Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 29 times today

Piropos Restaurant

4.5
2023 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Argentinean
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(816) 741-3600
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jesus Almos - Cristina Worden
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Briarcliff Parkway
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Piropos offers well-lighted private parking area both at the ground floor level and on the Northside of the restaurant on the upper level. Handicapped parking is also on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
10 miles south of Kansas City's main airport (MCI) and 3 miles from Downtown Kansas City. Easy to reach from all parts of the Kansas City metropolitan area because the restaurant is close to the Interstate Sections of I29, I35, and I635.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Wedding Chapel on site close to Kansas City Airport and Marriott Hotels.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wedding and Reception areas are located downstairs and can service wedding up to 175 guests. Special pricing for wedding service, reception, and rehearsal dinners when combined.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings, and other groups. Private rooms range from 10 people to 175 to 200 guests.

View Private Dining Details
What 2023 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We always enjoy our trips to Piropos. Everything is superb.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Waitress was squared away. She notice every thing. Very good service, My friend and I stayed a while, I gave the waitress a large tip. Lunch outside Great time.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Took my mom here for Mother’s Day as this was once her favorite restaurants. We had to go to the bar multiple times to request drink refills (water, coffee, lemonade). They charged us $7 for LEMONADE. The food was ok but they upcharged for asparagus and it was burnt and gross. Small disappointments are: less bread selections, one small spoon for 3 different sauces, used to have Argentinian butter, now it’s from Wisconsin. These may seem trivial but when you are paying $43 a plate an upscale feel is more expected. Unfortunately we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food prepared as ordered, professional staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Busy as it was Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The empanadas were amazing. I would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent! Can’t wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had great food and good service. Staff was friendly and responsive. We will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Absolutely love Piropos! It never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here. Piropos was recommended from friends of ours and we were not disappointed. The food was fantastic-some of the best I've had in KC. The restaurant was beautiful with a great view and our waitress was amazing and very knowledgeable about the menu. I have already recommended it to other people and plan to visit Piropos again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Beautiful view of downtown skyline. Service was fantastic. Food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

My wife and I celebrated our 7 year anniversary here since we heard it was a romantic atmosphere.

The Good:
The food was AMAZING! The calimari was so delicious especially with their version of tarter sauce!! AND it was the best trout that I have ever tasted! Since Piropos is a food business, this is a very important win!

The "Meh":
The waiters were kind and skilled, but it was just normal service. Perhaps fitting for a date or business meeting, but we were hoping to feel a bit more celebrated on our anniversary. They were kind enough to give us a free dessert, but only after we turned down buying dessert and asked for the check.

The Bad:
When we arrived, they put us in the loud corner where all the people were. The restaurant was only 30% full. When we reserved, we stated that this was our anniversary meal; I suppose we expected them to have a place set aside for us that was fitting to the occasion. We asked to move elsewhere, at which point the host just told us to choose and left us alone. This was our first time, so we didn't know what was available, so we just chose a table and waited for a few minutes before a waiter noticed that we hadn't been served yet.

Conclusion:
GREAT FOOD! I would totally come here again for a business meeting, special group meal, maybe even a casual date night (if I have extra money in my budget for this price). With tip, you'll likely spend between $80-$100 if you don't get a dessert or alcohol. However, I do NOT recommend this for Anniversary's or romantic dinners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

First time at restaurant. Beautiful view of city, helpful wait staff who knew menu, delicious meal and dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Went for drinks and appetizers but just had to go for desert to finish off a great outing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The food was tremendous!!! My boss who is a world traveler and foodie rated it "excellent"!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We’ve only been once, but the food was outstanding. Our server was slightly inattentive, but this is probably because we were seated a little out of the way and we are both young. Would recommend this to a friend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

My wife and I had a wonderful evening at Piropos on a date night. Friendly hostess, attending wait staff, and wonderful dinner made for a delightful evening. I had the filet and it was cooked just right, my wife had the seafood mixed grill and it was presented well and the seafood was very good. We never were rushed and attended to nicely. Thanks Piropos

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Beautiful view and great ambiance. My steak and potato’s weren’t cooked properly unfortunately.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Very good experience. Rack of lamb was cooked perfectly. Crab bisque was good. Had a nice evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

This has been our 3rd visit in the past 3 months. We are big fans of the food,, wish it was a little cheaper but clearly we pay it :-) We had a big group for my Birthday, the server was running around crazy giving us amazing service so thank you very much! There were a few missed items but they so graciously took care of it for us and we we Clearly be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We took my Mom for her 80th birthday. It was a great dining experience. Requested a table by front windows to overlook city & that request was met. The food was excellent! My Mom is still talking about how good it was. Service was excellent also. Love this restaurant. Will definitively return time after time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our waiter was busy but attentive to our needs. The food was great and my steak was well cooked. A bit too salty so I had to mix it with the potatoes. My lovely wife enjoyed the medallions. It is going to cost you plenty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

always excellent service and attentive staff. The best steak in town; including the greater KC area!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We have been back to your establishment several times in the past couple years. I don't know if you got anew chef or what; but the food is the delicious quality it was when we first started coming. Everything from appetizers to dessert was spot on! You are one of my faves again!!

Please please bring back the salmon and cucumber appetizer. I adore it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our waiter was very good. We started with excellent service but by the time we got to the desserts and check - it went slow. He advised that another waiter had taken his dessert, so had to resend it. AND - think that it got busy, so the service slowed down.

The food was delicious. The restaurant is really pretty - and the bar area is spectacular. Even the bathrooms were nice. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Always enjoy Piropos. We live north of Kansas City and have season tickets at the KC Symphony. Piropos is the perfect location for dinner before the concert. Great menu selections and always well prepared. Extensive wine list. Superb service. We've been coming to Piropos for a decade and hope to continue for many more years.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

They ignore or don’t care about what you write when a reservation is made.
Specifically requested with long lead time to reserve window table for significant birthday.
Sadly even server tried to apologize
Manager could care less
So to the diner beware

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Awesome...Good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Excellent food and service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Disappointed this time. The best part of the dinner was the view from our table. The wine was also very nice. My steak was mediocre as was one of my guests. I felt my filet was stringy. Our waiter took our order and we did not see him again until he asked us if we wanted dessert.--actually he did deliver our empanadas. Thought about ordering a salad after the waiter walked away and that may have helped our review. We all commented that he just seemed to be absent throughout the meal. We did enjoy our time at the bar as the wait staff/bar tenders there were busy but 'present'. I had taken my friends there as they had never been there and I was most anxious to show them this great restaurant. Sadly they were not impressed.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

This visit was not up to the standards I have come to expect of Piropos. The server was not unfriendly or really bad, but definitely not ready for a high end restaurant. We had appetizers and had barely taken two or three bites when she brought our entrees. My food and one of the other companions was fine, but the third person in our party, did not finish the salmon because it was dry. We also had to ask for lemon for the salmon. I didn't finish the chocolate mousse dessert (one of my favorites) and instead of putting it in a cup or better container, she scooped it out and dropped in it in the box upside down with the topping and wafers on the bottom of the container. Not particularly appetizing. I won't drop Piropos from my list of favorite places - I have dined many times there over the years (beginning in Parkville) and almost always choose it for a birthday or special occasion but this visit was disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Pricey but delicious. As expected for an Argentine steak house, the beef was excellent, but the seafood was equally good; salads, soup, and appetizer empanadas were also excellent. The wine list included wines by the glass from Argentina such as a Torrontes and a couple of Malbecs; one of our party enjoyed a strawberry basil cocktail. We had a window table with a view of the downtown skyline in the evening light. Definitely worthwhile for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Food was wonderful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Beautiful menu, beautiful wine, beautiful view, beautiful service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Outstanding food, wonderful view, excellent servers. Price not cheap, but not super high either. With a salad, glass of wine or drink, and dessert, will run $75-100/person. We found the service a bit "deliberate" but we were enjoying conversation with some friends, so actually appreciated the opportunity to eat and talk at a leisurely pace. I had the "special" which included swordfish in lemon butter, Bacon wrapped (very large) scallops, with risotto and broccolini. Absolutley terrific. Swordfish prepared so very tender, not mealy or tough. Scallops also terrific, and perfectly cooked. Plenty large portions, so I had a chance to enjoy some for lunch the next day too! Empanada appetizers were good, but didn't "wow" us like the entrees. Others at table enjoyed Salmon and Steak, both of which looked very good also. If you can manage it, try the Churros dessert with vanilla bean ice cream and chocolate ganache. Churros were soft inside (caramel filling), slightly crunchy outside, nice cinnamon coating. Others said they'd try a bite after I twisted their arms (said they were not interested in dessert). After they took 1 bite, they couldn't help sharing more of it. Great sweet treat, and plenty large to share with 2-3 others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Michael and Jenn have that bar under control - top notch drinks and service. Couldn't ask for anything more! Our favorite happy hour spot thank to them.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

My wife and I have had an issue that we have to ask for things to get them. At the bar, we don’t get the bar menu that affords different options. Also, we’ve had to ask for bread. Please do everything you can to make the customer happy by having all of the options and being served appropriately. The food I ordered was a bit over sauced. I mentioned that to our bartender/server. I didn’t finish it and won’t. This was the first experience that I have had that I was disappointed with Piropos. I normally provide four and five stars. I hope that I won’t be disappointed again. Before I stop...please bring back the original crab bisque the way it is meant to be, thicker and tastier. As of late, it has been thinner, like broth, and less tasty. Thanks for hearing me out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Everything you could expect for a special occasion dinner was our experience at Piropos. Appetizers were exceptional (the empanadas are a must), salads were crisp, cold with a beautiful assortment of fresh veggies, and the entrees were both absolutely fabulous. I had the mixed seafood grill that was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented and my wife had the filet that was cooked to perfection. Because we were celebrating our anniversary our server provided us with a complimentary flan to share that was the perfect ending to our meal. Our server was friendly without being overly intrusive and was always there just when we needed him. We will always keep this at the top of our list of special occasion restaurants.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
51

Tweets by Piropos Restaurant