About Plate 38

2361 E Colorado Blvd
Pasadena, CA 91107
View Larger Map

This neighborhood gem is a perfect place for a dry aged burger and a beer or a Friday splurge with signature craft cocktails and a four course meal. Plate 38 caters to those in seek of comfort food made from scratch with a lighter California flare.

With its industrial Napa decor, Plate 38 is a warm bistro that stays open late and features a reverse happy hour starting at 9:00 seven days a week. Let loose on Saturdays and Sundays with bottomless mimosas and the best brunch Pasadena has to offer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 10:30am - 11:30pm; Friday: 9:00am - 12:30am; Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00am; Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Sierra Madre Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(626) 793-7100

Website:
http://www.plate38.com/

Parking Details:
Plus lots of street parking.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Croque Madame - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
1/2 Lb Breakfast Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Cobb Salad - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Royale Macaroni & Cheese - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Three Meats Scramble - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Sexy Mac - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Chicken Salad Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Prime Rib Dip Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Fig Bruschetta - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Italian Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
chicken croissant sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
1/2Lb Smoked Mozzarella Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
1/3 Lb Mushroom Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Arancini - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Chopped Salad - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Truffle Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Breakfast Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Garlic Fries - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Sweet potato fries - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Vegetable Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Southwestern Quinoa Cakes - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Chicken And Brie Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Almond croissant - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Salmon Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Mozarella Roasted Tomato Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Tuna - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Grilled Chicken Pesto Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Italian Cold Cut - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Vegetable Scramble - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Garlic Marinated Skirt Steak - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Side Salad - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Nutella Crepes - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Eggs Benedict - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Vietnamese Pork Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Veal Meatball Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Meyer Lemon Cheese Cake - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Filet Stronganoff with Pappardelle - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Vegetable Pasta - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
fish tacos - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Meatloaf - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
French Onion Beef Stew - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Open-Faced Chicken Salad Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Mozzarella Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Capellini With Shrimp - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Bruschetta with Burrata - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Paella - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Calamari & Rock Shrimp - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Patty Melt - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Brussels Sprouts - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Garlic Herb Fries - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Duck Confit Buffalo Chicken Wings - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Short Rib Benedict - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Caesar Salad - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Mushroom Omelette - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Crabcake Benedict  - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Affogato - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Taco - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Arancini With Mozzarella And Roasted Tomatoes - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Potato Rosti - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Daiquiri-1902-Cuba - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Mushroom Mac And Cheese - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Figs And Prosciutto Tart - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Turkey Melt Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
3 Meat Lasagna - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Roasted Artichoke - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Duck Confit Omlette - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Fries - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Chicken Orecchiette - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Short Ribs - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Filet Mignon - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
carnitas tacos - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Artichoke Soup - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Icecream - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Oxtail Ragu - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Ling Cod Papilloe - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Bolognese - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Salmon - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Bread Pudding - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Lamb Sweetbreads - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
8 Vegetable Quinoa Cake - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Filet Mignon Tips And Pasta - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Crepes - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
brioche french toast - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Ham And Bree Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Grilled Vegetable Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Honey Baked Ham Stuffed Buttermilk Biscuit - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
chili - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Wild Mudhroom & Truffle Omelet - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Peach Bellini - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Jumbo Lump Crab Salad - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Four Cheese Sexy Mac - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
1/3 Lb Classic Burger - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Tomato Beet & Mozzerella Salad - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Capellini With Burrata Pasta - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Chicken Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Vegetarian sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Hen - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA
Turkey Sandwich - Plate 38, Pasadena, CA

Plate 38 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (12)
Fun (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Good for Birthdays (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great Beer (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Romantic (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always delicious, always something new t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always delicious, always something new to try. My fav neighborhood gem.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always request Dennis as our waiter w ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We always request Dennis as our waiter when we eat here. He is a really nice guy and takes care of us always . The food is always good here ,fresh california cuisine served with nouveau gastro technique. We love the casual industrial modern decor and convenient pasdena location.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time here... Mix drinks aren't t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Second time here...

Mix drinks aren't that good and the food is just ok.

To bad I really like the place. Other than the food and the Mix drinks. Nice place. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3

The experience was not as expected. Will ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The experience was not as expected. Will try other places in the area before coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This was an unexpected surprise. It was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was an unexpected surprise. It was a neighborhood secret. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was very good and the portion ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The brunch was very good and the portions very large. The prices were appropriate. The space is a former diner that has been creatively converted into a contemporary gastropub. The noise level is very high. Second time here for brunch and would return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Always a treat to spend an evening at Pl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a treat to spend an evening at Plate 38. We met Patrick who was an exceptional server!

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Casual, , Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Innovative, fresh, delicious, generous p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Innovative, fresh, delicious, generous portions - the best in Pasadena - especially for dinner.

Very accommodating of my numerous food allergies, cheerful substitutions and overall fantastic. A+ for the food and delicious sauces. The owner is the chef and he's a genius!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I was unable to keep this reservation... ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I was unable to keep this reservation...Restaurant is at/near I-210 and Sierra Madre, just a mile from a significant bomb threat that shut down the freeway...just could not get there, nor could my friends. We will try again to get together!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always farm fresh food and gourmet. Grea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Always farm fresh food and gourmet. Great dessert and cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was fantastic as always. The c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was fantastic as always. The crab cakes need to go on the regular menu, not appear just as a Special. My only complaint is that the price of the bone marrow increased but the bones seem to be getting smaller and/or not as much marrow can be scraped out.

Tags: Great Beer, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This crew treats us like family. Natalie ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This crew treats us like family. Natalie, Alana and the other hosts and servers welcome us warmly and are very attentive. For the most part the executive chef is under sung. His food is innovative and delicious. We love being regular customers here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was on open table trying to look for a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was on open table trying to look for a good place to eat.

I found it. this place went above my expectation. I got the steak and eggs, shared banana nutella French toast(to die for) and my date the chicken croissant.

we both got our selections of beer.

we called it our new favorite place in Pasadena..

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely place to visit during happy hour. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lovely place to visit during happy hour. Great selection of food and cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live Music was great, food was expensive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Live Music was great, food was expensive, service only OK.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Met up with some friends here for Sunday ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Met up with some friends here for Sunday breakfast. Food and service was excellent. Highly recommend the vegetarian scramble!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I frequent Plate 38 on a regular basis. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I frequent Plate 38 on a regular basis. The food is very tasty and the price is right.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great that they allow dogs along the pat ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great that they allow dogs along the patio area. But, being on a corner of a busy intersection, there was quite a bit of traffic noise.

Took a long time to get a server's attention and had to flag one down after 15 minutes of just sitting at a table.

Once the food came, it was presented well and everything tasted fine.

The food and interior decor and general service were consistent with the prices charged - about $20 a person with no drinks. However, when you think about the location - basically a strip mall with low-end tenants, it felt out of place.

This restaurant is pretty nice overall, but would fit better in Old Town or South Lake Ave in Pasadena. It's too nice of a place for its location.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoyed our dinner at Plate 38. It's ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Plate 38. It's a good place for a quick dinner and the outside dining is very nice.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Niman ranch pork chop was delicious. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Niman ranch pork chop was delicious. They swapped in parsnip purée which worked for my gluten free wife. The starter sweet potatoes fries are the kids' favorite. They had the kids quesadilla and butternut squash soup--both good size and great. Service was attentive but had to get their attention on a busy night which wasn't a problem. They made adjustments to our meals as requested. We love going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an early reservation to eat with ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had an early reservation to eat with family before we left town for a 3 hour drive. Seated at 5:30 and tried to order appetizers. We were given a every day menu and a daily special menu. Ordered calamari and shrimp, raw oysters, sweet potatoes fries and Brussels sprouts to start. For the next 40 minutes we were told no Brussels sprouts could be made because they weren't 100% sure if they were ready to start the daily menu. Frustrated, we asked then why give us the daily menu and when would they be serving food. Finally, after one hour we got some appetizers (Brussels sprouts was all cauliflower with two Brussels sprouts and no nuts as listed on menu) we then ordered some other items too. Food was bland and not overly warm. We decided to have dessert on our servers suggestion. Bread pudding with apples, caramel and chocolate ganache on top. No caramel or chocolate ganache was included. Server was defiantly surprised and went to the kitchen to ask why it was not prepared as usual. She returned and said they were not making the ganache tonight and they forgot the caramel. The menu lists ingredients and I said that was not how she told us it was prepared and we were expecting this amazing dessert after a subpar dinner. We were there for 2 hours. The bill was $200 plus tip. We asked for the owner/manager to give some helpful feedback. We were told he slipped away for a minute and would not be available to come to our table. We eat out often and tip well and we never ask for bill to be reduced. However, in this instance something should have been offered by not charging for items not including ingredients they just decided to omit. This is the first bad review I've ever written because the owner/manager didn't want to take the time to hear my concerns at my dining visit. On a side not, Server was very embarrassed and tried to do a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Plate 38 is a regular destination for my ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Plate 38 is a regular destination for my family. The food is always good, the service generally good and happy hour is a great value since it's an early happy hour and then extended towards closing. Regular items on the menu are always good from the small plates to the entries. Wine list is OK, nothing that jumps out at you but good pairing with the menu. Some of our favorites menu items are the tuna tartar tacos, grilled artichoke and sweet potato fries. Can't go wrong with these. Our last experience on 9/24/16 found the service a bit off. We had to wait quite a while to get our entrees and one was forgotten. However, those things happen and we'll make sure that it's not a trend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had our daughter visiting from Scotts ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had our daughter visiting from Scottsdale, AZ. for 2 days, she travels for business "carry on bag" and wanted to go somewhere that had good food, casual attire, we thought of Plate 38, it was the best choice, close to home and the food is always reliable and excellent.

The service, very friendly and professional. All the staff is very nice.

Our only (negative) request was that the canned music was actually too loud, seating under one of the speakers, we could not have a conversation without raising our voices, I requested that "if" possible it could be lowered a bit, it was done right away and we had a wonderful evening, we had time to talk, eat and enjoy our time together. The live music that comes later on, was no problem.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The combination of street noise and bar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The combination of street noise and bar noise is high, but we keep coming back again and again because the food is so good and the wait staff are really great.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have never been disappointed with a me ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I have never been disappointed with a meal here, in fact in consistently exceeds my expectations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

we go on average once a week. Love our a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

we go on average once a week.

Love our adorable hostess ( Natalie) and the wait staff.

Ambience is nice but noisy.

Good craft cocktails

But: STAR IS THE CHEF!

Great specials... Imaginative but not bizarre, beautifully plated and truly delicious

And relatively well priced.

HE should be the celebrity chef in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quite a variety of unique dishes (bone m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Quite a variety of unique dishes (bone marrow anyone) and some staples (sweet potato fries). So I am sure there is something for everyone. The high ceilings and brink walls are a nice touch. Big bar. Indoor outdoor eating. Friendly wait staff too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were very pleased with our experience ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were very pleased with our experience and will return again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Plate 38 continues to serve outstanding ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Plate 38 continues to serve outstanding food in an unlikely location. They have really developed an excellent staff and their system seems to work smoothly. But it's the food quality and creativity that keeps bringing us back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Another meal at Plate 38. Always consist ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Another meal at Plate 38. Always consistent with previous dining. Will continue to dine here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The ambiance was a little strange. To b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The ambiance was a little strange. To be honest I felt like Plate 38 hasn't really found its identity yet. It struggles between being a cool, modern place to grab a bite and a fine dining gourmet restaurant. This ends up looking like Plate 38 tries too hard. The food was subpar for the price, but the decor wasn't bad, and the hours are good for late night. Wouldn't really come here again though.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We loved the arugula salad - just perfec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We loved the arugula salad - just perfect. Overall, though, my husband and I (who came here on a date) were disappointed with the food - we'd been very excited that they serve organic meat and veggies, but we left feeling like everything except the salad was just meh. The fried chicken was just not good. It had a very odd spice added - we couldn't place it, and the waitress said she wasn't sure what it was, "chef secret." The steak was cooked OK but had a heavy, strange sauce. Veggies were cooked al dente, very well. Notably, the service was attentive, helpful and very sweet. No complaints there. The wine list was surprisingly good w/ many choices by the glass. Full bar, and I enjoyed my seasonal cocktail. I would go back for a girls' night, or with a small group, for apps and drinks, but probably not for dinner again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Delicious brunch choices. A bit noisy a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Delicious brunch choices. A bit noisy and crowded, but it's a small space that's cozy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a joy to visit this neighborhood ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always a joy to visit this neighborhood star! We love coming here and feeling at home with such an exciting and varied menu. The early and late happy hours are great, and we always enjoy our visits here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little surprised that a main dish priced ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Little surprised that a main dish priced at $24 would only have 6 tortellini. Excellent tortellini but only 6?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my 2nd visit to Plate 38. I enj ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 27, 2016

This was my 2nd visit to Plate 38. I enjoyed a light supper with a neighbor. Service was steady, unobtrusive, and server was helpful and friendly. We had burgers and salads, perfect for a warm summer evening. I would suggest Plate 38 for delicious fare and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Went there for Happy Hour, since it's a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Went there for Happy Hour, since it's a neighborhood restaurant close to Hastings Ranch. Thought the Happy Hour price, is a bit high for what you get. My suggestion is they should double up on certain items for the price they ask .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Third time eating there. Once for brunch ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Third time eating there. Once for brunch, once for a couple-dinner, and this time a family. Four adults, 2 children. We were seated next to the street. Lots of noise. Cold, drafty. Our hostess asked for the curtains to be drawn, and heaters lit. Within a minute, no draft, and fairly comfortable. Due to the building, there is no way they can avoid the street noise, which was dreadful. We ate a variety of food. Oysters, muscles (not the best), beef, chicken, pasta, and wild mushroom soup. Everything was good. Consistency, taste, feel, temperature, presentation, and price. If not for the loudness, I would instantly recommend this restaurant to my friends. Now I have to warn them about the noise. Could be a deal breaker for some. For us, we dealt with it. Service is inelegant, and sometimes downright clumsy, but they got the job done with a few prompts. If you want service to be excellent, you may not get it. If you are willing to work with them, you'll be fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

I wouldn't recommend this place because ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I wouldn't recommend this place because the service was horrible. From the hostess to the bartender to the servers we interacted with. They were not friendly and seemed very inconvenienced by anything asked of them. I work in the service industry so I understand everyone can have a bad night but this was excessive and seemed like the over all attitude of the staff as a whole.

Other diners sitting around us had similar opinions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

The food is always really good here. It ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is always really good here. It can be a little noisy, but great food and service makes up for it. The printed menu is a little low on main course options but they always have a great selection of specials. The chef is always accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.