Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Plates Kitchen

For twenty years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
International, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: Dinner 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Free parking in the lot behind our building (enter on Lane Street). Take note of your parking space and license plate number and have it ready for our host so that we can validate your vehicle (there is no parking attendant).

All Raleigh city street parking is free after 5pm on weekdays and all weekend long.

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Santucci

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Brennan: (919) 828-0018

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include special pairing dinners and neighborhood tastings. Check the plateskitchen.com for details.

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for “Plates for the World," a gourmet 3-course Thanksgiving dinner. $42 per person (includes tax & gratuity). $20 from each meal sold will be donated to Rise Against Hunger to support their mission to end world hunger. 12:00 - 5:00 pm. Full menu available on our website www.plateskitchen.com

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Casual (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Healthy (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Seasonal (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (6)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vegan (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating our anniversary and we’re given 2 glasses of champagne on the house!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined at Plates many times since they opened...the food is always delicious and we love that the menu changes....except for the Sticky Toffee Pudding which is devine and is a staple, signature dessert...fabulous!!! Also, don't forget that they validate parking in the lot behind the restaurant... We Love Plates!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Plates has quickly become one of our favorites . Great cocktails - and they don’t skimp on the alcohol .
The food is AMAZING - menu is always changing and has yet to disappoint . There is enough variety to please anyone without being overwhelming . The wait staff is superb- you never feel rushed .

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2017

The food at Plates is wonderful. A quite bistro with great food, wine, beer and craft cocktails. We sat outside on a beautiful fall evening under heaters, with blankets on offer...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is a great place on Glenwood. My wife and I shared a few small plates and they were all good. The kale Caesar salad and brussel sprouts were amazing. We ordered a charcuterie which was also great. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Every time we go we are never disappointed. The food is fresh and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Food tasted great but it took 2 hours total from sitting down to leaving after eating. Service for everyone in the restaurant took exponentially longer than it should have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Location, atmosphere, were perfect! Was looking forward to a great meal. Had reservations and was seated right away. Water appeared immediately, but after that went downhill. Eventually ordered a drink from the bar which was immediately behind us. Took 30 plus min to get. Ordered appetizer and food. 30 min later an incorrect appetizer was brought ... we declined. No one to order another drink. 45 min after ordering food waitress comes to say one of the meals was sold out. No problem we ordered a different one. However I witnessed 2 other tables that received this entree , and they had been seated and ordered long after us. I think she forgot to place our order originally. Food finally arrives and is Luke warm and just average. Too many other great places to go. Not impressed with service or food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Had high expectations and a little disappointed. Very slow service but the food was good when it came.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 3, 2017

I cannot believe I did not know about this place before today. They’re celebrating their four your anniversary and I hope they’re here for a lot longer. The food was amazing staff was friendly and knowledgeable the bartender makes drinks that are superb. I would highly recommend checking them out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 30, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant with farm to table offerings. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great time and meal!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We enjoyed our experience at Plates. The service was excellent, knowledgeable but engaged with our tastes. Food was wonderful. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

What a great find! Food and drinks were amazing and extremely reasonable. Very innovative recipes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 22, 2017

As usual spot-on for Sunday brunch as well as for all aspects of dining. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Excellent--and less expensive--cocktail of the week

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I was disappointed in the food quality and preparation. The fried Brussels sprouts were on the salty side and the boneless pork chop had gristle. We ordered a side of bread since none comes with dinner and we received white bread, cut in strips, which were dry and cold. Had to ask the waiter for butter. The ambiance is great, especially on the patio, but very disappointed in the food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Crab beignets. So good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food was remarkable, and the portion were pretty large but too good to leave anything on the plate.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our first visit and we will be back real soon. Outstanding selection of salads and a nice mix of small and large plates. We had the trout and tuna, both were well-prepared. Emphasis on local produce. Service outstanding; made our two dogs feel very welcome on the patio. Be sure to get the sticky pudding for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2017

I dined here before attending a wine tasting nearby. I really enjoyed the Fuji apple salad which had thin sticks of apple with peanuts, pepita, greens and a really yummy goat cheese and a nice vinaigrette which complemented the other salad ingredients. For my entrée I had bass which was very tender and had a nice sauce. There was also a cauliflower and turnip puree and pumpkin squash. The restaurant has a nice selection of wines including some by the glass. I tried sips of a dry Riesling and of an Albarino before deciding to have the Riesling. I noted a Rioja among the red wines. That evening they were also offering a Bourbon and barbeque pairing. Apparently they have special events fairly often and I put my name down for their emails. The setting is casual and includes patio dining in decent weather.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Plates was great! The service was wonderful, and the menu was small and fabulous. There were options for every major dietary restriction, which is wonderful. I would definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Outstanding food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Overall good experience. The service was impeccable but the food was average. Had the tuna, Wife had the pork chop, and daughter had the short ribs. Nothing taste spectacular though. Kind of pricey for the quality and taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

What a find ! Had this on a list of " must tries" - sorry we waited so long . The signatures cocktails were awesome .
Although the menu is not extensive there is enough variety to please everyone . The service was excellent and our waiter Colin was very informative . Food was great - and priced well . This is a definite go to spot for us now ,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lots of ambiance and nice quiet dining spot; very knowledgeable host and wait staff

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Super food and Very attentive staff. Local produce is used in many of the servings. Cocktails made with locally produced moonshine.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service and Food! presentation was excellent and everything was fresh and tasty.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Overall we had a great experience at plates for our brunch date! The food was phenomenal (we had the pork hash and the French toast) and the Bellinis didn't disappoint. We did have some issues with the timing - we waited for 30 minutes to order and another 30 for our food. The manager did everything he could to make our experience better, we'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went for a brunch, sat outside which was lovely. The wait was long for our food because there were two large parties seated right before us, but they made up for it by comping our mimosas. The food was also really worth the wait! I had the pimento cheese biscuit with eggs and it was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place looked adorable when I looked up what was close and serving brunch on a Sunday. I was visiting and not familiar with the area. It was good I had made a reservation about 2 hours before we went, because there were not taking guests without one when we arrived. The patio is amazing and possibly larger than the inside seating area! We sat and the long and high top table outside, but didn't mind sharing with strangers.

Our server initially came out and got our order right away, but then we didn't get our drinks until our meals came out. We never got our appetizer and decided not to say anything since they seemed short staffed. The owner was helping run food as well. I couldn't decide if that was due to the short staff or if he is a hands on owner and people person? I heard the beignets are delicious, so order that appetizer if you get a chance!

The ambiance, food and drinks were AMAZING! We tried the pulled pork Benedict, brunch bowl and peach bellini, to die for! I love cracking the egg yolk, if cooked correctly, to see it coat the delicious ingredients. This is gluten free and could be made vegan. The I hope to try the frittata next time!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Attentive service and food is consistently good! Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place is certainly a hidden gem. We came here for Brunch. The customer service is impeccable and the food was equally awesome!! The mimosas were strong....just the way I like them. Because they didn't have honey mustard, the owner made us some from scratch. You can definitely tell everything is fresh. I would highly recommend this place. We will be back!!! I would recommend a reservation for Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent and would recommend worth the drive or walk.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved it! We visited for Raleigh's Restaurant Week and the food was delicious! The s'mores dessert was my favorite part, you should add it to your regular dessert menu! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Restaurant week menu was lacking in flavor. The oyster appetizer was bland (2 oysters?) and the tuna fresh catch was also. Nothing really 'wow' about either. The wait staff was attentive and the outdoor dining was very pleasant. I'd go back and try Plates again, as we liked the location and ambiance. We've been to other Restaurant Week places whose special menus were fabulous. Hoping the next visit we will get a true feel for the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The restaurant was quite busy and the kitchen seemed unable to keep up.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Nice Restaurant Week selections. Patio is nice-tranquil despite being on a main road.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Plates is always wonderful!! Service was great, we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I went during restaurant week and was pleased with the food and service. I've yet to have a bad experience at Plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.