About Pierre Loti Union Square

53 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003
View Larger Map

Named after the turn-of-the-century French novelist, Pierre Loti Union Square offers an extensive menu of European wines. French varietals dominate the offerings, but the selection includes a healthy mix of other regions and grapes (Austria, Italy, and even Turkey make appearances). There are daily pocket-friendly specials, and each pour comes with a little extra in a fancy carafe. The wine-friendly food menu includes an impressive choice of cheeses and small plates ranging from Mediterranean dips, salads and a delectable choice of chocolates for dessert. Vibe-wise, the ultra-dim lighting ensures the place stays rife with snuggly couples as well as groups of friends looking for an enjoyable night out.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 4:00PM - 2:00AM

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 777-5684

Website:
http://www.pierrelotiwinebar.com/

Parking Details:
Nearby Subway Stops
4, 5, 6, L, N, Q, R, W at 14th St.-Union Sq

Executive Chef:
Ismheal Topal

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Pierre Loti Union Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
See All
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
76 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was bizarre at best, but the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The service was bizarre at best, but the food was excellent and a good value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Great place to enjoy wine & dinning with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great place to enjoy wine & dinning with friends ... just little crowd between tables if you don't mind

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food & Wine...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a reservation, and were seated quickly. Very good selection of wines, and tasting plates. HOWEVER, the tiny "chips" served with the fois gras are microscopic; it would be much better with the bread that is used for the Tartines.

This was a Friday night, and the place was vibrant and crowded, but not unruly. We are anxious to try on other weeknights for comparison, as this place hes real potential for a great little cozy wine spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute little spot! Simple. Classy. Great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Cute little spot! Simple. Classy. Great date spot. I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here only for drinks.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here only for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great wine selection but it was so hot i ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Great wine selection but it was so hot in the restaurant, we had to leave to have food elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Cute spot. Romantic. Nice Wine Bar.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I love Malbec and unfortunately they only had one option but it was good. Just went for a bottle of wine as i have a Gluten/Dairy allergy and they really didn't have any options for me to choose from. The Hostess was nice and she did call me ahead of time to tell me of the limited options for GF but i wanted to check the place out anyway and decided to go just for wine.

Its great for a nice conversation, romantic encounter, intimate space and nice lighting. I would suggest perhaps they add mixed nuts/dried fruits as an options for GF guest or crudite/hummus options. Just a thought.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Terrible.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

Bad food. Bad waitress. Bad room. Owners seem to be spending time somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Lost its charm

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

I have been to this location as well as the one in Chelsea, many times. It was a Friday night, but I didn't expect club music to be playing so loud in the main dining room. Luckily it was a nice night and we sat outside. We shared some of the small plates and 2 of our items had things missing from them...different than the menu. I was told that the chef had recently changed the menu, but it seemed odd that they would change the menu and only remove something so minor or replace a certain type of cheese with one less desirable. We didn't enjoy our meal at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Relaxed vibe, good wine

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

A nice selection of wine, some are pretty pricey but luckily there is a wide range of prices. For accompaniment, there were good menu options for cheese and charcuterie platters plus some extra snacks. Our server was knowledgeable and able to recommend good choices. Went on a Saturday at 4pm (their opening time) so had a pleasant quiet vibe. Will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great place for wine and light food.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2015

Very nice servers who were helpful. Excellent wine choices. Good options for light meals.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Lovely food and service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Good food and great ambiance. I've gone for dates and meet ups with friends. The wine list is extensive, the food has been consistently delicious, and the vibe is chill and relaxed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Spot!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2015

This was a very nice tapas bar in a beautiful area. We stopped in right when they opened and had the place to ourselves. Good wine selection, great food, attentive service and a very nice atmosphere. It was just what we were looking for.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Didn't even get to sit down.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

I made the reservation more than 24 hours in advance and received a confirmation e-mail. I got to the restaurant right at our reservation time with my colleague, and we were expecting clients to join us. Upon our arrival, I indicated my name and for what time and how many people we had the reservation. I was told by a young woman at the door that we were not on the list. I then asked them to check again, and they had the same exact response and said "I don't know what we can do, I'm sorry." I then showed them my confirmation e-mail, and they said there was still nothing they could do but that they would call the manager over. The manager reviewed the e-mail and asked us to wait 2 minutes while he checked as to what he could do. After that two minutes had passed, my colleague and I looked over to see him at the bar pouring drinks; clearly not attempting to rectify the situation. He then looked over and said "give me one more second", so we did. He returned to the bar once again, at which point I approached him and asked if anything was being done/what was going on. He said "well, I'm trying", which again, it was clear that he wasn't. There was no real effort put forward to try to make it right, and all that was done was blame was placed on Open Table because THEY didn't have the reservation in their system. They could have at least said, "I'm very sorry, you're more than welcome to wait a little bit while we wait for a party to leave" or "we can try to give you another reservation time some other time to make up for it" - literally nothing was attempted. We ended up leaving, both by choice and due to the fact that they would not do anything. I will not be back and it's a shameful excuse for service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Fun neighborhood place

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2015

If you're looking for some wine and cheese - this is it in the Union Square area. Place was hopping at 7PM on a Wednesday, to the point they were running out of menus. Also some menu items and wines...

We had the charcuterie and cheese platters, wine & beer. Wine was at proper temperature (good thing for a wine bar) and most platter items were very good. There isn't a lot of food there, so don't expect to "fill up."

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

great food, but very loud

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 12, 2015

the food was delicious as was the wine list, but for a thursday night at 730 pm i was not expecting the noise level that restaurant had. you can barely converse with your guests

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good for a date

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

I came with friends, but this place is erfect for a date. Quiet, romantic, dim lights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow - amazing! What a treat!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 16, 2014

Had a gift certificate for the restaurant so we went for our anniversary. Charming atmosphere and amazing food. I loved every second of it. We order TONS of food and plenty of wine...and cava....and chocolate!! Everything is great and also extremely reasonably priced. Highly recommended!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it and will return soon

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2014

My wife and I had our first date here. We came back to celebrate our 2 year anniversary & it was just as beautiful as the first time. The cheese & wine selection are outstanding. Thanks again & we will return soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Place--Not So Nice Waitress

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

We stopped in after the theater for a drink and a bite. The place was buzzing and it took a while for our waitress to appear. We got our drinks and later our glasses of wine and charcuterie, all of both of which were fine if not intelligibly identified by the waitress. She was constantly chatting away with a table of young men. She had to be reminded by the busboy to bring us our food. She never checked to see if all was ok. And I had to get one of the men she was still talking with to get her to bring us our check. The evening would have been much more satisfactory if the service had been professional.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Loved it

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 28, 2014

Nice little wine bar. Reasonable prices (for New York) and good wine list. Across the street from Casa Mono but a bit quieter and more low-key. We sat outside in their outdoor area, quite nice. We got chorizo and a selection of cheese to go with our Carmenere from Chili. Lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Suited our purpose

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2014

We were looking for a place in that neighborhood for a lite bite before a show. While the food menu is

limited, it is primarily all about the wine, there weren't a lot of choices but we enjoyed what we ate.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was better the first time we went

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2014

Disappointed in the service, the waitress behaved like we were a burden. Small place, was not crowded and we were a table of 5 and we almost had to send up flares to get her attention and then when she got there all FROWNS

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Wine, service and ambience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2014

PRO: Looking for a great place to have a glass of wine and a small bite? A place where you can choose between an outdoor sitting with a Paris-style people-watching, and cozy indoor space with huge selection of wine under the ceiling?

Look no further! This wine bar is the place you will keep coming back with your friends, business partners or your loved ones!

Don't forget to order cheese with rose petal jam!

CON: plan on having your espresso elsewhere. Like many other wine bars, this place doesn't serve coffee or tea.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2014

Food was good, service was nice but lacking. They took a while to get our order and when they did they forgot part of it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Elegant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2014

Been here a bunch of times for dates and such. Very nice atmosphere! Reasonable prices too, more or less.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Elegant Evening Reunion

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 17, 2014

I met with old friends at Pierre Loti for my 25th birthday and we all had a fantastic time. Great wine list, delicious appetizers, and comfortable seating. Amazing service - the waitstaff was great at providing quality service efficiently, politely, and unobtrusively. I'd highly recommend going to Pierre Loti if you want an elegant night out. We booked the table in advance so we didn't have to worry about waiting around for seating.

My only complaint would be that the lighting was too dim - it was comfortable for socializing, and it was pleasant atmosphere, but even when holding the table candles directly above our menus, it was hard to read anything off the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Not a full-feldged restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2014

This is a wine bar with appetizers and salads, all very good. But don't come here expecting a full dinner. There isn't even any coffee. We three were there early (5:15) and were the only customers, except for a couple sitting outside. When we left at about 6:30 there were still no other customers. How do they stay in business in this Union Square neighborhood, which is crowded with bars and restaurants? But it was fine for our needs on this particular day. (We were going to a concert that started at 7.) We would have been happier if espresso were available--and if they raised the level of the lighting; very dim.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Decent wine bar good service nice wine. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

Decent wine bar good service nice wine. Seating a bit uncomfortable and slightly run down but it's Romantic etc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Delicious!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2014

Definitely a great place for drinks and appetizers. The food was delicious and so were the drinks. I went with 3 friends and it was the perfect fit for what we were looking for. The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the drinks were fairly expensive and it was a tad loud. The food was very fairly priced though so it made up for the cost of the drinks :)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

No Happy Hour

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2014

I really enjoyed this restaurant. However, I was disappointed to find out that this Pierre Loti location does not have a Happy Hour - which is the whole reason my friend and I were going there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Dark, dingy and indifferent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 24, 2014

Tried to plop me down in a tight fitted area next to a grand canyon sized patron - my date would have been put off. Tables all around that were empty - but sorry, sir, they are reserved so you have only one choice.

Went down to "The House" and had a great time - spent $200 or so. It was nice.

Will likely never go to Pierre Loti again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great spot for a date

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 3, 2014

The lights are dimmed just right and the music is at the right volume and energy level where you can hear each other and enjoy the conversation over drinks. We didn't eat much.. just drank and talked, and before I knew it almost 4 hours had gone by. I'll definitely be returning here for casual dates. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Just okay

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on December 20, 2013

This was my second time at this wine bar. The first time I went I was scoffed at because I didn't make a reservation so I made sure to make one for our upcoming visit. The wine selection is great. The service was poor - two waiters for the entire place - they couldn't keep up! And also the meat and cheese platter was embarrassing. The meats were awful and such small cheese portions. For $25 we should have gotten much more than that. I'd go back, but during the week when they might not be as busy. And I'd only do wine. The food isn't worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Never fails to impress

 
 (London)
·Dined on December 19, 2013

This is a favourite local spot. The staff are friendly, knowledgable, and attentive. Very reasonably priced, with a fantastic atmosphere. Can't recommend enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wine & Dine

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 7, 2013

Establishment, Hospitality, Wine List, Cheese Platter = Amazing

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

first date

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 6, 2013

i went here recently on a first date. excellent atmosphere, great wine (malbec), and attentive service.

next time i'd like to try some cheese!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

First Date Location

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 27, 2013

Selected this location as a first meeting destination for a beautiful woman I met online. Neither of us had been there before and arrived at 8pm. The staff was friendly, the ambience was very romantic and the interior (where we were seated) was quite nice. We must have been there for almost 2 hours drinking some delicious wine and enjoying selections from their tapas menu. The night was a great success and we had our first kiss right outside! I am certain we will be back there again. Perhaps I will book a date for exactly one year ;)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2013

I met a girl for a date and we shared a bottle of wine and conversed uninterrupted for about 2 hours. It was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Keep your receipts! they overcharge

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2013

They overcharged my credit card. I threw the receipt away, so it was a difficult situation to fix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.