About Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor

201 Waterfront Street
National Harbor, MD 20745
View Larger Map

Fresh is the focus of Pienza Marketplace. Drawing inspiration from the lush garden atrium in Gaylord National, Pienza Marketplace offers fresh local ingredients to create delicious made-from-scratch culinary offerings. Inspired by the Mid-Atlantic region, Pienza’s resort chefs partner with local and regional farmers and artisanal producers to select the best seasonal products to be featured in its signature dishes. With an open design, diners can watch food being prepared firsthand in the restaurant’s show kitchen. Focusing on small batch cooking, dishes are prepared and served at their peak freshness.

Whether it is a quick bite for breakfast, a business lunch or a family celebration, Pienza’s ever-changing menu offers a variety of fresh local options. The STARS (employees) at Pienza are warm and welcoming to leisure and group guests alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Fleet Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 965-5200

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-national/dini

Parking Details:
Self parking - Complimentary Parking voucher offered for the first three hours. Valet parking is available at $10.00 for the first three hours with validation.

Public Transit:
Alexandria Water Taxi

Executive Chef:
Andrew Gould

Additional:
Beer, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Seasonal (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Family Style (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Scenic View (6)
Waterfront (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I thought Pienza served brunch, so when ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I thought Pienza served brunch, so when I found out they did not, that was a fail. I wanted to have brunch for my husband's birthday. Our reservations were for 11:30 a.m., so not having breakfast food on a Sunday in the DMV, seemed strange.

The staff was wonderful and helpful although, the hostess did not let my father-in-law know that we were already seated and he sat outside the restaurant for about 10-15 min before asking again if we were dining. The food was bland and only okay. And kind of random...Make your own sandwiches, pork, cubed chicken (that was horrible) and salad/soup.

My husband was able to get breakfast because on the other side of the kitchen they were serving omelets and other breakfast food. So he was happy.

I think the Gaylord should serve brunch, especially on Sundays. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We had a great breakfast last weekend. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great breakfast last weekend. Lots of choices on the buffet and the food was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was horrible just basic and it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was horrible just basic and it had no flavor. Definitely wasn't worth the price I left and was still hungry.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

The staff were all very nice and genuine ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff were all very nice and genuinely glad you were there.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 choices for lunch: buffet with soup, s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

2 choices for lunch: buffet with soup, sandwiches, salad and dessert, or a larger buffet also including hot plates. The bread was fresh, and the soup excellent. The salad could have had more veggie options. The deli meats were salami, roast beef and pastrami- it would have been good to include chicken or turkey. Pleased with the quality of the food.

The staff was not so helpful. they were still adding items to the buffet, even though they had opened 20 minutes earlier for lunch. No-one seemed to know what else might be brought out, nor did they want to help. I saw some people leave, because they did not realize there were 2 buffet options (they left elsewhere to eat).

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My family came for Thanksgiving, we wan ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family came for Thanksgiving, we wanted to try something different and had an awesome experience we truly enjoyed ourselves and look forward doing this again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Went for thanksgiving buffet food was ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for thanksgiving buffet food was very good a little pricy service was great planning on coming back for Christmas

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Live Music, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Thanksgiving brunch had a wide range of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving brunch had a wide range of choices. Overall the food was goid, though some of the hot dishes were too cool for my preference.

Our server was excellent. One notable and huge issue was that after my sons left the table I stayed behind to have a second cup of coffee. The bussing staff descended upon my table like a flock of vultures. They cleared all the plates, removed the place mats and one of them started wiping down the table. They brought new glassware and silverware while I was sitting there. I told them several times I was finishing my coffee while they continued to clean the table.

The restaurant was at no more than 40% capacity . Ruined an otherwise pleasant dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and great service! Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food and great service! Thanksgiving lunch was absolutely wonderful! Musicians playing around restaurant made for a nice family holiday! Thank you!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was AMAZING! I wish I could ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our waitress was AMAZING! I wish I could remember her name, but she was fabulous. Her name badge said Ethiopia under her name.

The food was phenomenal too! Such a great selection and everything was fresh tasting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stayed at hotel for the Ice displayed an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Stayed at hotel for the Ice displayed and picked your restaurant for breakfast on Thanksgiving morning. Wonderful food, terrific staff and very friendly. Clean both at the table area and buffet areas. Great experience

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for the breakfast buffet o ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were there for the breakfast buffet on Sunday, the 20th. There was a character breakfast going on too and my niece got to take pictures with Snoopy and the Gang. She was enthralled! All the food options were very good and the breads were fantastic. If we were in the area of Gaylord National in National Harbor, we would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The omelet bar was perfect. The staff is ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The omelet bar was perfect. The staff is exceptionally friendly and quick.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staying in hotel and wanted breakfast. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Staying in hotel and wanted breakfast. Hostess asked if it was our first time. When we responded yes she patiently explained our three options as she walked us to each breakfast bar area to view their offerings. After she was sure we understood how it worked she offered us a lovely table by the walkway in the garden area of the hotel. Gorgeous scenery for good food. Everything we chose was hot as it should be or cold as expected. Our server checked with us on a regular basis and kept our coffees full without being annoying or "hovering"! The atmosphere and friendliness of the staff made this a very enjoyable experience. Food was good, even though a bit pricey.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Coffee was very good. However only serve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Coffee was very good. However only serve buffet so not a great place for a business breakfast and expensive. For $28 I expect mamosas and better food

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Incredibly overpriced. A friend and I ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Incredibly overpriced. A friend and I had breakfast (only option is buffet and this is the only option for breakfast in the Gaylord) Spent well over $50 - we had one barely filled plate, each. Can absolutely not believe this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I didn't attend, but my director said it ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 10, 2016

I didn't attend, but my director said it was a very nice experience. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Unique twist on buffet dining with three ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Unique twist on buffet dining with three varieties of breakfast to match your own expectations for the most important meal of the day. Above average service keeps your coffee hot. Would definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was great and everyone includin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was great and everyone including the chef was awesome.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the restaurant wa ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was excellent and the restaurant was clean; however, it is overpriced. The waitresses on two separate occasions were in a hurry to get us to leave.

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

This is a very good place to grab Sunday ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a very good place to grab Sunday Brunch - we enjoyed it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and went there for breakfast ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and went there for breakfast on a Sunday morning with our 2 and 13 year old kids. We had the full buffet. Everything was excellent especially the waffles and shrimp and grits. My husband does not eat pork so the chef offered to make some turkey bacon that she had in the freezer. She even brought it to our table. With the breakfast options being limited in National Harbor, this was the best option and there was great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Russel server was great

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Russel server was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food on buffet was very good and include ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food on buffet was very good and included options for my vegetarian daughter. Great way to get an early start to our visit to National Harbor.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Personnel were first-rate upon entrance seating.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. Perfect food selections for lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Breakfast buffet was always fresh and hot

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2016

We had 16 family members of all age groups dining for breakfast and we all ordered the buffet. They offer bacon, sausage, potato wedges, assorted cereals, oatmeal and grits but the omelette station, freshly made Belgian waffles, and blueberry pancakes were our fave. The fruit station and cereal bar have a great variety. Nothing that I didn't like!! Yummmm!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A great disappointment for Mothers Day

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Pienza was one of my favorite places to dine on Sunday and special occasions. Ever since it changed over to the new owner the food has been terrible. I took my Mother there for Mothers Day thinking it would be great. To my surprise it was not. It was very over priced for the food to be cold and limited selections. My Mother only eats Salmon and that was not on the menu. It has always been on the menu the several times we have dined there. The manager was very nice about helping and making sure the food was replenished. The staff / hostess was excellent as always. I had guest that wanted to join us and they saw the buffet and noticed it was not presentable and they left and went to another restaurant in the Gaylord. My Mom was very unhappy to have had a terrible meal for Mothers Day. I am sorry but they have lost two very loyal patrons.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Excellent Brunch and service.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I am glad I selected this place for Mother's Day Brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where's the ribs?

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Would have been extra special if the dinner buffet brunch offered barbeque ribs (beef and pork).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Extremely overpriced. The brunch menu was reduced to an over priced Bob Evans with cute desserts. My family had enjoyed many Mother's and Father's Day brunches there but not again. We will take our wallets to another restaurant where our patronage will be valued.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Special occasion if not on a budget

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was much more expensive than anticipated, and cost of special brunch was not identified in website or during reservation process. However atmosphere was lovely, with indoor trees and roving musicians for Mothers Day.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The atmosphere, service, and food was great for our Mother's Day Brunch. A few long lines at the beginning but they really hustled to get things moving as much as possible.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, poor value!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

No one can eat $60 worth of food at a buffet! That said the food selection at the Pienza Easter buffet was certainly sufficient, but worth a $35.00 price.

Oh, and no lamb chops or lamb shoulder to be seen on Easter. At these prices????

Go at your own risk.

But, the Bloody Mary was free. Were I not driving I might have had three or four to make up for the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Quite disappointed this time

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The food this time was not up to the standards we have become accustomed to.

Not near the variety and what was available was bland or nearly tasteless.

We might try once more on the chance this was a one off fluke.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Brunch: It just continues to slide downhill

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

For the "premier resort hotel" in National Harbor, and for the price you pay for these special brunches, you would expect everything to be above and beyond. However, the last two times I've taken my family for a special outing to do brunch at Pienza I'm left amazed at their lack of spit and polish, seen across so many issues. The maitre d' not being at his station as guests arrive, and not knowing how to greet guests properly, courteously, and with a smile, and perhaps wearing a better-fitting suit. The continual degradation in food quality and overall service provided, including wait staff which is not waiting (or waiting on too many tables to be effective), to short-order cooks who also need some "101 training" in providing service at an organization that pretends to be high-quality; they're not flipping burgers at McDonald's, folks, but that's the feel you get. Even the roving singers getting a bit sloppy and having loud conversations of who's on first, what's on second... In short, this all seems to point to poor management and leadership at the Pienza brunches, and for the price they charge, particularly for special dates (Easter, in this case), the draw that used to exist is now, for me, wholly gone, and I just don't see the need to return. It takes too long to drive there anyway, and I can get better quality at the same or lower cost at other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Breakfast Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 13, 2016

The service was great, the food was good; however, the selection was not as extensive as I was expecting .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Attended a recent cheer competition and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Attended a recent cheer competition and needed to stay in the hotel to eat. Price was reasonable 19.99 for adults 12.95 for kids.

Not what I expected of a buffet though. No real salad and there was a cold cut and bread section. The hot entrees were limited and they really only had pizza for the kids. Dessert was the only good part.

The wait staff was very attentive with refills and clearing dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good, but overpriced.

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I realize that the Gaylord has a captive audience for the most part (made of convention-goers), but the price for the buffet breakfast was a little hard to swallow (pun intended). If we hadn't had a $100 credit due to the room type we booked, we'd have found somewhere else to get breakfast. It was, however, very good, if basic, breakfast food. The service, however, was completely top-notch. The servers were attentive, friendly, and really made eating there a pleasant experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Mediocre food was saved only by friendli ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Mediocre food was saved only by friendliness of wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Inlove!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I absolutely enjoyed it! Food was awesome, wish I would've gotten there a little earlier! However food and service was still exceptional! My kids and family also really enjoyed it I would absolutely go again this time without my children! I also wouldn't mind having an event there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.