Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi
  1. Distance: 1.20mi
  2. Distance: 1.23mi
  3. Distance: 1.29mi
  4. Distance: 1.33mi

About Pizzeria Gusto

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Executive Chef:
Jesse Friesen

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (50)
Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (36)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (28)
Casual (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Bar Seating (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Fun (24)
Business Meals (22)
Romantic (22)
Authentic (22)
Wood Oven (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Comfort Food (16)
Healthy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Modern Decor (13)
People Watching (12)
Open Kitchen (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

PG is always the best! Great food and attentive service. The patio is comfortable.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome experience for lunch! Food is amazing. The pizza with the fig jam was the best pizza I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

It's always a pleasure going here. The staff, food and atmosphere is perfection.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall food and service was awesome. Would highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I came here for a birthday dinner and when we entered the resteraunt the owner greeted us and personally brought us to our table. He brought out champagne for everyone which made the occasion extra special! This was the best speciality pizza i've had in the city. Thanks for the amazing hospitality and memorable dining experience. I can't wait to come back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always a fabulous meal & experience at Gusto!!
But this time they went way above & beyond!!
They made my daughter's 24th Bday dinner fabulous!!
Thank you to All of the wonderful PG Staff!!! 👍🏻

Becky Kaufmann

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Always fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent food, attentive and friendly service and spacious and comforting venue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I love this restaurant! Food is amazing and so are the drinks...

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I had always wanted to try Pizzeria Gusto as I had heard many good things, they did not disappoint! The food was amazing and the service was top notch, I do wish they had more wine by the glass as we had to buy a bottle of pinot noir because it was not offered by the glass. I would go back over and over and absolutely recommend to friends and family members.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Had a nice date on the patio, quick food service. We come here for the pizza and patio, which is comfy and cozy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Proudly brought friends from out of town. They loved the restaurant aesthetic, food and the neighbourhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Super delicious, as always. Great staff, cool vibe, delicious food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The new space is lovely and the pizza continues to be great.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food & service was great....noise level over the top. Very difficult to hear and talk over the noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was very good, service excellent. Wine a bit pricy, no house wine so had to pick from the wine list for a glass starting at $14.
The only reason that I likely won't be back is the high volume noise level. It was difficult to hear my dining partner and had to shout to carry on a decent conversation. Not my idea of a nice evening dinner.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Brilliant food, creative combinations that are not your everyday pizza. The Lucia was delicious. Unique desserts as well! Wine, awesome. Service, awesome. What are you waiting for?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Awesome as always and the Reno made an amazing restaurant even better!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Would recommend (including patio opportunity), excellent food but too noisy (inside) for conversation. Risotto excellent, wine over-priced, tiramisu disappointing but flourless chocolate cake very good. Good location. Positive experience hope to return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Gotta say, I wanted to love it here. I really did. The atmosphere was great. Good service. But food was not as great as expected. Got the bruschetta that was on special and it was just diced pears and Gorgonzola on toast. Was pretty sad. My pizza was just dry and salty...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food, delicious mussels, unique choices of pizza, delicious salads - classic but other unique salads!
Quite noisy but fine for a group of people.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Best authentic Italian Pizza in Winnipeg!!! Service and atmosphere were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Unfortunately both of my friends found hairs in both of their pizzas. The staff was apologetic and replaced the pizzas but still charged full price to them. We wouldn't go back

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 20, 2017

PG has hit it out of the park with their new renovations. It has a great vibe. Although they doubled the size they've created a modern, elegant, friendly space. All the old favourites are back with their wood pizza oven. New additions such as their calamari is like nothing else out there. Delish! The new pasta dish - orechetti with chicken sausage was excellent. Their wine list, although moderate in size, is filled with tasty gems. New to the menu are unique cocktails which adds to some fun options. The service is super friendly and staff is knowledgeable and attentive with everyone pitching in to serve the table. They always make us feel special! Will go back again & again.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Always phenomenal food, service & atmosphere!!
Love this place!!
Best Patio in town!!

Thank you to everyone there for always making it a fabulous dining experience!!

Becky

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Have been to Pizzeria Gusto several times now for friends get together for lunch. Food is always tasty and service is superb. Can't comment on how it might be at busier times. My friends and I always enjoy the casual friendly atmosphere where we can dine and enjoy peaceful conversation

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We are repeat customers that have been here many times. Since the latest expansion the quality of the food just has not been as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We enjoyed our night out just before Father's Day. The service was attentive, with good cooperation between servers. Took a bit long to get wine and appys to the table. The food was good - nice flavours and presentation. Really enjoyed the appetizers. WIne of the day was a nice selection. Tiramisu was stellar, and love the espresso. The new decor is pleasant; it's a fun place to be with a happy crowd. The seating is not very comfortable for those with bad backs. There is a need for some baffles or something on the ceiling to help quell the noise, especially as it fills up. All in all, a good evening in the neighborhood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Fantastic pizza, fantastic service. Great for people watching . I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great meal with my family. early dinner. My 3 kids (under 10 ) also had a good time. Service was good and liked the new decor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This restaurant is extremely overpriced! When you pay $17 for four tiny meatballs, and $20 for a rather small Marguerita Pizza something is wrong. Wine is way overpriced. Only salvation was the food tasted good. Last time I was there was 6 years ago, tried it again, will wait another 6 years and get better value somewhere else.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Happy taste buds ! Always a fav . Great patio option too

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Always great food and service and the ambience is great for a special occasion or everyday dining. Pizzas are best in the city!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Danny is a pleasure to have as a the waiter always keeps you laughing

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The pizzas were delicious! Everything else however made for a terrible experience.

I had read a review about sitting at the counter and that being where you would see the pizzas being made. As all the tables were booked, I chose 'counter' over 'bar' and was looking forward to watching the cooks work. This was not the case. The 'counter' is actually a slab that you sit at and stare out the front window. It completely ruined the experience, I actually just wanted to leave and eat somewhere else. When you sit there, with the bright light from outside, you feel as it you're not even in or a part of the restaurant anymore. My boyfriend said he felt like we were kids working on our homework. Because of your seating, we were constantly craning our necks to try and catch a glimpse of our server to wave her down. She was never around either and didn't bring things that we asked for or when she did it was after an unreasonable wait. The remodel looks beautiful but that wasn't the restaurant I was a part of, I was at some sort of diner, staring at a dirty street with parked cars.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing food and service with a beautiful backdrop. Had a fantastic time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great experience at Pizzeria Gusto! We started off with nice cocktail and wine recommendations from Josh. He also made suggestions from the dinner menu and helped us make great choices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Excellent!!! All round lovely dining experience ....the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 19, 2017

outstanding as always!! atmosphere, service - it's not service - you are treated as family! food drinks, just superb!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were a party of four to celebrate Mothers Day a day late. The restaurant phoned to confirm our reservation during the afternoon.
We were amazed by the uniform transformation of the entire space. It is open and airy and bright.
We ordered the bruschetta starter to share. It was tasty. My wife and I shared a beet salad and a Ryall pizza. Both were delicious. Our guests had salads and pizzas which were all appreciated. Desserts were excellent as well. We will definitely return to Pizzaria Gusto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.