About Piropos Restaurant

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (73)
Special Occasion (73)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Scenic View (56)
Romantic (54)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Worth the Drive (37)
Notable Wine List (33)
Authentic (29)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (16)
Fireplace (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Private Room (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food, outstanding service, vibrant atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had great service and an excellent view. The food was seasoned just right. Interesting menu

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I still love your restaurant but it will never be as special as it was in Parkville. So we don't come nearly as often, but it is one of the few places I can go to get a meal I can eat. I am a foodie with diet restrictions. Dairy-free options would be good. And food cooked in healthier oils (NOT corn or soy!!!). We had a lovely time and we will be back for special occasions.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was terrific...from the cocktails (wandering gaucho was tasty) to appetizer (calamari) to entrees (peppercorn filet) to Birthday dessert (flan). Service is fantastic - they are very attentive! Can't wait to go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The best high end restaurant in Kansas City. The food is presented beautifully and is procured with great care...you don't find shrimps that big or meat that tender haphazardly. Thank you for caring about creating perfection. Everything was exquisite. My only complaint is that the restaurant is always cool with air blowing at every table. Serious gale inside! Also our server was a bit less enthusiastic this time, but still attentive and well informed and professional. This place is always just busy enough to feel like you have company but never crowded or intense. And for a sunset view, it can't be beat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Piropos and we were not disappointed. Exceptional meal and excellent service. Looking forward to returning in the near future!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is by far our favorite KC restaurant so far. It's a bit on the pricey side (avg $100 each sharing an appetizer, each one drink, an entrée each, and shared desert). But, we were stuffed as they are healthy portions and found the food worth it. We will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Private Room, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Girls nite out for dinner and cocktails--beautiful view, awesome menu/food and great service with ambience to match!! One of my favorite places!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fun, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Absolutely gr at place, food, atmosphere and hospitality are over the top!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Had reservation for two, ended up inviting 4 more -- no problem setting a table by the window -- nice!
Brought our own b'day cake -- nicely cut and served with candles!

Very efficient and friendly service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's a nice and relaxing atmosphere, the lamb and the crab soup was delicious but the Milanesa was not what I expected. Above all the attention was very friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot, Private Room, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My date was very impressed with the proper preparation of her steak filet. She alsoso was it in the hammered with the potatoes au gratin. I was taken with the mushrooms she shared with me.

Check provide a good service. There when you needed him.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Piropos was a special treat! The ambiance, service, and food were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We've always heard great things about, Piropos, but just don't tend to spend that sort of money for eating out, but it made for a fabulous first impression and special occasion outing in the future.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great place for casual, business and date night dining. A bit pricey but it was worth it. Spent $250 for 3 people having drinks, appetizer and steaks. Reserve days ahead for window dining. Fantastic view of KC

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fireplace, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We go to Piropos occasionally and happened to go twice in a 2-week period. This time was a special family dinner. Everyone in our party ordered steak. The chef prepared every steak as requested, perfectly. Everything was delicious. We always enjoy the condiments served with bread, particularly the garlic. We always try to think of something that could be improved, but this visit it would be very difficult to find something. Service was wonderful. We had the center table in front of the windows for that incredible view. Just wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place. I'm a customer of Piropos for some time already. Never disappointed with the food and service.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

My husband said his meal was the best meal he had eaten in a very long time. He had the Beef Medallions w/ Jumbo Shrimp. He said the sauce that each one had next to it, was just perfect. He doesn't usually like much sauces. He likes to taste the meat. I was tempted to try some of his, but I was full from my dinner. I only ate 1/3 of it. It was the baked tilapia. I took the rest home and made 2 more meals out of it. I also had the spinach salad with a fried goat cheese. Absolutely delicious. I don't usually care for goat cheese, but this was great. Our table let us look out over the downtown KC. They had the fire pit going outside, but we were too tired. Great place to go.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Brought my boyfriend for a birthday lunch - it was perfect. Quiet, good view until clouds rolled in but the food and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food, staff, drinks and ambience were all wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love this restaurant. Food is out of this world. Would have liked to hear some tangos in the background. Maybe offer some post-meal mate (tea) as well?

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The occasion was a friend's birthday celebration. Piropos was perfection. Not only were we given a spectacular table, the service was prompt, pleasant, and unobtrusive. To rop it all off, an elegant surprise dessert was presented to my guest!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 21, 2017

great service, fun server, great food, we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We go to Piropos once in a while. It is pricy so it is not as often as we might like. After this meal, we tried to think of something that might be improved on. All we could come up with was making stronger iced tea. Everything from the bread and spreads (the olive oil and garlic is our favorite) to the soup (we had steak soup) to the steaks and everything with them to the churros (yes, save room for the churros) was delicious. Finally, the view of downtown KC is beautiful. In the winter we are usually there at sundown and it is magnificent. You won’t regret spending the money to go here.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This is the second time I've dined at this restaurant. The first time I took my mother there for Mother's Day and this time was a date night with my wife. Both experiences superb. Will be returning again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food with terrific view. Knowledgeable staff and friendly overall place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The entrees were good, the salad outstanding. One drawback was the amount of butter on the seafood. A bit rich for my taste, but that's not a criticism. The prices are high in my experience. $140 (with tip) for a salad, two meals and two glasses of wine is higher than what I would classify as a good value. The ambience is exceptional, as was the service, namely Hector, a very dignified and refined gentleman. When I asked him to surprise me with a white wine of his choice, the selection greatly exceeded my expectations. He made me and my guest feel very much at ease, welcome and appreciated. The service would prompt me to patronize the establishment again.

My guest adds:

The view of downtown KC is lovely, and the space inside Piropos is very elegant. However, their food does not equal their cost. I can get better food without the big bill elsewhere. But I am also a big foodie with a critical eye. I like complex flavor blends. The best flavor was the sauces for the courtesy bread. Presentation was lovely, and the service was above par. Hector was courteous and had that keen intuition of when to wander by the table and check in.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great experience! Knowledgeable waitstaff, food was brought out promptly and was of the utmost quality! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our server was very helpful and attentive all night! We would love to have him serve us again! Please give him our thanks!

There was a group having some kind of party out in the open at the top of the stairs. They were the first thing we noticed and heard as soon as we got uptairs to the dining area and the last thing we noticed and heard as we were leaving the dining area. They seemed to be out of place. They were noisy but that is expected with a party. We had no personal interaction with anyone in the group. The restaurant just seemed to be letting them have a party in the wrong space.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great dinner with wife and friends. Excellent food, great waiter and beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We arrived early, but were seated promptly. The service was excellent: attentive, efficient, and thorough.

Both of our entrées were delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Birthday celebration. Excellent steaks and service. Very good apetizers. View in the afternoon to see sunset while dining is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Piropos offers beautiful views of the KC Skyline and delicious Argentian inspired food. We ate at Piropos to celebrate an anniversary. Our server was fantastic. The food was delicious. The empanadas are especially terrific with well seasoned filling and flaky crust. This is a great place for special events.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Heard about this place for years and decided to give it a try. Atmosphere was subpar given the menu prices. While we waited for service at several points a "regular" was visited for quite some time by employees from managers, different waiters and bus personnel. Booths do not have tablecloths (odd for $40.00 entree place) and are too deep for service staff (spent quite a bit of time passing drinks and food since the staff did not even try to reach). Overall, a disappointment. Don't know why anyone living south of the river would bother. Brookside, Plaza and CrossRoads offer many better alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a nice time having dinner last week. Our waiter was nice, but a little slow in coming back to our table. My husband was a little slow in picking out the wine and she seemed a little impatient at him. otherwise, all went well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent!! Started with Brie, then the lamb chops and tenderloin medallions with Shrimp. All three choices were outstanding! Our server was also spot on and gave us a great wine recommendation . Try it.. you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of my most favorite restaurants! The food is superb! Service is always outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Server seemed to believe that because we were wearing jeans and joking around that apparently we would be a bad table. He instantly seemed annoyed with us.
Our tab was 188$. I left 220$.
I shouldn't have. We waited a long while for drinks and refills.
Our appetizer/empanada courses seemed really rushed. The brie was good but very overpriced in my opinion.
My filet was good but tepid (sauce was tepid as well), potato gratin was cold.
My dining partner was happier with his ribeye, said the flavor was great.
Creme brûlée flavor was overwhelmed by the liqueur used to flambé it. You should just brûlée it with a torch and some Demerara sugar.
Banana cake, excellent.
Chocolate Mousse cake, fair.
Overall won't likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great good, excellent service and amazing sunset and city skyline views as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.