About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

charcuterie - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Chopped Salad - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Sorbet - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Clam Chowder - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
The Pier W Blue - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Great lakes walleye - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Cod - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Mini Desserts - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Banana Fritters W/ House Made Vanilla Ice Cream And Sugar Crystals  - Pier W, Cleveland, OH

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (180)
Scenic View (169)
Waterfront (165)
See All
Romantic (165)
Good for Anniversaries (158)
Good for a Date (154)
Worth the Drive (117)
Good for Birthdays (108)
Notable Wine List (70)
Creative Cuisine (68)
Quiet Conversation (65)
Great for Brunch (59)
Cozy (52)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Business Meals (50)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for Groups (41)
Sunday Lunch (41)
Bar Seating (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Modern Decor (35)
Great for Lunch (33)
Live Music (32)
Happy Hour (29)
Authentic (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Historic (25)
Healthy (24)
Fun (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
Local Ingredients (18)
Seasonal (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (13)
People Watching (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Disabled Access (13)
Private Room (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Family Style (10)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistency through the years is a hallm ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Consistency through the years is a hallmark of The Pier. We've never been disappointed in anything; food or service. Dinner for two with a salad, entree, dessert and a nice bottle of wine is upwards of $150 but worth every penny.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I could not be happier with our experien ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

I could not be happier with our experience at Pier W; the servers were knowledgeable and friendly, the food was out-of-this-world good, and the view was incredible. We will most certainly be returning!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was incredible and the dining r ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The view was incredible and the dining room was very pretty. My appetizer was very tasty but unfortunately our entree's were extremely disappointing. My girlfriends chicken dish was bland and unappetizing. My fried walleye dish's plating was unappealing and the food itself wasn't very good. The tempura batter was falling off my food and was very dense and did not have a lot of flavor. For the price I paid, I was extremely unsatified.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Food in bar and restaurant was good but ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Food in bar and restaurant was good but service didn't appear to be as good as everyone indicated in their reviews. Looked like 2 waitresses to cover a full bar? Also, it probably took a good 45 minutes to be served entrees from time of order in restaurant. I ended up giving my water to a person at the table, since the server must not have had the time to top them off until the end of service. Although the mishaps were definitely unintentional and not fatal to the overall review, I just expected the the same type of stellar customer service everyone raved about in their reviews. Maybe it was just an off night, like the Cav's had with Golden State on 1/16....

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The Oyster Rockefeller was extraordinary ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The Oyster Rockefeller was extraordinary. The best seasoned Lobster Tails in the region. The Clam Chowder was chuck full of clams and the "best in class." The Diver Scallops were to "dive for." Wonderful culinary experience. Five Stars. Hats off to Sam our waiter.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday brunch is the best I've ever ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The Sunday brunch is the best I've ever been to. The food is great, the scenic view of Lake Erie is beautiful, and a very talented live piano player provides wonderful music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing dinner in awesome atmo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an amazing dinner in awesome atmosphere. Everything fit the evening great for the two of us. Elegant environment and looking forward to the summer to enjoy outside.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent service, Stacy was great! The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

excellent service, Stacy was great! The view is the best in town along with the music it made for a special night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Romantic, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic views of the Cleveland skyline ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic views of the Cleveland skyline. Great food, and service. Thank you for the memorable dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed in the attitud ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We were very disappointed in the attitude of the hostesses. They did not say hello or good evening - Just looked up and said 'yes?'. They didn't offer to take our coats. Didn't say anything when we got to the table, just put the menu down and walked away. When we left they continued their conversation between them and did not acknowledge that we were leaving. A truly awful first and last impression

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Overpriced and overrated. Food was just ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Overpriced and overrated. Food was just ok. Service was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had business guests from Italy. Very ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had business guests from Italy. Very pleased with the service, food and overall experience. We were on a tight schedule and the staff accommodated us along with some dietary restrictions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W is my favorite when I bring gues ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Pier W is my favorite when I bring guests from out of town they have to see pier W! Service is always exceptional, food is always delicious, you can always count on them knowing that you're doing business and not to interrupt.

I love that the staff has exceptional training.

I've been blessed to travel the United States and go to many fine dining restaurants and I am proud to say that my favorite restaurant is Pier W.

Tags: Business Meals, , Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place, I come often once a m ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I love this place, I come often once a month for lunch with a group of designers. We love it, they remember who we are, staff is wonderful, and we always have a window seat, which is first come first serve.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The food was ex ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent. Every dish was prepared perfectly. The view is spectacular. I had never been because I was under the impression it was out of my budget but prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food and the ambiance. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience we will return

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great experience we will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time at Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Sunday Brunch. There's something for everyone. I enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food and the amazing views ove ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loved the food and the amazing views over Lake Eerie. Our waiter was really friendly and responsive, so it was great value for the price. The only minus is that we were seated at a table facing back to the lake, although there were better tables available. That was disappointing because the view is a big part of the whole Pier W experience.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It' was my first time dining at Pier W a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It' was my first time dining at Pier W and my girlfriend's fifth or sixth time and we both enjoyed it very much so! It was her birthday celebration and I wanted to have a special moment with her in a timeless location

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was quite pleased with Pier W as being ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I was quite pleased with Pier W as being a fairly fancy date night choice. Both my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our drinks, calamari appetizer, and seafood entrees. The drink prices were a tad high for what you got but not quite as high as what you might pay in Chicago.

Food was served piping hot, but once it cooled down enough to eat it was delicious. The calamari and scallops were cooked perfectly and pretty much everything had a rich flavor with the exception of maybe the bread, which was still good though. The live piano playing was a nice touch of atmosphere and overall made for an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal, wonderful Lobster Bisq ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding meal, wonderful Lobster Bisque, excellent service.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Piano player was very good. Had the blu ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Piano player was very good. Had the blue cod which was delicious. Side crab cake very small and didn't think it was worth the price. Everyone at our table enjoyed our entrees. Nice place and great ambiance for special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The restaurant and staff were wonderful ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The restaurant and staff were wonderful and very accommodating us when requesting a table change. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, we were disappointed from ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Unfortunately, we were disappointed from the start. We arrived 20 minutes early and was welcomed by the hostess. We were asked to seat ourselves in the bar while we waited for our table. We sat at a pub table and waited at least 6-7 minutes before I sent my husband up to the bar to order us drinks. Instead of coming back with our cocktails he comes back with a cocktail menu and was told that the bartender does not service the tables. So after another 5 minutes the waitress came and took our drink order. In the meantime, the hostess comes by and advised us that our table was ready and was told by her that we had to cash out our bar tab. Well, by the time the waitress comes back the hostess is already sitting people in the restaurant and we were told we had a great chance of getting a window seat because we were the 2nd 5:00 reservation when we first checked in. Finally, after another 5-7 minutes we got our drinks and paid our bar check. We were seated and were very happy we got a window seat but off on the sides?? I had my husband face the front window because it was his birthday. I wanted him to have the view of the water and Cleveland. Our Waiter did not have that GREAT table side manner we would expect to receive at such prestigious restaurant. We ordered the Oysters Rockefeller to start. Impressive portion size but they were bits of shell and or grittiness while eating them. I was not happy and did not finish them. In looking at the dinner menu we noticed that pretty much of everything you order other than like the Surf -n-Turf or a pasta dish came with roasted rosemary potatoes, butternut squash and brussel sprouts. I heard the same from 2 other tables commenting on the same. When our dinner came out the vegetables were all mixed together. I thought they would be separated since they were different flavors. I had the cedar planked salmon and my husband had the Swordfish from the simply made menu. Fish was good but portion size not worth $$$

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We love Pier W. It is a special occasio ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We love Pier W. It is a special occasion restaurant for us, and we manage to find at least one or two occasions to celebrate each year. The service is friendly and attentive. The food, especially seafood, is excellent. The lake-side setting is unique, and wonderful. Unfortunately for us, Thursday evening was snowy and foggy, so not much to see. Late in our meal the city lights started to peek through and we both started singing "Brigadoon". Not too loudly though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating my husbands birthday ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were celebrating my husbands birthday. He ordered trout and I had the walleye . Both were extremely tasty. The lobster bisque and clam chowder are the best around. We even got a window seat which was the first time ever We love the relaxing atmosphere and will definitely visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance are always wond ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The service and ambiance are always wonderful at Piew W. The food today did not stand out. Scallops and potatoes were bland. Fried fish was soggy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and location. However the heat ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Good food and location. However the heat was unbearable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

No comment

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

No comment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We brought our 3 and 5 year old with us ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We brought our 3 and 5 year old with us for our anniversary lunch and they were very accommodating to children, I was impressed! Great food as always and a killer view - even though it was overcast.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go here often. This visit we did not ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We go here often. This visit we did not receive the same level of service we have come to expect from Pier W. I don't know if they were short staffed since it was New Year's Day or what? They didn't offer valet or coat check. We bought a bottle of wine and no one came around and poured it for us when our glasses were empty as they usually do. The restroom had no toilet paper. I ordered the short ribs. Shame on me for ordering meat at a place known for seafood. It was ok, but definitely was great. It tasted like the pot roast I make in my crock-pot. Not what I expect from a fine dining establishment like Pier W. The Lobster Bisque was amazing like usual. We'll still go back. We'll just chalk it up to an off day.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

As always, we enjoy the scenic view, goo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 2, 2017

As always, we enjoy the scenic view, good wine and food at Per W.

It is one of our destination for Special Occasiions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place, great food. We will be back ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place, great food. We will be back soon. A bit noisy since it was new year's

Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, fabulous service, beautif ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous food, fabulous service, beautiful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the best brunch in Cleveland. The ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always the best brunch in Cleveland. The staff is always friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well initially my food was cold which I ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Well initially my food was cold which I started to eat the brunch menu items approximately 10:00 am...After that my food was ok, I had a better experience during my first visit..

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Never disappointed. The service it great ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never disappointed. The service it great, the food is delicious and the atmosphere is has the perfect ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful dinner on New Years ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a delightful dinner on New Years Eve. Our server was attentive, courteous and promptly answered our questions. Our Surf & Turf entrees were delicious and nicely presented. The home made egg nog ice cream for dessert was heavenly! We always look forward to our dinners at Pier W to bring in the new year and many other times during the year. Thank you and we look forward to our next dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spent New Yeas Eve and Pier W and as usu ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Spent New Yeas Eve and Pier W and as usual we were not disappointed. The ambiance, food and service were outstanding. Its a must for that special occasion fine dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion! The view o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great for a special occasion! The view of the city at night was wonderful and getting a table by the window is a must!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.