About Pizzeria Gusto

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Report a photo problem

Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB
Pizzeria Gusto, Winnipeg, MB

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (29)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Fun (17)
Modern Decor (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Romantic (17)
Casual (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Spicy (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a fabulous Dining experience at G ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a fabulous Dining experience at Gusto!!

Great menu, delicious food, fabulous wine menu...friendly, knowledgable & gracious staff!!!

1 of my fave restaurants in Wpg!!

Thanks Gusto staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service! Got us in and out ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food & service! Got us in and out so we could make the Jets Game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Private Room, , Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tapas, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This outing was to celebrate my 59th bir ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

This outing was to celebrate my 59th birthday. Reservations had been made four days prior to our evening out. When we arrived, we were seated side by side at the bar with only a view of the cooks preparing pizza for the evening. Not much ambiance.

I had looked at the online menu prior to the evening; however, there were online entrees that were not available that evening. Though the food was very good, the selection was quite limited. Throw in $18 glasses of wine and $23 pizzas, and you have a very expensive night out for watching cooks prepare pizza.

The service was great and our server was exceptionally pleasant. This is a nice place to go for lunch or a late night bite to eat, but for the price, it's not a place that I could recommend for special celebrations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

Held my wife's 40th birthday in the priv ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Held my wife's 40th birthday in the private room, was a great experience. Great staff!

Probably the best pizza I've ever had!

Will recommend to everyone!

Tags: , Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff were great, food was good the unfo ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Staff were great, food was good the unfortunate thing was when we booked on open table we booked for a table for 2 and what they gave us was a seat facing the kitchen wall on bar stools jammed in the corner with barely enough room to get in to sit down. I think you have to change you seating to say bar seating with other people you don't know and not call it seating and table for two misleading and not very intimate.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

outstanding service, great kitchen, supe ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

outstanding service, great kitchen, super dining experience!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, , Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wouldn't want to spend my birthday anywh ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wouldn't want to spend my birthday anywhere else :)

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, , Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure dining here. The ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

It's always a pleasure dining here. The food and service is exceptional, and the atmosphere is fun!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza in the city hands down!! Sit ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best pizza in the city hands down!! Sit in front of the fire and talk to the chefs for a great experience and its cozy!!

Tags: , Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Fun, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love PG! Normally we sit at the ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

I always love PG! Normally we sit at the bar for dinner, but there was 4 of us this time. Service was a bit slower than usual, but they were packed. I always love a good pizza!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing pizza special this week, got to ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing pizza special this week, got to sit across from the pizza oven and it was warm and smelled great all evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met with my mom for lunch before some Ch ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Met with my mom for lunch before some Christmas shopping! Pizzas were fabulous, service was very prompt! We loved our little lunch date! Rich the manager was so friendly and sent us off with a very warm goodbye!

Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal for my birthday at ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a lovely meal for my birthday at Pizzeria Gusto. We found the food delicious and enjoyed watching the chefs assemble and cook the pizzas. We knew we were going to be late for our reservation so I called and they said not to worry and we were seated immediately upon our arrival. Our only complaint would be about our server who was not very attentive and really didn't seem interested in being there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

All of my many visits to 'PG' over the y ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

All of my many visits to 'PG' over the years have been extremely satisfying and that's why my friend and I return there time after time. Food is remarkable, service has always been good and all of this rolls up into a nice couple of hours with a close friend. Summer evenings are undoubtedly the best for us as the outdoor experience is truly amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Simple but tasty menu! Great place for l ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Simple but tasty menu! Great place for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Thoroughly impressed with the food (not ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Thoroughly impressed with the food (not my personal pizza, wasn't what I would normally eat but I couldn't really understand the menu and what was written did sound good), but my coworkers pizza was something I should have chosen and was absolute dynamite, the best pizza I've ever had. The food was delicious, albeit a little pricey. Delicious regardless. Loved the bruschetta as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Sinatra with ruffle oil, how can you bea ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Sinatra with ruffle oil, how can you beat that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fabulous!!!!! 😊🍕🍷 Thanks to ev ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always fabulous!!!!! 😊🍕🍷

Thanks to everyone there for always making it a great Dining experience!!!

Becky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very prompt service and accomodating wit ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very prompt service and accomodating with our reservation. Very busy but not distracting or overwhelming. I enjoyed watching the pizza chefs in action. The Don was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great.

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great "Girls' Nite" dinner at Pizz ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had a great "Girls' Nite" dinner at Pizzeria Gusto. They have a fabulous menu making it hard to choose! I ended up ordering the Caprese Salad and "Lucia" Pizza with caramelized onions, fig jam, calabrese salami, cambozola, citrus tossed arugula & pecorino. Both were delicious. Warm but modern atmosphere. Attentive, friendly service. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great date night location.

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great date night location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Absolutely first class every time we hav ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely first class every time we have dinner at Gusto. Amazing food, great staff.

Outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time going and it was ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first time going and it was to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had made reservations and were shocked when we arrived that in order to get a table, you have to special request a table. Wasn't that the point of my making a reservation?? The host was pretty rude about it and made it seem like it was my fault for not knowing we'd get stuck at the bar top if we didn't special request a table. The food was amazing but the atmosphere wasn't great as we had to listen to the conversations of the waiters and bartenders who were behind the bar, and watch them pull out cutlery etc...not the romantic birthday dinner I had thought.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Wonderful flavours. Friendly staff. Se ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful flavours. Friendly staff. Service was well paced and accommodating to our needs. Our server was very knowledgeable regarding to how the dishes were prepared. The pizzas are literally a party in your mouth. Recomend you make a reservation. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was lovely and understood o ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our waitress was lovely and understood our wanting to chat and gave us the perfect service of attention and space. It is our favourite place to go for dinner and it did not disappoint. Amazing food, wine and service. We will be back at Christmas :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Lower price point wine opt ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Always good. Lower price point wine options is my only suggestion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for my wife's birthday because she ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday because she loves the mishroom risotto, but sadly it is now off the menu and replaced with a risotto special that changes. She was disappointed, but the tiramisu redeemed the night for her.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very attentive and good-natured service, ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very attentive and good-natured service, and really outstanding food. The overall vibe of the place is great, largely from the positive and professional attitude of the staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall was good! Small portion on appet ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Overall was good! Small portion on appetizers for the price.

Pizza was great!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Once again excellent food and exceptiona ...

 
·Dined on November 8, 2016

Once again excellent food and exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good quality, nice atmosphere, great ser ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good quality, nice atmosphere, great service. Had the special, which was creative as always. If you want a special meal out, it's worth trying.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pizzeria Gusto is solid and predictable ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Pizzeria Gusto is solid and predictable - but its menu is outdated and the prices are too high for both the quality of the food and the limited outdated food selections. Portions sizes are good and generous. There are no "side" salads to have with your pizza - so you can't exactly eat healthily by supplementing your carb with vegetables. Additionally - there is no tea served at the restaurant and no way to get a Latte or even a cup of coffee (even the Americano is teeny and not really adequate). In order to get sufficient coffee you need to buy 3 Americanos that is going to cost you $4 per cup + - you do the math! Anyway - I think PG can be good again. Someone just needs to pay some attention and quick!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We loved the food at Pizzeria Gusto. The ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

We loved the food at Pizzeria Gusto. The meatball appetizer should not be missed. The meatballs and tomato sauce were delicious. They really should have spaghetti and meatballs on the menu.

The main courses on the menu consist mainly of pizzas with a few main courses. The selections of pizza are varied and the two we tried were tremendous. We had one with arugula salad on top which was a real hit and the other was a special with sweet potatoes and blue cheese we loved it as well.

Nice selection of wines by the glass.

ServicewS very friendly and even the owner visited the tables to ensure everyone was enjoying their experience.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here before and really like th ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Have been here before and really like the food.....the restaurant is well decorated and lots of room at the table! Very clean and great servers! Price is perfect for us!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!!! The food, service, a ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always excellent!!!

The food, service, atmosphere...always fabulous.

The friendly & knowledgeable staff always do their very best...

The food is delicious...the wine list is wonderful.

Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed it! Food was great it ...

 
·Dined on October 24, 2016

We really enjoyed it! Food was great it always is! Very consistent and very very good. Our servers was excellent! My only compliant if there is one is that the wine is a bit pricy as are your delicious salads for the size. But I may be out of touch with prices who knows! Still really enjoyed it! Always do!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The artisan pizza menu is fantastic. The ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

The artisan pizza menu is fantastic. The staff are energetic and attentive. The atmosphere is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A refreshing and comfortable restaurant ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

A refreshing and comfortable restaurant serving good food by great people.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at Pizzeria Gusto ...

 
·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was my first time at Pizzeria Gusto. Sat in front of the pizza oven and loved watching the very talented chefs do their magic. Both my husband and I had excellent pizza. Wine was great although expensive. Limited beer selection and I would recommend d getting some local craft beers.

I was very pleased this restaurant was part of Restaurants for change. I will definitely support them and come back regularly. They play a major role in good food in Winnipeg. Service was outstanding too.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.