Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor

4.0
395 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Great for Brunch
  • People Watching
Fresh is the focus of Pienza Marketplace. Drawing inspiration from the lush garden atrium in Gaylord National, Pienza Marketplace offers fresh local ingredients to create delicious made-from-scratch culinary offerings. Inspired by the Mid-Atlantic region, Pienza’s resort chefs partner with local and regional farmers and artisanal producers to select the best seasonal products to be featured in its signature dishes. With an open design, diners can watch food being prepared firsthand in the restaurant’s show kitchen. Focusing on small batch cooking, dishes are prepared and served at their peak freshness.

Whether it is a quick bite for breakfast, a business lunch or a family celebration, Pienza’s ever-changing menu offers a variety of fresh local options. The STARS (employees) at Pienza are warm and welcoming to leisure and group guests alike.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(301) 965-5200
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Will Moore
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Fleet Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Self parking - Complimentary Parking voucher offered for the first three hours. Valet parking is available at $10.00 for the first three hours with validation.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Alexandria Water Taxi
Additional
Beer, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access
What 395 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
79% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 5 days ago

Breakfast with my family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent and the ambiance was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Great place for breakfast. Buffet was great.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The only hot breakfast available at Gaylord. Buffet $26. I ate about $10 worth of food. Scrambled eggs (which is one of my protein staples) seemed like a mix and very runny. Lots of choices though, fresh fruit delicious!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Had a Mother’s Day reservation that was moved to a Sports Bar. The food was less than expected the service was friendly but they stated that never do breakfast. Many others who has made special plans for this location all were transferred to the sports bar and still charged the price for brunch at Pienza. The executive staff for the Gaylord should have done a better job of planning and coordination. It was sad to see on a day we celebrate family that they disrespected family. They should remove this Executive management staff and find one that values customer service. The staff at the Sports bar was nice but under prepared for such an event and couldn’t provide the ambiance or quality of food Pienza was known for and the reason many made Mother’s Day reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The occasion was Mother's Day. We were very impressed with it. Everything was exceptional . The only thing I didn't care for was the birds. They flew over my head 3 times. I couldn't get use to them. We were seated on time and the host and waiters were outstanding. We will be coming back again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

FOod was amazing! I may make this a new tradition to come for Mother’s Day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Initial communication issues with Open Table our reservation was at 9:15 at Pienza but since it was Mother's Day Pienza didnt actually start serving Brunch until 11:00 so we along with numerous others were sent to National Pass Time a sports bar. but after talking with Mumbassa the Manager he worked us in to Pienza at 11 and also gave us a 25% discount for the confusion. His customer service skills are outstanding! Brunch was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The restaurant was great for the breakfast buffet. My husband and I really enjoyed it and the service was outstanding. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great views!! Great options for everyone taste

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We attended Easter brunch at the last minute. Wide assortment of food choices, something to please everyone in our 4 person party. However brunch was pretty expensive at $65/person. I am not sure if that is the regular price or special holiday price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch - the food was fabulous. What else can I say?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great Easter buffet - a bit expensive for the adults but enjoyable. Exceptional handcrafted dessert bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We chose the restaurant since our family was staying at the Gaylord. The Easter buffet afforded a sumptuous array of foods. Everything we tried was delicious. My three grandchildren were present, and although they were noisy at times, we didn’t feel that they disturbed anyone. The wait staff was pleasant and courteous.
My only complaint is that the cost of the buffet was too expensive, especially for the children, who didn’t each much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food choices were fantastic. Friendly and attentive staff. Felt a little rushed to leave but, understand restaurant was trying to accommodate the incoming reservations. Overall, I would return the next time we visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

I was here for a conference and had breakfast here on three occasions.
The staff was consistently nice. It was a pleasure being served by them.
The food is delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

OpenTable took a reservation for 11 o’clock but the restaurant was actually not open. They did allow us to sit down but we had to wait for quite a while. The food was cold.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 21, 2018

We went for the breakfast buffet - the service was very good - food was good - but very high priced.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our reservation was made for 11:00am but the restaurant was closed at that time so we had to wait 30 minutes. The buffet is very limited, so this isn't worth the price.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We would often go for the Sunday Brunch Buffet which had a variety of good food choices. However, sadly to say, things have changed. The food selection, meats, fruit, dessert, sides, etc are minimal for this price point. If you go it would not be because they have a great buffet. Is it because of the competition with MGM?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

My server was very flexible… My toddler decided he wanted a bite of my waffle and she said she would not charge me for it… I knew he would only eat a bite and nothing else. The waffles are delicious and I am not a waffle person… The bacon was great as well ...everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

I was disappointed this year. My family goes on Christmas Day and this year there was less food and the price increased. Probably won’t do it again next year

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We came here to have Pienza’s Xmas buffet brunch on Dec 25, 2017. $65/pp - Not incl. any alc beverages.
First, the forgot to check in my reservation with Open Table, so now I need to request my dining points and deal with it. When we arrived, - an older man highlighted my name in his paper reservation list with a yellow highlighter, while the younger hostess at the computer did not check me in in the system. I think this caused the issue.
Second, quality of food at this buffet brunch was just ok. Some items were actually well prepared, like their turkey and ham, and grilled vegetables. But other items were not good: raviolis were overcooked, roasted beaf was quite tough to chew, shrimp - also very overcooked. And their crab legs - one of the most advertised menu item... they ran out of those half way through their service at around 2pm, and we never got to try them!
And this is the biggest issue for me: we paid $65/pp for the buffet brunch, and I realize t is not that much as these brunches are normally over $100 at fancier places. But not serving what people paid for is not good service! What if I came to this buffet brunch exactly for these crab legs? I did not, but not having something I paid for bothered me! And I think it bothered other guests as well, as I saw two ladies two tables away asked the manager about it as well...
Overall, I can tell that the quality of the food was - mass production buffet food.
I hope this place serves better individually plated food on regular days, but I would NOT recommend it for the Xmas buffet brunch! Definitely not coming back here next year (even if they provide its guests with enough crab legs)!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Great restaurant. The Christmas buffet was delicious, lots of choices from breakfast to dinner. Food was always fresh, and constantly refilled.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We chose this restaurant for our family Christmas lunch. The ambience was festive as the entire hotel was well decorated. The buffet menu was average. It had variety but to pay $65 per person was truly pricey. As drinks were served, I would say the servers were pretty good. However, I would have second thoughts about coming back to this place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Had reservations for Thanksgiving Dinner-the food was fantastic!
Scheduled another reservation for Christmas Day dinner - my husband’s birthday. I am outrage and angry paying $137.80 for two people when the food was “COLD”. The desserts were horrible and “DRY” as hell. The selections were terrible whoever prepared the menu need to be “FIRED”. I am so disappointed and I want a partial refund or credit voucher. Other people walking thru the buffet line or sitting near us at their tables were complaining how terrible the food tasted and was prepared. Food was nasty. The only best items were chicken tenders, macaroni and cheese, omelet station, the salad and seafood bar. I didn’t want complain during the Christmas holiday. My husband did not have seconds due to the coldness and tasteless food. If you take a look at the rating of the food, it’s a 3. This is absolutely sad. Will be waiting for a response!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We went to Pienza for their special Thanksgiving buffet and enjoyed it immensely! So for Christmas we decided to go for their Christmas buffet, WHAT A DIFFERENCE! When we arrived there was barely anyone sitting. They took us to the very back tables next to the massive window and right next to the doors leading outside to the cold and wind, as well as a speaker. We each went for food and when we sat down music had started and we could barely hear each other at the small square table. We had to eat fast because it was so cold that the food was cooling off quickly. Two of us shared crab legs with a bowl of butter. The crab legs were terrible. They were cold and the butter was less than like warm. So as we added the crab to the butter, the crab and the cold vent directly blowing air down upon us, made the butter so cold it started to congeal as though it was put back in the fridge with leftovers. We could not finish the crab as it was simply disgusting at this point. We all agreed it would have been better to get HOT crab legs from the local store for the price of one of our meals at Pienza. To add insult to injury, the remaining food was terrible as well. There were only 3 options for vegetables (Brussels sprouts that were over cooked, root vegetables, and something so lame it’s not memorable). The turkey was disgusting, a layer of fat was left on several of our group’s pieces. The turkey at Thanksgiving was amazing! The desserts were meh at best. One type of cookie, barely enough serving tongs, and only one dessert worth it (the gingerbread mouse shooter). The raspberry shot ran out early and was never replaced. Next was the awful service. Not only were we places in the crappiest spot possible, our waitress barely came by and when we asked for hot tea, we got two packets of the same tea. Not like last time where we were given a small assortment. When a manager asked us how the meal was we complained about our seats but were just told Merry Christmas. Wtf Pienza?!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 25, 2017

We had come to the Pienza numerous times in the past for Holiday Brunch. Unfortunately, the Christmas 2017 experience was a FAIL. It seemed they knew it would be sold out and cared less of the quality and quantity of the food. Strip Steak was overcooked, Ravioli had freezer burns on the edges, and the Crab Legs were always unavailable. Side dishes were bland and the deserts were overly sweet. The Holiday Buffet was priced at $65 per person and I can honestly say I've had better meals at Golden Corral. To add insult to injury, they were charging an additional $5 for Mimosas. I doubt we would ever return because of the poor quality of the food as well as the presentation expected of a Buffet of this caliper.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Outstanding service from beginning to end. Love our waiter

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 18, 2017

Way too expensive for what you get - the kids price is decent but not worth the adult price. The people are extremely nice though and give you great service; however, I wouldn't eat there again for the price.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 17, 2017

We arrived at 1 pm for a 1:30 pm reservation
Food on the buffet tables looked picked over
They had not yet replenished the four trays on the hot bar or cold tables.
It looked liked “slim pickings”.

We had come here before several years ago with our family. We were expecting a pasta bar and a pizza bar like last time. Our younger children love pizza and pasta.

We were told by the Chef that they no longer served pizza & pasta on the hot buffet prep.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Average tasting buffet food
Some hot food items were cold
High carbs
We did not feel it was worth the value $25 for food
Beverages extra.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The breakfast buffet was awesome....so many options to choose from

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Terrific start to a day with the family in a lovely hotel. Thank goodness we knew to make reservations. This allowed us to skip the long line and go straight to the hostess area to be seated immediately. Buffet was extensive and bountiful.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Slow service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

Located in the atrium of the Gaylord National hotel, this is an excellent spot for buffet brunch. The custom omelet was light and fluffy, the fruit was fresh and varied. The waffles were tender and tasty. The bacon was crispy, but a little greasy. The French toast was made with thin-sliced white bread and consequently didn't' hold up well. I didn't try the oatmeal, but it had a variety of potential add-ins. The grits were a little soupy for my taste. The service, though, was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 11, 2017

Very relaxing with excellent service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 10, 2017

TIP: If you make an Open Table reservation here, you DON"T have to wait in line - just walk to the front and tell them - you will be seated ASAP. This saved us 30-45 mins as the line was long.

Food variety - they had just about anything you would want for breakfast, the omelette line moved quickly and the quality of food was great.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10