About Pietro's Italian Restaurant

317 E Kettleman Lane
Lodi, CA 95240
View Larger Map

Welcome to Pietro’s of Lodi, a classic Italian restaurant that serves rich flavors and hearty portions at affordable prices. Since 1957 the proud family tradition for serving good food lives on with favorites like hand-tossed pizza, homemade ravioli, and authentic minestrone with homemade bread and broiled chicken with angel hair pasta. In addition, they offer delicious traditional dishes like eggplant lasagna, chicken florentine, and veal scaloppini. The menu is also complimented with Dover filet of sole, pancetta prawns and calamari steak. Their homemade desserts of cannoli, tiramisu and biscotti are made fresh daily. And the final family feel to the restaurant is their on-site herb and vegetable garden patio where one experiences the true fresh taste from the garden to the kitchen. It gives one the feel of a "meal with mama" on Sunday afternoon in Italy. Come enjoy the experience and meet the owners Jim and Annette Murdaca personally, as they meet and greet you at the door.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM.
Lunch: Saturday: 11:30 PM - 3:00 PM.
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Cross Street:
S. Washington St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(209) 368-0613

Website:
http://www.pietroslodi.com/

Executive Chef:
Jim Murdaca

Private Party Facilities:
Pietro’s offers several large party dining options :
Stanza di Vino room - accommodates 22 guests; Un Bel Paese room - accommodates 34 guests, Garden Pation (outside) - accommodates 44 guests.

We also offer specific banquet menus to make your dining choices easy and delicious.

Private Party Contact:
Jim Murdaca: 2093680613x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are looking to book a large party reservation or planning to book a private function in one of our private rooms please contact Sarah Miner Banquet Manager. Phone: (209) 368-0613
Email: Mrs.SarahMiner@gmail.com

Pietro's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Great for Lunch
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Outdoor Dining
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
2 More
Italian
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
North San Joaquin Valley
Best Restaurants in Lodi ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (92)
Special Occasion (71)
Neighborhood Gem (65)
See All
Good for Groups (62)
Great for Lunch (59)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (33)
Romantic (31)
Kid-friendly (25)
Hot Spot (21)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Scenic View (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Late-night Find (10)
Family Style (9)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is delicious and there are gluten-f ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food is delicious and there are gluten-free options. I love walking past the trellised vegetable gardens growing along the walkway to the entrance of the restaurant. The patio dining is lovely.

The owners are warm and friendly--just like eating at an Italian "Tuscan" villa.

Tags: Healthy, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints! We celebrated a birt ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints! We celebrated a birthday with family and the food and service were excellent as always. Parking can sometimes be a challenge, but otherwise this is a no-fail pick for dining out for any reason. And they have the absolute best outdoor dining---private, beautifully landscaped, spacious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT ITALIAN MENU AND PIZZA. TRY THE SP ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 6 days ago

GREAT ITALIAN MENU AND PIZZA. TRY THE SPAGHETTI AND MEATBALLS, WOW!

THEY OFFER A MULTI COURSE FAMILY STYLE ITALIAN MEAL THAT LOOKS LIKE A GOOD DEAL.

THERE WERE FOUR OF US AND EVERYONE'S MEAL WAS EXCELLENT.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pietros is my favorite restaurant and I ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Pietros is my favorite restaurant and I enjoy eating here.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Modern Decor, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat outside and had a lovely dinner. Man ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Sat outside and had a lovely dinner. Many people taking care of us and making sure every thing was perfect. Great meal!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is consistently excellent and t ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is consistently excellent and the service staff pay attention to every little detail. We make Pietros a weekly destination.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant. Food is always fre ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent Restaurant. Food is always fresh and has a beautiful presentation. We love the outdoor seating and the clean environment. Service is wonderful. We always choose to celebrate special occasions at this restaurant. Family friendly as well! We love that!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate outside and it is wonderful, weat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We ate outside and it is wonderful, weather permitting. I based my rating on that verses the inside experience. I'm a regular diner and eat here about once a month and it is where I take

out of town guests or eat out with family. Its the best Lodi has to offer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere. The mushroom risotto ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great atmosphere. The mushroom risotto is out of this world!!!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed the experience, great ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We totally enjoyed the experience, great food and awesome service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We come from San Jose to go to this rest ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We come from San Jose to go to this restaurant whenever we visit our son in Galt. We stumbled upon it the first time. Now we make a beeline. Fresh fresh food and made extremely well. All the tomatoes and many vegetables are grown outside and you walk right past them to go into the restaurant. More are growing on the outside patio which is so cozy I want to live there. I really love this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of eight tried the family styl ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our group of eight tried the family style menu option and really enjoyed the variety of appetizers, pastas and entrees. Highly recommend this option for large groups. Our server was outstanding. Was a nice touch to have the owner stop at our table and to recommend a couple of dishes that included assortment of sliced fresh tomatoes and fresh basil grown from the restaurant garden, salami, prosciutto, among other items in lieu of the caesar salad we originally ordered. The calamari appetizer was delicious. Our two entree items of chicken parmesan and steak were both excellent --- flavorful and tender. And the chocolate nutella dessert pizza topped with strawberries and blueberries was awesome. That topped off our wonderful dinner! We appreciated both the owner and his wife for their hands-on presence and checking in on us and asking how our dinner evening was going. They thanked us for driving up from Sacramento. A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FOOD WAS FRESH AND DELICIOUS, ANGEL HAIR ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

FOOD WAS FRESH AND DELICIOUS, ANGEL HAIR PASTA AND CALAMARI WERE PREPARED PERFECTLY. LUPE OUR SERVER WAS EXCEPTIONAL-- KIND, WELCOMING AND HELPFUL.

LOVE AND EXPECT EVEN MORE GARLIC AND CAPERS IN RECIPES THAT CONTAIN THEM.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very sorry to see veal has been removed ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very sorry to see veal has been removed from menu. Was a big draw for me. Please reinstate the veal!!!!!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The cioppino and chicken parmesan were b ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The cioppino and chicken parmesan were both much too salty for our taste. The salads and the deserts were excellent.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Met with our friends for dinner-were sea ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Met with our friends for dinner-were seated outside.What a view with all the greenery and the vegetables growing all around. So quiet-makes for easy conversation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! We found no better restaura ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent!!!

We found no better restaurant when we visited Italy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, Pietro's was the right choice ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As usual, Pietro's was the right choice for our company lunch. The secluded courtyard was a pleasant place to celebrate our recent successes and to toast the future together! My Team enjoys the variety of great food and the atmosphere that allows for conversation. When we have a milestone to celebrate, Pietro's is the go-to destination!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely worth eating here. Food has v ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Definitely worth eating here. Food has varied from good to excellent in the four visits we have made since 2011. Service is always excellent as is the lovely patio.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated outside and the atmospher ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We were seated outside and the atmosphere was near perfect. The food and the service was also great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go here quite often as we enjoy the food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Go here quite often as we enjoy the food, and usually the service is quite good. Saturday was the exception, service was quite slow and left a lot to be desired. Especially enjoy the patio when Junior is working. Like the nice touch of owner stopping by your table and checking in with you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My wife and I took my parents wine tasti ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I took my parents wine tasting in Lodi and found this spot online for lunch. We were all very pleased with our choices, and will definitely come back on future visits to the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was in town for a high school reunion, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was in town for a high school reunion, and Pietro's has been a family favorite for many years. I took my 89 year old aunt and we called it a 'special dinner'. It was just perfect. I recommend asking to sit outside if the weather accommodates because their patio is lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and the service was friendly ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food and the service was friendly and fun. We made it right on time and were seated immediately .

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our dinner was delicious, but the prices ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our dinner was delicious, but the prices are high.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and enjoyable dinning. The Ne ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food and enjoyable dinning. The New York steak is perfection, as well as the amazing veal piccata (only available certain times), however, can't wait to experience more of what Pietro's offers, not only their extensive food menu but look forward to exploring the whole place, from happy hour/ bar scene, a private dinning room, to a night with live music.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Spicy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have enjoyed Pietro's quite a few tim ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We have enjoyed Pietro's quite a few times (and the food/service is always excellent), but this was our first time dining in their patio area. It was so lovely and we look forward to our next visit. Another bonus to Pietro's are their lovely gardens - tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, basil, lemons/limes - just beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, prompt seating with a reserv ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food, prompt seating with a reservation. Service staff and Managment were very polite. Good dining experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This place has wonderful Italian Fair. V ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place has wonderful Italian Fair. Very comparable to St Louis "The Hill" and Chicago "Little Italy". Wonderful people here. A great wine list. All the foods around us looked great. They did remove veal, which was a disappointment, but we had pork Milanese and chicken pram. Wonderful. Great minestrone soup. Killer bread. If you are in Lodi a must stop! Great Tiramisu. We will be back next trip!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is one of our most favor ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This restaurant is one of our most favorite in Lodi. This last great meal we brought some friends from Arizona and they LOVED it !! Thank you again for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Like the owners very much as well as the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Like the owners very much as well as their rising star chef, their Son! I found the food to be a little on the a bland side. I asked for the salt!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Our son came to Stockton to visit...his ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our son came to Stockton to visit...his first experience at Pietro's. Thought everything was great. Will g again on his next visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time I have ever had substandard foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

1st time I have ever had substandard food at Pietro's...ordered the spinach salad with the tomato oil and vinegar dressing. Got a small container of dressing which was only oil, after sending it back received only oil again Have had this salad several times and was always delicious..disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

We celebrated August birthdays. The food ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We celebrated August birthdays. The food was wonderful and the service was exceptional! We had a great time and would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

On our way to Berghold winery to pickup ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

On our way to Berghold winery to pickup our wine club shipment with our friends who had never heard of your restaurant. We are from Modesto. Great lunch! Delicious food - love the garden to table concept.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great. I have coming to Pietro's ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great. I have coming to Pietro's since they first opened and it continues to get better and better,

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a wonderful place. Extensive garden ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Just a wonderful place. Extensive garden provided all the veggies. If we had not known where it was we would have missed it. Perhaps one of the best Italian restaurants we have been to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been going to Pietro's for several ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I've been going to Pietro's for several years. I considered it a find for Tuscan food. The son of the owner has recently come back from cooking school in Europe and apparently he and his father are now looking to change up the menu and the decor. In the near future it is scheduled for a shut down for a couple of months and a physical remake. I think that will be good.

However, they are currently changing the menu... a kind of update. But for me the update is not so wonderful. Apparently they are attempting to keep only foods that are "cost effective". So they dumped the "Frutti del mare" for "Cioppino". Cioppino is more expensive (and maybe more cost effective) but much more difficult to get "right". They dumped veal, apparently because few people order it. They have included more pizzas, but pizza is a dime a dozen. I don't go to a restaurant like Pietro's for pizza. Although some people do... so don't let my opinion on pizza sway you too much.

I can tell you the great restaurants of New York don't dump the unique, seldom purchased dishes for only those that make money. The unique dishes that are seldom ordered are what make a restaurant memorable. And better to get a simple dish really good than get a fancy dish only so-so.

So at present, I'm taking a wait and see attitude. I'll keep going to Pietro's... for sure. It has a nice environment, outside seating, a huge vegetable garden, and great staff. It feels like an Italian restaurant.

However, if it changes too much in a direction I don't like, I'll quickly dump it too... also because it's not cost effective in that I'm not getting the food I want... at any price.

But for now, I will tell you that it has been (and still is) a good restaurant. It is in the process of transition and we owe it to ourselves and to Pietro's to hang in there and see where it goes.

Bon Apetite!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic, wonderful, alive, always some ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic, wonderful, alive, always something new on menu - a pleasure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always wonderful. I just ha ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food is always wonderful.

I just had one problem, there was a dog allowed in the restaurant. Not a service dog.

It is against the law for dogs to be in restaurants. If one does it someone else will follow suit & that is not good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.