About Pietro's Italian Restaurant

317 E Kettleman Lane
Lodi, CA 95240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pietro’s of Lodi, a classic Italian restaurant that serves rich flavors and hearty portions at affordable prices. Since 1957 the proud family tradition for serving good food lives on with favorites like hand-tossed pizza, homemade ravioli, and authentic minestrone with homemade bread and broiled chicken with angel hair pasta. In addition, they offer delicious traditional dishes like eggplant lasagna, chicken florentine, and veal scaloppini. The menu is also complimented with Dover filet of sole, pancetta prawns and calamari steak. Their homemade desserts of cannoli, tiramisu and biscotti are made fresh daily. And the final family feel to the restaurant is their on-site herb and vegetable garden patio where one experiences the true fresh taste from the garden to the kitchen. It gives one the feel of a "meal with mama" on Sunday afternoon in Italy. Come enjoy the experience and meet the owners Jim and Annette Murdaca personally, as they meet and greet you at the door.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM.
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30 PM - 3:00 PM.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Cross Street:
S. Washington St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 368-0613

Website:
http://www.pietroslodi.com/

Executive Chef:
Jim Murdaca

Private Party Facilities:
Pietro’s offers several large party dining options :
Stanza di Vino room - accommodates 22 guests; Un Bel Paese room - accommodates 34 guests, Garden Pation (outside) - accommodates 44 guests.

We also offer specific banquet menus to make your dining choices easy and delicious.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Murdaca: 2093680613x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking to book a large party reservation or planning to book a private function in one of our private rooms please contact Sarah Miner Banquet Manager. Phone: (209) 368-0613
Email: Mrs.SarahMiner@gmail.com

Pietro's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Great for Lunch
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
2 More
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
North San Joaquin Valley
Best Restaurants in Lodi ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (95)
Good for Groups (78)
Special Occasion (77)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Great for Lunch (65)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Kid-friendly (37)
Notable Wine List (31)
Romantic (30)
Hot Spot (20)
Scenic View (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for a Date (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and the service was friendly ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and the service was friendly and fun. We made it right on time and were seated immediately .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was delicious, but the prices ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our dinner was delicious, but the prices are high.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and enjoyable dinning. The Ne ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and enjoyable dinning. The New York steak is perfection, as well as the amazing veal piccata (only available certain times), however, can't wait to experience more of what Pietro's offers, not only their extensive food menu but look forward to exploring the whole place, from happy hour/ bar scene, a private dinning room, to a night with live music.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have enjoyed Pietro's quite a few tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have enjoyed Pietro's quite a few times (and the food/service is always excellent), but this was our first time dining in their patio area. It was so lovely and we look forward to our next visit. Another bonus to Pietro's are their lovely gardens - tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, basil, lemons/limes - just beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, prompt seating with a reserv ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, prompt seating with a reservation. Service staff and Managment were very polite. Good dining experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has wonderful Italian Fair. V ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place has wonderful Italian Fair. Very comparable to St Louis "The Hill" and Chicago "Little Italy". Wonderful people here. A great wine list. All the foods around us looked great. They did remove veal, which was a disappointment, but we had pork Milanese and chicken pram. Wonderful. Great minestrone soup. Killer bread. If you are in Lodi a must stop! Great Tiramisu. We will be back next trip!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of our most favor ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant is one of our most favorite in Lodi. This last great meal we brought some friends from Arizona and they LOVED it !! Thank you again for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Like the owners very much as well as the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Like the owners very much as well as their rising star chef, their Son! I found the food to be a little on the a bland side. I asked for the salt!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Our son came to Stockton to visit...his ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our son came to Stockton to visit...his first experience at Pietro's. Thought everything was great. Will g again on his next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time I have ever had substandard foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

1st time I have ever had substandard food at Pietro's...ordered the spinach salad with the tomato oil and vinegar dressing. Got a small container of dressing which was only oil, after sending it back received only oil again Have had this salad several times and was always delicious..disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We celebrated August birthdays. The food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We celebrated August birthdays. The food was wonderful and the service was exceptional! We had a great time and would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On our way to Berghold winery to pickup ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

On our way to Berghold winery to pickup our wine club shipment with our friends who had never heard of your restaurant. We are from Modesto. Great lunch! Delicious food - love the garden to table concept.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great. I have coming to Pietro's ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great. I have coming to Pietro's since they first opened and it continues to get better and better,

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful place. Extensive garden ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Just a wonderful place. Extensive garden provided all the veggies. If we had not known where it was we would have missed it. Perhaps one of the best Italian restaurants we have been to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been going to Pietro's for several ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I've been going to Pietro's for several years. I considered it a find for Tuscan food. The son of the owner has recently come back from cooking school in Europe and apparently he and his father are now looking to change up the menu and the decor. In the near future it is scheduled for a shut down for a couple of months and a physical remake. I think that will be good.

However, they are currently changing the menu... a kind of update. But for me the update is not so wonderful. Apparently they are attempting to keep only foods that are "cost effective". So they dumped the "Frutti del mare" for "Cioppino". Cioppino is more expensive (and maybe more cost effective) but much more difficult to get "right". They dumped veal, apparently because few people order it. They have included more pizzas, but pizza is a dime a dozen. I don't go to a restaurant like Pietro's for pizza. Although some people do... so don't let my opinion on pizza sway you too much.

I can tell you the great restaurants of New York don't dump the unique, seldom purchased dishes for only those that make money. The unique dishes that are seldom ordered are what make a restaurant memorable. And better to get a simple dish really good than get a fancy dish only so-so.

So at present, I'm taking a wait and see attitude. I'll keep going to Pietro's... for sure. It has a nice environment, outside seating, a huge vegetable garden, and great staff. It feels like an Italian restaurant.

However, if it changes too much in a direction I don't like, I'll quickly dump it too... also because it's not cost effective in that I'm not getting the food I want... at any price.

But for now, I will tell you that it has been (and still is) a good restaurant. It is in the process of transition and we owe it to ourselves and to Pietro's to hang in there and see where it goes.

Bon Apetite!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic, wonderful, alive, always some ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic, wonderful, alive, always something new on menu - a pleasure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always wonderful. I just ha ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is always wonderful.

I just had one problem, there was a dog allowed in the restaurant. Not a service dog.

It is against the law for dogs to be in restaurants. If one does it someone else will follow suit & that is not good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, good drink, you should go her ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food, good drink, you should go here for a treat!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

where to start , was a gift cert. for my ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

where to start , was a gift cert. for my b-day and the second time at your restaurant both times a very enjoyable occasion. food excellent. and so enjoyed the gardens. was glad we sat outside aswe did find it a little noisey inside, as I have a bit of a hearing problem. but overall a great dineing experience. would like to thank everyone there that made it so pleasurable. graci senoreas

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We always have an amazing experience at ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We always have an amazing experience at Pietro's. Their food is absolutely delicious. Hands down our favorite place to bring friends

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We go there often. Love their food. Thi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We go there often. Love their food. This time was a little less than prior visits.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Always good food and great service. Out ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Always good food and great service. Outside patio dining is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

absolutely the best food, great service ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

absolutely the best food, great service and fun place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food and service for a reasona ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good food and service for a reasonable price. I will absolutely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Vanilla gel ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. Vanilla gelato dessert was the best ending to the fabulous meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect as always. Fresh fresh food.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Perfect as always. Fresh fresh food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second lunch at this wonderful resta ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our second lunch at this wonderful restaurant. I especially liked the "tour" of the veggie & herb garden :-) The lunches came out fast and very well put together. Tasted wonderful! Will definitely go back again as there are many more items I'd love to try! I had the eggplant parmesan & Pietro's salad and of course, their fresh bread! OMG I could just make a meal on the bread & olive oil alone. We also had a wonderful glass of fresh, cool, crisp Rose wine. We sat outside on the terrace which is just lovely! This IS a neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great and consistent !!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great and consistent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good service & friendly & will come back ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good service & friendly & will come back with friends & family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite place in Lodi! We go there ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My favorite place in Lodi! We go there for most of our special dinners.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were celebrating our 63 ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our 63 rd wedding anniversary. The table was wonderful next to the widow with a view of the patio. The waiter was very friendly , the food was excellent. In November we celebrated my birthday with a family dinner and everything was wonderful then too. The food is always good, plentiful, and appetizing looking. We try and take family members for special occasions and out of town visitors. The fresh vegetables from their garden makes for a great tasting salad and meal. The patio area is wonderful to sit out in the evening and enjoy the food and fresh air.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our experience at Pietro's wa ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always, our experience at Pietro's was outstanding. Delicicious food, great ambiance and excellent service. Beside the food being delicious as always, I was totally impressed with our waiters ability to keep all of our complicated orders straight with never touching a pen or notepad. Always feel like part of the family. A true gem in our community.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambience and attentive service. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Love the ambience and attentive service. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a special birthday dinner for my ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It was a special birthday dinner for my wife, we were shown to the premier table in the outdoor area, great service, good food and wine. Delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite! Food, service and a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Always a favorite! Food, service and ambience are great. This is one of the best restaurants in Lodi.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent Place for great food. The ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

An excellent Place for great food. The service was super GREAT. Will always take people there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 10 year old granddaughter th ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We took our 10 year old granddaughter there for dinner. We made reservations and we seated as soon as we arrived. They had a nice children's menu. My granddaughter ordered the raviolis and asked for the sauce to be changed to Alfredo sauce and the server was very happy to do it. Our salads were very nice, cold, and crisp. Their ranch is house made and excellent. I ordered chicken scallopini and my husband ordered their marinated chicken. They were each served with a generous portion of fresh green beans and pasta. The bread is served right out of the oven and delicious. It is a bit noisy inside but great if you have little ones. The staff is very friendly and the food excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little disappointed when We got there ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

A little disappointed when We got there and the hostess made no attempt to sit us in the area we requested, which I might add was nearly an empty area. I asked to sit where we had requested and she had not even looked at our open table booking to see our request. Makes one wonder if they really care what we request when booking. Otherwise our experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We received outstanding service! Our wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We received outstanding service! Our waitress was wonderful, and at the end of our meal, the chef came out and greeted us. After a short chat, he came out and brought us a complimentary dessert.

This was my third time here. The food never disappoints! The portions are huge and all the dishes are very flavorful. The cocktails are always delicious as well! Great spot to dine inside or out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time eating there, its truly a nei ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

First time eating there, its truly a neighborhood gem!! I would had rated the service outstanding but our waitress had no knowledge of wine pairing which was a surprise since the restaurant is in wine country but her friendliness made up for it. Definitely going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.