About Pizzeria Mozza

641 N. Highland Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90036
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Mozza is a bustling, urban burst of flavor and color. Open noon to midnight, seven days a week, Pizzeria Mozza is the perfect atmosphere - whether it be a business lunch or late night snack. The wine bar provides a vibrant venue for sampling from a selection of 50 Italian wines at $50 and under, but don't forget about the ample offering of antipasti, salumi and pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily from Noon to Midnight

Cross Street:
Melrose Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(323) 297-0100

Website:
http://www.mozza-la.com/

Parking Details:
$10 Valet. Accepts credit cards.

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Pizzeria Mozza
Squash Blossom Pizza
Fennel sausage, panna, red onion & scallions pizza
Meatballs
Pizza
Butterscotch Budino, Sea Salt & Rosemary Pine Nut Cookies
Butterscotch Budino
Nancy's Chopped Salad
Meatballs al Forno
Butterscotch budino, Maldon sea salt, rosemary pine nut cookies
Bone Marrow
olive oil gelato
Squash Blossoms, Tomato And Burrata Pizza
Caramel Copetta W/marshmallow Sauce & Salted Pnuts
Arancine Alla Bolognese
Chocolate Tartufo
Mussels
Cauliflower fritti with spicy mint aioli
Fried Squash Blossoms With Ricotta
Margherita With Mozzarella, Tomato, & Basil Pizza
Chicken Wings alla Diavolo
Coconut Gelato Pie
Eggplant Parmigiana
Chicken Liver Bruschetta
Cauliflower fritti
Bone Marrow Al Forno
Crispy Goat Cheese with Umbrian Lentils
Butter Pecan & Banana Gelato
Caprese Salad
Goat Cheese, Leeks, Scallions, Garlic & Bacon Pizza
Marinaded Peppers with Tuna
Gelato
Prosecco, Flor Veneto
Bianco Dinapoli Pomodoro Pizza
Chicken Liver Bruschette
Breadsticks
Bianca Pizza
Egg, Bacon, Potato, Onions Pizza
Meat Lover's Pizza
Chicken Wings Alla Diavola
Vanilla Gelato
Pizza alla benno
Chocolate
Affetati Misti
White Anchovy Pizza
Funghi misti, fontina, taleggio & thyme pizza
Fresh Goat Cheese, Leeks, Scallions, Garlic & Bacon Pizza
bacon, salami, fennel sausage, guanciale, tomato & mozzarella pizza
Rucola, Funghi, & Piave
LASAGNE AL FORNO
Espresso Granita and Gelato
Speck
Bianca With Fontina, Mozzarella, Sottocenere & Sage
Chicken Liver Pâté
Funghi misti pizza
Rapini, Tomatoes, Anchovies Pizza
Prosciutto Pizza
lasagna
Mozzarella Di Bufala, Tomato, Genovese Basil & Extra Virgin Olive Oil Pizza
Rucola, Funghi, Piave Salad
Lambrusco
Chocolate rum and coconut sorbetti, espresso gelato sundae with pizelle cookie
Bittersweet Chocolate Tartufo With Olive Oil Gelato & Sea Salt
Coach Farm goat cheese, leeks, scallions, garlic & bacon pizza
Napolitana Pizza
Fried Squash Blossoms
White Anchovy Tomato And Fresno Chile's
white sardine pizza
Bread
Zucchini Blossom & Burratta Pizza
Bread Sticks
Egg, Guanciale, Radicchio, Escarole & Bagna Cauda Pizza
Meyer Lemon Gelato Pie
Blueberry Lime Tart
Burricotta With Mushrooms And Onions Pizza
Olives
Meatlovers pizza
Roasted Chicken
Finnochiona Salame And Fresno Chiles Pizza
Banana Gelato Pie With Hot Fudge And Hazlenuts
Pizza Margherita
Pistachio, Mint Chip, & Guanduia Gelato
Burrata Pizza
Caramel Coppetta (Ice Cream) With Marshmallow & Salted Peanuts
White Anchovie Pizza
Prosciutto Di Parma, Rucola, Tomato & Mozzarella
Prosciutto and Bufala Mozzarella Pizza
Roasted Bone Marrow
Fried Potatoes
Spicy Fennel Sausage Pizza
Goat Cheese and Lentil
Fried Mozzarella
Margherita Pizza
Chocolate Sorbet

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pizzeria Mozza's Jack Warner Room is a rustic Italian wine cellar featuring an extensive family-style menu designed by Nancy Silverton & Mario Batali for lunch and dinner events.

Pizzeria Mozza Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Hollywood
Most Booked
Hollywood
Best Restaurants in Hollywood ›

Fit for Foodies (185)
Neighborhood Gem (96)
Hot Spot (93)
See All
Great for Lunch (91)
Special Occasion (88)
Good for Groups (58)
Notable Wine List (57)
Romantic (30)
Kid-friendly (29)
Late-night Find (29)
Great for Brunch (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3257 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Valet is expensive

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined a day ago

Valet is expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The desserts were definitely the best pa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

The desserts were definitely the best part of the meal - they were delicious. The pizza was average and you could certainly find better pizza for a more reasonable price. The restaurant is loud so hard to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Mozza is always fabulous! Pizza is amaz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Mozza is always fabulous! Pizza is amazing and the Caprese with Pana Blaca is the best.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the two pizzas we ordered was equ ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the two pizzas we ordered was equivalent to a dry cracker, almost inedible. The other pizza was ok, but there are many better places ro eat an overprized small pizza. Ambiance is ok, but more like a diner than a restaurant. Be ready to pay $12 for valet parking and beware of the waiters that insist that you order a salad or an appetizer because the pizza would take at least 25 minutes until it is ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Def were forgotten several times. So not ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Def were forgotten several times. So not the best service there. Food portions are small and not fantastic. Not bad just not spectacular either. We had to wait about 20 mins past our reservation to be seated. So overall won't go again. Might be better on an off peak night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

A Date with my wife. Absolutely the most ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

A Date with my wife. Absolutely the most amazing Bianca Pizza in all of WLA. Thinnest bottom crust with fluffiest/puffiest edge crust with the most delicious combo of white cheeses, topped with Truffle Oil ! The place for Friday Lunch (for 1pm Reservation) was completely jammed with tables as close as any NYC restaurant and got seated right away in the last table available...but....it took an unusually long time to just get our 2 menus/water...and, then, to be able to order...and, finally, to be served, totaling over 45 minutes (constantly having to flag the server's attention, each step, after "normal" wait times)....for one Insalata Mista, one order of Fried Squash Blossoms and one Bianca Pizza. Almost 55min when we finally got our one pizza. Then, had to rush through the hot pizza in less than 30min. to retrieve our car from the Valet and go pick up our baby from the Day Care. Pizzeria Mozza is one of the most incredible pizza tasting experience I had (which I truly enjoyed), but it's a good thing I had the afternoon off and didn't have to rush back to the office....which detracted from the experience and I have to think twice before making reservation, again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Solid!!! The crust is exceptional as yo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Solid!!! The crust is exceptional as you would expect, but the clean fresh ingredients on both pizzas and salads make this the ultimate SoCal hang!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, good service. no gluten free ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food, good service. no gluten free options. eclectic beer and wine list. great pizzas, breads and cheeses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is always a treat, even if you ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food is always a treat, even if you just get pizza and salad. THE best pizza in LA. Wine is good too. This time the service was ehhh all around. It's been a bit better in past, but last couple of times it has been just OK.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious pizza with thin crust. Order t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Delicious pizza with thin crust. Order the garlic bread when getting the eggplant

appetizer. The back room works well for small groups that would like less noise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The restaurant had excellent service and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The restaurant had excellent service and the food was amazing, a little pricey but that was to be expected. Great place for a small special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice place with great selection of antip ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Nice place with great selection of antipasti. The bar was very lacking as there did not seem to be a choice of aperitifs which would've seemed to go hand in hand with this type of locale. Our server gave off an arrogant vibe with an oft forced phony smile and an annoying habit of finishing my sentences when I had a question. The caponata was lacking in flavor in my opinion and I'm Sicilian so I know a good caponata. The pizza dough was good but lacked a touch of salt. The rest of the wait staff were attentive & professional. Having grown up in the restaurant business and being familiar with Italian food, I would return. Our experience was slightly marred by our server who apparently was in a leadership position and displayed a "know it all" attitude versus a welcoming one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

At first we felt snubbed by our server. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

At first we felt snubbed by our server. He handed menus to diners that came after us first. After he took our order, he was attentive to our needs. It was probably just really busy and hectic. There were alot of people inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Way too loud! Music was deafening, had t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Way too loud! Music was deafening, had to shout to have a conversation (which everyone had to do) which made more noise than the music. Very unpleasant.

Food is good but would only return with someone I have no interest in talking with or take out.

Couldn't get out of there fast enough and even forgot out leftovers.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

This is a favorite dinner spot for my hu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is a favorite dinner spot for my husband and I. Nancy's Chopped salad and the Butterscotch budino are my favorites! My husband is a big fan of their panini and pizza options!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pros: excellent food con: crowded, pac ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Pros: excellent food

con:

crowded, pack way too many tables in such a small space

I thoroughly loved the food and would recommend the restaurant to anyone I know to try it. However I am not in a quick hurry to return after my experience. This place is just too busy and trendy for my personality. I had a reservation and some of my party were running late. They initially refused to seat us until everyone in the party arrived, but then changed their mind and seated us, but told me we would only have the table for 2 hours. I was anxious through my dinner as I was afraid that we would not finish eating in the time frame. Our waitress was very busy tending to many tables thus taking our order also took some time, further increasing my anxiety. All in all we ate, even had dessert but I was anxious the entire time, constantly looked at my phone hoping I won't run out of time. I wonder if I had shown up without a reservation that I would have been subjected to the same 2 hour eating time. It is our fault that some of my friends were late, and I understand that it is a very popular restaurant where a table is hot commodity.

So as advice to future diners. If you make a reservation, tell your party to SHOW UP ON TIME!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is an awesome restaurant that is al ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is an awesome restaurant that is always a great meal with fantastic service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food is exceptional, always has been. S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

food is exceptional, always has been. Sat at the bar, casual dinner, great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great dinner (pre-theater)..... ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great dinner (pre-theater)......shared one glass of wine, chopped salad and a pizza with mushrooms. Each component was excellent. Cost $72 including tip......expensive, but it was worth it. The salad is huge, enough for a meal by itself! Noise level is not conducive to conversation. Service was very accommodating . Would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dining in LA doesn't get as good and con ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dining in LA doesn't get as good and consistent as Pizzeria Mozza. The food never fails to impress. It is close to perfect, no matter what you select. The fresh burrata - suggested by our waitress Julie (excellent BTW, ask her about Bert and Ernie) - was so smooth and creamy. I am not usually a fan, but this was spectacular on the grilled bread (tip - order on Thursday when it is flown in). Sitting at the bar (no matter pizza or regular - Jason the bartender is awesome) is key, you get to see more of the going-ons and it is comfortable and a little more casual. Mozza is top notch and a must for any food-loving Angeleno or visitor.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic, excellent dining experience. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

A classic, excellent dining experience. Doesn't disappoint, on any level. Reliably excellent food and service. One of LA's best restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great food and service...great fo ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Always great food and service...great for business lunch. Quick, delicious, and convenient. Always impressive...always a good choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We booked for a party of 5 to celebrate ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We booked for a party of 5 to celebrate our adult son's birthday. We were greeted warmly and seated in the lovely little wine room-- so intimate and fun! The service was stellar and the food--OMG! So, so, so delicious!

Although we live in Fresno, both our sons live in LA , so we are often down there. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit to Pizzeria Mozza!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently delicious. The food is gre ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Consistently delicious. The food is great when you have a group of friends with mixed food needs--vegetarian and a no wheat, no sugar person along with everyone else. Everyone was happy! The menu has something for everyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the pizza and appetizers. The staf ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love the pizza and appetizers. The staff is friendly. I prefer the quieter wine room part of the restaurant. This is a great place for a special occasion or just a spontaneous, casual dinner out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing pizza crust! We love all the sma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Amazing pizza crust! We love all the small plates, they are always great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. We had 2 orders of m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was good. We had 2 orders of meatballs, 3 pizzas, 1 chopped salad and just regular water. $125 is a lot of money for what we had. It was very noisy in the larger room however we were in the smaller room which was better but still loud. It was nice to try the number 1 pizza restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent service very attentive

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent service very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch all the way around. Still drea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Top notch all the way around. Still dreaming about the garlic bread...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there pre concert at 5pm Got seat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went there pre concert at 5pm Got seated immediately by friendly host. But not happy at $12.00 to park car for one hour.....Got crammed into very small table. Order taken promptly, I ordered squash blossoms and chopped salad, date had caprese salad and mussels. First came squash blossoms...5 very small , but quite tasty. Next was my chopped salad, enormous and very sour. Really did not enjoy. Shared all with date. Finished everything, then asked where was the other order ? Out came giant scoop of cheese and a few very small tomatoes and the mussels . We asked for a piece of bread.....had to order it. People at table next to us gave us some of theirs....giant hunk of cheese and no bread? Anyway, not impressed. Would not come back or recommend expensive and not that good. had to ask where our food was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The pizza was great although it was a to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The pizza was great although it was a touch oily which was fine. The squash blossoms are definitely overrated though and I would suggest skipping them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is a colossal rip-off. My piz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is a colossal rip-off. My pizza (sausage / fennel) wasn't great (though the crust was quite good), our waiter was arrogant and never bothered to check in with us, our little starter salad (iceberg lettuce, ranch dressing, a few tomatoes, and some crumbled bacon) was $18. $18!!!! For a starter salad!!!!! I'm happy to spend money on a good dinner, but $90+ for two pizzas, a small shared salad, a coke, and an order of ice-cream--all of which was entirely ordinary--just makes my blood boil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food is always delicious here. Consi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food is always delicious here. Consistent and yummy. And the staff couldn't be nicer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Braised fennel, sausage pizza was fabulo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Braised fennel, sausage pizza was fabulous as was the Caesar salad, but the real surprise here were the chicken wings. Not fried, but either cooked in the wood burning over or roasted with nice rub of paprika, chili powder and cooked perfectly. I'd go back again just for the wings!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We asked to be moved to the quieter nook ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We asked to be moved to the quieter nook at Pizzeria Mozza and it helped with the dining experience. The pizza was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's VERY LOUD!! hard to hear others at ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It's VERY LOUD!! hard to hear others at your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Great host staff and great food.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great host staff and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply just the best! Wonderful Sunday f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Simply just the best! Wonderful Sunday family lunch... Loved everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Surprisingly everything but the pizza wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Surprisingly everything but the pizza was delicious. I would recommend the caprese, lasagna, and potatoes - NOT the pizza. The pizza was highly overrated. The crust was soggy and te sauce was nothing special. The toppings were mushy and hard to swallow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lets start with parking 12.00 you have t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Lets start with parking 12.00 you have to pay cause there is no other parking avail

Ordered Shrimp pizza that had only crust with olive oil sparse greens and shrimp 6 medium 10" +10.00 charge = 26 for pizza and 18 for an very avg salad with cheese and salami, noise level makes it impossible to hear a conversation, my recommendation, find yourself a restaurant that understands the meaning of repeat customer I will give them credit for fast seating (we had a reservation) and the service was good considering the packed house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.