Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

About Pizzeria Gusto

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Wood Oven (28)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Authentic (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Casual (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great Beer (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Fireplace (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a great meal! The last night before the new renos start so happy to celebrate with the staff there. Had pizza feature and appetizer bruschetta which were delicious! Had a great recommended wine from Northern Italy.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love Pizzeria Gusto! The Lucia pizza is definitely the best. Staff is super friendly! You should absolutely ask to sit at the pizza counter and get to know the chef's! Connie's amazing! Go. Definitely go and enjoy!

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service! The ambience is great, excellent beer and wine selections! Highly recommended!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

It was a nice evening with a good feeling. The food was ok and what I expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My mum and I wanted to go out for a night without the kids and this was great! It was out first time here and we got seated right in front of the pizza oven and what a great experience! The food was phenomenal and the atmosphere was inviting! I was blown away by the service and the team dynamic of the restaurant from the gentlemen who greeted us at the door to the casual banter we had with the man making pizzas and how everyone was asking how we were enjoying our food and even new cutlery with every plate that was brought to us. We will definitely be back! Phenomenal job!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food as always

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love the large window out front. Enjoyed the atmosphere in the restaurant. Great pizza selection.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service. The absolute best place to be for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The caesar salad was at best bland and I would;t recommend it. The calamari was also a bit lacking. The pizza was very good and would recommend both types that we ordered. The local beer "brown jug(?)" was also very good and would recommend it.

The service was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 6, 2017

It was a family dinner ... sons birthday... Restaurant was a central location.. for everyone. We were not rushed to eat and leave...got to relax and visit after dinner.. Everyone enjoyed their appetizer/ main dish...
An enjoyable eating experience

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Love the ambiance of this place. Want to get there in the summer to enjoy the patio. Staff are incredible!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went with friends after the theater and had a great meal.
Nice selection of wines.
All had choice of a pizza and enjoyed immensely.
Will return !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Never disappointed at Gusto. Another great night out with friends enjoying the best pie in town.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food and service were very good! Medium cost but worth it! Enjoy!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food is always fantastic and the ambiance was great. We were there for my husbands 40th birthday party with a party of 12.

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Pizzeria Gusto has never disappointed. Their food is consistently delicious, made with quality ingredients. The ambiance and professional staff ensure your visit is always an enjoyable one. It's one of my favourite restaurant in the city and I highly recommend it to anyone that appreciates delicious Italian food and wine.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Always a fabulous Dining experience at Gusto!!
Great menu, delicious food, fabulous wine menu...friendly, knowledgable & gracious staff!!!
1 of my fave restaurants in Wpg!!
Thanks Gusto staff!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food & service! Got us in and out so we could make the Jets Game!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Tapas, Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, People Watching, Cozy, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This outing was to celebrate my 59th birthday. Reservations had been made four days prior to our evening out. When we arrived, we were seated side by side at the bar with only a view of the cooks preparing pizza for the evening. Not much ambiance.

I had looked at the online menu prior to the evening; however, there were online entrees that were not available that evening. Though the food was very good, the selection was quite limited. Throw in $18 glasses of wine and $23 pizzas, and you have a very expensive night out for watching cooks prepare pizza.

The service was great and our server was exceptionally pleasant. This is a nice place to go for lunch or a late night bite to eat, but for the price, it's not a place that I could recommend for special celebrations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Held my wife's 40th birthday in the private room, was a great experience. Great staff!
Probably the best pizza I've ever had!
Will recommend to everyone!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Casual, Late-night Find, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Staff were great, food was good the unfortunate thing was when we booked on open table we booked for a table for 2 and what they gave us was a seat facing the kitchen wall on bar stools jammed in the corner with barely enough room to get in to sit down. I think you have to change you seating to say bar seating with other people you don't know and not call it seating and table for two misleading and not very intimate.

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

outstanding service, great kitchen, super dining experience!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wouldn't want to spend my birthday anywhere else :)

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It's always a pleasure dining here. The food and service is exceptional, and the atmosphere is fun!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best pizza in the city hands down!! Sit in front of the fire and talk to the chefs for a great experience and its cozy!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Fun, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I always love PG! Normally we sit at the bar for dinner, but there was 4 of us this time. Service was a bit slower than usual, but they were packed. I always love a good pizza!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing pizza special this week, got to sit across from the pizza oven and it was warm and smelled great all evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Met with my mom for lunch before some Christmas shopping! Pizzas were fabulous, service was very prompt! We loved our little lunch date! Rich the manager was so friendly and sent us off with a very warm goodbye!


Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a lovely meal for my birthday at Pizzeria Gusto. We found the food delicious and enjoyed watching the chefs assemble and cook the pizzas. We knew we were going to be late for our reservation so I called and they said not to worry and we were seated immediately upon our arrival. Our only complaint would be about our server who was not very attentive and really didn't seem interested in being there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 13, 2016

All of my many visits to 'PG' over the years have been extremely satisfying and that's why my friend and I return there time after time. Food is remarkable, service has always been good and all of this rolls up into a nice couple of hours with a close friend. Summer evenings are undoubtedly the best for us as the outdoor experience is truly amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Simple but tasty menu! Great place for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Thoroughly impressed with the food (not my personal pizza, wasn't what I would normally eat but I couldn't really understand the menu and what was written did sound good), but my coworkers pizza was something I should have chosen and was absolute dynamite, the best pizza I've ever had. The food was delicious, albeit a little pricey. Delicious regardless. Loved the bruschetta as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Sinatra with ruffle oil, how can you beat that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always fabulous!!!!! 😊🍕🍷
Thanks to everyone there for always making it a great Dining experience!!!
Becky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very prompt service and accomodating with our reservation. Very busy but not distracting or overwhelming. I enjoyed watching the pizza chefs in action. The Don was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Had a great "Girls' Nite" dinner at Pizzeria Gusto. They have a fabulous menu making it hard to choose! I ended up ordering the Caprese Salad and "Lucia" Pizza with caramelized onions, fig jam, calabrese salami, cambozola, citrus tossed arugula & pecorino. Both were delicious. Warm but modern atmosphere. Attentive, friendly service. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great date night location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely first class every time we have dinner at Gusto. Amazing food, great staff.
Outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first time going and it was to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had made reservations and were shocked when we arrived that in order to get a table, you have to special request a table. Wasn't that the point of my making a reservation?? The host was pretty rude about it and made it seem like it was my fault for not knowing we'd get stuck at the bar top if we didn't special request a table. The food was amazing but the atmosphere wasn't great as we had to listen to the conversations of the waiters and bartenders who were behind the bar, and watch them pull out cutlery etc...not the romantic birthday dinner I had thought.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.