Plates Kitchen

4.5
548 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Neighborhood Gem
For twenty four years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Lunch
Mon–Fri 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(919) 828-0018
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Stephen Day
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Chris Brennan: (919) 828-0018
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lane Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking in the lot behind our building (enter on Lane Street). Take note of your parking space and license plate number and have it ready for our host so that we can validate your vehicle (there is no parking attendant).

All Raleigh city street parking is free after 5pm on weekdays and all weekend long.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 548 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.4
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was great as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We tried Plates Kitchen for Brunch on Father's Day this year, and they did not disappoint! We arrived earlier than our reservation time, but we were invited to sit at the bar, which we did. The bartender was very attentive and friendly, and some diners at at the bar, as well. We waited for our table, but got beverages while waiting. The owner escorted us to our table, and the wait staff was very efficient and friendly, so great service. This is a "cozy" restaurant, very casual, that offers good, reasonably-priced food. Seating options include outdoor dining on Glenwood Avenue, near NCSU & the "college scene".

Try it! You won't be sorry......

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Customer Service! Very friendly staff, cleanliness was spot on and food was great. We ordered from the brunch menu- lots to choose from.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We had delicious food with a very accommodating staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Brunch was great, chef’s homage jam is amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Absolutely delicious. Had the bacon, egg, and avocado croissant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

This was my first time at Plates and OMG!!!!!!! I saw a delicious looking Salmon dish online and my mouth was watering just thinking about it. I walked in with my friend and we immediately looked at the menu and were disappointed. The dish we were craving was on last month's menu. Stephanie (our server) came over to our table as we told her we were looking for something specific. She told us to wait a minute as she went to the back. When she returned John (the chef) was right behind her. They both told us they can make whatever we want....EVERYTHING is made fresh here! We were in heaven. He created a DELICIOUS salmon dish with rice/veggies and another one with mashed potatoes/veggies. We wanted to take John home with us. HE WAS AMAZING and made us feel like he was OUR private chef! The entire staff was so warm and friendly.....the atmosphere is inviting and we are SOOOO glad we stayed. We will DEFINITELY return to be WOWd by another awesome creation. Stephanie was the absolute best and made sure our first experience was memorable and enjoyable. Needless to say, we left there completely satisfied and ready for a nap! Thank you PLATES!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Went here for brunch and had a great experience. Our server Alex provided great recommendations and was super sweet. The food was great, I highly recommend their Bloody Mary, their croque madame, and their huevos rancheros!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Food was fabulous meal of deep dried whole fish which we used to build a fresh taco feast at the table. It was delicious and the service was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

I eat here one time before and thought it would be great to bring a collie here. Service is amazing! I had the short ribs the last time which was absolutely delicious but they were out of them this Monday night. I tried the shrimp and grits. I've had better shrimp and grits, only three shrimp in this dish, but the waiter told me that upfront so that was fine. It is a smaller portion then you typically would get somewhere else but was perfect for me and I didn't even finish it. We had the fried oysters for an appetizer and they were absolutely perfect. I would definitely recommend coming back to this restaurant and again the service it's just simply amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Though the menu is limited, everything was delicious, well prepared, beautifully presented and well portioned. I had duck spring rolls and soft shelled crabs; my wife had a seasonal soup and a delicious pork tenderloin. Very pleasant wait staff. We shall return. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

It was really nice. My salmon meal was PERFECT. We liked the use of fresh and local foods. We were able to stay a long time without being disturbed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

As always, Plates nailed it. Celebrated Mothers' Day with dinner and drinks. Truly wonderful. Spectacular food, perfect craft cocktails, and excellent staff. Thank you Alex!! Without a doubt, my favorite spot :) .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was a great restaurant with great food. My only complaint is that we had 2 birthdays, and we told our server, but the server must have forgotten, so we got up and left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Really enjoyed our first visit to Plates. We went on a Sat morning — 11:15 brunch. Plenty of parking nearby. Hostess and waitstaff were terrific. Menu had good variety and they were very willing to accommodate special requests. For example, one member of our party was avoiding cards and they were happy to switch the potatoes with either a salad or half an avocado. Our waitress was outstanding - patient w questions, knowledgable, attentive to our needs w/o being too involved.
The food was all delicious. We had a variety of things — burger, French toast, eggs and breakfast burrito. All great! Loved the option for coffee too - drip or french press.
Overall, a great experience! Definitely recommend and will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Plates typically has great service and food, however, that was not the case this time. The food was average and the service was all over the place.

We will go back, but our expectations have definitely been lowered.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We both ordered the short ribs. They were cooked perfectly,; very tender and awesome sauce. However, while we enjoyed the dinner, proportions were on the small side for the price.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Had dinner at Plates with 3 friends last night at 7 pm on the patio. The atmosphere was good except for all the motorcycle drivers with their noise but that does not reflect on the restaurant. The drinks were good and the cheese plate was excellent. It was only 7 pm and since they only have six entrees, as one might imagine, choices were limited.

I ended up with the Jerk chicken. It was tasty on the outside yet dry on the inside. The rice side was good but the collards were too “stemmy.”

Confusion reined at settling the bill as the waitress messed up the credit cards.

This was my fourth visit here and to be honest, it rates no where close to the other three visits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Came here for my birthday dinner with my family, it was our first visit, we were blown away! The cocktails were AMAZING, the food was delicious and the staff was very friendly! I would highly recommend checking this place out, menu is seasonal as well as drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Wonderful service, excellent food! The shrimp and grits were fantastic and the mimosas are well worth $3! I will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The atmosphere of Plates is casual and inviting. A nice bar and good outdoor seating. We ate indoors because of the chilly damp weather. We ordered the duck spring rolls for an appetizer. The duck spring rolls were good dipped in the hoison sauce. Two in our party had the tomato bisque, which had good flavor but was oversalted. They also ordered the braised short rib, which comes with green beans and mashers. The flavor was good but the meat was extremely tough, requiring a steak knife and much chewing. Half of one was left on the plate. My crispy duck breast in maple syrup sauce was served with snap peas and gnocchi. It was near perfect, lacking only in crispiness. The sauce and peas were excellent. The gnocchi, though very tasty, was sparse, insufficient for the meal. I ordered some bread to make up for the lack of gnocchi, but it arrived near the end of the meal. The few thin slices of bread were scarfed up by all, even though no butter was offered, indicating all were hungry after the meal. We opted for dessert at home. My wife reported that her sea bass served over veg and a tomato sauce was also quite good. The wine list is short, but the offerings all looked of high quality. The Crasto Duoro paired well with the duck. The service was friendly and welcoming but lacked attention to detail. Prices were reasonable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Really good food with good service. More informal than expected but great experience. Hidden gem. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food was so delicious. We went for Sunday brunch, we were celebrating our anniversary weekend. My husband ordered the breakfast burrito with homefries and I ordered the French toast casserole and bacon. We split it and each item was delicious. We enjoyed our morning there. The waitress was really nice and friendly. There were children there and groups and other couples. We sat inside but there is plenty of outdoor seating as well. We plan to visit again. The pricing was reasonable.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

First time. Carly, our server, was excellent. Food was great. Will definitely be visiting again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

This was our first experience eating here at Plates. The Duck was amazing and also the Duck appetizers were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent as always. Our group had the fried oysters & spring roll appetizers, and entrees were duck breast, tagliatelle w/mushrooms, & steak frites. Our server was new and forgot to order a couple of items, but we had more than enough to eat. I highly recommend Plates!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The food and the service we're both sxcellent. Brianna did an excellent job from start with the wine service, to the finish with dessert. The mushroom lnguine and the bass were cooked well. The noise level rose as the place filled up, but was part of the ambiance and not overwhelming. We will be back again to the little gem!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Not nearly as good as previous visits. No one in group loved their meal. Charcuterie appetizer small and uninspired. Duck, chicken dishes just ok. Eggplant rollitini was a flavorless soupy mess. Kale salad was tough. Hope they can return to their former higher standards.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Server didn’t tell us the specials then charged us for drink we did not want. Disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great place to go with friends. Crab cakes delicious! Burger and Mojo chicken are great choices. Be sure to sit outside on a nice day/evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

The food was good but very small portions including a glass of wine. Service was great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I stopped here for lunch before a business appointment. It was a very nice day for utilizing the patio so I ate outdoors. I had the special of half a chicken salad wrap with a cup of squash soup. Both were quite tasty. The wrap included apples, grapes and other healthy and flavorful ingredients and was quite easy to handle. The server seemed to have a number of tables to see to so service was not always quick, but was acceptable. I will return here for dinner or lunch on other occasions.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Dirty and prices don’t match the integrity of the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Very nice. Food ok. Service excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch was very rushed even though they weren't that busy when we were there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The crab cakes and fried oysters were amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Always love coming to Plates. Their menu is every changing, yet they still are consistent. We love sitting at the bar and having Jeremy make some of the best cocktails we have found in Raleigh!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The Sunday roast was amazing, as was the charcuterie board!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Overall, it was a good experience. The only negatives is that they charged me $2 for soda water and the server took up my plate before my friend was done so she was left eating solo and I find that very rude. Good food and very friendly atmosphere. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Eat at Plates for the first time and was very impressed. Food, atmosphere and service all great. It was a cold rainy night and walking into the warm cozy restaurant was delightful.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14

Tweets by Plates Kitchen