Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Plate 38

This neighborhood gem is a perfect place for a dry aged burger and a beer or a Friday splurge with signature craft cocktails and a four course meal. Plate 38 caters to those in seek of comfort food made from scratch with a lighter California flare.

With its industrial Napa decor, Plate 38 is a warm bistro that stays open late and features a reverse happy hour starting at 9:00 seven days a week. Let loose on Saturdays and Sundays with bottomless mimosas and the best brunch Pasadena has to offer.

2361 E Colorado Blvd
Pasadena, CA 91107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 10:30am - 11:30pm; Friday: 9:00am - 12:30am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra Madre Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 793-7100

Website:
http://www.plate38.com/

Parking Details:
Plus lots of street parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Plate 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (9)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Seasonal (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We met a friend here for lunch after Church last Sunday. I had the grilled Salmon sandwich which my wife had the grill chicken sandwich. Both were really good. Our friend had some kind of egg dish which she clearly liked because she cleaned off her plate. Service was good but our server didn't say a thing to us as we got up to leave. I tipped 20% of the final tab so not sure he why he ignore us. Oh well, maybe he expected more.

Overall, we had a nice time but, it doesn't get pretty noisy as they have an open patio so it was hard to hear each other as traffic got busy on Colorado and Sierra Madre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was good and the service was great, however for the prices on the menu I can think of a couple of other places that is equivalent to Plate 38. I am glad I tried it but I wont return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were disappointed in this meal We have been to this restaurant several times and liked it, but the food this time was mediocre at best. We ordered somethings, salmon and veal, other than hamburgers, and they weren't well prepared. The noise from the street with the windows open was intrusive. We won't go back anytime soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was good but portions were small for the price. Probably won't go back because of price.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Chef Owner Rob Humphries continues to operate a hidden gem in East Pasadena. From the craft cocktails, the consistently high execution of the kitchen, to the friendly staff, Plate 38 is wonderful.

Service a little spotty on Father's Day weekend, but there are some new servers and the place was packed.

Check the chalkboard specials, I have never been disappointed by them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent Service, and great menu. Was casual and comfortable, and really excellent service. Mussels in wine sauce were perfect, and everything very Fresh! would go there again!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Made reservation but had to sit outside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food on this occasion was, as it always is, very good. In this case however, the visit was especially good because of the outstanding Alana, who was our server. She was hands down, the best server I've ever had there and she made us feel pampered and special.

Tags: Organic, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a very nice meal here, starting with a shared small plate of their Sexy Mac 'n Cheese. The burgers were good, as was the grilled chicken Cobb Salad. Our server, Alana was very friendly, and did a great job of both entertaining us, as well as helping us with our orders. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Went for happy hour Memorial Day and ended up dropping $100, including tip--not because it was overpriced at all, we just couldn't stop ordering and didn't want to leave! Everything was simple, fresh and tasty, plus there were extra touches one wouldn't expect with happy hour food, for example, the two chicken wings came with a very nice blue cheese whipped aoli. We wouldn't've blinked if we were served the standard dressing, but it's very when a chef goes the extra mile for touches like that. They proved once again why it's one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day 2017. considering most places are overwhelmed and out of control, they were able to service very promptly, courteously and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great lunch spot. Excellent sandwiches and burgers. They also have breakfast items. I did not try it but a friend enjoyed her entree

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Baby gem salad was fantastic. So was the tortilla soup. We also tried the crab cake, which was very good. The grilled artichoke was average. Overall, the food here is excellent and not a bad value. Cute, cozy ambiance and a nice vibe. The service needs a little polish. Servers were not all that attentive nor friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service was terrible. It took me and my friend about an hour after being sat and having our order taken before our food arrival. The location where we were sat was not convenient to locate your server because we saw our server about a total of about 5 times. 1. our drink orders were taken, 2. Food order taken, 3. 30-40 minutes after out order was taken is when our server told us that there was a mix up in the kitchen, 4. When the server was taking an order for the table next to us and we had to ask her again about our food, 5. When she came back to our table to check if we received the food. I ended up finding a piece of plastic in my food looked like it came from the bag the salad came in. My friend asked me if I was going to say anything and at that point I barely saw any workers I couldn't be bothered. It just so happened our server decided to check up on us to see if we received our food. I informed the server about the piece of plastic that moved to the side of the plate. The server took the plastic and came back a while later to let us know that the manager would offer us appetizers or dessert free of charge. At the rate it took me to get my food and the fact that I found a piece of plastic in the food why would I want more food. When we got our bill the server thanked us for our patience. Really?! Maybe a generic I am sorry for the wait and the food issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This was a surprise that is right near my home. Went for Pasadena dine restaurant week and found a great value.the steak was very good and the truffle mashed potatoes were great. And let me say that on a non carb diet, I couldn't resist the mashed truffle potatoes.........

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Went to Plate 38 from a foodie friend's recommendation and it did not disappoint. Our server and the other staff were wonderful. Service was a little understaffed and slow, but again, the people were great. The food was the best. I had their Mushroom Burger which was a "10". My wife and friends had their steak special and their duck breast (which was a special) and both were excellent. The atmosphere is more friendly, casual and nice vs "classy, high end". I highly recommend Plate 38. We'll be going back again - me for that burger, for sure. It's going to be hard to get something else...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They must have been having a bad day, because my friend ordered a Bloody Mary at 10 am and the waitress said oh sorry our bar person doesn't get in for another 30 mins poor service, are you kidding me and it just worse so we walked our at 10:50 with no food one screw up after another. And the manager never came to our table not cool

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Nice place good food. Poor service very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We go here when we drive to Pasadena for plays at A Noise Within. Great menu and chef, good service, nice range, from burgers to a little bit chichi. For us it's a little bit of an indulgence but not expensive for what it is, a good value.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Interesting and hip decor but very cool casual. Food selection was very creative and tasty. Service was good and our brunch was enjoyable. Will return.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I'm a regular diner at this establishment - very casual and easy place to get a great meal and have a drink with my wife. Personally I get annoyed when parents bring their children and let them run amok, in this case a young girl spent our entire dinner roller skating back and forth through the restaurant which is NOT a roller rink. Maybe the Mgmt will step in next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Brunch is great and you make reservations (unlike most breakfast/brunch places in Pasadena). brunch portions are a little small, but always delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Creative flavor combinations and budget-friendly opportunities, like corkage-free Wednesdays, make this a neighborhood gem. The interior space can be loud, so we frequently request an outside patio table, as we did on this occasion. My wife had the truffle burger while I thoroughly enjoyed the squid ink pasta with mixed shellfish. We can recommend both items.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We regularly enjoy the food at Plate 38. Happy hour has great food. Short ribs and cassoulet were delicious as was the paella, all specials. It took awhile to get our drinks as there was a big party. The one draw back are the drinks. We had martinis which we in small martinis glasses for $11.00 each. This seems rather steep for such a small drink. Service was alright but not as friendly as usual. We would go back but probably bring our own wine and just pay the corkage.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The ambience is just fair. The food is excellent. If the restaurant was "spruced up" we would dine there more often. The chef warrants a better looking restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went to Plate 38 for dinner on Valentine's day. Unfortunately the food portions are ridiculously small. We ordered the 4 course dinner at a cost of $68.00 per person. The food was delicious. The soup size was a total of 8 spoonfulls. The salad was also tasty but tiny. Then, the salmon steak I ordered was probably about 4 ounces.
I am taking about really anemic size portions. Think about it, if I am willing to pay $68.00 per person, then I am also willing to pay $78.00 per person, provided that after dinner, I feel that I am satisfied. On the contrary, I left the restaurant feeling hungry and short-changed.
So, I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Really wonderful place. Food was very good. Cocktails were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bartender ( British) was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My chili on the "special" was EXCELLENT!!! I'd highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was outstanding and service as well. Dennis is a great waiter!

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Took my daughter in law here for her birthday last Sunday morning. The food was delicious, the crab cake Benedict I had was superb while my life loved her breakfast burrito. The service was top notch. The only drawback is the traffic noise gets loud and if you are sitting in patio area, it is hard to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always delicious, always something new to try. My fav neighborhood gem.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We always request Dennis as our waiter when we eat here. He is a really nice guy and takes care of us always . The food is always good here ,fresh california cuisine served with nouveau gastro technique. We love the casual industrial modern decor and convenient pasdena location.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Second time here...
Mix drinks aren't that good and the food is just ok.
To bad I really like the place. Other than the food and the Mix drinks. Nice place. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The experience was not as expected. Will try other places in the area before coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was an unexpected surprise. It was a neighborhood secret. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The brunch was very good and the portions very large. The prices were appropriate. The space is a former diner that has been creatively converted into a contemporary gastropub. The noise level is very high. Second time here for brunch and would return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always a treat to spend an evening at Plate 38. We met Patrick who was an exceptional server!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Innovative, fresh, delicious, generous portions - the best in Pasadena - especially for dinner.
Very accommodating of my numerous food allergies, cheerful substitutions and overall fantastic. A+ for the food and delicious sauces. The owner is the chef and he's a genius!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I was unable to keep this reservation...Restaurant is at/near I-210 and Sierra Madre, just a mile from a significant bomb threat that shut down the freeway...just could not get there, nor could my friends. We will try again to get together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.