About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday-Friday: 11:00am-4:30pm
Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (80)
neighborhood gem (61)
special occasion (46)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
kid-friendly (33)
great for lunch (25)
great for outdoor dining (20)
romantic (19)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (10)
scenic view (8)
late-night find (5)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3

My wife had eaten here in 1969 with her ...

Dined 3 days ago

My wife had eaten here in 1969 with her parents. Now they are both deceased and it was great for her to come back and remember how good the food was then and now. Great food and ambience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must Visit While in Atlanta

Dined 4 days ago

We were passing through Atlanta for two days while on vacation and chose to eat here because of the reviews and nostalgia relating to Gone with the Wind. It was definitely not a disappointment! The service was excellent. All the employees were very courteous. The food was amazing! The charm of the restaurant was exactly what we love! Everyone who gets near Atlanta should eat here at least once.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Place

Dined 6 days ago

Service was terrific from Jorge. Salad bar was wonderful. If you love Gone With the Wind, go to see all of the interesting pictures from the movie. The fried chicken was excellent and the ribs were good. Being right across the street from the Westin was very convenient for us. The ambience was old southern which was refreshing from modern cold new restaurants. Entertainment by a pianist on weekends.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great southern ambiance.

Dined 7 days ago

3 ladies, each ordered something different. Crab cakes delicious, fried chicken and ribs delicious, salmon delicious. Waiters were hilarious when another diner sent a drink over for one of the ladies at the table. Decor was very southern. Would go back again if I ever visit Atlanta again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Tourist trap. Have lived in Atlanta for ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Tourist trap. Have lived in Atlanta for over 20 years and heard mixed reviews of Pittypat's Porch. We were staying downtown overnight so decided to try this "landmark" restaurant. Although the food was not terrible, there are plenty of other "Southern" restaurants in this fine city that are much better at half the price. The cheapest thing on the menu is around $20, and their salad bar is $14. Let the tourists and business people here on corporate accounts pay that money... maybe they will be happy.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

If you loved Gone With The Wind

Dined on May 16, 2016

The best part of Pittypat's was the ambiance. Everything felt very "Gone with the Wind." A friend recommended this restaurant, ahead of a business trip & meet-up with an old friend. The ribs were terrible, barely passable. My friend enjoyed her fried chicken dish. However, the muffin, biscuit and bread served at the beginning of the meal were basically out of a box. I was expecting homemade bread, at the least. I should have realized the entire meal would be less than stellar after that. However, we did sit outside on the porch, and had a cool breeze blowing through, which felt far better than the very hot temps inside the restaurant. I love barbeque and was so disappointed that my only dinner in Atlanta was here - I wish I had gone elsewhere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was over rated. Bland..over price ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was over rated. Bland..over priced.. not, that, good. Restrooms, were horrible!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Charm

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband had visited this restaurant many years ago and enjoyed the food so much that when we both found ourselves visiting Atlanta for business he brought me here to experience this great cooking.We had a great meal of fried chicken served by a wonderful and friendly gentleman.Have a mint julip and you'll be feeling right at home.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traveling alone on business to Atlanta t ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Traveling alone on business to Atlanta this week, my wife, who lived there as a young adult, had only one dining recommendation for me: Pitypat's Porch. Upon entering this historic venue, the engaging, uniquely southern welcome I experienced immediately took me back to my youth growing up in the South. The "welcoming touch" continued throughout my visit, making this a truly wonderful dining experience. My waiter, Bryce, was a big part of this, and delivered a genuinely flawless and enjoyable dinner service. While my dining tastes usually run to nicely grilled steaks, lobster and the like, I could smell the famous fried chicken and just could not resist the opportunity to go "all-in" with a traditional southern dinner. The delivery of homemade bread and a bowl of black-eye peas and collard greens just put the finishing touches on the southern feel. While I had more than enough to eat, I could not resist the bread pudding, which was pretty much as good as it gets. While it has been nearly 40 years since my wife first dined here, Pitypat's Porch was everything she remembered. This place is a real southern treasure, and I look forward to dining there again soon, with my wife. For anyone visiting Atlanta, this should be a first choice in dining venues.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service3

Ordered the combo, fried chicken and rib ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Ordered the combo, fried chicken and ribs. It was the right choice, enjoyed them both. Fried chicken was crispy and flavorful. The ribs were tender. Served with tasty, albeit very small portion, of dressing. But beware, the 'pecan' crusted catfish fingers were a mistake. Three small pieces of catfish, never tasted any pecans. Very disappointing!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful atmosphere

Dined on April 30, 2016

The atmosphere and staff were great, food was pretty good as well. I enjoyed the salad bar and biscuits especially.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

big momma was so fine. That's southern hospitality

Dined on April 28, 2016

big momma was so fine. Now, that is southern hospitality. It was great family style dining

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Heyday May Be Past

Dined on April 24, 2016

I think the restaurant's heyday may be past. In fairness, we got there a little late for a Sunday night -- 7:30 pm -- but didn't appreciate being moved rather quickly to our main order. We were not able to take relaxed advantage of the 'sidebar' ... a salad bar ... because the waiter put our orders in quickly. The traditional fried chicken was our choice. It was good, but not a standout. The mashed potatoes with the meal were poor. Sides of collard greens and blackeye peas were pretty good. Appetizer, of blackeyed peas 'cakes' with salsa, was the best taste of the meal. Did not have room or time for desserts, although the choices looked good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with a fun history!

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is our go-to spot for my family when we are in Atlanta. It's one of the oldest restaurants in Atlanta. It's a little hard to find if you've never been there before, as it's surrounded by a parking garage. It's at street level directly across from the Peachtree Plaza. It's a great place if you've got a big group, but also nice for a dinner for two. Food is good ol' Southern cooking'! Portions are huge and come with a family serving of black eyed peas and collard greens. Dinners also come with a salad bar. They offer a full bar, and their moonshine punch is to die for!! There has always been a piano player playing every time I've been. Be sure to ask your server about the interesting history of the building. The building was once a morgue, and several of the servers and staff have encountered paranormal activity! We've always had great, prompt service. I would definitely recommend this little hidden gem!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pitty Pat's

Dined on April 20, 2016

Pitty Pat's was an excellent restaurant. Great southern cooking. Like going to your Grand Mother's. Excellent choice to match all tastes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern food at its best

Dined on April 20, 2016

Dinner on the porch with four adults and two kids. Server Kenya was the best! Her big smiles and enthuastic descriptions of the menu items made us realize we were in for a special treat. We took her recommendation on splitting the fried chicken meal so we could enjoy both the extensive salad bar and an appetizer of fried tomatoes. The fried chicken was tender and crispy, fried to,perfection. Sides of greens and black eyed peas are brought to the table to share as is a basket of cornbread and biscuits. Peach cobbler for dessert is served warm with ice cream and was freshly made and not too sweet. A wonderful experience and delicious food. Come hungry and expect you may need to box up some for leftovers

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Convention attendees favorite

Dined on April 17, 2016

What a 'gem' to get the feel of the south and Atlanta! The decor and the southern food (friend chicken, ribs, watermelon pickles, blackeyed peas, greens) were plentiful and well prepared. Service was lacking on this particular night, but server was congenial and hard working. Just slow service and billing errors were the issues.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Meh

Dined on April 15, 2016

Waaay over rated. Food was nothing to scream over and over-priced. Also, seemed under-staffed for a busy, conference-laden Friday night.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Tourist Trap

Dined on April 15, 2016

This restaurant is a tourist trap. It's decorated with old time charm, but it's really just not very updated. I was hopeful for the good food; however, much of it was tasteless and filled with full cream and oil. I'm from the south so I know southern food and I've had so much better. Very disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Vacation

Dined on April 13, 2016

I was in Atlanta for a day and wanted to try Southern food. The hospitality and food was great. The food was worth the cost spent. I did recommend to my family that it is a good place to stop in Atlanta if you want to try Southern.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must experience this delicious opportunity!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Absolutely delicious food, combined with warm, hospitable ambiance. Enjoy such amazing food, specialty southern dishes, in a very inviting atmosphere. Do not miss out on the fried chicken and ribs! Enormous portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

The food was excellent!

Dined on April 4, 2016

The waiter was poor. Told me he was bringing me corn bread- that never happened. Complained that he was too busy with other tables to get to me. I also asked for coffee with my dessert- that never happened. He is poorly suited to waiting on tables, but seemed to be a nice young man.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atlanta gem

Dined on April 4, 2016

Here since the 1960s, this adorable restaurant serves many Southern favorites. The salad board is inspired and the fried chicken excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Scary hostess, decent food

Dined on April 4, 2016

I had the worst restaurant experience of my life in my interaction with the hostess Jean. She yelled at me, berated me, was very disrespectful and even after a week, I still find myself traumatized by the experience. I had two young hungry children with me and someone who was very interested in the restaurant, so walking away to find another restaurant late in the evening was not an option. After the meal, I talked to the restaurant manager Chip who was very understanding and tried his best to make it better. It helped some, but I don't think I will be going back to this restaurant. In hindsight, I should have asked to see the manager as soon as she went on her tirade, but the place was very crowded and I didn't want to make a scene, I just wanted to get seated. I can now think of so many different ways I could have handled the situation. At that time, she was in a position of power, and she humiliated me. The food was good, the wait staff were as quick and responsive as they could be given how crowded the restaurant was for dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good southern food and hospitality.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Good southern food and hospitality.

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

ives guy

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were rather disappointed in both the food and service. After we were seated, we sat for at least 15 minutes before we received some corn bread to eat, and then waited another 15 minutes or so before we received a menu and our drinks. Another 15 minutes went by before the waiter took our order, and another 30-40 minutes before we received our meal. My wife's food was cold, and my chicken was rather dry tasting (we heard that the chicken was supposed to be great). The waiter seemed confused the entire time, and also seemed to be upset at us for some reason (we never demanded anything from him, nor were we rude or obnoxious in any way). Overall, very disappointed and won't return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A delight in ambiance and taste

Dined on March 31, 2016

Wonderful southern food and atmosphere. The live piano music was wonderful, and they even had our son play piano with their performer. Absolutely will enjoy Pittypat's again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Maybe a tourist trap, but very good nonetheless!

Dined on March 31, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal, it was very tasty, the service was friendly, and it was a neat place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love PittyPat's Porch

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food was excellent, downhome delicious. Service was great by our server, Eric. Loved the experience and would gladly visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfort Food at its best

Dined on March 28, 2016

Here you will enjoy tons of delicious food and friendly staff. From the moment you walk in you are treated with real Southern hospitality. Menu is not overwhelming or pretentious. Just delicious comfort food. Difficult as it might be to save some room, you have to try a dessert to share amongst your group! Will definitely return on our next trip to Atlanta.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Cute exterior, fun waiter, okay food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Decided on this based on other reviews. The exterior is really old South cute - so it started out well. Our waiter Kelly was a bit sassy - but in a fun way. The food was the disappointing part. We had the fried chicken and the ribs. There was a lot of food - but it was just okay...not the amazing fried chicken I was expecting. The salad bar was pretty good - there was a reasonable variety. The muffins, bisquits, and cornbread were just okay... Overall, it was an okay dinner - but not something I would recommend to others.

food3
ambience3
service5

Very "homey" feel to the restaurant. The ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very "homey" feel to the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and courteous. However, I don't think that the food was the best Southern food I've ever tasted. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive to all of our needs. I came here with my family and children and it is a very family oriented restaurant. Unfortunately, it is not the best "soul food" I have tasted and will not be returning.

food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Don't Bother.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The entire experience was a disappointment. The sidebar was not fully stocked, and the salads were not good. The chicken was super greasy, and the fries were deep fried mush. We had hoped that at least the deserts would be good after not eating most of our meal. We were wrong. Bread pudding was mush. Key Lime pie had the texture of memory foam, and was covered with green syrup that was not a color found in nature. The brownie was dry and crumbly and mostly tasteless. That was $90 (for two adults and one child) that was not well spent. So, in short, don't go for the food. But the piano player was pretty good.

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Great Atmosphere for GWTW.

Dined on March 26, 2016

If you love Gone With the Wind you have to check this place out. If you don't like Gone With the Wind then don't bother. Our waitress Denise was absolutely amazing, seriously one of the best ever. Kind, courteous and a joy to talk with. I had the ribs and chicken. I confess I am a Yankee but these were probably the worst ribs I have ever had, it tasted like lighter fluid. The chicken was decent and the greens were on point. It was definitely overpriced but I would go back to see Denise and have something other than ribs. My wife absolutely loved the GWTW memorabilia.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

PittyPats Porthole Atlanta

Dined on March 25, 2016

Flexible and attentive to a large group with foodies AND picky eaters. Staff was great! Loved the piano player too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Dissappointed in chicken

Dined on March 19, 2016

I was told that the fried chicken was famous. I found it ordinary and lacked flavor. The salad bar was much better than the entre

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Began great, quickly dropped like a rock.

Dined on March 15, 2016

We arrived to a warm and authentic welcome by the hostess. We asked to be seated on the porch --- mistake number one! There was a street performer nearby who was belting out the loudest continual strings of songs that made the outdoor dining unpleasant. The excessively loud singing coupled with the recorded background music that came from the speaker near our table was just too much to enjoy. Our waitress was adequately pleasant but seemed to be distracted. We placed our order and waited and waited and waited. My plate came out and the server said that there had been some confusion in the kitchen and that the other three plates would be out soon (wife and two sons). I'm in a no win situation at this point ---- I can either sit by as my dinner gets cold, or begin eating while my family has to sit and watch. I was at least 5 minutes into nibbling at my meal when one more plate came out. Another 10 minutes passed before the last ones arrived at the table. (Did I mention that the noise level is unbearable?) Our food was 'ok' at best --- certainly didn't merit the price. I realize that the restaurant cannot control noise from the street but it can control the wait staff and the kitchen. I also realize that weird things can happen behind the scenes (like in the kitchen). But, good gravy someone should have stepped up and apologized, fixed the problem, comped our dinner, gave us complementary dessert.....OR SOMETHING!! We had enjoyed a great day of family fun and I didn't want it to end with me having to make a scene and complain to the manager. That would have been very unpleasant to my wife and both sons. I asked for the check so that we could be on our way. As I looked over it, I noticed that a 20% tip had already been added into the total and there was a line for an additional tip. You've got to be kidding me!! Our dinner for 4 (no alcohol or desserts) included nothing special and was just over $150.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Revisited after 40 years..

Dined on March 14, 2016

Last time I ate here was 40 years ago on a business trip to Atlanta. It was exactly as I remembered. Good food, friendly, unhurried service and nice ambience. Recommended and convienent location.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great local spot!!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great southern feel and food. Service was attentive. Don't believe some of the negative reviews. Sat down as soon as we walked in the door!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Atlanta

Dined on March 9, 2016

I've been to this restaurant twice now, once in a huge group and once with a close friend, and both experiences were wonderful. The restaurant has incredible atmosphere with live music, service was outstanding, and the food was unforgettable. The food was pricey but not unjustifiably so. I would love to return again someday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.