About Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor

201 Waterfront Street
National Harbor, MD 20745
View Larger Map

Fresh is the focus of Pienza Marketplace. Drawing inspiration from the lush garden atrium in Gaylord National, Pienza Marketplace offers fresh local ingredients to create delicious made-from-scratch culinary offerings. Inspired by the Mid-Atlantic region, Pienza’s resort chefs partner with local and regional farmers and artisanal producers to select the best seasonal products to be featured in its signature dishes. With an open design, diners can watch food being prepared firsthand in the restaurant’s show kitchen. Focusing on small batch cooking, dishes are prepared and served at their peak freshness.

Whether it is a quick bite for breakfast, a business lunch or a family celebration, Pienza’s ever-changing menu offers a variety of fresh local options. The STARS (employees) at Pienza are warm and welcoming to leisure and group guests alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Fleet Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(301) 965-5200

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-national/dini

Parking Details:
Self parking - Complimentary Parking voucher offered for the first three hours. Valet parking is available at $10.00 for the first three hours with validation.

Public Transit:
Alexandria Water Taxi

Executive Chef:
Andrew Gould

Additional:
Beer, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Washington, D.C. Area
Great for Brunch
Maryland - DC Suburbs
Best Restaurants in National Harbor ›

great for brunch (18)
scenic view (11)
special occasion (9)
See All
good for groups (7)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
romantic (2)
fit for foodies (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Personnel were first-rate upon entrance seating.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Atmosphere was welcoming and relaxing. Perfect food selections for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Breakfast buffet was always fresh and hot

Dined on May 30, 2016

We had 16 family members of all age groups dining for breakfast and we all ordered the buffet. They offer bacon, sausage, potato wedges, assorted cereals, oatmeal and grits but the omelette station, freshly made Belgian waffles, and blueberry pancakes were our fave. The fruit station and cereal bar have a great variety. Nothing that I didn't like!! Yummmm!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

A great disappointment for Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Pienza was one of my favorite places to dine on Sunday and special occasions. Ever since it changed over to the new owner the food has been terrible. I took my Mother there for Mothers Day thinking it would be great. To my surprise it was not. It was very over priced for the food to be cold and limited selections. My Mother only eats Salmon and that was not on the menu. It has always been on the menu the several times we have dined there. The manager was very nice about helping and making sure the food was replenished. The staff / hostess was excellent as always. I had guest that wanted to join us and they saw the buffet and noticed it was not presentable and they left and went to another restaurant in the Gaylord. My Mom was very unhappy to have had a terrible meal for Mothers Day. I am sorry but they have lost two very loyal patrons.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Brunch and service.

Dined on May 8, 2016

I am glad I selected this place for Mother's Day Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Where's the ribs?

Dined on May 8, 2016

Would have been extra special if the dinner buffet brunch offered barbeque ribs (beef and pork).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Extremely overpriced. The brunch menu was reduced to an over priced Bob Evans with cute desserts. My family had enjoyed many Mother's and Father's Day brunches there but not again. We will take our wallets to another restaurant where our patronage will be valued.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Special occasion if not on a budget

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was much more expensive than anticipated, and cost of special brunch was not identified in website or during reservation process. However atmosphere was lovely, with indoor trees and roving musicians for Mothers Day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The atmosphere, service, and food was great for our Mother's Day Brunch. A few long lines at the beginning but they really hustled to get things moving as much as possible.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Good food, poor value!

Dined on March 27, 2016

No one can eat $60 worth of food at a buffet! That said the food selection at the Pienza Easter buffet was certainly sufficient, but worth a $35.00 price. Oh, and no lamb chops or lamb shoulder to be seen on Easter. At these prices???? Go at your own risk. But, the Bloody Mary was free. Were I not driving I might have had three or four to make up for the price.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Quite disappointed this time

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food this time was not up to the standards we have become accustomed to. Not near the variety and what was available was bland or nearly tasteless. We might try once more on the chance this was a one off fluke.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Brunch: It just continues to slide downhill

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

For the "premier resort hotel" in National Harbor, and for the price you pay for these special brunches, you would expect everything to be above and beyond. However, the last two times I've taken my family for a special outing to do brunch at Pienza I'm left amazed at their lack of spit and polish, seen across so many issues. The maitre d' not being at his station as guests arrive, and not knowing how to greet guests properly, courteously, and with a smile, and perhaps wearing a better-fitting suit. The continual degradation in food quality and overall service provided, including wait staff which is not waiting (or waiting on too many tables to be effective), to short-order cooks who also need some "101 training" in providing service at an organization that pretends to be high-quality; they're not flipping burgers at McDonald's, folks, but that's the feel you get. Even the roving singers getting a bit sloppy and having loud conversations of who's on first, what's on second... In short, this all seems to point to poor management and leadership at the Pienza brunches, and for the price they charge, particularly for special dates (Easter, in this case), the draw that used to exist is now, for me, wholly gone, and I just don't see the need to return. It takes too long to drive there anyway, and I can get better quality at the same or lower cost at other places.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Breakfast Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

The service was great, the food was good; however, the selection was not as extensive as I was expecting .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service3

Attended a recent cheer competition and ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Attended a recent cheer competition and needed to stay in the hotel to eat. Price was reasonable 19.99 for adults 12.95 for kids. Not what I expected of a buffet though. No real salad and there was a cold cut and bread section. The hot entrees were limited and they really only had pizza for the kids. Dessert was the only good part. The wait staff was very attentive with refills and clearing dishes

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good, but overpriced.

Dined on March 5, 2016

I realize that the Gaylord has a captive audience for the most part (made of convention-goers), but the price for the buffet breakfast was a little hard to swallow (pun intended). If we hadn't had a $100 credit due to the room type we booked, we'd have found somewhere else to get breakfast. It was, however, very good, if basic, breakfast food. The service, however, was completely top-notch. The servers were attentive, friendly, and really made eating there a pleasant experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2

Mediocre food was saved only by friendli ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Mediocre food was saved only by friendliness of wait staff.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Inlove!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I absolutely enjoyed it! Food was awesome, wish I would've gotten there a little earlier! However food and service was still exceptional! My kids and family also really enjoyed it I would absolutely go again this time without my children! I also wouldn't mind having an event there!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4

Great Sunday Brunch!

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Great Sunday Brunch!

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Basic hotel breakfast buffet.

Dined on January 18, 2016

The service was excellent, and the Gaylord is a beautiful location. However, that they are serving (at approx $30/head) is equivalent to the breakfast buffet at most "regular" hotels. There was an omelette station, but the rest of the food was so-so. I wouldn't do that again.

food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Misrepresentation of Service

Dined on January 10, 2016

I made a reservation for the Sunday brunch and did not find out until I went to the restaurant that they no longer offered the brunch. Although their website still advertised the Sunday brunch. My reservation was for 11:00 a.m. and I was given the opportunity to stay and have breakfast which was over at 11:30 a.m. I was there to celebrate my friends birthday. We elected to stay but I was very disappointed in the food choices and felt rushed because the breakfast menu was over at 11:30. The price we paid for breakfast was outrageous for the amount of food that we were able to eat. I no longer will recommend Pienza to my family or friends.

food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Breakfast buffet was ridiculously expensive.

Dined on January 8, 2016

$18 continental breakfast, $25 full buffet. Average tasting food. No other options for breakfast except the expensive buffet.

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Not what I remember

Dined on January 1, 2016

I have had quite a few meals at the Pienza over the years and was disappointed in this trip. We went on Jan 1st and had dinner. The buffet definitely has less choices food wise and most of the choices had been sitting out for a while or were just empty. The server was horrible, it took 15 minutes for her to come to the table and get us drinks and then half way through the meal came back and asked if we needed refills but never returned to refill. I had to go find the manager to get a check after waiting 20-30 mins for her to come back to ask for the check. Another server got my check for me and I paid. I never did see our server again.

food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Downhill

Dined on January 1, 2016

I have dined here multiple times and USED TO love it! This restaurant has really declined. The food is poor and the price is high. Although it is very convenient for dining in the hotel and the ambiance is lovely,I will NOT choose to dine here again. The quality of food and service is substandard.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Breakfast with Kris Kringle was very ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

The Breakfast with Kris Kringle was very nice. the food was good, our table was ready. We did not have to wait. The characters were very good with the children and it was a wonderful exprerience. I would definitely do it again. Dinner the night before for the buffet was excellent too. Great Variety.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Not Worth it for the money

Dined on January 1, 2016

Do not go there. Dinner buffet did not have much choice and very expensive. Service was poor

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and quality of food was very goo ...

Dined on December 29, 2015

Service and quality of food was very good. Extremely overpriced for breakfast....continental was $17. It would have been nice if they offered an alternative menu for those who don't want to eat a large breakfast.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on December 28, 2015

My family of 13 chose Pienza Restaurant for dining prior to the Gaylord ICE event. Being Christmas week they only offered 2 kinds of salad bars, no ordering off the menu. Salad bar prices were very high for the sub par offerings. Beverages were not included in their pricey salad bars. 18% tip was pre-figured in the bill, even though the majority of us decided to only have tap water and being a salad bar, got our own food.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Convenient and surprisingly good food

Dined on December 27, 2015

We ate here during the Christmas holiday season when the lobby was beautifully decorated. The buffet was an easy way to satisfy everyone and the food was good. The price was high but the convenience and location was worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Director

Dined on December 26, 2015

Great for all companies with kids, seniors, family, etc. Nice atmosphere in Atrium. This restaurant surrounded by amazingly beautiful scenery around you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here with my family. The food wa ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

I went here with my family. The food was great! They had a buffet that was stacked with big shrimp and crab legs along with nice juicy steaks and a great dessert bar. I would definitely go again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

For the price, we were very underwhelmed.

Dined on December 25, 2015

The Christmas buffet was $59 per person, so my wife and I had very high expectations for a romantic dimly lit dining experience (you know somewhat like what you see in the movies). When we got there, we found out that this was not the case and we were seated in an area that resembled the seating outside a neighborhood cafe. It was somewhat cramped. The seafood was terrible, and there were only a few other choices that were marginal to good. Plus the alcoholic drink were an extra charge! Seriously, for the price, at least a mimosa should have been included. On the plus side, there was a small group performing Christmas songs on an electric guitar, violin, and bass. Getting out of the parking garage was horrendous as they had only one attendant taking tickets until I told a manager. There was no mention of a parking voucher for dining there, so I'm glad I asked as it saved us $14 for 2 hours of parking. We won't be going back to this buffet, and I don't recommend it for others. Too pricey for what you get.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Pienza on Christmas

Dined on December 25, 2015

Family of 3 recently ate at the Christmas buffet at Pienza. Service was excellent, as was the food, especially the shrimp. There was a large selection of desserts and all that we tried were very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

"Al fresco" dining for all seasons

Dined on December 25, 2015

My family went to the Christmas buffet at Pienza, and the biggest draw for us was the setting. As it is in a large enclosed atrium with abundant foliage, it has a spacious, outdoor feel - perfect for "al fresco" dining without concerns about the weather! The buffet offerings were diverse and tasty, with something for everyone. We tended to gravitate toward the seafood section, so I can attest to the fresh and delicious Alaskan crab legs, as well as the shrimp and grits, and seafood pasta. The dessert section was excellent. In addition to cakes, there was a large variety of assorted desserts in small portions, such as cups of mousses, tartlets, and truffles, as well as a chocolate fountain with various fruits and other sweets for dipping. Service was good for the most part, although we encountered one server who was ungracious when we tried to get her attention. Apparently she was not our assigned server and was feeling overwhelmed. Other than this minor bit, our experience was thoroughly enjoyable! We will likely return to try out their Sunday brunch in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great for holiday lunch with family

Dined on December 23, 2015

We visited the Gaylord National for their Christmas on the Potomac and Pienza was the perfect stop for lunch. Their buffet had anything we could want and the food was mostly very good (soup was unfortunately no longer hot). The ambience was delightful in the atrium (as all was decorated for the holidays).

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful Spot for a Festive Dinner

Dined on December 12, 2015

The ambiance around the restaurant and view of the atrium is beautiful. And our seats were the best! We had a wonderful view of the Christmas tree light show synchronized to the music while the snow was falling. It was a very festive dinner. The buffet was very good with a variety of food for younger children and adults. The servers were very attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

Dined on December 10, 2015

We have taken our staff to the Pienza on several occasions for a Christmas luncheon and the food and selection were excellent, however on this particular occasion, we were disappointed. The price had increased and the selection decreased. Matter-a-fact, I was a little embarrassed as I had talked up the restaurant to our staff and it turned out to be less than I had expected. Even the quality of the food seemed to have deteriorated. However, the service was excellent; the staff were friendly, willing to accommodate our needs and went above what would be normally expected. I am not sure we will return unless the quality and quantify of food improves.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1

Pienza - Gaylord National Harbor Worst Restaurant

Dined on December 7, 2015

I scheduled our company Christmas luncheon at the Pienza Gaylor Nation Harbor thinking that it would be a lovely setting for a Christmas party and that the buffet selection would offer something for everyone. It was without a doubt the worst food and worst service I have ever experienced in any restaurant anywhere in the world. There was a very limited selection on the buffet. It was definitely not what was advertised. There were very limited quantities on the buffet, only a few items of each selection. One of our diners wanted the only fish on the selection, however she checked 3 times and none was brought out. The food that was on the selection was very dried out and had no taste. The service was equally bad. Our waiter brought the check halfway through our finishing our meal and said he had to close out the tab right away. He then proceeded to clear the table before we had even finished our meals. This restaurant is very pricey, the food selection very limited and quality very bad, and service is terrible. Stay away!

food4
ambience4
service4

Breakfast Meeting

Dined on December 4, 2015

Although we served ourselves, we were given guidance on the variety of sections we could use for the different levels of breakfast. Our meeting following breakfast was uninterrupted but the coffee and juice service continued for our benefit. It was a pleasant experience and I went back two more time for breakfast during my stay - one in which i took two guests.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Brunch

Dined on November 29, 2015

Had some of the usual brunch offerings (Omelet station, buffet, etc.), but they offered a wider variety of food. Plus, nice atmosphere, strolling musicians, and a good noise level.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service4

special holiday brunch

vip
Dined on November 28, 2015

The staff were very friendly and energetic and gave special attention to all of the children. The food was ok. It was a brunch buffet. They had a chocolate fountain that the kids loved.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving Brunch

Dined on November 26, 2015

We weren't sure what to expect from a National Harbor restaurant on Thanksgiving. We are used to eating at home with family. We were quite pleasantly surprised. We were seated in a side room, not in the Atrium and it was much quieter and relaxing. There were roaming musicians that came in a played and the food was wonderful. Afterwards, we walked around ICE! and practically had the slides all to ourselves. I would recommend Pienza to anyone who was looking to do something a little different for Thanksgiving.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.