About Piropos Restaurant

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Restaurant Photos

  • Peppercorn Crusted Filet Mignon
  • Milanese Sliders
  • empanadas
  • Banana Cake
  • Papas Espanolas
  • Crab Bisque
  • Costillas De Cordero
  • Tilapia Argentina
Peppercorn Crusted Filet Mignon
Milanese Sliders
empanadas
Banana Cake
Papas Espanolas
Crab Bisque
Costillas De Cordero
Tilapia Argentina

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Best Ambiance
Kansas City
8 More
Romantic
Kansas City
Best Overall
Kansas City, MO
Best Food
Kansas City, MO
Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Special Occasion (77)
Scenic View (67)
Romantic (63)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Food! Great Service! Steaks, Seaf ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great Food! Great Service! Steaks, Seafood, Salads Better than Most! I will come back to this

beautiful place 0n every visit to Kansas City.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Organic, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was less than enthusiastic wh ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our server was less than enthusiastic when it came to servicing our table. I have a food allergy and it seemed like he couldn't have cared less about it and was not willing to ask the chef to rework some of the meals I was considering. It was disappointing - except for the flan, the flan was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

As always, we each had a wonderful meal. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, we each had a wonderful meal. Sean, our server, was also busy with a group but he worked very hard to treat us as if we were his only customers. My halibut and lobster risotto was served hot, delicious, and very generous. My wife said her grilled beef medallions were the best she has ever had. The prosecco was perfect, as were the churros and layered mousse cake for desserts. Piropos has never disappointed us. It is the ideal spot for a special occasion; not inexpensive but very worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hector was our waiter, he was very polit ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Hector was our waiter, he was very polite and cordial. Our view was great. Autumn greeted us and was pleasant to speak with when I had to modify our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food suberb!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food suberb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was just fair and especially slo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Service was just fair and especially slow considering the restaurant was only a quarter filled. Chicken dish, although very tasty was dry. Vegetables and mashed potatoes were cold. If we hadn't waited 30 minutes between courses , I would have sent it back. Every one in our foursome, all with different steak entrees agreed, tasty but cold and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My wife and I have been going here on ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I have been going here on our anniversary and also New Years Eve. If it's not your go-to place, it should be! Food is excellent and the entire staff is very friendly and courteous!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food - we don't eat out oft ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always great food - we don't eat out often, but when we do - we generally will go to Piropos

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I visit Kansas City, I come h ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Every time I visit Kansas City, I come home to this restaurant. "Home" not because of the food, which is excellent, but because the superb staff creates that welcoming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been coming to Piropos for over 1 ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I have been coming to Piropos for over 10 years. Over the last 2-3 years the quality seems to consistently go down. On our most recent visit it was by far the most mediocre experience at this restaurant. The service was barely average at best, I've had much better service at a Chili's (10 minutes before a waiter acknowledged us at our table, 20 minutes to get a drink). The food on this visit was also mediocre, the quality of the ingredients was lacking and one of my side items and the same of my wife's tasted freezer burnt? The food also showed up to our table luke warm at best (this may be a direct result of the slow server). I've had similar experiences the last 2 times prior to this but not this bad. I've continued to give this restaurant a fair chance and it continues to not live up to its original quality. Unfortunately this will probably be our last visit. I know this restaurant receives strong reviews but if you are looking for a quality restaurant there are many better options in the KC metro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Piropos is always outstanding ... excell ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Piropos is always outstanding ... excellent service and creative menu. What better than a Malbec and a nice steak?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating my daughter's colleg ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's college graduation and had an extremely wonderful time! Our waiter was very attentive and always made sure we had what we needed. The wine list was excellent, including the sparkling wine selection. The rack of lamb as well as all of our meals was superb. We always go back to Piropos whenever we have something special to celebrate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect from the moment w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everything was perfect from the moment we walked in. Care was taken to be sure we were happy and the timing of the food and service was perfect for a special night out. The food was delicious as were the craft cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was amazing. My husband had the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our food was amazing. My husband had the filet and it melted in our mouths! Beautiful view, perfect spot for date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed for a second time... ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very disappointed for a second time... My husband and I celebrated my birthday here about 10 years ago and were disappointed in the food, especially for the price. Then a few months ago I met a friend here during the week. The waiter was awesome, the Manhattan was special and the food and presentation of the food was wonderful.

Then last Saturday, my same friend and our husbands met here for dinner. Her husband ordered his steak rare and it was way overcooked, pink in the middle. He was asked if he wanted a box to take the half he didn't eat home and he said no, it wasn't rare. There was no apology or anything. I had ordered the same dish I had the last time I was there and it came with the wrong vegetable and then I was given rice on the side, because they served it with potatoes rather then the rice it was supposed to come with. My friends meal was really good, she said, but my husband's steak was only OK. So, 3 out of 4 meals were disappointing and the cost is above average for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Food and service was excellent! If you ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service was excellent! If you have never been here, you must give a try! You wan't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Sit in Fred's section ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great experience. Sit in Fred's section, he is awesome.

Great food. Scallops were awesome, cream corn was the bees knees!

Always a great Steak!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing - the people the food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was amazing - the people the food and the atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piropos STILL does it! Food, ambiance, s ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Piropos STILL does it! Food, ambiance, service, all over the top. Created a wonderful atmosphere to celebrate a special occasion. Everything was spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant. Every dish was w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. Every dish was well thought out and perfectly delivered. Empanadas of all types were crispy deliciousness. Quality salads. As one would expect of an Argentinian restaurant, the steaks were excellent and the peppercorn sauce just the right intensity. Seafood thoroughly fresh. The best crab cakes I have had in the Midwest - nearly no breading and fully tasting of crab.. Perhaps even better than in Maryland. The price for such excellent food was entirely reasonable. We will be back.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time eating here..love the food and ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

2nd time eating here..love the food and atmosphere!! Services is excellent. Will be back for sure!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Date Night location! We had an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Perfect Date Night location! We had an elegant experience, superb meal, and phenomenal service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing, as well as the sce ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was amazing, as well as the scenery. It was definitely a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time at this restaurant. Very s ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My first time at this restaurant. Very stylish and open. We arrived early and were seated right away. The staff were very attentive and prompt. The wine and cocktail list was extensive. The menu had a wide variety, so decisions on entrees was difficult. After ordering the wait for our entrees was acceptable. The presentation was right on and food delicious. The only problem that I can say is, that it was alittle warm for me inside, but with a view restaurant with mostly windows in the summer, even shaded, is to be expected.

Overall it was a good experience. I will return again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was superb!Definitely will re ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was superb!Definitely will return.My family enjoyed every aspect.Thank You!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I was beyond impressed with this restaur ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I was beyond impressed with this restaurant. Everything was better than I could have imagined, from the ambiance to the décor to the hospitality and especially the food!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best filet mignon in town. The signature ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Best filet mignon in town. The signature filet with brandy cream sauce is my favorite! They did a superb job catering our wedding 9 years ago and this is still one of our favorite spots!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we want to treat out of town guests ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

When we want to treat out of town guests, we often take them to Piropos for a fine meal and excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always it's a pleasure to dine at Pir ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

As always it's a pleasure to dine at Piropos! Whether I come for a special occasion, such as this - a birthday - or just want to have a wonderful dinner, I've yet to be disappointed. The staff is knowledgeable about the menu and wines, the service is attentive, and the food is divine. This should be on everyone's top five list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ordered too much food but steak was just ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Ordered too much food but steak was just as tasty the next day. It will always be at the top of the list for special occasions

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the charm and understated eleganc ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love the charm and understated elegance of this place; and the view of the Kansas City skyline provides an added dimension to the dining experience. The menus are small, but they offer something for every taste. I, personally, would recommend the stuffed Pan-Seared Chicken Breast, but I -and all of my dining companions- have never been disappointed by any entree, side dish, or dessert. Cocktails, wines and other beverages are reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our steaks were cooked exactly to order. ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Our steaks were cooked exactly to order. We informed our waiter that it was our fortieth anniversary ( it was that day) and we received an after dinner treat on the house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Piropos

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Piropos is a consistently excellent experience. The view is fantastic, the food is delicious, the service is great and they have a wonderful wine list, featuring many wines from Argentina. You really can't go wrong here. One of my favorite places in Kansas City. Sadly, I don't live there anymore, but I always make a point of going to Piropos when I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always look forward to eating here. Cann ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always look forward to eating here. Cannot resist empanadas. We shared a beef and a cheese. I had the salmon, on jasmine rice, and tho' I'm definitely a "meat " person, the plate was fabulous, the salmon crunchy on the outside, done astoundingly perfect, and adorned with asparagus. I say this of all KC restaurants: wish there were better white wine selections. Chardonnay is everyone's pick (but not mine). I am not familiar with Argentinian whites, but always want dry whites. Our French pick was so-so. I'd eat here once a week if I could afford it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timing is everything.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I have been to Piropos several times in the past 5 years. And this last time wasn't the best by any means. This establishment is supposed to be a 4-star Argentinean dining experience, however the food wasn't made with love! That is not to say is didn't look appealing, it did, but rather is tasted hurried and made by someone who cooks for a paycheck rather than the love or for the passion. My filet, which was ordered Medium-Rare, came out rather above Medium, and the wife's Chicken came out a little dry especially for being stuff! The service, while hospitable, felt rushed and robotic. And the music was a CD playing over the speaker system AND a skilled piano player playing their own showtunes esque medley. I have been to Piropos and made quite a few wonderful memories including my proposal night, this just wasn't the same fun and tastful experience to which I've become accustomed. I hope this was just an off day.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Happy birthday to me!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to Piropos before, usually during Restaurant Week. This time it was to celebrate my birthday. We both ordered steak. I asked for my usual well done, knowing chef's don't like to cook it that way. And, sure enough, I had to send it back. It came back perfect. I know that any restaurant can have a preparation mistake. The question is how do they handle it? Piropos made it right. Wonderful dinner. Excellent waiter. Beautiful location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great experience. The view o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This was a great experience. The view of downtown was great. There is outdoor seating available.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed being here for lunch, ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We really enjoyed being here for lunch, this was our first time for lunch. Everything was perfect for our lunch!!!! We will be doing this again for sure.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service as always. Great place to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place - it is our "go-to" r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We love this place - it is our "go-to" restaurant when we visit Kansas City. Wonderful staff, great food and a nice view of the city. Highly recommend the tenderloin medallions with shrimp - with lovely Brandy cream sauce. The chocolate churros are also excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.