About Plates Kitchen

301 Glenwood Ave
Raleigh, NC 27603
View Larger Map

For twenty years, we have lived and traveled around the world. The one constant theme we realized is how different foods from different cultures can unite us, regardless of nationality. Meals provide the opportunity to meet new people, share stories and offer new experiences. We are often surprised and inspired by the food we have eaten along the way. From the first apple tarts in France, the Pecorino cheese in Tuscany, Weiss Wurst in Germany, Espada (scabbard fish) on the island of Madeira, to Hong Kong, Thailand and China, we have learned new flavors and techniques to add to the outstanding food of the American South. At Plates Kitchen, we hope that you will enjoy some of our favorite international dishes combined with our regional southern flavors. Join us on a new culinary journey that is globally inspired and locally produced.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
International, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: Dinner 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday: Dinner 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Saturday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: Brunch 11:00am - 2:30pm; Dinner 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Cross Street:
Lane Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 828-0018

Website:
http://www.plateskitchen.com/

Catering:
Plates Kitchen offers catering services at your location. We bring the international and local flavors to you for lunch or dinner events. Call the restaurant at 919-828-0018 for details.

Parking Details:
Discounted parking with validation voucher (collect at Plates host stand) located in our lot behind the restaurant. Street parking available on Lane St. (free during all business hours) and on Glenwood Ave. (free weekends and M-F after 5pm).

Public Transit:
Located one block north of the R-Line's Glenwood Ave. / North St. stop.

Executive Chef:
Chris Santucci

Private Party Facilities:
Entire restaurant seats 50 and is available for private functions. Covered patio seats 25. No facility fee. Minimum food and beverage amounts apply based on date and time during the week.
We also cater lunches and parties for groups of 15 or more, and we can open our dining room for private lunches during the week.

Private Party Contact:
Amanda Laprarie: 9198280018x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Events vary by month but include live music and special dinners. Check the website for details.

Plates Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Raleigh / Durham / Chapel Hill
Outdoor Dining
Raleigh
Best Restaurants in Raleigh ›

great for outdoor dining (48)
fit for foodies (46)
neighborhood gem (37)
See All
special occasion (20)
good for groups (16)
great for brunch (15)
notable wine list (14)
romantic (13)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (6)
scenic view (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Fresh food, small plates, interesting fo ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fresh food, small plates, interesting food combinations, excellent and reasonably priced wine selection, attentive but unobtrusive service and quiet dining--in short, all my requirements. My only wish would be for a slightly larger entrée selection with a few more vegetarian options.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We enjoyed our dining experience at Plat ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Plates. My husband and I were the only ones sitting outside (not sure why, it was a lovely evening) and the outside space is great. Far away from the road that you are not disturbed and with ample space and tables. Service was excellent but I felt we were rushed through (perhaps because it was so quiet?) and had no time to sit leisurely between starters, main and dessert (which were all good). We were there for just an hour. We were there during the Raleigh special price week - but 2 diners at 30USD each with 3 drinks was over 80 USD, so I would have liked to 'linger'.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried the restaurant week menu and it ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We tried the restaurant week menu and it was excellent. Looks like the menu changes constantly - so we look forward to trying out many new things. Really enjoyed some of the wines as well - great selection. We had reservations for inside, but decided to sit outside instead since the weather was so nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Nothing special. I don't think it lived ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Nothing special. I don't think it lived up to its 4 1/2 star rating.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place!!!

Dined on June 6, 2016

Wonderful place!!!

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service. Food was good as well. ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service. Food was good as well. Fun date night.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming Restaurant with Great Service

Dined on June 4, 2016

This place has an intimate, but fun feel to it. The staff is friendly, attentive, and helpful. The food is elegantly displayed and the proportions are plentiful. We enjoyed an incredible S'mores Cheesecake that was well worth the calories!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a find! The food was a great value ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

What a find! The food was a great value very reasonable prices for absolutely delicious high quality dishes - less than $50 for a nice cheese plate, duck leg entree, and a nice steak dinner salad. We did not sample cocktails this time around, but certainly will be back to try more items. Great service. We ate out on the patio at sunset, and the shade was the icing on the cake for a great experience. Would absolutely recommend for any date night, special occasion, or even a simple friends get-together.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service with no bang

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went here for Sunday brunch with 2 friends around 12:30pm. The server forgot to put in the drink order for one of us, additionally they were out of almost all the ingredients needed to make half the cocktails on their brunch menu. The food was good but the portions were very small and not filling. One friend decided to skip food since they had ran out of the necessary ingredients to make the grilled cheese on their menu (they ran out of cheese and bread). It really did seem like the restaurant was running on its backup team, had not restocked the bar from previous night and decided to cut food portions down to kid size...i still don't understand how they ran out of cheese and bread. Need to let the patrons know what is and whats not available on the menu prior to them asking for it. I have heard good things about this place and will give it another try sometime, but my initial experience was dismal at best.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service3

My wife and I went here for dinner a cou ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I went here for dinner a couple of weeks ago. We got the pork belly appetizer and it was much tougher that what we're used to. For entrées, we had the pork tenderloin and catch of the day which was red snapper. The flavors were there but the pork dish was cold and one piece of the fish had several bones in it. The service was good but could have checked on us more often.

food5
ambience4
service4

This place never disappoints! Totally ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

This place never disappoints! Totally underrated. Great steak, pork, and seafood options. Just go!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent pulled chicken sandwich for br ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Excellent pulled chicken sandwich for brunch!

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Decent food, nice atmosphere, but overpriced

Dined on May 14, 2016

I thought the food and drinks were decent, but not incredible. You don't have much to choose from, it is a seasonal menu, so there are only about 5 options for appetizers and 5 options for entrees. I thought the crab and corn beignets were really good. But both are entrees were just okay, I wouldn't eat them again and for the price, it definitely wasn't worth it. Although the wait staff was very nice, they weren't very attentive and service was very slow.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding visit--we have visited numer ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding visit--we have visited numerous times and consistently receive quality food, excellent service, and leave feeling satisfied. Hidden treasure in the Raleigh/Durham/Chapel Hill area.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food. Not fantastic.

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was solid, but not as tasty as I anticipated. Great drink menu and cocktails. Great location. Limited menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food, excellent service, great a ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Awesome food, excellent service, great ambiance.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place for brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Wonderful place for brunch!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food Small Portions

Dined on May 8, 2016

We spent Mother's Day Brunch at Plates Kitchen and the food had good flavor. The portions were small though for the price. My wife had the quiche (small slice), my daughter had a delicious salad (again small portion for the price) and I had the French Toast. We enjoyed the dishes, but we were not satisfied and were hungry. The service was good and the staff is friendly. My daughter recommends the ice coffee drink, which is Plates on creation.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Plates

Dined on May 7, 2016

This was our first visit to this restaurant, though we had been to this space many times before when it was Zely & Ritz. The menu is limited, though everything is fresh and local, and I believe it changes frequently. I had the fish of the day (sheepshead), which was served with black rice, a bean paste, ramps, and pea pods. It was tasty and done just right. The wine pairing, a blended white, was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic food. Had a the minors with th ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic food. Had a the minors with the steak and eggs for brunch. Solid menu. Polite and friendly service.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun place, interesting food choices

Dined on April 29, 2016

Appetizers were delicious. Wait staff was friendly and attentive. Food was nicely seasoned and presented well but several of the sides and main dishes were served room temp to cold, which was not what we were expecting from the descriptions. We will go back. Great place for people watching!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant to visit in Raleigh!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Excellent food! We had a difficult time deciding which entree was our favorite as all were absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. ........great staff also!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food in a creative atmosphere

Dined on April 27, 2016

Plates knows how to marry flavors that you never thought would appeal together. This casual dining gem is relaxed and friendly. The menu may seem sparse, but everyone finds something appealing and I'm always surprised by the creative flair coming out of the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Food was fresh and tasty. Very nice set up. I would highly recommend anyone to at least try this place once.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely place but if you want something s ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Lovely place but if you want something specific you see on the menu, call ahead cause they change their menu without updating it.

food4
ambience5
service5

Vegetarian pasta was fantastic!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Vegetarian pasta was fantastic!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A very nice place for relaxed excellence

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a great dinner at Plates before an NC Symphony concert. It's not a fancy place - some tables outside, tables arrayed in rows inside so they can change group sizes, but the quality of the service and the food is outstanding. My wife and I both had crab beignets for appetizers. Say what? It so worked - fortunately with no powdered sugar on the surface. Delicious. And our mains (both fish) were well prepared. I liked my sticky toffee pudding dessert. Good wine selection, and excellent service. Highly recommended! We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

The food is excellent though they don't ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is excellent though they don't accommodate food allergies and do not have a children's menu. They also charged extra for olives and okra in the Bloody Mary ($1 each). The service was fairly inattentive and unfriendly. The waitress disappeared from the dining room while we waited for part of our order.

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Far better Raleigh choices at these price points

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The food at Plates is good, but not overwhelmingly so, and the menu is not terribly inventive. I'd go to any number of alternative restaurants before going back to Plates.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and excellent food!

Dined on March 26, 2016

The service and food was impeccable and it all came at a reasonable price! After all were done, we all felt very satisfied and like we had been through a gastronomic delight!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

We will be back! The scallop dish is one of the best scallop dishes I have ever had!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The crab beignets were amazing. Also enj ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The crab beignets were amazing. Also enjoyed the scallops.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Plates is a fantastic restaurant. Food w ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Plates is a fantastic restaurant. Food was well prepared. The atmosphere was noisy but only due to the motorcycle club across the street.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly Recommend

Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent food, great wine list and attentive service. Definitely a great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Funky gem

Dined on February 26, 2016

Funky cocktails, great seafood dishes, farm to table concept.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great little find!

Dined on February 25, 2016

This was a great restaurant. Food is cooked to perfection and is fantastic. You can tell is prepared with the best ingredients. The restaurant itself is very nice and the service is some of the best that I have experienced. The portions are a wee bit small for the price, but the food is good. I will be back .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

I had the prix fixe menu which I have to say I didn't really like. There really didn't seem to be anything really special about it and it was Valentine's Day. Also I didn't think it was worth the price I paid. We had a double date and everyone else liked their meals which were on the regular menu. Bartender was great. The waitress was less than friendly maybe because it was a busy night. Certainly didn't get warm & fuzzies from her. Overall experience was nice for a double date but not likely I would go there again for a special occasion. I would go hang out at the bar though because the drinks were good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4

Food was OK, but overpriced

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was OK, but overpriced

food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Wait staff was efficient and friendly. C ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wait staff was efficient and friendly. Cocktails were well made - $10 range. The crab beignets were melt in your mouth good, the lamb stew was wonderful, entrees were high quality but blander than we expected. The only seasoning of note in 4 different dishes were salt, pepper and garlic. I guess we expected more flavor variety given the international influence in the menu descriptions. We will likely try this restaurant again.

Tags: great for brunch, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

bad service

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

What's the rush? This was the first time we had been to this restaurant, and we were looking forward to it. We learned about the place when it had been featured on an NC Food show on WUNC-TV. Within 2 minutes after sitting down and just beginning to look at the menu, a waitress came over to our table. Barely after saying "hello" she wanted to know if we were ready to order. We asked about drinks and it seemed to strike her as novel idea. This set the tone for the VERY efficient (some might call it rushed) service for the evening. To their credit, there were lots of waitstaff and one certainly didn't have to go looking for them as they appeared to be hovering, waiting to whisk away plates within seconds after putting down a knife or fork. Not our idea of a leisurely meal. I suppose they wanted us gone so they could recycle the table. Well, we will be happy to oblige: we won't be back.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.