About Pier W

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Restaurant Photos

charcuterie
Chopped Salad
Sorbet
Clam Chowder
The Pier W Blue
Great lakes walleye
Cod
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Mini Desserts
Banana Fritters W/ House Made Vanilla Ice Cream And Sugar Crystals

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Service
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Ambiance
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
15 More
Best Value
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Romantic
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Scenic View
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Special Occasion
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Contemporary American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Most Booked
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Best Overall
Cleveland
Best Service
Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Cleveland
Best Value
Cleveland
Romantic
Cleveland
Scenic View
Cleveland
Special Occasion
Cleveland
Contemporary American
Cleveland
Most Booked
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Lakewood ›

scenic view (361)
special occasion (334)
romantic (283)
See All
fit for foodies (156)
great for brunch (108)
notable wine list (107)
neighborhood gem (92)
good for groups (73)
great for lunch (70)
vibrant bar scene (47)
hot spot (42)
great for outdoor dining (28)
late-night find (21)
kid-friendly (10)
Sort By:
Newest
3243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Other reviews given were spot on. The vi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Other reviews given were spot on. The view is incredible and the food is average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Never a bad experience at Pier W. Food w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Never a bad experience at Pier W. Food was great and server was great as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views of downtown Cleveland along ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great views of downtown Cleveland along Erie lakeshore. Excellent food. I couldn't fault the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best part about this place is the vi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The best part about this place is the view, followed by the food - definitely order seafood! I had the scallops and my dining partner had the pistachio-crusted trout, and we split an order of calamari as an appetizer. All of it arrived quickly and was very good. The interior decor of the restaurant is pretty cool, and the view is spectacular!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you are looking to whoa your signific ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

If you are looking to whoa your significant other with fine dining, Pier W will do the job, and then some! It exceeded my expectations by far! The scenic view/ambience was official! The food was official as well!! Being that I am vegan in all, the selection on the menu was the truth! I will definitely be making my way back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful ambience. Great dinner took ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful ambience. Great dinner took out of townguests....fun evening.

Neat scenery

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our wedding anniver ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 7 days ago

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The service, food and view of downtown were perfect. Thank you for a great memory !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My experience at pier W was great only p ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My experience at pier W was great only problem I had as I was seated at the very fast table as u enter the dining...my request is not to sit at that table again...would like to sit towards the back by the view...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent .Food was great. V ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was excellent .Food was great.

View was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the main entrees were not good! the lob ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

the main entrees were not good! the lobster bisque and salads were very good. the trout was fishy, an excessive portion , poorly plated, and no sauce to speak of....the side of asparagus seemed like it was cooked 3 days ago, potatoes soooo dry.

the cod was slso dry and uninspired. I can only conclude that the chef does not enjoy seafood. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Still one of Cleveland's outstanding sea ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Still one of Cleveland's outstanding seafood restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W is our GOTO place for special occ ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Pier W is our GOTO place for special occasions where food, service and ambience are extraordinary. Our last visit was a bit of a step back and did not quite meet our expectations.

1. Service was impeccable, as always.

2. Ambience and view breathtaking - out on the deck and even from an internal table.

3. Cocktail (Pier W) I would not recommend.

4. Calamari appetizer - delicious.

5. Lobster tail special - not up to par, lacked freshness, preparation, or something.

6. Bouillabaisse - which I have enjoyed before - very salty, almost inedible (different chef that night?)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

A group of friends and I went for their ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A group of friends and I went for their Sunday Brunch. It's buffet style. Everything was delicious. It comes with a Mimosa (or Champagne). I also had coffee. I left stuffed and satisfied. We took pictures from the roof overlooking the scenic view before we departed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lot of history here- I worked at the P ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A lot of history here- I worked at the Pier in 1983. It has surpassed my expectations- love the new contemporary look and the use of the pier for cocktails on that landing.

I look forward to returning.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W never disappoints. The service, s ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Pier W never disappoints. The service, staff and atmosphere is top notch and very consistent every time we dine. Highly recommend

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was great and the food was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The ambiance was great and the food was excellent the service was excellent and I would recommend it friends. I will be dinning there again. Great place for a date

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with great views. Service lev ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food with great views. Service level was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good experience, excellent food and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very good experience, excellent food and ambiance, well priced. True Lavazza coffe, which is not easy to find around Cleveland. A gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like dining on an ocean liner both in qu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Like dining on an ocean liner both in quality and view

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The view was unbelievable and the food w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The view was unbelievable and the food was excellent! Would definitely go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fine. My criticism is that th ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Dinner was fine. My criticism is that the restaurant makes a big point that window tables are "first come, first served". Knowing this, I was happy to see that when I took my daughter and future son-in-law to the restaurant, immediately following their engagement, there were four windows tables open. Having requested a window table, I was disappointed to be seated against the wall by the kitchen. I said nothing at dinner. However, not knowing if I violated some kind of local etiquette, I contacted the restaurant the next day to see what I did wrong, in preparation for a return visit. They have made no attempt to respond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had wanted to try Pier W for a couple ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had wanted to try Pier W for a couple years ever since we saw it on new day Cleveland. We had plans to be in the area for the tall ships and for a birthday celebration so I booked the birthday day dinner there and was not disappointed. We went for happy hour drinks before our reservation and the bartender was extremely helpful and that continued through out our dinner. Only disappointing thing was the child who keep crying. To me this is not a restaurant for children. Would love to visit more but it's to far away. Definitely would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place I would recommend to anyone. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great place I would recommend to anyone. One of if not my favorite restraunt

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic view of downtown Cleveland. Se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fantastic view of downtown Cleveland. Service very good. Reception cool/distant. Great food but all four in our party got stomach issues after eating lobster bisque.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very classy atmosphere with Excellent f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very classy atmosphere with Excellent food and service. Loved the view of the lake and downtown Cleveland.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only issue I had was the king crab l ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The only issue I had was the king crab leg costing $75! I tasted my partners salmon dinner and to be considered a salmon grown in a supposed free environment, it tasted like salmon purchased from Kroger! There was wayyyy too much fish in the bouillabaisse! I mean come on, one crab claw, a few scallops? Overall, I had a good experience, but I had questioned the food quality, esp in regards to the salmon!

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great seafood selection with the best vi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Great seafood selection with the best view in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great view and great food! Recommend thi ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great view and great food! Recommend this place to anyone that is trying to impress their loved one.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, but did not us the seating ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place, but did not us the seating we were looking forward even though there were open tables closer to the window viewing area. Overall, great food and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Booked a reservation for my anniversary ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Booked a reservation for my anniversary and was not disappointed at all. The waitress was extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the food. She was attentive without being overbearing. Didn't have to wait long for our food and it tasted amazing! Dessert was delicious and they even gave us a complimentary white cake for our anniversary. It is pricey so unless you have money to blow it wouldnt be a family restaurant or an every day thing.Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pier W is a very nice experience. I had ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pier W is a very nice experience. I had friends in from Chicago, and unfortunately we had a table as far away from the windows possible. The waitress was pleasant, but not up to the high standards of the restaurant. It was just a good experience; nothing more. No complaints.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pier W brunch has been on my bucket list ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Pier W brunch has been on my bucket list. It is amazing. Everything you could want, breakfast, lunch and desserts. Lots of seafood (mussels, oyster, all kinds of salmon). It's expensive at $40 a person but you do get one glass of champagne so I'd say save it for a special occasion or celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a great dining experience at Pier ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a great dining experience at Pier W for celebrating our anniversary. The food was very good, and the view was awesome, especially when we moved up to the rooftop deck for sunset. I requested a window seat ahead of time as an added touch to wow my wife, and the staff accommodated my request without a word being said upon our arrival. The dinner was pricey (which we knew going in), but we got the dining experience we desired.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was awesome the manager M ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The experience was awesome the manager Marybeth Devito is Great made us feel extra special!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner very good. Pricy but good. Vale ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Dinner very good. Pricy but good. Valet was $4 added to bill, and plenty of nearby parking if you look for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent view, wonderful service, and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent view, wonderful service, and great menu

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined at Pier W for our anniversary a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We dined at Pier W for our anniversary and had an awesome evening! Reservations were easily made online, seating was prompt at a table with a great view and our server was very attentive. We had a 'special' anniversary menu, a delicious meal and a surprise anniversary dessert! It was a perfect dining experience and one, we decided, we'll repeat every year for our anniversary!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Cleveland ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Cleveland. The food is excellent, service impeccable and view is spectacular. Will return many, many times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for our anniversary - ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My wife and I went for our anniversary -- we had gotten engaged there three years ago to the day. We did small plates. Everything was delicious. The shrimp are huge and the short rib pierogi are the best ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I came here for lunch and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

My husband and I came here for lunch and we were very pleased with the whole experience. The food was wonderful, the view was stunning, and the wait staff was great.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.