About Plank's Tavern

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Served in Rise & Vine daily
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Restaurant Photos

  • Plank's Tavern, Saint Joseph, MI
  • Plank's Tavern, Saint Joseph, MI
Plank's Tavern, Saint Joseph, MI
Plank's Tavern, Saint Joseph, MI

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (6)
Scenic View (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
See All
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
146 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unlike any other in the area. Quality f ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 2 days ago

Unlike any other in the area. Quality fresh food with a modern twist. Must try when in Saint Joseph. Best wine list in the area by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. Everything was a lit ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good. Everything was a little heavy and not very refined, but still very tasty. The hand-crafted cocktails were unique and delicious. Our server was wonderful - very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was outstanding! The noise leve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was outstanding! The noise level was a bit high, however when the large group was served, that level was reduced. Very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a wonderful attention to service! ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a wonderful attention to service! Manager was extremely kind and checked on us often! They even gave us dessert to celebrate husband's birthday! Deelish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was exceptional and understoo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server was exceptional and understood the needs of our table well! I informed the manager as well. She made our Sunday morning experience with our elderly mother a memorable one!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was average. I ordered pork chops a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was average. I ordered pork chops and the chef included risotto as a side (i.e., instead of mashed potatoes). The risotto had no taste, was mushy in texture, and included cranberries and walnuts, which I assume were to make it Thanksgiving / Fall themed-- it was bad. There was also no greens with the dish, so it just did not work; however, the pork was cooked and seasoned well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Mediocre food. Hotel restaurant.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Mediocre food. Hotel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Da BOMB! Fresh seafood and house made i ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Da BOMB! Fresh seafood and house made items on the menu. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and amazing service! Joey i ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service! Joey is the best. Sunday brunch is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant bills itself as 'on the r ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The restaurant bills itself as 'on the river' but you'd never know that from where we were seated. Despite reservations and a low volume of other diners, we were seated near the entrance in a high-backed booth with NO view of the river or any of the implied ambience. This is the only table without a view. The booth seats are very low and awkward; I felt like the little kid at the adults table. Don't bother to come here. There are many other venues in the area with better dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The only issue was that we ordered bottl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The only issue was that we ordered bottles of wine, which I specifically asked to pay separately. This is due to the fact that I do not typically tip 20% on a bottle, especially when they do not pour it. That didn't happen and so they made out with a 20% added gratuity, which came out to another $35. Other than that Planks was very nice and accommodating, staff very friendly. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The food choices are always great! The s ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food choices are always great! The service and scenery make for a great and relaxing dining experience after busy work days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When booking our anniversary brunch, I n ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

When booking our anniversary brunch, I noted that in my 'special requests' section. That went ignored by the staff. Additionally, I asked for Gluten Free options and that requested was not acknowledged either.

While the restaurant was busy - the hostesses did not make eye contact or ask if we were being helped - no one seemed to be able to multi task.

Was hoping for more than just ok service and experience for our 18th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great waterfront view. A freighter arri ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great waterfront view. A freighter arrived across the river as we sat down and it was interesting to watch it unload.

Food was good, prices OK, you're paying some for the view. Dessert was very good.

The hostess was young and did not seem very professional--chewing gum on line? Maybe a high school student, most of the college folks had gone back to school, but that's just not OK--I don't believe the operator is going for an "Ed Debevic's" feel here. We had a reservation and she offered us an inside table right away, or an outside table when one opened up. We asked how long we might wait for an outside table and she said it depended, some people just sat around and talked but others ate and then left so it just depended on that.

We walked past 3 empty outside tables as we went to sit outside and wait--I don't know if they were reserved for other parties who had specifically requested outside tables, if the hostess didn't know there were tables available within sight of her station, or if she just didn't like us. We waited about 45 minutes for a table. The wait wasn't awful, it was fun to watch the freighter.

Once we had a table, the server was as helpful as the hostess had seemed indifferent. She forgot our appetizer order but our dinner came almost as quickly as we'd expected the appetizer, and we were stuffed by dinner and dessert, so it might have been a good thing we didn't get the appetizer too!

Atmosphere was pretty loud even outdoors. There was a good Jimmy Buffett style singer at the far end of the area but he was drowned out by the table full of folks who had apparently concluded it was "five o'clock somewhere" around lunchtime and had not gone thirsty since. Not the restaurant's fault...

Our first time here for dinner, we will try it again. It really was good food in a lovely setting, other things were a roll of the die.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

This restaurant never fails to please..i ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This restaurant never fails to please..in every way. Food, service, ambiance, menu selections and location on the river....just LOVE going there. It is our favorite is all of SW Michigan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast and our server was wonde ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great breakfast and our server was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great views on the patio matches the del ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great views on the patio matches the delicious food and courteous service.

Definitely will be back again next time I am in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and top notch service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious food and top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice atmosphere overlooking the St ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice atmosphere overlooking the St Joe river w/ good food & service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner with a view. Service was great. E ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dinner with a view. Service was great. Entrees were also very good. However, they had the best appetizers I've had in a long time. I will make the trip again for their Vanilla bean porter and any of their starters. And I suggest you do the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Best food around! Fresh, made to order a ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best food around! Fresh, made to order and high quality farm fresh ingredients. Patio seating is lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot on a summer night if you can ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great spot on a summer night if you can sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We took out-of-town classmates to Plank' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took out-of-town classmates to Plank's for lunch during our three-day reunion. They were all impressed with the hotel, the delicious food, our friendly server Elijah, and the beautiful

outdoor area. We have always enjoyed Plank's and were happy to share this place with our friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My food order was wrong and I did not fe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My food order was wrong and I did not feel like dealing with the waiter said oh that's right

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our server, Ashley, really made our even ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our server, Ashley, really made our evening an experience. 2 of the 3 people in our party ordered a fish that we later found out was no longer available. We could tell Ashley did not want to bring us this news but was so adorable that we didn't mind in the least and just put in a different order. Overall the food was good, the outdoor seating beautiful but we will come back to see Ashley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great time there. Wonderful food and se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great time there. Wonderful food and service nev

er felt rushed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were able to be seated outside on a S ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were able to be seated outside on a Saturday night which was a nice surprise. Everyone in our group loved their food, and the couple of cocktails we ordered were very tasty as well. Server was attentive, and offered to split checks right away, which is always wonderful in a big group. She even offered to take our picture, which was kind. If I'm ever back in the area, I would come to this place again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first occasion to try Plank ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first occasion to try Planks but it will not be our last! Food was delicious and the server was very observant and pleasant. The outdoor dining was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Planks is a great find. The food is the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Planks is a great find. The food is the best of any place around for miles...the patio overlooking the St Joe river is fun and interesting watching the boats that go by. I hear that seeing the huge tankers turn around here is breathtaking...would love to go back for that.

The food was terrific, the menu is large and has something for everyone. The wait staff are very attentive and the food is just delightful. I HIGHLY recommend going here..you can dress in any way at all and be perfectly at home. For cooler days inside by a fireplace is lovely and the bar is very nice. Also a fun outdoor bar area as well.

This is located on the bottom floor of the lovely Harbor Shores Inn, so it is a win win!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Shrimp Linguine was full of flavor, ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Shrimp Linguine was full of flavor, couldve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not by any means our first expe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was not by any means our first experience at Planks Tavern, but due to the Art Fair coming to town we chose to make a reservation to meet some out of town friends there for a Saturday Brunch/Lunch. Overall the experience was great, we love the place and we always have a good time. Today was no exception.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is awesome. Their Pork Chop was th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is awesome. Their Pork Chop was the best - prep, taste, presentation kudos to the chef. I had their steak burger - great also. Service is a bit slow, but it is a more laid back ambience. The water view leaves something to be desired however. The area is a soon to be developed area in the St. Joe/Benton Harbor MI location. This is east and south of the main St Joe Harbor Silver Lake area where all the main food and attractions are (in a resort like environment). It's located in a hotel, so be sure to note that when your GPS struggles finding it. So to sum up, Food/beverage -awesome. Ambiance - just ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been going here for years and it i ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been going here for years and it is fantastic every time. The food is delicious and management is fantastic. You cannot beat the brunch. Beautiful facility with great patio seating. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great anniversary dinner we had a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 30, 2016

What a great anniversary dinner we had at Plank's Tavern. We didn't expect it to be so good, but the food, service, location (viewing the river) and the whole dining experience was just fantastic. Greatly exceeded expectations. Since then we have sent other friends there and they have all had the same great experience. Anthony, the manager, is wonderful and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this restaurant as it has the best food anywhere around this western Michigan area. A real plus is you can make reservations and in towns where during the summers it is very hard to find places to eat, this is a HUGE plus!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad Food was okay

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was bad

Food was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The server was outstanding and very atte ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 23, 2016

The server was outstanding and very attentive. There were few diners on the day we chose. Lunch was not as outstanding. I had a half Turkey Reuben and a cup of tomato soup. The soup was very good, the sandwich, just so-so. I would not order it again. We had dessert, which was very good. It was nice to be able to sit and talk as long as we liked. We also enjoyed the art installation and I shared pictures of it on FB for my friends!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, but stands out with extraordinary steaks and seafood;

We would drive 100 miles for a dinner on the water with exceptional and personable service.

Even the chef visited our table so that we could discuss the great meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, great setting, good ser ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good experience, great setting, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Overall good. Service in the summer can ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Overall good. Service in the summer can be questionable as they always have a new team being trained. Disappointed they took the potpie off the fall menu ( it was great)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A hidden gem on the water- Feels like Newport Bch

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first visit to Plank's Tavern and we were pleasantly surprised how personable the staff were, expedient and polite.

The food was perfectly done in steaks and seafood.

The drink menu was vast and met each of our varied tastes

Unbelievable view and on the water. A beautiful Sunday meal with friends

in an atmosphere that reminded us of Newport Beach (CA)in the Midwest

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.