Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club

3.7
26 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion

About

Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club is a full-service Golf Resort located in Southern Pines, North Carolina. We offer a casual experience in our In The Rough Lounge, overlooking the putting green and driving range and a more formal dining experience in our Crest Dining Room, overlooking the putting green and 1st tee box. We are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner on a daily basis.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily 11:00 am–9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(910) 692-7111
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have two options when it comes to our private dining experience. Our Private Dining Room can seat 20 guests at one long conference style table and is full of rustic charm and details. The room is adjacent to our wine cellar and has a private bar available. We also offer our Golf View Room which has a beautiful view of our 18th hole and putting green. This room is very verstiale regarding setup options and accomodates up to 30-40 guests depending on the setup.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ally McKinlay : (910) 693-3207
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Midland Road
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 26 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.7
food
3.8
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a lovely anniversary dinner. They even had a special table set up for us. The service was wonderful and the food delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Unfortunately, we were not able to enjoy our wedding anniversary dinner at Pine Needles. Upon arriving, we were told our reservation was for the "Bar & Grill" area, not the main dining room. (as NO ONE was eating in the main dining room...essentially, it was closed) My wife and I entered the bar & grill area only to find a small number of tables, all filled with patrons. So, we sat at the bar expecting to have a drink and wait until a table became available. After waiting several minutes at the bar and receiving NO service, not even eye contact from the bar tenders, we left and had an enjoyable dinner at Southern Prime Steakhouse in Southern Pines. This was very disappointing to me, in particular because I know the Pine Needles Golf Course is fantastic....guess not so much for their dining services.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2017

When we got to the restaurant they had no record of our table. They sent us to the bar where they also had no record of our table. They never offered us seating in the dining room and we had to squeeze into a 8 people into a table for 6. The menu was simple bar food, and not what we came there for. I hear it is really nice, but I would not recommend going through Open Table. They clearly didn't have it set up properly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service are always excellent here. The only issue was the resort did not receive our Open Table reservation. They accommodated us anyway, in their true southern way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent food, attentive staff, very good value. We were there with another couple celebrating the wives birthdays. Quiet, cozy. A very nice evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 6, 2016

Very good dinner at a reasonable price. Large portions. Excellent use of wine, herbs and spices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2016

Pine Needles is worth the trip. Great I mean Great burgers and a nice bar atmosphere. Multiple tv's to watch sports especially during football season. Nice dining room for a more formal dinner . All the food was great and service excellent too. We will return when we are in the Pinehurst area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 19, 2016

I was disappointed in my lunch. I got the special which was a very small cup of tomato bisque soup and half a grilled cheese sandwich. The soup was very average. The sandwich was very mediocre. It seemed very pricey at $10. The others at my table did say their burgers were good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 17, 2016

We chose to have our meal in the bar restaurant because there was a large group in the main dining area, same menu provided. We were the only group in the bar except for a group of 4 men, not dining. I had filet with asparagus and mashed potatoes, steak was poor quality and vastly undercooked for what I ordered. My husband had a ribeye, again poor quality meat and not cooked as requested. He ordered broccoli and sweet potatoes, he got asparagus and mashed potatoes. (same as my order) This restaurant was deserted, there was no reason for poor service and poor preparation of food other than laziness.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2015

Wonderful evening! Everything perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 21, 2015

We always enjoy Pine Needles, particularly the beautiful bar area and fireplace.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 4, 2015

Dined on a Sunday evening as part of golf group, assistant manager "stepped up" & took care of the 2 of us. She was great. My food was served hot & was good, wife's was OK & temperature of
food should have been hotter.
"Server" really made this good experience!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 24, 2015

Our daughter had participated in a week long golf camp at Pine Needles and since we are local, we decided to make reservations the following weekend & check it out.
The place was nearly empty (1 other table seated) so we were a little alarmed at first. Our sweet waitress seemed new but was very polite & attentive! The food was fabulous!! Fried green tomatoes were soooo good! I had the sea bass which was perfectly seasoned. Husband had a steak. We will definitely go back!! The restaurant overlooks the course and was beautiful!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 4, 2015

Excellent seafood. Scallops, mahi mahi and salmon all done to perfection. Views of the golf course on a beautiful day. Service attentive. Quiet due to early dining and few patrons.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2014

Very convenient for guests of the Pine Needles Lodge.
Food was terrific and service top notch

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 19, 2014

We went during the US Open and the restaurant was empty. The service was inept. The wrong beverage was brought to us, then the wrong wine bottle was brought, then the wine bottle was opened but no tasting was offered. We waited a long time for our food. Our server said he had been there four months, but if that was true then he had received no training. The menu was uninspired. So, all in all, it was a nice view but mediocre service and food making for a disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2014

Great food and excellent service. I can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 11, 2014

This restaurant was billed as having a Sunday brunch. There was none. We had to seek out a waiter after we were seated and were told the restaurant was busy and that they were juggling large groups- we were the only group we could see in the entire place. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2013

We liked the atmosphere of the resturant as we had folks from out of town in for gold in the area and this fit perfecr for them. food was very good and the service was also very good. prices were very fair as well. There was a delay in getting the bill as the computer system seemed to be not working very well and the waitress was not all that familiar with how to create seperate bills for the table using that system.
Overall it was very good and we will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2013

feels like going back in time a very traditional place! very relaxing

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 10, 2013

Pine Needles did not have our reservation after driving 35 miles for an anniversary dinner. Nor did they bother to check any records. There was a private function and they refered us to Mid Pines which is across the street. Mid Pines never heard of us either. I sent message on this matter earlier.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 22, 2012

Food was very good and price quite reasonable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 27, 2012

Very limited menu and exorbitant prices. The veal marsala was very heavy with a dark gravy that didn't resemble the marsala it was supposed to be. The meal was in a bowl and was soupy and unappetizing. The limited menu was not advertised and should have been made clear earlier so we could have canceled.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2012

The food was excellent. The service was 1st rate. We were the only one's in the place until late in our dinning experience. The dinning room however is a bit outdated.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2012

The view was beautiful overlooking the golf course! We were able to take some great family pictures for our Easter brunch. The lodge feel was also very romantic and had a relaxed yet elegant feel to it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2012

Really disappointed. Food lacked any subtlety - it was more like catering fare. I think Pine Needles caters to a captive audience in their lodge guests, and doesn't focus on a high end food experience. Beautiful room and view, but don't expect anything but very average food. We're locals in the area and thought that OpenTable access would imply a higher level of quality than other restaurants in the area, but were really disappointed.

Report
Helpful

Tweets by Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club