About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (71)
neighborhood gem (63)
special occasion (45)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
kid-friendly (33)
great for lunch (25)
great for outdoor dining (24)
romantic (14)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (7)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (7)
notable wine list (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was a little disappointed. Wish there ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

I was a little disappointed. Wish there were more variety.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Our trip was the first in nearly 40 year ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our trip was the first in nearly 40 years. It was not as good as I remembered. The salad bar was the best thing about the restaurant. Fried chicken was great! There was an odd seasoning in the fried green tomatoes, which I normally love, but the flavor didn't appeal to me.

Respectfully,

Christy M. Quinn

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant had ok food but it was w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This restaurant had ok food but it was way over priced.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was ok...not the best I had during ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was ok...not the best I had during my trip to ATL. The waiter was lack luster and not as attentive. The restaurant itself had a great vine and feel. Overall it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My family and I were highly disappointed ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My family and I were highly disappointed with the restaurant. When we arrived there wasn't anyone at the hostess stand to greet us. We were seated after there was an altercation with another guest and a staff member. Once at the table we received bread that was cold and we were given water but they never asked if we wanted any other beverage. The food came in good time and our orders were correct and hot the food just wasn't good. The menu prices were too expensive for the food to not be tasty. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone we spent almost $400.00 for a group of 10 people and we didn't have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Restaurant needs to be updated. And foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Restaurant needs to be updated. And food does not match the price charged. The service is great and the staff is very friendly and nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We went for our anniversary, and it was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for our anniversary, and it was fabulous. Our server was very sweet, very helpful and food was amazing! Love lovelove gone with the wind, and the "old Atlanta" vibe of the charming location!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the poor service I received on ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I thought the poor service I received on my last visit was an anomaly, but it was repeated on my recent visit. The salad bar was sad. My fried chicken was tasty, my ribs were disappointing. The side vegetables were overcooked (even for southern cooking) and their signature bread basket was nothing special. The main dining room is in a basement room and is in need of a serious refurbishment. The whole vibe I got from the restaurant was tired and dispirited. For the price, there are better choices available for your dining dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were quite impressed with the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were quite impressed with the service, the food and the tasty cocktails. Would recommend and we will be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but the service was o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was good, but the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cant say enough about our experience her ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cant say enough about our experience here. The service was amazing. The food portions were great. Just a great southern food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried chicken and shrimp & grits are tas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fried chicken and shrimp & grits are tasty. These are a must if you dine here.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed our first visit & returned again ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit & returned again during the week. Sing along with the piano man was great!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey for everyday dining but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A little pricey for everyday dining but great atmosphere and theme! Would be good great for large group or special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Make sure you give the hostess,Miss Jean ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Make sure you give the hostess,Miss Jean, a big hello! She is efficient and bubbly. ...warmly welcoming! Then,go to the bar and see Eric the bartender. ..worth your while! If you are lucky, ask to have Omar as your server, but I believe he is going back to school.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lots of food for 1 person the fried chic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Lots of food for 1 person the fried chicken was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great. Food was great. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was great. Food was great. The only drawback was the piano player. The restaurant needs a real player, not a pick and play entertainer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WE had great service - our waitress was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

WE had great service - our waitress was Denise and she was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us lots of information on Atlanta and Pittypat's. The food was delicious but a bit pricey to come in on a weekly basis. Great location and the atmosphere is awesome. Thanks for discount on parking too!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately it was awkward as staff we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately it was awkward as staff were extremely concerned about getting out to protests that night at 9:30pm & so if they had explained that immediately we would have not stayed. We got there at 8:30 due to traffic as we live 2 hours away. Was supposed to be a great night out to celebrate birthday/anniversary. It was expensive & rushed. Food was ok not spectacular & pecan pie completely fell apart in a million pieces. :( disappointed as I ate there 30 years ago & hoped to have a great experience. :(

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I brought 4 teenagers who had never expe ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I brought 4 teenagers who had never experienced true southern fare. Our waiter Hamid was very patient and knowledgable explaining some of the food, ie grits.

The portions are quite generous and the food very good. We had to take doggy bags so as to leave room for the peach cobbler. This is a must stop while in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Huge Gone With The Wind fans, so we had ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Huge Gone With The Wind fans, so we had to try this place while visiting Atlanta.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Enjoyed this upon a recommendation while ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Enjoyed this upon a recommendation while travelling out of town . A must experience

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The taste of the food was mediocre at be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The taste of the food was mediocre at best. The gumbo was way too salty, the collards were from a can and only 1 of my 2 crab cakes actually had "crab meat" in it...the other was 95% "cake". Very disappointing :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

Pitty Pat's Porch is a rare find! The f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Pitty Pat's Porch is a rare find! The fried chicken was a reminder of when Grandma or Mama fixed Sunday dinner for the family- crispy and cooked to perfection. The ribs were amazing; fall off the bone, sauce running down your chin amazing. The young ladies I took there enjoyed trying true Southern dishes- sweet potato muffins with chocolate chips, pickled watermelon rind, slaw with apples and jicama, Cajun mac salad, hopping john, collard greens and so much more.

The staff was so welcoming and engaging. Top-rate service!

This is a MUST-DO in Atlanta!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an excellent experience. Servi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was an excellent experience. Service was exceptional with the waiter being friendly and helpful. Food was authentic and homemade. Flavors were great. Would return next time in Atlanta.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were nine of us in the party-8 wer ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

There were nine of us in the party-8 were high school students who can be a little difficult to please, especially a group this large.

Well, we all loved it!! The food was

plentiful and absolutely delicious.

The salad bar, which came with the dinner, was one of the best I've ever seen because of the variety. The only negative was the prices were a bit steep for a high schooler but we had budgeted for it so it all worked out. The kids loved the decor and our waiter was awesome. When one of the kids let a cuss word slip he calmly reminded her it was a family restaurant. This meal was one of the highlights of our trip.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated. my birthday,. We were impres ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Celebrated. my birthday,. We were impressed by the Greeter, Ms. Jean , she welcomed us as if we were family coming for dinner! The food and the service were awesome. We sat in the main dinning area which was cozy and romantic. Very few places offers a live piano music while dining. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great and the service even ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was great and the service even better. It was the best dining experience I had while in Atlanta.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a good steak at this place. The s ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I had a good steak at this place. The salad bar was not that impressive, due to limited choices. I did not like the way the collard greens and black eyed peas were served in the same small bowl. I don't like my foods touching. So I was unable to enjoy the separate tastes of the sides, and it was very small amounts. The atmosphere does allow for the feel of a porch, with a lot of wood and outdated iron tools. If I visited Atlanta again, this place would not be a priority, but I would eat there again.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

our waiter was outstanding, how live mus ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

our waiter was outstanding, how live music playing with a pianist.... great ribs and unreal fried chicken

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is a great experience and true sout ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This is a great experience and true southern cooking. The fried chicken was out of this world amazing! I even tried pickled watermelon rinds. Never had that before, and found it to be really interesting.

I always love to try something new, and the satisfied me as an experience rather than just another meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must go to place for real Sout ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is a must go to place for real Southern food. The ambiance is great and we had wonderful service. Would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We brought our son who was visiting from ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We brought our son who was visiting from California to give him a true southern dining experience. We were seated right away and our drink order taken. When we received our food, my ribs were hot and delicious. My husband and son ordered the catfish. It was barely warm and had very little flavor. We also ordered desserts which were very bland. The prices were very high for the quality of the food. It was not a good example of southern cuisine.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We made a reservation and thirty minutes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made a reservation and thirty minutes later we still weren't seated. Meanwhile, the hostess seated three parties ahead of us. One of them was the same size as ours and was a walk-in. I finally approached her and asked, in a completely normal voice, "What's going on? I've never made a reservation somewhere and waited for thirty minutes to get seated." She proceeded to raise her finger to my face and said, "Don't raise your voice at me." I calmly replied, "I'm not raising my voice. If I were, you'd know it. But, I've decided I'm done here and we'll be eating somewhere else." The manager then apologized for her, saying, "I'm sorry, she has a way about her." We were basically then told it was our fault for misinterpreting her. Unreal. Please don't waste your time on this place! We instead went to Cuts Steakhouse and were seated immediately. The service was impeccable and the food was fabulous. Just for the record, I'm very patient when it comes to hospitality because I know that these people put up with a lot. This is the first negative review I've ever written about a restaurant so I hope it's taken seriously.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The good: Food was good and salad bar ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The good: Food was good and salad bar had nice selections. Very friendly hostess. The bad: The meal took an hour to arrive and our server was nowhere to be found. My 6 year old was starving and after a while we actually had to get up to search for our server to inquire about the status of our meal. When the food finally arrived he was unapologetic about the unreasonable wait time. We were not the only table this happened to and we noticed some other parties were offered complimentary dessert because of this but unfortunately we were not. This was our first night in Atlanta after a very long travel day and this dampened the experience of what otherwise would be a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great atmosphere and a fun themed restau ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Great atmosphere and a fun themed restaurart. Amazing food and service

Memorable part of our Atlanta trip!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. Waiter very attentive ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great time. Waiter very attentive to our every need. I recommend that anyone to Uber there. Parking downtown can be a pain in the a$$. Great southern cuisine. We were there for our 32nd wedding anniversary. Had a blast! Wife had filet and I had the sampler. Meals came with fresh bread and a salad bar. Wife had peach cobbler for dessert. Loved it. Don't forget,UBER!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent from the moment we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was excellent from the moment we entered the bar area as we were early to us walking out the door after a beautiful dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I enjoy local non-chain restaurants when ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I enjoy local non-chain restaurants when I travel. PittyPat's Porch was a delightful find on my recent trip to Atlanta. The staff was awesome and the food was great. I would recommend to anyone visiting the downtown Atlanta area.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved, loved, loved Pitty Pats!! Still d ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Loved, loved, loved Pitty Pats!! Still dreaming about the amazing sideboard with pickled watermelon. I can't wait to find an excuse to be in this area for dinner again. Delish! Probably one of our favorites in Atlanta. I just wish they were open for lunch also! My child ate beautifully and the bread basket was outrageous. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.