About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-8pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-9pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour!

Special valid Sep 8, 2016 - Jan 8, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour!

Special valid Sep 8, 2016 - Jan 8, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Select drink specials and Apps. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 8, 2016 - Jan 8, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Afternoon Coffee (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Romantic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Came here for an early Sunday breakfast ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here for an early Sunday breakfast with a party of five. Both the food and service were great. Order the Mademoiselle. It is the dish that got us to return to the restaurant since we live in Orlando and cannot visit regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the specialty cocktails, "flatbrea ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the specialty cocktails, "flatbread" had another name, fries and burger. In addition took great pastries home for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic meal this evening! O ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a fantastic meal this evening! Our server Sara was so gracious and lovely! The Brussel sprouts were done to perfection and went so well with the organic chicken - I will be ordering an extra side next time we visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food consistently good. Service on a slo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food consistently good. Service on a slow night not up to expectations, glasses not kept full and request for well down burger not delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Mediocre food but the biggest two factor ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Mediocre food but the biggest two factors of my fair to average rating is the service was slow, very slow; they weren't that busy and one of my dishes came out unclean from a wash cycle. Just gross. Won't return ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An overall good experience. The server w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An overall good experience. The server was not present and seemed to be very distracted. Food was delicious and management was prompt to fix any issues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Residing just a few blocks away, Piquant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Residing just a few blocks away, Piquant is always a favorite spot to walk to for a cup of coffee, brunch, or a delicious pastry! I consider the restaurant a neighborhood gem, with a lovely outside dining patio that makes it attractive to dog-owners and families with small children, who prefer a less formal environment than the inside space. While I am generally pleased with the service at Piquant, my most recent dining experience proved to be much different, due to the poor customer service that my family and I received. After taking our drink orders and returning with our beverages, I requested a bowl of water for our dog. Not realizing that I had already done so, my partner also asked for a dog bowl and milk for his coffee. The server responded with an inpatient, "I heard her!", and he proceeded to roll his eyes and mumble under his breath. My partner politely replied that he did not realize I had requested the dog bowl, but the server had already walked away. This exchange was not only off-putting, but also unprofessional. From a custom service perspective, raising one's voice to patrons or responding in ways that indicate irritation are highly inappropriate and make all parties uncomfortable! Though we enjoyed our meal, it is unfortunate that the aforementioned exchange adversely impacted our experience at Piquant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My daughters and I enjoyed Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My daughters and I enjoyed Thanksgiving brunch at Piquant. The menu is varied and interesting, the atmosphere upscale-neighborhood-comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We consider Piquant a Tampa treasure ! G ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We consider Piquant a Tampa treasure !

Great food and wine with an incredible bakery !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb spot for a fabulous breakfast. C ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Superb spot for a fabulous breakfast. Couldn't have been more delicious, and has a great vibe. One of my personal favorites!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was empty on Friday that shou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The place was empty on Friday that should have been clue. We waited for our food over 30 minutes. We got up and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Had an amazing breakfast and was able to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an amazing breakfast and was able to bring my puppy and sit on the patio. They even have a pooch menue.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was so lovely! We were concer ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was so lovely! We were concerned that it took over 20 minutes after our server took our drink orders for coffee to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ordered Sangria not sure what we rece ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We ordered Sangria not sure what we received but way too strong, food was terrible and they were out of most of the desserts ... won't go back and would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Our server was so nice and she made the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server was so nice and she made the evening - but the quiche was overcooked and the crust was brown/black. The ahi tuna salad was terribly overdressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Merl the server / bartender was amazingl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Merl the server / bartender was amazingly attentive with a servants heart to please

Maurice the chef came out to meet the table - nice touch

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We made a reservation online at 9PM - go ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We made a reservation online at 9PM - got a call 10 min before out reservation saying that they close at 9 and we couldn't eat there. After being slightly upset with the host, they were willing to seat us.

They put together a table right in the front where people were passing us and was uncomfortable to sit there...it was weird as the restaurant was practically empty at that hour. It then took 45min to order our food and all I asked for was soup and mac n cheese. Not sure why it took so long...the mac n cheese was also slightly cold...not happy with this place...last time I eat there.

Didn't seem like anyone cared that much to make sure we had a good meal and enjoyed our time there. I left in a bad mood and would of rather eaten somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Overpriced and the service was lacking. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Overpriced and the service was lacking. We would have ordered another round of (very strong) drinks but the waitress didn't come back for quiet some time. I had the duck & waffles, which was good, but the waffle was cold - i don't know if they intended to serve it cold.

We won't be going back, there's a million other places that are not nearly as prices and have way better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Loved everything! Food was amazing and w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Loved everything! Food was amazing and waitress was very sweet!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'est magnifique! The mac and cheese is ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2016

C'est magnifique!

The mac and cheese is divine and the burgers and salad are truly little masterpieces for your palate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was very good and we really enjoy Pi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 10, 2016

All was very good and we really enjoy Piquant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing... for an almost empty res ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Disappointing... for an almost empty restaurant at dinner time on a Friday service was extremely slow. They were Out of most of the desserts and quite a few dishes even though we had an early 6:30 reservation ( don't they keep things in stock?). Duck and waffles served without any sense of presentation- could have been at Denny's getting a chicken and waffles. The egg for the burger was left off. Truffle fries were good. Given the variety of options to eat in Hyde Park we will be finding a new go to place. Not good value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

-Saturday at 8pm. Restaurant was half em ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 2, 2016

-Saturday at 8pm. Restaurant was half empty, but we still had to wait for the waiter.

-Ordered a Gin & Tonic before the meal; the G&T was terrible (water instead of tonic?)

  • We had only had one sip of the drink when the starter arrived way too soon

  • The main course was supposed to be inspired by French cuisine, but was NOT

  • Not a good dining experience at all

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I wanted to love it but it was just alri ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I wanted to love it but it was just alright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Will was our server, he was polite and a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Will was our server, he was polite and attentive. The food was fabulous. Desserts are to die for. Cocktails were awesome. Definitely a favorite! They accommodated a group of us very well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time here. Very disappointed in the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2016

1st time here. Very disappointed in the service. Food was just ok. Server acted like she didn't want to be there. Barista was too busy chit chatting to make our drinks. We ordered coffee/tea before ordering the meal but didn't get the drinks until we were already done eating. Won't be recommending this place to anyone, anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

have dined here numerous times and find ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2016

have dined here numerous times and find it to be a real pleasure. Has the feel of a bistro in Paris

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The services was pretty slow considering ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 12, 2016

The services was pretty slow considering that the restaurant was not busy. We found the food to be very average. Would not be on our list to rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great menu and pasteries! Our servers ar ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great menu and pasteries! Our servers are always friendly and accommodating. We always tell our friends and family about this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Going to Piquant is always a great exper ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Going to Piquant is always a great experience. This was a friends' get-together for brunch on a Labor Day.

The place had both breakfast and lunch options, so everyone was pleased with the offered food options.

The food is always delicious as well as their tea selection.

The service was great overall, even though we were waiting for a check a little longer than wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place. The staff are very friendly! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice place. The staff are very friendly! However, the tables were too close together!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate here for breakfast with my friend ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 31, 2016

I ate here for breakfast with my friend yesterday. We had a nice time. The atmosphere was quiet and calm. Love the French inspired music. Good customer service. And my breakfast was delicious. I have to go again to try the many choices of dessert they had available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was OK, but not spectacular. D ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our food was OK, but not spectacular. Did not care for the 'infused iced tea" and would have preferred regular brewed iced tea. Very loud and lots of children at lunchtime. We were fortunate that our table was away from the largest part of the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service!

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have been described as foo ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I have been described as foodies by friends who come to us for restaurant recommendations. This is definitely a place we would recommend to friends. We will surely return to try other items on the menu as well.

We started with the Boules De Fromage and the Chorizo and Goat Cheese flatbread. Both were exceptional items and would be great to share with a group of friends.

For our entrees, I had the Croque Madam and my wife had the Adult Grilled Cheese with Bacon. Both were easily the best version of these sandwiches we have ever tried.

The dessert selections are endless, and after going overboard with appetizers and entrees, we decided to take dessert to go. The desserts made for a great end to the evening.

This place is worth the drive from St Pete for a Friday Night Date, or any reason you can come up with.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Except for 1 or 2 things, the food is no ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Except for 1 or 2 things, the food is not worth it, particular for dinner. Great for drinks and apps.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Place is always great

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Place is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I believe this is a brunch restaurant pr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

I believe this is a brunch restaurant primarily. Looking at their online menu, however, had my mouth watering with the delicious possibilities. Unfortunately, when we arrived we found that in reality the menu has been reduced and some of the exciting entrees which brought us to the restaurant for dinner are no longer available. The martinis were small, and the premium price for serving them "up" was a real turnoff. I had a blue cheese burger, which was excellent, and the truffled fries were tasty and crispy. The broiled oysters were also excellent. It's just that I really wanted the short ribs. Listen up! You need to change your online menu!! Customers actually look at these things nowadays. To cap off the dinner, I ordered a dessert which the server suggested, then she came back and apologized, as it was no longer available.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent meal, one of the items on the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent meal, one of the items on the menu wasn't 'available' but our waiter offered an alternative dish, and some other suggestions which all turned out wonderfully. Good service, attentive but not over bearing and the chef came out to meet with us. All in all a great place, we look forward to going back the next time we are in Tampa, will also go for breakfast/brunch as their selections looks great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for dinner and I got the Ribeye. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for dinner and I got the Ribeye. Of the 6 slices of steak, only 2 were edible since the other 4 were pure fat. The donuts were absolutely delicious and our servers (Joey and Colin) were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.