Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Plates Kitchen

For twenty four years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Brunch
Sat, Sun 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Free parking in the lot behind our building (enter on Lane Street). Take note of your parking space and license plate number and have it ready for our host so that we can validate your vehicle (there is no parking attendant).

All Raleigh city street parking is free after 5pm on weekdays and all weekend long.

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Stephen Day

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Brennan: (919) 828-0018

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include special pairing dinners and neighborhood tastings. Check the plateskitchen.com for details.

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for a Date (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Organic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
471 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Waited to be seated 30 minutes after our reservation time. One bartender for a totally full restaurant. Service was friendly but slow. Portions seems to have gotten smaller than in the past.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Good service, but Chicken Pot Pie and mushroom pasta dish were too salty,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Great find of a restaurant. We will certainly be back for a second experience. Service was great and the food was excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Very helpful staff, excellent food. We enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Scratch made goodness at every turn. Go and go and go and go again...

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Organic, Tapas, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Great food, excellent service. We sat at the bar and the bar tender was engaging, interesting and fun. Excellent beer selection. We’ll come back for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Quaint atmosphere. Owner was pleasant. Nice environment. Host was welcoming and friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Food and service was excellent but menu is quite limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Very tasty, enjoyed a fun Christmas evening there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Our table was given to two guys who came in late for their reservation. But they gave us some cider and had a table for us pretty quickly. The food was delicious although the prime rib was not hot. The wine was good but $17.00 for a glass of house wine is rediculous. The seating was tight but everyone was friendly. We did enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Food and service exceptional. Highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or casual evening out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere was quaint. Christmas menu was delicious. Hand-made soft drinks were refreshing and bread pudding with fresh made ice cream was outstanding. The wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on December 25, 2017

We were very disappointed with our experience at Plates: the service was average and the food ordinary - in fact, the roasted turkey I selected was the toughest I ever ate. I mentioned this to the waiter and he barely acknowledged it and moved on... a very sad Christmas lunch it was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Food is unique and exceptional. All three of us agreed that every mouthful was delicious. The Brussel Sprouts were the best I have ever tasted. The figgy pudding was heavenly, perfect for Christmas Eve.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Was there for Christmas Eve, was crowded and noise, food was very good - awesome fois gras, awesome figgy pudding. Big crowd made service just ok.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2017

Food is mediocre. Service was TERRIBLE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on December 20, 2017

Parking behind the building overpriced. Found several free spots a few feet away on the side street. This was early in the evening,, 5:30. Our first visit, very pleasantly surprised. Food really good, server Collin very helpful and made our visit all e more pleasurable. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Casual, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 17, 2017

I took two foodie friends for brunch here and it was great. The food was pure comfort food and the portions were very generous. The bloody Mary was decent but could have packed a bigger punch. We loved the salmon eggs Benedict, french toast, and frittata. The atmosphere was warm and service was very friendly. It was a perfect start to a long weekend for all of us and we'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

Food was very slow coming out; other than that, it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 6, 2017

I love this place! The food is well-prepared and well-executed, and always tastes delicious. (Fried brussel sprouts appetizer is to die for!) Good selection of wines and decadent house cocktails, and attentive servers (thanks Colin!). We went to celebrate our anniversary and our server started us with 2 glasses of prosecco on the house, which was a nice touch. All in all, a great place to eat and drink with a real neighborhood feel - I recommend it highly!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Wonderful food, great service, Plates is a can't miss dining experience in the Triangle.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for the Thanksgiving dinner. Had to stand outside in the cold waiting for our table to be cleared. Wanted to order the roast beef but was told it was rare and they couldn't cook it anymore. My guest did order the roast beef - which appeared to be a large slab of fat with a little bit of medium well beef around it. The 1st course - soup and the salad were both good. The desert was also very good. The main course was a big disappointment. The service was very quick - once you finished a course, your next course would arrive promptly. The staff was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for the Thanksgiving Dinner, our first time there. The food was outstanding, and plentiful. The butternut squash soup was amazing, and choices were just right. The atmosphere was very friendly, and even though they stayed busy, the staff could not have been nicer. We look forward to eating there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Cameron , our waiter, was fantastic. Had a great recommendation for wine. Service was top notch. Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great atmosphere. Creative chef inspired dishes. Wonderful service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and we’re given 2 glasses of champagne on the house!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We have dined at Plates many times since they opened...the food is always delicious and we love that the menu changes....except for the Sticky Toffee Pudding which is devine and is a staple, signature dessert...fabulous!!! Also, don't forget that they validate parking in the lot behind the restaurant... We Love Plates!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Plates has quickly become one of our favorites . Great cocktails - and they don’t skimp on the alcohol .
The food is AMAZING - menu is always changing and has yet to disappoint . There is enough variety to please anyone without being overwhelming . The wait staff is superb- you never feel rushed .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food at Plates is wonderful. A quite bistro with great food, wine, beer and craft cocktails. We sat outside on a beautiful fall evening under heaters, with blankets on offer...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is a great place on Glenwood. My wife and I shared a few small plates and they were all good. The kale Caesar salad and brussel sprouts were amazing. We ordered a charcuterie which was also great. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Every time we go we are never disappointed. The food is fresh and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food tasted great but it took 2 hours total from sitting down to leaving after eating. Service for everyone in the restaurant took exponentially longer than it should have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Location, atmosphere, were perfect! Was looking forward to a great meal. Had reservations and was seated right away. Water appeared immediately, but after that went downhill. Eventually ordered a drink from the bar which was immediately behind us. Took 30 plus min to get. Ordered appetizer and food. 30 min later an incorrect appetizer was brought ... we declined. No one to order another drink. 45 min after ordering food waitress comes to say one of the meals was sold out. No problem we ordered a different one. However I witnessed 2 other tables that received this entree , and they had been seated and ordered long after us. I think she forgot to place our order originally. Food finally arrives and is Luke warm and just average. Too many other great places to go. Not impressed with service or food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Had high expectations and a little disappointed. Very slow service but the food was good when it came.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

I cannot believe I did not know about this place before today. They’re celebrating their four your anniversary and I hope they’re here for a lot longer. The food was amazing staff was friendly and knowledgeable the bartender makes drinks that are superb. I would highly recommend checking them out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant with farm to table offerings. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great time and meal!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We enjoyed our experience at Plates. The service was excellent, knowledgeable but engaged with our tastes. Food was wonderful. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

What a great find! Food and drinks were amazing and extremely reasonable. Very innovative recipes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2017

As usual spot-on for Sunday brunch as well as for all aspects of dining. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.