About Plates Kitchen

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

For twenty years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: Dinner 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Discounted parking with validation voucher (collect at Plates host stand) located in our lot behind the restaurant. Street parking available on Lane St. (free during all business hours) and on Glenwood Ave. (free weekends and M-F after 5pm).

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Santucci

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Laprarie: 9198280018x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include live music and special dinners. Check the website for details.

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Outdoor Dining
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

Fit for Foodies (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First visit, recommended by friends. We' ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

First visit, recommended by friends. We'll be back.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love how the menu changes. I had a red v ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Love how the menu changes. I had a red velvet Creme brûlée that was absolutely out of this world! The food is spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service, as was the food... ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had great service, as was the food.... everyone loved their dishes. All 5 of us🤗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the food and the waitress was s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We loved the food and the waitress was super nice. The olive oil ice cream was very unique, we loved the idea. Blue cheese ice cream not so much. But for the rest the food was excellent. My husband was also extremely happy to find Belgian beer. He is a big fan of that.

You might want to check for ants and cockroaches in the outside area. We had some lovely visitors during our dinner. Luckily not on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience over all....the only ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing experience over all....the only thing is that they change their menu constantly, so if there is a specific item you enjoy... it may not be there next time..fortunately, this is a way to experience new things. I am open to it and highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, but not great. Love the o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was good, but not great. Love the outdoor seating area and vibe of the patio. Wine was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Fantastic unusual cuisine! Absolutely lo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic unusual cuisine! Absolutely loved the food that tasted fresh and looked fabulous. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They just do a wonderful job of preparin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

They just do a wonderful job of preparing locally sourced food in an unpretentious cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always delicious and the ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is always delicious and the service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went here for our 5 year anniversary. Th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went here for our 5 year anniversary. The patio is really nice at night. The food was so fresh and delicious. Really fun, energetic place. Wonderful experience for sure!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for my birthday dinner and I lov ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We came for my birthday dinner and I loved it. Wonderful menu - especially the Restaurant Week menu we enjoyed. Great food, great service. We were very happy with our experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent variety of plates. Delicious ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Excellent variety of plates. Delicious food. Excellent service. Helpful choices/ personally of waitress.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love the location and atmosphere. Food a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love the location and atmosphere. Food and service was average

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Visited Plates Kitchen during Downtown R ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Visited Plates Kitchen during Downtown Raleigh Restaurant Week, our food was amazing and the service exceptional. Will most definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service!! Enjoyed i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great food and great service!! Enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and servcie. One of the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic food and servcie. One of the best meals I have had in raleigh. I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening😃

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Outstanding evening😃

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Plates for Raleigh Restauran ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We dined at Plates for Raleigh Restaurant week. The server(s) were wonderful. Offered great suggestions and were very knowledgeable about all dishes and drinks. The servers also were attentive without being interruptive. All of the food was good, though I wouldn't go so far as to call them creative or unique. Of the 6 dishes we got, the creme brulee was both of our favorites. We also ordered two cocktails and both were excellent. I'd go back at least for dessert and a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went there for Raleigh restaurant week h ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Went there for Raleigh restaurant week had good three course meals, craft cocktails were good. Opened with local greens and prosciutto salad and kickin jerked beef cheeks, good entrees of short rib and grouper and nice desserts. Friendly staff - good place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything wonderful-delicious and very ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything wonderful-delicious and very well-presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was wonderful. The service was ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our meal was wonderful. The service was pretty good. It started off a little rocky – we ordered drinks when we sat down, but we were actually served our appetizer before the drinks arrived – however, that was the last misstep. (And our server had informed us that they were a little short-handed in the bar this evening, so we were prepared.) We started with the cheese plate, which was a little skimpy for 3 diners, but absolutely delicious with house-made pickled onions and grapes. It was really hard to make up our minds on the entrees because everything listed sounded so yummy. I had the scallops with field-pea succotash, and it was perfect: not only were the scallops cooked to perfection but the peas were too, with just the right amount of crunch provided by the Johnston Co. prosciutto. My dinner companions opted for the pork tenderloin (exceptional!), and the catch of the day (tilefish). The tilefish was also perfectly cooked and the mango/pepper/onion salsa was a great complement, although it needed a little more texture. For dessert, we tried the French silk pie and the espresso brulee. They were both delicious, but I have to say that the brulee was truly “to-die-for-right-now”! I went with one of the suggested wine pairings on the menu and was not disappointed. Plus we started a conversation with the interesting folks sitting next to us on the banquette….and the owner, Steve, came by to check on us and say hello. Quite an enjoyable evening at Plates, and we’ll be back – hopefully sooner rather than later!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have always enjoyed eating at Plates ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have always enjoyed eating at Plates but this Saturday in the midst of a major rainstorm with very significant lightning we were seated with a reservation outside barely under the awning. When we questioned the table we were told this was our table. Our waiter tried to move us back further under the awning as our table was getting wet but there was another Table behind us so no where to go. We typically have great service but this night our waiter was more interested in the group behind us.i had to give him an order at that otherTable for an appetizer that he did not inquire about after bringing the wine.Very disappointed in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The toffee pudding! So we tried plates f ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The toffee pudding!

So we tried plates for the 1st time and I wasn't disappointed. We had the corn and crab beignets and they were fantastic. My entree was good as well but the star of the meal was definitely dessert the toffee pudding was so good I wanted to lick the plate. I will definitely go back even if it is just for that. The staff was also very friendly and attentive. It was a great date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My 2nd trip to Plates. Food was very goo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My 2nd trip to Plates. Food was very good but we sat outside and had to fight flies more so than expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to have dinner outside (or i ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place to have dinner outside (or inside) - constantly changing menu means that there is always something new to explore. We very much enjoy the wine selection as well. Hope to return many more times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nicely prepared food with emphasis on fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

nicely prepared food with emphasis on fresh local ingredients. Outside dining is pleasant when weather permits. The interior space, however, is a bit drab.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice ambiance at outdoor tables

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Nice ambiance at outdoor tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The owner and his staff love making grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The owner and his staff love making great food-- you can tell by the care and enthusiasm they have, the ever-changing menu, and the effort they go to for locally sourced ingredients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very attentive server; friendly and help ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very attentive server; friendly and helpful. Each person "licked their plates clean!" It was a beautiful Father's Day to sit outside and the traffic noise was very minimal. We will return. And don't miss the crab beignets!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh food, small plates, interesting fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Fresh food, small plates, interesting food combinations, excellent and reasonably priced wine selection, attentive but unobtrusive service and quiet dining--in short, all my requirements. My only wish would be for a slightly larger entrée selection with a few more vegetarian options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience at Plat ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Plates. My husband and I were the only ones sitting outside (not sure why, it was a lovely evening) and the outside space is great. Far away from the road that you are not disturbed and with ample space and tables. Service was excellent but I felt we were rushed through (perhaps because it was so quiet?) and had no time to sit leisurely between starters, main and dessert (which were all good). We were there for just an hour. We were there during the Raleigh special price week - but 2 diners at 30USD each with 3 drinks was over 80 USD, so I would have liked to 'linger'.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We tried the restaurant week menu and it ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu and it was excellent.

Looks like the menu changes constantly - so we look forward to trying out many new things. Really enjoyed some of the wines as well - great selection. We had reservations for inside, but decided to sit outside instead since the weather was so nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing special. I don't think it lived ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Nothing special. I don't think it lived up to its 4 1/2 star rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Wonderful place!!!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Food was good as well. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service. Food was good as well. Fun date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Charming Restaurant with Great Service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This place has an intimate, but fun feel to it. The staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. The food is elegantly displayed and the proportions are plentiful. We enjoyed an incredible S'mores Cheesecake that was well worth the calories!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! The food was a great value ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

What a find! The food was a great value very reasonable prices for absolutely delicious high quality dishes - less than $50 for a nice cheese plate, duck leg entree, and a nice steak dinner salad. We did not sample cocktails this time around, but certainly will be back to try more items. Great service. We ate out on the patio at sunset, and the shade was the icing on the cake for a great experience. Would absolutely recommend for any date night, special occasion, or even a simple friends get-together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for Sunday brunch with 2 frien ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Went here for Sunday brunch with 2 friends around 12:30pm. The server forgot to put in the drink order for one of us, additionally they were out of almost all the ingredients needed to make half the cocktails on their brunch menu. The food was good but the portions were very small and not filling. One friend decided to skip food since they had ran out of the necessary ingredients to make the grilled cheese on their menu (they ran out of cheese and bread). It really did seem like the restaurant was running on its backup team, had not restocked the bar from previous night and decided to cut food portions down to kid size...i still don't understand how they ran out of cheese and bread. Need to let the patrons know what is and whats not available on the menu prior to them asking for it.

I have heard good things about this place and will give it another try sometime, but my initial experience was dismal at best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

My wife and I went here for dinner a cou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went here for dinner a couple of weeks ago. We got the pork belly appetizer and it was much tougher that what we're used to. For entrées, we had the pork tenderloin and catch of the day which was red snapper. The flavors were there but the pork dish was cold and one piece of the fish had several bones in it. The service was good but could have checked on us more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.