About Pink Pony

3831 N Scottsdale Rd
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

The New Pink Pony combines fresh, locally sourced ingredients with a comfortable & dashing ambiance. Arizona Chops & Contemporary Comfort Cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed
Tuesday-Thursday: 3:00 PM-9:00 pm
Friday: 3:00 PM - 10:00 pm
Saturday: 11:00 AM - 10:00 pm
Sunday: 11:00 am-9:00 pm

Cross Street:
E 2nd Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 945-6697

Website:
http://pinkponyscottsdale.com/

Entertainment:
Local artists on Friday and Saturday Happy Hour

Catering:
Please feel free to call and inquire about private off site functions. It would be our pleasure to bring the Pink Pony to you.

Private Party Facilities:
The New Pink Pony combines fresh, locally sourced ingredients with a comfortable & dashing ambiance. Executive Chef, Stephen K. Eldridge, has created a menu of contemporary classics & Arizona chops.

Private Party Contact:
Pink Pony: 4809456697

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
The Pink Pony features a 2,000 square foot private dining room. This room can be arranged in any way to fit any function, big or small. Complete with a private bar, restroom and audio visual system it is perfect for any private event, including weddings, rehearsal dinners, or corporate meetings.

Pink Pony Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
See All
special occasion (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
fit for foodies (7)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
kid-friendly (2)
romantic (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A disappointment

Dined on June 1, 2016

I guess this place dries up after the Spring Training Season for baseball. When we went, there were more staff than customers (ok--it was the day after a major holiday weekend). We seemed to be the only diners in the restaurant at 5:15 pm. The food was good,, when it finally got to us. But the wait was unforgivable. We were the waitress's only customers. She did admit to having forgotten about us after she delivered our bill, but the whole experience was one of late service. Good food is ruined by bad service... and it was our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

my request for a somewhat private area w ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

my request for a somewhat private area was accommodated when I asked to be moved from where the hostess was taking us; the waiter was wonderful and allowed us the time we needed without being interrupted. the food was 'ok', nothing special.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food and drinks!

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Great service and great food and drinks!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great

Dined on May 15, 2016

Food and restaurant were great would recommend for sure to friends and family .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

food poisoning

Dined on May 8, 2016

food poisoning food poisoning food poisoning food poisoning food poisoning

food5
ambience5
service5

We always enjoy the Pink Pony. We freque ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We always enjoy the Pink Pony. We frequent it because of the great food and drink specials. The location is so convenient and the staff is always so friendly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and customer service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Excellent food and customer service! We truly enjoyed our dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sister

Dined on April 24, 2016

The staff was very attentive but not overly attentive. Good welcome and seating. Comfortable seating and great menu. Calamari was a great choice for the appetizer and the steaks were cooked perfectly. Sides and salad were just right Wine list had enough choices and the Slingshot was an excellent Cab. Overall great experience

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Fine but wouldn't recommend

Dined on April 20, 2016

Everything was fine there are much better choices within walking distance.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was plentiful. Big portions

Dined on April 11, 2016

The food was delicious, some of the plates can easily be shared. The meatloaf blend was a little salty. We enjoyed the calamari. Nice to be able to eat outside and still watch the ball games.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shhh, don't tell anybody!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Like the best kept secret! Busy, but not too busy! Great food! Great service! Indoor or outdoor seating available. Shhh! Don't tell anybody ;)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Bye Bye

Dined on March 24, 2016

The Pink Pony is under new ownership. Gone is the historic baseball writers' watering hole and pictures and atmosphere of America's game. Pit.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food Preparation

Dined on March 21, 2016

My spouse opted for a dinner salad with the grilled chicken added. The chicken was grossly overcooked so that it was dry, tough and chewy. One appetizer was ordered and there was way too much of the various items on the dish compared to the amount of bread that was provided. I ordered the Pork Chop and it was very good and properly cooked. Overall a good experience!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed a very nice dinner

Dined on March 20, 2016

We had been to the "old" Pink Pony a number of years ago and wanted to try the "new" one. We enjoyed a very nice meal. 6 of us all enjoyed what we ordered. Starting with calamari and a pretzel that had a wonderful cheese dipping sauce. We ordered salads, burgers, chicken sandwich and steak....everyone enjoyed what they had. Service was good. Prices reasonable. Would recommend this "new" Pink Pony.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 19, 2016

Really lovely place. I told them ahead of time it was for our college prom night, and they put us in a special spot. Great service. I only had soda, but my friends ordered alcoholic drinks, and they said they really liked them. I like how this place is historic but updated. Would recommend for special occasions or for a lively night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner

Dined on March 18, 2016

Wonderful bartender. She was knowledgeable, friendly and made a great drink Dinner server was also very good However, food was mediocre:the rib eye full of fat and gristle. Prime rib was better The new decor is pleasant but lacks the " ambience" of old place

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Wanted to really like the place now that ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Wanted to really like the place now that it has re-opened. Had the fried chicken, which is one of the specialties, and did not care for it. With all the restaurant choices in Scottsdale, I doubt we'll ever return.

food4
ambience3
service4

It's was good. Parking was a bit odd but ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

It's was good. Parking was a bit odd but it's not that bad.

food4
ambience4
service4

Last time I was here was several years a ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Last time I was here was several years ago when it was old and smoky. Not that that was a bad thing, it did have a lot of character! Now with the renovations it has a different, refreshing vibe which made the dining experience much more welcoming. Food was delicious, service was timely, and the manager came over to make sure everything was on par. Overall, it was an enjoyable time. I'll be back next spring training.

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Hopefully is was just a bad night!

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had heard that Pink Pony is a must visit when attending Spring Training. Arrived 5 minutes early for our 7:30 reservation. Waited 45 minutes - while watching the Manager deliver meals to the wrong table 3 times. We were never visited or apologized to by the hostess. I understand that things happen from time to time, but when a family saves their pennies all year long, makes a reservation weeks in advance and then is forced to leave the restaurant with no other option but to wait an hour some where else or head back to the hotel for popcorn, that it inexcusable! Not once did we receive an apology. On a positive note... our kids got to learn a life lesson on the way a company failed and how the small things make a difference.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Apparently Overwhelmed and Underwhelming

Dined on March 13, 2016

Was seated promptly on the Patio - Dont sit here if you want quiet ambiance as the street is right there and is noisy. After we were seated we waited for over an hour after placing our order with no meals in sight.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Pony has reached a new apex. Excellent and unique smoked wings. Two sides with every meat order and 5 or so choices of sauces. Excellent service. The new variation on an old theme was alive and vibrant. Nits: broccoli came cold and wine list was creative though esoteric. More CA reds and Sonoma (Russian River and Sonoma Coast) pinot noirs.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Aweful food - they ruined the old ambience

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

I pretty much said my whole review in the subject line. We went there to meet a friend for brunch and there was almost no one in the restaurant which was of course, our first indication that this would not be a great experience. The pink pony used to be a fun place with a great old timey atmosphere. someone took it over redid it and turned it into an ugly place with bad food don't go .

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Spring Training

Dined on March 12, 2016

I took my ticket partners here last year and we had such a nice time we wanted a reprise. We got the same exact table. Lovely evening. Great staff.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was slow, but not our server's f ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Service was slow, but not our server's fault. She had way too many tables & patrons to take care of.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks and cocktails

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great steaks and cocktails

food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was great!

Dined on March 7, 2016

Steak was great!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally did it.

Dined on February 21, 2016

Been wanting to do the Pony for some time. Surprised it wasn't more crowded. Good selection of draft beer. Steaks were superb, reasonable price considering they were paying the rent on Scottsdale Road. No problem finding parking. Service was great. I would come again.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Valentine's Day Date

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been married for 49 years, this evening was one of our top five. Great ambiance, very romantic, dinner was perfect, and staff was very attentive. Perfect!!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service1

I was very excited to try a Scottsdale m ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I was very excited to try a Scottsdale mainstay but my excitement quickly turned to disappointment. The service was beyond slow. We watched our waitress stand and chat with other servers at their station while drinks sat empty and then when she did finally come over after having to ask the bus boy to send her over she consistently forgot parts of the order. The cocktails were average at best with the pours on all of them being short. Food also was average. Certainly not what I was expecting from a Scottsdale mainstay and for the prices being offered. Overall one of the worst dining experiences I've had in Scottsdale. Needless to say I will be in no hurry to return to the pink pony

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The NEW Pink Pony

Dined on February 13, 2016

If your memories of the Pink Pony in Scottsdale, Arizona are of black carpet dark and red booths well....time to get some new memories because the owner of the Pink Pony gutted the place down to four walls and took a magic pallet to the place and transformed into the hip, cool, BRIGHT, place it is now. You can sit at a counter and watch the food being prepared in the large kitchen or sit at a table or booth. Weather permitting you can also sit al fresco on the front patio. We'll definitely be back on our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

not quite like i remember

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

in 198/79 I visited this restaurant with my young brother, age 9, my sister age 17, myself 18. my boyfriend (now my husband) and my parents. It as NEW YEARS weekend.The steaks were awful. Under cooked. lack of presentation. 36 years later what a different setting. Great staff, nice meal. didn't break the bank. Give this old charm in Old Town Scottdale a change. You will love it

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

bday night out.

Dined on January 29, 2016

Made a reservation for a few friends and I for my birthday. Ive lived in scottsdale and have known the restaurant for some time but never had the chance to go. So my expectations were high. We were seated right away, of course some guests ran late. Our server started out on point but he seemed to be more concerned with doing his side work before close than tending to my party. Food came out and one of the plates had burnt broccoli, i mean black burnt and another steak was rare, when it was ordered medium rare. Also ordered a to go order when ordering and they never put it in. I did like like the ambience of it. I would come back but probably sit at the bar. Servers didnt know what liquors they had either

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

It was not the Pink Pony that I remember ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

It was not the Pink Pony that I remembered and loved. But the food was great and the service was very personable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything that was ordered was great. N ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Everything that was ordered was great. No complaints by anyone. Had a party of 9 on a Saturday night had no problem getting a reservation and the people at the tester aunt were very helpful and responsive to request.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was great but their new menu is ...

Dined on January 4, 2016

The food was great but their new menu is so much smaller than a few months ago. Not much vegetarian/fish left to choose from. Lots of meats if that's your thing. But the salmon was cooked beautifully and not dry. Service was very good, from the hostess to the waiter, the manager and even the chef came over. Pretzel appetizer was very good and the mustard was exceptional. It's hard to find a restaurant like this that makes everything from scratch, no processed food. And the booths have a lot of privacy. We will return.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good steak in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale

Dined on January 2, 2016

Booked on a whim my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the Pink Pony. The restaurant was fairly quiet - the calm after the hectic New Year - but the staff were still attentive and friendly. We both ordered medium steak and it was probably a little bloodier than expected but was delicious...and to the standard of good US steak houses. The icing on the cake (pardon the pun) was the dessert; a skillet baked pecan pie for one (although there was enough for two to share) with vanilla ice cream...absolutely fantastic. Prices are above the standard chain steakhouse and the sides portions are more inline with the upmarket steak restaurants (smaller than your average Outback portions) but overall we thought the meal was worth the extra.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

Disappointing

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went to the Pink Pony a few nights ago and were very disappointed. The only thing good was the ambiance. Service was terrible and food was eh.

food2
ambience4
service4
value1

A year's difference

Dined on January 1, 2016

After being impressed with everything a year ago my wife and I decided to visit Pink Pony again for new year's eve. The service, ambiance, and non-food related components of the experience were as good as they were for our previous visit, but my wife's tenderloin was very unevenly cooked and my strip was overcooked (ordered medium rare and got medium well). Additionally, the seasonal vegetables (brussel sprouts) were unevenly cooked and dry, and my wife's mashed potatoes were under seasoned. This time around, the meal was certainly not worth the $100 (before tip) for an appetizer, two entrees, and four drinks. Adding insult to injury, to date, it appears that I was also overcharged by $15.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Quite the nice, unexpected surprise.

Dined on January 1, 2016

You'll enjoy some of the best olives outside Italy - soft, buttery and full of flavor. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly. Sure wish there were more side dish options for foodies, and the 'mashed potatoes' were standard. In a place like this they should have been whipped to release the gluten, thick, creamy and buttery to accompany the meat. There was also no golden, butterfly fried shrimp - gotta have it here. And the pretzels were blasé: cool, a bit hard, too salty. They should have had that warm, yeasty pull-apart consistency to go with their excellent beer-cheese dip. The salads are delicious. We tried three of them and they were all quite good. Eric, our Server, was excellent. Still, this is definitely a great option for a good, hearty meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.