About Pier 106

106 W Wells St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern (Formerly Port of Call Bistro) is a casual restaurant serving delicious dishes focused primarily around seafood, but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes that also pair well with any of our 16 tap beers and specialty cocktails.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Plankinton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 273-7678

Website:
http://www.pier106seafoodtavern.com/

Catering:
Please contact Pier 106 General Manager, Stephen Fox, if you are interested in catering information.

Parking Details:
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot

Private Party Facilities:
Pier 106 offers semi-private and private rentals.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Fox: 414-273-7678x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pier 106
  • Pier 106
Pier 106
Pier 106

Pier 106 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Wisconsin
Outdoor Dining
Milwaukee
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Scenic View (41)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Lunch (12)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Waterfront (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went on a Friday evening in September ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We went on a Friday evening in September for my husbands birthday. The table on the river was great. It was a relaxing and quiet atmosphere . our reservations were at 6 and we were seated promptly. The appitiszer we ordered was Callamari. It came out way too fast. I even mentioned this to our waiter. It was overdone & rubbery. The breading was light but tasteless. I expected more from a seafood restaurant. Next for dinner my husband ordered the seafood cajun fettucini. The shrimp were done to perfection, noodles were appropriately aldente and the sauce was really quite good. It had a little kick to it but was not too overpowering. I ordered a steak which was their special that night. Usually when one orders the specials they get a good meal. Not so this time. My steak was over done. I ordered it medium rare and it was more medium well ( I really had to hunt fo rany pink!) Bland seasoning if there was any. I was so desperate for some flavor I was dying to catch the bus boys attention to get some steak sauce or even ketchup at this point. No such luck . I was so humgry after not eating all day I just ate it. Then for dessert we split the Oreo cheesecake- again a very non-descript dessert. Definitely not worth the proce eor the calories! Overall for 5 glasses of wine, appetizer, 2 entrees and dessert out bill was $108.00. Not a good deal for what we got as far as I am concerned. I am not sure I will be back. I did own a restaurant at one time and I understand that any chef can have a bad day, but really the manager never even stoped by our table- which at finer restaurants I am accustomed to. Had he/she stoped to ask about our meal I would have said all of this verbally to them.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Bread on the table would be a great addi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Bread on the table would be a great addition!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered the prawns. They were only li ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I ordered the prawns. They were only little shrimp. Food taste good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Loved the outdoor dining! I will definit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Loved the outdoor dining! I will definitely come back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good seafood on the river, close to Rive ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Good seafood on the river, close to Riverside Theater! Busy place, so allow time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Had 6.15pm reservations before an 8pm co ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Had 6.15pm reservations before an 8pm concert 2 blocks away. Terribly slow service. Our table was given 2 different menus so didn't know which to pick from. Waitress had no tableside manner....very short with us and wouldn't let us finish our sentences before she would walk away. Kept having to send a drink back that came out 3 different ways. One of four dinners was so bad it was not eaten. The others were just ok. The split check was wrong and had to be re-done twice. Took almost 3 hours and missed the opening act. I think you get the picture!! Stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Waiter was nice. Drinks good. Good was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Waiter was nice.

Drinks good.

Good was average at best!!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We were really looking forward to specta ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were really looking forward to spectacular food when we saw the menu, but that was not the case. It wasn't terrible; just ok. I had the prawns which were really medium sized shrimp with a "fishy" taste. our server kept forgetting to bring things to our table, including the dressing for two dinner salads for which it took over ten minutes to flag her down. We had to also ask repeatedly for more water. Doubt that we'll go back. Again, not terrible but we really just paid for the rivers view.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I surprised my husband with dinner a cru ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I surprised my husband with dinner a cruise. We sat outside and able to the go by, the bridges lift, people walking by. What a great place. They have indoor seating. Our server was very sweet! The menu was great with lots of choices. We had blue fish fries. Delicious. We walked the river walk and came back to check in for our cruise. We chose to eat at the pier cruise rather than eat on the boat for a dinner cruise. We made the right choice. The night was perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food at a great location. Pier 106 ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Good food at a great location. Pier 106 is located right on the river walk, which makes for a very charming dining experience. Service was good and the food excellent. Portions were a bit on the small size, but well prepared and the presentation was nice. The restaurant has a large lovely outdoor patio overlooking the river and the setting is perfect for a casual dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We are seafood lovers.. The food at pier ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are seafood lovers.. The food at pier 106 was excellent! The portions were large... Almost too much since we were staying in a hotel so couldn't take food home. The service was perfect. And right on the river walk... If not for the windy/rainy day, we could've sat outside on the patio next to the river.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Good selection of bee ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was great. Good selection of beers. Menu choices were good.

Didn't care for the fried calamari. Too chewy, which means it wasn't properly prepared. The breading had was flat tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Essentially no wine list only a very few ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Essentially no wine list only a very few wines on a small card. Waiter had no knowledge at all about any wines even brought a white when we asked for a red. Tables on patio were intentionally placed over puddles of water.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was disjointed, waiter forgot th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was disjointed, waiter forgot things. Food clearly had MSG additives, likely in the sauce on the stuffed mushrooms or the clam chowder. Ambiance was fine, entertainment with the river traffic was fine. The MSG reaction was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Awesome patio! Great dining experience. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome patio! Great dining experience. Waitress remembered us from the last time we were there:)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, not the salad so skip ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was good, not the salad so skip that one. I had mentioned when I ordered the table to be inside by the window--did not happen. It appears they did not have a note on this. I also said it was an anniversary--they did not have a note on this & when I mentioned this to the server, no reaction--I mean really--how about a scoop of ice cream on the house?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our first visit and a very pleasant surp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our first visit and a very pleasant surprise! The menu is so interesting that we can't wait to go back and try something else, even though our meals were superb! Very reasonable prices also. And, of course, Great views from the outdoor deck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good beer selection, tasty appetizers. E ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Good beer selection, tasty appetizers. Entrees were all strictly mediocre, so make this your first stop for drinks and apps and then move on to another restaurant for the rest of the meal. The grilled jumbo prawns were nicely cooked but the accompanying peanut sauce was lackluster. The seared scallops were overcooked but the short rib ragu base was yummy. Skip the whitefish, as it has literally zero seasoning and wasn't fresh enough to stand on its own. Service was fine, but not memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Whitefish and fish stew was outstanding. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Whitefish and fish stew was outstanding. Two small demerits: the sugar in packets was solid, probably from picking up humidity on the patio and the coffee while good was only lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I selected this restaurant mainly for l ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I selected this restaurant mainly for location. It was close to our hotel. We were also doing a night time river boat ride. My wife and I found the food to be very good. She ordered a hamburger of which was cooked to her liking. I ordered the lobster roll. I found it to be tasty. The sandwich itself could have been a little bigger. The overall service was good. We had to wait about 15-20 for our table., due to an overrun with reservations. Our server was friendly. I would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I use to love this restaurant when it wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I use to love this restaurant when it was Port Of Call. I could always get in and out before seeing a show at the Riverside or Pabst. And the service and food was always very good. This time however under new management they proceeded to overbook their restaurant and because of a change in weather and no more outdoor patio none of the reservations were worth anything. I had even call ahead to confirm the reservation and was not told of the lack of tables due to weather. My friend and i sat at the bar instead, my fish was undercooked and lukewarm at best. They did replace the meal and the bartenders were kind and attentive. But overall the place was over crowded, loud and the food mediocre. I know they can't change the weather.... but storms were in the forecast for that day ( all day) and they are a restaurant that is located right next to 3 major theaters and should have been experienced in providing good food in a 2 hour window before shows start. I might give them a try again.... but the food was not that good.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food good but quantity for the price is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food good but quantity for the price is a little small. Had a very good seafood stew but bread was not available. Would have been nice to have some French bread to dip in the tasty broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We dined on their outdoor patio for dinn ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dined on their outdoor patio for dinner. Excellent view of the river, cool old buildings and a close up view of their drawbridges. It was a little noisy when it was in operation, with all the bells going off, but really cool to watch! Anyway, the ambiance, food and service were all very good. They have a respectable drink menu, and a full set of dinner options. This place won't change your life, but it is s great place for a date, night out, friendly gathering, or if you just want to eat and drink...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

Lovely view along the river, great salmo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Lovely view along the river, great salmon salad. Perfect for a business lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time I've been to Pier 106 since i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First time I've been to Pier 106 since it was Port go Call Bistro. I was very pleased with the menu options and our server, Averie, was great! She made great food suggestions and was extremely attentive. The night was extra special as we got engaged later that evening. I'm so glad we picked Pier 106 for dinner as it will forever be in our memory of that special night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I was at the restaurant that ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second time I was at the restaurant that day. Lunch found problems with the menu as several items did not meet the chef's standards. Better not served than served and was bad. The evening was with family and friends. Great deck on the river. lovely evening and service was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice menu. Chose the scallops and s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very nice menu. Chose the scallops and stuffed salmon. Both excellent. Seating by the river - pleasant, but at times a bit noisy when the bridge is opened. Good choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food prepared poorly and service not goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food prepared poorly and service not good--issues were raised to the server .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Cioppino had very little fish - mostly b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Cioppino had very little fish - mostly broth with not much flavor - asked for bread and they said they would have to make the Naan bread for us. Shrimp bruschetta for appetizer was very good. Wait staff very friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a late lunch on Father's Day, servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a late lunch on Father's Day, service was fantastic and food was delicious!

Our waiter was helpful in making suggestions. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal.

We sat outside, traffic was a little loud, but need to dine outdoors whenever the weather permits in Milwaukee

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The stuffed salmon was cooked perfectly! ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The stuffed salmon was cooked perfectly! My daughter was happy that the kitchen could accommodate her request for buttered noodles ( not on the menu)...thank you!!! Although the bill was a little more than expected, it will not deter us from returning for a good meal & great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for our daughter's high school g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for our daughter's high school graduation dinner with family. Our waitress was wonderful-she even brought us dessert free to celebrate! The food was delicious. All of the entres were close to thirty (listed as under 30) and our total bill was $280 with 7 people (7 drinks included). The best part was the waitress tracked us down across the street at the Bronze Fonz with my daughter's gift bag which we forgot. I wish I could remember her name!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with four girlfriends. The cockta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I went with four girlfriends. The cocktails and food were delicious. I had the stuffed salmon, great flavor, my other friends had this amazing coconut rice and scallops. The only thing that put a damper on a great dinner was how hot it was in the restaurant. It was one of the hottest days of the summer so far and we opted to sit inside because of how humid it was outside. The air conditioning felt great in the front of the restaurant but the back part that leads to the doors to go outside was awful. We were literally sweating the entire meal and at the end just wanted to get out of there because of how uncomfortable it was. Not sure how to make that better but something with the airflow our something needs to be changed because i would recommend to sit in the front of the restaurant to avoid that happening again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the food! Loved the outdoor seat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Loved the food! Loved the outdoor seating on Milwaukee's River Walk!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Dining, never again.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I went for Downtown Dining after hearing poor reviews because I always like to see for myself.

I had the clams and mussels as an appetizer, the lobster as an entree, and the Oreo brownie for dessert. I also ordered two drinks.

The appetizer was probably my favorite thing, and even that was mediocre. When I walked in, the staff seemed fairly lackadaisical. When my food came out, I didn't receive utensils. I had to go to a preset table and get it myself. The entree was probably the worst part. The lobster was completely flavorless, took a lot of work on the customers part to even break apart, and the coleslaw was absolutely disgusting. The brownie that I had for dessert was dry, but okay.

As for my drinks, my first one the bartender only filled halfway and I had to tell him to fill it up completely.

Overall, it wasn't the worst restaurant I've been to, but I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great spot

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Smaller menu but most items are creative and all look like they would be good. Excellent outside options as the large area is right on the river. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Dinning

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The Downtown Dinning week was great at Pier 106 had a awesome menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was poorly seasoned. The lobster was mushy and unappealing. The food was just mediocre and not worth the high price.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I had the scallops and they tasted extre ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I had the scallops and they tasted extremely fishy. I would say they were the worst I have had. My wife had the hangar steak and it tasted like a piece of charcoal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Downtown Dining Dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I will not be back to this restaurant. I had the lobster on the Downtown Dining dinner. It had almost no flavor and was very watery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.