About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

charcuterie - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Chopped Salad - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Sorbet - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Clam Chowder - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
The Pier W Blue - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Great lakes walleye - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Cod - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Mini Desserts - Pier W, Cleveland, OH
Banana Fritters W/ House Made Vanilla Ice Cream And Sugar Crystals  - Pier W, Cleveland, OH

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
11 More
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Contemporary American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Contemporary American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Lakewood ›

Special Occasion (228)
Scenic View (218)
Romantic (189)
See All
Waterfront (179)
Good for Anniversaries (166)
Good for a Date (151)
Good for Birthdays (113)
Worth the Drive (110)
Notable Wine List (74)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Great for Brunch (67)
Creative Cuisine (67)
Quiet Conversation (64)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Business Meals (52)
Cozy (49)
Good for Groups (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Modern Decor (42)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Fun (37)
Healthy (36)
Happy Hour (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Authentic (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Live Music (27)
Historic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Outstanding Value (22)
Local Ingredients (20)
People Watching (16)
Casual (16)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Disabled Access (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Private Room (12)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Family Style (8)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Organic (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Fireplace (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vegan (3)
Dancing (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
3562 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Everything was excellent. This was the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent. This was the first of what will be many more visits to this restaurant. I will be recommending it to all of my friends and business associates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our foursome was from class of John Mars ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Our foursome was from class of John Marshall 1957. We had EXCEPTIONAL service. Couldn't complain about much but on e lady order a burger medium weel and it came back pick. Too long to wait for another order. Otherwise it was terrific.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went their for Sunday Brunch. Our res ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

We went their for Sunday Brunch. Our reservation was at 2pm. It would be advisable to get there earlier. Some of the food stations were not optimal. But the view and service was excellent. We had a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We will continue to go back to Pier W br ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

We will continue to go back to Pier W brunch for my parents birthdays each year-the food and ambiance is exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good noon Sunday brunch with friends and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Good noon Sunday brunch with friends and to share a Holiday toast. Somewhat disappointed with the brunch which has been fantastic in the past. Our view was fabulous!

Tags: Waterfront, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I have gone to this restaurant since I w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

I have gone to this restaurant since I was a child (nearly 50 years now - wonder when it first opened?). My Mother always loves it for special occasions. My wife and I went this weekend just for brunch. Its absolutely an outstanding seafood based brunch and you can't beat the view. Bring a couple friends, have a glass of wine and enjoy. It's not as "hot" as many restaurants we go to -- but it always delivers and its a true Cleveland spot.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We went to Pier W for brunch to celebrat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Pier W for brunch to celebrate our anniversary. Our server made our experience memorable and so very special! I would highly recommend Pier W based on seamless service, a great view, and a wonderful ambiance ... oh and the food was phenomenal! A buffet is difficult to keep fresh and full and Pier W's staff did it effortlessly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal meal, great service, very qui ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Phenomenal meal, great service, very quiet (for a full house).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, service, and view.

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food, service, and view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

After hearing so many wonderful things a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

After hearing so many wonderful things about Pier W, my boyfriend and I made reservations in advance prior to coming to Cleveland. We absolutely loved it. The freshest, best seafood I've had in a long time. The crab cake appetizer was the best and the tuna steak was awesome. The setting was romantic and neat. Lights low, pianos playing, all adult atmosphere. We loved it!

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolutely exceptional dinner. We ca ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

An absolutely exceptional dinner. We cannot wait to make the drive again. Absolutely worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still remains one of Cleveland's best re ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Still remains one of Cleveland's best restaurants and most beautiful places after all these years!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always choose Pier W for a special tr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We always choose Pier W for a special treat. We are never disappointed. The servers always make it extra special and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and superb service. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always great food and superb service. The view is beautiful and it sets a nice romantic scene. The happy hour has a worthy menu and drink specials.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, great service. Always a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Beautiful view, great service. Always a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was superb! Thank y ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food and service was superb! Thank you Shannon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They use to have a real great brunch now ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

They use to have a real great brunch now, not so much. There are vegetarians that eat there and the tend to mix fish with pork and etc.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

there is a reason why Pier W gets voted ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

there is a reason why Pier W gets voted best Sunday brunch. Food is outstanding there is plenty variety for all to chooses from. There is never an item that is not refilled and is hot. Service is outstanding and the overall dining experience is worth every dollar.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for Sunday brunch. Expensive ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great place for Sunday brunch. Expensive for brunch, but if you like seafood, it's a solid deal. Piano player was great. Very relaxing. We arrived about 10:45 AM and it was fairly slow. Started to pick up around 12:00. If goingn for brunch, I'd recommend earlier than later to avoid the after church rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What can I say other than Awesome, the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

What can I say other than Awesome, the food was awesome, the view was awesome and the service was awesome. My wife loved the place and we will be returning

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good except that they ran out of on ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very good except that they ran out of one dish and she waited to put the order in so we had to deselect after some period of time passed. Bought us dessert to apologize.

Enjoyed the evening. The waitress was very attentive and gave good suggestions.

Arlene Schreiber

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Pier W is a very attractive restaurant w ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Pier W is a very attractive restaurant with an unmatched view of the lake and city. The food is dependably of high quality and the prices are reasonable. The piano music is lovely but bothers some with hearing deficits. It is our favorite place for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful view / seating. Food was amazi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Wonderful view / seating. Food was amazing and service outstanding. Went for my birthday and it was a great experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner....superb...great menu, ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious dinner....superb...great menu, wine list, live music...just a special place

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So many food choices, espesially seafoo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

So many food choices, espesially seafood and wine list, with an outstanding view of the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect view of the city!!! I had the an ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Perfect view of the city!!! I had the angus burger for lunch and I have to say it was the best burger I've ever had. Pier W is great for a special date or a nice dinner with the family! My new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is my "go to" restaurant for lunch ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This is my "go to" restaurant for lunch with guests.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is one corner table that for some ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

There is one corner table that for some reason we got placedone in. Reservations were made so we didn't just pop in. I ordered the 10oz filet and ordered it med. I had to send it back because it came out rare. The waitress made it seem like I was a pain then after it was ready to be served she stoodjfs talking to a manager 5 feet from our table. Not about my steak but about where to seat someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

As in the past, Pier W does not disappoi ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 23, 2016

As in the past, Pier W does not disappoint. Celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversary there and found the dinner to be well worth the drive to Lakewood.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although the regular menu is delicious, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Although the regular menu is delicious, my boyfriend and I both ordered the special - a one pound lobster tail with carbonara. This is the second time we have been there in two months and ordered the special - we have not been disappointed either time. This is definitely a must for special occasions or when you want to see the beautiful Cleveland skyline. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grouper scallopini was amazing! Service ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Grouper scallopini was amazing! Service was on point. Pier W is our go-to spot for an all-around fantastic night.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This visit was just as good as the last ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This visit was just as good as the last time we were here a few months back. It is a far drive for us otherwise we would e here more ofen. We came here a few months ago for the view expecting mediocre food and service that was expected 20 years ago. We were pleasantly surprised that this is our new favorite place! Everything was spot on from all the service to the food quality and presentation. My steak snob husband was impressed with the quality and preparation of his steak which speaks volumes! The salmon special was the best I have enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Pier W. Been going for years and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I love Pier W. Been going for years and it never disappoints. Our waiter was exceedingly polite - almost to good to be true. The food is always delicious. It is pricy, but we go for date night or special occasions so you don't mind the price tag. Definitely my favorite west side restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was great along with the servic ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The meal was great along with the service... The place was freezing ️However because the heat was being fixed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Sunday brunch buffet is $40pp, and w ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The Sunday brunch buffet is $40pp, and worth it if you're getting oysters, prime rib, shrimp, etc. Otherwise, most of the breakfast-type foods were good (try the creme brulee French toast) but not $40pp good. Our server was great. The young girl they had "greeting" people at the hostess stand - your first impression upon entering the restaurant -- should find another career. Smiling and courteous behavior were not her strong points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious! Great selection ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was delicious! Great selection and variety. My mother is still talking about rhe bread pudding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was a lovely brunch and as always ser ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a lovely brunch and as always service and food was top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our reservations were for 8pm on a Sat. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our reservations were for 8pm on a Sat. night in November. Service was good however meal was very slow coming. Entree's (swordfish and shrimp/scallop linguini) could have been better. The swordfish was soft rather steak-like and the linguini cream sauce was much too salty; I couldn't eat most of it. The temperature of the room was chilly; I could feel the 20 degree wind chill coming through the window. Piano player ended at 10; dining room was still full. Should have played until midnight to entertain dining room and bar. Probably will not return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Wow! We loved this restaurant. The sce ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Wow! We loved this restaurant. The scenic view of Lake Erie, then of the Cleveland skyline at night. Relaxing, enjoyable. Unusual and broad wine selection. Just all around fantastic, romantic, memorable.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.