About Piropos Restaurant

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (59)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for a Date (56)
See All
Romantic (52)
Scenic View (47)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Notable Wine List (28)
Authentic (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Business Meals (20)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Modern Decor (11)
Private Room (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fun (9)
Fireplace (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
People Watching (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tapas (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Server seemed to believe that because we were wearing jeans and joking around that apparently we would be a bad table. He instantly seemed annoyed with us.

Our tab was 188$. I left 220$.

I shouldn't have. We waited a long while for drinks and refills.

Our appetizer/empanada courses seemed really rushed. The brie was good but very overpriced in my opinion.

My filet was good but tepid (sauce was tepid as well), potato gratin was cold.

My dining partner was happier with his ribeye, said the flavor was great.

Creme brûlée flavor was overwhelmed by the liqueur used to flambé it. You should just brûlée it with a torch and some Demerara sugar.

Banana cake, excellent.

Chocolate Mousse cake, fair.

Overall won't likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Great good, excellent service and amazing sunset and city skyline views as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience there. Everything was great just the Prices I found were a bit too high for what is being served. Other than the Special Occasion for me at the end of the night is what mattered.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Piropos is a great place! Great food, great service, great location! I first took my wife there for her birthday and later took my whole family. Best restaurant in Kansas City!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, People Watching, Historic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

You absolutely must have the steak with brandy cream sauce!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First things first, the building is beautiful, food is amazing and the wait staff were courteous and very knowledgeable about what is in every dish. I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Another great night of world class service. Loved their valentine cheesecake special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The evening was going well and steak was moderate. The empanadas were

Great. I told the waiter I was in the military. He gave me an awful look. When he brought the check he makered the tip section and total section in front of me. I will never take my family here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was amazing despite the kitchen being busy for Valentine's day. Quality and taste not compromised at all. Was worth it and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for valentines day, food eas great and service was phenomenal. Will definitley be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Other parties arrived after us ate and left prior to us receiving our food. Once food did arrive it was sub-par. The environment was pleasant but the dinner was a special occasion and our experience was not as good as past experiences from the Parkville location. We would not recommend this location after this experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waiter was slightly rude when he learned I was ordering a well done steak, from that point the service went downhill. Had to wait almost an hour for our food not to mention we had a reservation aND still had to wait 20-30 mins for our table but that wasn't that big of a deal since it was Valentines day,I understand but on top of him being rude and stuck up to a young couple who look like they've never eaten there before and won't leave a big tip. Well of course not if we get treated like that. Food was great tho.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ive been to this location in several occasions and it was always great, but this visit was a disappointment , it was way too crowded not able to provide the attention needed for the price and it seemed to take for ever to get the food, it would be ok if the food would be great but we had to send back the steak because well done i guess mean blood red middle, the cheesecake was great though. I was not happy with the experience at all what so ever but maybe next time it will be better

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited for Valentine's Day 2017 with my wife. We had been to Piropos before, but it has been about 5 years and it was at the former location in downtown Parkville. Overall the ambiance was still great at the new location, food was good, but not quite as good as I seemed to remember. The most disappointing part of the night was the sub-par service. We had a waitress who seemed to just want to constantly remind us how busy she was and how hard she was working all the while stumbling over her words. Sorry, but I'd rather the focus not be on my server instead of my conversation and dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great filet with a tasty mild butter sauce. Excelllent cut and finish on the filet. Empanadas are fantastic and a must. The view in the eve is spectacular. Request a table, the booths are too high backed and offer no or limited views of the city skyline from briarcliff.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent. It was a little pricey but I saw where the extra money went. I would recommend for a nice date night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I figured out about ten years ago that we would no longer go out to dinner on Valentine's day. Even some of our favorite restaurants weren't the same on Valentine's day. You felt as if they only cared about turning the table. We decided we would celebrate Valentine's day either the weekend before or the weekend after. This has worked out fantastic, up until the other night. Piropos is one of our all time favorite restaurants. Unfortunately our waiter was very disengaged and inattentive. It was as if it we were once again out on Valentines day. It doesn't matter how great the ambiance or food is. Your server can make or break your experience. On our next visit we will definitely request a different server. The server is the only reason I couldn't give five stars on my overall review.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary. We have celebrated our anniversary several times at this location and we love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love coming here several times a year. Great, food, wine and service.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding as usual. The Peppercorn Filet is always perfectly cooked and the banana cake is to die for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of my all time favorite restaurants; I visit twice a year without fail when in town.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very friendly, great service, tasty food. Would have been nice to have bread .

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Piropos is one of my favorites with consistently good food and service. It is a wonderful place for any special occasion with great views from almost every seat in the house.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic Evening!! We did have reservations, so we were seated right away. Hostess was very friendly with a nice smile. Then our waitress came, she was so very pleasant and informative. She answered all of our questions and made great suggestions, all with a pleasant smile. She checked on us but never hovered and the bus boy was right there to keep our table clean for the next course. We both ordered fish, me Tilapia and my spouse the Sea Bass. Both were perfectly cooked, displayed beautifully, and very, very good. Overall a very memorable evening, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pleasantly surprised after a bad experience 4 months ago. Back in good with us again!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Everything was lovely. Beautiful ambiance. manager always stops to say hi and see if everything is ok. One mistake on food quickly remedied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Some work colleagues/professional contacts from San Diego - with the Port of San Diego - (re-routed through KCI) called us last minute (World Trade Center -Kansas City @ Union Station) and wanted to meet up last minute for drinks/dinner at a location near the airport hotel where they were staying. I chose Piropos because of the location, excellent steaks (which I knew would represent KC well), but mostly bc of the restaurant's beautiful view of the downtown skyline!

Our server was Ted. Wow. What a great guy and excellent server. He really knew the menu. He was very friendly and really impressed our out of town guests with his ability to speak French & Spanish! Would highly recommend him to anyone making reservations.

Couldn't have gone better! Thank you Piropos and Ted for making us proud of Kansas City to our guests who work for the City of San Diego. They said they couldn't wait to visit KC during the daytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great atmosphere with great food and service. Food presentation was amazing. So many different selections. Great wine lists.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and a birthday. This was our first time to Piropos. We got there a little early and went to the bar. They were very friendly and the cocktails were delicious. We were seated in a corner booth with a view. The empanadas were wonderful. We also had the lobster and the lamb chops . Both were outstanding. Our server was Mark He was very polite, efficient and knowledgeable . He chose our wines and they were perfect! We will definitely be back and bring friends. It was a lovely anniversary. The anniversary was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We three couples get together each year to celebrate a combination, life changing event and birthday. We select a different place each year and we had never been to Piropo's and it was definitely a pleasant surprise. Prompt and attentive service without being too pushy and great selection of tapas and each entree was cooked to perfection. My wife said it was the best pork chops she had ever eaten and the steaks and sea food were well adorned with crisp vegetables. We will definitely be back and look forward to great city view's and excellent food.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our service was awful, very rushed an inatentive. Our steaks were burnt and tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We eent there for Restaurant Week specials. We had the pork and salmon. The creme brulee. I think it is the best in the city. The waiter was terrific. I cannot find one thing that was less than five star. If you want outstanding food, service and ambience go to Piropos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This was our first visit to the restaurant. We had previously tasted the Piropos' food at events throughout the city and loved it. We were not disappointed The food was soooo good.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Beautiful view and restaurant....SUPER delicious food!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Piropo's is a bit of a drive from our house in south KC, but we never hesitate to make the trek when we have the opportunity. Our reservations have always been ready upon arrival, the staff is courteous and the food is outstanding. The view from the room, while always lovely, was particularly beautiful as the Christmas lights were still shining during our January 21 visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food, an overall great dining experience. Great vies of the city and a beautiful interior and great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Ate lunch here for restaurant week. The food was very good (dessert not so great). There were several regular menu items that sounded amazing. Our waiter was obviously new, so I'm not judging them on service. But the overall feel of the room was fun and fancy all at once. I loved it

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food, service and atmosphere was excellent. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Glad we had the choice to go there restaurant week. Will go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our first visit there. We were pleasantly surprised. Everything was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food and service every time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I went with a friend for Restaurant Week. However, I've been dining here on special occasions for years. I love their food, atmosphere, and the service is always good.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Seasonal, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The food was fantastic and our server in the bar Matt was wonderful. One of our favorite restaurants, love the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We have eaten at Piropos many times and have always been pleased with good food and service. We ate at Piropos Monday 1/16/17 during Restaurant Week and were terribly disappointed. My husband had the rib eye steak - the meat was so tough that he had trouble even cutting it - finally gave up - and did not complete his meal. Our service was good as always. Very disappointing compared to our previous visits - not a good presentation for those that have never been before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have always wanted to try Piropo's and KC Restaurant Week was a great incentive. Our food was great, but our service was really slow...wondering if the kitchen was backed up. I am also wondering if they were caught off guard by KCRW, but we went at noon which is usually a busy time, and we were seated immediately. My only issue is our food was not on our table until 12:45 which means this would not be an easy place for a quick lunch...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great I have eaten there several times and Love the food! I was disappointed this time because we decided to take some of our family out for restaurant week and the server was terrible. She was incredibly slow and forgot several things we ordered. Multiple times we had to remind her of different things we ordered that she did not bring out. Two of us ordered chili and when she brought it to the table she asked if we wanted sour cream with it. Both of us said yes we would. about 10 min later she brought out another bowl of chili for one of us and said she was sorry she forgot, but here is some chili with sour cream. We were never asked how our steaks were cooked or how the food tasted. When she brought out our dessert one of us ordered a creme brulee, she lit it at the table and almost dropped the dessert on one of our laps while on fire. I love Piropos and would recommend it in the future I was just deeply disappointed in the server we had.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Server was knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was delicious. Very nice atmosphere inside with a decent view in a nice area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Order steak medium came out rare… Very rare..........

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding! We have been many times and will be back!

Love the staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time there and we were taking our foodie friend out for his belated 40th birthday. The service was excellent. Everything was explained to us as to what to expect. We were not rushed in any way and are excited about finding another reason to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Private Room, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.