About Piropos Restaurant

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

ScenicView (60)
SpecialOccasions (60)
GoodForDates (52)
See All
Anniversaries (45)
WorthTheDrive (38)
Birthdays (33)
CreativeCuisine (32)
Romance (32)
Authentic (25)
QuietConversation (23)
Foodies (19)
NotableWineList (19)
Groups (17)
NeighborhoodGem (15)
BusinessMeals (14)
Cozy (13)
BarSeating (12)
OutdoorDining (11)
PrePostTheatre (10)
Fireplace (8)
SundayLunch (7)
Casual (7)
PrivateRoom (7)
HappyHour (7)
LateNightFind (6)
Lunch (6)
HandcraftedCocktails (5)
HotSpot (5)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Brunch (5)
ComfortFood (4)
DisabledAccess (3)
ChildFriendly (3)
TastingMenu (3)
VibrantBarScene (3)
PaleoFriendly (3)
ModernDecor (3)
AfternoonCoffee (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
Seasonal (2)
AfternoonTea (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
QuickBite (1)
LiveSports (1)
LocalIngredients (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
LiveMusic (1)
Sort By:
S
1726 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was great, food is always good, choices of food and wine wonderful. My wife and I always enjoy doing at Piropos.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was excellent as always - and provides a great view of KC. Prices very steep - but typical for Briarcliff.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have been here many times and in fact it was one of my favorite special occasion restaurants--until this visit. I have ordered the stuffed chicken before and loved it. This time my chicken was raw and the cheese inside still in small cubes and not melted. I sent it back and the waitress asked if I wanted a new one, something different or if they could just finish cooking my first one. Finish cooking it?! This is an upscale, expensive restaurant! I asked for a new one. While this one was not raw, the cheese was still not melted and my husband was already done with his food. And then we got the bill...they charged us for my meal. Absolutely ridiculous. The management must really suck here. Normally, I'm very forgiving of food issues, but normally management comes, apologizes, comps the meal and provides a little something extra. Not here. We won't be going back. It's too much to spend on subpar dining.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

EVERYTHING ABOUT OUR MEAL WAS PERFECT! WE REALLY ENJOYED IT.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Excellent experience: staff was fun, drinks were cold and food was amazing. Def will come back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in town! Took my family visitinf from out of town and they loves it too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Would appreciate waiter telling us of upcharge for getting veggies instead of potato or what option was not an upcharge

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

One of our absolute favorite restaurants. Love it.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Everything was wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great place for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was excellent the only set back was the waiter I know it was no. Sunday but he was showing how tired he was and every thing we asked for he gave us that feeling of "you are bothering me."

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great ambience, food, and service! Piropos went the extra mile in making our anniversary a special one by providing us with surprise complimentary desserts and accommodating our request for window seating!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The total experience was excellent, service was the best of upscale restaurantso we have visited, the food above excellent. Now that they have a Sunday brunch will be back soon.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Nice food, nice view, good service. Enough said. We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great restaurant for special occasions. We always have a great experience thanks to the fantastic wait staff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Amazing food, perfect service!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I really enjoyed the restaurant. It was my first time. I was given a table that had a view of the downtown KC Skyline. It was awesome. The food was very good and the staff very pleasant. I hope to go back and try more dishes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and service.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was great and service was timely. Wine list is lacking for a steakhouse.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

First time here with others who have been there many times. Really enjoyed the variety and quality of food, service and environment. Will certainly come back

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Quick Bite, Live Sports, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food, service, and view were all spectacular. Had a great evening and would definintly returb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

For the first time I made a reservation via OpenTable instead of calling. I requested 4 @ 5:30PM and preferably a window. We were there at 5:30 and promptly seated, however, were at the "owner's table" which frankly is the worst seat in the house. We have visibility into the kitchen and constantly saw workers going back and forth. Frankly, it ruined my meal and I feel like I wasted $225. The service was terrible, at least by Piropos standards. The guy acted like he wanted to be anywhere else beside helping us. I had to put both of my kids empty glasses at the edge of the table so somebody would hopefully fill them. After dozens of people walked by, our server finally showed up and filled them. We basically cleaned and stacked all of our dirty dishes and also put them on the edge of the table so somebody would take them. I got the filet and it was fine, but frankly the seating and server attitude really made me want to leave. It's going to be hard for me to come back knowing what kind of money will be spent

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Arrived at a time when brunch was only thing available. Would have liked the foods to have been labeled. Not sure of some things in the pans. Didn't really enjoy it that much. Next time will hold off for menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We took the family here for Mother's Day. They had a buffet and we caught the tail end of it. The waiters first comment was "I can't believe they let you in here. We're getting ready to close down the buffet and begin to get ready for our dinner this evening." There was not much left on the buffet to choose from. And what was left was dried out. Very disappointing. The dessert bar was even worse. For the price that we paid we were extremely disappointed. We've been here many times. This was by far the worst experience. However, I do believe it to be an isolated one.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch, service and restaurant atmosphere were excellent. Not mentioning any restaurant names, I made a big mistake making brunch reservations this past Easter Sunday. I redeemed myself with an excellent restaurant choice for Mother's Day. Piropos is well worth the value as well as travel time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is great. You have to watch them if you use OpenTable as when we keep our reservation. They cancelled them after we arrived so you didn't get your points.
I would recommend the brunch buffet. It is great. I little pricey. It would be great for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We tried Piropos for Mother'Day brunch on 5-14-17 and they missed the mark. Normally the service and food are outstanding! However, the Mother's Day brunch was a buffet with no menu options. Additionally, many of the food choices were not labeled; the breakfast options were eggs, hash browns and sausage. No waffles, pancakes, or toast options. No omelette options. The dessert table was really sad, very small and no labels of the dessert --so we had to guess. The food was good but the experience was not seamless. Finally, when I wished one of the female staff a Happy Mothers Day, she replied "I am not a mom." Most of the staff seemed to understand the importance of the day...but not everyone.
Piropos should stick to what they do well!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful food. Never dissatisfied. I would come back more often if I could find a babysitter more often. My fiancé and I love it!! Our favorite restaurant by far!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

we went for the night before mothers day we never go out mothers day to crowded we split soup salad and desert it was brought in seprate plates a BIG plus for me

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We took the whole family here for a Mother's Day dinner and it was perfect in every way. Highly recommend! Our waiter was tremendous and really made our experience great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We often stop here on the way home (to Johnson County) from KCI. Each time we marvel at how great the food is and how foolish we are to not come more often. Unique venue for KC and worth driving up north (Briarcliff) for. Very friendly staff and the empanadas are delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Celebrated belated birthdays and requested favorite waiter Jamie! Great food and great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went there for our aniversary, had reservations and still had to wait 20 minutes. The food was okay the carbonara is more like alfredo. Tamales were really good. Great view of KC cityscape if you get a window seat.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

very good. Waiters have to many tables to cover, and tend to get behind when they have to work a big group!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best steak I have had in the Kansas City area - and Kansas City has some great steaks.
Empandas were very good as an appetizer, Really enjoyed the scalloped potatoes as well.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love Piropos. Been twice and will be back many more times. Our favorite "date night" restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our Favorite Restaurant - we always have the best time!!!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food, outstanding service, vibrant atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had great service and an excellent view. The food was seasoned just right. Interesting menu

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I still love your restaurant but it will never be as special as it was in Parkville. So we don't come nearly as often, but it is one of the few places I can go to get a meal I can eat. I am a foodie with diet restrictions. Dairy-free options would be good. And food cooked in healthier oils (NOT corn or soy!!!). We had a lovely time and we will be back for special occasions.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.