About Pier 106

106 W Wells St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern (Formerly Port of Call Bistro) is a casual restaurant serving delicious dishes focused primarily around seafood, but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes that also pair well with any of our 16 tap beers and specialty cocktails.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Plankinton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 273-7678

Website:
http://www.pier106seafoodtavern.com/

Catering:
Please contact Pier 106 General Manager, Stephen Fox, if you are interested in catering information.

Parking Details:
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot

Private Party Facilities:
Pier 106 offers semi-private and private rentals.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Fox: 414-273-7678x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pier 106, Milwaukee, WI
  • Pier 106, Milwaukee, WI
Pier 106, Milwaukee, WI
Pier 106, Milwaukee, WI

Pier 106 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Waterfront (12)
Casual (11)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (4)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great, waiter was great, dinin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, waiter was great, dining experience was great. Will be going back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were seated right away, by the firepl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We were seated right away, by the fireplace. Service was great, we had the pretzel crusted walleye and the steak. Both were prepared wonderfully.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food sounded amazing but was not up ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food sounded amazing but was not up to par. Service was erratic. Nice ambiance, however, and if more attention was paid to the flavors, the food could be good.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great value the Happy hour was noteworth ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great value the Happy hour was noteworthy. Serve was great

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

menu is fairly small, but has a nice var ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

menu is fairly small, but has a nice variety and food was very good. very convenient to Pabst/Rep theatre complex (just across the river). Would go there again

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had the trout with gnocci which was ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I had the trout with gnocci which was outstanding. Two favorites in one dish well combined and well prepared on a bed of zucchini. Our server was exceptionally friendly and really did a great job, but was busy. They do get busy on weekends and theater nights so make a reservation. Very casual, do not need to dress up. Prices are fair, but the seafood was well prepared, although not an amazing selection, but after all it is the Midwest.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great location on the river. Many GF opt ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great location on the river. Many GF options. The waiter and chef were very attentive to my allergy needs. I listed my allergies when I made my reservation. When the waiter came out, he had a list from the chef of what I could and could not have!! Made it a stress free experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence restaurant before a concert. ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellence restaurant before a concert. It sure beats the competition across the street!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pretty good place for seafood options. E ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Pretty good place for seafood options. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Mine was too heavy, but in fairness I feel that way about most meals I get from restaurants. Even top notch places seem to regularly use far too much butter and oil for my taste. Location is great if you're seeing a show at the Pabst or want to sit outside by the river on a nice evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had the walleye, which was very moist ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We had the walleye, which was very moist and flaky. I wished it wasn't heavily battered, but wasn't surprised by that since the menu said it was pretzel crusted. The fingerling potatoes were yummy and a side order of green beans, which were very good.

The clam chowder was good, but nothing special.

Tags: Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was great. The service, waite ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Everything was great. The service, waiter, drinks. The pasta seafood fettuccine did not taste well. Had to send back but everthing eles was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Careful with the jambalaya. My hubby can ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Careful with the jambalaya. My hubby can handle lots of heat and this was right on the edge for him. Would have been too much for me. Attentive waiter however offered to get him something else which my hubby declined. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was excellent and the atmospher ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very uptown! Will be going back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful place to dine! Dined w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2016

What a wonderful place to dine! Dined with friends and each one of us loved our meal. The scallops were amazing! Kudos to our server. He had an awesome sense of humor and was also very knowledgable. Thank you! We will be back and will definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two couples had dinner recently at Pier ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Two couples had dinner recently at Pier 106 before a play at the REP. Cocktails were well made. One person ordered jumbalaya; it was nice and spicy with good amounts of shrimp, sausage and chicken. Two seafood entrees were very good, but did not come with a vegetable or any other item, which surprised us. The service was adequate but nothing outstanding. One of us ordered a side salad and it was delivered with the entree. Not a big issue, but the server did not ask if that was preferred. We all commented that the noise level was quite low which allowed conversation at normal voice levels, compared to so many places that are extremely noisy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great location and very good value. Ha ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great location and very good value. Hard up-sell and unfortunately ignored both my online and live notification that it was a birthday celebration. Bar service was a bit slow, salads didn't come out first and also had to track down the check to get to our show on time. Overall - this could have been an outstanding experience but the service wasn't quite up to par.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Somewhat overpriced at approx. $50 per p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Somewhat overpriced at approx. $50 per person if you have wine, but the food was very good. Recommend salmon/asparagus, fish and chips and prawns over coconut rice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I was excited to try Pier 106 on a trip ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I was excited to try Pier 106 on a trip to Milwaukee for a conference. The location was perfect right on the river and the place was cozy, perfect for a rainy night. Our waiter needed to be asked about specials, he didn't know anything about the walleye or what type of fish it was and, when asked about The wines on the menu, he didn't know anything about those either. I ended up ordering the walleye along with some asparagus (add on) and potatoes. The fish had a thick crust and was very greasy. You couldn't taste the fish at all. Luckily the asparagus and potatoes were good. I also tried the cheese curds but didn't know what I was getting myself into because those were fried too. They were still good, just not my thing. The friend I was with ordered the stuffed salmon and she liked it. Perhaps I just ordered the wrong thing for me. However, I was disappointed with the waiter not knowing much about the menu at all. He was friendly, but he needs to be better trained and try the items in the menu so he can talk about them. If I could do it over again, I would try a different place.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Enjoyed ourselves & our server! Food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Enjoyed ourselves & our server! Food was delicious

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I stopped into Pier 106 looking for a se ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I stopped into Pier 106 looking for a seafood restaurant close to my hotel to meet my aunt for dinner. They have some creative/unusual choices as well as traditional fare. The environment is casual but nice, with a good sized bar area and a few different dining areas with windows looking out at the river. My food was good and moderately priced. I can recommend the crab dip starter and the pretzel-crusted walleye.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Live Sports, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Were at Pier 106 on a Friday night so hu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Were at Pier 106 on a Friday night so hubby had fish fry; fine portion size and flavor. Appetizer and my seafood dinner were good. As we were eating our entree a large party of 10 was seated next to us. From that point on our waiter never came back to our table. Did not offer dessert, coffee or after dinner drinks. We had tickets for the Rep so finally had to flag down the manager to bring us our check and collect payment. Totally ruined the experience. I consider both the server and management at fault for this neglect.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

This was our first time at Pier 106; my ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was our first time at Pier 106; my wife and I were having dinner with another couple prior to attending a show at The Rep, which was very close by. We ordered 2 blue gill fish fry dinners, 1 grilled 8oz filet, and 1 prosciutto wrapped chicken breast. All were the right temp when served, and all enjoyed our respective orders. I had the blue gill, and even though we were there on Friday, the blue gill was not a special, it is a standard menu item. It was one of the best fish fry dinners I have had. The coleslaw was very good, there was plenty of tasty fish, the right amount of fries (for me, but others might want more), and all at the price of $16, which is very reasonable. No specific comments on the other entrees, but no complaints from anyone.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I dined here before attendin ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My wife and I dined here before attending a play. My wife ordered Walleye which came heavily breaded and was pretty tasteless. I ordered a Caesar Salad which was okay but then again its hard to mess up a salad like that. After finishing our meals we decided we won't go back.as there's nothing special about this restaurant. There are many more restaurants in Milwaukee that are much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We loved this restaurant as Port of Call ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We loved this restaurant as Port of Call and because it is so close to the theater we keep trying it. The food tasted good but my seafood pasta had only scallops and no shrimp as advertised. When I questioned the waiter he brought me 3 medium size shrimp. My friend had the salmon which she said tasted good but didn't have the artichokes as advertised. I'm sorry this former favorite is no longer for us.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We went on a Friday evening in September ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went on a Friday evening in September for my husbands birthday. The table on the river was great. It was a relaxing and quiet atmosphere . our reservations were at 6 and we were seated promptly. The appitiszer we ordered was Callamari. It came out way too fast. I even mentioned this to our waiter. It was overdone & rubbery. The breading was light but tasteless. I expected more from a seafood restaurant. Next for dinner my husband ordered the seafood cajun fettucini. The shrimp were done to perfection, noodles were appropriately aldente and the sauce was really quite good. It had a little kick to it but was not too overpowering. I ordered a steak which was their special that night. Usually when one orders the specials they get a good meal. Not so this time. My steak was over done. I ordered it medium rare and it was more medium well ( I really had to hunt fo rany pink!) Bland seasoning if there was any. I was so desperate for some flavor I was dying to catch the bus boys attention to get some steak sauce or even ketchup at this point. No such luck . I was so humgry after not eating all day I just ate it. Then for dessert we split the Oreo cheesecake- again a very non-descript dessert. Definitely not worth the proce eor the calories! Overall for 5 glasses of wine, appetizer, 2 entrees and dessert out bill was $108.00. Not a good deal for what we got as far as I am concerned. I am not sure I will be back. I did own a restaurant at one time and I understand that any chef can have a bad day, but really the manager never even stoped by our table- which at finer restaurants I am accustomed to. Had he/she stoped to ask about our meal I would have said all of this verbally to them.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Bread on the table would be a great addi ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Bread on the table would be a great addition!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered the prawns. They were only li ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I ordered the prawns. They were only little shrimp. Food taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Loved the outdoor dining! I will definit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved the outdoor dining! I will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good seafood on the river, close to Rive ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good seafood on the river, close to Riverside Theater! Busy place, so allow time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Had 6.15pm reservations before an 8pm co ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had 6.15pm reservations before an 8pm concert 2 blocks away. Terribly slow service. Our table was given 2 different menus so didn't know which to pick from. Waitress had no tableside manner....very short with us and wouldn't let us finish our sentences before she would walk away. Kept having to send a drink back that came out 3 different ways. One of four dinners was so bad it was not eaten. The others were just ok. The split check was wrong and had to be re-done twice. Took almost 3 hours and missed the opening act. I think you get the picture!! Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Waiter was nice. Drinks good. Good was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Waiter was nice.

Drinks good.

Good was average at best!!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We were really looking forward to specta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were really looking forward to spectacular food when we saw the menu, but that was not the case. It wasn't terrible; just ok. I had the prawns which were really medium sized shrimp with a "fishy" taste. our server kept forgetting to bring things to our table, including the dressing for two dinner salads for which it took over ten minutes to flag her down. We had to also ask repeatedly for more water. Doubt that we'll go back. Again, not terrible but we really just paid for the rivers view.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I surprised my husband with dinner a cru ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I surprised my husband with dinner a cruise. We sat outside and able to the go by, the bridges lift, people walking by. What a great place. They have indoor seating. Our server was very sweet! The menu was great with lots of choices. We had blue fish fries. Delicious. We walked the river walk and came back to check in for our cruise. We chose to eat at the pier cruise rather than eat on the boat for a dinner cruise. We made the right choice. The night was perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food at a great location. Pier 106 ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food at a great location. Pier 106 is located right on the river walk, which makes for a very charming dining experience. Service was good and the food excellent. Portions were a bit on the small size, but well prepared and the presentation was nice. The restaurant has a large lovely outdoor patio overlooking the river and the setting is perfect for a casual dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We are seafood lovers.. The food at pier ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are seafood lovers.. The food at pier 106 was excellent! The portions were large... Almost too much since we were staying in a hotel so couldn't take food home. The service was perfect. And right on the river walk... If not for the windy/rainy day, we could've sat outside on the patio next to the river.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Good selection of bee ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was great. Good selection of beers. Menu choices were good.

Didn't care for the fried calamari. Too chewy, which means it wasn't properly prepared. The breading had was flat tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Essentially no wine list only a very few ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Essentially no wine list only a very few wines on a small card. Waiter had no knowledge at all about any wines even brought a white when we asked for a red. Tables on patio were intentionally placed over puddles of water.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was disjointed, waiter forgot th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was disjointed, waiter forgot things. Food clearly had MSG additives, likely in the sauce on the stuffed mushrooms or the clam chowder. Ambiance was fine, entertainment with the river traffic was fine. The MSG reaction was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome patio! Great dining experience. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome patio! Great dining experience. Waitress remembered us from the last time we were there:)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not the salad so skip ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good, not the salad so skip that one. I had mentioned when I ordered the table to be inside by the window--did not happen. It appears they did not have a note on this. I also said it was an anniversary--they did not have a note on this & when I mentioned this to the server, no reaction--I mean really--how about a scoop of ice cream on the house?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.