Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Plate 38

This neighborhood gem is a perfect place for a dry aged burger and a beer or a Friday splurge with signature craft cocktails and a four course meal. Plate 38 caters to those in seek of comfort food made from scratch with a lighter California flare.

With its industrial Napa decor, Plate 38 is a warm bistro that stays open late and features a reverse happy hour starting at 9:00 seven days a week. Let loose on Saturdays and Sundays with bottomless mimosas and the best brunch Pasadena has to offer.

2361 E Colorado Blvd
Pasadena, CA 91107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 10:30am - 11:30pm; Friday: 9:00am - 12:30am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra Madre Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 793-7100

Website:
http://www.plate38.com/

Parking Details:
Plus lots of street parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Plate 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day 2017. considering most places are overwhelmed and out of control, they were able to service very promptly, courteously and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great lunch spot. Excellent sandwiches and burgers. They also have breakfast items. I did not try it but a friend enjoyed her entree

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Baby gem salad was fantastic. So was the tortilla soup. We also tried the crab cake, which was very good. The grilled artichoke was average. Overall, the food here is excellent and not a bad value. Cute, cozy ambiance and a nice vibe. The service needs a little polish. Servers were not all that attentive nor friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was terrible. It took me and my friend about an hour after being sat and having our order taken before our food arrival. The location where we were sat was not convenient to locate your server because we saw our server about a total of about 5 times. 1. our drink orders were taken, 2. Food order taken, 3. 30-40 minutes after out order was taken is when our server told us that there was a mix up in the kitchen, 4. When the server was taking an order for the table next to us and we had to ask her again about our food, 5. When she came back to our table to check if we received the food. I ended up finding a piece of plastic in my food looked like it came from the bag the salad came in. My friend asked me if I was going to say anything and at that point I barely saw any workers I couldn't be bothered. It just so happened our server decided to check up on us to see if we received our food. I informed the server about the piece of plastic that moved to the side of the plate. The server took the plastic and came back a while later to let us know that the manager would offer us appetizers or dessert free of charge. At the rate it took me to get my food and the fact that I found a piece of plastic in the food why would I want more food. When we got our bill the server thanked us for our patience. Really?! Maybe a generic I am sorry for the wait and the food issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was a surprise that is right near my home. Went for Pasadena dine restaurant week and found a great value.the steak was very good and the truffle mashed potatoes were great. And let me say that on a non carb diet, I couldn't resist the mashed truffle potatoes.........

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Went to Plate 38 from a foodie friend's recommendation and it did not disappoint. Our server and the other staff were wonderful. Service was a little understaffed and slow, but again, the people were great. The food was the best. I had their Mushroom Burger which was a "10". My wife and friends had their steak special and their duck breast (which was a special) and both were excellent. The atmosphere is more friendly, casual and nice vs "classy, high end". I highly recommend Plate 38. We'll be going back again - me for that burger, for sure. It's going to be hard to get something else...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They must have been having a bad day, because my friend ordered a Bloody Mary at 10 am and the waitress said oh sorry our bar person doesn't get in for another 30 mins poor service, are you kidding me and it just worse so we walked our at 10:50 with no food one screw up after another. And the manager never came to our table not cool

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice place good food. Poor service very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We go here when we drive to Pasadena for plays at A Noise Within. Great menu and chef, good service, nice range, from burgers to a little bit chichi. For us it's a little bit of an indulgence but not expensive for what it is, a good value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Interesting and hip decor but very cool casual. Food selection was very creative and tasty. Service was good and our brunch was enjoyable. Will return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I'm a regular diner at this establishment - very casual and easy place to get a great meal and have a drink with my wife. Personally I get annoyed when parents bring their children and let them run amok, in this case a young girl spent our entire dinner roller skating back and forth through the restaurant which is NOT a roller rink. Maybe the Mgmt will step in next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Brunch is great and you make reservations (unlike most breakfast/brunch places in Pasadena). brunch portions are a little small, but always delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Creative flavor combinations and budget-friendly opportunities, like corkage-free Wednesdays, make this a neighborhood gem. The interior space can be loud, so we frequently request an outside patio table, as we did on this occasion. My wife had the truffle burger while I thoroughly enjoyed the squid ink pasta with mixed shellfish. We can recommend both items.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We regularly enjoy the food at Plate 38. Happy hour has great food. Short ribs and cassoulet were delicious as was the paella, all specials. It took awhile to get our drinks as there was a big party. The one draw back are the drinks. We had martinis which we in small martinis glasses for $11.00 each. This seems rather steep for such a small drink. Service was alright but not as friendly as usual. We would go back but probably bring our own wine and just pay the corkage.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The ambience is just fair. The food is excellent. If the restaurant was "spruced up" we would dine there more often. The chef warrants a better looking restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I went to Plate 38 for dinner on Valentine's day. Unfortunately the food portions are ridiculously small. We ordered the 4 course dinner at a cost of $68.00 per person. The food was delicious. The soup size was a total of 8 spoonfulls. The salad was also tasty but tiny. Then, the salmon steak I ordered was probably about 4 ounces.
I am taking about really anemic size portions. Think about it, if I am willing to pay $68.00 per person, then I am also willing to pay $78.00 per person, provided that after dinner, I feel that I am satisfied. On the contrary, I left the restaurant feeling hungry and short-changed.
So, I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Really wonderful place. Food was very good. Cocktails were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Bartender ( British) was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My chili on the "special" was EXCELLENT!!! I'd highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was outstanding and service as well. Dennis is a great waiter!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took my daughter in law here for her birthday last Sunday morning. The food was delicious, the crab cake Benedict I had was superb while my life loved her breakfast burrito. The service was top notch. The only drawback is the traffic noise gets loud and if you are sitting in patio area, it is hard to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always delicious, always something new to try. My fav neighborhood gem.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always request Dennis as our waiter when we eat here. He is a really nice guy and takes care of us always . The food is always good here ,fresh california cuisine served with nouveau gastro technique. We love the casual industrial modern decor and convenient pasdena location.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second time here...
Mix drinks aren't that good and the food is just ok.
To bad I really like the place. Other than the food and the Mix drinks. Nice place. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The experience was not as expected. Will try other places in the area before coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was an unexpected surprise. It was a neighborhood secret. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The brunch was very good and the portions very large. The prices were appropriate. The space is a former diner that has been creatively converted into a contemporary gastropub. The noise level is very high. Second time here for brunch and would return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a treat to spend an evening at Plate 38. We met Patrick who was an exceptional server!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Innovative, fresh, delicious, generous portions - the best in Pasadena - especially for dinner.
Very accommodating of my numerous food allergies, cheerful substitutions and overall fantastic. A+ for the food and delicious sauces. The owner is the chef and he's a genius!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I was unable to keep this reservation...Restaurant is at/near I-210 and Sierra Madre, just a mile from a significant bomb threat that shut down the freeway...just could not get there, nor could my friends. We will try again to get together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always farm fresh food and gourmet. Great dessert and cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was fantastic as always. The crab cakes need to go on the regular menu, not appear just as a Special. My only complaint is that the price of the bone marrow increased but the bones seem to be getting smaller and/or not as much marrow can be scraped out.

Tags: Great Beer, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This crew treats us like family. Natalie, Alana and the other hosts and servers welcome us warmly and are very attentive. For the most part the executive chef is under sung. His food is innovative and delicious. We love being regular customers here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was on open table trying to look for a good place to eat.
I found it. this place went above my expectation. I got the steak and eggs, shared banana nutella French toast(to die for) and my date the chicken croissant.
we both got our selections of beer.
we called it our new favorite place in Pasadena..

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lovely place to visit during happy hour. Great selection of food and cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Live Music was great, food was expensive, service only OK.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Met up with some friends here for Sunday breakfast. Food and service was excellent. Highly recommend the vegetarian scramble!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I frequent Plate 38 on a regular basis. The food is very tasty and the price is right.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great that they allow dogs along the patio area. But, being on a corner of a busy intersection, there was quite a bit of traffic noise.

Took a long time to get a server's attention and had to flag one down after 15 minutes of just sitting at a table.

Once the food came, it was presented well and everything tasted fine.

The food and interior decor and general service were consistent with the prices charged - about $20 a person with no drinks. However, when you think about the location - basically a strip mall with low-end tenants, it felt out of place.

This restaurant is pretty nice overall, but would fit better in Old Town or South Lake Ave in Pasadena. It's too nice of a place for its location.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Plate 38. It's a good place for a quick dinner and the outside dining is very nice.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.