Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

About Pier W

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline.

We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm


Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.pierw.com/

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm

Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm

Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm

1/2 price gourmet appetizers

$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (235)
Waterfront (220)
Special Occasion (210)
See All
Good for a Date (197)
Romantic (182)
Good for Anniversaries (178)
Good for Birthdays (130)
Worth the Drive (127)
Creative Cuisine (97)
Quiet Conversation (87)
Notable Wine List (86)
Great for Brunch (86)
Business Meals (73)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Modern Decor (59)
Cozy (53)
Great for Lunch (50)
Bar Seating (47)
Live Music (47)
Happy Hour (46)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Hot Spot (39)
Fun (38)
Authentic (34)
Healthy (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
People Watching (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Historic (23)
Private Room (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Disabled Access (17)
Seasonal (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Gluten Free Options (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Casual (10)
Vegan (7)
Family Style (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great Beer (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
4084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Great view, service and food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

What a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary. The whole evening was perfect

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

A great choice! We went for an anniversary dinner with family. The staff was accommodating, we were seated early and placed by the windows per our request. We'd definitely recommend to friends and family!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was incomparable. We had lobster bisque and calamari for appetizers and grilled stuffed shrimp and blackened grouper for entrees. Our server, Megan, was outstanding. A most enjoyable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed excellent food with an awesome view of Lake Erie. Great place to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

I wish I could give Pier W more than 5 stars! Awesome service, beautiful view of the Cleveland skyline and Lake Erie, all accompanied by a phenomenal meal. I will absolutely be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful view of the lake and seriously perfect food! Highly recommend the calamari, short ribs, and the creme brûlée!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Came for college graduation dinner and had an amazing time. Our server, Sean, was very friendly, funny, helpful and attentive but not overbearing. All of the food was delicious- great land option for those who don't love seafood. Really good cocktails! Live piano music created a nice ambiance - loved it all!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

The waiters were sweet when they knew my husband wanted to wear a hat after his brain tumor surgery.

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

As always, excellent food and superb service.
Had friends from Chicago and we took them for seafood-they were impressed and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Will definitely come back. Our server, Ellen, was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant with an amazing view. Wish I had went at a time when it wasn't so rainy but will be going back soon! Also the food was amazing as well.!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The wait time for the bread was a little slow, so was the wait time for the meal for the meal we got. The meal was disappointing . Fish was dry and we had to reorder a meal; twin tail lobster was very average. My first time here and was looking forward to it as a 33rd anniversary dinner. The dessert was good though.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful meal of superb seafood, attentive service, great views and a birthday cupcake! Terrific place for a celebratory feast!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Decided to go out to dinner with my husband , the seater gave us a booth with the most amazing view! All the food was perfect , im a foodie , the oysters we had were the freshest and best oysters i had in a while , the carpaccio of beet salad was delicious , the calamari app was beautiful and the scallops were tender and seasoned perfect ! Not to salty! Our server was great. This is the kind of quality from start to finish that should be the case when you spend the money to go out to dinner! Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal and service. Special treatment on our anniversary was appreciated. Will be coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I brought two out of town guest with. First place I thought of Pier W. It is a great place to go for great food. The staff was all great, my friends from out of town were very impressed and wants to come again. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My mother and I had a lovely lunch at Pier W yesterday. We always have outstanding meals at Pier W whether it be for lunch, brunch, or dinner. Our server was great--attentive, courteous and so easy to talk to. We shared our disappointment at not being able to get a reservation for Mother's Day brunch, which we have enjoyed the past 16 years until this year. Our server shared this with the manager, and he comp'd our lunch as a way to let us know that he was sorry we weren't able to enjoy brunch at Pier W this year. Needless to say, we were surprised and very touched by this kind gesture. This only reinforces our opinion that Pier indeed is the best and classiest restaurant in the Cleveland area! We look forward to our next dining experience with my nephew and his partner over the Memorial Day weekend. THANK YOU!

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Service and ambiance were wonderful. The food was very good, but not great. Overall, Pier W is worth the visit for a nice dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day Brunch! Wonderful selection and service was suburb!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing food! But I've never had to wait so long to get it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our server was Nancy and her attention to detail was superb. I had the Chilean Sea Bass and it cooked perfectly. My wife had the Gulf Shrimp and Scallop linguine which was also very good. This was our first time visiting the restaurant and we weren't disappointed. Great job by Nancy. Thank you for a wonderful evenibg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service is always phenomenal - never rushed, always informative and never anything but a great experience. Food is always fantastic as well, which is why Pier W is always my go-to for upscale dining!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food, service and ambiance was great. Thank you for an enjoyable meal. Love this place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had another lovely "Welcome Back To Ohio" dinner for my mother who always visits us for a week around the Mother's Day weekend. Our server was courteous, attentive and prompt. Our dinners were delicious, as always, and we enjoyed our great view of the lake and downtown Cleveland. Pier W is our favorite restaurant in the Cleveland area to host guests for dinner. We look forward to our next dining experience soon! Thank You!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My all time favorite Cleveland restaurant! Moved to SC last year. We made sure to make a reservation while visiting with family and friends. We are never disappointed!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent view. Excellent wait staff.
Great food. A truly enjoyable birthday date with my wife!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Family in town for visit. Thanks for a memorable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The view is worth the trip, but it's the consistently great food and excellent service that darws us back to Pier W time and time again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Beautiful view for my girlfriends birthday! Food and staff were amazing! 10 oz filet was amazing! The waitress was so nice and helpful! Defiantly will go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Dancing, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Live Sports, Modern Decor, Private Room, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Seasonal, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We went to Pier W based on a recommendation for our 25th wedding anniversary. It in no way disappointed. The view of the lake and the city skyline was fantastic. Both the drink and food menus were large enough to give you adequate choices without feeling overwhelmed. There were also several choices that accommodated my food allergy. The ambiance was exactly what we were looking for to celebrate this special occasion. They even customized our dessert to acknowledge the event without being asked!

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

I try to like this place but it always disappoints. Third time in 2 years. Not going back. We took a special guest there on Tuesday, who lives in San Diego. The fish was just OK, the sides were lousy. In the appetizer category, my beef pieorgies were rubbery, my wife's salad was made with other-than-fresh lettuce and tired looking strawberries, etc. The vegetables on all our plates were overcooked. I could barely recognize mine as asparagus. In a white tablecloth restaurant, servers should not come to the table and, in the midst of our conversation, just blurt out, "OK, who has the salmon?!" We bought a bottle of wine > $100 and so our total bill, with an undeserved generous gratuity, was almost $300 for 3 people. Terrible value. Our guest, a very kind man, was rather unkind in his opinion of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Absolutely loved it will definitely return the atmosphere was amazing food was perfect I would recommend everyone its a must experience 6 stars in my book

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The place was very great and the customer service was amazing

Tags: Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A special place for a special occasion. The best food and view in the area!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. They accommodated special diet requests without batting an eye. 1st Class operation all the way! Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food, service, location, and scenery. What more could you ask for? We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our experience at Pier W was exceptional. The food was delicious, the service top notch & the view spectacular. They make you feel very special.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Phenomenal view and food that is unparalleled in Cleveland. I would highly recommmend this restaurant for anyone looking for a unique and one of a kind fine dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.