About Plank's Tavern

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30AM- 11AM Saturday & Sunday 7AM-9AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Restaurant Photos

  • Plank's Tavern
  • Plank's Tavern
Plank's Tavern
Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Southwest Michigan

great for outdoor dining (15)
special occasion (12)
scenic view (11)
See All
great for brunch (8)
romantic (7)
great for lunch (7)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
fit for foodies (3)
hot spot (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, b ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, but stands out with extraordinary steaks and seafood; We would drive 100 miles for a dinner on the water with exceptional and personable service. Even the chef visited our table so that we could discuss the great meal

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem on the water- Feels like Newport Bch

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first visit to Plank's Tavern and we were pleasantly surprised how personable the staff were, expedient and polite. The food was perfectly done in steaks and seafood. The drink menu was vast and met each of our varied tastes Unbelievable view and on the water. A beautiful Sunday meal with friends in an atmosphere that reminded us of Newport Beach (CA)in the Midwest

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

First class experience! Food and servic ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

First class experience! Food and service were fantastic! PGA weekend, we met several professionals and the vibe was awesome! A must try in Saint Joseph!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Brunch spot

Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The food was very good. I had the Eggs Benedict and a wedge salad. Both were quite yummy. The restaurant was very loud, because of a large party sitting near us. The service was good. The view is not the greater because of the large quarry across the river from the hotel. It would be a nice place for outdoor dining on a warmer day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great view, food fine not special, service only ok

Dined on May 13, 2016

Married couple date night. She had the filet I had the short ribs. She really enjoyed the filet, mine was over spiced. Server was inexperienced, pretty slow. The menu has changed considerably since our previous visit and is not as varied. But this is a good place overall, I would recommend it, but hopefully things pickup, in both food and service areas.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

My husband had the home made pot pie and ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband had the home made pot pie and raved that it was the best he ever had. We also had the shrimp tempura as an appetizer which was also yummy. I was disappointec in my MAhi Mahi Tacos. They were losded with toppings ( sour cream) and were not healthy or tsstey at all. I merely picked at it and would have sent it back but I was already full. After dinnerv we moved over to bar to waych the hockey game. We asked if they could put the volume up since it was the Play Offs and were surprised that they said no. Come on Michigan is a Hockey State! Also, the primary reason people were in the bar ( were even coming down from a wedding upstairs to watch) was to see the game. Sound creates energy which in tirn mskes people want to drink and stay longer. Planks needs to know their audience.

food5
ambience5
service5

I love the mushroom risotto. We go to P ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I love the mushroom risotto. We go to Planks for their rack of ribs. They were taken off the menu for awhile but they are back and as good as ever. Another favorite is he Lobster Mac and Cheese. Amazing! As always, food was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific find in St. Joseph, MI

Dined on April 4, 2016

We wanted to be near Lake Michigan so found this hotel that boasted a harbor view. Plank's Tavern was the main restaurant. We had drinks in the bar and had a great view. They have an extensive beer and wine menu. There was a roaring fireplace. We told our server that we wanted a harbor view in the main dining room and when one came available, he seated us. He was an excellent server; he did not hover, appeared when he needed to and did not upsell the menu. This was the winter menu, so prices were amazingly inexpensive for the quality. We were passing through the area, so unlikely to return, but I would recommend the restaurant to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

A good brunch, phenomenal service, well ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

A good brunch, phenomenal service, well worth the cost, we will go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Harbor Shores Brunch @ Plank's Tavern

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic Easter brunch @ Plank's Tavern with very creative food options prepared by the Chef and staff and great service!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on March 25, 2016

Visited family in St. Joseph and wanted to treat to dinner. Plank Tavern turned out to be a very special experience. Enjoyed learning of the Plank Tavern history. Window view of harbor took advantage of the great atmosphere. Very good service and food. Will definitely stop in again on our return visits.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Unique; appetizers are share plates

Dined on March 17, 2016

The server greeted us with a friendly smile. The Manager circulated and stopped by our table to ask us if we were enjoying ourselves. The table setting is intimate and the river reflected off the glass floor to ceiling windows. For short people like myself; however, the booth seating made it difficult to eat and sit comfortably; I could not sit back, but needed to sit closer to the table and with a physical handicap this made for very uncomfortable sitting.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We were there for brunch on a Saturday. ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We were there for brunch on a Saturday. We had the pork belly benedict, the chicken and biscuits and the mushroom crepe. All 3 were very good! The sweet Michigan sangria was a very nice compliment to the savory and spicy dishes. We will return during the summer when the restaurant is sure to be more lively.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the area

Dined on February 13, 2016

Planks is a fantastic find. The cuisine in the area ranges from fast food to bar food with a few exceptions. The food, service and ambiance just to the top of our list. It is a great exception for the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared entrees. Both were excellent!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. The wait staff were attentive. Anthony, the manager, was very helpful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Five stars for sure! Went here for Vale ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Five stars for sure! Went here for Valentine's weekend and had an amazing dinner. Ahi tuna appetizer was one of the best I've had. Specialty cocktails and features card were amazing. Kudos to the chef and staff for a job well done!

food1
ambience1
service2

The food was 100% unacceptable. The drin ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was 100% unacceptable. The drink (Bloody Mary), the appetizer (Cuban nachos), all four entrees, the salads were terrible. Old stale ingredients in salads. The coffee was undrinkable. What was going on in that kitchen. Also very noisy. Will not be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on January 22, 2016

Top notch from the beginning with the greeter, to the end with the manager checking in to see how our experience was and if there was anything that could make our evening better. Our view was wonderful and the room was perfect temperature…warm and cozy. Our server was attentive and informative. Our party of four had an appetizer, salads, entrees and a share dessert and everything was excellent. This was my third visit and was the best. I will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Kinks remain

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

Breakfast service was disorganized. The server seemed fairly new. It appeared they were short staffed, as our server was covering a very large area. The food has improved a great deal and is very good overall and their pricing is perfect for the area. Will 100% return.

food3
ambience3
service3

Very good overall.

vip
Dined on December 4, 2015

Very good overall.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful meal we enjoyed at Plan ...

vip
Dined on December 3, 2015

What a wonderful meal we enjoyed at Plank's. We enjoyed Tapa's and Tini's, a Thursday night special with shared plates and martinis for $6. Everything about our experience was fantastic. Two thumbs up from us!

food5
ambience4
service5

Plank's / New Menu

Dined on November 24, 2015

We were very pleased with the new menu @ Plank's with great options and the wine list is great as well with a good mix of Whites and Reds! And our dinners were fantastic and we look forward to many more visits! And the service was great and we enjoyed Paul who assisted with our wine purchase and selection!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Yummy

Dined on November 1, 2015

Had the lobster Mac and cheese, delicious and had leftovers for another meal...will go back to try other entrees..

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for dinner after a Michigan Winery tour

Dined on October 24, 2015

We made reservations at Plank's Tavern after a trip through South Western Michigan's Wine country. The atmosphere was very upscale, the food was excellent, and the service was outstanding. The manager himself, delivered a bottle of champagne to our room (we also stayed at the hotel there) after our dinner. Brunch the following morning, was also a very nice touch. I would recommend Plank's to anyone looking for that perfect fall getaway.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a birthday dinner

Dined on October 20, 2015

We celebrated my sister's 75th birthday and she was greeted several time with "Happy Birthday, Janet!" She also received a lovely piece of spice cake with Happy Birthday writing in chocolate on lovely white platter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service5

Still a ways to go

Dined on October 9, 2015

This feels like still a "new" place. Nothing yet is great - just good. Why you would be out of chowder on Friday at noon is puzzling. There is no ambience - just a brown room with minimal comfort. The food was good and the service excellent. The restaurant does not live up to the awesomeness of the hotel.

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service4

disappointed

Dined on October 5, 2015

While service was good, entree of whitefish, duchess potatoes and acorn squash was less than mediocre. Fish was rubbery. Potatoes were bland. Acorn squash (one of my favorites) was hard, dry and cold. And they were out fresh bread (really?). In fairness the squash soup was very good. Side Caesar salad was just ok and over-dressed. Appetizer meat and cheese plank was very good.

food4
ambience4
service3

Good restaurant!

Dined on October 3, 2015

This is a very good restaurant. Everything was prepared as ordered and was very tasty. The manager was very attentive to the needs of the customers. Plank's was recommended to me and I will recommend it to others.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Exemplary service. Delicious food. Well ...

Dined on October 2, 2015

Exemplary service. Delicious food. Well prepared.

food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was great! She explained eve ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

Our server was great! She explained everything very well and made sure I knew exactly was on the kale salad, which was excellent. The filet was melt in your mouth tender. Beautiful night to sit outside. We will definitely be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I visited your facility f ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

My husband and I visited your facility for a weekend get away. We had the filet and the del monico and they were both absolutely amazing. We will be back again, the staff did a really good job as well. Very polite and efficient. Great dining experience!!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5

Best at this price point in St. Joe

Dined on September 6, 2015

Best at this price point in St. Joe. Food is above average for the area. Staff is very nice and attentive.

food5
ambience5
service3

St. Joe Michigan gem

vip
Dined on August 31, 2015

I had read many reviews about this restaurant before going. The service was as advertised..moderately slow. But they had read other reviews about empty water glasses and now put a carafe of water on every table. Food was great. Tuna appetizer was amazing. Delmonico was fabulous along with abundant sides of corn and veggies. Definitely will go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4

Try the truffel fries. Impressed with th ...

Dined on August 30, 2015

Try the truffel fries. Impressed with the maco shark tostada.

food5
ambience4
service3

Interesting....

Dined on August 30, 2015

Start with restaurant appearance... great. Bar atmosphere also good. Food was good, all meats were cooked to desired level. Staff was friendly and happy. Now, when you have 30+ dollar entrees, I expect the level of service to match. The food and atmosphere made the meal worth it, but if the service matched this place would be much busier. Waters were empty most of the night. The server had not had or sampled the special. When pushed to describe it, she had nothing to add. They use a runner system for food delivery, but they continually gave the wrong plates to us. 6 top table, and there were more than one salad that looked pretty similar... Two of the ladies got the wrong salad but just had to stick with it because they already started eating it. If they have a seat numbering system, which they should if they are utilizing runners, the server/runners messed it all up (drinks included). This was my experience with the hotel right after it opened on a stay for a wedding last year too. It makes me wonder if they have a veteran service professional managing the place or if it's someone just winging it. The good news is you can't teach looks and friendliness, which all the staff had (including our wait staff) So, with just a bit more training this could be a great place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting on the patio with frie ...

vip
Dined on August 28, 2015

Beautiful setting on the patio with friendly service. We have been several times and always enjoy. We choose to have drinks and an appetizer along with a beautiful view of the harbor. Wine list is great and prices are average. A must try if your in Saint Joseph.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything from the cocktail to the appe ...

vip
Dined on August 21, 2015

Everything from the cocktail to the appetizer to the entree was great. We started with cosmos and the scallops. I had the salmon with a few menu adjustments that were perfect. The corn was fresh and delicious. My dinner guest had the tenderloin and given that both of our plates were clean, I'd say the meals were everything we were expecting. Lastly, the service was outstanding, from start to finish! This has not been my experience in the past and I am ecstatic to see Plank's move in this direction given so few eating options in this small town. Thanks for a wonderful evening.

food4
ambience4
service5

Nice group dining

Dined on August 19, 2015

We had a group of 10 for dinner our first evening and the service and food was wonderful . Our second evening was a group of 16-they accommodated all if us very well and they made sure we had additional wait staff so we were all served in a timely manner . They also provided us with a surprise cake for our colleagues 40th anniversary.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Service and even better food

Dined on August 15, 2015

My girlfriend and I were in neighboring Baroda, MI for the 13.Wine Half Marathon Race and were looking for a place to eat lunch the afternoon before the race. We decided to eat here, and were very glad we did. The service was great, the food was VERY good, and pricing was much lower than anticipated. Our table was outside on the deck, and our waitress was one of the best new ones I have seen in a long time - she said it was only her second day working alone. That just bodes well for this place to just get better and better. Chef Randy was dead on with his recommendations from the menu. If they have the black raspberry pie...get it! We plan to go back to stay on-site and enjoy more of what they have to offer as food is only a small part of their entire available experience. Looking forward to it !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

special of the day

Dined on August 13, 2015

the special of the day was a fish boil consisting of haddock, shrimp and vegetables in a tomato broth. It was one of the best meals I have had in a while.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.