About Piquant

1633 W Snow Ave
Tampa, FL 33606
View Larger Map

Chef crafted, chef driven, chef inspired. Authentic epicurean cuisine. Every item. Every dish. Every day. The right way! Individually prepared with passion, care, culinary expertise and refinement for your dining pleasure. It’s the Experience Worth Tasting.

Piquant is included in Open Table's Top 100 Best Brunch Restaurants in America

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Dessert, Organic

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Wednesday 8am-8pm
Thursday-Saturday 8am-9pm




Cross Street:
Rome

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(813) 251-1777 ext. 3

Website:
http://www.piquanthydepark.com/

Catering:
Full scale catering, rentals, staffing, and beverage service available both on and off-site. Let us help you negotiate a venue rental, or execute the event of your dreams. We are a one stop shop to put you in touch with the right vendors, at the right price and make planning your special event as stress-less and delicious as possible.

Parking Details:
Hyde Park Village provides two multi level and complimentary parking garages. The one closest to Piquant is on Rome Ave.

Executive Chef:
Rosana Rivera/Ricardo Castro

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Piquant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Tampa / Central Florida West
Outdoor Dining
Tampa
Best Restaurants in Tampa ›

fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for lunch (23)
See All
great for outdoor dining (23)
great for brunch (22)
good for groups (14)
special occasion (11)
kid-friendly (10)
romantic (8)
hot spot (5)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for dinner and I got the Ribeye. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for dinner and I got the Ribeye. Of the 6 slices of steak, only 2 were edible since the other 4 were pure fat. The donuts were absolutely delicious and our servers (Joey and Colin) were outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed in what Piquant did and oth ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Disappointed in what Piquant did and other restaurants have done also. It causes me not to go back again. We had never been here for dinner but enjoyed lunch many times. We looked at the menu on the Internet and picked out several entrees that we wanted. When we got to the restaurant that night, the menu was different and our items were not on it. Classy restaurants keep up with their website menus. Shame on Piquant, you failed our going back policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I typically enjoy Piquant for breakfast ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I typically enjoy Piquant for breakfast or lunch. I was not very impressed for dinner. The menu seemed very similar to the lunch menu, heavy on salads, sandwiches and quiche with only a few limited dinner entree options. I though the Daily Fresh Catch Salad sounded good and also hearty. The server announced the catch of the day - grouper - and then informed us that they were all out and could sub chicken. I thought maybe I'd go for the Ahi Tuna Salad instead. Nope, out of tuna, too. I went with soup (good) and a flat bread (ok). The dinner was to celebrate two friends' birthdays. I called ahead to pre-order mini cupcakes and croissant doughnuts. When I arrived, they informed me that instead of making half chocolate and half vanilla cupcakes, they had accidentally made all chocolate. They were apologetic and asked if that was ok. Didn't seem like I had much choice since I had been required to prepay for them and there was obviously no time to make more. To compensate, they brought out additional pastries with the (all chocolate) cupcakes and croissant doughnuts. With a case full of delicious and decadent desserts, they brought us a plate of end-of-the-day plain croissants and fruit Danishes. I think I'll stick to Piquant for brunch food and not head back soon for dinner or special occasion celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This restaurant has a great gourmet vibe ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant has a great gourmet vibe and uses fresh, delicious ingredients, presented beautifully in very fair portions. The quiche is to die for. The service is always friendly. No place quite like it in Tampa. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great place for brunch. And don ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Always a great place for brunch. And don't forget to get some coffee or tea, great selection. Always the best tasting food. And Joey was a great server (and fun) who gave us good suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Piquant. My favorite thing that u ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I love Piquant. My favorite thing that u get everytime is the granola meal with the triple strained Greek yogurt. They fruit in this meal is great quality (pineapple, kiwi, etc.) instead of melons which water down meals. Love it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we were seated promptly at the time of o ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

we were seated promptly at the time of our reservation for lunch

the service was prompt and efficient

the food was good, but way overpriced

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

A group of ladies went to Piquant for a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

A group of ladies went to Piquant for a Girls' Night Out, at 5PM on a Wednesday. There was no one else in the restaurant and our server was doubling as the hostess. I felt she could have been a little more attentive, especially when more patrons arrived to eat. A Happy Hour might be a nice addition also. I had a hamburger with truffle fries and took home a nutella croissant, which were all quite delicious!!! Everyone at the table was happy with their food. I will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and I loved having a delic ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service and I loved having a delicious sandwich on gluten free bread! Thank you!!! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Even though I had reservations, I waited ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Even though I had reservations, I waited 45 minutes with a baby.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

It was overpriced

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The waiter went over and beyond. This may be because the restaurant was pretty empty. Also, I made a reservation at least a month prior to our visit. At 5:30 pm the restaurant called me to see if we could get there by 7 because our reservation was for 7:30 and they were closing by 8. I don't understand why they didn't call me well in advance with this information. That was a bit bothersome. The food was good, but it was over priced. We put a request in to sit outside and when we arrived, this area had not been set up for us. I made the reservation and request online. The whole experience was a bit odd. The food was good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

Excellent Service

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Our server, Tracy, was amazing! She was attentive and friendly. She even went out of her way to get my mother a band-aid after she scrapped her knee outside. I frequently dine out and I can truly say she was one of the best servers I've had in a while. Thanks Tracy!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

30 minute wait for dessert! Not acceptable.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

After a nice meal, we had to wait over 30 minutes for our dessert and coffee. I was told they had only 1 "guy back there". Really! How about telling me this before we order dessert so we can be prepared. Oh, in case you are wondering, the dessert we ordered was not complicated and should have taken 10 minutes at the most to be served. The service was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food but service was not great

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I made a 6:00 reservation for a Saturday dinner and planned to eat outside on the sidewalk cafe part of the restaurant. The hostess was fairly rude to us and discouraged us from sitting outside as she felt we would just complain that it was "too hot" and want to come inside. Once she seated us outside we waited quite a while for service. It seemed that there wasn't one server assigned to the rather substantial outside area; but rather inside servers all had a table or two out there. We put in our order and waited a long while for drinks. Apologizing, our server brought drinks and took our food order. It too a VERY long time to get our food but it was delicious. We waited another VERY VERY long time to get our check - in fact, I asked the very rude hostess to signal our server. Granted our server was very nice and seemed to be trying very hard; however, nothing seemed to arrive in a timely fashion.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The food is consistently good, although ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food is consistently good, although sometimes slow. The GF quiche is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The atmosphere was perfect and the food ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect and the food was stellar. I love Hyde Park and this restaurant is a jewel amongst the other businesses. Elegant dining.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great place, bad timing

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I have been raving about Piquant to my mother for months and finally decided to take her for brunch. Unfortunately, it was on the heels of a busy weekend and it showed in their food quality and selection. They were almost completely out of all their juices, the food proportions were very small, and the steak on the Steak & Egg tartine resembled beef jerky more than roast beef. It should also be noted that the coffee was severely under brewed and the service was exceptionally slow.

I was so disappointed that this was my mother's first experience, knowing how amazing the food and service typically is. Despite this, my mother was thoroughly impressed and has asked when we can do brunch again. I would absolutely recommend Piquant again and again, just not on a Monday or after a holiday so as to avoid this type of situation.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Unimpressed

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Took the family out for a casual dinner. Restaurant was nice, clean, vibrant. Decent selection of drinks. Server was Evan, friendly and attentive.

Food was ok, we ordered muscles and soup for appetizer . The muscles were overtaken by the liquorish. The soup was good. Main course was fish with risotto and the short rib. The fish was very good but very undersized. The short rib was very dry and not very flavorful.

Overall not a bad experience, I probably wont go here again unless the surrounding restaurant's were unavailable. For me it was too overpriced for the food quality and qty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing food

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We enjoyed our time at Piquant service and food were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience! Fries were a li ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food and ambience! Fries were a little over cooked to the point that they were crispy but otherwise everything was great, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Food was cold and had to be send back.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Food was cold and had to be send back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent Meal

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a fabulous meal and cannot wait to go back. We are also looking forward to trying their pastries. Menu is diverse and it all looked fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service was excellent ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We visited the restaurant for dessert and coffee after a waitress from another restaurant in the neighborhood recommended us going there after our meal... Unfortunately our coffee was cold and our beignets were greasy. 😔 With that being said, we will give it one more try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Chic and nice

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great place with fresh tasty food, original and on-site bakery. Service was excellent and quality is awesome. Took some pastries to go and were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for travelers

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

We have a lot of visitors from Richmond and this is a great find! The food is great, the service is outstanding and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had their burgers, at a French cuisin ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We had their burgers, at a French cuisine restaurant were top-end, plus the fries were a special treat. We did not expect this. Worth the look.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very Nice Evening

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We went with another couple, and had a very nice evening. Our waiter was exceptional: polite, friendly and attentive. I had the power salad and my husband had the swordfish both were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique spot for a unique date

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Accommodated a couple unique requests for a unique evening with my date. The waiter, Joe, played along nicely. Food was great. Ambiance and service was better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always excellent, service is ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is always excellent, service is generally hit or miss. Amazing baked good. The plastic chairs always throw me off, they're also incredibly uncomfortable. But the food keeps us coming back, so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Excellent food and great service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. Yucca croquettes wer ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Food was very good. Yucca croquettes were just the right portion, and the butternut squash salad was substantial.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The short ribs Benedict was great. The s ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The short ribs Benedict was great. The sweetness of the scone was a nice contrast to the chipotle in the sauce. We had no room for dessert so we visited the pastry case. Our selections did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service! I took my aunts, ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Great food and service! I took my aunts, one who lives part-time in Paris, and they were so happy with the food and pastries.

We sat in the back by the bar and it was a little dark, but that's the worst thing I could say.

We had breakfast/brunch. Being able to do late brunch on a weekday was quite nice. Definitely recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Old Hyde Park Gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a very nice neighborhood restaurant in Hyde Park with an upscale bar and a vibrant atmosphere. The food is somewhat pricey but well-prepared. We had an excellent garbanzo bean soup and grilled chicken entrée. The menu includes an impressive selection of salads and sandwiches, along with some delicious entrées. The restaurant was buzzing on a Saturday night. Piquant is also an excellent destination for lunch and has a lovely outdoor seating area as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We dine are several times a year and alw ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We dine are several times a year and always have great meals. The service was lacking this time. Make sure to get some pastries after dinner as dessert !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Piquant Hyde Park

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We have eaten here several times and found it to be a good experience. Brunch is always a good find. We plan on eating here when the green market is open. Dinner is always good. The only negative comment I have is the noise level, but that seems true with many restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special Night Out

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Tired of the same steakhouse routine. Searched OpenTable and for Valentine's Day special night. After reading the reviews I reserved a table for two. The beginning of the experience started out with no reservation found. The remainder of the night was great. The food was very flavorful and the dessert great. Made reservations for a group dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The environment was great, the staff was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The environment was great, the staff was wonderful and the food was amazing! I would definitely go back. The only thing I didn't like was the glass chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.