About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (57)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Kid-friendly (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Romantic (13)
Late-night Find (9)
Scenic View (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I'm from Houston Texas, and I loved the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

I'm from Houston Texas, and I loved the restaurant, and our waiter Terrence was so funny and a great guy...thanks and we will be back..

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am new to Atlanta and went out to dinn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I am new to Atlanta and went out to dinner with my parents. The staff was super friendly and showed us " yankees" true southern hospitality. The side board gave us an opportunity to try some traditional southern dishes and the staff kept us entertained. By the end of the night I was offered a job by the manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I took a group of 9 to Pittypats after ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I took a group of 9 to Pittypats after attending a taping of Family Feud. Needless to say I was very disappointed! The restaurant seemed dirty...especially the bathrooms! The food was ok but nothing to go back for.

I had been there years ago and the overall experience was worth a second trip...it had been several years since my first two visits. No plans to go back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I would recommend the salad bar and the ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I would recommend the salad bar and the atmosphere. I ordered the salmon and it was not good. The jambalaya tasted uncooked and the special sauce tasted as if it was going bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

I wanted to return after being there 35 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I wanted to return after being there 35 years ago. The salad bar was excellent and the food was kept at the correct temperature. The dinners were good but I think a little overpriced. I think the stairs were a little hard to go up and down but was not given any options. Our service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My company had a conference and we were ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My company had a conference and we were referred to Pitty Pat's and it was everything they said it would be and more! We loved all the food

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but overpriced. Service wa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was good but overpriced. Service was NOT that of a high priced restaurant. Disappointing wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Loved the welcome and the food. People ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Loved the welcome and the food. People as hood as the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The food was great with ample portions. ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was great with ample portions. Also, the service was outstanding! The hostess made us feel very welcome and she was also funny! 😅

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The best southern cuisine I have ever ea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The best southern cuisine I have ever eaten. The service was so southern (hospitable). The experience was fun! Can't wait to come back. The drinks were amazing!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just because they're the oldest restaura ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Just because they're the oldest restaurant in Atlanta doesn't make them the best. The sideboard that comes with the entree is a buffet. Cocktails were average. Shrimp and grits were fine but nothing special. I do wish the chef would take the tails off. Staff at reservation desk was ethusatic and friendly l.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

I went with friends from a conference an ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I went with friends from a conference and we really enjoyed it our waiter was very helpful. I recommended it to friends and they enjoyed it too. Good southern cooking!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great southern confort ambience.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great southern confort ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The restaurant decor and excellent custo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The restaurant decor and excellent customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Forty yrs since I'd been here. Fried chi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Forty yrs since I'd been here. Fried chick/potatoes were reported by my guests to be top notch. My food only ok.

Atlanta, now being the hip hop capital of the world, should really not have anything but a museum to glorify the pre-Civil War days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Service my first visit was outstanding. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Service my first visit was outstanding. Service my second visit was nonexistent. I will NOT be returning.👎🏾🙁

Was NOT worth what I paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We were there for dinner which was quite ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were there for dinner which was quite good. The salad bar is excellent. However, the inside is in desperate need of refurbishing - rickety chairs, dirty sticky handrails, and a generally dingy tired look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Excellent service, really nice servers, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent service, really nice servers, just don't fill up on the great salad bar. Leave room for dinner and the collards are great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is normally our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is normally our favorite restaurant but this time it was subpar. The service wasn't that great and the food came out Luke warm instead of hot like it normally is. Maybe we just had a bad experience this time. But the food is normally excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I was a little disappointed. Wish there ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was a little disappointed. Wish there were more variety.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Our trip was the first in nearly 40 year ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our trip was the first in nearly 40 years. It was not as good as I remembered. The salad bar was the best thing about the restaurant. Fried chicken was great! There was an odd seasoning in the fried green tomatoes, which I normally love, but the flavor didn't appeal to me.

Respectfully,

Christy M. Quinn

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This restaurant had ok food but it was w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This restaurant had ok food but it was way over priced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was ok...not the best I had during ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was ok...not the best I had during my trip to ATL. The waiter was lack luster and not as attentive. The restaurant itself had a great vine and feel. Overall it was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My family and I were highly disappointed ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My family and I were highly disappointed with the restaurant. When we arrived there wasn't anyone at the hostess stand to greet us. We were seated after there was an altercation with another guest and a staff member. Once at the table we received bread that was cold and we were given water but they never asked if we wanted any other beverage. The food came in good time and our orders were correct and hot the food just wasn't good. The menu prices were too expensive for the food to not be tasty. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone we spent almost $400.00 for a group of 10 people and we didn't have a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Restaurant needs to be updated. And foo ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Restaurant needs to be updated. And food does not match the price charged. The service is great and the staff is very friendly and nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

We went for our anniversary, and it was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went for our anniversary, and it was fabulous. Our server was very sweet, very helpful and food was amazing! Love lovelove gone with the wind, and the "old Atlanta" vibe of the charming location!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the poor service I received on ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I thought the poor service I received on my last visit was an anomaly, but it was repeated on my recent visit. The salad bar was sad. My fried chicken was tasty, my ribs were disappointing. The side vegetables were overcooked (even for southern cooking) and their signature bread basket was nothing special. The main dining room is in a basement room and is in need of a serious refurbishment. The whole vibe I got from the restaurant was tired and dispirited. For the price, there are better choices available for your dining dollars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We were quite impressed with the service ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were quite impressed with the service, the food and the tasty cocktails. Would recommend and we will be coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but the service was o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was good, but the service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cant say enough about our experience her ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cant say enough about our experience here. The service was amazing. The food portions were great. Just a great southern food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fried chicken and shrimp & grits are tas ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fried chicken and shrimp & grits are tasty. These are a must if you dine here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed our first visit & returned again ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Enjoyed our first visit & returned again during the week. Sing along with the piano man was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricey for everyday dining but ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A little pricey for everyday dining but great atmosphere and theme! Would be good great for large group or special occasion!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Make sure you give the hostess,Miss Jean ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Make sure you give the hostess,Miss Jean, a big hello! She is efficient and bubbly. ...warmly welcoming! Then,go to the bar and see Eric the bartender. ..worth your while! If you are lucky, ask to have Omar as your server, but I believe he is going back to school.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They had the best pecan pie, bar none. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They had the best pecan pie, bar none. The food was excellent and plentiful.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Lots of food for 1 person the fried chic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Lots of food for 1 person the fried chicken was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great. Food was great. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was great. Food was great. The only drawback was the piano player. The restaurant needs a real player, not a pick and play entertainer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

WE had great service - our waitress was ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

WE had great service - our waitress was Denise and she was very friendly and welcoming. She gave us lots of information on Atlanta and Pittypat's. The food was delicious but a bit pricey to come in on a weekly basis. Great location and the atmosphere is awesome. Thanks for discount on parking too!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Unfortunately it was awkward as staff we ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Unfortunately it was awkward as staff were extremely concerned about getting out to protests that night at 9:30pm & so if they had explained that immediately we would have not stayed. We got there at 8:30 due to traffic as we live 2 hours away. Was supposed to be a great night out to celebrate birthday/anniversary. It was expensive & rushed. Food was ok not spectacular & pecan pie completely fell apart in a million pieces. :( disappointed as I ate there 30 years ago & hoped to have a great experience. :(

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I brought 4 teenagers who had never expe ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I brought 4 teenagers who had never experienced true southern fare. Our waiter Hamid was very patient and knowledgable explaining some of the food, ie grits.

The portions are quite generous and the food very good. We had to take doggy bags so as to leave room for the peach cobbler. This is a must stop while in Atlanta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.