About Pizzeria Mozza

641 N. Highland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Mozza is a bustling, urban burst of flavor and color. Open noon to midnight, seven days a week, Pizzeria Mozza is the perfect atmosphere - whether it be a business lunch or late night snack. The wine bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines at $50 and under, but don't forget about the ample offering of antipasti, salumi and pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily from Noon to Midnight

Cross Street:
Melrose Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 297-0100

Website:
http://www.mozza-la.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet. Accepts credit cards.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pizzeria Mozza's Jack Warner Room is a rustic Italian wine cellar featuring an extensive family-style menu designed by Nancy Silverton & Mario Batali for lunch and dinner events.

Pizzeria Mozza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Hollywood
Most Booked
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

fit for foodies (199)
great for lunch (115)
neighborhood gem (94)
See All
hot spot (93)
special occasion (71)
notable wine list (69)
good for groups (59)
kid-friendly (32)
late-night find (29)
romantic (26)
vibrant bar scene (22)
great for brunch (19)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3118 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Don't miss the opportunity to have lunch ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Don't miss the opportunity to have lunch at Pizzeria Mozza. The pizza is wonderful but the appetizers and salads are also fantastic. Try the octopus salad, perfectly prepared and wonderfully seasoned, it is a winner. I do admit that I also gorged on a fantastic meat lovers pizza....in any event, go!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great server named April who wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a great server named April who was pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza Bianca is wonderful. Eat it hot.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Pizza Bianca is wonderful. Eat it hot.

food5
ambience4
service4

Parking is difficult in the area but you ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Parking is difficult in the area but you can find street parking north of melrose if you don't want to valet. The pizzas were excellent. I had heard they were very overpriced but I didn't find that to be true.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food (salad and pizza in our c ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food (salad and pizza in our case) in a pleasant setting. The bar was lively, we ate in the dining room which was quieter. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always amazing here. I've been here multiple times. My service and food orders were very consistent until this recent experience. I'm not upset. I'm just sharing an experience. I felt like the waiter wasn't as attentive that day. Maybe she was having a hard day or week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not cheap but worth every penny

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Probably one of the best meals ever. Pizza was amazing, salad was perfect, and the Butterscotch dessert was amazing with a perfect coffee. I went with one of my best friends for a nice casual lunch. You need to make reservations, and even then expect a little bit of a wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza Pizza

Dined on May 6, 2016

LOVE this place! Been going for years. Here is my only complaint...I wrote in the open table notes that it was friends birthday. I again told one of our servers when I got there and nothing was done at all. Food is always great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We always start with the fried potatoes ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We always start with the fried potatoes & squash blossoms. The Tricolore salad is a must. This time we shared the Bianca & Salame with Fresno Chiles pizzas. Since it's Spring we were able to have the Banana Gelato pie and as always the Budino is delightful! This is hands down my favourite restaurant because everything is so consistent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Pizza in LA

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I don't know what it is, but this Pizza is amazing. The cheese, the crust, the toppings, the wood burning ovens all add up to an over the top experience - and it's Pizza!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Phenomenal pizza!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for date night. We spent a semester in Europe many years ago and are always looking for delicious pizza closer to home. The sauce was incredible and the atmosphere was perfect if you don't mind cozy tables. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time Experience at Pizzeria Mozza

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We went for an early dinner (4:30 -- that's REALLY early) because that's the only time we could get in AND it worked out with our 7:00 p.m. movie start time. The restaurant was surprisingly empty, although some diners were finishing up their meal when we arrived. They had either an extraordinarily early dinner or a very late lunch. We ordered wine and a martini and settled into the menu, which had so many choices that we wanted to try that it took us a while to order. We ended up with the calamari-stuffed potato with Green Goddess dressing as an appetizer -- delicious and rather filling. We then moved onto the chopped salad, which was big enough for four people. And we ended up with a veggie pizzetti -- a small pizza -- and a regular-sized pizza with arugula, prosciutto, and buffalo mozzarella. It was too much food for us, but that was okay because we had pizza for lunch the next day. Everything was delicious, and we are definitely going back soon to try other options.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Slipping halo

Dined on April 29, 2016

Mozza is not quite what it was a few years ago when I was there. The roasted tomato and burrata was missed from the menu and somehow the fennel sausage pizza was dry, lacking the creaminess it once had. I also noticed a new method of flattening the pizza dough that I think mage the pie less bubbly. It just altogether felt a bit like the restaurant has been left to simmer on the back burner. Perhaps why we were able to get a seat at the bar straight away.

food3
ambience4
service4

Shadow of its original self

Dined on April 28, 2016

Shadow of its original self

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mozza helps close the deal!

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Want to impress at a business lunch? Take them to Pizzeria Mozza...you'll close the deal!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

Dined on April 25, 2016

Have been here several times and I am never disappointed...I keep their # in my Phone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

just o.k...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

First of all it was a bit of turn off to be placed in their "back room" i guess they want you to feel like like a wine cellar but it has a very claustrophobic feeling with low ceilings, no window, you actually feel trapped! We had a reservation and I had asked to be in the main room, but he said it would be a wait, even though I saw a table coming available, very pretentious. Food was a disappointment. We ordered many of the antipasti/ small plates and none were a standout, just fair. With so much to choose from in LA I won't be running back here,

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit to the restaurant. We arriv ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

First visit to the restaurant. We arrived 20 min late for our reservation, but host was kind and very accommodating. I really appreciated that bc it was a special family celebration. Food was superb. Waitstaff was excellent and attentive even though the restaurant was busy. Small space and loud, so would not recommend for large group or those desiring a quite/calm dining experience. We were a party of 7 and it was a little tight. Overall, great and we will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience1
service5

Great food, but an uncomfortable sit.

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food, but an uncomfortable sit.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always wonderful

Dined on April 23, 2016

Another wonderful experience. The food, service and wine were all great. Didn't make it past three appetizers :-) They even accommodated my hearing issue, so graciously.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing pizza! Perfect balance of flavor ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Amazing pizza! Perfect balance of flavor. All the appetizers are really good too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best pizza in LA (perhaps US)

Dined on April 21, 2016

Don't get it twisted, if you want great pizza, go here. There is nowhere else. Note - this is NOT (thank God) Neapolitan style - pizza should have a complex, crispy crust period.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Amazing food. Julie was great. Tables ar ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Amazing food. Julie was great. Tables are tight. Super loud. But worth it.

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

meh

Dined on April 17, 2016

the meal wasn't that amazing for the price... I can;t lie. It was just so so, i guess.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great service, eclectic pizzas, great sa ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Great service, eclectic pizzas, great salads. Dessert is a must, the Caramel Coppetta is unreal, try it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very delicious, service was gre ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was very delicious, service was great, noise level is very high but it is worth it!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still going strong

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Haven't been here in years...and was really very pleasantly surprised! All the food was quite delicious and we sat in what was called the Wine Room. It was off of where I've always sat. I never even knew that room existed....it was very crowded but that room didn't get too noisy. All in all a very good evening. Service was great as always...and the budino is a must for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2

The restaurant is too dark. The seating ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The restaurant is too dark. The seating is terrible - we were literally one foot from the tables next to us. The pizza costs $16 and when I ordered extra pizza sauce and cheese - they charged me $30 for the pizza! Ridiculous. The cauliflower appetizer was more like fast food than gourmet food. Furthermore, the valets are reckless -they scratched my car against another car on the way out! No apology no nothing! Just claimed they had no liability and we're not responsible. In short, it's an over-rated place and over-prices with poor ambiance. I wouldn't recommend it.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh & tasty food

Dined on April 16, 2016

We arrived @ 4pm. Nice & quiet but by the time we left very busy. We enjoyed the more relaxed/quiet dining experience. Seating is very close together which seems to be more common unfortunately. But the food overshadowed all of this. Misto salad was sooo delicious, you could taste the individual flavors of the ingredients. I really liked that!! FAB Pizza too!! Will go again to bring family members that didn't join us this time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mozza

Dined on April 16, 2016

Delicious food and a fantastic dessert. It was not pretentious and as always the chop salad is very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mozza is the best pizza in LA

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Went to Mozza for lunch after picking up relatives at LAX. I was really surprised we could get a reservation for 4 at 12:30 on a Friday. The service was impeccable, with our server providing recommendations based upon our preferences. We shared two salads and two pizzas, plus a bowl of the best burrata I have ever tasted. Everything arrived at the appropriate time, food and wine paired wonderfully, and we shared a delightful chocolate bread pudding for dessert. I have been to Mozza 5 or 6 times and it never fails to impress me every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great dough, sauce and toppings Great wa ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great dough, sauce and toppings Great wait service

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

greasy and not flexible..

Dined on April 14, 2016

Waiter took our order for half and half pizza but when served two while pizza came.. Very disappointing. Pizza r very greasy but pizza dough wasn't, so I liked the dough..

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not only are the Pizza's the best in LA

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

The best Pizza in Los Angeles (Maybe America). Fabulous side dishes. Great daily specials. Wonderful desserts. This is one of my very favorite restaurants in Los Angeles. Be sure to try any of the salads.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Rude welcome

Dined on April 10, 2016

the valet service was out of control, disorganized and blocking the stret. Front desk staff rude when we mentioned it, threw his hands in the air and was loud enough for other patrons to look at us in disgusto

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pizza never disappoints. Best pizza out ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Pizza never disappoints. Best pizza outside of Italy. Wish they still had my slow cooked broccoli. Also miss the romanesco which is a super yummy seasonal appetizer. Hope it comes back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two words: Butterscotch Budino

Dined on April 5, 2016

We hadn't been to Pizzeria Mozza for many years, but only because it's hard to get a weekend reservation. We had forgotten how good Mozza is. The pizzas are Italian style, not the greasy cardboard that passes for pizza stateside. The dough is chewy, yet light. The toppings are creative and delicious. The chopped salad was enough for three people to share. But don't split the lentils with goat cheese appetizer: you'll want to hoard it all for yourself. Although we were pretty full after our appetizers and pizzas (two pizzas for three people) the waiter told us the Butterscotch Budino (an Italian pudding) was not to be missed. Oh-My-Gawd, he wasn't kidding. Probably the best dessert ever. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Definitely not one of the best pizza's in LA.

Dined on April 3, 2016

We went with high expectations since Mozza was rated having one of the top 10 best pizzas in LA. Very disappointed. The pizza was very basic and flimsy with absolutely NO wow factor. Tony's Bella Vista in Burbank, CA and Masa in Echo Park, CA have THE best pizza and deserve way more attention than Mozza.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Best Pizza in LA, maybe anywhere.

Dined on April 3, 2016

We go to Mozza once a month. All of the food is exceptional. We look forward to it all month.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional Pizza and Butterscotch Budino!!!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful dinner including exceptional pizza and butterscotch budino!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.