About Pizzeria Gusto

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Private Party Contact:
Please see party options at www.pizzeriagusto.com: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
9 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Fit for Foodies (25)
Wood Oven (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Cozy (13)
Casual (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
533 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great.

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great "Girls' Nite" dinner at Pizz ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a great "Girls' Nite" dinner at Pizzeria Gusto. They have a fabulous menu making it hard to choose! I ended up ordering the Caprese Salad and "Lucia" Pizza with caramelized onions, fig jam, calabrese salami, cambozola, citrus tossed arugula & pecorino. Both were delicious. Warm but modern atmosphere. Attentive, friendly service. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great date night location.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great date night location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always fabulous!! The friendly welcoming ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always fabulous!!

The friendly welcoming staff, the delicious menu, great Italian wine list.....this place has it all!!

Thank you for always providing a delicious & wonderful dining experience!

Becky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely first class every time we hav ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely first class every time we have dinner at Gusto. Amazing food, great staff.

Outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time going and it was ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was our first time going and it was to celebrate my husbands birthday. We had made reservations and were shocked when we arrived that in order to get a table, you have to special request a table. Wasn't that the point of my making a reservation?? The host was pretty rude about it and made it seem like it was my fault for not knowing we'd get stuck at the bar top if we didn't special request a table. The food was amazing but the atmosphere wasn't great as we had to listen to the conversations of the waiters and bartenders who were behind the bar, and watch them pull out cutlery etc...not the romantic birthday dinner I had thought.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Wonderful flavours. Friendly staff. Se ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wonderful flavours. Friendly staff. Service was well paced and accommodating to our needs. Our server was very knowledgeable regarding to how the dishes were prepared. The pizzas are literally a party in your mouth. Recomend you make a reservation. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was lovely and understood o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our waitress was lovely and understood our wanting to chat and gave us the perfect service of attention and space. It is our favourite place to go for dinner and it did not disappoint. Amazing food, wine and service. We will be back at Christmas :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. Lower price point wine opt ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Always good. Lower price point wine options is my only suggestion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for my wife's birthday because she ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday because she loves the mishroom risotto, but sadly it is now off the menu and replaced with a risotto special that changes. She was disappointed, but the tiramisu redeemed the night for her.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very attentive and good-natured service, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very attentive and good-natured service, and really outstanding food. The overall vibe of the place is great, largely from the positive and professional attitude of the staff.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall was good! Small portion on appet ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Overall was good! Small portion on appetizers for the price.

Pizza was great!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Once again excellent food and exceptiona ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Once again excellent food and exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good quality, nice atmosphere, great ser ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good quality, nice atmosphere, great service. Had the special, which was creative as always. If you want a special meal out, it's worth trying.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pizzeria Gusto is solid and predictable ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Pizzeria Gusto is solid and predictable - but its menu is outdated and the prices are too high for both the quality of the food and the limited outdated food selections. Portions sizes are good and generous. There are no "side" salads to have with your pizza - so you can't exactly eat healthily by supplementing your carb with vegetables. Additionally - there is no tea served at the restaurant and no way to get a Latte or even a cup of coffee (even the Americano is teeny and not really adequate). In order to get sufficient coffee you need to buy 3 Americanos that is going to cost you $4 per cup + - you do the math! Anyway - I think PG can be good again. Someone just needs to pay some attention and quick!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We loved the food at Pizzeria Gusto. The ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We loved the food at Pizzeria Gusto. The meatball appetizer should not be missed. The meatballs and tomato sauce were delicious. They really should have spaghetti and meatballs on the menu.

The main courses on the menu consist mainly of pizzas with a few main courses. The selections of pizza are varied and the two we tried were tremendous. We had one with arugula salad on top which was a real hit and the other was a special with sweet potatoes and blue cheese we loved it as well.

Nice selection of wines by the glass.

ServicewS very friendly and even the owner visited the tables to ensure everyone was enjoying their experience.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here before and really like th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Have been here before and really like the food.....the restaurant is well decorated and lots of room at the table! Very clean and great servers! Price is perfect for us!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent!!! The food, service, a ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always excellent!!!

The food, service, atmosphere...always fabulous.

The friendly & knowledgeable staff always do their very best...

The food is delicious...the wine list is wonderful.

Thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed it! Food was great it ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We really enjoyed it! Food was great it always is! Very consistent and very very good. Our servers was excellent! My only compliant if there is one is that the wine is a bit pricy as are your delicious salads for the size. But I may be out of touch with prices who knows! Still really enjoyed it! Always do!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The artisan pizza menu is fantastic. The ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The artisan pizza menu is fantastic. The staff are energetic and attentive. The atmosphere is fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A refreshing and comfortable restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

A refreshing and comfortable restaurant serving good food by great people.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time at Pizzeria Gusto ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was my first time at Pizzeria Gusto. Sat in front of the pizza oven and loved watching the very talented chefs do their magic. Both my husband and I had excellent pizza. Wine was great although expensive. Limited beer selection and I would recommend d getting some local craft beers.

I was very pleased this restaurant was part of Restaurants for change. I will definitely support them and come back regularly. They play a major role in good food in Winnipeg. Service was outstanding too.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the food was good and the ambience ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

While the food was good and the ambience lively the music was too loud to hear each other talking. The appetizer plate was ripped out from under us as we were still eating off it. Each time water was filled the server missed someone's glass. The bill was divided without being asked...very disappointing. Overpriced for pizza and very focused on moving people through quickly to make more money.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a really great and unique dining ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a really great and unique dining experience. We were able to sit in front of the wood oven and watch the chefs at work making and baking pizzas. The warmth from the fire on a cool rainy fall night was very nice. The appetizers and the pizza we all had were incredible. Every one of the staff we made eye contact with, or spoke to gave us a welcoming smile, and everyone of the staff who served us were polite, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The atmosphere was really warming, while at the same time energetic and enjoyable. I've been thinking about how great the pizza was since we left the restaurant and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous meal! Our service was gre ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Had a fabulous meal! Our service was great! We were there to celebrate our Anniversary & we chose not to have dessert. So our server brought us each a complementary Grappa.

Was a nice touch:)

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always fabulous.... The serv ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food is always fabulous....

The service is exceptional!!!

We ordered 1 of their specials this visit...delicious!

With their recommendation, we tried a new red wine...it was extraordinary!!

It's 1 of our fave places in Wpg!!!

Thanks to everyone there for always making our visits...special!!

Becky

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time! Rich, (the host), and our ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Amazing time! Rich, (the host), and our server, were very friendly throughout our time there. Both of our pizzas were excellent, combining non traditional pizza ingredients into a mouthful of flavour fireworks with every bite! Lots of choices of wine, but only one choice of beer on tap. Wouldn't mind if they added a few more taps to choose from. Small, cozy, and ripe for an expansion! Overall good value. Will definitely return soon. Thanks for the great night PG!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my wife and a couple of friend ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Went with my wife and a couple of friends. We were a little late getting to the restaurant but the staff was very accommodating (didn't rush us). Food was great and service was fast and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for a birthday with a group of 8. S ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Went for a birthday with a group of 8. Service was fantastic, food was delicious! It was my second time there and it's as great if not better than the first time! I can't wait to go again! Thanks to everyone there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We heard a lot about Pizzeria Gusto so I ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We heard a lot about Pizzeria Gusto so I made a reso a month before and they were gonna sit us at the bar. Why make resos then have us sit at a cramped bar!! We ended up being able to sit on the patio. Went in high with expectations but were sadly disappointed. They offer one selection of beer and 5 different cocktails which was kinda disappointing. We ordered calamari it wasn't breaded and was super fishy smelling. It was pretty gross. Also the pizza was good! Was it amazing noo it was an overall ok experience!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Had a lovely Friday date night on the pa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a lovely Friday date night on the patio! We were served by a nice and knowledge server. I didnt get his name but he gave great suggestions, he was very attentive to our table but also gave us plenty of time to enjoy eachother! By far our favourite pizzas in town!!

Always a good experience :)

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the large windows and outdoor patio ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Love the large windows and outdoor patio. The food was very fresh and pizza crust light and tasty. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Unbeatable food and service.Will certainly go back.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I LOVE this restaurant!! The people tha ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I LOVE this restaurant!! The people that work there make this place a hit. I love Sonia, Richard and Danny Militano - The service is second to none!!!!!

I will be back and with friends :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very loud. My dining ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The restaurant was very loud. My dining partner and I could not talk/hear comfortably.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great experience at Pizzeria Gu ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Always a great experience at Pizzeria Gusto!!! Fabulous food, wonderful friendly staff, great drink & wine list...and it's a neighbourhood gem!!!! Bravo to them!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Greeland tomatoes in th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 17, 2016

I really enjoyed Greeland tomatoes in their CAPRESE!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was on the ball our entire experi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Server was on the ball our entire experience, the pizza was some of the best we've had and the manager made our visit memorable by chatting and spending time with us. Awesome night. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! Our server and acting ma ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food! Our server and acting manager were very helpful if we had questions about the menu. Everyone that worked there was helpful and busy making the restaurant run smoothly. I would return and try something else from this yummy menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza was not what myself and one of my ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Pizza was not what myself and one of my friends was expecting. No sauce. No cheese. Little toppings. I had the gluten free crust which was was as hard as a discus and burnt. My friend who had the same pizza but reg crust needed a steak knife to cut it. Other two friends had different pizzas and said they were good. Our waiter brought espresso for dessert instead of the tiramisu we ordered. The "head waiter" or host was great. Very friendly and accommodating , obvious he enjoyed his job and wanted us to have a good time and overall we did. Food rating only based on the pizza I had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We always love coming to Pizzeria Gusto! ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always love coming to Pizzeria Gusto! Food is always amazing and staff are so accommodating, easy going and friendly. The experience is perfect every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.