About Piropos Restaurant

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Wedding Chapel on site close to Kansas City Airport and Marriott Hotels.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers well-lighted private parking area both at the ground floor level and on the Northside of the restaurant on the upper level. Handicapped parking is also on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Public Transit:
10 miles south of Kansas City's main airport (MCI) and 3 miles from Downtown Kansas City. Easy to reach from all parts of the Kansas City metropolitan area because the restaurant is close to the Interstate Sections of I29, I35, and I635.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos - Cristina Worden

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wedding and Reception areas are located downstairs and can service wedding up to 175 guests. Special pricing for wedding service, reception, and rehearsal dinners when combined.

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings, and other groups. Private rooms range from 10 people to 175 to 200 guests.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Scenic View (37)
Special Occasion (33)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Authentic (22)
Business Meals (22)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Tapas (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1792 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Crab cakes were disappointing. Too much filler. Wine way overpriced. Three times retail and limited selection. Main course was very good. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Piropos is our favorite restaurant. The food is always delicious, the service is attentive and personable, and it has great ambience. Even though it’s a long drive from our home, it’s well worth the trip, and our go-to place for celebrating special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

The luncheon was fantastic. Piropos always makes any meal an event

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Piropos was highly rrecommrnded to me. I had a lovely time and the food was delicious; I’ll be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We have dined at Piropos at least 30 times and have never been disappointed. The food is always outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Piropos is extraordinarily, the taste of the quality in the food is impressive, is worth the price, service is outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great place and terrific food and service. The staff was very attentive and helpful with dinner suggestions.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, great service, and great atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Piropos!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food. Everyone loved their meal. Good service. Everyone is happy and pleasant. Well worth the drive.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Celebrated an anniversary dinner. Excellent as always. We eat here about every other month. Seafood is always our favorite as well as the empanadas. Staff is always attentive without being overbearing. One of our favorite relaxing dinner spots. We will be returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The food at Piropos is excellent. Great location overlooking downtown. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Typically this restaurant is a great choice. Not so much tonight. Party of 4 and a 3 hr dinner. Service unusually slow. Food was over cooked. it was Not left in window to long as plates were not scorching hot...but seafood was tough and overlooked. Asparagus was dry and stringy and jasmine rice dry. Scalloped potatoes dry and flakey. Dessert was good but 15-20 min for coffee to be served. Sauce looked broke on pork dish.
I guess we will rack this up to just an off night.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have dined at Piropos many times. It is always good food and wine. We took a couple with us this time who had never dined there. The food did not disappoint but our server was not up to Piropos standard. She did not refill our water glasses often did not return to offer dessert menu until we had been finished with our dinner for quite a while. I was not a bad experience just not what we're have been accustomed to at Piropos.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Casual, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Piropos is a restaurant trapped in time in many ways. The food scene in Kansas City has exploded over the last 10 years or so and Piropos just hasn't kept up. For the price there is a certain expectation of presentation, staff demeanor, food quality, delivery, and service. I imagine that they depend on large parties, weddings, and neighborhood traffic. When we walked in there was no signage leading up to the restaurant itself and we were hesitant thinking we may be heading into a private party. Same for the couple in front of us. When we reached the top the woman at the podium had a 32oz Quick Trip cup on her stand. Don't get me wrong, she was great, just not the presentation I was expecting. The waiter started out fine but after a while his service waned. Eventually we were having to flag him down. The check had to be brought twice. The second time I reduced the tip. For the price I think I am more inclined to go to Reiger or Antons where I can get matching service and presentation.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 15, 2017

One of our favorite places to dress up and go out for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

great place to celebrate! we loved the food and the view!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We took an out of town speaker to dinner at Piropos, knowing full well we would be well taken care of. Although we arrived almost a half hour before our reservation, we were seated right away. Our server, Carrie, took our drink order, then gave us a bit of time to visit. When our drinks came, Carrie explained the menu & told us some of the favorites. Our meal was served at a leisurely but appropriate pace as was the dessert we ordered to share. Our guest was most impressed & pleased that she could be at her hotel at a reasonable hour even with a full restaurant meal. The atmosphere, food & service were all great. We'll be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was slower than expected in a fine dining establishment. I ordered my steak medium but it came out well done. We had waited so long to get it that I didn't want to wait for another to be cooked. They ended up not charging me for my steak, which I certainly appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2017

For the price the service isn't what it should be for the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very pleasant evening, great service delicious food.
The seafood empanadas were amazing
Halibut was very tasty as well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My wife and I went there to try the restaurant because it was ranked highly from a list of restaurants we are working through in Kansas City. I ordered the Rack of Lamb, my wife ordered the Halibut. Both meals where exceptional, both proteins where cooked exactly to perfection, the risotto was amazing. I truly could not have been more pleased with our meals. The window vantage point we had in the restaurant looks south towards downtown Kansas City and the sunset was beautiful from our vantage point. We where looking for a great new restaurant to try and would certainly return again or recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This restaurant always provides great service, wonderful food and friendly staff. Their seafood is fresh and well prepared. Cocktails are unique. You could almost make a meal of the bread service and toppings alone! We always enjoy eating here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Diner at the Piropos Restaurant was a pleasant experience. The restaurant is located on the second floor and is slightly difficult to find. However once inside the ambiance is pleasant. The food was good. My wife had the seafood ravioli and was very pleased with the subtle difference between Italian and Argentinian flavors. I enjoyed the peppercorn encrusted filet that was prepared precisely as requested. Service was good. Price was reasonable. Overall an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Amazing as always! My husband and mys favorite date night restaurant!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Anniversary dinner. The evening was lovely, did not feel rushed, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

One of our favorite places! We love the atmosphere and the art and the food is outstanding!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 17, 2017

The service is first class and the food is outstanding. I always appreciate that the level of service for a single diner is no less than a group.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Wow, what a gem tucked away in a beautiful neighborhood! So glad we chose to step out of the box and try something new! Was so worth it. The staff is amazing too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We have been several times and the food did not disappoint. Osso bucca was great as were the empanadas. Problem was the service. Slow and not very timely. Our server seemed to be in the kitchen a lot and often returned to the dining room empty handed. She was very friendly, just always seemed to behind.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A beautiful night with a beautiful woman! Delicious food and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Great views, ambience, and service. Exceptional food and wonderful decor. A little pricey, but a great spot for special occasions. The meal won't disappoint!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Wonderful food and wine--and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server and the food was fantastic! I ordered the rack of lamb and it was easily one of the best lamb dishes I've had. I had a Groupon that was going to expire soon so I decided to take my friend for a nice Monday night dinner and it was a first time for both of us so having the discount helped with trying out this restaurant. I'm definitely coming back for special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The food quality seemed a little on the short side this visit. Wasn't as good as previous visits.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Amazing experience. Great food. Totally recommend for a date night or a celebration :D

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner @ Piropos. We were celebrating our anniversary. Food was excellent. Service was very good. Nice ambiance. Venue provided a complimentary dessert in recognition of our special occasion. Very nice way to celebrate our special occasion. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Service was beyond expectations, the cuisine delightful and best view north of the river.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Good as usual. Love celebrating special occasions here. Always good food and good service although the prices are a little higher than I remember from last time. Great view is the bonus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had reservations for 7:45pm on Saturday, July 29. When we got there, the host said he only had the table right by the entrance, or a high-top at the bar; otherwise we could wait just a few minutes for a table by the window. Given we were not in a rush, we opted to wait for a nice table. Well, 45 minutes later we were seated. Our waiter finally came to our table, told us the specials, said he was going to get us some bread. 15 minutes later he came to our table, NO BREAD, and asked if we were ready to order. REALLY?!!? Absolutely unacceptable for a restaurant that claims to be fine dining. We walked out, went to Trezo Mare and had a fabulous dinner. Will NOT be back, as this was not our first time with poor service at Piropos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.