About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (48)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Kid-friendly (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Historic (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Family Style (6)
Romantic (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Scenic View (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Live Music (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and atmosphere for a nice sou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and atmosphere for a nice southern dinner. A traditional stop for me while in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Visited the restaurant with four coworke ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Visited the restaurant with four coworkers. Two had fried chicken, one a steak, one the crab cakes, and the last one went for the shrimp and grits. All main courses were cooked well and flavorful. The chicken came out with three beautiful large pieces on the plate, delighting the two who ordered it (and requiring doggie bags at the end). The shrimp and grits were a good interpretation of this southern staple, and the crab cakes were definitely above average with enough crab to please the palate and justify the appellation. The salad bar was sufficient for a basic salad, but it's a minor player in this show. The staff was exceptional and we were greeted in fine Southern style. I'd visit again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Often I go out for "fine dining" when I ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Often I go out for "fine dining" when I take clients out. But sometimes big platters of family style comfort food is much more fun. Such was the case at Pitty Pat's. This casual dining spot was not for those looking for organic veggies and farm to table, but it sure is for those who are looking for delicious Southern Cooking. Loved the appetizer platter, particularly the catfish fingers and fried green tomatoes. We were so full from that, we barely ate our dinner. Fabulous, juicy fried chicken with a great batter, delicious ribs and nice steaks. None of us even made it to the salad bar, but we hear the pickled watermelon rind was great. Lots of food, not bashful prices. Good wine list at decent prices.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I arrived 20 minutes before my reservati ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I arrived 20 minutes before my reservation and was seated immediately. The hostess was AMAZING! The evening went down hill from there. We waited awhile for our drinksdrinks, I was given something I didn't order. Our appetizer took forever to come and it wasn't very good (pecan catfish bites). And we never got bread!

Our dinner took more than 40 minutes to come. I ordered fried chicken, it was VERY greasy and luke warm. I took one bite and that was it. My boyfriend ordered ribs. He wasn't pleased. He only ate one. I asked for my food to be taken off the check.

We decided to try dessert and more disappointment. This is Atlanta, if you don't get nothing else right the peach cobbler should be right! It wasn't, nor was the key lime pie.

The manager took care of the check, so that was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Expensive for what was served, would hav ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Expensive for what was served, would have expected better quality at this price point but we did enjoy the food and find it a fun place to dine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant was wonderful. We had a p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The restaurant was wonderful. We had a problem with are taxi and were more than an hour late. I had called earlier but they thought we were a no show. When we got to the hostess she sat us as quickly as possible. From that moment everything was great: food, service, atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Heard great things about PittyPat's. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Heard great things about PittyPat's. It had a great salad bar. Loved the ambiance and servers/hostess casual manner. The food is great if you like "southern style" food but as most restaurants of this type in the city, if you know the difference between southern style and real southern its just ok and a little pricey. Having said that, it is still good food and a fun place to eat.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I have eaten Southern cooking all my lif ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have eaten Southern cooking all my life, and this had to be the some of the worst I've ever had, not to mention grossly overpriced. An extra $6 if you want white meat chicken? Really? The decor was dated and "tired" looking, and the entire place was dark and dingy, not at all what I expected. I'd heard about this restaurant for decades, and expected much more. Perhaps years ago it was better, but not now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Lovely greet , by name, at the door, mad ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Lovely greet , by name, at the door, made to feel very welcome, restaurant has things to look at re Gone With the Wind and that time period, loved it. Also validate parking, which is next to the restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Before a show at the Fabulous Fox, we we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Before a show at the Fabulous Fox, we were celebrated as we entered PittyPat's front door! We found true southern flavor in a classy atmosphere mixed with excellent Mint Juleps, crab cakes and bread pudding that would have had my south Georgia grandma dancing! Beautiful live music provided a relaxing and mellow space to unwind from a busy work week. Cheers to our server, Richard! He was amazing as he made us laugh and feel welcome! He even guessed my husband was a Florida Gator! (How did he know?) We will be frequent visitors to PityPat's Porch- a true Atlanta destination!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food,good service and good time I w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good food,good service and good time I would recommend it to friends and family.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderfully accommodating for our group ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderfully accommodating for our group of 12. Fabulous food, and friendly, attentive service. Whenever I'm in Atlanta, I go here. Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is able to accommodate la ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The restaurant is able to accommodate large parties, and the service was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I go to Atlanta once a year and always g ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I go to Atlanta once a year and always go to Pitty Pat's Porch. And we always ask for Big Mama. She is the best and will take care of you. The food is good, but if you are worried about calories, then share a meal.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome local treasure. Exceptional serv ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome local treasure. Exceptional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The quality of the food except for the r ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The quality of the food except for the ribs was very poor. Salad bar was less than ordinary. Much of the food was very sweet. Menu said pork tenderloin I received pork chops. Watermelon drink tasted like liquid jello, very sweet. The waiter was good. Otherwise a disappointing experience. Will not go back or recommend to friends.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The service was really bad. I had famil ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The service was really bad. I had family and friends from out of town. We ordered fried green tomatoes for appetizers but never got them, sweet tea but the waiter gave us unsweetened. Then we had to wait because he said they ran out of glasses. The salad bar was good but had to wait for clean dishes. The fried chicken was delicious. The menu said the chicken came with side dishes but the waiter forgot to give us the side dishes. We had to request for it.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

I'm from Houston Texas, and I loved the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

I'm from Houston Texas, and I loved the restaurant, and our waiter Terrence was so funny and a great guy...thanks and we will be back..

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am new to Atlanta and went out to dinn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I am new to Atlanta and went out to dinner with my parents. The staff was super friendly and showed us " yankees" true southern hospitality. The side board gave us an opportunity to try some traditional southern dishes and the staff kept us entertained. By the end of the night I was offered a job by the manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I took a group of 9 to Pittypats after ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I took a group of 9 to Pittypats after attending a taping of Family Feud. Needless to say I was very disappointed! The restaurant seemed dirty...especially the bathrooms! The food was ok but nothing to go back for.

I had been there years ago and the overall experience was worth a second trip...it had been several years since my first two visits. No plans to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I would recommend the salad bar and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I would recommend the salad bar and the atmosphere. I ordered the salmon and it was not good. The jambalaya tasted uncooked and the special sauce tasted as if it was going bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I wanted to return after being there 35 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I wanted to return after being there 35 years ago. The salad bar was excellent and the food was kept at the correct temperature. The dinners were good but I think a little overpriced. I think the stairs were a little hard to go up and down but was not given any options. Our service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My company had a conference and we were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My company had a conference and we were referred to Pitty Pat's and it was everything they said it would be and more! We loved all the food

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but overpriced. Service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good but overpriced. Service was NOT that of a high priced restaurant. Disappointing wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Loved the welcome and the food. People ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Loved the welcome and the food. People as hood as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was great with ample portions. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was great with ample portions. Also, the service was outstanding! The hostess made us feel very welcome and she was also funny! 😅

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best southern cuisine I have ever ea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best southern cuisine I have ever eaten. The service was so southern (hospitable). The experience was fun! Can't wait to come back. The drinks were amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just because they're the oldest restaura ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Just because they're the oldest restaurant in Atlanta doesn't make them the best. The sideboard that comes with the entree is a buffet. Cocktails were average. Shrimp and grits were fine but nothing special. I do wish the chef would take the tails off. Staff at reservation desk was ethusatic and friendly l.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I went with friends from a conference an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I went with friends from a conference and we really enjoyed it our waiter was very helpful. I recommended it to friends and they enjoyed it too. Good southern cooking!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great southern confort ambience.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great southern confort ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The restaurant decor and excellent custo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant decor and excellent customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Forty yrs since I'd been here. Fried chi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Forty yrs since I'd been here. Fried chick/potatoes were reported by my guests to be top notch. My food only ok.

Atlanta, now being the hip hop capital of the world, should really not have anything but a museum to glorify the pre-Civil War days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Service my first visit was outstanding. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service my first visit was outstanding. Service my second visit was nonexistent. I will NOT be returning.👎🏾🙁

Was NOT worth what I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were there for dinner which was quite ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were there for dinner which was quite good. The salad bar is excellent. However, the inside is in desperate need of refurbishing - rickety chairs, dirty sticky handrails, and a generally dingy tired look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Excellent service, really nice servers, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent service, really nice servers, just don't fill up on the great salad bar. Leave room for dinner and the collards are great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is normally our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is normally our favorite restaurant but this time it was subpar. The service wasn't that great and the food came out Luke warm instead of hot like it normally is. Maybe we just had a bad experience this time. But the food is normally excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I was a little disappointed. Wish there ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was a little disappointed. Wish there were more variety.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Our trip was the first in nearly 40 year ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our trip was the first in nearly 40 years. It was not as good as I remembered. The salad bar was the best thing about the restaurant. Fried chicken was great! There was an odd seasoning in the fried green tomatoes, which I normally love, but the flavor didn't appeal to me.

Respectfully,

Christy M. Quinn

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant had ok food but it was w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This restaurant had ok food but it was way over priced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was ok...not the best I had during ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was ok...not the best I had during my trip to ATL. The waiter was lack luster and not as attentive. The restaurant itself had a great vine and feel. Overall it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.