Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Served in Rise & Vine daily
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Scenic View (4)
Fireplace (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Casual (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for brunch. We tried the Chicken and Biscuits, the Turkey Panini, both were perfect. The brunch buffet was typical. This is a solid choice for brunch. I enjoyed it and would return. The service was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Winter/seasonal menu offering a full range dinner options from $12 - $35/plate. Had a special for 2 dinners + bottle of wine for $49.00. However, waiter did not mention this as one of the restaurant specials.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

This dinner was just outstanding. All food was freshly prepared, really innovative and truly delicious. Service was attentive - more like big city dining than small town! The owner/manager was wonderful & made the evening extra special for us - we will be back and will recommend this to others. What a great evening!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We loved sitting next to the fireplace and the window looking out over the river. Good food. Beautiful hotel lobby...that is all we saw of it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great service and good food. It was my parents' birthday lunch and Planks treated them very well. Thank you, Planks

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine dinner choice did not disappoint, service, ambiance and food all good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything about our experience was fantastic, as always! Tried the "plank's perfect manhattan",which was a fig infused bourbon. It was phenomenal. Sushi that was on feature was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was amazing !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restraint was crowded so it was quite noisy inside. That was slightly disappointing since we were on a date night. Our waitress was outstanding. She was very friendly, and on top of everything. Despite the crowd the service was quick and the food was good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Dinner was excellent and Paul was outstanding! Kids enjoyed their meals and the wife and I enjoyed ours with wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Went there for a family birthday party of 20 and they were able to accomodate very well. Great service, great atmoshere and great food! Whole family enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great waiter but the food was not all that great. We were disappointed because we ate there in the fall of last year and felt that the choices were very limited this time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loved their Mussel & Clam Scampi!! Went on a Friday night date & had seats by the fireplace, so romantic!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Waterfront, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Organic, Disabled Access, Cozy, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service was very good. We had the Sushi specials and everything was super fresh and presented well! A must try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent service and food. A little loud until a larger group departed. Cozy and warm by the fireplace.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Unlike any other in the area. Quality fresh food with a modern twist. Must try when in Saint Joseph. Best wine list in the area by far.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was good. Everything was a little heavy and not very refined, but still very tasty. The hand-crafted cocktails were unique and delicious. Our server was wonderful - very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was outstanding! The noise level was a bit high, however when the large group was served, that level was reduced. Very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

What a wonderful attention to service! Manager was extremely kind and checked on us often! They even gave us dessert to celebrate husband's birthday! Deelish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our server was exceptional and understood the needs of our table well! I informed the manager as well. She made our Sunday morning experience with our elderly mother a memorable one!

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great atmosphere, amazing service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was average. I ordered pork chops and the chef included risotto as a side (i.e., instead of mashed potatoes). The risotto had no taste, was mushy in texture, and included cranberries and walnuts, which I assume were to make it Thanksgiving / Fall themed-- it was bad. There was also no greens with the dish, so it just did not work; however, the pork was cooked and seasoned well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Mediocre food. Hotel restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Da BOMB! Fresh seafood and house made items on the menu. Great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service! Joey is the best. Sunday brunch is the bomb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The restaurant bills itself as 'on the river' but you'd never know that from where we were seated. Despite reservations and a low volume of other diners, we were seated near the entrance in a high-backed booth with NO view of the river or any of the implied ambience. This is the only table without a view. The booth seats are very low and awkward; I felt like the little kid at the adults table. Don't bother to come here. There are many other venues in the area with better dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The only issue was that we ordered bottles of wine, which I specifically asked to pay separately. This is due to the fact that I do not typically tip 20% on a bottle, especially when they do not pour it. That didn't happen and so they made out with a 20% added gratuity, which came out to another $35. Other than that Planks was very nice and accommodating, staff very friendly. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food choices are always great! The service and scenery make for a great and relaxing dining experience after busy work days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

When booking our anniversary brunch, I noted that in my 'special requests' section. That went ignored by the staff. Additionally, I asked for Gluten Free options and that requested was not acknowledged either.

While the restaurant was busy - the hostesses did not make eye contact or ask if we were being helped - no one seemed to be able to multi task.

Was hoping for more than just ok service and experience for our 18th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great waterfront view. A freighter arrived across the river as we sat down and it was interesting to watch it unload.

Food was good, prices OK, you're paying some for the view. Dessert was very good.

The hostess was young and did not seem very professional--chewing gum on line? Maybe a high school student, most of the college folks had gone back to school, but that's just not OK--I don't believe the operator is going for an "Ed Debevic's" feel here. We had a reservation and she offered us an inside table right away, or an outside table when one opened up. We asked how long we might wait for an outside table and she said it depended, some people just sat around and talked but others ate and then left so it just depended on that.

We walked past 3 empty outside tables as we went to sit outside and wait--I don't know if they were reserved for other parties who had specifically requested outside tables, if the hostess didn't know there were tables available within sight of her station, or if she just didn't like us. We waited about 45 minutes for a table. The wait wasn't awful, it was fun to watch the freighter.

Once we had a table, the server was as helpful as the hostess had seemed indifferent. She forgot our appetizer order but our dinner came almost as quickly as we'd expected the appetizer, and we were stuffed by dinner and dessert, so it might have been a good thing we didn't get the appetizer too!

Atmosphere was pretty loud even outdoors. There was a good Jimmy Buffett style singer at the far end of the area but he was drowned out by the table full of folks who had apparently concluded it was "five o'clock somewhere" around lunchtime and had not gone thirsty since. Not the restaurant's fault...

Our first time here for dinner, we will try it again. It really was good food in a lovely setting, other things were a roll of the die.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 29, 2016

This restaurant never fails to please..in every way. Food, service, ambiance, menu selections and location on the river....just LOVE going there. It is our favorite is all of SW Michigan.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great breakfast and our server was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great views on the patio matches the delicious food and courteous service.

Definitely will be back again next time I am in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious food and top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very nice atmosphere overlooking the St Joe river w/ good food & service

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Dinner with a view. Service was great. Entrees were also very good. However, they had the best appetizers I've had in a long time. I will make the trip again for their Vanilla bean porter and any of their starters. And I suggest you do the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Best food around! Fresh, made to order and high quality farm fresh ingredients. Patio seating is lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great spot on a summer night if you can sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We took out-of-town classmates to Plank's for lunch during our three-day reunion. They were all impressed with the hotel, the delicious food, our friendly server Elijah, and the beautiful
outdoor area. We have always enjoyed Plank's and were happy to share this place with our friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My food order was wrong and I did not feel like dealing with the waiter said oh that's right

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.