About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (35)
Good for Groups (29)
Casual (26)
See All
Historic (25)
Fun (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Authentic (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Family Style (18)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (14)
Live Music (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Romantic (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was initially put off when I entered t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I was initially put off when I entered the restaurant. There was a strong pine cleaning odor and the restaurant looked empty. My colleagues weren't bothered by this so we made our way to the hostess station and were greeted promptly and with tons of energy! The service was great, our waiter was a gem and the fried chicken was amazing! The salad bar had interesting offerings, but I was disappointed with the tomato salad, the tomatoes didn't seem super fresh.

Overall I would recommend this restaurant based on the service, my fried chicken, peach cobbler and peach margarita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Happened upon this restaurant because it ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Happened upon this restaurant because it was close to our hotel. What a delightful find! We truly enjoyed the hospitality and historic character. The service was very good, the live pianist was fantastic, and the hostess came down to chat with us and tell us a bit about the history of the place. Interesting stories, and great food. We had a lovely evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Historic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Pittypats Porch specifically ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We went to Pittypats Porch specifically for their fried chicken. It was delicious. The second night we went back for dessert!

The upstairs is quieter than downstairs. Our server was exceptional. She waited on us both nights.

I would skip the salad bar. It was decent, but they feed you a lot! Save your appetite for the main attraction.

3 different breads come with your entree. We had cornbread, buttermilk biscuit and blueberry muffin. They came around a second time offering more bread.

Our entree included mash potatoes and seasonal vegetables. Also brought to the table was family style black-eyed peas and collards. I told you they feed you a lot!

The second night we ordered dessert. I went with peach cobbler, my husband had a house specialty pie. Both were delicious. Also on the menu were bread pudding, sweet potato pie and cake among other items. The pastry chef has worked there for 31 years.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived at 7:15 and they didn't seem ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We arrived at 7:15 and they didn't seem to be really busy but we stood at the hostess stand for more than 15 minutes waiting on a table. More than 3 employees walked by and said that someone would get us a table right away but it still took more than 15 minutes to get seated. Once seated, it took another 10 minutes for our wait staff to arrive. The food was sub-par, our drinks were never refilled, we had to ask for biscuits and once our food was placed before us, we were not visited again until she was ready to give us our check. She spilled tea all over one of our group and didn't even acknowledge what she had done or apologize. Maybe we were there on a bad night, but I don't think I would go back. I hear the fried chicken is great, but unfortunately I listened to the wait staff and ordered the mixed grill...don't do it, it was smothered in a very poor mustard gravy and the three meats were overcooked and dry, even thought they were smothered. The salad bar was OK but very little raw vegetables, mostly prepared salads. The desserts were also a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Major disappointment It has been 10 ye ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Major disappointment It has been 10 years since I have been here I guess not all restaurants age well. I ordered medallions with a Zinfandel sauce and it ended being a heavy mustard sauce and meat was not tender other person ordered salmon cooked all the way through and it was rare no one ever came around so he ate the outside part of the fish. Finally server came back and she took it to be replaced after 15 -20 minutes we finally gave up they still charged us for the meal. I recommended to others and they also were disappointed. Nice place that has gone bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This was the final curtain for a Gone Wi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was the final curtain for a Gone With The Wind Weekend my wife and I had in Atlanta. It was a great way to end the day. Our waiter really made the experience enjoyable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evan was our server and he was pretty en ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Evan was our server and he was pretty entertaining! Celebrating my family's first atlanta visit! Lots of good food and drinks! Thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, especially when our server brought dessert for my brothers birthday! Wonderful time, will return again soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a really nice place, I loved the at ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

It's a really nice place, I loved the atmosphere but the food was just okay I was expecting more I guess. A little pricey for the amount of food you get! It's one of those places you pay for the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Fantastic service and food

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I went to Piitypat's Porch to experience ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I went to Piitypat's Porch to experience Southern cooking and I was not disappointed. The included sideboard, or salad bar, was delicious. If I wasn't trying to watch my weight I would have made a second trip because I most definitely enjoyed everything from the pickled watermelon rind to the beet salad, as well as the other choices.

I was undecided between multiple menu items but decided to go with the shrimp and grits, as the potentially less caloric choice of all the delicious sounding items on the menu. I have tried making this myself and did not particularly enjoy it, so o wanted to see how a southern restaurant would make it. It was nothing like mine and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My waiter even gave me the recipe. I hope to be able to recreate it at home.

I will definitely return here if I have the opportunity to come back to Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Without a doubt, the best fried chicken ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Without a doubt, the best fried chicken in the world! I had the combo fried chicken and ribs coupled with the salad bar, cornbread and assorted authentic vegetables - delicious and very filling. My only regret is that I did not have enough room for dessert afterwards!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First off, shout out to the BEST waitres ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

First off, shout out to the BEST waitress ever!! Denise was awesome! So friendly and made great suggestions. The chicken was perfect and the mac & cheese was the BEST I've ever had!!! I don't even like seafood and the crawfish dip appetizer was delish!!! Super cute atmosphere too, like you're actually in an old southern house with a wrap around porch. Will go back again and again!!

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If I had been impressed with the fried g ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

If I had been impressed with the fried green tomatoes, this meal would've been 100% perfect. It was delicious. The service was fabulous. The atmosphere was so much fun. Also, I've waited over 10 years to have a legit cobbler like my grandma used to make. Pitty Pats was absolute perfection!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible experience. Our server Denise w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Terrible experience. Our server Denise was rude and acted as if she was doing us a favor by waiting on us. Therefore what we got and when we got it was on her terms. After giving up on her accommodating us we asked the bus people for service. This caused her to leave her seat at another patrons table and loudly inquiring IS THERE A PROBLEM??? The checks were wrong and when we asked for correction she only brought back one bill and credit card and went to sit again at the other table. We had to ask the bus boy to go and find the second bill and credit card. The food was cold and not worth the cost. Through the years I have dined at Miss Pity Pattys twice this was not the quality of food and service that I experienced in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Crab cakes were about 1/2 crab and 1/2 f ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Crab cakes were about 1/2 crab and 1/2 filler and tasted as such. Pork chops were somewhat bland.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Real Southern comfort food, well prepare ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Real Southern comfort food, well prepared, served hot and with a smile.

Great fried chicken, yummy cheesy grits. Don't miss the watermelon pickles on the salad bar.

You can't save room for dessert, but you'll get one anyway, because you won't be able to resist.

Best pecan pie next to my wife's, and peach cobbler from wonderful.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all ordered chicken it was cooked to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We all ordered chicken it was cooked to perfection. Little pricey for fried chicken. But you will not be disappointed by the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Our server Denise was amazing. However, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Our server Denise was amazing. However, they were out of many of their core "Southern" dishes like Gumbo. It also took an extremely long time to get the food to our table. And finally, the drinks were made wrong - twice. I was expecting an amazing place with an amazing dinner and it did not meet my expectations at all. Hopefully they were just having a bad night and that isn't the norm....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Our waiter was great! I felt the food wa ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Our waiter was great! I felt the food was sort of expensive for what you receive, but it was still good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The four of us thought the salad bar was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 1, 2016

The four of us thought the salad bar was great and certainly Southern. The sweet potato salad and chicken salad were favorites as was the watermelon rind. The muffins were delicious but more to come. We split entrees and that was no problem. Perfectly served. Each got a beautiful plate. The fried chicken was the favorite. The BBQ ribs not the best but the salmon and fried green tomatoes were a hit. None of us had room for dessert. We all agreed this is on our favorites list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Historic, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great southern cooking! Would definitely ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great southern cooking! Would definitely come back when in Atlanta!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent!! The ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food and service was excellent!! The chicken salad on the sideboard was the best I've ever had. Try the fried chicken. It wasn't greasy and was extremely moist. Black eyed peas and greens were well seasoned...no leftovers!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bo took care of our table, his service a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Bo took care of our table, his service and recommendations were fantastic. The food was delicious and the whole experience was great.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was here for the first time in 49 years. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Was here for the first time in 49 years. Very disappointed as I had great memories from 1968. Food (Fried chicken ) too expensive. Service slow and poor. I carried fond memories but was disappointed upon return.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

PittyPat's Porch is much the same as rig ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

PittyPat's Porch is much the same as right after the Civil War. I believe that is what the experience is supposed to be. It is quaint and noisy right in. Midtown Atlanta. Do not go is you want upscale contemporary tiny portions of food. This restaurant specialized in southern comfort and offers evening special choices. The Tara Combo served "killer" ribs and friend chicken. The cat fish was flaky and white. The breads were yummy. The salad bar left lots t be desired, but salad is not why we visit there anyway. "Tomorrow is another day!"

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Overal good food and great service!!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Overal good food and great service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Enjoyed a meal before a concert at Phill ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed a meal before a concert at Phillips. The food was good but I think a bit over priced.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The food is great- little pricey- salad ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food is great- little pricey- salad bar is very good and a nice touch-a good place to get real Southern dishes.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food and the staff were wonderful. ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food and the staff were wonderful. One of the best salad bars we ever had. Real Southern cooking. A delight!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server Jonette was a joy! She gave ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server Jonette was a joy! She gave us great attention to detail. The food was delicious and we are grateful for Jonette's recommendations.

The drinks were strong and did their job!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was very good but the noise level w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 19, 2016

food was very good but the noise level was too loud. The piano playing was to loud and we had to yell to be jeard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

From the moment we sat down (party of 3 ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

From the moment we sat down (party of 3 we were being rushed to order, to eat and to leave. This very much detracted from what otherwise could have been a pleasant dining experience. The food itself was good. The salad bar was a bit lacking in variety. The entrees were good. The server seemed determined to turn the table in the shortest possible time and that made it unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Outstanding service from the moment you ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Outstanding service from the moment you walk in until the time you walk out

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a must-see, but unfor ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This restaurant is a must-see, but unfortunately some of their food fell short. The fried chicken came out soggy and didn't have any flavoring. The mashed potatoes are instant and they over-salt the beans and greens; however, their sweet potato muffin and biscuit are delicious. I wouldn't visit here for fried chicken as it's overpriced and just not good, but the staff are very friendly and it's a cute place on the inside.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Enjoyed our dining experience at Pittypa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Enjoyed our dining experience at Pittypats Porch. The hostess, Gwen was charming, welcoming and very informative about the menu (and directions); Our server was outstanding, very attentive, funny and engaging.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We had the best waiter ever! Terrance wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had the best waiter ever! Terrance was fun, attentive & took amazing care of us! Originally we started out as a party of 11 & quickly grew to a party of 16 & it never phased him. Food was absolutely amazing...loved the crawfish dip, awesome salad bar & the ribeye was cooked perfectly. This is definitely a place I would come back to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We waited for over hour after we had our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We waited for over hour after we had our appetizers. The waiter was very rude and brought our food as we leaving. We left to eat some else. Will NEVER go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Carpet was old and smelly but the waitre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Carpet was old and smelly but the waitress was excellent. Place needs an upgrade on the decor.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The ambience, the friendliness and the f ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The ambience, the friendliness and the food were great!!! We were greeted warmly when we walked in and walked out. Our waitress Denise was great! The epitome of Southern Hospitality! Loved listening to someone playing the piano and people singing along. Great fun!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There were 28 dining in our party. It' ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2016

There were 28 dining in our party. It's hard to please everyone, but most agreed that the fried chicken was delicious. The shrimp and grits were not a hit, but I heard no complaints otherwise. The servers were attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.