Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

La MarchaLa Marcha
(197)
Spanish | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
TownieTownie
(51)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Longbranch SaloonLongbranch Saloon
(113)
Contemporary American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Zabu ZabuZabu Zabu
(26)
Shabu-shabu | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
B & BB & B
(18)
American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
TigerlilyTigerlily
(6)
Contemporary Indian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
IYASAREIYASARE
(477)
Japanese | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
FondaFonda
(83)
Latin American | Albany, East Bay
Reserve Now
FIVEFIVE
(1706)
American | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
GatherGather
(2815)
Californian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Corso RistoranteCorso Ristorante
(1494)
Italian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Plearn ThaiPlearn Thai
(25)
Thai | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Julia's at the Berkeley City ClubJulia's at the Berkeley City Club
(502)
French | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Zut TavernZut Tavern
(153)
Mediterranean | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now
Namaste Madreas CuisineNamaste Madreas Cuisine
(24)
Indian | Berkeley, East Bay
Reserve Now

About Pizza Moda

1401 University Ave
Berkeley, CA 94702
View Larger Map

Pizza Moda is a fun, Euro-style neighborhood restaurant serving seasonal, artisan pizzas, pastas, and salads in a warm, welcoming urban-chic setting. They"re stylish, but also kid-friendly, and offer several delicious vegetarian and vegan options. You'll find local micro-brews on draft, and a great selection of interesting wines. House-made desserts too!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: T-W 5:30pm-9:30pm
Dinner: F-Sa 5:30pm-10:00pm
Dinner: Su 5:30pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Ave. and Acton St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(510) 841-5200

Website:
http://pizzamoda.com/

Parking Details:
Large well lighted private parking lot located behind the restaurant with access from both University Ave. and Acton St.

Public Transit:
5 minute walk south of North Berkeley Bart station. AC Transit bus stop for the 51B line directly in front of the restaurant on University Ave.

Executive Chef:
Evan Crandall

Additional:
Beer, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
Newest
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great seasonal menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2015

Always great food here. Only thing I would recommend is that perhaps the service staff be more aware when guests need more water.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

good service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

We had a great server, Martha, attentive , pleasant and efficient. She made for a great evening with family

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The service was great. The pizza is delicious.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

I don't kno why this place is t more crowded. You can bring your own wine on Thursdays with no corkage fee. They have a variety of pizzas and will let you choose two kinds and make the pizza half and half. Their salads are really good. And we had a really terrific server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent Meal at pizza Moda

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

My family and I ate there last Friday night and we had a very nice time. They were a little short-staffed,

but our server was excellent. The food was very tasty. We had a pizza with pistachios and goat cheese,which was excellent. I am planning my next visit there again in the near future, just to get that pizza again. The manager/owner was very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome as always!! The pie rocks and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Awesome as always!! The pie rocks and the Mac and cheese is Wow!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went to Pizza mode with my girlfriend ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2015

I went to Pizza mode with my girlfriendon Thursday night at 8 p.m. we got a pizza and Two pasta dishes the ravioli dish had too much flavor as in too many different flavors going on the baked macaroni was good we ordered a half chicken pizza half mushroom pizza and found bones in the free range chicken the waiter that we rarely seen took off half the price of the pizza but we had to tell her at the end due to the fact that she was not coming for a table and I really would have liked to try the pizza but after my lady took a bite of it and pull the bone out of her mouthI decided against it

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Vegan options make dining easy.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 25, 2015

We had the "happy cow" pizza and enjoyed it. Beer menu was enjoyed by some in our party. All in all, an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very kid friendly place! The pizzas were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Very kid friendly place! The pizzas were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

Food was great. We had two pizzas (pepperoni, and potato and bacon with scallions and fried rosemary), an avocado citrus salad, and a cobbler.

Ambiance was great. A little loud at times.

Service was overall good. She was cordial and friendly throughout the meal to both my wife and me. She answered our questions. But when time came to pay the bill, she completely ignored my wife, which really annoys her. When we were walking out to leave, she said thank you to me again and, again, ignored my wife. Dude, my wife is the breadwinner and isn't this not the 1950s? Come on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

Food good, but not interesting enough to compel me to return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Fun neighborhood night out

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 2, 2015

It's a pizza place where everything has just a little extra sparkle. Great neighborhood date night and moderately priced drinks. Can be noisy when full, but quiets down quickly if you request a corner spot. Flexible dining layout made it easy to have several big groups at once. Try the Brussels sprouts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best gluten free pizza crust

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

This is a sweet, homey little gem in Berkeley, unfailingly great food and outstanding service. Friendly and warm environment, and the BEST gluten-free pizza crust ever. Pasta dishes are also excellent, according to my dining companions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great staff

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

The wait staff is exceptional, friendly and professional. We had a perfectly seasoned baby kale salad which we shared and the thin crust pizza was also very tasty.

Service was first rate. A great choice for pizza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great pizza

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 5, 2015

This was my second visit to Pizza Moda and once again the menu did not disappoint. The pizzas are all thin crust with original toppings; enough choices for meat eaters and veg lovers. Service was great, attentive but not pushy. Good selection of beer and wine. Many families with small children, still not too loud. This is a good spot anytime.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Intriguing pizza

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 22, 2015

Unique types of pizza...the Monterey Squid was excellent as was the mushroom truffle. We ordered 5 pizzas and one had a mishap. They had to make another and due to the wait, they discounted that pizza by 50%. That was very nice of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food, great service, decent price

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Fantastic food, great service, decent price, good for well behaving kids. We come here for pizzas and salads, convenient location, easy parking. I enjoyed sweet wine after meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza Moda has good food, a pleasant atm ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2015

Pizza Moda has good food, a pleasant atmosphere, reasonable prices, good wines, good service and easy parking. it is reliable, friendly and unpretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chic and interesting food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2015

Pizza Moda has become a favorite for a nice Italian meal with a bit of creativity. We had seven in our party and the service was smooth. Mac and Cheese was good, and there is a vegan pizza, always nice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food they need better service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

I always enjoy their food as it is consistently good. Unfortunately, they were packed and short staffed. Service was not as it should be. Took awhile to even order then it took awhile to get the check. Change received was not accurate and our poor waiter seemed quite overwhelmed. I felt for him. I hope they can find more staff esp. on the weekends when it is busy. All of our food was very good although I would not order dessert again. The chocolate torta cake was cold. We expected it to be hot or at least room temperature. A cold cake just doesn't work. We really like their unique pizzas so we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Delicious with healthy ingredients.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 3, 2015

Very busy reservation helped bypass long wait. Pizza and salads were great. My kid liked the kids Mac and cheese. Not much choice for meat lovers. My oldest son was disappointed about meat choices for pizza but once he tried what we ordered he liked it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a hit

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

Sweet spot great pizza, great service

Salads s plus

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great gluten-free pizza

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 8, 2014

This is our new favorite place for gluten-free pizza. Very good pizza and good price. The salads looked yummy. The only disappointment was the brussel sprouts. Definitely don't order those.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Service not great

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

While we enjoyed the pizzas and ravioli, our service wasn't great. Our server wasn't very friendly or attentive. Our food took a long time to arrive. Several tables around us were seated after we had ordered and had their food way before us. Some even finishing their meals as we were being served. Service lady never came to check in while we were waiting. We'll give it another try as the food was good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Seasonal menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 5, 2014

Seasonal menu on salads & pasta always offers interesting combinations of flavors. Pizza menu is the same all year.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

italian with a twist

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 30, 2014

Our party ordered 2 types of pizza, the Delicata squash with goat cheese and the Italian sausage. Both were tasty, with subtle but compelling spices. Another member of the group had the spaghetti with calamari with cherry tomatoes -- we fought over the leftovers! Delightful dinner in understated but warm surroundings a bit of a wait for the food to arrive, but good things come to those who wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great family place!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 29, 2014

There were eight of us, including two teenagers. Works well with a big group if you reserve a table.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Neighborhood favorite

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 23, 2014

The food is mainly salads, pizza and pastas and it all tastes very healthy. It is decorated with Italian movie posters and has a nice neighborhood feel. Parking is usually easy around the back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Consistently good food, and great select ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

Consistently good food, and great selections for vegans as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lacking

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 17, 2014

The service wasn't that good, we were left alone for a long time and not offered any condiments. They serve soda from the can for exorbitant prices. Not really worth the cost.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was fine, Service was meh.....

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

Good place for groups and families.Pizzas were good. Great beer selections with reasonable price. Good place for groups and families. Service was not that great. We ordered 2 pizzas. Finished the first one and waited for another 5 mins. for second pizza to arrived. Waitress was a snub. We have to flag her for beer refills, parmesan cheese and pepper flakes.

Will go back for the food and drinks with my family. Just not willing to give a good tip a stucked up waitress.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great spot

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

The owner was especially nice and welcoming took the time to come up and ask how our experience was and talked for a bit. Depending on the day of the week they have some specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the fennel/citrus/avocado salad. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Loved the fennel/citrus/avocado salad. Good pizza

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A Definite Winner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

We went for dinner on a Friday night. We were seated immediately and handed menus. The staff took great care of us without being overbearing. The food was delicious. We both noticed that we could have a conversation while speaking in our normal voices. This was an outstanding evening. We will return very soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was excellent. Waitress brought ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

service was excellent. Waitress brought extra plates for sharing salads and was otherwise very attentive. 2 15" pizzas was fine for 4

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 12, 2014

I have watched this restaurant grow into such a happening place with the consistency of fantastic food, service and comfort. It is a neighborhood gem! The Pizzas are seasonal and use only fresh ingredients. My current favorites are the summer squash and mushroom. Salads are also unique, seasonal and well presented. I always share one and it is ample enough to do that with a pizza or main course. The arugula salad is fantastic. The wine list is reasonably priced and interesting. Desserts are great !

I can not say enough good things about this neighborhood favorite! Jeff has created a special place that you will want to come back to over and over again. It is unpretentious but has everything a discerning foodie would want in a meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

good pasta-but forgot our pizza

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

Both my guest and I ordered pasta, but we couldn't eat there without trying the pizza. We ordered Pizza as an appetizer and the server specifically asked if we wanted the pizza before our pasta dishes. Our pasta dishes came out before pizza, we were hungry and started eating. The dish was a very good portion and was delicious. I am always on the hunt for good pasta and I was not disappointed. The waitress came by and asked if we wanted dessert and I pointed out we were still waiting for our appetizer. She was very apologetic. As we were full we cancelled our missing pizza and the waitress insisted we have a dessert on the house. will go back to try the pasta

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great thin crust pizza

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

Love their seasonal salads and thin crust pizza. Not a lot of cheese, but, lots of flavors combine to make a great pizza.... Tried the fig, gorganzola and arugla pizza and it was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best Ravioli in the Bay Area

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 6, 2014

My wife and I ate here on a Sunday evening. They were lined up out the door; fortunately we had reservations. We had the mac & cheese with melted leeks and white cheddar cheese: great. We also had the Butternut Squash Ravioli with mushroom coulis and shallots and sage. It is the best ravioli in the entire Bay Area (that we've had, anyway)!! The pizza was no slouch either: goat cheese with red onions and roasted pistachios. The crust was perfect. For dessert the peach and blueberry crisp with a huge dollop of fresh vanilla ice cream. Fantastic~~ we will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pizza needs improvement

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

Avocado & citrus salad was really god.

The buttersquash ravioli is too sweet.

The pizza is just ok. The pizza bread is a bit tough & chewy. If the dough improves, pizza might be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Not what we expected

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 4, 2014

We got there on time and were swiftly seated. So we were excited. The ambiance was ok the restaurant was full we ordered and pizza 's came in about 20 minutes. The food was just average. We ended up returning one of the pizza's and they were happy to exchange it for another one from the menu no questions asked. So I thought that was fair. The temperature in the restaurant was getting warm and a bit annoying. The server was fine and this should not reflect on him, however we did not think that the food was worth going back. The dessert was so so. We got out quickly because the air outside felt much fresher than inside

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.