About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-8pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-9pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Afternoon Coffee (15)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food, great atmosphere. Pastry sele ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Good food, great atmosphere. Pastry selection is outstanding - must stop by and pick up a few treats before leaving

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the Ambiance of Sunday Brunch in ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the Ambiance of Sunday Brunch in Hyde Park. Checked in with the Friendly Hostess and our party of 4 was seated immediately. The Restaurant is divided into different areas, of which we were in the main area within site of the Delectable Bake Goods!! Mostly tables inside and on the outside seating area. Our Server, Skye, greeted us as soon as we were settled. We were in somewhat of a hurry as 2 of us were catching the Train, and our server picked up on that and took our selections while ordering our drinks. Our Food was brought in a timely manner. The Quiche was good but came with no sides. Another had the Salmon Benedict which she requested with Gluten Free Bread and enjoyed immensely. There were 2 separate Eggs and plenty to eat. The Chorizo Omelet rated tasty from someone who lives in California. The Ham and Cheese Croissant was good as well. It was a busy Sunday but we never felt rushed. We enjoyed our time at this Family Friendly establishment and Skye was exceptional. Very efficient, professional and pleasant! She took great care of us and we look forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love piquant and go all the time!! Ev ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love piquant and go all the time!! Everything I've tried is great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal! The smoked salmon Benedi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fantastic meal! The smoked salmon Benedict is something I highly recommend. The cinnamon sugar croissant donut is superb as well. Amazing coffee, great location, very friendly environment!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Fun, Organic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had such high hopes for Piquant but wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I had such high hopes for Piquant but was extremely disappointed with our experience here. We made a reservation on Open Table for 9:30am on Sunday morning. When we arrived, there was one couple ahead of us at the hostess stand. We both stood there for 7 or 8 minutes without a single person coming to greet us.

Finally, someone from behind the bakery counter told us to just take a seat anywhere so we headed out to the patio. It took another 10 minutes for a server to come over as they obviously have no seating system whatsoever. We had no menus, no water, we were just sitting there twiddling our thumbs.

Before we looked at the menu, the server told us they were out of "a few" items. They had no strawberries, no ham, no eggs, and no sausage. How in the world does a restaurant not have these items for breakfast?! We were more than irritated at this point but decided to go ahead and order anyway.

I had a cappuccino and a vanilla croissant donut. The cappuccino was average and the pastry was awful. It had no defining flavor and was ice cold after being taken out of the refrigerated pastry case. This made me think it was not baked fresh and it felt like they had slapped something on a plate like a cheap diner. Needless to say, we will not be returning to this over-priced, over-hyped establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Our meal was average. Service was a lit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our meal was average. Service was a little slow, the food was alright but nothing fantastic (adult grilled cheese & bacon/egg baguette). The best part of the meal was the French 75.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Piquant is always one of my favorites. T ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Piquant is always one of my favorites. The croque was not a traditional French and slightly disappointing but the croissant makes up for it and the chocolate chip cookies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food is always excellent although a bit ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food is always excellent although a bit on the pricey side for breakfast fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Five people ordered hot coffee all diffe ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Five people ordered hot coffee all different types all of them were cold. My mother-in-law's hot tea was even served lukewarm. There was no cheese on her breakfast sandwich. Kitchen service was slow. Food was visible in the kitchen on hold for at least 5 minutes before it was brought out. The crepes were undercooked. We have been here numerous times and this was unlike any other experience. Very disappointing outing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Our food was wondeful, you must try the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our food was wondeful, you must try the truffle frittes. I have not have food like this since I was in Belgium. Our waiter had real input when we asked for recommendations and even had complimenting wine choice for the food we ordered. The only thing I marked this place down for is the awful plastic chairs. I am not a big person but they were intimidating like you would break them. Wonderful food in a casual atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I cannot review this restaurant because ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I cannot review this restaurant because after waiting 15 minutes from the time we were seated on a quiet Thursday evening with no service, we left.

Perhaps a glass of water would have been nice.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We enjoyed our " date night". We especia ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We enjoyed our " date night". We especially appreciate the dog friendly patio. Hyde Park is a vibrant pet owner locale and Piquant is it's jewel!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed my trip yesterday and pla ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Really enjoyed my trip yesterday and plan to come back.

Chicken salad sandwich was yummy

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always!!!!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Amazing as always!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit to Piquant. It i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my first visit to Piquant. It is a very nice and pleasant place to go. Very nice ambiance with warm, friendly efficient service. My wife and friends enjoyed their meal however I ordered the ribeye and it was not very good. It came pre cut with six or seven slices of steak of which two were inedible, all fat. I will go back and try again and try something different.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed the restaurant very much. Ser ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We enjoyed the restaurant very much. Service was excellent and food was delicious. Desert a necessity. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wide variety of food on the menu, from s ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Wide variety of food on the menu, from sandwiches to French dinner entrees. Waiter selected a moderately priced red wine that was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The atmosphere at this restaurant remind ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The atmosphere at this restaurant reminds me so much of Europe. I got a warm welcome at the hostess stand as well as when I got to the bar. The bar keeper took good care of me to the point I felt I was the only one in the restaurant. The food is delicious and the service is wonderful. The holiday atmosphere added to an already great experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Came here for an early Sunday breakfast ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Came here for an early Sunday breakfast with a party of five. Both the food and service were great. Order the Mademoiselle. It is the dish that got us to return to the restaurant since we live in Orlando and cannot visit regularly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved the specialty cocktails, "flatbrea ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Loved the specialty cocktails, "flatbread" had another name, fries and burger. In addition took great pastries home for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic meal this evening! O ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We had a fantastic meal this evening! Our server Sara was so gracious and lovely! The Brussel sprouts were done to perfection and went so well with the organic chicken - I will be ordering an extra side next time we visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food consistently good. Service on a slo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food consistently good. Service on a slow night not up to expectations, glasses not kept full and request for well down burger not delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Mediocre food but the biggest two factor ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Mediocre food but the biggest two factors of my fair to average rating is the service was slow, very slow; they weren't that busy and one of my dishes came out unclean from a wash cycle. Just gross. Won't return ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

An overall good experience. The server w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An overall good experience. The server was not present and seemed to be very distracted. Food was delicious and management was prompt to fix any issues.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tapas, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Residing just a few blocks away, Piquant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Residing just a few blocks away, Piquant is always a favorite spot to walk to for a cup of coffee, brunch, or a delicious pastry! I consider the restaurant a neighborhood gem, with a lovely outside dining patio that makes it attractive to dog-owners and families with small children, who prefer a less formal environment than the inside space. While I am generally pleased with the service at Piquant, my most recent dining experience proved to be much different, due to the poor customer service that my family and I received. After taking our drink orders and returning with our beverages, I requested a bowl of water for our dog. Not realizing that I had already done so, my partner also asked for a dog bowl and milk for his coffee. The server responded with an inpatient, "I heard her!", and he proceeded to roll his eyes and mumble under his breath. My partner politely replied that he did not realize I had requested the dog bowl, but the server had already walked away. This exchange was not only off-putting, but also unprofessional. From a custom service perspective, raising one's voice to patrons or responding in ways that indicate irritation are highly inappropriate and make all parties uncomfortable! Though we enjoyed our meal, it is unfortunate that the aforementioned exchange adversely impacted our experience at Piquant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My daughters and I enjoyed Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My daughters and I enjoyed Thanksgiving brunch at Piquant. The menu is varied and interesting, the atmosphere upscale-neighborhood-comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We consider Piquant a Tampa treasure ! G ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We consider Piquant a Tampa treasure !

Great food and wine with an incredible bakery !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb spot for a fabulous breakfast. C ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Superb spot for a fabulous breakfast. Couldn't have been more delicious, and has a great vibe. One of my personal favorites!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was empty on Friday that shou ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The place was empty on Friday that should have been clue. We waited for our food over 30 minutes. We got up and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Had an amazing breakfast and was able to ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had an amazing breakfast and was able to bring my puppy and sit on the patio. They even have a pooch menue.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The smell of coffee and pastries emulate ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The smell of coffee and pastries emulates throughout the restaurant. The salads, burgers and flatbreads are unique and amazing. Must try the beignets for dessert. A bag of donuts that come with 4 different sauces... Raspberry, vanilla creme fraiche, chocolate, and caramel. Love that it is very dog-friendly and there is a separate menu for your furry family members.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything was so lovely! We were concer ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everything was so lovely! We were concerned that it took over 20 minutes after our server took our drink orders for coffee to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ordered Sangria not sure what we rece ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We ordered Sangria not sure what we received but way too strong, food was terrible and they were out of most of the desserts ... won't go back and would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Our server was so nice and she made the ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server was so nice and she made the evening - but the quiche was overcooked and the crust was brown/black. The ahi tuna salad was terribly overdressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Merl the server / bartender was amazingl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Merl the server / bartender was amazingly attentive with a servants heart to please

Maurice the chef came out to meet the table - nice touch

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We made a reservation online at 9PM - go ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We made a reservation online at 9PM - got a call 10 min before out reservation saying that they close at 9 and we couldn't eat there. After being slightly upset with the host, they were willing to seat us.

They put together a table right in the front where people were passing us and was uncomfortable to sit there...it was weird as the restaurant was practically empty at that hour. It then took 45min to order our food and all I asked for was soup and mac n cheese. Not sure why it took so long...the mac n cheese was also slightly cold...not happy with this place...last time I eat there.

Didn't seem like anyone cared that much to make sure we had a good meal and enjoyed our time there. I left in a bad mood and would of rather eaten somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Overpriced and the service was lacking. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Overpriced and the service was lacking. We would have ordered another round of (very strong) drinks but the waitress didn't come back for quiet some time. I had the duck & waffles, which was good, but the waffle was cold - i don't know if they intended to serve it cold.

We won't be going back, there's a million other places that are not nearly as prices and have way better service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Loved everything! Food was amazing and w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Loved everything! Food was amazing and waitress was very sweet!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'est magnifique! The mac and cheese is ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2016

C'est magnifique!

The mac and cheese is divine and the burgers and salad are truly little masterpieces for your palate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All was very good and we really enjoy Pi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 10, 2016

All was very good and we really enjoy Piquant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.