About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

charcuterie
Chopped Salad
Sorbet
Clam Chowder
The Pier W Blue
Great lakes walleye
Cod
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Mini Desserts
Banana Fritters W/ House Made Vanilla Ice Cream And Sugar Crystals

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
14 More
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Contemporary American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Contemporary American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Lakewood ›

Scenic View (425)
Special Occasion (393)
Romantic (336)
See All
Fit for Foodies (180)
Notable Wine List (129)
Great for Brunch (125)
Neighborhood Gem (100)
Good for Groups (81)
Great for Lunch (78)
Hot Spot (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Late-night Find (23)
Kid-friendly (11)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant tucke ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant tucked in between high rise condos. Taking an elevator down to the dining area allows you to feel secluded in your own little world on Lake Erie. Service was attentive, food was well prepared and as described. Pier W dining room is upscale comfortable with a great view of Cleveland. Patio upstairs was also a pleasant treat for after dining relaxation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with corn chowder, crab cakes ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

We started with corn chowder, crab cakes , beef perogies and calamari - the last 2 were excellent. The scallops, boullibaise and the shrimp and scallop linguini were very good. The desserts were good not excellent. Our server Nancy was one of the best with the right amount of attention and recommendations. The view is second to none - the ambience of being in a Bond film!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service , great bread , and great ...

vip
 (Acapulco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service , great bread , and great meal . Not to mention best view in town. A+

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good Vegetarian Options, Dancing, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Open Kitchen, Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding, it was great t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was outstanding, it was great to be able to spend time with friends in a classy atmosphere. I did not feel rushed but enjoyed the attentiveness of the staff. I especially enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. Excellent selection of food.

Ambiance was outstanding!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a guest visiting from California a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had a guest visiting from California and she thoroughly enjoyed Pier W and wants to return again. It reminded us of dining on the Pier in San Francisco, CA

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Pier W was one of our favorite seafood r ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 6 days ago

Pier W was one of our favorite seafood restaurants before we moved out of state about 14 years ago, because of the great seafood dishes (their bouillabaisse is a favorite) and the beautiful view of Lake Erie and the Cleveland skyline. This is our first visit back since returning to the Cleveland area and I have to say it remains an exceptional experience overall. We wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary and went for Sunday brunch.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the selections for brunch were absolutely wonderful. I love seafood and I have to say I had at least 8 of the fish and shellfish selections as well as other dishes and they were all very good to excellent (including the bouillabaisse)! My wife is handicapped and in a wheelchair and we were given a great table with plenty of room. We had a 100% great time and I have to say that the price for brunch is a great value when you consider the quality and variety of everything that's offered. In addition to seafood they have the traditional brunch items including eggs Benedict, and there is absolutely no way you wouldn't find more than you'd want in terms of variety.

All in all Pier W remains one of our all time favorites and I do not believe that you can go wrong if you're looking for a great seafood dining experience in the Cleveland area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you're looking for a romantic place t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

If you're looking for a romantic place to eat quality food with a variety of options, this is your place. Beautiful view, wonderful ambiance, and terrific food. Brunch was amazing, but take note that there is no outdoor dining. Doesn't matter though, because the restaurant sort of hangs over the lake with windows all around for a spectacular lake view. My one piece of advice would be not to go there if you're looking for a boozy brunch. Here you get one glass of champagne or a mimosa with brunch, but additional glasses come with a steep price. Everything else was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sunday Brunch is simply the BEST in ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Sunday Brunch is simply the BEST in NE Ohio!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service, attention to detail, and th ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service, attention to detail, and the food was exquisite in every way possible.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down one of the most fantastic mea ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Hands down one of the most fantastic meals and experiences I've had in quite a long time. Service was impeccable, their attention to detail unmatched. The food was outstanding. Thank you for an incredible anniversary dinner! We were blown away and will certainly be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have made this our regular stop for o ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have made this our regular stop for our wedding anniversary. We enjoy the fresh seafood and the preparation and presentation of the food. Tracy, our waitress, made helpful recommendations. We had a great view of the lake and skyline of downtown Cleveland. It also helped that the weather was so good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated 3 birthdays and we were not d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrated 3 birthdays and we were not disappointed. From beginning to ending with a take home piece of birthday cake it was an evening to remember

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everyone was super nice. We enjoyed the ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone was super nice. We enjoyed the waterfront view and the food was very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Seated immediately upon arrival. Wait st ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Seated immediately upon arrival. Wait staff was excellent going over the menu options. Food was incredible. Of course, the view is worth going for even if everything else would not have been perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was very helpful and not at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The waitress was very helpful and not at all uppity. The bus staff constantly kept watch, providing a perfect attentiveness without interrupting us. My halibut was perfectly moist with a little sear on the surface. My wife's salmon was enjoyed, too. A minor disappointment was the absence of quinoa that had been on the menu. We received an unexpected free slice of cake that was delicious. We took home a chocolate and peanut butter mousse that was also great. It was a choice for our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Pier W! It's one of the greates ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We love Pier W! It's one of the greatest old, remodeled restaurants in the Cleveland area. The view of Lake Erie and downtown Cleveland is outstanding. Most importantly, the menu is always wonderful as is the final product.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoy going to nice restaurants, and h ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I enjoy going to nice restaurants, and have gone to some fine dining places in Europe, Australia, the Caribbean, and around Cleveland. Pier W is one of the nicest places I have ever been. It's not for everyday eating. After tip my bill was $125 for two people, but it was one of the best meals I've ever eaten. It also thoroughly impressed my girlfriend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pier W was an GREAT place to go for our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Pier W was an GREAT place to go for our 15th anniversary. A little pricey, but you are not just paying for the food. The views of the Cleveland Skyline, the services, No rush to move you out so someone else can get in, the pianist played without a break and made the night just that much more special. My wife was happy with my selection. Happy Wife, Happy Life! We will return maybe to see what a different season looks like. Enjoy!!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Obviously the view is one that you won't ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Obviously the view is one that you won't find anywhere but here.

Food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We chose Pier W for a special dinner for ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We chose Pier W for a special dinner for our 48th anniversary. We were not disappointed. The view is amazing. The service was very efficient and friendly. It was a bit noisy but after we passed by the bar area it seemed less so. It was a bit of a splurge but we will definitely visit again.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

How wonderful to have someone actually r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

How wonderful to have someone actually read the note on reservation and have a birthday dessert complimentary and brought impeccably to table without asking !!! Thanks so much.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had long planned to visit Pier W, and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had long planned to visit Pier W, and when we finally did, we were not disappointed. One of the main attractions is the view. We were not next to a window, but we still had a great view of the lake and downtown Cleveland. But the food was the masterpiece. To start, I have never had clam chowder quite like what I was served here, not even in New England. It was delicate, flavorful, and full of meat. My wife and I both had the walleye--hers pan-seared, mine tempura style. Both were delicious. Dessert was fabulous too. Good-sized portion, but not overwhelming. Even the coffee was great. Our server was friendly, attentive, and helpful. Well worth the drive and the expense, which is upscale, but not ridiculous.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleasantly pleased with our ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were very pleasantly pleased with our visit to Pier W. We had been there a number of years ago; it was just so-so. This visit was different. Excellent food, service, and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall I was very pleased food was exce ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall I was very pleased food was excellent service great my only disappointment was dress code my reservation clearly stated no shorts my husband dresses as requested and wore pants there were several men in shorts

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience and the food was exceptio ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The experience and the food was exceptional. The service was quick and efficient and the view was great even without having a window seat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time with my fiancé. Loved t ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful time with my fiancé. Loved the vibe with a piano playing...requested 2 songs AND danced too. The waiter was a little flaky, but friendly! Great view...great food...great evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

I have been trying for a few years to ma ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have been trying for a few years to make it to this special spot in Lakewood, OH. Unfortunately Mother Nature brought a somewhat overcast sky that evening as we had hoped for a sunset over the water. Though we did get a Rainbow. It was perfect for our Anniversary Dinner. Fresh food, perfect service and the start to a great weekend.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Service Was Subpar & The Food Was Ve ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Service Was Subpar & The Food Was Very Underwhelming. Grey Ambiance & View However

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Even though they don't except request fo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Even though they don't except request for window seat, seems as though they tried to make it work out for our 20th anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent location, fine food, competent ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent location, fine food, competent service. Plan to return next time in Cleveland.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a date night; the food was exc ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Went for a date night; the food was excellent, the atmosphere was laid back, and they followed through with a birthday request I made for my date which was really cool.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best view and seafood on the North Coast ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best view and seafood on the North Coast. Took my Mom for dinner tonight and had a great evening. Can't wait to take my partner here on a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

View was fantastic as well as the food. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

View was fantastic as well as the food. Went with my husband for my 55th birthday. Waitress brought me a desert with happy birthday candy which made the evening much more special.

Waitress was very friendly and helpful.

I had the boullibaise oh my gosh it was sooooooooooo good.

Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went to celebrate our 47th wedding an ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to celebrate our 47th wedding anniversary. We were never asked if we were there for a special occasion. We were asked once during the appetizer course how everything tasted. We started with a drink and after ordering had to request the return of the wine list. The waitress only returned one wine glass to begin with and had to be prompted to bring the second one. She brought the bill before we ordered desert. She never asked if either one of us wanted coffee and I had to ask. The tables were too close together and the acoustics did not lend themselves to private conversations. The food was excellent. and the wine list was appropriate to a high end restaurant. However, given the rest of this review I would find it impossible to describe our experience as fine dining such as one would expect given the pricing.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Wonderful food, service and ambiance. My ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambiance. My dinner companion was very impressed and said the trout was one of the most memorable dishes she's had -- ever. The hostess was especially helpful in explaining the transition from happy hour to dinner and seated us at a fabulous table. The wait staff was also great -- just the right level of attentiveness in both the bar and dining room and particularly helpful in addressing allergy issues. We can't wait to go back to enjoy happy hour on the patio.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a treat to go to Pier W. W ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It is always a treat to go to Pier W. We always take our out of town visitors

there and they are always impressed

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is just lovely and our meals w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The place is just lovely and our meals were excellent - just can't beat this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

MY wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

MY wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary 38 years. So we were looking forward to eating at Pier W. The last time we were there was at least 25 years ago and had a wonderful time, very romantic then and still is. We wanted to continue our love story there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent as expected. I ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was excellent as expected. I would highly recommend any of the seafood dishes (I had the golden trout). The short rib pierogi appetizer was good, but the portion size was small. We preferred the antipasti board appetizer ... two cheeses, prosciutto, grilled bread, olive tapenade, tomato jam and pickled vegetables. We even got a free dessert since it was our anniversary ... a very nice gesture. Go to PIer W ... it is worth the money !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pier W has a beautiful scenic view of La ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pier W has a beautiful scenic view of Lake Erie. The ambience was classy. The service was attentive and friendly. The food, which should have been the highlight of the evening, did not measure up. I had the lobster tail special. The lobster was the best part of the meal. The twice baked mashed potatoes were dry and I didn't see or taste the cheese, chives, and other toppings. They were also dry. The asparagus was just the stalks. The strawberry crème brulee was a little too sweet. Sadly, the food did not measure up to the scenic view and the ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.