About Plank's Tavern

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30AM- 11AM Saturday & Sunday 7AM-9AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Restaurant Photos

  • Plank's Tavern
  • Plank's Tavern
Plank's Tavern
Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Southwest Michigan

Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Scenic View (21)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food and top notch service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food and top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere overlooking the St ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice atmosphere overlooking the St Joe river w/ good food & service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with a view. Service was great. E ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dinner with a view. Service was great. Entrees were also very good. However, they had the best appetizers I've had in a long time. I will make the trip again for their Vanilla bean porter and any of their starters. And I suggest you do the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Best food around! Fresh, made to order a ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best food around! Fresh, made to order and high quality farm fresh ingredients. Patio seating is lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot on a summer night if you can ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great spot on a summer night if you can sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We took out-of-town classmates to Plank' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took out-of-town classmates to Plank's for lunch during our three-day reunion. They were all impressed with the hotel, the delicious food, our friendly server Elijah, and the beautiful

outdoor area. We have always enjoyed Plank's and were happy to share this place with our friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food order was wrong and I did not fe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My food order was wrong and I did not feel like dealing with the waiter said oh that's right

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our server, Ashley, really made our even ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Ashley, really made our evening an experience. 2 of the 3 people in our party ordered a fish that we later found out was no longer available. We could tell Ashley did not want to bring us this news but was so adorable that we didn't mind in the least and just put in a different order. Overall the food was good, the outdoor seating beautiful but we will come back to see Ashley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great time there. Wonderful food and se ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great time there. Wonderful food and service nev

er felt rushed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were able to be seated outside on a S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were able to be seated outside on a Saturday night which was a nice surprise. Everyone in our group loved their food, and the couple of cocktails we ordered were very tasty as well. Server was attentive, and offered to split checks right away, which is always wonderful in a big group. She even offered to take our picture, which was kind. If I'm ever back in the area, I would come to this place again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first occasion to try Plank ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first occasion to try Planks but it will not be our last! Food was delicious and the server was very observant and pleasant. The outdoor dining was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Planks is a great find. The food is the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Planks is a great find. The food is the best of any place around for miles...the patio overlooking the St Joe river is fun and interesting watching the boats that go by. I hear that seeing the huge tankers turn around here is breathtaking...would love to go back for that.

The food was terrific, the menu is large and has something for everyone. The wait staff are very attentive and the food is just delightful. I HIGHLY recommend going here..you can dress in any way at all and be perfectly at home. For cooler days inside by a fireplace is lovely and the bar is very nice. Also a fun outdoor bar area as well.

This is located on the bottom floor of the lovely Harbor Shores Inn, so it is a win win!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Shrimp Linguine was full of flavor, ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Shrimp Linguine was full of flavor, couldve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not by any means our first expe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was not by any means our first experience at Planks Tavern, but due to the Art Fair coming to town we chose to make a reservation to meet some out of town friends there for a Saturday Brunch/Lunch. Overall the experience was great, we love the place and we always have a good time. Today was no exception.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is awesome. Their Pork Chop was th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is awesome. Their Pork Chop was the best - prep, taste, presentation kudos to the chef. I had their steak burger - great also. Service is a bit slow, but it is a more laid back ambience. The water view leaves something to be desired however. The area is a soon to be developed area in the St. Joe/Benton Harbor MI location. This is east and south of the main St Joe Harbor Silver Lake area where all the main food and attractions are (in a resort like environment). It's located in a hotel, so be sure to note that when your GPS struggles finding it. So to sum up, Food/beverage -awesome. Ambiance - just ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been going here for years and it i ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been going here for years and it is fantastic every time. The food is delicious and management is fantastic. You cannot beat the brunch. Beautiful facility with great patio seating. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great anniversary dinner we had a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

What a great anniversary dinner we had at Plank's Tavern. We didn't expect it to be so good, but the food, service, location (viewing the river) and the whole dining experience was just fantastic. Greatly exceeded expectations. Since then we have sent other friends there and they have all had the same great experience. Anthony, the manager, is wonderful and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this restaurant as it has the best food anywhere around this western Michigan area. A real plus is you can make reservations and in towns where during the summers it is very hard to find places to eat, this is a HUGE plus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad Food was okay

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was bad

Food was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The server was outstanding and very atte ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The server was outstanding and very attentive. There were few diners on the day we chose. Lunch was not as outstanding. I had a half Turkey Reuben and a cup of tomato soup. The soup was very good, the sandwich, just so-so. I would not order it again. We had dessert, which was very good. It was nice to be able to sit and talk as long as we liked. We also enjoyed the art installation and I shared pictures of it on FB for my friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, b ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, but stands out with extraordinary steaks and seafood;

We would drive 100 miles for a dinner on the water with exceptional and personable service.

Even the chef visited our table so that we could discuss the great meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, great setting, good ser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good experience, great setting, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

A hidden gem on the water- Feels like Newport Bch

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first visit to Plank's Tavern and we were pleasantly surprised how personable the staff were, expedient and polite.

The food was perfectly done in steaks and seafood.

The drink menu was vast and met each of our varied tastes

Unbelievable view and on the water. A beautiful Sunday meal with friends

in an atmosphere that reminded us of Newport Beach (CA)in the Midwest

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class experience! Food and servic ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

First class experience! Food and service were fantastic! PGA weekend, we met several professionals and the vibe was awesome! A must try in Saint Joseph!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch spot

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The food was very good. I had the Eggs Benedict and a wedge salad. Both were quite yummy. The restaurant was very loud, because of a large party sitting near us. The service was good. The view is not the greater because of the large quarry across the river from the hotel. It would be a nice place for outdoor dining on a warmer day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great view, food fine not special, service only ok

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Married couple date night. She had the filet I had the short ribs. She really enjoyed the filet, mine was over spiced. Server was inexperienced, pretty slow. The menu has changed considerably since our previous visit and is not as varied. But this is a good place overall, I would recommend it, but hopefully things pickup, in both food and service areas.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband had the home made pot pie and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband had the home made pot pie and raved that it was the best he ever had. We also had the shrimp tempura as an appetizer which was also yummy.

I was disappointec in my MAhi Mahi Tacos. They were losded with toppings ( sour cream) and were not healthy or tsstey at all. I merely picked at it and would have sent it back but I was already full.

After dinnerv we moved over to bar to waych the hockey game. We asked if they could put the volume up since it was the Play Offs and were surprised that they said no. Come on Michigan is a Hockey State! Also, the primary reason people were in the bar ( were even coming down from a wedding upstairs to watch) was to see the game. Sound creates energy which in tirn mskes people want to drink and stay longer.

Planks needs to know their audience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I love the mushroom risotto. We go to P ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I love the mushroom risotto. We go to Planks for their rack of ribs. They were taken off the menu for awhile but they are back and as good as ever. Another favorite is he Lobster Mac and Cheese. Amazing! As always, food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific find in St. Joseph, MI

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We wanted to be near Lake Michigan so found this hotel that boasted a harbor view. Plank's Tavern was the main restaurant. We had drinks in the bar and had a great view. They have an extensive beer and wine menu. There was a roaring fireplace.

We told our server that we wanted a harbor view in the main dining room and when one came available, he seated us. He was an excellent server; he did not hover, appeared when he needed to and did not upsell the menu.

This was the winter menu, so prices were amazingly inexpensive for the quality. We were passing through the area, so unlikely to return, but I would recommend the restaurant to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good brunch, phenomenal service, well ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A good brunch, phenomenal service, well worth the cost, we will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Harbor Shores Brunch @ Plank's Tavern

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic Easter brunch @ Plank's Tavern with very creative food options prepared by the Chef and staff and great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Visited family in St. Joseph and wanted to treat to dinner. Plank Tavern turned out to be a very special experience. Enjoyed learning of the Plank Tavern history. Window view of harbor took advantage of the great atmosphere. Very good service and food. Will definitely stop in again on our return visits.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique; appetizers are share plates

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The server greeted us with a friendly smile. The Manager circulated and stopped by our table to ask us if we were enjoying ourselves. The table setting is intimate and the river reflected off the glass floor to ceiling windows. For short people like myself; however, the booth seating made it difficult to eat and sit comfortably; I could not sit back, but needed to sit closer to the table and with a physical handicap this made for very uncomfortable sitting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there for brunch on a Saturday. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We were there for brunch on a Saturday. We had the pork belly benedict, the chicken and biscuits and the mushroom crepe. All 3 were very good! The sweet Michigan sangria was a very nice compliment to the savory and spicy dishes. We will return during the summer when the restaurant is sure to be more lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best in the area

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Planks is a fantastic find. The cuisine in the area ranges from fast food to bar food with a few exceptions. The food, service and ambiance just to the top of our list. It is a great exception for the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared entrees. Both were excellent!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. The wait staff were attentive. Anthony, the manager, was very helpful!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars for sure! Went here for Vale ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Five stars for sure! Went here for Valentine's weekend and had an amazing dinner. Ahi tuna appetizer was one of the best I've had. Specialty cocktails and features card were amazing. Kudos to the chef and staff for a job well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was 100% unacceptable. The drin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was 100% unacceptable. The drink (Bloody Mary), the appetizer (Cuban nachos), all four entrees, the salads were terrible. Old stale ingredients in salads. The coffee was undrinkable. What was going on in that kitchen. Also very noisy. Will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Top Notch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Top notch from the beginning with the greeter, to the end with the manager checking in to see how our experience was and if there was anything that could make our evening better.

Our view was wonderful and the room was perfect temperature…warm and cozy.

Our server was attentive and informative. Our party of four had an appetizer, salads, entrees and a share dessert and everything was excellent. This was my third visit and was the best. I will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kinks remain

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Breakfast service was disorganized. The server seemed fairly new. It appeared they were short staffed, as our server was covering a very large area. The food has improved a great deal and is very good overall and their pricing is perfect for the area. Will 100% return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Very good overall.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.