Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.66mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About Plank's Tavern

Plank's Tavern on the Water is on one of the oldest harbors in the Great lakes. Its approachable modern menu, home-style seating and waterfront location takes inspiration from the place it's in, the people who live here and the past it comes from. It's about our American food and drink, the abundance of our agriculture, the beauty of our land and water and our spirit of community and hospitality. The 76 seats in the main dining room are complimented with an additional 88 waterside seats on Plank’s covered porch.

Join us in a place where everyone is welcomed.

800 Whitwam Drive
Saint Joseph, MI 49085
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Sunday 7AM-11AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 4-10pm

Cross Street:
M-63

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(269) 408-9108

Website:
http://www.innatharborshores.com/

Entertainment:
Live music - call to verify dates & times

Parking Details:
Free hotel parking lot at The Inn at Harbor Shores.

Executive Chef:
Sam Hybels

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Space for up to 300 people

Plank's Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Waterfront (22)
Scenic View (19)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Romantic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Authentic (4)
Live Music (4)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall great experience. The place is beautiful on the water so ask to sit outside. The food was ok but nothing special. The fried of the kids meals were delicious with spices but not really for kids. Overall it was a nice night out with kids. The food came very fast and the manager came to ask if everything was ok. I would return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious. The Plank salad was crisp, fresh, and tasty. The trout was perfectly cooked and flavorful. There was too much oil on the plate, but we avoided it. The service was efficient and enthusiastic; maybe too enthusiastic. We enjoyed the meal, and we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Food was ok, not great. We ordered medium rare burgers, and they were overcooked, which is really annoying. Service fine, setting very nice.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Best brunch in the area hand down! A variety of innovative selections and $5 mimosas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant had a great vibe and beautiful view. The deck was busy, but the inside wasn't. They seated us right by the busy door, by the hostess stand, which was odd because there were plenty of nicer places to sit. The waiter was nice, but forgot to put in our appetizer so we never got that. My martini was great, but the other three guests got some sort of berry mojito that was terrible. One guest sent theirs back and got something different. Two of us had the medallions and they were terrific. One got tacos and they were ok, and our other guest got the pork and she couldn't even eat it. They did give us a piece of cake for our anniversary but overall it wasn't the best experience. We wanted to love it. Our table bill (between two checks, 4 people) was over $200. I would have expected better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had reservations, for my husband's birthday. Dinner was on the patio. The setting was lovely. I had the chicken taco's and my husband had the ribs, both were very tasty.
The manager, stopped by our table, and I mentioned we were celebrating, my husband's birthday, he let him choose a dessert. This is a special place!!! I do recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Went for breakfast on a Friday. While the service was great. They had a fairly limited menu and were warned by the waitress that they were out of pancakes. Honestly, I understand running out of things but a hotel restaurant running out something shelf stable like pancakes is CRAZY! Overall great service, food was good. We'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Plank's while visiting the St. Joe's area. The outdoor seating was lovely and our meals were delicious. We enjoyed the portobello mushroom and scallops with pasta entrees. Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We enjoyed a great evening with good friends on the veranda - it was quiet enough to enjoy our conversation, and our dinner choices were perfect! Thanks, Paul, for showing us what fine dining should be.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We went on a Sunday, expecting to hear the live music that was advertised, so we were disappointed when there was none. However, the food was good and the servers were friendly. If staying st The Inn at Harbor Shores again I would definitely go back, simply for the convenience.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The restaurant was nice and the service was very good but the food was just ok for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

.The food was extremely tasty and the presentation is great! The prices are a little on the high side, but I am never disappointed by what I get! Our waiter was very attentive and pleasant. He was very prompt and polite. Will definitely return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

What an excellent choice we made! We were staying in the area overnight and searched online for a place to have dinner. My baby backed spare ribs were the best I have ever had with the cherry BBQ sauce! We enjoyed everything and plan to come back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

We were here for brunch on a Sat. We were seated promptly, but it took 5-8 min for a server to arrive at our table to offer water. There were only 3-4 other tables seated when we sat down. Not sure what the hold up was. I know 5-8 min doesn't seem like a long time, but a server at least with water followed by less than a 3-4 min wait for coffee or mimosas would have felt like we were better attended.
The food also took about 20 min to come out. Again, if the restaurant was busy, no biggie, but they weren't. I'm thinking they didn't have the kitchen and servers as well staffed as Friday nights or Sunday brunch. Not sure. We're locals and enjoy The Plank. We'll be back for sure, and like to bring our out of town visitors here, but the service was off on Sat...I'm sure it'll be back to normal the next time we come. Thanks for reading.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Best in the area! Food, wine list, service and view! #freshfood

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Courteous staff and a beautiful setting make this a great dining destination in St. Joseph, albeit a bit off the beaten track. The food was solid and reasonably priced with an artistic presentation. We'll definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The service is always great at Planks. The pork ribeye was awesome! I highly recommend it. I also loved the Meyer lemon salad, which is a take on a Caesar salad but with lemon dressing.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2017

A great place with interesting menu items. The chef stopped by to inquire about our experience, which I bought was a nice touch.

We came here for a Sunday brunch and were not disappointed! Although the brunch buffet had plenty of fresh items to choose from, we opted to order a la carte.

I had Shrimp & Grits (very flavorful and beautifully presented), while my date ordered Deviled Avocado. We both really enjoyed our meals.

Planks's also makes nice Bloody Mary's. Just an FYI.

I definitely recommend the restaurant and will be back again, perhaps for dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great Service and wonderful food. Great out area with bar to sit and relax watching the boats go by.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had a wonderful eating here with friends and children. Scenic view of the river. Nice ambience as we sat on the back porch and visited. The inn looked lovely too. We want to come back and stay at the inn too next time.
I highly recommend for an evening out with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My mom and I wanted to have a nice quiet dinner with a great view. This was perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We came to St. Joseph for the Fine Art Fair, and wanted to get away from the crowds, so went to Open Table to see what was available. We came across Plank's Tavern and could make a reservation on line, and it had great reviews. We were not dissappointed! They even had gluten free bread! We will definitely come back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very good and thoughtful service. Great food. Pretty place to eat inside or out on the waterfront. Good kids menu. Nice range of price points on the menu. We went on one of the busiest Saturday nights in St Joseph (weekend after July 4) but they hustled without rushing their guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Barely anyone there & our server was nowhere to be found. Food took quite awhile especially considering how few people were there. The patio was nice until they started mowing, trimming & blowing the grass right next to us. This is second time in a short amount of time the service was just terrible. It's a shame too since the food has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Enjoyed attentive service and Planks Dank pints on tap. Kudos to the bartender for filling the pint all the way. My black bean burger was OK but fell apart a little too easy. The fries were great, as was the side salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Called ahead to say we were running 10 min late--was asked if we wanted on patio or inside by window. Got there in 5 minutes ( i.e., faster than the aforementioned 10) and when we saw the layout of the Restaurant, we said we were offered outside 5 minutes ago and we'd like outside--their response was " oh no, you'd have to wait 1 1/2 hours " --just didn't/doesn't seem right. I made a request to see the "maitre d" and they never came over. The staff/hostesses seating us weren't rude but certainly not friendly. Either food or Server was slow and had to repeat several requests ( i.e., need another fork or another glass of water kind of stuff) heck, I was on a vacation day so on the one hand, "who the heck cares"--on the other hand, just seemed as though its location would enable success in spite of itself

Tags: Casual, Live Sports, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Sadly this place is always hit or miss. We were here last week and our breakfast was AMAZING! We went back yesterday and it was a "C" at best. Took 10 min for a server to come to the table. By the food got to the table it was barely warm and the server said "is there anything else I can bring you?" And our response was "our coffee" as it was never brought to us. It's 4th of July weekend and they seemed very understaffed. No manager in sight. Overall we'lol return but it's evident even after being open 3 years this place still doesn't know how to workout their kinks and they should consider bringing in a professional management company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I travel all over eating at non chained restaurants.
This restaurant is Too expensive for the amount and the area. The food is too fancy for the space. Sponsored by GFS or Sysco nothing appears fresh. Atmosphere was marvelous, the staff appeared to be overworked and training was adhered from the standard casual dinning rule book. The staff at a personal level, their attitude was exquisite.
For the money, I expect better

Fortuitously, Scott

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A hidden gem in St. Joseph!!! Off the beaten path!! Away from all the crowds!! We loved it!! Waterfront dining!! Very nice view!!
Our server was excellent! You could tell he loved his job!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went for anniversary dinner and was pleased with service and quality of food. We arrived early and we were still seated right away. Staff was all very friendly and helpful. Food was very good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our dinner was pretty good, my wife asked for her steak to be cooked medium and it was way over done. The waiter took care of it and even made up for the inconvenience 10 fold. Our waiter was for sure made the evening. The food was good, but I wouldn't say it was "the best I have had". The beer selections were great and the scenery was fantastic on the front porch.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Love bringing family and friends that come from Chicago to dinner here especially when it is a beautiful evening and we sit outside. A diverse menu and I only have the highest praise for the many plates I've sampled. Always great, friendly service. So glad it is part of the Inn so I know it will be here for a long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Stopped on way out of town. Very friendly staff, great food.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice atmosphere. Good food. My bride and I enjoyed the waterfront view. Our waitress, Jamie, was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive to our needs. We will return when we are again in the area. Would recommend a visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was overall very good. My wife and I were underwhelmed by the calamari, but the jalapeno popper meal and Thai chicken were both very good. Outdoor seating was nice, although the view on the channel is a bit industrial.

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Very friendly servers we had Kyle K. and a trainee. My friend had the ribs and I had the pork flatbread , both were good, the flatbread was a little overpriced. It took a while to see the dessert tray, and awhile for them to be delivered.
Outside setting is beautiful, the restaurant manager stopped by every table, and was very friendly. We will be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This is the absolute best Sunday brunch restaurant in town!! And dining on the waterfront is a special delight. It's one of my favorite places to dine!

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The brunch buffet was a great value with lots of food options. The outdoor patio was a perfect spot to over look the water.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Plank's has some of the best tasting food we've had in a really long time!

We went for Sunday brunch and we can't say enough about the made to order omelettes, waffles, and cream puffs. The fried chicken was delicious too!!

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food, good price and nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.