Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Pier 106

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern (Formerly Port of Call Bistro) is a casual restaurant specializing in seafood; but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes. Also featuring 16 tap beers, specialty drinks, and happy hour specials.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.

106 W Wells St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Plankinton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 273-7678

Website:
http://www.pier106seafoodtavern.com/

Catering:
Please contact Pier 106 General Manager, Stephen Fox, if you are interested in catering information.

Parking Details:
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot

Private Party Facilities:
Pier 106 offers semi-private and private rentals.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Fox: (414) 273-7678

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pier 106 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
See All
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Casual (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (10)
Romantic (10)
Scenic View (9)
Fireplace (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Fun (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Friends and I stopped here before seeing a show at the Pabst (the theater is right across the street). The food was amazing as well as the cocktails, they have a vast selection of beer, many taps available. It was a little pricey, but that's what you pay for top quality. Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent! Would recommend for anyone! They have a great menu, even for picky eaters!i tried the scallops & the crab and guacamole appetizer, and we tried the pier 106 burger everything was done just right... Good atmosphere! You could go either fancy or casual! Pretty cool !!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We purchased the Groupon and really enjoyed the food, environment, and the price for not only the deal but felt it was affordable had we not done the Groupon. We had a very new waitress so our dinner took much longer than expected from ordering our drinks to getting our check and everything in between but was really nice and we understood. Everything was great-definitely a place we'd go again !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent service. I love the burgers here, and it's a great place to eat before a performance at The Rep. I have eaten here four times and will be back.
The customer service simply cannot be matched! They are polite and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Want to try it again in the summer being off the river walk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We waited over 10 minutes before I went to the hostess to find out when we would see a waitress and it turned out she was taking care of the table behind us but didn't see us.
The coffee was rancid. It tasted like it was brewed a week ago and it even stained the inside of the cup.
I ordered a red sangria and I have never tasted anything so sour.Even my wife tried it and agreed with me.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good food and service. Nice to be able to reserve a table via Open Table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Second time here, hoping they'd get the food right, but nothing quite up to par again. Salmon BLT has potential, but Ciabatta bun was dry, lobstet Mac and Cheese was bland and few flecks of lobster. Everything we ate was just not restaurant quality. Seem to have a great location and bar with potential but someone needs to revamp food and have quality control. Max the waiter was efficient an apologetic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I was very disappointed in how your on-line table reservation was handled. The day before our dinner, (at 10:20am) I went online and cancelled a 6:00pm table and was able to re-reserve a table for a 5:30pm date for the next evening. About an hour before our reservation, I received a call that you were booked, so our reservation was no good. Then I called back, I was told that they had not confirmed our reservation for 5:30, which was not true, since I had printed out my confirmation after I had made the reservation the day before. I was told that we could still come, but we would have to wait 10-15 min to get a table. Then I received ANOTHER call that said that they WOULD honor our reservation. We arrived 10 minutes early, and got seated. Our waiter, Greg ( I think) was very good. After we ordered the clams and mussels and they came, I had to alert him that most of the clams, 3 out of about 5, were cooked after they were dead, and many of the mussel shells were EMPTY. He did bring us another order, and again, the same situation. The manager came and apologized and took the cost of them off our bill. His kitchen staff was unaware of how to spot dead clams (they won't open when cooked ) and watch for empty shells being put on the plate. If this is how a seafood restaurant trains its employees....I would NOT recommend this restaurant. Our other food was very good, however, so I will probably be back some day. But our waiter, Greg, was very-very nice and did a great job . "OPEN TABLE"s online service, however, should be re-reviewed as an option to reserve tables...that really STUNK. I will never use that service again, and neither should you (Pier 106).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I enjoyed the food immensely at Pier 106! I thought the wait staff didn't really know how to explain the food or what it was like, but overall I enjoyed a great meal before going to the theater! Everyone I went with had different items and they all looked perfectly tasty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service from the kitchen was incredibly slow. The hostess did warn us before we sat down. Once we told Our waiter we had theater tickets, he did a great job making sure we were able to finish our dinner and dessert before our 8:00 show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Overall very good but it took awhile...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The scallops were incredible and the apple pie was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on March 16, 2017

Service was extremely slow. One order came out completely wrong twice. Food was okay, nothing special. Men's bathroom smelled like a small animal died in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and service! Parking was easy. The waitress was fabulous!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food! Considering how busy it was, our service was fast & great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Mediocre on all fronts, probably would not recommend to a friend or return for a 2nd trip. Service was adequate, prices were fair, food was underwhelming and atmosphere/decor left quite a bit to be desired. Seems like every restaurant that comes into this location struggles, have a feeling this place will suffer the fate of many others.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had a great seafood meal. Was very impressed with the quality of the food as well as the portion sizes. Almost too much too eat! Waiter was very friend;y and helpful with the menu selections. Not rushed. Were able to have a nice glass of wine before dinner and the spring of the food was perfect. Never felt like I was getting everything at one time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding entree of seared scallops with asparagus wrapped in prosciutto on top a cauliflower mush. Very tasty! The creme brulee was heavy on topping and light on base, while the warm apple pie was very good and would have been even better with a small scoop vanilla ice cream. The seafood casserole with clams, shrimp, mussels...was very tasty.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Bartenders were friendly, they had a nice selection of drinks. We arrived at 6:45 for a 7:15 reservation. We sat at the bar after letter the hostess know we were there. I looked at my watch it was 7:45, I asked the bartender when our table will be ready. He checked with the hostess and came back and said it has been ready and they were waiting for you. Normally I like to be notified that my table is ready if it is.
We ordered quickly but never saw the waiter again. We flagged down a different waiter to find ours so we could order another drink. After the food came out our waiter never came by to see if the meal was good, if needed anything, like the glass of water we both wanted. The meal was great! When we finished eating we again had to flag down a different waiter to get our bill, then I walked up to pay the bill because he never came back.
All said the meal was very good, it was a nice atmosphere but the service in the restaurant was terrible from the waiter we had.
I will give it another chance seeing as the waiter was my main negative about the place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Easy to make reservation on line. Friendly wait staff. Nice food variety. Excellent service. We ate here before a theater performance. It was an easy walk even in the cold, to the Milwaukee Theater. Near by parking easy to access.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The seafood stew was exceptional also the stuffed salmon got great reviews for my party appetizers wonderful desserts out of sight save room for the creme brulee

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place for dinner before show.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We wanted to like it so that we'd have another pre-theater dinner option.
The Salmon BLT was very good, but everything else was marginally okay. The dessert was a lame excuse for a dessert - seemed like dried out pound cake with no thought put into it. Probably will give it another try for a sandwich before a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentines dinner and they didn't have any specific specials for the evening. It was disappointing to find out they didn't have a Valentine's Day dessert menu either. Also, we ordered the surf and turf and the waiter informed us that the chef was not taking temperatures of the steak this evening. Therefore, the steak cake out well done and I would have liked it rare-medium rare. The ambiance is nice though, much better for a lunch restaurant. Appetizers are priced well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food, great music provided nice ambiance. We had great time on Valentines day.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner date...

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good. Was surprised the restaurant part closed so early on a Friday night. Wait staff were lurking waiting for us to pay our bill, I assume so they could leave. That was the only issue we had. Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We bought a groupon to test it out. Our server and chef were super attentive to my allergies and still came up with amazing food for us to enjoy. We had prime seating but we're never rushed. We plan to come back and bring friends. Hats off to the team!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place to relax and have a tasty meal after long day at work without breaking the bank.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went here with my boyfriend for Saturday night dinner while visiting Milwaukee. We stayed at the Intercontinental Milwaukee, which was seriously a 3 minutes walk to the restaurant. Atmosphere, service and décor was excellent. The Calamari appetizer was way too chewy for either of our liking. The breading was minimal, therefore you could really taste the squid as you bit into it. Personally, we did not enjoy that at all. Did not even put a dent in the plate. My stuffed salmon entrée was divine, would highly recommend! My boyfriend ordered a chicken pasta dish (can't remember the name) and he was not thrilled with it. Cheesecake for dessert was good- nothing crazy. Do not believe it was home made or anything. All in all, I would return to order the salmon again. My boyfriend would not return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was quick and attentive, our server was friendly and timely but not pushy. Food was delicious (lobster Mac, scallops)
We were able to get a seat near the fireplace- very nice 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Slow service. Served salads and came back with entrees 2 min later. Forgot coffee that was ordered with dessert. Entree was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was very good, but on the salty side. Took some time for entrees to arrive, so order right away if going to a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the drinks and food. Service was excellent and was perfect for an after theatre performance date.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The steak was terrible, could not even eat it. However the monk fish was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Incredible good, fantastic service! Definitely returning! The working fire places were a perfect touch... great ambiance!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The service prompt to the point of feeling rushed. This was my sole issue with an otherwise wonderful experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had dinner here before a show at the Marcus Performing Arts. Its close enough to park in the Marcus ramp and walk over and back so you only have to park once and the car is right there when the show is over. They specialize in seafood, but on this night they had a rack of lamb special which was very nice as its not very common and one of my favorites. It was prepared just right, was delicious, and the sides were also very good. Reasonably priced as well. And as a pleasant surprise when we asked the server for a wine recommendation he did not suggest the most expensive bottle which is what usually happens. The dining area is not huge so it has a nice intimate feel. Can't wait for summer to go back and enjoy the outdoor patio which is right on the river. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was our first (and won't be our last) visit to Pier 106. My wife and I went to enjoy dinner before going to the Marcus Center to see The Sound of Music. We saw the groupon and figured we would give it a try. We ordered the Crab and AvocadoTian for our appetizer. It was a delicious 1/2 cup or so of shredded crabmeat and avocado on top of some scallions and peppers served with a few thin, lightly toasted slices of bread. Not too much, but not too little (looking forward to trying the baked brie on our next visit). I ordered the rib eye...my wife the stuffed salmon. Neither was very large, but right for the price...both were delicious! The rib eye was probably 10-12 ounces...well marbled...done a perfect medium rare and served on top of some yummy mashed potatoes and button mushrooms...topped with four large battered onion rings. The salmon was about 6 ounces and mounded full of its crabmeat stuffing...served on top of some crisp zucchini and squash pieces...topped with a lemon butter sauce. Next time...the lobster mac n cheese!!! Everything done well by a true trained chef...not just a cook. We finished our dinner with two pieces of praline cheesecake that were mouthwatering. Our server, Greg was very attentive, helpful, and polite. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.