Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.33mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Plates Kitchen

For twenty years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Southern, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: Dinner 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:00pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Free parking in the lot behind our building (enter on Lane Street). Take note of your parking space and license plate number and have it ready for our host so that we can validate your vehicle (there is no parking attendant).

All Raleigh city street parking is free after 5pm on weekdays and all weekend long.

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Santucci

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Brennan: (919) 828-0018

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include special pairing dinners and neighborhood tastings. Check the plateskitchen.com for details.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Casual (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Local Ingredients (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Organic (5)
Romantic (5)
Seasonal (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

What a find ! Had this on a list of " must tries" - sorry we waited so long . The signatures cocktails were awesome .
Although the menu is not extensive there is enough variety to please everyone . The service was excellent and our waiter Colin was very informative . Food was great - and priced well . This is a definite go to spot for us now ,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lots of ambiance and nice quiet dining spot; very knowledgeable host and wait staff

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Super food and Very attentive staff. Local produce is used in many of the servings. Cocktails made with locally produced moonshine.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service and Food! presentation was excellent and everything was fresh and tasty.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Overall we had a great experience at plates for our brunch date! The food was phenomenal (we had the pork hash and the French toast) and the Bellinis didn't disappoint. We did have some issues with the timing - we waited for 30 minutes to order and another 30 for our food. The manager did everything he could to make our experience better, we'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went for a brunch, sat outside which was lovely. The wait was long for our food because there were two large parties seated right before us, but they made up for it by comping our mimosas. The food was also really worth the wait! I had the pimento cheese biscuit with eggs and it was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Attentive service and food is consistently good! Look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This place is certainly a hidden gem. We came here for Brunch. The customer service is impeccable and the food was equally awesome!! The mimosas were strong....just the way I like them. Because they didn't have honey mustard, the owner made us some from scratch. You can definitely tell everything is fresh. I would highly recommend this place. We will be back!!! I would recommend a reservation for Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent and would recommend worth the drive or walk.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Loved it! We visited for Raleigh's Restaurant Week and the food was delicious! The s'mores dessert was my favorite part, you should add it to your regular dessert menu! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Restaurant week menu was lacking in flavor. The oyster appetizer was bland (2 oysters?) and the tuna fresh catch was also. Nothing really 'wow' about either. The wait staff was attentive and the outdoor dining was very pleasant. I'd go back and try Plates again, as we liked the location and ambiance. We've been to other Restaurant Week places whose special menus were fabulous. Hoping the next visit we will get a true feel for the place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The restaurant was quite busy and the kitchen seemed unable to keep up.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Nice Restaurant Week selections. Patio is nice-tranquil despite being on a main road.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Plates is always wonderful!! Service was great, we can't wait to go back!

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I went during restaurant week and was pleased with the food and service. I've yet to have a bad experience at Plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Went there during restaurant week, so understandably, they had a limited menu. But when you're offering/cooking a limited number of items, that should mean that you do them well, right? Apparently not. There were four of us and we ordered the catch of the day (x2) and short ribs (x2). The ribs were good but the fish dish was average and sans flavor. Same with the dessert - the toffee pudding was good but the bread pudding was cold, dense.and below average. Two of the appetizers (oysters and pig cheeks) were good; butter leaf lettuce salad was meh.

Service was average. We waited longer for our desserts (nearly 15 minutes) than we did the appetizers or entrees, despite the fact that everything was ordered together (since it was restaurant week pre fixe). Server was trying too hard with his "sirs" and "misses".

Ambience and seating is cafe-like, but prices aren't.

Not going back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We went with high expectations and they were exceeded - rarely have desserts but both our options were outstanding! The service was attentive and the waitress knowledgeable but not intrusive or overbearing - we will definitely be back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

One of my friends and I tried Plates on a Saturday night and loved it! We got to sit outside under the pretty strings of lights and people watch on Glenwood South. The wait staff was incredibly nice and knowledgeable about what could/couldn't be made gluten free for my friend. The menu wasn't large, but everything we tasted was delicious. We have already made reservations to go back for restaurant week!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Tasty cocktails and food. Very good selection of spirits.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Enjoyed the dishes we got, but was not aware the menu varied on different days of the week when we booked. Food was tasty but may want to check menu first if going with people who like a vast menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The outside patio is beautiful and the portions are good but the menu is limited. The staff is wonderful and the food tasted good however because the menu is small, it's hard to accommodate multiple palettes so we had a hard time finding something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I was looking for a place I where I could eat with my dog, and they were great about bringing him out a bowl of water and a small plates of treats.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Plates is one of our favorite places. The food is great, the wine list is formidable, and the atmosphere is intimate and friendly. Eating at Plates improves any evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Staff was fantastic helping us deal with a food allergy. Really made it pleasant and delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was EXCELLENT, especially considering it was our server's first day! The food was delicious and it's great they make all of their condiments in house. I recommend the frittatas and my girlfriend thought the grits were outstanding alongside the pork Benedict. Just a fabulous experience and I'd recommend it to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and drinks were great, servers were great, ambiance was nice and relaxed for a brunch. Negative: I reserved a table, shaded-outside, it was totally ignored and hostess kept trying to seat me in suboptimal places despite better options being available. Then was given slight attitude about asking for better table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My husband and I had dinner here on Saturday night. We really enjoyed our meal. Love they have a small menu that is always changing due to available products. The chef does a great job using seasonal products to their fullest.

The service was great from the time we walked in until we left.

We ordered the Crab Beignets for an appetizer. Loved them! I had the pulled pork for the entree and my husband had the risotto with chicken. Both were good.

We had the brownie with ice cream. So good!

Definitely would go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food and cocktails were outstanding. It's obvious they work hard to deliver creative and tasty food and cocktails and that they care about providing an excellent experience. They succeeded.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Chef-Owner Steve Ray gave personal attention to our table as well as to other diners. In conversation it was clear how passionate and devoted he is to making dinner at Plates a true dining experience. All meals were served at the same time (I hate when one diner is served and the others have to wait) and the Sesame Tuna was perfection. The wine selection showed careful attention to quality at reasonable pricing. I'm eager to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

All fresh, fabulous summer bounty. Peach salad with ricotta was to die for.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Enjoyed a birthday dinner for my husband at Plates, one of his Raleigh faves. The Sunday Roast entree was a Cajun pork tenderloin - very juicy and tasty. Steve was a gracious host, even after a very busy "the Brunch Bill Passed" brunch. We like to go there because we know we'll leave happy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The only disappointing things were- they were out of lime (though once the server told us, 20 minutes later a different server carried like to a neighboring table), they were out of mint for my mixed drink, and they were out of cobbler. Food was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was outstanding👍Pork Oso Buck good wine and friends before the NCSymphony. 😊

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is interesting (in a good way). Our server was outstanding: attentive enough without being obtrusive, helpful, and friendly.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A real find. Small restaurant in a great downtown Raleigh location. Food was outstanding and not overpriced. Not a lot of options, but everything we had was excellent. You must try the Crab Beignets - awesome!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 18, 2016

First time visit. Great service and atmosphere, but the Morrocan medley was very dry and the salads were just so so. Crab beignets were fantastic. Would try again as maybe just an off night.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The Plates Kitchen team is wonderful. We shared an appetizer and an entree. The mussels were wonderful with a white wine sauce you are searching to absorb in a piece of good bread (which there was plenty). The NY Strip was over a bed of kale, green beans and a the best shiitake mushrooms I have ever eaten. The mushrooms were cooked to augment the flavor of a perfectly seasoned/rubbed/marinated stake...great stuff. We will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Tapas, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great Brunch. Very small menu but the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall my husband and I had a good time. It was our first time at the resturant so we didn't know what to expect outside of reading other reviews. The service was on point, although it took longer than we wanted to receive our meal. But the meal was fresh and delicious so I'm assuming it just took a while to cook. I didn't like my first dish I ordered and the staff was more than accommodating in getting me something else and not charging me for what I didn't want. My 2nd dish was awesome! My husband loved his steak dinner. He cleaned the plate! He wished there was more of the food to eat since he finished it so quickly! He's a big guy so the amount of the food didn't fill him up. I will admit, the plates are small....but satisfying. I would recommend this place is anyone is looking for a high end, high quality, intimate resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I selected this restaurant because of good things I had heard about it. Unfortunately, the service was atrocious. The waitress brought out bread and butter, but no plates for us to put it on. We shared an appetizer, and I had to a waiter to bring a second plate to share it with my wife. Ironic, since the restaurant is called Plates. Our entrees arrived and my steak was COLD, and yet the potatoes and green beans were warm. Since know one came to ask how our meal was, I hunted down the manger, and explained the events of the evening. She apologized, offered to prepare another entree and offered me a free beer while I waited. Honestly at that point I lost my appetite and asked for the check. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.