About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

charcuterie
Chopped Salad
Sorbet
Clam Chowder
The Pier W Blue
Great lakes walleye
Cod
Mini Desserts
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Banana Fritters W/ House Made Vanilla Ice Cream And Sugar Crystals

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
13 More
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Contemporary American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Contemporary American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Lakewood ›

scenic view (362)
special occasion (328)
romantic (286)
See All
fit for foodies (157)
great for brunch (117)
notable wine list (112)
neighborhood gem (99)
good for groups (69)
great for lunch (67)
vibrant bar scene (48)
hot spot (43)
great for outdoor dining (33)
late-night find (23)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
3182 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

The lake view is breathtaking!

Dined 3 days ago

The lake view is breathtaking!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only problem we had is we sat next t ...

Dined 3 days ago

The only problem we had is we sat next to where the air was coming out, and it was too cold other than that, it was a great meal/time as usual. I brought someone from Boston to show them the scenery and give them a great fish meal. I always bring out of town guests. They always think it is spectacular. Thank you.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

What a wonderful way to spend an anniver ...

Dined 7 days ago

What a wonderful way to spend an anniversary! We were really early for our reservation so we were able to have a drink on their topside patio. Really yummy drink-Sunset on the Pier. Took the elevator down to the restaurant. Not really busy because of the NBA playoffs later on that night. Was greeted politely by the hostess and gave us a nice table right in front of the windows. Decided to have another sunset on the pier drink. Appetizers-Prince Edward Island Mussels and Vegan Vegetable Pizette. Both very good. I had Great Lakes Walleye which was pan seared with Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Steamed Quinoa, Summer Squash, Baby Tomatoes, Snow Peas. It was nice and flakey and the vegetables were nicely sauteed. Just plain quinoa. He had Classic Steak Diane - Tenderloin Medallions with Tourne Olivette Potatoes, Mushrooms, Cognac Demi-Glace. All was really great. Since it was our anniversary they even brought out a little slice of cake. Then to top it off we decided on LEMON SEMIFREDDO which was sooo good! Definitely a place to go to spend a special day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Had scallop dish . Scallops were disappo ...

Dined 7 days ago

Had scallop dish . Scallops were disappointment .The smallest size of each scallop was about 3/16 inch x 1.,0 inch. the very SMALLEST PORTION SERVING I have ever had at a restaurant! My friend had and enjoyed good dinner of Haddock.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday buffet is always complete and ...

Dined 7 days ago

The Sunday buffet is always complete and consistent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

sorry to say they have gone downhill. Th ...

Dined 7 days ago

sorry to say they have gone downhill. This the second time I have eaten there in as many weeks. I thought when I had a bad perch dinner that it was an anomaly. Well I guess not, our food Sunday was just as nondescript...the coffee cold, the waffles stale from sitting too long etc . Trick me once, trick me twice...

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Went for Father's Day brunch. In my opin ...

Dined 7 days ago

Went for Father's Day brunch. In my opinion the best brunch around. The largest selection of seafood in a brunch I've seen in Cleveland.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent place this is my 4th time goin ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent place this is my 4th time going here, we celebrate our wedding anniversary here every year and would recommend this place to anyone. Was a little disappointed in our seat this year as we like to sit by the window to see the skyline of Cleveland. Other than that just excellent as usual .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W was the perfect spot for our anni ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Pier W was the perfect spot for our anniversary. We requested a window seat and we were delighted by the view. Food was delicious and every detail made the night very special for us. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent ! Great food, beautiful overl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent ! Great food, beautiful overlooking Lake Erie. A must for a special occasion. We went for our 10 year wedding anniversary

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant great for a special occasion. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Restaurant great for a special occasion. Wonderful view of the Cleveland skyline. We ordered seafood appetizers, and main dishes. All three appetizers and dinners were outstanding. For dessert we ordered the strawberry creme brûlée, which was big enough to share, and very delicious. Can't wait to visit restaurant again when we visit Cleveland.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the experience very much. A ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We enjoyed the experience very much. A special place for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommend having dessert. The peanut but ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Recommend having dessert. The peanut butter bomb was The Bomb!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the moment we arrived it was specia ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

From the moment we arrived it was special-beginning with the Happy Anniversary greeting from the hostess, to the specially titled Anniversary menu, to the delicious complimentary dessert at the end. Everyone-hostess, waitress, busboy and manager acknowledged and wished us a Happy Anniversary. Our waitress was awesome and the service and food outstanding...this will definitely be our "go to" place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This seafood oriented, view restaurant h ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

This seafood oriented, view restaurant has it all. The array of seafood choices is impressive, the food quality outstanding, the service very good, and the view really great on a day when you can see the city from a few miles away. We thought the experience, food, and drink was outstanding in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very happy with our experience. ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We were very happy with our experience. Wonderful view, delicious food, great wait staff. All excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic ! We enjoyed our meal and our ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Fantastic ! We enjoyed our meal and our time there. We were celebrating my sins 13th birthday. Thank you to Amos for taking such great care of us!!!! 😊😊😊😊😊 The views are amazing and the food is incredible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always my go to restaurant for business ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Always my go to restaurant for business or when I want to show off Cleveland to anyone. Great food, great view, great ambiance. The new outdoor patio simply adds to the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Classic view, friendly, professional ser ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Classic view, friendly, professional service and food that exceeded expectations. Pier W continues to be a winner on Lakewood's coast.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, great service and great foo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great place, great service and great food. If you haven't been you need to go.

food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great view of the lake. Friendly staff. ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great view of the lake. Friendly staff. Perch was awful

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always excellent and fresh! We u ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Food is always excellent and fresh! We usually order seafood, but for a change my wife ordered the filet mignon. It was without a doubt the best steak we have had at a Cleveland restaurant! Service was also excellent and efficient. An overall fantastic experience!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Cleveland, great food ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Best restaurant in Cleveland, great food and lovely view of Lake Erie. Expensive but worth it, food is excellent, service superior

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent and our waitress was ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was excellent and our waitress was very, very good, professional, knowledgeable, and personable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Quite simply the best brunch in the city ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Quite simply the best brunch in the city with amazing views

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What can you say it still is one of Clev ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

What can you say it still is one of Cleveland's Gems. Great food, excellent staff fantastic view. If you've never been there you need to go.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The presentation was great and the taste ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The presentation was great and the taste was even better. Pier W’s Famous Bouillabaisse and the Crab Stuffed Gulf White Shrimp led the evening. The absolute best seafood experience in Ohio, with the ambiance second to none!

food3
ambience2
service2
value1

I was not very happy with the seats that ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I was not very happy with the seats that we received. I specifically asked for a table by the window or one where I could see the lake out of the window. There was a table that was facing the window that was empty when we arrived and seated but they seated a couple that came in 45 minutes later at that table. I was told it was first come first served as far as exact seating in a certain spot or area. That was very disappointing to me. Also, the food was highly over priced. For baked chicken and spinach $21.00 with no salad or much else included. I think this needs to be reviewed. The waiter was not overly friendly, he seemed somewhat bothered by our requests and questions.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Our first time and it won't our last. An outstanding dinner, from view, service and the food! We had asked for a window seat, as it was my husband's birthday. We were sat front and center...lucky us!! We had great wine that was recommended by our server and we were not rushed at all....loved the evening!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went out for our annive ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

My husband and I went out for our anniversary and I asked for a window seat to look out at the water which I realized was first come first serve but when I made the reservation I asked for a window seat. When we arrived they sat us by a window seat and the menu said happy anniversary on it. Our waiter Kevin was a very good waiter who attended to us very well. I had the surf and turf which was absolutely delicious and my husband had the salmon that was on special that was also delicious. Afterwards we were thinking of dessert when they brought us a dessert that said happy anniversary. The whole entire experience was absolutely amazing and I will be eating here again. They went above and beyond to make us feel very special on our anniversary

food5
ambience5
service5

Georgia is the best!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Georgia is the best!

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice view, decent food. Service was a l ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Nice view, decent food. Service was a little abrasive. The server bumped into my feet while serving food and didnt apologize. A very snobbish environment.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

6/6/2015

Dined on June 6, 2016

The cornflake risotto side was the allstar of my plate, the pearch was quite disappointing. The wife's king salmon was excellent.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing! We went to Pier W fo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Absolutely amazing! We went to Pier W for my birthday. From the moment we sat down to when we left the service and food were spectacular. I lived in NYC and worked in fine dining for ten years. Pier W met my expectations and made my experience unforgettable. I cannot wait to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty array

Dined on June 5, 2016

The brunch offered an amazing variety of food, all of it delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, expensive and WELL worth it, ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

As always, expensive and WELL worth it, made reservations for next month, have been here four times this year, and whenever we come here, it's like waiting on Christmas the whole week

food4
ambience3
service5

It had been decades since we'd had dinne ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

It had been decades since we'd had dinner at Pier W. We had hoped for a lovely evening so we could watch the sun set over Lake Erie, but it was wet and gloomy. The atmosphere indoors was buzzing with music and conversation. At times it seemed a bit too loud to carry on our own conversation. Our young, friendly server was efficient and immediately corrected an error in a salad order. All four of us enjoyed our meals. The restaurant specializes in seafood but one member of our party ordered a vegetarian meal. Everything was tasty. We all enjoyed ourselves and will not wait decades to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

We chose Pier W because of the atmosphere. Had been there about 7 months ago and wasn't that impressed with the food that visit but thought we'd give it a second chance because the atmosphere is so nice. This trip, the food was really good, the waiter was outstanding and timing and temperature of food was perfect. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Jean

Dined on June 4, 2016

What a wonderful evening! The pianist was playing fun things and we enjoyed our meal very much. We would definitely go back. Such a lovely anniversary dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still a Classic!

Dined on June 3, 2016

An excellent night once again at Pier W. Staff was attentive and timley with each visit to our table. Food was exceptional ! One small concern was we had to wait for a seat in the bar due to high volume. They should hold some seats for dinning patrons as we had to stand for 30-minutes waiting for our table.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.