Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 11 times today

Plank's Tavern

4.6
286 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Good for a Date
  • Scenic View
Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday 7AM-11AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(269) 408-9108
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Elton Mann
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us directly.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
M-63
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music - call to verify dates & times
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Space for up to 300 people
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 286 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

I made this reservation for a Fathers Day celebration. Once again, even though, through the Open Table reservation I requested 2:15pm, indoors and by the windows we were asked upon arrival if we wanted to sit inside or out. Because the heat index prediction, when I made the reservation, was going to be around 100 degrees I would have left if they had no inside table available. We probably should have left any way.

So we were seated inside yah! Sat us with menus that were breakfast and lunch, then the waitress took our drink order. We were surprised with the menu being Fathers Day but had each found something we wanted. Then I saw several large platters of fruit go by and when the waitress return we asked if there was a brunch going on? She said yes, that we were welcome to check it out and the price was $27.50. So we checked it out and decided to have the brunch. Ordered, went to filled our plates and returned to the table a little after 2:30pm. We were not told that the brunch ended at 3:00pm, but what was worse is the waitress returned shortly after us starting to eat and informed us that the brunch table would start to be broken down at 2:45pm! Our daughter shortly there after got up to get another plate before things were removed, the waitress immediately showed up to remove her plate that had hardly been touch, of course we stopped her and said we’re feeling very rushed so so she went back to get some other items. So to say this was a fun relaxing Fathers Day celebration would be a full out lie. The food was less then the quality expected, but it was the “end of the brunch” and we should not have been allowed to order it. Many items had little left by the time we got back to the table, not being replenished because it was almost over. So it’s really hard to give them a raving review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Server was the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Decided to try someplace new and are we glad we did! This is a delightful restaurant with outdoor seating on the River. There was a singer/guitar player at the pool adjacent to the outdoor seating (this is a resort). The bar inside is a classic design, dark woods and such. The outdoor bar by the pool is good-sized with plenty of seating. The service was wonderful and the food terrific. Both fish dishes we had were excellent and the portions were generous. The wine/beer/cocktail menu was extensive but not overwhelming.
Another plus is that Plank's Tavern takes reservations - something very few establishments along the lakeshore do.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

The lemonade needed to be fresh or at least with pulp.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I frequent Planks because I love the outdoor seating and waterfront. It is a nice place, i just wish they would step up the quality of the food. Its good but nothing special. With very little changes it could be much better. I will still go regardless.!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

I had a very nice experience here. Everyone in our group of 6 had an excellent meal. We were there after church and there was a brunch buffet but you could also order off the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Food, service and atmosphere were spot on. We had several appetizers and all were very tasty! A must try with amazing waterfront views!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Awesome Food! Great service! Covered porch was great because it was raining!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We ate outside with a beautiful view and a nice breeze. The food was exceptional as well as the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Loved the salads and the burgers were big and juicy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

One of a kind in the area. Flavors and views like no other!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is my second time going to the Tavern for brunch and it didn’t disappoint. Great value and wonderful food. I normally don’t care for waffles but the great cook made them so soft and extremely tasty that I couldn’t pass them up or the toppings! I’ll be going back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was great and the service superb. We originally opted to sit outside but it got too cold and the staff were very helpful in moving us indoor. Interestingly, shortly after that, all other patrons sitting outside moved in as well for the same reason. Our server was extremely helpful with the menu choices, helped us pick out a great wine very reasonably priced and was most friendly. Our water glasses were never left empty and the overall ambience was understated class - not too formal but very nicely done. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service very slow to start. Our server greeted us right away and acknowledged we were there for a birthday. However, he disappeared and we didn’t see him for about 20 mins and in that time I had to order our drinks at the bar. He came over and said he was sorry about the wait and he was busy outside but he didn’t know that I saw him standing at the bar for at least 5 minutes chatting with the other servers—pretty sure he just forgot. It took another 10 mins to get our drink so a total of 30 mins before we received it. He did improve throughout our meal and the service was much better and I could tell he was making an effort. They have a great birthday presentation! I will say planks has really amazing food and the dishes are visually appealing. Everything was delicious. I would highly recommend for the food. However, this is the second time (out of 3x) that service has been poor/non existent at the beginning of our meal. For that reason I hesistate to fully recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The organic chicken dinner is a winner! It’s local and organic. Great meal and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The 72 degree weather helped but between server, food, brunch menu and outside seating it was an excellent 2-1/2 hours for a distance family meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The charcuterie board was excellent and so was the Meyer lemon salad!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food was great. Our first time to this restaurant. We both liked it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Date lunch with my girlfriend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

food & service was great. We went there for an anniversary dinner and they made it special for us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This place does not disappoint. Excellent food. Great presentation. Servers were friendly and knowledgeable. Atmosphere conducive for conversation. Enjoy every time I have been there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The staff(Paul and our server Brian) were very attentive. Paul was so welcoming and truly cares that everyone who comes to dine gets the quality service and top notch food. Hats off to Planks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We did a birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

What a wonderful treat. All of our food was superb, our waitstaff was pleasant & helpful. This was such a good experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great shrimp and grits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful anniversary dinner here at this inn’s restaurant; staff were kind, generous, and accommodating and our meals and drinks were spectacular. Would recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Birthday brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Loved the halibut, my husband had the sea bass, both were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Thanks Jen!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Jen was phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had a nice breakfast on a busy Sunday. It was a beautiful day looking out over the St. Joseph river.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We absolutely love Planks! The food is amazing...great tasting and beautiful, too. Paul and Anthony are so attentive to everyone dining there. We go there in every season...being out at the Tiki Bar is so nice....It's our top choice for dining in this area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great place to have dinner when visiting Benton Harbor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Excellent quality and value. Not fond of the main dining room but the pub area is nice - especially during the winter months with the nice fireplace.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food and drinks were excellent and the atmosphere was great. We really enjoyed are tome there. Will defiantly stop again when we're in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Warm and inviting dining environment with friendly and timely servers. The menu is outstanding while the specials were truly special. The managers Anthony and Paul make a point of visiting each table to ensure your dining experience is exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Unlike anything in the area! Fresh, innovative and amazing flavors! They have it all!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Good food but definitely overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

The have a fantastic brunch! Excellent bloody Mary's and chicken and biscuits!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2017

The menu items had changed, but the chicken pesto pizza was delicious. We had a great time. The serve was very good.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8