Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Plank's Tavern

4.7
277 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday 7AM-11AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(269) 408-9108
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Elton Mann
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us directly.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
M-63
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music - call to verify dates & times
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Space for up to 300 people
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Loved the salads and the burgers were big and juicy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

One of a kind in the area. Flavors and views like no other!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

This is my second time going to the Tavern for brunch and it didn’t disappoint. Great value and wonderful food. I normally don’t care for waffles but the great cook made them so soft and extremely tasty that I couldn’t pass them up or the toppings! I’ll be going back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The food was great and the service superb. We originally opted to sit outside but it got too cold and the staff were very helpful in moving us indoor. Interestingly, shortly after that, all other patrons sitting outside moved in as well for the same reason. Our server was extremely helpful with the menu choices, helped us pick out a great wine very reasonably priced and was most friendly. Our water glasses were never left empty and the overall ambience was understated class - not too formal but very nicely done. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Service very slow to start. Our server greeted us right away and acknowledged we were there for a birthday. However, he disappeared and we didn’t see him for about 20 mins and in that time I had to order our drinks at the bar. He came over and said he was sorry about the wait and he was busy outside but he didn’t know that I saw him standing at the bar for at least 5 minutes chatting with the other servers—pretty sure he just forgot. It took another 10 mins to get our drink so a total of 30 mins before we received it. He did improve throughout our meal and the service was much better and I could tell he was making an effort. They have a great birthday presentation! I will say planks has really amazing food and the dishes are visually appealing. Everything was delicious. I would highly recommend for the food. However, this is the second time (out of 3x) that service has been poor/non existent at the beginning of our meal. For that reason I hesistate to fully recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The organic chicken dinner is a winner! It’s local and organic. Great meal and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The 72 degree weather helped but between server, food, brunch menu and outside seating it was an excellent 2-1/2 hours for a distance family meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The charcuterie board was excellent and so was the Meyer lemon salad!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food was great. Our first time to this restaurant. We both liked it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Date lunch with my girlfriend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

food & service was great. We went there for an anniversary dinner and they made it special for us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

This place does not disappoint. Excellent food. Great presentation. Servers were friendly and knowledgeable. Atmosphere conducive for conversation. Enjoy every time I have been there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The staff(Paul and our server Brian) were very attentive. Paul was so welcoming and truly cares that everyone who comes to dine gets the quality service and top notch food. Hats off to Planks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We did a birthday dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

What a wonderful treat. All of our food was superb, our waitstaff was pleasant & helpful. This was such a good experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great shrimp and grits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful anniversary dinner here at this inn’s restaurant; staff were kind, generous, and accommodating and our meals and drinks were spectacular. Would recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Birthday brunch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Loved the halibut, my husband had the sea bass, both were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Thanks Jen!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Jen was phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had a nice breakfast on a busy Sunday. It was a beautiful day looking out over the St. Joseph river.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We absolutely love Planks! The food is amazing...great tasting and beautiful, too. Paul and Anthony are so attentive to everyone dining there. We go there in every season...being out at the Tiki Bar is so nice....It's our top choice for dining in this area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great place to have dinner when visiting Benton Harbor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Excellent quality and value. Not fond of the main dining room but the pub area is nice - especially during the winter months with the nice fireplace.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

The food and drinks were excellent and the atmosphere was great. We really enjoyed are tome there. Will defiantly stop again when we're in town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Warm and inviting dining environment with friendly and timely servers. The menu is outstanding while the specials were truly special. The managers Anthony and Paul make a point of visiting each table to ensure your dining experience is exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Unlike anything in the area! Fresh, innovative and amazing flavors! They have it all!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Good food but definitely overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

The have a fantastic brunch! Excellent bloody Mary's and chicken and biscuits!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2017

The menu items had changed, but the chicken pesto pizza was delicious. We had a great time. The serve was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2017

We stumbled upon this place on our way back to Michigan from Indiana on New Years and couldn't wait to come back on our way back to visit family in Indiana for Thanksgiving. The food is great, the hotel is wonderful and the pool and hot tub are perfect! We especially love the food! Our kids order the wood fired pizza instead of kids pizza and it's dynamite. The tuna wonton tacos are a favorite. Never disappoints. It's a highlight of our family trips each year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Delicious food. I had a unique salad called quinoa and kale salad (which honestly sounded boring albeit nutritious) which was the most delicious salad I’ve ever had. Also the fries are outstanding! It was a birthday of my friend and he was sung to as well as brought a piece of this outstanding cheesecake. This was not a cheesy birthday celebration but one of class. There was a sparkler and the cheesecake was served on a beautiful wooden plank in the shape of Michigan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

We decided to try Plank’s because of good reviews and the reviews were accurate. Great menu and excellent food. Sunday buffet is also available with an omelette station and other fresh choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 5, 2017

Good food, good seating arrangements, and great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Great food and service. I love the menu and variety of choices. One of our favorite restaurants in teh area. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Excellent food and friendly service. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was amazing. The martinis are delightful. While the restaurant seems exposed to the hotel lobby, once inside you don't notice. The atmosphere is cozy and very pleasant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 27, 2017

We went to The Plank for a bachelorette dinner. The food was good, the service was better. Everyone enjoyed the evening but the food was a bit pricey. Our table had no views except for the TV.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

One of the best brunch meals I have ever had. All four of us were very satisfied.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Great view of the lake. The beet salad was very small and the avocado toast came
With bacon which it did not List in the menu. Overall just okay food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7