About Plates Kitchen

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

For twenty years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: Dinner 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Free parking with validation located in our lot behind the restaurant (give space number and license plate number to our host; validation good up to 3 hours). Street parking available on Lane St. (free during all business hours) and on Glenwood Ave. (free on weekends, holidays and M-F after 5pm).

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Santucci

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Laprarie: 9198280018x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include live music and special dinners. Check the website for details.

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Organic (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is interesting (in a good way). ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food is interesting (in a good way). Our server was outstanding: attentive enough without being obtrusive, helpful, and friendly.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A real find. Small restaurant in a grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A real find. Small restaurant in a great downtown Raleigh location. Food was outstanding and not overpriced. Not a lot of options, but everything we had was excellent. You must try the Crab Beignets - awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

First time visit. Great service and atmo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First time visit. Great service and atmosphere, but the Morrocan medley was very dry and the salads were just so so. Crab beignets were fantastic. Would try again as maybe just an off night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

The Plates Kitchen team is wonderful. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Plates Kitchen team is wonderful. We shared an appetizer and an entree. The mussels were wonderful with a white wine sauce you are searching to absorb in a piece of good bread (which there was plenty). The NY Strip was over a bed of kale, green beans and a the best shiitake mushrooms I have ever eaten. The mushrooms were cooked to augment the flavor of a perfectly seasoned/rubbed/marinated stake...great stuff. We will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, People Watching, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Tapas, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch. Very small menu but the fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great Brunch. Very small menu but the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I selected this restaurant because of go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I selected this restaurant because of good things I had heard about it. Unfortunately, the service was atrocious. The waitress brought out bread and butter, but no plates for us to put it on. We shared an appetizer, and I had to a waiter to bring a second plate to share it with my wife. Ironic, since the restaurant is called Plates. Our entrees arrived and my steak was COLD, and yet the potatoes and green beans were warm. Since know one came to ask how our meal was, I hunted down the manger, and explained the events of the evening. She apologized, offered to prepare another entree and offered me a free beer while I waited. Honestly at that point I lost my appetite and asked for the check. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Overall my husband and I had a good time ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Overall my husband and I had a good time. It was our first time at the resturant so we didn't know what to expect outside of reading other reviews. The service was on point, although it took longer than we wanted to receive our meal. But the meal was fresh and delicious so I'm assuming it just took a while to cook. I didn't like my first dish I ordered and the staff was more than accommodating in getting me something else and not charging me for what I didn't want. My 2nd dish was awesome! My husband loved his steak dinner. He cleaned the plate! He wished there was more of the food to eat since he finished it so quickly! He's a big guy so the amount of the food didn't fill him up. I will admit, the plates are small....but satisfying. I would recommend this place is anyone is looking for a high end, high quality, intimate resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plates has a distinctive menu and some v ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Plates has a distinctive menu and some very good dishes. For example, I love the crab beignets. The fish du jour was a golden tilefish, and it was very tasty, although the kale-lentil base wasn't entirely my cup of tea. The sticky toffee dessert is a must. Nice wine program, with a good by-the-glass selection at fair prices. Service was very on top of things, including our need to leave in time for a symphony concert. A pleasant atmosphere. We enjoyed it, and we'll be back. Recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It used to be good, but it was not Frida ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It used to be good, but it was not Friday night. The food was meh and the service wasn't great either. But the really bad thing was that the server filled out a survey as if she was us the customer- and said that we liked the experience, when in fact we did not. We took the bogus survey with us, but still. We will not be going there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was knowledgeable, courteous and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was knowledgeable, courteous and efficient. The wine, a Malbec chosen from a small but selective list, was excellent. We had the beef cheeks pasta and the Madras curry vegetables. The vegetable dish was disappointing. While the vegetables were fresh and tasty, there was none of the spicy intrugue a Madras preparation usually carries; it was OK bit bland.

The beef cheeks pasta, on the other hand, was full of surprises, from the Brussels spouts to the egg fried on a "plate" of Parmigiano -Reggiano. A melange of expected and unexpected flavors and textures. Really really good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Food was delicious especially the Du ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Food was delicious especially the Duck Rueben and the crab beignet !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outside of the smokers sitting next to m ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Outside of the smokers sitting next to me I will be going here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plates has become one of our favorite do ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Plates has become one of our favorite downtown Raleigh restaurants. The food is outstanding. Definitely fit for foodies. It has nice outdoor seating. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Plates! The food, service and atm ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I love Plates! The food, service and atmosphere! My favorite place 2 years in a row!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the unique blend of flavors ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Always enjoy the unique blend of flavors in each of the offerings on the menu. Very relaxing atmosphere as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Never disappointed here. Last night, my ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Never disappointed here. Last night, my wife and I escaped from our newborn for a date night out. It was a perfect night to enjoy Plates' outdoor seating and people watch on Glenwood. Our waiter was excellent, although I didn't catch his name. I am always impressed with the high level of service we receive each time we visit. You can usually tell the difference between an order taker and someone who is committed to their craft. Our server was knowledgeable and passionate about the menu. I love how they keep their menu fresh with seasonal offerings. Crab Beignets were amazing and my lamb porterhouse dish was outstanding. Wine pairings were perfect suggestions and compliments to our meal. We will be back as this is one of our favorites!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I ordered the Salisbury St ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My fiance and I ordered the Salisbury Steak and Lamb and we were disappointed, the meat was real tough, we unfortunately had to leave it. The sides were great though, brussel sprouts were amazing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Great locally-sourced food, plus they ha ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great locally-sourced food, plus they have lots of gluten-free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter was attentive and knowledgabl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The waiter was attentive and knowledgable. The meal was excellent with very creative desserts.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a special occasion for a birthday ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 23, 2016

It was a special occasion for a birthday celebration, and we were very pleased with the seasonal selections on the menu. Both the appetizers and entrees were excellent choices, and our server, McKinley, was helpful with suggestions, as well as being very attentive to our table. Steve, the proprietor, always makes one feel welcome to PLATES and the birthday boy was offered a complimentary dessert to celebrate his birthday.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit, recommended by friends. We' ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

First visit, recommended by friends. We'll be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love how the menu changes. I had a red v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love how the menu changes. I had a red velvet Creme brûlée that was absolutely out of this world! The food is spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service, as was the food... ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had great service, as was the food.... everyone loved their dishes. All 5 of us🤗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food and the waitress was s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We loved the food and the waitress was super nice. The olive oil ice cream was very unique, we loved the idea. Blue cheese ice cream not so much. But for the rest the food was excellent. My husband was also extremely happy to find Belgian beer. He is a big fan of that.

You might want to check for ants and cockroaches in the outside area. We had some lovely visitors during our dinner. Luckily not on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience over all....the only ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing experience over all....the only thing is that they change their menu constantly, so if there is a specific item you enjoy... it may not be there next time..fortunately, this is a way to experience new things. I am open to it and highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, but not great. Love the o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was good, but not great. Love the outdoor seating area and vibe of the patio. Wine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Fantastic unusual cuisine! Absolutely lo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic unusual cuisine! Absolutely loved the food that tasted fresh and looked fabulous. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They just do a wonderful job of preparin ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

They just do a wonderful job of preparing locally sourced food in an unpretentious cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went here for our 5 year anniversary. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went here for our 5 year anniversary. The patio is really nice at night. The food was so fresh and delicious. Really fun, energetic place. Wonderful experience for sure!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for my birthday dinner and I lov ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came for my birthday dinner and I loved it. Wonderful menu - especially the Restaurant Week menu we enjoyed. Great food, great service. We were very happy with our experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent variety of plates. Delicious ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent variety of plates. Delicious food. Excellent service. Helpful choices/ personally of waitress.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the location and atmosphere. Food a ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love the location and atmosphere. Food and service was average

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Visited Plates Kitchen during Downtown R ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Visited Plates Kitchen during Downtown Raleigh Restaurant Week, our food was amazing and the service exceptional. Will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service!! Enjoyed i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and great service!! Enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and servcie. One of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic food and servcie. One of the best meals I have had in raleigh. I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening😃

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding evening😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Plates for Raleigh Restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We dined at Plates for Raleigh Restaurant week. The server(s) were wonderful. Offered great suggestions and were very knowledgeable about all dishes and drinks. The servers also were attentive without being interruptive. All of the food was good, though I wouldn't go so far as to call them creative or unique. Of the 6 dishes we got, the creme brulee was both of our favorites. We also ordered two cocktails and both were excellent. I'd go back at least for dessert and a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for Raleigh restaurant week h ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Went there for Raleigh restaurant week had good three course meals, craft cocktails were good. Opened with local greens and prosciutto salad and kickin jerked beef cheeks, good entrees of short rib and grouper and nice desserts. Friendly staff - good place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.