About Pier 106

106 W Wells St
Milwaukee, WI 53203
View Larger Map

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern (Formerly Port of Call Bistro) is a casual restaurant serving delicious dishes focused primarily around seafood, but we surely have something for everyone!

Seasonal fresh ingredients are the focus of all of our dishes that also pair well with any of our 16 tap beers and specialty cocktails.

For the sunny days there is a 1300 square-foot patio overlooking the Milwaukee River-perfect for enjoying our appetizers and refreshments!

Pier 106 Seafood Tavern is conveniently located in downtown Milwaukee on Wells St. and the Milwaukee River. It is within walking distance to many theaters and concert venues. Reservations are highly recommended on weekends and concert nights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Plankinton

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 273-7678

Website:
http://www.pier106seafoodtavern.com/

Catering:
Please contact Pier 106 General Manager, Stephen Fox, if you are interested in catering information.

Parking Details:
If street parking is unavailable, the following parking lots and structures are closest to Pier 106 Seafood Tavern:

724 N. Plankinton-Covered Parking Garage
Public Lots at Wells and 2nd Streets
Rock Bottom Parking Lot

Private Party Facilities:
Pier 106 offers semi-private and private rentals.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Fox: 414-273-7678x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pier 106
  • Pier 106
Pier 106
Pier 106

Pier 106 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Wisconsin
Seafood
Wisconsin
Outdoor Dining
Milwaukee
1 More
Scenic View
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

scenic view (44)
great for outdoor dining (39)
good for groups (20)
See All
special occasion (17)
fit for foodies (17)
great for lunch (14)
neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (8)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food good but quantity for the price is ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food good but quantity for the price is a little small. Had a very good seafood stew but bread was not available. Would have been nice to have some French bread to dip in the tasty broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lovely view along the river, great salmo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Lovely view along the river, great salmon salad. Perfect for a business lunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time I've been to Pier 106 since i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

First time I've been to Pier 106 since it was Port go Call Bistro. I was very pleased with the menu options and our server, Averie, was great! She made great food suggestions and was extremely attentive. The night was extra special as we got engaged later that evening. I'm so glad we picked Pier 106 for dinner as it will forever be in our memory of that special night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time I was at the restaurant that ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Second time I was at the restaurant that day. Lunch found problems with the menu as several items did not meet the chef's standards. Better not served than served and was bad. The evening was with family and friends. Great deck on the river. lovely evening and service was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice menu. Chose the scallops and s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very nice menu. Chose the scallops and stuffed salmon. Both excellent. Seating by the river - pleasant, but at times a bit noisy when the bridge is opened. Good choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food prepared poorly and service not goo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food prepared poorly and service not good--issues were raised to the server .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Cioppino had very little fish - mostly b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Cioppino had very little fish - mostly broth with not much flavor - asked for bread and they said they would have to make the Naan bread for us. Shrimp bruschetta for appetizer was very good. Wait staff very friendly.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a late lunch on Father's Day, servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a late lunch on Father's Day, service was fantastic and food was delicious!

Our waiter was helpful in making suggestions. Everyone in our group enjoyed their meal.

We sat outside, traffic was a little loud, but need to dine outdoors whenever the weather permits in Milwaukee

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The stuffed salmon was cooked perfectly! ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The stuffed salmon was cooked perfectly! My daughter was happy that the kitchen could accommodate her request for buttered noodles ( not on the menu)...thank you!!! Although the bill was a little more than expected, it will not deter us from returning for a good meal & great customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for our daughter's high school g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We went for our daughter's high school graduation dinner with family. Our waitress was wonderful-she even brought us dessert free to celebrate! The food was delicious. All of the entres were close to thirty (listed as under 30) and our total bill was $280 with 7 people (7 drinks included). The best part was the waitress tracked us down across the street at the Bronze Fonz with my daughter's gift bag which we forgot. I wish I could remember her name!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I went with four girlfriends. The cockta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I went with four girlfriends. The cocktails and food were delicious. I had the stuffed salmon, great flavor, my other friends had this amazing coconut rice and scallops. The only thing that put a damper on a great dinner was how hot it was in the restaurant. It was one of the hottest days of the summer so far and we opted to sit inside because of how humid it was outside. The air conditioning felt great in the front of the restaurant but the back part that leads to the doors to go outside was awful. We were literally sweating the entire meal and at the end just wanted to get out of there because of how uncomfortable it was. Not sure how to make that better but something with the airflow our something needs to be changed because i would recommend to sit in the front of the restaurant to avoid that happening again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the food! Loved the outdoor seat ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Loved the food! Loved the outdoor seating on Milwaukee's River Walk!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Dining, never again.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I went for Downtown Dining after hearing poor reviews because I always like to see for myself.

I had the clams and mussels as an appetizer, the lobster as an entree, and the Oreo brownie for dessert. I also ordered two drinks.

The appetizer was probably my favorite thing, and even that was mediocre. When I walked in, the staff seemed fairly lackadaisical. When my food came out, I didn't receive utensils. I had to go to a preset table and get it myself. The entree was probably the worst part. The lobster was completely flavorless, took a lot of work on the customers part to even break apart, and the coleslaw was absolutely disgusting. The brownie that I had for dessert was dry, but okay.

As for my drinks, my first one the bartender only filled halfway and I had to tell him to fill it up completely.

Overall, it wasn't the worst restaurant I've been to, but I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Great spot

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Smaller menu but most items are creative and all look like they would be good. Excellent outside options as the large area is right on the river. Service was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Downtown Dinning

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The Downtown Dinning week was great at Pier 106 had a awesome menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

not good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was poorly seasoned. The lobster was mushy and unappealing. The food was just mediocre and not worth the high price.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I had the scallops and they tasted extre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I had the scallops and they tasted extremely fishy. I would say they were the worst I have had. My wife had the hangar steak and it tasted like a piece of charcoal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Downtown Dining Dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I will not be back to this restaurant. I had the lobster on the Downtown Dining dinner. It had almost no flavor and was very watery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great outdoor dining and close to theaters!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was good, service was fair. Waiter never brought me a spoon for my soup. After waiting nearly 10 min, had to get up and find another server to bring me one. He also brought us the wrong check and took a long time to bring ours. Didn't check on us either. He could have been new...not sure. We would return as food was good and loved the patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I highly recommend the stuffed salmon, t ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I highly recommend the stuffed salmon, though it is a small entree for the price. I do not recommend the lobster carbonara. It was nothing like carbonara to me and very watery, though the lobster was well cooked.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Service was poor and erratic. Server was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Service was poor and erratic. Server was poorly trained and had no personality. Only if 4 people truly enjoyed their meal. We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good selection of beers, good fish and chips

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a couple of beers and fish and chips; the cole slaw was really fresh, and the Fish and chips were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Not a repeater

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Menu reads well - doesn't translate to taste. Sangria was sour. Crabcake small for the price. Entrees not good. Coffee bitter. Apple pie dry. Server was either inexperienced or not trained well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Unique fry...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

3 out of 5 us had the blue gill fry...oh so good and lots of pieces. take home leftovers for another meal. great choice after a matinee at the REP.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed our dinners, will return again

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

This was our second visit since the reopening of this restaurant at 106 W Wells. We were pleasantly happy with our experience both times, trying different dinners and enjoying our meal choices. We will be back and hope to enjoy some outdoor dinning when the weather warms up. Our servers have been great as well as seeing a hard working hostess that pitched in clearing and setting tables. Observed a hard working group of coworkers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

House salad was fresh & full of good stu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

House salad was fresh & full of good stuff. Walleye was disappointment - it was overdone & way too much breading. Expected more from proclaimed "seafood" restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Walleye dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The walleye was on the dry side. The potatoes were more cool than warm. the device was incredible. Our person was the quintessential balance of attention, service and knowing when to let us be alone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Decent food, overpriced

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was hit and miss. They shined with their fried pretzel-crusted fish fingers. The lobster bisque was also tasty, but not sure I would call it a true bisque. I had the crab-stuffed trout special. Husband liked it better than me (and he's picky). His scallops and risotto were mediocre. Scallops were poorly cooked. Crab chowder was unexpectedly Manhattan style. Would have been nice to see that in the menu. We both had creme brulee, which was delicious. Wine was good. The My Kind of Tai was more of an amaretto sour. We also paid $11 for a Disarrono on the rocks, super overpriced. All in all it was decent, but the dishes were overpriced for the quality.

Server rarely checked in on us.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great little gem in Milwaukee

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Found Pier 106 online and booked dinner there. After we arrived early people started filling in around 5 pm, and after dining there I understand why. Great atmosphere, service and most of all food! Portions were perfect, taste and presentation were "spot on" to exceed your expectations. Great little place, don't miss it if you're in Milwaukee.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location, food is fine

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great spot to take someone not familiar with Milwaukee. On the river, near sports and theater. Across from the Bronze Fonz. Food was just fine.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Could have been better

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

We decided to try this restaurant since it had changed names recently.

I ordered scallops and risotto and unfortunately my meal was not warm enough and the risotto didn't have much flavor.

My husband ordered the seafood enchiladas and said that they were good but that he wouldn't order that dish again, his meal was at the right temperature though.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

NOT HAPPY NOT A SEAFOOD STANDOUT AT ALL

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

FOOD WAS HORRIBLE SERVICE WAS OK WE ORDERED THE CRAB DIP FOR AN APP HAD HORRIBLE FLAVOR DID NOT FIND ANY CRAB

WIFE HAD LOBSTER CARBONARA HAD ALMOST NO LOBSTER A COUPLE SMALL PIECES CUT UP

I HAD THE SEAFOOD ENCHILADAS WAS SUPPOSE TO HAVE SHRIMP ,SALMON,AND WHITEFISH WHEN I OPENDE THEM UP TO LOOK AT THE INSIDES I FOUND A LITTLE WHITE FISH But NO SALMON OR SHRIMP. WHAT I DONT UNDERSTAND IS IF YOYRE GOING TO BRAND YOURSELF AS A SEAFOOD TAVERN THEN YOU BETTER GIVE SEAFOOD OUT IN THE FOOD. I ALSO ORDERED TWO OYSTER SHOOTERS FROM THE BAR IT LOOKED LIKE THEY TOOK ONE OYSTER CUT IT IN HALF AND SERVED IT THATS JUST NOT RIGHT. I DID HAVE A Voucher THAT I BID ON LINE FOR MY MEAL IT CAME WITH TWO MEALS ONE BOTTLE OF WINE AND AN APP. SO I DONT KNOW IF THAT WAS WHY THE FOOD WAS SO BAD. We love seafood just not here we actually left there and went out to kopps custard and had some great CUSTARD. Just very disappointed in pier 106 will not recommend to any one and will not buy it at auction AGAIN!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful setting and location. I had th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Wonderful setting and location. I had the fish tacos and they were fantastic. Perfect dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

new name, new menu

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We love the location and the lay out of this restaurant. We are not as pleased with the new menu. The crab cake was great!. The chowder, good, but too thick. They only fish fry was blue gill, definitely an acquired taste. May come back for the other items on the menu but not the fish fry,

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Unfortunately, the restaurant was terrib ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Unfortunately, the restaurant was terribly understaffed. It wasn't busy at all and they couldn't keep up. Several tables waited a long time before getting any service at all. Once our waitress came over we ordered and waited a long time for our meal. Once it came, everything was cold and undercooked. I really wanted to love the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Early dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Enjoyed the food, location and service. Would return, which says a lot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

New look, good food

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We've been in this location several times in the past few years, with several very different decors and menus. We visited the latest iteration recently. Menu offers a good variety of items, primarily seafood. The food we ordered was very good -- best so far under this roof. We can't wait until it is warmer. The river location is great for relaxed dining. Our server had quite a few tables going, and was upset that we were sitting too long before she waited on us. We came in just at the tail end of the pre-theatre rush. We assured her that we didn't feel slighted, and in fact the service was quite good. This place goes onto the " visit again, often" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I doubt this lasts very long

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was TERRIBLE. The service was spotty. The only bright spot is the location and its views of the river. I would never come back here again. The food tasted boxed, bagged, frozen, semi-homemade and just overall bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Undiscovered gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

This restaurant is in a prime location and serves great seafood entrees and wonderful cocktails. The stuffed salmon was a hit. Bouillabaisse was good with a rich broth but should have been served with bread. One miss was the crab dip, light on crab and too mayonnaisey. The decor is lacking and should have an upgrade to match this location and potential.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Skip Pier 106

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Pier 106 was only ok. The menu was very limited. Crab cake came out very greasy with too much oil. I attempted to order potatoes as a sidedish which didn't exist on the menu. There was also no bread basket available, only nan. Chicken and roasted vegetables were ok. Dessert featured a tea flavored creme brûlée which was odd. Next time stick to vanilla or a plain creme brûlée when served with berries. The server also didn't pay attention and we were late to our show at pabst theatre which we promptly told her about when we sat down. Disappointing to average way to spend on a Saturday night out to dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.