Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday 7AM-11AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Waterfront (19)
Scenic View (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food. I had a unique salad called quinoa and kale salad (which honestly sounded boring albeit nutritious) which was the most delicious salad I’ve ever had. Also the fries are outstanding! It was a birthday of my friend and he was sung to as well as brought a piece of this outstanding cheesecake. This was not a cheesy birthday celebration but one of class. There was a sparkler and the cheesecake was served on a beautiful wooden plank in the shape of Michigan.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We decided to try Plank’s because of good reviews and the reviews were accurate. Great menu and excellent food. Sunday buffet is also available with an omelette station and other fresh choices.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Good food, good seating arrangements, and great service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great food and service. I love the menu and variety of choices. One of our favorite restaurants in teh area. Highly recommended.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was amazing. The martinis are delightful. While the restaurant seems exposed to the hotel lobby, once inside you don't notice. The atmosphere is cozy and very pleasant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2017

We went to The Plank for a bachelorette dinner. The food was good, the service was better. Everyone enjoyed the evening but the food was a bit pricey. Our table had no views except for the TV.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

One of the best brunch meals I have ever had. All four of us were very satisfied.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great view of the lake. The beet salad was very small and the avocado toast came
With bacon which it did not List in the menu. Overall just okay food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Plank's Tavern was absolutely lovely! We were there for Sunday brunch - we ordered off the menu vs taking part in the brunch options. We found the menu to be fantastic and in fact all of us commented that it might have been one of the best breakfasts any of us had ever had! They have outdoor seating which was also very nice. I highly recommend Plank's and will return for dinner soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great housemade black bean burger!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We came to Planks Tavern to celebrate my cousin's 18th birthday and unbeknownst to him Paul came out with a cheesecake singing happy birthday. I can't say enough about how amazing the people are, the food and the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

First time there. The food was great, service great. Highly recommend for comfortable dinning.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We booked a room in the hotel last-minute due to a change in weekend plans, and decided to eat here, as it was convienient and the menu had some gluten-free options. The tavern wasn't busy, and a table outside would have been nicer, but none were available. However, the atmosphere was nice, the service very good, the food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Very nice patio seating area and food was very good

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Waitress didnt remove our salad bread or dinner dishes even after she gave us take home boxes. I put the playes on anothet table

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very good food and Very large flat bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We were quite pleasantly surprised at our experience at Plank's. The menu was quite interesting and the food was very good. We sat outside, so the noise level was quite tolerable, plus it was a very pleasant viewl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was good. Service was ok, biggest problem was length of time to get our food. Seems like it took forever. Apps came out quick but dinner was super slow. We drank a lot passing the time but still, could have been much faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had and outstanding meal and dining experience. We enjoy sitting outside having a nice relaxed evening and enjoyed the cocktails-great Citrusy Sangria, the mussels appetizer, a wonderful flatbread, and great 1/2 rib rack that was tasty and fell off the bone. The flavors of everything were outstanding. The service (Jamie)-great and Anthony (one of the managers) provided wonderful customer service and interaction with all the restaurant guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We went to Sunday brunch and the chef that made my omelette was friendly and professional. Food was good and enjoyed eating on the porch. A little disappointed on our server. We had to ask for our water to be filled by another server but I would definitely come back.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall the food was great. My husband & I were celebrating our anniversary. Sunday brunch was delicious and plentiful. Worth the value, however the wait staff were constantly at the table. Like every 3-4 minutes, we couldn't enjoy breakfast or have a conversation there was constantly someone there... Super annoying. The view was beautiful on the patio. It was quiet and relaxing. Overall I would recommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

As a local, I had been to Planks a few times in the past and had terrible experiences....vowing never to go back but I'm glad that I have been back. The food quality and service have gone from down right aweful to quite good. The managers are attentive and the wait staff are professional and know the menu well. They have a fantastic beer selection comprised of local/regional craft brews including several IPAs.
The outdoor dining overlooking the river is great and the addition of live music a few nights per week is awesome.
I'm a local boater so I think it would be really cool if they would create tie up space along the wall so as to be able to grab lunch or dinner via boat or even do call ahead ordering so you could dock, grab food and go.
Planks has come a long way in the past year so if you haven't been back ina while, you should give it a try.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were way early for our reservation, which was not an issue, we were seated outside, service and food were fine, nothing to get excited about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was great to sit outisde on a gorgeous morning by the water. The service was great. We had breakfast from the menu, everyone enjoyed it!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. The food was exceptional as was the service. Our waiter was fun.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The outdoor patio is very nice but the ambiance inside is mediocre.
Very, very long wait for appetizers and the main courses.
Food was goo, but not great.
Service was excellent, but didn't make up for the long wait.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

On 8/13/17 our party of 4 sat down for dinner in a relatively empty dining room . After 10 minutes of not having a waitress come to serve us, we asked the couple in the adjacent seats how long they had been there without service - answer : 20 minutes. After 10 more minutes of waiting, we (and the other couple) left. Note that we wouldn't have reviewed the restaurant except that they changed our status to "cancelled" thus not allowing us to comment. We decided that the restaurant took their action to protect their Open Table rating, so we called Open Table to have them reinstate our ability to comment. We were looking forward to dinner there and unfortunately we can't comment on the food or value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Even though we arrived about 15 minutes late for our reservation, they still held our table for us. We were very happy with the food and the service as well as the atmosphere. The Sunday breakfast/brunch buffet was fantastic!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Overall great experience. The place is beautiful on the water so ask to sit outside. The food was ok but nothing special. The fried of the kids meals were delicious with spices but not really for kids. Overall it was a nice night out with kids. The food came very fast and the manager came to ask if everything was ok. I would return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was delicious. The Plank salad was crisp, fresh, and tasty. The trout was perfectly cooked and flavorful. There was too much oil on the plate, but we avoided it. The service was efficient and enthusiastic; maybe too enthusiastic. We enjoyed the meal, and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was ok, not great. We ordered medium rare burgers, and they were overcooked, which is really annoying. Service fine, setting very nice.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Best brunch in the area hand down! A variety of innovative selections and $5 mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant had a great vibe and beautiful view. The deck was busy, but the inside wasn't. They seated us right by the busy door, by the hostess stand, which was odd because there were plenty of nicer places to sit. The waiter was nice, but forgot to put in our appetizer so we never got that. My martini was great, but the other three guests got some sort of berry mojito that was terrible. One guest sent theirs back and got something different. Two of us had the medallions and they were terrific. One got tacos and they were ok, and our other guest got the pork and she couldn't even eat it. They did give us a piece of cake for our anniversary but overall it wasn't the best experience. We wanted to love it. Our table bill (between two checks, 4 people) was over $200. I would have expected better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had reservations, for my husband's birthday. Dinner was on the patio. The setting was lovely. I had the chicken taco's and my husband had the ribs, both were very tasty.
The manager, stopped by our table, and I mentioned we were celebrating, my husband's birthday, he let him choose a dessert. This is a special place!!! I do recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Went for breakfast on a Friday. While the service was great. They had a fairly limited menu and were warned by the waitress that they were out of pancakes. Honestly, I understand running out of things but a hotel restaurant running out something shelf stable like pancakes is CRAZY! Overall great service, food was good. We'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Plank's while visiting the St. Joe's area. The outdoor seating was lovely and our meals were delicious. We enjoyed the portobello mushroom and scallops with pasta entrees. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We enjoyed a great evening with good friends on the veranda - it was quiet enough to enjoy our conversation, and our dinner choices were perfect! Thanks, Paul, for showing us what fine dining should be.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went on a Sunday, expecting to hear the live music that was advertised, so we were disappointed when there was none. However, the food was good and the servers were friendly. If staying st The Inn at Harbor Shores again I would definitely go back, simply for the convenience.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The restaurant was nice and the service was very good but the food was just ok for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

.The food was extremely tasty and the presentation is great! The prices are a little on the high side, but I am never disappointed by what I get! Our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. He was very prompt and polite. Will definitely return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.