About Pizzeria Mozza

641 N. Highland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Mozza is a bustling, urban burst of flavor and color. Open noon to midnight, seven days a week, Pizzeria Mozza is the perfect atmosphere - whether it be a business lunch or late night snack. The wine bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines at $50 and under, but don't forget about the ample offering of antipasti, salumi and pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily from Noon to Midnight

Cross Street:
Melrose Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 297-0100

Website:
http://www.mozza-la.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet. Accepts credit cards.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Squash Blossom Pizza
Pizza
Fennel sausage, panna, red onion & scallions pizza
Meatballs
Butterscotch Budino
Butterscotch Budino, Sea Salt & Rosemary Pine Nut Cookies
Nancy's Chopped Salad
Bone Marrow
Meatballs al Forno
olive oil gelato
Chocolate Tartufo
Mussels
Squash Blossoms, Tomato And Burrata Pizza
Caramel Copetta W/marshmallow Sauce & Salted Pnuts
Arancine Alla Bolognese
Cauliflower fritti with spicy mint aioli
Bone Marrow Al Forno
Chicken Wings alla Diavolo
Fried Squash Blossoms With Ricotta
Margherita With Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Pizza
Coconut Gelato Pie
Eggplant Parmigiana
Chicken Liver Bruschetta
Cauliflower fritti
Crispy Goat Cheese with Umbrian Lentils
Butterscotch budino, Maldon sea salt, rosemary pine nut cookies
Butter Pecan & Banana Gelato
Caprese Salad
Goat Cheese, Leeks, Scallions, Garlic & Bacon Pizza
Prosciutto and Bufala Mozzarella Pizza
Egg, Guanciale, Radicchio, Escarole & Bagna Cauda Pizza
Fried Squash Blossoms
Marinaded Peppers with Tuna
Gelato
Prosecco, Flor Veneto
Bianco Dinapoli Pomodoro Pizza
Chicken Liver Bruschette
Breadsticks
Bianca Pizza
Egg, Bacon, Potato, Onions Pizza
Meat Lover's Pizza
Chicken Wings Alla Diavola
Vanilla Gelato
Pizza alla benno
Chocolate
Affetati Misti
White Anchovy Pizza
Funghi misti, fontina, taleggio & thyme pizza
Fresh Goat Cheese, Leeks, Scallions, Garlic & Bacon Pizza
bacon, salami, fennel sausage, guanciale, tomato & mozzarella pizza
LASAGNE AL FORNO
Rucola, Funghi, & Piave
Espresso Granita and Gelato
Speck
Bianca With Fontina, Mozzarella, Sottocenere & Sage
Chicken Liver Pâté
Funghi misti pizza
Rapini, Tomatoes, Anchovies Pizza
Prosciutto Pizza
Mozzarella Di Bufala, Tomato, Genovese Basil & Extra Virgin Olive Oil Pizza
lasagna
Rucola, Funghi, Piave Salad
Lambrusco
Bittersweet Chocolate Tartufo With Olive Oil Gelato & Sea Salt
Chocolate rum and coconut sorbetti, espresso gelato sundae with pizelle cookie
Coach Farm goat cheese, leeks, scallions, garlic & bacon pizza
Napolitana Pizza
White Anchovy Tomato And Fresno Chile's
white sardine pizza
Bread
Zucchini Blossom & Burratta Pizza
Bread Sticks
Meyer Lemon Gelato Pie
Blueberry Lime Tart
Burricotta With Mushrooms And Onions Pizza
Olives
Meatlovers pizza
Roasted Chicken
Banana Gelato Pie With Hot Fudge And Hazlenuts
Finnochiona Salame And Fresno Chiles Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Caramel Coppetta (Ice Cream) With Marshmallow & Salted Peanuts
Burrata Pizza
Pistachio, Mint Chip, & Guanduia Gelato
White Anchovie Pizza
Prosciutto Di Parma, Rucola, Tomato & Mozzarella
Roasted Bone Marrow
Fried Potatoes
Spicy Fennel Sausage Pizza
Goat Cheese and Lentil
Fried Mozzarella
Margherita Pizza
Chocolate Sorbet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pizzeria Mozza's Jack Warner Room is a rustic Italian wine cellar featuring an extensive family-style menu designed by Nancy Silverton & Mario Batali for lunch and dinner events.

Pizzeria Mozza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Hollywood
Most Booked
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

fit for foodies (184)
great for lunch (104)
hot spot (86)
See All
neighborhood gem (84)
special occasion (73)
notable wine list (63)
good for groups (56)
kid-friendly (29)
great for brunch (24)
romantic (21)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great salad, two delicious anti ...

Dined 3 days ago

We had a great salad, two delicious antipasti and a good, but not great Margherita pizza.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent pizza, delicious salad and out ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent pizza, delicious salad and outstanding appetizers. Love the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The portions are generous, the food very ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The portions are generous, the food very good, the place noisy, the prices inflated. I have eaten at several Batali restaurants in several cities. All have been reliably B+/A- but I typically do not like the noise level and tend to leave thinking that there is a better food experience for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience1
service1

The worst service ever. Our waitress had ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The worst service ever. Our waitress had an attitude from the get go. They took a long time to take our order. I told her my main entree would be a couple of appetizers. They brought out my main meal (the appetizers) 45 minutes before everyone else got their food! I finished my food way before everyone else got their food, otherwise it would have gotten cold! Not even an apology from the waitress! The pizza's came out luke warm for everyone else. I will not go back. Everyone preferred CPK's pizza's over this place. Not worth it at all!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The pizza was fantastic, in my top 3 of ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The pizza was fantastic, in my top 3 of all time! The crust was delicious and cooked perfectly. Our waiter, Nicholas, was excellent, both efficient and personable. I can't wait to go back. The only thing I would improve on is the selection of Italian reds by the glass.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistently great tasting food. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Always consistently great tasting food. I go to both locations at L.A. And Newport

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our son's graduation from ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our son's graduation from UCLA by having a late lunch here on Sunday. Initially the service was slow...it was as if we didn't exist. Once the waiter stopped by then service was fine. Very friendly and helpful. Food was good an 8/10 I would say. We had several appetizers, salads and entrees. Portions were reasonable which was appreciated since the prices are pretty high. Wine was a disappointment. Too dry/dusty tasting, lacking in full flavor typical of a cab. We had the Italian Cab. California wines are much, much better.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my FAVORITE restaurant on the planet

Dined on June 10, 2016

I used to live in LA and now make sure to eat at Mozza whenever I am in town. The food is amazing, with such attention to detail... There is NOTHING bad on the menu and the wine list is quite comprehensive as well. Eat here...don't think about it, just do it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love that place specially sitting at the ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Love that place specially sitting at the bar when Kyle is working he is a great guy!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Unique Food

Dined on June 6, 2016

Love to come here and eat. That being said, the last visit was just a little too noisy. Also felt the service wasn't great. I understand it is supposed to be a casual place to eat, but for these prices the service could be a little better. Also, I don't know what can be done about the noise level, it was after 9 on a Sunday night and I had to lean across the table for two to hear what my friend was saying or shout to be heard. I do live the uniqueness of the food, the squash blossoms, meat balls and shrimp are my favorites. I will be back but hope the next overall experience is better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Reservations were honored. No waiting.

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Most of the food was great. We did not like the small pizza we ordered. Next time we will try something different. It was very busy and pretty noisy.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointed with this last visit

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I dine at Pizzeria and Osteria Mozza frequently and am always blown away by the consistency of the experience and the stellar service. Last Saturday, neither was in evidence. For some reason, one person opened our wine and took our order and was not the same person that waited on us for the rest of the evening. Our pizzas arrived while we were in the middle of our salads (and the pizzas weren't particularly hot). While we were in the middle of dessert, the check arrived. Needless to say, this was not the experience I have had during other visits. Just chalking it up to an "off" evening but wanted the restaurant to be aware as it is so different from usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

way too noisy-couldn't talk to person across table

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food is amazing--very high quality. they need to turn down the volume of the music so you could actually have a conversation. I spent the whole evening yelling across the table. Really annoying. So many restaurants think they're kicking up the energy by cranking up the volume of the music to levels that are annoying. I wouldn't return to this restaurant, despite the food being so awesome, until the reduce the volume. Next time it is take out for me!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Pizzeria Mozza

Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was a bit slow and our order was messed up. Would have been nice if manager had offered to comp the wings that weren't ordered. They did give free dessert. Over all great food! Valet $12.00!!!! Come on!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a consistently delicious meal

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I enjoyed my favorite meal of tricolore salad and bianco pizza and they were delicious. Didn't have time for my favorite dessert of butterscotch budino but hopefully next time. Always a pleasure to dine at Mozza-helpful and attentive staff and a vibrant culinary scene.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best pizza I ever had. Ordere ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

One of the best pizza I ever had. Ordered Alla Benno and it's so nice. Will be back whenever I visit LA

food5
ambience4
service4

Best pizza in town...hands down!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Best pizza in town...hands down!

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

pizza?

Dined on May 30, 2016

We came for pizza. Pizza was ok but nothing great considering the price. It was supposed to be the best in Los Angeles it might be but it has no comparison with Neapolitan pizzas please!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The menu here is terrific. As much as I love the great pizza here, I might like the appetizers even more! They have a fantastic bone marrow, a variety of crostinis, and other delicious appetizers. Approximately $100/ couple including 2 appetizers, 2 pizzas, and 2 desserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

You can skip Pizzeria Mozza--all hype

Dined on May 29, 2016

Pizzeria Mozza is all hype. Nasty people at the front--even when you have a reservation and arrive on time. Once seated, all anyone wants to seem to do is get rid of customers as quickly as possible so they can turn over the tables as many times in an evening as they can. Incredibly crowded. Horribly noisy. Wines that are ridiculously overpriced--both by the glass and the bottle. And the pizza is okay but one can get excellent pizza elsewhere in a pleasant establishment at which you do not feel as if you're eating on a runaway train. The other food, beyond the pizza, is also nothing to write home about. An ordinary salad. An an iceberg wedge that was no iceberg--more like a very small snowball. A panini that was acceptable but certainly not worth a trip to Pizzeria Mozza. Nancy Silverton and her partners are coasting on an undeserved reputation. I will never return and counsel you not to make the trip in the first place. (The busboys were the only people who deserve a commendation. They deal with the madhouse with grace--and a good humor that must be very difficult to muster!)

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, great service, lots of fun!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious, great service, lots of fun!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, delicious food and a fun ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service, delicious food and a fun vibe in the restaurant. Thank you for another great meal!

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Ho-hum

Dined on May 23, 2016

Pizza was pretty mediocre. Waiter seemed bored. We just went for a late lunch. Nothing was very inspiring. Place was nice looking.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food is incredible and the service s ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

The food is incredible and the service staff seems to have been selected based off of personality and charm. I've been twice and been amazed by both food and service each time. My one complaint is the cramped seating. You'll be within 12 inches of your neighbor. It's tight quarters!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you love Italian authentic rustic foo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

If you love Italian authentic rustic food, you will enjoy this food experience. Staff is incredible service is excellent. We celebrated Mother's Day late, and our waited made it very special.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The service wa ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The service was great and there was no wait.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Don't miss the opportunity to have lunch ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Don't miss the opportunity to have lunch at Pizzeria Mozza. The pizza is wonderful but the appetizers and salads are also fantastic. Try the octopus salad, perfectly prepared and wonderfully seasoned, it is a winner. I do admit that I also gorged on a fantastic meat lovers pizza....in any event, go!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great server named April who wa ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a great server named April who was pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza Bianca is wonderful. Eat it hot.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Pizza Bianca is wonderful. Eat it hot.

food5
ambience4
service4

Parking is difficult in the area but you ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Parking is difficult in the area but you can find street parking north of melrose if you don't want to valet. The pizzas were excellent. I had heard they were very overpriced but I didn't find that to be true.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food (salad and pizza in our c ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent food (salad and pizza in our case) in a pleasant setting. The bar was lively, we ate in the dining room which was quieter. The staff were helpful and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food is always amazing here. I've been here multiple times. My service and food orders were very consistent until this recent experience. I'm not upset. I'm just sharing an experience. I felt like the waiter wasn't as attentive that day. Maybe she was having a hard day or week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not cheap but worth every penny

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Probably one of the best meals ever. Pizza was amazing, salad was perfect, and the Butterscotch dessert was amazing with a perfect coffee. I went with one of my best friends for a nice casual lunch. You need to make reservations, and even then expect a little bit of a wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza Pizza

Dined on May 6, 2016

LOVE this place! Been going for years. Here is my only complaint...I wrote in the open table notes that it was friends birthday. I again told one of our servers when I got there and nothing was done at all. Food is always great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We always start with the fried potatoes ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

We always start with the fried potatoes & squash blossoms. The Tricolore salad is a must. This time we shared the Bianca & Salame with Fresno Chiles pizzas. Since it's Spring we were able to have the Banana Gelato pie and as always the Budino is delightful! This is hands down my favourite restaurant because everything is so consistent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Pizza in LA

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I don't know what it is, but this Pizza is amazing. The cheese, the crust, the toppings, the wood burning ovens all add up to an over the top experience - and it's Pizza!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Phenomenal pizza!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My boyfriend and I came here for date night. We spent a semester in Europe many years ago and are always looking for delicious pizza closer to home. The sauce was incredible and the atmosphere was perfect if you don't mind cozy tables. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time Experience at Pizzeria Mozza

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We went for an early dinner (4:30 -- that's REALLY early) because that's the only time we could get in AND it worked out with our 7:00 p.m. movie start time. The restaurant was surprisingly empty, although some diners were finishing up their meal when we arrived. They had either an extraordinarily early dinner or a very late lunch. We ordered wine and a martini and settled into the menu, which had so many choices that we wanted to try that it took us a while to order. We ended up with the calamari-stuffed potato with Green Goddess dressing as an appetizer -- delicious and rather filling. We then moved onto the chopped salad, which was big enough for four people. And we ended up with a veggie pizzetti -- a small pizza -- and a regular-sized pizza with arugula, prosciutto, and buffalo mozzarella. It was too much food for us, but that was okay because we had pizza for lunch the next day. Everything was delicious, and we are definitely going back soon to try other options.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Slipping halo

Dined on April 29, 2016

Mozza is not quite what it was a few years ago when I was there. The roasted tomato and burrata was missed from the menu and somehow the fennel sausage pizza was dry, lacking the creaminess it once had. I also noticed a new method of flattening the pizza dough that I think mage the pie less bubbly. It just altogether felt a bit like the restaurant has been left to simmer on the back burner. Perhaps why we were able to get a seat at the bar straight away.

food3
ambience4
service4

Shadow of its original self

Dined on April 28, 2016

Shadow of its original self

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.