About Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken

We are a small family owned and operated Peruvian restaurant located in Calgary Alberta, serving the famous and fabulous Pollo a la Brasa, and other Peruvian favourites such as Ceviche, Lomo Saltado, Anticuchos, Picarones and many more! Our goal is to bring authentic Peruvian food just as if you were in the streets of beautiful Peru! All food is made from scratch and with love. Enjoy the experience and the food!

104 2929 Sunridge Way NE
Calgary, AB T1Y 7K7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday 11:00am - 8:00pm
Thursday 11:00am - 8:00pm
Friday 11:00am - 9:00pm
Saturday 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 8:00pm
Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 11:00am - 8:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 681-7378

Website:
http://www.pioperu.com/

Public Transit:
19

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.8

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Amazing service by Nicolas , he knows the menu , he is fun and extremely friendly.
One of the best customer services in the city.
I have been there a few times and they are always so happy to see you¡
Best chicken , best pisco sour and I love the yuca fries¡

I highly recommend pio Peruvian

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 19, 2017

I've been to Pio several times for dinner, but this was the first time there for lunch and it was just as great for lunch as it is for dinner! My wife and I were on our way to a matinee movie and they got our food for us quickly, leaving plenty of time for us to make it to the movie. Pio is a nice little gem of a restaurant with delicious food and very friendly service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 7, 2017

A bunch of us went for lunch and ordered different items from the menu. We all really liked our meal and the desert was great. The service was personal and attentive. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I have a dairy allergy and I called Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken restaurant to see if they could accommodate my dairy allergy. Yes, all I had to do was to inform the waiter of my dairy allergy. I was able to relax and enjoy my yummy dinner. I will be coming back as this was wonderful, a relief and asurance that my meal would NOT have any dairy and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Took my mum for her b-day. We had a fabulous meal (she chewed the chicken clean) and the service was wonderful. She had a side of linguine with pesto; I would never dream Peruvians would make such an amazing pesto! I'll be going back for my own order of it very soon. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Brought some friends and Pio Peruvian didn't disappoint. Beautiful drinks and tasty appetizers. Abundant mains. Everything tasty with many options.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We found the chicken slightly overdone and the curry not as spicy as advertised. Otherwise very good and excellent service. Acoustics are not great, thus was noisy when the restaurant was full. Very good prices; overall a good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good value, friendly staff. The best Peruvian food in town

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Delicious, outstanding service, friendly and we'll certainly recommend this place to our friends!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great little place. Wonderful servers. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Always good! Saying that we went twice in two days should be all you need to know.

Lomo Saltado ftw.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food and service, home made recipes full of flavour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Fantastic evening! Our server was incredible, he recommended all our dishes and we loved them all. The food was fantastic, I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great chicken, house salad and seafood soup. Ambiance was casual and bathrooms were clean.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great Experience

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 25, 2017

You would drive by this restaurant and think it was another fast casual concept popping up in strip malls. BUT looks are deceiving....Pio is a wonderful family owned and operated concept. The food is really good. I've never been to Peru, but it feels authentic. The service is wonderful and it's obvious that whoever is in the kitchen knows a thing or two about cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Super friendly staff. Great food. Something different.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I love South American cuisine! Even though it's Peruvian food, going to this restaurant brings me back to when I travelled in Ecuador.
The ceviche is outstanding :-)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great restaurant, food and service... very enjoyable atmosphere with a fine selection of Peruvian cuisine!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Try the chicha morada for a non-alcoholic drink!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing food and sauces. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Really great entrees! Our appies were kinda bland, but the dips made them worth it (we had the plantains with feta - but I actually didn't even notice any feta. We also had the yuca Frita. They were kind of a disappointment compared to the ones I'd had before in San Francisco-here they were bland, but again the dips were good.
The entrees made up for any disappointment with the appies!! Sooooooo yummy. I had a bit left over too and the leftovers were even better - allowing the flavours to soak into the meat and potatoes a bit more.
If you like starchy comfort foods, you'll love this place.
Not a huge wine list (1 white or 1 red to choose from) and the red was served cold. But it was reasonably priced!
Service was friendly:)
I'd go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Pio always delivers! I love the curry and the green pasta!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service and good was delicious. Had the rotisserie chicken with yuka fritas. Wish there was some veges to give colour to the plate. Sauces were really good and had the donuts for dessert which we enjoyed!! Would come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This is my 2nd time and I haven't been disappointed. Their recommendations always suite my palate and the price is so reasonable for the quality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 4, 2016

No complaints, overall great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Hole in the wall but a must try..great experience. ..exceeds expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Was a little noisy that night due to a birthday party. Meal was great, service fast and they accommodated us with a corner table so we had room for a baby. Will go again. Really like the chicken and sweet potatoes.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Love this restaurant! I take all my friends there and everyone love it!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Fantastic lunch spot. The flavours burst in your mouth making you want to try other items on the menu. Friendly service that is efficient but not pushy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Authentic Peruvian food, not 'fusion'. Reminds me of good food in Peru's coastal cities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always enjoy the food and the people here! Their Aji de Gallina and Ceviche are my favourites.

Tags: Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I eat here often and take all my friends here as there is something for everyone. They all have enjoyed it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the food and the service here!!!! We always ask for the special of the day and it never disappoints!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love the little details they put into to make it a true "Peruvian" restaurant, eg. Peruvian costume.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Unassuming from the outside; very clean; knowledgeable friendly server who was there when needed; fast service; hot food & well presented. We've not had Peruvian food before and it would seem that this family owned establishment took great pride in their business and satisfying their clientele. We plan on returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great reviews, so we eagerly gave it a try. It surpassed expectations in many ways. First, I expected a dumpy cafeteria-style dining experience. It is not that. Not only is there table service, it is charming and attentive. I expected mainly chicken on the menu. While there is chicken, and it is extraordinary, there is more, and it is nuanced and interesting. The ceviche is fresh and light and perfectly seasoned. The home cut fried potatoes are crisp and non-oily and a perfect counterpoint to the roasted chicken, accompanied by a choice of 2 flavourful sauces. The service was personable and passionate, conveying a true belief that this is wonderful food, which is no lie. We expected dismal atmosphere and instead found a lively, warm space filled with happy families eating delicious meals. The price is right, the flavours are right, the service is right, the freshness is right. They got it right! I'm an instant convert and will be back, every tiime I can manage it. It's one of those places that become the landscape of your dining life, a constant, reliable, homestyle joint you crave and retern to, and it's going to satisfy and please and delight, because it's just great, real food that you want to eat often. This place is a winner!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great menu, tastes and atmosphere. Can't wait to go back. Pio is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 1, 2016

It's so obvious that the staff cherish their Peruvian heritage and want to share it with their customers. It was our first time going and we will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 27, 2016

As always - good food, friendly service, generous portions, good value!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.