About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-8pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-9pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour!

Special valid Sep 8, 2016 - Jan 8, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour!

Special valid Sep 8, 2016 - Jan 8, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Select drink specials and Apps. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Sep 8, 2016 - Jan 8, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Tampa / Central Florida West
Great for Lunch
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

Great for Lunch (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Brunch (21)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Casual (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
226 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I wanted to love it but it was just alri ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 2 days ago

I wanted to love it but it was just alright.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

1st time here. Very disappointed in the ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

1st time here. Very disappointed in the service. Food was just ok. Server acted like she didn't want to be there. Barista was too busy chit chatting to make our drinks. We ordered coffee/tea before ordering the meal but didn't get the drinks until we were already done eating. Won't be recommending this place to anyone, anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

have dined here numerous times and find ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

have dined here numerous times and find it to be a real pleasure. Has the feel of a bistro in Paris

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The services was pretty slow considering ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The services was pretty slow considering that the restaurant was not busy. We found the food to be very average. Would not be on our list to rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great menu and pasteries! Our servers ar ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great menu and pasteries! Our servers are always friendly and accommodating. We always tell our friends and family about this place.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Going to Piquant is always a great exper ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Going to Piquant is always a great experience. This was a friends' get-together for brunch on a Labor Day.

The place had both breakfast and lunch options, so everyone was pleased with the offered food options.

The food is always delicious as well as their tea selection.

The service was great overall, even though we were waiting for a check a little longer than wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place. The staff are very friendly! ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice place. The staff are very friendly! However, the tables were too close together!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I ate here for breakfast with my friend ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I ate here for breakfast with my friend yesterday. We had a nice time. The atmosphere was quiet and calm. Love the French inspired music. Good customer service. And my breakfast was delicious. I have to go again to try the many choices of dessert they had available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was OK, but not spectacular. D ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our food was OK, but not spectacular. Did not care for the 'infused iced tea" and would have preferred regular brewed iced tea. Very loud and lots of children at lunchtime. We were fortunate that our table was away from the largest part of the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Great service!

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have been described as foo ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I have been described as foodies by friends who come to us for restaurant recommendations. This is definitely a place we would recommend to friends. We will surely return to try other items on the menu as well.

We started with the Boules De Fromage and the Chorizo and Goat Cheese flatbread. Both were exceptional items and would be great to share with a group of friends.

For our entrees, I had the Croque Madam and my wife had the Adult Grilled Cheese with Bacon. Both were easily the best version of these sandwiches we have ever tried.

The dessert selections are endless, and after going overboard with appetizers and entrees, we decided to take dessert to go. The desserts made for a great end to the evening.

This place is worth the drive from St Pete for a Friday Night Date, or any reason you can come up with.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Except for 1 or 2 things, the food is no ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Except for 1 or 2 things, the food is not worth it, particular for dinner. Great for drinks and apps.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Place is always great

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Place is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I believe this is a brunch restaurant pr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I believe this is a brunch restaurant primarily. Looking at their online menu, however, had my mouth watering with the delicious possibilities. Unfortunately, when we arrived we found that in reality the menu has been reduced and some of the exciting entrees which brought us to the restaurant for dinner are no longer available. The martinis were small, and the premium price for serving them "up" was a real turnoff. I had a blue cheese burger, which was excellent, and the truffled fries were tasty and crispy. The broiled oysters were also excellent. It's just that I really wanted the short ribs. Listen up! You need to change your online menu!! Customers actually look at these things nowadays. To cap off the dinner, I ordered a dessert which the server suggested, then she came back and apologized, as it was no longer available.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent meal, one of the items on the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent meal, one of the items on the menu wasn't 'available' but our waiter offered an alternative dish, and some other suggestions which all turned out wonderfully. Good service, attentive but not over bearing and the chef came out to meet with us. All in all a great place, we look forward to going back the next time we are in Tampa, will also go for breakfast/brunch as their selections looks great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for dinner and I got the Ribeye. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for dinner and I got the Ribeye. Of the 6 slices of steak, only 2 were edible since the other 4 were pure fat. The donuts were absolutely delicious and our servers (Joey and Colin) were outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed in what Piquant did and oth ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Disappointed in what Piquant did and other restaurants have done also. It causes me not to go back again. We had never been here for dinner but enjoyed lunch many times. We looked at the menu on the Internet and picked out several entrees that we wanted. When we got to the restaurant that night, the menu was different and our items were not on it. Classy restaurants keep up with their website menus. Shame on Piquant, you failed our going back policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I typically enjoy Piquant for breakfast ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I typically enjoy Piquant for breakfast or lunch. I was not very impressed for dinner. The menu seemed very similar to the lunch menu, heavy on salads, sandwiches and quiche with only a few limited dinner entree options. I though the Daily Fresh Catch Salad sounded good and also hearty. The server announced the catch of the day - grouper - and then informed us that they were all out and could sub chicken. I thought maybe I'd go for the Ahi Tuna Salad instead. Nope, out of tuna, too. I went with soup (good) and a flat bread (ok). The dinner was to celebrate two friends' birthdays. I called ahead to pre-order mini cupcakes and croissant doughnuts. When I arrived, they informed me that instead of making half chocolate and half vanilla cupcakes, they had accidentally made all chocolate. They were apologetic and asked if that was ok. Didn't seem like I had much choice since I had been required to prepay for them and there was obviously no time to make more. To compensate, they brought out additional pastries with the (all chocolate) cupcakes and croissant doughnuts. With a case full of delicious and decadent desserts, they brought us a plate of end-of-the-day plain croissants and fruit Danishes. I think I'll stick to Piquant for brunch food and not head back soon for dinner or special occasion celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This restaurant has a great gourmet vibe ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant has a great gourmet vibe and uses fresh, delicious ingredients, presented beautifully in very fair portions. The quiche is to die for. The service is always friendly. No place quite like it in Tampa. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my ultimate favorite place ! Whe ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

This is my ultimate favorite place ! When I'm there I feel like I'm in a different country and it's so peaceful. The service is amazing and the owners are extremely sweet! I want to recommend this place to all my friends but don't want my secret spot to be spoiled lol

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great place for brunch. And don ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a great place for brunch. And don't forget to get some coffee or tea, great selection. Always the best tasting food. And Joey was a great server (and fun) who gave us good suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Piquant. My favorite thing that u ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love Piquant. My favorite thing that u get everytime is the granola meal with the triple strained Greek yogurt. They fruit in this meal is great quality (pineapple, kiwi, etc.) instead of melons which water down meals. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we were seated promptly at the time of o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

we were seated promptly at the time of our reservation for lunch

the service was prompt and efficient

the food was good, but way overpriced

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

A group of ladies went to Piquant for a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A group of ladies went to Piquant for a Girls' Night Out, at 5PM on a Wednesday. There was no one else in the restaurant and our server was doubling as the hostess. I felt she could have been a little more attentive, especially when more patrons arrived to eat. A Happy Hour might be a nice addition also. I had a hamburger with truffle fries and took home a nutella croissant, which were all quite delicious!!! Everyone at the table was happy with their food. I will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and I loved having a delic ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and I loved having a delicious sandwich on gluten free bread! Thank you!!! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Even though I had reservations, I waited ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Even though I had reservations, I waited 45 minutes with a baby.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

It was overpriced

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The waiter went over and beyond. This may be because the restaurant was pretty empty. Also, I made a reservation at least a month prior to our visit. At 5:30 pm the restaurant called me to see if we could get there by 7 because our reservation was for 7:30 and they were closing by 8. I don't understand why they didn't call me well in advance with this information. That was a bit bothersome. The food was good, but it was over priced. We put a request in to sit outside and when we arrived, this area had not been set up for us. I made the reservation and request online. The whole experience was a bit odd. The food was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Excellent Service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our server, Tracy, was amazing! She was attentive and friendly. She even went out of her way to get my mother a band-aid after she scrapped her knee outside. I frequently dine out and I can truly say she was one of the best servers I've had in a while. Thanks Tracy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

30 minute wait for dessert! Not acceptable.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

After a nice meal, we had to wait over 30 minutes for our dessert and coffee. I was told they had only 1 "guy back there". Really! How about telling me this before we order dessert so we can be prepared. Oh, in case you are wondering, the dessert we ordered was not complicated and should have taken 10 minutes at the most to be served. The service was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food but service was not great

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I made a 6:00 reservation for a Saturday dinner and planned to eat outside on the sidewalk cafe part of the restaurant. The hostess was fairly rude to us and discouraged us from sitting outside as she felt we would just complain that it was "too hot" and want to come inside. Once she seated us outside we waited quite a while for service. It seemed that there wasn't one server assigned to the rather substantial outside area; but rather inside servers all had a table or two out there. We put in our order and waited a long while for drinks. Apologizing, our server brought drinks and took our food order. It too a VERY long time to get our food but it was delicious. We waited another VERY VERY long time to get our check - in fact, I asked the very rude hostess to signal our server. Granted our server was very nice and seemed to be trying very hard; however, nothing seemed to arrive in a timely fashion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is consistently good, although ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is consistently good, although sometimes slow. The GF quiche is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was perfect and the food ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect and the food was stellar. I love Hyde Park and this restaurant is a jewel amongst the other businesses. Elegant dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place, bad timing

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I have been raving about Piquant to my mother for months and finally decided to take her for brunch. Unfortunately, it was on the heels of a busy weekend and it showed in their food quality and selection. They were almost completely out of all their juices, the food proportions were very small, and the steak on the Steak & Egg tartine resembled beef jerky more than roast beef. It should also be noted that the coffee was severely under brewed and the service was exceptionally slow.

I was so disappointed that this was my mother's first experience, knowing how amazing the food and service typically is. Despite this, my mother was thoroughly impressed and has asked when we can do brunch again. I would absolutely recommend Piquant again and again, just not on a Monday or after a holiday so as to avoid this type of situation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Unimpressed

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Took the family out for a casual dinner. Restaurant was nice, clean, vibrant. Decent selection of drinks. Server was Evan, friendly and attentive.

Food was ok, we ordered muscles and soup for appetizer . The muscles were overtaken by the liquorish. The soup was good. Main course was fish with risotto and the short rib. The fish was very good but very undersized. The short rib was very dry and not very flavorful.

Overall not a bad experience, I probably wont go here again unless the surrounding restaurant's were unavailable. For me it was too overpriced for the food quality and qty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Piquant service and food were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience! Fries were a li ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food and ambience! Fries were a little over cooked to the point that they were crispy but otherwise everything was great, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was cold and had to be send back.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was cold and had to be send back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent Meal

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and cannot wait to go back. We are also looking forward to trying their pastries. Menu is diverse and it all looked fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.