Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Pier 106

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern (Formerly Port of Call Bistro) is a casual restaurant specializing in seafood; but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes. Also featuring 16 tap beers, specialty drinks, and happy hour specials.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.

106 W Wells St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm; Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Plankinton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 273-7678

Website:
http://www.pier106seafoodtavern.com/

Catering:
Please contact Pier 106 General Manager, Stephen Fox, if you are interested in catering information.

Parking Details:
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot

Private Party Facilities:
Pier 106 offers semi-private and private rentals.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Fox: (414) 273-7678

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pier 106 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (22)
Waterfront (21)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (13)
Cozy (12)
Fireplace (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Service from the kitchen was incredibly slow. The hostess did warn us before we sat down. Once we told Our waiter we had theater tickets, he did a great job making sure we were able to finish our dinner and dessert before our 8:00 show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall very good but it took awhile...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The scallops were incredible and the apple pie was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was extremely slow. One order came out completely wrong twice. Food was okay, nothing special. Men's bathroom smelled like a small animal died in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Excellent food and service! Parking was easy. The waitress was fabulous!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food! Considering how busy it was, our service was fast & great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Mediocre on all fronts, probably would not recommend to a friend or return for a 2nd trip. Service was adequate, prices were fair, food was underwhelming and atmosphere/decor left quite a bit to be desired. Seems like every restaurant that comes into this location struggles, have a feeling this place will suffer the fate of many others.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Had a great seafood meal. Was very impressed with the quality of the food as well as the portion sizes. Almost too much too eat! Waiter was very friend;y and helpful with the menu selections. Not rushed. Were able to have a nice glass of wine before dinner and the spring of the food was perfect. Never felt like I was getting everything at one time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding entree of seared scallops with asparagus wrapped in prosciutto on top a cauliflower mush. Very tasty! The creme brulee was heavy on topping and light on base, while the warm apple pie was very good and would have been even better with a small scoop vanilla ice cream. The seafood casserole with clams, shrimp, mussels...was very tasty.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Bartenders were friendly, they had a nice selection of drinks. We arrived at 6:45 for a 7:15 reservation. We sat at the bar after letter the hostess know we were there. I looked at my watch it was 7:45, I asked the bartender when our table will be ready. He checked with the hostess and came back and said it has been ready and they were waiting for you. Normally I like to be notified that my table is ready if it is.
We ordered quickly but never saw the waiter again. We flagged down a different waiter to find ours so we could order another drink. After the food came out our waiter never came by to see if the meal was good, if needed anything, like the glass of water we both wanted. The meal was great! When we finished eating we again had to flag down a different waiter to get our bill, then I walked up to pay the bill because he never came back.
All said the meal was very good, it was a nice atmosphere but the service in the restaurant was terrible from the waiter we had.
I will give it another chance seeing as the waiter was my main negative about the place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Easy to make reservation on line. Friendly wait staff. Nice food variety. Excellent service. We ate here before a theater performance. It was an easy walk even in the cold, to the Milwaukee Theater. Near by parking easy to access.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The seafood stew was exceptional also the stuffed salmon got great reviews for my party appetizers wonderful desserts out of sight save room for the creme brulee

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great place for dinner before show.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We wanted to like it so that we'd have another pre-theater dinner option.
The Salmon BLT was very good, but everything else was marginally okay. The dessert was a lame excuse for a dessert - seemed like dried out pound cake with no thought put into it. Probably will give it another try for a sandwich before a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentines dinner and they didn't have any specific specials for the evening. It was disappointing to find out they didn't have a Valentine's Day dessert menu either. Also, we ordered the surf and turf and the waiter informed us that the chef was not taking temperatures of the steak this evening. Therefore, the steak cake out well done and I would have liked it rare-medium rare. The ambiance is nice though, much better for a lunch restaurant. Appetizers are priced well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food, great music provided nice ambiance. We had great time on Valentines day.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day dinner date...

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was very good. Was surprised the restaurant part closed so early on a Friday night. Wait staff were lurking waiting for us to pay our bill, I assume so they could leave. That was the only issue we had. Would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We bought a groupon to test it out. Our server and chef were super attentive to my allergies and still came up with amazing food for us to enjoy. We had prime seating but we're never rushed. We plan to come back and bring friends. Hats off to the team!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great place to relax and have a tasty meal after long day at work without breaking the bank.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I went here with my boyfriend for Saturday night dinner while visiting Milwaukee. We stayed at the Intercontinental Milwaukee, which was seriously a 3 minutes walk to the restaurant. Atmosphere, service and décor was excellent. The Calamari appetizer was way too chewy for either of our liking. The breading was minimal, therefore you could really taste the squid as you bit into it. Personally, we did not enjoy that at all. Did not even put a dent in the plate. My stuffed salmon entrée was divine, would highly recommend! My boyfriend ordered a chicken pasta dish (can't remember the name) and he was not thrilled with it. Cheesecake for dessert was good- nothing crazy. Do not believe it was home made or anything. All in all, I would return to order the salmon again. My boyfriend would not return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was quick and attentive, our server was friendly and timely but not pushy. Food was delicious (lobster Mac, scallops)
We were able to get a seat near the fireplace- very nice 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Slow service. Served salads and came back with entrees 2 min later. Forgot coffee that was ordered with dessert. Entree was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was very good, but on the salty side. Took some time for entrees to arrive, so order right away if going to a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Loved the drinks and food. Service was excellent and was perfect for an after theatre performance date.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The steak was terrible, could not even eat it. However the monk fish was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Incredible good, fantastic service! Definitely returning! The working fire places were a perfect touch... great ambiance!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The service prompt to the point of feeling rushed. This was my sole issue with an otherwise wonderful experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had dinner here before a show at the Marcus Performing Arts. Its close enough to park in the Marcus ramp and walk over and back so you only have to park once and the car is right there when the show is over. They specialize in seafood, but on this night they had a rack of lamb special which was very nice as its not very common and one of my favorites. It was prepared just right, was delicious, and the sides were also very good. Reasonably priced as well. And as a pleasant surprise when we asked the server for a wine recommendation he did not suggest the most expensive bottle which is what usually happens. The dining area is not huge so it has a nice intimate feel. Can't wait for summer to go back and enjoy the outdoor patio which is right on the river. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was our first (and won't be our last) visit to Pier 106. My wife and I went to enjoy dinner before going to the Marcus Center to see The Sound of Music. We saw the groupon and figured we would give it a try. We ordered the Crab and AvocadoTian for our appetizer. It was a delicious 1/2 cup or so of shredded crabmeat and avocado on top of some scallions and peppers served with a few thin, lightly toasted slices of bread. Not too much, but not too little (looking forward to trying the baked brie on our next visit). I ordered the rib eye...my wife the stuffed salmon. Neither was very large, but right for the price...both were delicious! The rib eye was probably 10-12 ounces...well marbled...done a perfect medium rare and served on top of some yummy mashed potatoes and button mushrooms...topped with four large battered onion rings. The salmon was about 6 ounces and mounded full of its crabmeat stuffing...served on top of some crisp zucchini and squash pieces...topped with a lemon butter sauce. Next time...the lobster mac n cheese!!! Everything done well by a true trained chef...not just a cook. We finished our dinner with two pieces of praline cheesecake that were mouthwatering. Our server, Greg was very attentive, helpful, and polite. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We found Pier 106 though Groupon and went before a play. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Abbreviated review from a restaurant owner and chef in the Chicago area. Hostess made us wait well past our reservation time with tables available in order to sell us EXTREMELY OVERPRICED $6.50 Bell's Two Hearted DRAFTS. Bartender told us to settle up before we went to our table, although this wasn't the case. JUST TO SECURE A TIP. $23 Stuffed salmon, which has been reviewed here numerous times is NOT STUFFED. It has a glob of mixture placed on top of it like you would mashed potatoes. Probably because the salmon was not thick enough to slice and stuff. As such the parts not covered by the mixture were dry and over cooked. Chicken Saltimbocca (on the online menu) was replaced with Chicken Caprese. Caprese usually denoting FRESH mozzarella, tomatoes and basil. The first two were severely lacking, the fresh basil was non-existent. They used chicken THIGHS instead of chicken breasts, and left the bone in. The pasta served with the Chicken was covered with what best can be described as a doctored cream of mushroom soup mixture. CANNED MUSHROOMS and a stuffed chicken thigh in a dish you're charging $20 for...are you kidding me? I'm not saying it was terrible, but it was definitely not as advertised or in keeping with the anyone's definition of these dishes. Perhaps they believe, and it seems so, they can get away with it in Milwaukee. Another thing, ala carte entrees, no salad, no bread? REALLY? Looks like slow business or the weather is causing some monetary stress here. Bartenders fighting to get their tips, cutting corners (and I'm being nice) on their food items. Severely overpriced drinks. If this place lasts another year, I'll be surprised. The only shining star was our waitress Kim, she was friendly, enthusiastic and extremely attentive. I tipped her and went back and left a couple of bucks for the bartender to assure she'd receive the full tip. Two entrees, two drafts, one soda ...$58, worth about half that. Try somewhere else.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Visited Pier 106 for New Year's Eve. It is right on the river in downtown Milwaukee and was very easy to get to. We were a little early for our reservation so we were seated immediately at the bar for drinks (the martini's are delicious - I recommend the Poseidon one!). After being seated at our table (a little small, but we didn't mind) we order our appetizer and meal. All of our food was wonderful and cooked as we requested. Service was friendly, fast, and attentive. I would definitely eat here again on another visit to Milwaukee and highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for good seafood!

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had been there just for drinks earlier in the year and it looked like a great place for dinner. So we ate there on New Years Eve 2017. We were very disappointed. At 7 PM they were out of scallops and lobster tail - items my wife and I wanted. The thing is, they weren't very busy.

The waiter forgot our salads so when I asked, he brought them right away but then dinner came about two minutes later.

She got the halibut and I got the 4 oz. filet with lobster claws (a substitute for the tails they were out of). The filet was fantastic, cooked to perfection. The lobster was fine but a bit on the cold side and I had to ask for drawn butter. Who doesn't server lobster without melted butter?

Her piece of fish was about the size of a credit card - not just length and width but about as thick. I've never seen such a small piece of fish! She said it tasted fine but nothing special.

So while the meal wasn't anything to write home about, I give props to the waiter for running us down about a block away to return my forgotten cell phone. That was amazing of him to do that.

Bottom line: The food was just okay and the service not very good (except for the phone part). I had two drinks and my wife had one and the bill came to about $115 after taxes. We've had much better meals in that price range at other places.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I was really disappointed in this restaurant. First of all, once the server heard that i wasn't ordering a drink, he didn't seem very interested in serving me anymore. He was less than friendly and actually sort of curt with me.

As for the food, it was average. I ordered the clam chowder which didn't have one clam in it, plus the salmon sandwich which had a very strange seasoning on it and chewy, rather than crispy, bacon. Not at all what i expected from a seafood restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic dining experience! We will be recommending this to friends and family and we will be back!

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had never been to this restaurant. We were unable to get a reservation at our usual places. We were pleased with the food, service, and ambiance. We will not add Pier 106 to our list of usual places. We will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was personal and timely. Accommodating and understanding. We were there to have dinner before a show. They ensured that we got our meal on time. The food was OK. The appetizers were awesome!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 9, 2016

I had the surf and turf special and my wife had stuffed salmon. We both enjoyed our entrees. The bottle of Pinot was fairly priced. Looking forward to going back before the theater. George was a fantastic server.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was great, waiter was great, dining experience was great. Will be going back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.