Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

About Pier W

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline.

We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.pierw.com/

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm

Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm

Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm

1/2 price gourmet appetizers

$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (291)
Waterfront (286)
Special Occasion (256)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (234)
Good for a Date (232)
Romantic (232)
Worth the Drive (164)
Good for Birthdays (161)
Creative Cuisine (95)
Notable Wine List (94)
Fit for Foodies (93)
Quiet Conversation (93)
Great for Brunch (92)
Business Meals (82)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
Cozy (69)
Happy Hour (60)
Live Music (59)
Good for Groups (58)
Sunday Lunch (56)
Bar Seating (53)
Handcrafted Cocktails (52)
Great for Lunch (51)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Hot Spot (41)
Pre/post Theatre (40)
Authentic (39)
Fun (39)
Casual (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
People Watching (31)
Tasting Menu (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Disabled Access (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Seasonal (13)
Great Beer (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Vegan (7)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Live Sports (3)
Spicy (3)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
4429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 21 hours ago

Excellent all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

A lovely view and wonderful surf and turf. We loved our desserts too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my 3rd time at Pier W, and it was wonderful. The food is always good. Dinner is a little pricey, but lunch is doable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food is decent, but I would say the view is what raises this from a 3.5 star place to a 4 star place

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

For the first time in the 17 years we have been enjoying dining at Pier W, the restaurant had an "off night" this past Sunday night. While the restaurant was busy for a Sunday night, we had been there when it was far busier and did not have excessive wait times and excellent food. Not this time! While our server was attentive and we ordered in a timely fashion, along with the prompt arrival of our appetizers and salads (both outstanding as always), we then waited over an hour for our entrees. Our server did inform us after a half hour that our desserts would be complimentary because of the long wait, which we did appreciate. Our meals finally arrived and three of the four of us had a lovely dinner. Unfortunately, one member of our party (visiting us in Lakewood for the first time with his wife as luck would have it tonight) did not have a good dining experience regarding his entree. His "Simply Prepared" walleye was overcooked, tough and dry and the vegetables also were dry and not tender. His dinner was "comped" and apologies given. We noticed that a couple next to our table both had their dinners returned, something I had not seen before. The deserts, however, were excellent! The elevator also was out of order, but Mr. Winton's Den in the adjacent Winton Place condo building (where we live) was open so that people could enter the building and use the elevators there without having to climb stairs which management arranged. Every restaurant can have a bad night and we understand that. Too bad that it happened for our guests visiting us for the first time. We will be returning in a week with relatives for dinner, and I fully expect the restaurant to be back in its usual top form.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere with gorgeous lake view. Deserts were great and most of the food was pretty good. The sushi, shrimp and oysters were very dissapointing. Would not go back at this price unless the quality changes.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was good (not great, but good), but the portions were really small for the price. And the service is extremely slow. We ordered grilled salmon and grilled shrimp and it took 52 minutes to receive our meal. The restaurant definitely makes up for its shortcomings with its ambiance. The overall atmosphere is extremely pleasant. Overall, very professional and friendly waitstaff, but the food options could be revamped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was awesome, the staff was great. We celebrated our anniversary and they gave us a complimentary piece of cake that had Happy Anniversary on it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great meals but average dessert. Good drinks and great view of lake and downtown if seated at right tables.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The food is always amazing! We had a great view of downtown Cleveland and a nice relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

You feel like you are dining on a cruise ship looking out on the water while dining. The service was exceptional and the food delicious. There was no rush, everything went at the pace of the diner. They gave us a cupcake to share at the end as we were celebrating our anniversary. That was a nice touch. Thank you for a great memory.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Our server, Jessica, was wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

While we typically enjoy dining at Pier W, this visit was disappointing. The rustic bread is very good; however, even though there were three diners at our table and three diners at the table next to us, the rustic bread portions were far different. Ours were very small pieces...theirs were very large pieces. I would suggest a mix and match next time. Then, two of our diners ordered the same lunch, tempura walleye. The plate delivered to the gentleman was about half the portion size of the plate delivered to the very petite lady. While these should have been nearly equal, since they were not then the man should have been given the larger order. Fortunately the service and taste of the food were very good, otherwise we would think twice about returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We came here for our anniversary, and it was wonderful! We were seated at a large table facing the lake-great views!! Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. My husband ordered the Shrimp and Scalloos Alfredo, which was delicious!! I ordered the Walleye Tempura. My server mentioned that the asparagus and green beans were also in a tempura batter, unless I wanted them plain. I'm so glad she told me. The "plain" vegetables were so good!! Afterwards, we were given red velvet cupcakes to take home. A very nice touch! All in all, this was just the right place for a special anniversary ! Well done!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The best clam I have ever had. The scallops simply prepared were awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

One of the Cleveland area top restaurants. $$$$. Make reservations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We went for the waterfront location and view of downtown Cleveland, got excellent service and superb food too. The lobster bisque is to die for, as is the corn and pineapple side dish. We'll definitely go back if we have occasion to visit Cleveland again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I keep returning because I know out of towners will be amazed by the view as well as the wide choice of options. The food is beautifully plated and is delicious. Service was excellent and 3 desserts disappeared with 5 of us sharing. Can't wait to come back later this month.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Absolutely one of the best restaurants in this region. Incomparable setting... But the food and service are equally stellar.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was fantastic. My only complaint is that I got the Walleye Tempura and the vegetables were also tempura. It was redundant and bland in color presentation. Too much of one thing.
Sam our waiter was great. Lobster Bisque was amazing as well as the Bruschetta.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was the 1st time for my wife and I going to Pier W. Not only was the window table view exceptional, but the service, the food and the overall experience was very memorable and enjoyable. We absolutely will be back and rank this as one of the most enjoyable restaurants we've ever eaten at.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Overall the food and atmosphere was outstanding. Leading up to the reservation it was very disorganized but we still had our space at the reserved time. We were contacted several times and I think it was caused by OpenTable. Our server was ok but the food and atmosphere made up for it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Curtis was outstanding, the food, the view all were spectacular.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I loved the food etc... but the 2 hour time limit is an issue. Not just me but other friends that have wanted to come for special occasions but when they inquire about a reservation for a certain party size, they go elsewhere when they hear about the time limit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food, nice place, great bar!! Really enjoyed !!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I loved everything about this restaurant. Can't wait to go back. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Hi
It was a great evening all around. Thank you Pier W for making our anniversary special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My son and his wife took my wife and I to pier w to celebrate my retirement. The ambiance and food was exceptional! Shawn, our server, was one of the best we've ever had anywhere! His service and attention to detail was impeccable! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great experience at Pier W, as always. I have never been disappointed with the food, ambience, or service. One of my top 5 favorite restaurants in Cleveland!

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Went for a date with my hubby. Best lobster bisque ever. The desserts were out of this world and both entrees were well looked and flavorful

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Simply the best restaurant in Cleveland. Amazing fresh seafood and an awesome wine and cocktail menu. Great view of the city across the lake. Everyone should experience this place if they're in the area.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our server Jessica was very professional and attentive with our first experience at Pier W. We were definitely impressed with the service and food. The food was exquisite. Picture perfect dishes!

Thank you Pier W

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Pier W is known for its great views from many tables. We knew that the view was going to be based on first-come-first-served, but we ended up with one of the worst tables as far as view.

It is not about being early, per se, because people who came long after us were seated at great tables that had turned over while we were there. If there is a way to assure good seating, I don't know what it is.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was a beautiful sunny day to dine at this restaurant with its great view of the lake & city. Great food, ambiance& service as usual. We both enjoyed our meals. The walleye & crab stuffed shrimp were cooked to perfection. The server was very pleasant & attentive. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great dinner and fantastic service by all employees.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We had a Birthday dinner for my husband with another couple. Outstanding service from Ashley, our waitress, matched the outstanding food. And of course, the view is priceless!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Our first visit to Pier W was 32 years ago and we have come back several times. Each time we do, it seems to get better! The fish was outstanding and the servers were very attentive. My only complain was that we asked for more bread and butter but it never came. Maybe they saved us a few calories!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was the first time we had dined at Pier W. The food was fabulous and the waitress was wonderful. She explained everything clearly and paced everything in great timing. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great dining experience! First dinning experience was well worth the wait. Service staff were very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Classy Cleveland location. Great service and perfect datenight spot. Must visit!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.