About Pikayo

999 Ashford Avenue
San Juan, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Going strong since 1990, serving primarily locals our version of many classics from around the world with the inclusion of local favorites as well as contemporary fusion dishes. This is Chef Wilo Benet's flagship restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Puerto Rican, International

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 721-6194

Website:
http://wilobenet.com/restaurants/pikayo.htm

Catering:
Upscale off premise catering. Will travel abroad. Experienced in high volume.

Executive Chef:
Alex Rivera

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Souffle
Gouda Cheese Parisienne With Guava Sauce
Truffle Cheese Empanadillas With Truffle Mojito
Mariachi Mojito
Cheese Souffle W/Guava Sauce
Beef Tenderloin Alcapurrias With Garlic Aioli
Tuna Tartare With Jalapeno, Wasabi Tobiko, And Cold Yuzu Miso Broth
Pork Belly Burgers With Gouda Cheese
Foie Gras W/Ripe Plantains And Black Truffle Honey
Lumachine w/ Spicy Crab Salmorejo
Scallop Ravioli With Asparagus Slivers & White Wine Beurre Blanc
Spicy Octopus W/Julienne Of Cucumber & Spicy Ponzu Sauce
empanadas
Seared Scallops With Corn Emulsion

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Pikayo is located in the Ocean Wing of the Conrad Condado Plaza, overlooking the pristine Caribbean crystal clear blue waters with it"s tropical sunset. Perfect for memorable private events.

Pikayo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Caribbean
Best Service
Caribbean
Best Overall
Puerto Rico
6 More
Best Food
Puerto Rico
Best Service
Puerto Rico
Best Value
Puerto Rico
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Condado / Santurce ›

special occasion (45)
fit for foodies (39)
romantic (32)
See All
notable wine list (17)
scenic view (16)
good for groups (14)
hot spot (10)
neighborhood gem (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

I had not been to Pikayo in two years an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I had not been to Pikayo in two years and I had forgotten just how amazing the food is! The escargots in balsamic cream are exquisite and the bistec encebollado with a side of mamposteao is the best ever!!! The service was impeccable as always and the ambiance quiet and refined. Can't wait to go again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna tartare con Pegao Squid Ink linguin ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Tuna tartare con Pegao Squid Ink linguini with spicy salmorejo Chocolate souffle Cheese souffle Mango Gazpacho

food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent; consistently excellent. Thanks ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excelent; consistently excellent. Thanks for a great evening!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining here was a special treat for myse ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Dining here was a special treat for myself at the end of a conference, and what a treat it was. They were responsive to my note on my reservation that I was a vegetarian with gluten allergies, and the food they offered was absolutely fantastic. Cannot recommend this place enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was delicious and greatly prepared!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Not only was the food great, the customer service requested through open table was executed flawlessly as well, so greatly appreciated! The special could have been more thoroughly described, as the special codfish, though excellently prepared, was with carrot which I don't like and if I had known prior to ordering, would have asked for it to be substituted with something else or would have ordered something else.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best on the Island

Dined on June 3, 2016

Very casually elegent. Best service of any I have been to. Food? Excellent and something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice bar, good food. Too expensive, but ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Nice bar, good food. Too expensive, but at least it delivers on quality. Service was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wilo Benet's art, love of food, love of ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Wilo Benet's art, love of food, love of his county's cuisine consistently shines here. His staff and their skills would be a TOP FIVE Restaurant...no matter what city you placed them. My company is based in New Orleans , a city replete with world class restaurants. Pikayo is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I ate here our last night in ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

My wife and I ate here our last night in P.R. LOVED it. We read quite a few reviews discussing the price - it is a bit spendy to be sure. HOWEVER, the food was amazing and really was quite a lot. We have certainly spent more for less and been less satisfied. But we were very happy with this place. Our only regret was that we were unable to really enjoy the ocean views as our reservation was later in the evening and the sun had gone down shortly after our arrival.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Delight

Dined on May 15, 2016

Pikayo always serves up a great dinner. Only open for dinner at the Condado Plaza Hotel in San Juan, Puerto Rico, Chef Wilo Benet artistry combine traditional Puerto Rican dishes with European influences. For example: Seared Foie Gras with Sweet Ripe Plantains, Crispy Rice ('Pegao') Crackers with Tuna Tartar, Cheese Souffle with Guava Sauce. The wine list is notable and precise (even including how many bottles of each selection is in stock). I 've never been disappointed at Pikayo.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Positive at Pikayo

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Really great tasting and fresh food. Beautiful presentations. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best meal we had on this trip to Puerto ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Best meal we had on this trip to Puerto Rico. Ate a bunch of small plates and enjoyed them all. Good wine list also. Service refined. Oh, and great bread!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went here to celebrate ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

My husband and I went here to celebrate our anniversary. We were greeted at our table with complementary glasses of wine in honor of our celebration which was very considerate of our server. The food was delicious and had amazing blends of spices and flavor. My husband wanted to sit next to me so he moved closer and the staff immediately adjusted his table setting, I thought that was very sweet. They made us feel very special on our anniversary:)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Pikayo is a great restaurant in San Juan ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Pikayo is a great restaurant in San Juan ambiance, service, food. It reminds me of a classic supper club! Nice!

food5
ambience5
service5

Rico, like always!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Rico, like always!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Notch

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great experience from start to finish. My dining companion and I decided we wanted to try a few of their smaller dishes vs. ordering a single entree from their menu. To our surprise, the waiter had the kitchen split each item we ordered into 2 servings so we didn't have to pick off of one plate. This kind of attention to detail is what really make this restaurant great and worth the price. The food was exceptional, the wines by the glass were reasonably priced, and the service really stellar. Although we didn't order any full sized entrees, I did sneak a peek at our neighboring tables and boy are the portions generous! This was one of our favorite fine dining experiences in Puerto Rico.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

Welcoming and excellent service. Great food and cocktails. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restuarant

Dined on May 3, 2016

Very Good atmosphere and food. Wait staff was top notch and very attentive. We had eaten a few pricey restuarants in Puerto Rico when visting and this was one of our favorites.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Fine dining and doing it quickly!

Dined on May 1, 2016

I found the food to be extraordinary but had to eat and drink with a time clock. The wine was a chaser to my opening cocktail as dinner was served. Felt more like a wine and cheese taste festival than a quiet fine dined meal. Plus the service was too busy. One waiter would've been more than adequate instead of the superficial tag team match. Would I go again? Yes the food was tremendous but I may take my meal and eat at the bar!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals we've ever had. Fo ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best meals we've ever had. Food was incredible, our server (and the Somm) Wilpert was impeccable. Great, great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic

Dined on April 29, 2016

Pikaya is very romantic. The restaurant staff are incredibly attentive without being disruptive. Everything is beautifully prepared and the portion sizes will be enough to allow you to share with your dinner partner. We eat at Pikaya every time we stay at the Condado Hilton. It's perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were impeccable. Ho ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The service and food were impeccable. However, it should be a $$$$ restaurant and not a $$$.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Fine Dining

Dined on April 19, 2016

Dining at Pikayo was the best decision my husband I made on our vacation to Puerto Rico. Chef Wilo Benet really has created something special here, and we could not have been more satisfied. Instead of ordering traditionally we did our own tasting menu and ordered only from the left side of the menu, and I'm so glad we did. We started with the Tuna with chipotle mayo served over crispy rice, followed by a special that night, Burrata, the Octopus escabeche salad, the shiitake mushroom and truffle risotto and finished with the corned beef brisket. For dessert we also tried the cheese souffle. Highlights for me were the Octopus salad and the risotto. Both were exceptional. Everything was perfectly flavored and succulent and full of umami. And of course the service was superb, greeting us with champagne (we were celebrating) and dividing the plates they could into two. Well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Lots of wine choices seemed like first-t ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Lots of wine choices seemed like first-time requests. 20+ minutes for one request.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Number one in San Juan

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

There are a lot of very good new restaurants in San Juan these days but Pikayo is still on top.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining in Condado

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Lovely experience all around. The restaurant is attractive with very helpful and friendly waiters. The food was quickly delish and had a nice presentation. It was a relaxed atmosphere and we had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Officially our favorite

Dined on April 10, 2016

The absolute best restaurant in PR. Vacation every year in PR and have tried many other. Nothing compares!!! The escargot and octopus....best we've ever had. This time we had tuna and tenderloin.....the were both out of this world. I recommend this restaurant to everyone. And....the staff is amazing also. They all but wipe your mouth for you, paying attention to every last detail

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food in Puerto Rico

Dined on April 7, 2016

We had dinner at Pikayo and were delighted with the outstanding quality, flavors and service. We decided to order off the appetizer and small plate menu to share so that my wife and I could experience a greater variety of the offerings, and they presented each item that we ordered already separated into 2 equal portions. The fois gras over sweet plantain was incredible! The complexity and layers of flavors were wonderful. We will definitely plan on returning to Pikayo the next time we are in Puerto Rico!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Refined and delicious

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

The most "fine dining" spot we ate at on our trip to Puerto Rico. A lovely space, refined food, and impeccable service. Excellently paired wines, as well. Really quite delicious, too. The foie gras with plantains is incredible -- worth the trip alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our meal was outstanding. Probably one of the better meals I've had. Prices are not cheap however. The service was excellent. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. We recommend the escargots, the sea bass, and don't forget the chocolate souflee!! Really delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I have eaten in this restaurant many tim ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

I have eaten in this restaurant many times, both when they were in the museum, and in the condado plaza. The food is not as good as it was. The mushroom truffle risotto was quite good. I had the scallops. The top was quite salty. The same with my daughters sea bass. The third person had lamb chops and they were tough and fatty. It was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is really good but the service. ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

The food is really good but the service. We went as a birthday / anniversary dinner and had a really good time. The prices are on the high side but keep mind that you are within the tourist area of Puerto Rico. Plus the art of Quetzalcoatl decorating the walls was beautiful

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Martin and s ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. Martin and staff make you feel welcome!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best soufflé in the Caribbean.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Great service, food and attention. It's not cheap but worth every penny. Had the largest and best scallops of my life. And as always, the soufflé is a must have. Don't leave the island without spoiling yourself at this gourmet encounter.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is an incredible restaurant hidden ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

This is an incredible restaurant hidden in the upstairs of a hotel. Try to bisteca encebellados-- it is to die for! Service is incredible, every time you take a sip of your water they refill it. Wine list is fantastic and there are some great affordable choices.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 15, 2016

Probably one of the best dishes we have had EVER. We are foodies and definitely love our pick of the best and this was one of THE BEST! Would definitely recommend it! It is pricey so be aware but we had two appetizers, hubby had a cocktail, two entrees, and their fabulous Soufflé and with tax and tip bill came out to a little under $200 which is really great! Will definitely return again on our next trip to PR.

food5
ambience5
service5

Tuna tartare,shitake mushroom risotto fa ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Tuna tartare,shitake mushroom risotto fantastic. Spicy octopus delicious. Sea bass with polenta seasoned and cooked perfectly. Excellent service. Decor beautifully done.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great San Juan gastronomic dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

local snapper, tuna tartare with a tuist, a chocolat soufflé that lingers, great variety and wine selection, Hands down, our favorite San Juan restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was too quick. Cost is five sta ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Service was too quick. Cost is five star and patrons should not be made tofeel rushed out, especially, when no one was waiting to be seated.

food5
ambience5
service5

The blue nose snapper was excellent, as ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

The blue nose snapper was excellent, as well as the guava cheese souffle.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.