About Pizzeria Mozza

641 N. Highland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Mozza is a bustling, urban burst of flavor and color. Open noon to midnight, seven days a week, Pizzeria Mozza is the perfect atmosphere - whether it be a business lunch or late night snack. The wine bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines at $50 and under, but don't forget about the ample offering of antipasti, salumi and pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily from Noon to Midnight

Cross Street:
Melrose Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 297-0100

Website:
http://www.mozza-la.com/

Parking Details:
$12 Valet. Accepts credit cards.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pizzeria Mozza's Jack Warner Room is a rustic Italian wine cellar featuring an extensive family-style menu designed by Nancy Silverton & Mario Batali for lunch and dinner events.

Pizzeria Mozza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (71)
Casual (53)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Great for Lunch (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Wood Oven (43)
Worth the Drive (42)
Hot Spot (40)
Fun (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Bar Seating (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Open Kitchen (33)
Comfort Food (33)
Authentic (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (26)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Family Style (18)
Cozy (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
People Watching (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Business Meals (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Romantic (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Private Room (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (7)
Organic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tapas (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3657 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have never been so insulted in a resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

I have never been so insulted in a restaurant in my life.

My wife and I went here hoping to enjoy a quality Sunday lunch. We drove especially to try this place out. When we go there, we ordered an item on the menu and another meal on the DineLA promotion. We were tersely informed that we were not allowed to share the DineLA menu.

I'll told our waitress that that will be fine and I will order the DineLA meal myself and my wife will order an appetizer on the regular menu. If they don't want us sharing, we not share. Even if I think their rules are ridiculous, I will honor the rules of their establishment.

Not 5 minutes later, a manager comes over and tells me that I can't order the DineLA meal under the promotion because they don't allow sharing and that I would need to order both items the regular menu (at non-promotional price) or a second DineLA meal for my wife. I already gave my word that I will eat my own meal all by myself and now some guy comes up to my table and questions me over a pizza? Am I supposed to sit at a separate table now just to prove my integrity? Does my wife have to order food she doesn't even want just to satisfy the house rules?

By this point, we lost our appetite and the situation had become unsalvageable. No pizza is worth some draconian hovering over me, questioning me on how I'm supposed eat it like some kind of pizza inquisition. Thanks for ruining our Sunday lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very good pizza but not excellent enough ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Very good pizza but not excellent enough to be ranked so high on the Zagat Top 50 in LA.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Went here to try their DineLA lunch menu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Went here to try their DineLA lunch menu (they didn't offer a dinner version).

Pizzas were thin, crispy, and the ingredients were fresh. Probably some of the best pizza we've had in awhile. We adored their desserts - the butterscotch budino and the affogato.

Service was attentive and friendly. We arrived early for our 4pm reservation (so easy to do on Open Table), and they sat us in an intimate side room which was definitely less noisy than the main room.

Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Erica is always lovely. Alphonso too. Ni ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Erica is always lovely. Alphonso too. Nick was great. Best waitstaff in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

DineLA was misleading. When viewing opti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

DineLA was misleading. When viewing options I selected this place because it read they were participating. Apparently not for dinner. The table next to us apparently thought the same thing and asked what the DineLA menus was. Not okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the meatball pizza and mussels app ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the meatball pizza and mussels appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I always enjoy a meal at Pizzeria Mozza ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I always enjoy a meal at Pizzeria Mozza and I do have my favorite menu: tricolore salad, Bianco pizza, and butterscotch budino. The waitstaff is always helpful. The ambience is cozy and active. It's always a pleasure to eat at this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great value when ordering from the Dine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great value when ordering from the Dine LA menu. Enjoyed a late lunch on a weekday when crowds had died down. Wait for a table in the main room! There is an overflow room that is dark and doesn't have the same ambiance.

Appetizer and pizza is more than enough. In fact, ended up bringing food home and enjoying leftovers the next day!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Decent food terrible service! One of our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Decent food terrible service! One of our party ordered two starters and the rest of us pizzas. We asked for all dishes to be served together. Instead the two starters arrived first and the pizzas forty five minutes later. Kind of spoilt our birthday celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food and best pizzas in LA! Wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food and best pizzas in LA! Would recommend especially for dineLA.

Tags: Local Ingredients, , Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seating is very tight and uncomfortable. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Seating is very tight and uncomfortable. The woman next to me basically had to sit at my table because the folks she dined with were extremely big. Took 30 mins just to get our first actual non-water beverage. Apps were great, pizza was MEH, wine was MEH, and dessert was great. One of the pizzas had a half pound of cold prosciutto on it. It was disgusting. Go later if you don't want to eat around unruly children. The walls are painted like 1990s chain restaurant and it certainly felt like we were in a strip mall in Houston. We felt that this was like going to Olive Garden for rich people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Food is good, but not exceptional.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food is good, but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

food was pretty good, but pizza took ext ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

food was pretty good, but pizza took extremely long, waaaaaaaaay too long to get them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Dine LA was a great deal! Their menu was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dine LA was a great deal! Their menu was a pizza (including their specialty ones) and a starter for $20. That's basically an appetizer for free. Such a great meal for a good deal!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Some of the best pizza you will ever hav ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Some of the best pizza you will ever have. And best salads, cauliflower fritti, gelati, and anything else you order. Everything is just amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Server got my order wrong and they seeme ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Server got my order wrong and they seemed to pour everyone else's water except for ours. I definitely won't be back. Very disappointing.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

consistently delicious pizza and friendl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

consistently delicious pizza and friendly, fun staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

So, so LOUD and CROWDED! The pizza is go ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

So, so LOUD and CROWDED! The pizza is good but you are packed like sardines and can't hear your dinner partner across the table. Service not great either, no one checked on us so we never had drink refills or anything that we needed to enjoy our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

The food never disappoints me. Everythin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food never disappoints me. Everything is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, really noisy but fun. Se ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was great, really noisy but fun. Service good

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was delicious, lighting was per ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was delicious, lighting was perfectly warm, servers were all friendly and energetic. Only complaint was they ran out of my favorite pizza so I couldn't order it, and it was super duper loud in there, so I couldn't really hear what the person across from me was saying half of the time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Organic, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food was very nice, and the little libra ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was very nice, and the little library room was extremely cozy. The prices are a bit high for the food, but I'm from the east coast so we are used to excellent pizza at a better price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When ever we are in the neighborhood of ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

When ever we are in the neighborhood of Pizzeria Mozza we always chose to go have pizza. It is the most yummy, chewy, shiny, puffy delicious crust and the toppings are perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants, high qu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants, high quality, great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been there in a number of year ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I hadn't been there in a number of years, but it was as lively and vibrant as I recall. Basically, the place was jumping at 9 p.m. on a Saturday night. Lots of groups as well as two tops. Loud room. Very tight seating in terms of physical space. Food was delicious and we ordered wines by the glass. We had a great time.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Lots of fun and tasty food with a lot of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Lots of fun and tasty food with a lot of options and small plate appetizers.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Used to be my favorite restaurant. Used ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Used to be my favorite restaurant. Used to be.

As we walked in (we arrived at 5.55p for a 6p reservation and were seated at 6.02p), I said to my family, "The server will put the check on the table at 7.15." Of course, I was wrong. The server smacked the check ($190 for four people--2 appetizers, 1 salad, 2 pizzas, 3 desserts, and 2 glasses of wine) on the table in the middle of dessert, at 7.11p.

I understand wanting to get more people into your restaurant but I do not understand moving people through the system like chaff through a thresher. Although we paid a lot of money--for PIZZA--we were never valued for being there. To bring a new drinker who asks for s glass of "house red" a $19 glass is ridiculous. To put only 3" between tables so you can hear the stranger next to you better than your spouse across from you is ridiculous. To play heavy metal (which I like) in a room that is overcrowded and has no dampening is deafening and stupid.

But, ah, the food. The food is divine... but it's not worth the rest of the nightmare. These recipes are online and there are plenty other great chefs in LA.

See ya, Mozza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Amazing Experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing Experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious dinner but very crowded and no ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious dinner but very crowded and noisy. We were lucky enough to be seated in the side room so we could hear each other. The main dining room is crazy loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal! Super service! So many amazi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great meal! Super service! So many amazing menu items to choose from. Don't miss the flown in from Italy Burrata, brussel sprouts and meatballs.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back. Pizza is deliciou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Can't wait to go back. Pizza is delicious - too many choices! Went at lunch during the week when it wasn't too busy which was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Personable, eff ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Service was excellent. Personable, efficient and accommodating. Food, as always, was outstanding. Only complaint was that parking was a challenge. Valet tried their best, but it was still a wait both in and out. Was seated in the side room/wine cellar and this was terrific for a much reduced noise level as compared to previous visits. We always enjoy PM, and we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've wanted to eat at Pizzeria Mozza sin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've wanted to eat at Pizzeria Mozza since they opened but never got around to making reservations until last week. The good news is that I was able to make a reservation the night before my husband and I went. The restaurant was packed when we arrived and there were a few parties waiting to be seated, so I was a bit worried we'd have to wait, too, especially since we arrived about 10 minutes early. Thankfully, the hostess, who was very nice, sat us right away. So if you get anything out of my review, I hope it's that you make a reservation instead of just showing up. The waitress was really nice and happy to answer our questions. Here is what we ordered:

Nancy's Chopped Salad - it's a huge plate but not something I'd recommend. It looks amazing but, tastewise, isn't anything to write home about. Then again, I'm not a huge fan of iceberg lettuce so I probably should have ordered something else.

Pane Bianco - it's just one slice of bread grilled in olive oil and herbs and then cut into four pieces. Doesn't sound like much but it was AMAZING!

Brussels Sprouts, Guanciale, Red Onion & Mozzarella Pizza - Just a note, I asked for it without the guanciale. Overall I'd say it's really good pizza but nothing you can't find in most pizzerias. I actually enjoyed it more when I ate the leftovers cold the next day.

Bianca Pizza - My husband ordered this one and liked it. I tried a slice and wasn't a fan. I thought it had way too much cheese and the sage was really strong - I felt like I was eating perfume.

My husband order a beer and I just had water (I ordered a Moscow Mule but they don't serve liquor).

Parking - $12 valet next to the restaurant, but we were able to find free neighborhood parking only a few short blocks away.

The bill was about $90 including a 20% tip. Since I wasn't super impressed with the food, I'd say it was a bit expensive for what you get. Then again, I'm glad I finally tried it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The pizza was delicious. We went for my ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The pizza was delicious. We went for my birthday. They didn't have the squash blossoms available the nite we visited , which was the main reason we wanted to eat there. The service was good although we felt they were too eager to clean and clear off our table. Felt like we were being rushed to leave.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We loved Pizzeria Mozza - delicious food ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We loved Pizzeria Mozza - delicious food, warm atmosphere and excellent service. We will be back very soon, especially as we wanted to try everything on the menu. Only thing we found disappointing was the muscles appetizer.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Organic, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

New Year's Day tradition.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Day tradition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for New Year's Eve

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place for New Year's Eve

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were at Pizzeria Mozza on New Years E ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were at Pizzeria Mozza on New Years Eve and though they were fully booked, we were still seated within 20 minutes of our reservation time and had no problem getting our dinner in a timely manner. The server was very helpful to a member of our party with several food allergies and made her feel comfortable ordering. The pizzas were excellent; would highly recommend the Bianca.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was absolutely incredible. Perfect ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was absolutely incredible. Perfect spot for New Years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hand tossed pizza excellent, as always. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hand tossed pizza excellent, as always. We were seated in wine room to the side which is quieter than dining area. Cinnamon and rice gelato quite tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.