About Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor

Fresh is the focus of Pienza Marketplace. Drawing inspiration from the lush garden atrium in Gaylord National, Pienza Marketplace offers fresh local ingredients to create delicious made-from-scratch culinary offerings. Inspired by the Mid-Atlantic region, Pienza’s resort chefs partner with local and regional farmers and artisanal producers to select the best seasonal products to be featured in its signature dishes. With an open design, diners can watch food being prepared firsthand in the restaurant’s show kitchen. Focusing on small batch cooking, dishes are prepared and served at their peak freshness.

Whether it is a quick bite for breakfast, a business lunch or a family celebration, Pienza’s ever-changing menu offers a variety of fresh local options. The STARS (employees) at Pienza are warm and welcoming to leisure and group guests alike.

201 Waterfront Street
National Harbor, MD 20745
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Fleet Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 965-5200

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-national/dini

Parking Details:
Self parking - Complimentary Parking voucher offered for the first three hours. Valet parking is available at $10.00 for the first three hours with validation.

Public Transit:
Alexandria Water Taxi

Executive Chef:
Andrew Gould

Additional:
Beer, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.3

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

2.9

noise

Moderate

68% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (11)
Casual (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
See All
People Watching (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Family Style (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Scenic View (4)
Cozy (3)
Waterfront (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great, however, it will be better if the crabs and shrimps were hot instead of being served as cocktails. Overall, I will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Although it was pricey, the food was excellent, the service was good, and my family left out of there stuffed and happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch about a year and a half ago. The quality of the food and the choices are no where near what they were then. This was a $25.00 brunch, not a $65.00 brunch. I brought 6 people with me and was very disappointed. I paid $600 for a below average experience! So much for "you get what you pay for".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I came here with the family for Easter. Everything was wonderful. The price was a little expensive at $63 per person but well worth it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nothing was hot and sausage was burnt. Pancakes, bacon, & eggs were cold. Croissant wasn't fresh. Omelette was ok.

Service was nonexistent. My check was presented when I returned to my seat from the buffet line. We had a pile of plates, and no one seemed to care.

Go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

As is usually the case with hotel restaurants, breakfast buffet costs are far too high. $25.00 for a standard (nothing notable) buffet is far too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were deeply disappointed to find over 50% of the buffett empty. No option here other than the $24.99 per person buffet. Raw scrambled eggs, no bacon, and so many empty platters you had to walk back and forth to find food worth eating. Our wait staff was fine, but the kitchen area lacked working staff. Several staff observed loafing and one cook struggled to keep up with omelette line. We looked forward to a wonderful brunch like we had at the Gaylord in Texas last year. We will be returning to National Harbor in the future, but will avoid going back to the Gaylord! Poorly run restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food service is very poor. They do not replenish the foods quickly. You have to wait ten minutes or so to get foods. There are no selections. It is an ordinary complimentary breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great brunch is a very nice setting within the resort

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We had reservation for brunch but when we arrived found out it was only lunch being served. Spoke to the manager she informed us that brunch is only special occasions

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my families second visit to this place for brunch. Half the food stations were closed from the last time we were there. When we sat down we noticed that the cups on the table had spots on them; not thoroughly cleaned. Server started to pour coffee without asking us if we want coffee, which we didn't we drink tea. The omelet station was probably the best thing they had, but of course you had to wait. To be fair we had to wait the last time as well, but there were other selections on our first visit. Besides the omelet station, the waffle station was also open, but it was slow. That was pretty much it, omelets and waffles was pretty much it. They couldn't even both to keep the pastries full.

It appears they put on a show for Mothers Day, which is when I believe we made our first visit. I would give our first experience a B+. This second visit warrants a D-.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Not throughly impressed with the food, some of the servers were not very inviting. The setting was nice and the price was ok.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

12-31-16
Birthday Brunch

The food was great, brunch catering staff was great but our waitress was horrible not at all attentive nor polite. She did not bring drinks until asked four times. Then after we finishing up our meal she kept taking the plates without asking were we done while guest in my party was still sitting there eating out if their plate. Very rude...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was hot and there was a small selection. It was a nice environment with excellent and friendly service.

They offered hot food, drive food (bagels, cereal etc). Overall good time, good food and highly recommend for couples and families of all ages.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food with many options. Average selection. Great custom omelettes. Breakfast more expensive than lunch. Buffet style ONLY menu selection is not available. Only full breakfast available in hotel.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The waiters were exceptional and very professional. The food was good and the chef personally bought me 2 slices of corn bread when there was no more available because of closing.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was my 4th time eating here. Variety was not good, neither the waffles, scrambles or coffee. Omelet was good but the line took forever (more than 10min). Quality of the food was not for the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service and food selection. A little pricey for Christmas Dinner. ($200+) for 3 people. A good time was had by all.

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I rarely write a negative review of a restaurant, but I could not let this one by. We had been wanting to go see all the exciting places at National Harbor. It was Christmas day and we thought we would step out of our normal holiday meal at another restaurant and give National Harbor's Pienza a try. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful. The place was wonderfully decorated for the holiday season. It was quite festive. When we arrived at Pienza, we noticed there were a lot of empty tables, and this was Christmas day. We had reservations, and were taken to a table right in the line of carts full of nasty dirty dishes being pushed by us. When I asked for a Coke, the waiter asked if I was ok with a Pepsi instead. That was the first strike against the restaurant. I ordered orange juice instead, and it was not fresh squeezed like I would have appreciated. We were told to go ahead to the buffet area and get whatever we wanted to eat. The buffet was not appetizing at all. The first thing that I saw was cubed carrots and peas, institutional school lunch style. Then, we went to the seafood station, only to find previously frozen shrimp. If you have ever tasted fresh shrimp, you will always be able to distinguish between fresh vs frozen. The advertisement for the Christmas buffet highlighted king crab legs, and they were nowhere to be found. For $69 per person, we were basically served a school lunch. It was quite disappointing. While I did not expect white tablecloth service for that price, I did expect a decent holiday meal. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a reservation for 2pm on Christmas Day and were seated promptly. The food was excellent. We had only coffee and water. Our bill was astronomical. With tip, we paid $170!!!!!! I admit I didn't scrutinize the bill. When we got back to the room, it hit me: $170.00 for dinner!!!!!! No drinks..just dinner. Our tip was 25%....even still, $170 FOR DINNER!!!
NEVER AGAIN.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was good overall.This year there was no beef as one of the main entrees and the desserts had too many cookies .No ice cream this year. Looks like they skimped. Coffee was burnt flavor and our server seemed annoyed when we kindly requested fresh.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We arrived at 11:50 am for a 12pm reservation and did not expect to wait on a line of approx 25 people. Once seated, we were informed that mimosas were not included in the price of the meal. At $63 pp that was ridiculous! The presentation of the food was very nice. The wait for waffles was too long...10 minutes! The turkey was dry. The ham was cold, the chestnut stuffing was like heavy glue paste, the salmon was good, the white chocolate creme brulee delish! The music trio was very nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food at a modest price with great service.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very nice experience for the family. Had a great time.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A buffet dinner with a plentiful array of choices - nothing really special, but on a Holiday weekend, the night before Christmas - it was just fine. From our dining area, we were able to see part of the Gaylord Christmas show and that was special.
Word of warning - we tried the breakfast buffet the next day and without an Open Table reservation, we had a very long (and annoying) wait for our table of six. I also felt the breakfast buffet was way over-priced.
The wait staff was very helpful and accommodating at both meals.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The breakfast and restaurant was great. I was with my mother and grandmother & our overall experience was was excellent. My grandmother needed a wheelchair due to limited mobility & everyone was so helpful. Thank you so very much.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The good was very good, tasteful and satisfying. Service was good. Of course, in spite of the busiest, our waitress was still able to attend to our needs. Would come again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It has a nice set up but extremely over priced for what they serve. Continental buffet breakfast (cereal, yogurt, bagel, etc) is $18.99/person, to add an omelet is $21.99/person and to add fruit is $24.99/person. Me, my husband and son ate one plate (crowded and it took forever to make an omelet) and breakfast alone cost us $78.00 (plus tip). This is absurd for a family with a budget but you have no choice when staying at the Gaylord because this is the only breakfast place they have. Overall, it is a nice atmosphere to be in the center of the atrium but the price is not worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Breakfast was cold and very expensive. The idea was nice but the execution leaves a lot to be desired.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I enjoyed the food. the waiter was very good and very pleasant to talk to. I would eat there again.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our Anual Christmas Brunch Celebration at Pienza was very disappointing this year. Learned upon arrival that the Brunch was discontinued, the massive buffet options were reduced to two Omlette Stations and very little else. The desert station (which has always been a personal favorite was gone, the Mimosas were $8 EACH and the staff seemed absolutely miserable. We will not be back next year! Wonder what the MGM has to offer?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I thought Pienza served brunch, so when I found out they did not, that was a fail. I wanted to have brunch for my husband's birthday. Our reservations were for 11:30 a.m., so not having breakfast food on a Sunday in the DMV, seemed strange.

The staff was wonderful and helpful although, the hostess did not let my father-in-law know that we were already seated and he sat outside the restaurant for about 10-15 min before asking again if we were dining. The food was bland and only okay. And kind of random...Make your own sandwiches, pork, cubed chicken (that was horrible) and salad/soup.

My husband was able to get breakfast because on the other side of the kitchen they were serving omelets and other breakfast food. So he was happy.

I think the Gaylord should serve brunch, especially on Sundays. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had a great breakfast last weekend. Lots of choices on the buffet and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was horrible just basic and it had no flavor. Definitely wasn't worth the price I left and was still hungry.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The staff were all very nice and genuinely glad you were there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

2 choices for lunch: buffet with soup, sandwiches, salad and dessert, or a larger buffet also including hot plates. The bread was fresh, and the soup excellent. The salad could have had more veggie options. The deli meats were salami, roast beef and pastrami- it would have been good to include chicken or turkey. Pleased with the quality of the food.

The staff was not so helpful. they were still adding items to the buffet, even though they had opened 20 minutes earlier for lunch. No-one seemed to know what else might be brought out, nor did they want to help. I saw some people leave, because they did not realize there were 2 buffet options (they left elsewhere to eat).

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family came for Thanksgiving, we wanted to try something different and had an awesome experience we truly enjoyed ourselves and look forward doing this again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for thanksgiving buffet food was very good a little pricy service was great planning on coming back for Christmas

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Live Music, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and great service! Thanksgiving lunch was absolutely wonderful! Musicians playing around restaurant made for a nice family holiday! Thank you!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving brunch had a wide range of choices. Overall the food was goid, though some of the hot dishes were too cool for my preference.

Our server was excellent. One notable and huge issue was that after my sons left the table I stayed behind to have a second cup of coffee. The bussing staff descended upon my table like a flock of vultures. They cleared all the plates, removed the place mats and one of them started wiping down the table. They brought new glassware and silverware while I was sitting there. I told them several times I was finishing my coffee while they continued to clean the table.

The restaurant was at no more than 40% capacity . Ruined an otherwise pleasant dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.