Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

$25 - Chef David's Combo

Specials

$25 - Chef David's Combo
Details

Chef David's combo with choice of Specialty Drink or Dessert

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 4 People

Starts: March 10, 2017

Ends: September 10, 2017

Availability: Daily 5:00PM-6:00PM

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (50)
Authentic (35)
Casual (34)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Fun (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Live Music (12)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Historic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good, but theme was weak. Meals are crazy large! You can definitely share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Granted it was Saturday night and crowded, but the experience started off rough. The hostess was by herself in a huge restaurant with walk=ins as well as groups with reservations. There was no attempt to distinguish between the two and those of us waiting in line to simply tell her that we had a reservation were frustrated that she kept seating walk-ins without checking with us first. There should have been 2 hostesses. The waitress was very nice and efficient but it took a very long time for the food to come out of the kitchen. It was also pretty loud, which made talking among friends less than ideal. All that said, the food was good (not great) and it is an interesting place to go.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had an early reservation time 5:15 but when we arrived at 4:45 seem like no one cared we were there. No bar service and just generally ignored until we went to table. So lost out on four bar drinks. Since we were basically first seated you would have thought we would have quick service but was not the case. Finally we ordered. Ordered Ribeye and was the worst piece of meat I have ever had. Ended up eating maybe four bites and gave up on it. Others with us was disappointed with their food as well. Chicken was only thing that was good. Over all disappointed with total experience had been 8 yrs ago and this time was a completely different experience and feel of a restaurant as before. Will never return and will tell others to avoid. Seems to be just a tourist trap now. No care for the people anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Extremely poor operations. Clueless host stand. Worst server ever. Food mediocre at best. Don't waste your time or money. Went for special southern experience and left angry! Go to South City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My opinion?: Horrendous food. I'm actually writing this while sitting in bathroom as I'm sick to my stomach after my meal. Neither me nor my partner finished it.

One has to wonder who in the hell gave this restaurant positivr ratings and the dining options where they must live.

I'll guess that it survives because it is close to a bunch of downtown hotel with no repeat guests needed. IMHO it was overpriced crap food. Ugh, so regret this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Classic tourist trap. The theme draws people in, but the service is terrible, and the food is on par with basic chain restaurant fare (e.g. Fridays or Applebee's).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Their signature dish is fried chicken which I thought was very dry and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We really enjoyed the setting and food. While it may not be considered as hip as other places, traditional southern selection and warm hospitality and decor made this a great choice for a brief stay in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice restaurant it's just overpriced.. Had the fried chicken it was good but I've had better for way less.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Best pecan pie ever!!! Also really recommend the ribs.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Atmosphere and food where above average. Mint julep was good but could have used a touch more bourbon. Price reasonable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 27, 2017

We ate here twice and found it delightful on both occasions. We would highly recommend the fried chicken-crispy outside and moist and juicy inside. This is southern cooking at its finest

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wow! We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in. Alexis, our server, did an amazing job. The salad bar was great. We had the ribs and fried chicken! Amazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Made a reservation days in advance for our anniversary dinner (marked as such via OpenTable note as well, but it was never acknowledged by the restaurant...). Got a table near the back corner, it was a bit dark. Only realized later they had actual outdoor porch seating but that wasn't presented as an option. Our server was slow getting over to us, but made it around and took our order. Since we had time prior to his first visit to our table, we ordered drinks + food on the initial order. He brought over our drinks (overpriced albeit decent Mint Julep).

Then...we waited. We got salad from the underwhelming salad bar, then sat and waited. 45+ minutes we waited. Our waiter apologized stating that "the kitchen is backed up". Meanwhile, another table was sat next to us 20 minutes after we arrived, and their food came out. It seems they must've forgotten ours or made a mistake, but no one ever owned up to this. When it finally came, they forgot my side substitution (mac 'n cheese). He said it'd be right out. We ate, and the waiter avoided contact with us for the most part. Food was decent, but too pricey for what it was. And how long it took.

We had to request a free dessert as compensation for our long wait, which was granted (I wish they would've been more proactive, though). We got it to go as we were ready to get outta there. Took a bit, but it came out and we got the check. The check included the mac 'n cheese (which, by the way, had never arrived). I had to call this out, and clearly the waiter had forgotten to follow up on the mac altogether. He updated the check, and we got out of there.

When I first stumbled upon this place I was surprised I'd never heard of it. Now, I see why. It was overpriced, poor service, and seemingly a place that survives on its legacy. I would not recommend this place. If you must, just go for dessert or something quick. And sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Disappointing. Shrimp and grits was not good. Salad bar looked a bit wilted. The place looked its age. I was not prepared and had expectations based on its name and history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Too expensive for average quality food. Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The fried chicken is delicious! Love the sides too!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a wonderful Atlanta restaurant and if you want to experience good Southern food and an inviting atmosphere this is the place in Downtown. The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is inviting and comfortable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Meh at best. The loud (read rude) host was barking at all guests which totally set a tone for a mediocre experience. Don't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I had eaten at Pittypat's before and had a better experience. Unfortunately, this experience will likely cause me to stay away. We had a reservation but the America's Mart was happening so the restaurant was swamped. My husband and I have worked in restaurants for years, we get it. However, the bartender was very unprofessional, even after the bar cleared out and it was just a few guests at his bar. I tended bar for 6 years in Atlanta, this fellow seemed to be annoyed by everyone and complained about his manager to us. Our server was really off. We tried to order appetizers and he said we wouldn't need them because the side board is so filling. We were celebrating and wanted some appetizers! I had to go to the service bar to get us drinks because our server disappeared. The food is very good. Not amazing, but really good. The side board is fun, full of classic southern sides and more. I recommend going on a slower night - avoid convention season!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our waiter Omar was fantastic!!! Best I've ever had there.... love their shrimp and grits!!! Pecan pie was better than my grandmothers...Love this place❤️

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

July 12 called made reservations for the following day for 6:30. Walked in and based on prior experience you must check in at counter because they take walk-ins over your reservations. Then due to only having 2 in my party they felt that someone with 4 came before me. I was still very patient as I been coming since 2011. Then as I waited another 30 minutes they called a party of 2 and I asked that party what time was there reservations they said 7:00. That's all folks!! I will never be back they pushed my buttons beyond limits. I acted a fool and that is not my style and not worth it!! YOU LOST MY BIZZ FOR GOOD!!!! DO NOT MAKE RESERVATIONS!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Excellent food. Great service. For a traditional southern style at fair price. Wish we would have found sooner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had a reservation and still waited a while. It seemed like one lady was running it all and she was uncommunicative and unorganized to say the least. No one in the wait line knew what to do. People left just bc they were confused and it seemed like no one was in charge. Food was good but really loud and we sat at a family table with strangers. I thought it was overpriced for the quality.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Very dissatisfied. Will not return. KFC has much better fried chicken. Collards were frozen. Ugh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Pittypat's Porch is an iconic downtown eatery that is a must for anyone visiting Atlanta. It's like being taken back to Tara in Gone with the Wind. The fare is Southern comfort food and is quite delicious. All entrees come with unlimited visits to the "side board" which is filled with salads of southern variety. It reminded me of old fashion dinner on the grounds where church ladies would try to outdo each other with their side dishes.

We did have a few issues. Because we had a large group of 9, it took a while for the entrees to arrive. One in our party ordered steak which came much too rare (her meal ended up being comped) and the greens and black eyed peas (which were the best I've ever had) that come complementary were not delivered until the end of the meal.

All in all, it was a great experience and I'm glad we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It has been a while since we were at Pittypat's Porch, it is as I remembered it! We had made reservations since it was Market days. We were seated within 3 minutes of arriving. The waiter was prompt and took our drink and dinner orders. We would love to visit again and will recommend this to others. It is very close to our hotel and so welcoming after a long day.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Was seated 25 minutes after reserved time. Host said to sit anywhere and he would find us when the table was ready. He failed to do so. I finally went to see what the problem was. The host admitted skipping us. He stated that he could not find us. We were in the bar area where he had directed us.

Meal service was very slow.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 11, 2017

This was the worst restaurant we went to in Atlanta. The hostess kept screaming at everyone, place was dirty, food was mediocre at best. Overpriced . The desserts were frozen store bought pies. Tourist trap!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great food and Staff. Had a wonderful time and all in our party enjoyed it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Cozy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The server was distracted by other table of guests activity therefore the service was not so great .
The food was not what I would want to be called World Famous as I could have got better chicken at Church's or Popeyes .
Salad Bar is not what I say was an addiction to our meal but not good at all.
The decor was okay however I will never recommend this to any of our businesses partners.
Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

OMG! This was the best dining experience I have ever had. It was true southern style. There was spacing between meals. The live music was awesome. The food was on point, (no salt or pepper required). The desserts was mouth watering and delicious. Plus, they kept our pitcher of ice cold sweet tea full. I would recommend this to anyone who has a hankerin’ for some southern food and good ol' fashion southern hospitality. :D

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Thank you for a wonderful experience. Next time I am in Atlanta, I will be sure to drop by. Your food is delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were exceptionally disappointed. The food was not good and our waiter was rushing us even though we were practically the only people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Mac and Cheese was to die for but the peach cobbler was undercooked and not very good.

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was great. Service was top notch. Your darling hostess set a wonderful tone when we arrived. Even the unsung heroes of a restaurant aka the Server Assistant made an impression on us. We Dined here tonight for the first time for my birthday and couldn't not have been happier. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Nice scenery, nice staff, however the food was average.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was good, southern-style comfort food.
The service was good, but lacked attentiveness and overall personality. I particularly wasn't fond of seeing servers taking turns sitting at a pair of chairs adjacent to the dining floor. The hostess was polite and personable but forgot to log that this was a OpenTable reservation.
The decor is meant to have an older feel, but comes off as simply dated.
We'd probably visit again, but with lower expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.