About Pizzeria Gusto

404 Academy Road
Winnipeg, MB R3N 0B8
View Larger Map

Pizzeria Gusto is an extension of my dinner table, where friends, family and loved ones gather together to share conversation, laughter, food and wine. The aroma"s, sight's and sounds are a constant reminder of centuries old Italian traditions, which instantly welcome you to the family.

We believe that pizza is the perfect food. A blank canvas that has unlimited possibilities in both taste and texture. By using fresh local produce and authentic Italian ingredients your experience will surely have you saying "Bellisimo"!

Our wood burning oven comes from Reggelo, 20 km from Florence. The Valoriani oven is hand crafted by a family of artisans that has been perfecting their skills for 5 generations. Its domed brick roof and 650 degree temperature is the perfect vessel for creating the perfect pizza.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30 am - 2:00 pm;


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Waterloo Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 944-8786

Website:
http://www.pizzeriagusto.com/

Catering:
Offsite Catering available

Private Party Facilities:
We have a number of flexible options for large groups and private events. From a small to large party, we would love to discuss these options with you! Please contact us in the restaurant at 204-944-8786, or through our website www.pizzeriagusto.com

Private Party Contact:
Please see party options at www.pizzeriagusto.com: x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We love special events!

Pizzeria Gusto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Fit for Foodies
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Fit for Foodies (67)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Good for Groups (37)
Hot Spot (31)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Lunch (24)
Late-night Find (12)
Wood Oven (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Authentic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for a birthday with a group of 8. S ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for a birthday with a group of 8. Service was fantastic, food was delicious! It was my second time there and it's as great if not better than the first time! I can't wait to go again! Thanks to everyone there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We heard a lot about Pizzeria Gusto so I ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We heard a lot about Pizzeria Gusto so I made a reso a month before and they were gonna sit us at the bar. Why make resos then have us sit at a cramped bar!! We ended up being able to sit on the patio. Went in high with expectations but were sadly disappointed. They offer one selection of beer and 5 different cocktails which was kinda disappointing. We ordered calamari it wasn't breaded and was super fishy smelling. It was pretty gross. Also the pizza was good! Was it amazing noo it was an overall ok experience!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Had a lovely Friday date night on the pa ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a lovely Friday date night on the patio! We were served by a nice and knowledge server. I didnt get his name but he gave great suggestions, he was very attentive to our table but also gave us plenty of time to enjoy eachother! By far our favourite pizzas in town!!

Always a good experience :)

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the large windows and outdoor patio ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Love the large windows and outdoor patio. The food was very fresh and pizza crust light and tasty. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Unbeatable food and service.Will certainly go back.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I LOVE this restaurant!! The people tha ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I LOVE this restaurant!! The people that work there make this place a hit. I love Sonia, Richard and Danny Militano - The service is second to none!!!!!

I will be back and with friends :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very loud. My dining ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The restaurant was very loud. My dining partner and I could not talk/hear comfortably.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always a great experience at Pizzeria Gu ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Always a great experience at Pizzeria Gusto!!! Fabulous food, wonderful friendly staff, great drink & wine list...and it's a neighbourhood gem!!!! Bravo to them!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed Greeland tomatoes in th ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I really enjoyed Greeland tomatoes in their CAPRESE!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was on the ball our entire experi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Server was on the ball our entire experience, the pizza was some of the best we've had and the manager made our visit memorable by chatting and spending time with us. Awesome night. We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food! Our server and acting ma ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food! Our server and acting manager were very helpful if we had questions about the menu. Everyone that worked there was helpful and busy making the restaurant run smoothly. I would return and try something else from this yummy menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pizza was not what myself and one of my ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Pizza was not what myself and one of my friends was expecting. No sauce. No cheese. Little toppings. I had the gluten free crust which was was as hard as a discus and burnt. My friend who had the same pizza but reg crust needed a steak knife to cut it. Other two friends had different pizzas and said they were good. Our waiter brought espresso for dessert instead of the tiramisu we ordered. The "head waiter" or host was great. Very friendly and accommodating , obvious he enjoyed his job and wanted us to have a good time and overall we did. Food rating only based on the pizza I had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We always love coming to Pizzeria Gusto! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always love coming to Pizzeria Gusto! Food is always amazing and staff are so accommodating, easy going and friendly. The experience is perfect every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the food. Decent value for the ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Enjoyed the food. Decent value for the dollar. Entree a little late getting to the table but it was a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been to pizzeria gusto on three ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We have been to pizzeria gusto on three occasions. The first two the pizza was top notch, however, this time the service and the food seemed rushed. The pizza special was an item that used to be on be on the regular menu which we were happy to be able to order but when we received it, it was sub par. It was lacking cheese and toppings compared to the last time we had it. Again, great place to celebrate our anniversary but hoping the quality is back up to normal for our next visit. Cheers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great place. Pizzas are delicious and th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place. Pizzas are delicious and they always have inventive combinations. Nice wine list. Great patio. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST. PIZZA. EVER. I have been here 3 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

BEST. PIZZA. EVER.

I have been here 3 times now and my only problem with this place is that I can't decide which pizza to order. They all are just so tasty. I recommend going in a group and order a variety of pizza (some with salty finishing and some with sweeter toppings) and share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived at 5:30 pm and were greeted i ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We arrived at 5:30 pm and were greeted in a friendly,welcoming manner. The proseco was good,the salads tasty and our meals were delicious. We shared our pizzas so as to both experience the different flavours. The dessert special was the perfect finish to an incredible meal. We will return soon with friends or just the two of us as our entire experience was outstanding and memorable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like the pizza a little over p ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We really like the pizza a little over priced but we like the pizza. The only complaint is they forgot to put mushrooms on one order. They took the pizza back and added mushrooms on top but they were not fresh mushrooms they are canned ones. It is a little disappointing when everything else is fresh and in season and you get canned mushrooms on top of a pizza.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service and a very nice patio that ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great service and a very nice patio that is nice and shady on a warm evening. Food was excellent as always and server was very attentive without being intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoy dinners thee with a good friend ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I enjoy dinners thee with a good friend of mine 2-3 times a year a will drop by on other occassions as well but have always enjoyed the meal, the service and the great summer enviornment when eating out side. Food, I stick wth the Waterloo and enjoy it ever time. Will be there again before September for her birthday.nd

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent and service exceeded ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was excellent and service exceeded expectations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best coffee in the city, my Americano wa ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Best coffee in the city, my Americano was superb. Beat salad and pizza excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I eat/drink at Gusto often....it's alway ...

vip
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I eat/drink at Gusto often....it's always fabulous!!!

Great service, fabulous staff, delicious food, wonderful wine selection!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Pricey! Wine very ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was very good. Pricey! Wine very pricey! Large profit being made there. Unfortunately, the profit is not being shared with the customer. Will not have wine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Placed order and waited 35 minutes. Neve ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Placed order and waited 35 minutes. Never saw waitress again until we got up and left, and that was just waiting for the antipasto appetizer.

Waitress served two other tables that came in after us their appetizers but wouldn't look at us.

First impression wasn't good, don't think I'm going to give them the chance for a second try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

PG is not a huge place - very intimate a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

PG is not a huge place - very intimate and always busy. Always a bit of a tight fit and can get a bit on the loud side due to the constant him of a good conversation. I'd say the restaurant itself seems to be very acceptable of babies and children but it's patrons, not so much; sophistication goes out the window, I guess. Gusto's consistent busyness over many years speaks volumes on how good the food is.

Service is generally very good all the time. The host, I find is often very welcoming and aims to accommodate. Actual serving staff are knowledgeable and try to be as prompt as possible.

The food our party had for dinner was quite delicious! Pizzas all around, some salads/appetizers and beer. The Cesare is excellent but kind of a pain due to its presentation (heart cut down the middle and dressing placed on top), which I actually like but can be messy when cutting when one is elbow to elbow. The pizza toppings are fresh and interesting - excellent flavour combinations. A favourite is the Sinatra and the Don. The appetizers were flavourful but seemed a bit on the skimpy side for the price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was unfortunately not our best visi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

This was unfortunately not our best visit here. We were seated at the bar, which is not what we had expected when we made the reservation. The host was rude and uncompassionate and one of our pizzas was borderline burnt. However our server was fantastic and the new selections in the menu were tantalizing especially enjoyed the pizza with fig jam and always love the house made ricotta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Appreciate the option of gluten free piz ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Appreciate the option of gluten free pizza crust. Wonderful to be able to enjoy really, really good pizza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first dinning at Pizzaria G ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first dinning at Pizzaria Gusto. Friends had highly recommended it. We asked our waiter Danny, what was his favourite. He had lots of favourite! Now I know why. We had the meatball appetizer, salad and the 887 pizza. It was all fabulous! We sat at the.counter seats. Probably the best in the house. Watched the chef make our pizza in the wood burning oven. Danny was one of the best waiters we have ever had. He helped us make the best decisions for a perfect meal and evening. We will be going back soon!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual a terrific experience! Deliciou ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As usual a terrific experience! Delicious food with a twist (sour cherries on a pizza? Sure!), great drinks and attentive, yet not overbearing service. We will definitely back for our next special night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have eaten at Pizzeria Gusto a few ti ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have eaten at Pizzeria Gusto a few times and always had exceptional service. This time the service was very poor, a few items on the menu were unavailable and we had to wait over an hour from our appetizer to our main meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Had a great experience!! Richard is awe ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Had a great experience!! Richard is awesome and goes above and beyond to make you comfortable and welcome

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our very favorites. Consistently ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of our very favorites. Consistently good. Excellent staff and service. Caprizi Salad and Pizza every time! We will be back soon to sit at the Pizza Bar. Lots to watch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always amazing but $75.00 plus f ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Food is always amazing but $75.00 plus for a lunch is a lot of cash. I am glad I was treated to lunch. Love the special pizza with fruit and meat. Flavours are always fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredibly overpriced. I paid $24 for a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Incredibly overpriced. I paid $24 for a meatless pasta dish. There were only 3 pastas to choose from. My partner had pizza, I had the pasta, and 2 beers; the bill was $75. I'd get it if it were fine dining or if we had steak/ribs....but for 2 beers, pasta, and pizza...it's too much.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Gusto is to Pizza as Starbucks is to cof ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Gusto is to Pizza as Starbucks is to coffee. Great service, great food, never disappointed

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't order the gluten free pizza crust ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Don't order the gluten free pizza crust !!!! It is dry and the toppings slide right off. Tastes like frozen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfect for my meeting. Great lunch!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Perfect for my meeting. Great lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual the food quality was very good. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

As usual the food quality was very good.

A bit disappointed my favorite mushroom pizza was off the menu, however the new pizza I tried was good.

One comment, the pizza for my husband was not very hot, usually the pizza is straight from the oven which makes the experience that much better. The service was as expected, very friendly and professional.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great crust on the pizza...antipasto was ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great crust on the pizza...antipasto was ok as was the brussell sprouts. Pizza was priced as other high end pizzas in the city. Beverages and sides higher priced than average.

I would go back for just the great pie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.