About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-9pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-10pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Entertainment:
Tuesdays: "Yappy Hour" Join us with your 4-legged friend, all items on "Les Pooch" menu are half-off

Wednesdays: Wine Whiskey Wednesdays, half off Bottles of wine plus BOGO whiskey cocktails

Thursdays: Ladies Night, $9 Veuve, $5 wines and cocktails

Fridays: "French Fridays", $5 "French Kiss"

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Check out our website for updates on wine dinners, cooking classes, and joint events with our friends in Hyde Park Village!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

great for outdoor dining (40)
neighborhood gem (40)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
great for brunch (30)
great for lunch (28)
special occasion (24)
romantic (22)
good for groups (19)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (14)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and ambiance!

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food and ambiance!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere was perfect and the food ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect and the food was stellar. I love Hyde Park and this restaurant is a jewel amongst the other businesses. Elegant dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place, bad timing

Dined on May 9, 2016

I have been raving about Piquant to my mother for months and finally decided to take her for brunch. Unfortunately, it was on the heels of a busy weekend and it showed in their food quality and selection. They were almost completely out of all their juices, the food proportions were very small, and the steak on the Steak & Egg tartine resembled beef jerky more than roast beef. It should also be noted that the coffee was severely under brewed and the service was exceptionally slow. I was so disappointed that this was my mother's first experience, knowing how amazing the food and service typically is. Despite this, my mother was thoroughly impressed and has asked when we can do brunch again. I would absolutely recommend Piquant again and again, just not on a Monday or after a holiday so as to avoid this type of situation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Unimpressed

Dined on May 7, 2016

Took the family out for a casual dinner. Restaurant was nice, clean, vibrant. Decent selection of drinks. Server was Evan, friendly and attentive. Food was ok, we ordered muscles and soup for appetizer . The muscles were overtaken by the liquorish. The soup was good. Main course was fish with risotto and the short rib. The fish was very good but very undersized. The short rib was very dry and not very flavorful. Overall not a bad experience, I probably wont go here again unless the surrounding restaurant's were unavailable. For me it was too overpriced for the food quality and qty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Piquant service and food were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and ambience! Fries were a li ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food and ambience! Fries were a little over cooked to the point that they were crispy but otherwise everything was great, thank you!

food1
ambience3
service3

Food was cold and had to be send back.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was cold and had to be send back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and cannot wait to go back. We are also looking forward to trying their pastries. Menu is diverse and it all looked fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We visited the restaurant for dessert and coffee after a waitress from another restaurant in the neighborhood recommended us going there after our meal... Unfortunately our coffee was cold and our beignets were greasy. 😔 With that being said, we will give it one more try.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chic and nice

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place with fresh tasty food, original and on-site bakery. Service was excellent and quality is awesome. Took some pastries to go and were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for travelers

Dined on March 29, 2016

We have a lot of visitors from Richmond and this is a great find! The food is great, the service is outstanding and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had their burgers, at a French cuisin ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had their burgers, at a French cuisine restaurant were top-end, plus the fries were a special treat. We did not expect this. Worth the look.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Nice Evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

We went with another couple, and had a very nice evening. Our waiter was exceptional: polite, friendly and attentive. I had the power salad and my husband had the swordfish both were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique spot for a unique date

Dined on March 17, 2016

Accommodated a couple unique requests for a unique evening with my date. The waiter, Joe, played along nicely. Food was great. Ambiance and service was better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

The food is always excellent, service is ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is always excellent, service is generally hit or miss. Amazing baked good. The plastic chairs always throw me off, they're also incredibly uncomfortable. But the food keeps us coming back, so good!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and great service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent food and great service

food4
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Yucca croquettes wer ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was very good. Yucca croquettes were just the right portion, and the butternut squash salad was substantial.

food5
ambience4
service5

The short ribs Benedict was great. The s ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

The short ribs Benedict was great. The sweetness of the scone was a nice contrast to the chipotle in the sauce. We had no room for dessert so we visited the pastry case. Our selections did not disappoint.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and service! I took my aunts, ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Great food and service! I took my aunts, one who lives part-time in Paris, and they were so happy with the food and pastries. We sat in the back by the bar and it was a little dark, but that's the worst thing I could say. We had breakfast/brunch. Being able to do late brunch on a weekday was quite nice. Definitely recommended!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Old Hyde Park Gem

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a very nice neighborhood restaurant in Hyde Park with an upscale bar and a vibrant atmosphere. The food is somewhat pricey but well-prepared. We had an excellent garbanzo bean soup and grilled chicken entrée. The menu includes an impressive selection of salads and sandwiches, along with some delicious entrées. The restaurant was buzzing on a Saturday night. Piquant is also an excellent destination for lunch and has a lovely outdoor seating area as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3

We dine are several times a year and alw ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

We dine are several times a year and always have great meals. The service was lacking this time. Make sure to get some pastries after dinner as dessert !

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Piquant Hyde Park

Dined on February 18, 2016

We have eaten here several times and found it to be a good experience. Brunch is always a good find. We plan on eating here when the green market is open. Dinner is always good. The only negative comment I have is the noise level, but that seems true with many restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special Night Out

Dined on February 15, 2016

Tired of the same steakhouse routine. Searched OpenTable and for Valentine's Day special night. After reading the reviews I reserved a table for two. The beginning of the experience started out with no reservation found. The remainder of the night was great. The food was very flavorful and the dessert great. Made reservations for a group dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The environment was great, the staff was ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The environment was great, the staff was wonderful and the food was amazing! I would definitely go back. The only thing I didn't like was the glass chairs.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great French Restaurant Hyde Park Tampa

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day and had a wonderful dinner. The menu was a little pricy but not too bad. Great date spot.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Don Juan

Dined on February 13, 2016

I was a little surprised that at the service. The Hostess literally placed the menus on the table and then left with no comment. It was obvious that the server was in a hurry to turn the table and was not very helpful regarding the menu. The food was delicious but everything else needs work.

Tags: kid-friendly
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Portions horribly small for the price.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Not worth it. Food ok, but WAY overpriced. Portions inadequate. Server was stupendous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Can't wait to go again!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Our group of 6 enjoyed everything we ordered. I ordered the butternut squash salad and it was to die for. I took my time enjoying it so I could take some home as well to enjoy later. The restaurant was clean and the environment was quiet so we could enjoy conversations. I can't believe this place has been right there in Hyde Park, less than 10 minutes from work and 25 minustes from my house. I think it will become my new favorite place to eat. I already told my "foodie" partner in crime that we have a new place to enjoy in Hyde Park/SoHo area. I can't wait! :-)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Food was ok and way overpriced. Pork Bel ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was ok and way overpriced. Pork Belly was not good. Fatty and greasy. Ham Croquettes were tasteless and cold. Wine selection was good.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food and service BUT overpriced

Dined on January 26, 2016

With a 15-20% price reduction, this would go from 3 to 4 or 5 stars overall.

food4
ambience3
service1

Disappointed! I like the food and ambien ...

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Disappointed! I like the food and ambience at Piquant, but tonight was some of the worst service I have ever had at a restaurant, let alone at Piquant. What a shame.

food3
ambience2
service4

Went for dinner. The service was good, f ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Went for dinner. The service was good, from the hostess to the waitress. Very attentive. The food however was mediocre. The small seafood platter appetizer was very overpriced. Got 2 shrimp, 2 mussels, and 2 very small oysters...for $18. The pork belly burger I got for my main meal was decent. I would come here for breakfast or lunch. Not really a good deal for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A Piquant Fan.

Dined on January 13, 2016

Great all around experience. A staple in Hyde Park. Great food, enjoy the atmosphere. Perfect for working lunches/dinners.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A great take on a classic french restaurant

Dined on January 10, 2016

The initial feeling when entering the door reminded me of my recent trip to Paris. Everything from the bakery up front, to the black and brown chairs, to the chalkboard behind the bar. Next, a well kept man approached us quickly and enthusiastically for our drinks and we were off and running. There was a variety of people there even on a Sunday night, from those watching the football game, to a group celebrating something or other, and a few random families and couples. We ordered items that were a bit non-standard, including the "Power Salad", the "French Rueben," and the "Lamb Chops." Drinks were a martini, seasonal beer, and water. Food was served in a good timing, and drinks were always kept full. The food presentation was professional and suited the dish being served, with the French Rueben served on a cutting board plate, rather stylish. The Power Salad was standard, but good, and a good portion. The same for the Reuben. The Lamb Chops were fairly sparse, but tasted great. For being one of the most expensive items on the menu, over $30, the portion size did not match, even with sides. We were having a sort-of special occasion with the three friends, and I decided to give my credit card to the waiter before they arrived to pay the bill. The waiter easily handled the request and was happy to help.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Piquant review

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

The ambience was very bright and loud making for difficult conversation. The wait staff was understaffed leading to long delays to serve cocktails as well as food courses. The lamb was good but nothing special. The pork belly was very good. Overall however a bit disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mostly good

Dined on January 9, 2016

Been there several times Service can be spotty to downright awful Food is pretty good and consistent, however, One of our party had the rib eye and it was fatty and tough.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Piquant was a great choice to kick off m ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Piquant was a great choice to kick off my New Year's Eve! The chefs special - Mahi with parmesan risotto was mouth watering! I look forward to going back.

food1
ambience2
service1

Worst Meal Ever!!! We live close by and ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Worst Meal Ever!!! We live close by and have visited many times. Each time we hope that the next time will be better. Unfortunately, the whole experience gets worse every time. Let's start with the wine list. We have a running bet as to how many wines we have to order from the list before we find something in stock. Sure enough, the wine we wanted was, as usual, not in stock. Then the foot order was wrong (ordered a side dish and was wrong) and poorly cooked (burger that was ordered medium came out well done). Finally, the service was very slow. When we asked to speak to a manager to provide some feedback the "cookie and coffee person" came out and indicated she was the "manager for now". This place has never been good and now doesn't even show the common courtesy to have a real manager on the floor. All in all it was a pathetic experience. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

food3
ambience4
service3

We had high hopes for this restaurant an ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

We had high hopes for this restaurant and went at around 2:00 in the afternoon on Christmas Eve. It was not that busy but it took 20 min to place our drink order. Another waiter took over our table and neglected to mention that one of the seasonal items on the menu was not available. The food was okay when we got it but it wasn't great. Overall the restaurant seems to be trying to be cool and trendy with great food. It just didn't quite get there with any of the main elements.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.