About Plates Kitchen

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

For twenty years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: Dinner 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Discounted parking with validation voucher (collect at Plates host stand) located in our lot behind the restaurant. Street parking available on Lane St. (free during all business hours) and on Glenwood Ave. (free weekends and M-F after 5pm).

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Santucci

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Laprarie: 9198280018x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include live music and special dinners. Check the website for details.

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Outdoor Dining
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

great for outdoor dining (45)
fit for foodies (40)
neighborhood gem (33)
See All
special occasion (16)
great for brunch (14)
good for groups (13)
great for lunch (10)
notable wine list (10)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have always enjoyed eating at Plates ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have always enjoyed eating at Plates but this Saturday in the midst of a major rainstorm with very significant lightning we were seated with a reservation outside barely under the awning. When we questioned the table we were told this was our table. Our waiter tried to move us back further under the awning as our table was getting wet but there was another Table behind us so no where to go. We typically have great service but this night our waiter was more interested in the group behind us.i had to give him an order at that otherTable for an appetizer that he did not inquire about after bringing the wine.Very disappointed in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The toffee pudding! So we tried plates f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The toffee pudding!

So we tried plates for the 1st time and I wasn't disappointed. We had the corn and crab beignets and they were fantastic. My entree was good as well but the star of the meal was definitely dessert the toffee pudding was so good I wanted to lick the plate. I will definitely go back even if it is just for that. The staff was also very friendly and attentive. It was a great date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My 2nd trip to Plates. Food was very goo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My 2nd trip to Plates. Food was very good but we sat outside and had to fight flies more so than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to have dinner outside (or i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place to have dinner outside (or inside) - constantly changing menu means that there is always something new to explore. We very much enjoy the wine selection as well. Hope to return many more times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nicely prepared food with emphasis on fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

nicely prepared food with emphasis on fresh local ingredients. Outside dining is pleasant when weather permits. The interior space, however, is a bit drab.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice ambiance at outdoor tables

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice ambiance at outdoor tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The owner and his staff love making grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The owner and his staff love making great food-- you can tell by the care and enthusiasm they have, the ever-changing menu, and the effort they go to for locally sourced ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive server; friendly and help ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very attentive server; friendly and helpful. Each person "licked their plates clean!" It was a beautiful Father's Day to sit outside and the traffic noise was very minimal. We will return. And don't miss the crab beignets!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh food, small plates, interesting fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fresh food, small plates, interesting food combinations, excellent and reasonably priced wine selection, attentive but unobtrusive service and quiet dining--in short, all my requirements. My only wish would be for a slightly larger entrée selection with a few more vegetarian options.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience at Plat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Plates. My husband and I were the only ones sitting outside (not sure why, it was a lovely evening) and the outside space is great. Far away from the road that you are not disturbed and with ample space and tables. Service was excellent but I felt we were rushed through (perhaps because it was so quiet?) and had no time to sit leisurely between starters, main and dessert (which were all good). We were there for just an hour. We were there during the Raleigh special price week - but 2 diners at 30USD each with 3 drinks was over 80 USD, so I would have liked to 'linger'.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We tried the restaurant week menu and it ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu and it was excellent.

Looks like the menu changes constantly - so we look forward to trying out many new things. Really enjoyed some of the wines as well - great selection. We had reservations for inside, but decided to sit outside instead since the weather was so nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing special. I don't think it lived ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nothing special. I don't think it lived up to its 4 1/2 star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Wonderful place!!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Food was good as well. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service. Food was good as well. Fun date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Charming Restaurant with Great Service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place has an intimate, but fun feel to it. The staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. The food is elegantly displayed and the proportions are plentiful. We enjoyed an incredible S'mores Cheesecake that was well worth the calories!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! The food was a great value ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

What a find! The food was a great value very reasonable prices for absolutely delicious high quality dishes - less than $50 for a nice cheese plate, duck leg entree, and a nice steak dinner salad. We did not sample cocktails this time around, but certainly will be back to try more items. Great service. We ate out on the patio at sunset, and the shade was the icing on the cake for a great experience. Would absolutely recommend for any date night, special occasion, or even a simple friends get-together.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service with no bang

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Went here for Sunday brunch with 2 friends around 12:30pm. The server forgot to put in the drink order for one of us, additionally they were out of almost all the ingredients needed to make half the cocktails on their brunch menu. The food was good but the portions were very small and not filling. One friend decided to skip food since they had ran out of the necessary ingredients to make the grilled cheese on their menu (they ran out of cheese and bread). It really did seem like the restaurant was running on its backup team, had not restocked the bar from previous night and decided to cut food portions down to kid size...i still don't understand how they ran out of cheese and bread. Need to let the patrons know what is and whats not available on the menu prior to them asking for it.

I have heard good things about this place and will give it another try sometime, but my initial experience was dismal at best.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

My wife and I went here for dinner a cou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went here for dinner a couple of weeks ago. We got the pork belly appetizer and it was much tougher that what we're used to. For entrées, we had the pork tenderloin and catch of the day which was red snapper. The flavors were there but the pork dish was cold and one piece of the fish had several bones in it. The service was good but could have checked on us more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

This place never disappoints! Totally ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This place never disappoints! Totally underrated. Great steak, pork, and seafood options. Just go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent pulled chicken sandwich for br ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent pulled chicken sandwich for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent food, nice atmosphere, but overpriced

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I thought the food and drinks were decent, but not incredible. You don't have much to choose from, it is a seasonal menu, so there are only about 5 options for appetizers and 5 options for entrees. I thought the crab and corn beignets were really good. But both are entrees were just okay, I wouldn't eat them again and for the price, it definitely wasn't worth it.

Although the wait staff was very nice, they weren't very attentive and service was very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Outstanding visit--we have visited numer ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding visit--we have visited numerous times and consistently receive quality food, excellent service, and leave feeling satisfied. Hidden treasure in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food. Not fantastic.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was solid, but not as tasty as I anticipated. Great drink menu and cocktails. Great location. Limited menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Awesome food, excellent service, great a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Awesome food, excellent service, great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for brunch!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food Small Portions

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We spent Mother's Day Brunch at Plates Kitchen and the food had good flavor. The portions were small though for the price. My wife had the quiche (small slice), my daughter had a delicious salad (again small portion for the price) and I had the French Toast.

We enjoyed the dishes, but we were not satisfied and were hungry. The service was good and the staff is friendly. My daughter recommends the ice coffee drink, which is Plates on creation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

First time at Plates

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant, though we had been to this space many times before when it was Zely & Ritz. The menu is limited, though everything is fresh and local, and I believe it changes frequently. I had the fish of the day (sheepshead), which was served with black rice, a bean paste, ramps, and pea pods. It was tasty and done just right. The wine pairing, a blended white, was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food. Had a the minors with th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic food. Had a the minors with the steak and eggs for brunch. Solid menu. Polite and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fun place, interesting food choices

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Appetizers were delicious. Wait staff was friendly and attentive. Food was nicely seasoned and presented well but several of the sides and main dishes were served room temp to cold, which was not what we were expecting from the descriptions. We will go back. Great place for people watching!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant to visit in Raleigh!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food! We had a difficult time deciding which entree was our favorite as all were absolutely delicious and beautifully presented.

........great staff also!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food in a creative atmosphere

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Plates knows how to marry flavors that you never thought would appeal together. This casual dining gem is relaxed and friendly. The menu may seem sparse, but everyone finds something appealing and I'm always surprised by the creative flair coming out of the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was fresh and tasty. Very nice set up. I would highly recommend anyone to at least try this place once.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely place but if you want something s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Lovely place but if you want something specific you see on the menu, call ahead cause they change their menu without updating it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Vegetarian pasta was fantastic!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Vegetarian pasta was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

A very nice place for relaxed excellence

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a great dinner at Plates before an NC Symphony concert. It's not a fancy place - some tables outside, tables arrayed in rows inside so they can change group sizes, but the quality of the service and the food is outstanding. My wife and I both had crab beignets for appetizers. Say what? It so worked - fortunately with no powdered sugar on the surface. Delicious. And our mains (both fish) were well prepared. I liked my sticky toffee pudding dessert. Good wine selection, and excellent service. Highly recommended! We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is excellent though they don't ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is excellent though they don't accommodate food allergies and do not have a children's menu. They also charged extra for olives and okra in the Bloody Mary ($1 each). The service was fairly inattentive and unfriendly. The waitress disappeared from the dining room while we waited for part of our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Far better Raleigh choices at these price points

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food at Plates is good, but not overwhelmingly so, and the menu is not terribly inventive. I'd go to any number of alternative restaurants before going back to Plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Excellent service and excellent food!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The service and food was impeccable and it all came at a reasonable price! After all were done, we all felt very satisfied and like we had been through a gastronomic delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We will be back! The scallop dish is one of the best scallop dishes I have ever had!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab beignets were amazing. Also enj ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The crab beignets were amazing. Also enjoyed the scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.