Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Pier 106

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is a casual restaurant specializing in seafood; but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes. Also featuring 16 tap beers, specialty drinks, and happy hour specials.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.

106 W Wells St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


TUESDAY - THURSDAY 4:00PM - 9:00PM
FRIDAY - SUNDAY 11:00AM - 10:00PM

Cross Street:
Plankinton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 273-7678

Website:
http://www.pier106seafoodtavern.com/

Catering:
Please contact Pier 106 General Manager if you are interested in catering information.

Parking Details:
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pier 106 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.6

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Waterfront (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Cozy (11)
Casual (10)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Please heed the reviews warning about poor service, sadly they are very true. We went to Pier 106 last Saturday evening based on the great location and one block walk to the Pabst theatre. I was somewhat nervous about the reviews on open table that mentioned poor service and a slow kitchen. We arrived at 6:00 pm and were seated at a table, we sat and watched another couple be seated right next to us and waited on immediately. After 10 minutes I went to the hostess station and asked when we would be served. The hostess that sat us said she was sorry and personally said she would wait on our table. After a wait to receive our drinks we then received our clam chowder which was super salty. We waited another 30 minutes and I got up again and explained for the second time that we where trying to make a 7:30 pm show and needed to get our food immediately. After another 15-20 minutes the food finally came out. My wife was so upset and the final straw was the food. My dish was fine the stuffed salmon, however my wife ordered the short ribs, which were dry, tough and still stuck to the bones, absolutely terrible. We finally flagged down the waitress and she said she would comp the entire dinner and apologized for the poor slow service and poor entree. I felt bad and offered to pay for my dinner and she said she would just charge me for the two cups of soup. This was supposed to be a special night, we just wanted a nice causal dinner and to see the Christmas Carol. This experience wrecked our evening. This place needs a professional manager to turn the operation around. Sadly we will never return. My advise deep 6 Pier 106!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good and it had a few choices for non-seafood eaters. Was not busy on a Friday so service was quick. Cheese curds were excellent! Waitress added 20% onto our bill automatically with only 2 people present - should have questioned this.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

OMG!! The crab cakes will forever keep me coming back. The service was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for a date night with my wife. I enjoyed it so much that I don't even recall if the prices were high or low - it was definitely worth whatever we paid and I look forward to the next visit. - Crab Cake Struck

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Had a very enjoyable dinner. Would have liked to see a little seasonal decorations . Overall would recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Made a reservation for 6:45 on a Saturday but got there at 6:15 and was happy to wait at bar but they sat us right away. Took 20 minutes for a server to come to our table and didn't have our food until 7:40! We had tickets for a show for 8pm that was only 5 minutes away but we were eating fast. My mushroom risotto was sticky and bland. My veggie of squash and zucchini was green peppers and 3 very tiny pieces of zucchini. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Waited an hour for a reservation. Wait staff at bar ignored you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2017

My family and I came here after we saw A Christmas Carol at the Milwaukee Rep, and it was the perfect end to our evening! As an added bonus, it was only a 2 minute walk from the theater! We’ll definitely be coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

1. Ordered a Brandy Old Fashion Sour and received a Brandy Soda the first time, and when replaced a Brandy Water. Had to change to a Makers Mark to be safe.
2. Food arrived 1 hour and 5 minutes ordered, with no explanation, along with water and drinks not being refreshed.
3. The Braised Short Ribs were lacking adequate sauce, resulting dry meat. The rest of our orders were satisfactory.
4. We did find out by listening to a table next to us that their food would take at least 45 minutes to be served due to kitchen staff shortage. We were never offer this explanation. It was a good thing we had time before the performance we were going to see, but as a result we decided not to order dessert.
We had previously had a wonderful experience last year and expected the same, only to be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 2, 2017

Our server wasnt very attentive at all. Waited a long time to get refills on drinks. Food was good but cold. You could tell it had been under the warmer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Our server was excellent! The kitchen was very slow. It took 45 minutes for our meals to be served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2017

Food was great. Loved the overall atmosphere of restaurant. Good location. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

food was good service was great server was gorgeous

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 28, 2017

Stopped to eat here before performance at the Rep; prompt service so no issue having time to eat before heading out for the 7:30 performance.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

None of my requests were met. I booked online and wanted something more set aside from other people. ( very few people were actually there, so they could have made it happen) also called so I could have had cheesecake brought out after dinner and our waitress didn’t even ask he we wanted dessert. We drove from Kimberly Wi and I reviewed many places and chose pier 106. Would have been nice to have even been offered the dessert I put in a request for.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

I've dined here a few times and the food is consistently very good and the Waite Staff pleasant and knowledgeable. I recommend the Stuffed Salmon and Lobster Mac n Cheese. The location is perfect if you are planning on seeing a show at The Reparatory Theater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

This was our first visit to Pier 106, having picked it because of its proximity to the Pabst Theater. Great for us we were within walking distance of the show, but best of all was the dining experience we had...great food and great service. Might have been our first time, but it certainly won't be the last!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 8, 2017

When we first arrived we were the only patrons and my first thought was oh oh, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was a Tuesday night after happy hour hence the quiet atmosphere. That did change and by the time we left the restaurant had several tables seated. The food was awesome. I ordered a salmon salad with beets, my husband had a burger with a side salad. My husband is a diabetic, they were able to accommodate his requests to alter the menu item he chose. I recommend the apple cider mule. Plus the portions were very ample. I will definitely come back in the summer, enjoy the downtown scenery and look forward to sitting outside by the river.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Overpriced for portions and quality of food. I had the Friday fish fry and got ice cold potato pancakes and the come slaw was awful. Really wanted to like this place bc I picked it but all 4 of us were underwhelned. Best part was the friendly bartender and happy hour specials. Should have had dinner elsewhere.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Delicious! I had tge stuffed Salmon. I only wish it came with a potato side. I really wanted to try the honey cinnamon sweet potatoes but not badly enough to pay extra.
Was glad to see their patio was still open during our unusually warm late October. Some restaurants already took their patios down!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The flatbread appetizer was delicious. The salad was pretty bleak. Nothing more than a chunk of lettuce and a few tomato crumbles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The location was great for attending a show at the Milwaukee Rep. We thought the food was quite good. The service was good also...our server was very nice. We did just have to let her know that we had to be out to see a show.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Nice place and close to Theatre district . Disappointed in seafood menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Service and as good, ambiance was nice...food was just okay. Main entree dishes were good. Side dishes (potatoes, vegetables) were not good at all.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Best perch fish fry I've ever had. Great tasting prime rib sandwich. Seasoned fries were a perfect side.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great perch sandwich. The fish was done well and the coleslaw on it was a nice touch. Never had it that way before.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The place was busy but not crowded. Waitress didnt seem interested in our table. More concerned with a 5 top that came in after us. Server didnt bring the salad that was ordered. Drinks stayed empty for 15 minutes before waitress came back to check on table and then brought the bread basket. Do not recommend based on this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Came to see John Cleese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

This was my and my husbands first time at this restaurant . I had the perch fish fry . It was delicious . The fish was just right and so were the French fries. My husband had the lobster Mac and cheese. He loved it! We both had the pier margarita. They were awesome! We shared the turtle cheesecake.. Best cheesecake ever! Most definitely going back. Also the food is very affordable.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was good but our waitress did not seem very well trained or informed. She did not know all the specials for the day. She did not write our orders down and came back twice to confirm our drink order and food order. The food was served in a timely manner and was very good. When the waitress brought back the payment folder my credit card was not in it. I went up to the counter and reported it and several staff went on a search for it. They found it on the floor - she must have dropped it on the way back to the table. Though the food was very good the total experience was not very pleasureable.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great food good service super convenient to shows

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Cheese curds were phenomenal and our bartender was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The food was good, but the service was terrible. Water didn't arrive for 15 minutes and then the server was inexperienced and careless. We were served a Manhattan instead of Maker's Mark on the rocks because the server didn't know what the latter was. If they could improve the service, I'd recommend it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Don't eat here unless you enjoy looking at the other people at other tables while everyone wonders where their food is. Food was sub par but extremely expensive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The wait staff was great. The food took way too long to serve. The lobster mac was very good, but my guests who had steak stayed they were not tender. Good flavor though. Bar area very noisy which carried over to dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 28, 2017

First time eating at Pier 106. Service was very good. The server said she was new but she attended to us at the right times and was very friendly. Food was presented well and very good quality. Location close to the theaters is a plus.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

It was a gem to find this restaurant open on a Sunday, which is likely the reason there were only a few patrons in the restaurant. It was easy to get a reservation. The food and service were very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We waited an hour and a half for our food, which was ok. I had the scallops. The scallops themselves were really well cooked and delicious, but the risotto they were with tasted like risotto in Spaghettios sauce. They were out of many menu items and ran out of Spotted Cow (???) in the middle of Saturday night dinner service. Would NOT recommend.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Server seemed preoccupied. Our meals came out wrong, then we waited a long time before we were given the right meals. It was ok, the view was the best from the patio.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

We often grab a meal before the Rep here. We have shared with our friends or dined as a date night. Good food, nice happy hour and prices are reasonable!

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We arrived early and that was just fine. We got seated outside and was welcomed by our Server right away. Ordered drinks and Calimari (witch was Great!) We took our time enjoying the river watching the boats go down the river. When dinner came it looked Great and tasted even better. The portion are on the small side.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.