About Pikayo

999 Ashford Avenue
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Going strong since 1990, serving primarily locals our version of many classics from around the world with the inclusion of local favorites as well as contemporary fusion dishes. This is Chef Wilo Benet's flagship restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Puerto Rican, International

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 721-6194

Website:
http://wilobenet.com/restaurants/pikayo.htm

Catering:
Upscale off premise catering. Will travel abroad. Experienced in high volume.

Executive Chef:
Alex Rivera

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Souffle - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Pork Belly Burgers With Gouda Cheese - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Mariachi Mojito - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Beef Tenderloin Alcapurrias With Garlic Aioli - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Tuna Tartare With Jalapeno, Wasabi Tobiko, And Cold Yuzu Miso Broth - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Lumachine w/ Spicy Crab Salmorejo - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Foie Gras W/Ripe Plantains And Black Truffle Honey - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Gouda Cheese Parisienne With Guava Sauce - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Truffle Cheese Empanadillas With Truffle Mojito - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Scallop Ravioli With Asparagus Slivers & White Wine Beurre Blanc - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Spicy Octopus W/Julienne Of Cucumber & Spicy Ponzu Sauce - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Cheese Souffle W/Guava Sauce - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
empanadas - Pikayo, San Juan, PR
Seared Scallops With Corn Emulsion  - Pikayo, San Juan, PR

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pikayo is located in the Ocean Wing of the Conrad Condado Plaza, overlooking the pristine Caribbean crystal clear blue waters with it"s tropical sunset. Perfect for memorable private events.

Pikayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Caribbean
Best Value
Caribbean
Special Occasion
Caribbean
6 More
Best Overall
Puerto Rico
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Condado / Santurce ›

Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Scenic View (5)
Waterfront (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
579 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our meal was exceptional! The service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our meal was exceptional! The service was top notch and all of the staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. The food was absolutely delicious and we won't soon forget our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great ambiance and impec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent food, great ambiance and impeccable service. This is an anniversary dinner we will always remember. Even though dishes are a bit expensive, they are totally worth it! The potato soup with truffles is to die for!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait 30 mins for our drinks- f ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had to wait 30 mins for our drinks- for the first round and the second round. The service was sub par. Had to ask twice for drinks. The gouda cheese parissene was fried and wasnt that great. The concierge desk lady was rude as well when we asked for a taxi. Too pricey for sub par food and service wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

We ate here the first time 6 years ago. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We ate here the first time 6 years ago. The food is outstanding. Everything was perfectly seasoned & cooked to perfection. They have a really nice wine list that pairs well with the menu. The service is impeccable. Possibly one of the best restaurants on the planet!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A place to be when I n Puerto Rico

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A place to be when I n Puerto Rico

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding, amazing service and food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Outstanding, amazing service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great and discrete servi ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Wonderful food, great and discrete service, great wine list. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was to expensive for what it was. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was to expensive for what it was. I wouldn't go again. Many more restaurants available that cook better tasting food. Service was top notch, can't knock that. But I need more if I'm going to pay those prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great restaurant for wonderful Puerto Ri ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great restaurant for wonderful Puerto Rican food! A very special place - warm and inviting!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a hotel restaurant Pikayo is outstan ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

For a hotel restaurant Pikayo is outstanding. Service is attentive but not obtrusive. The menu has a little of everything on it. The lamb is outstanding. The mamposteao was excellent. If we ate ever back in Puerto Rico, Pikayo is on our list of restaurants to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Exceptional culinary experience with an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Exceptional culinary experience with an extensive a la carte menu and accompanying wine and cocktail menu. During this dining experience I used the a la carte menu to create a three course experience. The first course, seared foie gras, was perfectly prepeared and absolutely exquisite. The duck magret, second course, was prepared perfectly as requested (e.g. medium) with beautiful presentation. The pineapple panna cotta, third and final course, was exceptional as well. The suggested wine pairing was perfectly suited for this final course. The service, from the restaurant employees, was highly attentive but never intrusive. Notable and memorable dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal meal! From the incredible hon ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Phenomenal meal! From the incredible honey sesame seed butter that accompanyed the bread to start to the meal to the corned beef brisket pasta (yes, you read that right) to the cheese souffle with guava sauce dessert, every bite was the new best thing I'd eaten in years. I can't recommend this place highly enough. With a return trip to Puerto Rico just to dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING. This restaurant is always ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

OUTSTANDING. This restaurant is always on our San Juan dining tour and for good reason. The service is attentive, the food of excellent quality and preparation, and the ambiance is elegant. The gougere are always excellent as is any fish or meat preparation. It is a pricey meal but for the setting and service and cuisine - worth the splurge!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always consistent, creative, tasty food. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always consistent, creative, tasty food. Try the dumplings with tamarind sauce and the pepper salad!!! Awesome food, excellent service!

Tags: Waterfront, Quick Bite, Romantic, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was not our first time at Pikayo. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was not our first time at Pikayo. We were disappointed that they were not serving the tasting Menu. The waiter said it was seasonal but we have been there in October before and they offered the tasting menu. Too many waiters hovering. I said no thank you to water about seven times at the end of the evening. We were also disappointed that the casino had closed.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

50th birthday celebration for my wife

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

50th birthday celebration for my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great like always, is always same qualit ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great like always, is always same quality and the service is outstanding. Is one of the best rest in Puerto Rico

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. After wait ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding food and service. After waiting for the right time to visit, Pikayo did not disappoint. A truly memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Exquisite food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent service. Exquisite food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The appetizers were really nice but the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The appetizers were really nice but the food was def too salty, especially the entrees. I'd recommend folks go to this restaurants for SERVICE and appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing! I had bistec con papas fritas a ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing! I had bistec con papas fritas and it was phenomenal

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and attention to detail. F ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great service and attention to detail. Fantastic gastronomic experience at one of San Juan's best restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and the portions where in ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and the portions where in accordance to price. The onioned Steak was superb! The wines input by the maitre showed how knowledgeable he was and the selection was correctly made. Definetely Will come back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of our favorite places to go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to go when in San Juan! Everything is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Puerto Ri ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 28, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Puerto Rico. Service and food are outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent!!!! My boyfriend ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food was excellent!!!! My boyfriend enjoyed himself and we were celebrating the entire week in Puerto Rico. Even though we dined at this restaurant they day before his birthday, the staff made the evening feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First class service, food just ok for t ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 24, 2016

First class service, food just ok for the price. I would highly recommended, but in my opinion this restaurant is overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was impeccable and 5 star ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The restaurant was impeccable and 5 star service. The waiters were very attentive to anything we needed. Dollar wise it is pricey, but for a special occasion was well worth it. The complimentary cold soup was excellent. The only negative was my shrimp was over-cooked.

Will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great find. Classy restaurant ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was a great find. Classy restaurant, great food, waiters on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was excellent, a business din ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our dinner was excellent, a business dinner of people who work in the food business. A critical group and everyone was wowed by the food, presentations and attentive service. The foie gras with plantain and the risotto with gandules were particularly memorable. Great combination of local ingredients and world class preparation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While we enjoyed our meal--we felt it wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2016

While we enjoyed our meal--we felt it was overpriced compared to other island options. For me, the entree (scallops) was perfectly cooked but too salty. Service was friendly and attentive. We were also there on a Wednesday evening--maybe just less vibrant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Duck breast was amazing, tostones nice a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Duck breast was amazing, tostones nice and crispy, salted perfectly, pork belly sliders are a must have. 6 bite sized sliders surprisingly filling and only $15 bucks cash American! Jason the bartender was very knowledgeable about Puerto Rican culture, sports and politics, a real delight to chat with. The service and cuisine are top notch. I love duck breast, I eat it a lot, and this was hands down the best one I've ever had, paired perfectly with the raspberry reduction, haricot verts and wild mushrooms. I was full and still couldn't stop eating it. I will be returning to pikayo the next time I am in P.R. Thank you for a world class dining experience, Chef Wilo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had not been to Pikayo in two years an ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I had not been to Pikayo in two years and I had forgotten just how amazing the food is! The escargots in balsamic cream are exquisite and the bistec encebollado with a side of mamposteao is the best ever!!! The service was impeccable as always and the ambiance quiet and refined. Can't wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Tuna tartare con Pegao Squid Ink linguin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Tuna tartare con Pegao

Squid Ink linguini with spicy salmorejo

Chocolate souffle

Cheese souffle

Mango Gazpacho

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent; consistently excellent. Thanks ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excelent; consistently excellent. Thanks for a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining here was a special treat for myse ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Dining here was a special treat for myself at the end of a conference, and what a treat it was. They were responsive to my note on my reservation that I was a vegetarian with gluten allergies, and the food they offered was absolutely fantastic. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and greatly prepared!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Not only was the food great, the customer service requested through open table was executed flawlessly as well, so greatly appreciated! The special could have been more thoroughly described, as the special codfish, though excellently prepared, was with carrot which I don't like and if I had known prior to ordering, would have asked for it to be substituted with something else or would have ordered something else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best on the Island

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very casually elegent.

Best service of any I have been to.

Food? Excellent and something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice bar, good food. Too expensive, but ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice bar, good food. Too expensive, but at least it delivers on quality. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wilo Benet's art, love of food, love of ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Wilo Benet's art, love of food, love of his county's cuisine consistently shines here. His staff and their skills would be a TOP FIVE Restaurant...no matter what city you placed them. My company is based in New Orleans , a city replete with world class restaurants. Pikayo is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.