HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Playa Cabana Cantina

4.0
193 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mexican
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Hot Spot

Similar Restaurants

About

Playa Cabana aims to bring people together through its food, drink and atmosphere. Start with homemade chips and salsa or the ceviche of the day. Bigger plates include house specials like enchiladas suizas, spicy mole and poblano chile rellenos. Playa Cabana also has a variety of tacos (pescado, carnitas, al pastor and short rib brisket) and burritos on the menu. There is a large list of Playa Cabana�s hand-crafted cocktails and drinks, many available by glass or by the pitcher. Sip the Mexican Iced Tea, made with Tromba blanco tequila, los Arango reposado tequila, triple sec and coke, or try the Mojito Mojado, made with Cazadores reposado 100 percent de Agave tequila, raw organic agave nectar and freshly squeezed lime with soda.

Guests can make online reservations for groups of up to six people. For larger parties, guests should contact the restaurant directly.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mexican
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily: 12:00pm - late
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(647) 352-7767
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dave Sidhu
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Keele and Dundas
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Green P on the corner of keele and dundas. Street parking, free after 6pm.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 193 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.3
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Energetic
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Lunchin (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 22, 2015

The guacamole was amazing! our server was soo nice because I was concerned about having the chips as they were a tad greasy and she brought me soft tortillas instead. She was very very helpful in suggesting other dishes and me and my friend enjoyed our meal very much! Definitely coming back again!

Report
Helpful
Erez (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on February 15, 2015

This was my second visit to the Cabana restaurants.
This is a great casual place for a date, or going out with some friends.
The food is simple but packed with flavours.
The mixed drinks and sauces are all house made with some interesting twists.

I highly recommend this place to anyone.
I hope the expand the vegetarian selection.
The scallop taco was not great which was a low point.

The rest of our items and I have had were all spectacular.

The hot sauces are great.
Wine and beer selection is excellent.

Report
Helpful
Deeee (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2015

The food was amazing. Always fresh and so juicy. The service was good too. Only issue is that it's a little tight but we still managed to enjoy the food

Report
Helpful
Fitchick (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2015

This restaurant is a gem in the heart of the Junction. I have gone there about 10 times now and not one time has there ever been a problem with food or service!

The servers have always been very friendly and knowledgeable about their menu and often the neighborhood too! The food...the only way to describe it....mouthwatering, can't get enough, lick your plate clean goodness!

Will come back time and time again!

Report
Helpful
vipSugarNSpice (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on February 9, 2015

The food was excellent again (nachos and tacos), however, the temperature in the dining room was freezing.

Report
Helpful
Foodienurse84 (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2015

I went here on a recommendation with my family and we all tried different things including the tacos, enchiladas and burritos and they were all delciious. The prices were reasonable for the portion sizes. The drinks were wonderful although a bit over priced. The wait staff was knowledgable and friendly but not overbearing. Definitely going back!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on February 1, 2015

The guacamole, salsa and chips were good. Everything else was okay.. Special dietary request (vegan) was not accommodated (twice returned for including cheese and bits of beef). Poor timing in the service of our meals as some diners were finished before other meals arrived. As I did not want to post a negative review without giving the restaurant a chance, I did contact the restaurant the day after our meal, spoke with a few people, but after a week I am still waiting to hear from the manager.

Report
Helpful
Ginger (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on January 29, 2015

Staff: Awesome. VERY knowledgeable about their food and drinks. Took the time to explain everything.

Food: Delicious and remarkable affordable.

Ambiance: Warm, casual, friendly.

Worth a return visit? Most definitely

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on January 29, 2015

I crave on a regular basis their Chicken Tinga Tacos. Top it off with their Arbol Hot Sauce and they are second to none. Always crowded and loud, and loaded with funky hipsters only adds to the fun environment.

Report
Helpful
Abbey (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on January 27, 2015

I enjoyed trying different Margaritas, the server was friendly and knowledgable...the food was good, but somewhat pricey. I would go back, but probably more so because it's in my neighbourhood..

Report
Helpful
Sabaudia16 (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on January 26, 2015

This place falls into the category way too many Toronto restaurants suffer from: adding too much "stuff" to their food thinking it's adding to the taste. Well too many onions does not equal better flavour—it's just too many onions! (and it leaves your hands smelling like onions for at least 24 hours). I challenge these restaurants to cook more simply and stop disguising their food with unnecessary additions. They will be surprised!
This is all a shame because otherwise the ambiance and service were really great!

Report
Helpful
AllisonY (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on January 22, 2015

We ordered guacamole, salsa, ceviche, octopus taco, LA truck taco and grilled fish taco. Everything was fresh and delicious. The guacamole and grilled fish taco stood out as the excellent and the worst, and everything else fell in the middle as good. Guacamole was the best because it was fresh, the ratio of the cilantro, onion, garlic, tomato and avocado was good, resulting in a thick and creamy dip. I noted that the salt was at the bottom of the stone container. The grilled fish taco was the worst not because it was not well made but because it used Basa fish filet, as opposed to Haddock fish filet which was listed in the online menu. Basa was not a meaty white fish. Using it as an ingredient in a grilled fish taco gave the protein of the taco no texture. I could taste the fish, but the loaded garnish overwhelmed the texture of the Basa fillet completely. When I searched for fish, I realized the fillet fell apart when I bit the taco.

Hence, if you want to order grilled fish taco, I advise checking with the waitress the choice of fish fillet beforehand. If it is not a meaty white fish, opt for the fried fish taco instead, or none.

Report
Helpful
PDED (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 14, 2014

Great food, great service, hip vibe - my wife and I LOVE this place!

Report
Helpful
vipLuckyDiner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 12, 2014

My group and I were thrilled with our meal and service. We had a 7pm rezo originally but due to bad weather and bad traffic we had to make a call and the hostess was happy to delay our reservation until 9pm -- this was on a Friday night.

Service was great - the food was really really good. L.A. Food Truck taco was everyone's favourite. The only slight difference I noticed was that the tacos were much spicier than my previous visits. Maybe due to a different chef on the shift with a heavy hand when it comes to spices...?

I tried the Pescado taco and the scallop taco and both were out of this world. The flavouring of the Pescado taco was fabulous - I'm still thinking about it!

Report
Helpful
Brian (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on December 6, 2014

Playa Cabana Cantina is a great spot if you're craving Mexican. The portions are generous and the food is always fresh. Service is also good.

I'm looking forward to going again!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13