About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (67)
neighborhood gem (62)
special occasion (43)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
kid-friendly (29)
great for outdoor dining (26)
great for lunch (24)
romantic (14)
hot spot (9)
scenic view (6)
great for brunch (6)
notable wine list (4)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1

We made a reservation and thirty minutes ...

Dined 16 hours ago

We made a reservation and thirty minutes later we still weren't seated. Meanwhile, the hostess seated three parties ahead of us. One of them was the same size as ours and was a walk-in. I finally approached her and asked, in a completely normal voice, "What's going on? I've never made a reservation somewhere and waited for thirty minutes to get seated." She proceeded to raise her finger to my face and said, "Don't raise your voice at me." I calmly replied, "I'm not raising my voice. If I were, you'd know it. But, I've decided I'm done here and we'll be eating somewhere else." The manager then apologized for her, saying, "I'm sorry, she has a way about her." We were basically then told it was our fault for misinterpreting her. Unreal. Please don't waste your time on this place! We instead went to Cuts Steakhouse and were seated immediately. The service was impeccable and the food was fabulous. Just for the record, I'm very patient when it comes to hospitality because I know that these people put up with a lot. This is the first negative review I've ever written about a restaurant so I hope it's taken seriously.

food4
ambience3
service1

The good: Food was good and salad bar ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The good: Food was good and salad bar had nice selections. Very friendly hostess. The bad: The meal took an hour to arrive and our server was nowhere to be found. My 6 year old was starving and after a while we actually had to get up to search for our server to inquire about the status of our meal. When the food finally arrived he was unapologetic about the unreasonable wait time. We were not the only table this happened to and we noticed some other parties were offered complimentary dessert because of this but unfortunately we were not. This was our first night in Atlanta after a very long travel day and this dampened the experience of what otherwise would be a good choice.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and a fun themed restau ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere and a fun themed restaurart. Amazing food and service Memorable part of our Atlanta trip!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. Waiter very attentive ...

Dined 7 days ago

Had a great time. Waiter very attentive to our every need. I recommend that anyone to Uber there. Parking downtown can be a pain in the a$$. Great southern cuisine. We were there for our 32nd wedding anniversary. Had a blast! Wife had filet and I had the sampler. Meals came with fresh bread and a salad bar. Wife had peach cobbler for dessert. Loved it. Don't forget,UBER!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent from the moment we ...

Dined 7 days ago

Service was excellent from the moment we entered the bar area as we were early to us walking out the door after a beautiful dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy local non-chain restaurants when ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I enjoy local non-chain restaurants when I travel. PittyPat's Porch was a delightful find on my recent trip to Atlanta. The staff was awesome and the food was great. I would recommend to anyone visiting the downtown Atlanta area.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved, loved, loved Pitty Pats!! Still d ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved, loved, loved Pitty Pats!! Still dreaming about the amazing sideboard with pickled watermelon. I can't wait to find an excuse to be in this area for dinner again. Delish! Probably one of our favorites in Atlanta. I just wish they were open for lunch also! My child ate beautifully and the bread basket was outrageous. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The porch beckons a visit; throwing a it ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The porch beckons a visit; throwing a its arms wide open to come and just see how good Southern hospitality is. Guests are given the warmest welcome and seated. Improve light pop is played by a piano virtuoso; a feeling of community sweeps around the dining room. We were welcomed to indulge in the side board. Goodness; you have not lived until you try the best greens on God's green earth. Mmmm mmmm mmmm. The meal is tongue beat your brains out good.we had fried chicken and shrimp and grits. We never! Perfection in both. And the key lime pie is not too sweet, but sweet enough, and lighter then a butterfly kiss. There aren't words; and we are so fussy. The best though, is the service. One word; Terrence. This man is warm, helps you out and puts the parenthesis around your dining experience. We would come to Atlanta and Pittypat's Potch just for dinner. Yes: now that's the best Southern cuisine. Embodied right at Pittypat's Porch.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Comfortable restaurant

Dined on June 10, 2016

Atmosphere and service was great. Staff is very friendly. Food was good but overpriced. However, prices are likely comparable to many other restaurants in the downtown area.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Don't miss the mac & cheese!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Smoked Gouda Mac & Cheese. You must try it - so delicious! We love Pittypat's for the ambiance and the food is always delicious - a great place for some southern comfort food! We had the ribeye (cooked exactly as requested and very flavorful) with the gouda mac & cheese, and the Tara combo (fried chicken and ribs). The ribs were great - not falling off the bone, but still very tender with enough "bite". I love the blackeyed peas and collards that they serve with every meal, but my fiance won't touch them. If you like these dishes, you'll love them at Pittypat's. The night we went there was a gentleman playing the piano (and he was very good!); this was a nice touch and provided some entertainment, but it did make it quite loud and hard to converse across the table without almost shouting at each other. We had a reservation, but arrived early due to lighter traffic after our show; we were seated promptly even though it was before our reservation time, which was appreciated. Our server was fantastic - very personable and friendly, and made sure everything was to our liking. It's not a "fancy" place, but I've never had a bad experience here, and would definitely recommend it to others!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mediocre tourist restaurant

Dined on June 2, 2016

We were hoping for wonderful southern cooking. The food was very mediocre, service was slow and unprofessional. There was a street person serenading sooooo loudly throughout our entire meal, we could barely talk. The restaurant has a lovely porch, nice to sit out on a warm night. But the food needs some improvement- and the guy on the street has to go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must visit

Dined on May 30, 2016

Superb food! Lovely outdoor patio as well as spacious indoor dining room. Exceptional salad bar, with an extensive variety of fresh, tasty options. Lovely waitstaff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Not all it's cracked-up to be.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This is a popular tourist spot for "real southern home cooking;" well, I grew-up southern and this was a disappointment. I could seriously get as good as, if not better, at Cracker Barrel with a similar ambiance and much better service. It was 5pm on a Saturday, so it was dead. Regardless of that fact, the service left much to be desired. We never got the shared sides that are included with every meal (collards and beans). When we asked, we were apologized to and the waitress then turned, immediately, to her helper and chastised him in front of the entire balcony. It may have been his fault, but this wasn't going to help him or us. Then the waitress decided it would be a good idea to "hug it out" with us... literally - gave us hugs. Now, I can handle southern hospitality, and realize that some of that is actually southern passive aggression, but I think this may have been my first experience with down-home southern condescension. The food was also not worth it. The "famous fried chicken" was bland and, when I asked for some hot sauce to make it better it took 20 minutes (not kidding) to get that (remember, there was hardly anyone there as it was still early for them). The hot sauce did make the chicken better (but it usually makes everything better). They also have a famous "southern side board," which is just a glorified salad bar with salad greens as well as mixed salads (macaroni salad, chicken salad, etc.). It was just okay - the best thing of the whole experience was the pickled watermelon rind, but only because that is so rare to find. Seriously, if you've never had this, it is unique and worth trying, though you may be better off ordering it off of the internet in a jar than going to the trouble of visiting this place just to try it. All of this having been said, I was disappointed that the atmosphere wasn't nicer and food wasn't better. Management did respond nicely when we spoke with them about service, but beyond that, just not worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved everything thing about from bein ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I loved everything thing about from being greeted at the door by the hostess to the food and the waiter and even to the man singing on the street. It was a wonderful experience. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service4

The food sounded better than it tasted. ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

The food sounded better than it tasted. I grew up in a southern household and was very disappointed in the food. If you're not familiar with GOOD down home cooking than you might be satisfied. Way too much salt on EVERYTHING!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Is over priced the chicken was cooked in ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Is over priced the chicken was cooked in burnt oil and not seasoned jus bad

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The hostess was an incredibly nice lady. ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The hostess was an incredibly nice lady. We had a lovely chat while waiting for the rest of our party to arrive. However, our server was probably the rudest waitress I've ever experienced. The food was decent, but I was so frustrated by how inattentive our waitress was (she never even came by to refill our drinks or drop off a bread basket) that I couldn't truly enjoy my food. There are plenty of restaurants in Atlanta with better food and better service. Don't waste your time here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Was in town for work and Pittypat's was ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Was in town for work and Pittypat's was the #1 recommended must eat at. Lived up to the hype for sure!

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Nasty Tourist Trap

Dined on May 25, 2016

It wasn't my idea, but some out of town associates who remembered this place from 15 years ago insisted we go. As a local, I figured it was overrated, but I relented. The bar is not well stocked. The menu has little variety. The food is somewhere between mediocre for the best items and gross for the worst. The ambiance is like your grandmother's musty basement. Save your time and money, and go somewhere else when visiting downtown Atlanta... it's not like there's a shortage of options. And if your out of town guests insist on an authentically Southern experience, there actually is a Waffle House in walking distance from here.

food5
ambience5
service3

My wife had eaten here in 1969 with her ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife had eaten here in 1969 with her parents. Now they are both deceased and it was great for her to come back and remember how good the food was then and now. Great food and ambience.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The perfect place to experience southern food.

Dined on May 24, 2016

We loved the unique homey feel with rocking chairs and a china cabinet. The salad bar is the best I have ever seen with many delicious options. The fried chicken is to die for. We loved our waitress, "Big Mama".

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must Visit While in Atlanta

Dined on May 23, 2016

We were passing through Atlanta for two days while on vacation and chose to eat here because of the reviews and nostalgia relating to Gone with the Wind. It was definitely not a disappointment! The service was excellent. All the employees were very courteous. The food was amazing! The charm of the restaurant was exactly what we love! Everyone who gets near Atlanta should eat here at least once.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Place

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was terrific from Jorge. Salad bar was wonderful. If you love Gone With the Wind, go to see all of the interesting pictures from the movie. The fried chicken was excellent and the ribs were good. Being right across the street from the Westin was very convenient for us. The ambience was old southern which was refreshing from modern cold new restaurants. Entertainment by a pianist on weekends.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great southern ambiance.

Dined on May 20, 2016

3 ladies, each ordered something different. Crab cakes delicious, fried chicken and ribs delicious, salmon delicious. Waiters were hilarious when another diner sent a drink over for one of the ladies at the table. Decor was very southern. Would go back again if I ever visit Atlanta again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Tourist trap. Have lived in Atlanta for ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Tourist trap. Have lived in Atlanta for over 20 years and heard mixed reviews of Pittypat's Porch. We were staying downtown overnight so decided to try this "landmark" restaurant. Although the food was not terrible, there are plenty of other "Southern" restaurants in this fine city that are much better at half the price. The cheapest thing on the menu is around $20, and their salad bar is $14. Let the tourists and business people here on corporate accounts pay that money... maybe they will be happy.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

If you loved Gone With The Wind

Dined on May 16, 2016

The best part of Pittypat's was the ambiance. Everything felt very "Gone with the Wind." A friend recommended this restaurant, ahead of a business trip & meet-up with an old friend. The ribs were terrible, barely passable. My friend enjoyed her fried chicken dish. However, the muffin, biscuit and bread served at the beginning of the meal were basically out of a box. I was expecting homemade bread, at the least. I should have realized the entire meal would be less than stellar after that. However, we did sit outside on the porch, and had a cool breeze blowing through, which felt far better than the very hot temps inside the restaurant. I love barbeque and was so disappointed that my only dinner in Atlanta was here - I wish I had gone elsewhere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was over rated. Bland..over price ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was over rated. Bland..over priced.. not, that, good. Restrooms, were horrible!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Charm

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband had visited this restaurant many years ago and enjoyed the food so much that when we both found ourselves visiting Atlanta for business he brought me here to experience this great cooking.We had a great meal of fried chicken served by a wonderful and friendly gentleman.Have a mint julip and you'll be feeling right at home.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveling alone on business to Atlanta t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Traveling alone on business to Atlanta this week, my wife, who lived there as a young adult, had only one dining recommendation for me: Pitypat's Porch. Upon entering this historic venue, the engaging, uniquely southern welcome I experienced immediately took me back to my youth growing up in the South. The "welcoming touch" continued throughout my visit, making this a truly wonderful dining experience. My waiter, Bryce, was a big part of this, and delivered a genuinely flawless and enjoyable dinner service. While my dining tastes usually run to nicely grilled steaks, lobster and the like, I could smell the famous fried chicken and just could not resist the opportunity to go "all-in" with a traditional southern dinner. The delivery of homemade bread and a bowl of black-eye peas and collard greens just put the finishing touches on the southern feel. While I had more than enough to eat, I could not resist the bread pudding, which was pretty much as good as it gets. While it has been nearly 40 years since my wife first dined here, Pitypat's Porch was everything she remembered. This place is a real southern treasure, and I look forward to dining there again soon, with my wife. For anyone visiting Atlanta, this should be a first choice in dining venues.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service3

Ordered the combo, fried chicken and rib ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Ordered the combo, fried chicken and ribs. It was the right choice, enjoyed them both. Fried chicken was crispy and flavorful. The ribs were tender. Served with tasty, albeit very small portion, of dressing. But beware, the 'pecan' crusted catfish fingers were a mistake. Three small pieces of catfish, never tasted any pecans. Very disappointing!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere

Dined on April 30, 2016

The atmosphere and staff were great, food was pretty good as well. I enjoyed the salad bar and biscuits especially.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

big momma was so fine. That's southern hospitality

Dined on April 28, 2016

big momma was so fine. Now, that is southern hospitality. It was great family style dining

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Heyday May Be Past

Dined on April 24, 2016

I think the restaurant's heyday may be past. In fairness, we got there a little late for a Sunday night -- 7:30 pm -- but didn't appreciate being moved rather quickly to our main order. We were not able to take relaxed advantage of the 'sidebar' ... a salad bar ... because the waiter put our orders in quickly. The traditional fried chicken was our choice. It was good, but not a standout. The mashed potatoes with the meal were poor. Sides of collard greens and blackeye peas were pretty good. Appetizer, of blackeyed peas 'cakes' with salsa, was the best taste of the meal. Did not have room or time for desserts, although the choices looked good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a fun history!

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is our go-to spot for my family when we are in Atlanta. It's one of the oldest restaurants in Atlanta. It's a little hard to find if you've never been there before, as it's surrounded by a parking garage. It's at street level directly across from the Peachtree Plaza. It's a great place if you've got a big group, but also nice for a dinner for two. Food is good ol' Southern cooking'! Portions are huge and come with a family serving of black eyed peas and collard greens. Dinners also come with a salad bar. They offer a full bar, and their moonshine punch is to die for!! There has always been a piano player playing every time I've been. Be sure to ask your server about the interesting history of the building. The building was once a morgue, and several of the servers and staff have encountered paranormal activity! We've always had great, prompt service. I would definitely recommend this little hidden gem!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pitty Pat's

Dined on April 20, 2016

Pitty Pat's was an excellent restaurant. Great southern cooking. Like going to your Grand Mother's. Excellent choice to match all tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern food at its best

Dined on April 20, 2016

Dinner on the porch with four adults and two kids. Server Kenya was the best! Her big smiles and enthuastic descriptions of the menu items made us realize we were in for a special treat. We took her recommendation on splitting the fried chicken meal so we could enjoy both the extensive salad bar and an appetizer of fried tomatoes. The fried chicken was tender and crispy, fried to,perfection. Sides of greens and black eyed peas are brought to the table to share as is a basket of cornbread and biscuits. Peach cobbler for dessert is served warm with ice cream and was freshly made and not too sweet. A wonderful experience and delicious food. Come hungry and expect you may need to box up some for leftovers

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Convention attendees favorite

Dined on April 17, 2016

What a 'gem' to get the feel of the south and Atlanta! The decor and the southern food (friend chicken, ribs, watermelon pickles, blackeyed peas, greens) were plentiful and well prepared. Service was lacking on this particular night, but server was congenial and hard working. Just slow service and billing errors were the issues.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on April 15, 2016

Waaay over rated. Food was nothing to scream over and over-priced. Also, seemed under-staffed for a busy, conference-laden Friday night.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Tourist Trap

Dined on April 15, 2016

This restaurant is a tourist trap. It's decorated with old time charm, but it's really just not very updated. I was hopeful for the good food; however, much of it was tasteless and filled with full cream and oil. I'm from the south so I know southern food and I've had so much better. Very disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Vacation

Dined on April 13, 2016

I was in Atlanta for a day and wanted to try Southern food. The hospitality and food was great. The food was worth the cost spent. I did recommend to my family that it is a good place to stop in Atlanta if you want to try Southern.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.