Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.73mi
  4. Distance: 1.60mi

About Pier W

Pier W, a landmark Cleveland restaurant, has been serving a critically acclaimed seafood and contemporary menu since May 11, 1965. Having recently undergone a $3 million interior renovation, the new Pier W resembles a sophisticated luxury liner cantilevered over Lake Erie offering dramatic views of both the Lake and the downtown Cleveland skyline. We would like to request that shorts, flip flops and baseball caps are not worn to the restaurant.

12700 Lake Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44107
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm

Sunday Brunch: 9:30am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
4 Blocks West of 117th Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 228-2250

Website:
http://www.selectrestaurants.com/pier/index.php

Entertainment:
Moss Stanley/Michael Leamon on piano Fridays and Saturdays 7pm - 10pm
Michael Leamon on piano Sunday Brunch

Catering:
Planning an Event? Give us a call! We can make any occasion memorable whether large or small.

Parking Details:
Large open air parking lot also available for self-park.

Executive Chef:
Regan Reik

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Sunday-Friday 4:00pm-7:00pm
Saturday 4:00pm-6:30pm
1/2 price gourmet appetizers
$5.25 specialty cocktails & wines

Private Dining

Pier W offers private party facilities for up to 22 guests, as well as our dining room for larger parties.

Pier W Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (195)
Special Occasion (179)
Waterfront (178)
See All
Romantic (175)
Good for a Date (173)
Good for Anniversaries (157)
Good for Birthdays (115)
Worth the Drive (112)
Creative Cuisine (79)
Quiet Conversation (78)
Notable Wine List (72)
Great for Brunch (67)
Neighborhood Gem (60)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Cozy (54)
Modern Decor (47)
Business Meals (46)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Bar Seating (37)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
Live Music (34)
Great for Lunch (34)
Happy Hour (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Fun (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Healthy (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Authentic (25)
Historic (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Disabled Access (19)
People Watching (19)
Seasonal (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Outstanding Value (16)
Private Room (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Casual (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Family Style (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Fireplace (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
3949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Front desk/hostess meet and greet need some work and improvement. I have been in restaurant business in Miami, FL and the first impression always have significant impact on the customer. First impression was not positive, but the overall experience was outstanding. Great food, excellent waitress, and great price.

Thank you!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect ambience for a Saturday night out with your significant other.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Coahuila)·Dined 3 days ago

I visited Pier W for the first time for my birthday. I found this to be a truly outstanding dining experience.
Nice wine list, excellent seafood options...nice pianist as background music.
I had lobster bisque/crabmeat stuffed shrimp and my husband had oysters/pier w seafood stew; all were excellent.

The noise level was a bit loud but not a deterrent for a great meal or great evening.

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

The location is great and makes for a romantic location which was my intention for our anniversary dinner. The fish tasted great and the service was spectacular.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

Retro modern upscale decor and cuisine. Fantastic view of the Cleveland skyline. The menu and ambiance do not disappoint. We particularly enjoyed the piano player who entertained the entire two plus hours we were there. My only compliant which prevents a five star rating is the less than top notch service. While our waiter was a charming professional, he did not seem to have the time to be fully attentive. Backup staff was lacking. We had to ask for water refills which is off for such an upscale establishment.
I still think Pier W is a must visit restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Vegan, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a beautiful restaurant with grand views of Lake Erie and the city of Cleveland. With that being said the food was good but not exceptional. You would think for the high price of the meals ($30-$35 a plate) your meal would come with a salad.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food coupled with a beautiful view-it's a win-win

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We celebrated my Mom's 86th birthday. Our food was delicious and service was excellent.
Thanks to everyone at Pier W. It's our birthday go to spot.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had a great experience at a birthday celebration for a sister. The setting is certainly scenic, but unfortunately we had a lot of fog that particular morning. The restaurant is elegant, the food was excellent and definitely diverse, and no doubt would appeal to a broad range of palates. Regarded it highly, and would certainly recommend it to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Visited recently to celebrate Wife's birthday with a Sunday Brunch. The service ,food and restaurant were all quite above expectations. The server was more than attentive with drinks, plates, coffee and deserts. The food at the Buffet was clean and properly prepared with attention to doneness and eye appeal. The restaurant was also clean and we'll laid out for ease of movement no crowding or pushing. The views were exceptional as it was a cold blustery day with grey skies. We were glad to be inside, comfortable and warm. We will return again for dinner or Brunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Moss Stanley was fantastic. The service, food, atmosphere was equally wonderful

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Just like I remembered it years ago. Very nice and good for special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As always the food was excellent and as always we sat at the worst table in the place. We've been going here for several years and NEVER have sat near a window seat. Especially since the two guys seated immediately after us were sat next to the windows. Friends of the host.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terrific restaurant that overlooks the Lake. The best service by of any restaurant we have ever been too. The cater to special occasion diners. Our menus and complementary dessert actually had Happy Anniversary written on them. Lots of seasonal selections for land and water. Our Waiter Shawn was extremely knowledgeable, attentive and friendly. Make reservations way ahead of time but well worth it. Was recently voted most romantic reasturant in the State.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Waterfront, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Pier W many times and are never disappointed. The view is spectacular and the food is great. Our waiter was very attentive and friendly. When I made the reservation online, I indicated it was a birthday and right way when we our waiter came to the table, he asked whose birthday it was and after dinner brought a special dessert. We will continue to come to Pier W as often as we are able.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved the setting and food. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went on our first date here 15+ years ago, we now make it tradition to come back every time before a deployment! Great ambiance and excellent food

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Outstanding service with a fabulous view with a wine list that pairs exquisitely with their fresh and appetizing dishes, whether from the water or from the land, that suits itself with the amazing view of Lake Erie and Downtown Cleveland along side a pianist to set the mood under dim lighting.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 17, 2017

PROS:
Great atmosphere
Outstanding service
Amazing views

CONS:
Oysters were so-so and expensive
Tuna was fishy and under-seasoned

I will say that my partner ordered crab stuffed shrimp and it was awesome. I would order something different if I return. It's right down the block, so I probably will at some point.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Pier W is a unique setting atop a rock formation that juts out over Lake Erie with a view from the east of downtown Cleveland. In the summer you can watch sailboats cruising along the horizon and in the winter you will be amazed at the partially frozen waves. We enjoyed the surf and turf and the cedar planked salmon!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Historic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was my birthday and my husband stopped at the front desk to make sure they knew despite making the reservation with the note that it was a birthday, and they assured us our waitress knew and it was taken care of. However, the waitress never did anything special. We watched as the table next to us received plates with the words happy birthday written on it and a cupcake while my birthday was completely overlooked. The service overall was not what I would expect from this nice of a restaurant. She was not attentive stopping by to see if we needed anything or if everything was as we liked. She was not friendly either. The water girl came more often. She never came by to see if we needed more drinks in the middle of the meal. The butter was cold because the candle had a low flame but I was unable to get her attention because she was never around. The hostess was unfriendly and had an attitude. There was no valet. I had the two lobster tail special and my husband has the Cajun pasta with seafood. He thought the pasta was good and my lobster tails were cooked nicely. So overall we were satisfied with the food but the service and overall friendliness of the staff was poor. We would try another place for a special occasion next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was excellent and the atmosphere full of energy. Our server Jessica was very friendly, prompt and professional and would ask for her table again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed. We were especially pleased with the excellent service we received on this occasion which was both my husband's and my birthday. We had a wonderful window table with a great view of the lake and the downtown skyline. Also, the martinis were great. It was a great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Pier W is wonderful place If you watch to impress a date or have an anniversary dinner. The staff was really polite they even took our picture. I have been with my girlfriend 4 years and I can honestly say she has never had a better time. She was absolutely star struck like she had no idea the place existed. 5 STARS

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Disabled Access, Vegan, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

A great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We visited Pier W for a late dinner specifically because we wanted to watch a winter storm roll into Cleveland over Lake Erie...and we had heard of their fantastic menu. We were not disappointed. We were seated by a window facing the city where we could hear the waves crashing below as we watched the snow move in. Our server, Helen, was incredibly knowledgable about the menu and wine pairings. She was clearly a fellow foodie and we really enjoyed and valued her insight into everything we ordered. We had several courses per Helen's recommendations which covered the spectrum of one's palate. With each course we trusted Helen's wine pairing and were pleasantly surprised by the compatibility of her choices. Choices we would not have normally "attempted" on our own. Such a treat and exploration in food and wine, not to mention the tumultuous and gorgeous view of the city in a snow storm. We will certainly be back again for more than the view and would highly recommend Pier W to friends and visitors to the city. And if you are fortunate enough to have Helen taking care of you, trust her suggestions and do take advantage of her wealth of knowledge of wine pairings with your meal. She is a gem.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice selection of choices for Cleveland Restaurant Week promotion
Food was very good and for $33 per person was a bargain.
We seldom go for dinner but visit often for Sunday brunch
which is a fantastic meal and price. Wonderful view and service staff.
Love their saltwater aquarium too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We love Pier W's Sunday brunch! It's become our anniversary tradition. Great food and beautiful view of Lake Erie and Downtown Cleveland. My faves are the bouibase and creme brulee.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took my husband for his birthday this past weekend and we both loved it, can't wait to go back! We both had chopped salads, he had lobster bisque, bruschetta and he had tuna and i had a filet for main courses. They brought him a complimentary desert since it was his birthday. Food, service, ambiance - everything as great! Perfect place for a special occasion or date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Live Music, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was excellent. Took my wife here as a surprise for our 4th anniversary. Neither of us had been but had heard good things and I see why the view and food was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was outstanding! The service was outstanding, too! We just love Pier W. We have never had a bad meal. I don't like seafood, but my partner does. We come for her birthday. She had a giant plate of scallops with Brussel sprouts, potatoes, & squash. I had beef medallions with potatoes and spinach. I didn't even have to use a knife. The beef was so tender and delicious. I've had different cuts of beef and they are all fantastic. I would recommend Pier W to meat lovers as well as seafood lovers.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Perfect food and perfect service. Perfect food and perfect service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful experience- our server Amos was a treat! The food and the beautiful setting made this an excellent dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always excellent , great place to dine, great food

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful Anniversary Dinner!!! The shrimp was outstanding and my salamon was really delightful, Joe had the filet and it too was well worth the price. See you again soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I was not happy with the food at all. We spent $120.00. I would have expected the food to be out of this world. I wanted to impress my husband for his birthday and he love seafood. I would love to give the restaurant a 2nd chance on the house.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Waitress was friendly and offered great suggestions. Food was delicious. Ordered the Tuna and vegetarian tasting which were both fabulous. Disappointed that we were unable to get a table by the window for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

My friend & I went to Pier W to celebrate her birthday. We were seated by the window and the view was breathtaking. Our waitress could not have been more pleasant and attentive. We shared an hors d'oeuvres, my friend had a steak and I had the vegetarian selection - both with wine & dessert - everything was outstanding! I would highly recommend Pier W for any special occasion or anytime you are in the mood for a special dining experience!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great lunch ! took my mom there for her birthday ! great time

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.