About Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken

104 2929 Sunridge Way NE
Calgary, AB T1Y 7K7
View Larger Map

We are a small family owned and operated Peruvian restaurant located in Calgary Alberta, serving the famous and fabulous Pollo a la Brasa, and other Peruvian favourites such as Ceviche, Lomo Saltado, Anticuchos, Picarones and many more! Our goal is to bring authentic Peruvian food just as if you were in the streets of beautiful Peru! All food is made from scratch and with love. Enjoy the experience and the food!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Peruvian, Latin American

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday 11:30am - 8:30pm
Thursday 11:30am - 8:30pm
Friday 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday 12:00pm - 9:00pm
Sunday: 12:00pm - 8:00pm
Monday CLOSED
Tuesday CLOSED

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 681-7378

Website:
http://www.pioperu.com/

Public Transit:
19

Private Party Facilities:
Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken can accommodate all your special event needs.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 8778614264

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken
Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken

Pio Peruvian Rotisserie Chicken Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Service
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Best Overall
Calgary
2 More
Best Food
Calgary
Best Service
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Calgary ›

Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (3)
Sort By:
Newest
64 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love this restaurant! I take all my frie ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

Love this restaurant! I take all my friends there and everyone love it!

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic lunch spot. The flavours burst ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic lunch spot. The flavours burst in your mouth making you want to try other items on the menu. Friendly service that is efficient but not pushy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic Peruvian food, not 'fusion'. R ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Authentic Peruvian food, not 'fusion'. Reminds me of good food in Peru's coastal cities.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I eat here often and take all my friends ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I eat here often and take all my friends here as there is something for everyone. They all have enjoyed it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the food and the service here!!! ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love the food and the service here!!!! We always ask for the special of the day and it never disappoints!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the little details they put into ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I love the little details they put into to make it a true "Peruvian" restaurant, eg. Peruvian costume.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Casual Dining

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Unassuming from the outside; very clean; knowledgeable friendly server who was there when needed; fast service; hot food & well presented. We've not had Peruvian food before and it would seem that this family owned establishment took great pride in their business and satisfying their clientele. We plan on returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

This place is fabulous!!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Great reviews, so we eagerly gave it a try. It surpassed expectations in many ways. First, I expected a dumpy cafeteria-style dining experience. It is not that. Not only is there table service, it is charming and attentive. I expected mainly chicken on the menu. While there is chicken, and it is extraordinary, there is more, and it is nuanced and interesting. The ceviche is fresh and light and perfectly seasoned. The home cut fried potatoes are crisp and non-oily and a perfect counterpoint to the roasted chicken, accompanied by a choice of 2 flavourful sauces. The service was personable and passionate, conveying a true belief that this is wonderful food, which is no lie. We expected dismal atmosphere and instead found a lively, warm space filled with happy families eating delicious meals. The price is right, the flavours are right, the service is right, the freshness is right. They got it right! I'm an instant convert and will be back, every tiime I can manage it. It's one of those places that become the landscape of your dining life, a constant, reliable, homestyle joint you crave and retern to, and it's going to satisfy and please and delight, because it's just great, real food that you want to eat often. This place is a winner!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great menu, tastes and atmosphere. Can't ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Great menu, tastes and atmosphere. Can't wait to go back. Pio is a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's so obvious that the staff cherish t ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

It's so obvious that the staff cherish their Peruvian heritage and want to share it with their customers. It was our first time going and we will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reliably good!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

As always - good food, friendly service, generous portions, good value!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Love was in the air!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Another great dinner at Pio. Never a disappointment when the server recognizes you, remembers that you need GF recommendations, and is able to walk you through the menu making each item more appetizing than the last.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pio is always consistently great food an ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Pio is always consistently great food and the staff are friendly and caring. You feel like family when you enter the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is so great, the staff remembers ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Service is so great, the staff remembers you and are always friendly. We are also pleased with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New favorite!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Friendly staff and delicious food that warrants repeat visits!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food here was plentiful and tasted h ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 12, 2015

The food here was plentiful and tasted homemade and well made.

We will return . The rotisserie chicken was awesome and the lomo saltado was perfect. The prices are reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

delicious

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Pio is great. Everything we've ever eaten from there has been delicious, and the service is quick, the food is quick, the prices are good, and the chicken is delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Never let me down!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

The location of this restaurant may not encourage people to give it a try, but it is truly worth your while to go. We've been to Pio numerous times and have never been let down. When I think of chicken, Pio immediately comes to mind. The staff is extremely friendly and you get tremendous value for the cost. I've shared the experience with clients, friends and family and they, in turn, are continuing to spread the word. While their chicken is exceptional, my husband and I actually have tried some other dishes and have not been disappointed. Can't say enough good things about Pio!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's a great place to enjoy something different.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Being new to Peruvian food, we relied on our server to help us choose our dishes. Everything that she suggested was very good - especially the dessert!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing service and food!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We went to celebrate hubby's birthday. The service and the food was nice and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Chicken

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

We had a fabulous experience at Pio this weekend. We were met by friendly, energetic staff at the door and seated promptly. The staff explained the food choices and had all the answers to our questions. We had the signature corn/pineapple drink and enjoyed it very much. The chicken was outstanding. For dessert we had the flan which was perfect and the sweet potato doughnuts. The doughnuts were tasty but there were way to many to finish. We will definitely be returning and bringing our friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

A gem for adventurous

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Our first time eating Peruvian. Nice treat. Service attentive and informative. It's in a strip mall so don't expect tablecloths and romantic ambiance. Expect well prepared and tasty food. Try the offerings, including drinks flagged with the Peruvian 'toque '.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food.. Love this place !!!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Our family love this restaurant.. Customer service very friendly!!

Come and visit ... You will enjoy every dish.. A friend a from Edmonton !!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 19, 2015

Took our nephews for the first time, and they tried new things and loved it!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

friendly staff

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

the best thing about this little restaurant is the staff. They are so happy, smiling, and offer quick, friendly service. The food was authentic Peruvian. Ceviche was my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great place to taste Peruvian food. Tast ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 19, 2015

Great place to taste Peruvian food. Tasty and close enough to the real experience. Small hidden location. Do not expect too much from the location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The chicken is sooooo tasty!

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

The chicken is well marinated. Very moist and savoury. Choose any side that you want to explore or go for the fries. They are all tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Was surprised

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

Great food. It was our first time trying Peruvian food and it was delicious! The staff were very friendly. Will be going back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service was good. Music loud, I'll be bck

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Food and service was good. Music a little loud, I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing food and atmosphere!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 12, 2015

From the easy website where I could reserve a table and time myself!! To the amazing friendly people who work there, to the great Peruvian food! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to all my friends! Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Anticucho, Rostisserie Chicke ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

We had the Anticucho, Rostisserie Chicken, and the curry. All very well done. Our server was also very friendly and very attentive. For sure I will be back for another visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, awesome food, want to go to Peru

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

After my meal, it really made me want to visit Peru to compare because it tasted what I would imagine being in Peru would be.

The chicken was tender, succulent, and well seasoned. Pairing it with cassava fries was ingenious.

Ceviche was fresh and you have to get it in spicy. Plantains to snack in are always good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pio always delivers a great experience.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Pio once again lives up to what it promises. Great Peruvian food in a quaint little storefront location. Try it tonight.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected delight

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

Pleasant ambiance, very nice crowd, amazingly delicious food, and wonderful staff. Just loved this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 20, 2015

Family run. Unique menu, the food is all excellent, the service is fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Homemade Cuisine

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Fantastic, friendly service at this local eatery staffed by those enthusiastic about sharing their culture. The food is fresh and delicious and excellent value. I particularly recommend the ceviche and the trout. Desserts are worth a try as well!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Yum!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

Enjoyed all the dishes, and they were all at a great price too. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent Resturant! Definitely a neighborhood gem

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on February 2, 2015

I am so glad I lived close to Pio, the food and service is both excellent! Makes me want to visit Peru. And... MAKE SURE you order desserts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fun family restaurant

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

This is a small restaurant in a mall in NE Calgary. We had a lovely experience starting with the warm greeting from (presumably) the owner, to the friendly service, to the patient explanations of unfamiliar menu items. I think we were the only people there who didn't speak Spanish, which says a lot! There are dishes here I'd never had before. The food was delicious, generously portioned and reasonably priced. An enjoyable evening all around.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Magnificent

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on October 5, 2014

We had heard about this restaurant for about a year or so but had not experienced it. We were most pleasantly surprised and we would recommend this restaurant to all our friends and family, the food is excellent, the service is excellent and the smiles given are genuine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.