About Piropos Restaurant

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Restaurant Photos

  • Peppercorn Crusted Filet Mignon - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Milanese Sliders  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • empanadas - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Banana Cake - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Papas Espanolas  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Crab Bisque - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Costillas De Cordero - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Tilapia Argentina - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Peppercorn Crusted Filet Mignon - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Milanese Sliders  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
empanadas - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Banana Cake - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Papas Espanolas  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Crab Bisque - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Costillas De Cordero - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Tilapia Argentina - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Kansas City / Kansas
Romantic
Kansas City / Kansas
Best Ambiance
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

Romantic (48)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Scenic View (32)
Good for a Date (28)
Notable Wine List (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fireplace (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tapas (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food empanadas to halibut!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food empanadas to halibut!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time for wife's birthday. Got to ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Second time for wife's birthday. Got to sit at fireplace both times. Food and service were excellent as usual. Next time, for best deal, will buy the bottle of wine instead of "by the glass". Good news was that after glasses of wine we did by a bottle and were able to bring the unfinished wine home!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Spent a lovely evening with wonderful ni ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Spent a lovely evening with wonderful night view of Kansas City Christmas lights. The food, wine and service were outstanding. Great dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was excellent from ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

The entire experience was excellent from decor to service to food

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Our server was preoccupied, had to const ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our server was preoccupied, had to constantly ask for another drink then wait 10 min for it. Then had to ask another server to get our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Beautiful view of the holiday lights and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Beautiful view of the holiday lights and the city, excellent service and amazing food!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at this restaurant several ti ...

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I've eaten at this restaurant several times, it's my very favorite the food is always great and so is the service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant in Briarcliff Vill ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful restaurant in Briarcliff Village with interesting menu selections. Piropos has large windows that provide lovely, scenic southwest views of Kansas City. There are a variety of seating arrangements to accommodate various group sizes and a very attractive bar area. During the holiday season, colorful lights in the shopping center add to the dining atmosphere. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful atmosphere. Delicious meat. I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere. Delicious meat. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful thanksgiving dinner! Turkey wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful thanksgiving dinner!

Turkey was wonderful, service was great and I would recommend the restaurant to everyone.

I highly recommend it.

Murray blackwelder

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding! The food w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was outstanding! The food was really good. Was a little disappointed they did not have a "lunch" menu, so it was a bit pricey. Online, they have a lunch menu, but it was a holiday, so I should have checked before we went. Enjoyed the quietness of the space we were seated. It was very quiet and enjoyed some good family conversation. I am not in the habit of recommending anything to anyone-peoples tastes are so very different!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful atmosphere, delicious food, ou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere, delicious food, outstanding wine, and warm service makes this a favorite of ours for a night out with friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for my daughters 22nd birthday. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We went for my daughters 22nd birthday. They took wonderful care of us.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely special occasion place.

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Lovely special occasion place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our entire experience was absolutely WON ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our entire experience was absolutely WONDERFUL! Everyone was very friendly and nice, the food was delicious and our server was one of the best I have every had. ( I believe his name was Fred- he was awesome!!) This was our first time dining at this establishment. I was hoping to have a classy experience to help celebrate my best friend's upcoming wedding- our night could not have gone better. We will definitely be back !!

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We frequently choose this restaurant for ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We frequently choose this restaurant for special occasions when we want to dress-up to the nines and dine. (However, there are other clientele who are in casual attire. So don't feel like you must dress the part.) The servers are polite, low-key and knowledgeable. The food is well prepared and beautiful presentation. The view of downtown KC in the distance adds to the ambiance. Our choice for the evening was steak. We ordered medium and medium-rare steaks, they actually were maybe a step more done than we had asked, but were still delicious. Next time we'll likely adjust our ordering. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

View was nice, food was ok, service was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 2, 2016

View was nice, food was ok, service was beyond slow

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

This is our go-to restaurant when we vis ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant when we visit KC. Consistently good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a great evening with friends. Was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a great evening with friends. Was able to get a window table. Service was outstanding. The mixed grill was fabulous. As we always do, finished our evening with dessert and coffee.

Thanks for always providing a great atmosphere to enjoy time with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Two years ago we celebrated our 30th wed ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Two years ago we celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Piropos and they pulled out all the stops. Reserved table by the window, beautiful view, flower on the table and every person we interacted with wished us a happy anniversary. So, we decided we would celebrate our 32nd anniversary at Piropos. What a difference two years makes. We made a reservation for 6:30 p.m. and were promptly seated in / near the fireplace, which was good because there was cold air blowing from somewhere but it was also bad because the fireplace was not on so it was cold the whole evening. Server acknowledged us 20 minutes after we were seated and coincidentally just as we were getting up to leave. Server was not rude, was not friendly, basically she was just indifferent to us throughout the meal. Our food was served promptly and we ate promptly as we did not want the cold air blowing on our food. The bill was nicely dropped on our table without the server breaking stride and we were out the door. No mention of our anniversary, no thanks for coming, just nothing but indifference. Indifference is fine when I am ordering a Happy Meal to go, but not when I am spending $100 + on a nice dinner. Since dessert was not offered (I guess they needed our table to go with the other empty ones they already had) we stopped at Dairy Queen whose service and attitude far exceeded anything we had seen at Piropos. Based on this experience we will not be returning to Piropos in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Wonderful ambiance and beautiful view of ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wonderful ambiance and beautiful view of Kansas City! Filet was delicious but Ribeye was very fatty. I will return for the filet!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent! Food was deliciou ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was excellent! Food was delicious. Only slight disappointment was the 7:30 reservation turning into being seated at 7:47 but worth the wait. Definitely make a reservation ahead of time. Worth the $. The wine was fantastic. Steak delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Historic, Fun, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great to see a manager checking with the ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great to see a manager checking with the guests to insure their dining experience is meeting their expectations. Waiter was exceptional as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found this restraurant on yelp in hopes ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Found this restraurant on yelp in hopes of finding a good steakhouse. We were blown away. The service was great, waiter made a excellant wine recommendation. Steaks were cooked to perfection.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was terrible! The food was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The service was terrible! The food was a small portion for the price and not that good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Ambiance, food, service, location were g ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Ambiance, food, service, location were good. I don't have any big complaint. I was a little underwhelmed with the food, as I had heard so many good things over the past many years. I was anxious to try. Food was good but I wasn't wowed. In hindsight, I wish I would have splurged on Capital Grille level for our 30th wedding anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, the Lobster Bisque was amazin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As always, the Lobster Bisque was amazing followed by a delicious entrée of Seafood Ravioli paired with twin Lobster Tails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overal ambience was great. We had a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The overal ambience was great. We had a bottle of wine that paired great with the food which was very good. Definetely would recommend. Little pricey but with it for special ocasions.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and atmosphere was amazing. The ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food and atmosphere was amazing. The service was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Traditional Anniversary dinner night ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our Traditional Anniversary dinner night go to place. It's always good and romantic!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food. Great atmosphere. Great views ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good food. Great atmosphere. Great views. Decent service. - except felt rushed at end when check was delivered without inquiring about dessert (which we were planning on).

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Terrific birthday dinner at Piropos. Ou ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Terrific birthday dinner at Piropos. Our waiter Sean was as great as the food. Our party of 4 started by sharing empanadas, then we each had our own appetizers and main courses. We all thought our food was superb. Piropos is pricey, but the view, if you're lucky enough to get a window seat, is fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

When we arrived for our we ask for a tab ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

When we arrived for our we ask for a table by a window and they put us in a separate room, there was a table by the window and I see this in the middle of the room. A little while later the room seemed a little stuffy so they propped the door open with a baby high chair now I'm sitting in a cold draft and when they brought my food it got cold extremely quick didn't seem to make a lot of sense to me. The wait staff was very helpful and attentive. The food was excellent although I feel a bit overpriced. The biggest amount of food on my plate was the rice that went with the dish, although it tasted very good I would think that was also the cheapest ingredients on the plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A must-do for EVERY trip to KC! Amazing ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

A must-do for EVERY trip to KC! Amazing food, awesome drinks, and great service - can't go wrong.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our anniv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary. Piropos was a great place to do just that. The service and food was outstanding. I would recommend Piropos to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The steaks were under cooked. I don't mi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The steaks were under cooked. I don't mind paying the higher price at Piropo's but you want what u pay for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Our compliments to the chef! The food w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our compliments to the chef! The food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, ambience and service, bu ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent food, ambience and service, but the value not so much. But we had a great time and celebrated 3 birthdays and a 35 anniversary with our grown children. Nice evening had by all. Thank you.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

My husband and I went to Piropos for our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My husband and I went to Piropos for our Anniversary. We were initially sat in a room that had poor air conditioning, and our server quickly noticed our discomfort and offered to move us to another table in the other room with a working air conditioner. It took less than 10 minutes and we were seated at a much nicer table. I am pregnant, so our server suggested a delicious non-alcoholic cocktail for me. The service was very attentive, though not hovering over our table. My water glass was consistently being refilled, which I appreciate. The food was INCREDIBLE! My husband ordered the lobster, and I got the beef medallions/tiger shrimp dinner. The seasoning on the Shrimp was amazing, and the sauce drizzled on the beef medallions was perfection. Our server brought over a delicious churro and ice cream dessert for us, and we could have licked the plate clean, it was so so good! We had a wonderful time. My husband and I are looking forward to our next visit to Piropos!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was Excellent! Food was Wonderfu ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Service was Excellent! Food was Wonderful! Only for Special Occasions. Menu too high priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.