About Plate 38

2361 E Colorado Blvd
Pasadena, CA 91107
View Larger Map

This neighborhood gem is a perfect place for a dry aged burger and a beer or a Friday splurge with signature craft cocktails and a four course meal. Plate 38 caters to those in seek of comfort food made from scratch with a lighter California flare.

With its industrial Napa decor, Plate 38 is a warm bistro that stays open late and features a reverse happy hour starting at 9:00 seven days a week. Let loose on Saturdays and Sundays with bottomless mimosas and the best brunch Pasadena has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 10:30am - 11:30pm; Friday: 9:00am - 12:30am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra Madre Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 793-7100

Website:
http://www.plate38.com/

Parking Details:
Plus lots of street parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

1/2 Lb Breakfast Burger
Croque Madame
Cobb Salad
Sexy Mac
Three Meats Scramble
Royale Macaroni & Cheese
Chicken Salad Sandwich
Prime Rib Dip Sandwich
Italian Sandwich
1/2Lb Smoked Mozzarella Burger
Fig Bruschetta
chicken croissant sandwich
1/3 Lb Mushroom Burger
Chopped Salad
Mushroom Mac And Cheese
French Onion Beef Stew
Brussels Sprouts
Vegetable Pasta
Arancini
Truffle Burger
Breakfast Burger
Garlic Fries
Sweet potato fries
Vegetable Sandwich
Southwestern Quinoa Cakes
Chicken And Brie Sandwich
Almond croissant
Salmon Sandwich
Mozarella Roasted Tomato Burger
Tuna
Grilled Chicken Pesto Sandwich
Italian Cold Cut
Vegetable Scramble
Garlic Marinated Skirt Steak
Side Salad
Nutella Crepes
Eggs Benedict
Vietnamese Pork Sandwich
Veal Meatball Sandwich
Meyer Lemon Cheese Cake
Filet Stronganoff with Pappardelle
Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms
fish tacos
Meatloaf
Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout
Open-Faced Chicken Salad Sandwich
Mozzarella Burger
Capellini With Shrimp
Bruschetta with Burrata
Paella
Calamari & Rock Shrimp
Patty Melt
Garlic Herb Fries
Duck Confit Buffalo Chicken Wings
Short Rib Benedict
Caesar Salad
Mushroom Omelette
Crabcake Benedict
Affogato
Taco
Arancini With Mozzarella And Roasted Tomatoes
Potato Rosti
Daiquiri-1902-Cuba
Figs And Prosciutto Tart
Turkey Melt Sandwich
3 Meat Lasagna
Roasted Artichoke
Duck Confit Omlette
Fries
Chicken Orecchiette
Short Ribs
Filet Mignon
carnitas tacos
Artichoke Soup
Icecream
Oxtail Ragu
Ling Cod Papilloe
Bolognese
Salmon
Bread Pudding
Lamb Sweetbreads
8 Vegetable Quinoa Cake
Filet Mignon Tips And Pasta
Crepes
brioche french toast
Ham And Bree Sandwich
Grilled Vegetable Sandwich
Honey Baked Ham Stuffed Buttermilk Biscuit
chili
Wild Mudhroom & Truffle Omelet
Peach Bellini
Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Four Cheese Sexy Mac
1/3 Lb Classic Burger
Tomato Beet & Mozzerella Salad
Capellini With Burrata Pasta
Chicken Sandwich
Vegetarian sandwich
Hen
Turkey Sandwich

Plate 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Kid-friendly (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Casual (4)
Romantic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Plate 38 is a regular destination for my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Plate 38 is a regular destination for my family. The food is always good, the service generally good and happy hour is a great value since it's an early happy hour and then extended towards closing. Regular items on the menu are always good from the small plates to the entries. Wine list is OK, nothing that jumps out at you but good pairing with the menu. Some of our favorites menu items are the tuna tartar tacos, grilled artichoke and sweet potato fries. Can't go wrong with these. Our last experience on 9/24/16 found the service a bit off. We had to wait quite a while to get our entrees and one was forgotten. However, those things happen and we'll make sure that it's not a trend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had our daughter visiting from Scotts ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had our daughter visiting from Scottsdale, AZ. for 2 days, she travels for business "carry on bag" and wanted to go somewhere that had good food, casual attire, we thought of Plate 38, it was the best choice, close to home and the food is always reliable and excellent.

The service, very friendly and professional. All the staff is very nice.

Our only (negative) request was that the canned music was actually too loud, seating under one of the speakers, we could not have a conversation without raising our voices, I requested that "if" possible it could be lowered a bit, it was done right away and we had a wonderful evening, we had time to talk, eat and enjoy our time together. The live music that comes later on, was no problem.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The combination of street noise and bar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

The combination of street noise and bar noise is high, but we keep coming back again and again because the food is so good and the wait staff are really great.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have never been disappointed with a me ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have never been disappointed with a meal here, in fact in consistently exceeds my expectations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we go on average once a week. Love our a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

we go on average once a week.

Love our adorable hostess ( Natalie) and the wait staff.

Ambience is nice but noisy.

Good craft cocktails

But: STAR IS THE CHEF!

Great specials... Imaginative but not bizarre, beautifully plated and truly delicious

And relatively well priced.

HE should be the celebrity chef in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quite a variety of unique dishes (bone m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Quite a variety of unique dishes (bone marrow anyone) and some staples (sweet potato fries). So I am sure there is something for everyone. The high ceilings and brink walls are a nice touch. Big bar. Indoor outdoor eating. Friendly wait staff too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were very pleased with our experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were very pleased with our experience and will return again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Plate 38 continues to serve outstanding ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Plate 38 continues to serve outstanding food in an unlikely location. They have really developed an excellent staff and their system seems to work smoothly. But it's the food quality and creativity that keeps bringing us back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Another meal at Plate 38. Always consist ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Another meal at Plate 38. Always consistent with previous dining. Will continue to dine here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The ambiance was a little strange. To b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The ambiance was a little strange. To be honest I felt like Plate 38 hasn't really found its identity yet. It struggles between being a cool, modern place to grab a bite and a fine dining gourmet restaurant. This ends up looking like Plate 38 tries too hard. The food was subpar for the price, but the decor wasn't bad, and the hours are good for late night. Wouldn't really come here again though.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We loved the arugula salad - just perfec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We loved the arugula salad - just perfect. Overall, though, my husband and I (who came here on a date) were disappointed with the food - we'd been very excited that they serve organic meat and veggies, but we left feeling like everything except the salad was just meh. The fried chicken was just not good. It had a very odd spice added - we couldn't place it, and the waitress said she wasn't sure what it was, "chef secret." The steak was cooked OK but had a heavy, strange sauce. Veggies were cooked al dente, very well. Notably, the service was attentive, helpful and very sweet. No complaints there. The wine list was surprisingly good w/ many choices by the glass. Full bar, and I enjoyed my seasonal cocktail. I would go back for a girls' night, or with a small group, for apps and drinks, but probably not for dinner again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Always a joy to visit this neighborhood ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a joy to visit this neighborhood star! We love coming here and feeling at home with such an exciting and varied menu. The early and late happy hours are great, and we always enjoy our visits here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little surprised that a main dish priced ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Little surprised that a main dish priced at $24 would only have 6 tortellini. Excellent tortellini but only 6?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my 2nd visit to Plate 38. I enj ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was my 2nd visit to Plate 38. I enjoyed a light supper with a neighbor. Service was steady, unobtrusive, and server was helpful and friendly. We had burgers and salads, perfect for a warm summer evening. I would suggest Plate 38 for delicious fare and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went there for Happy Hour, since it's a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went there for Happy Hour, since it's a neighborhood restaurant close to Hastings Ranch. Thought the Happy Hour price, is a bit high for what you get. My suggestion is they should double up on certain items for the price they ask .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Third time eating there. Once for brunch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Third time eating there. Once for brunch, once for a couple-dinner, and this time a family. Four adults, 2 children. We were seated next to the street. Lots of noise. Cold, drafty. Our hostess asked for the curtains to be drawn, and heaters lit. Within a minute, no draft, and fairly comfortable. Due to the building, there is no way they can avoid the street noise, which was dreadful. We ate a variety of food. Oysters, muscles (not the best), beef, chicken, pasta, and wild mushroom soup. Everything was good. Consistency, taste, feel, temperature, presentation, and price. If not for the loudness, I would instantly recommend this restaurant to my friends. Now I have to warn them about the noise. Could be a deal breaker for some. For us, we dealt with it. Service is inelegant, and sometimes downright clumsy, but they got the job done with a few prompts. If you want service to be excellent, you may not get it. If you are willing to work with them, you'll be fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

I wouldn't recommend this place because ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this place because the service was horrible. From the hostess to the bartender to the servers we interacted with. They were not friendly and seemed very inconvenienced by anything asked of them. I work in the service industry so I understand everyone can have a bad night but this was excessive and seemed like the over all attitude of the staff as a whole.

Other diners sitting around us had similar opinions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The food is always really good here. It ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is always really good here. It can be a little noisy, but great food and service makes up for it. The printed menu is a little low on main course options but they always have a great selection of specials. The chef is always accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food as per usual, interesti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Outstanding food as per usual, interesting menu, wine list excellent if not extensive, and reasonably priced. Chef is creative and very gifted. A real find in Pasadena.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delicious food and very attentive server ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Delicious food and very attentive server... Completed the whole experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was excellent, and made the e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our server was excellent, and made the experience that much better. A couple of the dishes were outstanding, such as potato pancake with smoked salmon, but others- like the beet salad- seemed to be the same old combination of flavors. Good- but not great. We were in outdoor, screened in area- and although spring, we couldn't take our jackets off.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Hour with friends

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Met for Happy Hour - Mojito's were the bomb! Would go back just for those alone!! Enjoyed couple of appetizers, and stayed at our same table for dinner. Burger was delicious, as were sweet potato fries, chicken, and dessert! Will be back again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The music was excellent

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The music was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

It's okay

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was decent. Hostess was terrible ignored us while we stood there, then when she did acknowledge our presence, she chastised us for being 10 minutes early for our reservation. While the server was friendly, she never checked on us. She brought drinks took our order and we didn't see her again until we needed the check. We had to stop other servers or bus people walking by to get assistance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

food was hit & miss. still a fun little place.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

the dishes we ordered were hit and miss. our scramble was SATURATED with oil. it pooled up on the bottom of the pan. we sent it back without getting a new one. our fries and turkey burger were fine and tasty.

open bar is always a plus and the space itself was fun and relaxed.

it got really crowded and SOME of the staff seemed a bit stressed out, barking at each other and seemingly overwhelmed.

still, it's a kid-friendly, casual, fun little neighborhood spot for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable Local Restaurant

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We met a friend for dinner and all 3 of us enjoyed our meals. The regular menu is very limited for entrees, but they always have a few specials which enhance the menu. I do wish that they would improve the selections of wines by the glass, and I wish that when an order is shared (we shared a salad) that they would split it in the kitchen. It's always such a messy process to move food around at the table from plate to plate. They had entertainment the evening we were there, and fortunately, the musicians didn't start until we had finished our meal. We left as soon as they started because they were so LOUD.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

OK Dinner

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

In town on business stopped here for dinner. Wasn't overly impressed however the service and food were good I normally don't stop at these types of places.

I ordered the burger well down came med rare, really pink in the center I ate it however was not impressed. Waitress only checked on us once before bringing the bill they were not that busy

Would I go back, yes just for a quick bite or cocktail however if my burger was not cooked the way I wanted second time I would send it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely delicious, as usual. Crab cak ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Absolutely delicious, as usual. Crab cake Benedict was so good. The textures of all the components were perfect, nothing was too soggy or overly crunchy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Chalkboard Specials

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Job, the head chef, creates some amazing specials, great for foodies! They also have a great Happy Hour Bar menu that ends at 6pm but starts back up at 9pm. The staff is very friendly and Mac the bartender is very knowledgeable on different the liquors and mixology in general. It's a fun place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, unique, fresh food. Nice atmo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Delicious, unique, fresh food. Nice atmosphere but traffic noise can be a bit loud on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good, Reasonable

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Met a friend for breakfast and service and food were both great. Would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They are trying. They are thwarted by th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

They are trying. They are thwarted by their location and their actual space. The food is good. Not overpriced, but some of it is just low quality ingredients. Maybe that's ownership, management, or ability to acquire good quality ingredients, but they are trying. I would recommend this place, at a hit or miss chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Plate 38 had great food & we would choose it again

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

For us, it was too noisy. It was a Wednesday dinner and unexpectedly busy for the wait staff, for which they apologized. The staff was warm and friendly but the service was slow. They only had a few of the red wines on their list, didn't have the one we chose, but substituted with a much higher priced one and charged less - it was wonderful! I have a gluten allergy, which was well accommodated but the menu was limited in gluten-free options, which would affect the frequency of our visits, even though it is very close to our home and would otherwise become a "regular" for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great lunch, so-so dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We'd had a great lunch there on a weekday so wife and I decided to try Saturday night. We had a couple of appetizer specials and split the swordfish. It was good but didn't knock us out. Service a little slow but perhaps kitchen was busy. We'll go back definitely for lunch, pulled pork sandwich, fresh salads, salmon lunch dish my friend raved about. Dinner? We'll give it another try. Good people.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

38 at the Plate

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was okay probably because I thought the bun on my burger could use a major upgrade. The burger itself was great, the bun left a lot to be desired. The restaurant's food is otherwise very good. The brussel sprouts were exceptional.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Like going to you most fun friend's house

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

What a gem. We were going to out on a Thursday and I wanted somewhere "safe" (food and ambience I knew). My date wanted something new.

Plate 38 is a find. Not too large, great activity at the bar, a whole range of couples and savvy families.

The food is ambitious and well-prepared. The staff is warm and superb.

We were delighted to discover a great band who had been socializing at the bar was also going to play.

We will return...frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have never had a bad meal here

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We always enjoy Plate 38. They always have a lot of really interesting specials and they make great cocktails. I love the tuna tacos and the grilled artichoke especially.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for Valentine's dinner and the o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's dinner and the overall experience was good. I did have to ask for water twice without success though and after I felt like I waited long enough after 2 complete failures on my request I got up to the bar and asked another person myself. The gentleman stated that "We'll bring it out to you." I felt like responding "Are you sure? I have two pending requests already!". Anyway I left an appropriately diminished tip. The desert was very good and the steak tasted good as well. We are locals and we will be back but that was a bit lacking. I don't believe you can use the excuse that you were busy as though it was more full than normal there were at least 4 empty tables. I am referring to about 8:15 pm Valentine's evening. We do enjoy going in for drinks once in awhile just to hang out and the location is convenient for us here on the San Gabriel/San Marino border. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

fantastic

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent brunch. Had crab cakes Benedict and husband had smoked salmon over potatoe pancake. Both were excellent. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

This is the best food I've ever had in Pasadena - maybe all of Los Angeles! The chef is creative with vegetables, seafood and meats. The portions are generous and it's really fun to order several items and share to get to experience all the flavors. Just a wonderful restaurant and always consistently great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.