About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

charcuterie
Chopped Salad
Sorbet
Clam Chowder
The Pier W Blue
Great lakes walleye
Cod
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Mini Desserts
Banana Fritters W/ House Made Vanilla Ice Cream And Sugar Crystals

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
13 More
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Contemporary American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Contemporary American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Lakewood ›

Scenic View (385)
Special Occasion (357)
Romantic (309)
See All
Fit for Foodies (156)
Notable Wine List (116)
Great for Brunch (103)
Neighborhood Gem (88)
Good for Groups (74)
Waterfront (72)
Great for Lunch (69)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for a Date (60)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
Hot Spot (52)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Worth the Drive (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Modern Decor (21)
Late-night Find (19)
Business Meals (19)
Healthy (19)
Cozy (18)
Fun (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (9)
Casual (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Disabled Access (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Live Music (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Private Room (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Dancing (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I went for Sunday Brunch. The view was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 3 days ago

I went for Sunday Brunch. The view was outstanding and the food was exceptional. However, even though it was a brunch, I felt that they could have maintained the food at a hotter temperature. Also, I'm not certain it was worth the $40 I spent. It may have been had they offered unlimited champagne instead of just one glass.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Surf and Turf was amazing along with the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Surf and Turf was amazing along with the crab cakes...lobster bisque was also good...stay away from crab stuffed shrimp not that tasty. Awesome view of the lake and had a good time here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful seafood restaurant right on th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful seafood restaurant right on the water. View is excellent from anywhere. We have been coming to Pier W for many years and have never been disappointed. I highly recommended it to you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Pier W for our 10 year annive ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Pier W for our 10 year anniversary and it did not disappoint. We made reservations and were promptly seated upon arrival. The view of Lake Erie and downtown Cleveland was spectacular. I ordered the diver scallops and my husband ordered the cedar plank salmon. Both were perfectly cooked and delicious. The restaurant even surprised us with a slice of cake for dessert! Our server was outstanding - attentive but not pushy. One of the things I liked most was how relaxed the pace of the dinner was. At no point did I feel rushed to leave so the next party could be seated. Overall, this was a memorable dining experience. I would absolutely go back!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite place, especially for seafood ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

A favorite place, especially for seafood. Always seems to be crowded. Great view if the sky is clear and you can get a table near a window. Wonderful seafood selection, many choices prepared in a variety of ways, and probably the best brunch in the Cleveland area. Bar seems to be crowded especially early evening. Only problem can be noise level as the decor is modern, the sound is amplified when it is very crowded and if you are dining with anyone who has a hear9ng problem, conversation may be difficult........but this is the case with many if not most popular places with modern decor.

I was especially impressed with their graciousness as I had made the reservation for 5, two of whom were coming in from out of town, and early that day it became apparent that they may not make it in time for the dinner. When I called to let the restaurant know, they suggested we keep the table for 5 in case the couple did show up after all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was delighted to sit at a table facing ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

I was delighted to sit at a table facing the water. We enjoyed our entrees' as always when dining at Pier W. Prices are a bit high, but a great place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. The foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. The food, the service, the ambiance and view and the value. Can't wait to come back for dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my cousin and his wife who live ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

We took my cousin and his wife who live in Alabama and had a wonderful time. Got a table by the window to enjoy the magnificent view. All four dinners were excellent and our waiter Sam was THE BEST. Will ask for him next time we go there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant continues to exceed expe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant continues to exceed expectations . I will continue to keep dining there on a regular basis .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent except we were ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was excellent except we were disappointed in the desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Aoverall excellence as always! Just can ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Aoverall excellence as always! Just can't go wrong here!

Tags: Healthy, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From time to time I like going there nic ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

From time to time I like going there nice view from where one is sited

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a great place for most occasions ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is a great place for most occasions. With a great view of the Cleveland skyline and a fine view of the sunsets, the view is quite breathtaking. The bar is modern and they have a good selection of wines and liquors. The food is spectacular and they don't have many "normal" foods such as a burger/fries or something else you can find at any other restaurant. The only thing about it is the price, which can be quite hefty, as a normal meal without drinks will be around 30 starting, but that is to be expected with good food at a very posh place.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our reservation was at 6pm on a Sunday e ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our reservation was at 6pm on a Sunday evening. We arrived a little early so we took advantage of the patio and admired the beautiful views of the lake and Cleveland skyline . Shortly thereafter we entered the restaurant to find it was bustling and lively. The hostess must have noticed our gift bags and asked if it was a special occasion. When we told her it was our daughters 18th birthday, we were pleasantly surprised when she led us through the busy restaurant to what we considered to be one of the best tables along the large row of picture windows. Our view of the lake and Cleveland skyline was outstanding! The food and service were also very good. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Pier W and would highly recommend it to friends and family!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Beautiful setting, bes ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great experience. Beautiful setting, best views of lake and downtown Cleveland, great food and very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Highly recommend for lunch/brunch where the view is fantastic and the food is always great. Five starts

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is an excellent restaurant and I wo ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

this is an excellent restaurant and I would recommend it to anyone. The food is outstanding and the view out over the lake and of the downtown Cleveland skyline at night is exceptional. The only small complaint is we were celebrating a birthday and they provided a desert for the birthday guest and it was so small it could not be passed around the table to share.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best place I ever. My girlfriend lov ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The best place I ever. My girlfriend love the food. The server we had was amazing verey respectful. Im in love with the place now!!! On a scale 1-100 i give it a 200.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great view of downtown cleveland and the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

great view of downtown cleveland and the lake. very good menu options for all t ypes of eaters. PB dessert was delicious. wonderful place to go for anniversaries, birthdays or other special occasions. really good (fresh clams) clam chowder. beef pierogies good and different. gnocchi with eggplant was a little salty and the linguini with shrimp was a bit peppery. other than that it was delicous

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice view of Lake Erie. Food was excelle ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Nice view of Lake Erie. Food was excellent and served at a comfortable rate. Our server, Amos, was very professional, and had "peripheral" hearing -- was there when we wanted him but didn't hover. A top restaurant in Cleveland. Been there several times and it never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was wonderful. The seafoo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our experience was wonderful. The seafood was fresh and prepared well. The service was great. The view is phenomenal and the piano player was very talented and took requests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W never disappoints. The atmospher ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Pier W never disappoints. The atmosphere is wonderful, service and food are fantastic. The view of the water and downtown Cleveland are spectacular on a clear day. I could sit there all day and eat, drink and enjoy time with friends. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view on a beautiful sunny day! ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Beautiful view on a beautiful sunny day! The food and service were very good as usual.....although didn't care for the iceberg salad and would suggest a mesuclan salad. My husband and I always celebrated special occasions over the years and have always been pleased!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful all around experience - amb ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A wonderful all around experience - ambience, service, food and scenery. Couldn't ask for a more wonderful evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 1st Anniversary and ha ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We celebrated our 1st Anniversary and had amazing service! The view was gorgeous of the Cleveland skyline, and the lobster bisque was absolutely the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good Vegetarian meal. I had the Eg ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very good Vegetarian meal. I had the Eggplant with marinara and gnocchi. It was wonderful! Waitress was great and helpful.a

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pier W made our 40th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pier W made our 40th wedding anniversary very special. Everything (food, service, and the view.) was perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W has always been one of my "go-to" ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Pier W has always been one of my "go-to" restaurants as it has never disappointed, until now! This past Saturday night the food was as always still terrific but the service was lacking. We ordered dessert and it never came and then the server came by and asked "how was dessert". I would think she should have a better idea of who gets what, or doesn't get.

Additionally, Pier W has always been a restaurant with an air of sophistication, a little more elegant than most restaurants, on par with Giovanni's and Chez Francois. Not this past Saturday. No dress code was evident, although I don't really care if people show up in shorts and tee shirts but I would think management might. What was evident was the loud, obnoxious and sometimes vulgar conversation of the young twenty something table behind us. It definitely made it difficult to hear the conversation my wife and I were having but more importantly the vulgarity was inappropriate and distracting. I will return to Pier W as it has always been a great restaurant. I hope this is not an indication of whats to come.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Amazing romantic atmosphere, amazing foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing romantic atmosphere, amazing food, drinks with soft piano music that was awesome! Service was awesome! Going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, atmosphere and view. Perfect ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food, atmosphere and view. Perfect for celebration

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been going to Pier W for many ye ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have been going to Pier W for many years and it is always a great meal and beautiful setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W is NOW my favorite restaurant. T ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Pier W is NOW my favorite restaurant. The location, scenery, service, quality of food, décor and atmosphere made our anniversary a very special day. It's a clean restaurant, and the people who work their certainly know how to make a dining experience a very special occasion. My only regret is that I should have been going there more often. Thank you Pier W for such a wonderful time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous view (Lake Erie and Cleveland s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous view (Lake Erie and Cleveland skyline), wonderful food and fancy service!

A little pricey (depending on what you are drinking or ordering), but great for special occasions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When I arrived with my husband we were a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

When I arrived with my husband we were a few minutes late for our reservation (I called to confirm our late arrival) and still had to wait an additional 10 minutes before being seated. Our server didn't come for an additional 10 minutes as well. But the food was phenomenal and the server suggested wines that went very well with our meal. The restaurant was decorated nicely but our table for an odd reason made me feel farther away from my husband (was a rectangle rather than square). I wouldn't suggest this restaurant for an intimate evening due to that and if you sit next to the bar it's difficult to hear one another.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of our favorite dining experiences.S ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

One of our favorite dining experiences.Seafood is excellent, particularly like the Tempura

features.

Tags: Scenic View, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary had a wonder ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We went for our anniversary had a wonderful time !

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pier W --- close to downtown, but not. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Pier W --- close to downtown, but not. Fantastic view with a seafood menu prepared and presented with flair. Absolutely a repeat on our next trip to Cleveland.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was expecting to be wowed but restaura ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I was expecting to be wowed but restaurant not much more than a solid B . The cod was tasteless and over cooked. The tuna sustainable was special and superb. Tell me though, it's a restaurant that sells you on the view .....why place 2 people who travel the world and order good wines in the most awful table in the house when far nicer were available? They moved us when we insisted but I think 20 year old girls who know nothing about fine dining should not be in control of seating people. Pretty but put a professional in charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous view of downtown Cleveland acro ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Fabulous view of downtown Cleveland across the water with lots of interesting people (quite a mix) in the restaurant and excellent food to boot! Worth another visit.

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening and wonderful view by the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great evening and wonderful view by the windows. Food was very good with many choices . Server was a fantastic, very personable young lady The easy entrance from parking and the elevator made it easy for anyone to enter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server was thorough through the menu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our server was thorough through the menu and specials - she answered any questions we had. The rock fish Marsala is phenomenal and highly recommended. Lobster bisque and chopped salad as well as linguine are also highly recommended. We will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.