About Piropos Restaurant

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (57)
Special Occasion (52)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (40)
Worth the Drive (35)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Authentic (26)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Anniversary dinner. The evening was lovely, did not feel rushed, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorite places! We love the atmosphere and the art and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The service is first class and the food is outstanding. I always appreciate that the level of service for a single diner is no less than a group.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been several times and the food did not disappoint. Osso bucca was great as were the empanadas. Problem was the service. Slow and not very timely. Our server seemed to be in the kitchen a lot and often returned to the dining room empty handed. She was very friendly, just always seemed to behind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A beautiful night with a beautiful woman! Delicious food and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great views, ambience, and service. Exceptional food and wonderful decor. A little pricey, but a great spot for special occasions. The meal won't disappoint!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful food and wine--and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server and the food was fantastic! I ordered the rack of lamb and it was easily one of the best lamb dishes I've had. I had a Groupon that was going to expire soon so I decided to take my friend for a nice Monday night dinner and it was a first time for both of us so having the discount helped with trying out this restaurant. I'm definitely coming back for special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food quality seemed a little on the short side this visit. Wasn't as good as previous visits.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner @ Piropos. We were celebrating our anniversary. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Nice ambiance. Venue provided a complimentary dessert in recognition of our special occasion. Very nice way to celebrate our special occasion. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Service was beyond expectations, the cuisine delightful and best view north of the river.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Good as usual. Love celebrating special occasions here. Always good food and good service although the prices are a little higher than I remember from last time. Great view is the bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had reservations for 7:45pm on Saturday, July 29. When we got there, the host said he only had the table right by the entrance, or a high-top at the bar; otherwise we could wait just a few minutes for a table by the window. Given we were not in a rush, we opted to wait for a nice table. Well, 45 minutes later we were seated. Our waiter finally came to our table, told us the specials, said he was going to get us some bread. 15 minutes later he came to our table, NO BREAD, and asked if we were ready to order. REALLY?!!? Absolutely unacceptable for a restaurant that claims to be fine dining. We walked out, went to Trezo Mare and had a fabulous dinner. Will NOT be back, as this was not our first time with poor service at Piropos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We liked the empanadas and the chopped salad. We shared an entrée of beef milanesa. I understand that the meat is supposed to be very thin in this dish, but they took it to the extreme. You could hardly find the paper thin piece of beef in all the breading. I would not order this dish again. We did see some dishes that looked very good, including a seafood mixed grill that I probably would try if I went again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Celebrated our 30th anniversary. The ambiance and service were excellent. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere Service was attentive and timely.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Piropos never let's me down. Every meal I've had there has been great

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had a fantastic time. The food and service was exceptional. It was intimate and we had a window table and watched a lightening storm happen as we had our dinner. The hostess was very accommodating when called to say we were running late and the owner stopped at our table to welcome us. The Argentinian art is beautiful too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service was good. Some of the food was amazing, some was mediocre, and some was a bit disappointment. Both empanadas we tried were excellent. I had the spinach salad as a starter - the goat cheese croquette was amazing, but the roasted red peppers were a little undercooked and lacked that sweetness that pairs so well with goat cheese. The dressing was a little bland, and wasn't really cohesive with the rest of the dish. That being said, I ate all of it. It fell into the mediocre category.

The filet au poirve was one of the best steaks I've had, in terms of how it was cooked. It was a perfect medium rare, with a really nice sear on the outside. The sauce was unlike any au poirve I've had before, but I didn't dislike it. The potatoes au gratin were also really good.

My partner had the trout - he said it was awesome and I believed him. I did try his risotto and it was delicious.

Our daughter had penne Alfredo which she said had no flavor (she was right), but I added some salt and pepper and she was satisfied.

We ordered two desserts, and unfortunately, both were a let down. The churros were stale, and the Chocolate ganache tasted like a very mediocre chocolate syrup. We also had creme brûlée and it hadn't set. It was disappointing, but we're both restaurant people and none of this would stop us from returning or recommending the restaurant to others. Other than the desserts, everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and view. Great staff and service. Great menu selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great wait staff that made sure all eight of us were taken care of
Great selection of food.
Enjoyed it

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One of the best in KC, been several times, a great meal and service every time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Carrie did a fantastic job tonight. Great dinner, steaks cooked perfectly. Music would have been a nice addition to the background noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Piropose always exceeds expectation! Great food, great service, great atmosphere, and great view. Our family has dined there several times celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, etc. and have never been unimpressed or disappointed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Steak was wonderful, service was wonderful! We'll definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Another great meal and nice evening for business and pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Been here many times. Never disappointed with food nor service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 8, 2017

So appreciated everyone telling us happy anniversary and treating us with respect. It's not easy for gay couples to find places that are so inviting so thank you very much.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great dinner. I had the trout almandine and my friend had the salmon. We also split a Caesar salad. Everything was wonderful, as was the host and waitress. A lovely discovery!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food is always amazing and the service excellent. It is expensive but it's always a treat when we go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! The food was amazing and the service was even better. Be sure to try their empanadas!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I had not been to Piropos in over 6 years so I feared that It might not be as good as I remembered. It was even better! I dine alone a lot so one criteria is how well a place treats the single diner as opposed to a group or couple. I received outstanding service. Food is divine. Server helped me decide between two choices on entree and dessert. He picked exactly what my preference was. Definitely a MUST return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our entire experience here! Get the empanadas!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Piropos makes a special occasion even more special. Everything was delicious. Service was very attentive and friendly without being overbearing. View of downtown KC at sunset was a feature all by itself. Not cheap, but very well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I visited Piropos for the first time on 6/24/17 and we would love to come back! We had a reservation and upon arriving we were given the option of a table inside or outside on the patio/balcony area. It was a beautiful evening so we chose to sit outside. The host was very gracious in setting up the table and putting up the umbrella for us. Our server was very attentive yet unintrusive as we enjoyed our meal. If you're a tequila fan I highly recommend The Wandering Gaucho cocktail. It was phenomenal and so refreshing! My husband had a class of cabernet and really enjoyed it. Our food arrived hot and perfectly made. The spices and flavors in the food were bold and savory. There was nothing bland about any aspect of the meal. My husband finds many restaurants bland or needing more seasoning but his meal was perfect and there was nothing left on his plate! I wish I'd had room for dessert because there was a very tempting selection. I can't wait to return to Piropos. The only downside is the price. This is definitely fine dining as far as price is concerned, but you also get what you pay for in this case. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service was great, food is always good, choices of food and wine wonderful. My wife and I always enjoy doing at Piropos.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great food ! Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was excellent as always - and provides a great view of KC. Prices very steep - but typical for Briarcliff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent dining, beautiful surroundings, superb service, and a friendly staff made our wedding anniversary all that extra memorable and special. Love it, and definitely will go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have been here many times and in fact it was one of my favorite special occasion restaurants--until this visit. I have ordered the stuffed chicken before and loved it. This time my chicken was raw and the cheese inside still in small cubes and not melted. I sent it back and the waitress asked if I wanted a new one, something different or if they could just finish cooking my first one. Finish cooking it?! This is an upscale, expensive restaurant! I asked for a new one. While this one was not raw, the cheese was still not melted and my husband was already done with his food. And then we got the bill...they charged us for my meal. Absolutely ridiculous. The management must really suck here. Normally, I'm very forgiving of food issues, but normally management comes, apologizes, comps the meal and provides a little something extra. Not here. We won't be going back. It's too much to spend on subpar dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.