About Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken

104 2929 Sunridge Way NE
Calgary, AB T1Y 7K7
View Larger Map

We are a small family owned and operated Peruvian restaurant located in Calgary Alberta, serving the famous and fabulous Pollo a la Brasa, and other Peruvian favourites such as Ceviche, Lomo Saltado, Anticuchos, Picarones and many more! Our goal is to bring authentic Peruvian food just as if you were in the streets of beautiful Peru! All food is made from scratch and with love. Enjoy the experience and the food!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday 11:30am - 8:30pm
Thursday 11:30am - 8:30pm
Friday 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 8:00pm
Monday CLOSED
Tuesday CLOSED

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 681-7378

Website:
http://www.pioperu.com/

Public Transit:
19

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8778614264

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (6)
great for lunch (6)
good for groups (5)
See All
kid-friendly (5)
hot spot (1)
fit for foodies (1)
Sort By:
Newest
57 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This place is fabulous!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great reviews, so we eagerly gave it a try. It surpassed expectations in many ways. First, I expected a dumpy cafeteria-style dining experience. It is not that. Not only is there table service, it is charming and attentive. I expected mainly chicken on the menu. While there is chicken, and it is extraordinary, there is more, and it is nuanced and interesting. The ceviche is fresh and light and perfectly seasoned. The home cut fried potatoes are crisp and non-oily and a perfect counterpoint to the roasted chicken, accompanied by a choice of 2 flavourful sauces. The service was personable and passionate, conveying a true belief that this is wonderful food, which is no lie. We expected dismal atmosphere and instead found a lively, warm space filled with happy families eating delicious meals. The price is right, the flavours are right, the service is right, the freshness is right. They got it right! I'm an instant convert and will be back, every tiime I can manage it. It's one of those places that become the landscape of your dining life, a constant, reliable, homestyle joint you crave and retern to, and it's going to satisfy and please and delight, because it's just great, real food that you want to eat often. This place is a winner!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great menu, tastes and atmosphere. Can't ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Great menu, tastes and atmosphere. Can't wait to go back. Pio is a gem!

food5
ambience5
service5

It's so obvious that the staff cherish t ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

It's so obvious that the staff cherish their Peruvian heritage and want to share it with their customers. It was our first time going and we will absolutely be back!

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Reliably good!

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

As always - good food, friendly service, generous portions, good value!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love was in the air!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Another great dinner at Pio. Never a disappointment when the server recognizes you, remembers that you need GF recommendations, and is able to walk you through the menu making each item more appetizing than the last.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pio is always consistently great food an ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Pio is always consistently great food and the staff are friendly and caring. You feel like family when you enter the restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Service is so great, the staff remembers ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Service is so great, the staff remembers you and are always friendly. We are also pleased with the food.

food4
ambience4
service4

New favorite!

Dined on November 14, 2015

Friendly staff and delicious food that warrants repeat visits!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food here was plentiful and tasted h ...

vip
Dined on November 12, 2015

The food here was plentiful and tasted homemade and well made. We will return . The rotisserie chicken was awesome and the lomo saltado was perfect. The prices are reasonable.

food5
ambience3
service5

delicious

Dined on November 7, 2015

Pio is great. Everything we've ever eaten from there has been delicious, and the service is quick, the food is quick, the prices are good, and the chicken is delectable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Never let me down!

vip
Dined on October 22, 2015

The location of this restaurant may not encourage people to give it a try, but it is truly worth your while to go. We've been to Pio numerous times and have never been let down. When I think of chicken, Pio immediately comes to mind. The staff is extremely friendly and you get tremendous value for the cost. I've shared the experience with clients, friends and family and they, in turn, are continuing to spread the word. While their chicken is exceptional, my husband and I actually have tried some other dishes and have not been disappointed. Can't say enough good things about Pio!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

It's a great place to enjoy something different.

Dined on October 2, 2015

Being new to Peruvian food, we relied on our server to help us choose our dishes. Everything that she suggested was very good - especially the dessert!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing service and food!

Dined on September 27, 2015

We went to celebrate hubby's birthday. The service and the food was nice and delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous Chicken

Dined on September 12, 2015

We had a fabulous experience at Pio this weekend. We were met by friendly, energetic staff at the door and seated promptly. The staff explained the food choices and had all the answers to our questions. We had the signature corn/pineapple drink and enjoyed it very much. The chicken was outstanding. For dessert we had the flan which was perfect and the sweet potato doughnuts. The doughnuts were tasty but there were way to many to finish. We will definitely be returning and bringing our friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

A gem for adventurous

Dined on September 10, 2015

Our first time eating Peruvian. Nice treat. Service attentive and informative. It's in a strip mall so don't expect tablecloths and romantic ambiance. Expect well prepared and tasty food. Try the offerings, including drinks flagged with the Peruvian 'toque '.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food.. Love this place !!!

Dined on September 6, 2015

Our family love this restaurant.. Customer service very friendly!! Come and visit ... You will enjoy every dish.. A friend a from Edmonton !!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

Dined on August 19, 2015

Took our nephews for the first time, and they tried new things and loved it!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5

friendly staff

Dined on August 14, 2015

the best thing about this little restaurant is the staff. They are so happy, smiling, and offer quick, friendly service. The food was authentic Peruvian. Ceviche was my favorite.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great place to taste Peruvian food. Tast ...

Dined on July 19, 2015

Great place to taste Peruvian food. Tasty and close enough to the real experience. Small hidden location. Do not expect too much from the location.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

The chicken is sooooo tasty!

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

The chicken is well marinated. Very moist and savoury. Choose any side that you want to explore or go for the fries. They are all tasty.

food5
ambience4
service5

Was surprised

Dined on June 29, 2015

Great food. It was our first time trying Peruvian food and it was delicious! The staff were very friendly. Will be going back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and service was good. Music loud, I'll be bck

Dined on May 10, 2015

Food and service was good. Music a little loud, I'll be back for sure.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and atmosphere!

Dined on April 12, 2015

From the easy website where I could reserve a table and time myself!! To the amazing friendly people who work there, to the great Peruvian food! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to all my friends! Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Anticucho, Rostisserie Chicke ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2015

We had the Anticucho, Rostisserie Chicken, and the curry. All very well done. Our server was also very friendly and very attentive. For sure I will be back for another visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, awesome food, want to go to Peru

Dined on April 5, 2015

After my meal, it really made me want to visit Peru to compare because it tasted what I would imagine being in Peru would be. The chicken was tender, succulent, and well seasoned. Pairing it with cassava fries was ingenious. Ceviche was fresh and you have to get it in spicy. Plantains to snack in are always good.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Pio always delivers a great experience.

Dined on April 5, 2015

Pio once again lives up to what it promises. Great Peruvian food in a quaint little storefront location. Try it tonight.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Unexpected delight

Dined on March 22, 2015

Pleasant ambiance, very nice crowd, amazingly delicious food, and wonderful staff. Just loved this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on March 20, 2015

Family run. Unique menu, the food is all excellent, the service is fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Homemade Cuisine

vip
Dined on March 14, 2015

Fantastic, friendly service at this local eatery staffed by those enthusiastic about sharing their culture. The food is fresh and delicious and excellent value. I particularly recommend the ceviche and the trout. Desserts are worth a try as well!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Yum!

Dined on February 21, 2015

Enjoyed all the dishes, and they were all at a great price too. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Resturant! Definitely a neighborhood gem

Dined on February 2, 2015

I am so glad I lived close to Pio, the food and service is both excellent! Makes me want to visit Peru. And... MAKE SURE you order desserts!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

A fun family restaurant

vip
Dined on October 11, 2014

This is a small restaurant in a mall in NE Calgary. We had a lovely experience starting with the warm greeting from (presumably) the owner, to the friendly service, to the patient explanations of unfamiliar menu items. I think we were the only people there who didn't speak Spanish, which says a lot! There are dishes here I'd never had before. The food was delicious, generously portioned and reasonably priced. An enjoyable evening all around.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnificent

Dined on October 5, 2014

We had heard about this restaurant for about a year or so but had not experienced it. We were most pleasantly surprised and we would recommend this restaurant to all our friends and family, the food is excellent, the service is excellent and the smiles given are genuine.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Welcoming atmosphere

vip
Dined on September 25, 2014

We have been here 3 times and they have always made us feel welcome - even when I make them suffer through my broken Spanish!! The food is consistently very good and we love the unique menu they offer at a reasonable price point. It always brings back good memories of our trip to Peru.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Enjoyed the food and the atmosphere

Dined on September 21, 2014

Staff were really good. Answered all our questions.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

Great chicken

Dined on July 31, 2014

I'd been looking forward to trying this restaurant as I had heard some really good reviews. While the ambiance is non-existent, the food and service were good. I's an okay little place to grab a bite with a friend or family after shopping but definitely not if you are looking for something "special". We didn't try anything exotic as it really is all about the chicken... Loved the plantain starter!! The chicken was very juicy and tasty - the perfect amount of char and I also really enjoyed the mint, cilantro sauce served on the side. We both had the rotisserie chicken, I had the linguini and my friend had the cassava fries as sides. I found the pasta to bit saltier than I like but the fries were good and the piscojito very refreshing.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service5

Wonderful food and service

Dined on July 26, 2014

We had never tried Peruvian food before and when we noticed that they were gluten free friendly we wanted to give it a try. We were amazed at the flavors of the food and the wonderful selection not only for the gluten free items but in general. Our waitress was very friendly and extremely helpful in helping us make our choices. Would definitely recommend this to our friends and go back ourselves when we are in Calgary, AB. Makes me want to go to Peru and try more!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious!

Dined on July 13, 2014

Didn't have to climb a mountain to get here, but it would be worth the trip if it was necessary. Always a wonderful experience to indulge in the flavors of Peru in a local establishment, surrounded by artwork that makes you think you have been transported during your dinner to the Machu Picchu.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Find!!

Dined on June 26, 2014

This place has wicked Food/Staff and brilliant value

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A spin on the same old same old

vip
Dined on June 21, 2014

I am a chicken junkie and Pio puts a nice Peruvian flair on the usual. The staff is very friendly offering great service at this busy little restaurant. The ambiance certainly brought back memories from my recent trip to Peru.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.