Plate 38

4.2
217 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Happy Hour
  • Local Ingredients
This neighborhood gem is a perfect place for a dry aged burger and a beer or a Friday splurge with signature craft cocktails and a four course meal. Plate 38 caters to those in seek of comfort food made from scratch with a lighter California flare.

With its industrial Napa decor, Plate 38 is a warm bistro that stays open late and features a reverse happy hour starting at 9:00 seven days a week. Let loose on Saturdays and Sundays with bottomless mimosas and the best brunch Pasadena has to offer.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday - Thursday: 10:30am - 11:30pm; Friday: 9:00am - 12:30am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(626) 793-7100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Sierra Madre Blvd.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plus lots of street parking.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 217 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.0
service
3.9
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Father's Day, group of four-
Reservation acknowledged, good seats straightaway. Quite loud, but okay.
PROBLEM: Service compromised, apparently due to orders/problems in the kitchen.
Server was pleasant, polite and very attentive, BUT, somehow the father on Fathers Day (myself) received meal fully 20 minutes AFTER the rest of the group. Bummer.
Fries were complimentary, and my plate was comped, but this was not the best experience.
Unless orders straight and out on time, I don't see returning or recommending to others.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

We made reservations on Open Table and when we arrived, we were asked what time we made the reservation. We said, we had made the reservation an hour earlier. We were told that the restaurant had not received the reservation because they have a new system. In order to prevent last minute reservations over waiting customers there is a delay on receiving online reservations. We wished we had known this before making the reservation and driving across town, but we respected this policy and decided to wait.

We ordered a cola and it lacked carbonation. We brought this to the attention of the waiter and he said that others complained too. He offered us a different beverage, but didn’t offer to fix the issue. We were disappointed, but continued with the flat soda. Soon, we placed our order. When the food came, there was a mistake in the order. We ordered a breakfast burger and received a breakfast burrito. A simple mistake, given the high noise level. We sent it back. The remaining orders came out plate by plate, rather than as a family meal. Our kids were hungry, so we waited. By the time the final plates arrived (25 minutes after the first plate arrived) all of our party was done with their meals. Plates were being cleared while others were being served.

Throughout the meal, the restaurant had begun to clear. The manager and the waiter passed our table several times without apology or any attempt to correct the mistakes that had been made. Maybe a basket of fries to tie us over? Even refills on our drinks would have been appreciated. As the meal service drew out, we were being helped only by the bus boy. It was as though our waiter had given up on our table. It was clear that we were unhappy and rather than address our dissatisfaction, he just walked away from us.

We have been here several times before. The food is great and the service has always been in par with other locations in Pasadena. Today was a big fail for Plate 38.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

For some reason my reservation didn't transfer over to their system. I simply had to show them my appointment on the phone. They honored it and squeezed us in within minutes.

It's always a sigh of relief to be able to make resos for brunch. Bottomless champagne brunch is nice at $18 and it will last you only two hours. Hopefully your server is prompt with refills. Food is pretty good. Burritos have a cumin taste so if you don't want that I would avoid it. Otherwise decent entrees at $-$$ prices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The food was delicious and the service excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The patio is right on Colorado Blvd so it’s not really a refuge, but the food and service were excellent! My friend had a salmon salad that she said was delicious (and it looked gorgeous) and I had the smoked salmon on rosti potatoes which was perfection! I’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Have been here many times and the food is always consistently great. The mushroom crostini and the polenta are two favorites.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was delicious and the service was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

We called to request a hold on our table due to being 15 minutes away after a movie. Very gracious response with a guarantee to hold table for us even though many people were waiting to be seated.
Our table was in the patio section ( noise level was better there). Great food and wine.
Wonderful experience as in the past.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Place 38 remains our go to place for hosting out of town guests. terrific food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Local favorite with happy hour specials.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The atmosphere here is more like a tavern and most diners seemed to be there for the drinks and "social hour" food. The location on a very busy corner sharing the parking lot of a small strip shopping center made for a very noisy dinner. Not from inside, but from the noise outside. The restaurant did not appear to be as clean as it should. Our table clearly had not been properly cleaned and other tables sat uncleared when we came in. The wine glass the waiter brought had to be removed as it was also dirty. All that being said, the dinners and specials were really very well done. The waiter was friendly and attentive as were other wait staff that came to our table. I would only recommend this for a VERY casual meal.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food was delicious but noise level was too high, especially in the outdoor section along Sierra Madre during Sunday brunch. Server was excellent and helped with birthday cake. If they could just tame the noise, we'd be there often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

First time at Plate 38. Will definitely be back and spread the word because Plate 38 is Great!
The staff is chill and laid back but definitely on top of it. The atmosphere was quiet and dimly lit with an outdoor feel. The beers were ice cold. The Grilled Asparagus rocked with a real outdoor grill flair. The Brussels Sprouts were spicy and fresh and cooked to just rightfully tender goodness.
The best part: You don't have to deal with Old Pasadena traffic and the burden/necessity of a parking garage!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I love the food at Plate 38. The staff are helpful and friendly and it's just the place I like to go to!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

As always, Plate 38 provided delicious food, excellent ambiance, and amazing service. There were 7 of us, and we were in the mood to sit, drink, eat ...and catch up. We were actually put in a less busy area, and our waiter had genius timing, checking in enough to be on top of things, but not intrusive.
The food was excellent - lamb chops, branzino, filet mignon, and lamb burger were among the main courses ordered. All got rave reviews.
Starters were yummy, especially the mac & cheese!
We'll be back as often as possible - keep up the good work!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Food was amazing. Great taste, great price for Easter brunch and comfortable vibe. Can't wait to go back for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

First time here. Place was busy for brunch. Chicken wings were average! The pork sandwich was tasty! Also had a burger that was supposed to be MR but came out raw. Ugh! It was replaced but still looked rare. Someone near us had salmon that looked good.!! Willing to come back. Not far from ANW!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

My husband and I love this place. The lemon drop cocktail they make is yummy! We have never had anything we didn't like her!

We came for St. Patricks Day! We got the pretzels and cheese sauce, vegetable chips and the meat pie! All great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Great food, a lot of choices from appetizers to full meals. Nice atmosphere

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Bottomless (grapefruit) mimosas were A+. Service was great, except for the part where the server dumped a poached egg straight into my purse 😝. Everyone was super nice though. Food was pretty good, ambiance was nice if a little loud (but that might have just been the drunk boys at the next table). Ample (free) parking is a plus. Would definitely go back and try again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We always enjoy dining at this restaurant. Great service, too! Food was fantastic as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Robert has created true gem here and we love the food, the staff, the ambiance and the decor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Went for a quick Valentine's lunch. Had a burger and salmon fillet. Both were great! Juicy meats. Fresh veggies. Not a bad place if you need a quick bite or if you want to hang out for a few hours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Never disappointed with Plate 38! Delicious food and perfect service. Their asparagus bisque is delicious as is the skirt steak and all fish dishes. In the mood for a great hamburger? Give Plate 38 a try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Great drinks, Good food , great service.

Would return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great daily specials. Love love love the freshly made pastas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was great and service provided by waiter(who has worked there a long time) was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Great food and awesome service. I can’t wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

The location at the corner of two busy streets results in lots of road noise if you are seated at the walls next to the streets. We had a group of 5 for Saturday brunch and our table was already set up when we arrived. Unfortunately it was next to a busy street. Suggest asking for an interior table when making reservations. The food an service were very good. The brunch portions are quite large, too much for us older folks.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Hadn't been here in a while, but it's one of our go-to restaurants, so not having other plans on New Year's Eve, we went (and have been there once or twice before NYE). Unlike most other restaurants, they allow you to order from the regular menu on holidays rather than being locked into the prix fixe most places have which is usually mediocre and always overpriced. We enjoyed delicious cocktails, wine, oysters, pasta, salad and dessert, all for much less than the $75-150 per person other places were charging, and all at the same level of excellence that the kitchen always pulls off (Plus Chef Roberts' creativity). As a bonus, they are right on Colorado Blvd, so you can stroll down and see the Rose Parade campers. It is a rare restaurant that can satisfy for both special occasions as well as casual drop ins, and Plate 38 excels at both. Thanks, Plate 38, for another great holiday dinner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Inventive menu with a wide variety of choices for different tastes. Had the cinghiale on pappardelle, ah, an authentic taste of Italy!!!
Great service in a fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

We had a tasting meal, "Christmas in Paris" which was nicely orchestrated. Each plate was different, engaging, yet not too filling. The wine pairings were appropriate and stepped up in a logical fashion, along with the "narration" provided by Michael.
Enjoyable and nicely paced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Nice family frienly place, good food, beautiful decor

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Quick and tasty service. Delicious mimosas and bloody Mary’s. Will be coming back very soon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Portions were small. Skirt steak portions were about 3 oz and nearly cost $30.

Great beer and wine menu

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 18, 2017

We went for lunch - brunch is much better. We had salads, which were nice, quite large, but more expensive than I would have expected for what we got. The server was nice but not very knowledgeable about the foods available. Decaf coffee was not hot. We'd go for brunch, and it looked like they had some unique dinner offerings, but lunch doesn't seem to be their specialty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

As always, the food is incredible and consistent. Generous portions, farmers market fresh and delicious. Best food in Pasadena!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Service was a bit uneven on this visit. We shared three courses. The first just a salad took forever to come out of the kitchen. The soup followed at an appropriate interval. The entree came out about three spoonfuls into the soup. We had to send it back. Not sure if they redid it or just held it. Despite the delivery missteps the food was quite good as usual, particularly the pumpkin carrot ginger soup. And a three course meal for “one “ was plenty for the two of us. Topped off with yummy pumpkin cheese cake it was more than enough.
It was noisy because lots of folks had come for the football game playing on tv in the bar area. We took a quieter table in the back. It’s also always overly air conditioned so it’s best to come prepared with a sweater or light jacket.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 18, 2017

This the first time I’ve been to Plate 38. Convenient location and easy parking.
I love their french toast!!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6

Tweets by Plate 38