Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Pier 106

3.6
400 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Waterfront
  • Pre/post Theatre
Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is a casual restaurant specializing in seafood; but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes. Also featuring 16 tap beers, specialty drinks, and happy hour specials.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


TUESDAY - THURSDAY 4:00PM - 9:00PM
FRIDAY - SUNDAY 11:00AM - 10:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 273-7678
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact our Special Events Coordinator, Lindsay Hanson, if you are interested in catering information.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Plankinton
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 400 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.6based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Quiet
60% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the worst dining experiences we have had. We arrived promptly at our reservation time and, when our waiter finally came to the table we told him we had to be at the symphony in an hour and a half. We ordered dinner at the same time as we ordered a glass of wine, just to be on the safe side. We got our glass of wine and then did not see our waiter for over an hour and ten minutes - no apologies, no explanation, no asking us if we wanted another glass of wine, no nothing. My husband finally had to get up from the table to find our waiter and ask where our food was. The waiter said he would have to check with the kitchen, and came back and said it would be awhile because there were “several tickets ahead of us.” We cancelled the order and left hungry because at this point we had ten minutes to get to the concert. To add insult to injury, the hostess never checked us in when we arrived and reported us to Open Table as a No Show. We won’t ever go back. It’s too bad because it’s a cute place with a nice location on the river.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Very good, I would go again. Had cheese curds and spicy shrimp for appetizers and they were great. Waitress was awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We made a reservation for dinner before a concert at the Riverside.We sat outside watching boats go by while dining on delicious seafood. The seared scallops and seafood linguine were excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Went there for my friend and mine birthdays (yes same day and year). I'm a seafoodie and he's diabetic so it sounded good. Because of all the construction, it was hard to get to but we managed. Place was not very busy at 7PM. Server was prompt and polite as our party (5 people) did not all arrive at once. After appetizers (Fire shrimp was good shrimp cerviche was not), we all ordered seafood. One of us had seared scallops, 2 had pretzel crusted salmon, 1 had seafood linguine, and the other fish. We talked, ate and celebrated. Again the server was attentive. When we were all done, one of us asked how the other's food was. Its then that we all agreed it was nothing special, on the bland side. Oh well.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Unfortunately bad from the 10 minute wait after being seated to the entree being unavailable and the poor service throughout. We chose it for the location, however, it was awful at every level.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Food was only average at best. Happy hour drinks were skimpy -beer was not even a pint. Nothing was memorable for an anniversary celebration dinner. Nothing in the experience would make me want to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

All of the food at Pier 106 is phenomenal. Seafood is their number one entree, but their other dishes are also amazing. My scallops were cooked perfectly and melted in my mouth. My wife have a surf and turf with a perfect medium rare steak and her salmon was also was nice and flaky. Very nice selection of beers and specialty drinks as well. The restaurant is very close to all the downtown theaters for a pre-show dinner or cocktail.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Limited menu was really disappointing. 4 girls out to eat and we would have wanted to sample more plates but it was only the downtown menu.

Scallops: perfect
Steak: over cooked
Sweet potato hash: baby food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It was good

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We did the Downtown Dining $25 dinner. The crab cake appetizer was FANTASTIC. The surf and turf was a mix: the salmon was great, the steaks were both ordered medium and came well done. The oven roasted potatoes were in tiny dry pieces. The bread pudding dessert tasted good but was cold. I’d stay stick to the seafood there (which is their specialty. All told the crab cake and salmon and bread pudding was probably worth $20-25. I’d go back when they have the full menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great service, wonderful view! Limited menu on downtown dining week was excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Went to pier 106 with friends for the first time during dining out Milwaukee week. The purpose of dine out week is to allow customers to try new restaurants and new foods for the first time. You would have thought when you’re attempting to bring in new customers that a restaurant participating in this weeklong program would put their best foot forward and be preparing tasty dishes. It’s not about pricing. This restaurant fell short in this area hitting the mark on a case for dishes. their crabcakes were excellent and there are scallops were very good but there are accoutrements lacked any flavor and presentation. There surf And turf was far from being tastful, their steak was way over done, dry and lacked flavor to the point that our guest did not come close to even finish half of it. The 1sr bar drinks we ordered Were very good with good pores in the second round they came to the table seem to be watered down and tasteless.
On a positive note our waitress was excellent and did the best she could to accommodate the inconsistencies, but there is only so much she could do

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

There’s a lot of construction around Pier 106 so it kind ruined the ambiance. Made it just so-so

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Food was fine- salmon and scallops were good, steak was not. Outdoor patio was nice

We were there during Downtown Dining Week, which was fine for my husband and me but they had absolutely no options for our young daughter. They didn’t have a kids menu because of the special event, which was frustrating but understandable. But when we asked to just order some extra of an entree for her, we were also told that wasn’t possible. So her option was to order a whole 3 course meal or nothing. The server seemed to be trying to help, since it seemed silly to order a whole meal for her, but she couldn’t find a solution. We were frustrated with the rigidity, and even though we were excited to try a new place, we aren’t planning on returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Unfortunately the street/bridge area around the restaurant (outside patio, and front curbside) are under major construction. As a result the place was dead the Sunday evening we were there. We were the only people in the restaurant. The server was a very nice and attentive person, and I felt quite bad for her as she had to serve tables and be the bartender. Our service was very good but again we were the only people there. The construction really takes away from the waterfront view and old town charm.
The food was good, but not great. We enjoyed the Scallops and the Salmon, but my Wife's steak was terrible. She gave me a bite and I could not even chew it, it was so fatty/stringy and overdone. She ordered it Medium Rare. We did not complain because we felt so bad for the server and honestly she did not recommend the Steak as she did the other meals we had. They have to make a living and she tried her best. The construction is not done until November. I will try it again after that, but until then I would go somewhere else for the money.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We were so excited to try Pier 106 for our anniversary but had terrible service. We waited 20 minutes to get drinks and then once we received iur drinks it took another 15 minutes for the waiter to take our order - he was very scattered and seemed overwhelmed. My husband and I decided to just finish our drinks and get dinner elsewhere. Very disappointed in the service and won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Very quiet dinner date with great tasting food. Wife and I enjoyed our dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother's day.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Disappointment in the cold, congealed presentation. We sent back one meal, and the other was cold, reheated and refried. Not a good experience at all! The General Manager was nice, though

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had to leave after an hour and never getting our food. They had given away our table. Once sat we had terrible service. In fact as we walked out, our server was coming in from outside doing a smoke break. We will never go back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I've given this restaurant 1 star and I mean it. I'm so disappointed that we came here on Mother's Day. The bagels, lox and fruit were on par with airplane food and equal to all the freeze dried, stale tastes this analogy brings to mind. The French toast arrived burned, tasteless and obviously dry. At three small pieces this was worthy of the description of "half an order" while I assure you they charge you for more. The breakfast steak and potatoes was again a pathetically small portion that was quite overcooked. The third dish my party ordered was the crab cake benedict which was good. As it was a holiday, and as I know our server was overloaded I only complained about the French Toast and they did refund that item. I love the location, I love brunch in MKE. This was a solid disappointment. And one that I unfortunately paid for.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Long Wait , Poor Service , Mediocre Food. Not A Good Choice If You Have Tickets At Pabst or Riverside.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Absolutely awful.
Perhaps worst meal i have ever been served.
At least they knew it and they comped the entire thing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food was fine but service was slow. 40 minutes wait for a Cobb Salad, then a rude "Here" as the server dropped it on our table. Another 30 minutes for 3 shared apps. Parties came and went with entrees after we arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Once we got there it was great. Our reservation was for 5:30 but with the bridge out, we had to walk all the way around and then we couldn’t get in because the construction had the entrance blocked. (This was our first time here.) Luckily I was able to get a waitress to let us in the back patio door. Otherwise we would have had to again walk all the way around the building to get in! As it was, we didn’t get inside until 5:45 but they were able to seat us right away. The food and beverages were very good and our server was very attentive. Would like to go back when it’s warmer and sit outside. I realize the construction is out of their hands but that was a huge inconvenience. I hope they finish soon!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The view, decor, service was nice. The kitchen was horribly slow. The server kept checking in with us to buy the kitchen more time... The food was good. They just need more cooks or a better expediter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Had a very nice lunch at Pier 106. Great service, great view (will be even better when the construction ends).
Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

First time but very memorable. We enjoyed the Thursday date night special of 2 entrees and a bottle of wine for only $60 (good Malbec too). Add the shrimp appetizer and chocolate volcano dessert and well under $100 including tip. Great scallops and halibut. Will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Halibut and potatoes were excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

My wife and I have eaten here quite a few times and it is always a great place to drink and/or dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Great place for a pre Theatre dinner at the Riverside. Only a block away. Warm and cozy atmosphere, attentive service, good drinks, and great food. Halibut was as good as it gets. Too chilly for our visit but we’d like to return for patio dining overlooking the river when the weather permits.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Nice dinner. They allowed us to hang and kill time before our show even though they were full.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We drove up from Chicago to see a show at the Riverside theater on a Friday night. We had reservations at 5:30 but we didn't need them. The food was excellent, we had the mussels, cilantro lime shrimp and cheese curds for appetizers and the seafood linguine, Scallops and Walleye for entrees, would recommend any of them. My only complaint is that the service was a little too fast, we had barely finished our appetizers when dinner came out and the plates had not yet been cleared, but they took care of it quickly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

The appetizers, crab and shrimp fundido and calamari were fantastic! The scallops were amazing. The filet and hamburger meat tasted as if they were doused in lighter fluid and coated in charcoal. Really awful. The service and atmosphere were great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great Happy Hour. Delicious Lobster Mac and Cheese and Stuffed Salmon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

This place has a lovely interior with lots of rich dark wood, good seating, and a fireplace, much nicer than you might think from the outside of the building, and a good river view (which will be nicer once downtown construction is finished). We just had appetizers and drinks (the calamari was outstanding), and a wonderful server who was very patient with us while we sat and talked for several hours. Hope to go back again to actually enjoy a dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

My wife and I met another couple for drinks and lighter fair. Although not many others in the restaurant (probably due to bridge construction), our sandwiches and small plates were hot and tasty. Bar/wait staff also did a nice job. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Portions are too small for the prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Seated right away. Waiter informed us of 1 special but not the fish fry special. Waiter pleasant but did not check on our table for the entire meal. I was given the wrong fish dinner. Not what I ordered but the waiter was nice enough to give me the price difference.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Fantastic innovative food, great service and price.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10

Tweets by Pier 106