About Pizzeria Gusto

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Private Party Contact:
Please see party options at www.pizzeriagusto.com: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

fit for foodies (89)
neighborhood gem (79)
special occasion (57)
See All
hot spot (46)
great for lunch (40)
good for groups (39)
romantic (38)
great for outdoor dining (37)
notable wine list (34)
late-night find (24)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
456 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Prices too high , we had to seat at ba ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Prices too high , we had to seat at bar not even could choose a table that were empty untill we left.

food2
ambience1
service5
value4

i was at a conference and wanted to expo ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

i was at a conference and wanted to expose my customers to the restaurant that is partly owned by one of our long term friends/ colleagues in the world of HIV. It was hard to communicate as it was loud. The food was nothing special, but we treated it like a tapas meal which was fun and gave us the opportunity to taste many different items on the menu. Unless I know someone that likes pizza I will not necessarily recommend the restaurant.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Disappointed for the first time. My favo ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Disappointed for the first time. My favourite place to eat in Winnipeg - usually brilliant food and service. Both were mediocre on this visit. Calamari was rubbery & tasteless. Pizza overdone & dried out with tough crust as a result. Service was indifferent at best with a general feeling of being rushed along during the entire meal. This experience was definitely an exception - as noted, usually a fantastic dining experience. I expect more from PG

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing pizza and the service was top no ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing pizza and the service was top notch. Can't wait to go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Selection of Pizza

Dined on May 4, 2016

Service was excellent and has a nice cozy atmosphere. Crust was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mucho Gusto!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Had lunch on Monday, May 5th to celebrate our wedding anniversary (could not get reservations on a Monday evening? Who knew?) and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our dining experience. We started with calamari that was absolutely perfect. Followed that with a couple of pizzas that caught our eye (Lucia and Waterloo) and were not disappointed. We really enjoyed the fusion of flavours that their chef comes up with. Even had Aperol Spritz to drink, which you generally don't find... anywhere really. It's even hard to find Aperol at the LC as it's not exactly popular. Nice European touch that we appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Luv them brussels sprouts!

Dined on May 1, 2016

delicious food! crazy about the brussels sprouts and the mushroom risotto

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another fine evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I came for a date night as we love the food and atmosphere. The patio was not yet open so we dined at the pizza bar. With only two people this is still a fine experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Best pizza

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had friends join us, their first visit. Both really enjoyed their pizzas. My husband really enjoyed the pasta dish. Great night all around.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5

Great waitress and good food

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great waitress and good food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favourite restaurant.

Dined on April 23, 2016

This restaurant is my favorite, and I have been to many. The food is great, original and innovative - never trendy. The people are always friendly and welcoming, service is great and I always feel comfortable. Perfect combination of authentic food with an upbeat atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Birthdy Dinner

Dined on April 22, 2016

Love having P.G. in the neighbourhood...not a huge menu but what they have they do very well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favourite

Dined on April 21, 2016

Always a favourite location for just dinner, or lunch, or a special occasion. Never disappoints. Staff is always friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good

Dined on April 9, 2016

While the food was good, it was not great. Salads were probably the best part of our meal. They were very good. Pizza on the other hand leaves something to be desired. Crust over cooked and hard. Sauce unflavorful. We had been there a few years ago and pizza was MUCH better then. Too bad they changed. Still not bad and would recommend but would caution lower expectations.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

loulaw

Dined on April 9, 2016

The noise level was very high. Not fun energetic, but annoying that we had trouble hearing the person sitting beside us. Perhaps the music was too loud causing people to speak louder to be heard over it. If the music was lower maybe people wouldn't need to almost shout and the total experience would be better.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Daughter's birthday

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our daughter and boyfriend were away in Mexico for her actual birthday so we thought we would surprise them with a dinner out. We had been to this particular restaurant before and hoped this visit would be a repeat of out last visit. The staff did not disappoint us as everything was perfect from the moment we were seated until we left. I would recommend anyone looking for a wonderful dinning experience to take the drive down Academy.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Vibe!

Dined on April 5, 2016

As return customers we knew where we wanted to sit to enjoy the pizza making experience, and we were not disappointed. Our pizzas were excellent and we look forward to our next dining experience at Pizzeria Gusto!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably some of the best wood fired piz ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Probably some of the best wood fired pizza in the city although a bit pricey. Would definitely recommend.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dinner

Dined on March 29, 2016

We had another great dinner at Pizzeria Gusto. It's a great atmosphere, nice staff and good food. All around a winner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A good place for an evening's outing. O ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

A good place for an evening's outing. Our group had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Best bang for buck in Winnipeg! Consiste ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Best bang for buck in Winnipeg! Consistently excellent. Innovative, beautifully presented dishes. Pizza dough is as good as it comes

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and Exceptional service

Dined on March 26, 2016

Family dinner and a Birthday. Everything we tasted on menu was unique and fabulous! Our server Kendra, had excellent recommendations and she was always around but never too visible. Tough to do! We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food and service as usual. I like t ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Good food and service as usual. I like the online booking. Although the sound baffles have reduced the noise somewhat more could be added. It is sometimes difficult to hear the conversation of dinner mates.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Long wait

Dined on March 20, 2016

We have been to pizzeria gusto several times, and have always enjoyed the food. The one problem we have had time and time again is the long wait. We always make a reservation and have had to wait at least 30 minutes each time. This past visit we waited 45 minutes.. We may stop visiting the resteraunt because of this. The service was good and our waiter was apologetic of this, but it is getting old going through it every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

OK Dinner

Dined on March 14, 2016

For a Mon. evening, the restaurant was just half-ful so the service was good but, inexplicably, my favourite pizza, the Marguerita, was cold. A bit of a disappointment this time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special thanks to Richard!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Richard was very hospitable and generous. He knew it was our anniversary. Our waitress was also friendly and efficient. Thank you all!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Reliable

Dined on March 10, 2016

As always the service was excellent, our server attentive and friendly and the food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic everything!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Fantastic everything!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service!

Dined on February 28, 2016

I made a group reservation for 10 and was offered the private room, which I didn't know existed! It is located downstairs in what must normally be the office. It was super cozy, and we sat at a large square table, which was great for everyone to easily converse with anyone else in our group. Our server was so personable and knowledgable. Super friendly and was really great. Unfortunately I did not get her name. However, we have always had exceptional service at this restaurant. I have only been in the main restaurant previously and while it's still a cozy atmosphere, it can be very loud and crowded. So it was great that they offered us the private room. The food is to die for. We had the antipasto and the Waterloo pizza which is incredible. Will return to Pizzeria Gusto again and again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great place to celebrate!

Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our birthday dinner with friends at Pizzeria Gusto. The food was absolutely spectacular!! We enjoyed both bottle of wines that we ordered as well. We had reservations, but still had to wait about 15 minutes for our table (which wasn't terrible, but seven us in the small vestibule was a bit awkward). Our server was nice, but could've been a bit more attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Service!

Dined on February 19, 2016

We often treat ourselves to Pizzeria Gusto. One of our Winnipeg favourites. Great pizza and outstanding service always!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, impeccable service, a ...

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, impeccable service, and the pizzas are sublime. Italian-only wine list is also excellent with some interesting choices.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Cut back on the salt

Dined on February 8, 2016

Cut back on the Salt! We've noticed that the last few times we have found the pizza too salty!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Did not disappoint

Dined on February 7, 2016

Had heard rave reviews from several friends and that the mushroom risotto was amazing! Our group of 4 all really enjoyed their food (pizzas). The in-house made ricotta was really great, and the chocolate dessert with sea salt & olive oil was sublime. A real hoppin' place with great modern yet closest to traditional made italian food you'd find in the city (says the italian at the table). We were glad to have made a reservation as it filled up fast and the atmosphere in the place was vibrant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Monday evening diners at Pizzeria Gusto on Academy

Dined on February 2, 2016

Room was attractive, nice view at the window tables. Service was excellent and practical. There was no pause in attention from the server; we did not feel ignored. It was a Monday evening, and the restaurant was not full or noisy, but relaxed and casual. The pizza, of course was superb, and the spaghetti truly great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing Food! Great Service!

Dined on February 1, 2016

Amazing Food! Great Service!

food5
ambience4
service5

I highly recommend Pizzeria Gusto. Make ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

I highly recommend Pizzeria Gusto. Make reservations, and then show up right on time as there isn't much room to wait if you show up early. I went in the winter so obviously this is the only time when this is much of a concern. Our meal was amazing. My boyfriend is a very picky eater but loved "the don" pizza. The service is incredible. I wish I could remember our host's name as he was wonderful and attentive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

Dined on January 31, 2016

Booked a babysitter and made a reservation using the restaurant's website. When we arrived we were seated at the bar. That was what we reserved. The website hadn't been clear. However, staff listened to our request to move to a table, kept us happy while we waited and eventually relocated us when a table became available. They turned the evening around and we had a fantastic night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on January 20, 2016

We met my brother and his wife from Toronto for dinner. From the minute we stepped in the door it was the perfect evening. The manager took our coats, settled us in with wine and drinks. we had house made specialties all evening from an outstanding charcuterie board to sliced steak on greens. Coffees and house made chocolate treats to end the evening on a perfect note. Because we hadn't seen our family in a long time we stayed well past close and they made us feel welcome, instead of making us feel like we needed to rush which was an unexpected pleasure we were all grateful for. Thanks to everyone for such a memorable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

good food...

Dined on January 19, 2016

Been a few times now and food is good, but they do not open til 5pm . So if we want to go right after work we just go to infernos next door for an appy and their happy hour until they opened. The pizza was good and we also ordered the antipasto board and it was really good. The only thing I would recommend is that you order the bread without toasting it in the oven. it tasted off kinda burnt taste but it wasn't. con...When it is winter time and customers are waiting out side I think it would be proper to at least open the door so your customers don't have to freeze. We were just 5 min early but it was really cold and they would not open until exactly 5pm and they did see us. Just thought that was a little odd from a customer service perspective.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.