About Pizzeria Gusto

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Private Party Contact:
Please see party options at www.pizzeriagusto.com: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

fit for foodies (91)
neighborhood gem (86)
great for outdoor dining (58)
See All
special occasion (56)
good for groups (46)
hot spot (45)
great for lunch (43)
romantic (38)
notable wine list (33)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service and a very nice patio that ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and a very nice patio that is nice and shady on a warm evening. Food was excellent as always and server was very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoy dinners thee with a good friend ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I enjoy dinners thee with a good friend of mine 2-3 times a year a will drop by on other occassions as well but have always enjoyed the meal, the service and the great summer enviornment when eating out side. Food, I stick wth the Waterloo and enjoy it ever time. Will be there again before September for her birthday.nd

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent and service exceeded ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was excellent and service exceeded expectations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best coffee in the city, my Americano wa ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Best coffee in the city, my Americano was superb. Beat salad and pizza excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I eat/drink at Gusto often....it's alway ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I eat/drink at Gusto often....it's always fabulous!!!

Great service, fabulous staff, delicious food, wonderful wine selection!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Pricey! Wine very ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good. Pricey! Wine very pricey! Large profit being made there. Unfortunately, the profit is not being shared with the customer. Will not have wine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Placed order and waited 35 minutes. Neve ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Placed order and waited 35 minutes. Never saw waitress again until we got up and left, and that was just waiting for the antipasto appetizer.

Waitress served two other tables that came in after us their appetizers but wouldn't look at us.

First impression wasn't good, don't think I'm going to give them the chance for a second try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

PG is not a huge place - very intimate a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

PG is not a huge place - very intimate and always busy. Always a bit of a tight fit and can get a bit on the loud side due to the constant him of a good conversation. I'd say the restaurant itself seems to be very acceptable of babies and children but it's patrons, not so much; sophistication goes out the window, I guess. Gusto's consistent busyness over many years speaks volumes on how good the food is.

Service is generally very good all the time. The host, I find is often very welcoming and aims to accommodate. Actual serving staff are knowledgeable and try to be as prompt as possible.

The food our party had for dinner was quite delicious! Pizzas all around, some salads/appetizers and beer. The Cesare is excellent but kind of a pain due to its presentation (heart cut down the middle and dressing placed on top), which I actually like but can be messy when cutting when one is elbow to elbow. The pizza toppings are fresh and interesting - excellent flavour combinations. A favourite is the Sinatra and the Don. The appetizers were flavourful but seemed a bit on the skimpy side for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was unfortunately not our best visi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was unfortunately not our best visit here. We were seated at the bar, which is not what we had expected when we made the reservation. The host was rude and uncompassionate and one of our pizzas was borderline burnt. However our server was fantastic and the new selections in the menu were tantalizing especially enjoyed the pizza with fig jam and always love the house made ricotta.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Appreciate the option of gluten free piz ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Appreciate the option of gluten free pizza crust. Wonderful to be able to enjoy really, really good pizza.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first dinning at Pizzaria G ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first dinning at Pizzaria Gusto. Friends had highly recommended it. We asked our waiter Danny, what was his favourite. He had lots of favourite! Now I know why. We had the meatball appetizer, salad and the 887 pizza. It was all fabulous! We sat at the.counter seats. Probably the best in the house. Watched the chef make our pizza in the wood burning oven. Danny was one of the best waiters we have ever had. He helped us make the best decisions for a perfect meal and evening. We will be going back soon!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual a terrific experience! Deliciou ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As usual a terrific experience! Delicious food with a twist (sour cherries on a pizza? Sure!), great drinks and attentive, yet not overbearing service. We will definitely back for our next special night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten at Pizzeria Gusto a few ti ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have eaten at Pizzeria Gusto a few times and always had exceptional service. This time the service was very poor, a few items on the menu were unavailable and we had to wait over an hour from our appetizer to our main meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Had a great experience!! Richard is awe ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great experience!! Richard is awesome and goes above and beyond to make you comfortable and welcome

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our very favorites. Consistently ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of our very favorites. Consistently good. Excellent staff and service. Caprizi Salad and Pizza every time! We will be back soon to sit at the Pizza Bar. Lots to watch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always amazing but $75.00 plus f ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food is always amazing but $75.00 plus for a lunch is a lot of cash. I am glad I was treated to lunch. Love the special pizza with fruit and meat. Flavours are always fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredibly overpriced. I paid $24 for a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Incredibly overpriced. I paid $24 for a meatless pasta dish. There were only 3 pastas to choose from. My partner had pizza, I had the pasta, and 2 beers; the bill was $75. I'd get it if it were fine dining or if we had steak/ribs....but for 2 beers, pasta, and pizza...it's too much.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Gusto is to Pizza as Starbucks is to cof ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Gusto is to Pizza as Starbucks is to coffee. Great service, great food, never disappointed

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't order the gluten free pizza crust ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Don't order the gluten free pizza crust !!!! It is dry and the toppings slide right off. Tastes like frozen.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfect for my meeting. Great lunch!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Perfect for my meeting. Great lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food quality was very good. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

As usual the food quality was very good.

A bit disappointed my favorite mushroom pizza was off the menu, however the new pizza I tried was good.

One comment, the pizza for my husband was not very hot, usually the pizza is straight from the oven which makes the experience that much better. The service was as expected, very friendly and professional.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great crust on the pizza...antipasto was ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great crust on the pizza...antipasto was ok as was the brussell sprouts. Pizza was priced as other high end pizzas in the city. Beverages and sides higher priced than average.

I would go back for just the great pie!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and great service. Was go ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Was good when we went for noise. Our meal was lunch and given the openness of the restaurant, imagine it can be pretty noisy on busy nights.

Still, innovative and creative foods.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a great time out on the patio at Gus ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Had a great time out on the patio at Gusto. Nate is an incredible server - polite, knowledgable, and made some excellent suggestions that helped me "wow" an important client. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. The pizza choices ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Everything was great. The pizza choices are very original and all very tasty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely brilliant.

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

No matter what day of the week, or the time of year, that I visit, the experience is fantastic.

Brought my kids for the first time during this visit and they each said they fully understood why I love Gustos. Best pizza they've had and they loved the atmosphere.

We'll be back, very soon...

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great drinks, food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great drinks, food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No value

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I do not usually write reviews but this one was a must. The appetizers were expensive and not good. The brushetta was soggy and the calamari was supposed to be sauteed and was just steamed .... absolutely disgusting. Only one person ate it and that was the who suggested it and that was purely because he felt bad. Yuck! The pizza was good. The spaghetti tasted good but very small portion for the price ( If you did a lot of biking that day like we did it just wouldn't fill you up). I think the best bet is to opt out of the appetizers and just get an extra pizza. However, the biggest thing that bothers me is there is no value. Another example.... I paid 21 dollars for a 9 ounce glass of wine! That tasted... ok. If you have a lot of money and do not mind being scammed great. But for those working class, you could find better food to spend 200+ dollars on. I hate feeling ripped off. The case of the emperor's new clothes in my opinion. I tried Pizzeria Gusto three times and that was my last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great pizza...average Bruschetta

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

To start, the pizza was excellent. We had the Romesco and the Regino Eggeto pizza, both delicious. Our appetizer of Classic Bruschetta was fairly pedestrian(needed seasoning and bread was just a piece of rye). Servers were friendly, but not totally confident in their abilities to recall menu items. Overall the pizza was great, else was average.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Tried the Brussel sprouts and they were ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Tried the Brussel sprouts and they were amazing! Will take the whole family soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prices too high , we had to seat at ba ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Prices too high , we had to seat at bar not even could choose a table that were empty untill we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

i was at a conference and wanted to expo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

i was at a conference and wanted to expose my customers to the restaurant that is partly owned by one of our long term friends/ colleagues in the world of HIV.

It was hard to communicate as it was loud. The food was nothing special, but we treated it like a tapas meal which was fun and gave us the opportunity to taste many different items on the menu. Unless I know someone that likes pizza I will not necessarily recommend the restaurant.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value4

Disappointed for the first time. My favo ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Disappointed for the first time. My favourite place to eat in Winnipeg - usually brilliant food and service. Both were mediocre on this visit. Calamari was rubbery & tasteless. Pizza overdone & dried out with tough crust as a result. Service was indifferent at best with a general feeling of being rushed along during the entire meal. This experience was definitely an exception - as noted, usually a fantastic dining experience. I expect more from PG

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Amazing pizza and the service was top no ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing pizza and the service was top notch. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Selection of Pizza

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Service was excellent and has a nice cozy atmosphere. Crust was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mucho Gusto!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Had lunch on Monday, May 5th to celebrate our wedding anniversary (could not get reservations on a Monday evening? Who knew?) and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience.

We started with calamari that was absolutely perfect. Followed that with a couple of pizzas that caught our eye (Lucia and Waterloo) and were not disappointed. We really enjoyed the fusion of flavours that their chef comes up with.

Even had Aperol Spritz to drink, which you generally don't find... anywhere really. It's even hard to find Aperol at the LC as it's not exactly popular. Nice European touch that we appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Luv them brussels sprouts!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

delicious food! crazy about the brussels sprouts and the mushroom risotto

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Another fine evening

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I came for a date night as we love the food and atmosphere. The patio was not yet open so we dined at the pizza bar. With only two people this is still a fine experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best pizza

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had friends join us, their first visit. Both really enjoyed their pizzas. My husband really enjoyed the pasta dish. Great night all around.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great waitress and good food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great waitress and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.