Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

About Pizzeria Gusto

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Executive Chef:
Jesse Friesen

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (59)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
See All
Creative Cuisine (42)
Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Fun (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Casual (33)
Hot Spot (29)
Authentic (29)
Romantic (28)
Bar Seating (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Great for Lunch (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Cozy (18)
Healthy (16)
People Watching (15)
Tasting Menu (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tapas (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
689 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, Called to verify my reservation and even added people to our table of 14!
Service was great, the pizza was better!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great friendly service. A nicely varied menu. Pleasant clean atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I find the food always consistently great. They have my favourite pizza in the city and the atmosphere is cosy and the service is great too.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was top notch! The server was attentive and timely and took care of us and all the little details as well! The food was incredible and the wine selection was stellar. The atmosphere was welcoming yet trendy. The openness created a nice vibe of the place and to see the bar and pizza stone oven, yet was still intimate and cozy. This is going to be a new fav in our "going out" places to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Looks great but very noisy and dimly lit. My wife ordered the rustica pizza. She was extremely disappointed - a very few mushrooms hidden by the arugula. It amounted to no more than pizza crust with greens. Can you call it pizza if there is no mozzarella cheese? Waiter took it back and they put some cold buffalo mozzarella on top. You would think they could do more. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing! We tried the Risotto and Sylvia pizza and I would highly recommend both of them. The mozzarella and goat cheese that is served on the Sylvia pizza will melt in your mouth.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Susie was most accommodating in seating us by our friends, she is such a beautiful and helpful lady always with a smile on her face.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

First visit and Food was fantastic, Bryan our waiter was fantastic will be back for sure! Great Italian wines was a perfect date night!!

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was my first time at Pizzaria Gusto and it was fantastic! The BOSS pizza was amazing!

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The pizza was better than u could have imagined. The restaurants is beautifully designed and decorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

As always Gusto is amazing! Best pizza and best dining room in Winnipeg for sure!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tapas, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We consistently enjoy our date nights here on the patio. Waitress Jane takes good care of us and the food is always so delicious with a great wine list to choose from too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Once again, perfect place for a long-awaited time with my friends. Service, dinner and drinks were excellent and expected. Both of my guests were impressed and enjoyed themselves asi hoped they would

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service and attention to detail are commendable at Pizzeria Gusto. Thank you Jane for making everything perfect for our dinner. One of our favourite restaurants that never disappoints.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Food was excellent - service was poor - didn't bring the fresh grated cheese to our table
Didn't come back to see if we wanted another drink

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Sad to say the pizza (fig and gorgonzola) was waaaay too sweet and the noise was deafening. So if you're looking for a quiet place to chat with a friend, choose something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Gustos became my absolute favorite dining location about four years ago. I find excuses to visit them for random treats, business dinners, personal events and even my birthday this past week.

They've done an incredible renovation the past spring/summer and have likely doubled their capacity while creating a dynamic and gorgeous atmosphere. It retains the feeling of privacy at your table, and the serving staff are second to none for courtesy, attentiveness, humor and creativity. Speaks directly to the dynamic culture ownership and management have developed here.

If you are considering Gustos, please succumb to the lure and give them a try. I promise you will be receive more than you expect the moment you walk in the door.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food ! I only wish I could have tried everything. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

The regular pizza was good. However the gluten free pizza was less than desirable. Disappointing for a restaurant that specializes in pizza to fail miserably at gluten free pizza.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The renovation is outstanding!!!!! The space is beautiful. We were seated at the counter overlooking the pizza creators. Comfortable enough seats and plenty of counter space for eating at. An enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

good service good food was a bit noisy but that does not detract from an overall good experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was amazing, restaurant was beautiful and busy the whole time. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

great space-light, open and comfortable. Excellent service. Great food. Definitely a go-to spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always lovely and our go-to place. A bit pricy but get it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Bar Seating, Tapas, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I love the patio, there could be a few more food options, particularly in the protein side but you make the most of what is there for the patio! Great service and friendly staff. Pizza's were good as was the salad. The wine list could benefit from more BC wine that would go great with the food. I've eaten inside and it was nice but in summer, its all about that patio.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Great service and amazing food! We had to wait a few minutes for our table to be ready and for that they gave us complimentary glasses of bubbles! Nice touch. Hospitality at its finest.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food, beverages, servers and managers ...can't wait to go back! Very busy - wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Are you open Sundays? Love the patio space and the fact that there's parking. Food is delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Tapas, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great meal on the patio! Waterloo pizza always great! Risotto was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This gem is a wonderful place to dine with friends or family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The staff were warm and friendly without being disruptive

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

My husband goes out of town for work. When he returns on a Thursday or Friday we both like to catch up on each other's week,have a nice meal in the atmosphere we both like. Never disappoints. This Friday was perfect weather to sit outside. I was pleasantly surprised to see that Open Table had made some nessessary changes to make a reservation. Kudos to them for making those changes. I will go to Pizzaria Gusto with a girl friend for a relaxing evening out and my husband as well would bring friends or co workers there as well. My only complaint would be that since it has expanded the noise level was not very conducive for a four some to have a conversation without having to raise your voice. We had taken a couple there for dinner and it was our treat. However I don't think it was much of a treat for the four of us as the noise levels made it difficult to carry on a conversation. I don't know if you need to put more baffils on the ceiling or how to rectify the problem. My husband and I will continue I guess you could call it our date nights at Pizzaria Gustoas over time we feel like we know the staff a little and they make a difference to our evening as well. Meanjean

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Some of our party had the date mixed up and were more than an hour late. The staff were extremely courteous and went out of their way to assure us that we were welcome and that the delay was no issue. I appreciated that, as assume they could have easily used the tables.
Food was great........ no surprise there.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

One of my favourite spots! Love the new renovations. Delicious food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Always love this place!! Food is amazing. Ordered the grilled ceaser salad and Lucia pizza.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We absolutely love their pizza! The quality is always consistent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have been to Gusto's many times. The new reno's are great! The addition of cocktails is terrific. It is a bit $$ for what it is. Be advised that the Appetizers are small. The pizza and salads are great. Wine is pricey. We will continue to visit as it is a great addition to our neighbhourhood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Excellent Patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

My first time back since the renovation. Tremendous job. Food was outstanding (I had the Sylvia)
Have an Americano with cream after dinner/lunch. Hidden gem as the coffee is tremendous.
Gusto is now becoming my neighborhood go to restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.