About Piropos Restaurant

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
1 More
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

special occasion (99)
scenic view (94)
romantic (82)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
notable wine list (35)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this place - it is our "go-to" r ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We love this place - it is our "go-to" restaurant when we visit Kansas City. Wonderful staff, great food and a nice view of the city. Highly recommend the tenderloin medallions with shrimp - with lovely Brandy cream sauce. The chocolate churros are also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

The empanadas were incredible. The entre ...

Dined 4 days ago

The empanadas were incredible. The entree was okay. The caipirinha was the worse I've ever had.

food3
ambience4
service4

My waiter was great. He was very attenti ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

My waiter was great. He was very attentive and knowledgeable and made my dining experience very pleasant.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Almost Exceeded our expectations

Dined on May 14, 2016

Chose this restaurant on a recent trip to KC, primarily because it was very close to our hotel and the menu was a bit different. We were seated in the piano bar area and the pianist is engaging, friendly, and plays jazz standards by ear. Also throws in a bit of classic country along the way. Nice range of choices on the menu. Shrimp and scallops were perfectly cooked. On a Friday night the restaurant was busy and our server was a little slower than we preferred. Since we were on vacation we asked for the dessert menu. We selected a dessert but lost interest before the server returned to our table. Very good food, good atmosphere. We would go back.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

Piropos never disappoints. The food is wonderful, and the wines from Argentina are an extra treat. Beautiful presentation, good selection. Service is impeccable. Love going here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1

Service was terribly slow but it was Mot ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was terribly slow but it was Mother's Day and they were slammed. Despite that we will go back as the ambiance is unique and the food was fabulous.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Well it was Mother's Day, so I guess I should have expected delays, but we made a reservation for 12:45, and when we arrived, the hostess said it would be about 10 minutes since our reservation was not until 1pm. We got our table in about 10 minutes, so not a big deal, and our server was prompt at first, and got our drinks and appetizers quickly. But did not come back for our order for about 15 minutes. Then once our order was placed, we waited an hour for the food to arrive -- not much interaction from the waiter during this time -- he was busy. The food arrived, and overall quality was good, but one plate arrived with no mashed potatoes as they were out of mashed potatoes -- but also the plate arrived with no substitute for the mashed potatoes, and no explanation. After we asked, a substitute was provided. The kitchen was obviously not keeping up with demand, and the wait staff was overwhelmed and unable to offer decent service. Probably better on another day that is not so swamped. The Manager apologized for the service, but offered no compensation

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Experienced waiters, excellent halibut. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Experienced waiters, excellent halibut. Cool if you sit by the windows...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional! Rival to KC's best.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Exceptional dinner, attentive and personable staff/hostess, and a great atmosphere...might have become new favorite KC restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Everything about this place was good... the ambiance, the staff (Fred was great!), the wine, and the food. The courses were timed well. We never felt like we were rushed into the next course to ultimately free up the table for a later reservation (which has happened at other places). Piropos is wonderful choice for that special occassion or a quiet evening out. They never disappoint! Highly recommend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a group of six sitting near the wind ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a group of six sitting near the window on a Friday evening. We were seating promptly. Had the calamari and empanadas - not anything exciting there. However, the house salad and entrees brought rave reviews! I had the filet, others had the seafood medley, peppercorn filet, salmon, and ribeye. Grandma said her steak could be cut with a fork. My son had the only neutral comment that the salmon was bland - I put that down to a teenage review - the bite I had was great and he finished every bit! Desserts were Banana cake, churro, and cheesecake. Each was the favorite of at least one at the table! Overall, a great visit!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great anniversary date night!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Enjoyed the night. Great waiter and excellent view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant

Dined on April 23, 2016

We've been to Piropos many times & have never been disappointed. The food, wine & ambiance combine for a perfect dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food always outstanding

Dined on April 17, 2016

Hubby had filet which was excellent and my salmon was fantastic, as well as sides. Drinks were kept refreshed and server appropriately attentive. We both had dessert, though I had to finish mine the next day. Both wonderful - banana cake and chocolate Leche something cake.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic environment and divine food!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Every aspect of this dining experience was point on. The staff was also very great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is beautiful. We went in the e ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

The place is beautiful. We went in the early evening and got to watch the city lights cone on from the beautiful view our table had. The food was exquisite. Very nice!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service

Dined on April 10, 2016

We wanted to bring friends somewhere special for their last dinner in the US before returning home to Europe and they loved it. The food was very good and so was the service. Wonderful communication with the staff prior to our reservation. Thank you for a very special evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Divine!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food and the atmosphere was amazing. Great for special occasions. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2

Nice atmosphere and great location. Foo ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Nice atmosphere and great location. Food was just okay. Steak was way over cooked.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

matt hlavacek MD DDS

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our waitress forgot to enter our salad order which came after the entrée. We missed some of the traditional bread relish before dinner (only two) and ordered dessert after. We have been coming to Piropos for over 12 years and have continued to see the quality of service decline. In the old days at the Parkville location, the salad would have been compensated and we would have been offered free dessert for the special dinner (10 yr anniversary). The food was good but the service was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience! We went here for the ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Great experience! We went here for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. And it was really good! Someone overheard it was our 16th anniversary and gave us a coupon for our dinner that night, and they brought us a dessert with a lit candle in it, very nice. We even met the owners who were introducing themselves to their guests. Very nice people. fantastic restaurant with amazing food, We will definitely return 👍🏻

food4
ambience5
service5

Great place for an anniversary date with ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great place for an anniversary date with my wife. Live piano music and comfortable atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Wonderful meal, professional servers and beautiful view if Kansas City!

food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service

Dined on March 5, 2016

The restaurant and service was outstanding. I ordered a pasta and was less then pleased with the sauce. It was not what I was expecting. It seemed to have to much butter and the taste was off. I expected much better. But Fred was outstanding, the drinks were wonderful and the place is a great spot for a date night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Good

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere! Good food. Great place for lunch or dinner.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Evening Getaway Spot

Dined on February 28, 2016

The view and the food was tremendous. Service is a bit relaxed, but I think they want you to just slow down and enjoy the whole experience. I highly recommend this for an anniversary dinner, small group gathering, or family celebration dinner. Beware, the food does have a little extra "kick" because of the Argentinean spices, but overall a definite go-to place!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for special occasions!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went here for a special treat of a last date night before baby is born-great choice! We went all out and ordered their empanadas, appetizers, entrees, and desserts and everything that we had was excellent. Although it was a little more expensive than what we would spend on a typical night out, it is perfect for a special occasion and definitely worth it. Would definitely recommend and hope to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and atmosphere. Allowed to l ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Allowed to linger a bit too long. Don't like to wait when ready for the check.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not quite perfect

Dined on February 15, 2016

Overall, our food was good. My wife had shrimp and medallions. They were heavy handed on the spices for the shrimp. The medallions looked more like flank steak than medallions we are used to. I had the filet mignon with potatoes. It was well cooked and seasoned. We sat next to an empty dining room. A cold breeze kept coming thru the door, so despite our proximity to the fireplace, it was rather cool. Despite all that, the view was nice of the downtown skyline. Going at sunset makes it really nice. Our waiter was fantastic and the cost was on par for restaurants of this calibre.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on February 15, 2016

My service was fantastic! The waitress was very nice and gave us complimentary champagne. We would go back!

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

The overall quality and taste of the Food

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food did not meet any of the expectations I held it at for the amount of money it was valued at. My steak was burnt and the mushrooms were bland.

food5
ambience4
service5

My wife had the prime rib, I had the bon ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife had the prime rib, I had the bone-in ribeye. Both were fantastic! We enjoyed some amazing deserts too. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very efficient time wise. No waiting with reservations. Pricey but great food and service so perfect for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Gem

Dined on February 14, 2016

Piropos is a diamond of a restaurant for romance. The very name means flirt. We went for Valentines Day. Every time I eat there I leave thinking it was one of the best meals of my life.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointing Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Poor Service. server was rushed all night and forgot drink orders. no energy level, lack of enthusiasm. the person who poured / refilled water glasses did it in a fast sloppy manner that splashed water about. and they did not even greet us on the first pour, just slopped it in and kept on moving. same for clearing the table, not much warning and a mad grab in to take the dishes. Poor Food. medium ++ means RARE I guess, I had to have my steak recooked a second time just to have it not as rare. I said asparagus and I got green beans. iceberg lettuce salads were poor. small servings for a very high price. drinks were overpriced. Management. the manager asked if I wanted a new fresh steak (I am hungry now). if he was willing to give me a fresh steak he should have just taken the cost of the steak off our bill. but instead we were comped a piece of very small chocolate cake. overall experience was poor to fair at best, no plans to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made reservations several months ahead ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I made reservations several months ahead of time and asked for a window seat (ordered flowers too for the table) the window was not available when we arrived. The tables seemed to be close together. Perhaps this was due to the Valentine's Day weekend. Overall it was a good evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

V Day Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

You can never go wrong with Piropos. The food, service, and view were awesome! Made our special occasion one to remember.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

We enjoyed some of the special Valentine ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed some of the special Valentine's offerings. The service was superb, as always. Both meals were tasty and met expectations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Passport card not accepted.

Dined on February 13, 2016

I called the restaurant to verify if the passport card would be good on my reservation date and they confirmed it would be. After I ordered my dinner we found out that the manager had decided earlier in the day not to accept the card for that night. I don't trust the restaurant and may not go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on February 6, 2016

We celebrated the 25th anniversary of the day my husband proposed to me! Piropos not only has excellent food and wine, but the atmosphere is great for a date night. The view of the skyline of Kansas City is beautiful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.