Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Pittypat's Porch Restaurant

Pittypat's Porch is Atlanta's oldest restaurant serving guests delicious Southern food and beverages by friendly experienced servers in a warm and comfortable, old fashioned environment reminiscent of the old South during the time of Gone with the Wind. The menu features our famous fried chicken, ribs and other traditional Southern specialties along with great steaks, fresh seafood and daily specials. A sideboard/salad bar includes freshly made Southern salads and specialties including chicken salad, fresh tomatoes, and other fresh vegetables seasoned just right. All of our breads and desserts are made right in our on site bakery. Be sure to save room for our delicious corn bread, muffins, pecan pie, hot peach cobbler with cinnamon ice cream and Larry's amazing BlackBottom Pie! We have a full bar with specialty drinks and extensive wine selection at great value. Y'all come soon!

25 andrew young international blvd
Atlanta, GA 30303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday-Thursday: 4:30pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 4:30pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(404) 525-8228

Website:
http://www.pittypatsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Southern themed music played throughout the restaurant and live piano on most nights. Special entertainment is available on request.

Catering:
All of Pittypats menu is available for take out and catering can be arranged by calling any of our managers.

Parking Details:
Parking is available on site and we have a special $5 rate for our customers only. Be sure to get your parking ticket validated before you leave.

Public Transit:
Peach-tree Center train station is only half a block away from us.

Watch for the opening in late spring 2014 of the new "Atlanta Downtown Streetcar" which will have a stop at the end of our street located at the Andrew Young Park and Statue. Hop on and off to come to Pittypat's for lunch or dinner.

Executive Chef:
David Myree

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Pittypat’s Porch is motor-coach friendly with convenient parking, and complimentary meals for the driver and group leader. Ask about our specialty accommodations and menus for your event! From rehearsal dinners, to business meetings, we’re happy to make the arrangements!

Pittypat's Porch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (32)
Comfort Food (30)
Casual (24)
See All
Fun (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Business Meals (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Live Music (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Like Epcot, expensive and fake feeling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Huge servings! Loved the collard greens, pecan crusted catfish fingers, and shrimp and grits. I was so full I couldn't even finish the peach cobbler which was very tasty! My server Bryce was extremely pleasant and attentive. Great place for real southern food!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Sadly, this 50 year old Atlanta staple is outdated. While the fried chicken and shrimp and grits were good, the salad bar is a small display of pickled vegetables. The peach cobbler was under baked with hard peaches and soggy crust. The ambiance needs updating. Low ceilings and old, country style tables and chairs make you feel like you're eating in grandma's basement. If you want to sample the southern food here, I suggest you sit on the porch and forgo the salad bar and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

This restaurant was a great disappointment. We were looking for a nice spot to enjoy some southern cuisine and instead it was very much a tourist trap. The dining room is in a basement and very noisy. We sat for 20 minutes and no one acknowledged us. The menus were very limited and certainly contained very little variety other than biscuits and fried food. No evidence of any wine list. We eventually got up and walked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 6 days ago

Ate on the veranda, awesome atmosphere, if you can stand the heat. Inside is nice too with the live music.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

A good southern welcome with friendly staff and authentic decor. Food ok but not exceptional, and expensive so not good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Southern hospitality at it's best. Excellent selection of comfort food that tastes better than anything your Ma Ma put on the table. Don't miss this one.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

I first ate here in 1980 - and was curious to see what the years had done for it. The food was delicious - southern cuisine, but with some elegance. The pork tenderloin with a peanut glaze was tremendous. The fried chicken servings were nearly comical in their size. The crab cakes also were 2 thumbs up. The piano player was just right.

SB

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 10, 2017

It felt like we were having dinner together as a family. Great home cooking....

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Wonderful experience from the time we walked in the door until we left. Great and friendly service from start to finish. Beautiful atmosphere. Delicious down South cuisine. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great place I have not been there for 30 years I was very happy it was still the Great place I remembered

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Terrance was our waiter he provided excellence service and very kind and jovial to us.

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

The place smells fantastic! We watch staff make and bake desserts while a terrific pianist entertained. Really great food, salad bar with a variety of price points to please everyone. Great southern atmosphere and great staff. Made a reservation for 12 co-workers and board members. They quickly accommodated a 13th person who could join us last minute. Within walking distance of Marriott Marques.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Live Music, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Unfortunately, I feel that Pittypat's Porch is living off its reputation. While the food was okay, it wasn't great. The entire floor by the salad bar was "sticky." Our shoes "stuck to the floor" everywhere in that area. It was like no one mopped that day. I don't care if someone spilled something 5 minutes earlier, you clear up the spill AND clean the floor. Our waiter was NOT attentive at all. We got cocktails at the beginning. Then, one member of our party ordered a glass of wine to drink with his dinner - it never arrived. Finally, two of us chose to split the check. When it arrived, we found that the bill showed a "party of 6" NOT a "party of 5" and an automatic 20% gratuity on the price of the food had been added. My colleague and I always tip at least 20% or more on the TOTAL cost including tax but in this case, we did NOT add anything. Nothing warrantied any extra gratuity. And I would NOT recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Nice "Southern" decor. Great "Southern" food.Glad I found it online!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was, by far, my favorite place we visited for dinner during a weekend stay in Atlanta. Wonderful sweet bread muffins! We couldn't possibly fit in a dessert after all the food included in the meal, so we came back a few days later to pick up a slice of the Pitty Pat pie. It was so delicious!

If I am ever in Atlanta again- Pitty Pat's will be on my "go to" list!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food is the thing here as the service is poor. Southern food done right and save room for the pecan pie, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Something of a tourist trap with no effort at making it all seem charming. A lot of money for fried chicken

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

If you think of "Gone With the WInd" meets Atlanta - this is the place..."Cupcake" was our
delightful server and the food was truly reflective of the famous southern hospitality! They have a combo meal of fried chicken and ribs - My,My, My!!! AND - do NOT think of missing the pecan pie!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I was in Atlanta for one night as a surprise for my wife who was there for a week for work. The restaurant was recommended by a trusted associate so I made a reservation. While good, the place didn’t wow me on any level. It’s not that it was bad but it wasn’t memorable in any real way. Which is a shame because I really wanted his trip to be as memorable as possible.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

I loved this place and will go back again the next time I'm in town. I think these guys wrote the definition of comfort food. The service was prompt and attentive, the food looked so appetizing I couldn't stop staring at the other patron's plates, and my own order (pork chops) was so good I practically licked the plate clean. The dessert menu just screams "everybody order something different and we will pass it around" -- except no one will want to pass theirs around when it shows up. My clients were tired of the standard business dinner options -- stuffy, pricey, uptight -- and just wanted good food in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, and this fit the bill perfectly. I was worried it would be a little too "touristy" or "gimmicky" -- there's an edge of that here, but it just comes across as soft and pleasant (sort of like a southern accent from an actor in an old movie).

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2017

As Atlanta's oldest restaurant, it's an iconic landmark that deserves a visit by locals and visitors alike. But Pittypat's Porch is more, especially for a business dinner where non-southerners deserve total emersion into what makes our part of the world special. The feel is comfortable, casual and calming. The food is fattening, healthy, both or somewhere in between. Waiters smile, recommend, cajole, and generally add to the atmosphere of a relaxed evening accentuated by and endless serenade of standards courtesy of a master pianist playing an old upright. Perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The good just wasn't good. The bread options were eve poor. Prices were high for poor quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was average. It took a long time for our food to come. I ordered the same meal as mine but her portion was 2x large (3 breasts vs a couple of wings, a drumstick and a thigh). I asked for a breast in place of my wings. They never came. The waitress gave us our checks without asking if we wanted dessert. And ofcourse our gratuity was already included in tab (even though we asked for separate checks and we're a party of five.) Find someplace else to eat on Peachtree St. There are plenty of better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was not seasoned well. There was too much going on with the piano, music playing, and the hostess yelling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our group of 10 enjoyed dinner in a private room around a large oval table. Our server was fun and attentive. The Salad Bar (comes with all the entrees or by itself) had some great options. Our group chose the fried chicken, crab cakes, shrimp & grits, and broiled catfish. It was all very good. I had the pecan pie for dessert and it was wonderful.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The owners visit with diners and are so gracious and friendly. Staff also very friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Considering there are so many other options in the area, there's a reason we come back here year after year during the convention for our group dinner. The food here is always excellent, the entire staff is very friendly and inviting, the music is good, and there's almost always a tables available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We were getting married on 8/27 and we wanted to schedule a special dinner between our parents. We chose this place because my mom loves anything related to Gone With The Wind. Parking was very easy and convenient next to the restaurant. The wait staff and every one was welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. They made our dinner all the more special. The service , the food, everything was superb. Hands down the best meal we have had in Atlanta to date. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were in ATL for family vacation. I had been one time before and fell in love with the collard greens and couldn't wait to get back. Everything was awesome. The chicken salad on the salad bar was even good! I probably had 1 too many of the peach margaritas but you only live once! We ordered 1 peach cobbler for dessert and immediately recognized that we needed another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Celebrated my birthday here. Great food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was good, but theme was weak. Meals are crazy large! You can definitely share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Granted it was Saturday night and crowded, but the experience started off rough. The hostess was by herself in a huge restaurant with walk=ins as well as groups with reservations. There was no attempt to distinguish between the two and those of us waiting in line to simply tell her that we had a reservation were frustrated that she kept seating walk-ins without checking with us first. There should have been 2 hostesses. The waitress was very nice and efficient but it took a very long time for the food to come out of the kitchen. It was also pretty loud, which made talking among friends less than ideal. All that said, the food was good (not great) and it is an interesting place to go.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had an early reservation time 5:15 but when we arrived at 4:45 seem like no one cared we were there. No bar service and just generally ignored until we went to table. So lost out on four bar drinks. Since we were basically first seated you would have thought we would have quick service but was not the case. Finally we ordered. Ordered Ribeye and was the worst piece of meat I have ever had. Ended up eating maybe four bites and gave up on it. Others with us was disappointed with their food as well. Chicken was only thing that was good. Over all disappointed with total experience had been 8 yrs ago and this time was a completely different experience and feel of a restaurant as before. Will never return and will tell others to avoid. Seems to be just a tourist trap now. No care for the people anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Extremely poor operations. Clueless host stand. Worst server ever. Food mediocre at best. Don't waste your time or money. Went for special southern experience and left angry! Go to South City!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My opinion?: Horrendous food. I'm actually writing this while sitting in bathroom as I'm sick to my stomach after my meal. Neither me nor my partner finished it.

One has to wonder who in the hell gave this restaurant positivr ratings and the dining options where they must live.

I'll guess that it survives because it is close to a bunch of downtown hotel with no repeat guests needed. IMHO it was overpriced crap food. Ugh, so regret this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Classic tourist trap. The theme draws people in, but the service is terrible, and the food is on par with basic chain restaurant fare (e.g. Fridays or Applebee's).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Their signature dish is fried chicken which I thought was very dry and over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We really enjoyed the setting and food. While it may not be considered as hip as other places, traditional southern selection and warm hospitality and decor made this a great choice for a brief stay in Atlanta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.