About Plank's Tavern

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 6:30AM- 11AM Saturday & Sunday 7AM-9AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Restaurant Photos

  • Plank's Tavern
  • Plank's Tavern
Plank's Tavern
Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Scenic View
Grand Rapids / Western Michigan
Most Booked
Southwest Michigan

great for outdoor dining (18)
special occasion (13)
scenic view (13)
See All
great for brunch (9)
great for lunch (9)
good for groups (9)
romantic (7)
fit for foodies (4)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
neighborhood gem (3)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were able to be seated outside on a S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were able to be seated outside on a Saturday night which was a nice surprise. Everyone in our group loved their food, and the couple of cocktails we ordered were very tasty as well. Server was attentive, and offered to split checks right away, which is always wonderful in a big group. She even offered to take our picture, which was kind. If I'm ever back in the area, I would come to this place again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first occasion to try Plank ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first occasion to try Planks but it will not be our last! Food was delicious and the server was very observant and pleasant. The outdoor dining was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Planks is a great find. The food is the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Planks is a great find. The food is the best of any place around for miles...the patio overlooking the St Joe river is fun and interesting watching the boats that go by. I hear that seeing the huge tankers turn around here is breathtaking...would love to go back for that.

The food was terrific, the menu is large and has something for everyone. The wait staff are very attentive and the food is just delightful. I HIGHLY recommend going here..you can dress in any way at all and be perfectly at home. For cooler days inside by a fireplace is lovely and the bar is very nice. Also a fun outdoor bar area as well.

This is located on the bottom floor of the lovely Harbor Shores Inn, so it is a win win!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Shrimp Linguine was full of flavor, ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The Shrimp Linguine was full of flavor, couldve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was not by any means our first expe ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was not by any means our first experience at Planks Tavern, but due to the Art Fair coming to town we chose to make a reservation to meet some out of town friends there for a Saturday Brunch/Lunch. Overall the experience was great, we love the place and we always have a good time. Today was no exception.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is awesome. Their Pork Chop was th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is awesome. Their Pork Chop was the best - prep, taste, presentation kudos to the chef. I had their steak burger - great also. Service is a bit slow, but it is a more laid back ambience. The water view leaves something to be desired however. The area is a soon to be developed area in the St. Joe/Benton Harbor MI location. This is east and south of the main St Joe Harbor Silver Lake area where all the main food and attractions are (in a resort like environment). It's located in a hotel, so be sure to note that when your GPS struggles finding it. So to sum up, Food/beverage -awesome. Ambiance - just ok.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been going here for years and it i ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We've been going here for years and it is fantastic every time. The food is delicious and management is fantastic. You cannot beat the brunch. Beautiful facility with great patio seating. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great anniversary dinner we had a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

What a great anniversary dinner we had at Plank's Tavern. We didn't expect it to be so good, but the food, service, location (viewing the river) and the whole dining experience was just fantastic. Greatly exceeded expectations. Since then we have sent other friends there and they have all had the same great experience. Anthony, the manager, is wonderful and very accommodating. I would highly recommend this restaurant as it has the best food anywhere around this western Michigan area. A real plus is you can make reservations and in towns where during the summers it is very hard to find places to eat, this is a HUGE plus!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad Food was okay

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was bad

Food was okay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The server was outstanding and very atte ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The server was outstanding and very attentive. There were few diners on the day we chose. Lunch was not as outstanding. I had a half Turkey Reuben and a cup of tomato soup. The soup was very good, the sandwich, just so-so. I would not order it again. We had dessert, which was very good. It was nice to be able to sit and talk as long as we liked. We also enjoyed the art installation and I shared pictures of it on FB for my friends!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, b ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place hidden in St Joseph Hotel, but stands out with extraordinary steaks and seafood;

We would drive 100 miles for a dinner on the water with exceptional and personable service.

Even the chef visited our table so that we could discuss the great meal

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem on the water- Feels like Newport Bch

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our first visit to Plank's Tavern and we were pleasantly surprised how personable the staff were, expedient and polite.

The food was perfectly done in steaks and seafood.

The drink menu was vast and met each of our varied tastes

Unbelievable view and on the water. A beautiful Sunday meal with friends

in an atmosphere that reminded us of Newport Beach (CA)in the Midwest

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First class experience! Food and servic ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

First class experience! Food and service were fantastic! PGA weekend, we met several professionals and the vibe was awesome! A must try in Saint Joseph!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch spot

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We enjoyed an excellent meal. The food was very good. I had the Eggs Benedict and a wedge salad. Both were quite yummy. The restaurant was very loud, because of a large party sitting near us. The service was good. The view is not the greater because of the large quarry across the river from the hotel. It would be a nice place for outdoor dining on a warmer day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great view, food fine not special, service only ok

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Married couple date night. She had the filet I had the short ribs. She really enjoyed the filet, mine was over spiced. Server was inexperienced, pretty slow. The menu has changed considerably since our previous visit and is not as varied. But this is a good place overall, I would recommend it, but hopefully things pickup, in both food and service areas.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

My husband had the home made pot pie and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband had the home made pot pie and raved that it was the best he ever had. We also had the shrimp tempura as an appetizer which was also yummy.

I was disappointec in my MAhi Mahi Tacos. They were losded with toppings ( sour cream) and were not healthy or tsstey at all. I merely picked at it and would have sent it back but I was already full.

After dinnerv we moved over to bar to waych the hockey game. We asked if they could put the volume up since it was the Play Offs and were surprised that they said no. Come on Michigan is a Hockey State! Also, the primary reason people were in the bar ( were even coming down from a wedding upstairs to watch) was to see the game. Sound creates energy which in tirn mskes people want to drink and stay longer.

Planks needs to know their audience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

I love the mushroom risotto. We go to P ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I love the mushroom risotto. We go to Planks for their rack of ribs. They were taken off the menu for awhile but they are back and as good as ever. Another favorite is he Lobster Mac and Cheese. Amazing! As always, food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific find in St. Joseph, MI

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

We wanted to be near Lake Michigan so found this hotel that boasted a harbor view. Plank's Tavern was the main restaurant. We had drinks in the bar and had a great view. They have an extensive beer and wine menu. There was a roaring fireplace.

We told our server that we wanted a harbor view in the main dining room and when one came available, he seated us. He was an excellent server; he did not hover, appeared when he needed to and did not upsell the menu.

This was the winter menu, so prices were amazingly inexpensive for the quality. We were passing through the area, so unlikely to return, but I would recommend the restaurant to friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A good brunch, phenomenal service, well ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A good brunch, phenomenal service, well worth the cost, we will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Harbor Shores Brunch @ Plank's Tavern

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic Easter brunch @ Plank's Tavern with very creative food options prepared by the Chef and staff and great service!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Visited family in St. Joseph and wanted to treat to dinner. Plank Tavern turned out to be a very special experience. Enjoyed learning of the Plank Tavern history. Window view of harbor took advantage of the great atmosphere. Very good service and food. Will definitely stop in again on our return visits.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique; appetizers are share plates

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The server greeted us with a friendly smile. The Manager circulated and stopped by our table to ask us if we were enjoying ourselves. The table setting is intimate and the river reflected off the glass floor to ceiling windows. For short people like myself; however, the booth seating made it difficult to eat and sit comfortably; I could not sit back, but needed to sit closer to the table and with a physical handicap this made for very uncomfortable sitting.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were there for brunch on a Saturday. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We were there for brunch on a Saturday. We had the pork belly benedict, the chicken and biscuits and the mushroom crepe. All 3 were very good! The sweet Michigan sangria was a very nice compliment to the savory and spicy dishes. We will return during the summer when the restaurant is sure to be more lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best in the area

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Planks is a fantastic find. The cuisine in the area ranges from fast food to bar food with a few exceptions. The food, service and ambiance just to the top of our list. It is a great exception for the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We shared entrees. Both were excellent!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful. The wait staff were attentive. Anthony, the manager, was very helpful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five stars for sure! Went here for Vale ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Five stars for sure! Went here for Valentine's weekend and had an amazing dinner. Ahi tuna appetizer was one of the best I've had. Specialty cocktails and features card were amazing. Kudos to the chef and staff for a job well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was 100% unacceptable. The drin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

The food was 100% unacceptable. The drink (Bloody Mary), the appetizer (Cuban nachos), all four entrees, the salads were terrible. Old stale ingredients in salads. The coffee was undrinkable. What was going on in that kitchen. Also very noisy. Will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Top Notch

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Top notch from the beginning with the greeter, to the end with the manager checking in to see how our experience was and if there was anything that could make our evening better.

Our view was wonderful and the room was perfect temperature…warm and cozy.

Our server was attentive and informative. Our party of four had an appetizer, salads, entrees and a share dessert and everything was excellent. This was my third visit and was the best. I will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kinks remain

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Breakfast service was disorganized. The server seemed fairly new. It appeared they were short staffed, as our server was covering a very large area. The food has improved a great deal and is very good overall and their pricing is perfect for the area. Will 100% return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Very good overall.

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

What a wonderful meal we enjoyed at Plan ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

What a wonderful meal we enjoyed at Plank's. We enjoyed Tapa's and Tini's, a Thursday night special with shared plates and martinis for $6. Everything about our experience was fantastic. Two thumbs up from us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Plank's / New Menu

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

We were very pleased with the new menu @ Plank's with great options and the wine list is great as well with a good mix of Whites and Reds! And our dinners were fantastic and we look forward to many more visits! And the service was great and we enjoyed Paul who assisted with our wine purchase and selection!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yummy

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Had the lobster Mac and cheese, delicious and had leftovers for another meal...will go back to try other entrees..

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great spot for dinner after a Michigan Winery tour

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

We made reservations at Plank's Tavern after a trip through South Western Michigan's Wine country. The atmosphere was very upscale, the food was excellent, and the service was outstanding. The manager himself, delivered a bottle of champagne to our room (we also stayed at the hotel there) after our dinner. Brunch the following morning, was also a very nice touch. I would recommend Plank's to anyone looking for that perfect fall getaway.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a birthday dinner

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on October 20, 2015

We celebrated my sister's 75th birthday and she was greeted several time with "Happy Birthday, Janet!" She also received a lovely piece of spice cake with Happy Birthday writing in chocolate on lovely white platter.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still a ways to go

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

This feels like still a "new" place. Nothing yet is great - just good. Why you would be out of

chowder on Friday at noon is puzzling. There is no ambience - just a brown room with minimal

comfort. The food was good and the service excellent. The restaurant does not live up to the

awesomeness of the hotel.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5

disappointed

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

While service was good, entree of whitefish, duchess potatoes and acorn squash was less than mediocre. Fish was rubbery. Potatoes were bland. Acorn squash (one of my favorites) was hard, dry and cold. And they were out fresh bread (really?). In fairness the squash soup was very good. Side Caesar salad was just ok and over-dressed. Appetizer meat and cheese plank was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Good restaurant!

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

This is a very good restaurant. Everything was prepared as ordered and was very tasty. The manager was very attentive to the needs of the customers. Plank's was recommended to me and I will recommend it to others.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Exemplary service. Delicious food. Well ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Exemplary service. Delicious food. Well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was great! She explained eve ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Our server was great! She explained everything very well and made sure I knew exactly was on the kale salad, which was excellent. The filet was melt in your mouth tender. Beautiful night to sit outside. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.