About Piropos Restaurant

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Romantic (53)
Scenic View (46)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Notable Wine List (29)
Authentic (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Business Meals (21)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Fireplace (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Private Room (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Casual (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tapas (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Music (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

great service, fun server, great food, we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We go to Piropos once in a while. It is pricy so it is not as often as we might like. After this meal, we tried to think of something that might be improved on. All we could come up with was making stronger iced tea. Everything from the bread and spreads (the olive oil and garlic is our favorite) to the soup (we had steak soup) to the steaks and everything with them to the churros (yes, save room for the churros) was delicious. Finally, the view of downtown KC is beautiful. In the winter we are usually there at sundown and it is magnificent. You won’t regret spending the money to go here.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This is the second time I've dined at this restaurant. The first time I took my mother there for Mother's Day and this time was a date night with my wife. Both experiences superb. Will be returning again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Excellent food with terrific view. Knowledgeable staff and friendly overall place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The entrees were good, the salad outstanding. One drawback was the amount of butter on the seafood. A bit rich for my taste, but that's not a criticism. The prices are high in my experience. $140 (with tip) for a salad, two meals and two glasses of wine is higher than what I would classify as a good value. The ambience is exceptional, as was the service, namely Hector, a very dignified and refined gentleman. When I asked him to surprise me with a white wine of his choice, the selection greatly exceeded my expectations. He made me and my guest feel very much at ease, welcome and appreciated. The service would prompt me to patronize the establishment again.

My guest adds:

The view of downtown KC is lovely, and the space inside Piropos is very elegant. However, their food does not equal their cost. I can get better food without the big bill elsewhere. But I am also a big foodie with a critical eye. I like complex flavor blends. The best flavor was the sauces for the courtesy bread. Presentation was lovely, and the service was above par. Hector was courteous and had that keen intuition of when to wander by the table and check in.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great experience! Knowledgeable waitstaff, food was brought out promptly and was of the utmost quality! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our server was very helpful and attentive all night! We would love to have him serve us again! Please give him our thanks!

There was a group having some kind of party out in the open at the top of the stairs. They were the first thing we noticed and heard as soon as we got uptairs to the dining area and the last thing we noticed and heard as we were leaving the dining area. They seemed to be out of place. They were noisy but that is expected with a party. We had no personal interaction with anyone in the group. The restaurant just seemed to be letting them have a party in the wrong space.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great dinner with wife and friends. Excellent food, great waiter and beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We arrived early, but were seated promptly. The service was excellent: attentive, efficient, and thorough.

Both of our entrées were delicious and beautifully presented.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Birthday celebration. Excellent steaks and service. Very good apetizers. View in the afternoon to see sunset while dining is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Piropos offers beautiful views of the KC Skyline and delicious Argentian inspired food. We ate at Piropos to celebrate an anniversary. Our server was fantastic. The food was delicious. The empanadas are especially terrific with well seasoned filling and flaky crust. This is a great place for special events.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Heard about this place for years and decided to give it a try. Atmosphere was subpar given the menu prices. While we waited for service at several points a "regular" was visited for quite some time by employees from managers, different waiters and bus personnel. Booths do not have tablecloths (odd for $40.00 entree place) and are too deep for service staff (spent quite a bit of time passing drinks and food since the staff did not even try to reach). Overall, a disappointment. Don't know why anyone living south of the river would bother. Brookside, Plaza and CrossRoads offer many better alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a nice time having dinner last week. Our waiter was nice, but a little slow in coming back to our table. My husband was a little slow in picking out the wine and she seemed a little impatient at him. otherwise, all went well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent!! Started with Brie, then the lamb chops and tenderloin medallions with Shrimp. All three choices were outstanding! Our server was also spot on and gave us a great wine recommendation . Try it.. you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 25, 2017

One of my most favorite restaurants! The food is superb! Service is always outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Server seemed to believe that because we were wearing jeans and joking around that apparently we would be a bad table. He instantly seemed annoyed with us.
Our tab was 188$. I left 220$.
I shouldn't have. We waited a long while for drinks and refills.
Our appetizer/empanada courses seemed really rushed. The brie was good but very overpriced in my opinion.
My filet was good but tepid (sauce was tepid as well), potato gratin was cold.
My dining partner was happier with his ribeye, said the flavor was great.
Creme brûlée flavor was overwhelmed by the liqueur used to flambé it. You should just brûlée it with a torch and some Demerara sugar.
Banana cake, excellent.
Chocolate Mousse cake, fair.
Overall won't likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great good, excellent service and amazing sunset and city skyline views as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience there. Everything was great just the Prices I found were a bit too high for what is being served. Other than the Special Occasion for me at the end of the night is what mattered.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Piropos is a great place! Great food, great service, great location! I first took my wife there for her birthday and later took my whole family. Best restaurant in Kansas City!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, People Watching, Historic, Great for Brunch, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

You absolutely must have the steak with brandy cream sauce!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

First things first, the building is beautiful, food is amazing and the wait staff were courteous and very knowledgeable about what is in every dish. I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Another great night of world class service. Loved their valentine cheesecake special!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The evening was going well and steak was moderate. The empanadas were
Great. I told the waiter I was in the military. He gave me an awful look. When he brought the check he makered the tip section and total section in front of me. I will never take my family here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was amazing despite the kitchen being busy for Valentine's day. Quality and taste not compromised at all. Was worth it and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for valentines day, food eas great and service was phenomenal. Will definitley be back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Other parties arrived after us ate and left prior to us receiving our food. Once food did arrive it was sub-par. The environment was pleasant but the dinner was a special occasion and our experience was not as good as past experiences from the Parkville location. We would not recommend this location after this experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waiter was slightly rude when he learned I was ordering a well done steak, from that point the service went downhill. Had to wait almost an hour for our food not to mention we had a reservation aND still had to wait 20-30 mins for our table but that wasn't that big of a deal since it was Valentines day,I understand but on top of him being rude and stuck up to a young couple who look like they've never eaten there before and won't leave a big tip. Well of course not if we get treated like that. Food was great tho.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Ive been to this location in several occasions and it was always great, but this visit was a disappointment , it was way too crowded not able to provide the attention needed for the price and it seemed to take for ever to get the food, it would be ok if the food would be great but we had to send back the steak because well done i guess mean blood red middle, the cheesecake was great though. I was not happy with the experience at all what so ever but maybe next time it will be better

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited for Valentine's Day 2017 with my wife. We had been to Piropos before, but it has been about 5 years and it was at the former location in downtown Parkville. Overall the ambiance was still great at the new location, food was good, but not quite as good as I seemed to remember. The most disappointing part of the night was the sub-par service. We had a waitress who seemed to just want to constantly remind us how busy she was and how hard she was working all the while stumbling over her words. Sorry, but I'd rather the focus not be on my server instead of my conversation and dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have been here several times and have never been disappointed one time that a steak was undercooked the manager was over-the-top apologetic A perfect place for a romantic evening

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great filet with a tasty mild butter sauce. Excelllent cut and finish on the filet. Empanadas are fantastic and a must. The view in the eve is spectacular. Request a table, the booths are too high backed and offer no or limited views of the city skyline from briarcliff.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent. It was a little pricey but I saw where the extra money went. I would recommend for a nice date night.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I figured out about ten years ago that we would no longer go out to dinner on Valentine's day. Even some of our favorite restaurants weren't the same on Valentine's day. You felt as if they only cared about turning the table. We decided we would celebrate Valentine's day either the weekend before or the weekend after. This has worked out fantastic, up until the other night. Piropos is one of our all time favorite restaurants. Unfortunately our waiter was very disengaged and inattentive. It was as if it we were once again out on Valentines day. It doesn't matter how great the ambiance or food is. Your server can make or break your experience. On our next visit we will definitely request a different server. The server is the only reason I couldn't give five stars on my overall review.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary. We have celebrated our anniversary several times at this location and we love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We love coming here several times a year. Great, food, wine and service.

Tags: Fireplace, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding as usual. The Peppercorn Filet is always perfectly cooked and the banana cake is to die for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of my all time favorite restaurants; I visit twice a year without fail when in town.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Fireplace, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very friendly, great service, tasty food. Would have been nice to have bread .

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Piropos is one of my favorites with consistently good food and service. It is a wonderful place for any special occasion with great views from almost every seat in the house.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic Evening!! We did have reservations, so we were seated right away. Hostess was very friendly with a nice smile. Then our waitress came, she was so very pleasant and informative. She answered all of our questions and made great suggestions, all with a pleasant smile. She checked on us but never hovered and the bus boy was right there to keep our table clean for the next course. We both ordered fish, me Tilapia and my spouse the Sea Bass. Both were perfectly cooked, displayed beautifully, and very, very good. Overall a very memorable evening, and we will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.