About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
13 More
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Contemporary American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Contemporary American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Lakewood ›

scenic view (355)
special occasion (336)
romantic (295)
See All
fit for foodies (165)
notable wine list (124)
great for brunch (117)
neighborhood gem (100)
great for lunch (68)
good for groups (64)
vibrant bar scene (57)
hot spot (51)
late-night find (32)
great for outdoor dining (27)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
3115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious food. As always, bread was su ...

Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food. As always, bread was superb. Lobster tails were excellent. My guest loved the tenderloin medallions. The sorbet dessert was exceptional! Great service as always and of course gorgeous view...

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best experience since our cruise last wi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Best experience since our cruise last winter. Will definitely do again

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love, love, love this restaurant. We to ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love, love, love this restaurant. We told them in the reservation that it was an anniversary dinner and they printed special "Happy Anniversary" menus, gave us a free dessert, and everyone told us happy anniversary. It was just splendid.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food, great view.... Older crowd. N ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good food, great view.... Older crowd. Not sure we would go back but we enjoyed the evening at Pier W.

food3
ambience2
service1

We will never go back. Disrespectful to ...

Dined 5 days ago

We will never go back. Disrespectful to women.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, signature cocktails, and ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, signature cocktails, and view of the Cleveland Downtown. Piano player was also exceptional. A terrific experience overall.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great tuna simply prepared. Loved the ne ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great tuna simply prepared. Loved the new version of the wedge salad

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious. My gu ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. My guests, and I, said of each dish we had (two different preparations of swordfish, one scallops order, and even the salad), were all the best we ever had.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The table was in a poor location. It was ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

The table was in a poor location. It was a two chair table that was situated so one of us sat with a pillar pushing you off to the left of an already small table. Also only one of us ended up with a view the other note at all. Service/Food/Taste was good, servings a pit on the small side.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Experience

Dined on May 19, 2016

We LOVED everything about our dinner at Pier W. The bouillabaisse and surf and turf were fantastic, as was the pumpkin biscuit desert. The service was wonderful and you can't beat the view. We will definitely return the next time we are in Cleveland.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent, attentive, friendly service. ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent, attentive, friendly service. Tuna and stuffed shrimp dishes well prepared, tasty, and plentiful. Made us feel special for our special evening out.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on May 18, 2016

Amazing trout and the calamari was the freshest we have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with friends

Dined on May 18, 2016

We cousins get together at least once a month when possible for lunch. I have been suggesting Pier W for quite awhile but we usually go a little more casual. This was a VERY nice lunch, setting and the server was just excellent. As usual very enjoyable all the way around

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating our anniversary. It ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary. It was our second time at Pier W, the previous visit had been many years before. Our kids had got us a gift certificate. Prices are a little higher than we normally spend when we go out. We thought the menu was more limited than it was before but still some good options. Service was superb as expected, food was hot and delicious and the view, especially at sunset, is lovely. Highly recommend the calamari appetizer, one of the best we've had. This is not your every day, run of the mill restaurant. Good for seafood and special occasions.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely restaurant with views of the la ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

A lovely restaurant with views of the lake from almost all sites. The food was very good, almost all being seafood, but steaks are also there. The wine list is good, with the sommelier being from Macedonia & having selected multiple wines from that area. The (?Bonvie) chardonnay from Macedonia tasted like a California Chard with a little more mineralogy & was only about $25.00. The service was super. If you are in the area, try this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was excellent, the food was g ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was excellent, the food was good, the ambience nice and the view of downtown Cleveland was perfect. Great wedding anniversary celebration and marathon celebration, I would highly recommend!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch in Cleveland!!!! Variety and ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Best brunch in Cleveland!!!! Variety and quality are terrific, and what a view!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I booked reservations easily on open tab ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I booked reservations easily on open table. It was my first time to Pier W and it was great. We were welcomed by all the staff and even the GM came over to introduce himself. Very nice!! I will be going back again very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and nice view we went for a d ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Good food and nice view we went for a date dinner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location on the water! They di ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful location on the water! They did a great job with desserts for a birthday and a special event "congratulations" for my husband and my son.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

On our reservation I had put that my hus ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

On our reservation I had put that my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and had hoped for a table with a good view. Instead we were pleasantly surprised with a great view and a handful of people who wished us a Happy Anniversary and with a menu that had special touches as well. This was def. a special occasion for my husband and I and Pier W. lived up to it! Thank you for going the extra mile with those special touches!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for an anniversary

Dined on May 13, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and got a table by the window. The staff was pleasant and made good recommendations on wine and dessert. The piano player was a nice touch and he didn't take a break the whole time we were there. The food was really good and fairly priced. It was a great night out for our anniversary.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss this!

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were so comfortable. Every one and everything was superb! It's an "A" classy dinning experience. Watch the dress code. Men wear neatly pressed dress shirt and dress pants. Women wear dressy dress. I only wish Pier One would enforce their dress code. They do have signs up stating that it is strictly enforced. I didn't like some men wearing polo shirts. Jacket is optional but several of us wore one. Be respectful to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My first time to dine here. The food was ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

My first time to dine here. The food was very fresh and good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp cocktail short ribs

Dined on May 10, 2016

Shrimp cocktail short ribs

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view, great food. Had a wonderful ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great view, great food. Had a wonderful time with friends. Booked a later lunch, that allowed for great seating and a quiet space. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a pretty view! The short rib perogi ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Such a pretty view! The short rib perogies were so good along side the stuffed shrimp!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day surprise

Dined on May 8, 2016

We- the kids and I - surprised my wife for Mother's Day with a trip to Pier W. My wife and I have been there several times so I knew she loved it but my kids had never been. It was a fantastic experience with excellent food, service and ambiance. She loved it and so did the kids. I would highly recommend Pier W for a memorable night of fine dining.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The views of Lake Erie are amazing. The ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The views of Lake Erie are amazing. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view, great food, good service ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful view, great food, good service! Overall, a very enjoyable dinner. Loved the oysters!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Best!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Pier W is my favorite restaurant! For a special occasion or just lunch with friends, it never disappoints. So sad that it's the only restaurant in town with a great view of the lake.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious, just a little sk ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was delicious, just a little skimpy on the portion for our app of ceviche. The only thing I was really disappointed in was the size and location of our table. We sat at table 43 and it was against a wall dividing the upper level from the lower level and in a high traffic area. We got there early and the website said window seats were available on a first come basis - The dining room was was not even half full! I don't think they should even offer such small, cramped tables at place like this when we are paying the same price as everyone else and I wish I had the nerve to request a different table, but I suppose it was my own fault for not speaking up.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ANNIVERSARY DINNER

Dined on May 7, 2016

MY HUSBAND AND I HAD SO MUCH FUN CELEBRATING OUR 16TH ANNIVERSARY HERE!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic views, food, and service

Dined on May 6, 2016

Everything at pier w was top notch. Service was fast and friendly, food was fantastic, wine list was put together very well. I wish I could have made reservations for one of the seats closer to the lake but apparently that is not allowed. While I could not sit next to the lake, the quality of the experience was nevertheless outstanding and I will definitely come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day treat

Dined on May 6, 2016

Took my mom out to celebrate Mother's Day. I read online there was a great view. I didn't expect what it actually was. The view was amazing. It was like dining actually "on" the water. Amazing. I couldn't take my eyes off of the water and the city skyline all dinner long. The food was GREAT. Seriously delicious. The suggested specials were amazing as well. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on May 5, 2016

I took my daughter and her boyfriend to Pier W for her birthday. Neither had been there previously and they both enjoyed it immensely. A great dinner and experience was had by all.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The nice view of the city

Dined on May 5, 2016

The nice view of the city

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Dinner

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We had an excellent dinner May 4th with a great view of Lake Erie and downtown Cleveland for our annual "Welcome to Ohio Dinner" for my mother's first night of her week's visit. We always enjoy our dinners at Pier W and we will be back soon. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W = fantastic

Dined on May 4, 2016

The view is awesome, we watched the skyline of Cleveland light up as we ate our dinner. The food was incredible, everything we had was perfect. My Moscow mule was probably one of the best I've ever had. The staff was courteous and attentive without being over bearing. We have been raving to everyone about the place since we went and we definitely plan on going again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The beef short rib is to die for. Great ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

The beef short rib is to die for. Great service. One of my favorite places to go!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.