About Piropos Restaurant

4141 N. Mulberry Dr.
Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

The taste of Argentina is very American Midwestern. The foods of its capital city, Buenos Aires, are steaks, grilled meats, seafood, fresh salads and vegetables. Argentineans enjoy dining in a generally relaxed atmosphere where conversation and gracious dining go hand-in-hand. Piropos Restaurant, on the hill in Briarcliff Village, offers a unique view, warm atmosphere and fresh foods prepared in the Argentinean style. ***PLEASE NOTE: WHEN MAKING RESERVATIONS PIROPOS CANNOT RESERVE WINDOW TABLES. THEY MAY BE REQUESTED UPON ARRIVAL, BUT CANNOT BE GUARANTEED. Thank you.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Argentinean, Steakhouse, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Briarcliff Parkway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 741-3600

Website:
http://www.piroposkc.com/

Entertainment:
Piropos offers live piano music Friday & Saturday in the main dining room.

Catering:
Customers can custom select a group or party menu from a wide variety of excellent fresh appetizers, entrees and desserts. The restaurant staff will go out of their way to make sure that customers receive a quality dining experience that is within their specified price range.

Parking Details:
Piropos offers lighted private parking near the restaurant with handicapped parking on the north side of the building. Please visit the website for driving directions www.piroposkc.com.

Executive Chef:
Jesus Almos

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Piropos now offers Happy Hour Monday thru Friday, 4:30 to 6:30pm with drink and appetizer discounts.

Restaurant Photos

  • Peppercorn Crusted Filet Mignon - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Milanese Sliders  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • empanadas - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Banana Cake - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Papas Espanolas  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Crab Bisque - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Costillas De Cordero - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
  • Tilapia Argentina - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

Report a photo problem

Peppercorn Crusted Filet Mignon - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Milanese Sliders  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
empanadas - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Banana Cake - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Papas Espanolas  - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Crab Bisque - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Costillas De Cordero - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO
Tilapia Argentina - Piropos Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

Private Dining

A wide variety of private dining rooms are open for special events, business groups, weddings and other groups.

Piropos Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (47)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Special Occasion (43)
See All
Scenic View (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Business Meals (17)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (8)
Fireplace (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Tapas (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Private Room (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first visit there. We were pleasantl ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 2 days ago

Our first visit there. We were pleasantly surprised. Everything was excellent!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful food and service ev ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely wonderful food and service every time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and our server in ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic and our server in the bar Matt was wonderful. One of our favorite restaurants, love the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten at Piropos many times and ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten at Piropos many times and have always been pleased with good food and service. We ate at Piropos Monday 1/16/17 during Restaurant Week and were terribly disappointed. My husband had the rib eye steak - the meat was so tough that he had trouble even cutting it - finally gave up - and did not complete his meal. Our service was good as always. Very disappointing compared to our previous visits - not a good presentation for those that have never been before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

We have always wanted to try Piropo's an ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We have always wanted to try Piropo's and KC Restaurant Week was a great incentive. Our food was great, but our service was really slow...wondering if the kitchen was backed up. I am also wondering if they were caught off guard by KCRW, but we went at noon which is usually a busy time, and we were seated immediately. My only issue is our food was not on our table until 12:45 which means this would not be an easy place for a quick lunch...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was great I have eaten there se ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was great I have eaten there several times and Love the food! I was disappointed this time because we decided to take some of our family out for restaurant week and the server was terrible. She was incredibly slow and forgot several things we ordered. Multiple times we had to remind her of different things we ordered that she did not bring out. Two of us ordered chili and when she brought it to the table she asked if we wanted sour cream with it. Both of us said yes we would. about 10 min later she brought out another bowl of chili for one of us and said she was sorry she forgot, but here is some chili with sour cream. We were never asked how our steaks were cooked or how the food tasted. When she brought out our dessert one of us ordered a creme brulee, she lit it at the table and almost dropped the dessert on one of our laps while on fire. I love Piropos and would recommend it in the future I was just deeply disappointed in the server we had.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Server was knowledgeable and very friend ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Server was knowledgeable and very friendly. The food was delicious. Very nice atmosphere inside with a decent view in a nice area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Order steak medium came out rare… Very r ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Order steak medium came out rare… Very rare..........

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding! We have been many times an ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Outstanding! We have been many times and will be back!

Love the staff!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time there and we wer ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time there and we were taking our foodie friend out for his belated 40th birthday. The service was excellent. Everything was explained to us as to what to expect. We were not rushed in any way and are excited about finding another reason to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View, Private Room, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Piropos is our special occasion place. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Piropos is our special occasion place. It's about a 45 minute drive for us but well worth it. The food and service are great. The view over the city in very nice.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner, food was awesome, Argentin ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great dinner, food was awesome, Argentinian wines were really good, and service was great. I will definitely be coming back for another dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first visit was outstanding. The ser ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first visit was outstanding. The service was exceptional, the view was beautiful, and the food was delicious. Good value, too. We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved our NYE at Piropos. Ev ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely loved our NYE at Piropos. Everything from the ambiance to the food and staff were perfect. Planning on returning soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as always! O ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service as always! One of out favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fred was very good

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fred was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Pirapos for New Years Eve wit ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to Pirapos for New Years Eve with another couple. We enjoyed the experience and the food. Our waitress and wait staff was very attentive and did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, our dinner was good. The entre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall, our dinner was good. The entrees and the desserts were very delicious. The salads - we were charged for five salads, although there were two of us - and the very small side dish, were letdowns. My salad was pretty much a small head of lettuce with dressing. It didn't have the advertised apples or avocado in it. I would avoid the salads, and just go straight to the entree. I feel that for the price we paid for two ($150), there should have been...more.

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great relaxing evening and dining experi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great relaxing evening and dining experience. Never felt rushed even though restaurant was packed. Our server was most attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have eaten here many times and the fo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have eaten here many times and the food and service was well below average. I know it was New Year's Eve but for a restaurant of this caliber it should have been much better. No substitutions were allowed , not even a potato for a potato... again not acceptable for a good restaurant, rushed service , no water refills and the check brought almost with dessert. The side dishes were cold as if served cafeteria style and meats overdone and tough. A big disappointment for a place we have visited many times in the past. Will only go back if somebody else asks us to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Server Fred was experienced and knowledg ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server Fred was experienced and knowledgeable of entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an amazing experience! Delicious ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was an amazing experience! Delicious food, beautiful setting! Wonderful place to celebrate our anniversary

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was lovely and delicious. The chorizo an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Was lovely and delicious. The chorizo and KC strip were both excellent. Appetizer spreads were tasty. Server--James--was friendly and informative without being overbearing. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for a business lunch, in a ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were there for a business lunch, in a private room. Great service, wonderful meal!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservation was for 7:00PM. We arriv ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our reservation was for 7:00PM. We arrived 10 minutes earlier and were advised that "they were getting our table ready". Another couple came in at 7:10PM and were seated immediately in the main dinning room area. Some time thereafter we were told that they would have "a table ready for us in the main dining area in about 10 more minutes", or, as an alternative, they could sit us in an area with 3 or 4 empty tables, clearly an overflow area, next to the stairs. It is clear that our reservation was not honored (the couple that arrived after 7.00PM, when we were already there, was seated in the main dinning area). This was compounded by the quality of the food, specifically the steaks, which was clearly not up to par with the price they charge. Overall, not a pleasant dinning experience, clearly different from previous one in that restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Exceptional food and service. They ackn ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Exceptional food and service. They acknowledged our special occasion. They were gracious when our original number of people changed from 8-5.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat and so happy you are open ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Always a treat and so happy you are open for lunch again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious holiday treat! My guests and I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delicious holiday treat! My guests and I were all very pleased.

Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants not only in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the best restaurants not only in the Northland but in all of KC. A perfect spot for a special occasion. Our table had a great view of downtown Kansas City, which added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fred Netherton was our host. He provide ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Fred Netherton was our host. He provide excellent service. I know he was very busy, but made us very comfortable and unhurried. This is for Freds wife. He spoke very highly of you. I could see the pride he has for you and the children. Believe it.

The food. There may a restaurant somewhere in the world with better food. I am sure there is none better in Kansas City. The attention to the quality of the food is outstanding. I ordered an empanada. Just a simple food item. I cut it in half and thought that didnt cut like a normal empanada. I tasted the pastry by its self. It was stunning pastry. Fred informed me the pastry was air freighted to KCI from Argentina and the Chef drives out and picks it up. Who worries about getting it that right in our world today? The Chef puts that much effort and cost into a $3 item on the menu. Three days later and I am still thinking about it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have made this restaurant as our year ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have made this restaurant as our yearly Christmas meal gathering.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service. Great location. Amb ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent service. Great location. Ambiance was great for lunch, possibly more striking at night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife & I had been to Piropos before ( ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My wife & I had been to Piropos before (as had a few others in our party), but it was a new treat for several in our office. Loads of compliments about the variety and the quality of what everyone ordered. Service was very good, and the private room is awesome !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent meal and service! Love the vi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent meal and service! Love the vibe of Piropos. Can't wait to go back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favs for lunch or dinner. La ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

One of my favs for lunch or dinner. Large happy hour memu in bar all evening. Warm, beautiful and delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Scenic View, Business Meals, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always exceptional and the f ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food is always exceptional and the feeling of being in a beautiful atmosphere always underscores the experience. We have brought many guests here and they have returned on their own afterwards because they also enjoyed it as we have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The three of us went to Piripos for our ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The three of us went to Piripos for our Christmas lunch. We sat at the owners table and had a wonderful time! Good was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have excellent service and the fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Always have excellent service and the food is wonderful. I enjoy Piropos and look forward to the next time I go. I highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fairly good . Server was not ve ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was fairly good . Server was not very friendly. He was table side only when bringing the next course. The only beverage that was refilled was the wine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great food empanadas to halibut!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food empanadas to halibut!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.