About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-8pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-9pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

fit for foodies (31)
great for outdoor dining (30)
neighborhood gem (25)
See All
great for brunch (25)
great for lunch (24)
special occasion (17)
good for groups (15)
romantic (10)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (7)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A group of ladies went to Piquant for a ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

A group of ladies went to Piquant for a Girls' Night Out, at 5PM on a Wednesday. There was no one else in the restaurant and our server was doubling as the hostess. I felt she could have been a little more attentive, especially when more patrons arrived to eat. A Happy Hour might be a nice addition also. I had a hamburger with truffle fries and took home a nutella croissant, which were all quite delicious!!! Everyone at the table was happy with their food. I will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great service and I loved having a delic ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and I loved having a delicious sandwich on gluten free bread! Thank you!!! 😊

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Even though I had reservations, I waited ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Even though I had reservations, I waited 45 minutes with a baby.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

It was overpriced

Dined on May 30, 2016

The waiter went over and beyond. This may be because the restaurant was pretty empty. Also, I made a reservation at least a month prior to our visit. At 5:30 pm the restaurant called me to see if we could get there by 7 because our reservation was for 7:30 and they were closing by 8. I don't understand why they didn't call me well in advance with this information. That was a bit bothersome. The food was good, but it was over priced. We put a request in to sit outside and when we arrived, this area had not been set up for us. I made the reservation and request online. The whole experience was a bit odd. The food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

Dined on May 30, 2016

Our server, Tracy, was amazing! She was attentive and friendly. She even went out of her way to get my mother a band-aid after she scrapped her knee outside. I frequently dine out and I can truly say she was one of the best servers I've had in a while. Thanks Tracy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

30 minute wait for dessert! Not acceptable.

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

After a nice meal, we had to wait over 30 minutes for our dessert and coffee. I was told they had only 1 "guy back there". Really! How about telling me this before we order dessert so we can be prepared. Oh, in case you are wondering, the dessert we ordered was not complicated and should have taken 10 minutes at the most to be served. The service was mediocre at best.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food but service was not great

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I made a 6:00 reservation for a Saturday dinner and planned to eat outside on the sidewalk cafe part of the restaurant. The hostess was fairly rude to us and discouraged us from sitting outside as she felt we would just complain that it was "too hot" and want to come inside. Once she seated us outside we waited quite a while for service. It seemed that there wasn't one server assigned to the rather substantial outside area; but rather inside servers all had a table or two out there. We put in our order and waited a long while for drinks. Apologizing, our server brought drinks and took our food order. It too a VERY long time to get our food but it was delicious. We waited another VERY VERY long time to get our check - in fact, I asked the very rude hostess to signal our server. Granted our server was very nice and seemed to be trying very hard; however, nothing seemed to arrive in a timely fashion.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and ambiance!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food and ambiance!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere was perfect and the food ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect and the food was stellar. I love Hyde Park and this restaurant is a jewel amongst the other businesses. Elegant dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place, bad timing

Dined on May 9, 2016

I have been raving about Piquant to my mother for months and finally decided to take her for brunch. Unfortunately, it was on the heels of a busy weekend and it showed in their food quality and selection. They were almost completely out of all their juices, the food proportions were very small, and the steak on the Steak & Egg tartine resembled beef jerky more than roast beef. It should also be noted that the coffee was severely under brewed and the service was exceptionally slow. I was so disappointed that this was my mother's first experience, knowing how amazing the food and service typically is. Despite this, my mother was thoroughly impressed and has asked when we can do brunch again. I would absolutely recommend Piquant again and again, just not on a Monday or after a holiday so as to avoid this type of situation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Unimpressed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Took the family out for a casual dinner. Restaurant was nice, clean, vibrant. Decent selection of drinks. Server was Evan, friendly and attentive. Food was ok, we ordered muscles and soup for appetizer . The muscles were overtaken by the liquorish. The soup was good. Main course was fish with risotto and the short rib. The fish was very good but very undersized. The short rib was very dry and not very flavorful. Overall not a bad experience, I probably wont go here again unless the surrounding restaurant's were unavailable. For me it was too overpriced for the food quality and qty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Piquant service and food were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and ambience! Fries were a li ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food and ambience! Fries were a little over cooked to the point that they were crispy but otherwise everything was great, thank you!

food1
ambience3
service3

Food was cold and had to be send back.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was cold and had to be send back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and cannot wait to go back. We are also looking forward to trying their pastries. Menu is diverse and it all looked fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We visited the restaurant for dessert and coffee after a waitress from another restaurant in the neighborhood recommended us going there after our meal... Unfortunately our coffee was cold and our beignets were greasy. 😔 With that being said, we will give it one more try.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chic and nice

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place with fresh tasty food, original and on-site bakery. Service was excellent and quality is awesome. Took some pastries to go and were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for travelers

Dined on March 29, 2016

We have a lot of visitors from Richmond and this is a great find! The food is great, the service is outstanding and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had their burgers, at a French cuisin ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had their burgers, at a French cuisine restaurant were top-end, plus the fries were a special treat. We did not expect this. Worth the look.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Nice Evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

We went with another couple, and had a very nice evening. Our waiter was exceptional: polite, friendly and attentive. I had the power salad and my husband had the swordfish both were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique spot for a unique date

Dined on March 17, 2016

Accommodated a couple unique requests for a unique evening with my date. The waiter, Joe, played along nicely. Food was great. Ambiance and service was better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

The food is always excellent, service is ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is always excellent, service is generally hit or miss. Amazing baked good. The plastic chairs always throw me off, they're also incredibly uncomfortable. But the food keeps us coming back, so good!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent food and great service

food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Yucca croquettes wer ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was very good. Yucca croquettes were just the right portion, and the butternut squash salad was substantial.

food5
ambience4
service5

The short ribs Benedict was great. The s ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

The short ribs Benedict was great. The sweetness of the scone was a nice contrast to the chipotle in the sauce. We had no room for dessert so we visited the pastry case. Our selections did not disappoint.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service! I took my aunts, ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Great food and service! I took my aunts, one who lives part-time in Paris, and they were so happy with the food and pastries. We sat in the back by the bar and it was a little dark, but that's the worst thing I could say. We had breakfast/brunch. Being able to do late brunch on a weekday was quite nice. Definitely recommended!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Old Hyde Park Gem

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a very nice neighborhood restaurant in Hyde Park with an upscale bar and a vibrant atmosphere. The food is somewhat pricey but well-prepared. We had an excellent garbanzo bean soup and grilled chicken entrée. The menu includes an impressive selection of salads and sandwiches, along with some delicious entrées. The restaurant was buzzing on a Saturday night. Piquant is also an excellent destination for lunch and has a lovely outdoor seating area as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

We dine are several times a year and alw ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We dine are several times a year and always have great meals. The service was lacking this time. Make sure to get some pastries after dinner as dessert !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Piquant Hyde Park

Dined on February 18, 2016

We have eaten here several times and found it to be a good experience. Brunch is always a good find. We plan on eating here when the green market is open. Dinner is always good. The only negative comment I have is the noise level, but that seems true with many restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Night Out

Dined on February 15, 2016

Tired of the same steakhouse routine. Searched OpenTable and for Valentine's Day special night. After reading the reviews I reserved a table for two. The beginning of the experience started out with no reservation found. The remainder of the night was great. The food was very flavorful and the dessert great. Made reservations for a group dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The environment was great, the staff was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The environment was great, the staff was wonderful and the food was amazing! I would definitely go back. The only thing I didn't like was the glass chairs.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great French Restaurant Hyde Park Tampa

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day and had a wonderful dinner. The menu was a little pricy but not too bad. Great date spot.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Don Juan

Dined on February 13, 2016

I was a little surprised that at the service. The Hostess literally placed the menus on the table and then left with no comment. It was obvious that the server was in a hurry to turn the table and was not very helpful regarding the menu. The food was delicious but everything else needs work.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Portions horribly small for the price.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Not worth it. Food ok, but WAY overpriced. Portions inadequate. Server was stupendous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Can't wait to go again!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Our group of 6 enjoyed everything we ordered. I ordered the butternut squash salad and it was to die for. I took my time enjoying it so I could take some home as well to enjoy later. The restaurant was clean and the environment was quiet so we could enjoy conversations. I can't believe this place has been right there in Hyde Park, less than 10 minutes from work and 25 minustes from my house. I think it will become my new favorite place to eat. I already told my "foodie" partner in crime that we have a new place to enjoy in Hyde Park/SoHo area. I can't wait! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Food was ok and way overpriced. Pork Bel ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was ok and way overpriced. Pork Belly was not good. Fatty and greasy. Ham Croquettes were tasteless and cold. Wine selection was good.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food and service BUT overpriced

Dined on January 26, 2016

With a 15-20% price reduction, this would go from 3 to 4 or 5 stars overall.

food4
ambience3
service1

Disappointed! I like the food and ambien ...

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Disappointed! I like the food and ambience at Piquant, but tonight was some of the worst service I have ever had at a restaurant, let alone at Piquant. What a shame.

food3
ambience2
service4

Went for dinner. The service was good, f ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Went for dinner. The service was good, from the hostess to the waitress. Very attentive. The food however was mediocre. The small seafood platter appetizer was very overpriced. Got 2 shrimp, 2 mussels, and 2 very small oysters...for $18. The pork belly burger I got for my main meal was decent. I would come here for breakfast or lunch. Not really a good deal for dinner.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.