Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

About Pizzeria Gusto

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Executive Chef:
Jesse Friesen

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Modern Decor (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Authentic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Casual (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (7)
Cozy (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 20, 2017

outstanding as always!! atmosphere, service - it's not service - you are treated as family! food drinks, just superb!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were a party of four to celebrate Mothers Day a day late. The restaurant phoned to confirm our reservation during the afternoon.
We were amazed by the uniform transformation of the entire space. It is open and airy and bright.
We ordered the bruschetta starter to share. It was tasty. My wife and I shared a beet salad and a Ryall pizza. Both were delicious. Our guests had salads and pizzas which were all appreciated. Desserts were excellent as well. We will definitely return to Pizzaria Gusto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Loved the new renovations: everything is light and clean looking. I thought we would prefer a table, but sitting at the pizza counter is a fun experience. You might be lucky like us and have the owner at the pizza oven making your experience above and beyond. The margarita pizza is a classic but amazing. My picky boyfriend always gets The Don pizza. It's as close to a meat lovers as it gets here. Ask for some housemade dried chili flakes to add or better yet, the chili olive oil. Great cocktail and wine list, too. The servers always make sure they're suggesting wines in your price range as well, which is nice. We love this place and will continue to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Almost too loud of an atmosphere. Music was cranked and causing everyone to have to shout to one another, so ended up being nothing but people shouting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Love the renos, and the food was as delicious (and pricey) as always.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Renos look great.Great night out. food, service and vibe all great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Gustos has become my favorite dining location in the city. I recommend it weekly to both friends and visiting business partners and clients. This was our first visit to the restaurant since the renovations and my level of admiration for the ownership and staff has been raised even higher - the place looks absolutely fantastic, and even with a compliment of new staff on hand, the quality of both food and service we've become accustom to over the years has been improved upon with an augmented menu supporting everything.

Gorgeous decor. Incredible staff. Pride of ownership and dedication to the satisfaction of guests - every step of the way Gustos impresses.

Bravo.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Was very unimpressed this time and here's why. .. I made a reservation and was seated right away which was great! We were even 15mins early. I was with 3 friends- one who had never been there before. We ordered 2 bottles of wine, 2 appetizers, 3 pizzas, 2 specialty coffees and 2 desserts. It had been 2 hours and 45mins that we had been there and was having a wonderful time when the manager came up to our table and informed us that another dinner reservation was coming in and that we basically had to leave unless we wanted to stay she would maybe have seating up at the bar. I mean we felt like we were getting kicked out when we probably would have ordered more drinks if we weren't told that we needed to leave because of another dinner reservation that was coming in. We were all completely taken aback by this and had no choice but to pay our bill and leave. I mean I could have understood this if we had only ordered an appetizer and nothing else but this was not the case.
I 've had dinner several times before you expanded and enjoyed it thoroughly each time. I think you have the best pizza in town. However I probably will not come back for quite awhile and will not recommend this restaurant or be sure to tell my friends what happened to us. As for my friend who had never been here before will be her last time. I'd really think twice about pulling this same move to another table because it really left a bad impression with us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Had not been for a while. The renovations are beautiful and more seating room which was needed. Appetizers (salads)were sparse and pricey, the meatballs were delicious. We had to wait over an our for our party of 5 to be served our dinner, with only some attention when we complained. This despite the restaurant not being full. They did take care of us by adjusting our bill, which was appreciated, once the food was served I think it was good, but being late for the next event I could not really enjoy it. If you go make sure you give yourself lots of Time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Saskatoon)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Delicious pizza and good service. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Again perfect evening. great new decor, fantastic staff as always and the ched Jesse had ridiculous seafood features not to miss!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Pizzeria Gusto delivered again with an imaginative and creative pizza. The service was friendly and accommodating. The wine which was recommended was lovely and paired well with my choice of pizza. The appetizer was a tasty surprise for a bruschetta. Later in the evening we joined friends and the service was more than prepared to make the accommodation for us. Overall I would recommend this restaurant for anyone who would love delicious food, great service and social atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Just Ok and difficulty to get the table for 2 I prebooked

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Gusto never disappoints. Recent expansion and renovation are stunning. Great service, great food, great ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Outstanding!!! Best place in town! Beautiful new renovations and a great menu with awesome new items. Wine list is amazing! Loved it all! Can't wait for the patio to open.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This has been my favourite restaurant in Winnipeg since it opened years ago. The new renovations make it more accessible for larger parties though I prefer dining at the counter watching the pizzas being prepared. Best service in town! The prices have increased recently but it doesn't seem to stop us from going. Great patio in the warm months.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Newly expanded restaurant area but maintains the high quality menu of te past. Flavourful food selections. You gotta eat here!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fantastic pizza, great wine and super service. The updated interior is bright and spacious but it still feels like the neighbourhood gem this place has always been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 7, 2017

absolutely incredible - as always! unique menu, amazing staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Always great food and service every time I come! Staff is always so friendly! Renovations look amazing! Great job to everyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Amazing new venue post renovation. Love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a great meal! The last night before the new renos start so happy to celebrate with the staff there. Had pizza feature and appetizer bruschetta which were delicious! Had a great recommended wine from Northern Italy.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love Pizzeria Gusto! The Lucia pizza is definitely the best. Staff is super friendly! You should absolutely ask to sit at the pizza counter and get to know the chef's! Connie's amazing! Go. Definitely go and enjoy!

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service! The ambience is great, excellent beer and wine selections! Highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a nice evening with a good feeling. The food was ok and what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My mum and I wanted to go out for a night without the kids and this was great! It was out first time here and we got seated right in front of the pizza oven and what a great experience! The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was inviting! I was blown away by the service and the team dynamic of the restaurant from the gentlemen who greeted us at the door to the casual banter we had with the man making pizzas and how everyone was asking how we were enjoying our food and even new cutlery with every plate that was brought to us. We will definitely be back! Phenomenal job!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food as always

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the large window out front. Enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant. Great pizza selection.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service. The absolute best place to be for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The caesar salad was at best bland and I would;t recommend it. The calamari was also a bit lacking. The pizza was very good and would recommend both types that we ordered. The local beer "brown jug(?)" was also very good and would recommend it.

The service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was a family dinner ... sons birthday... Restaurant was a central location.. for everyone. We were not rushed to eat and leave...got to relax and visit after dinner.. Everyone enjoyed their appetizer/ main dish...
An enjoyable eating experience

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love the ambiance of this place. Want to get there in the summer to enjoy the patio. Staff are incredible!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went with friends after the theater and had a great meal.
Nice selection of wines.
All had choice of a pizza and enjoyed immensely.
Will return !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Never disappointed at Gusto. Another great night out with friends enjoying the best pie in town.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food and service were very good! Medium cost but worth it! Enjoy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is always fantastic and the ambiance was great. We were there for my husbands 40th birthday party with a party of 12.

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Pizzeria Gusto has never disappointed. Their food is consistently delicious, made with quality ingredients. The ambiance and professional staff ensure your visit is always an enjoyable one. It's one of my favourite restaurant in the city and I highly recommend it to anyone that appreciates delicious Italian food and wine.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a fabulous Dining experience at Gusto!!
Great menu, delicious food, fabulous wine menu...friendly, knowledgable & gracious staff!!!
1 of my fave restaurants in Wpg!!
Thanks Gusto staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food & service! Got us in and out so we could make the Jets Game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tapas, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This outing was to celebrate my 59th birthday. Reservations had been made four days prior to our evening out. When we arrived, we were seated side by side at the bar with only a view of the cooks preparing pizza for the evening. Not much ambiance.

I had looked at the online menu prior to the evening; however, there were online entrees that were not available that evening. Though the food was very good, the selection was quite limited. Throw in $18 glasses of wine and $23 pizzas, and you have a very expensive night out for watching cooks prepare pizza.

The service was great and our server was exceptionally pleasant. This is a nice place to go for lunch or a late night bite to eat, but for the price, it's not a place that I could recommend for special celebrations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.