About Pizzeria Mozza

641 N. Highland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Mozza is a bustling, urban burst of flavor and color. Open noon to midnight, seven days a week, Pizzeria Mozza is the perfect atmosphere - whether it be a business lunch or late night snack. The wine bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines at $50 and under, but don't forget about the ample offering of antipasti, salumi and pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily from Noon to Midnight

Cross Street:
Melrose Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 297-0100

Website:
http://www.mozza-la.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet. Accepts credit cards.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Squash Blossom Pizza
Pizza
Fennel sausage, panna, red onion & scallions pizza
Meatballs
Butterscotch Budino
Butterscotch Budino, Sea Salt & Rosemary Pine Nut Cookies
Nancy's Chopped Salad
Meatballs al Forno
Bone Marrow
olive oil gelato
Squash Blossoms, Tomato And Burrata Pizza
Chocolate Tartufo
Caramel Copetta W/marshmallow Sauce & Salted Pnuts
Mussels
Arancine Alla Bolognese
Cauliflower fritti with spicy mint aioli
Fried Squash Blossoms With Ricotta
Chicken Wings alla Diavolo
Margherita With Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Pizza
Bone Marrow Al Forno
Coconut Gelato Pie
Eggplant Parmigiana
Chicken Liver Bruschetta
Cauliflower fritti
Crispy Goat Cheese with Umbrian Lentils
Butterscotch budino, Maldon sea salt, rosemary pine nut cookies
Butter Pecan & Banana Gelato
Caprese Salad
Goat Cheese, Leeks, Scallions, Garlic & Bacon Pizza
Prosciutto and Bufala Mozzarella Pizza
Marinaded Peppers with Tuna
Gelato
Prosecco, Flor Veneto
Bianco Dinapoli Pomodoro Pizza
Chicken Liver Bruschette
Breadsticks
Bianca Pizza
Egg, Bacon, Potato, Onions Pizza
Meat Lover's Pizza
Chicken Wings Alla Diavola
Vanilla Gelato
Pizza alla benno
Chocolate
Affetati Misti
White Anchovy Pizza
Funghi misti, fontina, taleggio & thyme pizza
Fresh Goat Cheese, Leeks, Scallions, Garlic & Bacon Pizza
bacon, salami, fennel sausage, guanciale, tomato & mozzarella pizza
LASAGNE AL FORNO
Rucola, Funghi, & Piave
Espresso Granita and Gelato
Speck
Bianca With Fontina, Mozzarella, Sottocenere & Sage
Chicken Liver Pâté
Funghi misti pizza
Rapini, Tomatoes, Anchovies Pizza
Prosciutto Pizza
Mozzarella Di Bufala, Tomato, Genovese Basil & Extra Virgin Olive Oil Pizza
lasagna
Rucola, Funghi, Piave Salad
Lambrusco
Bittersweet Chocolate Tartufo With Olive Oil Gelato & Sea Salt
Chocolate rum and coconut sorbetti, espresso gelato sundae with pizelle cookie
Coach Farm goat cheese, leeks, scallions, garlic & bacon pizza
Napolitana Pizza
Fried Squash Blossoms
White Anchovy Tomato And Fresno Chile's
white sardine pizza
Bread
Zucchini Blossom & Burratta Pizza
Bread Sticks
Egg, Guanciale, Radicchio, Escarole & Bagna Cauda Pizza
Meyer Lemon Gelato Pie
Blueberry Lime Tart
Burricotta With Mushrooms And Onions Pizza
Olives
Meatlovers pizza
Roasted Chicken
Banana Gelato Pie With Hot Fudge And Hazlenuts
Finnochiona Salame And Fresno Chiles Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Caramel Coppetta (Ice Cream) With Marshmallow & Salted Peanuts
Burrata Pizza
Pistachio, Mint Chip, & Guanduia Gelato
White Anchovie Pizza
Prosciutto Di Parma, Rucola, Tomato & Mozzarella
Roasted Bone Marrow
Fried Potatoes
Spicy Fennel Sausage Pizza
Goat Cheese and Lentil
Fried Mozzarella
Margherita Pizza
Chocolate Sorbet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pizzeria Mozza's Jack Warner Room is a rustic Italian wine cellar featuring an extensive family-style menu designed by Nancy Silverton & Mario Batali for lunch and dinner events.

Pizzeria Mozza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Hollywood
Most Booked
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

fit for foodies (204)
great for lunch (104)
neighborhood gem (103)
See All
hot spot (95)
special occasion (87)
notable wine list (68)
good for groups (61)
kid-friendly (31)
romantic (29)
great for brunch (28)
late-night find (25)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for outdoor dining (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

had a fantastic time and meal at mozza. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

had a fantastic time and meal at mozza. the pizza was great, the hot (be careful) olives appetizer were awesome and the wait staff was wonderful. will be back time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the squash blossom w ricotta pizza ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love the squash blossom w ricotta pizza and the fennel sausage pizza! The butterscotch budino was the cherry on top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my second time at Pizzeria Mozz ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was my second time at Pizzeria Mozza (but have utilized Mozza2go multiple times in the past) and the food simply does not disappoint. I will come back indefinitely because the pizzas here are impeccable and that crust! To. Die. For.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Went for lunch (3:00) on a Monday. Great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went for lunch (3:00) on a Monday. Great time, not too crowded as it can get VERY noisy if there is a full house. Food was outstanding! Had the chopped salad (the tomatoes were sweet and delicious) meatballs (flavor out of this world) and margarita pizza (delicious crust) The butterscotch budino for dessert is a must! Nice service and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Tricolor salad & cheese pizza are out of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Tricolor salad & cheese pizza are out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were a group of 6 (including 2 childr ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were a group of 6 (including 2 children) gathered to celebrate a birthday. The table wasn't available but they offered complimentary prossecco. When we were shown to a table it was in a back room - no real ambience but on the plus side quieter than the main restaurant and very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was enjoyable with great wine ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was enjoyable with great wine list. Our server was a delight. I'm easy to please but the noise is unbearable at best. Sorry to say the ambiance will keep me away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome food roasted corn is out of this ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome food roasted corn is out of this world delicious !

Love the chicken dish too. Must try it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My girlfriend and I love to come here an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My girlfriend and I love to come here and love the food. However, the service this time was very disappointing. Our server took about 10 minutes to bring menus and was not very interactive and just dropped the menus. He still hasn't asked us if we would like water. We had to flag him down to order and then he finally asked if we wanted water. He checked up on us a couple times but it seemed like he was just going through the motions with us and did the bare minimum. Would definitely come back for the food but hopefully we won't get our server again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food was fantastic, and the service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was fantastic, and the service was impeccable! From starters to pizza, it was amazing. We can't say enough about this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately staff was not great. Food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Unfortunately staff was not great. Food was soso. Not sure we would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We stumbled across the place after hikin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We stumbled across the place after hiking runyon canyon last year and had no idea the gem we had discovered. When we returned to LA this summer we knew we wanted to come back for the delicious pizza. My wife is a big fan of Mr. Batali. While we were eating Dave Grohl was seated at the next table to us completing the this is Hollywood you never know who you might see ambiance. He even ordered the same pizza as me. We played it off legit and did not disturb his lunch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a delight to dine at Pizzeri ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

It's always a delight to dine at Pizzeria Mozza. The food there is consistently good. I had the tricolore salad which has a lovely light dressing. I also had the bianco pizza which is delicious with a thin crust. Their budino for dessert is amazing and so delicious. It was a lovely dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great late-night deal at the bar. $20 ge ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great late-night deal at the bar. $20 gets you a glass of wine, a pizza and dessert.

Only available at the bar from Sunday - Thursday nights from 10pm - Close.

Don't miss it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mozza never disappoints! Great pizza, te ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Mozza never disappoints! Great pizza, terrific side dishes (the carrots are otherworldly!) and magnificent wines by the glass (or quartino!) make it a fun, fun, fun evening. Only issues are the noise level (it is LOUD) and a wee bit "let's move along here, folks--people are waiting!" attitude. But it's all part of the experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was SO RUDE. He is lucky I used t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Server was SO RUDE. He is lucky I used to be a waitress, otherwise he wouldn't have received even the standard tip amount. I will request NOT to be seated near him next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I have to say that I was severely underw ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I have to say that I was severely underwhelmed by my experience at Mozza. It started off by being crammed between two other tables without enough room to even exit your seat without physically moving the table and disturbing the other patrons. Then the food. The white bean bruschetta was not very tasty (bread didn't even taste warm) and was quite messy. The pizza came out about 30 minutes after our appetizer, and unfortunately, was quite soggy. Dessert came and, although the person I spoke to one the phone said that they were aware the dinner was for my wife's birthday, no mention of it from anyone, and definitely no candle on the dessert as promised by the person I spoke to on the phone. Just not what I expected coming in. Oh yeah, and valet was $12 and it took them 10 minutes to fetch our car. Definitely will not be back. More disappointed than anything else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Outstanding service and food...we go eve ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding service and food...we go every tone we are in LA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the perfect place for two old f ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was the perfect place for two old food-centric friends to celebrate getting together after 18 years . We shared the inslata tricolore, squash blossoms (a bit too oily for our taste) and pizza with fennel, onion and prosciutto (especially delicious). We ended with the famed butterscotch budino, so sweet that the two of us could not finish one serving. I no longer live in California, but I am happy to have had the opportunity to experience this well-known place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

as always Mozza never lets you down. Awe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

as always Mozza never lets you down. Awesome food! Great wine! Would eat there every day.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service. Consistently ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food, great service. Consistently fun and special without being fussy- not to mention top notch food and homey.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

On balance our meal was just OK. Servic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

On balance our meal was just OK. Service was fine. Maybe it was an off night, but food quality has slipped a few notches since our last dinner at Pizzeria Mozza. Notably, the fried squash blossoms were overcooked, greasy, and lacked flavor. The crispy goat cheese and lentil appetizer has undergone changes (at least to my palate) and was quite salty with a heavy tomato sauce base. Umbrian? I don't think so. Cauliflower fritti appetizer was a mixed bag as well -- the cauliflower florets were over blanched, and the deep frying just exacerbated the textural issues. The accompanying spicy mint aioli was spot on and saved the dish. Warm, marinated olives were great, however. Pizzas (we ordered three) were good, even great, although the mushrooms on the fungi misti pizza were a bit mushy and uniform in flavor. For dolci we shared the caramel coppetta (way too salty, but a nice caramel flavor) and the butterscotch budino, which has been a five star mainstay of the dessert menu since inception. Not sure when we will return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I absolutely love the vegetable of the d ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I absolutely love the vegetable of the day...we had the carrot, and it was fantastic! Don't stop making those dishes!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food and service. We enjoyed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Very good food and service. We enjoyed pizza and eggplant Parmesan then shared the gelato trio. It was extremely noisy and tables are really close together.

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Superb service !!! Noise level is kinda ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Superb service !!! Noise level is kinda annoying , but overall food has always been great ...

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Mozza many, many times, bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We've been to Mozza many, many times, but I think we're never going back. We've finally learned that Mozza is like a bad boyfriend; time to get over the charming aspects because the bad is SO bad:

- The tables are so close to each other that you practically sit in the next table's lap.

- It's so loud--turn that disco down!--that you have to shout to hear your own thoughts...good luck trying to hear anyone speaking.

- You're forced to order on "chef's" timeline, a quick turnaround to get you out of your seat and onto the street.

The good? The food is incredible, but it's no longer worth the rest of the hassles, like $120 for two salads and two 4-slice pizzas.

Been there, done that. Bored.

See ya, Mozza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

If you (like us) have not dined at Mozza ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

If you (like us) have not dined at Mozza, the pizza menu can be intimidating. Luckily, our waiter Adam guided us through it to the best pizza we have ever had in our lives. He convinced us to forego "making our own" in order to keep all of the chef's ingredients working together. He was right on! The butterscotch dessert was spectacular, as was everything else ordered.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still better than most fancy pizza joint ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Still better than most fancy pizza joints, but I feel like their quality is going down just a little. This last meal was a weekend afternoon, so perhaps they weren't firing on all cylinders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Solid experience as always. Nick wasn't ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Solid experience as always. Nick wasn't behind the bar tonight, but his co-worker was just as welcoming.

Service is always on point.

The bone marrow has increased substantially in price since my last visit, and this time the marrow itself was barely enough to spread on one of the two crostini that are provided.

The goat cheese & leek pizza was crispy on the outside, but rather soggy in the middle, and it was missing the egg we asked for. No big deal, it was still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing service! Food was just so so

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing service! Food was just so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Always dependably good but the valet par ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always dependably good but the valet parking leaves a bad impression. Twelve dollars to park is kind of insulting and creates the impression that they are just gouging you, although the food is not overpriced by any means.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience! We've been go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a great experience! We've been going here since they opened. On this visit we ordered: the Wedge Salad, Diavola Wings, Bianca pizza and Pepperoni with Fresno Chiles, Strawberry-Pistachio dessert and the Chocolate Chip Coconut Sorbetti. The cappuccino was spot on as always. Order whatever you have an inkling for give it a try. Chances are you'll love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice crust on pizza, but the Pizza Margh ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice crust on pizza, but the Pizza Margherita was bland tasting. Pizza Bianca was pretty tasty, but as it cooled the hardened cheese wasn't as palatable.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great restaurant - took a while to get a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great restaurant - took a while to get a seat - Definitely worth the trip for a food lover

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Underwhelmed !!! After hearing the buzz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Underwhelmed !!!

After hearing the buzz about Pizzeria Mozza for years -my husband and I were really excited to go there. We found the servers rushed us into ordering as quickly as possible , even though we said we needed time to digest the menu. The appetizer was good but overpriced --we had to pay for an order of garlic bread-a little surprising at the price point of this restaurant. My husband had the lasagna --it was good but not great. I had the margarita pizza which was the best thing we ordered. They were in such a rush to turn the table we were not even offered a desert menu, we had to ask for it. I think this place is way past it's prime. We prefer Jon and Vinny's

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent service, food and atmosphere. Our waiter assisted with choices and he was spot on! Unique delicious pizzas and appetizers! The lasagna (Sunday special) was absolutely amazing - and I do not love lasagna!! The roasted vegetable of the day is a must have for table sharing!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. The host was very w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was fantastic. The host was very welcoming and sat us right away. Our server was great and made some great food recommendations. Wonderful food, people and atmosphere. We had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizzaria Mozza is trendy, and I had expe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pizzaria Mozza is trendy, and I had expected to be underwhelmed..but I WASN'T !! We were a party of six, and after waiting briefly to be seated (about 15mins), we were greeted by an intelligent, menu-savvy waiter. The menu looked great and we wanted to order just about everything - but he steered us toward appetizer quantities that allowed for sharing and then helped us narrow down our pizza choices. My wife is allergic to nuts, and he was very attentive to that fact. At the end of the meal we were all very happy. We had only 3 leftover slices from 4 different pizzas. Would go there again, and would recommend in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall is was an OK experience , cool b ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Overall is was an OK experience , cool bar with above average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.