Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

About Pier W

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline.

We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.pierw.com/

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm

Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm

Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm

1/2 price gourmet appetizers

$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (281)
Waterfront (268)
Special Occasion (230)
See All
Good for a Date (213)
Romantic (207)
Good for Anniversaries (206)
Worth the Drive (155)
Good for Birthdays (142)
Great for Brunch (97)
Creative Cuisine (91)
Notable Wine List (89)
Quiet Conversation (86)
Business Meals (84)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
Cozy (60)
Live Music (59)
Bar Seating (58)
Happy Hour (56)
Great for Lunch (55)
Sunday Lunch (54)
Good for Groups (52)
Authentic (40)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Hot Spot (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Fun (37)
Local Ingredients (30)
People Watching (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Casual (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Disabled Access (19)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Seasonal (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Historic (11)
Private Room (11)
Vegan (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Live Sports (3)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
4256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined a day ago

Great dinner. We try to get to Pier W every time we get to the region on business or pleasure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The appetizers were good. My food was lacking flavor. My mother in law got the same Cajun pasta dish as me and they looked and tasted completely different.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I absolutely love this restaurant and our expectations are always exceeded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was a wonderful dining experience from start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

We love going to Pier W for the seafood, ambiance and VIEW! Overlooking Lake Erie with a direct line of sight to the coast and downtown, its a beautiful spot. Window seats are the best, BUT just about anywhere is good. We also enjoyed the open air patio upstairs; great for drinks and small plates. We would definitely go more often if we could!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Interior seating has virtually no decent views-the primary reason to come to this particular restaurant.
Service was slow, waiter inattentive...food portions were small...food is way overpriced and some scallops were tough and overly gritty...thus place is simply not competitive with better seafood restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was fantastic and the food was amazing! Came to celebrate my engagement with my parents, this is a special place for me and my fiancé as this is the spot we had our first date 19 years ago!

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a nice restaurant. Our shellfish was prepared fine. However, the Big Hawaiian Tuna was overcooked. I ordered it rare, which I confirmed with the waiter after he brought my Tuna, but I have had MUCH better at lower priced restaurants. Good atmosphere, but I would recommend going elsewhere for the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible views and a wonder selection on the brunch buffet. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Was expecting higher quality of food for $40 for brunch. I wanted to show my friend who was visiting from San Francisco that we can play ball out here in cleveland (at least in the food scene). Pretty much everything was terrible, oysters were sandy. Extremely disappointing. Never again.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great. Did not like the fact that we had to wait 20 minutes for our table despite having a reservation. We did not even have the option to choose to eat out on the deck or inside when making the reservation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great! We got to see a fireworks show as well! The view is everything and more! It can get noisy at times! But It quiet down after the little rush! Our server came to our table about 25mins after we was seated! She never introduced herself to us!Must have been busy? Don't know! And she came back maybe twice to check on us! We waited another 15mins for check! We drove 2hrs to get there! Food was great services could have used some work and improvement in! But other then that it was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I chose Pier W for our anniversary this year. We had never been there but heard good things. The service was great and the food was amazing. We would recommend them to anyone

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Interesting menu . Mostly fish . The seafood tower was incredible ! Great place for a warerview and excellent food Must try at least once.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful experience! Food was fantastic! Definitely would go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great and the ambience and view was phenomenal!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

First time dining at Pier W. Firstly, the service was exceptional and the atmosphere and views of the lake were impressive. The food was absolutely delicious, we had appetizers Surf &
Turf and Bouillabaisse. The steak cut with a fork and lobster was sweet and juicy. The stew was absolutely the best I have ever had. The food was were also reasonably priced. Highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and view were very good. Service was attentive initially , champagne was warm when first served. Had to ask for our waiter for the check after he was absent for an extended time and others in our party got up from the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was excellent. Perfect location to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Overpriced overpriced overpriced overpriced overpriced

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed our experience at Pier W! It was my first time there. The location looking over Lake Erie and the Cleveland skyline was so beautiful. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and the service continued to be outstanding. We had tickets for Playhouse square and they got us in and out just in time without feeling rushed. The food was delicious. I highly recommend the seafood tower. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

A great afternoon for collating a friend's birthday!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We were coming into town to visit relatives and celebrate our 30th Anniversary. Pier W lived up to its advance billing and was a marvelous place to celebrate in style. Our compliments to the entire staff on an excellent evening !!!

Ken & Michelle Law
Campbell, CA

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Awesome as usual. Food is always superior. Service is top shelf. Specials are to die for as is the whole menu. Excellently crafted cocktails.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 19, 2017

6:30 reservation. Arrived at 6:15 and seated immediately.

Oysters were outstanding. Fresh, cold and nicely presented.

3 Chilean dishes were excellent if not a tad over cooked.

Snapper was a bit over breaded and over spiced.
served stacked which seems to be in vogue. This is unfortunate and
should be stopped.

Initial service was fine but by mid meal it became slow to irksome
It certainly distracted from the occasion.

The Sommelier recommended a Macedonian wine
Imperator. It was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Everything about our visit to Pier W was outstanding! They took care of us with special attention and the food was delicious! Of course the views of Lake Erie and the Cleveland Skyline were spectacular!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Open Table was a very easy process for reserving. The restaurant was wonderful. The food and service were excellent and how can anyone not like the view even if you don't get window seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 17, 2017

We were celebrating our 35th anniversary and had made a reservation. We were surprised to see how crowded it was on a Monday night. We did not have to wait for our table. The service was great, the food excellent. The filet melted in your mouth. The atmosphere was wonderful. There were only adults there, which was really nice. It is a bit pricey but we will definitely go back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I went to Pier W for a romantic evening, it did not disappoint. I had the cedar plank salmon that was unbelievable. My date had the scallops and she really seemed to enjoy them as well. She kept commenting on what a nice restaurant it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I've been to Pier W a number of times over the past 10 years. This was my least favorable experience. The Sunday brunch had been a nice selection of quality items in my past experiences. This time was not the same. The oysters (half shell) were warm. The calamari was fishy. My wife and myself both felt sick on our way home. The only two items that we both ate were the calamari and the scallop civiche. I rated the ambiance high because you can't go wrong with a window seat in this establishment. The view isn't changing and the service was great. Those are the two constants. Being that I live about 45 minutes away, it probably won't be worth my time to return in the near future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food was great, best seat in the house & service was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Brunch. American Style. If you are looking for a classy, old style brunch buffet, you can't top this place. At $40 including everything but alcohol, though you do get a champagne or mimosa, it's also a great value. Half shell Oysters, shrimp, three ways, salmon, and so much more seafood plus wonderful carved prime rib and outstanding Eggs Benedict. Plus so mug more! Highly recommend and that says nothing if the great views of the lake and city and the spot on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always delicious and a most beautiful view. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great staff and beautiful location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Amos was a great waiter and his support staff did awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the view from the deck is gorgeous. We had drinks up there at sunset with a perfect view of the Cleveland skyline. Not a cheap restaurant, but it's worth it for the quality, friendly service, and fantastic ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our favorite special occasion restaurant.
We enjoyed a window table with a beautiful view of Lake Erie and the downtown Cleveland skyline. The food and service are spectacular and well worth the visit. There was a great piano player providing a variety of music for our enjoyment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and the dining experience was fabulous! We appreciated all of the details including the 'Happy Anniversary' menus. We come back every year for this occasion; it is our special place, and it never disappoints.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good did and service the view of downtown Cleveland is wonderful

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

As always - outstanding food.
Brought out of town guest and she was very impressed and really enjoyed it.
The dual lobster special was superb
Beautiful views of the water-had a table right at the window

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.