish, and churizo taco's. All great. Unfortunatelyy they ran out of the Churro that night, but the chocolate cake was a great backup. Definitee place to come back to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Playa Cabana Hacienda

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 7, 2014

Excellent margaritas. Good food and fun atmosphere. Seating is a bit cramped but I would still go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Only Okay

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

Upon being seated we told that we had to be out in 2 hours. A standard disclaimer I'm sure, but not a great way to start the night. The staff was attentive, though we had to ask twice for every drink.

Overall, the food was a bit greasy and heavy. The spare rib taco shell was deep fried, not neccassry, especially after greasy chips and salsa. Fun atmosphere, but food could be brighter and a bit lighter/ fresher.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Amazing food and ambience. Great servoce ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 3, 2014

Amazing food and ambience. Great servoce / such friendly staff

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 2, 2014

I have been here a few times now. I always get the grilled fish tacos in lettuce shells. Not once have I been disappointed!

The food is consistently good, the staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the venue is hip and fun!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 1, 2014

Great spot, always busy and you are packed in, but it is a fun environment! The top shelf margaritas are delicious, as are the chips, guac and tacos - the salsa was the only miss. Worth trying, and going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tables were a bit too close together, wa ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 1, 2014

Tables were a bit too close together, was a bit disruptive to our lunch.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and great staff!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 26, 2014

Everything was excellent. The best Mexican inspired food I have had Toronto!!! I highly recommend to try this joint, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vibrant atmosphere

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

We booked at Hacienda, but initially went to another location because I forgot to tell my husband there were four locations of Playa Cabana..but, it was just down the street. We were seated upstairs and then told a big party was coming in and we would be moved in an hour and a half. We were not thrilled with that idea, but a table for four opened downstairs and it was perfect. Fun atmosphere, initially noisy but we adjusted. We had delicious shrimp appetizers, glaucoma and chips, great lobster enchiladas, and a pitcher of sugar free margaritas. All ages, mostly younger than us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food, Terrible seating

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 18, 2014

Went to Playa Cabana on a Thursday evening (around 530) and the place was already quite busy. Inside the restaurant is SUPER cramped as they place tables so close together, you're practically sitting on your neighbors. Our waiter literally was leaning on top of me to serve the people sitting in corner as the space was too small for him to actually walk next to the table. After getting cracked in the head by the waiters' elbow twice, we decided to eat outside in some pretty brisk fall weather, but the extra space was worth it. The food itself was good. Started with the Camerones Palomitas - very good. As well as the braised short rib and La Truck tacos - also both good. Wouldn't go back solely because of the seating though. Just terrible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Fun vs food

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

The Hacienda was hopping with a packed house on our Sunday evening visit. Service was friendly and attentive and the place has a fun vibe. Food could not keep pace. It was all good but entirely unexceptional. Happy to return when with a group because its fun! But don't have super high expectations for a dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

It was freezing cold and they made us si ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2014

It was freezing cold and they made us sit outside even though we had a reservation. Was not appropriate weather for that and therefore we were just rushing to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Four Star Find

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 12, 2014

Went here for my lady's birthday and was not disappointed. Apart from the somewhat cramped seating this was an excellent find. The food was delicious and the service was professional and "on the ball".

We ate and dined to our hearts content for just over 200.

Try the lobster taco if you get the chance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 11, 2014

We had heard so many positive reviews about this place so we decided to take our friends from Europe there on their first evening in Canada! We were so disappointed: the noise level prevented any conversation unless we yelled at each other, the chairs were uncomfortable, the food took close to 30 min to arrive and did not excite us at all, one waitress while re-filling our water managed to pour it all over us!!! When we asked about the Ceviche and wanted to know the fish of the day- she did not know! All in all a very dissppointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We're a fan

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 9, 2014

We're a fan of the place, and have tried their locations on both the two restaurants of Dupont as well as the Junction.

Definitely would return only thing is reservations or getting a spot in especially when it first opened we found the staff not so helpful or kind and tried 3 times as we workout at the gym close by on Dupont and gave up for a year. Seems like they are more able to take on walks ins and rsvp now so that is nice. I prefer the south side of the restaurant on Dupont then the north side thought the patio is much bigger on the north side on Dupont. Good food overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great meal on the 2nd floor patio

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 7, 2014

Took my GF here for dinner on her birthday. She loves Mexican food and so do I. Playa Cabana is nice looking spot with a patio by the sidewalk and another patio on the second floor looking out over Dupont. Service was good, but not outstanding. As for the food, we started with guac and chips and it was a generous portion of guac and chips - 4 could share! Then ordered flautas and 6 tacos. I must be too used to smallish tacos served at other "hip" Mexican restaurants but believe me that is not how tacos are served at Playa Cabana. The tacos were served on a medium sized tortilla and just stuffed with filling. 3 would have been plenty for me even without the appetizers, but of course I ended up eating 4. Highly recommend the short rib tacos.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Service Bad. Food Cold

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 6, 2014

Went there on my wife's birthday, big mistake. One waiter serving everyone in the restaurant . Music so loud you couldn't talk. Terrible margaritas. Food cold and tasted sour. No-one finished the meal. We paid over a hundred for a poor meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Not suitable for groups

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

We were a party of 11, and had chosen a group menu in advance (the restaurant required it). However, our waiter was not aware of that and when after asking about that, he went to talk to the manager, came back apologizing that they had forgotten to inform him about it. After that issue was sorted (it took about an hour) the food started coming quickly to our table and it was so delicious. But in the future, I would not go there with a big group. But will definately go back with smaller party.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Better Off going to Grand Electric

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2014

From the moment I walked in, I was a bit disappointed. I had a reservation and had to wait 15 minutes for a table (despite coming early) while a couple that didn't have a reservation and came in after me was seated immediately by a different hostess.

When it came to the food, the appetizers were amazing. I had the elotes and the shrimp.

For mains we ordered the LA truck tacos (beef), jerk lobster tacos, cactus tacos, and lamb taquitos. Simply put, Grand Electric has significantly better and cheaper tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Unfriendly Hostess

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2014

When booking I requested seating on the upstairs patio. Hacienda called to confirm and I noted my request. I was told that it wouldn’t be a problem and she would put a note in my reservation. On arrival the hostess directed us to an inside table. I said I was told we could have a table on the upstairs patio. She basically called me a liar saying that couldn’t have happened because they don't take reservations on the patio. I pushed her until she grudgingly led us to a table for 4 on a VIRTUALLY EMPTY PATIO!!!

What is with the attitude? The rest of the meal was fine, food was good (some very good). Other than the hostess, the rest of the service staff was very friendly and efficient. Problem was that she put me off.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fun

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 30, 2014

Food was good. The atmosphere was good. Took time to move us outside when requested. Night ended early with cleaning up around us (felt like you wanted us to leave) We would have stayed for 2 more rounds probably.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.