Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday 7AM-11AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Waterfront (6)
Business Meals (5)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Scenic View (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Romantic (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (0)
Cozy (0)
Great Beer (0)
Sort By:
S
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Unfortunately our experience was less than we'd hope for!!! We were familiar with the restaurant and I had been following it on Facebook! Our table was near a noisy area, our server was not "with it"....our food was ok, but not special, (my vegetables were roasted root vegetables and they weren't roasted enough) wine was good, no real vegetarian options....they were out of that entree! Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Plank's Tavern for the Mother's Day Brunch. There was a mix-up because we originally reserved a table for 8 via Open Table, but about a week or so before Mother's Day an employee called to confirm our reservation and at that time I asked her to change the number to 6. She confirmed the change and told me I did not need to change it on Open Table. When we arrived, we were at a large round table set for 8, which would have made it difficult to carry on conversations with the whole group. However, Plank's was very accommodating and moved us to a table much more suitable for 6.

The brunch food was good, but typical, or perhaps slightly above average, for bulk-cooked serve-yourself comfort food. They did have a made-as-you-wait pasta station, but none of us tried it. The service was very good and very accommodating. Staff were friendly and welcoming.

Location is right on the water and the dining room we were in had a nice view.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We loved this place and will definitely come back! We were coming for Mother's Day weekend with our 3 kids (ages 5-10) & wanted a nice place with more upscale food choices, not just the typical bar food. We loved the food selections and cocktail menu, and our kids were thrilled with their orders, too. The charcuterie was delicious, too! The only negative was that my dinner, the braised short rib, was really overcooked. The meat was quite charred on the outside and tough to chew. I am not one to send my food back or complain, so I just ate it anyway. It was still good despite the meat being very well done, but could have been better. We'd love to come back again & hopefully sit outside. The outdoor seating/view was amazing, and we were extremely please with our server. He was very attentive & made our dining experience very enjoyable. Next time, we hope to come back without the kids for a date night!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 11, 2017

This place continues to provide excellent food and service! The food is fresh and crafted with care! Upscale feel with fair prices and kid friendly!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Klye was our waitstaff for the evening. He was very knowledgeable, quite the story teller and a very excellent waiter. Each of us enjoyed our meals . Although the selection for vegetarians is somewhat limited.
I am certain we will return again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was great! Noise level was high. But overall we really enjoyed the creative delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Really enjoyed dinner here. The food was great and they are pretty kid friendly, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The Fish Fry was extremely expensive. The Ravioli was not enough for the price. Overpriced kids menu for a 2 year old. Service was just okay. We asked for a high chair and we had to remove the adult chair ourselves. Just because it is an expensive hotel for people to stay at, us locals like nice, reasonably places to eat. Will not go again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

What a wonderful surprise. My daughter and I were in the area sightseeing and looked on OpenTable for a spot for Sunday Brunch. Plank's came in with great reviews so we decided to give it a try. WOW! We had the most delicious brunch. I highly recommend the Chorizo Benedict! Awesome server too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The chicken was by far the best chicken i have ever had in my life. The Charcuterie was a great selection and the birthday cake that they prepared was incredible.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went for brunch. We tried the Chicken and Biscuits, the Turkey Panini, both were perfect. The brunch buffet was typical. This is a solid choice for brunch. I enjoyed it and would return. The service was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Winter/seasonal menu offering a full range dinner options from $12 - $35/plate. Had a special for 2 dinners + bottle of wine for $49.00. However, waiter did not mention this as one of the restaurant specials.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This dinner was just outstanding. All food was freshly prepared, really innovative and truly delicious. Service was attentive - more like big city dining than small town! The owner/manager was wonderful & made the evening extra special for us - we will be back and will recommend this to others. What a great evening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Resort lobby restaurant with nautical flair. Attentive staff. Good food quality. Nice bar selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We loved sitting next to the fireplace and the window looking out over the river. Good food. Beautiful hotel lobby...that is all we saw of it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great service and good food. It was my parents' birthday lunch and Planks treated them very well. Thank you, Planks

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine dinner choice did not disappoint, service, ambiance and food all good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything about our experience was fantastic, as always! Tried the "plank's perfect manhattan",which was a fig infused bourbon. It was phenomenal. Sushi that was on feature was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was amazing !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was amazing !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restraint was crowded so it was quite noisy inside. That was slightly disappointing since we were on a date night. Our waitress was outstanding. She was very friendly, and on top of everything. Despite the crowd the service was quick and the food was good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dinner was excellent and Paul was outstanding! Kids enjoyed their meals and the wife and I enjoyed ours with wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went there for a family birthday party of 20 and they were able to accomodate very well. Great service, great atmoshere and great food! Whole family enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great waiter but the food was not all that great. We were disappointed because we ate there in the fall of last year and felt that the choices were very limited this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loved their Mussel & Clam Scampi!! Went on a Friday night date & had seats by the fireplace, so romantic!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service was very good. We had the Sushi specials and everything was super fresh and presented well! A must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent service and food. A little loud until a larger group departed. Cozy and warm by the fireplace.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Unlike any other in the area. Quality fresh food with a modern twist. Must try when in Saint Joseph. Best wine list in the area by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good. Everything was a little heavy and not very refined, but still very tasty. The hand-crafted cocktails were unique and delicious. Our server was wonderful - very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was outstanding! The noise level was a bit high, however when the large group was served, that level was reduced. Very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a wonderful attention to service! Manager was extremely kind and checked on us often! They even gave us dessert to celebrate husband's birthday! Deelish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server was exceptional and understood the needs of our table well! I informed the manager as well. She made our Sunday morning experience with our elderly mother a memorable one!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great atmosphere, amazing service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was average. I ordered pork chops and the chef included risotto as a side (i.e., instead of mashed potatoes). The risotto had no taste, was mushy in texture, and included cranberries and walnuts, which I assume were to make it Thanksgiving / Fall themed-- it was bad. There was also no greens with the dish, so it just did not work; however, the pork was cooked and seasoned well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Mediocre food. Hotel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Da BOMB! Fresh seafood and house made items on the menu. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service! Joey is the best. Sunday brunch is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The restaurant bills itself as 'on the river' but you'd never know that from where we were seated. Despite reservations and a low volume of other diners, we were seated near the entrance in a high-backed booth with NO view of the river or any of the implied ambience. This is the only table without a view. The booth seats are very low and awkward; I felt like the little kid at the adults table. Don't bother to come here. There are many other venues in the area with better dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The only issue was that we ordered bottles of wine, which I specifically asked to pay separately. This is due to the fact that I do not typically tip 20% on a bottle, especially when they do not pour it. That didn't happen and so they made out with a 20% added gratuity, which came out to another $35. Other than that Planks was very nice and accommodating, staff very friendly. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food choices are always great! The service and scenery make for a great and relaxing dining experience after busy work days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.